About Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar

317 Fortaleza Street
Old San Juan, PR 00901
View Larger Map


PLEASE NOTE WE ARE OFFERING ONLY TASTING MENUS TO ENJOY.
Ala Carte Dining is available in the bar/lounge area


***TASTING MENUS*** UP TO 5 PERSONS PER TABLE
4 Course Dinner $69/person
5 Course Dinner $79/person
6 Course Dinner $89/person
We do not offer Children's Menu.

***GROUP TASTING MENU ***FROM 6 PERSONS OR MORE PER TABLE
5-6:30 PM or 9-10 PM $89/person
6:45 -8:45 PM $109/person

For Parties of 6 or larger we offer our Signature Group Tasting Menu priced at $89/ $109/person.
Pre and Post Theater seating is subject to availability.
The Group Tasting Menu can be modified to accommodate allergies, restrictions, including gluten free, vegetarian, or vegan options.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary French, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner : Open from 5:30-10:00 pm

*We accept reservations up to 30 DAYS IN ADVANCE up to the calendar date.

*In order to preserve the Marmalade experience at the respect of our patrons the age requirement for children is seven years or older.
Children's Menu is not available.

Cross Street:
Fortaleza Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 724-3969

Website:
http://www.marmaladepr.com/

Parking Details:
Three secured parking garages are located only one block south of the restaurant on Calle Recinto Sur . Street parking is also available in Old San Juan. Valet Parking is not available in Old San Juan due to regulation.

Public Transit:
Bus Station is located only two blocks from the center of San Juan where Marmalade is located

Executive Chef:
Peter Schintler

Private Party Facilities:
Inquiries for exclusive use of Marmalade Restaurant and Wine Bar for private events or parties are welcome. Marmalade is the only Gastronomic venue in Puerto Rico that has function space of 122 seats and a private bar area of equal capacity.
For group bookings please email to peter@marmaladepr.com.

Private Party Contact:
Henriett Schintler: 7877243969x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
PLEASE NOTE WE ARE OFFERING ONLY TASTING MENUS TO ENJOY.
Ala Carte Dining is NOT available :

***TASTING MENUS***

4 Course Dinner $69/person
5 Course Dinner $79/person
6 Course Dinner $89/person
We do not offer Children's Menu.

***NEW YEARS EVE MENU ***
December 31st
$119/person

Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Caribbean
Best Food
Caribbean
Best Service
Caribbean
14 More
Best Ambiance
Caribbean
Best Value
Caribbean
Fit for Foodies
Caribbean
Special Occasion
Caribbean
Most Booked
Caribbean
Best Overall
Puerto Rico
Best Food
Puerto Rico
Best Service
Puerto Rico
Best Ambiance
Puerto Rico
Best Value
Puerto Rico
Fit for Foodies
Puerto Rico
Romantic
Puerto Rico
Special Occasion
Puerto Rico
Most Booked
Puerto Rico
Best Restaurants in San Juan ›

special occasion (150)
fit for foodies (146)
romantic (125)
See All
notable wine list (107)
hot spot (67)
good for groups (53)
neighborhood gem (31)
late-night find (11)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time in Old San Juan ...

Dined 3 days ago

This was our first time in Old San Juan and we are so glad we treated ourselves to a truly memorable meal at Marmalade! Our party of 4 did the 4 course option with wine pairings and we were most impressed with the creative and complex flavors. The ceviche was the best I've ever had, and all the fish entrees were incredible. The wait staff is knowledgeable, enthusiastic and patient. I had so many questions about the seasonings and wine choices and our server Sachary was happy to discuss and share all he knew and offer wonderful suggestions. The lentil meatballs, yelllowtail poke, and popcorn shrimp were our favorite appetizers and creme brulee was our choice for best dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was absolutely amazing. Our w ...

Dined 5 days ago

Everything was absolutely amazing. Our waitress was great, she described the food perfectly and with such passion. I can't wait to go back to PR. Def visiting that place again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Service was excellent, unfortunately ...

Dined 5 days ago

The Service was excellent, unfortunately i forgot our Servers Name. The Food absolut Amazing, we had the Five course tasting menu with matching wines, which were each explained and why they are marching. The Sommelier did a very good job there I enjoyed even wines I would usually not order. The MUST order dish is the white bean soup, never had a better soup in my life :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I have had in my e ...

