About Marks Bistro

4916 Underwood Ave.
Omaha, NE 68132
View Larger Map

Marks, established in 2003, was built into a historic, turn-of-the-century home nestled into a quaint business district in Omaha’s historic Dundee main-street neighborhood that has thrived since the early 1900’s.
Marks’ vision for the menu is to create dishes with a hint of French influence, balanced with some Asian accents, along with good old American.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 502-2203

Website:
http://www.marksindundee.com/

Entertainment:
Jambo Cat, our cocktail lounge located just under Marks Bistro, offers live jazz on Thursday (7-10) and Saturday (8-11) nights.

Parking Details:
In addition to street parking in front, we have five spaces in the rear, off the alley, two reserved for handicapped access, and the law office across the street (4913 Underwood) has given us permission to use their spaces in the evening. There are 8 spaces behind their building, and it is almost never full.

Executive Chef:
James Davis

Private Party Facilities:
Marks has several areas available for private dining for groups as small as 5 people up to 20. These private spaces have become the favorite for many Marks regulars, as they are almost like dining at home – charming, intimate, and yet fully indulged with good service and Marks’ fine food.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Pluhacek: 8447058425

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Marks Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Nebraska
Best Value
Nebraska
Neighborhood Gem
Nebraska
5 More
Most Booked
Nebraska
Best Ambiance
Omaha
Best Value
Omaha
Neighborhood Gem
Omaha
Most Booked
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Midtown ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (52)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Special Occasion (36)
See All
Fit for Foodies (31)
Romantic (30)
Good for a Date (29)
Great for Lunch (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Casual (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Scenic View (20)
Cozy (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Fun (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Business Meals (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Private Room (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Authentic (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Seasonal (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Bar Seating (7)
People Watching (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Healthy (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Organic (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Tapas (1)
Live Music (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The menu offered a good range of selecti ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 3 days ago

The menu offered a good range of selections in each category. THe appetizer and meals we ordered were delicious and attractively presented. Our service was prompt which was important as we were going on to a concert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dine at Mark's often and love it. But ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 3 days ago

We dine at Mark's often and love it. But this week the food was not as good as usual

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

LOBSTER AND BAY SCALLOP RISOTTO IS DEVIN ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 27, 2016

LOBSTER AND BAY SCALLOP RISOTTO IS DEVINE. ENCOURAGED MY OTHER DINNING PARTIES TO ORDER THAT, 1 DID AND HE REALLY ENJOYED IT. MY OTHER FRIEND WAS VISITING FROM THE WEST COAST. HE ORDERED THE SALMON. HE SAID "IT'S NOT BAD, FOR SEAFOOD IN THE MIDWEST". OVERALL, THIS IS A GREAT PLACE FOR DINNER!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, wonderful atmosphere for ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic food, wonderful atmosphere for a fun family evening. Can't wait to go back. Our families new favorite restaurant!

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is awful. Service was mediocre. The ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Food is awful. Service was mediocre. The ambiance is nice but it's not an legitimate place to enjoy good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

I dine at Marks whenever I am in Omaha ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 21, 2016

I dine at Marks whenever I am in Omaha (we have a second home in Dundee) and I was excited to invite some Colorado friends to dinner there. We had a reservation for 3 and were seated at a table barely large enough for 2. The space was so tight that we had no room for our plates. Our server informed us that there was no other table available even though we arrived at 5:30 and were in an almost empty room. I felt like a second class citizen. Although the food was good the uncomfortable arrangements spoiled the evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

We have had 3 separate and very differen ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We have had 3 separate and very different occasions to celebrate at Mark's. Each visit was just what we were looking for. Great menu, outstanding service and delicious food. The atmosphere is special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jesse was my waiter and was fantastic. A ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Jesse was my waiter and was fantastic. Ambiant was just as amazing as my date, well seeing my date was the best view in the house.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The prices were high but the food was ve ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The prices were high but the food was very very good. The ambiance was perfect for a business lunch - it wasn't too loud and we could actually have good conversation without shouting. I recommend this place!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The services were great! On one of our m ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The services were great! On one of our meals the sauce for the steak were changed by the chief for experiment and we were not big fan of it (it was sweeter), so the waiter gave us free dessert to make sure we enjoy our dinner!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is always a great place to come wit ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 15, 2016

This is always a great place to come with friends. Service is always good and food presentation is good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot for our lunch group of 7! Q ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Perfect spot for our lunch group of 7! Quality comfort food, with some enjoying Mark's signature Mac & Cheese; I opted for the wonderful roasted Brussels sprouts. Moderate prices and friendly, attentive service. We'll be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered the tots for our appetizer an ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We ordered the tots for our appetizer and each had a glass of champagne. For our entrees I had the butternut squash risotto and my husband had the short rib sandwich. The server was attentive. Great place to celebrate a special occasion without breaking the bank!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, nice atmosphere, service ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent food, nice atmosphere, service was great!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mark's is my go-to restaurant - just to ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Mark's is my go-to restaurant - just to meet a friend for lunch or dinner or to have a business lunch. With plenty of DELICIOUS vegetarian items on the menu - as well as yummy home-made ice cream - I am never disappointed. It's a wonderful spot to bring out-of-town guests. I eat there one to three times a week!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mark's is our go to place for special oc ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Mark's is our go to place for special occasions and entertaining out of town guests. Food is always outstanding and service is great. Noise level is only drawback on Friday and Saturday nights. Lunch is always quiet and week nights acceptable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I was somewhat disappointed in the limit ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I was somewhat disappointed in the limited menu. The majority of the items were pasta.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

