About Marx Bros Cafe

627 W Third Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
View Larger Map

Located in one of the oldest homes in Anchorage, The Marx Bros. Café specializes in innovative contemporary cuisine featuring fresh Alaskan seafood and only the finest quality meats. Our chef revises the menu each night to reflect unique ingredients and imaginative preparations. Our cuisine is expertly paired with an extensive selection of wines housed in one of Alaska's largest cellars. Welcomed at the door by partner Van Hale, guests are at once immersed in a quaintly elegant atmosphere provided by our original town-site house and tasteful table settings. The evening is guided with unrivaled service by our subtle, accomplished staff. With only 14 tables in our house, we serve an average of 60 guests each night. Reservations are highly recommended. Please contact the restaurant directly if you are unable to get the time or party size requested online.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
F Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 278-2133

Website:
http://marxcafe.com/

Executive Chef:
Jack Amon

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a private dining room for parties of 10-12. The restaurant can be booked for private parties up to 40 people.

Private Party Contact:
Van Hale: 907-278-2133

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Marx Bros Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Food
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Service
Anchorage / Alaska
9 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Value
Anchorage / Alaska
Special Occasion
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Special Occasion (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Romantic (16)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for a Date (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Cozy (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Authentic (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Historic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Scenic View (5)
Seasonal (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fireplace (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Private Room (3)
Casual (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Healthy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Waterfront (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
674 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As usual, the Marx Brothers is a great p ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 4, 2016

As usual, the Marx Brothers is a great place to enjoy an evening with my wife. We have been visiting on a regular basis since 1981 and if anything, it has just gotten better. This is the best restaurant in anchorage, AK.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fireplace, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sets the mark very high. Wonderful in al ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Sets the mark very high. Wonderful in all regards. I'm a nit pickin critic and found nothing wrong at all. Even eating early 530pm I expected it to be off but they were spot on. Perfection well delivered.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything about the Marx Bros. restaura ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Everything about the Marx Bros. restaurant is first rate. The menu changes daily, featuring the best available seafood & meats. Fresh Alaskan oysters with. Pickled ginger relish was a very refreshing starter. The oysters were large and juicy. And the rack of venison entree was delicious. Served with the bone in, & cooked perfectly with spätzle & braised red cabbage, a mouthwatering treat. Dinner was topped off with a fresh berry crumble with homemade ice cream. A wonderful experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing all the way around. The atmosphe ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing all the way around. The atmosphere, food and servers were outstanding. Thank you.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good value, good food, excellent service ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Good value, good food, excellent service, but table next to fireplace too hot and most of our time there was too loud for easy conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Our dinners were excellent & something w ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our dinners were excellent & something we had never had before. Salads before dinner excellent. Wine great & so was dessert. A grear birthday dinner had by all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant has always been great. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This restaurant has always been great. Quiet, great food, very good wine list, perhaps the best and in Town and it has what I call Anchorage patina. Elegant funk and real. Can't wait to go back. With in the last three weeks I have eaten at Hell's Backbone Grill (food as good but wine list not quite there though excellent none the less)Picasso and Micheal Mina in Vegas. Only Gino Ferraro's in Vegas was similar.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, wine and service are excellent ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food, wine and service are excellent. My only regret is that the stated "casual" attire sometimes detracts from the dining experience. Some guests take casual a bit too far.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to eat here. The food ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Always a pleasure to eat here. The food is fantastic and prepared with care. To ensure consistency they restaurant is housed in a quaint 100 year old home. This keep crowds down, but it is common for the noise level to raise where it becomes difficult to hear the person across the table from you.

