Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 6.53mi
  1. Distance: 6.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 6.53mi
  1. Distance: 6.53mi

About Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar


PLEASE NOTE WE ARE OFFERING ONLY TASTING MENUS TO ENJOY.
Ala Carte Dining is available at the bar/lounge area
***
Our Valentine's Day Menu ( $145 per person) is comprised of 8 courses with the opportunity for each guest to select individual dishes. Two wine pairing options will be available $75 and additional premium paring at $145 per person. Vegetarian Menu is available.
***
***TASTING MENUS*** UP TO 5 PERSONS PER TABLE
4 Course Dinner $69/person
5 Course Dinner $79/person
6 Course Dinner $89/person
We do not offer Children's Menu.

***GROUP TASTING MENU ***FROM 6 PERSONS OR MORE PER TABLE
5-6:00 PM or 9-10 PM $89/person
6:15 -8:45 PM $109/person

For Parties of 6 or larger we offer our Signature Group Tasting Menu priced at $89/ $109/person.

The Group Tasting Menu can be modified to accommodate allergies, restrictions, including gluten free, vegetarian, or vegan options.

317 Fortaleza Street
Old San Juan, PR 00901
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary French, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner : Open from 5:00-10:00 pm

*We accept reservations up to 30 DAYS IN ADVANCE up to the calendar date.

*In order to preserve the Marmalade experience at the respect of our patrons the age requirement for children is seven years or older.
Children's Menu is not available.

Cross Street:
Fortaleza Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 724-3969

Website:
http://www.marmaladepr.com/

Parking Details:
Three secured parking garages are located only one block south of the restaurant on Calle Recinto Sur . Street parking is also available in Old San Juan. Valet Parking is not available in Old San Juan due to regulation.

Public Transit:
Bus Station is located only two blocks from the center of San Juan where Marmalade is located

Executive Chef:
Peter Schintler

Private Party Facilities:
Inquiries for exclusive use of Marmalade Restaurant and Wine Bar for private events or parties are welcome. Marmalade is the only Gastronomic venue in Puerto Rico that has function space of 122 seats and a private bar area of equal capacity.
For group bookings please email to peter@marmaladepr.com.

Private Party Contact:
Henriett Schintler: (787) 724-3969

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (121)
Fit for Foodies (120)
Special Occasion (118)
See All
Tasting Menu (113)
Romantic (103)
Good for a Date (103)
Good for Anniversaries (99)
Notable Wine List (86)
Local Ingredients (65)
Modern Decor (64)
Good for Birthdays (55)
Good Vegetarian Options (52)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Handcrafted Cocktails (42)
Cozy (39)
Authentic (39)
Worth the Drive (37)
Hot Spot (35)
Fun (33)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Bar Seating (31)
Good for Groups (30)
Tapas (25)
Gluten Free Options (24)
Organic (22)
Molecular Gastronomy (22)
Healthy (22)
Business Meals (20)
Vegan (19)
Seasonal (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
People Watching (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Historic (9)
Private Room (8)
Spicy (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2959 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

After hearing about this restaurant being the best on the island we were beyond excited to try it. We have eaten at restaurants all over the world and enjoy amazing food. We saved this place for our last dinner of our trip and it was a mistake. We liked Pikayo and Oceano WAY better than this and the service, quality and attention to detail were far beyond that of Marmalade. Our waitress was uninformed and didn't care to make our experience unforgettable... we waited 30 minutes past our reservation time and then waited over two and a half hours to complete our meal. Also, it was a little bit unfortunate that the chef came out to talk to literally every table but ours. The food was good but I wouldn't recommend it and definitely wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was great!!! The food was very good but a flavors were too mild to my taste, except for the trufffle white bean soup which was the highlight of the meal. Other than that things were perfect.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Aaaaaaaaaammazing restaurant!!
Tasting menu where you choose the items you'd like to taste.. and how many courses. All were incredible .., white bean soup with truffle is not to be missed. Waiter Luis was outstanding !
What a great find!!

