Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi

About Marks Bistro

Marks, established in 2003, was built into a historic, turn-of-the-century home nestled into a quaint business district in Omaha’s historic Dundee main-street neighborhood that has thrived since the early 1900’s.
Marks’ vision for the menu is to create dishes with a hint of French influence, balanced with some Asian accents, along with good old American.

4916 Underwood Ave.
Omaha, NE 68132
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Fusion / Eclectic, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Mon–Sat 11:00 am–4:00 pm
Dinner
Mon–Thu 4:00 pm–10:00 pm
Fri, Sat 4:00 pm–11:00 pm

Cross Street:
50th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 502-2203

Website:
http://www.marksindundee.com/

Entertainment:
Jambo Cat, our cocktail lounge located just under Marks Bistro, offers live jazz on Thursday (7-10) and Saturday (8-11) nights.

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking in front, we have five spaces in the rear, off the alley, two reserved for handicapped access, and the law office across the street (4913 Underwood) has given us permission to use their spaces in the evening. There are 8 spaces behind their building, and it is almost never full.

Executive Chef:
James Davis

Private Party Facilities:
Marks has several areas available for private dining for groups as small as 5 people up to 20. These private spaces have become the favorite for many Marks regulars, as they are almost like dining at home – charming, intimate, and yet fully indulged with good service and Marks’ fine food.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Pluhacek: (844) 705-8425

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Marks Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (35)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
See All
Romantic (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Cozy (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Business Meals (13)
Casual (13)
Authentic (11)
Fun (11)
Healthy (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Seasonal (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Scenic View (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Vegan (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (5)
People Watching (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Organic (3)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

The portions have shrunk and the cost increased. We had been coming to Mark's about once every two weeks for years. No more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good food, pleasant atmosphere and hard working staff!

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed our business lunch at Mark's Bistro. The food is always unique and delicious. Our waiter was attentive and helpful. Always a good experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Marks is consistently delicious. Over the years their quality remains the same, their food is delicious, and their service is exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Great service once again by Jesse this trip. I requested our favorite place to sit which is a hightop by the bar against the wall, and we got it so we were happy. Great food, a strong pour and awesome service as usual. Thanks again!

Richie

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Waiter was great! Food was excellent. Wonderful ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Mark’s never disappoints. Pleasant service and fun evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 27, 2017

waitress was great
Love eating upstairs for meetings

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Was Hoping for Much Better. Went with our grown children for a Pre Holiday Dinner. I was so disappointed. The waiter was NEW... and was not ready to be on his own yet. No attention to detail, not versed on the menu, etc... He did not even bring out steak knives. My steak was ordered Medium Rare, it was more on the well side of medium and tough sadly. The Jazz downstairs was loud and vibrated the floor! Though we did go downstairs for the jazz and sat in on a couple sets after dinner, that too was a disappointment in venue. Jazz was good.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on November 21, 2017

The meal was absolutely incredible! I found our table service to be a bit slow.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Mark’s Bistro is my absolute favorite restaurant in Omaha. Their service is impeccable. They were very professional yet polite and understanding. A member of my dinner party accidentally knocked a glass over (it broke), and they were so casual about it. They were prompt to pick up the glass, and they even remain my friend’s dinner in case anything got in it. Also, they are very accomidating for service dogs. Their food is always unique and delicious. I’ve never disliked anything on their menu. Their wine list is also amazing. They have wine from all over the world! I highly recommend this restaurant for your next night out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We love this place! Food is delicious and wait staff professional and friendly. This is the first time I felt the desert was overpriced for the size. I ordered the creme brulee, it was about 4 bites and half the size of other nice restaurants, for the same price. Everyone in our party loved their main course.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, People Watching, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Good service and good food. Sausage with crispy chicken was bland; only complaint. The veggies were great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Lunch at Marks is a great time to visit. Good crowd on Wednesday and service was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Delicious, romantic and half price wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 28, 2017

What a find for us! Professional service, delicious food from a diverse selection and a location in one of Omaha's eclectic chic neighborhoods. Totally a repeat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Great place to dine. Love the atmosphere. Great specials and appropriate portion size meals. It was a special occasion for us and we plan on it being an annual event. Thank you.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 21, 2017

