About Market Street Oyster Bar - Cottonwood

In 2000, Gastronomy opened it"s first location outside of downtown Salt Lake City. Located in the southern part of the city, the Market Street Grill and Oyster Bar Cottonwood were Gastronomy's first restaurants built from the ground up. Serving the same delicious fresh seafood and tender steaks that you have come to enjoy at our other Market Street locations, but with stunning views of the Wasatch mountains, our Cottonwood location also features a Fresh Fish Market and spectacular patio dining. Private dining facilities include our Creekside Private Rooms, the Garden Court adjacent to Big Cottonwood Creek, and extraordinary Roof Top Dining.

2985 East Cottonwood Park Way 6580 South
Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
3000 East

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 942-8870

Website:
http://marketstreetgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Bill McArthur

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Market Street Oyster Bar - Cottonwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Casual (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Healthy (7)
Fun (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Romantic (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
People Watching (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Authentic (2)
Live Sports (2)
Waterfront (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Seasonal (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
203 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 9 hours ago

Great ambiance, food was wonderful.

Our waitress, Sarah, was outstanding. Service makes all the difference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Market Street Oyster Bar is always a treat. The more intimate setting in the "bar" versus the restaurant is just what we are looking for so that we can talk and enjoy our dinner. Be sure to request a booth either on the upper or lower level of the bar area if that is important to you. We highly recommend reservations and include any special requests. The staff is wonderful, very accommodating and the food is always excellent [hot food is served hot and cold food is served cold]. Our great pleasure to have this gem in our vicinity.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was good. It usually is. Just a little overpriced. However, the ambience is nice. Service is usually good. It has been for us most of the time. Would recommend to others and we do.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always excellent service, consistent food presentation, a favorite of locals both downtown and Cottonwood. If you use valet service be prepared to pay an automatic $5 to 'the house' - the valet only gets anything over the $5...what's with that??

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Healthy, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Caught them on a good night. Kitchen can be slow but all the dishes were very good. Good cocktails as well and are server Mike was spot on. Took very nice care of us.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have a tradition of going to the Oyster bar for New Years eve, anniversary and birthday dinners.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Overall a nice experience. The wait staff is nice and the seating is ok (not comfortable nor uncomfortable). The food is a bit overpriced and the portion sizes are small for the cost but the food is consistently good enough to keep going back. It was new years eve when we went and they ran out of a handful of things by 8:30pm. On the fixed price entree selections there were two dessert choices and they ran out of creme brule but didn't offer a second in its place as they should have. The other choice was a chocolate cake which no one in our party could eat because of celiac disease. So that was pretty disappointing. The other thing that made me think twice about going back is that our friend who we were with left her expensive bracelet behind and instead of turning it in to the hostess station, someone (the waitress, busser, or hostess) had to have decided they wanted to keep it. That was pretty devastating for my friend and kind of ruined the evening for her.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always good if you have the right wait person. They make the experience.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife and I went for New Years Eve. Oyster Bar was so fun. The food was fantastic, the server was fun and energetic. I have always had super experiences over the years at Oyster Bar.

This place is always in my top 5 places for business and casual.

Thank you for great service.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Business Meals, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I always enjoy the cozy atmosphere at the Oyster Bar. The food is healthy and always amazing!

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Festive holiday atmosphere. Great food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