Tags: Vegan, Disabled Access, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful anniversary dinner. Food and wine pairing a must. I will be back on my next visit to San Juan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant is amazing! Every dish was better than the previous one. I appreciate a tasting menu. Despite the word "tasting" the size of each dish was substantial. The tiny white bean soup (the restaurant's signature dish) was delicious! The hardest part is choosing the items to taste. I am definitely coming back!! I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I'm not in the mood to write a long detailed review but I will say the food and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Exceptional! There is nothing more to say.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Our server was very knowledgeable of both the food and drink menus- didn't hesitate to give suggestions, and cautioned us (appropriately) to the 4 course tasting menu, even though we opted for five because there were too many good options. Can't beat the price, and the wine pairing was spot on. I'd go back twice during my next trip.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Went to the restaurant on our last night in San Juan at the recommendation of a local. Our server was fantastic. He gave us plenty of time to make our decisions, gave us recommendations and let us take our time during the meal. The food was outstanding. We live in a foodie city, and this was one of the best meals my husband and I have had in a long time. We both had a difficult time deciding on dishes, and we weren't disappointed. The wine pairings nailed the courses, and were unique and not necessarily something I would choose to pick up off the shelves at our local wine store!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The food was amazing! Probably one of the best meals I've had anywhere. Our server Coral was also one of the best servers we've had anywhere. She guided our choices based on what we told her about our preferences. We paired the 4 course menu with their wine choices and they were perfect except one red with the main course that my husband didn't care for (he was looking for a bolder Cab to go with his steak) and Coral whisked his glass away and brought not one but two glasses of what she thought would please him ... and both did! This was an experience where one feels that the kitchen and entire staff is devoted to pleasing you. I was so full after 3 courses (amazing ceviche, then truffle pasta, then 'surf and turf' of tuna and foie gras) that I said I'd forego a dessert, but Coral talked me into an alternate 'drink dessert' so while my husband had the best creme brûlée topped with homemade ice cream that he'd ever had, I had a dessert of champagne with Frangelico ... fabulous. We had stopped in San Juan on our way to the Caribbean for the convenience of the flights, staying at El Convento in Old San Juan for one night and booked Marmelade based on its rating. I highly recommend to anyone on the east coast of the USA to make a destination of this perfect get-away. You can arrive on a non-stop from most east coast cities, 15 minute cab to the heart of Old San Juan where the history and beauty abound, and then walk to Marmelade (book as far in advance as possible for ideal times ... we booked a week out but could only get 6 or 8:30 on a Monday night, but they were able to seat us by 8 ... again, sweet on the part of the hostess whom I spoke with confirming that morning). When I was here in the '80s Old San Juan had a reputation for being rough, but this trip we felt completely safe walking the 7 minutes to and from the hotel to Marmelade (plenty of friendly police presence and lots of happy tourists walking the cobblestone streets). ENJOY !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 20, 2017

FANTASTIC FOOD, SERVICE, ATMOSPHERE,.. beyond words ..Don't miss this restaurant !!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We made the decision to dine at Marmalade during a stop on our cruise. The food was very good and our server was excellent. We had a situation with a large group filing in and basically surrounding our table for what seemed like 10 minutes which is something that shouldn't happen in a restaurant like this. Ambiance was average but if you would like a good meal for a special occasion due to the high price and tax on food, I would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Eddy (waiter) was amazing and the food was delicious :)

Must haves- black truffle pasta, quinoa gnocchi and chickpea sausage
Dessert- Salted caramel creme brule and chocolate mousse

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My husband and I were visiting Puerto Rico in celebration of our anniversary. My sister had recommended Marmalade, so we made reservations on open table. The day of our reservation I received a phone call asking if we had any food allergies and if it was a special occasion. When we arrived we were seated in a very special corner settee. Our anniversary was acknowledged and then the "Rose Fairy" came along and sprinkled pink roses on our table! The decor is great and the noise level is minimal. Enough about the wonderful ambience and on to the food...for a fixed price per person you select a 4-5-6 course meal. There are many delicious choices. The popcorn shrimp appetizer was amazing! The entire meal was great and the wine the waiter chose for us was perfect. Can't say enough good things and I will end by stating that it was one of our best dining experiences!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I am in the food industry and was in San Juan for a Chef conference. We did a lot of wining and dining that week and Marmalade was, hands down, the best! We both did the six course chef tasting and everything was absolutely divine!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of the best dining experiences my wife and I have ever experienced. The presentation, flavors, and wine pairings were spectacular. Expect to spend 3 or so hours there and savor every moment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Hands down the best food we have ever had. Amazing staff, great atmosphere, I would highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We opted for the 4 course menu. It was more than enough, as the portions were quite large for this type of restaurant. The first course - popcorn shrimps - was a little disapointing. The shrimps sadly tasted like the sort you get in cheaper restaurants and made me wonder if they had been frozen. And the popcorn just didn't make a good match. But happily, the rest of the meal lived up to expectations: a delicious lobster risotto and an extra-juicy angus beef tenderloin. The desserts were outstanding. The service was friendly and unpretentious and quite efficient too. A bit of a wait in between courses, but never dramatic.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This is now my favorite restaurant. Thanks for the best meal I've ever had. Don't hesitate just book it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Coral was an excellent server. The appetizers were very good but main course cassoulet and lamb tagine were tasty but way too salty and I love salt. The decor is unique with flowing curtains and private sexy spaces. The service was perfect until their credit card printer broke and we were met with the owner at our table saying he had to run our card again but it seemed to all in the vicinity as if our card had been declined bad ending to an overall fun experience. All I would say is cut the salt in half for the main couses. The bread pudding dessert was delicious.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent as always and the wine parings complement the impecable cuisine.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Excellent food and very attentive staff who helpfully explain the dishes and wine choices if you choose the wine paring option.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 14, 2017

