About Market Tavern

236 Lincoln Center
Stockton, CA 95207
View Larger Map

Market Tavern features farm-fresh ingredients across all menu items from our wood-fired pizzas, all natural pork chops and steak, and signature meatballs. Our Bar features craft beers on tap and a modern take on classic cocktails using fresh squeezed juices and in-house infused liquors. The Grab & Go Market offers fresh baked bread, salads and sandwiches, free-range premium meats and select produce, as well as beer and wine for sale.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Pizzeria, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: M - F 11:00am-5:00pm
Sa - Su 10:00am-5:00pm Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-9:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 5:0pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Benjamin Holt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 932-8001

Executive Chef:
Nicolas DiArenzo

Private Party Facilities:
We have two Designated areas for Private Dining. Library Room is for up to 12 people. Fireplace Room is for up to 40 people. Please contact us directly to arrange for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Jeff Berretta: 2099328001

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Market Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Ambiance
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Value
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Stockton
Best Restaurants in Stockton ›

fit for foodies (41)
good for groups (35)
special occasion (34)
See All
great for lunch (29)
neighborhood gem (29)
hot spot (25)
vibrant bar scene (25)
great for brunch (23)
romantic (14)
great for outdoor dining (10)
kid-friendly (10)
notable wine list (7)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good local restaurant with upscale marke ...

Dined 6 days ago

Good local restaurant with upscale market attached. Really enjoyed the quinoa and poached egg brunch dish, and the fish tacos were also excellent. A bit noisy (energetic) so it may be hard to have an intimate conversation, but definitely worth a visit

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food average. Portions small. Prices hig ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food average. Portions small. Prices high. Great service!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Disappointing. The skirt steak & mash w ...

Dined 7 days ago

Disappointing. The skirt steak & mash were too salty, even for me! The special fried cod and undergrowth? the undergrowth was tasty, but the fish fillets were too thin and overcooked; certainly not worth $18!

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service. Cesar salad and wild ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent service. Cesar salad and wild mushroom pizza were great, beef stroganoff and chicken sandwich were good. We sat in the bar area which was loud. I would have preferred the dining room.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Always good food. Wonderful menu

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Always good food. Wonderful menu

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome, as always. We brought guests fr ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Awesome, as always. We brought guests from SF who are foodies. Everything earned rave reviews.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Becoming a favorite

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

We've stopped here a few times now when in Stockton and it has been very good each time. Have had lunch and dinner and have not been disappointed. Service has been friendly and quick. Had a variety of dishes with a group this time and everyone was happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

We ordered pizza thin crust

Dined on June 5, 2016

We ordered pizza thin crust

food5
ambience5
service4

Always wonderful food!!

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Always wonderful food!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If the hummus ever goes off the appetize ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

If the hummus ever goes off the appetizer menu I will die a little inside. My husband and I order every time we go there. It is ridiculously good. The Mary's chicken dinner was sublime. Perfectly done chicken that was succulent and smoky. The peas, carrots and potatoes that came with it were amazing. My husbands burger rocked. Lindsey, our waitress is always awesome. Overall one of my favorites places to eat in Stockton. Don't miss the market as well. There cookies are to fantastic as are their other to go items.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Open late

Dined on May 15, 2016

My sons came home from college, with their girlfriends, to see me and their step-dad a local theater production. Market Tavern was, other than fast food, our only choice in town for a table for 7 at 10 pm, after the show. The food arrived in a reasonable time, but it was lukewarm and boring. The bill was less than anticipated, mostly because 10 pm is a little late to eat big. My oldest left his leftovers in the fridge when he went back to college. And it is a 45 minute drive. If it was worth keeping, he would have taken it.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing elegant find in Stockton!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

