Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Maruya

Maruya offers Edomae interpretation of traditional Japanese sushi and served through our omakase (selected by the Chef).

NEW:
Maruya added a new weekday special omakase menu (Tues, Wed & Thurs) only. We will offer this menu beginning February 1, 2017. The special omakase is 75 per person.

Executive Chef Tonai continues to adhere to traditional Japanese dining experience by presenting the sushi and the dishes in a well-thought-out manner.

Chef Tonai curates the fish from Tsukiji Market, Tokyo.

2931 16th Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesdays - Thursdays 5:30 pm - 8:30 pm.
Friday & Saturday: 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm.
Last Seating is 8:30 pm on weekdays and 9:30 pm on weekends.

We can accommodate a party of 5-9 people. Our schedule times can be flexible, please call (415) 503-0702 for other times scheduled on Open Table.

We strive our best to have your table available at the time of your arrival. Please allow 2 hours when dining with us.

Request for sushi bar seating is not guaranteed; however, we will do our best to accommodate.

Consumer Advisory: Consuming raw or undercooked seafood, shellfish or eggs may increase your risk of foodborne illness. Please provide advance notice if you have any food allergies.


Cross Street:
South Van Ness

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 503-0702

Website:
http://www.maruyasf.org/

Entertainment:
Maruya opens on Tuesdays thru Saturdays from 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Dinner: Tuesdays - Saturdays 5:30pm - 9:30pm

*Omakase: Last Seating is 9:30 pm.

Catering:
Not Available for Catering.

Parking Details:
Street parking

Public Transit:
Bart Station (16th Street), Mission / 16th Street.

Muni Bus Line #22 #46 #47 drops you a block from Maruya at 16th & Mission.

Executive Chef:
Akifusa Tonai

Private Party Facilities:
For a large party (from 6 to 9 people), our private room is available.
Diners are welcome to order from the a la carte menu after the omakase has ran its course.


Corkage fee is $35 per 750ml bottle. (1 bottle per party).
Service charge is automatically added to a party of 5 or more.

Private Party Contact:
Manager: (415) 503-0702

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Maruya is available for a buy-out.

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Details

Another way to celebrate Cinco de Mayo is with sake and sushi. We're located in San Francisco's Mission District. We can accommodate a party of 5-9 people.

Maruya Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
See All
Creative Cuisine (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Cozy (2)
Romantic (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Fun (1)
Seasonal (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
122 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This was probably the best Japanese meal I have had in the States. The omakase, ambience, and service were beyond words. The nigiri was super fresh, and the each course meticulously prepared and presented. This was an experience for both tasting and visual artistry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Get ready to pay but some of the best sushi we've had plus sitting at the bar allows you to watch the chefs work their magic. More for the experience than anything else but it's expensive. Without any alcohol, I still spent $350 for two, with tip. Excellent service. It was an honor though watching the Sushi chef who gave us wonderful attention. We did the Chef's Selection.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The presentation of the meal was exquisite, and the food was some of the best Japanese food I have ever had in my life. Definitely worth the price for the experience and taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Omakase done right. Each time you come here you'll get a completely different experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Quiet place. Fantastic service. Food was tasty, but I found the nigiri and sashimi wasn't of the best quality, tasted old and dull, probably because it was Restaurant Week.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

In general , Maruya is above average in terms of the taste for Japanese sushi restaurants. We had the tasting menu for the SF restaurant week and I was hoping the omakase style where the chief makes the sushi in front of you and give you one by one. However, the sushi and sashimi we had was still chief selected but they were served all together in a box. Also the amount of the food was not enough unless your appetite is really small. All the tables next to us including us ordered extra food outside the tasting menu.

The price for the tasting menu is lower than what they would charged normally I guess but having to order extra food is definitely not what we wanted.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The food was small in portions. My date and I came here for restaurant week and we were still hungry afterwards. The bill came out to $190 with an order of tea on the side. Even the green tea tiramisu, which looked yummy was subpar and lackluster. I have personally made tiramisu that tasted better than what they served. I will not return again, since they also made us change the reservation time that we originally had set up.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Fabulous food and presentation. A bit of heat would go a long way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Sushi quality was great, but the set menus are incredibly overpriced. I spent $100 on my meal alone, and left hungry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It's a tad on the pricey side, but sitting at the sushi bar was well worth it. The food was excellent and the people here from chef to wait staff were fantastic. I would highly recommend a dinner here for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Lovely meal but expensive - $95 mandatory tasting menu. Many other sushi restaurants offer better value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Went the day after disastrous national election results to commiserate with my wife - once again, a great meal lifted our spirits (inspired resistance to follow). Definitely worth the price for amazingly fresh, perfectly prepared fish and other Japanese delicacies. This place deserves 2 Michelin stars!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Im sorry to leave this review, but also pretty sorry about the experience I had.
I had been to this restaurant almost 2 years ago, and that first time was so exceptional that I was waiting for the right celebratory occasion to return.
Something dramatic has happened since I was there last. While the service and presentation was great, the food was very mediocre, and the bill was breathtaking - possibly the highest amount Ive paid for a dinner for 2, and I've eaten all around SF and the Mission.
Textures and flavors were bland to poor, truly shocking for a $150 per person chef's meal. I hope we caught them on an off night - but I also hope I can save you from a disappointing celebration of your own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This is the greatest sushi I have ever tasted and the chefs did an incredible job of presenting the food in interesting and delicious ways. It was very expensive so this is something I would probably only experience a couple times in my life, but it was totally worth it. The blue fin tuna was the star of the meal and it literally melted in my mouth. I knew omakase sushi was a unique and treasured tradition, but I was not expecting to be transported to heaven through the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I was disappointed for this restaurant
Sushi is not bad but it is so pricy

