Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Mariposa (Deer Valley Resort)Mariposa (Deer Valley Resort)
(223)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Park City, Park City Area
The Nelson Cottage by High WestThe Nelson Cottage by High West
(32)
$$$$
American | Park City, Park City Area
Franck'sFranck's
(1543)
$$$$
Fusion / Eclectic | Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union, Salt Lake City
Booked 7 times today
TuscanyTuscany
(1588)
$$$$
Italian | Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union, Salt Lake City
Booked 19 times today
High West RefectoryHigh West Refectory
(39)
$$$$
Southwest | Wanship, Park City Area
Booked 9 times today
Copper KitchenCopper Kitchen
(371)
$$$$
American | Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union, Salt Lake City
ProvisionsProvisions
(452)
$$$$
American | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Booked 12 times today
Cafe Trio CottonwoodCafe Trio Cottonwood
(374)
$$$$
Italian | Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union, Salt Lake City
Booked 6 times today
Cafe MadridCafe Madrid
(1077)
$$$$
Spanish | Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union, Salt Lake City
Booked 5 times today
Tsunami Restaurant - Union HeightsTsunami Restaurant - Union Heights
(360)
$$$$
Japanese | Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union, Salt Lake City
Booked 14 times today
Seafood Buffet (Deer Valley Resort)Seafood Buffet (Deer Valley Resort)
(253)
$$$$
Seafood | Park City, Park City Area
Tiburon Fine DiningTiburon Fine Dining
(1341)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union, Salt Lake City
Booked 12 times today
Riverhorse on MainRiverhorse on Main
(1583)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Park City, Park City Area
Booked 19 times today
Tsunami Restaurant - South JordanTsunami Restaurant - South Jordan
(612)
$$$$
Sushi | South Jordan, Salt Lake City
Booked 40 times today
Hoof & VineHoof & Vine
(243)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union, Salt Lake City
Booked 9 times today

About Market Street Oyster Bar - Cottonwood

In 2000, Gastronomy opened it"s first location outside of downtown Salt Lake City. Located in the southern part of the city, the Market Street Grill and Oyster Bar Cottonwood were Gastronomy's first restaurants built from the ground up. Serving the same delicious fresh seafood and tender steaks that you have come to enjoy at our other Market Street locations, but with stunning views of the Wasatch mountains, our Cottonwood location also features a Fresh Fish Market and spectacular patio dining. Private dining facilities include our Creekside Private Rooms, the Garden Court adjacent to Big Cottonwood Creek, and extraordinary Roof Top Dining.

2985 East Cottonwood Park Way 6580 South
Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
3000 East

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 942-8870

Website:
http://marketstreetgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Bill McArthur

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Market Street Oyster Bar - Cottonwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Casual (4)
See All
Good for a Date (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Scenic View (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Business Meals (2)
Romantic (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Cozy (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I frequent this location. It was most apparent that Mother's Day did not show the Oyster Bar at its best. The food was cold and not up to the usual presentation. Service was definitely subpar. I will continue going to the Oyster Bar but just won't go on a holiday. Nor will I recommend it

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Always a good choice when you want good food and good service. Don't hesitate to make a reservation and sit back and relax. Whether it is just the two of you or an evening out with friend/clients you can't go wrong with the Market Street Oyster Bar.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Birthday dinner was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Had a 630 reservation for a front table on the upstairs level. Arrived at 6:25 and was told that there were no front tables only 1 table way in the back by an extremely rude blonde receptionist. We left and took our business elsewhere. What is the point of a request with a reservation if it is not honored

