About Marks Bistro

4916 Underwood Ave.
Omaha, NE 68132
View Larger Map

Marks, established in 2003, was built into a historic, turn-of-the-century home nestled into a quaint business district in Omaha’s historic Dundee main-street neighborhood that has thrived since the early 1900’s.
Marks’ vision for the menu is to create dishes with a hint of French influence, balanced with some Asian accents, along with good old American.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 502-2203

Website:
http://www.marksindundee.com/

Entertainment:
Jambo Cat, our cocktail lounge located just under Marks Bistro, offers live jazz on Thursday (7-10) and Saturday (8-11) nights.

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking in front, we have five spaces in the rear, off the alley, two reserved for handicapped access, and the law office across the street (4913 Underwood) has given us permission to use their spaces in the evening. There are 8 spaces behind their building, and it is almost never full.

Executive Chef:
James Davis

Private Party Facilities:
Marks has several areas available for private dining for groups as small as 5 people up to 20. These private spaces have become the favorite for many Marks regulars, as they are almost like dining at home – charming, intimate, and yet fully indulged with good service and Marks’ fine food.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Pluhacek: (844) 705-8425

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us to celebrate Valentine's Day. Chef James will be creating some very special items along with our regular dinner menu.

Marks Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Special Occasion (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
See All
Good for a Date (29)
Casual (28)
Romantic (27)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Scenic View (23)
Comfort Food (23)
Cozy (22)
Great for Lunch (20)
Fun (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Notable Wine List (14)
Business Meals (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Authentic (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Seasonal (9)
Private Room (8)
Healthy (7)
People Watching (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Historic (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Organic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Music (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best Mac & Cheese and the other food is ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Best Mac & Cheese and the other food is wonderful as well. Fantastic service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent night out! Great service and m ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent night out! Great service and meal. We had a charcuterie board followed by the nightly special tenderloin before slipping downstairs for live jazz at Jambo Cat! Fantastic!

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One suggestion: a much better selection ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 5, 2017

One suggestion: a much better selection of herbal teas.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Have been 2 times in last month & each t ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Have been 2 times in last month & each time better than before! Love the menu selection, wine list, & prices good for amounts you get. Classy decor & pleasant atmosphere. New favorite date place for my husband & I , or a friends get together.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and presentation are outstandin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food and presentation are outstanding. The wait person seemed too busy so we waited frequently for her availability. Good for casual dining but also good for a special occasion.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We got a table in the bar along the wind ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We got a table in the bar along the windows which offered a great view. Food was amazing and filling. Our server, Molly, was on top of everything but not pushy.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful atmosphere and food. Loved tha ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere and food. Loved that it was an upstairs restaurant with lots of windows that overlooked the Christmas lights on the street. Could have used a little more directions to get to the front door.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Pleasant atmosphere - good food - good s ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Pleasant atmosphere - good food - good service. Parking is somewhat of a problem, but not a deterrent!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Xmas dinner

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Xmas dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I had guests from out of town. They love ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I had guests from out of town. They loved Mark's ! And I got to be in a restaurant that never disappoints.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful lunch for 7 for a bir ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch for 7 for a birthday. The food was outstanding, service was excellent. Would like to see offerings for children's meals. We had to order adult meals and while the food was good, there was just too much.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place and phenomenal food! Had the ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great place and phenomenal food! Had their chicken lasagna and it was delicious.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food. Server can be more friendly. ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food. Server can be more friendly. Very nice atmosphere. I loved it. Even though it's quite a drive from my house it's well worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It was a very pleasant dining experience ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 15, 2016

It was a very pleasant dining experience. The flank steak was the most expensive dish on the menu and disappointing! Portion size was small and the meat was tough to chew, the best part of the dish was the roasted vegetables.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Marks' never disappoints. The environmen ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Marks' never disappoints. The environment is lovely, the wait staff always friendly, and the food is delicious! When I leave I always look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our table placement request by the windo ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our table placement request by the windows was honored and at Christmas, the lights on the street scape was wonderful . Thank you for that. It was my husband's 78th birthday so we have been out to dinner many times over many years. This was one of the best.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wine pours are very small, didnt feel th ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 3, 2016

wine pours are very small, didnt feel the wine was a value at all in facted over priced for the pour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The menu offered a good range of selecti ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The menu offered a good range of selections in each category. THe appetizer and meals we ordered were delicious and attractively presented. Our service was prompt which was important as we were going on to a concert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dine at Mark's often and love it. But ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We dine at Mark's often and love it. But this week the food was not as good as usual

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

LOBSTER AND BAY SCALLOP RISOTTO IS DEVIN ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 27, 2016

LOBSTER AND BAY SCALLOP RISOTTO IS DEVINE. ENCOURAGED MY OTHER DINNING PARTIES TO ORDER THAT, 1 DID AND HE REALLY ENJOYED IT. MY OTHER FRIEND WAS VISITING FROM THE WEST COAST. HE ORDERED THE SALMON. HE SAID "IT'S NOT BAD, FOR SEAFOOD IN THE MIDWEST". OVERALL, THIS IS A GREAT PLACE FOR DINNER!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, wonderful atmosphere for ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic food, wonderful atmosphere for a fun family evening. Can't wait to go back. Our families new favorite restaurant!

