About Marks Bistro

4916 Underwood Ave.
Omaha, NE 68132
View Larger Map

Marks, established in 2003, was built into a historic, turn-of-the-century home nestled into a quaint business district in Omaha’s historic Dundee main-street neighborhood that has thrived since the early 1900’s.
Marks’ vision for the menu is to create dishes with a hint of French influence, balanced with some Asian accents, along with good old American.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 502-2203

Website:
http://www.marksindundee.com/

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking in front, we have five spaces in the rear, off the alley, two reserved for handicapped access, and the law office across the street (4913 Underwood) has given us permission to use their spaces in the evening. There are 8 spaces behind their building, and it is almost never full.

Executive Chef:
James Davis

Private Party Facilities:
Marks has several areas available for private dining for groups as small as 5 people up to 60. These private spaces have become the favorite for many Marks regulars, as they are almost like dining at home – charming, intimate, and yet fully indulged with good service and Marks’ fine food.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Pluhacek: 8447058425

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wine

Marks Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nebraska
Best Ambiance
Nebraska
Best Value
Nebraska
6 More
Neighborhood Gem
Nebraska
Best Overall
Omaha
Best Service
Omaha
Best Ambiance
Omaha
Best Value
Omaha
Neighborhood Gem
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Midtown ›

neighborhood gem (76)
romantic (54)
special occasion (51)
See All
fit for foodies (51)
great for outdoor dining (45)
scenic view (32)
notable wine list (30)
good for groups (28)
great for lunch (23)
hot spot (16)
late-night find (15)
great for brunch (10)
kid-friendly (7)
 (4)
 (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
235 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love love love.

Dined 4 days ago

So very happy I went here with my boyfriend for three years of dating! I loved the food so much and the wine we chose was great! It was just overall a great time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

One of our favorite restaurants! We've b ...

Dined 5 days ago

One of our favorite restaurants! We've been going since it opened, best mac & cheese on the planet. Great hamburger. Didn't order it this time, but the smoked chicken lasagna - heaven. We had the homemade ice cream and smores brownie for dessert - totally sinful. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Maybe it was a bad night, maybe not. We ...

Dined 7 days ago

Maybe it was a bad night, maybe not. We ordered drink and several app's vs. entrees. To start out our drinks took almost 20 minutes to arrive and when they did they were wrong. No problem, just wait another 15 minutes while we correct it... The food overall was nothing more than average. We ordered the Gnocchi w/Brown butter and the first batch arrived dry and cold. The second batch arrived with no Brown Butter making them just hot, fried doughy balls. The Tuna Poke was served warm and with way to much sesame oil. They were borderline awful. Poke should be light, cold and bright. This batch was anything but that. The Flatbread was pretty good but not very hot so it could really have been better. Lastly, after screwing up the drinks and delivering us a cold item, nothing was removed from the tab but we did get charged $1.50 for each Blue Cheese olive we received in our Martinis. Now that might seem normal but we even were charged for the olives that were delivered in our incorrect drinks. Sadly, we will never go back here. The waitress was very friendly but the place was not busy at all so it made it all very frustrating. None of the items we ordered (5-6 apps) would be worth a re-vist. Its really too bad at the Patio they have is really nice...

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Atmosphere is nice. Nice variety of foo ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Atmosphere is nice. Nice variety of food choices. The lamb burger had gristle in it, therefore not disappointing.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Mark's Bistro is in the great neighborho ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Mark's Bistro is in the great neighborhood of Dundee. Has great outdoor seating and jazz on Thursday nites. I'm always impressed with their customer service and food. However, I had ordered the prosciutto & fig flatbread for lunch and was a bit disappointed with the dryness & wilty arugula. Maybe it was meant to be wilty but if thrown on fresh before serving it would have perked up the flavors. Just not inspired. It's not a flatbread-cracker like Lavash, which I would have preferred cause the bread-flatbread overpowered the toppings in my opinion. That said I will always give Mark's my business..just won't order that again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I have two kids, 2 and 6 mon ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I have two kids, 2 and 6 months, and had not been out for a quiet evening in a while. We really enjoyed Mark's! Friendly service from the moment we walked in, deliciously crafted cocktails (bourbon & Blues and a Manhattan) and the food was amazing! Waitress was perfectly attentive while allowing us time and space to enjoy our night out! Thanks

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

neighborhood treasure

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was very good with nice presentation. Had a sweet view of the street below from a window table

