About Market Street Oyster Bar - Cottonwood

2985 East Cottonwood Park Way 6580 South
Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121
View Larger Map

In 2000, Gastronomy opened it"s first location outside of downtown Salt Lake City. Located in the southern part of the city, the Market Street Grill and Oyster Bar Cottonwood were Gastronomy's first restaurants built from the ground up. Serving the same delicious fresh seafood and tender steaks that you have come to enjoy at our other Market Street locations, but with stunning views of the Wasatch mountains, our Cottonwood location also features a Fresh Fish Market and spectacular patio dining. Private dining facilities include our Creekside Private Rooms, the Garden Court adjacent to Big Cottonwood Creek, and extraordinary Roof Top Dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
3000 East

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 942-8870

Website:
http://marketstreetgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Bill McArthur

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Market Street Oyster Bar - Cottonwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (7)
People Watching (6)
Casual (5)
See All
Good for a Date (5)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Business Meals (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Sports (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Romantic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Healthy (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
175 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

In error, I made a reservation for the C ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 21, 2016

In error, I made a reservation for the Cottonwood Market Street Oyster Bar instead of their restaurant. Fortunately, there was room in the restaurant so they were able to seat us there. My husband and I had one of their specials, the white fish with mango chutney, and it was delicious. It is a comfortable restaurant, has a great Sunday brunch so you might want to try that and a lovely patio for summer dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The server was a little pushy and when w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The server was a little pushy and when we told her that the food was cold she was telling us that we were wrong, that she saw that cook prepare it, but the eggs were cold to the touch so I don't know what the problem was. The steaks and potatoes were warm. The steaks are always very good there. The manager did bring us out new warm eggs and they were very good. It was nice that table was ready and waiting for us and we did not have to wait. It have been a sometime since we had been there and we are looking forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was good but service was very slow. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was good but service was very slow...we requested lemons for water 4 times before getting any. We were there over 30 minutes before we were able to get our dinner order taken (appetizers and drink she were ordered). On a Friday I would expect these delays but Saturday was not nearly as busy!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Syd, our server, although new, was wonde ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Syd, our server, although new, was wonderful. She made our dining experience very smooth and comfortable by keeping everything on time and being super attentive to our needs. She renewed our faith in Market Street after a period of only fair service. I hope to see her when I go back.

The food was ok. The oysters were very muddy, the tomatoes in the chapters salad were anemic, and the Oregon Bay and Alaskan shrimp combo meal was extremely small. The bleu bacon burgers were raved about, and the fries were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very crowded but good food. Didn't reali ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very crowded but good food. Didn't realize kids were allowed in the Oyster Bar!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always good reliable seafood dishes and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always good reliable seafood dishes and excellent service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Smoked salmon appetizer good but not ver ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Smoked salmon appetizer good but not very 'smoked'. Clam chowder tasty but watery/thin. Entrees very well done. Service excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The food portion and quality was very di ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food portion and quality was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Always good food. Always run into friend ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Always good food. Always run into friends who also enjoy the Oyster Bar.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

My husband and I eat here often. We like ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

My husband and I eat here often. We like the atmosphere and the food is usually good. Lately, however, it has been less reliably good. Salad not always as cold and crisp as it used to be. My halibut au gratin was terrible, the fish overcooked and tough, what there was of it - pretty skimpy, just a couple of pieces of dry halibut and rubbery shrimp. Not the quality we expect from Gastronomy!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

It was more in the evening. Food wasn't ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 31, 2016

It was more in the evening. Food wasn't on par as usually but still a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We are long time customers of Gastronomy ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We are long time customers of Gastronomy, including the Market Street Grill. We especially enjoy the Oyster Bar. Austin, our waiter, could not have been more pleasant and attentive!!! The experience was incredibly positive!!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!!!!!!! GREAT place for any o ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Wonderful!!!!!!! GREAT place for any occasion...... We had a great evening .... Thank you for helping to make our evening special.....

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Still the best seafood restaurant (local ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Still the best seafood restaurant (local chain) in Salt Lake City. Freshest fish you can find.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

If you are looking for a restaurant whic ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 9, 2016

If you are looking for a restaurant which has great service, good food, and an adult atmosphere then you found The Oyster Bar in Cottonwood. My husband and I enjoy celebrating birthdays, anniversay, or a night out at The Oyster Bar especially during the Summer time. The specials always include either Salmon or Halibut, but their Trout is also very good. Don't miss their signature bread. Enjoy!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Children should not be allowed in the oy ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Children should not be allowed in the oyster bar, there was one child acting up which was pretty annoying.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cioppino was quite good. Haven't eat ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2016

The cioppino was quite good. Haven't eaten it anywhere else so I can't compare quality . The halibut burger was barely edible, rubbery and hardly recognizable as fish. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Bad Experience

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Been here bunch times worst experience. Food wasn't up to standards. Service slower slow to top off this restaurant customers walking tables telling is a lot of people waiting and should go. May come back

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Not my first choice

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 1, 2016

I always go to Oyster Bar when I want prime rib, not only it is great, it is on the "Special" before 7pm. I was so looking for it that night, but was told they were out, since I don't eat fish, (I know it is known for its fish) I chose the filet mignon, which was also great, but pricey for me. They did give me a "discount" of $4.00 off the price. Maybe if our waiter was a bit faster, I would have received my prime rib!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food, but still too noisy. Great f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food, but still too noisy. Great food, but still too noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent!

