About Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar

317 Fortaleza Street
Old San Juan, PR 00901
View Larger Map


PLEASE NOTE WE ARE OFFERING ONLY TASTING MENUS TO ENJOY.
Ala Carte Dining is available in the bar/lounge area
***
Our NEW YEAR'S EVE Menu ( $145 per person) is comprised of 8 courses with the opportunity for each guest to select individual dishes. Two wine pairing options will be available $75 and additional premium paring at $145 per person. Vegetarian Menu is available.
***
***TASTING MENUS*** UP TO 5 PERSONS PER TABLE
4 Course Dinner $69/person
5 Course Dinner $79/person
6 Course Dinner $89/person
We do not offer Children's Menu.

***GROUP TASTING MENU ***FROM 6 PERSONS OR MORE PER TABLE
5-6:00 PM or 9-10 PM $89/person
6:15 -8:45 PM $109/person

For Parties of 6 or larger we offer our Signature Group Tasting Menu priced at $89/ $109/person.

The Group Tasting Menu can be modified to accommodate allergies, restrictions, including gluten free, vegetarian, or vegan options.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary French, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner : Open from 5:00-10:00 pm

*We accept reservations up to 30 DAYS IN ADVANCE up to the calendar date.

*In order to preserve the Marmalade experience at the respect of our patrons the age requirement for children is seven years or older.
Children's Menu is not available.

Cross Street:
Fortaleza Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 724-3969

Website:
http://www.marmaladepr.com/

Parking Details:
Three secured parking garages are located only one block south of the restaurant on Calle Recinto Sur . Street parking is also available in Old San Juan. Valet Parking is not available in Old San Juan due to regulation.

Public Transit:
Bus Station is located only two blocks from the center of San Juan where Marmalade is located

Executive Chef:
Peter Schintler

Private Party Facilities:
Inquiries for exclusive use of Marmalade Restaurant and Wine Bar for private events or parties are welcome. Marmalade is the only Gastronomic venue in Puerto Rico that has function space of 122 seats and a private bar area of equal capacity.
For group bookings please email to peter@marmaladepr.com.

Private Party Contact:
Henriett Schintler: (787) 724-3969

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
PLEASE NOTE WE ARE OFFERING ONLY TASTING MENUS TO ENJOY.
Ala Carte Dining is NOT available :

***TASTING MENUS***

4 Course Dinner $69/person
5 Course Dinner $79/person
6 Course Dinner $89/person
We do not offer Children's Menu.

***NEW YEARS EVE MENU ***
December 31st
$119/person

Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (63)
Romantic (62)
Creative Cuisine (60)
See All
Tasting Menu (56)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Good for a Date (51)
Notable Wine List (47)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Modern Decor (43)
Local Ingredients (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Authentic (22)
Hot Spot (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Cozy (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Healthy (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Tapas (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Business Meals (11)
Organic (10)
Fun (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (9)
Vegan (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Seasonal (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Spicy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
2798 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding as always. As a native New Y ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding as always. As a native New Yorker, I can say that this eatery rivals the best in Manhattan after the fifth visit.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is a must for foodies. T ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant is a must for foodies. The white bean soup with shaved black truffles is epic. Highly recommend!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal service! At first i did not k ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined 4 days ago

Phenomenal service! At first i did not know what to expect, however, after just the introduction, I suddenly got a feeling it would become memorable. Amazing service and food knowledge. Best wine pairings I've ever had.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Modern Decor, Tapas, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely wonderful. The signature bean ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely wonderful. The signature bean soup with truffle oil was superb but heavy. Beyond that warning, the meal was scrumptious and the service impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely stellar experience! Well wort ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely stellar experience! Well worth the money. Comparable to most upscale places in NYC, but cheaper and great local twist to all dishes. If you are in San Juan and a foodie this is a must!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very impressed with the wide choices of ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined 5 days ago

Very impressed with the wide choices of each course and loved every bite!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ok so this was the most incredible resta ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Ok so this was the most incredible restaurant I ever ate at. If you go to old San Juan you NEED to go to marmalade and feast. Thank you Kat and thank you Peter you are an amazing chef who blew my mind. I will be back

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OMG! One of the best meals I have had ev ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

OMG! One of the best meals I have had ever had. Wait staff was awesome, and they took care of me and accommodated any of my likes! Will definitely come back here if I ever find myself back in San Juan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was the best we had among dining ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was the best we had among dining at five of Puerto Rico's best restaurants. The chef and our server, Kat, were passionate and knowledgeable which made for a fun and educational experience. They were genuine and added special touches to our food. It was the best!

