About Market Tavern

236 Lincoln Center
Stockton, CA 95207
View Larger Map

Market Tavern features farm-fresh ingredients across all menu items from our wood-fired pizzas, all natural pork chops and steak, and signature meatballs. Our Bar features craft beers on tap and a modern take on classic cocktails using fresh squeezed juices and in-house infused liquors. The Grab & Go Market offers fresh baked bread, salads and sandwiches, free-range premium meats and select produce, as well as beer and wine for sale.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Pizzeria, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: M - F 11:00am-5:00pm
Sa - Su 10:00am-5:00pm Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-9:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 5:0pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Benjamin Holt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 932-8001

Executive Chef:
Nicolas DiArenzo

Private Party Facilities:
We have two Designated areas for Private Dining. Library Room is for up to 12 people. Fireplace Room is for up to 40 people. Please contact us directly to arrange for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Jeff Berretta: 2099328001

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Market Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Service
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Ambiance
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
5 More
Best Value
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Fit for Foodies
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Stockton
Best Restaurants in Stockton ›

fit for foodies (56)
special occasion (47)
good for groups (42)
See All
great for lunch (39)
hot spot (34)
neighborhood gem (33)
vibrant bar scene (32)
great for brunch (31)
romantic (22)
great for outdoor dining (16)
notable wine list (16)
late-night find (10)
kid-friendly (8)
scenic view (3)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If the hummus ever goes off the appetize ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

If the hummus ever goes off the appetizer menu I will die a little inside. My husband and I order every time we go there. It is ridiculously good. The Mary's chicken dinner was sublime. Perfectly done chicken that was succulent and smoky. The peas, carrots and potatoes that came with it were amazing. My husbands burger rocked. Lindsey, our waitress is always awesome. Overall one of my favorites places to eat in Stockton. Don't miss the market as well. There cookies are to fantastic as are their other to go items.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Open late

Dined on May 15, 2016

My sons came home from college, with their girlfriends, to see me and their step-dad a local theater production. Market Tavern was, other than fast food, our only choice in town for a table for 7 at 10 pm, after the show. The food arrived in a reasonable time, but it was lukewarm and boring. The bill was less than anticipated, mostly because 10 pm is a little late to eat big. My oldest left his leftovers in the fridge when he went back to college. And it is a 45 minute drive. If it was worth keeping, he would have taken it.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing elegant find in Stockton!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

The UoP College of Engineering recommended this restaurant and we were very pleased. We sat in the backroom near the fire, and it was easy to talk. The waitress, only her second day there, did an excellent job of taking care of our table of 6. The restrooms were clean and organized too. What a nice find in Stockton. Truly a neighborhood gem.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as always,, selections very unique ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great as always,, selections very unique ad creative.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Good food and selection, good cocktails.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Small portions commensurate to costs applied, lacked value. The food tasted good and there was a. Restaurant has a upscale vibe that many in the Stockton area lack, but not sufficiently so to charge the rates on their menu. To improve on value, reduce rates or increase portion size... even moderately. From the Napa/Sonoma area and accustomed to paying the same high prices but the value is so much better in Napa/Sonoma, both in quality and portion.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food was great! I've bee ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The service and food was great! I've been there many times, and this time was one of the best. The server (I wish I remembered her name) was very attentive. She is what a good server should be. She got the order right, was friendly, wasn't intrusive, and made sure everything was all right throughout the experience. It's hard to find service like this. My parents were sharing all their courses, and she split their plate for them, which was nice of her. They loved their meal, and it was their first time there, so it was a great success!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Took mom there for mother's day. Service ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Took mom there for mother's day. Service was outstanding and food was delicious. They could have had coasters for the drinks- just a suggestion!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was probably the best meal I've had at the Market Tavern, and it was definitely the best dining experience. I really can't think of any component that was lacking. We had a wonderful waitress, the food was great and we always had water and drinks. I had a lamb loin special and it was amazing. It was a very complex dish with many layered flavors. Our server said they only serve lamb a few times a year, and it's always her recommendation when it's on the menu. So glad I took her advice, the best dish I've had in months. My wife and daughter were a little less adventurous. My daughter ordered short ribs and my wife had a margarita pizza and added 'house made' sausage. They were very happy as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Brought a party of 10 to Market Tavern f ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Brought a party of 10 to Market Tavern for Mother's Day and everything was Fabulous!! After checking in we were escorted to a private room (a great surprise and much appreciated) to dine. A wonderful waitress named Monica did a splendid job of taking care of our party. We started with Mimosas....with freshly squeezed orange juice. They were fantastic! I ordered the minestrone soup---full of veggies, croutons and a flavorful broth....delicious! The other guests in my party ordered the short ribs (crowd favorite), flank steak, polenta, marguerite pizza, fish tacos and spaghetti and meatballs. We were well taken care of and had a wonderful dining experience. Some people in my party asked for more bread and oil and vinegar (so good) and Monica kept it coming. Thank you for making our Mother's Day a joyous occasion. We shall return!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Surprisingly great food, friendly servic ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Surprisingly great food, friendly service, and nice atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Times for Mothers day dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

