About Market Tavern

236 Lincoln Center
Stockton, CA 95207
View Larger Map

Market Tavern features farm-fresh ingredients across all menu items from our wood-fired pizzas, all natural pork chops and steak, and signature meatballs. Our Bar features craft beers on tap and a modern take on classic cocktails using fresh squeezed juices and in-house infused liquors. The Grab & Go Market offers fresh baked bread, salads and sandwiches, free-range premium meats and select produce, as well as beer and wine for sale.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Pizzeria, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: M - F 11:00am-5:00pm
Sa - Su 10:00am-5:00pm Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-9:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 5:0pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Benjamin Holt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 932-8001

Executive Chef:
Nicolas DiArenzo

Private Party Facilities:
We have two Designated areas for Private Dining. Library Room is for up to 12 people. Fireplace Room is for up to 40 people. Please contact us directly to arrange for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Jeff Berretta: (209) 932-8001

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Market Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Special Occasion (21)
Good for Groups (20)
See All
Bar Seating (20)
Casual (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Business Meals (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Wood Oven (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Fun (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Private Room (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Romantic (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Cozy (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Great Beer (9)
Authentic (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fireplace (8)
People Watching (8)
Healthy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Live Sports (5)
Seasonal (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Organic (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've had lunch/dinner here before and re ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined a day ago

I've had lunch/dinner here before and really love the food and the atmosphere here. A friend was visiting and I invited her here since she hasn't been here. Upon arrival she immediately said she loved the atmosphere. The food here is always amazing! I got the pork chop dish and she got a beef dish. She raved about how tender the beef was and how the whole dish was so delicious. The pork chop was amazing as well. Wish we would have had dessert but we were stuffed. Will definitely be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a good meal at Market Tavern. Se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a good meal at Market Tavern. Service was excellent. We ended up with an extra person in our party and they easily accommodated us. Our guests were there for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed the meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Laurel provided wonderful service! The f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Laurel provided wonderful service! The food was wonderful and well priced. Our only complaint is that the music is loud for lunch time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was pretty good. My two ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service was pretty good. My two complaints are, 1- they brought a water cup that was half empty and clearly someone had drunk out of it, 2- I ordered a glass of wine and the glass was clearly very dirty.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

So much fun! Down to a person, was gree ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

So much fun! Down to a person, was greeted by anyone who worked there. Showed awareness and the importance of reaching out to provide a great first impression. Food was great. Tanya was our server. Can't wait to return. Great ice tea also. Super friendly. Evident teamwork across the board. And no patron in my view was on the cell phone during dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, People Watching, Modern Decor, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One the top places to dine in San Joaqui ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 12, 2017

One the top places to dine in San Joaquin County. Great service, unique drink menu and excellent ambiance!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

busy place, they kept up with our table, ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 10, 2017

busy place, they kept up with our table, and didn't slack even though they were packed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed eating at the Tavern Market, in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Enjoyed eating at the Tavern Market, interesting menu. Server, Brien was great and we had special input regarding donuts from Julia, we all ordered them to go. Thanks to Julia we all enjoyed homemade donuts, and they were very good. Great time.

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always have a great time here....food is ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always have a great time here....food is awesome, drinks are killer. The atmosphere is always chill and the wait staff are friendly and very attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great meal. Our favorite place ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always a great meal. Our favorite place to dine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

i love this restaurant. we eat here mor ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

i love this restaurant. we eat here more than anywhere else in Stockton. but, I was very disappointed in the four cheese lasagna this night. it came out cold and then I sent it back and when it returned, it was just warm and not hot as it should have been. very disappointed,. But, my husband loved his steak and our two friends loved the short ribs and polenta.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A great place for New Years Eve dinner. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A great place for New Years Eve dinner. The atmosphere is lively and fun, but not so much as to distract from your dinner. The food was great and our server was even better (I think her name was Rosalee).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Even with a reservation, we were seated ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Even with a reservation, we were seated in the bar, directly under speakers. We asked to be moved, and we got a table, in the bar, directly across from a door which goes outside--lots of cold air. Music was loud, patrons were loud, and bar tenders literally threw the empty bottles into the garbage. I was not impressed. Reservation means restaurant, NOT THE BAR! Food was good, service was good, but for $70 for dinner for two, I expect more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Market Tavern accommodated us even thoug ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Market Tavern accommodated us even though Open Table failed to send me a confirmation number. I don't understand what happened on your end but greatly appreciate Market Tavern accommodating us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was delicious...the server was ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our meal was delicious...the server was friendly...always a great meal

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Eve dinner

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are regulars at Market Tavern. The fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We are regulars at Market Tavern. The food is consistently good to great, very fresh, and the service prompt. We went for Christmas Eve with a reservation and had to wait a bit because they at first wanted to seat us in the bar. I really dislike bar seating, especially when there are numerous TVs going and you can't hear yourself think. Fortunately, they seated us in the back near the fire. Our server didn't notice us at first but she made up for it with very friendly and attentive service throughout the meal. It was quite busy for the holiday and the staff did a very good job considering the rush.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Christmas Eve tradition at Market Tavern ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve tradition at Market Tavern went very well. It was festive and our meal was delicious: white bean/chicken soup, short ribs, pork chops, and Meyer lemon meringue pie. It was suggested I try 'The Nog' which was the perfect festive drink. The serving team were friendly and helpful...It was a great Christmas Eve!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Cozy, Private Room, Business Meals, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

After making a reservation ahead of time ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

