Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

About Market Tavern

Market Tavern features farm-fresh ingredients across all menu items from our wood-fired pizzas, all natural pork chops and steak, and signature meatballs.

Our Bar features craft beers on tap and a modern take on classic cocktails using fresh squeezed juices and in-house infused liquors.

The Grab & Go Market offers fresh baked bread, salads and sandwiches, free-range premium meats and select produce, as well as beer and wine for sale.

236 Lincoln Center
Stockton, CA 95207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Pizzeria, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M - F 11:00am-5:00pm

Sa - Su 10:00am-5:00pm
Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-9:30pm

Dinner: F-Sa 5:0pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Benjamin Holt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 932-8001

Website:
http://www.markettavernstk.com/

Executive Chef:
Nicolas DiArenzo

Private Party Facilities:
We have two Designated areas for Private Dining.
Library Room is for up to 12 people.
Fireplace Room is for up to 40 people.
Please contact us directly to arrange for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Jeff Berretta: (209) 932-8001

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

We will be serving a 3 course prix fixe menu from 1-7pm.

Market Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (20)
Comfort Food (17)
See All
Bar Seating (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Casual (16)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Fun (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Cozy (9)
Seasonal (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Romantic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great Beer (6)
Healthy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
People Watching (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Authentic (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Make a reservation to a tasty restaurant today and enjoy the food, libations, and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent braised short ribs - with a small plate option! Quick and courteous service! Great for beef and pork entrees!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

Hands down the best plates and drinks that I have had in stockton!!!! Make your reservation

Tags: Fun, Live Sports, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We just love this place! Everything we order was phenomenal! We started out with an Antipasta plate packed full of delicious goodies! It had salami, cheese, nuts, flavorful dips that were a perfect start to a hungry stomach. Next my husband and I split the ceasar dressing and it was very tasty. Next, the entrees: I got the Pork chop with Brussels sprouts and polenta! OMG! So decadent! Loved every bite. My husband got a swordfish special that sounded good until the waitress came up and informed us that they were sold out but that the chef suggested a tuna for an alternative. Both my husband and my friend agreed. Both a their dishes turned out awesome! My husband kept raving about how good his was! Last, dessert, it was my friends birthday and the brought a brownie covered in delicious vanilla bean ice cream with caramel drizzled all over top! Everything was so good! I loved the ambiance, sitting right next to fire, service and food! I’m headed their on Sunday for bloody mary’s And brunch!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Comfortable. Service friendly but, surprisingly, didn't offer to bring a fresh glass of wine or second cocktail.
Moderately loud, couldn't hear person across table from me. Good menu choices, well presented, just a bit less value for the dollar than in comparable restaurants.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Excellent service, delicious food
Thanks for the great dinner

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 11, 2017

As usual, a lively bar scene with lots of energy, great food & fun place

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

My Lasagna taste like burnt rubber and was completely unedible but the margarita pizza was really good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 5, 2017

It was my husband’s birthday and this was the perfect place. He had the NY steak and I had the pork chop. Delicious! And for free bday dessert he chose Elvis Pie which is a new favorite. Really made his day.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Limited menu but great variety from burgers to Mexican, pizza to steaks and seafood. Deserts were great and the service was excellent. Wine list was excellent and paired well with the menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Had s reservation for 7:15. We showed up at 7:05 and didn't get seated until after 7:30...
The music is very very loud, although we got seated in a back room that helped block some of it so we didn't have to shout over dinner, but most of the seating is not like that and would be loud.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Seasonal, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants. Party of three, all very pleased with our meals. I had the best Kurobuta pork chop with peach glaze I've ever eaten. Very dependable, great variety, well trained and friendly employees.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Service was excellent and love the ice water carafe (milk bottle) on the table. The grilled shrimp salad was wonderful. The hamburger was high quality, but the diameter of the bun far exceeds the diameter of the meat patty. Beef garbanzo bean soup of the day was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Food was creative and delicious. We especially enjoyed the appetizers -- the lamb hummus, corned beef tongue tacos, and the Thai brussel sprouts. However the prime rib, rotisserie chicken, beef stroganoff, and scallops with corn nuts were also dynamite. Specialty cocktails are always fun. Service was friendly and attentive. We dined with friends from the Bay Area who were amazed at the high-quality and relatively low-cost of our evening. Only critique is the noise-level (music playing as well as general table chatter), which can make conversation challenging. Might be neat if restaurant reserved the back room for "quieter" dining.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Authentic, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 17, 2017