Server was Dallan, He was awesome! Very attentative and made us all feel good. He didnt let the glasses run dry and kept us all busy with food and drink. Thats what it takes to be a good server. I hopw we get him the next trip to the Tavern.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Perfect lunch with my special niece

Dined on May 6, 2016

Flavors were rich and flavorful. Pasta noodles were cooked perfect. Iced tea always fresh and cold. Service from door to door attentive and friendly.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed this restaurant. It ha ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

We really enjoyed this restaurant. It had a unique and diverse menu that allowed for dietary restriction without any chafes or requests. The service was great and the atmosphere lent itself a slow meal with a friend you haven't seen for a while. Oh, and dessert. That was a very special treat!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always good..

Dined on April 23, 2016

Very good fare, and healthy yet, there are options of you want to splurge.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Business dinner

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Service was very good. I had the filet whick was very good and at a reasonable price

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

great service

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

appreciate how much your service has improved from when you first opened. Glad you have made it in Stockton. Hip Hip Hoorah!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time!

Dined on April 12, 2016

Celebrated a family birthday ... The food, service and ambience was perfect!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good!

Dined on April 1, 2016

This easily is our favorite place for enjoying a special meal out on the town.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Dinner Review

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

We have been to Market Tavern several times. This time we had the fried chicken it was very good however one of the pieces was not cooked all the way the meat was pink and the bone was pink when we brought this to their attention we were told it was all pre-cooked and that's the way it is. Sorry no, we are poultry farmers from the South and that is not the way it should be cooked. The oil was too hot and only cooked the outside which was very good and crispy. We only had 1 really bad piece like that and a second that was border line. We informed the manager of the situation as a courtesy he was very polite and apologize. We will be back and the food is good, especially the fish tacos and breakfast / brunch is great as well. We think this was just an off night for the chef and didn't realize the oil was too had and the chicken was not fully cook. We do recommend Market Tavern.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Celebrate

Dined on March 24, 2016

Went to The Market Tavern for a birthday celebration .I had been once before and loved it so I returned to see if my first experience was spot on...the food was awesome !there were 5 of us and we all ordered something different so we could taste it !! Good wine good food . Thank You Market Tavern :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stockton Favorite

Dined on March 18, 2016

Once again late dinner and drinks at Market Tavern is the best. From our cocktails to the charcuterie for the table to our main plates all was delicious. Service staff is truly one of the best in town. We were running late so we called, added a person to our table and they were able to accommodate us. This is our favorite spot in Stockton!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Good choice

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food at Market Tavern has nice originality and is high quality. The menu features good salads, fine flatbreads as well as some full entrée selections. We each had a salad and shared a flatbread, plenty of food. The bar is a good place to dine but the dining rooms are pleasant as well. Service was acceptable. All and all a fine meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Fried Chicken

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

I enjoyed the new (to me) menu item of Gluten Free Fried Chicken. It is coated in rice flour which makes a very crispy crust. I enjoyed the chicken and the sides but wanted a starch of some kind to go with it. It comes currently with two vegetables. The fish tacos and the hummus were outstanding. Definitely one of my favorite restaurants in Stockton.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite Stockton restaurant.

Dined on March 13, 2016

I crave the Painted Hills burger and steaks. Love to get the high tables in the bar but all the tables are comfortable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

menu choices VEry interesting!

Dined on March 12, 2016

We will definitely be going back again and again. Brunch choices ver innovative and the ones we have had are yummy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall very good

Dined on March 12, 2016

Would definitely come back. Overall we were very pleased with the food & service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Good value and great service

Dined on March 11, 2016

Good value and great service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ONE OF STOCKTONS BEST RESTURANTS!!

Dined on March 9, 2016

Market Tavern has become a weekly stop for us! Monday nights are our favorite as they have Gluten Free Fried Chicken. We normally get seated in the Bar which allows us to have big or small groups. The Bar setting is very relaxed and the staff/bar tenders are amazing and super knowledgeable! The skirt steak and Moscow Mule with crushed ice are top on our list :) We also brought our whole family (including 4 kids under 6) on Thanksgiving and the environment, food and service were tip notch...we are never cooking Thanksgiving again!! I would highly recommend everyone to stop by and try some amazing food and drinks! Ps. Don't forget to check out the ready made meals and fresh local food in the mini-store up front.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Market Tavern Slipping Some

