Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Marx Bros Cafe

Located in one of the oldest homes in Anchorage, The Marx Bros. Café specializes in innovative contemporary cuisine featuring fresh Alaskan seafood and only the finest quality meats. Our chef revises the menu each night to reflect unique ingredients and imaginative preparations. Our cuisine is expertly paired with an extensive selection of wines housed in one of Alaska's largest cellars. Welcomed at the door by partner Van Hale, guests are at once immersed in a quaintly elegant atmosphere provided by our original town-site house and tasteful table settings. The evening is guided with unrivaled service by our subtle, accomplished staff. With only 14 tables in our house, we serve an average of 60 guests each night. Reservations are highly recommended. Please contact the restaurant directly if you are unable to get the time or party size requested online.

627 W Third Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 278-2133

Website:
http://marxcafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Jack Amon

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a private dining room for parties of 10-12. The restaurant can be booked for private parties up to 40 people.

Private Party Contact:
Van Hale: (907) 278-2133

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Marx Bros Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Romantic (20)
Cozy (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fireplace (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Historic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Business Meals (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Scenic View (5)
Authentic (5)
Fun (3)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Waterfront (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
735 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Still a great place for food and a great setting in Anchorage. Loved every bit of this evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Staff was very friendly but the service was very slow. Took almost 3 hours for a salad, dinner and dessert. Very pricy for their menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Amazing dinner, Cajun special to celebrate Mardi Gras. Food and service was excellent. Cesar Salad was perfect and always made table side.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We dine at Marx Bros 3 or 4 times a year. Food and service are always superb.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We always have a marvelous time dining at the Marx Bros, service, food-just awesome!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Fantastic food & service. The place to go for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Food was delicious and service was top notch. The fresh Caesar salad made at table was awesome

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food as usual. Excellent service. This is our go to restaurant more than any in Anchorage.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 18, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Anchorage. Probably one of the best on the west coast. Get the Caesar salad! Best you've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Marx Bros is an absolutely charming venue and perfect for a romantic date night. This was the first time my husband and I have ever been to Marx Bros and we had such a lovely time while there. The staff was so friendly and attentive during our visit and the food was superb! We will definitely be planning another romantic date night there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fantastic food, wine, and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

always exceeds expectations. Wine, food and service are excellent. Always a special menu item featuring something Alaskan. Alaskan seafood blended/seasoned with special taste. Jack, Van and the staff always make the evening memorable. Always recommend the Marx Bros!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Everyone and everything was excellent! It doesn't get much better than Marx Brothers in Anchorage!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Excellent food! Cozy and relaxed atmosphere. Overall a wonderful experience

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I was disappointed in my main entrée. I ordered the special (wagu new York steak). It tough and chewy....it also wasn't very warm....service was just ok...long gaps in getting attention.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Extremely disappointed to be seated in table next to door. Table was a bit wobbly (using knife to cut lamb was an adventure in trying to keep glasses etc on table) and feel like it was add on for extra space. Dinner partner had to move table so her chair could be near mine or there was no way we could have had any conversation at all. Reservations way in advance for our "night on the town."
Food was awesome, Everything I expected. Service was good but my experience colored by poor seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We loved the personal service, the delicious meal was a bonus. I was looking forward to trying this place out for a long time luckily the opportunity came when my mom was visiting. It was a beautiful snowy evening to make it perfect!!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Amazing. Can't say enough. Best Caesar salad of my life prepared by the owner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Just a little crowded. Food was excellently prepared. One dish was slightly underseasoned, but most were perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 4, 2016

