About Maruya

2931 16th Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
View Larger Map

Maruya offers Edomae interpretation of traditional Japanese sushi.

We offer three different omakase : Chef's Omakase, Nigiri Omakase and Otsukuri Omakase.

Maruya is pleased to announce our new Executive Chef, Akifusa Tonai. He was formerly a Sushi Chef at Kyoya, located at the Palace Hotel in San Francisco. He has won several medals from the CA Rice Commission.

With Chef Tonai's at Maruya's helm, he continues to adhere to traditional Japanese dining experience crafted with modern standards.
The dishes will reflect the changes of the season. Chef Tonai curates the fish from Tsukiji Market, Tokyo.

If you happen to seat at the sushi bar with Chef Tonai, one will notice his welcoming smile, low-key demeanor and his adeptness to both his sushi skills as well as his customer service skills.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesdays - Fridays 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm.
Saturday: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm.
Last Seating is 8:30 pm on weekdays and 9:30 pm on weekends.

We strive our best to have your table available at the time of your arrival. Please allow 2 hours when dining with us.

*There is a 95 minimum per person, excluding alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages.

Request for sushi bar seating is not guaranteed; however, we will do our best to accommodate.

Cross Street:
South Van Ness

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 503-0702

Website:
http://www.maruyasf.com/

Entertainment:
Maruya opens on Tuesdays thru Saturdays from 5:30pm - 10:00pm.

Dinner: Tuesdays - Saturdays 5:30pm - 10:00pm.

*Omakase: Last Seating is 9:30 pm.

Parking Details:
Street parking

Public Transit:
Bart Station (16th Street), Mission / 16th Street.

Muni Bus Line #22 #46 #47 drops you a block from Maruya at 16th & Mission.

Executive Chef:
Akifusa Tonai

Private Party Facilities:
For a large party (from 6 to 9 people), we have a private room. The menu is *Maruya Omakase only. Diners are welcome to order from the a la carte menu after the omakase has ran its course.


Corkage fee is $35 per 750ml bottle. (1 bottle per party).


*per person

Private Party Contact:
Manager: 4155030702x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Maruya is available for a buy-out.

Maruya Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
San Francisco Bay Area
Japanese
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Mission ›

special occasion (14)
fit for foodies (9)
romantic (8)
See All
neighborhood gem (4)
late-night find (1)
good for groups (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
99 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Top notch nigiri sushi with excellent ap ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Top notch nigiri sushi with excellent appetizers, grilled fish. Traditional Japanese style with simple decor. Fair price for the quality of food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Class

Dined on June 5, 2016

I had high expectations going in (Michelin Star Rated) and they were all met and exceeded. Presentation was a joy to behold, and the service (including the sushi chefs) were gracious and friendly. And the flavor, my word. Every course was a new adventure. Price is surprisingly reasonable as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the Best

Dined on June 5, 2016

absolutely fantastic. one of the top sushi restaurants in the city with an interior décor to match the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

I spent $700 on a dinner for 4 that I wi ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I spent $700 on a dinner for 4 that I will forget. Went for the experience, but ultimately left hungry and disappointed. Sushi was good, but wish there was more of it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good for a Special Occasion

Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything was amazing. It is a bit steep in price so I marked it good for a special occasion

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Dinner

Dined on March 12, 2016

Brought a friend here for her birthday and we had a great time. We had the Chefs choice Omakase and its hard to pick a favorite. The staff was great. Very attentive and friendly. The Chefs did a great job, the presentation was excellent and the timing between courses was perfect. The courses before the Nigiri were fantastic, we all enjoyed everything that they put in front of us. The Nigiri was also very very good. I was worried that I was not going to be able to eat everything but it all worked out. I am also very appreciative of the fact that they brought out some Green Tea Tiramisu for my friend as a birthday dessert and did not make a spectacle of the whole thing. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone looking for Omakase.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Unfair Pricing on 3rd and Final Visit to Maruya

