About Market Tavern

236 Lincoln Center
Stockton, CA 95207
View Larger Map

Market Tavern features farm-fresh ingredients across all menu items from our wood-fired pizzas, all natural pork chops and steak, and signature meatballs. Our Bar features craft beers on tap and a modern take on classic cocktails using fresh squeezed juices and in-house infused liquors. The Grab & Go Market offers fresh baked bread, salads and sandwiches, free-range premium meats and select produce, as well as beer and wine for sale.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Pizzeria, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: M - F 11:00am-5:00pm
Sa - Su 10:00am-5:00pm Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-9:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 5:0pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Benjamin Holt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 932-8001

Executive Chef:
Nicolas DiArenzo

Private Party Facilities:
We have two Designated areas for Private Dining. Library Room is for up to 12 people. Fireplace Room is for up to 40 people. Please contact us directly to arrange for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Jeff Berretta: 2099328001

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Market Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Restaurants in Stockton ›

Special Occasion (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Wood Oven (14)
Casual (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Business Meals (10)
Romantic (9)
Private Room (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Cozy (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fun (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Great Beer (7)
Fireplace (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
People Watching (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Authentic (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Live Sports (4)
Organic (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (3)
Healthy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
298 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved the food and the service was fanta ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Loved the food and the service was fantastic. We felt so welcomed! The only complaint - the music level was quiet loud, especially for a Sunday afternoon.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Organic, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Outstanding burger and great steak! Try ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding burger and great steak! Try the egg appetizer!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Had the hamburger and it was amazing!! ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Had the hamburger and it was amazing!! It was lunch and I had the burger without a bun and added blue cheese. Delicious!! Great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a great place for a date! Great se ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Such a great place for a date! Great seasonal menu and wonderful hand crafted cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Thanksgiving Menu here at Market Tav ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

The Thanksgiving Menu here at Market Tavern was soooo delicious, the service was awesome and the ambiance is just so relaxing and romantic!! ❤️👌🏼🙌🏼 Yes, definitely on the upper end of the scale! But the price is just right!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanksgiving dinner. Felt a bit rushed. ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner. Felt a bit rushed. Food was warm but not warm enough. Not the usual personal attention we are used to from this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our family of four has celebrated the Th ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our family of four has celebrated the Thanksgiving holiday at Market Tavern for two years now. Both times, everything was fresh and delicious--especially the stuffing, which was full of delightful surprises, like mushrooms and walnuts. The service is friendly and attentive. We have decided that Thanksgiving at Market Tavern will be our tradition from now on.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

For our annual Thanksgiving celebrations ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

For our annual Thanksgiving celebrations my husband and I were delighted with the delicious 3-course Turkey meal. The squash soup with apple bits was tasty, light and dark turkey was moist, mushroom stuffing flavorful, the yams just the way I like it, and the pumpkin pie was the perfect end. We had a very friendly server, Celeste, who made sure we were enjoying our time. And the extra leftovers? What a surprise! It made for wonderful turkey sandwiches the next day. We've already made reservations for Christmas Eve! HO! HO! HO!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Private Room, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We got there at 7:15, because parking is ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

We got there at 7:15, because parking is so limited with the other restaurants near by. Reservations at 7:30. Was told that the people were finished but still sitting at our table. Best tip, dont make reservations. They seem to value the walk ins while we waited 45 minutes. Had to remind the hosts that we were waiting. They seem to enjoy talking with each other than notifying us how long we had to wait. Even had the same host ask us if we had a reservation after waiting a half an hour! 3 times i had to tell them i had a reservation. Another 20 mins to get served salad for just me and husband. Another 20 mins for only two meals while the other couple waited 40 mins for burgers that were dry. My husband skirt steak was suppose to be med rare, it was on one side but well on the other side. We haven't had servive this bad for a long time. Only thing i can say positive about this place, bottle of wine was reasonable and i enjoyed my pizza but it very oily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Wow! What a great find! We had tickets ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wow! What a great find! We had tickets to see The Beach Boys at the Bob Hope Theatre in Stockton and wanted to do dinner first. Had never been to this restaurant, but we were both blown away: Fantastic, friendly service; great cocktail menu; amazing dinner menu. Everything was just perfect.

While I don't live in the Stockton area, I'd gladly go back to this amazing restaurant! I HIGHLY recommend!

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Great Beer, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Private Room, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a reservation at 7:15. Got to the re ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had a reservation at 7:15. Got to the restaurant at 7. Said they would seat us right away, but after waiting 1/2hr I went to follow up. I think they forgot about us!! People there without a reservation that arrived after us had already been seated. Disappointed with the hostesses. But dinner & drinks were amazing!! Will go again for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Wonderful wait staff - amazing food! Th ...

 
·Dined on November 1, 2016

Wonderful wait staff - amazing food! The dessert was divine- we had he Carmel brownie and maple doughnuts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

MT always seems to deliver a great dinin ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

MT always seems to deliver a great dining experience. From the top notch bar offerings to the menu that changes just enough to be relevant and fresh. Ambiance can be whatever you like; high energy in the bar area, great view of the kitchen from the main dining, or tuck away in the library or back room for an intimate meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This spot, which has become our favorite ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

This spot, which has become our favorite consistently delivering top quality food, great cocktails and solid service. A top choice in Stockton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The staff is always kind and knowledgeab ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

The staff is always kind and knowledgeable about the food. We love this place and can't wait for the steak house to open.

Tags: Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Private Room, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always dependable for good food and drin ...

 
·Dined on October 26, 2016

Always dependable for good food and drink and attentive service.

Not inexpensive, but usually decent value with the exception of the charcuterie platter. This item has very little actual charcuterie and is very pricey at $22.

