Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 6.53mi
  1. Distance: 6.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 6.53mi
  1. Distance: 6.53mi

About Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar


PLEASE NOTE WE ARE OFFERING ONLY TASTING MENUS TO ENJOY.
Ala Carte Dining is available at the bar/lounge area

***TASTING MENUS*** UP TO 5 PERSONS PER TABLE
4 Course Dinner $69/person
5 Course Dinner $79/person
6 Course Dinner $89/person
We do not offer Children's Menu.

***GROUP TASTING MENU ***FROM 6 PERSONS OR MORE PER TABLE
$99/person

For Parties of 6 or larger we offer our Signature Group Tasting Menu priced at $99/person.

The Group Tasting Menu can be modified to accommodate allergies, restrictions, including gluten free, vegetarian, or vegan options.

317 Fortaleza Street
Old San Juan, PR 00901
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary French, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Tue-Sun Dinner : Open from 5:30-10:00 pm
Mondays Closed

*We accept reservations up to 30 DAYS IN ADVANCE up to the calendar date.

*In order to preserve the Marmalade experience at the respect of our patrons the age requirement for children is seven years or older.
Children's Menu is not available.

Cross Street:
Fortaleza Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 724-3969

Website:
http://www.marmaladepr.com/

Parking Details:
Three secured parking garages are located only one block south of the restaurant on Calle Recinto Sur . Street parking is also available in Old San Juan. Valet Parking is not available in Old San Juan due to regulation.

Public Transit:
Bus Station is located only two blocks from the center of San Juan where Marmalade is located

Executive Chef:
Peter Schintler

Private Party Facilities:
Inquiries for exclusive use of Marmalade Restaurant and Wine Bar for private events or parties are welcome. Marmalade is the only Gastronomic venue in Puerto Rico that has function space of 122 seats and a private bar area of equal capacity.
For group bookings please email to peter@marmaladepr.com.

Private Party Contact:
Henriett Schintler: (787) 724-3969

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (139)
Fit for Foodies (135)
Creative Cuisine (135)
See All
Tasting Menu (122)
Good for a Date (122)
Good for Anniversaries (111)
Romantic (104)
Notable Wine List (92)
Local Ingredients (72)
Good Vegetarian Options (65)
Modern Decor (64)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Worth the Drive (54)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Cozy (48)
Handcrafted Cocktails (43)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Fun (42)
Hot Spot (41)
Authentic (36)
Good for Groups (35)
Bar Seating (28)
Business Meals (25)
Organic (24)
Gluten Free Options (24)
Vegan (23)
Healthy (23)
Tapas (21)
Molecular Gastronomy (18)
People Watching (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Outstanding Value (11)
Seasonal (11)
Historic (10)
Private Room (10)
Casual (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Spicy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Family Style (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
3065 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 3 days ago

Complicated ordering,but the waitress was very helpful!good food and one of a kind experience.chef walks around and pretty humble for what he has achieved.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Perfect food is exceptional. Service excellent. Very creative menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely amazing food and atmosphere. I'm counting the days until my next visit! Standouts: lobster risotto, gnocchi, and scallops. Huge thanks to Chef Peter for giving us such personalized attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

The server Luis was the most knowledgeable, friendly, and hospitable server I've ever had. The whole team was unbelievably attentive without being interruptive or overbearing. I cannot give the chef enough accolades for producing six exquisite and inventive courses. Overall a five star experience; will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was excellent and the food is amazing!! Staff is very knowledgeable and very kind. We went for our anniversary dinner and had a great time. Chef is very attentive and makes sure you have a great dinner experience. Loved it!

