About Marrakech Moroccan Restaurant

419 O'Farrell Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

This is one of the first original Moroccan Restaurants in California. It"s worth the trip alone. This princely feast is furnished with low couches and large decorative pillows. The rooms are softened by tapestries covering the walls and ceilings. The decor creates an atmosphere of comfort and leisure. The meal is a feast served with home baked bread. This is more than just a meal; you can give over an entire evening to this relaxed and unique dining experience. Your full meal at Marrakech includes delicious Maghreb Salad, Harira (lentil soup), Bastilla (an amazing pastry-like dish, vegetarian or chicken), your choice of exquisite Moroccan entrees, freshly brewed sweetened mint tea, and baklawa (Moroccan pastry). Your Moroccan meal is best eaten Moroccan style -- using delicious, freshly baked bread as the ideal all-purpose eating utensil. To enhance your meal, we offer a wide selection of imported and domestic wine and beer, as well as a full bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Moroccan, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: M-Su 5:00pm-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Taylor

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(415) 776-6717

Website:
http://www.marrakechsf.com/

Entertainment:
Marrakech Moroccan Restaurant in San Francisco features beautiful belly dancing shows every night, accompanied by live music every Saturday and First Sunday of every month.

Catering:
Moroccan and Mediterranean cuisine available for catering. Includes homemade Moroccan bread, hummus, shish-kabob, braised Lamb and chicken with couscous and stewed vegetables. We provide catering to businesses around San Francisco.

Parking Details:
Two Parking garages on the same block. Toca Park in Shannon alley, California Parking garage half a block down.

Public Transit:
We are five minutes walking Distance From Powell Street Bart Station. Taxi accessible.

Executive Chef:
Nadir Binjalut

Private Party Facilities:
Elegant Moroccan Interior, low cushioned seating(regular seating available). Tradition Moroccan Family Style, large banquet plates served onto smaller plates. Private Live music entertainment and Belly Dancers upon request.

Private Party Contact:
Nader Shahin: 4157766717

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Liquor, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Marrakech Moroccan Restaurant is open 365 days a year. Come and spend Christmas eve with us the moroccan way! Our oven braised lamb and chicken is a meal fit for the holidays. Moroccan tea is a nice way to warm up from the cold.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Merry Christmas! Looking for a cozy restaurant to spend your christmas dinner away from the conventions of home? Look no further than Marrakech Moroccan Restaurant. We are famed for having the best Lamb in the bay area. The braised lamb cooked in gravy is a nice addition to your holiday meals.

Marrakech Moroccan Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.7

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

70% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Romantic (4)
See All
Special Occasion (4)
Authentic (4)
Live Music (4)
Dancing (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Casual (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Cozy (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
People Watching (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Historic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
101 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Returned to this restaurant after 40 yea ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Returned to this restaurant after 40 years absence. While a few things have changed (we originally sat on the floor and there was no eating utensils) we were pleased to see the quality of the food and service remained the same. I had the lamb in a almond and honey sauce which was tender and tasty. My wife enjoyed the chicken in a almond and honey sauce which she devoured. We will gladly go back the next time we visit San Francisco.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Web info should to include typical timel ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Web info should to include typical timelines for dinner service and the floor shows,as this is in the theater district.

Watery drinks and surly waiter.

Food was good to very good.

Pricey but the floor show was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

The food is good. They do have cover cha ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food is good. They do have cover charge 10 dollars per person for late dinners.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had so much fun! Went for my daughters 1 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had so much fun! Went for my daughters 16th birthday! Not a lot of places that a 16 year old would appreciate but this was awesome for her! She danced with one of the beautiful dancers and was treated like royalty! Thank you for making this a memorable birthday for Anissa!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Dancing, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Wow! What an experience. I only allowed ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Wow! What an experience. I only allowed an hour for dinner and I wish I would have given my party 2 or 3. The meal is an experience. They are very attentive yet let you enjoy every aspect of the meal. It is not rushed. Plates are brought out family style, or at least that's how we did it, and the food was delicious. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was pretty disappointed in this place. ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I was pretty disappointed in this place. Slow service, food was just mediocre, and the belly dancer show turned half stripper show when several tables of all men were stuffing dollar bills in her outfit. Not exactly what I'd recommend to folks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Belly dancer was fun and the food was go ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Belly dancer was fun and the food was good. Tagine was pretty authentic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Just decided to visit this place as we h ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Just decided to visit this place as we had heard that vibe was nice. Well it is not, it smells dirty, the food is horrific. I have been to morocco and other places in North Africa and there the food is amazing but at Marrakech this is awful. Hummus was ok, Bastilla was almost empty so you just tasted the sugar and the dough. Shish kebab: chicken was dry tasteless and for sure over cooked, beef exactly the same. Lamb ravine, dry and tasteless, royal couscous had nothing royal about it even the couscous is over cooked and certainly not hand buttered, chicken ravine tasteless....belly dancers was late 45 minutes...And the cosmos were disgusting.. I am usually retrying to find something nice so here it is. They have us the Not homemade baklava and a mint unsweetened tea for free and yet it does not cover....

