Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Marrakech Moroccan Restaurant

This is one of the first original Moroccan Restaurants in California. It"s worth the trip alone. This princely feast is furnished with low couches and large decorative pillows. The rooms are softened by tapestries covering the walls and ceilings. The decor creates an atmosphere of comfort and leisure. The meal is a feast served with home baked bread. This is more than just a meal; you can give over an entire evening to this relaxed and unique dining experience. Your full meal at Marrakech includes delicious Maghreb Salad, Harira (lentil soup), Bastilla (an amazing pastry-like dish, vegetarian or chicken), your choice of exquisite Moroccan entrees, freshly brewed sweetened mint tea, and baklawa (Moroccan pastry). Your Moroccan meal is best eaten Moroccan style -- using delicious, freshly baked bread as the ideal all-purpose eating utensil. To enhance your meal, we offer a wide selection of imported and domestic wine and beer, as well as a full bar.

419 O'Farrell Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Moroccan, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: M-Su 5:00pm-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Taylor

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(415) 776-6717

Website:
http://www.marrakechsf.com/

Entertainment:
Marrakech Moroccan Restaurant in San Francisco features beautiful belly dancing shows every night, accompanied by live music every Saturday and First Sunday of every month.

Catering:
Moroccan and Mediterranean cuisine available for catering. Includes homemade Moroccan bread, hummus, shish-kabob, braised Lamb and chicken with couscous and stewed vegetables. We provide catering to businesses around San Francisco.

Parking Details:
Two Parking garages on the same block. Toca Park in Shannon alley, California Parking garage half a block down.

Public Transit:
We are five minutes walking Distance From Powell Street Bart Station. Taxi accessible.

Executive Chef:
Nadir Binjalut

Private Party Facilities:
Elegant Moroccan Interior, low cushioned seating(regular seating available). Tradition Moroccan Family Style, large banquet plates served onto smaller plates. Private Live music entertainment and Belly Dancers upon request.

Private Party Contact:
Nader Shahin: (415) 776-6717

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Marrakech Moroccan Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

68% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (9)
Authentic (6)
Fun (6)
See All
Live Music (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Cozy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Romantic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Dancing (2)
Casual (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Tasting Menu (0)
Sort By:
S
118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Been before and it was different this time. I like sitting on the pillows on the floor and not getting utensils. This time felt less authentic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

A wonderful jaunt to the Maghreb, right here in the Tenderloin. Marrakech creates a great Moroccan atmosphere: arched doorways lead you to cozy alcoves, with murals of desert scenes, low tables, and upholstered banquettes littered with pillows. Delicious, fragrant food was served at a leisurely pace -- not "slow," just unhurried, even at 11 p.m. on a weeknight -- by very kind and attentive staff. Our meal began with mint tea; included lentil soup, lamb tagine, chicken with honey and almonds, and chicken kamama (our favorite), and ended with a hand wash with a spritz of orange blossom water. And open until 2 AM, Marrakech is a great addition to SF's short list of restaurants that keep late-night hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It was pathetic. They have "hummus plater" in their menu. All you get is just hummus, no veggies with it. Cocktails suck

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great Place and Good Food.
It does lake a bit the Moroccan Magic. It is more oriental Restaurant than Moroccan

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food. Servers were nice and the belly dancer was very sweet and got customers involved. Good fun at a reasonable price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The rabbit was not good. Dancing lady interrupt dinner, and the dancing wasnt good either...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We had a wonderful time at Marrakech. It was quiet when we first arrived for our 7pm reservation so in the future we will probably book closer to 8pm when the entertainment begins. Our food was absolutely fabulous. We especially loved the Tangine Chicken and the Lamb with Honey. Portions are huge so order one dinner for every two people. The service was good, not great but the people were very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I remember when Marrakech was an exciting exotic place for Middle Eastern food and entertainment. The decor was like a huge festive tent with cushion seating at low tables, live music, and belly dancing. Now the place is thread worn. The decor is dark and not in the least festive. The music is recorded with someone plunking on the drums occasionally. The belly dancer was beautiful, but not all that talented. The food was uneven - kebobs were on the dry side; honey almond lamb was wonderful; bellini had an OK mild flavor; baklava pretty boring. Service was friendly when it appeared. Had to wait 20 minutes from when our credit card was taken until returned. All in all Marrakech is a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Where to start. Wait staff great. Food was better than expected. The meat just fell off the bones, and was perfect. I will be back. We got there early, so missed the belly dancing, but music was just fine. Service did not push us and always came by to check.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One should only go to this restaurant "during a show," but not as a "only come here for Moroccan food" type of restaurant. This evening - I dined here at 6 PM on a Saturday, 2 hours before the show - only to find out that they were not serving cornish hen, rabbit, or bastilla (the sole reason I came here)! I only ordered the lentil soup: while only $5, the size was comparable to "a cup" of soup that you'd get in a diner. I also ordered the baklava: the size was so small, it gulped in down in a bite. Unbelievable! Again, the restaurant seems to cater to those who would be more engaged in the entertainment . . . so enjoy the show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I've always loved this place. I've been coming here since 1977 and regardless of the current management, I've continually enjoyed myself. This is and will always be one of my most favorite place!

