Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.05mi

About Marrakech Moroccan Restaurant

This is one of the first original Moroccan Restaurants in California. It"s worth the trip alone. This princely feast is furnished with low couches and large decorative pillows. The rooms are softened by tapestries covering the walls and ceilings. The decor creates an atmosphere of comfort and leisure. The meal is a feast served with home baked bread. This is more than just a meal; you can give over an entire evening to this relaxed and unique dining experience. Your full meal at Marrakech includes delicious Maghreb Salad, Harira (lentil soup), Bastilla (an amazing pastry-like dish, vegetarian or chicken), your choice of exquisite Moroccan entrees, freshly brewed sweetened mint tea, and baklawa (Moroccan pastry). Your Moroccan meal is best eaten Moroccan style -- using delicious, freshly baked bread as the ideal all-purpose eating utensil. To enhance your meal, we offer a wide selection of imported and domestic wine and beer, as well as a full bar.

419 O'Farrell Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Moroccan, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: M-Su 5:00pm-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Taylor

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(415) 776-6717

Website:
http://www.marrakechsf.com/

Entertainment:
Marrakech Moroccan Restaurant in San Francisco features beautiful belly dancing shows every night, accompanied by live music every Saturday and First Sunday of every month.

Catering:
Moroccan and Mediterranean cuisine available for catering. Includes homemade Moroccan bread, hummus, shish-kabob, braised Lamb and chicken with couscous and stewed vegetables. We provide catering to businesses around San Francisco.

Parking Details:
Two Parking garages on the same block. Toca Park in Shannon alley, California Parking garage half a block down.

Public Transit:
We are five minutes walking Distance From Powell Street Bart Station. Taxi accessible.

Executive Chef:
Nadir Binjalut

Private Party Facilities:
Elegant Moroccan Interior, low cushioned seating(regular seating available). Tradition Moroccan Family Style, large banquet plates served onto smaller plates. Private Live music entertainment and Belly Dancers upon request.

Private Party Contact:
Nader Shahin: (415) 776-6717

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Marrakech Moroccan Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (10)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Live Music (6)
See All
Special Occasion (6)
Authentic (6)
Romantic (6)
Fun (5)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Casual (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Spicy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This authentic Moroccan restaurant has it all: great service (they even wash your hands at the table), great ambiance; great food and even belly-dancing! It is a San Francisco classic and should not be missed!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was good but we got shorted two courses on a five course meal. We never received the salad courses. We had taken pictures of each course because we thought the meal was novel. The bartender insisted that we had had five courses but we had only three. She had NOT been our server and she didn't even bother to check with our servers. Because we were pretty full and did not want to make a scene, we paid for the full meal and left. My wife was really bummed out.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Service of five course meal took forever - even after we asked them to speed it up a bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

I love the dancing and the atmosphere. The food really could use a little more care and a lot more flavor. The service is still a challenge. I didn't mind so much the slowness, but others might find it problematic. I'd like to see this place do well, but they really need to get better food.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Very good food and pleasant servers. They gave us free baklava and mint tea. Eggplant appetizer was delicious and chicken tagine and lamb dishes were excellent, too.

Belly dancers started around 8:30pn. Comfortable couches with soft pillows to sit on. Definitely will return. They rinse your hands with rose water befits and after. Nice touch. I've beento Morocco and it was just as goodz

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2017

The food and hospitality were terrific. Don't be put-off by the location or belly dancing (which was fun).

