About Marks Bistro

4916 Underwood Ave.
Omaha, NE 68132
View Larger Map

Marks, established in 2003, was built into a historic, turn-of-the-century home nestled into a quaint business district in Omaha’s historic Dundee main-street neighborhood that has thrived since the early 1900’s.
Marks’ vision for the menu is to create dishes with a hint of French influence, balanced with some Asian accents, along with good old American.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 502-2203

Website:
http://www.marksindundee.com/

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking in front, we have five spaces in the rear, off the alley, two reserved for handicapped access, and the law office across the street (4913 Underwood) has given us permission to use their spaces in the evening. There are 8 spaces behind their building, and it is almost never full.

Executive Chef:
James Davis

Private Party Facilities:
Marks has several areas available for private dining for groups as small as 5 people up to 60. These private spaces have become the favorite for many Marks regulars, as they are almost like dining at home – charming, intimate, and yet fully indulged with good service and Marks’ fine food.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Pluhacek: 8447058425

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wine

Marks Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Nebraska
Best Value
Nebraska
Neighborhood Gem
Nebraska
5 More
Most Booked
Nebraska
Best Ambiance
Omaha
Best Value
Omaha
Neighborhood Gem
Omaha
Most Booked
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Midtown ›

neighborhood gem (87)
special occasion (69)
great for outdoor dining (67)
See All
fit for foodies (65)
romantic (58)
scenic view (35)
notable wine list (34)
great for lunch (33)
good for groups (32)
hot spot (20)
late-night find (14)
great for brunch (12)
kid-friendly (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
Sort By:
Newest
254 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

We got the lobster and scallop risotto a ...

Dined 3 days ago

We got the lobster and scallop risotto and it was really good. The gnocchi was good and unique. We got the corn puree as a side, my fiance liked it a lot but it had a funny taste to me. Worth trying though! Every guy was wearing a collared shirt, we came from driving from MN and never been there so my fiance felt a tiny but underdressed in a v-neck and nice khaki shorts.

food5
ambience5
service5

Marks is one of my favorite spots in tow ...

Dined 3 days ago

Marks is one of my favorite spots in town. Nothing beats a half-price bottle of wine during happy hour and some bistro tots! Great service and a nice, quiet retreat from the usual hustle and bustle of Omaha dining.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I met a few friends at Mark's for dinner ...

Dined 4 days ago

I met a few friends at Mark's for dinner. We had a lovely evening filled with a great atmosphere (outside dining), refreshing drinks and delicious food. I highly recommend Marks!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We had been wanting to try Marks and hea ...

Dined 6 days ago

We had been wanting to try Marks and heard it was a good alternative to the overly loud Pitch. So we took some business colleagues from out-of-town here on a weekday night. The setting was lovely and it was quiet enough to visit. However, the food was disappointing. The risotto was undercooked & very very bland. Others ordered the chicken lasagna, brown butter gnocchi, and a daily special. While none we bad-all were unremarkable.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We took friends from out of town and the ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We took friends from out of town and they loved the setting, food and service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating a friend's birthday. Very n ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Celebrating a friend's birthday. Very nice evening. Food was excellent and Molly did a great job serving us with a smile!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

We have taken out of town guests to Mark ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We have taken out of town guests to Marks at least five times and it is always excellent!

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food took a long time to get out, but th ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food took a long time to get out, but that might have been because there was a large group on the bottom floor of the restaurant. Great food, plated to please any foodie. Affordably expensive food. You can eat well for about $25-30 a person.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

We enjoyed the food, portions were small ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We enjoyed the food, portions were small & did not come with any sides.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

staff...food...ambience...dessert...ever ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

staff...food...ambience...dessert...everything...every table around us was impressed with their experience...I've been there countless times...never off the mark!

food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Excellent Dundee neighbourhood gem

Dined on June 10, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the food and the service. Love the interior as it's very personal. I would say the little room upstairs, 1st floor, in the back has an incredibly officious A/C but other than that- I loved every minute.

Tags: group bookings, outdoor eating, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

All three of us thought our entrées were ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

All three of us thought our entrées were exceptional. The drinks beforehand were perfect which included a martini and a Manhattan. The service was great and our server was attentive and helpful. Prices are reasonable and we like the location overlooking Dundee.

food4
ambience5
service5

Service was phenomenal. Thoughtful menu ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Service was phenomenal. Thoughtful menu and very fine quality dining. Lived in Omaha for 20+ years and hadn't heard of Mark's before. I feel like it's a lovely secret

food5
ambience5
service5

Had a party of 5 for a late lunch outsid ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Had a party of 5 for a late lunch outside on the patio. All was perfect! 4 people were from out of town and loved everything from the food to the service to the patio!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience

Dined on June 2, 2016

We often book our special occasions at Marks. The food is always great, the service friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful spring/summer Eve for outdoor dining.

Dined on June 2, 2016

Birthday dinner! Had great service, plus our meal and wine was especially good! We certainly will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

It's such an incredible atmosphere and t ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

It's such an incredible atmosphere and the food is top notch! We were there early in the evening and our server was pleasant and friendly, maybe not quite as attentive as we would have liked considering it wasn't busy, but not terrible.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Marks Does It Again

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Marks is one of my favorite restaurants in Omaha! The food, drinks, and staff have always been excellent on every visit through the years. The outdoor patio is absolutely spectacular and is a real hidden gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A must for a get together with friends. ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

A must for a get together with friends. Always good for mac n cheese.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love love love.

