About Market Street Grill - South Jordan

10702 South Riverfront Parkway
South Jordan, UT 84095
View Larger Map

The Cape Cod exterior at the Market Street Grill in South Jordan sets the mood for exceptional seafood dining. Guests enter a spacious lobby that houses a fish market. The restaurant and market offer a tantalizing selection of fresh seafood from around the world. Also available are delicious desserts and Market Street’s famous clam chowder.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:40pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
10700 South 700 West

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 302-2262

Website:
http://www.ginc.com/riverpark_grill/index.html

Parking Details:
Extensive free parking is provided only a few short steps from the entrance to the Market Street Grill. Convenient drop-off access is available adjacent to the front door. Suitable for handicap access.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Rudkin

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a semi-private dining room for up to 50 guests that is available by advance reservation.

Private Party Contact:
Monae Madson: 8013022262x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Market Street Grill - South Jordan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (44)
good for groups (26)
fit for foodies (22)
See All
great for lunch (20)
great for brunch (18)
romantic (12)
neighborhood gem (10)
hot spot (6)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (3)
notable wine list (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Love it!! Great food, service and atmos ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Love it!! Great food, service and atmosphere!!

food2
ambience2
service4

The whole place had a strong fishy smell ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The whole place had a strong fishy smell that was off putting. For what it was, the food is over priced. Service was good. Coctails were excellent.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter

Dined on June 11, 2016

Waiter Ryan was very friendly and attentive. He was very busy and he still made sure everything was taken care of as quickly as possible.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4

Warm cinnamon buns a poor substitute for ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Warm cinnamon buns a poor substitute for sourdough toast and raspberry jam. I love breakfast at Market Street downtown, and I'll even make a stop at their airport location when catching an early morning flight. So it was disappointing that the experience out south was not the same. The food wasn't bad. But no jam! I'll stick to their downtown location.

food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Won't be back

Dined on June 5, 2016

It has been years since we have been here. The food was very disappointing- not what we remembered. Very over priced, greasy, and flavorless. We won't be back.

food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Poor Service

Dined on June 4, 2016

We waited 15 minutes to be in Initailly greeted by our server. When he arrived, we were ready to order. He assumed we had been in before. My wife said we had plenty of time to decide in which our server didn't respond. He possessed no personality and delivered average service at best. Food was pretty good but you really don't get what you pay for. Maybe not a typical experience here, but we will take our business elsewhere for our next special occassian.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service1

As usual, the food was great. The servi ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

As usual, the food was great. The service, however, was horrendous. Our server literally said four words to us for the entire time we were there.

food2
ambience4
service1
value2

disappointed

Dined on May 28, 2016

I had heard great things about market street, so I was excited to go for my anniversary. I was so sad that it was not what I had hoped for. Service was extremely slow and we didn't get our appetizer, at least we weren't charged for it. The meal was only ok. Maybe the downtown location is better.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food

Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a really special evening. I asked for some special accommodations for my anniversary and the Chef and the Hostess were more than willing to help. They made it a really special evening for us. The food was fabulous. I love coming here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I had been previous to this visit and re ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

I had been previous to this visit and remembered a different experience. overall I took my wife on a date, and it just seemed extremely rushed. We went early to specifically avoid this, but it just seem to still be a feeling we were getting rushed out the door :(

food5
ambience4
service5

We both got a prix fix dinner the medall ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We both got a prix fix dinner the medallions oscar and it was the best meal we have had there. The creme Brule was to die for.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was perfect! Meal was delicious!

