HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today
Special offers available. See details

Marrakech Moroccan Restaurant

169 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Top Tags:
  • Authentic
  • Cozy
  • Casual
This is one of the first original Moroccan Restaurants in California. It"s worth the trip alone. This princely feast is furnished with low couches and large decorative pillows. The rooms are softened by tapestries covering the walls and ceilings. The decor creates an atmosphere of comfort and leisure. The meal is a feast served with home baked bread. This is more than just a meal; you can give over an entire evening to this relaxed and unique dining experience. Your full meal at Marrakech includes delicious Maghreb Salad, Harira (lentil soup), Bastilla (an amazing pastry-like dish, vegetarian or chicken), your choice of exquisite Moroccan entrees, freshly brewed sweetened mint tea, and baklawa (Moroccan pastry). Your Moroccan meal is best eaten Moroccan style -- using delicious, freshly baked bread as the ideal all-purpose eating utensil. To enhance your meal, we offer a wide selection of imported and domestic wine and beer, as well as a full bar.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Moroccan, Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Dinner: M-Su 5:00pm-12:00am
Bar, Lounge and late nite food to 2:00 am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(415) 776-6717
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Nadir Binjalut
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Elegant Moroccan Interior, low cushioned seating(regular seating available). Tradition Moroccan Family Style, large banquet plates served onto smaller plates. Private Live music entertainment and Belly Dancers upon request.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Nader Shahin: (415) 776-6717
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Moroccan and Mediterranean cuisine available for catering. Includes homemade Moroccan bread, hummus, shish-kabob, braised Lamb and chicken with couscous and stewed vegetables.
We provide catering to businesses around San Francisco.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Two Parking garages on the same block. Toca Park in Shannon alley, California Parking garage half a block down.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We are five minutes walking Distance From Powell Street Bart Station. Taxi accessible.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Marrakech Moroccan Restaurant in San Francisco features beautiful belly dancing shows every night, accompanied by live music every Saturday and First Sunday of every month.
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine


Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Bring your mother to something special on her special day.
We offer one of the few restaurants in downtown SF with live family friendly bellydance entertainment, live music and full five course moroccan feast. Cozy dim interior with candle lit dinner will make your family feel right at home.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Spend your Easter Day in a Lush Moroccan Oasis. offering live belly dance entertainment fun for the whole family. Five course Moroccan feast including the best lamb in the Bay Area.

Sunday, April 1, 2018

What 169 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.3based on recent ratings
Noise · Moderate
75% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

I was looking forward to the entertainment but the lady who did the belly dancing was not engaging and she didn't know how to work the room, there was no participation. From where we were sitting, it was hard to see her - we bare saw her and that was disappointing. Came here last year and it was WAY better when the dancer was more engaging.

Service was lacking, they said they were coming by to wash our hands and we had to remind them, they forgot one of our members in the party and we had to remind them again. They were either understaffed or just not well coordinated.

Food was great, everyone loved the food - the bastilla is my favorite!

2.0Dined on March 4, 2018

There was a birthday going on and the whole night was about the birthday. As a regular customer, I felt like I was invited to a stranger's birthday and my night was not as enjoyable as it expected for a group gathering.

1.0Dined on February 25, 2018

I am a huge fan of Moroccan food and was looking forward to a meal here We ended up leaving before ordering. There was a terrible stale musty stench and the upolstery was worn and dingy. Our menus were ripped and stained. I didn't feel comfortable ordering food. The stench was overpowering Very disappointing.

5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

This is a great restaurant with excellent food and just amazing service.. there are musicians, ... very enjoyable.. I have been for dinner there many times and it is always a positive memorable experience. .

1.0Dined on January 13, 2018

The service absolutely NUL! They have servers who has no clue about the food they serve! We had to wait so long to get our first course...and the food was really not good!
I will never ever go back in this dirty restaurant!

1.0Dined on December 31, 2017

New year eve! Waste of $
Carpet never been vacuumed since a decade,
Unclean cup of tea had a lipstick trace on it.
Food is horrible except the lamb in the couscous, was tasty
Service is a disaster
Low sitting is uncomfortable
Dessert was a baklava hard like wood.
Sent us the bill before even start eating the main dish.
I have no clue how such us place can survive in San Francisco.

