About Market Tavern

236 Lincoln Center
Stockton, CA 95207
View Larger Map

Market Tavern features farm-fresh ingredients across all menu items from our wood-fired pizzas, all natural pork chops and steak, and signature meatballs. Our Bar features craft beers on tap and a modern take on classic cocktails using fresh squeezed juices and in-house infused liquors. The Grab & Go Market offers fresh baked bread, salads and sandwiches, free-range premium meats and select produce, as well as beer and wine for sale.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Pizzeria, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: M - F 11:00am-5:00pm
Sa - Su 10:00am-5:00pm Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-9:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 5:0pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Benjamin Holt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 932-8001

Executive Chef:
Nicolas DiArenzo

Private Party Facilities:
We have two Designated areas for Private Dining. Library Room is for up to 12 people. Fireplace Room is for up to 40 people. Please contact us directly to arrange for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Jeff Berretta: 2099328001

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Market Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Stockton
Best Restaurants in Stockton ›

Neighborhood Gem (35)
Great for Lunch (28)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Good for Groups (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Great for Brunch (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Romantic (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Cozy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fireplace (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (2)
Business Meals (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Authentic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
275 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Market Tavern is one of our go-to restau ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

Market Tavern is one of our go-to restaurants in Stockton. What I like best is the variety on the menu, so that people in our party can order anything from small plates to a full dinner. The pizzas are fantastic--thin crust with some wonderful variety for toppings. I'd recommend Market Tavern to a visitor to Stockton or to someone visiting for the first time.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is always good. The service an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food is always good. The service and ambiance in the back room were a little bit "off." Some candles or softer lighting and maybe one more server might have helped. But everyone was lovely and the food did not disappoint.

Tags: Wood Oven, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Disappointing...had heard from friends i ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Disappointing...had heard from friends it was a good restaurant. The price point was high; food nothing special; booth was crowded for four adults; limited table space; waitress pleasant but very busy; will try again!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Cozy, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

My wife has lasagna which was very good ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My wife has lasagna which was very good and I had the skirt steak which was very good at a good price.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very noisy and service was slow but the ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Very noisy and service was slow but the pizza was worth it!

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Have eaten here several times and enjoye ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Have eaten here several times and enjoyed every visit. Very friendly service and a varied menu that has something for everyone.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really great for Stockton to have places ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Really great for Stockton to have places nice and fresh like this. Nice well thought out design of place, super cute.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always wonderful. Tried the lasagna - fo ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Always wonderful. Tried the lasagna - four cheese - OMG!!! Fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time at Market Tavern! Great ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Had a great time at Market Tavern! Great cocktails and wonderful entrees. We will be back!

Tags: Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great as usual! Only complaint ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Food was great as usual! Only complaint was after our bill came, we sat for a bit to chat and never saw our server again. No drink refills or attention at all. Felt like we were being pushed out. Lovely atmosphere and we wanted to just sit for a bit longer.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We eat here weekly and food was great as ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We eat here weekly and food was great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The service was outstanding and the food ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The service was outstanding and the food delicious. It's a must try while in Stockton.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

When you HAVE to be in Stockton this res ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

When you HAVE to be in Stockton this restaurant would be a great choice. Every time I come "home" I am depressed and disappointed. I don't ever expect much but thought it was worth a try. And I was right. Had a fig "flatbread " that was actually pizza but had good flavor and was huge. Short ribs just melted in my mouth served with a great sauce and smooth polenta. I even found a decent wine that was not from Lodi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Fabulous cuts of beef and delicious lasa ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fabulous cuts of beef and delicious lasagna and rigatoni dishes!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice. Food was great. Painted Hil ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very nice. Food was great. Painted Hills All-Natural Beef was excellent. We had a NY steak, strip steak, and braised short ribs. All were outstanding. I am from out-of-town, but I will return often as I visit relatives.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We love dining at the Market Tavern. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We love dining at the Market Tavern. The food, ambience, and the wait staff make for a delicious and consistently high quality dining experience, especially in Stockton. What a find for us and we ate there 3 nights in a row, including their Monday night fried chicken special, 10 pieces of rice floured, crispy yummy chicken. Enough for both my husband and myself and we took a lot home as well. Still good cold the next day for lunch! The sides are also spectacular with unusual combinations that work, like the corn with jalapeno and bacon. Everything is made from scratch, with local, in season produce and the wait staff are friendly as well as efficient. Next door you can purchase their home made breads and ready to eat entrees to just heat up at home. Coming from the Bay Area, in Stockton, the Market Tavern is our favorite go to restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Two couples, no special occasion. We lo ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Two couples, no special occasion.