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food is good, not great and very pricey. Wine and cocktail prices are exorbitant.
We asked for a booth, were told we could not have one, and there booths all around us that were empty for the entire 2 hours we were there. The hostess was awful.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a good server and ordered Louis salads and this was the key to a good visit. The bartenders produce much better "perfect Manhattan's" up versus on the rocks! Maybe just a quirk of Utah liquor laws. We had a nice time though we noticed a lot of other petiole around waiting lengthy times for meals. The tends to be this restaurants biggest issue. Inconsistent kitchen! Oh, btw, the NW oysters are always good. Another reason we keep going back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Reasonably priced, great food & great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our meal on Easter was wonderful. I like the ambiance in the Oyster Bar much better than the Grill, so that was a plus. It's a little loud, but we enjoyed every minute of the meal. Great meal, good company. Who could ask for more!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Still a good seafood restaurant, here in Utah. The prices have gone up considerably since the last time we were there (last summer?). I ranked it as a "good" value because we had a B1G1 free coupon for my birthday. Otherwise, it's pricey.
Service was good. We ordered a 1/2 carafe of the wine on tap, and it was cloudy with sediment. The server exchanged it for the other wine, and it was fine.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I have used Open Table for many years and had an email confirmation that clearly stated party of ten at 10:00 AM. Hostess said no, we only have "Frank for ten and the reservation is at noon" she then told me I had pressed noon in Open Table. Hey, I may have white hair but I've been using computers and websites for decades. So somehow the Open Table message did not make it through. They pulled a table together for us and we had a lovely time. I have never had a glitch before so will continue trusting Open Table. Now, I wonder if "Frank" will get his table for ten at noon😂😂😘

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always a good choice. Excellent food. Excellent service. We always enjoy a special event at Market Street Oyster Bar.

Tags: Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Tanner is an outstanding waitsperson. We were there twice , were served by him the first time and Asked for him the second time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very crowded Saturday night, but we were seated promptly with our reservation. We had to wait for initial service and a longer time than usual for food, however, server didn't act rushed or frantic and he delivered the food hot, brought wine promptly with food, cleared quickly and always kept the water filled- which is unusual when service is so busy. Loud but very fun environment with great nighttime lighting.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great ambiance, food was wonderful.
Our waitress, Sarah, was outstanding. Service makes all the difference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The Market Street Oyster Bar is always a treat. The more intimate setting in the "bar" versus the restaurant is just what we are looking for so that we can talk and enjoy our dinner. Be sure to request a booth either on the upper or lower level of the bar area if that is important to you. We highly recommend reservations and include any special requests. The staff is wonderful, very accommodating and the food is always excellent [hot food is served hot and cold food is served cold]. Our great pleasure to have this gem in our vicinity.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was good. It usually is. Just a little overpriced. However, the ambience is nice. Service is usually good. It has been for us most of the time. Would recommend to others and we do.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Always excellent service, consistent food presentation, a favorite of locals both downtown and Cottonwood. If you use valet service be prepared to pay an automatic $5 to 'the house' - the valet only gets anything over the $5...what's with that??

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Caught them on a good night. Kitchen can be slow but all the dishes were very good. Good cocktails as well and are server Mike was spot on. Took very nice care of us.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have a tradition of going to the Oyster bar for New Years eve, anniversary and birthday dinners.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Overall a nice experience. The wait staff is nice and the seating is ok (not comfortable nor uncomfortable). The food is a bit overpriced and the portion sizes are small for the cost but the food is consistently good enough to keep going back. It was new years eve when we went and they ran out of a handful of things by 8:30pm. On the fixed price entree selections there were two dessert choices and they ran out of creme brule but didn't offer a second in its place as they should have. The other choice was a chocolate cake which no one in our party could eat because of celiac disease. So that was pretty disappointing. The other thing that made me think twice about going back is that our friend who we were with left her expensive bracelet behind and instead of turning it in to the hostess station, someone (the waitress, busser, or hostess) had to have decided they wanted to keep it. That was pretty devastating for my friend and kind of ruined the evening for her.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always good if you have the right wait person. They make the experience.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife and I went for New Years Eve. Oyster Bar was so fun. The food was fantastic, the server was fun and energetic. I have always had super experiences over the years at Oyster Bar.
This place is always in my top 5 places for business and casual.
Thank you for great service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Business Meals, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I always enjoy the cozy atmosphere at the Oyster Bar. The food is healthy and always amazing!