It had a great atmosphere they recommended great wine the seafood special was seared snapper. Head very great flavors that compliment each other very well when I made the reservation I included that it was a birthday but no one question anything about it that would be the only downfall or area of opportunity

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Good service and good food as usual. Always little changes in the menu makes it interesting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Restaurant is always amazing! We had a great server as well thank you Tana.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This was our third time at the Tavern and they didn't disappoint. It was noisy first, but once the two tables behind us left we could actually hear each other. It was a busy Friday night, and they were celebrating a birthday, so no hard feelings! The waiter was very attentive and informative, and the food delicious. The fish tacos are exceptional, the beef stroganoff dinner and the short rib dinner are perfect comfort food but made with a current flair. We shared the deviled eggs appetizer which was spicy and creamy goodness. A couple at our table got burgers and they were perfectly seasoned and cooked to their liking. We will definitely return!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We were celebrating a Birthday, and the BD person wanted steak...so we said MT!! BD person got the Sat night 9/23/17 Rib Eye special..it was perfect!! We also got Mary's Chicken, Beef Stroganoff, a pizza and a shared spinach salad. Everything was perfect!! Another win for MT!! Thanks so much for being an excellent place to bring friends for a special occasion and leaving a wonderful lasting impression on them!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Wonderful place to pop in for lunch! Had a reservation but we came early and they seated us! Great food and bar plus lovely wait staff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Casual, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Very pleasant atmosphere and the quinoa salad with a kale-bacon pizza are our go to favorites along with a side of mac and cheese. Pair it with a North Coast Scrimshaw pilsner on a hot day and life is good!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

unique menu selections..... and great service, however, the glare in the bar seating at brunch on saturday was not great, and when folks were being seated outside, there was a nasty smoke aroma that wafted into the restaurant area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Being a usual customer of this restaurant I can never go wrong when I’m not in the mood to cook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Waiter was bomb made the experience that much better

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had brunch here on a Saturday Morning and it was GREAT. Service was a little slow to start (not sure how busy the server was but too over 5min to get drinks from the bar) however once drinks were delivered the food was too and was AMAZING!
Overall was very happy with our first visit here to celebrate my wife's birthday. Will be back for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food, music, service, and environment was great. The only one thing that I didn't care for was sitting by the kitchen. Listening to them call out orders during my visit wasn't optimal. But I will return, but next time ask that I'm not sat in the and area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Market Tavern is one of our favorites. We took two of our friends with us that have never been. They were very impressed with the entire experience. Keep up the good work you are a true gem

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Overall great experience! Food was delicious! #datsteaktho

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Be sure to have their corn bread for an appetizer. It is amazing. The service was very nice and the corkage was reasonable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 26, 2017

They didn't pay attention to me reserving a table & then when we brought it up again tried to seat us but that was 30 minutes later

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great food and service. A little loud for business discussions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

We found this gem when we attended orientation with our son @ UOP. Now every time we hit Stockton we make sure to visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Very good food and great service by Linda and Lindsey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 20, 2017

My girlfriends and I have lunch here once a month. This is our favorite place. We love everything about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were headed for the Stockton Airport and had some time, so Open Table led us to this AWESOME location. The griddled cornbread was nothing like we had ever experienced and we loved this place. I'm still thinking about that cornbread. We are from Iowa and thought we had tried every imaginable cornbread, until this! When we come back to town we will definately be headed back! Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fried chicken and lamb burger SANDWICH were on menu. They kindly changed sandwich to lettuce wrap .
I've never had either before. Delicious.
Dessert = fig streudel with vanilla bean gelato
We'd go back in a heart beat

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

I love going to Market Tavern for special occasions. It was our anniversary and my husband and I wanted to go to a nice restaurant with good food and they do not disappoint. The food is always amazing and the staff is wonderful. Their food is always so fresh and delicious. We totally plan to return in the future.

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Loved loved our weekend gathering at Market Tavern! Friendly staff, great food and wine, plus the hostess took our family photo with patience and humor.
We drive down from Sacramento to eat at one of our favorites - Market Tavern!

Tags: Casual, Organic, Fun, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Market Tavern is one of the more popular restaurants and bar in town to enjoy a good meal and drinks with friends. I'd say it's considered upscale by Stockton standards and generally patrons act the part. But there's no specific dress code or reservation required for service. Overall a great atmosphere, and a place my friends and I regularly visit.

Tags: Tapas, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fun, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.