Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi

About Marks Bistro

Marks, established in 2003, was built into a historic, turn-of-the-century home nestled into a quaint business district in Omaha’s historic Dundee main-street neighborhood that has thrived since the early 1900’s.
Marks’ vision for the menu is to create dishes with a hint of French influence, balanced with some Asian accents, along with good old American.

4916 Underwood Ave.
Omaha, NE 68132
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 502-2203

Website:
http://www.marksindundee.com/

Entertainment:
Jambo Cat, our cocktail lounge located just under Marks Bistro, offers live jazz on Thursday (7-10) and Saturday (8-11) nights.

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking in front, we have five spaces in the rear, off the alley, two reserved for handicapped access, and the law office across the street (4913 Underwood) has given us permission to use their spaces in the evening. There are 8 spaces behind their building, and it is almost never full.

Executive Chef:
James Davis

Private Party Facilities:
Marks has several areas available for private dining for groups as small as 5 people up to 20. These private spaces have become the favorite for many Marks regulars, as they are almost like dining at home – charming, intimate, and yet fully indulged with good service and Marks’ fine food.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Pluhacek: (844) 705-8425

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Marks Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (46)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Romantic (31)
Cozy (31)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Casual (27)
Worth the Drive (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Business Meals (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Healthy (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Scenic View (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Fun (13)
Authentic (11)
Bar Seating (10)
People Watching (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Private Room (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Seasonal (5)
Vegan (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Organic (4)
Historic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
423 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 3 days ago

Great fresh food and attentive Friendly wait staff. Marks is top notch!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

A delightful place to eat. The food was outstanding and the waite staff were great. We picked Mark's at random off open table qnd were so surprise. Next time we are in Omaha we we eat here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We really enjoyed our meal at Mark's, and the outdoor patio is arguably the best in Omaha. The food was very good, the cocktail list was fantastic although we opted for a bottle of wine -- the wine list is really well done. We had the cheese & charcuterie board as an appetizer and the Lobster & Scallop Risotto and Shellfish & Frites as our entrees. Everything was very good, presented beautifully & very fresh. However, service was a disappointment. There were small issues like having to wait about five minutes for appetizer plates after the appetizer was delivered as well as having to request a wine chiller for a bottle of white wine on a 80-degree day. Those are small mistakes and can easily be forgotten. But we also had issues like not being told the feature (and only learned that they even had a feature because we overheard a different server telling an adjacent table about it -- which was especially disappointing because it was something we would've chosen had our server not already taken our order.) Our food was dropped off without any explanation, which is a personal pet peeve especially for something like a cheese plate with several accoutrements. Overall, we were just given the impression that we were more of a burden than guests. For what it's worth, the host was very friendly and the other servers seemed competent & friendly as well. We look forward to coming back, we'll just request a different server.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

The menu was more interesting than the quality of the food that arrived at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed Mark's for pre-theater dinner. My sister enjoyed their signature mac & cheese and a side of roasted Brussels sprouts. I often choose the fish special and it was great again. Halibut cheeks with kohlrabi and tomatoes. Yum! Wine by the glass selection is better than most. Great service too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Mark's will always be one of Omaha's best restaurants. The staff is genuine, the food is consistently excellent, and the atmosphere is second to none.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The waitress was great. The meal was good. The beer selection was poor. They don't have much to accommodate someone who has dietary restrictions regarding Biere. I asked for the calories in each one of their fancy beers and they couldn't tell me. They didn't offer any type of pedestrian beer which helps me know the count of calories

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Good flavors but the pork loin was a bit dry and could have used a sauce, not just the mustard cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Outdoor seating was perfect except for a swarm of gnats. Food was delicious but the waitress was not the most attentive nor welcoming. Overall I would recommend the bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This neighborhood treasure requires reservations, but is a trusted quality choice for two or twelve.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Romantic, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We always enjoy meetings held at Mark's Bistro. The food is excellent, the service very good, and the room quiet enough for the meeting. When it is nice weather, the deck tables are very nice.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Marks Bistro is always dependable in all ways and a family run business.
The outdoor patio is outstanding with multi level and beautifully appointed with plants, plants, plants..
Check out their jazz nites downstairs in Jamba Cat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Brunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The Caesar salad was disappointing because of its different presentation. A good salad but not what we expected. Other than that food and service was good as usual.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I've been here 4-5 times and each time I've had a good experience. I recommend making a reservation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Excellent menu items, friendly staff and the food was fantastic

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2017

A visit to Mark's Bistro is always a great way to impress your out of town guests. Love everything about this place!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