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Extremely disappointed. I went to a Marrakech in Portland Oregon and loved it. I was expecting this to be as good or better since it's San Francisco but the service was terrible. The waiter took forever to attend to us and the food and was disappointing. I felt the staff took no interest in making us comfortable or attending to us. At the end we waited 15 minutes itself for the bill to come and we had to at the end get up and pay it at the counter. At $50 per person we would have expected this to be half decent but I was highly disappointed. It has got to be the worst dining experience and value for money in the recent past few months. I have tried different restaurants in sf and this has to be the worst. Would highly discourage any family or friends to go here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Everyone was very happy with their meal. I had the lamb with honey and nuts - just delicious. The waiter was most kind and responsive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Wonderfully fun place to celebrate a birthday with a group of friends. Great service and live music and belly dancing...fun!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

But location is close to high crime district of Tenderloin.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We come here whenever we are in San Francisco and it is always excellent!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We needed to schedule a large group on a busy weekend, and they fit us in. The food was great, and a good time was had by all. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to try Moroccan food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great traditional classic and elegant service! If you like being pampered then you'll enjoy this restaurant. I especially like the traditional wet towel hand treatment. Delicious food and alot of it, order the multi course with the include appetizers and hot mint tea.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

It was much busier than the last time I was there and they were a little short handed but the overall experience was still very enjoyable. Ate there before the theater and we still got out on time. Even got to see the belly dancer before we had to leave.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 27, 2017

It was our first time experiencing Moroccan food and it was fun! There was also a belly dancer and that was neat to watch. Overall, great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The food and service were fantastic and very authentic. I found this place by accident and was just looking for Mediterranean food and didn't expect the food to be so good or authentic as what I actually got. The chef combined a complex mix of spices and food to provide an exceptional meal. Everything was unique and delicious. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone who would like to have an authentic Moroccan meal and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

If you are a meat eater, this is the place for you. So tasty. Pricy but worth it. Family plate is good for 5-6.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Had the hummus platter to start, what a silky texture and wonderful flavor. The tureen of lamb and vegetables was simply delicious and the bread served with it was so tasty and great for soaking up all the flavorful sauce. Did not order dessert but the staff brought two small portions of baklava to taste. Wish I had room for a full serving, maybe next time. We did not stay for the entertainment but will be back for the whole experience in the near future.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is the first time I get to try Moroccan cuisine, so everything is unique to me. Server is friendly, and food is awesome. I especially like the decoration and Moroccan music.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We enjoyed the service and got to dance with the belly dancer. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Went for my great friend's birthday. the restaurant was very cold so we asked they turn up the heat pretty quick. the belly dancer was great...the service was 'ok'. had to ask several times for water, and to have our drink orders taken etc. the food was also 'ok'. The music was pretty good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Nice ambiance. I loved the belly dancing. The food was delicious.

Tags: Spicy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was good. There was one server who was not very attentive but another who was very attentive and personable. The atmosphere was fun and the food was pretty good. Overall it was a good experience and something unique. Atmosphere was quiet until the belly dancer started around 7:45

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 23, 2017

It was our first time in San Fransisco, and the pictures looked convincing on google. So I Decided to take my husband there for his 30th birthday only to be disappointed. We had reservations for 9pm. The restaurant already had a work party which was wrapping up. We had poor service due to the staff just roaming around cleaning the mess from that party. For it being a weekend the restaurant was died. We were the only guest there. The ambience and the food was not worth the price we paid. I felt horrible all night knowing that I choice Marrakech for such a special occasion.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was delicious, perfect! Ambience was great. Very good experience. Bdlly dancers were very entertaining. Would recommend any day!
We came back 2 hours later and it was very lively and entertaining with Mid-East pop and current dance music. Most everyone eere having a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I felt like they kept delaying bringing out next course because they wanted us to stay for whole belly dancing show. Maybe other people would appreciate that, but we were hungry and tired so it was not what we wanted.

Tags: Live Music, Casual, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

From the moment we were seated we were treated like royalty, the food was amazing and the service was attentive. With so much to choose from wait staff made perfect recommendations on food choices, we were pleasantly surprised. The belly dancing was authentic and done with lots of class! I was happy to see the engagement with the audience as she danced. Great place to dine and enjoy music and live dance. Thank you to all of the staff for a job well done and adding to my wonderful experiences of dining in San Francisco. Jay Alexander's show was also very good, I really enjoyed how he interacted with the audience and his illusions were quite mind baffling. Great show, don't miss it!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Our first time trying Moroccan food and we loved everything in the 5 course meal! The food service went smoothly however they did not provide drink service. We had to go to the bar for our drinks which wasn't a huge inconvenience!! The staff was friendly and the music and dancer were entertaining!

