Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Marx Bros Cafe

Located in one of the oldest homes in Anchorage, The Marx Bros. Café specializes in innovative contemporary cuisine featuring fresh Alaskan seafood and only the finest quality meats. Our chef revises the menu each night to reflect unique ingredients and imaginative preparations. Our cuisine is expertly paired with an extensive selection of wines housed in one of Alaska's largest cellars. Welcomed at the door by partner Van Hale, guests are at once immersed in a quaintly elegant atmosphere provided by our original town-site house and tasteful table settings. The evening is guided with unrivaled service by our subtle, accomplished staff. With only 14 tables in our house, we serve an average of 60 guests each night. Reservations are highly recommended. Please contact the restaurant directly if you are unable to get the time or party size requested online.

627 W Third Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 278-2133

Website:
http://marxcafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Jack Amon

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a private dining room for parties of 10-12. The restaurant can be booked for private parties up to 40 people.

Private Party Contact:
Van Hale: (907) 278-2133

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Marx Bros Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Romantic (20)
See All
Cozy (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Authentic (13)
Historic (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Business Meals (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fireplace (6)
Scenic View (5)
Fun (4)
Waterfront (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
748 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful. A time to enjoy a good meal without rushing. To savor every bite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Love this restaurant. It is our go to destination every time we are in Anchorage. Wouldn't miss an evening during a visit.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Marx Bros never fails to deliver a quality dining experience. We have been there only three times over 30 years (because it's outside our normal dining budget). All three times have been a treat worth saving for. Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Corkage fee is quite steep - $25
Before they even saw my bottle - I wax warned, if it was on their wine list they would not serve it.
Customer graciousness was lacking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 30, 2017

After reading many great reviews about this restaurant, we decided to give a try. When we arrived, we were greeted and seated right away. We could not help but notice how cluttered the hostess area looked and were also surprised at how outdated and dingy the interior of the restaurant looked. ..i,e pictures hanging crooked etc. We were greeted by the waiter, who's attire resembled that of a Denny's waiter. After we decided on a bottle of wine and the waiter started pouring, we noticed how utterly dirty the water and wine glasses were.

We felt very rushed due to the fact that we had barely sat down and were asked repeatedly about our menu choices. Once we got passed the appetizer mishap, a different waiter then delivered somebody else's entrée to our table. At the same time a t a different table, a lady had ordered a halibut dish but was served a salmon dish by mistake.

When our entrées arrived we were pleasantly surprised it's very nice presentation. One of the entrée was a stuffed pheasant breast and the other entrée was prosciutto wrapped venison.

Even though the presentation was beautiful, it was undistinguishable if we were eating chicken or pheasant. While eating the pheasant, we discovered several sharp bone shards throughout the breast.

For both dishes, the flavors were all blended together and we missed having the opportunity of tasting wild game.

Also, while we were eating our dinner, we were approached by a third waiter. She asked us "did the food taste good?"....She seemed really clunky and out of place.

After dinner, we ordered a slice of carrot cake and a cup of coffee. One could not help but notice, that the sugar packets were a Kirkland brand, straight from Costco.

The final straw was when the waiter handed us our unfinished bottle of wine in a plastic grocery bag which he plopped in the middle of the table!

We would not recommend this restaurant. Your money would be better spent at the Crow's Nest or Ginger's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Still our favorite anchorage restaurant. Two new items on menu this time. Clam chowder- wow; peasant breast - really nice. All the servers are attentive and friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The wait staff was attentive but not intrusive. They were very knowledgeable with the wine selection and had great advice on the food and appetizers.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food and service were great as expected! Our window table on the north was our favorite and enabled for enjoying the great view.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I have been coming to Marx Brothers for 30 plus years and remains one of the best restaurants in Anchorage. Period.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The best gourmet food in Anchorage. Halibut was just right, lobster bisque perfect with fresh chilled lobster in middle. Don't pass up the crab cakes. The last three times to Marx vino was spectacular. Tip: Request vino that can stand up to the rich food, faves are petite syrah or shiraz.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