All-in-all it is one of my favorite, if not my most favorite, restaurants in Anchorage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, some issues with the lightin ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great food, some issues with the lighting yet overall good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A very quaint place with lots of ambianc ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2016

A very quaint place with lots of ambiance The service and food was superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional in every way! From the table ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Exceptional in every way! From the table-side preparation of the Caesar salad to the presentation of the entrees and desserts, this was a 5 Star experience. Staff were professional, attentive and fun. This is a place to enjoy an intimate dining experience and small parties of 4 or less will find this experience at Marx Brother's Cafe delightful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The resurant was amazing! The food was ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The resurant was amazing! The food was spectacular...it was easy to substitute a different food item due to allergy. Service was spot on...our glasses were never empty. Wonderful setting...it made for a special anniversary. The only negative was the bathrooms need updating...husband came back and said paint was peeling and there were webs and a little mold on window.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marx Brothers is always fabulous. I had ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Marx Brothers is always fabulous. I had not been for a while and took my 17 year old twin boys for a special dinner and they loved it! The seafood mousse was great for an appetizer. We enjoyed the scallops and filet! They had special birthday desserts with candles but not a big fuss. Just tastefully nice, literally!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first experience with Marxs ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This was my first experience with Marxs Brothers. I had made reservations to celebrate my 30th birthday with my parents and my friend. I could not have had a better experience. The wine, the food, and the staff were on point. The Cesar salad made table side was so amazing! Thank you for this memorable birthday. I will be back for a date night ASAP!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed the evening, however I was not ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I enjoyed the evening, however I was not too impressed with this place. First when booking for a reservation, it asked what am I celebrating or what's the occasion. So I felt great, knowing I would take my wife there and they would at least say Happy Birthday. Not once did this happen nor any attention to it. I did expect a little something, like saying Happy Birthday OR having something on the table in which would state something along those lines. Otherwise, what is the use of having that question. I liked the atmosphere in which this place is. It was nice, to have dinner; But for as expensive as it is. I just thought it would go just a little further to honor my wife on her special day. I'm not asking for the Red Robbin singing which is terrible, but at least acknowledgement. I was not asking for anything free either.

Second, the staff were nice expect for one person. The tall guy that serviced the wine. Even though my wife did not like the more expensive wine, it was like we or she made a mistake. Just because the taste was not good. Since she rather have a different wine it was like we were wasting his time. On the good note, the other gentleman that was serving food/salad and such. He was VERY accommodating to even close the door when it was freezing in the restaurant. I saw him sweating, so I know he was working. But to put the customer first and close the door. That was class act on his part and the utmost customer service.

As far as coming back, I don't see myself running back to have dinner or anything. However, I do see it as a place in which I don't say no too. It was quite pleasant to have a quite evening with my wife, and nice dinner.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The Caesar salad was OK and the lamb, ve ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The Caesar salad was OK and the lamb, veal, & scallops dinners were awful. The meat was cold, the servings were small.

Hadn't been to Marx Brothers in a few years. I was so excited to bring my friends who had never been there. We will not return. Sorry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

In town for a week, and decided to take ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

In town for a week, and decided to take my husband's godmother here as a thank you. She's lived in Anchorage for more than 50 years, but had never been! I'm so glad we took her, it was SUCH a lovely little place. The food was phenomenal, as was the service, and she said she felt like a queen. If I'm ever back in Anchorage, this place is on my short list of places to visit again.

Tags: Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Marx Brothers offers the best intimate d ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Marx Brothers offers the best intimate dining in Anchorage. Excellent food, service and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always outstanding in every way. The amb ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Always outstanding in every way. The ambience, service, creativity, quality (food and wine) are all consistently 5 star. You do pay for what you get, so this is a special occasion restaurant for may people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classic Anchorage fine dining located in ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Classic Anchorage fine dining located in small historic house downtown. Famous for their Caesar salads prepared table- side. Highly recommend following up the Caesar with rack of venison on morel risotto!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This gem NEVER gets old and is always a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This gem NEVER gets old and is always a pleasure to walk in and see familiar faces who remember you even when haven been in for a while, like a year. I live in Maine and they are in Anchorage AK so......

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Casual, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Halibut. The end. Except I am requi ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Best Halibut. The end.

Except I am required to write it in a minimum of 50 words - shame on open table for wasting everyone's time.

