About Market Street Oyster Bar - Cottonwood

2985 East Cottonwood Park Way 6580 South
Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121
View Larger Map

In 2000, Gastronomy opened it"s first location outside of downtown Salt Lake City. Located in the southern part of the city, the Market Street Grill and Oyster Bar Cottonwood were Gastronomy's first restaurants built from the ground up. Serving the same delicious fresh seafood and tender steaks that you have come to enjoy at our other Market Street locations, but with stunning views of the Wasatch mountains, our Cottonwood location also features a Fresh Fish Market and spectacular patio dining. Private dining facilities include our Creekside Private Rooms, the Garden Court adjacent to Big Cottonwood Creek, and extraordinary Roof Top Dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
3000 East

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 942-8870

Website:
http://marketstreetgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Bill McArthur

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Market Street Oyster Bar - Cottonwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (28)
fit for foodies (20)
good for groups (17)
See All
great for lunch (15)
notable wine list (13)
great for brunch (13)
scenic view (11)
romantic (10)
hot spot (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for outdoor dining (8)
neighborhood gem (8)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
160 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Children should not be allowed in the oy ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Children should not be allowed in the oyster bar, there was one child acting up which was pretty annoying.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

The cioppino was quite good. Haven't eat ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The cioppino was quite good. Haven't eaten it anywhere else so I can't compare quality . The halibut burger was barely edible, rubbery and hardly recognizable as fish. Very disappointed.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Bad Experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Been here bunch times worst experience. Food wasn't up to standards. Service slower slow to top off this restaurant customers walking tables telling is a lot of people waiting and should go. May come back

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Not my first choice

Dined on May 1, 2016

I always go to Oyster Bar when I want prime rib, not only it is great, it is on the "Special" before 7pm. I was so looking for it that night, but was told they were out, since I don't eat fish, (I know it is known for its fish) I chose the filet mignon, which was also great, but pricey for me. They did give me a "discount" of $4.00 off the price. Maybe if our waiter was a bit faster, I would have received my prime rib!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food, but still too noisy. Great f ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food, but still too noisy. Great food, but still too noisy.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent!

Dined on March 20, 2016

Very good, inexpensive, quality food. They use healthy, organic ingredients, & you can taste the difference

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

I've always loved Market Street Oyster B ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

I've always loved Market Street Oyster Bar, but this visit was different. Two of us ordered the halibut stuffed with a crab cake and they were terrible. The halibut was overcooked and the crab cake was so salty that I couldn't eat it. My husband ordered a steak and it was not only tiny, but way overcooked. Since we were entertaining friends, didn't want to complain so just let it go. However, with a bill of close to $300.00 for 4 of us, I left not very happy with this visit. Don't know if they have a new chef, or if this was just a fluke. Hoping for the later.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great seafood

Dined on February 15, 2016

Nice relaxing place for dinner. Food and service are great.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Market Street

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been a customer of the Market Street Group since they opened many years ago. The food and service have always been superior. I am sad to say their prices have increased disproportionate to other prices around town and I find myself looking for a new Sea Food Place. I will still go there but not nearly as much as I have in the past

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal as usual. Michael our waiter ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great meal as usual. Michael our waiter so excellent at his craft. We are long term customers of Market St. And will continue to frequently visit.

food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect for a fancier date night. The fo ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Perfect for a fancier date night. The food is all so so good. Every time I have been there the waiter/ waitress are really great.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Dining Experience

Dined on February 13, 2016

While staying in the Salt Lake City-Murray area, we always try to see the kids and grandkids. The MSG-Cottonwood is a great place to have a fabulous meal, cocktails, and enjoy great service. We go every trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Seeafood!!

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was amazing. Everything on the Menu looked great. The Halibut was fresh and had a great flavor. They had a few specials that also sounded great. The drinks were superb and the server was very polite and knowledgeable.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food. Good drinks. Nice atmosphe ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Good food. Good drinks. Nice atmosphere though a bit noisy. Reliable and friendly.

food1
ambience3
service1
value5

First Horrid Experience

Dined on January 30, 2016

I am an avid Market Street customer. My family and I dine here all the time and we usually know a lot of the staff and can tell you the menu by heart. Well this last week we went it was one of the worst dining experiences I have ever had. Note to self, don't go on a Friday night you will be neglected.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Late night dinner at the Cottonwood Oyster Bar

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

As usual, Gastronomy carries on Tom Sieg's innovations in the Cottonwood Oyster Bar. The cocktails were good and creative. My wife had the "Naughty School Girl" because she likes a sweeter mix and this one was very good. I had a glass of Sauvignon Blanc, a New Zealand variety which went perfect with my meal. The oysters were fresh and briny. The salmon was done and served on a cedar plank and was quite tasty. I had the crab Louis...it was wonderful. Desert was fruit, vanilla ice cream covered with sabayon sauce. Again, tasty. Our waiter, Gary M., was extremely helpful and professional. His recommendations were right on!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Not impressed