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

charming

Dined on May 20, 2016

We are lifelong Omahans and we like to explore new places. It was a beautiful evening. We could have sat on the patio but in the end ate inside. A diverse menu which is always good because then you feel like you need to come back and try something else! Reservations were helpful and we had a nice cozy corner seat with a view outside. Portions were just right and the menu provided different combinations. Not your usual steak and potatoes fare. A special and unique place to enjoy in a beautiful neighborhood.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great time at Marks

Dined on May 18, 2016

The food was great - and lots of selections. Waitress was attentive without being overbearing. Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

best food in Omaha

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great quality food - best food in Omaha for quality and value.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is ALWAYS GREAT. I love ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The food here is ALWAYS GREAT. I love this spot in Dundee! Finding parking is a bit of a "sporting event" in Dundee.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Mark's Bistro never disappoints. The fo ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Mark's Bistro never disappoints. The food, service, and atmosphere were remarkable as usual.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Much too noisy , otherwise very nice

Dined on May 11, 2016

Much too noisy , otherwise very nice

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Birthday Bash

Dined on May 7, 2016

I picked Mark's Bistro for my birthday dinner, but had never been there before, so I had no idea what it was going to be like. It was awesome. The service was good and the food was spectacular. I had the signature dish - Macaroni & Cheese with the chef embellishments - and it was so good. The slider small plate was AMAZING, as was the salmon and gnocchi and the chicken lasagna. Seriously, my parents, husband, and I practically shared everything because we all loved everything so much. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone, especially for a special occasion or a date night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Specialty cocktails, appetizer, entrees and desserts we're perfect! The patio is 2nd to none.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Birthday dinner

Dined on May 5, 2016

Server was kind and attentive. Kitchen was backed up and so food took a long time to arrive. 2 out of 5 of us enjoyed our meals. My Korean tacos were smothered in kimchi and so were overly hot and pretty much tasted like kimchi in a tortilla. My sister had a very salty risotto, which she sent back only to receive another salty bowl. My other sister had the naked linguini with chicken. Chicken was dry and arrived with a handful of bland pasta. Cheeseboard had ridiculously small portions of cheese and accompaniments. Literally 2 olives, 2 almonds, etc. Overall, pleasant atmosphere and staff, but food was mediocre and overly priced. Would go again for a drink on the pretty patio, but spend my dinner dollars elsewhere.

food4
ambience3
service3

Food was very good but service was a bit ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was very good but service was a bit slow; however, the restaurant was quite busy. Would recommend to others and dine again. The outdoor space looked great for summer weather.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Pleasant neighborhood restaurant

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had lunch at Mark's and enjoyed it. The atmosphere was comfortable - it's in an old house that has been remodeled into a restaurant and bar. The food was good and reasonably priced. They did not play loud, irritating music. And they didn't put too much salt in the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

food, staff, twinkle patio lights

Dined on April 23, 2016

food, staff, twinkle patio lights

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great experience when dining at Marks!

Dined on April 21, 2016

Some friends introduced us to Marks a few years ago. Being 80 miles away, we only get to enjoy a few times a year, but have yet to be disappointed. The staff is always efficient and knowledgeable and the food is outstanding. We introduced some new friends on this trip and they truly enjoyed it. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was fantastic! We will be b ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Our server was fantastic! We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Loved

Dined on April 19, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant. Food is exemplary and I have dined here multiple times.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!!

Dined on April 16, 2016

The service was absolutely lovely! I would go here everyday if I didn't live so far away and I can't wait until I'm able to go again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service at Marks is always impeccabl ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

The service at Marks is always impeccable. I love that they change up their menu often while keeping the old favorites. I would recommend Marks to anyone, especially for a special occasion. Also a lovely, cozy patio in back!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great dinner

Dined on April 9, 2016

Dinner at Mark's is always delightful. Great food, good service makes for a good time. Noise level was fairly loud, but the main dining room is small & has a low ceiling. It was cold with the air conditioning blowing directly on me, but the server bumped up the temperature, and I was fine after that. Entire group enjoyed their meal & would definitely recommend Mark's.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in Omaha

Dined on April 9, 2016

Mark's staff and chefs continue to impress! They are updating their menu with tasty new additions each time I go. Sid was our server and he was very knowledgeable and friendly. My fiancé and I like Mark's so much that we are going to have our wedding rehearsal dinner there!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great first experience at Mark's Bistro!

