Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi

About Marks Bistro

Marks, established in 2003, was built into a historic, turn-of-the-century home nestled into a quaint business district in Omaha’s historic Dundee main-street neighborhood that has thrived since the early 1900’s.
Marks’ vision for the menu is to create dishes with a hint of French influence, balanced with some Asian accents, along with good old American.

4916 Underwood Ave.
Omaha, NE 68132
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 502-2203

Website:
http://www.marksindundee.com/

Entertainment:
Jambo Cat, our cocktail lounge located just under Marks Bistro, offers live jazz on Thursday (7-10) and Saturday (8-11) nights.

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking in front, we have five spaces in the rear, off the alley, two reserved for handicapped access, and the law office across the street (4913 Underwood) has given us permission to use their spaces in the evening. There are 8 spaces behind their building, and it is almost never full.

Executive Chef:
James Davis

Private Party Facilities:
Marks has several areas available for private dining for groups as small as 5 people up to 20. These private spaces have become the favorite for many Marks regulars, as they are almost like dining at home – charming, intimate, and yet fully indulged with good service and Marks’ fine food.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Pluhacek: (844) 705-8425

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Marks Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (48)
Great for Outdoor Dining (46)
Good for a Date (44)
See All
Special Occasion (39)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Romantic (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Cozy (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Casual (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Fun (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Business Meals (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Authentic (15)
Scenic View (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
People Watching (9)
Seasonal (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Vegan (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Private Room (2)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
452 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined 3 days ago

Always good. I have Celiac and they have many GF items & are aware of cross contamination risk. We love dining in the beautiful tiered patio in nice weather. The spring risotto is fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 6 days ago

Tasty food and excellent service but hate the glasses that they use for their cosmos.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always enjoy coming here, especially eating outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Mark's is known for it's wonderful Mac & Cheese. Sadly, every single person was watching their weight. You'll laugh but instead I had a cheeseburger & fries. Now you know there were more calories in that, but, it was super!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Mark's was a delicious, beautiful roof top patio, lovely summer evening out! I will highly recommend Mark's to others and will be returning soon myself!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Healthy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The atmosphere and staff were very nice. Nice wine list, by the bottle and glass. Reservations are recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Thanks to Mark's Bistro for making our 50th Anniversary a very memorable one. We appreciate the food, the service and the ambiance. Thanks.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We sat on the patio. Even though it was breezy, we didn't feel it because the walls with planters shielded the wind. Very attractive setting, lots of greenery and flowers. The food was excellent . We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Another great evening on Mark's patio. Beautiful setting, terrific service and wonderful food -- roasted Brussels sprouts app and pork carnitas tacos. Always a terrific evening at Mark's.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Went to Marks for an Anniversary dinner and was great. The food was delicious. The waitress was patient and friendly. It was our first visit there and before the night was over, we had already decided to return for another visit.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Very beautiful restraunt, very classy.
I'm not sure if they do it. But it would be a very beautiful wedding dinner place. The flowers a beautiful and the patio is so elegant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I was excited to see several vegan, gluten free options on the menu!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Never disappointed with Mark's. Their food is amazing!!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Great food and great service! It was a warm night, but we ate on the patio. It was a really great evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The outdoor dining was fabulous in a very relaxed, quiet atmosphere. You can't go wrong with nothing on the menu but I particularly like the soy infused salmon entree. Service is always great and they usually have great specials to choose from too. The wine selections are very good and very reasonable as well. Don't forget Jumbo Cat bar downstairs after dinner, Thursday-Saturday, for cocktails and some jazz!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This is a must try for everyone!!!! The back deck is an amazing atmosphere. Wonderful first time experience!!

Tags: Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Brought friends from out of town to Mark's and had a lovely evening. They loved the food and the ambiance. It's one of our favorite restaurants!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 10, 2017

My and my best friend had an absolutely wonderful time with the great atmosphere and the phone was great! We waited a while for the bread and little after that my filet but the service and the food was amazing. You get a good quality for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Was part of a group of 7 for lunch; were raving about the food, from tasty sliders to salmon tacos to a grilled lettuce Caesar salad. Frirndly, skilled service and affordable menu. A top spot in the Dundee neighborhood.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent salmon special. Very good service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Sort of a garden hie away, but pretty noisy inside. The staff was delightful and the outside ambience fabulous

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The finest and the best in Omaha. It is under-priced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Overall food was good asked for a medium rare burger received medium to medium well. Had reservations for 7:30 was there at 7:10. Wanted outdoor seating and were told that it was unavailable and would be for a long time. This is the reason we came as it was a nice night and we wanted to sit outside for my wife's birthday. We even offered to wait until a table came open. We still were told no.

