Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 6.53mi
  1. Distance: 6.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 6.53mi
  1. Distance: 6.53mi

About Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar


PLEASE NOTE WE ARE OFFERING ONLY TASTING MENUS TO ENJOY.
Ala Carte Dining is available at the bar/lounge area

***TASTING MENUS*** UP TO 5 PERSONS PER TABLE
4 Course Dinner $69/person
5 Course Dinner $79/person
6 Course Dinner $89/person
We do not offer Children's Menu.

***GROUP TASTING MENU ***FROM 6 PERSONS OR MORE PER TABLE
$99/person

For Parties of 6 or larger we offer our Signature Group Tasting Menu priced at $99/person.

The Group Tasting Menu can be modified to accommodate allergies, restrictions, including gluten free, vegetarian, or vegan options.

317 Fortaleza Street
Old San Juan, PR 00901
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary French, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Tue-Sun Dinner : Open from 5:30-10:00 pm
Mondays Closed

*We accept reservations up to 30 DAYS IN ADVANCE up to the calendar date.

*In order to preserve the Marmalade experience at the respect of our patrons the age requirement for children is seven years or older.
Children's Menu is not available.

Cross Street:
Fortaleza Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 724-3969

Website:
http://www.marmaladepr.com/

Parking Details:
Three secured parking garages are located only one block south of the restaurant on Calle Recinto Sur . Street parking is also available in Old San Juan. Valet Parking is not available in Old San Juan due to regulation.

Public Transit:
Bus Station is located only two blocks from the center of San Juan where Marmalade is located

Executive Chef:
Peter Schintler

Private Party Facilities:
Inquiries for exclusive use of Marmalade Restaurant and Wine Bar for private events or parties are welcome. Marmalade is the only Gastronomic venue in Puerto Rico that has function space of 122 seats and a private bar area of equal capacity.
For group bookings please email to peter@marmaladepr.com.

Private Party Contact:
Henriett Schintler: (787) 724-3969

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Tasting Menu (92)
Special Occasion (87)
Fit for Foodies (87)
See All
Good for a Date (85)
Creative Cuisine (81)
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Romantic (67)
Notable Wine List (58)
Local Ingredients (49)
Worth the Drive (43)
Good Vegetarian Options (42)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Hot Spot (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Cozy (28)
Fun (26)
Modern Decor (26)
Authentic (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Business Meals (22)
Healthy (21)
Organic (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Vegan (17)
Seasonal (13)
Gluten Free Options (11)
People Watching (10)
Tapas (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Historic (3)
Casual (3)
Spicy (3)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
3134 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We really enjoyed our experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

By far Marmalade is our favorite restaurant on the planet! Our third time eating here, won't be our last!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Very proud to be able to recommend such a great restaurant in Puerto Rico to my friends in New York when they visit the island. Outstanding!!!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Organic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Incredible service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Top of our list when we visit Puerto Rico

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We headed to marmalade with very high expectations and they were fully met, great food great wines great service; can't wait to go back. Thank you Chef!

Tags: Spicy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 5, 2017

There is a good reason Marmalade is the highest-rated restaurant in San Juan, according to the OpenTable reviews: it IS the best! This time, i ordered "fire & ice," white bean soup, and the beef tenderloin. Flawless! Chef Peter, i am so proud and happy for your success. It is well deserved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 4, 2017

A wonderful dining and wine pairing experience. The food was delicious. We did the five course pairing and each chose different items so had a feast of flavors. Their famous soup: outstanding. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 4, 2017

My wife and I have dined at many fine Michelin star restaurants, but this may be our favorite meal...fantastic service, creative food, great ambiance...Being from Tennessee, we see a lot of white beans and were not going to order the house specialty White Bean Soup...At the urging of our server, my wife ordered the soup...without out question the best single food item that either of us or our dining companions had ever had (luckily she was willing to share)...Mind you, with the shaved truffles, this is not your typical white bean soup...the multi-flavors were complex and carefully blended...and for dessert the Creme Brulee was outstanding with salted caramel ice cream! We will come back to San Juan just for another dinner at Marmalade!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