Dined 5 days ago

One of the best meals I have had in my entire life.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A definite must when visiting San Juan. ...

Dined 6 days ago

A definite must when visiting San Juan. Can't think of a better meal that I have ever had. Great ambience, service is top notch and did I mention the food is incredibly prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply the best food and service my part ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Simply the best food and service my party has ever had bar none! So good that we made reservations for our last night before we got to the main course. Our friend dining with us, a simple meat and potatoes guy, loved his wife's fish entree, his vegetarian spaghetti and meatballs first course, and his pasta second course to the shock of all else at dinner. We all eat out quite often and we're amazed at the food. Simply OUTSTANDING. MARMALADE IS NOT TO BE MISSED if you visit San Juan.

food2
ambience5
service5
value3

This restaurant did not live up to my ex ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

This restaurant did not live up to my expectations. I was hoping the focus of this restaurant to be FOOD seeing that I am spending 90/pp on FOOD. What we received was a fabulous dining experience, with perfect service and an amazing atmosphere, with subpar food. I expect to have perfect service with this type of restaurant, but I also expect to get amazing food! The dishes were SO heavy and, left to the customer to pair, maybe not presented in the order they should have been. If it's a fabulous evening and lavish experience you are looking for, then maybe this is your place. What we were looking for was the best food in San Juan, and this definitely was not it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for my birthday dinner and everythi ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for my birthday dinner and everything was amazing. I am gluten free (celiac) and could eat pretty much everything...even the gnocchi. Service was superb and the waiter was very knowledgeable. I was nervous about food portions but it was plenty and I eat a lot. The pineapple crisp was the only thing that was so so. Overall it was a great experience!! Very expensive but a must do!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best meals I've ever had. In ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever had. In San Juan for the weekend with my wife and grown daughter and the experience left nothing for improvement. Chef Peter came to our table twice just to talk. We also enjoyed a couple of sample dishes that we didn't order but they felt we should try. Amazing dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant I've eaten at in many ye ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Best restaurant I've eaten at in many years, Everything was perfect, the staff made us feel special . The food is excellent and my husband did the wine pairing and he was quite pleased.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

easy review. Best dinner of my life! Mus ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

easy review. Best dinner of my life! Must visit if you are in the area. Don't miss the ceviche and bread pudding , and of course the soup

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time- and it was ama ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This was our second time- and it was amazing again!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

marmalade is our favorite place to eat i ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

marmalade is our favorite place to eat in puerto rico...we dine here whenever we are on the island. it is great for my wife, who has multiple food allergies, and for me, a meat and wine lover. the white bean soup and lobster risotto are two musts!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Easy review - best meal ever

Dined on June 11, 2016

Easy review - best meal ever

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Too many creamy dishes, less is more. F ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Too many creamy dishes, less is more. Fabulous knowledgeable service, wine pairing perfect. Vegetarian dishes and chocolate dessert were outrageous. But yet again it was a Chocolate Mousse. But the smoked chocolate shaving made up for everything!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

Overpriced

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was great but in a european opinion completely overprice. We went because It was number one in tripadvisor but the food Does not deserve to Pay 150 dollars per person. In general you Will find other very good puertoricans rests for very good value.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and service. Only down fall ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Great food and service. Only down fall is that the owner allows her daughter to run around the restaurant or sleep on the sofa out front. for upper level restaurant this should not happen.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef Peter came to check in on how the f ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Chef Peter came to check in on how the food was, very attentive service, great food and ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marmalade never dissapoints.

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

I have been coming to Puerto Rico on business for quite a few years now, and I almost never miss the opportunity to dine at Marmalade. Once you have had their signature White Bean Soup, you will keep coming back if only for the soup. I have never tasted anything so good in my life. I am lactose intolerant, but for this soup, I dose myself up with Lactaid pills and enjoy every creamy drop. The wait staff are excellent and very attentive. They have a very good grasp of the menu and are able to explain the dishes, including the specials, in a way that it makes you want to try it. I always start out planning to only have the 4-course, prix fix meal, however, after hearing the specials, I almost always add a 5th course. On my recent trip, I tried one of the starter specials of pork belly with scallop on top in a wonderful sauce (can't remember what was in the sauce, but it was scrumptious). I can say that I thoroughly enjoyed all 5 courses of the meal. My colleague and I ordered different items and shared. We both enjoyed all of our choices. I would highly recommend this dining experience if you are ever in Old San Juan or take a taxi if you are staying in another section of the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The dining experience at this restaurant ...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

The dining experience at this restaurant is second to none!!!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing dinner!

