About Market Table - The Alexander

333 South Delaware Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Our Market Table approach will forever change the way you think about the typical buffet experience by forging a direct bond between you and our culinary team. A state-of-the-art open kitchen puts you face-to-face with chefs preparing customized dishes from fresh produce, locally-raised meats and specialty items. With menus that change from season to season, our team is able to explore a wide range of innovative and tasty flavor combinations

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 10:00am
Breakfast: Saturday 7:00am-11:00am
Breakfast: Sunday: 7:00am-10:00am


Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 1:00pm

Cross Street:
Delaware St and South St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 624-8222

Website:
http://thealexander.com/

Parking Details:
A number of parking options are available to you. On-street, metered parking is located south of the restaurant along South Street; an hourly parking garage is located north of Market Table at 301 South Delaware Street; and valet parking is offered in front of the Hotel at 333 South Delaware Street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Martindale

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch

Market Table - The Alexander Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

great for brunch (4)
great for lunch (1)
fit for foodies (1)
See All
good for groups (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
romantic (1)
scenic view (1)
special occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5

Good service and nice breakfast spot.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Good service and nice breakfast spot.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

We dined for Easter brunch. Excellent fresh selection of a variety of foods. This is an excellent spot if you have a group with different food preferences. We had 2 vegetarians in our group, one also who is GF. There was a great variety for both the vegetarians and carnivores!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Disappointing return

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

We have eaten at Market Table on several previous occasions and always enjoyed the meal. Our kids wanted to go back, so we made reservations this past Sunday. The breakfast buffet foods were cold and certainly not worth the cost of the meal. We will not be returning nor recommending Market Table to friends (which we have done repeatedly in the past). I do want to note that the service was very good and attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff Breakfast

Dined on January 5, 2016

We had a great experience at Market Table. There were seven of us meeting for breakfast before a staff retreat. Nice variety of options to meet all food types. Great variety, looked amazing - tasted even better! More than the food, the staff was delightful. I had great conversations (about the food and just life in general) with each person I encountered - from the host staff to my waiter to those behind the line.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Third year in a row and likely our last NYD brunch

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Well, this as a family tradition may have seen its last installment. We have enjoyed brunch the prior two years, as a family, on New Years Day, but this year was a resounding disappointment. The saving grace was that the service, as in years past, was great. The food selection compared to the prior years was significantly less. I hope that for their sake, they can figure out how to return to where they once were, in terms of the food execution.

food5
ambience5
service5

Happy Thanksgiving!

Dined on November 26, 2015

The Thanksgiving Dinner buffet my family ha at the Market Table at The Alexander Hotel was fabulous! The food was so decision ... from roast pumpkin gnocchi, seafood paella, saffron risotto, cider brined turkey, stuffing, lamb shoulder, smoked short ribs, duck confit, stupid sea bass, vegetable lasagna, roasted sweet potatoes, smoked gouda mashed potatoes with horseradish to sorbets, carrot and chocolate cakes and pumpkin pie! Our server Lucia was wonderful. It was not overly crowded and we spent quality time eating and enjoying the day. A blessing on Thanksgiving!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4

Decent food

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

The food was cold when we got there (about 1 hour before closing). Selection is decent but extremely mediocre considering the price. The service was great. Oh, and yeah, the grapefruit juice and all the ice-cream tastes really good. They need to work on the food itself. No one wants a cold brunch.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place.

Dined on October 25, 2015

We have always been vey pleased with the food and service at the Market Table.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
food2
ambience3
service3

The food was cold. The selection was not ...

Dined on October 11, 2015

The food was cold. The selection was not good for the price we paid.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Mucho Market Table

Dined on September 20, 2015

Market table was an awesome place for Sunday brunch. There was so much to choose from. The restaurant was quiet and the service was great. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3

on line reservation

Dined on August 9, 2015

We could not call and make a reservation. The message said call back during business hours no matter what time we called. When the reservation was made on line it would allow a reservation at 10:00 am like we wanted so we made it for 11:00am when we arrived at 11:00am the restaurant was all most empty.The on line system should have allowed 10:00am.Trying to make a reservation is useless.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience3
service4

Mothers Day 2015

vip
Dined on May 10, 2015

The food was great and the service very good, the only thing I was - I really wish they didn't have a table where they put us. We would have waited for a table elsewhere in the dining room. Our table seemed to be part of a table group that wasn't needed so they scattered them. Our's was right next to a drink station and the wait staff had to single file behind us throughout the meal. They were trying to optimize the dining room for the day...this table was not well placed. We felt like we were in everyone's way all through the meal. We want to go back and try it again...but not on a special day like Mothers Day.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Great atmosphere for Mother's Day brunch!!!

