Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

About Market Tavern

Market Tavern features farm-fresh ingredients across all menu items from our wood-fired pizzas, all natural pork chops and steak, and signature meatballs.

Our Bar features craft beers on tap and a modern take on classic cocktails using fresh squeezed juices and in-house infused liquors.

The Grab & Go Market offers fresh baked bread, salads and sandwiches, free-range premium meats and select produce, as well as beer and wine for sale.

236 Lincoln Center
Stockton, CA 95207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Pizzeria, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M - F 11:00am-5:00pm

Sa - Su 10:00am-5:00pm
Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-9:30pm

Dinner: F-Sa 5:0pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Benjamin Holt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 932-8001

Website:
http://www.markettavernstk.com/

Executive Chef:
Nicolas DiArenzo

Private Party Facilities:
We have two Designated areas for Private Dining.
Library Room is for up to 12 people.
Fireplace Room is for up to 40 people.
Please contact us directly to arrange for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Jeff Berretta: (209) 932-8001

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Market Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Casual (18)
See All
Great for Lunch (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Cozy (10)
Fun (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Wood Oven (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Business Meals (6)
Organic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great Beer (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Romantic (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
People Watching (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Private Room (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Authentic (3)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
431 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Very easy to make a reservation online. No trouble being seated and very friendly service. Will bring a group here again

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, unique menu. Options other places don't have. Heirloom Tom salad is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 7, 2017

my wife had a salad that was ok but was expensive. I had the sausage pizza but it very little sausage and was pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Been coming here often, always pleased. Very disappointed on this visit. Quality of wine glasses has changed. Corkage fee increased. Asked if a vegetable can be substituted and was gladly accepted with no mention that an addition fee of $3.00 added (changed greens to green beans). Ordered steak as medium rare and steak was raw! Very difficult to cut through with knife, good quality knives but probably old and has not been sharpened recently. Mentioned to waitress but not wanting my plate to return to kitchen in case it was "mishandled". Just took home to cook longer for another meal. Shared a slice of pie, crust was undercooked and again very difficult to cut. Owners also opened a higher quality restaurant in same shopping center last November..we think they have takened higher quality glasses there along with their quality of food, cook's and general pride of a decent, neighborhood establishment....sad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I was TRULY impressed with the quality of the food and the astonishing speed with which my food arrived. Everything tasted great and contributed to a dining pleasure. I'd HIGHLY recommend Market Tavern & look forward to eating there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great place to hang out with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Beef Stroganoff was FANTASTIC! Fresh pasta with a tasty sauce and the beef was tender and delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Skirt steak is great. Kale greens are getting a little tiresome. We would be nice to offer another green veggie.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Server was attentive and very friendly. Food was wonderful as was the dessert. Definitely recommend the Elvis Presley pie!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was fabulous! Made a dinner reservation because it was Friday night. Was seated right away by friendly hostess. However, server was slow. Took 10 minutes for her to even come to our table and she took forever to take our orders. Food runner was friendly and polite.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Music was much too loud to hold a conversation. We asked three times to please lower the volume.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Another great one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This was an anniversary meal and worth every penny. The stroganoff and pork chop were really special. The brownie completed the experience!
Excellent service!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Excellent food and service. The salmon BLT is to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

There were many items on the menu I wanted to try so I will be back! The food wa wonderful and all 4 of us enjoyed what we ordered. Our waitress, Celeste, was awesome!! We will be back for sure!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It was the first time we were seated in the back private room. It was OK but the ambience in the main restaurant is better. Food was excellent as always. I will give my dad the beef salad is not on the menu but it was replaced by the heirloom salad with egg Barada cheese and balsamic vinegar and that was fabulous. I order with a side of grilled chicken and it's wonderful. The jalapeño margaritas were fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Awesome spot to get something to eat that is authentic and creative. Good bar and nice people.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great food. One of the best restaurants in Stockton. I just wish they would Play better less obnoxious music during dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Special omelet watery. Our server not attentive.. did not bring what we asked.. usually ver y nice but this time was lacking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had a good meal. I was with my elderly mom and she does not eat a lot and wanted to share something. We ordered the cut of the day and asked the kitchen to split it. As a chef I know chefs don't like to do this but it is a good thing. They split it into two plates for us a and we ordered a couple of extra sides. It was a good meal. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Raum Hamburg)·Dined on June 23, 2017

everything was really good! We will come back again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Never disappointed when dining in our favorite cozy booth. Wood fire pizzas are best in town.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Arrived st 6:45 pm and ordered the Monday night special of fried chicken waitress vsme back and said they were out. As we were finishing dinner we saw people being served fried chicken. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Market Tavern has become one of our favorite places to go especially for special occasions.
Monday nights we have found has a special only offered Mondays, so this past visit 6/19 we went specifically for the GF organic fried chicken.

Our first experience was in May and it was all excellent! This time, however, we apparently didn't get there early enough and we got the "last platter" of chicken, ( we overheard a server telling another, they have run out of the chicken, they're cooking more... )
we had a big plate full (10 pieces) of small wings/thighs and tiny everything chicken! I felt like we were in the movie Griswald Family Christmas when the turkey is over cooked and it's all bones! It really was almost that bad...

So warning, arrive right at 5, or ask is there a new batch of chicken cooking?! Next time I will refuse the plate and send it back..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Casual, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Organic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Really good food with some unique twists on regular dishes. I had a side of macaroni and cheese which was made with jalapeños. Actually was really good. Affordable yet very nice place to dine, I would rank in too 5 in Stockton.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fun, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We are fortunate to have a restaurant of this caliber in our neighborhood!!

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent food every time we visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food is always excellent! We visited on Father's Day, 2017- it was quite busy for brunch. We were seated next to a table with two toddlers that were "unhappy" during much of the meal, so this was a little tense for us (AND the family with the toddlers), but we all made the best of it. After all, it's all about family on Father's Day and we were very happy to have been pampered by our server.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My husband and I love coming here for any occasion. Great good all the time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Never disappointed! Great service, food and drinks.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food at Market Tavern is excellent. I highly recommend the fish tacos & the quinoa salad. There are nice touches such as the milk bottle full of ice & ice water delivered to your table & the single-serve French presses; however, it was very loud on Friday night, & the music was not in keeping w/ the ambiance/ food. Will likely stick to sitting in the bar & brunch hours in the future.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

There is nothing special about this restaurant. Food was pretty good and service was ok. The place was clean. I had reservation and didn't have to wait. My date and I were promptly seated.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This restaurant just keeps getting better and better. Surprising for Stockton. Keep it up. The food is terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Delightful atmosphere, staff were great, food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My husband and I love going to Market Tavern for all of our special occasions. Always great food

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Consistently good food. Great cocktails and wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome! Once again my group had extraordinary service and superb food! It was Mother's Day and there were 6 of us ushered into a private room to dine in...what a treat! Don't miss the short ribs and a special shoot out to the shrimp Louie, quinoa salad, pepperoni pizza, baked chicken and the outstanding banana cheesecake! It was amazing how fast the food came. We shall return!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vegan, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I had the short ribs😀They were so tender😀They pulled apart with a fork😁The gravy was DELICIOUS😀The presentation of the food is beautiful😀They are really into farm to fork 😀So you can find veggies there that you don't see elsewhere😀For instance pureed parsnips😀The lemon cherry coctails were out of this world😀The staff friendly😀You don't feel like a stranger here😀

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for the first time with my family for Mothers Day and will def be back! The food was amazing (that cornbread!!!) and so was the service. Highly recco!

Tags: Organic, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always great food and tremendous service. We always enjoy our visits to the Market Tavern.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.