After making a reservation ahead of time, I was extremely disappointed that we were seated in the bar area. We had people bumping into us, there was yelling and screaming from the bar, the noice level was so high we could barely have a conversation and the "chair" my friend had to sit on was a bar stool, with no back! This is not appropriate seating for people wanting to have a nice dining experience. Especially when we took the time to make reservations ahead of time. Those wanting to simply have dinner, should be seated in the "dining room," NOT the bar. This was a VERY disappointing experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

The food is consistently excellent. We a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food is consistently excellent. We are never disappointed. The staff is always friendly and helpful. It's our favorite restaurant!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service from hosting to server. Food was ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Service from hosting to server. Food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Market Tavern is one of the best that St ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Market Tavern is one of the best that Stockton has to offer. The food is always fresh and full of flavor. There are always menu staples but also seasonal offerings that a pleasure to the palette. The bar menu is extensive and full of local selections. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Whenever our family and friends go to Market Tavern, we know we can expect an all around quality experience. Whenever we have visitors, we know we can rely on Market Tavern to help showcase the best of Stockton.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate my mother-in-law an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We went to celebrate my mother-in-law and daughter's birthday. We got a nice cozy private room with great service. Loved the pizzas there. My daughter absolutly loved her kids menu order.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Private Room, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleased with our experience at the ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very pleased with our experience at the Market Tavern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Seven thirty reservation; table didn't m ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Seven thirty reservation; table didn't materialize until 8. I understand people don't always leave promptly but really, a 30 minute wait on a weekday is a little much. Once seated, service was great, food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Excellent service, seated without any de ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Excellent service, seated without any delay per my reservation, full bar, nice selection of entrees and pizza, ambience too

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in area. Delicious simpl ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Best restaurant in area. Delicious simple menu with all of the classics. You can definitely tell that they put a lot of effort and care into their food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Loved the food and the service was fanta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Loved the food and the service was fantastic. We felt so welcomed! The only complaint - the music level was quiet loud, especially for a Sunday afternoon.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Organic, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Outstanding burger and great steak! Try ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Outstanding burger and great steak! Try the egg appetizer!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Had the hamburger and it was amazing!! ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Had the hamburger and it was amazing!! It was lunch and I had the burger without a bun and added blue cheese. Delicious!! Great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a great place for a date! Great se ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Such a great place for a date! Great seasonal menu and wonderful hand crafted cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Thanksgiving Menu here at Market Tav ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The Thanksgiving Menu here at Market Tavern was soooo delicious, the service was awesome and the ambiance is just so relaxing and romantic!! ❤️👌🏼🙌🏼 Yes, definitely on the upper end of the scale! But the price is just right!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanksgiving dinner. Felt a bit rushed. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner. Felt a bit rushed. Food was warm but not warm enough. Not the usual personal attention we are used to from this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our family of four has celebrated the Th ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our family of four has celebrated the Thanksgiving holiday at Market Tavern for two years now. Both times, everything was fresh and delicious--especially the stuffing, which was full of delightful surprises, like mushrooms and walnuts. The service is friendly and attentive. We have decided that Thanksgiving at Market Tavern will be our tradition from now on.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

For our annual Thanksgiving celebrations ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

For our annual Thanksgiving celebrations my husband and I were delighted with the delicious 3-course Turkey meal. The squash soup with apple bits was tasty, light and dark turkey was moist, mushroom stuffing flavorful, the yams just the way I like it, and the pumpkin pie was the perfect end. We had a very friendly server, Celeste, who made sure we were enjoying our time. And the extra leftovers? What a surprise! It made for wonderful turkey sandwiches the next day. We've already made reservations for Christmas Eve! HO! HO! HO!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Private Room, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We got there at 7:15, because parking is ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We got there at 7:15, because parking is so limited with the other restaurants near by. Reservations at 7:30. Was told that the people were finished but still sitting at our table. Best tip, dont make reservations. They seem to value the walk ins while we waited 45 minutes. Had to remind the hosts that we were waiting. They seem to enjoy talking with each other than notifying us how long we had to wait. Even had the same host ask us if we had a reservation after waiting a half an hour! 3 times i had to tell them i had a reservation. Another 20 mins to get served salad for just me and husband. Another 20 mins for only two meals while the other couple waited 40 mins for burgers that were dry. My husband skirt steak was suppose to be med rare, it was on one side but well on the other side. We haven't had servive this bad for a long time. Only thing i can say positive about this place, bottle of wine was reasonable and i enjoyed my pizza but it very oily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Wow! What a great find! We had tickets ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wow! What a great find! We had tickets to see The Beach Boys at the Bob Hope Theatre in Stockton and wanted to do dinner first. Had never been to this restaurant, but we were both blown away: Fantastic, friendly service; great cocktail menu; amazing dinner menu. Everything was just perfect.

While I don't live in the Stockton area, I'd gladly go back to this amazing restaurant! I HIGHLY recommend!

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Great Beer, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Private Room, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a reservation at 7:15. Got to the re ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had a reservation at 7:15. Got to the restaurant at 7. Said they would seat us right away, but after waiting 1/2hr I went to follow up. I think they forgot about us!! People there without a reservation that arrived after us had already been seated. Disappointed with the hostesses. But dinner & drinks were amazing!! Will go again for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Wonderful wait staff - amazing food! Th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Wonderful wait staff - amazing food! The dessert was divine- we had he Carmel brownie and maple doughnuts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

MT always seems to deliver a great dinin ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 30, 2016

MT always seems to deliver a great dining experience. From the top notch bar offerings to the menu that changes just enough to be relevant and fresh. Ambiance can be whatever you like; high energy in the bar area, great view of the kitchen from the main dining, or tuck away in the library or back room for an intimate meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.