About Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar

317 Fortaleza Street
Old San Juan, PR 00901
View Larger Map


PLEASE NOTE WE ARE OFFERING ONLY TASTING MENUS TO ENJOY.
Ala Carte Dining is available in the bar/lounge area


***TASTING MENUS*** UP TO 5 PERSONS PER TABLE
4 Course Dinner $69/person
5 Course Dinner $79/person
6 Course Dinner $89/person
We do not offer Children's Menu.

***GROUP TASTING MENU ***FROM 6 PERSONS OR MORE PER TABLE
5-6:30 PM or 9-10 PM $89/person
6:45 -8:45 PM $109/person

For Parties of 6 or larger we offer our Signature Group Tasting Menu priced at $89/ $109/person.
Pre and Post Theater seating is subject to availability.
The Group Tasting Menu can be modified to accommodate allergies, restrictions, including gluten free, vegetarian, or vegan options.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary French, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner : Open from 5:30-10:00 pm

*We accept reservations up to 30 DAYS IN ADVANCE up to the calendar date.

*In order to preserve the Marmalade experience at the respect of our patrons the age requirement for children is seven years or older.
Children's Menu is not available.

Cross Street:
Fortaleza Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 724-3969

Website:
http://www.marmaladepr.com/

Parking Details:
Three secured parking garages are located only one block south of the restaurant on Calle Recinto Sur . Street parking is also available in Old San Juan. Valet Parking is not available in Old San Juan due to regulation.

Public Transit:
Bus Station is located only two blocks from the center of San Juan where Marmalade is located

Executive Chef:
Peter Schintler

Private Party Facilities:
Inquiries for exclusive use of Marmalade Restaurant and Wine Bar for private events or parties are welcome. Marmalade is the only Gastronomic venue in Puerto Rico that has function space of 122 seats and a private bar area of equal capacity.
For group bookings please email to peter@marmaladepr.com.

Private Party Contact:
Henriett Schintler: 7877243969x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
PLEASE NOTE WE ARE OFFERING ONLY TASTING MENUS TO ENJOY.
Ala Carte Dining is NOT available :

***TASTING MENUS***

4 Course Dinner $69/person
5 Course Dinner $79/person
6 Course Dinner $89/person
We do not offer Children's Menu.

***NEW YEARS EVE MENU ***
December 31st
$119/person

Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Caribbean
Best Food
Caribbean
Best Service
Caribbean
14 More
Best Ambiance
Caribbean
Best Value
Caribbean
Fit for Foodies
Caribbean
Romantic
Caribbean
Special Occasion
Caribbean
Most Booked
Caribbean
Best Overall
Puerto Rico
Best Food
Puerto Rico
Best Service
Puerto Rico
Best Ambiance
Puerto Rico
Best Value
Puerto Rico
Romantic
Puerto Rico
Special Occasion
Puerto Rico
Most Booked
Puerto Rico
Best Restaurants in San Juan ›

Special Occasion (107)
Fit for Foodies (104)
Romantic (95)
See All
Notable Wine List (81)
Hot Spot (49)
Good for Groups (42)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Late-night Find (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2512 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Marmalade was fantastic. The food, the s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Marmalade was fantastic. The food, the space, the service was all top notch. Really it was one of the best meals I've ever experienced. There were four of us and we all agreed. Marmalade is highly recommended. Oh and btw the cocktails were excellent too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. The waiter has ve ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Service was excellent. The waiter has very good knowledge about the food and wine choices. He was also very professional, friendly, and overall very approachable.

Tags: Family Style, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

It was delicious and unexpectedly creati ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was delicious and unexpectedly creative! Every course was better than the previous! Ambiance and vibe was stellar!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional meal as tasting menu with wi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Exceptional meal as tasting menu with wine pairing. Creative yet familiar dishes done to perfection. Service was very helpful, pleasant, and friendly, while being flawlessly efficient.

Meeting the chef/owner and his wife was a special moment in an already extraordinary evening.

My highest recommendations for making this an experience when in San Juan.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Tapas, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Outstanding Value, Fun, Healthy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful and beautiful. Did a ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was wonderful and beautiful. Did a 4 course tasting meal with wine pairings. Well worth it, though the dessert wine pairings were not the knock outs the others were (but, hey, dessert wines are a challenge). Our server, Katya, reminded us of Giada DeLaurentiis on Food Network! Energetic, stunningly knowledgeable, passionate about the food, willing to guide toward or away from particular choices (which is a trait we like). Perhaps too much energy for a more laid back dining group, but if you are laid back about food, Marmalade probably isn't your place, anyway. These folks take food very seriously. Bravo.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, great service!! Food was a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing food, great service!! Food was amazing very different, every plate was better than the previous. A bit pricey but worth it. We did the tasting menu pairing it with the wines

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place to end our fantastic stay ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Perfect place to end our fantastic stay in Puerto Rico! Friendly and sincere service! World class cuisine!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was dining perfection. I've eaten a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was dining perfection. I've eaten at many fine restaurants around the world as this was the best meal I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite first class dining in a beauti ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Exquisite first class dining in a beautiful place. Kind, friendly and beautiful staff, great atmosphere, truly a delightful and extraordinary culinary experience. The personal attention by chef Peter Schintler, was engaging and made us all feel like we were worthy guests of his talents and friendship.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and are are foodies, and have ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

