About Market Tavern

236 Lincoln Center
Stockton, CA 95207
View Larger Map

Market Tavern features farm-fresh ingredients across all menu items from our wood-fired pizzas, all natural pork chops and steak, and signature meatballs. Our Bar features craft beers on tap and a modern take on classic cocktails using fresh squeezed juices and in-house infused liquors. The Grab & Go Market offers fresh baked bread, salads and sandwiches, free-range premium meats and select produce, as well as beer and wine for sale.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Pizzeria, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: M - F 11:00am-5:00pm
Sa - Su 10:00am-5:00pm Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-9:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 5:0pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Benjamin Holt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 932-8001

Executive Chef:
Nicolas DiArenzo

Private Party Facilities:
We have two Designated areas for Private Dining. Library Room is for up to 12 people. Fireplace Room is for up to 40 people. Please contact us directly to arrange for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Jeff Berretta: 2099328001

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Market Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Ambiance
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Value
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Stockton
Best Restaurants in Stockton ›

fit for foodies (43)
special occasion (38)
neighborhood gem (35)
See All
good for groups (34)
great for lunch (33)
hot spot (22)
vibrant bar scene (22)
great for brunch (19)
romantic (13)
great for outdoor dining (11)
kid-friendly (7)
notable wine list (5)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
254 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Interesting speciality drinks. Had a spi ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

Interesting speciality drinks. Had a spicy margarita that was wonderful . Loved the person who served us. Knowledgable about the wine list and food. Had the Summer lasagna and it was great. Done differently. Almost a crepe style. VERY GOOD! Will be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, very, very good! I would defin ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Overall, very, very good! I would definitely recommend The Market Tavern!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Always great food in an upbeat atmospher ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Always great food in an upbeat atmosphere. Needed time to catch up with friends. No one rushed us. Fun place in Stockton

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great to take family or just go on for a ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great to take family or just go on for a cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was attentive and friendly; th ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The staff was attentive and friendly; they did not rush their customers. The food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Our server did a great job catering to t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our server did a great job catering to the different tastes of the table with spot on cocktail and meal recommendations. I wish I remembered his name to give him the props he deserves.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I love Market Tavern! The menu is so int ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I love Market Tavern! The menu is so interesting and varies from time

To time. I love the ambience and the open kitchen from which waft the most amazing smells.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Wonderful lunch, the food was fresh and ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wonderful lunch, the food was fresh and a wonderful lunch, the food was fresh and delightful

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only one negative. Of our group of four, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Only one negative. Of our group of four, one person asked for skirt steak medium well and was served medium rare-to rate. All other dishes were as requested.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We were passing through Stockton and so ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were passing through Stockton and so pleasantly surprised to find Market Tavern. The food was fresh, made from local and sustainable sources and delicious. Also the staff were friendly and professional. Great dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and a changing menu...our ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent food and a changing menu...our server was excellent!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good local restaurant with upscale marke ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good local restaurant with upscale market attached. Really enjoyed the quinoa and poached egg brunch dish, and the fish tacos were also excellent. A bit noisy (energetic) so it may be hard to have an intimate conversation, but definitely worth a visit

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food average. Portions small. Prices hig ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food average. Portions small. Prices high. Great service!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointing. The skirt steak & mash w ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Disappointing. The skirt steak & mash were too salty, even for me! The special fried cod and undergrowth? the undergrowth was tasty, but the fish fillets were too thin and overcooked; certainly not worth $18!

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Excellent service. Cesar salad and wild ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent service. Cesar salad and wild mushroom pizza were great, beef stroganoff and chicken sandwich were good.

We sat in the bar area which was loud. I would have preferred the dining room.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always good food. Wonderful menu

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Always good food. Wonderful menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Awesome, as always. We brought guests fr ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Awesome, as always. We brought guests from SF who are foodies. Everything earned rave reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Becoming a favorite

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We've stopped here a few times now when in Stockton and it has been very good each time. Have had lunch and dinner and have not been disappointed. Service has been friendly and quick. Had a variety of dishes with a group this time and everyone was happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered pizza thin crust

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We ordered pizza thin crust

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always wonderful food!!

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Always wonderful food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

If the hummus ever goes off the appetize ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

If the hummus ever goes off the appetizer menu I will die a little inside. My husband and I order every time we go there. It is ridiculously good. The Mary's chicken dinner was sublime. Perfectly done chicken that was succulent and smoky. The peas, carrots and potatoes that came with it were amazing. My husbands burger rocked. Lindsey, our waitress is always awesome. Overall one of my favorites places to eat in Stockton. Don't miss the market as well. There cookies are to fantastic as are their other to go items.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Open late