2.0Dined on December 28, 2017

The restaurant suggested we order family style and said it was a bargain. There wasn't enough food and we were supposed to go to the Magic Theater at 6:30. We got our main courses at 6:20 and although they didn't start the show until 6:45 as they were aware that we hadn't gotten our meal until late, we stuffed it down as fast as we could. The food was tasty but not enough as they talked us into the family style dinner. Our guests were still hungry. There was also the smell of cigarette smoke in the restaurant. The staff was cordial but disorganized.

5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Authentic & delicious Moraccan Food
Service was great
Excellent value - would go again!

1.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Nothing was good.. complete waste of money

5.0Dined on December 19, 2017

Hosted a surprise birthday dinner for my fiancee here and the staff was more than accommodating. Food was also authentic and delicious. Very affordable for the amazing quality!

3.0Dined on December 17, 2017

Food is very good, service OK. Was in and out before the show.

1.0Dined on December 17, 2017

We booked an early reservation time and the restaurant was not ready. Two overflowing garbage bins were hauled next to where we were seated. As we ate our appetizer a wait staff carried out smelly garbage bags.

3.0Dined on December 8, 2017

We were the only people in the restaurant and it took 40 minutes to move from 1st plate to second they didn’t make hummus yet so appetizer was without it the soup was forgotten so it came at the end of the meal we had 2 hour planned to dine before attending a show and ended up having to take our desert with us. From 5:30 to 7:30 we were only ones there on Saturday ?

5.0Dined on December 3, 2017

Excellent food, good portions, friendly and attentive staff.

3.0Dined on November 29, 2017

Definitely an evening to remember but not in the desirable way. The music was way too loud for an early evening, and the flashing strobe light was way too much. Gave me a headache. The dancer was enthusiastic and the food was ok. Would have been nice to have couscous included with the tangine.

4.0Dined on November 18, 2017

The food was wonderful. The entertainment (belly dancer) was excellent and involved the diners without being invasive. Service was good until the restaurant filled up, then they were short-handed and it took a while to fill requests for drinks, water, etc. Overall a great night out.

5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Went here for girl's night and We had a great time! Food was wonderful and the belly dancer was awesome!

2.0Dined on October 27, 2017

The restaurant switched our servers, didn’t plan it properly, we didn’t receive some of the food we ordered, the food that did come out, came after A VERY long time and to end that, the restaurant tried to overcharge us (by almost doubling our check!)
We had to complain and get a verification for the items in the check as they were all hand written and in VERY poor organization, we realized we were charged over $200 more than we ordered.
I’m sorry but this is ridiculous. Not to mention the food was ok but the portions for the prices were just absurd.
$8 for a hummus platter that looked empty (abundance much? I’m Moroccan myself!!) and $32 for a vegetarian couscous plate that was barely enough for one person.

I’m sorry this was just a poor experience overall.

5.0Dined on October 22, 2017

They have good food , great service and entertainment

2.0Dined on October 14, 2017

The food was very good, however that isn’t everything and the restaurant itself definitely could use a little love. The music was extremely loud and the belly dancer who was supposed to perform at 10pm never did. It’s been 20 years since I’ve eaten here and that will most likely be the last time.

1.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Incredibly loud. Very dirty- could smell the dirt in the air coming from the furniture. Bathroom had a hole that looked like passageway for rodents and/or cockroaches. Food was just fine. We were overcharged. Total nightmare.

Staff pretended to make us feel special. Waiter said we would get starters on the house as good took so long to come out. Spoiler alert, it didn't happen.

Also tons of homeless zombies outside the second you step outside so it's perfect for a horrible experience combo'd w heroin addicts trolling you.

5.0Dined on September 16, 2017

This authentic Moroccan restaurant has it all: great service (they even wash your hands at the table), great ambiance; great food and even belly-dancing! It is a San Francisco classic and should not be missed!