Dined on May 13, 2016

We love coming to Market Street. We dine here on special occasions. It is our go to place. The filet is always perfect and the king crab leg is amazing! Can't wait to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great Brunch Food

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was very good and value was good as well. Service was not very good. Server did not even know how to open a bottle of wine. Claimed it was different from her "regular" opener, but this kind of service is EXPECTED at a restaurant like this one. Was very slow to get items requested, like straws for water. Will come again for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Maybe they'll be nice...if you spend enough money

Dined on May 8, 2016

I went to Market Street Grill in South Jordan to celebrate Mother's Day. I haven't been there for several years and was looking forward to it. Sadly, I was disappointed to find that their menu had changed significantly to the exclusion of most of the non-seafood items. It is just a surf and turf now. The only other dish they have is a very garlicky ravioli. Our waiter Fransisco was sarcastic and inattentive after we didn't order from the expensive end of the menu or any libations. For all this we paid a high price. I would never go there again.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We got the prime rib this time and it was not quite as good as it has been but still okay. Service was okay as well. We've had better but overall not bad.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Overpriced

Dined on May 7, 2016

Overpriced menu and mediocre service. Waitress seemed over worked and made numerous mistakes on our order.

food5
ambience5
service5

They have the best clam chowder!

Dined on May 1, 2016

They have the best clam chowder!

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great food, slow service

Dined on April 30, 2016

The reservation process was great. We walked right in and sat down at our table. The food was great (as usual), however the service was terribly slow. From the time we ordered until the time the check came was 1 hour and 45 minutes. We knew what we wanted to order before the waitress even greeted us 15 minutes after being seated. Thank goodness we ordered our food at that time or who knows how much longer we would have had to wait. We waited a good 20 minutes before receiving any soup, another 30 minutes until the main entree arrived (that's 50 minutes after it was ordered), ate the main entree and sat and waited for the waitress. She finally came and took dessert requests which took 20 minutes to be delivered and then it took nearly 20 minutes for her to simply ring up our check. We had to younger children with us that we're very well behaved as we spent a good 87% of our time just sitting and waiting on a waitress. Without a reservation this would have been a very miserable experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Value

Dined on April 30, 2016

Price for the half king salmon half halibut wasn't made exactly clear when mentioned as a dinner special. $38 for about 4 fish stick size pieces of meat with a few potatoes and broccoli is a poor value. Not interested in eating there again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Server was so attentive and cleared ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Our Server was so attentive and cleared off the table from crumbs prior to bringing our meals!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good but pricey!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Had dinner for four, for a birthday dinner. appetizer, two drinks, four entrees and two deserts were over $250 with tip. Service was good but slow. It was a Friday night and VERY busy and they seemed very understaffed. Our waiter was very overworked and seemed to have many tables. All the servers around us were also looking harried. We had the crab stuffed mushroom (skip it) it was watery and under seasoned. For entrees we had salmon, crab and steak dishes. The steak was very beefy but also underseasoned. They have a prix fixe menu with Filet Oscar which is the best value on the menu. They also have a early bird which is a good value as well. The noise was louder than average, but still OK, Will I go back? Yes- but probably only for the specials.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous food and our waiter was amazing ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Fabulous food and our waiter was amazing. Would and will go back. It was our anniversary and it was a perfect night and start to our get away.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine & dine

Dined on April 16, 2016

Anavrrsary time! It's agreat place to wine and dine the one you love.. Perfect service. Perfect food. Perfect wine. Perfect atmosphere, it's a must try if it's your first time...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a delight!

Dined on April 14, 2016

I love Market Street Grill and for 30+ years have had the pleasure of the downtown SLC restaurant. We were in South Jordan for a Dr.'s appointment and stayed overnight at the Home 2 Suites. Mi had a wonderful surprise when we pulled in from our long drive and saw the restaurant across the way. I had the Dayboat stuffed halibut and enjoyed every bite from the chowder and sourdough bread to the sugar peas and potatoe. It was a very generous proportion, perfectly prepared and cheerfully served. Everything I want in a special dinner out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Overall good meal

Dined on April 9, 2016

Went with friends and family for dinner. As always the food was great. I was somewhat disappointed with the service which was not up to the usual standards. However, overall, we had a great meal.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The clam chowder is wonderful and the so ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

The clam chowder is wonderful and the sourdough bread is amazing! The my whole meal was delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5

Good as always, but would like to have h ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Good as always, but would like to have had more of an Easter menu or selection other than the standard brunch menu.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always amazing and Sunday br ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food is always amazing and Sunday brunch was especially delicious. A nice place to dress up a little and feel like you've been transported to somewhere with an ocean.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for my birthday, and it was great!

