About Marrakech Moroccan Restaurant

419 O'Farrell Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

This is one of the first original Moroccan Restaurants in California. It"s worth the trip alone. This princely feast is furnished with low couches and large decorative pillows. The rooms are softened by tapestries covering the walls and ceilings. The decor creates an atmosphere of comfort and leisure. The meal is a feast served with home baked bread. This is more than just a meal; you can give over an entire evening to this relaxed and unique dining experience. Your full meal at Marrakech includes delicious Maghreb Salad, Harira (lentil soup), Bastilla (an amazing pastry-like dish, vegetarian or chicken), your choice of exquisite Moroccan entrees, freshly brewed sweetened mint tea, and baklawa (Moroccan pastry). Your Moroccan meal is best eaten Moroccan style -- using delicious, freshly baked bread as the ideal all-purpose eating utensil. To enhance your meal, we offer a wide selection of imported and domestic wine and beer, as well as a full bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Moroccan, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: M-Su 5:00pm-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Taylor

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(415) 776-6717

Website:
http://www.marrakechsf.com/

Entertainment:
Marrakech Moroccan Restaurant in San Francisco features beautiful belly dancing shows every night, accompanied by live music every Saturday and First Sunday of every month.

Catering:
Moroccan and Mediterranean cuisine available for catering. Includes homemade Moroccan bread, hummus, shish-kabob, braised Lamb and chicken with couscous and stewed vegetables. We provide catering to businesses around San Francisco.

Parking Details:
Two Parking garages on the same block. Toca Park in Shannon alley, California Parking garage half a block down.

Public Transit:
We are five minutes walking Distance From Powell Street Bart Station. Taxi accessible.

Executive Chef:
Nadir Binjalut

Private Party Facilities:
Elegant Moroccan Interior, low cushioned seating(regular seating available). Tradition Moroccan Family Style, large banquet plates served onto smaller plates. Private Live music entertainment and Belly Dancers upon request.

Private Party Contact:
Nader Shahin: 4157766717

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Marrakech Moroccan Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (11)
good for groups (9)
late-night find (7)
See All
fit for foodies (6)
neighborhood gem (5)
romantic (5)
kid-friendly (2)
great for lunch (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
75 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Extraordinary! I would not have come h ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Extraordinary! I would not have come here if not for my friend's suggestion for Moroccan food. I love the low seats and round tables, the colorful furnishings, the whole ambiance is quite magical. Before I get to the food, I am so impressed with the hand washing before and after the meal and the sprinkling of orange flower water to freshen. Since we love lamb we chose the lamb with honey and nuts and lamb kabob. I have never tried a sweet meat dish and the lamb with honey is excellent, so tender. The lamb kabob is seasoned perfectly, contrasting texture from previous dish, has a nice char and chew to it. The 2 kabobs came with couscous and vegetables. Dessert was a surprised, our waiter suggested we eat the Chicken Bastila last as dessert and it was amazing. this dessert is light as air made with phyllo. There is belly dancing but missed it due to previous engagement. I am already wanting to return t0 Marrakesh as soon as possible.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice pleasant place to entertain guests

Dined on May 21, 2016

Overall the food was very good. Some was excellent. All 3 of us were happy with it. I thought the service was excellent. Some reviewers complained about the 'attitude'. I though it was very consistent with my experiences in Morocco and some other Mediterranean countries. They are quiet, not in your face. Invisible and not interfering with your conversation. They always seemed to be aware when you glass was empty but did not hover making you feel like they wanted you to hurry up and leave. We stayed for 3+ hours and there was never a hint that we should leave. The bill was brought only when we asked for it. The belly dancing was geared more to entertaining a big western city tourist audience - which makes sense in a big western city with lots of tourists. So no, it's not Turkey, but just go with it. The prices were reasonable for a nice SF restaurant. We paid $146 excluding tip. That included far more food than we could eat and a bottle of wine. If you are looking for the hottest foodie joint where you pay exorbitant prices in a crowded place with too much noise, pressure leave asap and go away hungry, this is not the place for you.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This place feels like you are no longer ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This place feels like you are no longer in the United States. If you want an authentic experience, this is it!

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food AND belly dancing!

Dined on May 6, 2016

What a blast! Not only the best lamb ever, but so much fun!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautifully-agd gem

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

The Marrakech Moroccan restaurant is a wonderful tie back back to a gloriously multi-ethnic San Francisco from before the crazy trendiness of today's shallow hipster restaurants. You can feel history in the walls. Their food is truly delicious. The pillow-covered benches surrounding the traditional brass tables are so comfortable. The mint tea, poured from a high silver teapot, is delicious. Overall, the food is wonderful. I particularly like their lamb with almonds and honey. I like to go early, before the dancing starts: it's a quiet comfortable place for a conversation amongst friends.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

good food reasonable prices

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

a very good meal and entertainment very enjoyable, reasonable prices

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Reminder of Old Times

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

We went back recently, having not been there since the restaurant first opened - perhaps 40 years ago. If you want an authentic Moroccan experience, this is as close as you'll get in SF. The bastilla was good, as were the lentil soup and other dishes we tried - all very traditional. Check when there will be live entertainment and it will be more lively.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