As usual, the Marx Brothers is a great place to enjoy an evening with my wife. We have been visiting on a regular basis since 1981 and if anything, it has just gotten better. This is the best restaurant in anchorage, AK.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fireplace, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Sets the mark very high. Wonderful in all regards. I'm a nit pickin critic and found nothing wrong at all. Even eating early 530pm I expected it to be off but they were spot on. Perfection well delivered.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Everything about the Marx Bros. restaurant is first rate. The menu changes daily, featuring the best available seafood & meats. Fresh Alaskan oysters with. Pickled ginger relish was a very refreshing starter. The oysters were large and juicy. And the rack of venison entree was delicious. Served with the bone in, & cooked perfectly with spätzle & braised red cabbage, a mouthwatering treat. Dinner was topped off with a fresh berry crumble with homemade ice cream. A wonderful experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing all the way around. The atmosphere, food and servers were outstanding. Thank you.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Good value, good food, excellent service, but table next to fireplace too hot and most of our time there was too loud for easy conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our dinners were excellent & something we had never had before. Salads before dinner excellent. Wine great & so was dessert. A grear birthday dinner had by all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This restaurant has always been great. Quiet, great food, very good wine list, perhaps the best and in Town and it has what I call Anchorage patina. Elegant funk and real. Can't wait to go back. With in the last three weeks I have eaten at Hell's Backbone Grill (food as good but wine list not quite there though excellent none the less)Picasso and Micheal Mina in Vegas. Only Gino Ferraro's in Vegas was similar.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food, wine and service are excellent. My only regret is that the stated "casual" attire sometimes detracts from the dining experience. Some guests take casual a bit too far.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Always a pleasure to eat here. The food is fantastic and prepared with care. To ensure consistency they restaurant is housed in a quaint 100 year old home. This keep crowds down, but it is common for the noise level to raise where it becomes difficult to hear the person across the table from you.

All-in-all it is one of my favorite, if not my most favorite, restaurants in Anchorage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great food, some issues with the lighting yet overall good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2016

A very quaint place with lots of ambiance The service and food was superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Exceptional in every way! From the table-side preparation of the Caesar salad to the presentation of the entrees and desserts, this was a 5 Star experience. Staff were professional, attentive and fun. This is a place to enjoy an intimate dining experience and small parties of 4 or less will find this experience at Marx Brother's Cafe delightful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The resurant was amazing! The food was spectacular...it was easy to substitute a different food item due to allergy. Service was spot on...our glasses were never empty. Wonderful setting...it made for a special anniversary. The only negative was the bathrooms need updating...husband came back and said paint was peeling and there were webs and a little mold on window.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Marx Brothers is always fabulous. I had not been for a while and took my 17 year old twin boys for a special dinner and they loved it! The seafood mousse was great for an appetizer. We enjoyed the scallops and filet! They had special birthday desserts with candles but not a big fuss. Just tastefully nice, literally!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This was my first experience with Marxs Brothers. I had made reservations to celebrate my 30th birthday with my parents and my friend. I could not have had a better experience. The wine, the food, and the staff were on point. The Cesar salad made table side was so amazing! Thank you for this memorable birthday. I will be back for a date night ASAP!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I enjoyed the evening, however I was not too impressed with this place. First when booking for a reservation, it asked what am I celebrating or what's the occasion. So I felt great, knowing I would take my wife there and they would at least say Happy Birthday. Not once did this happen nor any attention to it. I did expect a little something, like saying Happy Birthday OR having something on the table in which would state something along those lines. Otherwise, what is the use of having that question. I liked the atmosphere in which this place is. It was nice, to have dinner; But for as expensive as it is. I just thought it would go just a little further to honor my wife on her special day. I'm not asking for the Red Robbin singing which is terrible, but at least acknowledgement. I was not asking for anything free either.
Second, the staff were nice expect for one person. The tall guy that serviced the wine. Even though my wife did not like the more expensive wine, it was like we or she made a mistake. Just because the taste was not good. Since she rather have a different wine it was like we were wasting his time. On the good note, the other gentleman that was serving food/salad and such. He was VERY accommodating to even close the door when it was freezing in the restaurant. I saw him sweating, so I know he was working. But to put the customer first and close the door. That was class act on his part and the utmost customer service.
As far as coming back, I don't see myself running back to have dinner or anything. However, I do see it as a place in which I don't say no too. It was quite pleasant to have a quite evening with my wife, and nice dinner.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The Caesar salad was OK and the lamb, veal, & scallops dinners were awful. The meat was cold, the servings were small.
Hadn't been to Marx Brothers in a few years. I was so excited to bring my friends who had never been there. We will not return. Sorry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

In town for a week, and decided to take my husband's godmother here as a thank you. She's lived in Anchorage for more than 50 years, but had never been! I'm so glad we took her, it was SUCH a lovely little place. The food was phenomenal, as was the service, and she said she felt like a queen. If I'm ever back in Anchorage, this place is on my short list of places to visit again.

Tags: Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Marx Brothers offers the best intimate dining in Anchorage. Excellent food, service and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Always outstanding in every way. The ambience, service, creativity, quality (food and wine) are all consistently 5 star. You do pay for what you get, so this is a special occasion restaurant for may people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.