Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi

About Marks Bistro

Marks, established in 2003, was built into a historic, turn-of-the-century home nestled into a quaint business district in Omaha’s historic Dundee main-street neighborhood that has thrived since the early 1900’s.
Marks’ vision for the menu is to create dishes with a hint of French influence, balanced with some Asian accents, along with good old American.

4916 Underwood Ave.
Omaha, NE 68132
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 502-2203

Website:
http://www.marksindundee.com/

Entertainment:
Jambo Cat, our cocktail lounge located just under Marks Bistro, offers live jazz on Thursday (7-10) and Saturday (8-11) nights.

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking in front, we have five spaces in the rear, off the alley, two reserved for handicapped access, and the law office across the street (4913 Underwood) has given us permission to use their spaces in the evening. There are 8 spaces behind their building, and it is almost never full.

Executive Chef:
James Davis

Private Party Facilities:
Marks has several areas available for private dining for groups as small as 5 people up to 20. These private spaces have become the favorite for many Marks regulars, as they are almost like dining at home – charming, intimate, and yet fully indulged with good service and Marks’ fine food.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Pluhacek: (844) 705-8425

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Marks Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (39)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Special Occasion (32)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Romantic (29)
Cozy (28)
Scenic View (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Casual (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Comfort Food (16)
Business Meals (15)
Authentic (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Fun (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Healthy (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Groups (9)
People Watching (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Historic (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Seasonal (4)
Vegan (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
371 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I've gone before for dinner and had the honey pork and it was spectacular. Unfortunately the lunch I had was disappointing, I expected the best out of the mac and cheese considering it was a signature dish.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 16, 2017

A great find in a great part of Omaha, the food and service was top notch while the price wasn't too steep! Will be returning soon!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Always welcoming, always a pleasure, always some subtle shifts and innovations. Superb steak frites special that night; excellent new arrivals to the wines by the glass selections.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Love Marks. I am never disappointed with their charcuterie board or mac and cheese! The setting is great; casual but nice at the same time. You can't really feel out of place here and the view of Dundee is awesome. I love half price wine bottle's on Mondays! My service was great and I absolutely recommend you eat here and ask for Bailee as a waitress. :)

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Fun, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The menu has great choices and each one is perfectly seasoned, the sauces are terrific and all the menu items are delicious. Always consistent and great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My wife and I went to Mark's for dinner. What a great place. People were friendly and food was excellent. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Marks was accommodating . We celebrated a birthday. When we sat the reservation the time was later in the evening. We asked if something opened earlier we would be interested.

We were called and the had a rable ready at 6:30 instead of the 8:30 that was reserved. We appreciated being able to get in earlier.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 3, 2017

My husband and I are not new to Mark's but went for a date with our 5 month old daughter as company. I was so pleased with how welcoming they were of our little one--she is cute and mostly well behaved, but most places similar to Mark's frown at you for bringing in little ones. I requested a corner table or some place away from heavy foot traffic when making the reservation (because of the baby being with us) so we were seated in the corner booth. 🙌🏻 Our server Julia was quick to come greet us and recommend appetizers. Her service and friendliness were wonderful additions to our meal throughout the evening! We went with the harvest flatbread for an appetizer and had the Lobster and Bay Scallops andthe Butternut Squash Risottos for entrees--quite tasty. Mark's, you keep us coming back. Wonderful place for all occasions.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Place and service personnel were delightful. We were a group of 7 and we're out in the backroom even though it was not too busy. The front room is much nicer and it would have been nice to be seated there. Service was great and personable. Would recommend the Mac N's Cheese.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The lobster and scallop risotto was absolutely amazing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Small and intimate setting. The bruschetta and creme brulee are to die!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 21, 2017

It was my birthday 🎉 and I got to pick! My two sisters were first timers to Marks and they enjoyed every thing. Every time I come I enjoy your menu. Well worth the drive from West Omaha. Thank you for the great service and great food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Historic, People Watching, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food and service was great!! My wife and I had a great time for our Valentines Day dinner! Atmosphere is fun, cozy, and lively. Highly recommend for any occasion!

