Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.10mi
  3. Distance: 1.38mi
  4. Distance: 1.43mi

About Marks Bistro

Marks, established in 2003, was built into a historic, turn-of-the-century home nestled into a quaint business district in Omaha’s historic Dundee main-street neighborhood that has thrived since the early 1900’s.
Marks’ vision for the menu is to create dishes with a hint of French influence, balanced with some Asian accents, along with good old American.

4916 Underwood Ave.
Omaha, NE 68132
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Mon–Sat 11:00 am–4:00 pm
Dinner
Mon–Thu 4:00 pm–10:00 pm
Fri, Sat 4:00 pm–11:00 pm

Cross Street:
50th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 502-2203

Website:
http://www.marksindundee.com/

Entertainment:
Jambo Cat, our cocktail lounge located just under Marks Bistro, offers live jazz on Thursday (7-10) and Saturday (8-11) nights.

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking in front, we have five spaces in the rear, off the alley, two reserved for handicapped access, and the law office across the street (4913 Underwood) has given us permission to use their spaces in the evening. There are 8 spaces behind their building, and it is almost never full.

Executive Chef:
James Davis

Private Party Facilities:
Marks has several areas available for private dining for groups as small as 5 people up to 20. These private spaces have become the favorite for many Marks regulars, as they are almost like dining at home – charming, intimate, and yet fully indulged with good service and Marks’ fine food.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Pluhacek: (844) 705-8425

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Marks Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (44)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (32)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Cozy (29)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Fun (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Healthy (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Casual (14)
Business Meals (13)
Scenic View (13)
Authentic (12)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Seasonal (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
People Watching (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Vegan (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 5 days ago

Our dining experience was a fifty fifty split of good and bad. First the bad...the dinner I wanted to order was not available. Then my friends pork carnitas was delivered to the table with a live fly crawling over the food! Really!!! To top it off the ricotta tortellini I ordered was stone cold, the ricotta filling was dry, and the texture of the pasta was so rubbery it was difficult to eat. Two of the four entrees, the chicken lasagna and mac n cheese, looked good. Marks has to do better to keep my business.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

First time trying this restaurant and found it to be enjoyable. Ordered chicken lasagna and crispy skin chicken fricassee, both of which were very good. Pleasant atmosphere, nice view, and excellent service. The outside dining space looked very inviting, but it was cold and raining when we went. I would like to go back in the summer.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Service was good. I ordered the steak sirloin and it wasn't great. The meat was undercooked and there seem to be a hard coating/crust which made it hard to eat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Ordered two different dishes and neither my boyfriend or I cared for either of my dishes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Our waitress took good care of us, our meeting went well and the food was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 10, 2017

I had the tacos and my wife had the cheeseburger, both were great. The food is consistently good. The chef and kitchen staff take pride in their work! The staff are hard working and I include the bartender, they are always busy doing something when we go. The hostess is always nice and professional.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Our server Sid was friendly and helpful. Food was very good and arrived in very reasonable time. Enjoyed dining very much.

Tags: Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 9, 2017

My monthly lunch group (active retirees) met here again last week & it was delish as always. The new fall menu includes a wonderful curried squash soup; worth a trip just for that! Several in the group got the signature mac & cheese (Omaha's best!); the sliders & fondue are other tasty favorites. Really, everything here is tasty and yet moderately priced. Comfort food at its best!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

I was expecting a fine dining experience and I would say it was just good/OK. There were pesky flies around our table the entire time, our server was just OK, and the food was fine. I just expected more, I guess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2017

What a fun experience. The half off bottles of wine before 5 pm was a good deal! Good wine — good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Very nice restaurant, cozy atmosphere. A little on the pricier side, but overall a great place to go for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Food has typically been very good, but this time the steak was a little cold. The flavors were excellent and the appetizers and drinks were great as well just a little disappointed in the food temperature.

I would and will return!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great experience! We will definitely go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Mark's never disappoints/. So beautiful outside/ great dinner for husband's birthday!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2017

All the food entrees came out cold and the kitchen remade the items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Loved Mark's Bistro and everything about it! 10/10 recommend to a friend looking for a romantic dinner date especially if you love wine!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 23, 2017

DW and I had "date night" away from the kinder and decided to go to Marks. We live about 25 Minutes from Marks, but it was definitely worth the drive. We were seated immediately, on the cozy patio.

