Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 36 times today

Market Tavern

4.6
590 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Special Occasion
Market Tavern features farm-fresh ingredients across all menu items from our wood-fired pizzas, all natural pork chops and steak, and signature meatballs.

Our Bar features craft beers on tap and a modern take on classic cocktails using fresh squeezed juices and in-house infused liquors.

The Grab & Go Market offers fresh baked bread, salads and sandwiches, free-range premium meats and select produce, as well as beer and wine for sale.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Pizzeria, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch: M - F 11:00am-5:00pm

Sa - Su 10:00am-5:00pm
Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-9:30pm

Dinner: F-Sa 5:0pm-10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(209) 932-8001
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Nicolas DiArenzo
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We have two Designated areas for Private Dining.
Library Room is for up to 12 people.
Fireplace Room is for up to 40 people.
Please contact us directly to arrange for private dining.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Jeff Berretta: (209) 932-8001
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Benjamin Holt
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 590 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

The food and service were both excellent as usual. However, we were seated in the bar and the music was way too loud - hard to even have a conversation!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

The restaurant has a very nice ambience. The menu is very impressive and they make a great pizza. We will definitely return. I think their $18 corkage is way too high. And our server, although very nice, was not very attentive. I had to go find her 2 times.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

My wife and I love having brunch there. Our dining experience has always been excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Fabulous as usual, I had th chiliqualies and my husband had the special market tavern omelet. Both delicious and somwell prepared. We love this place, food fantastic, and wait staff knows th product to explain it. A little noisy bit worth for an excellent meal! We come about once a month or more, and enjoy it more every time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The polenta with the short ribs was delicious! Our server was great too! Sorry I can't remember her name.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great service. Food always good. Recommended

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great food good service. I will definitely be returning soon! Great anniversary dinner and it was beyond delicious. I had fish tacos and husband had stroganoff ; both were divine. Handcrafted sodas were a unique but tasteful twist for non drinkers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

This is one of the best restaurants I’ve ever been to I hope the owner continues to make a lot of money with this restaurant and it continues to stay open forever ! The food is outstanding, fresh and unique it is a relaxing atmosphere that’s fit for all occasions

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Rack of lamb looked good but was tough and tasteless

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

As always, food is consistent, flavorful and very fresh. We were treating out of town business guests who also seemed very pleased. This is one of my favorite kitchens in the SJ Valley.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

A review doesn't do the place justice. It's simply one of the best - if not the best - restaurants in the Central Valley. Literally everything on the menu is worth ordering especially the donuts. You MUST order the donuts!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Market Tavern was an anniversary gift for my grandson and his wife of one year. I was planning to pay but he put it on his debt card and I was to pay him back. They are both young and unfortunately do not have a lot of dining experience on their own. We have frequented MT many times and felt, for this town, they would like it. They had several questions about the food and they felt the server was either not knowledgeable with the answers for their questions or was put out about it. This is EXTREMELY non professional as they basically represent the facility. Their inexperience with dining is unfortunate. A pleasant, informative server could have made all the difference in their dining experience. When my grandson presented his debt card, he didn’t understand the point to tip so he took his receipt and left. I felt bad as even poor service should have had a small tip, for that, I apologize.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

As always, this restaurant never disappoints ... brunch was EXCELLENT!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter - all great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

First time dining at the Tavern (it won’t be the last)it’s a fantastic restaurant ,met up for dinner and drinks before a show, it exceeded my expectations! Had the lamb burger best tasting lamb I’ve had in a while,our server( forgot to get his name) was super chill, he made great recommendations on the menu choices but also took the time to B.S. with us it’s now my go to spot!! Super easy made reservations on open table, and there you go!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

I have dined here on several occasions and this is the first time that my food was prepared correctly. My husband loves the beef stroganoff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Drinks, service, and food was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

I am a regular for lunch, but we went for dinner this time. If you haven’t tried the cornbread, it is a must. The pork chop with spiced applesauce spread on top was perfect. I also like that they let you sub for something you don’t like. I asked for mash instead of polenta because they have delicious old-fashioned potatoes. Wonderful server too!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Birthday brunch...my favorite place in Stockton. Best Moscow mule!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We got together with friends for dinner at Market Tavern and left full and happy. We have nothing but the highest of expectations for our food and service every time we go to Market Tavern and they meet those expectations everytime. Our server was both witty and attentive and the drinks packed a punch. We will be back. Just keep doing what you do!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Great food. I think their menu has something for everyone.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Service was friendly and professional, bone marrow app was amazing. At $19 it was a bit expensive but provided 2 of us with enough deliciousness to be worth it. The wine list had a lot of interesting options. We wish it had been less noisy, however, so if conversation is an important part of dinner, go elsewhere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Delicious food, wonderful prompt service. Restaurant was nice and clean.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Overpriced mediocre food but nice decor and ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Great food alittle noisy

