About Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar

317 Fortaleza Street
Old San Juan, PR 00901
View Larger Map


PLEASE NOTE WE ARE OFFERING ONLY TASTING MENUS TO ENJOY.
Ala Carte Dining is available in the bar/lounge area


***TASTING MENUS*** UP TO 5 PERSONS PER TABLE
4 Course Dinner $69/person
5 Course Dinner $79/person
6 Course Dinner $89/person
We do not offer Children's Menu.

***GROUP TASTING MENU ***FROM 6 PERSONS OR MORE PER TABLE
5-6:30 PM or 9-10 PM $89/person
6:45 -8:45 PM $109/person

For Parties of 6 or larger we offer our Signature Group Tasting Menu priced at $89/ $109/person.
Pre and Post Theater seating is subject to availability.
The Group Tasting Menu can be modified to accommodate allergies, restrictions, including gluten free, vegetarian, or vegan options.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary French, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner : Open from 5:30-10:00 pm

*We accept reservations up to 30 DAYS IN ADVANCE up to the calendar date.

*In order to preserve the Marmalade experience at the respect of our patrons the age requirement for children is seven years or older.
Children's Menu is not available.

Cross Street:
Fortaleza Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 724-3969

Website:
http://www.marmaladepr.com/

Parking Details:
Three secured parking garages are located only one block south of the restaurant on Calle Recinto Sur . Street parking is also available in Old San Juan. Valet Parking is not available in Old San Juan due to regulation.

Public Transit:
Bus Station is located only two blocks from the center of San Juan where Marmalade is located

Executive Chef:
Peter Schintler

Private Party Facilities:
Inquiries for exclusive use of Marmalade Restaurant and Wine Bar for private events or parties are welcome. Marmalade is the only Gastronomic venue in Puerto Rico that has function space of 122 seats and a private bar area of equal capacity.
For group bookings please email to peter@marmaladepr.com.

Private Party Contact:
Henriett Schintler: 7877243969x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
PLEASE NOTE WE ARE OFFERING ONLY TASTING MENUS TO ENJOY.
Ala Carte Dining is NOT available :

***TASTING MENUS***

4 Course Dinner $69/person
5 Course Dinner $79/person
6 Course Dinner $89/person
We do not offer Children's Menu.

***NEW YEARS EVE MENU ***
December 31st
$119/person

Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Caribbean
Best Food
Caribbean
Best Service
Caribbean
14 More
Best Ambiance
Caribbean
Best Value
Caribbean
Fit for Foodies
Caribbean
Special Occasion
Caribbean
Most Booked
Caribbean
Best Overall
Puerto Rico
Best Food
Puerto Rico
Best Service
Puerto Rico
Best Ambiance
Puerto Rico
Best Value
Puerto Rico
Fit for Foodies
Puerto Rico
Romantic
Puerto Rico
Special Occasion
Puerto Rico
Most Booked
Puerto Rico
Best Restaurants in San Juan ›

fit for foodies (179)
special occasion (178)
romantic (149)
See All
notable wine list (119)
hot spot (80)
good for groups (51)
neighborhood gem (42)
vibrant bar scene (15)
late-night find (8)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2433 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been coming to Marmalade since th ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

I have been coming to Marmalade since the year it opened. I have dined here easily over 30 times. I have brought hundreds of guests and coworkers here, as well. I have NEVER been disappointed and I have never heard one disparaging word against this divinely flawless restaurant. To be in PR and NOT dine at Marmalade would be the biggest regret of your trip. Thank you, Chef Peter, for creating this unique and very special culinary delight.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing experience! We were gree ...

Dined 6 days ago

What an amazing experience! We were greeted right away and were taken to our table right away (we had a reservation). Our waitress greeted us with glasses of champagne and she was all smiles and very polite. She explained how the menu works and the wine pairings. We decided to do the 4 courses selection with wine pairing. You get 2 appetizers, 1 main dish and 1 dessert and each meal comes with a wine pairing. The food was superb! I wanted more. One dish was more delicious than the other. The waitress described every dish we got and the wine it came with. We had the Paella, Yellow-Tail Poke, Foie Gras and Gnocchi for appetizers. Our main course was Beef Tenderloin and Pork Cheeks and dessert included Bread Pudding and Passion Fruit Mousse. Again, it was delicious, especially the Gnocchi and Bread Pudding. At the end, the chef personally greeted us at our table with Creme Brulee, congratulated us and asked how everything was going. I will say, it is very expensive, which we already knew it was going to be, but it was well worth it. Side note: There was a table with someone complaining over 2 different dishes saying they didn't like it. The chef came out and apologized over the dishes and let the customer know he will personally cook any dish for them they would like. 10 minutes later the chef came out with the dish and the customer loved it. They ordered a simple pasta dish so I guess they can't handle original and creative food. The chef didn't have to go out of his way to make the customer happy with something off menu. The chef really was the cherry on top. He impressed us so much. You can see he really loves food and his business. We would definitely go back again and recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the 5-course menu with wine pairi ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had the 5-course menu with wine pairings. It was beyond delicious!! A wonderful experience!! Very pricey but totally worth it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous, Service was wonde ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was fabulous, Service was wonderful and all wait staff were very knowledgeable. Chef stopped by the table and checked in on us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything about this. The owner/e ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Loved everything about this. The owner/executive chef was brilliant. My only "complaint" is that there was way too much food but it was all delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The beet salad, tiny white bean soup, be ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