My husband is pretty picky and he gave Mark’s a thumbs up.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Marks in Dundee is an absolute gem! I have recently moved to Omaha and take everyone who visits me there for dinner. Most recently, my mother was in town and Marks was the perfect spot to celebrate her birthday. It was a beautiful fall evening so we sat outside. The seating area is quiet and cozy filled with colorful flowers and lush greens, a little oasis. Marks has a nice (and reasonably priced) wine list with both wine by the glass and/or bottle. Mom likes sweet and light were I prefer rich and red so it was easy to accommodate both tastes. We shared the charcuterie board which includes: 3 - 5 cheeses, house-marinated olives, fresh green apple, house jam, whole grain mustard & blackberries yum! The menu is creative and interesting, Mom enjoyed the ARANCINI which is breaded and fried risotto stuffed with sweet corn and mushrooms w/ roasted red pepper aioli & basil pesto and I had the SEARED TUNA NICOISE SALAD both were delicious. We finished with CRÈME BRÛLÉE, MOUSSE DUO and house coffee. Everything was perfect and my Mother could not have been happier!
Thanks for a divine evening of dining!!!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Always great food and service! We've been there several times and have never been disappointed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Our dining experience was a fifty fifty split of good and bad. First the bad...the dinner I wanted to order was not available. Then my friends pork carnitas was delivered to the table with a live fly crawling over the food! Really!!! To top it off the ricotta tortellini I ordered was stone cold, the ricotta filling was dry, and the texture of the pasta was so rubbery it was difficult to eat. Two of the four entrees, the chicken lasagna and mac n cheese, looked good. Marks has to do better to keep my business.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

First time trying this restaurant and found it to be enjoyable. Ordered chicken lasagna and crispy skin chicken fricassee, both of which were very good. Pleasant atmosphere, nice view, and excellent service. The outside dining space looked very inviting, but it was cold and raining when we went. I would like to go back in the summer.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Service was good. I ordered the steak sirloin and it wasn't great. The meat was undercooked and there seem to be a hard coating/crust which made it hard to eat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Ordered two different dishes and neither my boyfriend or I cared for either of my dishes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Our waitress took good care of us, our meeting went well and the food was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 10, 2017

I had the tacos and my wife had the cheeseburger, both were great. The food is consistently good. The chef and kitchen staff take pride in their work! The staff are hard working and I include the bartender, they are always busy doing something when we go. The hostess is always nice and professional.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Our server Sid was friendly and helpful. Food was very good and arrived in very reasonable time. Enjoyed dining very much.

Tags: Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 9, 2017

My monthly lunch group (active retirees) met here again last week & it was delish as always. The new fall menu includes a wonderful curried squash soup; worth a trip just for that! Several in the group got the signature mac & cheese (Omaha's best!); the sliders & fondue are other tasty favorites. Really, everything here is tasty and yet moderately priced. Comfort food at its best!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

I was expecting a fine dining experience and I would say it was just good/OK. There were pesky flies around our table the entire time, our server was just OK, and the food was fine. I just expected more, I guess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2017

What a fun experience. The half off bottles of wine before 5 pm was a good deal! Good wine — good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Very nice restaurant, cozy atmosphere. A little on the pricier side, but overall a great place to go for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Food has typically been very good, but this time the steak was a little cold. The flavors were excellent and the appetizers and drinks were great as well just a little disappointed in the food temperature.

I would and will return!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great experience! We will definitely go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Loved the waitstaff's recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Mark's never disappoints/. So beautiful outside/ great dinner for husband's birthday!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2017

All the food entrees came out cold and the kitchen remade the items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Loved Mark's Bistro and everything about it! 10/10 recommend to a friend looking for a romantic dinner date especially if you love wine!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 23, 2017

DW and I had "date night" away from the kinder and decided to go to Marks. We live about 25 Minutes from Marks, but it was definitely worth the drive. We were seated immediately, on the cozy patio.

We started with their charcuterie board, which was wonderful. DW had the mac & cheese and I had the crab / scallop risotto. Both were fantastic, though I do wish I would've received the same (larger) portion as DW got with the mac & cheese. Nevertheless everything was great, including the service.

We'll definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Went on a Tuesday night when the inside seating was quiet. Outside seating was hopping. Wine bottles were half price on Tuesday - pleasant surprise. Service was friendly but bar order took awhile. Reasonable prices. Very good food. Nice atmosphere. Would definitely return and do recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.