Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Marx Bros Cafe

Located in one of the oldest homes in Anchorage, The Marx Bros. Café specializes in innovative contemporary cuisine featuring fresh Alaskan seafood and only the finest quality meats. Our chef revises the menu each night to reflect unique ingredients and imaginative preparations. Our cuisine is expertly paired with an extensive selection of wines housed in one of Alaska's largest cellars. Welcomed at the door by partner Van Hale, guests are at once immersed in a quaintly elegant atmosphere provided by our original town-site house and tasteful table settings. The evening is guided with unrivaled service by our subtle, accomplished staff. With only 14 tables in our house, we serve an average of 60 guests each night. Reservations are highly recommended. Please contact the restaurant directly if you are unable to get the time or party size requested online.

627 W Third Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 278-2133

Website:
http://marxcafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Jack Amon

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a private dining room for parties of 10-12. The restaurant can be booked for private parties up to 40 people.

Private Party Contact:
Van Hale: (907) 278-2133

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Marx Bros Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (26)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Cozy (17)
Romantic (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Authentic (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Historic (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Business Meals (7)
Scenic View (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fun (6)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Waterfront (3)
Fireplace (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
759 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (London)·Dined 2 days ago

Best Caesar salad in the world, and the owners are super friendly.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 3 days ago

All members of the staff were tuned in to great service like a well oiled machine. They worked well together as a team and all were very friendly. Excellent presentation of the fare. Great place for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great meal - king salmon for me and halibut cheeks for my wife. They special made the halibut cheeks as an entree for my wife. Excellent crab cakes. Service was excellent (as usual) and friendly. Our 44th wedding anniversary. They treated us well.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Just outstanding. My favorite special place to dine in Anchorage. Food is masterfully prepared with some unique flavors. Service can not be beat anywhere anytime.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Well worth the price. The salmon and halibut were both delicious. There is an extensive wine list, and the server was very helpful in picking out a great bottle for us. Great experience all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Always a delicious meal! Van's table-side Caesar salad is a must!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great waitress and very nice wine. The oysters were fantastic as was the soup. The main course was a bit heavy for my taste (stuffed feasant) and portions are big. Save money and share your main.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The ambiance was good and the waitstaff was excellent. The food was very good, but for the price, I expected a little more somehow.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The Caeser salad prepared table side is the best. The wine list is awesome.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Delicious as always!! Favorite place to come. Best food in anchorage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Different menu - a little pretentious and very pricy. Unfortunately gave me an upset stomach for 12 hours afterwards

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Wonderful. A time to enjoy a good meal without rushing. To savor every bite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Love this restaurant. It is our go to destination every time we are in Anchorage. Wouldn't miss an evening during a visit.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Marx Bros never fails to deliver a quality dining experience. We have been there only three times over 30 years (because it's outside our normal dining budget). All three times have been a treat worth saving for. Enjoy!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Corkage fee is quite steep - $25
Before they even saw my bottle - I wax warned, if it was on their wine list they would not serve it.
Customer graciousness was lacking

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 30, 2017

After reading many great reviews about this restaurant, we decided to give a try. When we arrived, we were greeted and seated right away. We could not help but notice how cluttered the hostess area looked and were also surprised at how outdated and dingy the interior of the restaurant looked. ..i,e pictures hanging crooked etc. We were greeted by the waiter, who's attire resembled that of a Denny's waiter. After we decided on a bottle of wine and the waiter started pouring, we noticed how utterly dirty the water and wine glasses were.

We felt very rushed due to the fact that we had barely sat down and were asked repeatedly about our menu choices. Once we got passed the appetizer mishap, a different waiter then delivered somebody else's entrée to our table. At the same time a t a different table, a lady had ordered a halibut dish but was served a salmon dish by mistake.

When our entrées arrived we were pleasantly surprised it's very nice presentation. One of the entrée was a stuffed pheasant breast and the other entrée was prosciutto wrapped venison.

Even though the presentation was beautiful, it was undistinguishable if we were eating chicken or pheasant. While eating the pheasant, we discovered several sharp bone shards throughout the breast.

