Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar

4.9
3405 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Fusion / Eclectic
Top Tags:
  • Tasting Menu
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Special Occasion

PLEASE NOTE WE ARE OFFERING TASTING MENUS AND ALA CARTE TO ENJOY.
Ala Carte Dining is available
3 Course Dinner $55/person
4 Course Dinner $65/person
5 Course Dinner $75/person
6 Course Dinner $85/person
***
NEW YEARS EVE MENU ,December 31:
8 COURSE $99/pp from 5-7pm family seating
8 COURSE $129/pp from 8:45-11pm
***
***GROUP TASTING MENU ***FROM 4PERSONS OR MORE PER TABLE
$89/person

The Group Tasting Menu can be modified to accommodate allergies, restrictions, including gluten free, vegetarian, or vegan options.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary French, Vegetarian / Vegan
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Seven days a week Dinner : Open from 5:00-10:00 pm

*We accept reservations up to 30 DAYS IN ADVANCE up to the calendar date.

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(787) 724-3969
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Peter Schintler
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Inquiries for exclusive use of Marmalade Restaurant and Wine Bar for private events or parties are welcome. Marmalade is the only Gastronomic venue in Puerto Rico that has function space of 122 seats and a private bar area of equal capacity.
For group bookings please email to peter@marmaladepr.com.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Henriett Schintler: (787) 724-3969
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Fortaleza Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Three secured parking garages are located only one block south of the restaurant on Calle Recinto Sur . Street parking is also available in Old San Juan. Valet Parking is not available in Old San Juan due to regulation.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Bus Station is located only two blocks from the center of San Juan where Marmalade is located
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

What a great restaurant we had an extraordinary experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

We had a great experience. The ambience was beautiful. We had a great server, Timothy. The food was exquisite. Easily a 1 or 2 star Michelin if they were given in San Juan.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We make sure we come to Marmalade every time we visit PR! It’s not cheap but worth the money and experiences

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Excelente experiencia y una extraordinaria experiencia , no tiene nada que envidiarle a los grandes restaurantes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

We were happy to come across Marmalade on our business trip to PR. I would definitely go back to Marmalade should I happen to be in San Juan. :-)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Without doubts, the best rest in P.R. , and on par with many of the the best anywhere. A perfect evening with excellent service and better food and wine. My wife and I had the five course menu with wine pairings. At least 3 of the courses were outstanding. We will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

One of the best meals I’ve had in a long time. Rivals any NYC restaurant I’ve had the pleasure to eat at

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Host was rude and misinformed. With about 20 available chairs said there was no space for me an my wife, I explained it was my anniversary and she just said sorry. Went outside and was able to make a reservation (I had about 4 available times with 15 minute intervals). came back inside as I was waiting to be seated with my reservation, another couple came behind us and asked us in a rude manner to move out of the ay so she could take care of the new guests. Once inside service was fantastic and we even had a visit by the chef, wine selection was great and ambiance was quite nice as well. Food was new, different and very creative but I found tastes a bit too strong where dense sauces overshadow the baked taste of what you are eating. If it wasn't for the host I would not have an issue with this restaurant and I can't just kill the restaurant for a host. I recommended as overall is not a bad restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Still the best in the island!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

My wife and I have been to Marmalade a number of times and each visit has been excellent. The food, presentation, service is first rate. I have no hesitation in saying it is San Juan's best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Everything about our experience was spectacular. The food, the wine pairings and the service were impeccable. San Juan is a very special place for us and we were happy to be back after Maria to see the city doing so well, and Chef Peter and his team were such a delight. Couldn’t recommend this more! Must haves definitely include the white bean soup and the surf and turf intermediate dish. The choco-L8 dessert was a chocolate lover’s dream. We can’t wait to come back again next year!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Absolutely Fabulous as usual. Marmalade never disappoints. Delighted to see that they have weathered Hurricane Marie well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Amazing gourmet food! What a surprising gem nestled in Old San Juan!! Best place to eat in the city!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 29, 2018