great service and cuisine. friendly atmosphere, and no rush to move us out.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We love our neighborhood Mark's. Love the inside atmosphere and the outside deck seating during nice weather. Took a business lunch crew there Saturday. First ones there, it was rather quiet, and with not a big crowd there, it took a bit too long to get our food. My cohorts got the salmon taco special and enjoyed them. I got the chicken flat bread special and thought it was rather dry and uninteresting - not typical delicious Mark's fare. I should have gotten the meat and cheese board or mac n' cheese, which are usually stellar here. Our waiter Bennett was very nice and fairly attentive. I think we may have caught the restaurant on a slow start Saturday am. Otherwise, it's highly recommended when they're in their stride.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The four of us each had a different entree with the mac and cheese with strip steak the clear winner. The big loser was the grilled Caesar salad which was very below expectation. Marks needs to contact the Belvedere Inn in Lancaster Pa to see if they will share how to make a grilled Caesar memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Out with friends before going to the theater.
The menu options are always delicious but the chef specials are always interesting and outstanding.
Nolan was a great waiter!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Loved the area and the outdoor patio as well as the service but found the food lacking. I really liked my wife's shrimp and mussel carbonara as well as the spinach artichoke dip but my steak was just OK and very tough. All of the food I would say was over seasoned with salt and I am not usually one to say that. I really wanted to like this spot but the steak and my two sides carrots and brusselsprouts dissapointed. The only thing my wife really like was the moscato that they have and I must say it was delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Went on a Tuesday night for a business dinner. Must have had a new server as he didn't inform us on the wine "special". Possibly other things we didn't hear about? Took quite awhile to get waited on and drinks to start. Food was amazing and loved the patio dining!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The patio was warm and inviting. Very relaxing and dog friendly. Food was fresh and very tasty with well sourced ingredients. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

I love Marks, but this time, my dinner was subpar. The lamb, which should be soft was tough and chewy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Excellent lamb burger!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We had a perfect evening here. And if the weather had been better, they have a wonderful garden upstairs where we would love to sit

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

One of the most memorable "date nights" my wife and I have had in years. Thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor patio and charm on a beautiful May evening. Our last night in Omaha before returning home with our college grad to St. Louis and wanted to experience during in Dundee one more time. We were not disappointed. We love the charm of the neighborhood and the casual elegance Mark's Bistro. The reveres were so friendly and helpful. And genuine. And the food.....how do you choose between authentic Belgian frites or their classic mac n cheese? You don't--you get them both as appetizers. The shrimp and lobster risotto was one of the best risottos I have had--and we have excellent Italian in St. Louis. Whenever we return to Omaha, Mark's is on our list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food and atmosphere was fantastic!! We had a great college graduation dinner here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Mark's is a very satisfying restaurant in most ways, with a creative menu that changes often. It's in an interesting Omaha location, away from busy traffic areas. It's not the type of restaurant I'd normally give a rating of "outstanding" to - it's more casual than the best high end, but it's very good value for your dollar. Can get fairly loud when busy and I try to avoid peak times when I can. Mid-afternoon on Saturdays is perfect if you want to relax and have a quiet conversation. Likely true for many restaurants of this type. It's reliable, comfortable and as I said, I've always been satisfied.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Food was not up to par. My wife said the salmon was the best she ever had but the loster and bay scallop risotto and lamb sausage dishes, while tasty, were so salty that I regret not sending them back. The charcuterie plate was delicious but the cheese slices were so tiny that it was difficult for four people to share the five piece dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We have our monthly AAF meeting at Marks. The waitress Jeanette is wonderful, does a really good job. All of our food was excellent with one exception. I ordered the Cuban sandwich and they brought it out burned. Rather than being nicely toasted, it was carbonized. Maybe it is supposed to be like that, but for the first time I didn't enjoy my lunch. I did not complain because of time, but I only ate part of a half. Otherwise it was a good experience as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I was traveling from Mexico City and wanted to find a good local place to have lunch. Marks Bistro surpassed my expectations due to their outstanding food and vast wine/beer selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Our waitress was friendly and helpful. Nice ambiance and enjoyed our view of the street. Food had great flavor, seasoned well. My only issue was the my potatoes were not warm, rather cool actually. They must have been placed on the plate long before the steak was laid upon them. The egg yolk added depth of flavor to the dish.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We chose Mark's Bistro because one of our guests needed a gluten free menu. We were able to go to their website and determine the menu would meet the needs of our guest. We were most pleased with the options on the menu and the knowledge of our server. Like always, the food was delicious and the atmosphere most pleasing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Two of the dishes were very good, the mussel and shrimp linguine but the risotto dishes were very disappointing. Very little to almost no lobster on one order and the vegetable risotto the vegetables were not cooked or warm and the risotto was pasty and had no flavor. One the dishes was sent back and replaced with a salad but overall we were disappointed with the experience for the price. The service was very good with the waiter replacing entree with no questions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 28, 2017

As usual, Mark's did not disappoint. A lobster-scallop risotto was excellent as was the pork loin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Very cool place. Great ambiance. Reminds me of bistros in San Francisco.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 27, 2017

My favorite restaurant and I dislike going out to eat because I am such a foodie. The items on their menu are sophisticated, made well, nicely presented, and very tasty. Portion sizes are perfect too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We love Mark's and this was the first time we brought our sons with us. We had a reservation for 6 and were seated immediately. The mac & cheese was delicious and I love the fact they have a snack mac now! Topped everything off with the whiskey bread pudding. The boys loved it. It was a tad noisier than normal.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I've been going there for the last 6 months and really enjoying Mark's. Then I took three people for dinner last Saturday evening and all of us were disappointed. Three had a variation of the risotto which was so salty they couldn't enjoy it. I had a "Spring Lamb" that was so tough I could barely saw through it and chewing near impossible. Spring Lamb should melt in your mouth as it is specially raised to be ready for Easter and is much younger than normal. The veggies and broth served with the lamb was delicious.

Mark's-- get your act together!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.