Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi

About Marks Bistro

Marks, established in 2003, was built into a historic, turn-of-the-century home nestled into a quaint business district in Omaha’s historic Dundee main-street neighborhood that has thrived since the early 1900’s.
Marks’ vision for the menu is to create dishes with a hint of French influence, balanced with some Asian accents, along with good old American.

4916 Underwood Ave.
Omaha, NE 68132
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 502-2203

Website:
http://www.marksindundee.com/

Entertainment:
Jambo Cat, our cocktail lounge located just under Marks Bistro, offers live jazz on Thursday (7-10) and Saturday (8-11) nights.

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking in front, we have five spaces in the rear, off the alley, two reserved for handicapped access, and the law office across the street (4913 Underwood) has given us permission to use their spaces in the evening. There are 8 spaces behind their building, and it is almost never full.

Executive Chef:
James Davis

Private Party Facilities:
Marks has several areas available for private dining for groups as small as 5 people up to 20. These private spaces have become the favorite for many Marks regulars, as they are almost like dining at home – charming, intimate, and yet fully indulged with good service and Marks’ fine food.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Pluhacek: (844) 705-8425

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Marks Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (46)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Special Occasion (35)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Cozy (31)
Romantic (29)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Casual (24)
Scenic View (24)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Business Meals (16)
Authentic (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Healthy (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Fun (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Bar Seating (11)
People Watching (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Private Room (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Historic (5)
Vegan (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Organic (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
397 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

One of the most memorable "date nights" my wife and I have had in years. Thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor patio and charm on a beautiful May evening. Our last night in Omaha before returning home with our college grad to St. Louis and wanted to experience during in Dundee one more time. We were not disappointed. We love the charm of the neighborhood and the casual elegance Mark's Bistro. The reveres were so friendly and helpful. And genuine. And the food.....how do you choose between authentic Belgian frites or their classic mac n cheese? You don't--you get them both as appetizers. The shrimp and lobster risotto was one of the best risottos I have had--and we have excellent Italian in St. Louis. Whenever we return to Omaha, Mark's is on our list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food and atmosphere was fantastic!! We had a great college graduation dinner here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Mark's is a very satisfying restaurant in most ways, with a creative menu that changes often. It's in an interesting Omaha location, away from busy traffic areas. It's not the type of restaurant I'd normally give a rating of "outstanding" to - it's more casual than the best high end, but it's very good value for your dollar. Can get fairly loud when busy and I try to avoid peak times when I can. Mid-afternoon on Saturdays is perfect if you want to relax and have a quiet conversation. Likely true for many restaurants of this type. It's reliable, comfortable and as I said, I've always been satisfied.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Food was not up to par. My wife said the salmon was the best she ever had but the loster and bay scallop risotto and lamb sausage dishes, while tasty, were so salty that I regret not sending them back. The charcuterie plate was delicious but the cheese slices were so tiny that it was difficult for four people to share the five piece dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We have our monthly AAF meeting at Marks. The waitress Jeanette is wonderful, does a really good job. All of our food was excellent with one exception. I ordered the Cuban sandwich and they brought it out burned. Rather than being nicely toasted, it was carbonized. Maybe it is supposed to be like that, but for the first time I didn't enjoy my lunch. I did not complain because of time, but I only ate part of a half. Otherwise it was a good experience as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I was traveling from Mexico City and wanted to find a good local place to have lunch. Marks Bistro surpassed my expectations due to their outstanding food and vast wine/beer selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Our waitress was friendly and helpful. Nice ambiance and enjoyed our view of the street. Food had great flavor, seasoned well. My only issue was the my potatoes were not warm, rather cool actually. They must have been placed on the plate long before the steak was laid upon them. The egg yolk added depth of flavor to the dish.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We chose Mark's Bistro because one of our guests needed a gluten free menu. We were able to go to their website and determine the menu would meet the needs of our guest. We were most pleased with the options on the menu and the knowledge of our server. Like always, the food was delicious and the atmosphere most pleasing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Two of the dishes were very good, the mussel and shrimp linguine but the risotto dishes were very disappointing. Very little to almost no lobster on one order and the vegetable risotto the vegetables were not cooked or warm and the risotto was pasty and had no flavor. One the dishes was sent back and replaced with a salad but overall we were disappointed with the experience for the price. The service was very good with the waiter replacing entree with no questions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 28, 2017

As usual, Mark's did not disappoint. A lobster-scallop risotto was excellent as was the pork loin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Very cool place. Great ambiance. Reminds me of bistros in San Francisco.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 27, 2017

My favorite restaurant and I dislike going out to eat because I am such a foodie. The items on their menu are sophisticated, made well, nicely presented, and very tasty. Portion sizes are perfect too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We love Mark's and this was the first time we brought our sons with us. We had a reservation for 6 and were seated immediately. The mac & cheese was delicious and I love the fact they have a snack mac now! Topped everything off with the whiskey bread pudding. The boys loved it. It was a tad noisier than normal.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I've been going there for the last 6 months and really enjoying Mark's. Then I took three people for dinner last Saturday evening and all of us were disappointed. Three had a variation of the risotto which was so salty they couldn't enjoy it. I had a "Spring Lamb" that was so tough I could barely saw through it and chewing near impossible. Spring Lamb should melt in your mouth as it is specially raised to be ready for Easter and is much younger than normal. The veggies and broth served with the lamb was delicious.