Tags: Vegan, Historic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Family Style, Late-night Find, Live Music, Dancing, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 6, 2017

An unusual treat. The food was fabulous and plenty of it. Two of us shared one dinner and it was plenty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Best things about this place are the belly dancing (fabulous) and the decor. Food is okay not great. Shrimp kabob was the table favorite. Chicken tagine was over cooked and needed salt. We arrived at 7 and you could hear a pin drop in the restaurant. Expected a much livelier atmosphere. When the music and dancing started, it got way better. Also, they didn't have the wine we ordered, and they swapped it for something else without telling us. My recommendations to this place are kick up the food quality a notch, improve the service, and have a livelier atmosphere earlier in the evening, and you will thrive. Still, love the place and would go back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I fell in Love- with the restaurant and my date. Was one of the most beautiful experiences I've ever had. Will be in my memeory for all time.

THANK YOU FOR AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fun, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The decor is very Morrocan and interesting. We were there quite early (5:30), so my friend and I were the only people there until around 7. The seats are low with pillows, but not uncomfortable. The wait staff was very nice and helpful, given their limited English. They came around with a bowl and a pitcher of warm water, with which to wash our hands, which was a very nice touch. The food was delicious, but way more than my friend and I could possibly eat. We are older women and if we both wanted the same thing, we easily could have shared a meal. My friend had lamb and I had chicken; the meat literally fell of the bones in both dishes and was very flavorful. At the end of the meal, they came again with the pitcher of warm water and bowl and we again washed our hands. The server then came with another small pitcher to sprinkle our hands with orange scented water, which we both loved. The entire evening was lovely. There was belly dancing, but we did not stay. The only problem was for my friend, who cannot navigate stairs well and the restrooms were down a flight, so that was problematic. Otherwise, the evening was a huge success.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was a fun restaruant. Wait service seems a little disorganized but I think the server was new. We had a lot of good food ala carte was plentiful so the 5 of us shared 2 full meals. Portios were a nice size

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We had a large group of 18 people. They were very accommodating, friendly and efficient, and provided a delicious family-style meal for everyone, including vegetarian options. This was a fun outing for a group, and because of the seating style (small low tables with benches and stools) it was very easy for everyone to move around between courses and mingle.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Returned to this restaurant after 40 years absence. While a few things have changed (we originally sat on the floor and there was no eating utensils) we were pleased to see the quality of the food and service remained the same. I had the lamb in a almond and honey sauce which was tender and tasty. My wife enjoyed the chicken in a almond and honey sauce which she devoured. We will gladly go back the next time we visit San Francisco.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Web info should to include typical timelines for dinner service and the floor shows,as this is in the theater district.
Watery drinks and surly waiter.
Food was good to very good.
Pricey but the floor show was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food is good. They do have cover charge 10 dollars per person for late dinners.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had so much fun! Went for my daughters 16th birthday! Not a lot of places that a 16 year old would appreciate but this was awesome for her! She danced with one of the beautiful dancers and was treated like royalty! Thank you for making this a memorable birthday for Anissa!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Dancing, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Wow! What an experience. I only allowed an hour for dinner and I wish I would have given my party 2 or 3. The meal is an experience. They are very attentive yet let you enjoy every aspect of the meal. It is not rushed. Plates are brought out family style, or at least that's how we did it, and the food was delicious. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I was pretty disappointed in this place. Slow service, food was just mediocre, and the belly dancer show turned half stripper show when several tables of all men were stuffing dollar bills in her outfit. Not exactly what I'd recommend to folks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Belly dancer was fun and the food was good. Tagine was pretty authentic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Just decided to visit this place as we had heard that vibe was nice. Well it is not, it smells dirty, the food is horrific. I have been to morocco and other places in North Africa and there the food is amazing but at Marrakech this is awful. Hummus was ok, Bastilla was almost empty so you just tasted the sugar and the dough. Shish kebab: chicken was dry tasteless and for sure over cooked, beef exactly the same. Lamb ravine, dry and tasteless, royal couscous had nothing royal about it even the couscous is over cooked and certainly not hand buttered, chicken ravine tasteless....belly dancers was late 45 minutes...And the cosmos were disgusting.. I am usually retrying to find something nice so here it is. They have us the Not homemade baklava and a mint unsweetened tea for free and yet it does not cover....
I think it is time to close that place or maybe just to hire a chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great food and hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Ordered a multi meal. The initial appetizers/ salads were poor in the quality of raw materils used. The main entry with vegetables was inedible. Out of 6 only 1 intermediate entree was decent. Ambience and has a lot of to be freshened up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Fun atmosphere, authentic moroccan service and cuisine, belly dancing...had a great time and will be back again!

