About Market Tavern

Market Tavern features farm-fresh ingredients across all menu items from our wood-fired pizzas, all natural pork chops and steak, and signature meatballs. Our Bar features craft beers on tap and a modern take on classic cocktails using fresh squeezed juices and in-house infused liquors. The Grab & Go Market offers fresh baked bread, salads and sandwiches, free-range premium meats and select produce, as well as beer and wine for sale.

236 Lincoln Center
Stockton, CA 95207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Pizzeria, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: M - F 11:00am-5:00pm
Sa - Su 10:00am-5:00pm Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-9:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 5:0pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Benjamin Holt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 932-8001

Executive Chef:
Nicolas DiArenzo

Private Party Facilities:
We have two Designated areas for Private Dining. Library Room is for up to 12 people. Fireplace Room is for up to 40 people. Please contact us directly to arrange for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Jeff Berretta: (209) 932-8001

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Market Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Open Kitchen (26)
See All
Good for Birthdays (23)
Casual (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Modern Decor (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Fun (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Business Meals (18)
Wood Oven (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Comfort Food (15)
Romantic (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Cozy (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Private Room (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Great Beer (10)
Healthy (10)
People Watching (10)
Authentic (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Seasonal (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Family Style (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Fireplace (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Live Sports (3)
Tapas (3)
Organic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Went with a party of 8 to celebrate a birthday. Staff was kind enough to seat us in a back private room so we could visit and have privacy. Our waitress, Stefani was very attentive despite having multiple large table that evening. Wine was delicious and food was outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely delicious food, great cocktails, really nice ambiance, and very good service. Highly recommended!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

We frequent this restaurant routinely as we enjoy the bar area to eat and enjoy the lively atmosphere. The food is good and we like the seasonal options.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 3 days ago

I was very pleased with the outcome of our dinner. I ordered a skirt steak and it was delicious. My husband ordered a burger and it was perfect. Defiantly going back again.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Organic, Fun, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

We chose Market Tavern as a nice place to take our visitor from the East Coast. We wanted Stockton to make a good impression and were all very pleased with our dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Exceptional as always. Everything is always extra special down to the French press coffee.

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Had a nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our server was very nice the food was good they were busy and it was still fast

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Market Tavern has become one of our go to places for a good meal in Stockton. We love that there are seasonal specials. The staff is always helpful and will give us genuinely great suggestions on both food and cocktail options. We enjoy the bar dining area for the access to the tv and the social scene.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Fun, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was good. Service was good. Just a little to dark inside for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food for good prices! Lots of options for vegetarians, foodies and clean eating. Love brunch here as well as drinks!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a great time at Market Tavern. Our server was just great, and the food is terrific.

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Had the special, Mexican supper. Was delicious and the portion was spot on. Appropriate value. Hope to see it on the menu again. The drinks were great and all the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our kids meals came out within 10 minutes of ordering however we waited nearly an hour to get our dinner. Once we finally said something the manager came over and delivered the food however didn't say anything like sorry for the wait, etc. The server was great, she was nice and polite.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food and service. Highly recommended. And this is required to be 50 characters long soooooooooo bla bla bla.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I love the atmosphere and employees that work there. My got to spot...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Burger and spaghetti are always fabulous!! Duck tortoloni fabulous

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 6, 2017

For the cost of dinner tonight I felt like the service and quality missed the mark.
I had short ribs, a favorite dish, it was lukewarm when it arrived at the table.
They ran out of bread???? At 7pm??
Our server was pleasant, but seemed to have many tables and attention lacked.

Disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I eat at this place about once a month as the food and service are both great however this time the service was seriously off. I had a reservation for 7:30 PM. We arrived at 7:25 and didn't get our table until 7:55PM. Our server was sub par. It took longer than usual for her to greet us. After she took our order she asked if we wanted bread. Everyone at our table emphatically said yes yet it never arrived. I had to ask for the bread again once our food was brought to the table. I also asked for an additional coffee cup which I never received. Lastly, the server asked if we wanted our left over food boxed up. One person in the party said no, yet the server took the plate and boxed it anyway. We left the unwanted leftovers on the table. Makes me want to skip this place for awhile if this is how the service will be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Met some friends for dinner. Made seven o'clock reservations and called to tell them we were 10 minutes late-- no problem-- were were seated in the back private room and were able to hear everyone and were not rushed at all. Julia was great in taking care of our needs but didn't hover. We'll be back.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Fabulous burger!!! Minestrone was pretty pathetic.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Was at Market Tavern for a lunch with friend. Food was great and service was commendable.
Great place to meet friends. Stockton needed Market Tavern.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had a good time at market Tavern food pizzas and bone marrow was on point, The food here do have some things that the city offer. But the drinks are not on point if only they had a better Mixology everything could've been perfect.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Initially, I was trying to make a reservation for 16 for a quick lunch. I was not able to make a reservation with anyone who answered the phone. I was told the reservation had to be made with the group sales/catering woman. I called back 4 times to reach her and was told to send her an email. I did and the email was responded to several days after I sent it. I was advised that we had to guarantee a $500 check and special menus were attached. I responded that we were a group of women, on our way to Murphys for a little getaway and just needed a place where we could get a quick lunch and be on our way. I was told that that is how they handle "large groups". Needless to say, I was discouraged, but the local quilt shop highly recommended Market Tavern, so I was willing to give it a chance anyway and made an Open Table reservation for 8 and asked one of the other women to make an Open Table reservation for 8, knowing we likely would not be seated together. Well, dining at Market Tavern was quite a pleasant surprise. Our waitress, Elizabeth, could not have been more accommodating! She is a great waitress and I look forward to the opportunity to go back to Market Tavern, if I'm ever in Stockton again. The food was excellent, service - top notch. I had an amazing hamburger. During our getaway, almost everyone came up to me to tell me how great the restaurant was, so I'm confident in recommending it!

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My husband and I had a delicious meal, from the Marrow appetizer to the brownie dessert! Celeste was our server and was darling and efficient! Market Tavern is a beautiful restaurant and it was great watching people enjoying being out! Loved the vibe there! We'll definitely go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was fantastic. I will be returning for more.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The staff was friendly and courteous and made great recommendations.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Have been here a few times now, and main meal has always been good, with pork chop and short ribs getting excellent comments from my group. Service was just ok this last time, perhaps because we were in close to the end of the night. They were out of two of their best desserts, and alternate selection of lemon merengue pie by the wife was a fail. Not everything can be perfect all the time, and we will be back again for sure.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Casual, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Very friendly staff. Enjoyed a great dinner with friends on our anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Always good ,, noise level high, but we are used to it and do not mind as food always yummy, creative . And healthy

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

good as always, waitress was friendly and attentive

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I loved it ....The atmosphere was great and the food was delicious. Worth the money

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We went for my sins 17th BD. Reservations were made but we were seated in the bar 25 min later because the group of 7 in "our spot"wouldn't leave.

Staff was very nice though and as usual the food was good. They comped us an appetizer for the trouble.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great fine dining, casual, upscale, I would say it's also place to meet up

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Cozy, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This restaurant has great food in a nice dining atmosphere and great service.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Nice place to meet up and have a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

From the creative Bloody Mary choices to the yummy brunch menu, we were thrilled with this restaurant. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food is very tasty but very Rich so don't ask for calorie count. It's a loud place (Saturday night) lots of traffic inside the restaurant . Service was good and quick.

Tags: Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A get together with friends!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nice restaurant, service was good. I have heard so much about this place but after going I don't understand. I ordered the cut of the day, it was cut strange or mis-cut and I ordered it MR but it can close to MW. Mac and cheese was really good, but I verbally not impressed no need to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.