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Festive holiday atmosphere. Great food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

In general, Market Street and the Oyster Bar have always been good, This year we decided to take folks from out of town there for Christmas Eve dinner. It was surprisingly quiet which we enjoyed. The appetizers, drinks, and chowder were outstanding as usual. As for the main dishes, Three of us had the filet, medium. Two of the three were extremely well done and the third was bloody. the potatoes were forgotten so the waiter brought back large piles of mashed potatoes which was kind of strange. My steak was returned but the waiter, discounted my daughter in laws request for him to take a look and ended up leaving most of the meal. The waiter was pleasant but didn't exactly make an effort to care about the quality of the food. I do not think the prices at market street are bad unless the food is unacceptable as was the case this time. We will probably choose one of the many other options for the next year or so and may give this restaurant a try sometime in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have been Market Street patrons for years. Since the original opened downtown and we were Oyster Bar members when private clubs existed. Sorry to say that they have stumbled down hill terribly over the past few years. Last night was the worst yet with complaints all around. MIA valet. A very poor somewhat clueless waiter and two of three horrified by their entrees. It is a seafood restaurant but two ordered lasagna. Soupy unattractive and simply a lame dish. If a restaurant is going to offer things on their menu, they should all be of similar and adequate quality to allow the entire party to enjoy their meal. Instead it was so-so, bad and bad. Even cocktails, specialty cocktails were poorly made approximations of what was expected. And the waiter had to go and get a menu to understand what beer was being requested. Seriously??
I stopped shopping at their market and drive into the city to buy seafood. Looks like the restaurant down the hill will not be worth stopping at any longer either

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our waiter was the best ever! Best customer service! Had an awesome personality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We love Market Street. This time we went to the Oyster Bar for a "Girls Brunch". It was so busy that it took our server over an hour to take our food order. And the noise level was so high that we had to yell to be heard. Sorry, never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I had a great meal. Market Street Grill serves the best halibut. Enjoy the service. Also it has options for non fish eaters. It can be a little expensive but it also has the freshest fish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Absolutely wonderful . Salmon was amazing. Service was great. Wine was very good.

Tags: Tapas, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Casual, Business Meals, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

In error, I made a reservation for the Cottonwood Market Street Oyster Bar instead of their restaurant. Fortunately, there was room in the restaurant so they were able to seat us there. My husband and I had one of their specials, the white fish with mango chutney, and it was delicious. It is a comfortable restaurant, has a great Sunday brunch so you might want to try that and a lovely patio for summer dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The server was a little pushy and when we told her that the food was cold she was telling us that we were wrong, that she saw that cook prepare it, but the eggs were cold to the touch so I don't know what the problem was. The steaks and potatoes were warm. The steaks are always very good there. The manager did bring us out new warm eggs and they were very good. It was nice that table was ready and waiting for us and we did not have to wait. It have been a sometime since we had been there and we are looking forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was good but service was very slow...we requested lemons for water 4 times before getting any. We were there over 30 minutes before we were able to get our dinner order taken (appetizers and drink she were ordered). On a Friday I would expect these delays but Saturday was not nearly as busy!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Syd, our server, although new, was wonderful. She made our dining experience very smooth and comfortable by keeping everything on time and being super attentive to our needs. She renewed our faith in Market Street after a period of only fair service. I hope to see her when I go back.
The food was ok. The oysters were very muddy, the tomatoes in the chapters salad were anemic, and the Oregon Bay and Alaskan shrimp combo meal was extremely small. The bleu bacon burgers were raved about, and the fries were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Very crowded but good food. Didn't realize kids were allowed in the Oyster Bar!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always good reliable seafood dishes and excellent service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Smoked salmon appetizer good but not very 'smoked'. Clam chowder tasty but watery/thin. Entrees very well done. Service excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food portion and quality was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always good food. Always run into friends who also enjoy the Oyster Bar.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.