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 18, 2016

High quality fish. Expertly prepared sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2016

This place is a fantastic Japanese sushi place prepared by two professional and nothing could go wrong! Three hours went by so quick.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was my second time to Maruya.

The first time I went there a couple of years ago, before their Michelin star it was a great overall experience. At the time the chef's [Hide's] omakase was about $100 and I left full, but not stuffed and relishing the overall experience as the fish was some of the best I had since being in Japan. The restaurant was full and there was a nice overall energy in an intimate setting.

The second time I went there recently and arrived on the early side, there was nobody else there, although it did fill up to about 60% of capacity by the end of the meal. Quality wise the food was just as good as before, but this time around the chef's omakase was $150, and the overall meal was about 60% of the food from the previous visit. For me this unfortunately crossed the line into a food-as-art-meal where if one doesn't have a snack before the meal you're hungry throughout which is a bit frustrating when your final bill with tip is over $200 per person. In general I love Japanese food and this meal was trying to be like a kaiseki meal, but with individual portions of sushi served in intervals of 7 to 10 minutes, which doesn't work well.

I'm a bit torn about this review as I love the food, but the overall experience wasn't as good the second time around. Basically the current chef's omakase meal would need to include at least 5 to 6 more pieces of sushi for it to be more of a complete meal at a $150 price point. - AL

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Delicious and fresh ingredients; meticulous course presentation, friendly and attentive service, elegant decor and lighting... This summarized our dinner experience at Maruya!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Top notch nigiri sushi with excellent appetizers, grilled fish. Traditional Japanese style with simple decor. Fair price for the quality of food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2016

I had high expectations going in (Michelin Star Rated) and they were all met and exceeded. Presentation was a joy to behold, and the service (including the sushi chefs) were gracious and friendly. And the flavor, my word. Every course was a new adventure. Price is surprisingly reasonable as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2016

absolutely fantastic. one of the top sushi restaurants in the city with an interior décor to match the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I spent $700 on a dinner for 4 that I will forget. Went for the experience, but ultimately left hungry and disappointed. Sushi was good, but wish there was more of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything was amazing. It is a bit steep in price so I marked it good for a special occasion

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Brought a friend here for her birthday and we had a great time.

We had the Chefs choice Omakase and its hard to pick a favorite. The staff was great. Very attentive and friendly. The Chefs did a great job, the presentation was excellent and the timing between courses was perfect.

The courses before the Nigiri were fantastic, we all enjoyed everything that they put in front of us.

The Nigiri was also very very good. I was worried that I was not going to be able to eat everything but it all worked out.


I am also very appreciative of the fact that they brought out some Green Tea Tiramisu for my friend as a birthday dessert and did not make a spectacle of the whole thing.

I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone looking for Omakase.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2016

I've been to Maruya on 3 separate occasions. On the 1st visit, I had their standard omakase and was impressed by the quality of food and I thought the price was fair ($92/person). On the 2nd visit, my wife had the standard omakase while I had the chef's offering which is listed as MP. The price for the chef's offering was roughly $130. Again, I was satisfied with my meal and I found the prices to be acceptable.

However, on my 3rd visit, my entire table opted to have the chef's omakase. The menu still lists the price for this course as MP. When the bill came, we were shocked to see the total for each person's set course was $172 each. Not only was there no expectation there would be a $80 difference in price, but as someone who has had both types of omakase at Maruya I know first hand there is nothing that could justify that cost difference.

At the end of the meal, we wanted to take a closer look at the prices. We attempted to take the receipt that included the cost breakdown per fish, we were told harshly that we couldn't take that. The staff member reluctantly said he would photocopy the receipt, and then handed me an envelope. Upon getting home, I realized the staff member had only provided a copy of the summary receipt and not the page with individual prices of fish.