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we always have a lovely dinner at Marks ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 23, 2016

we always have a lovely dinner at Marks and a good time. it was a little louder than usual on the night we went, but it was half of wine night-so i think it was busier than usual. we will go back anytime :)

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is awful. Service was mediocre. The ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Food is awful. Service was mediocre. The ambiance is nice but it's not an legitimate place to enjoy good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

I dine at Marks whenever I am in Omaha ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 21, 2016

I dine at Marks whenever I am in Omaha (we have a second home in Dundee) and I was excited to invite some Colorado friends to dinner there. We had a reservation for 3 and were seated at a table barely large enough for 2. The space was so tight that we had no room for our plates. Our server informed us that there was no other table available even though we arrived at 5:30 and were in an almost empty room. I felt like a second class citizen. Although the food was good the uncomfortable arrangements spoiled the evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

We have had 3 separate and very differen ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We have had 3 separate and very different occasions to celebrate at Mark's. Each visit was just what we were looking for. Great menu, outstanding service and delicious food. The atmosphere is special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a very nice local but special pl ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is a very nice local but special place. It meets all the criteria for great food, great service, lovely ambiance, and the option of a truly wonderful patio if the weather agrees. It is a lovely neighborhood spot.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jesse was my waiter and was fantastic. A ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Jesse was my waiter and was fantastic. Ambiant was just as amazing as my date, well seeing my date was the best view in the house.

Tags: Creative Cuisine,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The prices were high but the food was ve ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The prices were high but the food was very very good. The ambiance was perfect for a business lunch - it wasn't too loud and we could actually have good conversation without shouting. I recommend this place!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The services were great! On one of our m ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The services were great! On one of our meals the sauce for the steak were changed by the chief for experiment and we were not big fan of it (it was sweeter), so the waiter gave us free dessert to make sure we enjoy our dinner!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is always a great place to come wit ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 15, 2016

This is always a great place to come with friends. Service is always good and food presentation is good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, , Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot for our lunch group of 7! Q ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Perfect spot for our lunch group of 7! Quality comfort food, with some enjoying Mark's signature Mac & Cheese; I opted for the wonderful roasted Brussels sprouts. Moderate prices and friendly, attentive service. We'll be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Groups,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered the tots for our appetizer an ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We ordered the tots for our appetizer and each had a glass of champagne. For our entrees I had the butternut squash risotto and my husband had the short rib sandwich. The server was attentive. Great place to celebrate a special occasion without breaking the bank!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, nice atmosphere, service ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent food, nice atmosphere, service was great!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mark's is my go-to restaurant - just to ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Mark's is my go-to restaurant - just to meet a friend for lunch or dinner or to have a business lunch. With plenty of DELICIOUS vegetarian items on the menu - as well as yummy home-made ice cream - I am never disappointed. It's a wonderful spot to bring out-of-town guests. I eat there one to three times a week!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mark's is our go to place for special oc ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Mark's is our go to place for special occasions and entertaining out of town guests. Food is always outstanding and service is great. Noise level is only drawback on Friday and Saturday nights. Lunch is always quiet and week nights acceptable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I was somewhat disappointed in the limit ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I was somewhat disappointed in the limited menu. The majority of the items were pasta.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

As always the food was wonderful with se ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 11, 2016

As always the food was wonderful with seasonal choices, the service excellent, staff congenial, and ambiance eclectic.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Organic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Hot Spot, Healthy, Cozy, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a great place for a date night for m ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Was a great place for a date night for me and my husband. It was fancier than we thought it would be, but well priced and perfect! The view down to Underwood right through Dundee was beautiful both before and after sunset with colorful fall leaves and pretty white lights. The food was outstanding, so flavorful!

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent experience. Good service, good ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Excellent experience. Good service, good food. The ambiance was particularly rewarding. I enjoyed a really good lunch in the heart of Dundee and would recommend it to my friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great place, always have a great experie ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great place, always have a great experience!! Can not wait till it snows so can enjoy the great view!!

Tags: Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.