Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Maruya

Maruya offers three different omakase: *Nigiri (95), *Otsukuri (95) and *Chef's Omakase (150).

The Chef's Omakase offers a 19 course menu. Each nigiri (12) is meticulously prepared. Our fish are flown from Tsukiji Market, Tokyo.

NEW: Oju Series Set Menu.
*Maruya Gozen. It is a set menu (different from omakase menu). The set menu consists of different dishes and served all at the same time. The set menu is served with a variety of slices of *fish, sakizuke, otsukemono, kobachi and owan. (49)


*Salmon Oyako Ju (35)
*Maguro Ju (35)
Una Ju (45)

2931 16th Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Japanese Speciality

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesdays - Thursdays 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm.
Friday & Saturday: 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm.
Last Seating is 8:30 pm on weekdays and 9:30 pm on weekends.

We can accommodate a party of 5-12 people. Our schedule times can be flexible, with a large party. Please call us for further information.

Request for sushi bar seating is not guaranteed; however, we will do our best to accommodate your request.


*Consumer Advisory:
Consuming raw or undercooked seafood, shellfish or eggs may increase your risk of foodborne illness. Please provide advance notice if you have any food allergies.


Cross Street:
South Van Ness

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 503-0702

Website:
http://www.maruyasf.org/

Entertainment:
Maruya opens on Tuesdays thru Saturdays from 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Dinner: Tuesdays - Saturdays 5:30pm - 9:30pm

*Omakase: Last Seating is 9:30 pm.

Catering:
Not Available for Catering.

Parking Details:
Street parking

Public Transit:
Bart Station (16th Street), Mission / 16th Street.

Muni Bus Line #22 #46 #47 drops you a block from Maruya at 16th & Mission.

Executive Chef:
Akifusa Tonai

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Maruya is available for a buy-out.

Maruya Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

85% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
See All
Authentic (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Business Meals (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
134 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 14, 2017

This is a gem. Amazing quality sushi, super authentic, perfect service, and much better value than most other omakase in town.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Hmmm the overall environment is good, the food is good, the chef is good/cute. Somehow if you sit next to someone really loud then it’s kind of annoying because the space is really tiny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

It was an hour and a half before we got our first piece of sushi. It was three hours before we were done with dinner. The sushi itself was decent, not remarkable. The price tag was out of proportion with the experience. Wouldn't really recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Love coming here. Service is exceptional. Food is simply perfect. Fresh ingredients, incredible presentation and authentic Japanese flavor. Best Omakase menu in the Bay Area.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Maruya is my favorite omakase sushi restaurant in San Francisco! Lovely ambience, impeccable service, and the best omakase experience. Chef Tonai-san is someone who truly loves serving sushi! I have never met any other chef who smiles when serving your food to you. We were met with endless kindness from the most attentive staff. They truly know how to make your dining experience the best you'll ever have. Every visit to Maruya holds a special place in my heart. Absolutely unforgettable. Thank you for the wonderful memories, Maruya!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Amazing food !!! Loved watching the chefs put everything together. Great value for the quality and portions. We had the $49 selection. Terrific.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I absolutely love this gem of a restaurant. The service is impeccable and practically magic. The omakase will blow your mind. Perfect place for special occasion / celebration or just to treat yourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Delicious, fresh fish with a reasonably-priced omakase. Everything was flavorful and delicious. The a la carte prices, however, were exorbitantly ridiculous ($33 for ONE piece of toro, $22 for ONE piece of Hokkaido uni, etc.). I have been to many expensive sushi restaurants and this was by far the most ridiculously priced for individual nigiri. Therefore, even though I was still a bit hungry after my omakase, I decided to hold off on buying any additional nigiri and go eat Mexican food immediately after. In summary, Maruya had a very good omakase but the additional nigiri is so overpriced that it was a slap in the face at the end of a wonderful meal.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