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

I've been to Maruya on 3 separate occasions. On the 1st visit, I had their standard omakase and was impressed by the quality of food and I thought the price was fair ($92/person). On the 2nd visit, my wife had the standard omakase while I had the chef's offering which is listed as MP. The price for the chef's offering was roughly $130. Again, I was satisfied with my meal and I found the prices to be acceptable. However, on my 3rd visit, my entire table opted to have the chef's omakase. The menu still lists the price for this course as MP. When the bill came, we were shocked to see the total for each person's set course was $172 each. Not only was there no expectation there would be a $80 difference in price, but as someone who has had both types of omakase at Maruya I know first hand there is nothing that could justify that cost difference. At the end of the meal, we wanted to take a closer look at the prices. We attempted to take the receipt that included the cost breakdown per fish, we were told harshly that we couldn't take that. The staff member reluctantly said he would photocopy the receipt, and then handed me an envelope. Upon getting home, I realized the staff member had only provided a copy of the summary receipt and not the page with individual prices of fish. I will not be going back to Maruya. While I know not every restaurant that serves omakase provides a specific price on the menu, most restaurants I've been to that specialize in this whether in San Francisco or Tokyo do provide a cost. The way Maruya handled the pricing and the failure to provide the requested itemized receipt made me feel like we were taken advantage of, and while the food was good there are better restaurants in San Francisco that believe in price transparency.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Decent omakase

Dined on February 21, 2016

Good food. Same as many other omakase menus around. But at about double the price. Dinner for two around $260. Which is not unreasonable, so long as the food is exceptional. Just falls short here. Great staff. Exceedingly attentive. But overpriced. Prefer Ebisu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food if phenomenal

Dined on February 18, 2016

Food if phenomenal

food2
ambience3
service4

For the price - we thought the quality o ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

For the price - we thought the quality of fish was not very good. Even the wine was too expensive.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Fantastic Experience

Dined on February 12, 2016

Really enjoy this dining experience. Waiters are excellence and care to details. I asked for a plum wine, although it wasn't on the wine list. They quickly offer me the dessert wine as sub.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Sushi/Service

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

It was our first time here, and I must say that our experience at Maruya was excellent all around. From the moment we walked in we were greeted very kindly by the host and immediately we felt like we were home. We were fortunate enough to sit at the sushi bar (which I highly recommend and is a must), where we were introduced to Chef Tonai. Chef Tonai is an absolute pleasure, and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience watching him go to work, speaking with him about sushi and life experience, and providing us with a delectable, aesthetically pleasing, and engaging omakase. That along with one of the sake bottles from the Winter Sake List, and our meal became one of the most memorable sushi experiences we have had in SF. We tried both the Maruya and the Chef omakase, and both were very satisfying in both appearance and taste. I also like that after the omakase you can order a la carte, which is what a lot of fine dining sushi restaurants are doing nowadays. Our server Yuri was excellent as well, she was very attentive, professional, and provided great recommendations on the sake menu. An excellent experience all around, and again, we wanted to emphasize that Chef Tonai is one of the most pleasant, engaging, personable, humorous, masterful sushi chefs I have ever met, and we will definitely return. Domo arigato Tonai-san!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Maruya is an amazing place for foodies.

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Great place for a special occasion or just for great food. Terrific sake list - some of the best I've ever had. They really pay attention to detail. Sushi, sashimi and small plates were all delicious. Strongly recommend and will go back. My 2nd time already.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent sushi, service and overall exp ...

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

Excellent sushi, service and overall experience.

food5
ambience4
service5

First time sushi diner and it was a memorable one!

Dined on October 14, 2015

My first time to this place was a great experience. It was quite a find and the presentation is lovely. You really have to appreciate the time, effort and artistry in dining to this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Food was good but doesn't worth $92 for ...

vip
Dined on October 11, 2015

Food was good but doesn't worth $92 for omakase set dinner that we had tried ! Tea was charge $10 per person and they refilled 3 times and take away the tea cup ! Beer was $8 a glass and dessert was also $10 each and I think they are over price ! Three of us ordered omakase set dinner $92 per person and ordered two beers, one hot tea and three desserts and our check at the end was total of $420 including tips ....... I think I can get better sashimi and sushi at another nice Japanese restaurants!!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

My second time there while traveling to ...

vip
Dined on October 7, 2015

My second time there while traveling to SF on business. This place is a little out of the way from the financial district but well worth the trip. The omakase is absolutely amazing. They also have Asahi on draft, which might be more common in SF but I always opt for that because it's usually not available. It is a bit expensive ($200 total but I ordered the most expensive omakase) but well worth it.

food4
ambience3
service3

Not what it was...

