About Market Tavern

236 Lincoln Center
Stockton, CA 95207
View Larger Map

Market Tavern features farm-fresh ingredients across all menu items from our wood-fired pizzas, all natural pork chops and steak, and signature meatballs. Our Bar features craft beers on tap and a modern take on classic cocktails using fresh squeezed juices and in-house infused liquors. The Grab & Go Market offers fresh baked bread, salads and sandwiches, free-range premium meats and select produce, as well as beer and wine for sale.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Pizzeria, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: M - F 11:00am-5:00pm
Sa - Su 10:00am-5:00pm Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-9:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 5:0pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Benjamin Holt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 932-8001

Executive Chef:
Nicolas DiArenzo

Private Party Facilities:
We have two Designated areas for Private Dining. Library Room is for up to 12 people. Fireplace Room is for up to 40 people. Please contact us directly to arrange for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Jeff Berretta: (209) 932-8001

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Market Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (22)
Casual (21)
See All
Open Kitchen (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Business Meals (14)
Cozy (13)
Romantic (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Wood Oven (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Private Room (11)
Fun (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Great Beer (9)
People Watching (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Authentic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Healthy (7)
Fireplace (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Seasonal (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Live Sports (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Organic (3)
Family Style (3)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
340 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great fine dining, casual, upscale, I wo ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 6 days ago

Great fine dining, casual, upscale, I would say it's also place to meet up

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Cozy, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has great food in a nice ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant has great food in a nice dining atmosphere and great service.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place to meet up and have a meal.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Nice place to meet up and have a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

From the creative Bloody Mary choices to ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

From the creative Bloody Mary choices to the yummy brunch menu, we were thrilled with this restaurant. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is very tasty but very Rich so don' ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food is very tasty but very Rich so don't ask for calorie count. It's a loud place (Saturday night) lots of traffic inside the restaurant . Service was good and quick.

Tags: Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A get together with friends!!!

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A get together with friends!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant, service was good. I ha ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nice restaurant, service was good. I have heard so much about this place but after going I don't understand. I ordered the cut of the day, it was cut strange or mis-cut and I ordered it MR but it can close to MW. Mac and cheese was really good, but I verbally not impressed no need to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

This place never fails to satisfy! We go ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This place never fails to satisfy! We go here quite regularly and have never ever been disappointed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Items on the menu have changed, for exam ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Items on the menu have changed, for example no bacon or olives on the wedge salad. Still ok, just not what I was expecting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I find your prices a bit high, but other ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I find your prices a bit high, but other than that all is good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of 6. We each ordered som ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a party of 6. We each ordered something different and all of our entree's were wonderful. The cocktails were delicious and the choice of wine and beer was solid.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Organic, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Healthy, Great Beer, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was on point this day and we ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our server was on point this day and we were lucky enough to have a private ding room (which I always enjoy) so that we could close the door. All the food came out perfect.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible Customer Experience with waitre ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Horrible Customer Experience with waitress Celeste. The Open Table app doesn't allow enough characters for my detailed lengthy review of my very disappointing experience. I was able to post my scathing review on Yelp!, TripAdvisor and ZAGET Google review. Please read before considering dining at Market Tavern with waitress Celeste. The food is very tasty and.is not to be missed !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

I've had lunch/dinner here before and re ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I've had lunch/dinner here before and really love the food and the atmosphere here. A friend was visiting and I invited her here since she hasn't been here. Upon arrival she immediately said she loved the atmosphere. The food here is always amazing! I got the pork chop dish and she got a beef dish. She raved about how tender the beef was and how the whole dish was so delicious. The pork chop was amazing as well. Wish we would have had dessert but we were stuffed. Will definitely be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a good meal at Market Tavern. Se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Always a good meal at Market Tavern. Service was excellent. We ended up with an extra person in our party and they easily accommodated us. Our guests were there for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed the meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Laurel provided wonderful service! The f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Laurel provided wonderful service! The food was wonderful and well priced. Our only complaint is that the music is loud for lunch time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was pretty good. My two ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food and service was pretty good. My two complaints are, 1- they brought a water cup that was half empty and clearly someone had drunk out of it, 2- I ordered a glass of wine and the glass was clearly very dirty.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

So much fun! Down to a person, was gree ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 14, 2017

So much fun! Down to a person, was greeted by anyone who worked there. Showed awareness and the importance of reaching out to provide a great first impression. Food was great. Tanya was our server. Can't wait to return. Great ice tea also. Super friendly. Evident teamwork across the board. And no patron in my view was on the cell phone during dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, People Watching, Modern Decor, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One the top places to dine in San Joaqui ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 12, 2017

One the top places to dine in San Joaquin County. Great service, unique drink menu and excellent ambiance!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

busy place, they kept up with our table, ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 10, 2017

busy place, they kept up with our table, and didn't slack even though they were packed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed eating at the Tavern Market, in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Enjoyed eating at the Tavern Market, interesting menu. Server, Brien was great and we had special input regarding donuts from Julia, we all ordered them to go. Thanks to Julia we all enjoyed homemade donuts, and they were very good. Great time.

