About Marx Bros Cafe

627 W Third Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Located in one of the oldest homes in Anchorage, The Marx Bros. Café specializes in innovative contemporary cuisine featuring fresh Alaskan seafood and only the finest quality meats. Our chef revises the menu each night to reflect unique ingredients and imaginative preparations. Our cuisine is expertly paired with an extensive selection of wines housed in one of Alaska's largest cellars. Welcomed at the door by partner Van Hale, guests are at once immersed in a quaintly elegant atmosphere provided by our original town-site house and tasteful table settings. The evening is guided with unrivaled service by our subtle, accomplished staff. With only 14 tables in our house, we serve an average of 60 guests each night. Reservations are highly recommended. Please contact the restaurant directly if you are unable to get the time or party size requested online.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 278-2133

Website:
http://marxcafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Jack Amon

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a private dining room for parties of 10-12. The restaurant can be booked for private parties up to 40 people.

Private Party Contact:
Van Hale: 907-278-2133

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Marx Bros Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
13 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

special occasion (40)
notable wine list (35)
romantic (34)
See All
fit for foodies (33)
scenic view (21)
neighborhood gem (15)
hot spot (5)
good for groups (4)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down, best restaurant in Anchorage ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Hands down, best restaurant in Anchorage. In fact, no comparison. Halibut was flawless and the service was impeccable.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great, its a great place to tak ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was great, its a great place to take someone who enjoys a high class resturant

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Marx Brothers Cafe is a world class Rest ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Marx Brothers Cafe is a world class Restaurant!, This small house on 3rd Avenue in downtown Anchorage is the birth place of elegant dining in Alaska!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Marvelous dishes with some of Alaska's f ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Marvelous dishes with some of Alaska's freshest catch. Good wine list. I come for the Caesar salad, made fresh by the host/owner! Best Caesar I've ever had.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Long-Time Favorite

Dined on June 5, 2016

Marx Brothers has been one of our favorite restaurants for over 30 years. It's been fun to watch Jack Amon grow and develop into one of the best chefs anywhere. Their current menu may be their best ever.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 Star excellence!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Our dining experience was outstanding. The food was absolutely fabulous & the waitstaff was professional and welcoming.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Anchorage

Dined on June 1, 2016

Consistently the best food and service in Anchorage.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Relying On a Reputation Long Gone

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

The wife and I wanted a slight change for "Show Nite" downtown. It was a hot day and we dressed well like a hot Alaskan day chinos and such. Sat in the most crowded room possible. No worries though, cause you could hear the loud Aussie waitress from the other side of the quaint restaurant and beyond. We ordered the Halibut cheeks, White King Salmon and "Medium" Lamb chops. The halibut cheeks paired with a smoked tomato sauce was a okay. The salmon was over complicated with purple potato mash and Sorel sauce and burnt, I mean BURNT salmon. The chops were well under cooked and very rubbery and void of taste. This restaurant was once great I am sure, we were here years ago and it was good, just took forever. I hope that once their Regular Customers move on they will simplify their menu to eclectic and within the capacity of their kitchen staff.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our White King dinner was divine! It wa ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Our White King dinner was divine! It was served with asperagus & mashed purple fingerling potatoes with a great accompanying sauce. Our finale was dessert. We split the chocolate Carmel tart & the coffee expresso ice cream. A wonderful dinner to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first time at Marx Bros but ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was our first time at Marx Bros but will not be our last! We had the crab cakes (very good), the filet (amaaazing), the black cod (delicious) and the walnut torte (perfect). Our server recommended a wonderful wine that paired well with everything and was priced well below retail price. A really great, leisurely and memorable dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2

It is cozy and you do expect to be tight ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

It is cozy and you do expect to be tightly seated but the entire time my back was straight up against the wall. Our server was rushed very loud and not very friendly. She asked if we wanted our bottle of Rombauer Chardonnay on ice not realizing I would have to beg her for every glass which was very disappointing and put a damper on the evening. The second bottle she announced was warm and we waited 30 minutes for it to chill. One of the owners was standing in front of the door as we entered and gave us a very opinionated look and gave no warmth or welcoming to our presence. It's not like we're vagrants as my husband is a oil executive and I am president of a oilfield support contractor that does the catering for Exxon, Conoco, BP and many other producers. We would not go back