Dined on October 4, 2015

The food is different from the previous owner, but it is very good in it's own way. However, the place has lost its elegance and sophistication. The chefs, while being friendly, are a fraction of what Masa is in terms of both skill and knowledge. Sushi requires attention to presentation, and this is a major problem for the current owner. Porcelain/ceramics have been replaced by aluminum, and it detracts from the experience. The first course was done in a fashion similar to the original owners, but that was the highlight.

food4
ambience3
service2

Our Experience

Dined on September 16, 2015

The plate ware was excellent. The textures, visual presentations and pairing were worthy Of a Michelin Star. Unfortunately the service was subpar. We had a inexperienced server who didn't open the champagne bottle properly. Overpoured the glass and incorrectly Described the dishes we were served. She corrected them during the course of the particular Dish. Overall you get what is advertised but the execution is a distraction.

food5
ambience4
service5

Michelin Rated

Dined on September 2, 2015

I made a last minute reservation and was missed my SF train from the East Bay. I ended up having to drive in to the city. I called and asked if I can move up to a later time, they accommodated me and still gave us the whole omakase service without feeling rushed. Definitely deserving of a Michelin star rating.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome Omakase

Dined on August 30, 2015

I was bit hesitant with the one and two star reviews on yelp. But I'd decided to give it a shot anyway. It was an amazing omakase experience with chef Kawaguchi. We did the Maruya Omasake and everything was delicious and beautifully plated from the truffle tofu at the beginning to the nigiri towards the end. The ambiance was cozy and intimate so overall I was very pleased with my decision.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Disappointing

vip
Dined on August 30, 2015

Food is definitely good but not exceptionally good. This was not the great experience we were expecting. Or that we had with other Omakase. Totally over priced for what you get. With a $92 Omakase it would have been nice to get a desert even if it was a scoop of green tea ice cream. A little something beside a miso soup!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

An exquisite experience

Dined on August 28, 2015

Came here to celebrate our one year anniversary. We ordered the chefs special, shared a bottle of sake, and sat at the bar. The service and exquisite food rivalled and surpassed nearly all my fine dining experiences in Tokyo. Each and every nigiri sushi was fresh and melt in your mouth. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2

Well below average for upscale Japanese.

Dined on August 16, 2015

-We were made to wait outside at 16th and capp because the restaurant was not ready to open at our reservation time. This is a street corner you really don't want your guests waiting outside for 15 minutes. -Cuts of fish were mediocre and prep was sloppy. This was take-out quality sushi at 10x the price (was $400 for 2 people w/ wine). -Many other better places in SF with much higher quality fish at substantially lower prices

food4
ambience5
service5

The Very Expensive "Hidden" Gem

vip
Dined on August 15, 2015

Now, before you do attempt to make a reservation at this slight exclusive restaurant... Please look at the menu. The food was fantastic, the amount of food one person should eat is ridiculous. As a tourist here in San Francisco, I was unaware of this restaurant, as well as the prices that went along with it. Now, if you are up for a delicious meal at a princely cost, go, go, go! Fantastic for a small group (less than 4) or a special occasion. Very much enjoyed it

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service4

Amazing food and experience. But they th ...

vip
Dined on August 15, 2015

Amazing food and experience. But they they told us we were not allowed to order anything else and we had to be done in 45 minutes. They pace of the meal was very slow so we did not feel rushed till the very end. To spend almost $600 and be told to leave is unacceptable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

authentic EDOMAE SUSHI restaurant

Dined on August 13, 2015

We don't know what's coming next, so their OMAKASE menu is perfect for a special occasion. (less time spent on menu) The only complain is for their service staff's sake,the #1 sushi chef needs to smile more. In Japan, he is consedered a typical GANKO OYAJI, but in the US, he is just another unfriendly sushi chef. He is the key person to upgrade or downgrade the ambience of the restaurant.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service3

not worth a Michelin Star

vip
Dined on July 31, 2015

I am very surprised Maruya has a michelin star rating (reason for our visit). The omakase was so so, nothing spectacular. Too much fusion with Western taste - parmesan and gorgonzola cheese unfortunately would be too strong to use in a dishes served in omakase... sushi was alright, definitely had tasted better, even though without Michelin star rating, hence questioning the Michelin star process?? Also, surprised there was no dessert included in omakase (first time excluded from omakase menu).