Tags: Romantic, Organic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant is pretty much perfect. The decor is funky and comfortable, the service is impeccable, and the owner is super-friendly and interesting as he makes the rounds to talk with all of his customers. The food is incredible, as are the wine pairings. We had the four-course tasting menu, which was plenty! The white bean soup and lobster risotto were indescribably delicious, and our main courses (snapper and tenderloin), and dessert (salted caramel-corn creme brule and warm banana and butterscotch bread pudding) were also amazing. We're on vacation, but will dine there again before we leave PR!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We had the best experience possible. We were celebrating our 20th anniversary and the night started with a special table with a couch that was more like a bed with rose pedals strewn on the table (I actually took a picture of the table). The server was a total pro, the food was unreal. I definitely recommend the 5 course option.

Every sever who came by congratulated us sincerely on our anniversary and Peter, the chef/owner came by for a great conversation about PR, the food, our milestone anniversary and, more importantly, life.

If you are in Puerto Rico, be sure to join Peter and his phenomenal crew for dinner. You will love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (London)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Amazing food and service! Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Awesome dining experience. Do the wine pairing for the best way to enjoy this great restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

As a chef myself I'm quite picky in many regards. Needless to say Marmalade was a real gem of an establishment. I compared my meal here to one of my favorite restaurants in bourgogne, France. Chef Peter's style is quite similar to my own, eclectic, inspired, yet boundary-less. Execution was great, our server attentive and hospitable. One of those places you wish was even remotely close to home. San Juan is lucky, and marmalade is a must for anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This was likely one of the best dining experiences I have had in my life. If you appreciate a quality dining experience and excellent food, the price is well worth it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Amazing. A true experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Amazing! My husband and I each did the 4 course option, I included the wine pairing. We each ordered different items to get a good tasting. The serving sizes were large, so I do think a 3 course option would be nice, but everything was so good I am not sure what we would have left out! The truffle bean soup and the lamb were the highlights for me, and the rabbit pasta and liquid dessert were my husband's favorites. A must try if you are in San Juan!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The best restaurant in San Juan by some considerable distance and one of the best we've experienced anywhere in the world. Creative menu, excellent staff and a relaxed, comfortable ambience. A great experience.

Tags: Vegan, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great meal! Exceptional service - looking forward to going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Amazing. Really there's not much else I can say but amazing. Tailored service by a friendly staff, wonderful tasting dishes, all in a beautiful space. Must get the white bean soup!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Service, food and drinks were all excellent. Unusual combinations of ingredients but all was delicious. The bean soup, gnocchi, sea bass and ceviche were our favorites.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

My husband and I decided to dine at Marmalade based on several recommendations from friends and family. Our expectations were sky high and the resulting food, service and ambiance did not disappoint!

To start, our waiter Luis was a major highlight of the experience. Luis was well-informed about every aspect of the restaurant's menu and went above & beyond ensuring we had excellent service throughout the meal. He has a fantastic personality and Marmalade is lucky to have him.

Having settled on the five-course tasting menu, we made a wise choice including the matching wine pairings. The first-three courses included highlights such as the famous white bean soup, the "lobster in every bite" risotto (it came pretty close!) and local rabbit garganelli. A particular favorite was the popcorn shrimp which altered from the traditional dish by grilling the shrimp and including pieces of popcorn to complement the flavor. For entree, we tried the pork cheekbones and special Braised Pork / Scallop surf & turf which were both excellent. The meal ended on a high with decadent 8-layer cake and a Creme Brulee.

I would highly recommend anyone interested in fine dining in Puerto Rico to visit Marmalade. The food and overall experience warrant the price point.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Fabulous!!! Took our great friends out for their anniversary. Terrific food; crazy good pairing menu; great drinks; wonderful and knowelgeable wait staff . Perfect night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I told them that it was my wifes birthday and they had the table ready with Rose petals. Excelent food we had the 4 course meal. Highly recommend salted carmel creme bruelle. Definitly going back on the next trip down.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Food was fantastic. Unique multi course menu. They even asked if we wanted seconds in anything. The house soup is to die for. Every bite was amazing. Great bar and unique decor for the dining room. Make a reservation or come early.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This was our first time here. Everything was great including the service, food, ambiance. My wife has eating and allergy issues and the chef came out and personally helped her plan a meal. She loved her every course. My new favorite in San Juan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Amazing is the only word I can think of to describe our evening. We tried the five course tasting menu with the wine pairing and were not disappointed. Great place to celebrate special occasions.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Everything about Marmalade is excellent. The server was knowledgeable, friendly, was up on all the wines. Cocktails were fantastic, food was fantastic, wine pairings were fantastic. Had a nice visit with the owner. Highly recommended. We'll be back.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Hands down the best meal I have ever had!!! Loved every bite. Chef came and talked to us after dinner. Just a wonderful place that everyone should try at least once! We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Norfolk)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The most amazing meal ever top notch everything would definitely return when in San juan