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

As always, Marx Bros is a treat. Van's ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

As always, Marx Bros is a treat. Van's Caesar never disappoints and the personal touch by the staff is relaxed, attentive; perfect. Great wine, inventive appetisers, and super deserts. We were a little underwhelmed by the beef and Lamb entrees this time round, so will go with the fresh catch special next time. Marx Bros seems to attract a fun clientele or perhaps makes people nicer to be around...? Great night all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious food, great wine pairing.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Delicious food, great wine pairing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wife and I wanted a night out for oursel ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Wife and I wanted a night out for ourselves . We chose the Marx Brothers because of the friendly atmosphere. Their service is great and food outstanding . You must go to see for yourself it's difficult to explain the experience .

food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great as always!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best in Alaska

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

The Marx Brothers have had a long-standing reputation as one of the best restaurants in Alaska, richly deserved. We've dined there many times, about once a year, when we're in Anchorage visiting family. The food has always been superb. Oddly, this time it slipped a bit. The halibut that my wife and I had was overcooked and thus a bit dry. We'll take this as a fluke, and we'll be back nevertheless. The prices have been very reasonable considering their reputation and the quality of the food. The wines are seriously inexpensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Marx Bro's is a top notch dining experie ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Marx Bro's is a top notch dining experience! I highly recommend this spot for anyone wishing to have outstanding food and great service.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Top Notch

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food, good wine list and excellent service. Can be a little noisy. Get the caesar salad.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service and great food!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Outstanding service and great food!

food5
ambience3
service1

My husband and I eat here on special occ ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

My husband and I eat here on special occasions and with out-of-town company. While the food is always outstanding, the service is a hit or miss. My last two dining experiences have been less than desirable. Same waitress the past two times. We were off to the side which must've been the "no service zone". It's a very small restaurant so I'm not sure how we were consistently overlooked during our meal. On the bright side, the food is phenomenal but it does come with a steep price.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Does not miss a beat!

Dined on March 23, 2016

I was to meet a collegue there for dinner, who unfortunately got caught up and couldn't make it The restaurant was accommodating despite this and served me the best meal that I have had in Anchorage!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant with at home feel!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Great food and excellent service at Marxx Brothers Cafe. This cozy house downtown is host to an exceptional food experience. We started our meal with complimentary bread and olives. We ordered a bottle of wine from the extensive list. If you are not well versed in wines it may be overwhelming but you can always consult the somalier for advice. We selected the ceasar salad for our appetizer. It was prepared tableside, which was a unique experience. I enjoyed the interaction with the chef as he prepared our salad and shared with us the ingredients and preparation to make this delicious salad. For dinner, my husband enjoyed the veal, which was tender and full of flavor. It was by far the best veal either one of us have ever tasted. I had the rockfish which was served in a rich creamy scallop sauce with shrimp and crab. The fish was absolutely wonderful! For dessert we ordered the special torte, but chose to have it with praline ice cream. The server brought us the salted caramel ice cream to try also, which was an added treat. Plus, when our check arrived, we were not charged for the dessert since we were celebrating our anniversary. The service was great from the moment we walked in until we left. The feeling is very intimate, cozy and quaint. It is like dining in a bed and breakfast, but with 5 star food. I highly recommend dining here if you want to have an amazing dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fine dining Extrodinaire

Dined on February 28, 2016

Our first visit and I must say perhaps the best meal we have had in Anchorage in a very long time. We will definitely be back !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unusually noisy

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Generally excellent food and service, as always. One group was so loud that the general noise level rose, so it unfortunately impacted the dining experience. This was after the Fur Rondy fireworks ended. This is an uncommon experience here. Too bad there seemed no way to prevent it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On Point

Dined on February 27, 2016

We have gone to Marx Brothers over the years for special occasions, work dinners, and the like. There's always a nice list of comfortable favorites, the seafood mousse and caesar salad among them. This time we tried new items, the halibut cheeks, some terrific oysters from southeast, a special roulade, and the venison, all accompanied by a nice bottle suggested by our server. All were home runs - one of the best meals we have had in Anchorage in a long time. A good reminder that we don't have to wait for a special occasion to drop in!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Legendary Alaskan restaurant always pleases!