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

I frequent this place pretty regularly, about 4-6 times a month. The food here is good, particularly the furikake fries! I know, they’re just fries but they’re amazing! I usually end up getting a second order. I’ve had the burrata, various steaks, salmon, bone marrow, corn bread (DELICIOUS and not dry), chicken wings, donuts, pizza, dumplings, and some other items I can’t remember. Food here is consistently good, but the service here needs A LOT of work. On my most recent visit, our server didn’t even check up on us until we needed our food packed to go. We were also placed in the bar, which I don’t really like. I feel that bar seating should be for those without a reservation or those that prefer the bar over the main dining room, but I had a reservation. I dined here before with a 6 top and we were also placed in the bar, which I thought was odd. Anyhow, I’ve gotten good/attentive service here only a couple of times, so it’s expected to receive subpar service. Sometimes the server seems very distracted or forgets to bring items that were asked, or there is a lag with things, even when it’s not busy. I tend to bring people here for the first time and the common comments would include good food, poor service. You can usually get a table even if you’re a walk in, and there is outdoor seating with heat lamps.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

I have always enjoyed the great food and service at Market Tavern

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Best Restaurant!!! Farm to table . Great service everything is fresh and they are always trying to raise the bar and bring organic and local farm to table. The prices are excellent and the market is outstanding. We are regulars ❤️

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Awesome
Great dining. Always consistent in the quality of food and regular changes in the menu keep things interesting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Great food and service. We absolutely love Market Tavern!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Service was great, staff professional and friendly! Food was delicious! Cozy, enjoyable and comfortable!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

We go to Market Tavern often since they opened. We always get a nice meal no matter what we choose. We are partial to the Painted Hills Burger and on weekends the pancakes and bacon. This time we had the Prime rib beef dip and was it ever good! We always have to stop in their little store to buy some fresh produce, bread and meat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

What a great way to celebrate our 2 closest friends ‘ birthday ! Great food , nice ambience and friendly service . Our friends visiting from Modesto enjoyed our late Sunday lunch dining experience and looking forward for our next dining at Market Tavern . Don’t forget to order the Bone Marrow as appetizer and the prosciutto and arugula thin crust pizza is so light and delicious

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Made a reservation through open table. Arrived 15 minutes before reservation time. Was seated 25 minutes after reservation time. Service was mediocre. Prices were high. Setting was loud. Food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Market Tavern never disappoints. I always love the food. Great options for every occasion.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

I had a reservation but still had to wait over an hour to be seated. Then when we got seated it was in a high top at the bar. It was so loud I couldn’t think. I was disappointed that after making a reservation I didn’t even get a good seat in the main dining. The food and drinks were AMAZING. I was just frustrated I didn’t get a good seat after taking the time to make a reservation and that I waited over an hour.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Simply Steller , food is phenomenal and service outstanding

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 27, 2018

We went for a late lunch and enjoyed the lemon pepper wings as our appetizer. We stuck with the Chicken theme and ordered one grilled and one buttermilk chicken fried sandwiches. Both were exceptional. Our server was knowledgeable about the menu choices and very attentive. We’ll come back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

My 15 year old and I were in town for a tournament. Saw the reviews and decided to try this place. Nice, contemporary rustic decor in a higher end outdoor shopping mall. Reserved table was ready when we arrived. I had a cheeseburger which was excellent. Daughter had skirt steak which was medium rare as ordered. Daughter loved it, and the mashed potatoes. I ate her kale/greens, which were surprisingly good! We had the brownie with ice cream AND the homemade donuts for dessert, both of which were outstanding. The brownie was warm and gooey on the inside - with fantastic chocolate flavor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Market tavern always great,, Server we usually have knows us and she is outstanding . Soups delicious every dish I have hd there is good, esp their grilled shrimp salad. I have had it three times and love it, very clean food, the beets and puffed grains are fabulous as shrimp top notch. My husband had the hues rancheros last time and it is a different , creative take that is delicious and very ample but not overbearing like at a mexican resto. They really make good stuff there!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
15