Dined on January 17, 2016

My food was cold and I was not impressed. I have been there several times to the restaurant side. This time I took my mom for her birthday. Never being at this type of place before. It was an embarrassment to me in the presents of my mom. It's a great place but far from impressed this time. 113$ later & 4 days later still not impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We had 6:45 reservations and did not get ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

We had 6:45 reservations and did not get seated until 7:30. Took 1 hour 15 minutes to get our meal. People that were seated after us were done with there meal before we got ours. The food was good but the wait was not. Waiter did not know his wines. Ask fora type of wine and he gave us another . For the amount of money spent overall very disappointed.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Much improved

Dined on January 13, 2016

This visit was much better than our previous visit. Food was good and service this time was great.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

New Years Eve

Dined on January 1, 2016

Nice dinner with friends without feeling rushed! Food was timely and good

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Bustling, a bit like Legal's in and around Boston

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Appetizers are the strong suit, especially anything that has Oysters. Entrees aren't worth the price or special.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Horrible Service

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

Sunday night 7:00 not to busy. We are seated and when the server came around he said "We are really swamped tonight so be prepared." Not a good start and the restaurant was not even three quarters full so I don't think they were swamped just unprepared. Needless to say we did not have our order taken for an hour after we arrived. The last few times we have been at this restaurant the service has been horrible. This was one of your favorite places to go, but we will not be back now.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday dinner

Dined on December 27, 2015

We had a lovely dinner, the oysters were fantastic and our meal was very good. The waiter had nice drink suggestions as well

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall a good experience!

Dined on December 27, 2015

Went for the early bird and we were very happy. The salmon was done perfectly and was fresh! The waiter Michael was great!!!! I would give it a thumbs up!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Too Pricey and Noisy

Dined on December 13, 2015

We love Market Street for the food, but it's getting too expensive to go as often as we'd like. Also, the noise level is so high it's difficult to visit with others in your group, especially to those who wear hearing aids.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Oysters are always fresh! My favorite is ...

Dined on December 6, 2015

Oysters are always fresh! My favorite is Cioppino. Perfect if you want a variety in a warm tomato saucy base.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great birthday celebration

Dined on December 4, 2015

The food was great and our server, Michael was attentive but not over bearing. We love this tradition we started a few years ago of taking my husband out for his birthday with the adult children and their spouses. We will probably be back next year.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2

Not the usual experience

Dined on November 15, 2015

Everything was excellent, except the service. Our waiter was not up to Oyster Bar standards.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Worthwhile experience--never disappointed!

Dined on November 8, 2015

My husband and I love to come to this restaurant. We live in downtown so this is a destination event for us. Good food, service and ambience. What more could one want?

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Always a sure value! We live to go to Ma ...

vip
Dined on November 5, 2015

Always a sure value! We live to go to Market Street Grill, either for brunch, lunch or dinner.

food2
ambience2
service2

A bit disappointed

Dined on October 31, 2015

Normally a great spot, but not so much this time. The service was marginal. My market street salad was ok, but only because it was cold. The rest of the meals were also cold, but weren't supposed to be. Probably because it took almost an hour to get them to our table.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5

oyster bar

Dined on October 18, 2015

great place! The food is wonderful. Service was very good. It is one of my favorite places to go eat out.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My in-laws took me and my wife here for ...

Dined on October 14, 2015

My in-laws took me and my wife here for my 35th birthday. Food, as always, was great. Server seemed like a new guy - but he was very attentive and organized.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is always a great place for brunch. ...

vip
Dined on October 11, 2015

This is always a great place for brunch. I love their menu.

food5
ambience5
service5

great experience

Dined on September 2, 2015

food is good, service is great a fantastic overall experience

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining and food.

Dined on August 30, 2015

We enjoyed our dinner and our server was great as well.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Over cooked

vip
Dined on August 8, 2015

The last three visits we have ordered a special fish dish. All three times the $30+ entries have been over cooked. Sinful for a fish restaurant. If not for the wonderful wait staff (Mike), we'd probably not return.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great night

Dined on July 31, 2015

I love it when our table is ready! We went for a birthday celebration. The waiter, Sarah, was attentive but not hovering. Everyone's food was delicious! I loved the summer caprese salad available. The basaltic reduction was perfect! All in all, it was a great experience. I always recommend this restaurant to friends.

food5
ambience5
service5

great place to eat

Dined on July 20, 2015

great food , good service and always great people. Fred the managing partner is fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The best salmon

vip
Dined on July 19, 2015

Very nice dinner. The salmon on a cedar plank was excellent, as were the mashed potatoes and even the broccoli! Service by Monica B. was also excellent, and everything well timed. They have been raising their prices, along with everybody else, but this meal was definitely worth it. Just make sure they give you your OpenTable points!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.