About Marx Bros Cafe

627 W Third Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Located in one of the oldest homes in Anchorage, The Marx Bros. Café specializes in innovative contemporary cuisine featuring fresh Alaskan seafood and only the finest quality meats. Our chef revises the menu each night to reflect unique ingredients and imaginative preparations. Our cuisine is expertly paired with an extensive selection of wines housed in one of Alaska's largest cellars. Welcomed at the door by partner Van Hale, guests are at once immersed in a quaintly elegant atmosphere provided by our original town-site house and tasteful table settings. The evening is guided with unrivaled service by our subtle, accomplished staff. With only 14 tables in our house, we serve an average of 60 guests each night. Reservations are highly recommended. Please contact the restaurant directly if you are unable to get the time or party size requested online.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 278-2133

Website:
http://marxcafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Jack Amon

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a private dining room for parties of 10-12. The restaurant can be booked for private parties up to 40 people.

Private Party Contact:
Van Hale: 907-278-2133

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Marx Bros Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
13 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

special occasion (58)
notable wine list (49)
fit for foodies (47)
See All
romantic (47)
scenic view (28)
neighborhood gem (26)
good for groups (7)
hot spot (5)
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
640 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I adore Marx Bros Cafe! The caesar salad ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

I adore Marx Bros Cafe! The caesar salad will revolutionize your expectations for this tasty dish. It may sound crazy but after moving away for 3.5 years, my husband and I have yet to find a place that can beat (or come close for that matter) to Marx Bros Cafe's caesar salad... Just to qualify for any doubters-we have traveled to NYC, Austin, Dallas, Houston, Napa, Yountville, San Fran, Tampa, Miami, Boca Raton, Jackson Hole... and on. Now for our entrees, the filet was phenomenal. The cut was of the highest quality and it was cooked to perfection. We are only back in Anchorage for a couple of weeks but I am sure we will be going at least two more times before leaving. DON'T MISS OUT!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service, menu, wine and food were excell ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

service, menu, wine and food were excellent. The owner/chef also came to our table to ensure we enjoyed our meal. Very accommodating and flexible. a special place to take special friends!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with a thoughtful presentatio ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food with a thoughtful presentation. The staff is experienced, knowledgeable and passionate about their product. Dining room is a little cramped and dated but that's part of the appeal. Nicely done.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Was a great time. We haven't been there ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 6 days ago

Was a great time. We haven't been there for 10 years and forgot how good it was.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Short beer list; limited choices for win ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 6 days ago

Short beer list; limited choices for wine by the glass. The rest of the wine list is very good. Food is really good except for the too salty sauce on the tea smoked duck. The Caesar salad is to-die-for good. The Yukon River salmon gravlax with salmon caviar was sublimely delicious: distilled essence of salmon goodness.

Service is always spot on there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The owner and his partner, as well as th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The owner and his partner, as well as the servers made you feel that you were home while dining at this lovely restaurant. The restaurant is built as part of a home making it more delightful and feel that you are at home.

People have said, you must have the Cesar Salad. We definitely agree; it was the best we ever had. Food was delicious

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of your favorite spots. The halibut ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

One of your favorite spots. The halibut was to die for. Service is always above and beyond!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the best restaurants I've ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants I've had the pleasure to experience. The food was fabulous; the service was the best, and the whole staff made our experience awesome. I live in Phoenix and have access to many wonderful restaurants. Marx Brothers is so good, I'd book a flight to Anchorage just to experience a night enjoying their food and atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent experience would have been 5 S ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent experience would have been 5 Star across the board but unfortunately we were seat next to a party of 10. When your in a tight place things get loud. In Alaska's top three for sure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Marx Bros is my "go to" special dinner p ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Marx Bros is my "go to" special dinner place. I have never been disappointed over the years since it first opened.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Marx Brothers Cafe has amazing food, and ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Marx Brothers Cafe has amazing food, and is owned by very kind and good people. This is definitely one of the best restaurants around!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marx Bros Café has a deserved reputation ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Marx Bros Café has a deserved reputation for excellence. We enjoyed going back and will look forward to returning. Everything was very good on this visit...not knock-out good, but better than just good. I'd like to explore the wine list further, and see something other than filet mignon as the only beef entrée. The garden needs a surer hand.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed our meal at Marx Bros restaur ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We enjoyed our meal at Marx Bros restaurant and the service was excellent. The place is small so you are close to other tables. View out the back was beautiful. Bathrooms are up a flight of stairs.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Marx bros is by far the best food in anc ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Marx bros is by far the best food in anchorage! We enjoyed every bite and had wonderful service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious oysters and venison. Service w ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Delicious oysters and venison. Service was very attentive, and with only 16 or so tables, everything had a personal touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place. Nice setting with a great ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great place. Nice setting with a great menu and wine list. A must when in Anchorage!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful like always

