About Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar

317 Fortaleza Street
Old San Juan, PR 00901
View Larger Map


PLEASE NOTE WE ARE OFFERING ONLY TASTING MENUS TO ENJOY.
Ala Carte Dining is available in the bar/lounge area


***TASTING MENUS*** UP TO 5 PERSONS PER TABLE
4 Course Dinner $69/person
5 Course Dinner $79/person
6 Course Dinner $89/person
We do not offer Children's Menu.

***GROUP TASTING MENU ***FROM 6 PERSONS OR MORE PER TABLE
5-6:30 PM or 9-10 PM $89/person
6:45 -8:45 PM $109/person

For Parties of 6 or larger we offer our Signature Group Tasting Menu priced at $89/ $109/person.
Pre and Post Theater seating is subject to availability.
The Group Tasting Menu can be modified to accommodate allergies, restrictions, including gluten free, vegetarian, or vegan options.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary French, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner : Open from 5:30-10:00 pm

*We accept reservations up to 30 DAYS IN ADVANCE up to the calendar date.

*In order to preserve the Marmalade experience at the respect of our patrons the age requirement for children is seven years or older.
Children's Menu is not available.

Cross Street:
Fortaleza Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 724-3969

Website:
http://www.marmaladepr.com/

Parking Details:
Three secured parking garages are located only one block south of the restaurant on Calle Recinto Sur . Street parking is also available in Old San Juan. Valet Parking is not available in Old San Juan due to regulation.

Public Transit:
Bus Station is located only two blocks from the center of San Juan where Marmalade is located

Executive Chef:
Peter Schintler

Private Party Facilities:
Inquiries for exclusive use of Marmalade Restaurant and Wine Bar for private events or parties are welcome. Marmalade is the only Gastronomic venue in Puerto Rico that has function space of 122 seats and a private bar area of equal capacity.
For group bookings please email to peter@marmaladepr.com.

Private Party Contact:
Henriett Schintler: 7877243969x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
PLEASE NOTE WE ARE OFFERING ONLY TASTING MENUS TO ENJOY.
Ala Carte Dining is NOT available :

***TASTING MENUS***

4 Course Dinner $69/person
5 Course Dinner $79/person
6 Course Dinner $89/person
We do not offer Children's Menu.

***NEW YEARS EVE MENU ***
December 31st
$119/person

Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Caribbean
Best Food
Caribbean
Best Service
Caribbean
14 More
Best Ambiance
Caribbean
Best Value
Caribbean
Fit for Foodies
Caribbean
Special Occasion
Caribbean
Most Booked
Caribbean
Best Overall
Puerto Rico
Best Food
Puerto Rico
Best Service
Puerto Rico
Best Ambiance
Puerto Rico
Best Value
Puerto Rico
Fit for Foodies
Puerto Rico
Romantic
Puerto Rico
Special Occasion
Puerto Rico
Most Booked
Puerto Rico
Best Restaurants in San Juan ›

special occasion (134)
fit for foodies (124)
romantic (111)
See All
notable wine list (97)
hot spot (54)
good for groups (46)
neighborhood gem (28)
late-night find (10)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was amazing. The beets were incredib ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

It was amazing. The beets were incredible. Definitely get the bean soup, even if you don't like beans, it won't disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food and service. great conce ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

excellent food and service. great concept for eating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience! Imaginative dishes ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful experience! Imaginative dishes and impeccable service. Having Chef Peter come and speak with us made this dinner memorable in so many ways. For those who love food it is a must in Old San Juan!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Global warming cocktail and the tiny whi ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Global warming cocktail and the tiny white bean soup were signature moments for our special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed Marmalade while on vaca ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I really enjoyed Marmalade while on vacation in Puerto Rico. I definitely would recommend to anyone visiting San Juan.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I were visiting in San Juan ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My wife and I were visiting in San Juan and saw the great online reviews of Marmalade, so we decided to give it a try. Right off the bat, the experience was extraordinary. I had mentioned in my online reservation that my wife is limited to gluten free selections. Without even mentioning this to our waitress, she was already aware of this and explained about their celiac friendly choices (more than ample). Initially, I must admit that we were a bit confused about the menu which calls for the diner to select how many courses you wish to try. The waitress did offer us the choice of ordering the exact same food a la carte from the menu used at the bar. I ordered from the dining room menu, and my wife ordered from the a la carte menu. The food at Marmalade is absolutely exceptional, up there with the best restaurants in which we have dined. But the service is in a class of its own. When the food is being served, it is explained to the diner in detail by the server. I had ordered two small appetizers as part of my four item selection. My wife ordered one appetizer. When my second appetizer was being served, the waitress brought my wife a complimentary appetizer so that she would not be sitting without food while I was eating. I have never seen that before, but how thoughtful! After the appetizers were finished, the waitress asked if we would like to have our entrees served now or would we care to relax for awhile. I have never before been given that option at any restaurant! All evening the service was attentive, without being hovering. The finishing touch when we were getting ready to leave was our waitress waiting for us at the restaurant's door and holding it open for us, thanking us for dining with Marmalade. I would highly, highly recommend Marmalade. It was a dining experience that we will never forget. And you can be sure that we will return upon our next visit to San Juan!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an innovative place for Viejo San J ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