I will not be going back to Maruya. While I know not every restaurant that serves omakase provides a specific price on the menu, most restaurants I've been to that specialize in this whether in San Francisco or Tokyo do provide a cost. The way Maruya handled the pricing and the failure to provide the requested itemized receipt made me feel like we were taken advantage of, and while the food was good there are better restaurants in San Francisco that believe in price transparency.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Good food. Same as many other omakase menus around. But at about double the price. Dinner for two around $260. Which is not unreasonable, so long as the food is exceptional.

Just falls short here. Great staff. Exceedingly attentive. But overpriced.

Prefer Ebisu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2016

Food if phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2016

For the price - we thought the quality of fish was not very good. Even the wine was too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Really enjoy this dining experience. Waiters are excellence and care to details.

I asked for a plum wine, although it wasn't on the wine list. They quickly offer me the dessert wine as sub.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2016

It was our first time here, and I must say that our experience at Maruya was excellent all around. From the moment we walked in we were greeted very kindly by the host and immediately we felt like we were home. We were fortunate enough to sit at the sushi bar (which I highly recommend and is a must), where we were introduced to Chef Tonai. Chef Tonai is an absolute pleasure, and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience watching him go to work, speaking with him about sushi and life experience, and providing us with a delectable, aesthetically pleasing, and engaging omakase. That along with one of the sake bottles from the Winter Sake List, and our meal became one of the most memorable sushi experiences we have had in SF. We tried both the Maruya and the Chef omakase, and both were very satisfying in both appearance and taste. I also like that after the omakase you can order a la carte, which is what a lot of fine dining sushi restaurants are doing nowadays. Our server Yuri was excellent as well, she was very attentive, professional, and provided great recommendations on the sake menu. An excellent experience all around, and again, we wanted to emphasize that Chef Tonai is one of the most pleasant, engaging, personable, humorous, masterful sushi chefs I have ever met, and we will definitely return. Domo arigato Tonai-san!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Great place for a special occasion or just for great food. Terrific sake list - some of the best I've ever had. They really pay attention to detail. Sushi, sashimi and small plates were all delicious. Strongly recommend and will go back. My 2nd time already.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2015

Excellent sushi, service and overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2015

Habiamos leido algunas buenas criticas y fuimosmcon grandes expectativas a este restaurante. Hacia mucho tiempo que no comiantan mal. Me parece una estafa. Carisimo, con una carta de vinos también carisima y con solo 4 vinosmtintos, pero lo peor la comida. Varias entradas que o bien no decian nada o directamente estaban malisimas y te las dejabas. El sushi no valia nada y el sashimi, casi lo único que se podia comer, muy escaso y nada del otro mundo, mas bien flojo. Ni se osmocurra ir.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2015

My first time to this place was a great experience. It was quite a find and the presentation is lovely. You really have to appreciate the time, effort and artistry in dining to this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 11, 2015

Food was good but doesn't worth $92 for omakase set dinner that we had tried ! Tea was charge $10 per person and they refilled 3 times and take away the tea cup ! Beer was $8 a glass and dessert was also $10 each and I think they are over price ! Three of us ordered omakase set dinner $92 per person and ordered two beers, one hot tea and three desserts and our check at the end was total of $420 including tips ....... I think I can get better sashimi and sushi at another nice Japanese restaurants!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2015

My second time there while traveling to SF on business. This place is a little out of the way from the financial district but well worth the trip. The omakase is absolutely amazing. They also have Asahi on draft, which might be more common in SF but I always opt for that because it's usually not available. It is a bit expensive ($200 total but I ordered the most expensive omakase) but well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2015

The food is different from the previous owner, but it is very good in it's own way. However, the place has lost its elegance and sophistication. The chefs, while being friendly, are a fraction of what Masa is in terms of both skill and knowledge. Sushi requires attention to presentation, and this is a major problem for the current owner. Porcelain/ceramics have been replaced by aluminum, and it detracts from the experience. The first course was done in a fashion similar to the original owners, but that was the highlight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2015

The plate ware was excellent. The textures, visual presentations and pairing were worthy
Of a Michelin Star. Unfortunately the service was subpar. We had a inexperienced server
who didn't open the champagne bottle properly. Overpoured the glass and incorrectly
Described the dishes we were served. She corrected them during the course of the particular
Dish. Overall you get what is advertised but the execution is a distraction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2015

I made a last minute reservation and was missed my SF train from the East Bay. I ended up having to drive in to the city. I called and asked if I can move up to a later time, they accommodated me and still gave us the whole omakase service without feeling rushed. Definitely deserving of a Michelin star rating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.