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Wonderful like always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Marx Brothers is far and away the best r ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Marx Brothers is far and away the best restaurant in Alaska and one of the best in the country. Owner and Chef Jack Amon continues to amaze and delight with his inventive menu, that still pays homage to his time tested classics. Marx Brothers is the only place I know of that has access to and serves Yukon Red salmon, hands down the best Salmon in the world. It blows Cooper River salmon completely out of the water. Do yourself a favor go try it ASAP. Marx Brothers is not just eating, it is a culinary experience with a wine list to die for. Let them course you out and do wine pairings. Worth every nickel. Five stars!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant dining in a relaxed and friendly ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Elegant dining in a relaxed and friendly setting - white tablecloths and congenial hosts in a small house that has a story, with original owners still running the show. The food was excellent and one of our favorites was the Neopolitan Seafood Mousse appetizer, which my husband and I shared. My husband also had the Alaska Oysters, which were large and firm, and he was happy with them (he is very fussy about the quality of oysters). The cod and salmon dinners were cooked perfectly, not overdone. We did not have it ourselves, but we enjoyed watching one of the owners make a Caesar salad at tableside for a group. If we are in Anchorage again (we are from California), Marx Bros. will be first on our list for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marx Bros. Cafe is a gem!!! We first ca ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Marx Bros. Cafe is a gem!!! We first came here over 30 years ago and have been returning since. Food is fresh and exciting. Jack pairs his classics with wonderfully new dishes. Van's Caesar Salad is to die for!! Great wine selections available too. Save room for dessert. MBC is every bit as enjoyable as Michelin starred restaurants we've visited.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Marx Brothers Restaurant was a truly ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The Marx Brothers Restaurant was a truly wonderful find. The owners and staff were freindly and accommodating. We ate there twice, the first time just after we landed in Anchorage, and because of the great experience, we booked it again the night before we left.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Hands down, best restaurant in Anchorage ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Hands down, best restaurant in Anchorage. In fact, no comparison. Halibut was flawless and the service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, its a great place to tak ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Food was great, its a great place to take someone who enjoys a high class resturant

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Marx Brothers Cafe is a world class Rest ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Marx Brothers Cafe is a world class Restaurant!, This small house on 3rd Avenue in downtown Anchorage is the birth place of elegant dining in Alaska!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Marvelous dishes with some of Alaska's f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Marvelous dishes with some of Alaska's freshest catch. Good wine list. I come for the Caesar salad, made fresh by the host/owner! Best Caesar I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Long-Time Favorite

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Marx Brothers has been one of our favorite restaurants for over 30 years. It's been fun to watch Jack Amon grow and develop into one of the best chefs anywhere. Their current menu may be their best ever.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

5 Star excellence!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Our dining experience was outstanding. The food was absolutely fabulous & the waitstaff was professional and welcoming.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Anchorage

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Consistently the best food and service in Anchorage.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Relying On a Reputation Long Gone

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The wife and I wanted a slight change for "Show Nite" downtown. It was a hot day and we dressed well like a hot Alaskan day chinos and such. Sat in the most crowded room possible. No worries though, cause you could hear the loud Aussie waitress from the other side of the quaint restaurant and beyond. We ordered the Halibut cheeks, White King Salmon and "Medium" Lamb chops. The halibut cheeks paired with a smoked tomato sauce was a okay. The salmon was over complicated with purple potato mash and Sorel sauce and burnt, I mean BURNT salmon. The chops were well under cooked and very rubbery and void of taste. This restaurant was once great I am sure, we were here years ago and it was good, just took forever. I hope that once their Regular Customers move on they will simplify their menu to eclectic and within the capacity of their kitchen staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Our White King dinner was divine! It wa ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Our White King dinner was divine! It was served with asperagus & mashed purple fingerling potatoes with a great accompanying sauce. Our finale was dessert. We split the chocolate Carmel tart & the coffee expresso ice cream. A wonderful dinner to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time at Marx Bros but ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This was our first time at Marx Bros but will not be our last! We had the crab cakes (very good), the filet (amaaazing), the black cod (delicious) and the walnut torte (perfect). Our server recommended a wonderful wine that paired well with everything and was priced well below retail price. A really great, leisurely and memorable dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It is cozy and you do expect to be tight ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

It is cozy and you do expect to be tightly seated but the entire time my back was straight up against the wall. Our server was rushed very loud and not very friendly. She asked if we wanted our bottle of Rombauer Chardonnay on ice not realizing I would have to beg her for every glass which was very disappointing and put a damper on the evening. The second bottle she announced was warm and we waited 30 minutes for it to chill. One of the owners was standing in front of the door as we entered and gave us a very opinionated look and gave no warmth or welcoming to our presence. It's not like we're vagrants as my husband is a oil executive and I am president of a oilfield support contractor that does the catering for Exxon, Conoco, BP and many other producers. We would not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

As always, Marx Bros is a treat. Van's ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

As always, Marx Bros is a treat. Van's Caesar never disappoints and the personal touch by the staff is relaxed, attentive; perfect. Great wine, inventive appetisers, and super deserts. We were a little underwhelmed by the beef and Lamb entrees this time round, so will go with the fresh catch special next time. Marx Bros seems to attract a fun clientele or perhaps makes people nicer to be around...? Great night all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious food, great wine pairing.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Delicious food, great wine pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wife and I wanted a night out for oursel ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Wife and I wanted a night out for ourselves . We chose the Marx Brothers because of the friendly atmosphere. Their service is great and food outstanding . You must go to see for yourself it's difficult to explain the experience .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best in Alaska

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

The Marx Brothers have had a long-standing reputation as one of the best restaurants in Alaska, richly deserved. We've dined there many times, about once a year, when we're in Anchorage visiting family. The food has always been superb. Oddly, this time it slipped a bit. The halibut that my wife and I had was overcooked and thus a bit dry. We'll take this as a fluke, and we'll be back nevertheless. The prices have been very reasonable considering their reputation and the quality of the food. The wines are seriously inexpensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Marx Bro's is a top notch dining experie ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Marx Bro's is a top notch dining experience! I highly recommend this spot for anyone wishing to have outstanding food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top Notch

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food, good wine list and excellent service. Can be a little noisy. Get the caesar salad.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding service and great food!

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Outstanding service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.