In general, Market Street and the Oyster Bar have always been good, This year we decided to take folks from out of town there for Christmas Eve dinner. It was surprisingly quiet which we enjoyed. The appetizers, drinks, and chowder were outstanding as usual. As for the main dishes, Three of us had the filet, medium. Two of the three were extremely well done and the third was bloody. the potatoes were forgotten so the waiter brought back large piles of mashed potatoes which was kind of strange. My steak was returned but the waiter, discounted my daughter in laws request for him to take a look and ended up leaving most of the meal. The waiter was pleasant but didn't exactly make an effort to care about the quality of the food. I do not think the prices at market street are bad unless the food is unacceptable as was the case this time. We will probably choose one of the many other options for the next year or so and may give this restaurant a try sometime in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We have been Market Street patrons for years. Since the original opened downtown and we were Oyster Bar members when private clubs existed. Sorry to say that they have stumbled down hill terribly over the past few years. Last night was the worst yet with complaints all around. MIA valet. A very poor somewhat clueless waiter and two of three horrified by their entrees. It is a seafood restaurant but two ordered lasagna. Soupy unattractive and simply a lame dish. If a restaurant is going to offer things on their menu, they should all be of similar and adequate quality to allow the entire party to enjoy their meal. Instead it was so-so, bad and bad. Even cocktails, specialty cocktails were poorly made approximations of what was expected. And the waiter had to go and get a menu to understand what beer was being requested. Seriously??

I stopped shopping at their market and drive into the city to buy seafood. Looks like the restaurant down the hill will not be worth stopping at any longer either

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our waiter was the best ever! Best customer service! Had an awesome personality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We love Market Street. This time we went to the Oyster Bar for a "Girls Brunch". It was so busy that it took our server over an hour to take our food order. And the noise level was so high that we had to yell to be heard. Sorry, never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I had a great meal. Market Street Grill serves the best halibut. Enjoy the service. Also it has options for non fish eaters. It can be a little expensive but it also has the freshest fish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Absolutely wonderful . Salmon was amazing. Service was great. Wine was very good.

Tags: Tapas, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Casual, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Historic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 21, 2016

In error, I made a reservation for the Cottonwood Market Street Oyster Bar instead of their restaurant. Fortunately, there was room in the restaurant so they were able to seat us there. My husband and I had one of their specials, the white fish with mango chutney, and it was delicious. It is a comfortable restaurant, has a great Sunday brunch so you might want to try that and a lovely patio for summer dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The server was a little pushy and when we told her that the food was cold she was telling us that we were wrong, that she saw that cook prepare it, but the eggs were cold to the touch so I don't know what the problem was. The steaks and potatoes were warm. The steaks are always very good there. The manager did bring us out new warm eggs and they were very good. It was nice that table was ready and waiting for us and we did not have to wait. It have been a sometime since we had been there and we are looking forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was good but service was very slow...we requested lemons for water 4 times before getting any. We were there over 30 minutes before we were able to get our dinner order taken (appetizers and drink she were ordered). On a Friday I would expect these delays but Saturday was not nearly as busy!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Syd, our server, although new, was wonderful. She made our dining experience very smooth and comfortable by keeping everything on time and being super attentive to our needs. She renewed our faith in Market Street after a period of only fair service. I hope to see her when I go back.

The food was ok. The oysters were very muddy, the tomatoes in the chapters salad were anemic, and the Oregon Bay and Alaskan shrimp combo meal was extremely small. The bleu bacon burgers were raved about, and the fries were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very crowded but good food. Didn't realize kids were allowed in the Oyster Bar!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always good reliable seafood dishes and excellent service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Smoked salmon appetizer good but not very 'smoked'. Clam chowder tasty but watery/thin. Entrees very well done. Service excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food portion and quality was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Always good food. Always run into friends who also enjoy the Oyster Bar.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

My husband and I eat here often. We like the atmosphere and the food is usually good. Lately, however, it has been less reliably good. Salad not always as cold and crisp as it used to be. My halibut au gratin was terrible, the fish overcooked and tough, what there was of it - pretty skimpy, just a couple of pieces of dry halibut and rubbery shrimp. Not the quality we expect from Gastronomy!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 31, 2016

It was more in the evening. Food wasn't on par as usually but still a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2016

See had sex 😀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We are long time customers of Gastronomy, including the Market Street Grill. We especially enjoy the Oyster Bar. Austin, our waiter, could not have been more pleasant and attentive!!! The experience was incredibly positive!!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Wonderful!!!!!!! GREAT place for any occasion...... We had a great evening .... Thank you for helping to make our evening special.....