Dined on May 28, 2016

So very happy I went here with my boyfriend for three years of dating! I loved the food so much and the wine we chose was great! It was just overall a great time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

One of our favorite restaurants! We've b ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants! We've been going since it opened, best mac & cheese on the planet. Great hamburger. Didn't order it this time, but the smoked chicken lasagna - heaven. We had the homemade ice cream and smores brownie for dessert - totally sinful. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Maybe it was a bad night, maybe not. We ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Maybe it was a bad night, maybe not. We ordered drink and several app's vs. entrees. To start out our drinks took almost 20 minutes to arrive and when they did they were wrong. No problem, just wait another 15 minutes while we correct it... The food overall was nothing more than average. We ordered the Gnocchi w/Brown butter and the first batch arrived dry and cold. The second batch arrived with no Brown Butter making them just hot, fried doughy balls. The Tuna Poke was served warm and with way to much sesame oil. They were borderline awful. Poke should be light, cold and bright. This batch was anything but that. The Flatbread was pretty good but not very hot so it could really have been better. Lastly, after screwing up the drinks and delivering us a cold item, nothing was removed from the tab but we did get charged $1.50 for each Blue Cheese olive we received in our Martinis. Now that might seem normal but we even were charged for the olives that were delivered in our incorrect drinks. Sadly, we will never go back here. The waitress was very friendly but the place was not busy at all so it made it all very frustrating. None of the items we ordered (5-6 apps) would be worth a re-vist. Its really too bad at the Patio they have is really nice...

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Atmosphere is nice. Nice variety of foo ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Atmosphere is nice. Nice variety of food choices. The lamb burger had gristle in it, therefore not disappointing.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Mark's Bistro is in the great neighborho ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Mark's Bistro is in the great neighborhood of Dundee. Has great outdoor seating and jazz on Thursday nites. I'm always impressed with their customer service and food. However, I had ordered the prosciutto & fig flatbread for lunch and was a bit disappointed with the dryness & wilty arugula. Maybe it was meant to be wilty but if thrown on fresh before serving it would have perked up the flavors. Just not inspired. It's not a flatbread-cracker like Lavash, which I would have preferred cause the bread-flatbread overpowered the toppings in my opinion. That said I will always give Mark's my business..just won't order that again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I have two kids, 2 and 6 mon ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I have two kids, 2 and 6 months, and had not been out for a quiet evening in a while. We really enjoyed Mark's! Friendly service from the moment we walked in, deliciously crafted cocktails (bourbon & Blues and a Manhattan) and the food was amazing! Waitress was perfectly attentive while allowing us time and space to enjoy our night out! Thanks

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

neighborhood treasure

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was very good with nice presentation. Had a sweet view of the street below from a window table

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

charming

Dined on May 20, 2016

We are lifelong Omahans and we like to explore new places. It was a beautiful evening. We could have sat on the patio but in the end ate inside. A diverse menu which is always good because then you feel like you need to come back and try something else! Reservations were helpful and we had a nice cozy corner seat with a view outside. Portions were just right and the menu provided different combinations. Not your usual steak and potatoes fare. A special and unique place to enjoy in a beautiful neighborhood.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great time at Marks

Dined on May 18, 2016

The food was great - and lots of selections. Waitress was attentive without being overbearing. Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

best food in Omaha

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great quality food - best food in Omaha for quality and value.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is ALWAYS GREAT. I love ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The food here is ALWAYS GREAT. I love this spot in Dundee! Finding parking is a bit of a "sporting event" in Dundee.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Mark's Bistro never disappoints. The fo ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Mark's Bistro never disappoints. The food, service, and atmosphere were remarkable as usual.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Much too noisy , otherwise very nice

Dined on May 11, 2016

Much too noisy , otherwise very nice

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Birthday Bash

Dined on May 7, 2016

I picked Mark's Bistro for my birthday dinner, but had never been there before, so I had no idea what it was going to be like. It was awesome. The service was good and the food was spectacular. I had the signature dish - Macaroni & Cheese with the chef embellishments - and it was so good. The slider small plate was AMAZING, as was the salmon and gnocchi and the chicken lasagna. Seriously, my parents, husband, and I practically shared everything because we all loved everything so much. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone, especially for a special occasion or a date night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Specialty cocktails, appetizer, entrees and desserts we're perfect! The patio is 2nd to none.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Birthday dinner

Dined on May 5, 2016

Server was kind and attentive. Kitchen was backed up and so food took a long time to arrive. 2 out of 5 of us enjoyed our meals. My Korean tacos were smothered in kimchi and so were overly hot and pretty much tasted like kimchi in a tortilla. My sister had a very salty risotto, which she sent back only to receive another salty bowl. My other sister had the naked linguini with chicken. Chicken was dry and arrived with a handful of bland pasta. Cheeseboard had ridiculously small portions of cheese and accompaniments. Literally 2 olives, 2 almonds, etc. Overall, pleasant atmosphere and staff, but food was mediocre and overly priced. Would go again for a drink on the pretty patio, but spend my dinner dollars elsewhere.

food4
ambience3
service3

Food was very good but service was a bit ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was very good but service was a bit slow; however, the restaurant was quite busy. Would recommend to others and dine again. The outdoor space looked great for summer weather.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Pleasant neighborhood restaurant

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had lunch at Mark's and enjoyed it. The atmosphere was comfortable - it's in an old house that has been remodeled into a restaurant and bar. The food was good and reasonably priced. They did not play loud, irritating music. And they didn't put too much salt in the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

food, staff, twinkle patio lights

Dined on April 23, 2016

food, staff, twinkle patio lights

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great experience when dining at Marks!

Dined on April 21, 2016

Some friends introduced us to Marks a few years ago. Being 80 miles away, we only get to enjoy a few times a year, but have yet to be disappointed. The staff is always efficient and knowledgeable and the food is outstanding. We introduced some new friends on this trip and they truly enjoyed it. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was fantastic! We will be b ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Our server was fantastic! We will be back!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.