Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

About Market Tavern

Market Tavern features farm-fresh ingredients across all menu items from our wood-fired pizzas, all natural pork chops and steak, and signature meatballs. Our Bar features craft beers on tap and a modern take on classic cocktails using fresh squeezed juices and in-house infused liquors. The Grab & Go Market offers fresh baked bread, salads and sandwiches, free-range premium meats and select produce, as well as beer and wine for sale.

236 Lincoln Center
Stockton, CA 95207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Pizzeria, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: M - F 11:00am-5:00pm
Sa - Su 10:00am-5:00pm Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-9:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 5:0pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Benjamin Holt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 932-8001

Executive Chef:
Nicolas DiArenzo

Private Party Facilities:
We have two Designated areas for Private Dining. Library Room is for up to 12 people. Fireplace Room is for up to 40 people. Please contact us directly to arrange for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Jeff Berretta: (209) 932-8001

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Market Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Casual (27)
Open Kitchen (26)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Special Occasion (22)
Modern Decor (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Bar Seating (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Business Meals (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Cozy (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fun (17)
Romantic (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Private Room (15)
Wood Oven (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Healthy (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Authentic (11)
Great Beer (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
People Watching (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Seasonal (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Family Style (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Fireplace (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Organic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Live Sports (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
354 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 19 hours ago

Fabulous burger!!! Minestrone was pretty pathetic.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Was at Market Tavern for a lunch with friend. Food was great and service was commendable.
Great place to meet friends. Stockton needed Market Tavern.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had a good time at market Tavern food pizzas and bone marrow was on point, The food here do have some things that the city offer. But the drinks are not on point if only they had a better Mixology everything could've been perfect.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Initially, I was trying to make a reservation for 16 for a quick lunch. I was not able to make a reservation with anyone who answered the phone. I was told the reservation had to be made with the group sales/catering woman. I called back 4 times to reach her and was told to send her an email. I did and the email was responded to several days after I sent it. I was advised that we had to guarantee a $500 check and special menus were attached. I responded that we were a group of women, on our way to Murphys for a little getaway and just needed a place where we could get a quick lunch and be on our way. I was told that that is how they handle "large groups". Needless to say, I was discouraged, but the local quilt shop highly recommended Market Tavern, so I was willing to give it a chance anyway and made an Open Table reservation for 8 and asked one of the other women to make an Open Table reservation for 8, knowing we likely would not be seated together. Well, dining at Market Tavern was quite a pleasant surprise. Our waitress, Elizabeth, could not have been more accommodating! She is a great waitress and I look forward to the opportunity to go back to Market Tavern, if I'm ever in Stockton again. The food was excellent, service - top notch. I had an amazing hamburger. During our getaway, almost everyone came up to me to tell me how great the restaurant was, so I'm confident in recommending it!

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My husband and I had a delicious meal, from the Marrow appetizer to the brownie dessert! Celeste was our server and was darling and efficient! Market Tavern is a beautiful restaurant and it was great watching people enjoying being out! Loved the vibe there! We'll definitely go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was fantastic. I will be returning for more.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The staff was friendly and courteous and made great recommendations.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Have been here a few times now, and main meal has always been good, with pork chop and short ribs getting excellent comments from my group. Service was just ok this last time, perhaps because we were in close to the end of the night. They were out of two of their best desserts, and alternate selection of lemon merengue pie by the wife was a fail. Not everything can be perfect all the time, and we will be back again for sure.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Casual, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Very friendly staff. Enjoyed a great dinner with friends on our anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Always good ,, noise level high, but we are used to it and do not mind as food always yummy, creative . And healthy

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

good as always, waitress was friendly and attentive

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I loved it ....The atmosphere was great and the food was delicious. Worth the money

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We went for my sins 17th BD. Reservations were made but we were seated in the bar 25 min later because the group of 7 in "our spot"wouldn't leave.