If you love trying new foods and want a great dining experience for an amazing price you definitely need to go to Marmalade. We did the wine pairing which was amazing, which included exclusive wines that we wouldn't get to try anywhere else. The four course tasting menu is probably about what you would be paying if went to any other restaurant in the area and ordered an appetizer entree and dessert. This is a dining EXPERIENCE so make sure you aren't in a rush so that you can fully enjoy it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

What a treat for my 40th!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Visiting Puerto Rico for our 25th Anniversary, we decided to make a special dinner at Marmalade our last night of vacation. We arrived about 40 minutes early for our 8:00pm reservation (shops closed early) and were ready to wait at the bar, which is gorgeous, until our table was ready. To our surprise, the hostess seated us right away. Our table was covered with rose petals for our special occasion, a nice touch. We chose to have the 5 course wine paring dinner. Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable about the wines with each course. Most of the reviews I read prior to our visit mentioned the white bean soup, so we both added that as one of our courses. It was the best soup I have ever had. Truly extraordinary. I also had the beet salad, home made pasta with rabbit, sea bass and corn creme brulee with peanut brittle ice cream. By the time the sea bass arrived, I was stuffed and could only manage to eat half of it- no worries, I had the leftovers for breakfast the next morning! My husband had the pork cheeks for dinner, which he loved. He also had the 8 chocolate dessert, it was amazing. The chef actually delivered one of our courses himself and spent a good amount of time chatting with us, which was a lovely touch. Each course was brought out by a different waiter, and each one of them wished us a happy anniversary, it made the occasion even more special. It's an expensive dinner, as they only offer the tasting menu, but well worth it- the food was amazing, with one exception- the creme brulee was way over cooked, to the point it was pudding like, but the ice cream served with it was fabulous. I am a professional chef and sommolier, and I would return in a heartbeat to this beautiful restaurant- It was a great way to end a great vacation.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This is THE must-go-to restaurant in San Juan. Outstanding food, service, and atmosphere. Yes, it might be considered a little pricey, but it delivers a wonderful gastronomic experience well worth every dollar.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I've been to Marmalade several times and wanted to celebrate my 50th birthday here. It did it disappoint. We had the tasting menu and it was phenomenal, as usual. The service is also impeccable. While this is a high end restaurant, it's not at all stuffy. A great place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Seasonal, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Vegan, Healthy, Happy Hour, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Had heard many wonderful recommendations to dine here. And it didn't fail . Quite an impressive experience. You'll drop a load of cash, but if you can afford it then this is worth it. Extremely personal service, and intelligently innovative cuisine.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great inventive food mixed with well versed cuisine. Many twists to what you would expect. Excellent service. Very modern decor. Good experience overall.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2017

It was very good, great ambience and service. We had the 4 course tasting which included the duck and salted caramel cream brûlée. A wonderful dining experience! The chef came out and spoke with us which made it even more special

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Every thing just Perfect !
A Very confortable experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

A must dine spot in Old San Juan! Absolutely delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Always great, will keep coming back.. best soup ever.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 23, 2017

My wife had been wanting to dine at this restaurant for a long time. We celebrated our 21st anniversary here. The layout of the tables are spacious. The decore was beautiful with amazing floral bouquets. I reserved online. We were seated at a corner table with rose petals on the table. One corner couch with many small pillows served as our seats. People had told us that the portions were small. We did not find that to be the case. The food itself was incredibly rich and delicious. Greyshell was our wait person. She was friendly always had a smile. Our whole experience was great. We would highly recommend dining at Marmalades.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Organic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Visited de restaurant with my wife for our weding aniversary and we where not disappointed. Every curse of the meal was excellent. The price was a bit high but the food is word every penny. The attention from the moment we walked into the door was off the charts. Will definitely return to Marmalade.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Food and service were both wonderful. Noise level was low and atmosphere relaxed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Restaurant is consistently good. The menu is interesting. Service is fantastic, very knowledgeable about the food (they know the farm where the produce came from) and the wine. Staff is committed to the success of the restaurant, obviously the result of the leadership and charisma of the owner/chef.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

My best dinning in PR!, everything was PERFECT!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Always a wonderful experience. Food was exquisite. Ambiance was perfect. Wine pairing was excellent. Chef Peter we will continue to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

By far some of the best service I've ever had. Someone in my party wasn't feeling well and the staff went above and beyond - brought peppermint oil, a pot of tea, and nicely wrapped the food she wasn't able to enjoy. The other waiters were friendly and stopped by to chat as the night dwindled.