food1
ambience5
service5

Great service and great ambiance, but th ...

vip
Dined on July 25, 2015

Great service and great ambiance, but the food.....so mediocre. For that price, they can do much better. The aushi fish didn't taste fresh and lack flavor. Cooked meal wasn't that special for the price.

food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommend

Dined on July 16, 2015

If you are looking for high-end traditional nigiri sushi, this is a place you must try in the heart of San Francisco. Each slice of the fish is carefully cut and put into freezer to increase the freshness before it is made into nigiri. They serve some of the rare type of fish that you will not get in other places. If you sit at the sushi bar, you will get the chef's 100% attention to prepare your sushi in perfection. My experience was very pleasant. Will definitely come again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1

Disappointing attitude from the Sushi Chef

Dined on June 24, 2015

We had a late reservation at 9:00 on a Tuesday night and ordered the Chef Omikaze and A La Carte Sushi. Things were going fine except we were not eating as fast as our sushi chef would have liked. He was very rude in asking "aren't you going to eat that" when we were just taking our time. Additionally, we had ordered the special Wasabe, but he told us it wasn't available with the A La Cart Nigiri that my wife had ordered. Which is funny, because she had ordered the Sashimi! The server was pleasant enough, but I would avoid a later reservation as the Sushi Chefs definitely have a schedule as to when they want to be out of there by. We won't be back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

Authentic but limited

Dined on June 24, 2015

Maruya is a traditional Japanese restaurant in a rough neighborhood of SF. This is not the place for sushi rolls with jalapeño or habanero sauce, but for sushi made with very fresh fish and simple ingredients. Maruya does an excellent job within this limited style. If someone wishes to have the best cuts of the freshest fish served nigiri style, Maruya is a great option. The restaurant is quiet and offers privacy. Service is attentive. The sushi chefs clearly take great pride in offering the highest quality sushi to their customers.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

Very expensive sushi in sanfran. Fish we ...

Dined on June 21, 2015

Very expensive sushi in sanfran. Fish were very fresh, overall was fine but I expected more from a $300+ meal

food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious sushi (an a bilingual bonus?)

Dined on June 14, 2015

Sushi was pristine and delicious, and our server Yuri was attentive, knowledgeable, and friendly. The sushi chefs need to watch out though- if you complain loudly in Japanese about your patrons making orders too late in the night, be aware that there may be customers in the restaurant who can understand you loud and clear!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Great sushi. The rest is only ok.

Dined on June 12, 2015

The sushi is very good. Good quality fish, creative combinations. Service is paced slowly but it somehow suits the food. Very attentive and precise. The starters and non sushi dishes are nothing special and id probably avoid them next time. I actually forgot my wallet and they were very helpful and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service5

Overpriced for what it is!

Dined on May 15, 2015

I visited Maruya recently and order omakase menu. The food was generally good, but I spotted certain issues with it. In nigiris, I thought the proportion between rice and fish was wrong: they need to decrease the rice grains in each nigiri slightly. Also, I thought that their desserts were subpar. The atmosphere was really nice and the noise level was minimal. The major issue that I had there was with the chef. When he asked whether I needed more sushi, I said I was alright. After 5 minutes, he started to give me a couple more nigiris. Of course, it is difficult to realise whether they were part of the omakase menu or not. It turns out that they were extra. Maruya is an overpriced restaurant for what it is and this sort of communication issues make it even more disproprotionate to what they offer. I will wait and see whether they take such criticisms seriously or not.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

several different omakase (chef's choice)

Dined on May 9, 2015

Service is fantastic. Food was delightful. Will return again to try the other omakase.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5

Manage your expectations

Dined on April 2, 2015

Was a good experience over-all. Some of the appetizers could have been better. Nigiri pieces were good and omakase selection was well thought-out, but I was expecting something better. Price-point wasn't terrible for amount of food. Service was very good. Informative and attentive staff.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Still good!

Dined on April 1, 2015

In spite of recent chef changes, Maruya still delivered the consistency and quality of my last visit almost exactly a year ago. Two thumbs up!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The overall meal was just awe-inspiring. ...

Dined on March 29, 2015

The overall meal was just awe-inspiring. From the first dishes from the kitchen to the sushi to the desert. It was truly one of the greatest meals of my life.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.