The wine by the glass list is standard California and uninteresting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Great Beer, Live Sports, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Casual, Cozy, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was excellent. Server was very nic ...

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was excellent. Server was very nice but a bit scattered. Cheeseburger was cooked perfectly but they left off the cheese and then simply brought a slice of cheese! Four cheese lasagna was to die for and chicken pot pie looked wonderful.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Our waiter, Marcos, provided a good expe ...

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our waiter, Marcos, provided a good experience that would otherwise have been poor. We were basically seated in the bar area. Noisy and unsatisfactory. We expect better treatment as an OpenTable reservation. We'll not be returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5

3 (out of 4) didn't feel well after our ...

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

3 (out of 4) didn't feel well after our meals. Not sure it was our dinners, although we shared a Caeser salad. I had the white polenta and didn't like it- especially the blue cheese and pickled red onion. We were also close to the front door and that detracted from the ambience.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

This visit we only stopped in for drinks ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

This visit we only stopped in for drinks, service at the bar was great as always

Would recommend for breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This is a great place to meet friends . ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

This is a great place to meet friends . Good food and a ice selection

Of wines.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. Great food, drink and v ...

 
·Dined on October 14, 2016

Love this place. Great food, drink and vibe and wait staff are very attentive.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a filet mignon that was cooked per ...

 
·Dined on October 2, 2016

I had a filet mignon that was cooked perfect and had a great taste as did my advisor. My wife had the ravioli which loved

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Market Tavern is one of our go-to restau ...

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

Market Tavern is one of our go-to restaurants in Stockton. What I like best is the variety on the menu, so that people in our party can order anything from small plates to a full dinner. The pizzas are fantastic--thin crust with some wonderful variety for toppings. I'd recommend Market Tavern to a visitor to Stockton or to someone visiting for the first time.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is always good. The service an ...

 
·Dined on September 25, 2016

The food is always good. The service and ambiance in the back room were a little bit "off." Some candles or softer lighting and maybe one more server might have helped. But everyone was lovely and the food did not disappoint.

Tags: Wood Oven, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Disappointing...had heard from friends i ...

 
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Disappointing...had heard from friends it was a good restaurant. The price point was high; food nothing special; booth was crowded for four adults; limited table space; waitress pleasant but very busy; will try again!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Cozy, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

My wife has lasagna which was very good ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My wife has lasagna which was very good and I had the skirt steak which was very good at a good price.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very noisy and service was slow but the ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Very noisy and service was slow but the pizza was worth it!

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Have eaten here several times and enjoye ...

 
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Have eaten here several times and enjoyed every visit. Very friendly service and a varied menu that has something for everyone.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really great for Stockton to have places ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Really great for Stockton to have places nice and fresh like this. Nice well thought out design of place, super cute.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always wonderful. Tried the lasagna - fo ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Always wonderful. Tried the lasagna - four cheese - OMG!!! Fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time at Market Tavern! Great ...

 
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Had a great time at Market Tavern! Great cocktails and wonderful entrees. We will be back!

Tags: Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great as usual! Only complaint ...

 
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Food was great as usual! Only complaint was after our bill came, we sat for a bit to chat and never saw our server again. No drink refills or attention at all. Felt like we were being pushed out. Lovely atmosphere and we wanted to just sit for a bit longer.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We eat here weekly and food was great as ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We eat here weekly and food was great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The service was outstanding and the food ...

 
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The service was outstanding and the food delicious. It's a must try while in Stockton.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

When you HAVE to be in Stockton this res ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

When you HAVE to be in Stockton this restaurant would be a great choice. Every time I come "home" I am depressed and disappointed. I don't ever expect much but thought it was worth a try. And I was right. Had a fig "flatbread " that was actually pizza but had good flavor and was huge. Short ribs just melted in my mouth served with a great sauce and smooth polenta. I even found a decent wine that was not from Lodi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Fabulous cuts of beef and delicious lasa ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fabulous cuts of beef and delicious lasagna and rigatoni dishes!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice. Food was great. Painted Hil ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very nice. Food was great. Painted Hills All-Natural Beef was excellent. We had a NY steak, strip steak, and braised short ribs. All were outstanding. I am from out-of-town, but I will return often as I visit relatives.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We love dining at the Market Tavern. The ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We love dining at the Market Tavern. The food, ambience, and the wait staff make for a delicious and consistently high quality dining experience, especially in Stockton. What a find for us and we ate there 3 nights in a row, including their Monday night fried chicken special, 10 pieces of rice floured, crispy yummy chicken. Enough for both my husband and myself and we took a lot home as well. Still good cold the next day for lunch! The sides are also spectacular with unusual combinations that work, like the corn with jalapeno and bacon. Everything is made from scratch, with local, in season produce and the wait staff are friendly as well as efficient. Next door you can purchase their home made breads and ready to eat entrees to just heat up at home. Coming from the Bay Area, in Stockton, the Market Tavern is our favorite go to restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Two couples, no special occasion. We lo ...

 
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Two couples, no special occasion.

We love Market Tavern, we've always had great service, great food. Perhaps this was a new server....wasn't real busy. Disappointed with the service but the food was great! Our food took longer than usual to arrive. We asked for bread twice. She did not offer refills, we had water. I think she did ask the guys if they'd like another beer. My husband and I are both good tippers.....I grabbed the bill...I tipped $15 on a $123 bill. We routinely tip 25-35% easily. Service....with a smile is a HUGE deal to me. My husband would rather have no smile and quick food! We got neither the smile nor the quick food.

Overall.....we love Market Tavern. Yes, we'll be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.