I think it is time to close that place or maybe just to hire a chef

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Great food and hospitality.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great food and hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ordered a multi meal. The initial appeti ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Ordered a multi meal. The initial appetizers/ salads were poor in the quality of raw materils used. The main entry with vegetables was inedible. Out of 6 only 1 intermediate entree was decent. Ambience and has a lot of to be freshened up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Fun atmosphere, authentic moroccan servi ...

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Fun atmosphere, authentic moroccan service and cuisine, belly dancing...had a great time and will be back again!

Tags: Live Music, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Historic, Fun, Dancing, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very average food. Not a big range of ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Very average food.

Not a big range of dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Lively place with a belly dancer on week ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Lively place with a belly dancer on weekend evenings. Very good Moroccan food and nice atmosphere. There are especially accommodating to groups. There were several large groups celebrating special occasions when we were there and they were having a very good time.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate here before an 8 pm show, and wer ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We ate here before an 8 pm show, and were sort of sorry to miss the show at this restaurant. We enjoyed the food, the service, and the ambiance. We would certainly go here again.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We got there very early and had the plac ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We got there very early and had the place to ourselves for awhile. It's very cozy and comfortable. The servers were very polite and the food was very delicious. I will definitely return and recommend it. We were headed to the theater so we missed the entertainment.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the meal as I love the cuisine. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Enjoyed the meal as I love the cuisine. Service was strong and seemed authentic to what you might find in Morocco.

Tags: Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Highly recommend this restaurant! the fo ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Highly recommend this restaurant! the food is great, the service is excellent and the ambiance is outstanding! i'll definitely go back when i'm in San Fransisco.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lamb dishes were amazing!

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Lamb dishes were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

It was a wonderful experience. My husban ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2016

It was a wonderful experience. My husband and I visited the restaurant 16 years ago and at that time went twice. Two days ago we took our kids (10,13) and enjoyed yet again. The belly dancer involved our kids in a dance for a time they will always remember. We will treasure our memories and the great food for a long time to come. Hope to come back sooner than 16 years.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The high point of this place is the ente ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The high point of this place is the entertainment. The service was deplorable. My food was stone cold and no one ever came by to see how our meals were not to mention to see if we wanted another drink, which we did!!! When the manager finally caught the manager at the end of the meal I told him my food was cold and please take it off the bill he said "why didn't you say anything". My thought is at any dining establishment a good server will follow up. This place is dated, dark and just not anyplace I would ever want to eat at again. There was also a ceiling pipe leak and they had to keep moving people as they were getting dropped on in the 100year old building. Gross.

These people will not be in business if they continue to run this dump into the ground. Just awful. So many better restaurants around Union Square.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

It was an exceptional experience! And ha ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

It was an exceptional experience! And having a magic theater right next door (that's extra and requires tickets, but well worth it) was great! Service and food was wonderful and gracious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was amazing. Entertainment was a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Service was amazing. Entertainment was also amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

This was one of the more disappointing d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was one of the more disappointing dining experiences I've encountered in a while. Maybe I'm just lucky that it doesn't happen more frequently. Still, this is the experience I had at Marrakech:

A warm and friendly greeting was a pleasant start as we arrived for our reservation on time. We were seated at a nice spot in a corner, overlooking the entire place. We placed our order and the dishes arrived in typical fashion. No complaints, really, until...

I sampled, and continued to eat both dishes because I was starving, and had a hefty cocktail before arriving to the restaurant for dinner. However, the meat dishes that we ordered - and I love Moroccan cuisine, as well as other Middle Eastern and Mediterranean cuisines - contained among the fattiest meats I have received at a restaurant in ages. Much of each dish was inedible.

Given that my dining partner and I were starvacious, it seemed silly to complain about it. But, we also balked at dessert. Eventually, the staff became consumed with who-knows-what, and we could not get anyone to bring us the bill for our order. Even restaurant staff walked right past us as if they were oblivious to our presence. Being ignored is just as bad, if not worse. Can you imagine the service and experience we would have received had we expressed displeasure with our dishes? I don't want to experience that again, and don't intend to return here.

To top it off, as an Open Table diner, there was added insult to injury when Open Table informed me via email that I was a no-show for this reservation. It's been cleared up. But, the point is that the restaurant is so disorganized that a happy and welcome greeting at the beginning was just about the best part of being there - until we left and got some fresh air at the end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food and service. Belly dancing m ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food and service. Belly dancing may seem "touristy", yet was fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Off the menu, there is a good choice for ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Off the menu, there is a good choice for larger parties. A price per head gets you a shared family style meal. But bring an appetite. In fact, you may want to arrive starving. And plan to take home lots of leftovers. Everything is absolutely delicious and the service is fantastic. The belly dancer was very good as well and put everyone at ease with her smile and warmth. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was awesome

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Everything was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extraordinary! I would not have come h ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Extraordinary!