A most memorable meal with perfect service. Every dish was inventive and delicious.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 14, 2017

My expectations were to enjoy a fine meal with fine ingredients, balanced flavors and delightful staff and service. The staff and service was exceptional. Our wait staff was highly knowledgeable about the food and his wine recommendations were spot on. The food though? The beet salad was over dressed and tasted okay, but not great. The white bean soup was fantastic. The gnocchi was terrible. It tasted like grey water. And while the short ribs had been braised well, the sauce they were in lacked dimension. Most disappointing, however, were the pork cheeks, which were themselves cooked perfectly, but the presentation had the mole and and an oversalted brown sauce schmeared across the plate and it kind of looked like poo. Off putting. Maybe my expectations were too high? The meal was good, just not at all great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

If there's one restaurant you go to when you're in San Juan then Marmalade is the one! Exceptional food! Great service!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Incredible on all counts. One of the best servers I've ever had, and extraordinary food. Fit for foodies, incredibly unique flavors. Still remembering the various bites of food.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I travel quite a bit and I enjoy food and wine. I would rank Marmalade with top restaurants that I have eaten in around the world. The wine paring was worth the cost. I had two of my children with me and two of their friends (all in their twenties), they had the best dining experience of their lives.

Thank you so much. It was a special treat to also meet the Executive Chef -

Andi

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Second visit - even better than last time! Amazing food perfectly paired with fabulous wines. If we ever visit San Juan again this will be on our itinerary.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Most amazing meal I have ever had! Spectacular! The white bean soup is a must!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This restaurant provided the best meal and experience we have had in YEARS. The space is beautiful, our server Craig was very kind, funny and very knowledgeable- he spent time with us explaining the wines and the food. Every bite and pairing was mouth watering. We come here every time we are in PR, and wish we had this award winning chef Peter Schintler in our home town! It deserves to be called the #1 restaurant in PR.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

They are very knowledgeable on gluten free options and willing to substitute items to make most items on the menu a gluten free option. This is great when only part of a table must eat that way. Helps allow sharing without ruining the meal for either person.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My husband and I went to Marmalade while vacationing in PR. It was easily one of the top 5 best meals we've ever had thanks so the amazing food and excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Amazing! It is one of the best dining experiences I've ever had. The food is creative and delicious. Moreover, the wine pairing is fantastic! Last but not least, the service is impeccable. Will definitely visit again when I come to Puerto Rico next time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Really fantastic meal. Awesome service. Highly recommend

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My family of four - my husband, daughters (19 and 20) and I, had a dining experience I will always remember. Incredible chef - so many unique flavorful dishes! Was introduced to excellent Hungarian wines - in PR - who would've thought? Our server, Coral was very knowledgeable and so engaging we wanted to take her home with us.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

LOVE!!!!! Need I say more! So happy we chose this for my family birthday celebration

Tags: Romantic, Vegan, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Wonderful food and wonderful service. Will definitely be back and would recommend the restaurant to anyone coming to San Juan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

This was one of the most memorable meals o have ever eaten. The menu is so creative and every course was amazing!! The tasting menu is NOT to be missed, you will want to try EVERYTHING!!!! The lentil "meatballs" were incredible. The paella appetizer was so creative and an incredible mouthful!! The lamb tagine was mouth watering.
The crime brûlée and bread pudding were spectacular!! Do not miss this restaurant!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.