Tags: Live Music, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Historic, Fun, Dancing, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Very average food.

Not a big range of dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Lively place with a belly dancer on weekend evenings. Very good Moroccan food and nice atmosphere. There are especially accommodating to groups. There were several large groups celebrating special occasions when we were there and they were having a very good time.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We ate here before an 8 pm show, and were sort of sorry to miss the show at this restaurant. We enjoyed the food, the service, and the ambiance. We would certainly go here again.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We got there very early and had the place to ourselves for awhile. It's very cozy and comfortable. The servers were very polite and the food was very delicious. I will definitely return and recommend it. We were headed to the theater so we missed the entertainment.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Enjoyed the meal as I love the cuisine. Service was strong and seemed authentic to what you might find in Morocco.

Tags: Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Highly recommend this restaurant! the food is great, the service is excellent and the ambiance is outstanding! i'll definitely go back when i'm in San Fransisco.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Lamb dishes were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2016

It was a wonderful experience. My husband and I visited the restaurant 16 years ago and at that time went twice. Two days ago we took our kids (10,13) and enjoyed yet again. The belly dancer involved our kids in a dance for a time they will always remember. We will treasure our memories and the great food for a long time to come. Hope to come back sooner than 16 years.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The high point of this place is the entertainment. The service was deplorable. My food was stone cold and no one ever came by to see how our meals were not to mention to see if we wanted another drink, which we did!!! When the manager finally caught the manager at the end of the meal I told him my food was cold and please take it off the bill he said "why didn't you say anything". My thought is at any dining establishment a good server will follow up. This place is dated, dark and just not anyplace I would ever want to eat at again. There was also a ceiling pipe leak and they had to keep moving people as they were getting dropped on in the 100year old building. Gross.
These people will not be in business if they continue to run this dump into the ground. Just awful. So many better restaurants around Union Square.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

It was an exceptional experience! And having a magic theater right next door (that's extra and requires tickets, but well worth it) was great! Service and food was wonderful and gracious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Service was amazing. Entertainment was also amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was one of the more disappointing dining experiences I've encountered in a while. Maybe I'm just lucky that it doesn't happen more frequently. Still, this is the experience I had at Marrakech:

A warm and friendly greeting was a pleasant start as we arrived for our reservation on time. We were seated at a nice spot in a corner, overlooking the entire place. We placed our order and the dishes arrived in typical fashion. No complaints, really, until...

I sampled, and continued to eat both dishes because I was starving, and had a hefty cocktail before arriving to the restaurant for dinner. However, the meat dishes that we ordered - and I love Moroccan cuisine, as well as other Middle Eastern and Mediterranean cuisines - contained among the fattiest meats I have received at a restaurant in ages. Much of each dish was inedible.

Given that my dining partner and I were starvacious, it seemed silly to complain about it. But, we also balked at dessert. Eventually, the staff became consumed with who-knows-what, and we could not get anyone to bring us the bill for our order. Even restaurant staff walked right past us as if they were oblivious to our presence. Being ignored is just as bad, if not worse. Can you imagine the service and experience we would have received had we expressed displeasure with our dishes? I don't want to experience that again, and don't intend to return here.

To top it off, as an Open Table diner, there was added insult to injury when Open Table informed me via email that I was a no-show for this reservation. It's been cleared up. But, the point is that the restaurant is so disorganized that a happy and welcome greeting at the beginning was just about the best part of being there - until we left and got some fresh air at the end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.