The Tiny White Bean Soup and the Ceviche were delicious. The Black Truffle Parpadelle Pasta was not so great, but it was ok. The Beef Tenderloin and the Lamb were both exquisite. The Choco-L8 and Banana Butterscotch Pudding desserts were both great too. What substracted from our experience was the long time between courses, specially for dessert. We had a 2 hours and a half 4-course dinner, which I consider too long. This is the reason for the "Good" (3-star) rating in service. Our table server helped to keep that rating from being less though. Overall, the experience was very good and the ambiance was just perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Friends who have been to Marmalade have told me it is a “don’t miss in San Juan. My husband wanted to take me to San Juan just to eat here because he knew I would love it. They were right! Don’t miss this foodie’s gem in the heart of Old San Juan. The food, service and ambiance rock! The bean soup (I know- what’s so special about bean soup?) is a do not miss. Velvety with layers of flavors, amazing on the palate. Everything we ordered was delicious. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Chef Peter is amazing and our server Jose was awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Great Meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Fabulous food and service. A must for locals and visitors to San Juan

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Excelente experiencia culinaria. El Chef logra una increible fusion de sabores en cada plato.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Marmalade can best be described as a dining "experience" I have no complaints

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Fantastic service, expansive wine selection and divinely delicious courses. If you're indecisive of one restaurant splurge on Puerto Rico... This is a better choice than whatever else is on your options list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Amazing atmosphere and the food is Crazy delicious

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Spectacular across the board!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

We had a great experience. The food was amazing. Even though my wife doesn’t eat seafood, the menu offers enough variety. The restaurant is expensive but worth every penny. The paella dish, the white bean soup, all excellent!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

My wife and I enjoyed an anniversary celebration with a six course meal and wine pairing. It was outstanding. We had excellent service and were happy to have the chef visit us at our table.

Outstanding dining experience and a go to every time were in San Juan

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

This was an amazing experience. It came highly recommended by others. This did not disappoint. The food was amazing and artistic. The chef visited our table and explained his vision. I would definitely visit again. Located in charming old San Juan.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

This best was the best! Food and service was awesome! Can’t wait to go back again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

One of the best meals I’ve had in my life, highly recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Excellent dining experience and the highlight of our trip... I highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

It was even better than I remember. I was so happy to bring my daughter this time. We are both vegan, and the team was incredibly accommodating. The food was interesting and delicious without being strange. It’s very expensive, but as long as you know what to expect, it’s worth every penny. And our sever was just lovely. LOVE IT HERE!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

The food was delicious and all 5 courses we had were the appropriate size, so you could enjoy them all and be full not stuffed at the end. Wine pairings were excellent and it was nice to see them printed on the menu. Service was top notch. He helped us navigate the menu and was very knowledgeable about all dishes and pairings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Spectacular taste, food quality and service !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

This is best restaurant in all of Puerto Rico. Do not miss this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

What a treat! We ordered the 5 course tasting menu with wine pairings. Perfect!! Our waitress, Katia was the best. She described the wines and food with such passion, that we knew she had experienced the food and wine herself. We live in NYC and are foodies. This restaurant stands up to any 5 star restaurant in Manhattan. Our favorites were popcorn shrimp, tuna tartare, white bean soup, paparadelle with truffles and halibut. Peter, the owner walks around and greets the diners. Just a wonderful experience that should not be missed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Our server, Christina expertly guided us though Marmalade's style of tasting menu. We decided upon 4 courses and their drink pairings. The food was delicious, satisfying, surprising and at times, mind blowing. Christina helped me decide on my main course, consisting of halibut and fresh morels, Iberico ham and parmesan croquete dressed with a sweet-pea and rosemary foam, paired with a (!) Pinot Noir.....two days have passed and I am still thinking about that dish, so taken by it, I am.

As a meal, I think Marmalade is somewhat pricey, as an education, a bargain.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Excellent place and would highly recommend to anyone visiting Old San Juan; we will certainly be back on our next visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Oouuu. Como siempre!!! Excelente comida, ambiente. Y pregunten por Heidy. Te explica, cada plato. Que lo comienzas a saborear, desde antes que llegue. Con unos conocimientos en vino. Que sabe combinar el excelente plato, con la excelente copa!!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

The best in PR for gluten free and clean food eaters.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Chef Peter is wonderful! So accommodating and a true inspiration. Great Food quality! Great flavors!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
86