Dined on May 31, 2016

We went to San Juan for a long weekend and ate here on our last night. I wish we ate here on our first night because I would have come back again. Everything was absolutely delicious! I love how the menu has 4 price categories based on the amount of courses you want and then you just chose the dishes from there. We did a 6 course with a wine pairing (more than enough food). The server did a great job presenting each wine and every course was perfection! I will go back to San Juan just so I can eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wife's 50th Birthday

Dined on May 30, 2016

Let me start by saying everything, and I mean everything was AMAZING. The food, the service, the surroundings, the staff, the owner...............everything was amazing. There is a reason why this is rated #1 on Tripadvisor. Eddy our server was a true professional with his deep knowledge of wine and the different tastes to match each person and plate. He was able to describe, as were each person who may have delivered a dish to our table, the way it was prepared and the tastes to keep an eye out for just like a chef would. Peter the owner/chef was present and interactive throughout the restaurant and was nice enough to stop by what looked like every table to ensure each persons satisfaction. But, before I forget, you MUST have the WHITE BEAN SOUP. My, OUR, overall rating was 5 Star and nothing less.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite food, wine and service

Dined on May 30, 2016

Visiting Puerto Rico for the first time with some friends, for a bachelorette weekend. I'm glad I listened to the reviews and booked a table for 5. We considered the 4- and 5-course tasting menu, settling on the 4-course with wine pairing. Our waiter, Zach, was attentive, and thoughtful. He went above and beyond the call of duty and we are all grateful to him for that special sub for our one unwell party member. We were fortunate enough to meet the chef, Peter, upon whom we heaped praises for the food was truly delicious. I don't even care for beans, I only eat them because I'm an adult and I know they are good for me. But I must say the soup was AMAZING! I have a nut allergy and they were able to make the adjustments necessary for me to enjoy whatever I was interested in on the menu. We even ended up buying 4 bottles of absolutely outstanding wine to bring back home. Go, if you have the coin and the chance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A "must-go-to" restaurant if you are in ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

A "must-go-to" restaurant if you are in San Juan. I travel a great deal for work around the world and this restaurant is one of my all time favorites. From the most personable chef, to a most creative and delicious menu and wine pairings which are thoughtful and appropriate to the dishes... everything is outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing birthday celebratio. L ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

We had an amazing birthday celebratio. Luis was very knowledgable and passionate. We enjoyed every meal!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best fine dining in San Juan but......

Dined on May 28, 2016

It is not a Michelin star like some are saying. Stick with the regular menu entree, don't order daily specials. Was too salty on those dishes. Every dishes was ok to good.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time visiting Marmalade and it wa ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Second time visiting Marmalade and it was just as phenomenal as the first time. Food is incredible - interesting flavor pairings that turn out to be super delicious. Service is impeccable. I can't recommend it highly enough!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely time! Our server, Luis, ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

We had a lovely time! Our server, Luis, was knowledgable, enthusiastic, and very nice. The chef stopped at our table and chatted amiably for quite a while! The food... What can I say? It was a true foodie experience. Unusual. Creative. Delicious. One of the best restaurant experiences we've had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far the best restaurant I have been t ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

By far the best restaurant I have been to! We chose 4 courses with wine pairings -- each course and each wine was beyond fabulous. Choosing a favorite dish is hard, but if I had to I would choose the Hand Rolled Black Truffle Pappardelle - truly outstanding. Our waiter, Erik, was wonderful, our overall experience was just that -- an experience. We will return to Marmalade any time we are in Puerto Rico...it is not to be missed!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Restaurant for a Special Occasion