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Scenic View, Organic, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice...nice place to take the wife for a nice dinner....chef makes some awesome specials

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Lovely Valentine's Day meal

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The lamb and Cuban sandwiches were so full of flavor - delights for the palate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I was expecting a great experience and even better food and was extremely disappointed. The waitress was super slow and kept blaming things on the kitchen. Our fresh bread came out at the end of our meal. Some of our food was cold and the French onion soup was overcooked and the cheese was dried out and stuck to the bowl along with other issues.....we made reservations at 4 so it wasn't busy.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I usually can never say enough good things about Mark's. I just wish on this visit our waitress would have acknowledged the little person in our group. It was after 8:30 p.m. on a Friday. The restaurant was half empty. My sister had voiced her opinion about being uncomfortable taking my niece several times before because Mark's came across as not being well behaved child friendly. I think had the waitress made us feel welcome, we wouldn't have felt rushed. This is not my normal review, and I'm sure I will dine here again, but not with my family! :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Delicious, fun, wonderful every time! The roast chicken is perfect for lunch or dinner. Tater tots are the best in the city and there is always a great selection in every section of the menu.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 10, 2017

consistently great food, service and atmosphere. we keep going back, because we can count on it being an awesome experience.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Celebrating a birthday and we all tried a different dish. Lobster risotto, burger, gnocchi, and more all tasted great. Wine list was good, too. Definitely recommend Marks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Mark's is awesome. The food is delicious and the view of Dundee is great at night. The s'mores brownie is to die for!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Sid was our waiter and he did an excellent job! Food was fantastic as always. We were glad Sid told us about the wine special :) We always choose Mark's for special occasions, birthdays etc. Thanks for another great experience! Caitlin Bennett and Gerard Forbes

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 28, 2017

1st time there and evwrything was fantastic from start to Finnish. Highly recommend.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Best Mac & Cheese and the other food is wonderful as well. Fantastic service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent night out! Great service and meal. We had a charcuterie board followed by the nightly special tenderloin before slipping downstairs for live jazz at Jambo Cat! Fantastic!

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 5, 2017

One suggestion: a much better selection of herbal teas.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Have been 2 times in last month & each time better than before! Love the menu selection, wine list, & prices good for amounts you get. Classy decor & pleasant atmosphere. New favorite date place for my husband & I , or a friends get together.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food and presentation are outstanding. The wait person seemed too busy so we waited frequently for her availability. Good for casual dining but also good for a special occasion.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We got a table in the bar along the windows which offered a great view. Food was amazing and filling. Our server, Molly, was on top of everything but not pushy.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere and food. Loved that it was an upstairs restaurant with lots of windows that overlooked the Christmas lights on the street. Could have used a little more directions to get to the front door.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Pleasant atmosphere - good food - good service. Parking is somewhat of a problem, but not a deterrent!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Xmas dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I had guests from out of town. They loved Mark's ! And I got to be in a restaurant that never disappoints.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch for 7 for a birthday. The food was outstanding, service was excellent. Would like to see offerings for children's meals. We had to order adult meals and while the food was good, there was just too much.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great place and phenomenal food! Had their chicken lasagna and it was delicious.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food. Server can be more friendly. Very nice atmosphere. I loved it. Even though it's quite a drive from my house it's well worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 15, 2016

It was a very pleasant dining experience. The flank steak was the most expensive dish on the menu and disappointing! Portion size was small and the meat was tough to chew, the best part of the dish was the roasted vegetables.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Marks' never disappoints. The environment is lovely, the wait staff always friendly, and the food is delicious! When I leave I always look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our table placement request by the windows was honored and at Christmas, the lights on the street scape was wonderful . Thank you for that. It was my husband's 78th birthday so we have been out to dinner many times over many years. This was one of the best.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.