Mark's-- get your act together!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great dining experience. Well
Will def go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner and evening. The atmosphere was perfect. The Spring Risotto was delicious. We will be back!
Thank you!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great food, wonderful service! One of my favorites!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quick Bite, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The food is presented as beautifully as it is flavorful. The flavors are presented in a very subtle way. Nothing I have tried is overpowering or intense. It feels more like comfort food with a modern twist. I also enjoy their wine selection as every time I have tried something new, it ranks at the top of all wine lists. Kudos to the wine buyers and Bravo! to the Chef. Thank you for making my out of the country guests want to come back to Omaha for your food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Casual, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We had one extra person, and we were accommodated perfectly. OUr waitress was attentive, and our meeting was productive and uninterrupted.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Portions were small for the price. We left hungry. Wattress and service was outstanding. Atmosphere was good. Food taste was great. Appetizers were terrific. Great place for appetizers and drinks before or after the show!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great anniversary dinner! Mark's is definitely one our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Mark's Bistro is always a pleasure. This time we had to wait longer than usual to get our drink and appetizer orders in - appeared to be a glitch in assigning someone. But once the meal was underway, we very much enjoyed the food.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a salmon dish from he menu. Very tasty. However the salmon was slightly overcooked resulting in a 4star rating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Delmonico steak was not good. Tons of grissel and fat. Dissapointing. Other than that everyone else enjoyed their meals and the waitress was awesome!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It's always a delicious meal at Marks Bistro. Great service, food, wines in a warm classy environment. A culinary jewel of Dundee.

Tags: Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I've gone before for dinner and had the honey pork and it was spectacular. Unfortunately the lunch I had was disappointing, I expected the best out of the mac and cheese considering it was a signature dish.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 16, 2017

A great find in a great part of Omaha, the food and service was top notch while the price wasn't too steep! Will be returning soon!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Always welcoming, always a pleasure, always some subtle shifts and innovations. Superb steak frites special that night; excellent new arrivals to the wines by the glass selections.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Love Marks. I am never disappointed with their charcuterie board or mac and cheese! The setting is great; casual but nice at the same time. You can't really feel out of place here and the view of Dundee is awesome. I love half price wine bottle's on Mondays! My service was great and I absolutely recommend you eat here and ask for Bailee as a waitress. :)

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Fun, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The menu has great choices and each one is perfectly seasoned, the sauces are terrific and all the menu items are delicious. Always consistent and great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My wife and I went to Mark's for dinner. What a great place. People were friendly and food was excellent. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Marks was accommodating . We celebrated a birthday. When we sat the reservation the time was later in the evening. We asked if something opened earlier we would be interested.

We were called and the had a rable ready at 6:30 instead of the 8:30 that was reserved. We appreciated being able to get in earlier.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 3, 2017

My husband and I are not new to Mark's but went for a date with our 5 month old daughter as company. I was so pleased with how welcoming they were of our little one--she is cute and mostly well behaved, but most places similar to Mark's frown at you for bringing in little ones. I requested a corner table or some place away from heavy foot traffic when making the reservation (because of the baby being with us) so we were seated in the corner booth. 🙌🏻 Our server Julia was quick to come greet us and recommend appetizers. Her service and friendliness were wonderful additions to our meal throughout the evening! We went with the harvest flatbread for an appetizer and had the Lobster and Bay Scallops andthe Butternut Squash Risottos for entrees--quite tasty. Mark's, you keep us coming back. Wonderful place for all occasions.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Place and service personnel were delightful. We were a group of 7 and we're out in the backroom even though it was not too busy. The front room is much nicer and it would have been nice to be seated there. Service was great and personable. Would recommend the Mac N's Cheese.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The lobster and scallop risotto was absolutely amazing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Small and intimate setting. The bruschetta and creme brulee are to die!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 21, 2017

It was my birthday 🎉 and I got to pick! My two sisters were first timers to Marks and they enjoyed every thing. Every time I come I enjoy your menu. Well worth the drive from West Omaha. Thank you for the great service and great food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Historic, People Watching, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food and service was great!! My wife and I had a great time for our Valentines Day dinner! Atmosphere is fun, cozy, and lively. Highly recommend for any occasion!

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Scenic View, Organic, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice...nice place to take the wife for a nice dinner....chef makes some awesome specials

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.