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Very good, inexpensive, quality food. They use healthy, organic ingredients, & you can taste the difference

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I've always loved Market Street Oyster B ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 10, 2016

I've always loved Market Street Oyster Bar, but this visit was different. Two of us ordered the halibut stuffed with a crab cake and they were terrible. The halibut was overcooked and the crab cake was so salty that I couldn't eat it. My husband ordered a steak and it was not only tiny, but way overcooked. Since we were entertaining friends, didn't want to complain so just let it go. However, with a bill of close to $300.00 for 4 of us, I left not very happy with this visit. Don't know if they have a new chef, or if this was just a fluke. Hoping for the later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Great seafood

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Nice relaxing place for dinner. Food and service are great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Market Street

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been a customer of the Market Street Group since they opened many years ago.

The food and service have always been superior.

I am sad to say their prices have increased disproportionate to other prices around town and I find myself looking for a new Sea Food Place. I will still go there but not nearly as much as I have in the past

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great meal as usual. Michael our waiter ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great meal as usual. Michael our waiter so excellent at his craft. We are long term customers of Market St. And will continue to frequently visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for a fancier date night. The fo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Perfect for a fancier date night. The food is all so so good. Every time I have been there the waiter/ waitress are really great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Dining Experience

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2016

While staying in the Salt Lake City-Murray area, we always try to see the kids and grandkids. The MSG-Cottonwood is a great place to have a fabulous meal, cocktails, and enjoy great service. We go every trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Seeafood!!

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was amazing. Everything on the Menu looked great. The Halibut was fresh and had a great flavor. They had a few specials that also sounded great. The drinks were superb and the server was very polite and knowledgeable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food. Good drinks. Nice atmosphe ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Good food. Good drinks. Nice atmosphere though a bit noisy. Reliable and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

First Horrid Experience

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 30, 2016

I am an avid Market Street customer. My family and I dine here all the time and we usually know a lot of the staff and can tell you the menu by heart. Well this last week we went it was one of the worst dining experiences I have ever had. Note to self, don't go on a Friday night you will be neglected.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value5

Late night dinner at the Cottonwood Oyster Bar

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 23, 2016

As usual, Gastronomy carries on Tom Sieg's innovations in the Cottonwood Oyster Bar. The cocktails were good and creative. My wife had the "Naughty School Girl" because she likes a sweeter mix and this one was very good. I had a glass of Sauvignon Blanc, a New Zealand variety which went perfect with my meal. The oysters were fresh and briny. The salmon was done and served on a cedar plank and was quite tasty. I had the crab Louis...it was wonderful. Desert was fruit, vanilla ice cream covered with sabayon sauce. Again, tasty. Our waiter, Gary M., was extremely helpful and professional. His recommendations were right on!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not impressed

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 17, 2016

My food was cold and I was not impressed. I have been there several times to the restaurant side. This time I took my mom for her birthday. Never being at this type of place before. It was an embarrassment to me in the presents of my mom. It's a great place but far from impressed this time. 113$ later & 4 days later still not impressed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We had 6:45 reservations and did not get ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 16, 2016

We had 6:45 reservations and did not get seated until 7:30. Took 1 hour 15 minutes to get our meal. People that were seated after us were done with there meal before we got ours. The food was good but the wait was not. Waiter did not know his wines. Ask fora type of wine and he gave us another . For the amount of money spent overall very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Much improved

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 13, 2016

This visit was much better than our previous visit. Food was good and service this time was great.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

New Years Eve

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Nice dinner with friends without feeling rushed! Food was timely and good

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Bustling, a bit like Legal's in and around Boston

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Appetizers are the strong suit, especially anything that has Oysters. Entrees aren't worth the price or special.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Horrible Service

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 28, 2015

Sunday night 7:00 not to busy. We are seated and when the server came around he said "We are really swamped tonight so be prepared." Not a good start and the restaurant was not even three quarters full so I don't think they were swamped just unprepared. Needless to say we did not have our order taken for an hour after we arrived. The last few times we have been at this restaurant the service has been horrible. This was one of your favorite places to go, but we will not be back now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Birthday dinner

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 27, 2015

We had a lovely dinner, the oysters were fantastic and our meal was very good.

The waiter had nice drink suggestions as well

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall a good experience!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2015

Went for the early bird and we were very happy. The salmon was done perfectly and was fresh! The waiter Michael was great!!!! I would give it a thumbs up!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Too Pricey and Noisy

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 13, 2015

We love Market Street for the food, but it's getting too expensive to go as often as we'd like. Also, the noise level is so high it's difficult to visit with others in your group, especially to those who wear hearing aids.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.