One of the most friendly and accommodating restaurants I've stepped foot in. The sake and food were great. The only lesson to learn is If you are a vegetarian, you should reserve and request it 24 hours in advance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Maruya is an Omakase restaurant whose experience really is worth the visit. Sitting in front of a gourmand sushi chef with individual pieces served one by one. The presentation is entirely unique and the food - fresh and fantastic! On the pricey side, but worth the occasional indulgence.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food here is constantly fantastic. I enjoy the quality, attentive preparation and presentation. The staff is extremely professional but friendly as well, so I can definitely relax and enjoy the meal and a great selection of sake. Overall a wonderful dining experience at Maruya.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Omakase was beautifully presented with lots of variety and amazingly fresh fish. The service was top notch and worth the $150 per person we paid for half sashimi half nigiri omakase. Some of the best sushi in San Francisco hands down.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was probably the best Japanese meal I have had in the States. The omakase, ambience, and service were beyond words. The nigiri was super fresh, and the each course meticulously prepared and presented. This was an experience for both tasting and visual artistry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Get ready to pay but some of the best sushi we've had plus sitting at the bar allows you to watch the chefs work their magic. More for the experience than anything else but it's expensive. Without any alcohol, I still spent $350 for two, with tip. Excellent service. It was an honor though watching the Sushi chef who gave us wonderful attention. We did the Chef's Selection.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The presentation of the meal was exquisite, and the food was some of the best Japanese food I have ever had in my life. Definitely worth the price for the experience and taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Omakase done right. Each time you come here you'll get a completely different experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Quiet place. Fantastic service. Food was tasty, but I found the nigiri and sashimi wasn't of the best quality, tasted old and dull, probably because it was Restaurant Week.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

In general , Maruya is above average in terms of the taste for Japanese sushi restaurants. We had the tasting menu for the SF restaurant week and I was hoping the omakase style where the chief makes the sushi in front of you and give you one by one. However, the sushi and sashimi we had was still chief selected but they were served all together in a box. Also the amount of the food was not enough unless your appetite is really small. All the tables next to us including us ordered extra food outside the tasting menu.

The price for the tasting menu is lower than what they would charged normally I guess but having to order extra food is definitely not what we wanted.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food was small in portions. My date and I came here for restaurant week and we were still hungry afterwards. The bill came out to $190 with an order of tea on the side. Even the green tea tiramisu, which looked yummy was subpar and lackluster. I have personally made tiramisu that tasted better than what they served. I will not return again, since they also made us change the reservation time that we originally had set up.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Fabulous food and presentation. A bit of heat would go a long way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Sushi quality was great, but the set menus are incredibly overpriced. I spent $100 on my meal alone, and left hungry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 3, 2016

It's a tad on the pricey side, but sitting at the sushi bar was well worth it. The food was excellent and the people here from chef to wait staff were fantastic. I would highly recommend a dinner here for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Lovely meal but expensive - $95 mandatory tasting menu. Many other sushi restaurants offer better value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Went the day after disastrous national election results to commiserate with my wife - once again, a great meal lifted our spirits (inspired resistance to follow). Definitely worth the price for amazingly fresh, perfectly prepared fish and other Japanese delicacies. This place deserves 2 Michelin stars!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Im sorry to leave this review, but also pretty sorry about the experience I had.
I had been to this restaurant almost 2 years ago, and that first time was so exceptional that I was waiting for the right celebratory occasion to return.
Something dramatic has happened since I was there last. While the service and presentation was great, the food was very mediocre, and the bill was breathtaking - possibly the highest amount Ive paid for a dinner for 2, and I've eaten all around SF and the Mission.
Textures and flavors were bland to poor, truly shocking for a $150 per person chef's meal. I hope we caught them on an off night - but I also hope I can save you from a disappointing celebration of your own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This is the greatest sushi I have ever tasted and the chefs did an incredible job of presenting the food in interesting and delicious ways. It was very expensive so this is something I would probably only experience a couple times in my life, but it was totally worth it. The blue fin tuna was the star of the meal and it literally melted in my mouth. I knew omakase sushi was a unique and treasured tradition, but I was not expecting to be transported to heaven through the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I was disappointed for this restaurant
Sushi is not bad but it is so pricy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 17, 2016

High quality fish. Expertly prepared sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2016

This place is a fantastic Japanese sushi place prepared by two professional and nothing could go wrong! Three hours went by so quick.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2016

This was my second time to Maruya.