My husband and are are foodies, and have eaten in many fine-dining establishments. This restaurant was the best one we have ever tried. The service is incredible, the food beyond exquisite, and the price was very reasonable. We had a nice talk with the chef, who, like my husband, is from Iowa, but has studied under many famous chefs. Do NOT miss this gem if you are in San Jan!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience at Marmalade was one of m ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The experience at Marmalade was one of my top 5 dining experiences in my life. The small plate format is great to allow you to taste a variety of things. We did the four course priced fix menu and wow. I can't say enough good things about the whole experience. Do yourself a favor and go there. It is not a bargain; however, the quality of the food and the experience overall was worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food isn't all great and it's got a weir ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food isn't all great and it's got a weird atmosphere and it's overpriced

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

One of the best dining experiences ever. ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

One of the best dining experiences ever. The sea bass may have been the best fish dish I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another spectacular experience at marmal ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Another spectacular experience at marmalade! The food and wine pairing 5 course chefs choice meal was a delight to the palate and the service was a perfect match. I cannot recommend this restaurant enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First came to this restaurant when it fi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

First came to this restaurant when it first opened about 10 years ago. The experience was great then and continues to be the same. It is a place to experience food in a different way. The tasting menu is a fantastic way to share and taste a variety of things. Expensive but worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love the food, looks good, tastes good!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Love the food, looks good, tastes good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful ambience and service. Servers ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Wonderful ambience and service. Servers all know the menu and wines impeccably. Food mostly excellent but a bit inconsistent.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The chef came and talked to us for quite ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The chef came and talked to us for quite a while and it was awesome. We discussed a lot of culinary topics. His take on tuna tartar was something I have never seen or tasted before and his ceviche was the best i've ever had. That's saying a lot, cuz I feel like i know and I try ceviche all around the world. It was simply incredible. The white bean soup was also absolutely stellar. These three dishes can be held to test against any chef in the world. They were that good. My entree was the sea bass on top of a mint rice with a hint or pineapple chunks.. stupid good. Overall, this restaurant would stand up to most in NYC and Chicago. That being said, the price point is super valuable for what your senses will encounter here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was my first time visiting San Juan ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was my first time visiting San Juan and our driver recommended Marmalade and try the white bean soup. I had the four course meal with the wine pairing. The white bean soup, pork cheeks, bread pudding, wines, and service were outstanding! This was one of my best dining experience! Marmalade is definitely on the list when I visit San Juan again...

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Very good experience in Sa ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Amazing food! Very good experience in San Juan and excelence service

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we ordered the 5 dishes that the chef su ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

we ordered the 5 dishes that the chef suggest , mama mia all the different dishes were very good . but must try the Soup , its excellent

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Marmalade on a recommendation ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We went to Marmalade on a recommendation and couldn't have been any happier! Luis, our server, was phenomenal. He had excellent knowledge of every food and wine selection on the menu and have amazing recommendations. The food was superb- we did a four course tasting menu and it was more than sufficient. Favorites were the white bean soup, lobster rissoto, and pretty much everything else! Next time we are back, this will definitely be on our stop!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the minute we walked through the do ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

From the minute we walked through the door they made us feel special. It was our honeymoon, so they covered our table with flower petals and gave a complimentary glass of champagne. I have an allergy to gluten and they were able to accommodate all our needs. The chef even came out and spoke to us about the specials. Everything was exceptional. It is truly a culinary experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the most fabulous restau ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was one of the most fabulous restaurants I have been to. The signature bean soup was absolutely to die for and just when I was trying to figure what ingredients were there they bring a card with the recipe. I may fly back to San Juan just to eat here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the most exceptional meal I hav ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This was the most exceptional meal I have had in years. Do not hesitate to go, and I recommend the wine pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was amazing. The beets were incredib ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

It was amazing. The beets were incredible. Definitely get the bean soup, even if you don't like beans, it won't disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food and service. great conce ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

excellent food and service. great concept for eating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience! Imaginative dishes ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Wonderful experience! Imaginative dishes and impeccable service. Having Chef Peter come and speak with us made this dinner memorable in so many ways. For those who love food it is a must in Old San Juan!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went because it was rated #1 on TripA ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We went because it was rated #1 on TripAdvisor, and it definitely deserves this rating. The evening was a highlight of our short trip. The decor is unique and very nice - very romantic setting with high back chairs.

Our waitress was so knowledgeable and personable. As it was our first visit she took her time explaining everything to us including the wine pairings. We got the 4 course meal with wine pairings.

For starters we had the heirloom golden beets and ceviche of red snapper with lime, avocado and grapefruit.

For our intermediate course we had their famous white bean soup with scallions, black truffle oil and penettone dust -- very delicious. Also had the lobster risotto with huge chunks of Maine lobster.