We started with their charcuterie board, which was wonderful. DW had the mac & cheese and I had the crab / scallop risotto. Both were fantastic, though I do wish I would've received the same (larger) portion as DW got with the mac & cheese. Nevertheless everything was great, including the service.

We'll definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Went on a Tuesday night when the inside seating was quiet. Outside seating was hopping. Wine bottles were half price on Tuesday - pleasant surprise. Service was friendly but bar order took awhile. Reasonable prices. Very good food. Nice atmosphere. Would definitely return and do recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I have been to Mark's twice in the last 2 weeks. The food is divine and the service is fabulous! Love the outdoor area and my only issue with indoor dining is that it can be a bit loud in certain areas. Yet this wouldn't stop me from eating there again very soon!! Love the neighborhood and the atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food was very good. Atmosphere is nice, overlooking the lights of Dundee. Jonah was a very good server. Very nice evening for our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Marks never disappoints! Eclectic restaurant with great food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We have been to Mark's many times and always liked it. This time was very disappointing! Our food order took forever to arrive and the lasagne was overcooked!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Wonderful. Beautiful rooftop dining. Great food. Our first visit and we will definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Organic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great date night spot. Italian twist on several of the menu items is excellent. Will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Mark's Bistro was a cute little find in Dundee! The service was outstanding, as was the food. The quality of the food was top notch tasted amazing. Would recommend and would return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Mark's is comfortable and consistent, always welcoming, and the menu is both varied and inventive. The perfect place to take the person you love or with whom you love to spend time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Outstanding food and great service - what more do you expect?!?! Awesome evening!!

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 23, 2017

This is our 4th or 5th visit in an effort to go at least once a month year around. It's been my favorite restaurant to go for years but I only went once a year or so. So far I'm still enjoying myself, the food, atmosphere and staff. Our server (is that term still appopriate?) was fine, she may have been a little off her game but was fine for us. I had the portobello sandwich and my wife the sliders and "snack Mack". Not for the super healthy conscious person but not too bad either as far as being healthy since it was a smaller portion. I also had a glass of their Hogue Reisling wine ( I seem to like it, not too sweet). We sat outside with great weather, it's a nice experience! I never complain about prices because I usually look at menus online first, so I know what to expect. If a place is too expensive I don't go. Marks is reasonable as far as price, but i imagine keeping a restaurant going at one and two meals at a shot is hard to do, so I think their prices are fine to OK. Make a reservation and enjoy yourself. So far the staff have been great but one or two bad experiences could change my choice of restaurant in an instant, Omaha has a lot to choose from. Right now I'm staying with Marks and I feel it will always be a nice time!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 22, 2017

A great place for all occasions of adult dining. The wall of windows offers a great alternative when the patio seating is filled. The food is excellent. You can have an intimate experience or dine with a group of friends and still feel like you're in a small, cozy space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Once again a great dinner served by top quality chefs and staff. Will definitely go back. Sid was great server

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Charred flavor of the grilled ceasar was a little strong for my liking. Strip steak was awesome. Also had the chefs special duck breast with pork belly - really good. Seared spring Lamb was a little tough. Whiskey bread pudding ala mode was super good too! Really great and friendly service. Overall a good meal and would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Don't do after 8pm and sit inside on the weekends as the band downstairs starts playing and the floor shakes from the base. Makes it a little less pleasant and enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Always good. I have Celiac and they have many GF items & are aware of cross contamination risk. We love dining in the beautiful tiered patio in nice weather. The spring risotto is fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Tasty food and excellent service but hate the glasses that they use for their cosmos.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always enjoy coming here, especially eating outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Mark's is known for it's wonderful Mac & Cheese. Sadly, every single person was watching their weight. You'll laugh but instead I had a cheeseburger & fries. Now you know there were more calories in that, but, it was super!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Mark's was a delicious, beautiful roof top patio, lovely summer evening out! I will highly recommend Mark's to others and will be returning soon myself!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Healthy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The atmosphere and staff were very nice. Nice wine list, by the bottle and glass. Reservations are recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Thanks to Mark's Bistro for making our 50th Anniversary a very memorable one. We appreciate the food, the service and the ambiance. Thanks.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.