The beet salad, tiny white bean soup, beef, lamb, dark chocolate and pineapple crisp were amazing. The wine pairings were spot on and a wonderful compliment to each course.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

High-End Dining

Dined on May 19, 2016

Nice restaurant, great atmosphere. We went for our honeymoon and they were fantastic; obvious that they knew what they were doing. We each did the 4 course tasting menu (different dishes), and everything was phenomenal. Pricey but 100% worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Perfect. The white bean soup ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Absolutely Perfect. The white bean soup came highly recommended and although I was skeptical, it did not disappoint, quite simply it was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was so amazing- highly recommen ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The food was so amazing- highly recommend the wine pairing. The white bean soup was everything everyone has already said- I don't like truffle oil but loved this soup! Definitely go if you are in the area!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant for My sister's 40th! ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Amazing restaurant for My sister's 40th!!! Great all the way around!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was amazing, service was amazing. H ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was amazing, service was amazing. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Exquisite and amazing for a French New Yorker ..

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Unbelievable combination of produces, flavors, spices with a superior artistic twist. Am used to eat around the world in top 5 stars restaurants. This one deserves the same " royal" treatment but even more as the team is very passionate and have not only an outstanding degree of expertise about the dishes but quite surprisingly connoisseurs of wines as well ... A definite MUST . Worth its price .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals I have ever had. S ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

One of the best meals I have ever had. Sending all my friends who visit San Juan to Marmalade!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is like going to an art museum, exc ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

This is like going to an art museum, except that the sensory experience is gustatory rather than visual. Schintler is truly an artist. My only critical comment is that there should be an option for wine pairing (at a reduced price) in which all four courses were not paired. My wife an I did not need more wine with the dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to many amazing 5 star Plac ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been to many amazing 5 star Places but this one is in our top 3. Just amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Marmalade was sensational - excellent fo ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Marmalade was sensational - excellent food, cocktails, wine and impeccable service! I would definitely recommend it and can't wait to return!

food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful 4-course dinner with wine pair ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Wonderful 4-course dinner with wine pairings. Our waiter Zachary made it even more special with his knowledge of the courses and the wines.

food5
ambience5
service5

Was one of the best dining experiences I ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Was one of the best dining experiences I have had in a long time. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly and the food superb.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Treat Yourself!

Dined on May 5, 2016

You deserve to experience dining at its finest! The unusual blending and marrying of ingredients presented a most unique culinary delight! Everything we ate was outstanding! One of my favorite surprises was the addition of "popcorn" to the popcorn shrimp and Creme Brulee! I order Creme Brulee whenever it is on a menu.....this was by far the most incredible I have ever had!!!!! Next time I will have to make it my first course!!! All of our dishes were suberb....Sea Bass...Lamb...the bean soup...beets...cheese asst........Having a nice visit with the Chef truly completed the experience......This restaurant truly exemplifies what a true upscale dining experience is!! Thank you Marmalade and Chef Peter!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding! A MUST visit while in Puert ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Outstanding! A MUST visit while in Puerto Rico!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding restaurant !!!