Staff was very nice though and as usual the food was good. They comped us an appetizer for the trouble.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great fine dining, casual, upscale, I would say it's also place to meet up

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Cozy, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This restaurant has great food in a nice dining atmosphere and great service.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Nice place to meet up and have a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

From the creative Bloody Mary choices to the yummy brunch menu, we were thrilled with this restaurant. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food is very tasty but very Rich so don't ask for calorie count. It's a loud place (Saturday night) lots of traffic inside the restaurant . Service was good and quick.

Tags: Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A get together with friends!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nice restaurant, service was good. I have heard so much about this place but after going I don't understand. I ordered the cut of the day, it was cut strange or mis-cut and I ordered it MR but it can close to MW. Mac and cheese was really good, but I verbally not impressed no need to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This place never fails to satisfy! We go here quite regularly and have never ever been disappointed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Items on the menu have changed, for example no bacon or olives on the wedge salad. Still ok, just not what I was expecting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I find your prices a bit high, but other than that all is good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a party of 6. We each ordered something different and all of our entree's were wonderful. The cocktails were delicious and the choice of wine and beer was solid.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Organic, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Healthy, Great Beer, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our server was on point this day and we were lucky enough to have a private ding room (which I always enjoy) so that we could close the door. All the food came out perfect.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Horrible Customer Experience with waitress Celeste. The Open Table app doesn't allow enough characters for my detailed lengthy review of my very disappointing experience. I was able to post my scathing review on Yelp!, TripAdvisor and ZAGET Google review. Please read before considering dining at Market Tavern with waitress Celeste. The food is very tasty and.is not to be missed !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I've had lunch/dinner here before and really love the food and the atmosphere here. A friend was visiting and I invited her here since she hasn't been here. Upon arrival she immediately said she loved the atmosphere. The food here is always amazing! I got the pork chop dish and she got a beef dish. She raved about how tender the beef was and how the whole dish was so delicious. The pork chop was amazing as well. Wish we would have had dessert but we were stuffed. Will definitely be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Always a good meal at Market Tavern. Service was excellent. We ended up with an extra person in our party and they easily accommodated us. Our guests were there for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed the meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Laurel provided wonderful service! The food was wonderful and well priced. Our only complaint is that the music is loud for lunch time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food and service was pretty good. My two complaints are, 1- they brought a water cup that was half empty and clearly someone had drunk out of it, 2- I ordered a glass of wine and the glass was clearly very dirty.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 14, 2017

So much fun! Down to a person, was greeted by anyone who worked there. Showed awareness and the importance of reaching out to provide a great first impression. Food was great. Tanya was our server. Can't wait to return. Great ice tea also. Super friendly. Evident teamwork across the board. And no patron in my view was on the cell phone during dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, People Watching, Modern Decor, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 12, 2017

One the top places to dine in San Joaquin County. Great service, unique drink menu and excellent ambiance!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 10, 2017

busy place, they kept up with our table, and didn't slack even though they were packed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Enjoyed eating at the Tavern Market, interesting menu. Server, Brien was great and we had special input regarding donuts from Julia, we all ordered them to go. Thanks to Julia we all enjoyed homemade donuts, and they were very good. Great time.

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always have a great time here....food is awesome, drinks are killer. The atmosphere is always chill and the wait staff are friendly and very attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always a great meal. Our favorite place to dine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

i love this restaurant. we eat here more than anywhere else in Stockton. but, I was very disappointed in the four cheese lasagna this night. it came out cold and then I sent it back and when it returned, it was just warm and not hot as it should have been. very disappointed,. But, my husband loved his steak and our two friends loved the short ribs and polenta.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A great place for New Years Eve dinner. The atmosphere is lively and fun, but not so much as to distract from your dinner. The food was great and our server was even better (I think her name was Rosalee).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Even with a reservation, we were seated in the bar, directly under speakers. We asked to be moved, and we got a table, in the bar, directly across from a door which goes outside--lots of cold air. Music was loud, patrons were loud, and bar tenders literally threw the empty bottles into the garbage. I was not impressed. Reservation means restaurant, NOT THE BAR! Food was good, service was good, but for $70 for dinner for two, I expect more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Market Tavern accommodated us even though Open Table failed to send me a confirmation number. I don't understand what happened on your end but greatly appreciate Market Tavern accommodating us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.