The UoP College of Engineering recommended this restaurant and we were very pleased. We sat in the backroom near the fire, and it was easy to talk. The waitress, only her second day there, did an excellent job of taking care of our table of 6. The restrooms were clean and organized too. What a nice find in Stockton. Truly a neighborhood gem.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as always,, selections very unique ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great as always,, selections very unique ad creative.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Good food and selection, good cocktails.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Small portions commensurate to costs applied, lacked value. The food tasted good and there was a. Restaurant has a upscale vibe that many in the Stockton area lack, but not sufficiently so to charge the rates on their menu. To improve on value, reduce rates or increase portion size... even moderately. From the Napa/Sonoma area and accustomed to paying the same high prices but the value is so much better in Napa/Sonoma, both in quality and portion.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food was great! I've bee ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The service and food was great! I've been there many times, and this time was one of the best. The server (I wish I remembered her name) was very attentive. She is what a good server should be. She got the order right, was friendly, wasn't intrusive, and made sure everything was all right throughout the experience. It's hard to find service like this. My parents were sharing all their courses, and she split their plate for them, which was nice of her. They loved their meal, and it was their first time there, so it was a great success!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Took mom there for mother's day. Service ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Took mom there for mother's day. Service was outstanding and food was delicious. They could have had coasters for the drinks- just a suggestion!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was probably the best meal I've had at the Market Tavern, and it was definitely the best dining experience. I really can't think of any component that was lacking. We had a wonderful waitress, the food was great and we always had water and drinks. I had a lamb loin special and it was amazing. It was a very complex dish with many layered flavors. Our server said they only serve lamb a few times a year, and it's always her recommendation when it's on the menu. So glad I took her advice, the best dish I've had in months. My wife and daughter were a little less adventurous. My daughter ordered short ribs and my wife had a margarita pizza and added 'house made' sausage. They were very happy as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Brought a party of 10 to Market Tavern f ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Brought a party of 10 to Market Tavern for Mother's Day and everything was Fabulous!! After checking in we were escorted to a private room (a great surprise and much appreciated) to dine. A wonderful waitress named Monica did a splendid job of taking care of our party. We started with Mimosas....with freshly squeezed orange juice. They were fantastic! I ordered the minestrone soup---full of veggies, croutons and a flavorful broth....delicious! The other guests in my party ordered the short ribs (crowd favorite), flank steak, polenta, marguerite pizza, fish tacos and spaghetti and meatballs. We were well taken care of and had a wonderful dining experience. Some people in my party asked for more bread and oil and vinegar (so good) and Monica kept it coming. Thank you for making our Mother's Day a joyous occasion. We shall return!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Surprisingly great food, friendly servic ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Surprisingly great food, friendly service, and nice atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Times for Mothers day dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

Server was Dallan, He was awesome! Very attentative and made us all feel good. He didnt let the glasses run dry and kept us all busy with food and drink. Thats what it takes to be a good server. I hopw we get him the next trip to the Tavern.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Perfect lunch with my special niece

Dined on May 6, 2016

Flavors were rich and flavorful. Pasta noodles were cooked perfect. Iced tea always fresh and cold. Service from door to door attentive and friendly.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed this restaurant. It ha ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

We really enjoyed this restaurant. It had a unique and diverse menu that allowed for dietary restriction without any chafes or requests. The service was great and the atmosphere lent itself a slow meal with a friend you haven't seen for a while. Oh, and dessert. That was a very special treat!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always good..

Dined on April 23, 2016

Very good fare, and healthy yet, there are options of you want to splurge.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Business dinner

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Service was very good. I had the filet whick was very good and at a reasonable price

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

great service

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

appreciate how much your service has improved from when you first opened. Glad you have made it in Stockton. Hip Hip Hoorah!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time!

Dined on April 12, 2016

Celebrated a family birthday ... The food, service and ambience was perfect!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good!

Dined on April 1, 2016

This easily is our favorite place for enjoying a special meal out on the town.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Dinner Review

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

We have been to Market Tavern several times. This time we had the fried chicken it was very good however one of the pieces was not cooked all the way the meat was pink and the bone was pink when we brought this to their attention we were told it was all pre-cooked and that's the way it is. Sorry no, we are poultry farmers from the South and that is not the way it should be cooked. The oil was too hot and only cooked the outside which was very good and crispy. We only had 1 really bad piece like that and a second that was border line. We informed the manager of the situation as a courtesy he was very polite and apologize. We will be back and the food is good, especially the fish tacos and breakfast / brunch is great as well. We think this was just an off night for the chef and didn't realize the oil was too had and the chicken was not fully cook. We do recommend Market Tavern.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Celebrate

