Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 1.00mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

About Market Tavern

Market Tavern features farm-fresh ingredients across all menu items from our wood-fired pizzas, all natural pork chops and steak, and signature meatballs.

Our Bar features craft beers on tap and a modern take on classic cocktails using fresh squeezed juices and in-house infused liquors.

The Grab & Go Market offers fresh baked bread, salads and sandwiches, free-range premium meats and select produce, as well as beer and wine for sale.

236 Lincoln Center
Stockton, CA 95207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Pizzeria, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: M - F 11:00am-5:00pm

Sa - Su 10:00am-5:00pm
Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-9:30pm

Dinner: F-Sa 5:0pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Benjamin Holt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 932-8001

Website:
http://www.markettavernstk.com/

Executive Chef:
Nicolas DiArenzo

Private Party Facilities:
We have two Designated areas for Private Dining.
Library Room is for up to 12 people.
Fireplace Room is for up to 40 people.
Please contact us directly to arrange for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Jeff Berretta: (209) 932-8001

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Market Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Special Occasion (27)
Bar Seating (24)
See All
Casual (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Comfort Food (19)
Business Meals (17)
Fun (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Cozy (11)
Romantic (11)
Seasonal (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Healthy (7)
Authentic (6)
Great Beer (6)
Organic (6)
People Watching (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Spicy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
491 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 hours ago

Dirty wine glass, server replaced it after asking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a pleasant meal. Beautifully decorated for holidays.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great time at MT! Food never disappoints and menu changes are refreshing. Great job to both the kitchen and wait staffs!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Took my parents there for an anniversary and they had a great time. Classic foods with a little bit of a twist. On the pricey side but it was worth it

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food ant the service was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2017

I was so excited to come here for Sunday Brunch after enjoying dinner here on numerous occasions. We started out with one of their great bloody mary’s then headed to the table where I got the huevos rancheros. Food was great and service was very efficient! I already plan on coming back next week!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2017

The food at Market Tavern is always satisfying! I enjoy returning to Market Tavern. It is good for a normal dinner out and also for special occasions.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Always great! we always go back and one it all over again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, Organic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2017

My wife and I visited for a Thanksgiving meal. My wife had a grey goose and grapefruit cocktail. Not much grey goose. I had a Lagunitas IPA. TASTED watered down especially for $9.00. My wife had the Turkey dinner. Turkey was dry. I had the NY strip which had a lot of grizzle. Tab was $122.00 before tip. Expected much more for the value.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

Thanksgiving dinner was delicious. We loved that the waiters provided leftover take home bags! It was worth not cooking at home!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fun, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Business Meals, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Nice Thanksgiving meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 23, 2017

The Thanksgiving turkey meal was delicious, and the choice of "Cranberry Spritz" cocktail by our waitress Tannie (SP) was also a perfect treat. There was enough that we even had leftovers to enjoy the next day.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2017

The food was great and the service was exceptional. My wife had the chicken pot pie and I had flat iron steak. Both meals were very tasty. We've eaten at Market Tavern many times, never been disappointed. Our server was a wonderfur young lady named Lindsey. We really enjoyed her and will request her next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 19, 2017

They changed the beet salad to include ricotta cheese and onions. I asked if I could have the beet salad they used to serve with burrata cheese and balsamic vinegar. They were very accommodating!!! It was wonderful. Husband had flank steak and it was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 19, 2017

This a good restaurant. The food and service is very good. I am Vegan and although the server was great in accommodating my food requests, I wish there were more Vegan options on the menu. I ordered the falafel, but could not eat the bread because it contained butter. The made a lettuce wrap instead, which was good, but I really wanted the bread.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Make a reservation to a tasty restaurant today and enjoy the food, libations, and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Excellent braised short ribs - with a small plate option! Quick and courteous service! Great for beef and pork entrees!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Hands down the best plates and drinks that I have had in stockton!!!! Make your reservation