Dined on February 26, 2016

I have been a regular customer at this fine restaurant since the late 70's. My wife and I have attended special cooking classes here, and we have always enjoyed dining in the intimate homelike environment whenever we visit from Fairbanks. Our most recent visit was no exception: our server offered tastes of various wines from the extensive wine list. Our entree was superb, the wine pairings were perfect and and the ambiance was everything we have come to expect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on February 21, 2016

Amazing place and food is excellent. Staff are friendly and helpful. A great place to take your love one for a romantic dinner. Recommendation, The Ceaser salad made by table side.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff is always amazing! Extremely f ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

The staff is always amazing! Extremely friendly and check in frequently, Van is a genuinely nice guy that cares about his customers, and makes the best Caesar salad you'll ever taste.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Have loved Marx Bros for many years

Dined on February 6, 2016

My wife and I have been eating at Marx Bros for many years, since it opened in the late 70's, usually for special occasions like anniversaries. We love the way local ingredients are used in many dishes. Of course the menu changes, but there are some staples, such as the best Caesar salad in the land. My wife and I are avid cooks and diners, and very choosy about our food. We have never had anything less than a great meal at Marx Bros.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The Caesar salad was wonderful but perha ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

The Caesar salad was wonderful but perhaps a bit too much garlic. The oysters were a bit too vinegary.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Definitely a must!!

Dined on February 6, 2016

The food was excellent. If you like Caesar salad, you HAVE to try it at Marx Bros. The service was the best I've had in 5 years of living in Alaska. They obviously take pride in doing things right. It is a bit pricey but definitely worth it. I will definitely go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent and interesting food and wine ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Excellent and interesting food and wine in a cozy setting. Prices are very reasonable for the quality because you don't have to pay to support a large, elaborate setting.

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Pricey!

Dined on January 31, 2016

It was a nice restaurant but there are restaurants that are just as nice but not as expensive. The $55 steak was fatty and not worth the money. The service was awesome but I would say this restaurant is a bit overpriced. Selection of food is limited.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time.

Dined on January 30, 2016

Went to Marx Bro's for my anniversary dinner. We were recommended to try this place out for a fancy dinner by close friends and everyone was right. TRY THEIR CAESAR SALAD OMG. You would think it would be a joke since it is the simplest of salads, but that salad was just amazing. I had to save some so my other friends could try some! Very romantic place and all of the staff knew it was our anniversary since I mentioned in while making my reservation. Although, if you are looking for a quiet intimate place, maybe think again. Remember this used to be a house so if you go when there are multiple groups of 4 or more, expect it to be louder and not that much space. Also, on the reservation, I requested to make the table as special as possible! We had a table with glitter and a beautiful bouquet of roses. They even let us take the flowers home as a gift, but later found out we had to pay for the flowers haha! No biggie, just wish there was a heads up! Overall it was a fantastic experience! The appetizers, entrees, and desserts we ordered were just amazing and the service really made you feel welcomed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on January 24, 2016

I've been to Marx Bros several times and never had a bad experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The ceaser salad was amazing!

Dined on January 24, 2016

The ceaser salad was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal Dinner

Dined on January 23, 2016

The menu was very diverse, so you should be able to find something for everyone. Waitstaff was very attentive, without hovering. Food was amazing...from the plating to the flavor. I live in Fairbanks, but I try to stop in whenever I am in Anchorage.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always!

Dined on January 17, 2016

Marx Brothers is great for that special date night or just when your are hankering for AMAZING food! The warm spinach salad and filet will tantalized our taste buds. We prefer the main room and requested a table by the window or fire place. The service was great, attentive but they don't hover...thanks for another great memory!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time back and it was incredible.

Dined on January 16, 2016

A+++ wonderful food, selection & staff. Always make us feel special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great little spot in Anchorage.

Dined on January 10, 2016

I really enjoyed Marx Bros Cafe. Amazing food, great attention to detail, very cozy, friendly and warm. They were able to make us food that wasn't even on the menu. I would recommend this place to anyone that wants to bring a special someone out for a night in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.