Dined on March 24, 2016

Went to The Market Tavern for a birthday celebration .I had been once before and loved it so I returned to see if my first experience was spot on...the food was awesome !there were 5 of us and we all ordered something different so we could taste it !! Good wine good food . Thank You Market Tavern :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stockton Favorite

Dined on March 18, 2016

Once again late dinner and drinks at Market Tavern is the best. From our cocktails to the charcuterie for the table to our main plates all was delicious. Service staff is truly one of the best in town. We were running late so we called, added a person to our table and they were able to accommodate us. This is our favorite spot in Stockton!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Good choice

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food at Market Tavern has nice originality and is high quality. The menu features good salads, fine flatbreads as well as some full entrée selections. We each had a salad and shared a flatbread, plenty of food. The bar is a good place to dine but the dining rooms are pleasant as well. Service was acceptable. All and all a fine meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Fried Chicken

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

I enjoyed the new (to me) menu item of Gluten Free Fried Chicken. It is coated in rice flour which makes a very crispy crust. I enjoyed the chicken and the sides but wanted a starch of some kind to go with it. It comes currently with two vegetables. The fish tacos and the hummus were outstanding. Definitely one of my favorite restaurants in Stockton.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite Stockton restaurant.

Dined on March 13, 2016

I crave the Painted Hills burger and steaks. Love to get the high tables in the bar but all the tables are comfortable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

menu choices VEry interesting!

Dined on March 12, 2016

We will definitely be going back again and again. Brunch choices ver innovative and the ones we have had are yummy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall very good

Dined on March 12, 2016

Would definitely come back. Overall we were very pleased with the food & service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Good value and great service

Dined on March 11, 2016

Good value and great service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ONE OF STOCKTONS BEST RESTURANTS!!

Dined on March 9, 2016

Market Tavern has become a weekly stop for us! Monday nights are our favorite as they have Gluten Free Fried Chicken. We normally get seated in the Bar which allows us to have big or small groups. The Bar setting is very relaxed and the staff/bar tenders are amazing and super knowledgeable! The skirt steak and Moscow Mule with crushed ice are top on our list :) We also brought our whole family (including 4 kids under 6) on Thanksgiving and the environment, food and service were tip notch...we are never cooking Thanksgiving again!! I would highly recommend everyone to stop by and try some amazing food and drinks! Ps. Don't forget to check out the ready made meals and fresh local food in the mini-store up front.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Market Tavern Slipping Some

Dined on March 7, 2016

We had two consecutive weekends at the Market Tavern and I have to say the food is slipping some. In the past, I would have given the restaurant 4 and 5 stars, but I wasn't moved as I have been in the past. The burgers and sandwiches still maintain good form, but the other entrees are just not quite as melt in your mouth as before. Examples include the beef stroganoff, short ribs, and cioppino. The shrimp, langostino and scallops in the ciopinno were tough. If shellfish are plump and juicy, that's a hallmark for me. Not so this time. The beef stroganoff was tougher than I remember in the past, and the short ribs didn't have the same crust and tender meat as before. I felt a little disappointed. Their pizzas are sill excellent, and they have been since they opened. The homemade desserts still please and are easily rich enough to share. Our Saturday reservation was for 8 pm, and Sunday for 7 pm. Their beer selection is extensive, and their wine selection rates wines by price range, giving the consumer many choices at different levels. Service is still good and prompt.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointed this time

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Been here a lot always make reservations on Open Table. This time Market Tavern canceled my reservations because I asked the hostess if I could sit at the bar area instead of the dinning room she said yes never told me they would not honor my Open Table reservation unless I was in the dinning room. I called the manager and he would not change the cancellation, said they use Open Table to track the number of people that are in the dinning room not the bar area. I explained I have never had an issue before my reservations have always been honored in the dinning room or in the bar area and I have provided favorable reviews each time I have been there. I would recommend Market Tavern however this time I was disappointed in management. The fish tacos and house salad and drinks we had were good and the bartender was very pleasant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wish it was better

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

The food was good, but nothing made me moan. The menu didn't have a ton of great sounding items. I don't eat beef or chicken, so my choices were a salad with seafood added, a veggie burger, or a pizza. Not too interesting.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.