The chef stopped by our table and took the time to not only make sure our food was impeccable, but stayed and chatted about how he got started, his ingredients, and the town.

The food was absolutely amazing. The steak dish I had as my entree was some of the most tender meat I've ever eaten, and all of the dishes had had thoughtfully paired ingredients that were delicious. Also, the 8 chocolates dessert was one of the most amazing desserts I've ever had, and was recommended by our waiter because I simply couldn't decide which to get. My friend said the same about her bread pudding.

I'm a big fan of tasting menus, and this was in the top two. Thank you, Marmalade, for such a wonderful experience - I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Excellent food, great service, beautiful place. The wine paring for its price was exceptional. The Chef-owner came out and talk with every client, really nice person. I highly recommend this restaurant, Will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I was hesitant, thinking it couldn't possibly live up to the hype, but boy was I wrong. One of the best meals I've ever had, or probably ever will have. Amazing combinations and beautiful presentation. Can't recommend it high enough. A must try if you're a foodie.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Food was absolutely incredible. Amazing what Chef Peter can create. Had the wine pairing too. It is pricey, but worth every penny! There is so much more I could say, and I don't usually write reviews...but I just had to for Marmalade. Go and see. You won't regret it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Went for our wedding anniversary and certainly enriched the already special night. Our waiter was absolutely fabulous and certainly played into the overall experience we had. The food was incredible; I enjoyed all 5 of my courses and there was only one my wife didn't enjoy, but that was personal preference and nothing against the food itself. The whole setting and feel of the place was awesome.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It was excellent food. Only upset that the chef visited everyone's table except mine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food and wine experience with impecable service and guidance from Katia. Chef Peter graciously came over to our table and we were able to talk about his experience in Puerto Rico and his approach to local sourcing for his menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Oh. My. God. This is hands down the best restaurant I have been to. (And Just for the record, I have been to 11 Madison Park, Central and N/Naka). They are all amazing, but I have never been to a restaurant were every single dish that came out was so incredible, I wanted literally lick the plate!! And the price is so perfect as well. Costly, not outrageously expensive, but totally worth the price! Best plates you cannot miss: risotto lobster, white bean soup (the chef came to bring it personally to us!! This was the highlight of the night!!), shrimp popcorn, paella bites, the beef that melts in your mouth and the chocolate desert #8. The wine pairings are superb. Go amazingly well with each plate. I would've loved to dine there every night while we were in San Juan. Deserves to be in the top 50 restaurants in Latin America or some Michelin stars. Service is so incredible and familiar, you feel with friends. Not to miss while in PR.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 7, 2017

fantastic meal, would highly recommend! The food and wine were both wonderful, cant go wrong. If your in San Juan, you must try Marmalade.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great experience. Spectacular food and probably the best service we've ever had. Believe the hype!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 7, 2017

This restaurant is amazing! My husband said amazing is not a strong enough superlative- it is beyond amazing. Friendly, real people who prepare delicious and surprising combinations of food and wine. Wonderful experience from start to finish. Worth a trip to San Juan just to dine here!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Vegan, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Absolutely fantastic!! The reviews are spot on. I consider myself a foodie and the meal did not disappoint. Did the 5 course tasting menu with wine pairing. Each course was better than the last. The white bean soup was as good as everyone says. I won't even go into each course, but rather leave it as this place is worth every bit of it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 6, 2017

This restaurant was recommended and we made a reservation. We arrived a little early but were sitted right away. the couch and table we sat at was so comfortable. The drinks were amazing and the food was delicious. This place is worth every cent. We will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Price set dining. You pay for 4, 5 or 6 courses. Food was wonderful as well as the service. Great time had by all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.