About Marks Bistro

4916 Underwood Ave.
Omaha, NE 68132
View Larger Map

Marks, established in 2003, was built into a historic, turn-of-the-century home nestled into a quaint business district in Omaha’s historic Dundee main-street neighborhood that has thrived since the early 1900’s.
Marks’ vision for the menu is to create dishes with a hint of French influence, balanced with some Asian accents, along with good old American.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 502-2203

Website:
http://www.marksindundee.com/

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking in front, we have five spaces in the rear, off the alley, two reserved for handicapped access, and the law office across the street (4913 Underwood) has given us permission to use their spaces in the evening. There are 8 spaces behind their building, and it is almost never full.

Executive Chef:
James Davis

Private Party Facilities:
Marks has several areas available for private dining for groups as small as 5 people up to 60. These private spaces have become the favorite for many Marks regulars, as they are almost like dining at home – charming, intimate, and yet fully indulged with good service and Marks’ fine food.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Pluhacek: 8447058425

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wine

Marks Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Nebraska
Neighborhood Gem
Nebraska
Most Booked
Nebraska
4 More
Best Ambiance
Omaha
Best Value
Omaha
Neighborhood Gem
Omaha
Most Booked
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Midtown ›

Neighborhood Gem (95)
Great for Outdoor Dining (85)
Special Occasion (72)
See All
Fit for Foodies (70)
Romantic (59)
Scenic View (36)
Great for Lunch (36)
Notable Wine List (34)
Good for Groups (33)
Hot Spot (20)
Great for Brunch (11)
Late-night Find (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
278 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our food was great. The waitress was ve ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our food was great. The waitress was very nice, however our drink orders were messed up and she did not volunteer to make it right.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Best ambience , food, service staff, gre ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Best ambience , food, service staff, great wine list, great value for the price AND in a great neighborhood. Mark's is my go-to place to meet friends and take out-of-town business colleagues. Cannot say enough good things. Thank you for being Mark's!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE finally got to sit outside and enjoy ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

WE finally got to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful garden terrace! The food was amazing, as always! My husband loved his Birthday celebration! This has become our "go to" spot for special occasions since we moved here a couple years ago.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food. Great atmosphere in a great ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food. Great atmosphere in a great Omaha neighborhood. The cocktail lounge downstairs is the perfect way to cap off dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food! Excellent service! Superb ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Amazing food! Excellent service! Superb wine list! We love Marks Bistro!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was phenomenal! I took my bo ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This place was phenomenal! I took my boyfriend out for his birthday dinner to Mark's and it did not disappoint. It was a little on the pricey side, but you get what you paid for. The appetizer we got, along with the food and drinks were well worth the special occasion we had went out to celebrate! Not only was the food terrific, but the ambiance and the service was spot on as well. I have always been and will always be a fan of the Dundee area. Highly recommended!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bistro Tots are excellent. My wife had h ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Bistro Tots are excellent. My wife had her favorite house mac and cheese and it's never let us down. I tried a new special which was a take on Filet Oscar. Two Filet medallions topped with lobster meat sauce and puréed asparagus with fingerling potatoes. It was very tasty and looked beautiful. I always try one of the specials and have never been disappointed. We will be back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had good food and great service with ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We had good food and great service with Sid as usual

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Mark's Bistro, the atmosphere, fo ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I love Mark's Bistro, the atmosphere, food, and excellent service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food, nice friendly atmosph ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Always great food, nice friendly atmosphere. Never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good and it was quiet enou ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food was very good and it was quiet enough to easily visit with friends. They took great care to prepare my husband's dinner without any dairy products. We greatly appreciate that extra effort -- we know it is a pain for the chefs!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food at Mark's Bistro has always bee ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food at Mark's Bistro has always been excellent. The Creme Brule is especially wonderful. Love the patio dining with all the beautiful flowers. The staff is always friendly and I appreciate their sense of humor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Mark's Bistro! Food and ambiance i ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Love Mark's Bistro! Food and ambiance is always great

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

LOVED this place. Great cocktails with ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

LOVED this place. Great cocktails with fabulous meal options. Loved the outdoor patio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a native hawaiian and appreciated yo ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I'm a native hawaiian and appreciated your attempt at the poke. But cutting the Ahi tuna that small ruins the texture of the poke. Bigger chunks are better plus some soy sauce. I get itssupposed to be gluten free but maybe salt