This is a fun and interesting restaurant ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

This is a fun and interesting restaurant. It is an inviting and authentic atmosphere and the food is good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Discovered this gem on a vacation to SF. ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Discovered this gem on a vacation to SF. Food ambiance and service was excellent. Set menu for two was perfect! Service was excellent, waiters explained menu, and how to order, and were very attentive. Belly dancer at 8 pm was a plus. We went to see Peter Morisson the Magician next door at the Marrakech Theatre. He was magnificent and was the perfect way to end a perfect meal! Definitely would recommend and return!

food1
ambience4
service1

We came here for New Year's Eve dinner a ...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

We came here for New Year's Eve dinner and it was the worst experience ever.

food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Fun night out

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

A group of us went to Marakesh to celebrate a birthday. We only had drinks and hookah. They had 3 belly dancers performing at different times. There was a 3 man band that played Middle Eastern music and a DJ that played international music (and any requests given to him). We had a really fun night drinking and dancing the night away. The crowd was diverse and everyone was enjoying themselves. As for the service, the staff were a little slow to come around and take orders, other than that Marakesh is pretty decent and fun place to hang.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place!

vip
Dined on November 15, 2015

We didn't know it beforehand but they have belly dancing entertainment which was so fun. And the staff was so polite and respectful. The entrée prices noted online are for a 5-course meal with soup, salad, dessert, and tea but you can purchase a la carte as well so don't be turned off by the seemingly $40 entrée prices.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

If you like Moroccan...

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

... this is a great choice. Nicely authentic not just in menu but atmosphere - right up to bringing over a kettle of warm water and a bowl for you to 'wash' your hands before your meal. And as for the meal, the full five course dinner is definitely the best option.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience2
service3

A little awkward

Dined on October 26, 2015

Ambiance was cool, and the food was good, but overall it was a little awkward. Us and another group were the only ones there, but towards the end another group finally came in. It was awkward because it was so quiet. I wanted to like it more but it was just "meh." It would've been better if more people were there and if they explained their process a little more.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service1

So much fun!

Dined on October 18, 2015

We loved the food and the belly dancing. We timed out reservation so that we could watch while we ate, which was a wonderful experience! Unfortunately the service was severely lacking, I was wondering where our server was the whole time. He kept forgetting our drinks which made the timing quite off, and never checked back about our food for which we had no silverware. I'll still go back tho! The rest of the experience made up for it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Cushy Seats and Belly Dancing!

vip
Dined on September 23, 2015

First of all the service was simply top notch! I was in San Fran for business so I was traveling alone. Although they had a party of like 35 people, they were still very accommodating of my requests and allowed me to sit in a whole section by myself! The seats were great and cozy with pillows thrown about. Before the meal, they brought a towel over with a dish of warm water so I could wash my hands! Boy the water smelled amazing! The water was prepared with orange blossoms and it was simply divine! They also gave me soup on the house which was super nice! My whole experience here was great. I ordered a chicken dish but didn't want bone in it so they altered my dish so I would only get all white meat chicken that was boneless and skinless. The waitress and the other servers were so gracious and nice! Loved every second! OH and the best part was they had a belly dancer preform! IT was for the large party so I didn't get to enjoy too much of it but it was fun atmosphere with a lively vibe and jive with the cool Arabic music blasting!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4

The meal was delicious and a very unique ...

Dined on September 11, 2015

The meal was delicious and a very unique experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Moroccan ambiance

vip
Dined on September 2, 2015

Watching belly dancing while eating traditional Moroccan food is fantastic

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Go and enjoy!

vip
Dined on August 8, 2015

The food and service were very good very good. The belly dancer really added to the overall experience of a true Morrocan feast.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food!

Dined on August 6, 2015

We went to celebrate our ninth wedding anniversary and had the best time ever! Last time we were there was ten years ago and loved it then. The service was excellent and the food was soooo delicious! The belly dancing was so much fun; we had a great time joining in. The host was very attentive and accommodating. It was worth every penny! We will go back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there on a Wednesday night. Lighte ...

Dined on August 6, 2015

Went there on a Wednesday night. Lighter crowd but catered to like we were kings. Great food and outstanding service. The belly dancing was entertaining and tasteful and even engaged the crowd to dance and balance swords. So much fun while having authentic Moroccan food and atmosphere. Not expense, but good! I will come back here every time I am in San Fran and would recommend anyone try it.

food5
ambience2
service5

Great food interesting atmosphere

Dined on July 4, 2015

We were the only people in the restaurant other than a shady looking character who kept going in and out of a private room with a number of very scantily clad women. We could only guess what was going on back there. We were quite uncomfortable but stuck around because the food itself was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

The Moroccan experience

Dined on June 28, 2015

Rituals followed for lovely 5-course meal, including belly-dancing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service, no belly dancers till 8pm

Dined on June 14, 2015

The service and food were top notch. The atmosphere was nice and it was very fun for our kids. However, we came too early, not realizing the belly dancers didn't start until 8pm. That was disappointing. But overall, it's a great place!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1

Very disappointing!!! I was looking forw ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2015

Very disappointing!!! I was looking forward to it since we used to go there a lot. The food was awful, the portions small, the service nonchalant. BORING!!!!!There are very good Moroccan restaurants in San Francisco this is not one of them.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food;

Dined on April 21, 2015

I went here 40 years ago, 3 years after it opened, and then again this week. The food was excellent and the service, but I'm sorry to see the attendance down so much. It was a Monday night, but I wish more people would support the restaurant. My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time together, a great conversation and we will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Belly dancing!!