Dined on April 1, 2016

My fiance and I went to Mark's for the first time on Friday and now I think it will become one of our usual spots! The atmosphere was so nice for a romantic meal because there was chatter around us but it wasn't so loud we couldn't hear each other. It felt lively in there but still like we had our own little spot. We were seated next to the big windows and were able to watch people come and go below us which was also fun because I love to people watch. Our waitress was super nice and attentive and the wine and food she suggested were all great! We had the pork belly ramen and the steak tacos and both were delicious. We will definitely go back to Mark's and soon!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First-time dining, and I'm hooked!

Dined on April 1, 2016

Tucked away in an upstairs overlook of historic Dundee (Omaha, NE), Mark's Bistro pleasantly surprised this reviewer with its classy casual feel and its eager-to-please commitment to excellence in dining. Their lunch special - Bare Naked Linguini - proved a delectable treat whose flavor leaves one wanting more while the ample portion easily satisfied. I will heartily recommend Mark's to anyone. Bravo!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Plate problems

Dined on March 26, 2016

I had the roasted chicken. It was fantastic, but the plate rocked when I tried cutting the meat. The meat was very tender so it would have been very easy to cut on a real plate, but this was served in a deep bowl plate with a wide rim. Pretty to look at, but I was not the only one having difficulty using this dish. I was very self conscience as I tried not to spill my food. Change the plate!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

True Gem in Dundee

Dined on March 26, 2016

We visited Mark's for the first time over the weekend. It truly is a gem. I recommend getting a window sit so you can watch the hustle and bustle. Our dining experience consisted of the Snack Mac, Shrimp Curry Soup, Salmon Avocado Sandwich and the Lamb Burger. The waitress was very nice. She walked us through the menu after we told her it was our first time. The food was filling and tasted delicious. We can't wait to come back in the summer and try the Patio. The whole place reminded us of a little café we visited in Paris.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Night Out

Dined on March 20, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful date night at Marks. The food was delicious, and our server was very attentive. Perfect for a romantic setting, we didn't want to leave!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was very good I had the special and ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Food was very good I had the special and it was delicious.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great!

Dined on March 15, 2016

The food was great and good choices for gluten-free. The staff was really kind and helpful with menu options. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for everyone!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

First time, will return!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Such a cute restaurant, and I loved getting a table right alongside the window. At night, this is so romantic for a date setting. Looks like they have a little outdoor area with string lights for when the weather is warmer. The food was pretty good but not outstanding. The drink I had was a concoction of vodka and violet flower, which was unique and delicious. I would return for the ambiance mostly. The service was great. Make sure to get a reservation on a weekend because the place was full to the brim!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Very Disappointing

Dined on March 6, 2016

Surprised my husband with a night out for our 12th anniversary. Always heard good things about Mark's, so figured we would try something different than Sullivan's, our staple anniversary spot. Service was slow. I really hate it when you can see your glass of wine sitting at the bar ready to be drank, but instead takes 10 minutes to make it to your table. I ordered their signature mac and cheese, which had no taste so I didn't eat it. He ordered the Shrimp Pad Thai which didn't contain enough noodles to feed a toddler. Our waitress offered me another entre, but didn't really feel like my sitting and eating after my husband was done with his meal AND if I ordered their signature...how good was anything else going to be?? Thank goodness we ordered an appetizer before - the spinach and artichoke dip was very good. I was so incredibly disappointed. Wish I would have stuck with what we know.....instead, I'm down $$ for dinner, $$ for a babysitter and just an overall wasted evening.

food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Mark's Bistro

Dined on February 26, 2016

Pre-theatre drinks and dinner. Appetizers were very good, dinner was very good. Corkage fee was very reasonable ($10). Service was very disappointing...not very knowledgable, not very attentive, asked only male to order first and served male first at a table of 3 women.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mark's is an amazing find! You can't go ...

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

Mark's is an amazing find! You can't go wrong with this choice!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Just can't go wrong with Marks and they ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Just can't go wrong with Marks and they serve late so eating after 9:00 pm is no problem.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A delicious and comfortable dining experience

Dined on February 13, 2016

We had reservations for valentine's day. It was cozy and romantic and the food was delicious! There was attention to detail and great service. The "Snack Mac " is a great way to try out the signature Mac and Cheese without blowing your whole carb allowance. It was obviously too cold to spend time on the roof-top patio, but I checked it out and can't wait for warmer weather so we can enjoy it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Valentines Day dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

When we were seated at 5:00 for our reservation, the host told us that we needed to be done with dinner by 7:15. I felt this was not a very welcoming way to treat customers. It took at least 15 minutes before anyone came to our table to take our order. Overall, the food was good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.