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Marks is a steady for us. This experienc ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Marks is a steady for us. This experience wasn't our best. Weak, flat cocktail. Food fair but in their defense I ordered their steak special but their best meals are seafood. Sides lacked seasoning. All in all just an OK night. Sorry Marks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Dinner for a special gathering with frie ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Dinner for a special gathering with friends I hadn't seen for months - only 4 of us. We had a very enjoyable evening - all but the service. The waitress was very nice and professional but it did take an extremely long time for us to receive our meals.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We enjoyed all the food we ordered, from ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We enjoyed all the food we ordered, from salmon to sliders. The mousse we tried and the crème brulee and the homemade ice cream was out of this world, but especially the crème brulee!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful and the service w ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was wonderful and the service was great. It was a hot evening so everyone was dining inside. Unfortunately, we were seated in a cramped corner with a large group next to us. That made it difficult to hear each other. The dining room overall was loud. Normally, an evening at Marks is intimate and much more enjoyable. That said, we will still be back. The food makes it worthwhile dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We had an amazing server who was knowled ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had an amazing server who was knowledgeable about the menu. Food was excellent. Good price for what you are getting. It was a great experience I would definitely go back. It was a little loud in the restaurant but that is goes to show how busy and great it is.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I went to Marks to celebrate ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My wife and I went to Marks to celebrate our 18 year wedding anniversary and it was ok. The restaurant was very loud and compact. We reserved a 8:15 pm table on a Saturday and it was so loud we didn't realize music was playing till we left at 9:30 pm. Food was good but not the best we had ever had. I don't think we would go out of our way to make it back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was very good even though ou ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The service was very good even though our waitress also had a larger group to serve as well. The food was a little slow in coming as our order got in behind the larger group, but the atmosphere was pleasant and the environment conducive to conversation so all worked out well. I would eat there again and would recommend it to others as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was great and so was the wine, ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food was great and so was the wine, my wife enjoyed the outdoor patio setting. Thanks and the server did a great job with the wine recommendation with the food. We'll be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I like the restaurant atmosphere, howeve ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I like the restaurant atmosphere, however I was not impressed with the flavor of the food, i felt it lacked spices seemed plain. The staff was wonderful and the speed of our orders were quick. I might go back to give a different entre another chance but not anytime soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We got the lobster and scallop risotto a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We got the lobster and scallop risotto and it was really good. The gnocchi was good and unique. We got the corn puree as a side, my fiance liked it a lot but it had a funny taste to me. Worth trying though! Every guy was wearing a collared shirt, we came from driving from MN and never been there so my fiance felt a tiny but underdressed in a v-neck and nice khaki shorts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Marks is one of my favorite spots in tow ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Marks is one of my favorite spots in town. Nothing beats a half-price bottle of wine during happy hour and some bistro tots! Great service and a nice, quiet retreat from the usual hustle and bustle of Omaha dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I met a few friends at Mark's for dinner ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I met a few friends at Mark's for dinner. We had a lovely evening filled with a great atmosphere (outside dining), refreshing drinks and delicious food. I highly recommend Marks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had been wanting to try Marks and hea ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We had been wanting to try Marks and heard it was a good alternative to the overly loud Pitch. So we took some business colleagues from out-of-town here on a weekday night. The setting was lovely and it was quiet enough to visit. However, the food was disappointing. The risotto was undercooked & very very bland. Others ordered the chicken lasagna, brown butter gnocchi, and a daily special. While none we bad-all were unremarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We took friends from out of town and the ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We took friends from out of town and they loved the setting, food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Celebrating a friend's birthday. Very n ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Celebrating a friend's birthday. Very nice evening. Food was excellent and Molly did a great job serving us with a smile!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have taken out of town guests to Mark ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We have taken out of town guests to Marks at least five times and it is always excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food took a long time to get out, but th ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food took a long time to get out, but that might have been because there was a large group on the bottom floor of the restaurant. Great food, plated to please any foodie. Affordably expensive food. You can eat well for about $25-30 a person.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We enjoyed the food, portions were small ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We enjoyed the food, portions were small & did not come with any sides.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

staff...food...ambience...dessert...ever ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

staff...food...ambience...dessert...everything...every table around us was impressed with their experience...I've been there countless times...never off the mark!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Dundee neighbourhood gem

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the food and the service. Love the interior as it's very personal.

I would say the little room upstairs, 1st floor, in the back has an incredibly officious A/C but other than that- I loved every minute.

Tags: Group Bookings, Outdoor Eating, Neighbourhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

All three of us thought our entrées were ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

All three of us thought our entrées were exceptional. The drinks beforehand were perfect which included a martini and a Manhattan. The service was great and our server was attentive and helpful. Prices are reasonable and we like the location overlooking Dundee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was phenomenal. Thoughtful menu ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Service was phenomenal. Thoughtful menu and very fine quality dining. Lived in Omaha for 20+ years and hadn't heard of Mark's before. I feel like it's a lovely secret

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Had a party of 5 for a late lunch outsid ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Had a party of 5 for a late lunch outside on the patio. All was perfect! 4 people were from out of town and loved everything from the food to the service to the patio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We often book our special occasions at Marks. The food is always great, the service friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful spring/summer Eve for outdoor dining.

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Birthday dinner! Had great service, plus our meal and wine was especially good! We certainly will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.