Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

About Market Tavern

Market Tavern features farm-fresh ingredients across all menu items from our wood-fired pizzas, all natural pork chops and steak, and signature meatballs. Our Bar features craft beers on tap and a modern take on classic cocktails using fresh squeezed juices and in-house infused liquors. The Grab & Go Market offers fresh baked bread, salads and sandwiches, free-range premium meats and select produce, as well as beer and wine for sale.

236 Lincoln Center
Stockton, CA 95207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Pizzeria, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: M - F 11:00am-5:00pm
Sa - Su 10:00am-5:00pm Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-9:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 5:0pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Benjamin Holt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 932-8001

Executive Chef:
Nicolas DiArenzo

Private Party Facilities:
We have two Designated areas for Private Dining. Library Room is for up to 12 people. Fireplace Room is for up to 40 people. Please contact us directly to arrange for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Jeff Berretta: (209) 932-8001

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Market Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Open Kitchen (19)
Casual (18)
Fun (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Wood Oven (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Private Room (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Business Meals (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Cozy (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
People Watching (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Romantic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Healthy (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Seasonal (7)
Great Beer (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Organic (6)
Authentic (6)
Fireplace (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Family Style (5)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Tapas (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Sports (2)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Arrived st 6:45 pm and ordered the Monday night special of fried chicken waitress vsme back and said they were out. As we were finishing dinner we saw people being served fried chicken. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Really good food with some unique twists on regular dishes. I had a side of macaroni and cheese which was made with jalapeños. Actually was really good. Affordable yet very nice place to dine, I would rank in too 5 in Stockton.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fun, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We are fortunate to have a restaurant of this caliber in our neighborhood!!

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food every time we visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is always excellent! We visited on Father's Day, 2017- it was quite busy for brunch. We were seated next to a table with two toddlers that were "unhappy" during much of the meal, so this was a little tense for us (AND the family with the toddlers), but we all made the best of it. After all, it's all about family on Father's Day and we were very happy to have been pampered by our server.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I love coming here for any occasion. Great good all the time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined 5 days ago

Never disappointed! Great service, food and drinks.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The food at Market Tavern is excellent. I highly recommend the fish tacos & the quinoa salad. There are nice touches such as the milk bottle full of ice & ice water delivered to your table & the single-serve French presses; however, it was very loud on Friday night, & the music was not in keeping w/ the ambiance/ food. Will likely stick to sitting in the bar & brunch hours in the future.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This restaurant just keeps getting better and better. Surprising for Stockton. Keep it up. The food is terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Delightful atmosphere, staff were great, food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My husband and I love going to Market Tavern for all of our special occasions. Always great food

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Consistently good food. Great cocktails and wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome! Once again my group had extraordinary service and superb food! It was Mother's Day and there were 6 of us ushered into a private room to dine in...what a treat! Don't miss the short ribs and a special shoot out to the shrimp Louie, quinoa salad, pepperoni pizza, baked chicken and the outstanding banana cheesecake! It was amazing how fast the food came. We shall return!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vegan, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for the first time with my family for Mothers Day and will def be back! The food was amazing (that cornbread!!!) and so was the service. Highly recco!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Organic, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always great food and tremendous service. We always enjoy our visits to the Market Tavern.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This restaurant was average with pretension. Food ranged from quite good (pork chop) to pretty bad ( overworked, gummy mashed potatoes.) Service was spotty, first courses were dropped by the runners on the table without regard to which person ordered a particular dish and the waiter failed to check on us or refill wine glasses. Noise level was very high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We drove three hours to eat here. Overall good food. It was a little pricey but would have been reasonable if the service had been excellent. The hostess was a little sarcastic/angry sounding when we were seated. We all looked at each other like... did she say "enjoy" in that tone? They have two menus, brunch and dinner. Our party arrived after brunch, ordered the special swordfish and the waitress said it wasn't served until dinner. We were ordering off the dinner menu, so ultimately 4/5 of our party did not get their first choice. Most of them ordered salmon. Group consensus was that the salmon was "eh." It could be the switch down from what they wanted or that they are used to it being prepared flaky opposed to seared on the outside. Stroganoff and skirt steak were very good, so were the deviled eggs and roasted olives. The deserts were well done too.

Tags: Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food is always great. I love the beat caprese beet salad with the grilled chicken on the side. And the Skirt steak is wonderful. But recently the dining room has had music that just absolutely sucks. It is not appropriate for the nice dining experience. It might be fine for the bar but it needs to be minimized or change for the dining area. Please please please. We love this restaurant but the music has gotten very obnoxious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Would have rated the food higher except their wood fired pizza has seriously declined in quality.
When they first opened they strived to make their pizza as good as places in SF like Zero Zero, etc.
Now, despite quality ingredients, they've lost their way. Pizza is stretched super thin in the middle with about twice as much sauce as normal. Result is a big puffy edge and a sloppy mess in the middle of wet crust and soupy sauce. Pick up a piece and it sags so much all the toppings slide off.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, People Watching, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Private Room, Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always wonderful. I tried the Burt beet and Burrata salad and it was fabulous!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I had a reservation on may 5th @7pm. Checked in before 7 and waited almost 30min for my table. I saw guest checking in after me and seated before me with a party of 5. After being seated everything was great.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food quality for brunch was average. Lots of coffee grounds in my cup. Server tried to explain there were problems with the coffee press. She said a replacement cup would probably be the same. Of course the new cup wasn't. No additional refills were offered. We had to request butter and syrup for the pancakes as it wasn't offered. We have enjoyed dinners here for years and will continue to. Sunday brunch, never again.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great Food and excellent service noise level was a little loud but the ambiance made up for it

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Glad we finally followed up on a friend's referral to try the farm-to-table Market Tavern. Went for a most delicious brunch, bloody Mary's and mimosas. Our amicable waitress was very knowledgeable about the entrees. We then stopped in their deli and picked up to-go items. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Healthy, Cozy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Hummus platter is always on point! Chef on meat station missed the mark today. Normally everything is excellent all the way around. Great service tonight. Lemon Meringue is delish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great service .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We ordered the skirt steak and beef stroganoff. Both were very good. Reserving a table through Open Table is easy and convenient even on a busy Wednesday night. Good service too.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Rigatoni had changed from the first time I had it. Not so happy with the change. Painted hills burger always wonderful.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Went with a party of 8 to celebrate a birthday. Staff was kind enough to seat us in a back private room so we could visit and have privacy. Our waitress, Stefani was very attentive despite having multiple large table that evening. Wine was delicious and food was outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Absolutely delicious food, great cocktails, really nice ambiance, and very good service. Highly recommended!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We frequent this restaurant routinely as we enjoy the bar area to eat and enjoy the lively atmosphere. The food is good and we like the seasonal options.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I was very pleased with the outcome of our dinner. I ordered a skirt steak and it was delicious. My husband ordered a burger and it was perfect. Defiantly going back again.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Organic, Fun, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We chose Market Tavern as a nice place to take our visitor from the East Coast. We wanted Stockton to make a good impression and were all very pleased with our dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Always great food and the best atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Exceptional as always. Everything is always extra special down to the French press coffee.

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Had a nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our server was very nice the food was good they were busy and it was still fast

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Market Tavern has become one of our go to places for a good meal in Stockton. We love that there are seasonal specials. The staff is always helpful and will give us genuinely great suggestions on both food and cocktail options. We enjoy the bar dining area for the access to the tv and the social scene.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Fun, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was good. Service was good. Just a little to dark inside for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food for good prices! Lots of options for vegetarians, foodies and clean eating. Love brunch here as well as drinks!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.