Dined on May 25, 2016

Marmalade's was hands-down THE best dining experience we have ever had! Our server and the rest of the wait staff were extremely professional and the recommendations for food selections were spot on! We were celebrating a 50th birthday and could not have picked a more perfect restaurant ! The soup is amazing!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been coming to Marmalade since th ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

I have been coming to Marmalade since the year it opened. I have dined here easily over 30 times. I have brought hundreds of guests and coworkers here, as well. I have NEVER been disappointed and I have never heard one disparaging word against this divinely flawless restaurant. To be in PR and NOT dine at Marmalade would be the biggest regret of your trip. Thank you, Chef Peter, for creating this unique and very special culinary delight.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing experience! We were gree ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

What an amazing experience! We were greeted right away and were taken to our table right away (we had a reservation). Our waitress greeted us with glasses of champagne and she was all smiles and very polite. She explained how the menu works and the wine pairings. We decided to do the 4 courses selection with wine pairing. You get 2 appetizers, 1 main dish and 1 dessert and each meal comes with a wine pairing. The food was superb! I wanted more. One dish was more delicious than the other. The waitress described every dish we got and the wine it came with. We had the Paella, Yellow-Tail Poke, Foie Gras and Gnocchi for appetizers. Our main course was Beef Tenderloin and Pork Cheeks and dessert included Bread Pudding and Passion Fruit Mousse. Again, it was delicious, especially the Gnocchi and Bread Pudding. At the end, the chef personally greeted us at our table with Creme Brulee, congratulated us and asked how everything was going. I will say, it is very expensive, which we already knew it was going to be, but it was well worth it. Side note: There was a table with someone complaining over 2 different dishes saying they didn't like it. The chef came out and apologized over the dishes and let the customer know he will personally cook any dish for them they would like. 10 minutes later the chef came out with the dish and the customer loved it. They ordered a simple pasta dish so I guess they can't handle original and creative food. The chef didn't have to go out of his way to make the customer happy with something off menu. The chef really was the cherry on top. He impressed us so much. You can see he really loves food and his business. We would definitely go back again and recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the 5-course menu with wine pairi ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had the 5-course menu with wine pairings. It was beyond delicious!! A wonderful experience!! Very pricey but totally worth it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous, Service was wonde ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was fabulous, Service was wonderful and all wait staff were very knowledgeable. Chef stopped by the table and checked in on us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything about this. The owner/e ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Loved everything about this. The owner/executive chef was brilliant. My only "complaint" is that there was way too much food but it was all delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The beet salad, tiny white bean soup, be ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

The beet salad, tiny white bean soup, beef, lamb, dark chocolate and pineapple crisp were amazing. The wine pairings were spot on and a wonderful compliment to each course.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

High-End Dining

Dined on May 19, 2016

Nice restaurant, great atmosphere. We went for our honeymoon and they were fantastic; obvious that they knew what they were doing. We each did the 4 course tasting menu (different dishes), and everything was phenomenal. Pricey but 100% worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Perfect. The white bean soup ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Absolutely Perfect. The white bean soup came highly recommended and although I was skeptical, it did not disappoint, quite simply it was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was so amazing- highly recommen ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The food was so amazing- highly recommend the wine pairing. The white bean soup was everything everyone has already said- I don't like truffle oil but loved this soup! Definitely go if you are in the area!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Vacation Dinner

Dined on May 15, 2016

I went with three of my friends and had one of the best dinners that I've ever had. The restaurant itself is very unique and the seating ranges from regular chairs to couches. Our waiter, Eddie, made excellent recommendations starting with the drinks; one of our favorites was the ExPat. We all had the 6 course tasting menu with the accompanying wine pairings thinking that it was a typical tasting menu in terms of portion size. I was defeated by the dessert course. I wouldn't have gotten to experience as many dishes but I wish that I had only done 4. Around the 5th course, the chef stopped by and just chatted with our table about the food, conditions on the island and various other topics which all of us appreciated. I'll be the first to admit that I love wine, and I really enjoyed the wine pairings. They were unique (one was even from Hungary) and paired perfectly with the flavors in the dish. My favorite tasting was their version of spaghetti and meatballs which had spaghetti squash instead of noodles; I'm still thinking about it two weeks later. One final point is that we really appreciated the overall service and experience that we had with our waiter, Eddie, and you would be lucky to have him as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.