As it is always the best place in Anch to eat. Small. Absolutely delicious. From the wine list The salads. The Bread. The Appetizers. Wine list . Main course. & delicious deserts. You will want to return often. Not Just just for a special occasion ❤️❤️❤️ Everything about Marx Bros Cafe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Absolutely love this restaurant! The Cesar salad was so incredible we are taking Van's class. I was very pleased by the menu and the wine list! This is a must visit if you are in Anchorage!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Historic, Hot Spot, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Everything was perfect! Van's tableside Caesar is a classic. Filet was cooked to perfection.
Raspberry and Passion Fruit sorbet was excellent. awesome dinner as always.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Still a great place for food and a great setting in Anchorage. Loved every bit of this evening.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Staff was very friendly but the service was very slow. Took almost 3 hours for a salad, dinner and dessert. Very pricy for their menu.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Amazing dinner, Cajun special to celebrate Mardi Gras. Food and service was excellent. Cesar Salad was perfect and always made table side.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We dine at Marx Bros 3 or 4 times a year. Food and service are always superb.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We always have a marvelous time dining at the Marx Bros, service, food-just awesome!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Fantastic food & service. The place to go for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Food was delicious and service was top notch. The fresh Caesar salad made at table was awesome

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food as usual. Excellent service. This is our go to restaurant more than any in Anchorage.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 18, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Anchorage. Probably one of the best on the west coast. Get the Caesar salad! Best you've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Marx Bros is an absolutely charming venue and perfect for a romantic date night. This was the first time my husband and I have ever been to Marx Bros and we had such a lovely time while there. The staff was so friendly and attentive during our visit and the food was superb! We will definitely be planning another romantic date night there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fantastic food, wine, and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

always exceeds expectations. Wine, food and service are excellent. Always a special menu item featuring something Alaskan. Alaskan seafood blended/seasoned with special taste. Jack, Van and the staff always make the evening memorable. Always recommend the Marx Bros!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Everyone and everything was excellent! It doesn't get much better than Marx Brothers in Anchorage!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Excellent food! Cozy and relaxed atmosphere. Overall a wonderful experience

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I was disappointed in my main entrée. I ordered the special (wagu new York steak). It tough and chewy....it also wasn't very warm....service was just ok...long gaps in getting attention.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Extremely disappointed to be seated in table next to door. Table was a bit wobbly (using knife to cut lamb was an adventure in trying to keep glasses etc on table) and feel like it was add on for extra space. Dinner partner had to move table so her chair could be near mine or there was no way we could have had any conversation at all. Reservations way in advance for our "night on the town."
Food was awesome, Everything I expected. Service was good but my experience colored by poor seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We loved the personal service, the delicious meal was a bonus. I was looking forward to trying this place out for a long time luckily the opportunity came when my mom was visiting. It was a beautiful snowy evening to make it perfect!!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Amazing. Can't say enough. Best Caesar salad of my life prepared by the owner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Just a little crowded. Food was excellently prepared. One dish was slightly underseasoned, but most were perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 4, 2016

As usual, the Marx Brothers is a great place to enjoy an evening with my wife. We have been visiting on a regular basis since 1981 and if anything, it has just gotten better. This is the best restaurant in anchorage, AK.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fireplace, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Sets the mark very high. Wonderful in all regards. I'm a nit pickin critic and found nothing wrong at all. Even eating early 530pm I expected it to be off but they were spot on. Perfection well delivered.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Everything about the Marx Bros. restaurant is first rate. The menu changes daily, featuring the best available seafood & meats. Fresh Alaskan oysters with. Pickled ginger relish was a very refreshing starter. The oysters were large and juicy. And the rack of venison entree was delicious. Served with the bone in, & cooked perfectly with spätzle & braised red cabbage, a mouthwatering treat. Dinner was topped off with a fresh berry crumble with homemade ice cream. A wonderful experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing all the way around. The atmosphere, food and servers were outstanding. Thank you.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Good value, good food, excellent service, but table next to fireplace too hot and most of our time there was too loud for easy conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our dinners were excellent & something we had never had before. Salads before dinner excellent. Wine great & so was dessert. A grear birthday dinner had by all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This restaurant has always been great. Quiet, great food, very good wine list, perhaps the best and in Town and it has what I call Anchorage patina. Elegant funk and real. Can't wait to go back. With in the last three weeks I have eaten at Hell's Backbone Grill (food as good but wine list not quite there though excellent none the less)Picasso and Micheal Mina in Vegas. Only Gino Ferraro's in Vegas was similar.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.