vip
Dined on May 10, 2015

After 20 years of motherhood, I thought I'd learned to avoid Mother's Day brunches. However, this was a fantastic experience! The food was very tasty and interesting, and many items were filling but lightly prepared. For example, the soup was a seafood base, but the herbs and light broth were delicious. This brunch was not loaded with lots of fillers, and only a few stars. Everything was very good! The desserts featured lots of individual servings, and the gelato bar was a great enhancement!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service3

Holidays Modify Experiences

vip
Dined on May 10, 2015

Great food, great location, but it is Mother's Day. So a potentially wonderful experience becomes marginal as the number of tables are doubled, lines become constant and noise levels increase. Buffets on holidays can be a bust. I think this is a great place for food. Try it on a non holiday.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Good Experience

Dined on May 10, 2015

Our family went there for our Mother's Day celebration. We were immediately greeted and seated. Lovely atmosphere and prompt, courteous service. Food was attractively displayed and very tasty. Overall, a very good experience and we would return.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Easter Brunch

Dined on April 5, 2015

Our Easter brunch experience @ Market Table capped off our NCAA weekend nicely. Loved the cheese tray on the salad bar.Mussel bar was a nice touch and we found several excellent desserts. Ambience was perfect and made Easter away from home enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Great but not as great as it used to be...

Dined on April 5, 2015

My wife and I love Market Table. We discovered last year when we went there for a Mothers Day brunch. Our favorite part was the pasta bar. It was pricey but worth it. We went back a few months later and were a bit disapointed when they didnt have the pasta bar open. We asked the waiter about it and were told that the pasta bar was only for special occasions and they charge a lower price ($24.95 vs $34.95) when they dont have it set up. That made sense to us. We went back this past Sun for Easter brunc and were really looking forward to the pasta bar. We were disapointed to get there and find that there was no pasta bar. We were even more disapointed when our bill came and it was $34.95 per person. Don't get me wrong, the food is excellent and there are plenty of choices (egg and omelet bar, carving station, gelato station) but we didnt like paying the higher "holiday" price without getting the full experience, particularly since that was our favorite part! I still give it 4 stars, but they are gonna have to bring back that pasta bar to get that fifth star!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

yummy buffett

Dined on February 14, 2015

The grapefruit juice was amazing. The food was tasty indeed and I liked the glass bottle of delicious water they leave at your table.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5

Good selection at this buffet and great service.

Dined on January 18, 2015

The food options where plentiful and the service was top notch. Detail was placed in the layout of this beautiful eatery.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4

Great place for brunch and great spread.

Dined on January 4, 2015

Nice environment and excellent beef brisket!! Cost is $25 includes drink/coffee.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4

We like the Market Table for convenience ...

Dined on January 4, 2015

We like the Market Table for convenience for gatherings before our home Colts games. We usually have a small regular group that meets and it's very good for that in the private dining room. It is a bit pricey this year compared to last or other places. The food is decent and sometimes better some weeks that others.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service5

Service was great

Dined on December 6, 2014

Our server Angela was amazing! The food was good, even if it seems that the brunch prices have jumped a bit. It was still worth every cent....very good selection.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4

Thanksgiving 2014

Dined on November 27, 2014

We had a great meal. The menu was really special and the food was well prepared and very tasty. We felt the meal was good value and we will definitely return for a meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food choices and quality with ...

Dined on November 27, 2014

Excellent food choices and quality with both tranditional Thanksgiving and an array of additional choices

food3
ambience4
service5

superficial beauty

Dined on November 23, 2014

very sleek & modern building and furnishings but lacking on basics like fresh eggs, trained line cooks,( picked at ear wax and used same hand to pick up food), (declined to cook up some fresh pancakes when 2 cold ones still unused), dried out cheese board , sweet roll cold and dry- the wait staff was very responsive and sweet. We will not return for brunch, dinner may be better.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

The Market Table...Superior

Dined on November 23, 2014

The Market Table is a gem in Indianapolis. We love taking out of town guests to brunch there, if the opportunity exists. The chefs are terrific; the wait staff very strong. The food is excellent. As a vegetarian, my choices are usually limited. Not so at The Market Table. And for my meat-eating family and friends, it has excellent food and a wide variety of options for everyone. +++

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Above and beyone

Dined on October 19, 2014

The service at Market Table is wonderful, very nice helpful

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service5

Disappointing!

vip
Dined on October 5, 2014

Although the food was good and the service of our waiteress excellent - the fact that the bloody mary was nothing but cocktail sauce was very disappointing. Stopped prior to a Colts game and looking forward to a good bloody mary, even asked for a cup of ice to try and make it drinkable but the "sauce" just sat on top of the ice! Waitress was embarrassed and said they woudn't let her take them off the bill because we took a drink. What??? Of course we took a drink, we had to try it? I would have rated this Outstanding overall in every aspect but the bloody mary issue was ridiculous. Not looking for a free drink but at least one I CAN DRINK!!!! Might as well have gotten some shrimp to dip in my sauce "drink"!