As always the food was wonderful with se ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 11, 2016

As always the food was wonderful with seasonal choices, the service excellent, staff congenial, and ambiance eclectic.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Organic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Hot Spot, Healthy, Cozy, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a great place for a date night for m ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Was a great place for a date night for me and my husband. It was fancier than we thought it would be, but well priced and perfect! The view down to Underwood right through Dundee was beautiful both before and after sunset with colorful fall leaves and pretty white lights. The food was outstanding, so flavorful!

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent experience. Good service, good ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Excellent experience. Good service, good food. The ambiance was particularly rewarding. I enjoyed a really good lunch in the heart of Dundee and would recommend it to my friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great place, always have a great experie ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great place, always have a great experience!! Can not wait till it snows so can enjoy the great view!!

Tags: Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The gnocchi was fair, the bruschetta wa ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The gnocchi was fair, the bruschetta was fantastic, yummy aunts was absolutely fantastic!The service was spotty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We We're able to have patio seating in N ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We We're able to have patio seating in November and it was gorgeous! We split the charcuterie tray and the salt crusted salmon and neither of us could stop talking about how wonderful it was.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful place. Love the food and servi ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Wonderful place. Love the food and service.

Table little small for three.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Organic, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Casual, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always. Best outdoor seating a ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great as always. Best outdoor seating area in town. Indoors has warm, cozy ambiance. New fall menu is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect day for the patio!

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Perfect day for the patio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful! The food was great and very d ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Wonderful! The food was great and very different . We really enjoyed it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Business Meals, Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere at Mark's is always enjoy ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The atmosphere at Mark's is always enjoyable, especially the patio dining. Some of the menu items have been the same since they opened, and I feel like those items are going downhill in quality, as if the kitchen has gotten to comfortable in how the recipe goes together so they don't pay attention to detail anymore. I am also surprised to not see bread served with dishes like the Risotto or the Mussels, I personally feel like bread should be offered with all entrees.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

staff was accommodating when I asked for ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 15, 2016

staff was accommodating when I asked for a quiet area. Megan, our waitress, did not rush us or make us feel uncomfortable for staying on the table for over an hour.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved the ambiance and setting of Mar ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We loved the ambiance and setting of Marks. However, in our opinion the food was terrible and slightly too fancy for our taste. My husband got a flat iron and is was very very rare and didn't have much flavor. My hot naked pasta was just as unflavorful. Higher priced food for not the best flavor. Will most likely not be going back but if you like more up scale romantic dinner this could be good for you.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Marks is always a fun place to go. The f ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Marks is always a fun place to go. The food is outstanding and we love looking out the windows at the neighborhood

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were given a gift card to Marks Bistr ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We were given a gift card to Marks Bistro from a friend so we decided to check it out. Marks Bistro had great food and great specials. I ordered the Salmon and Gnocchi and my Fiancé ordered the special which was a pumpkin Risotto. Both dishes were amazing. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone and we will be back in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a 5 Star evening at Marks. I nor ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We had a 5 Star evening at Marks. I normally dine here with friends for lunch, so was elated when the chance came to bring business friends from New York City for dinner. They were favorably impressed. The menu is creative, the food is always good. Our server was delightful, making suggestions, being attentive but not hovering. In our experience, the menu doesn't lend itself to kids' dining. However, the staff always makes kids feel welcome. On a nice day, the outdoor dining is lovely. There are some lovely wine choices.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marks is a great spot. We sat on the pat ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Marks is a great spot. We sat on the patio, which is lovely. Food is fresh, carefully prepared and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a lovely time at Mark's for my husba ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Had a lovely time at Mark's for my husband's birthday! Our waiter Jon was awesome!

Wished we could have sat outside, because it was a lovely evening. Should have put

that on my reservation I guess! The Whiskey Bread Pudding and homemade ice cream is

fantastic! We will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Marks was a nice surprise, GF menu items ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Marks was a nice surprise, GF menu items were greatly appreciated. Atmosphere was good, view was good, reservation seemed to result in preferential table with view. Perfect for our anniversary date.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Pricier than we are used to but very goo ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Pricier than we are used to but very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The patio and garden area is marvelous o ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The patio and garden area is marvelous on those quintessential al fresco opportunities. Inside is nice as well, can sometimes be noisy in the main dining area depending on numbers of people, etc.. Great private reservation areas for small to medium size groups. Tables for two along the window are terrific and can be especially lovely on a snowy winter evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time at Mark's Bistro ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 13, 2016

This was our first time at Mark's Bistro - we experienced great food, great service, great place to dine.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've enjoyed Mark's since I first learne ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 12, 2016

I've enjoyed Mark's since I first learned of it about ten years ago.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.