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food was good but unmemorable, the service was solicitous. The seating was terrible. It was uncomfortable, the way the four of us were seated (basically all in a row) was not conducive to good conversation. This was our first visit, and we didn't know to ask for the pouf-style seats that would have allowed us to sit around a table -- but they weren't offered to us. (I found out when another group of diners arrived as we were almost leaving, that this option existed). There was nothing bad about this restaurant, but also nothing particularly wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Been before and it was different this time. I like sitting on the pillows on the floor and not getting utensils. This time felt less authentic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2017

A wonderful jaunt to the Maghreb, right here in the Tenderloin. Marrakech creates a great Moroccan atmosphere: arched doorways lead you to cozy alcoves, with murals of desert scenes, low tables, and upholstered banquettes littered with pillows. Delicious, fragrant food was served at a leisurely pace -- not "slow," just unhurried, even at 11 p.m. on a weeknight -- by very kind and attentive staff. Our meal began with mint tea; included lentil soup, lamb tagine, chicken with honey and almonds, and chicken kamama (our favorite), and ended with a hand wash with a spritz of orange blossom water. And open until 2 AM, Marrakech is a great addition to SF's short list of restaurants that keep late-night hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was pathetic. They have "hummus plater" in their menu. All you get is just hummus, no veggies with it. Cocktails suck

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great Place and Good Food.
It does lake a bit the Moroccan Magic. It is more oriental Restaurant than Moroccan

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great food. Servers were nice and the belly dancer was very sweet and got customers involved. Good fun at a reasonable price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The rabbit was not good. Dancing lady interrupt dinner, and the dancing wasnt good either...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We had a wonderful time at Marrakech. It was quiet when we first arrived for our 7pm reservation so in the future we will probably book closer to 8pm when the entertainment begins. Our food was absolutely fabulous. We especially loved the Tangine Chicken and the Lamb with Honey. Portions are huge so order one dinner for every two people. The service was good, not great but the people were very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I remember when Marrakech was an exciting exotic place for Middle Eastern food and entertainment. The decor was like a huge festive tent with cushion seating at low tables, live music, and belly dancing. Now the place is thread worn. The decor is dark and not in the least festive. The music is recorded with someone plunking on the drums occasionally. The belly dancer was beautiful, but not all that talented. The food was uneven - kebobs were on the dry side; honey almond lamb was wonderful; bellini had an OK mild flavor; baklava pretty boring. Service was friendly when it appeared. Had to wait 20 minutes from when our credit card was taken until returned. All in all Marrakech is a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Where to start. Wait staff great. Food was better than expected. The meat just fell off the bones, and was perfect. I will be back. We got there early, so missed the belly dancing, but music was just fine. Service did not push us and always came by to check.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One should only go to this restaurant "during a show," but not as a "only come here for Moroccan food" type of restaurant. This evening - I dined here at 6 PM on a Saturday, 2 hours before the show - only to find out that they were not serving cornish hen, rabbit, or bastilla (the sole reason I came here)! I only ordered the lentil soup: while only $5, the size was comparable to "a cup" of soup that you'd get in a diner. I also ordered the baklava: the size was so small, it gulped in down in a bite. Unbelievable! Again, the restaurant seems to cater to those who would be more engaged in the entertainment . . . so enjoy the show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I've always loved this place. I've been coming here since 1977 and regardless of the current management, I've continually enjoyed myself. This is and will always be one of my most favorite place!

Tags: Vegan, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Late-night Find, Live Music, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.