Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 32 times today

Market Tavern

4.6
619 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Good for Anniversaries
Market Tavern features farm-fresh ingredients across all menu items from our wood-fired pizzas, all natural pork chops and steak, and signature meatballs.

Our Bar features craft beers on tap and a modern take on classic cocktails using fresh squeezed juices and in-house infused liquors.

The Grab & Go Market offers fresh baked bread, salads and sandwiches, free-range premium meats and select produce, as well as beer and wine for sale.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Pizzeria, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch: M - F 11:00am-5:00pm

Sa - Su 10:00am-5:00pm
Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-9:30pm

Dinner: F-Sa 5:0pm-10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(209) 932-8001
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Nicolas DiArenzo
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We have two Designated areas for Private Dining.
Library Room is for up to 12 people.
Fireplace Room is for up to 40 people.
Please contact us directly to arrange for private dining.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Jeff Berretta: (209) 932-8001
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Benjamin Holt
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 619 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined 4 days ago

Every time this restaurant is busy, they push out the food quickly in what feels like a rush to get you out. For the third time, this happened to us tonight, even with reservations. Our dinner arrived at the same time as the appetizer. Our server didn't bother to ask if we wanted dessert even though she brought the check. So much for a dining experience. At least this time the busboy wasn't taking our plates as we ate like last time. Seriously, at least let us enjoy the food instead of rushing us. Incredibly rude.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We love the chill atmosphere, amazing food with "fancy" menu for the location, great selection of beer and wine and wonderful service. Highly recommended for date night or business dinner as there arent a lot of places in town for that.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 6 days ago

Made reservations 2 MONTHS in advance and when we arrived ON TIME maitre de’ tried to seat us in the less desirable bar area!!! Told him no, there’s a million empty booths available! He then gave the excuse, “ it will be about five minuets to find a waiter for a table “... I’ve dined many times here and have never had such a lousy experience! It’s going to take some time before we come back again...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter Marcos was super, helpful, and gave us plenty of space to have our serious table discussions.
Thanks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Loved it!! Our waiter, a delightful blond woman, was so attentive and helpful. This is a kitchen Stockton better be proud of and support fully. Our food was delicious, fresh and, as always, interesting and innovative. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Quality quality quality. No cut corners here period.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

We loved it, as always. This go around, we had a tremendous wait person who was consistently attentive and helpful throughout the evening, as we always do here. Plus, our food was fresh, delicately prepared and wonderfully tasty. We are already looking for a return visit!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Awesome experience. This is one of the restaurants that buys high end ingredients before it makes it to the super MArcket.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent food, fast service and very nice environment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The customer service was tops! Our waitress ( I believe her name was Linsey ) was very patient, kind, and oh so helpful! The food is awesome I mean BOMB! The minestrone, pizza, and steaks were all-so-good.
We brought our own 2 bottles of wine and 2 Don Pérignon Champagne ($18ea) corkage fee. We all (5) ate like royalty... have I mentioned the service?
We arrived at 8PM and left at 11-PM. mind you they close at 10PM. All that great food,
V. I. P. Service for less then $270 tax & 20% gratuity included.
If you’re ever in Stockton Ca. stop in you will not regret it. Daniel

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Have been here a few times when in town. Food was much better before. Something is missing. Food was just ok, nothing special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Received great service, even with a packed restaurant. Food was excellent, so were the bloody Mary's.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great service and food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Loved it! Found our new weekend hangout spot. Dr Drinks were excellent and food was amazing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Everything was excellent except the noise level. Server = great. Food = great. Just a challenge to hear one another across the table. One person in our party was slightly hard of hearing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Thank you to Market Tavern - great, personalized service - as always!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

The only issue that we had was waiting around for a table with a reservation. We were waiting for over 10 minutes and there was no one else in the waiting area. It seemed a little unneccessary and we almost left. Everything after that was great though! Great way to celebrate a birthday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Nice variety, something for everybody. Everyone in our group enjoyed their lunch and also splurged on sharing a couple of desserts. Yummy!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Been here twice now and it has not disappointed! Worth driving to - went after a show in Stockton - was there too early for the 5pm special - which they could have probably extended to us as a nice service... I guess we could have waited in the bar for another 15 minutes! Food is excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Never a disappointing meal at the Market Tavern. Their Spring Lasagna was outstanding, as was the Caesar Salad. Always love their original and unusual craft cocktails, too. Another member of my party had the halibut special, and he said it was some of the best halibut he's ever had - this from a past commercial fisherman who really, really knows his seafood.