Dined on May 4, 2016

We really enjoyed this restaurant. I'll put it in my top 3 restaurants of all time for us. Chef Peter takes time to talk to the customers and Kat our server was outstanding. We did the 5 course meal and everything was well presented and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

My dining experience at Marmalade was excellent again - great food, perfect service, and a wonderful atmosphere. Do not miss if you are in San Juan.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent attention to detail with each ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent attention to detail with each dish. Each dish was a high point for both myself and my date. I particularly like the twist on the popcorn shrimp - it's nothing like you've ever tried before.

food4
ambience4
service4

A very nice restaurant with a very atten ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

A very nice restaurant with a very attentive and fastidious chef. Good food. Slightly over-hyped, but that's not their fault!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We chose the four course tasting menu. The lobster risotto was absolutely amazing! And the lamb tagine was delicious! The ambience is both beautiful and super comfortable. This restaurant is a definite must!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Went to Marmalade for my partner's birthday, and found that they offered tasting menus. We were told by our waiter that the portions were generous, so we chose the 4 course with wine pairings. The food was imaginative and excellent, and the accompanying wines were fabulous mates for each course. The service was fantastic, and the space is very sophisticated and charming. It's not cheap but I found the cost to be reasonable considering the quality of the food, wine, service and atmosphere. We will most certainly be back and if you're in San Juan, you must try this place. You will remember it forever.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

San Juan Gem

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a short weekend getaway to San Juan and this place was repeatedly recommended. We were celebrating both, my birthday and our first wedding anniversary (though we didn't mention either). We did the 5 tasting menu, including the paella bites, the rabbit, the cured meats, and the sea bass. The service was phenomenal, the dishes were delicious, and it was one of the best meals we've had in a very long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent food, but the service was lacking.

Dined on April 28, 2016

Most amazing meal: Golden beets with grapefruit, goat cheese, and Marcona almonds... Kale pasta with sausage and Alfredo... "Pot pie" of eggplant and other veggies in red curry... Puerto Rican espresso... Local dark chocolate infused with chili, served with guava sorbet, topped with shaved coconut. Service was not on point: After tasting a couple of wines by the glass, the server used the same glasses to pour our final selections although the wines had been shared; the server cleared plates right out from under our hands/forks/knives more than once; the server took my companion's dinner plate away before I was finished eating; and, she seemed to rush us through the first few courses of the meal, but was nowhere to be found before and after dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing

Dined on April 27, 2016

Best food I ever had, the ambiance was amazing, it not just a restaurant it's an experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Puerto Rico

Dined on April 27, 2016

Every visit is a new positive experience at Marmalade! Food is exquisite and unique. I live in Condado and I have visited many top restaurants but Marmalade tops them all. A must visit for any person looking for the best dining experience in the island! 100% score!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great chef.

Dined on April 27, 2016

This was one of the best meals I've ever had. The four course tasting menu included so many great choices and each one was perfect. Chef Peter came and spoke to us at length about his philosophy and the local community in Puerto Rico. Truly a memorable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was impeccable.

Dined on April 27, 2016

Everything was impeccable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining Experience

Dined on April 24, 2016

One of my best dining experiences ever! Everything was perfect. Service, food, wine was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food & wine. Loved it.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food & wine. Loved it.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Elegant restaurant with fabulous atmosphere

Dined on April 23, 2016

This restaurant was a recommendation by a family member who dined here before. Very pleased with the atmosphere and food. The chef personally came out to our table and thanked us for dining in and asked how the food was. It is a nice touch to have a chef of an elegant restaurant come to your table to meet him. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marmalade Restaurant & Bar was truly a d ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Marmalade Restaurant & Bar was truly a dining experience with the food being one of the best food experiences in my entire life. The food was amazing and so full of flavors that just exploded in your mouth with each and every tasting! The presentation of the food and services by the many servers was outstanding. This was truly a dining experience of a lifetime ... and just sad that it is so far way in San Juan!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Experience

Dined on April 22, 2016

My husband and I went here while on a recent trip to Puerto Rico. My husband is a chef, and he had done his research prior to our trip and we had made reservations about 2 weeks in advance, and had been anxiously awaiting this meal. I have to say, it exceeded my expectations in every way. From service, to the food and wine, it was absolutely outstanding. We had the 5 course option with wind/spirits pairing and I highly suggest doing the pairings if possible. They were spot on and complimented the meal. I would highly recommend Marmalade to anyone looking for a special night out to remember.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, wonderful for romantic dinne ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Great food, wonderful for romantic dinner. Pricey but was worth it for us. That's only reason not a 5 star, expect a little more for the price.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food. Very rich and filling. So ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Amazing food. Very rich and filling. So come hungry. The white bean soup in truffle oil is an absolute must. Timothy is a fabulous waiter with a grand personality. Love this place. I came back to Old San Juan specifically for this dining experience. Food and ambience top notch.

food5
ambience5
service5

We chose the 5 course option, and it was ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

We chose the 5 course option, and it was perfect. Our waiter gave some great suggestions and we enjoyed the entire experience. Will definitely do it again when we return to Puerto Rico!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.