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Vegan, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great culinary experience and p ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Always a great culinary experience and perfect service

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience! Highly rec ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Wonderful dining experience! Highly recommend the tasting menu. Loved every dish. The braised short rib gnocchi, pear and iberico ham, and ceviche were to die for.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing soup... best I've ever had.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Amazing soup... best I've ever had.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As every time that get service, the food ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 13, 2017

As every time that get service, the food still outstanding! I'm a vegan guy who like to delight the most ambitious desire for great food, many times doesn't matter much about price, so for the food thing I bet to pay quality, awesomeness, and such kind of service that distinct this place. Even at a Monday is almost full of people looking for the best experience of food and service. Thanks Peter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious dishes, very knowledgeable wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Delicious dishes, very knowledgeable waiter. Wine paring was perfect. They made my husband's birthday celebration a very memorable one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Marmalade remains a must for couples whe ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Marmalade remains a must for couples when visiting Old San Juan. Highly recommend the Bean Soup. Trust me. :)

Tags: Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Tapas, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service. We had th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Outstanding food and service. We had the popcorn shrimp and cerviche for appetizers- both were excellent. we really enjoyed both entrees - the sea bass and Moroccan lamb dish. For dessert, both chocolate desserts were outstanding. Service provided were friendly, informative, and timely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Authentic, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

After spending 2 weeks in Puerto Rico la ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

After spending 2 weeks in Puerto Rico last year, the one thing I didn't make it to was Marmalades. I fell in love with the island though and made a repeat trip this year. The first thing I did straight from the airport was dine here. It was everything I heard about and more.

They take reservations 30 days out and the first dinner seating is at 5:30pm. If you want to sit in the proper dinner area in back, I recommending booking far in advance. They do have more casual seating in the front near the bar, so if you're lucky you might score a walk in seat there. In the back, they only do course meals/tasting menus- 4, 5, or 6. We had the 4 course meal with wine pairings and the amount was just right. It took us just a bit over 2.5 hours for the experience. Our waiter was courteous, kind, knowledgeable, and just an all around great guy. He was so attentive and we enjoyed his company. Additionally, the chef came around to each table to ensure we were enjoying our experience.

With the 4 course, you can pick an app, a soup or salad, a main, and a dessert. There are not pre-selected combinations, you are free to pick whatever you like off the menu. I am a pescaterian (fish only) and there were plenty of options for me. The white bean soup is highly recommended and the only thing that continues to be on the menu since the restaurant opened.

While the food was indeed creative and well executed, it was the wine pairings that really made this a stand out evening. Each delicious in their own right, coming from all over the world, and truly bringing out the flavor of each dish. Some selections were snagged from a production of only 80 cases which Marmalades secured the majority of. The best white wine I've ever had. This is a great place to treat yourself or out of town friends. Top notch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service! Totally worth ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Amazing food and service! Totally worth the experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best serious restaurant in San Juan. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The best serious restaurant in San Juan. We ate two meals --full tasting menu --and never had a disappointing or less than delectable course. Servers are well trained and knowledgeable, and work as a smooth functioning team. Chef Peter has to overcome logistical challenges that mainland restaurants never face, and yet maintains the highest international standards. The wine selection is especially impressive. With the Coravin preserver he is able to offer some rare and extraordinary wines by the glass.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marmalade was fantastic and could not ha ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Marmalade was fantastic and could not have asked for a better dinner. The food was fantastic and the atmosphere amazing. I would definately go to Marmalade again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Highly recommended!!! Michellin star wor ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Highly recommended!!! Michellin star worthy!! Great wine pairings, food is amazing and service complements the level of cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

So glad we found Marmalade! I can't sto ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

