Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

About Market Tavern

Market Tavern features farm-fresh ingredients across all menu items from our wood-fired pizzas, all natural pork chops and steak, and signature meatballs.

Our Bar features craft beers on tap and a modern take on classic cocktails using fresh squeezed juices and in-house infused liquors.

The Grab & Go Market offers fresh baked bread, salads and sandwiches, free-range premium meats and select produce, as well as beer and wine for sale.

236 Lincoln Center
Stockton, CA 95207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Pizzeria, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M - F 11:00am-5:00pm

Sa - Su 10:00am-5:00pm
Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-9:30pm

Dinner: F-Sa 5:0pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Benjamin Holt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 932-8001

Website:
http://www.markettavernstk.com/

Executive Chef:
Nicolas DiArenzo

Private Party Facilities:
We have two Designated areas for Private Dining.
Library Room is for up to 12 people.
Fireplace Room is for up to 40 people.
Please contact us directly to arrange for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Jeff Berretta: (209) 932-8001

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Market Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Casual (20)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Business Meals (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Fun (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Healthy (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Cozy (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Great Beer (7)
Romantic (7)
Seasonal (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Authentic (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
460 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Good service and good food as usual. Always little changes in the menu makes it interesting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Restaurant is always amazing! We had a great server as well thank you Tana.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This was our third time at the Tavern and they didn't disappoint. It was noisy first, but once the two tables behind us left we could actually hear each other. It was a busy Friday night, and they were celebrating a birthday, so no hard feelings! The waiter was very attentive and informative, and the food delicious. The fish tacos are exceptional, the beef stroganoff dinner and the short rib dinner are perfect comfort food but made with a current flair. We shared the deviled eggs appetizer which was spicy and creamy goodness. A couple at our table got burgers and they were perfectly seasoned and cooked to their liking. We will definitely return!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We were celebrating a Birthday, and the BD person wanted steak...so we said MT!! BD person got the Sat night 9/23/17 Rib Eye special..it was perfect!! We also got Mary's Chicken, Beef Stroganoff, a pizza and a shared spinach salad. Everything was perfect!! Another win for MT!! Thanks so much for being an excellent place to bring friends for a special occasion and leaving a wonderful lasting impression on them!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Wonderful place to pop in for lunch! Had a reservation but we came early and they seated us! Great food and bar plus lovely wait staff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Casual, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Very pleasant atmosphere and the quinoa salad with a kale-bacon pizza are our go to favorites along with a side of mac and cheese. Pair it with a North Coast Scrimshaw pilsner on a hot day and life is good!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

unique menu selections..... and great service, however, the glare in the bar seating at brunch on saturday was not great, and when folks were being seated outside, there was a nasty smoke aroma that wafted into the restaurant area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Being a usual customer of this restaurant I can never go wrong when I’m not in the mood to cook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Waiter was bomb made the experience that much better

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had brunch here on a Saturday Morning and it was GREAT. Service was a little slow to start (not sure how busy the server was but too over 5min to get drinks from the bar) however once drinks were delivered the food was too and was AMAZING!
Overall was very happy with our first visit here to celebrate my wife's birthday. Will be back for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food, music, service, and environment was great. The only one thing that I didn't care for was sitting by the kitchen. Listening to them call out orders during my visit wasn't optimal. But I will return, but next time ask that I'm not sat in the and area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Market Tavern is one of our favorites. We took two of our friends with us that have never been. They were very impressed with the entire experience. Keep up the good work you are a true gem

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Overall great experience! Food was delicious! #datsteaktho

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Be sure to have their corn bread for an appetizer. It is amazing. The service was very nice and the corkage was reasonable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 26, 2017

They didn't pay attention to me reserving a table & then when we brought it up again tried to seat us but that was 30 minutes later

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great food and service. A little loud for business discussions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

We found this gem when we attended orientation with our son @ UOP. Now every time we hit Stockton we make sure to visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Very good food and great service by Linda and Lindsey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 20, 2017

My girlfriends and I have lunch here once a month. This is our favorite place. We love everything about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were headed for the Stockton Airport and had some time, so Open Table led us to this AWESOME location. The griddled cornbread was nothing like we had ever experienced and we loved this place. I'm still thinking about that cornbread. We are from Iowa and thought we had tried every imaginable cornbread, until this! When we come back to town we will definately be headed back! Great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fried chicken and lamb burger SANDWICH were on menu. They kindly changed sandwich to lettuce wrap .
I've never had either before. Delicious.
Dessert = fig streudel with vanilla bean gelato
We'd go back in a heart beat

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

I love going to Market Tavern for special occasions. It was our anniversary and my husband and I wanted to go to a nice restaurant with good food and they do not disappoint. The food is always amazing and the staff is wonderful. Their food is always so fresh and delicious. We totally plan to return in the future.

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Loved loved our weekend gathering at Market Tavern! Friendly staff, great food and wine, plus the hostess took our family photo with patience and humor.
We drive down from Sacramento to eat at one of our favorites - Market Tavern!

Tags: Casual, Organic, Fun, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Market Tavern is one of the more popular restaurants and bar in town to enjoy a good meal and drinks with friends. I'd say it's considered upscale by Stockton standards and generally patrons act the part. But there's no specific dress code or reservation required for service. Overall a great atmosphere, and a place my friends and I regularly visit.

Tags: Tapas, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fun, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Chef made a dish for us that used to be in the menu. He didn't have to but he did. What a treat and how delicious it was (both now and then in the past) many thanks for a WONDERFUL dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Very easy to make a reservation online. No trouble being seated and very friendly service. Will bring a group here again

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food, unique menu. Options other places don't have. Heirloom Tom salad is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 7, 2017

my wife had a salad that was ok but was expensive. I had the sausage pizza but it very little sausage and was pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Been coming here often, always pleased. Very disappointed on this visit. Quality of wine glasses has changed. Corkage fee increased. Asked if a vegetable can be substituted and was gladly accepted with no mention that an addition fee of $3.00 added (changed greens to green beans). Ordered steak as medium rare and steak was raw! Very difficult to cut through with knife, good quality knives but probably old and has not been sharpened recently. Mentioned to waitress but not wanting my plate to return to kitchen in case it was "mishandled". Just took home to cook longer for another meal. Shared a slice of pie, crust was undercooked and again very difficult to cut. Owners also opened a higher quality restaurant in same shopping center last November..we think they have takened higher quality glasses there along with their quality of food, cook's and general pride of a decent, neighborhood establishment....sad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I was TRULY impressed with the quality of the food and the astonishing speed with which my food arrived. Everything tasted great and contributed to a dining pleasure. I'd HIGHLY recommend Market Tavern & look forward to eating there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great place to hang out with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Beef Stroganoff was FANTASTIC! Fresh pasta with a tasty sauce and the beef was tender and delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Skirt steak is great. Kale greens are getting a little tiresome. We would be nice to offer another green veggie.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Server was attentive and very friendly. Food was wonderful as was the dessert. Definitely recommend the Elvis Presley pie!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was fabulous! Made a dinner reservation because it was Friday night. Was seated right away by friendly hostess. However, server was slow. Took 10 minutes for her to even come to our table and she took forever to take our orders. Food runner was friendly and polite.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Music was much too loud to hold a conversation. We asked three times to please lower the volume.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Another great one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This was an anniversary meal and worth every penny. The stroganoff and pork chop were really special. The brownie completed the experience!
Excellent service!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Excellent food and service. The salmon BLT is to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.