What an innovative place for Viejo San Juan. Great decor, excellent service and exquisite food. The popcorn shrimp (not what you're thinking) was playful and delicious. Jamon Iberico with nectarines and cheese was a real treat. The snapper entree was delightful and came with a broth that I could enjoy with just about any protein! A few more clams would've been a plus and chorizo was nice. Desert was good and innovative - dark chocolate crumble over chocolate mouse with guava ice - but I'm a savory fan. It did amaze like the first 3 courses. This is the go to modern elegant in the old city! Can't forget the Hipster cocktail either. Sweet, but not syrupy. Very refreshing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Oh my. How do you describe one of the b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Oh my. How do you describe one of the best restaurant experiences ever? Luscious food, fabulous wine and exquisite service; I can't wait to return. The food and wine pairings are the best way to enjoy the experience because the selected wines complemented the dishes perfectly. My mouth waters just thinking about our dinner. Our server was one of the best I've had...anywhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service, wine pairing, taste of each d ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

service, wine pairing, taste of each dish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Do not miss Marmalade! We've eaten at se ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Do not miss Marmalade! We've eaten at several great places in Puerto Rico, but this far exceeded all others. The food is impeccably prepared - innovative and delicious . Several other reviews have mentioned it, but you really shouldn't miss the white bean soup. My wife and I got the six course tasting menu (shared them all) because there were so many things we wanted to try and each was better than the last - decadent gnocchi and exquisite sea bass among our favorites. Service is flawless, but not pretentious - attentive without being intrusive. The wine selection is extensive and the service staff is clearly comfortable answering questions and making suggestions should you choose to order from the wine list as opposed to the pairings offered. Cocktails are varied and provide flavor options not seen anywhere else. The atmosphere is quiet and perfect for conversation. This will be a place we visit every time we get to PR from now on.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic! Our server Eddie was wonderfu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Fantastic! Our server Eddie was wonderful! The food was unreal....just loved this restaurant!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant with exciting menu ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Wonderful restaurant with exciting menu and wine list. Great service. Only problem was with the child sitting right next to me running around, listening to Sponge Bob on an IPhone at a high volume, and being very disruptive. The restaurant has posted that no children under 7 allowed in order to provide a certain level of experience for the guests. Not sure why that was not enforced the day we were there (7/8/16). There was an entire restaurant free yet they were seated adjacent to us. It really did disrupt the experience and distracted me.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

We had a great feast at marmalade once a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had a great feast at marmalade once again. We brought our youngest son this time whom has become quite a foodie. We sampled each other's dishes and compared notes. Once again the white bean soup came out on top. Every fish dish was delicious and so was the pork. Do not miss out on trying the cucumber/gin martini, it is scrumptious. The service was outstanding. Great place for foodies.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service were awesome.

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food and service were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal, though a bit uneven, food, a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Phenomenal, though a bit uneven, food, and perhaps the best service we have ever experienced. Well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Best meal ever! Innovative menu with eve ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Best meal ever! Innovative menu with every course a hit, coupled with excellent service and a nice atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time in Old San Juan ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This was our first time in Old San Juan and we are so glad we treated ourselves to a truly memorable meal at Marmalade! Our party of 4 did the 4 course option with wine pairings and we were most impressed with the creative and complex flavors. The ceviche was the best I've ever had, and all the fish entrees were incredible. The wait staff is knowledgeable, enthusiastic and patient. I had so many questions about the seasonings and wine choices and our server Sachary was happy to discuss and share all he knew and offer wonderful suggestions. The lentil meatballs, yelllowtail poke, and popcorn shrimp were our favorite appetizers and creme brulee was our choice for best dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was absolutely amazing. Our w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everything was absolutely amazing. Our waitress was great, she described the food perfectly and with such passion. I can't wait to go back to PR. Def visiting that place again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Service was excellent, unfortunately ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The Service was excellent, unfortunately i forgot our Servers Name. The Food absolut Amazing, we had the Five course tasting menu with matching wines, which were each explained and why they are marching. The Sommelier did a very good job there I enjoyed even wines I would usually not order.

The MUST order dish is the white bean soup, never had a better soup in my life :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I have had in my e ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

One of the best meals I have had in my entire life.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A definite must when visiting San Juan. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A definite must when visiting San Juan. Can't think of a better meal that I have ever had. Great ambience, service is top notch and did I mention the food is incredibly prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant experience in Old San Ju ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Best restaurant experience in Old San Juan. Delighted with the 4-course wine paired extravaganza. Lovely chef and faultless service. Surrounded by fantastic decor & ambiance makes it truly worth the splurge.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Simply the best food and service my part ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Simply the best food and service my party has ever had bar none! So good that we made reservations for our last night before we got to the main course. Our friend dining with us, a simple meat and potatoes guy, loved his wife's fish entree, his vegetarian spaghetti and meatballs first course, and his pasta second course to the shock of all else at dinner.