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Still the best seafood restaurant (local chain) in Salt Lake City. Freshest fish you can find.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 9, 2016

If you are looking for a restaurant which has great service, good food, and an adult atmosphere then you found The Oyster Bar in Cottonwood. My husband and I enjoy celebrating birthdays, anniversay, or a night out at The Oyster Bar especially during the Summer time. The specials always include either Salmon or Halibut, but their Trout is also very good. Don't miss their signature bread. Enjoy!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Children should not be allowed in the oyster bar, there was one child acting up which was pretty annoying.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2016

The cioppino was quite good. Haven't eaten it anywhere else so I can't compare quality . The halibut burger was barely edible, rubbery and hardly recognizable as fish. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Been here bunch times worst experience. Food wasn't up to standards. Service slower slow to top off this restaurant customers walking tables telling is a lot of people waiting and should go. May come back

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 1, 2016

I always go to Oyster Bar when I want prime rib, not only it is great, it is on the "Special" before 7pm. I was so looking for it that night, but was told they were out, since I don't eat fish, (I know it is known for its fish) I chose the filet mignon, which was also great, but pricey for me. They did give me a "discount" of $4.00 off the price. Maybe if our waiter was a bit faster, I would have received my prime rib!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food, but still too noisy. Great food, but still too noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Very good, inexpensive, quality food. They use healthy, organic ingredients, & you can taste the difference

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 10, 2016

I've always loved Market Street Oyster Bar, but this visit was different. Two of us ordered the halibut stuffed with a crab cake and they were terrible. The halibut was overcooked and the crab cake was so salty that I couldn't eat it. My husband ordered a steak and it was not only tiny, but way overcooked. Since we were entertaining friends, didn't want to complain so just let it go. However, with a bill of close to $300.00 for 4 of us, I left not very happy with this visit. Don't know if they have a new chef, or if this was just a fluke. Hoping for the later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Nice relaxing place for dinner. Food and service are great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been a customer of the Market Street Group since they opened many years ago.

The food and service have always been superior.

I am sad to say their prices have increased disproportionate to other prices around town and I find myself looking for a new Sea Food Place. I will still go there but not nearly as much as I have in the past

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great meal as usual. Michael our waiter so excellent at his craft. We are long term customers of Market St. And will continue to frequently visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Perfect for a fancier date night. The food is all so so good. Every time I have been there the waiter/ waitress are really great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was amazing. Everything on the Menu looked great. The Halibut was fresh and had a great flavor. They had a few specials that also sounded great. The drinks were superb and the server was very polite and knowledgeable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2016

While staying in the Salt Lake City-Murray area, we always try to see the kids and grandkids. The MSG-Cottonwood is a great place to have a fabulous meal, cocktails, and enjoy great service. We go every trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Good food. Good drinks. Nice atmosphere though a bit noisy. Reliable and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 30, 2016

I am an avid Market Street customer. My family and I dine here all the time and we usually know a lot of the staff and can tell you the menu by heart. Well this last week we went it was one of the worst dining experiences I have ever had. Note to self, don't go on a Friday night you will be neglected.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 23, 2016

As usual, Gastronomy carries on Tom Sieg's innovations in the Cottonwood Oyster Bar. The cocktails were good and creative. My wife had the "Naughty School Girl" because she likes a sweeter mix and this one was very good. I had a glass of Sauvignon Blanc, a New Zealand variety which went perfect with my meal. The oysters were fresh and briny. The salmon was done and served on a cedar plank and was quite tasty. I had the crab Louis...it was wonderful. Desert was fruit, vanilla ice cream covered with sabayon sauce. Again, tasty. Our waiter, Gary M., was extremely helpful and professional. His recommendations were right on!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 17, 2016

My food was cold and I was not impressed. I have been there several times to the restaurant side. This time I took my mom for her birthday. Never being at this type of place before. It was an embarrassment to me in the presents of my mom. It's a great place but far from impressed this time. 113$ later & 4 days later still not impressed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.