So glad we found Marmalade! I can't stop thinking about the Tuna Tartare...it bested the best NYC restaurants (in my opinion). Our server was sweet as can be (Eddie?); the food was mouthwatering and family memories of the experience will be carried for a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

As good as any tasting menu, Michelin ra ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

As good as any tasting menu, Michelin rated place NYC/Chicago

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a wonderful dinner experience ma ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This is a wonderful dinner experience made all the more fantastic by the passion of our server Katja who made everything sound like we just had to have it. Her wine descriptions were just amazing. I give her an "A" in adjectives! This was my second visit here and the food is just as delicious as my first visit. I have also sent clients here and they have raved about it. Everything is fresh, creative and delicious.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was by far the best dining experien ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This was by far the best dining experience that my family or i have ever had. The food by Chef Peter Schintler was creative and every every bite was amazingly delectable . the service was beyond compare. our server(Kat) was so friendly. knowledgeable and passionate about every dish that was described. I can ramble on but if you don't get it by now, i cant help you. Marmalade- Old San Juan, just go.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I read lots of reviews and said to mysel ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I read lots of reviews and said to myself, how can it really be this good. We tried it and it really is fantastic. We did a four course tasting menu which was plenty of food for non heavy eaters. Besides the quality and presentation of the food that was surpurb, was the service! We travel a lot and eat out fairly often, and this was probably the best service I have had any where in the world.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to this restaurant. We loved ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 4, 2017

First time to this restaurant. We loved everything about it. The service and food were amazing.

We will definitely go back to this place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Excellent service ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Wonderful experience. Excellent service. Imaginative menu with interesting wine pairings. Highlight of our trip to San Juan!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very likely the best restaurant in Puert ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Very likely the best restaurant in Puerto Rico for non-Puerto Rico cuisine.

The staff here is absolutely the difference, giving you highly personal service. Huge wine list. The food is perfect. I tried rabbit for the very first time, which is locally sourced from a farmer who is married to one of the hostesses. It was fantastic.

The creme brulee was the best I've ever had and almost ordered a second. Do not leave without trying it.

I didn't love the decor, which feels like late 80's Miami. But I'm there for the food, not the walls or ceiling.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

My second time here and it did not disap ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

My second time here and it did not disappoint! The flavors and constantly changing menu make the experience incredible !!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prior to our trip to San Juan, seemingly ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Prior to our trip to San Juan, seemingly anyone and everyone kept telling me "you've GOT to go to Marmalade. It's AMAZING!"

Well, I shouldn't have believed the hype.

The ambiance, service, and aesthetics are all outstanding.

However, the food?

Meh.

Every dish was either too rich, too salty and not what I expected after hearing so many good things.

If you're going to blow close to $300 on a meal for two (with a couple of drinks) I'd find a different spot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

I took my family of 5 (3 children ages 2 ...

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I took my family of 5 (3 children ages 21,19,17) and it was absolutely fantastic. I had been told by my colleague that Marmalade was (easily) the best restaurant in Old San Juan (if not in all of PR) and I believe he is spot on. Excellent 4-course meal & my wife and I enjoyed the wine parings. I cannot wait to go back on my next visit.

Tags: Modern Decor, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals, Healthy, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful little place in old San Juan. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful little place in old San Juan. Portions are simple, but it seemed to both of us that the food was as good as food gets. Service was excellent as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and wine matching was fantastic. Al ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food and wine matching was fantastic. All server staff worked in concert with exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Incredibly awesome!!! Fantastic service ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Incredibly awesome!!! Fantastic service from the entire staff!! One of the best restaurants I've ever eaten at! Highly recommend!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been looking forward to our retu ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We have been looking forward to our return ever since we first visited four years ago. Our wait was well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I visited Puerto Rico for 10 ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My wife and I visited Puerto Rico for 10 days and the food at Marmalade was the best we had. Even with the higher price tag, we both thought that the food was well worth it. Flavors were amazing. While the white bean soup was highly recommended and delicious, the other dishes we tried were also really good. Our favorites were probably the halibut entree and the lobster risotto. The offerings were a good balance of creative/surprising (i.e. paella) and great execution on straightforward dishes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tasting menu was amazing.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The tasting menu was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.