Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

About Market Tavern

Market Tavern features farm-fresh ingredients across all menu items from our wood-fired pizzas, all natural pork chops and steak, and signature meatballs. Our Bar features craft beers on tap and a modern take on classic cocktails using fresh squeezed juices and in-house infused liquors. The Grab & Go Market offers fresh baked bread, salads and sandwiches, free-range premium meats and select produce, as well as beer and wine for sale.

236 Lincoln Center
Stockton, CA 95207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Pizzeria, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: M - F 11:00am-5:00pm
Sa - Su 10:00am-5:00pm Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-9:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 5:0pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Benjamin Holt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 932-8001

Executive Chef:
Nicolas DiArenzo

Private Party Facilities:
We have two Designated areas for Private Dining. Library Room is for up to 12 people. Fireplace Room is for up to 40 people. Please contact us directly to arrange for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Jeff Berretta: (209) 932-8001

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Market Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Open Kitchen (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
See All
Modern Decor (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Casual (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Wood Oven (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Cozy (16)
Fun (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Business Meals (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Private Room (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Healthy (11)
Romantic (11)
Comfort Food (10)
People Watching (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Seasonal (8)
Organic (7)
Great Beer (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Authentic (7)
Family Style (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Fireplace (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Live Sports (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tapas (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
393 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I love going to Market Tavern for all of our special occasions. Always great food

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Consistently good food. Great cocktails and wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome! Once again my group had extraordinary service and superb food! It was Mother's Day and there were 6 of us ushered into a private room to dine in...what a treat! Don't miss the short ribs and a special shoot out to the shrimp Louie, quinoa salad, pepperoni pizza, baked chicken and the outstanding banana cheesecake! It was amazing how fast the food came. We shall return!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vegan, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for the first time with my family for Mothers Day and will def be back! The food was amazing (that cornbread!!!) and so was the service. Highly recco!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Organic, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This restaurant was average with pretension. Food ranged from quite good (pork chop) to pretty bad ( overworked, gummy mashed potatoes.) Service was spotty, first courses were dropped by the runners on the table without regard to which person ordered a particular dish and the waiter failed to check on us or refill wine glasses. Noise level was very high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We drove three hours to eat here. Overall good food. It was a little pricey but would have been reasonable if the service had been excellent. The hostess was a little sarcastic/angry sounding when we were seated. We all looked at each other like... did she say "enjoy" in that tone? They have two menus, brunch and dinner. Our party arrived after brunch, ordered the special swordfish and the waitress said it wasn't served until dinner. We were ordering off the dinner menu, so ultimately 4/5 of our party did not get their first choice. Most of them ordered salmon. Group consensus was that the salmon was "eh." It could be the switch down from what they wanted or that they are used to it being prepared flaky opposed to seared on the outside. Stroganoff and skirt steak were very good, so were the deviled eggs and roasted olives. The deserts were well done too.

Tags: Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food is always great. I love the beat caprese beet salad with the grilled chicken on the side. And the Skirt steak is wonderful. But recently the dining room has had music that just absolutely sucks. It is not appropriate for the nice dining experience. It might be fine for the bar but it needs to be minimized or change for the dining area. Please please please. We love this restaurant but the music has gotten very obnoxious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Would have rated the food higher except their wood fired pizza has seriously declined in quality.
When they first opened they strived to make their pizza as good as places in SF like Zero Zero, etc.
Now, despite quality ingredients, they've lost their way. Pizza is stretched super thin in the middle with about twice as much sauce as normal. Result is a big puffy edge and a sloppy mess in the middle of wet crust and soupy sauce. Pick up a piece and it sags so much all the toppings slide off.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, People Watching, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Private Room, Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always wonderful. I tried the Burt beet and Burrata salad and it was fabulous!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I had a reservation on may 5th @7pm. Checked in before 7 and waited almost 30min for my table. I saw guest checking in after me and seated before me with a party of 5. After being seated everything was great.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food quality for brunch was average. Lots of coffee grounds in my cup. Server tried to explain there were problems with the coffee press. She said a replacement cup would probably be the same. Of course the new cup wasn't. No additional refills were offered. We had to request butter and syrup for the pancakes as it wasn't offered. We have enjoyed dinners here for years and will continue to. Sunday brunch, never again.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great Food and excellent service noise level was a little loud but the ambiance made up for it