We have visited Marx Brothers regularly since we found the place in 2006. It never changes, always great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most amazing and wonderful dining experi ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Most amazing and wonderful dining experience in Alaska.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner - salmon for my better half and s ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Dinner - salmon for my better half and scallops for me. Nice wine selection made choosing very easy. Service and food was great or fantastic - only drawback of the evening was the noise level which was near headache level. Difficult to carry on a conversation but very easy to hear everyone else's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As always this place ROCKS!!!! I've los ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2016

As always this place ROCKS!!!! I've lost count on the number if times I have been there but despite the distance (I live in Maine) I go several times a year. The have with out a doubt THE BEST Caesar Salad on the planet and I have tried many of them!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Casual, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food - love that it is also lo ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Delicious food - love that it is also local. Loved the halibut dinner and the birch ice cream is not to be missed. Hard to pick a favorite as everything was very very VERY good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful ambiance and fantastic food!

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful ambiance and fantastic food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I had read in a review that Marx Bros. C ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 7, 2016

I had read in a review that Marx Bros. Café was the best restaurant in Alaska. So, while visiting Anchorage I just had to check it out. And, while I don't know if this is the best Alaska has to offer, none of the four of us in our group was disappointed, and all agreed we would definitely return. Van's Caesar Salad for four prepared table side was especially good, one of the best I've ever had. Two in our group opted for the Halibut Macadamia and the other two, myself included, chose filet mignons. The beef was melt in your mouth tender and prepared exactly as ordered. Their wine list is extensive so finding an appropriate wine was an easy task. All four had dessert that is made in house. The tiramisu was super good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We really felt like appreciated guests w ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 4, 2016

We really felt like appreciated guests while celebrating our 42nd anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent choice for a special dinner ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 29, 2016

An excellent choice for a special dinner in Anchorage. They were very accommodating since we had to move our time. Also our server was wonderful (forgot the name but a transplant from Australia)! She went out of her way to make our special occasion very special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

we were in Anchorage for an overnight af ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 29, 2016

we were in Anchorage for an overnight after a long holiday and before travelling on to Los Angeles to return to Australia. The local hotel recommended Marx Bros.. they could not have been more accommodating and the food was absolutely outstanding. The town should be proud to have such a venue as this in its area. The staff were such a delight and seemed genuinely happy to be our hosts

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service, food and wine. Only ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Fantastic service, food and wine. Only beer and wine offered but excellent choices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I adore Marx Bros Cafe! The caesar salad ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 24, 2016

I adore Marx Bros Cafe! The caesar salad will revolutionize your expectations for this tasty dish. It may sound crazy but after moving away for 3.5 years, my husband and I have yet to find a place that can beat (or come close for that matter) to Marx Bros Cafe's caesar salad... Just to qualify for any doubters-we have traveled to NYC, Austin, Dallas, Houston, Napa, Yountville, San Fran, Tampa, Miami, Boca Raton, Jackson Hole... and on. Now for our entrees, the filet was phenomenal. The cut was of the highest quality and it was cooked to perfection. We are only back in Anchorage for a couple of weeks but I am sure we will be going at least two more times before leaving. DON'T MISS OUT!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service, menu, wine and food were excell ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 24, 2016

service, menu, wine and food were excellent. The owner/chef also came to our table to ensure we enjoyed our meal. Very accommodating and flexible. a special place to take special friends!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with a thoughtful presentatio ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food with a thoughtful presentation. The staff is experienced, knowledgeable and passionate about their product. Dining room is a little cramped and dated but that's part of the appeal. Nicely done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Was a great time. We haven't been there ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Was a great time. We haven't been there for 10 years and forgot how good it was.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Short beer list; limited choices for win ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Short beer list; limited choices for wine by the glass. The rest of the wine list is very good. Food is really good except for the too salty sauce on the tea smoked duck. The Caesar salad is to-die-for good. The Yukon River salmon gravlax with salmon caviar was sublimely delicious: distilled essence of salmon goodness.

Service is always spot on there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The owner and his partner, as well as th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2016

The owner and his partner, as well as the servers made you feel that you were home while dining at this lovely restaurant. The restaurant is built as part of a home making it more delightful and feel that you are at home.

People have said, you must have the Cesar Salad. We definitely agree; it was the best we ever had. Food was delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of your favorite spots. The halibut ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 21, 2016

One of your favorite spots. The halibut was to die for. Service is always above and beyond!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.