They even provided a delicious (complimentary) dessert to celebrate my Mom's 87th birthday, complete with a candle...

If I lived in the area, I'd be eating here on a regular basis. Always delicious!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

I love this place so much , that while I was in town I went there pretty much every day!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Good food, good service, excellent atmosphere; however, the bill is a little bit pricey.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 30, 2018

very good food, receptionist was alert, happy to see us, she presented well. Wait staff did well too. One of the 'bus-boys' (served us water) appeared to be in a bad mood.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The food was not good for the cost. $33 salmon and $20 lasagna, please. We had to send the salmon back, because it was raw. Not much flavor. Service was okay.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Great food, excellent wine selection, superb service. Wish I had one like this near my home.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

My only disappointment was the bone marrow. Minimal marrow, about two tablespoons between the two bones for $19 was not worth it. Otherwise a solid meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

I happened to go onto IG and came across a post of a pig's head staring right at me with a caption Sisig for brunch. I was surprised/excited to have seen a Filipino dish being served at a non Filipino restaurant, I sent the post to my sister who lives in Oakland since she was already heading into town for our family party and we made it in just in time. Luckily there was enough Sisig for 2 orders and it didn't disappoint. The over easy egg on top of the Sisig added a creaminess to the dish. The pork was cooked to perfection, lightly crisped and tender at the same time served with a side of garlic fried rice that hit all the flavor notes. The Sisig was flavorful but could possibly have had a little more sourness and a little bit of heat from what we call sili (chili pepper). Thank you to the chef/owner for elevating a traditional Filipino dish Sisig-Si-Log. We also ordered the Ricotta pancakes and that was amazing as well, loved that it was topped with candied lemon zest. I had the Lavender Fields cocktail and it was perfectly balanced with vodka and champagne, the lavender was very subtle not too overwhelming, very refreshing. I loved the sprig of lavender as the garnish in my drink. My sister had the Black Panther and it was an amazing cocktail. I wanted to take a sip to try it and ended up taking 3 sips instead. Customer service was excellent, we had the pleasure of having met the Executive Chef's/owner's wife who took the time to come out and talk to my sister & I. It was a very personable dining experience for sure.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Nice ambience and very friendly server, but for the prices I was expecting something delicious. The skirt steak was overcooked, the asparagus was mushy and greasy, and the short ribs were drowned in some kind of sauce that was heavy and didn’t compliment the meat. Maybe other dishes are better, but for the money I can do better food-wise.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We celebrated a birthday! We had reservations and were seated fairly promptly. We were greeted with water and and then our served arrived to take our drink orders. She was attentive and returned with drinks and took our order. I had a glass of wine which was very good. We split a Caesar salad and the salad was promptly delivered already split by the kitchen staff. I had a skirt steak med-rare and it arrived perfectly cooked. My partner had braised short ribs and they were delicious. We enjoyed bread pudding for dessert and it was excellent. Everything was great except the music. It was too loud for my taste and seemed more appropriate for the bar than for the restaurant. Other than that it was a great dining experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

The food and service were both excellent as usual. However, we were seated in the bar and the music was way too loud - hard to even have a conversation!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

The restaurant has a very nice ambience. The menu is very impressive and they make a great pizza. We will definitely return. I think their $18 corkage is way too high. And our server, although very nice, was not very attentive. I had to go find her 2 times.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

My wife and I love having brunch there. Our dining experience has always been excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Fabulous as usual, I had th chiliqualies and my husband had the special market tavern omelet. Both delicious and somwell prepared. We love this place, food fantastic, and wait staff knows th product to explain it. A little noisy bit worth for an excellent meal! We come about once a month or more, and enjoy it more every time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The polenta with the short ribs was delicious! Our server was great too! Sorry I can't remember her name.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great service. Food always good. Recommended

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great food good service. I will definitely be returning soon! Great anniversary dinner and it was beyond delicious. I had fish tacos and husband had stroganoff ; both were divine. Handcrafted sodas were a unique but tasteful twist for non drinkers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

This is one of the best restaurants I’ve ever been to I hope the owner continues to make a lot of money with this restaurant and it continues to stay open forever ! The food is outstanding, fresh and unique it is a relaxing atmosphere that’s fit for all occasions

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Rack of lamb looked good but was tough and tasteless

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

As always, food is consistent, flavorful and very fresh. We were treating out of town business guests who also seemed very pleased. This is one of my favorite kitchens in the SJ Valley.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

A review doesn't do the place justice. It's simply one of the best - if not the best - restaurants in the Central Valley. Literally everything on the menu is worth ordering especially the donuts. You MUST order the donuts!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16