We all eat out quite often and we're amazed at the food. Simply OUTSTANDING.

MARMALADE IS NOT TO BE MISSED if you visit San Juan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant did not live up to my ex ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

This restaurant did not live up to my expectations. I was hoping the focus of this restaurant to be FOOD seeing that I am spending 90/pp on FOOD. What we received was a fabulous dining experience, with perfect service and an amazing atmosphere, with subpar food. I expect to have perfect service with this type of restaurant, but I also expect to get amazing food! The dishes were SO heavy and, left to the customer to pair, maybe not presented in the order they should have been. If it's a fabulous evening and lavish experience you are looking for, then maybe this is your place. What we were looking for was the best food in San Juan, and this definitely was not it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for my birthday dinner and everythi ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for my birthday dinner and everything was amazing. I am gluten free (celiac) and could eat pretty much everything...even the gnocchi. Service was superb and the waiter was very knowledgeable. I was nervous about food portions but it was plenty and I eat a lot. The pineapple crisp was the only thing that was so so. Overall it was a great experience!! Very expensive but a must do!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best meals I've ever had. In ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever had. In San Juan for the weekend with my wife and grown daughter and the experience left nothing for improvement. Chef Peter came to our table twice just to talk. We also enjoyed a couple of sample dishes that we didn't order but they felt we should try. Amazing dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best restaurant I've eaten at in many ye ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Best restaurant I've eaten at in many years, Everything was perfect, the staff made us feel special .

The food is excellent and my husband did the wine pairing and he was quite pleased.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

easy review. Best dinner of my life! Mus ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

easy review. Best dinner of my life! Must visit if you are in the area. Don't miss the ceviche and bread pudding , and of course the soup

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time- and it was ama ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This was our second time- and it was amazing again!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

marmalade is our favorite place to eat i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

marmalade is our favorite place to eat in puerto rico...we dine here whenever we are on the island. it is great for my wife, who has multiple food allergies, and for me, a meat and wine lover. the white bean soup and lobster risotto are two musts!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easy review - best meal ever

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Easy review - best meal ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too many creamy dishes, less is more. F ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Too many creamy dishes, less is more. Fabulous knowledgeable service, wine pairing perfect. Vegetarian dishes and chocolate dessert were outrageous. But yet again it was a Chocolate Mousse. But the smoked chocolate shaving made up for everything!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Overpriced

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was great but in a european opinion completely overprice. We went because It was number one in tripadvisor but the food Does not deserve to Pay 150 dollars per person. In general you Will find other very good puertoricans rests for very good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

Great food and service. Only down fall ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Great food and service. Only down fall is that the owner allows her daughter to run around the restaurant or sleep on the sofa out front. for upper level restaurant this should not happen.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

One of the best meal I've ever had... Cl ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

One of the best meal I've ever had... Class act from behind to end..

The pairing menu is the way to go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef Peter came to check in on how the f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Chef Peter came to check in on how the food was, very attentive service, great food and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Marmalade never dissapoints.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

I have been coming to Puerto Rico on business for quite a few years now, and I almost never miss the opportunity to dine at Marmalade. Once you have had their signature White Bean Soup, you will keep coming back if only for the soup. I have never tasted anything so good in my life. I am lactose intolerant, but for this soup, I dose myself up with Lactaid pills and enjoy every creamy drop. The wait staff are excellent and very attentive. They have a very good grasp of the menu and are able to explain the dishes, including the specials, in a way that it makes you want to try it. I always start out planning to only have the 4-course, prix fix meal, however, after hearing the specials, I almost always add a 5th course. On my recent trip, I tried one of the starter specials of pork belly with scallop on top in a wonderful sauce (can't remember what was in the sauce, but it was scrumptious). I can say that I thoroughly enjoyed all 5 courses of the meal. My colleague and I ordered different items and shared. We both enjoyed all of our choices. I would highly recommend this dining experience if you are ever in Old San Juan or take a taxi if you are staying in another section of the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining experience at this restaurant ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

The dining experience at this restaurant is second to none!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dinner!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We went to San Juan for a long weekend and ate here on our last night. I wish we ate here on our first night because I would have come back again. Everything was absolutely delicious! I love how the menu has 4 price categories based on the amount of courses you want and then you just chose the dishes from there. We did a 6 course with a wine pairing (more than enough food). The server did a great job presenting each wine and every course was perfection! I will go back to San Juan just so I can eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wife's 50th Birthday

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Let me start by saying everything, and I mean everything was AMAZING. The food, the service, the surroundings, the staff, the owner...............everything was amazing. There is a reason why this is rated #1 on Tripadvisor. Eddy our server was a true professional with his deep knowledge of wine and the different tastes to match each person and plate. He was able to describe, as were each person who may have delivered a dish to our table, the way it was prepared and the tastes to keep an eye out for just like a chef would. Peter the owner/chef was present and interactive throughout the restaurant and was nice enough to stop by what looked like every table to ensure each persons satisfaction. But, before I forget, you MUST have the WHITE BEAN SOUP. My, OUR, overall rating was 5 Star and nothing less.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.