Dined on March 7, 2016

We had two consecutive weekends at the Market Tavern and I have to say the food is slipping some. In the past, I would have given the restaurant 4 and 5 stars, but I wasn't moved as I have been in the past. The burgers and sandwiches still maintain good form, but the other entrees are just not quite as melt in your mouth as before. Examples include the beef stroganoff, short ribs, and cioppino. The shrimp, langostino and scallops in the ciopinno were tough. If shellfish are plump and juicy, that's a hallmark for me. Not so this time. The beef stroganoff was tougher than I remember in the past, and the short ribs didn't have the same crust and tender meat as before. I felt a little disappointed. Their pizzas are sill excellent, and they have been since they opened. The homemade desserts still please and are easily rich enough to share. Our Saturday reservation was for 8 pm, and Sunday for 7 pm. Their beer selection is extensive, and their wine selection rates wines by price range, giving the consumer many choices at different levels. Service is still good and prompt.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointed this time

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Been here a lot always make reservations on Open Table. This time Market Tavern canceled my reservations because I asked the hostess if I could sit at the bar area instead of the dinning room she said yes never told me they would not honor my Open Table reservation unless I was in the dinning room. I called the manager and he would not change the cancellation, said they use Open Table to track the number of people that are in the dinning room not the bar area. I explained I have never had an issue before my reservations have always been honored in the dinning room or in the bar area and I have provided favorable reviews each time I have been there. I would recommend Market Tavern however this time I was disappointed in management. The fish tacos and house salad and drinks we had were good and the bartender was very pleasant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wish it was better

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

The food was good, but nothing made me moan. The menu didn't have a ton of great sounding items. I don't eat beef or chicken, so my choices were a salad with seafood added, a veggie burger, or a pizza. Not too interesting.

food5
ambience5
service5

I disagreed with the charge that we paid ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

I disagreed with the charge that we paid to eat the dessert we brought for a friends birthday. Other then that disappointment our server was great! She was attentive, helpful & friendly.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent choice

Dined on February 21, 2016

Market Tavern is a hopping place but not so loud that it interferes with normal conversation. A bit pricey but the food was good an our service was perfect, attentive and nice, she kept refills and bread flowing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food & drinks

Dined on February 21, 2016

Our food (pizza/lasagna) was amazing. Drinks were very good too. Our server wasn't very good, he gave us the wrong bill. We also have him 2 cards to split but he only rang the whole bill on one. He tried to say we didn't give him 2 cards which was a little annoying. Other than that it is a must go restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Friday night fast

Dined on February 20, 2016

We had a concert in Stockton to attend so made a reservation for last Friday night. We were late due to traffic, but they were very accommodating and got us seated in minutes. Had a great glass of wine, salad and a pizza then wonderful cheesecake. Wait staff all very attentive and pleasant. Food all well prepared and delicious! Stunner was the cheesecake, blood orange! It was Friday night so very busy and loud. It has been our experience each time we have been there (brunch, lunch & dinner) that the noise level is consistent. We have been seated from the front bar area to the far back corner away from the open kitchen and it's always loud. If you want outstanding food and service this is the place! If you are looking for a quiet place to talk not the best option. Food wins out for us!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food has definetely gone downhill, s ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

The food has definetely gone downhill, sorry to say. I have eaten here every time I visit Stockton, and this was the opinion of my guests as well.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Please never ever take the Hummus off the menu

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

We love Market Tavern and we particularly love the hummus appetizer. I order it every time I go there and find myself craving it at the most random times. The hummus itself is delicious and it is enhanced with five different garnishes from pickled beets to feta cheese. Each garnish is delicious. The flat bread is fresh from the oven. Truly a delight. We also had excellent cocktails and shared a mushroom pizza. The entire staff is extremely well trained from the service to the kitchen. You can't go wrong here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an awesome experience. The 10 pie ...

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

Always an awesome experience. The 10 piece Fried chicken dinner was excellent as was the spaghetti and meatballs!

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Forgot we were in Stockton

Dined on February 15, 2016

Everything we ordered during a special Valentine Day's dinner was outstanding. We started with the grilled corncake topped with corned beef tongue, homemade sauerkraut, gruyere cheese and a homemade Russian dressing. It was excellent. We followed that with the bone marrow appetizer, which came with grilled bread, a lightly dressed frisee and arugula salad with capers. Delicious. Next, we had the burrata with grilled bread, tiny pickled peppers, halved grape tomatoes and arugula. Again, outstanding. My wife had a braised short rib with root veggies and a rich brown sauce, and I had the always wonderful Kurobuta pork chop on white polenta with brussel sprouts and a balsamic reduction. I brought a bottle of 2012 Paul Hobbs Russian River Valley Pinot Noir that went perfectly with the meal. Truly a memorable experience. One of the best meals I've had in a long time anywhere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Redefining Categories!!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Wow! We are still talking about the food we had at the Market Tavern - and it was days ago!! In fact, my fiancé admitted to dreaming about the pork chop! We really enjoy the farm-to-fork, independently owned restaurants and this is one of the best! The Shrimp Louie redefined the category with the flavors and use of large grilled shrimp. The lemon meringue pie was the perfect ending! Although we were in town for an event, we have talked about returning to Stockton just for dinner!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.