Price point was good. Service was very good. She was on top of everything that needed done. Also there were no specials and the menu is rather small with not too many options. So we were pretty disappointed but we will be back

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Was my fiance's birthday. They filled all requests and maintained professionalism while being light and friendly. More impressed this time than last

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent meal. All of our choices were excellent. Only downside was how loud it was.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Mark's always has amazing food. The menu changes seasonally, so there is always a new option to try. Many of the ingredients are sourced from local farmers, ensuring fresh and quality products. One of my favorite restaurants in Omaha.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, People Watching, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Went with a group for a late lunch. We were easily accommodated with a table for nine. All of the food we ordered was good. Service was good and got better as the meal went on. We would return because the food quality was on point and everyone enjoyed their dish.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Got a table outside, but not all tables have shade covering and the sun was too overpowering. The patio is beautiful, but it would be nice to have a few more shade coverings overhead. The food was good. We moved inside, but the ambiance inside is nothing special.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The only thing that marred what would have been an excellent experience is the waitress must have had too many tables. There were long waits with empty glasses, and soup was forgotten until after the main entree arrived. Too many restaurants don't seem to get it that the food can be to die for, but if the order is wrong or the delivery bad, the entire experience can be destroyed. It can mean the difference between a repeat customer with frequent referrals, and a one time, but never repeated, visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great fresh food and attentive Friendly wait staff. Marks is top notch!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 19, 2017

A delightful place to eat. The food was outstanding and the waite staff were great. We picked Mark's at random off open table qnd were so surprise. Next time we are in Omaha we we eat here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal at Mark's, and the outdoor patio is arguably the best in Omaha. The food was very good, the cocktail list was fantastic although we opted for a bottle of wine -- the wine list is really well done. We had the cheese & charcuterie board as an appetizer and the Lobster & Scallop Risotto and Shellfish & Frites as our entrees. Everything was very good, presented beautifully & very fresh. However, service was a disappointment. There were small issues like having to wait about five minutes for appetizer plates after the appetizer was delivered as well as having to request a wine chiller for a bottle of white wine on a 80-degree day. Those are small mistakes and can easily be forgotten. But we also had issues like not being told the feature (and only learned that they even had a feature because we overheard a different server telling an adjacent table about it -- which was especially disappointing because it was something we would've chosen had our server not already taken our order.) Our food was dropped off without any explanation, which is a personal pet peeve especially for something like a cheese plate with several accoutrements. Overall, we were just given the impression that we were more of a burden than guests. For what it's worth, the host was very friendly and the other servers seemed competent & friendly as well. We look forward to coming back, we'll just request a different server.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The menu was more interesting than the quality of the food that arrived at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Enjoyed Mark's for pre-theater dinner. My sister enjoyed their signature mac & cheese and a side of roasted Brussels sprouts. I often choose the fish special and it was great again. Halibut cheeks with kohlrabi and tomatoes. Yum! Wine by the glass selection is better than most. Great service too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Mark's will always be one of Omaha's best restaurants. The staff is genuine, the food is consistently excellent, and the atmosphere is second to none.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The waitress was great. The meal was good. The beer selection was poor. They don't have much to accommodate someone who has dietary restrictions regarding Biere. I asked for the calories in each one of their fancy beers and they couldn't tell me. They didn't offer any type of pedestrian beer which helps me know the count of calories

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Good flavors but the pork loin was a bit dry and could have used a sauce, not just the mustard cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Outdoor seating was perfect except for a swarm of gnats. Food was delicious but the waitress was not the most attentive nor welcoming. Overall I would recommend the bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This neighborhood treasure requires reservations, but is a trusted quality choice for two or twelve.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Romantic, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We always enjoy meetings held at Mark's Bistro. The food is excellent, the service very good, and the room quiet enough for the meeting. When it is nice weather, the deck tables are very nice.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.