Dined on March 25, 2016

The food was wonderful, and the service was great, as it always is. I enjoyed coming here for my birthday dinner, and my husband and I had a perfect time. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Javier steered us in the right direction

Dined on March 17, 2016

Just before heading to restaurant, a co-worker mentioned Market Street Grill wasn't as good as it used to be. So relieved to find, in my opinion, this was NOT true. MSG is as good as all my experiences there. One thing I will request on my next visit is to ease up just a bit on the butter on veg.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food and Service

Dined on March 13, 2016

The place is nothing fancy, but it was nice...more about the food than the ambience. They were prepared for our reservation and we were seated promptly. Our server, Yusef, was very attentive and patient. He was very knowlegable about the menu, he was a great source of infoirmation about the different types of seafood. He made everything sound appetizing. We had a very good time, took some acquaintances for dinner and left as friends. We stayed longer than we should, but the service never diminished. The dessert recommendation was fabulous and the wine choices were perfect. Will definitely return for another experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Marilyn

Dined on February 27, 2016

For the price the food was just ok and the portion seem small for the price.

food1
ambience3
service1

I have been going to market street grill ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

I have been going to market street grill for years but this time has made me decide to not go back. The service was very slow and the wait staff very unattentatiff very and excusing themselves because of other larger parties in the restaurant. The prices in the restaurant have gone way up since the last time we came so we thought that maybe the food quality had improved, but we were wrong. Both of our meals came out an hour after we had ordered and my wife's steak was way overcooked then they brought out another steak that look like somebody had already cut into and was way under cooked. They brought that same steak back out after throwing it on the grill for a little longer. Both of our steaks were flavorless and very tough. The seafood portions were small and the presentation on the plates were messy with steak drippings soaking into everything else on the plate. With all the problems that we had we thought that may be a manager would come out and talk to us but apparently they were too busy to apologize for all of the inconveniences. Needless to say we will not be going back.

food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The food is always awesome at Market Str ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food is always awesome at Market Street. However, the service the last few times has not been great. We waited about an hour the other morning to get our food. The time before that, we waited 20 minutes to get our drinks and bread, 45 minutes just to get our appetizer and then another half hour on top of that to get our dinner. It was ridiculous.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had never been and had a very nice waitress she was very friendly and the food was amazing! Just two things we wish she'd refill our drinks faster and I ordered a side salad and was given the full entree salad (and price)

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Vey accommodating! We had reservations f ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Vey accommodating! We had reservations for 8pm but our sons plane landed late due to fog so I called and they changed the time to 8:15 without any problem. When qe got there, we had no wait and were taken to a very nice table by window in corner. Our server was a lithe slower than usual but everything else went well

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

My wife and I went for lunch on February 13th...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The day before Valentine's Day, you would think that a place like market street grill would be a great place to go. We went for lunch to avoid people and wasting time as we have to pay a babysitter. It was almost like the restaurant didn't know it was the day before Valentine's. The wait to get in was 20-30 minutes with half the restaurant empty. Needless to say we spent nearly 3 hrs, we waited for the waitress, waited for our drinks, waited for our appetizer, waited for our food, waited for our check.... Needless to say I was extremely happy to get outta there. I've been here for dinner before and the service was great. We will likely never go for lunch again.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

It was okay

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was good. Undercooked steak. Service as somewhat unfriendly. I wouldn't go back.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Oysters are the best!

Dined on February 13, 2016

I love the oysters at Market Street, they are always fresh and delirious!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Stay with the downtown Market Street

Dined on February 10, 2016

My family has been eating at Market street Gill for years. I have never had a complaint about MSG is SLC. This was the second time I have eaten at the SJ location. Both times I have had the same problem,

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.