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always have a great time here....food is ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always have a great time here....food is awesome, drinks are killer. The atmosphere is always chill and the wait staff are friendly and very attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great meal. Our favorite place ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always a great meal. Our favorite place to dine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

i love this restaurant. we eat here mor ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

i love this restaurant. we eat here more than anywhere else in Stockton. but, I was very disappointed in the four cheese lasagna this night. it came out cold and then I sent it back and when it returned, it was just warm and not hot as it should have been. very disappointed,. But, my husband loved his steak and our two friends loved the short ribs and polenta.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A great place for New Years Eve dinner. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A great place for New Years Eve dinner. The atmosphere is lively and fun, but not so much as to distract from your dinner. The food was great and our server was even better (I think her name was Rosalee).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Even with a reservation, we were seated ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Even with a reservation, we were seated in the bar, directly under speakers. We asked to be moved, and we got a table, in the bar, directly across from a door which goes outside--lots of cold air. Music was loud, patrons were loud, and bar tenders literally threw the empty bottles into the garbage. I was not impressed. Reservation means restaurant, NOT THE BAR! Food was good, service was good, but for $70 for dinner for two, I expect more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Market Tavern accommodated us even thoug ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Market Tavern accommodated us even though Open Table failed to send me a confirmation number. I don't understand what happened on your end but greatly appreciate Market Tavern accommodating us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was delicious...the server was ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our meal was delicious...the server was friendly...always a great meal

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Eve dinner

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are regulars at Market Tavern. The fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We are regulars at Market Tavern. The food is consistently good to great, very fresh, and the service prompt. We went for Christmas Eve with a reservation and had to wait a bit because they at first wanted to seat us in the bar. I really dislike bar seating, especially when there are numerous TVs going and you can't hear yourself think. Fortunately, they seated us in the back near the fire. Our server didn't notice us at first but she made up for it with very friendly and attentive service throughout the meal. It was quite busy for the holiday and the staff did a very good job considering the rush.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Christmas Eve tradition at Market Tavern ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve tradition at Market Tavern went very well. It was festive and our meal was delicious: white bean/chicken soup, short ribs, pork chops, and Meyer lemon meringue pie. It was suggested I try 'The Nog' which was the perfect festive drink. The serving team were friendly and helpful...It was a great Christmas Eve!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Cozy, Private Room, Business Meals, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

After making a reservation ahead of time ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

After making a reservation ahead of time, I was extremely disappointed that we were seated in the bar area. We had people bumping into us, there was yelling and screaming from the bar, the noice level was so high we could barely have a conversation and the "chair" my friend had to sit on was a bar stool, with no back! This is not appropriate seating for people wanting to have a nice dining experience. Especially when we took the time to make reservations ahead of time. Those wanting to simply have dinner, should be seated in the "dining room," NOT the bar. This was a VERY disappointing experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

The food is consistently excellent. We a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food is consistently excellent. We are never disappointed. The staff is always friendly and helpful. It's our favorite restaurant!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service from hosting to server. Food was ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Service from hosting to server. Food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Market Tavern is one of the best that St ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Market Tavern is one of the best that Stockton has to offer. The food is always fresh and full of flavor. There are always menu staples but also seasonal offerings that a pleasure to the palette. The bar menu is extensive and full of local selections. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Whenever our family and friends go to Market Tavern, we know we can expect an all around quality experience. Whenever we have visitors, we know we can rely on Market Tavern to help showcase the best of Stockton.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate my mother-in-law an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We went to celebrate my mother-in-law and daughter's birthday. We got a nice cozy private room with great service. Loved the pizzas there. My daughter absolutly loved her kids menu order.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Private Room, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleased with our experience at the ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very pleased with our experience at the Market Tavern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Seven thirty reservation; table didn't m ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Seven thirty reservation; table didn't materialize until 8. I understand people don't always leave promptly but really, a 30 minute wait on a weekday is a little much. Once seated, service was great, food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Excellent service, seated without any de ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Excellent service, seated without any delay per my reservation, full bar, nice selection of entrees and pizza, ambience too

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in area. Delicious simpl ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Best restaurant in area. Delicious simple menu with all of the classics. You can definitely tell that they put a lot of effort and care into their food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.