We love Market Tavern, we've always had great service, great food. Perhaps this was a new server....wasn't real busy. Disappointed with the service but the food was great! Our food took longer than usual to arrive. We asked for bread twice. She did not offer refills, we had water. I think she did ask the guys if they'd like another beer. My husband and I are both good tippers.....I grabbed the bill...I tipped $15 on a $123 bill. We routinely tip 25-35% easily. Service....with a smile is a HUGE deal to me. My husband would rather have no smile and quick food! We got neither the smile nor the quick food.

Overall.....we love Market Tavern. Yes, we'll be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Really good food at a reasonable price. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Really good food at a reasonable price. Had a burger and a shrimp louie salad. They hit the spot!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The special ravioli was delicious and be ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The special ravioli was delicious and beautiful to look at. This would be a great place to bring someone you wanted to impress!!! Service was also attentive. We went early, seating was easy; no idea what it would be like after 6pm. Lovely bathrooms too. Nice, fun place to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

With every visit I discover new items an ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

With every visit I discover new items and drinks that are exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting speciality drinks. Had a spi ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Interesting speciality drinks. Had a spicy margarita that was wonderful . Loved the person who served us. Knowledgable about the wine list and food. Had the Summer lasagna and it was great. Done differently. Almost a crepe style. VERY GOOD! Will be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, very, very good! I would defin ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Overall, very, very good! I would definitely recommend The Market Tavern!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Always great food in an upbeat atmospher ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Always great food in an upbeat atmosphere. Needed time to catch up with friends. No one rushed us. Fun place in Stockton

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great to take family or just go on for a ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great to take family or just go on for a cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was attentive and friendly; th ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The staff was attentive and friendly; they did not rush their customers. The food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Our server did a great job catering to t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our server did a great job catering to the different tastes of the table with spot on cocktail and meal recommendations. I wish I remembered his name to give him the props he deserves.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I love Market Tavern! The menu is so int ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I love Market Tavern! The menu is so interesting and varies from time

To time. I love the ambience and the open kitchen from which waft the most amazing smells.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Wonderful lunch, the food was fresh and ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wonderful lunch, the food was fresh and a wonderful lunch, the food was fresh and delightful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only one negative. Of our group of four, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Only one negative. Of our group of four, one person asked for skirt steak medium well and was served medium rare-to rate. All other dishes were as requested.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We were passing through Stockton and so ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were passing through Stockton and so pleasantly surprised to find Market Tavern. The food was fresh, made from local and sustainable sources and delicious. Also the staff were friendly and professional. Great dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and a changing menu...our ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent food and a changing menu...our server was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good local restaurant with upscale marke ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good local restaurant with upscale market attached. Really enjoyed the quinoa and poached egg brunch dish, and the fish tacos were also excellent. A bit noisy (energetic) so it may be hard to have an intimate conversation, but definitely worth a visit

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food average. Portions small. Prices hig ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food average. Portions small. Prices high. Great service!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointing. The skirt steak & mash w ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Disappointing. The skirt steak & mash were too salty, even for me! The special fried cod and undergrowth? the undergrowth was tasty, but the fish fillets were too thin and overcooked; certainly not worth $18!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Market Bar is our go-to restaurant in th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Market Bar is our go-to restaurant in the area. Food quality and service is consistent and always delicious. Love the bistro feel inside. Outside seating is large enough for great people watching along the Embarcadero.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service. Cesar salad and wild ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent service. Cesar salad and wild mushroom pizza were great, beef stroganoff and chicken sandwich were good.

We sat in the bar area which was loud. I would have preferred the dining room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always good food. Wonderful menu

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Always good food. Wonderful menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Awesome, as always. We brought guests fr ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Awesome, as always. We brought guests from SF who are foodies. Everything earned rave reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Becoming a favorite

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We've stopped here a few times now when in Stockton and it has been very good each time. Have had lunch and dinner and have not been disappointed. Service has been friendly and quick. Had a variety of dishes with a group this time and everyone was happy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered pizza thin crust

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We ordered pizza thin crust

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.