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Glad we finally followed up on a friend's referral to try the farm-to-table Market Tavern. Went for a most delicious brunch, bloody Mary's and mimosas. Our amicable waitress was very knowledgeable about the entrees. We then stopped in their deli and picked up to-go items. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Healthy, Cozy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Hummus platter is always on point! Chef on meat station missed the mark today. Normally everything is excellent all the way around. Great service tonight. Lemon Meringue is delish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great service .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We ordered the skirt steak and beef stroganoff. Both were very good. Reserving a table through Open Table is easy and convenient even on a busy Wednesday night. Good service too.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Rigatoni had changed from the first time I had it. Not so happy with the change. Painted hills burger always wonderful.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Went with a party of 8 to celebrate a birthday. Staff was kind enough to seat us in a back private room so we could visit and have privacy. Our waitress, Stefani was very attentive despite having multiple large table that evening. Wine was delicious and food was outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Absolutely delicious food, great cocktails, really nice ambiance, and very good service. Highly recommended!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We frequent this restaurant routinely as we enjoy the bar area to eat and enjoy the lively atmosphere. The food is good and we like the seasonal options.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I was very pleased with the outcome of our dinner. I ordered a skirt steak and it was delicious. My husband ordered a burger and it was perfect. Defiantly going back again.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Organic, Fun, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We chose Market Tavern as a nice place to take our visitor from the East Coast. We wanted Stockton to make a good impression and were all very pleased with our dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Always great food and the best atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Exceptional as always. Everything is always extra special down to the French press coffee.

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Had a nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our server was very nice the food was good they were busy and it was still fast

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Market Tavern has become one of our go to places for a good meal in Stockton. We love that there are seasonal specials. The staff is always helpful and will give us genuinely great suggestions on both food and cocktail options. We enjoy the bar dining area for the access to the tv and the social scene.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Fun, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was good. Service was good. Just a little to dark inside for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food for good prices! Lots of options for vegetarians, foodies and clean eating. Love brunch here as well as drinks!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a great time at Market Tavern. Our server was just great, and the food is terrific.

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Had the special, Mexican supper. Was delicious and the portion was spot on. Appropriate value. Hope to see it on the menu again. The drinks were great and all the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our kids meals came out within 10 minutes of ordering however we waited nearly an hour to get our dinner. Once we finally said something the manager came over and delivered the food however didn't say anything like sorry for the wait, etc. The server was great, she was nice and polite.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food and service. Highly recommended. And this is required to be 50 characters long soooooooooo bla bla bla.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I love the atmosphere and employees that work there. My got to spot...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Burger and spaghetti are always fabulous!! Duck tortoloni fabulous

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 6, 2017

For the cost of dinner tonight I felt like the service and quality missed the mark.
I had short ribs, a favorite dish, it was lukewarm when it arrived at the table.
They ran out of bread???? At 7pm??
Our server was pleasant, but seemed to have many tables and attention lacked.

Disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I eat at this place about once a month as the food and service are both great however this time the service was seriously off. I had a reservation for 7:30 PM. We arrived at 7:25 and didn't get our table until 7:55PM. Our server was sub par. It took longer than usual for her to greet us. After she took our order she asked if we wanted bread. Everyone at our table emphatically said yes yet it never arrived. I had to ask for the bread again once our food was brought to the table. I also asked for an additional coffee cup which I never received. Lastly, the server asked if we wanted our left over food boxed up. One person in the party said no, yet the server took the plate and boxed it anyway. We left the unwanted leftovers on the table. Makes me want to skip this place for awhile if this is how the service will be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Met some friends for dinner. Made seven o'clock reservations and called to tell them we were 10 minutes late-- no problem-- were were seated in the back private room and were able to hear everyone and were not rushed at all. Julia was great in taking care of our needs but didn't hover. We'll be back.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Fabulous burger!!! Minestrone was pretty pathetic.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Was at Market Tavern for a lunch with friend. Food was great and service was commendable.
Great place to meet friends. Stockton needed Market Tavern.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.