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My sons came home from college, with their girlfriends, to see me and their step-dad a local theater production. Market Tavern was, other than fast food, our only choice in town for a table for 7 at 10 pm, after the show. The food arrived in a reasonable time, but it was lukewarm and boring. The bill was less than anticipated, mostly because 10 pm is a little late to eat big. My oldest left his leftovers in the fridge when he went back to college. And it is a 45 minute drive. If it was worth keeping, he would have taken it.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Amazing elegant find in Stockton!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The UoP College of Engineering recommended this restaurant and we were very pleased. We sat in the backroom near the fire, and it was easy to talk. The waitress, only her second day there, did an excellent job of taking care of our table of 6. The restrooms were clean and organized too. What a nice find in Stockton. Truly a neighborhood gem.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always,, selections very unique ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great as always,, selections very unique ad creative.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and selection, good cocktails.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Small portions commensurate to costs applied, lacked value. The food tasted good and there was a. Restaurant has a upscale vibe that many in the Stockton area lack, but not sufficiently so to charge the rates on their menu. To improve on value, reduce rates or increase portion size... even moderately. From the Napa/Sonoma area and accustomed to paying the same high prices but the value is so much better in Napa/Sonoma, both in quality and portion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The service and food was great! I've bee ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The service and food was great! I've been there many times, and this time was one of the best. The server (I wish I remembered her name) was very attentive. She is what a good server should be. She got the order right, was friendly, wasn't intrusive, and made sure everything was all right throughout the experience. It's hard to find service like this. My parents were sharing all their courses, and she split their plate for them, which was nice of her. They loved their meal, and it was their first time there, so it was a great success!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took mom there for mother's day. Service ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Took mom there for mother's day. Service was outstanding and food was delicious. They could have had coasters for the drinks- just a suggestion!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Mothers Day

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was probably the best meal I've had at the Market Tavern, and it was definitely the best dining experience. I really can't think of any component that was lacking. We had a wonderful waitress, the food was great and we always had water and drinks.

I had a lamb loin special and it was amazing. It was a very complex dish with many layered flavors. Our server said they only serve lamb a few times a year, and it's always her recommendation when it's on the menu. So glad I took her advice, the best dish I've had in months. My wife and daughter were a little less adventurous. My daughter ordered short ribs and my wife had a margarita pizza and added 'house made' sausage. They were very happy as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brought a party of 10 to Market Tavern f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Brought a party of 10 to Market Tavern for Mother's Day and everything was Fabulous!! After checking in we were escorted to a private room (a great surprise and much appreciated) to dine. A wonderful waitress named Monica did a splendid job of taking care of our party. We started with Mimosas....with freshly squeezed orange juice. They were fantastic! I ordered the minestrone soup---full of veggies, croutons and a flavorful broth....delicious! The other guests in my party ordered the short ribs (crowd favorite), flank steak, polenta, marguerite pizza, fish tacos and spaghetti and meatballs. We were well taken care of and had a wonderful dining experience. Some people in my party asked for more bread and oil and vinegar (so good) and Monica kept it coming. Thank you for making our Mother's Day a joyous occasion. We shall return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Surprisingly great food, friendly servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Surprisingly great food, friendly service, and nice atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good Times for Mothers day dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Server was Dallan, He was awesome! Very attentative and made us all feel good. He didnt let the glasses run dry and kept us all busy with food and drink. Thats what it takes to be a good server. I hopw we get him the next trip to the Tavern.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect lunch with my special niece

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Flavors were rich and flavorful. Pasta noodles were cooked perfect. Iced tea always fresh and cold. Service from door to door attentive and friendly.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We really enjoyed this restaurant. It ha ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

We really enjoyed this restaurant. It had a unique and diverse menu that allowed for dietary restriction without any chafes or requests. The service was great and the atmosphere lent itself a slow meal with a friend you haven't seen for a while. Oh, and dessert. That was a very special treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

always good..

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Very good fare, and healthy yet, there are options of you want to splurge.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business dinner

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Service was very good. I had the filet whick was very good and at a reasonable price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great service

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

appreciate how much your service has improved from when you first opened. Glad you have made it in Stockton. Hip Hip Hoorah!!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great time!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Celebrated a family birthday ... The food, service and ambience was perfect!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

This easily is our favorite place for enjoying a special meal out on the town.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner Review

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

We have been to Market Tavern several times. This time we had the fried chicken it was very good however one of the pieces was not cooked all the way the meat was pink and the bone was pink when we brought this to their attention we were told it was all pre-cooked and that's the way it is. Sorry no, we are poultry farmers from the South and that is not the way it should be cooked. The oil was too hot and only cooked the outside which was very good and crispy. We only had 1 really bad piece like that and a second that was border line. We informed the manager of the situation as a courtesy he was very polite and apologize.

We will be back and the food is good, especially the fish tacos and breakfast / brunch is great as well. We think this was just an off night for the chef and didn't realize the oil was too had and the chicken was not fully cook.

We do recommend Market Tavern.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Celebrate

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Went to The Market Tavern for a birthday celebration .I had been once before and loved it so I returned to see if my first experience was spot on...the food was awesome !there were 5 of us and we all ordered something different so we could taste it !! Good wine good food .

Thank You Market Tavern :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.