food5
ambience4
service5

Bloody Mary

Dined on October 5, 2014

The chef has prepared a NASTY bloody mary with clam juice. My friend kept asking for a BLOODY MARY and every time Marco would bring our this NASTY tasting bloody mary with clam juice. Finally after I found Ryan he prepared a real bloody mary for my friend, then she ordered another bloody mary and AGAIN she got another nasty drink, she was upset as we were eating and drinking before the Colts game. This is the first time we have encountered this and if it happens again we will go somewhere else to eat before the Colts games.....

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience3
service5

NICE SUNDAY BRUNCH

Dined on September 21, 2014

WE WERE CELEBRATING TWO BIRTHDAYS AND MADE RESERVATIONS FOR 11 ON A SUNDAY FOR BRUNCH. WE WERE GREETED AND SEATED RIGHT AWAY. VERY NICE ROOM. AWESOME SERVER. TWO HAPPY BIRTHDAY SIGNS ON CHALKBOARDS AT THE TABLE. NICE THOUGHT. NICELY PRESENTED COLD FRUITS, BUT SEEMED LIKE THEY HAD BEEN OUT A WHILE. NO SALAD SECTION? PEEL AND EAT SHRIMP? MADE TO ORDER FRENCH TOAST AND OMELETS WERE ENJOYED. NATURAL BACON AND CHICKEN SAUSAGE WAS A NICE TOUCH! THE BRISKET WAS OUT OF THIS WORLD AS WAS THE GARLIC BOW TIE PASTA. MY OBSERVATION OF THE FOOD STATION WAS THAT THERE WAS A LOT OF PLACES THAT LOOKED LIKE THEY SHOULD HAVE BEEN OPERATING, BUT NOTHING WAS GOING ON. MAYBE FOR BIGGER EVENTS? VERY NICE SELECTION OF GELATO AND DESSERTS.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

$$$$$$$$

Dined on September 6, 2014

Too expensive for breakfast! $17.95 for breakfast buffet! Come on!

food4
ambience4
service4

Finally there!

vip
Dined on August 24, 2014

I've left some lukewarm reviews in the past--generally along the lines of good food, but terrible service. I wonder if Yolk moving in next door made them step up their game? Much better now. Prompt service with (chilled) water carafe almost immediately after seating. More attention to detail. I think the price has gone up, too, but now this is a high end brunch experience. Want to know a good sign? Indy's chef darling Neil Brown was dining two tables over!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing

vip
Dined on July 29, 2014

Amazing food and service. Will definitely be back the next time I'm in Indianapolis.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Always amazing!

vip
Dined on July 20, 2014

The food, the service, and the ambiance were amazing as always. Not only did we get a great meal, they also had some special treats for out anniversary. This is the beard overall breakfast/brunch axe in the city hands down!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1

Left sad

vip
Dined on July 20, 2014

We had heard mixed reviews, well I def won't be back. $24++ for a buffet requires a certain level and expectation. The only thing worth recognizing was the chorizo biscuits and gravy. Service was lacking sorry Market Table. my first negative review.

food3
ambience3
service5

Average

Dined on July 13, 2014

I've been to a lot of hotel buffets so I would say this is average. I keep going back, hoping it will be better - but nah. I don't know why this place is rated so high.

Tags: kid-friendly
food3
ambience4
service4

Good Service

Dined on July 6, 2014

Appreciated the service from the hostess, waiter, and food service staff. Prepared foods as requested on the omelette bar/ french toast good. However, limited offerings on the brunch buffet for the money. 2 fruit trays were empty, pancakes were dry, I asked for rare on the top round and was served medium. Disappointed that bisquits and gravy were even on the buffet. Gelato was great. But, not sure if we will return.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service3

What happened to the food?

vip
Dined on June 22, 2014

The brunch buffet which was not clearly visible from our table was shut down at 1 pm with no warning - am saying that so other brunch clientele won't be shocked if the cupboard is bare when they return for dessert, etc. The food is too good to miss!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, staff, atmosphere; all excellent! ...

Dined on June 22, 2014

Food, staff, atmosphere; all excellent! We were riding the Handlebar Experience just across the street with a group of 16. GREAT place to meet prior for brunch, lunch, drinks etc. Will definitely recommend!

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience3
service4

We were disappointed in the quality of t ...

Dined on June 21, 2014

We were disappointed in the quality of the food. The food in the warming trays wasn't warm enough. French toast was hard as well as cold. For the price of the buffett I would have expected a better experience.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.