Next for our mains we had the hormone free beef tenderloin with roasted garlic potato gratin and the sea bass seared in coconut oil on bamboo rice with pineapple-ginger-macadamia nut relish with a coconut water/lime emulsion.

For dessert we tried the banana bread pudding with ice cream and also something special made of coconut.

Each dish was incredibly delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed each of the wine pairs with complicated names that I don't remember.

This is definitely the place to go for a romantic evening in a beautiful setting with some of the best food you will ever eat. Chef Peter stopped by our table and also signed a menu we got to take home with us. We hope to go back the next time we visit Old San Juan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Global warming cocktail and the tiny whi ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Global warming cocktail and the tiny white bean soup were signature moments for our special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed Marmalade while on vaca ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I really enjoyed Marmalade while on vacation in Puerto Rico. I definitely would recommend to anyone visiting San Juan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I were visiting in San Juan ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My wife and I were visiting in San Juan and saw the great online reviews of Marmalade, so we decided to give it a try. Right off the bat, the experience was extraordinary. I had mentioned in my online reservation that my wife is limited to gluten free selections. Without even mentioning this to our waitress, she was already aware of this and explained about their celiac friendly choices (more than ample). Initially, I must admit that we were a bit confused about the menu which calls for the diner to select how many courses you wish to try. The waitress did offer us the choice of ordering the exact same food a la carte from the menu used at the bar. I ordered from the dining room menu, and my wife ordered from the a la carte menu. The food at Marmalade is absolutely exceptional, up there with the best restaurants in which we have dined. But the service is in a class of its own. When the food is being served, it is explained to the diner in detail by the server. I had ordered two small appetizers as part of my four item selection. My wife ordered one appetizer. When my second appetizer was being served, the waitress brought my wife a complimentary appetizer so that she would not be sitting without food while I was eating. I have never seen that before, but how thoughtful! After the appetizers were finished, the waitress asked if we would like to have our entrees served now or would we care to relax for awhile. I have never before been given that option at any restaurant! All evening the service was attentive, without being hovering. The finishing touch when we were getting ready to leave was our waitress waiting for us at the restaurant's door and holding it open for us, thanking us for dining with Marmalade. I would highly, highly recommend Marmalade. It was a dining experience that we will never forget. And you can be sure that we will return upon our next visit to San Juan!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an innovative place for Viejo San J ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

What an innovative place for Viejo San Juan. Great decor, excellent service and exquisite food. The popcorn shrimp (not what you're thinking) was playful and delicious. Jamon Iberico with nectarines and cheese was a real treat. The snapper entree was delightful and came with a broth that I could enjoy with just about any protein! A few more clams would've been a plus and chorizo was nice. Desert was good and innovative - dark chocolate crumble over chocolate mouse with guava ice - but I'm a savory fan. It did amaze like the first 3 courses. This is the go to modern elegant in the old city! Can't forget the Hipster cocktail either. Sweet, but not syrupy. Very refreshing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Oh my. How do you describe one of the b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Oh my. How do you describe one of the best restaurant experiences ever? Luscious food, fabulous wine and exquisite service; I can't wait to return. The food and wine pairings are the best way to enjoy the experience because the selected wines complemented the dishes perfectly. My mouth waters just thinking about our dinner. Our server was one of the best I've had...anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service, wine pairing, taste of each d ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

service, wine pairing, taste of each dish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Do not miss Marmalade! We've eaten at se ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Do not miss Marmalade! We've eaten at several great places in Puerto Rico, but this far exceeded all others. The food is impeccably prepared - innovative and delicious . Several other reviews have mentioned it, but you really shouldn't miss the white bean soup. My wife and I got the six course tasting menu (shared them all) because there were so many things we wanted to try and each was better than the last - decadent gnocchi and exquisite sea bass among our favorites. Service is flawless, but not pretentious - attentive without being intrusive. The wine selection is extensive and the service staff is clearly comfortable answering questions and making suggestions should you choose to order from the wine list as opposed to the pairings offered. Cocktails are varied and provide flavor options not seen anywhere else. The atmosphere is quiet and perfect for conversation. This will be a place we visit every time we get to PR from now on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic! Our server Eddie was wonderfu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Fantastic! Our server Eddie was wonderful! The food was unreal....just loved this restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant with exciting menu ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Wonderful restaurant with exciting menu and wine list. Great service. Only problem was with the child sitting right next to me running around, listening to Sponge Bob on an IPhone at a high volume, and being very disruptive. The restaurant has posted that no children under 7 allowed in order to provide a certain level of experience for the guests. Not sure why that was not enforced the day we were there (7/8/16). There was an entire restaurant free yet they were seated adjacent to us. It really did disrupt the experience and distracted me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

We had a great feast at marmalade once a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had a great feast at marmalade once again. We brought our youngest son this time whom has become quite a foodie. We sampled each other's dishes and compared notes. Once again the white bean soup came out on top. Every fish dish was delicious and so was the pork. Do not miss out on trying the cucumber/gin martini, it is scrumptious. The service was outstanding. Great place for foodies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service were awesome.

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food and service were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.