Dined on April 19, 2015

Energetic staff, lot's of fun. The whole experience was delightful. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

Good was above average. Loved our waiter ...

vip
Dined on April 4, 2015

Good was above average. Loved our waiter. We'll be back!

food4
ambience3
service2

good food. slow service

vip
Dined on March 23, 2015

Went last Sunday for dinner. It was a quiet night with only one other group dining there at the time. Food was good. Service was friendly although quite slow.

food3
ambience3
service4

Not too special

Dined on March 1, 2015

We were a bit disappointed. The food was good, but not good enough to come back. The staff was actually the best part of the experience. Very nice and cordial. The belly dancer was less than enthusiastic. She did not know how to draw the crowd in. Most people in the audience paid little or no attention to her. I understand that belly dancers quite often carry a little weight around the middle. That is expected. This dancer however was very heavy and lacked fluid body movements that you would expect.

food3
ambience5
service5

Fun place to go, especially if you are g ...

Dined on February 9, 2015

Fun place to go, especially if you are going in a group. Staff was very friendly!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service4

Time and Place Travel in a Restaurant

vip
Dined on January 16, 2015

Eating here is like going to Morocco, where the food is delicious and unique, the people sweetly helpful. Especially good were the the bastilla and the tangine.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5

Couscous is good, not excellent.

Dined on January 2, 2015

Lentil soup, hummus, eggplant salad, bread were all excellent. The Moroccan house wine was very good. The couscous was not spicy enough, kind of bland. Great belly dancer. comfortable seats and attentive wait staff.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2

Avoid if you can

vip
Dined on December 27, 2014

Unbelievably disorganized and not up to our expectations of a downtown Morrocan restaurant. We arrived early and were seated by the belly dancers stage which turned out to be a high traffic area for staff before the dancing performance. They seemed unprepared for diners. After lentil soup there was a delay of 20 minutes before the bastilla arrived; altogether, omitting our salad course. The server recommended game hen which my wife only to find out that it was not available. She chose chicken with honey and raisins instead. I chose the lamb tagine because we were told it was rich in flavor, which it was not. A tiny piece of baklava was dessert accompanied by tea with barely a hint of mint. On leaving we were presented with the salad course to take home. We have eaten at many Moroccan restaurants in the past and this was our worst experience. Avoid if you can.

food4
ambience5
service5

What a fun place! Love the belly dancers ...

Dined on December 27, 2014

What a fun place! Love the belly dancers and the food is delish!

food5
ambience5
service5

tasty food with great entertainment (belly dancer

Dined on December 26, 2014

Great atmosphere ,foods are tasty and enjoyed the belly dancer along with the music. Good either on a date and great with a large group.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1

Slow

vip
Dined on December 26, 2014

While the food was good, the service was slow. It took over an hour to receive our entres we were there for 2 1/2 hrs. And I'm a fast eater!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, setting, and very comfortable

Dined on December 20, 2014

The atmosphere and service is great. So is the food. We missed the belly dancers but will be back again!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience1
service1

Food Yes, Service NOOOOOO!

vip
Dined on December 7, 2014

My girlfriend and I arrived just before opening at 5:00PM on Saturday night. We were greeted by a nice young man sweeping out a space adjoining the main restaurant. He let the staff know there was someone waiting for dinner. They opened, and allowed us to enter, but clearly were not ready to open. None of the tables had been set up etc. We were seated at the first table, right next to the door so the draft was apparent. The man who let us in said he'd tell the manager we were there, and switched on some prerecorded Moroccan themed music. The same four songs played over and over throughout the dinner. We were pretty much ignored for the next 15-20 minutes, while staff came and went. Our order was taken (Chicken W/Honey, raisins and almonds, Lamb and Couscous, and soup with bread) water was served. Soup arrived about 15 minutes later with the bread. It was very good, and the bread was warm. No complaints about the food. I had to ask for a refill of my water glass from staff member who was continuing to set up tables, as our waiter never checked back with us. Our main course was brought to us, piping hot and very tasty. However, again, no contact with the staff asking how everything was, offer to refill water glass etc. ( We kept seeing staff go back an forth with a ladder through the main dining area) Once our dinner was eaten, we sat for a considerable amount of time before finally asking a staff another member for our check to we could pay our bill. So to summarize, food was excellent, service was non-existent for the most part.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

We Went for GF's Birthday

Dined on November 22, 2014

Good Moroccan food! WE tried the family combo menu- good variety! Bellydancing was fun! DJ was very accommodating, played great music, so we ended up staying there instead of going to a nightclub!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.