For both dishes, the flavors were all blended together and we missed having the opportunity of tasting wild game.

Also, while we were eating our dinner, we were approached by a third waiter. She asked us "did the food taste good?"....She seemed really clunky and out of place.

After dinner, we ordered a slice of carrot cake and a cup of coffee. One could not help but notice, that the sugar packets were a Kirkland brand, straight from Costco.

The final straw was when the waiter handed us our unfinished bottle of wine in a plastic grocery bag which he plopped in the middle of the table!

We would not recommend this restaurant. Your money would be better spent at the Crow's Nest or Ginger's.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Still our favorite anchorage restaurant. Two new items on menu this time. Clam chowder- wow; peasant breast - really nice. All the servers are attentive and friendly.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The wait staff was attentive but not intrusive. They were very knowledgeable with the wine selection and had great advice on the food and appetizers.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food and service were great as expected! Our window table on the north was our favorite and enabled for enjoying the great view.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I have been coming to Marx Brothers for 30 plus years and remains one of the best restaurants in Anchorage. Period.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The best gourmet food in Anchorage. Halibut was just right, lobster bisque perfect with fresh chilled lobster in middle. Don't pass up the crab cakes. The last three times to Marx vino was spectacular. Tip: Request vino that can stand up to the rich food, faves are petite syrah or shiraz.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

As it is always the best place in Anch to eat. Small. Absolutely delicious. From the wine list The salads. The Bread. The Appetizers. Wine list . Main course. & delicious deserts. You will want to return often. Not Just just for a special occasion ❤️❤️❤️ Everything about Marx Bros Cafe.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Absolutely love this restaurant! The Cesar salad was so incredible we are taking Van's class. I was very pleased by the menu and the wine list! This is a must visit if you are in Anchorage!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Historic, Hot Spot, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Everything was perfect! Van's tableside Caesar is a classic. Filet was cooked to perfection.
Raspberry and Passion Fruit sorbet was excellent. awesome dinner as always.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Still a great place for food and a great setting in Anchorage. Loved every bit of this evening.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Staff was very friendly but the service was very slow. Took almost 3 hours for a salad, dinner and dessert. Very pricy for their menu.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Amazing dinner, Cajun special to celebrate Mardi Gras. Food and service was excellent. Cesar Salad was perfect and always made table side.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We dine at Marx Bros 3 or 4 times a year. Food and service are always superb.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We always have a marvelous time dining at the Marx Bros, service, food-just awesome!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Fantastic food & service. The place to go for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Food was delicious and service was top notch. The fresh Caesar salad made at table was awesome

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food as usual. Excellent service. This is our go to restaurant more than any in Anchorage.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 18, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Anchorage. Probably one of the best on the west coast. Get the Caesar salad! Best you've ever had.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Marx Bros is an absolutely charming venue and perfect for a romantic date night. This was the first time my husband and I have ever been to Marx Bros and we had such a lovely time while there. The staff was so friendly and attentive during our visit and the food was superb! We will definitely be planning another romantic date night there.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fantastic food, wine, and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

always exceeds expectations. Wine, food and service are excellent. Always a special menu item featuring something Alaskan. Alaskan seafood blended/seasoned with special taste. Jack, Van and the staff always make the evening memorable. Always recommend the Marx Bros!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Everyone and everything was excellent! It doesn't get much better than Marx Brothers in Anchorage!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Excellent food! Cozy and relaxed atmosphere. Overall a wonderful experience

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I was disappointed in my main entrée. I ordered the special (wagu new York steak). It tough and chewy....it also wasn't very warm....service was just ok...long gaps in getting attention.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Extremely disappointed to be seated in table next to door. Table was a bit wobbly (using knife to cut lamb was an adventure in trying to keep glasses etc on table) and feel like it was add on for extra space. Dinner partner had to move table so her chair could be near mine or there was no way we could have had any conversation at all. Reservations way in advance for our "night on the town."
Food was awesome, Everything I expected. Service was good but my experience colored by poor seating.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.