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food was fabulous and our server, Drey ( sp?) was awesome! Nice that the owner came out to talk to us as well. A little pricey but the food and drink was awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We went to Marmalade while on vacation in Puerto Rico per a suggestion from close friends who had visited! I am so glad we made a reservation however there were plenty of tables for a Wednesday night in early May so reservations weren't absolutely necessary. I hear that it is very challenging to get reservations on weekends however so plan accordingly. Since our visit was a special occasion and we wanted to have the total experience, my husband and I got the 5 course tasting meal with wine pairing. Every single dish was excellent. My very favorite two dishes were the white bean soup and sea bass. My husband, who isn't a fan of beans in general, ate half of my soup. It was delicious. All dishes paired with excellent wines that the server was extremely knowledgeable about. The service was flawless. Our server was so nice - answered all of our questions, knowledgeable about the menu and it was clear he is very passionate about his work. You do get a pretty large portion of food with each course so by the fourth course I was extremely full. I did manage to enjoy the bread pudding for dessert and the extra calories were so worth it! Overall one of the best restaurant experiences we have had. Thanks Marmalade!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Phenomenal menu. Amazing variety of gluten free, vegan, organic, non-gmo & clean options you could feel good about BUT it still tasted like a huge, comfort food treat. Best white bean soup & creme brulee I've ever had. Service was impeccable. Even the chef was friendly and spent a good amount of time walking around greeting all of the guests and shaking hands. Only a chef who has invested a tremendous amount of time and training his staff can do that. We had a reservation at the Ritz Carlton the following night and cancelled it to go back to Marmalade a second time, it was that stellar. I have several food allergies and was skeptical about what I would be able to eat in Puerto Rico since so many things are fried. I could eat almost everything on the menu, and the staff was very knowledgeable about gluten-free options.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Organic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Modern Decor, Vegan, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Excellent time and great tasting food. Really enjoyed staff and overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Marvelous! Creative, unusual dishes brilliantly presented. Must try the white bean soup!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This restaurant was excellent and the service was superior. I would return to San Juan just to dine at Marmalade. Absolutely fabulous.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food is amazing and the Service is spectacular.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Went in with super high expectations and they were exceeded. Food was amazing, staff was wonderful. Definitely get the Choco-8 for dessert

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Best meal we have ever had! Never gave any experience a perfect 5, but the food and service was absolutely the best of both!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was outstanding as always! A lot less crowded than our previous visits. Somehow, the White Bean Soup continues to taste better each time we have had it. This, being our 4th time at Marmalade, continued to be the case. Our waitress was very knowledgeable about wine pairing and alternative pairing to suit our palates. 5 Stars once again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was our favorite restaurant in San Juan and was highly recommended to us by others who had eaten there. The food was superb. We had the 3 course tasting menu and were stuffed when we left. Every course was memorable and all of us truly enjoyed our choices. Although the exterior is deceiving, the interior atmosphere was fabulous; I felt like I was in South Beach, Miami. After dinner the chef visited our table to ensure that we were pleased. I will recommend the restaurant to others as my top choice in old San Juan.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Exceptional food and service. One of the best meals ever and a great price too. Portion sizes were great for a four course price fixed menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The fine dining option for dinner in Puerto Rico. Creative chef with very interesting food. The restaurant decor is energetic upscale.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.