3.0Dined on September 14, 2017

The food was good but we got shorted two courses on a five course meal. We never received the salad courses. We had taken pictures of each course because we thought the meal was novel. The bartender insisted that we had had five courses but we had only three. She had NOT been our server and she didn't even bother to check with our servers. Because we were pretty full and did not want to make a scene, we paid for the full meal and left. My wife was really bummed out.

2.0Dined on September 8, 2017

Service of five course meal took forever - even after we asked them to speed it up a bit.

3.0Dined on September 2, 2017

I love the dancing and the atmosphere. The food really could use a little more care and a lot more flavor. The service is still a challenge. I didn't mind so much the slowness, but others might find it problematic. I'd like to see this place do well, but they really need to get better food.

4.0Dined on August 31, 2017

Very good food and pleasant servers. They gave us free baklava and mint tea. Eggplant appetizer was delicious and chicken tagine and lamb dishes were excellent, too.

Belly dancers started around 8:30pn. Comfortable couches with soft pillows to sit on. Definitely will return. They rinse your hands with rose water befits and after. Nice touch. I've beento Morocco and it was just as goodz

4.0Dined on August 30, 2017

The food and hospitality were terrific. Don't be put-off by the location or belly dancing (which was fun).

1.0Dined on July 29, 2017

Extremely disappointed. I went to a Marrakech in Portland Oregon and loved it. I was expecting this to be as good or better since it's San Francisco but the service was terrible. The waiter took forever to attend to us and the food and was disappointing. I felt the staff took no interest in making us comfortable or attending to us. At the end we waited 15 minutes itself for the bill to come and we had to at the end get up and pay it at the counter. At $50 per person we would have expected this to be half decent but I was highly disappointed. It has got to be the worst dining experience and value for money in the recent past few months. I have tried different restaurants in sf and this has to be the worst. Would highly discourage any family or friends to go here.

5.0Dined on July 22, 2017

Everyone was very happy with their meal. I had the lamb with honey and nuts - just delicious. The waiter was most kind and responsive.

5.0Dined on July 21, 2017

Wonderfully fun place to celebrate a birthday with a group of friends. Great service and live music and belly!

5.0Dined on July 2, 2017

But location is close to high crime district of Tenderloin.

5.0Dined on June 30, 2017

We come here whenever we are in San Francisco and it is always excellent!

4.0Dined on June 24, 2017

We needed to schedule a large group on a busy weekend, and they fit us in. The food was great, and a good time was had by all. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to try Moroccan food.

5.0Dined on June 12, 2017

Great traditional classic and elegant service! If you like being pampered then you'll enjoy this restaurant. I especially like the traditional wet towel hand treatment. Delicious food and alot of it, order the multi course with the include appetizers and hot mint tea.

4.0Dined on June 3, 2017

It was much busier than the last time I was there and they were a little short handed but the overall experience was still very enjoyable. Ate there before the theater and we still got out on time. Even got to see the belly dancer before we had to leave.

4.0Dined on May 27, 2017

It was our first time experiencing Moroccan food and it was fun! There was also a belly dancer and that was neat to watch. Overall, great experience.

5.0Dined on May 25, 2017

The food and service were fantastic and very authentic. I found this place by accident and was just looking for Mediterranean food and didn't expect the food to be so good or authentic as what I actually got. The chef combined a complex mix of spices and food to provide an exceptional meal. Everything was unique and delicious. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone who would like to have an authentic Moroccan meal and experience.

5.0Dined on May 21, 2017

If you are a meat eater, this is the place for you. So tasty. Pricy but worth it. Family plate is good for 5-6.

4.0Dined on May 17, 2017

Had the hummus platter to start, what a silky texture and wonderful flavor. The tureen of lamb and vegetables was simply delicious and the bread served with it was so tasty and great for soaking up all the flavorful sauce. Did not order dessert but the staff brought two small portions of baklava to taste. Wish I had room for a full serving, maybe next time. We did not stay for the entertainment but will be back for the whole experience in the near future.

5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

This is the first time I get to try Moroccan cuisine, so everything is unique to me. Server is friendly, and food is awesome. I especially like the decoration and Moroccan music.


Similar Restaurants