Tags: Fun, Live Sports, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We just love this place! Everything we order was phenomenal! We started out with an Antipasta plate packed full of delicious goodies! It had salami, cheese, nuts, flavorful dips that were a perfect start to a hungry stomach. Next my husband and I split the ceasar dressing and it was very tasty. Next, the entrees: I got the Pork chop with Brussels sprouts and polenta! OMG! So decadent! Loved every bite. My husband got a swordfish special that sounded good until the waitress came up and informed us that they were sold out but that the chef suggested a tuna for an alternative. Both my husband and my friend agreed. Both a their dishes turned out awesome! My husband kept raving about how good his was! Last, dessert, it was my friends birthday and the brought a brownie covered in delicious vanilla bean ice cream with caramel drizzled all over top! Everything was so good! I loved the ambiance, sitting right next to fire, service and food! I’m headed their on Sunday for bloody mary’s And brunch!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Comfortable. Service friendly but, surprisingly, didn't offer to bring a fresh glass of wine or second cocktail.
Moderately loud, couldn't hear person across table from me. Good menu choices, well presented, just a bit less value for the dollar than in comparable restaurants.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Excellent service, delicious food
Thanks for the great dinner

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 11, 2017

As usual, a lively bar scene with lots of energy, great food & fun place

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

My Lasagna taste like burnt rubber and was completely unedible but the margarita pizza was really good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 5, 2017

It was my husband’s birthday and this was the perfect place. He had the NY steak and I had the pork chop. Delicious! And for free bday dessert he chose Elvis Pie which is a new favorite. Really made his day.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Limited menu but great variety from burgers to Mexican, pizza to steaks and seafood. Deserts were great and the service was excellent. Wine list was excellent and paired well with the menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Had s reservation for 7:15. We showed up at 7:05 and didn't get seated until after 7:30...
The music is very very loud, although we got seated in a back room that helped block some of it so we didn't have to shout over dinner, but most of the seating is not like that and would be loud.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Seasonal, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants. Party of three, all very pleased with our meals. I had the best Kurobuta pork chop with peach glaze I've ever eaten. Very dependable, great variety, well trained and friendly employees.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Service was excellent and love the ice water carafe (milk bottle) on the table. The grilled shrimp salad was wonderful. The hamburger was high quality, but the diameter of the bun far exceeds the diameter of the meat patty. Beef garbanzo bean soup of the day was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Food was creative and delicious. We especially enjoyed the appetizers -- the lamb hummus, corned beef tongue tacos, and the Thai brussel sprouts. However the prime rib, rotisserie chicken, beef stroganoff, and scallops with corn nuts were also dynamite. Specialty cocktails are always fun. Service was friendly and attentive. We dined with friends from the Bay Area who were amazed at the high-quality and relatively low-cost of our evening. Only critique is the noise-level (music playing as well as general table chatter), which can make conversation challenging. Might be neat if restaurant reserved the back room for "quieter" dining.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Authentic, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 17, 2017

It had a great atmosphere they recommended great wine the seafood special was seared snapper. Head very great flavors that compliment each other very well when I made the reservation I included that it was a birthday but no one question anything about it that would be the only downfall or area of opportunity

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Good service and good food as usual. Always little changes in the menu makes it interesting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Restaurant is always amazing! We had a great server as well thank you Tana.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This was our third time at the Tavern and they didn't disappoint. It was noisy first, but once the two tables behind us left we could actually hear each other. It was a busy Friday night, and they were celebrating a birthday, so no hard feelings! The waiter was very attentive and informative, and the food delicious. The fish tacos are exceptional, the beef stroganoff dinner and the short rib dinner are perfect comfort food but made with a current flair. We shared the deviled eggs appetizer which was spicy and creamy goodness. A couple at our table got burgers and they were perfectly seasoned and cooked to their liking. We will definitely return!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We were celebrating a Birthday, and the BD person wanted steak...so we said MT!! BD person got the Sat night 9/23/17 Rib Eye special..it was perfect!! We also got Mary's Chicken, Beef Stroganoff, a pizza and a shared spinach salad. Everything was perfect!! Another win for MT!! Thanks so much for being an excellent place to bring friends for a special occasion and leaving a wonderful lasting impression on them!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Wonderful place to pop in for lunch! Had a reservation but we came early and they seated us! Great food and bar plus lovely wait staff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Casual, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Very pleasant atmosphere and the quinoa salad with a kale-bacon pizza are our go to favorites along with a side of mac and cheese. Pair it with a North Coast Scrimshaw pilsner on a hot day and life is good!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

unique menu selections..... and great service, however, the glare in the bar seating at brunch on saturday was not great, and when folks were being seated outside, there was a nasty smoke aroma that wafted into the restaurant area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Being a usual customer of this restaurant I can never go wrong when I’m not in the mood to cook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Waiter was bomb made the experience that much better

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.