The first time I went there a couple of years ago, before their Michelin star it was a great overall experience. At the time the chef's [Hide's] omakase was about $100 and I left full, but not stuffed and relishing the overall experience as the fish was some of the best I had since being in Japan. The restaurant was full and there was a nice overall energy in an intimate setting.

The second time I went there recently and arrived on the early side, there was nobody else there, although it did fill up to about 60% of capacity by the end of the meal. Quality wise the food was just as good as before, but this time around the chef's omakase was $150, and the overall meal was about 60% of the food from the previous visit. For me this unfortunately crossed the line into a food-as-art-meal where if one doesn't have a snack before the meal you're hungry throughout which is a bit frustrating when your final bill with tip is over $200 per person. In general I love Japanese food and this meal was trying to be like a kaiseki meal, but with individual portions of sushi served in intervals of 7 to 10 minutes, which doesn't work well.

I'm a bit torn about this review as I love the food, but the overall experience wasn't as good the second time around. Basically the current chef's omakase meal would need to include at least 5 to 6 more pieces of sushi for it to be more of a complete meal at a $150 price point. - AL

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Delicious and fresh ingredients; meticulous course presentation, friendly and attentive service, elegant decor and lighting... This summarized our dinner experience at Maruya!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Top notch nigiri sushi with excellent appetizers, grilled fish. Traditional Japanese style with simple decor. Fair price for the quality of food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2016

I had high expectations going in (Michelin Star Rated) and they were all met and exceeded. Presentation was a joy to behold, and the service (including the sushi chefs) were gracious and friendly. And the flavor, my word. Every course was a new adventure. Price is surprisingly reasonable as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2016

absolutely fantastic. one of the top sushi restaurants in the city with an interior décor to match the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2016

I spent $700 on a dinner for 4 that I will forget. Went for the experience, but ultimately left hungry and disappointed. Sushi was good, but wish there was more of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Everything was amazing. It is a bit steep in price so I marked it good for a special occasion

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2016

Brought a friend here for her birthday and we had a great time.

We had the Chefs choice Omakase and its hard to pick a favorite. The staff was great. Very attentive and friendly. The Chefs did a great job, the presentation was excellent and the timing between courses was perfect.

The courses before the Nigiri were fantastic, we all enjoyed everything that they put in front of us.

The Nigiri was also very very good. I was worried that I was not going to be able to eat everything but it all worked out.


I am also very appreciative of the fact that they brought out some Green Tea Tiramisu for my friend as a birthday dessert and did not make a spectacle of the whole thing.

I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone looking for Omakase.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2016

I've been to Maruya on 3 separate occasions. On the 1st visit, I had their standard omakase and was impressed by the quality of food and I thought the price was fair ($92/person). On the 2nd visit, my wife had the standard omakase while I had the chef's offering which is listed as MP. The price for the chef's offering was roughly $130. Again, I was satisfied with my meal and I found the prices to be acceptable.

However, on my 3rd visit, my entire table opted to have the chef's omakase. The menu still lists the price for this course as MP. When the bill came, we were shocked to see the total for each person's set course was $172 each. Not only was there no expectation there would be a $80 difference in price, but as someone who has had both types of omakase at Maruya I know first hand there is nothing that could justify that cost difference.

At the end of the meal, we wanted to take a closer look at the prices. We attempted to take the receipt that included the cost breakdown per fish, we were told harshly that we couldn't take that. The staff member reluctantly said he would photocopy the receipt, and then handed me an envelope. Upon getting home, I realized the staff member had only provided a copy of the summary receipt and not the page with individual prices of fish.

I will not be going back to Maruya. While I know not every restaurant that serves omakase provides a specific price on the menu, most restaurants I've been to that specialize in this whether in San Francisco or Tokyo do provide a cost. The way Maruya handled the pricing and the failure to provide the requested itemized receipt made me feel like we were taken advantage of, and while the food was good there are better restaurants in San Francisco that believe in price transparency.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Good food. Same as many other omakase menus around. But at about double the price. Dinner for two around $260. Which is not unreasonable, so long as the food is exceptional.

Just falls short here. Great staff. Exceedingly attentive. But overpriced.

Prefer Ebisu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2016

Food if phenomenal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.