I would not have come here if not for my friend's suggestion for Moroccan food. I love the low seats and round tables, the colorful furnishings, the whole ambiance is quite magical. Before I get to the food, I am so impressed with the hand washing before and after the meal and the sprinkling of orange flower water to freshen.

Since we love lamb we chose the lamb with honey and nuts and lamb kabob. I have never tried a sweet meat dish and the lamb with honey is excellent, so tender. The lamb kabob is seasoned perfectly, contrasting texture from previous dish, has a nice char and chew to it. The 2 kabobs came with couscous and vegetables.

Dessert was a surprised, our waiter suggested we eat the Chicken Bastila last as dessert and it was amazing. this dessert is light as air made with phyllo.

There is belly dancing but missed it due to previous engagement. I am already wanting to return t0 Marrakesh as soon as possible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice pleasant place to entertain guests

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Overall the food was very good. Some was excellent. All 3 of us were happy with it. I thought the service was excellent. Some reviewers complained about the 'attitude'. I though it was very consistent with my experiences in Morocco and some other Mediterranean countries. They are quiet, not in your face. Invisible and not interfering with your conversation. They always seemed to be aware when you glass was empty but did not hover making you feel like they wanted you to hurry up and leave. We stayed for 3+ hours and there was never a hint that we should leave. The bill was brought only when we asked for it.

The belly dancing was geared more to entertaining a big western city tourist audience - which makes sense in a big western city with lots of tourists. So no, it's not Turkey, but just go with it.

The prices were reasonable for a nice SF restaurant. We paid $146 excluding tip. That included far more food than we could eat and a bottle of wine.

If you are looking for the hottest foodie joint where you pay exorbitant prices in a crowded place with too much noise, pressure leave asap and go away hungry, this is not the place for you.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This place feels like you are no longer ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2016

This place feels like you are no longer in the United States. If you want an authentic experience, this is it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food AND belly dancing!

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2016

What a blast! Not only the best lamb ever, but so much fun!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A beautifully-agd gem

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2016

The Marrakech Moroccan restaurant is a wonderful tie back back to a gloriously multi-ethnic San Francisco from before the crazy trendiness of today's shallow hipster restaurants. You can feel history in the walls. Their food is truly delicious. The pillow-covered benches surrounding the traditional brass tables are so comfortable. The mint tea, poured from a high silver teapot, is delicious. Overall, the food is wonderful. I particularly like their lamb with almonds and honey. I like to go early, before the dancing starts: it's a quiet comfortable place for a conversation amongst friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

good food reasonable prices

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2016

a very good meal and entertainment very enjoyable, reasonable prices

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Reminder of Old Times

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2016

We went back recently, having not been there since the restaurant first opened - perhaps 40 years ago. If you want an authentic Moroccan experience, this is as close as you'll get in SF. The bastilla was good, as were the lentil soup and other dishes we tried - all very traditional. Check when there will be live entertainment and it will be more lively.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This is a fun and interesting restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2016

This is a fun and interesting restaurant. It is an inviting and authentic atmosphere and the food is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Discovered this gem on a vacation to SF. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Discovered this gem on a vacation to SF. Food ambiance and service was excellent. Set menu for two was perfect! Service was excellent, waiters explained menu, and how to order, and were very attentive. Belly dancer at 8 pm was a plus. We went to see Peter Morisson the Magician next door at the Marrakech Theatre. He was magnificent and was the perfect way to end a perfect meal! Definitely would recommend and return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came here for New Year's Eve dinner a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2016

We came here for New Year's Eve dinner and it was the worst experience ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Fun night out

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 6, 2015

A group of us went to Marakesh to celebrate a birthday. We only had drinks and hookah. They had 3 belly dancers performing at different times. There was a 3 man band that played Middle Eastern music and a DJ that played international music (and any requests given to him). We had a really fun night drinking and dancing the night away. The crowd was diverse and everyone was enjoying themselves. As for the service, the staff were a little slow to come around and take orders, other than that Marakesh is pretty decent and fun place to hang.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Great place!

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 15, 2015

We didn't know it beforehand but they have belly dancing entertainment which was so fun. And the staff was so polite and respectful. The entrée prices noted online are for a 5-course meal with soup, salad, dessert, and tea but you can purchase a la carte as well so don't be turned off by the seemingly $40 entrée prices.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

If you like Moroccan...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 14, 2015

... this is a great choice. Nicely authentic not just in menu but atmosphere - right up to bringing over a kettle of warm water and a bowl for you to 'wash' your hands before your meal. And as for the meal, the full five course dinner is definitely the best option.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little awkward

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 26, 2015

Ambiance was cool, and the food was good, but overall it was a little awkward. Us and another group were the only ones there, but towards the end another group finally came in. It was awkward because it was so quiet. I wanted to like it more but it was just "meh." It would've been better if more people were there and if they explained their process a little more.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.