About Market Street Grill - Cottonwood

2985 East Cottonwood Pkwy.
Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121
View Larger Map

In 2000, Gastronomy opened it"s first location outside of downtown Salt Lake City. Located in the southern part of the city, the Market Street Grill and Oyster Bar Cottonwood were Gastronomy's first restaurants built from the ground up. Serving the same delicious fresh seafood and tender steaks that you have come to enjoy at our other Market Street locations, but with stunning views of the Wasatch mountains, our Cottonwood location also features a Fresh Fish Market and spectacular patio dining. Private dining facilities include our Creekside Private Rooms, the Garden Court adjacent to Big Cottonwood Creek,and extraordinary Roof Top Dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
6580 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 942-8860

Website:
http://marketstreetgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Bill McArthur

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Market Street Grill in Cottonwood Heights offers private dining rooms for all your social and business entertaining needs with the same quality service you expect from a Market Street Fresh Fish Restaurant.

Market Street Grill - Cottonwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Utah
Seafood
Utah
Great for Lunch
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Cottonwood Heights ›

special occasion (70)
great for lunch (43)
good for groups (42)
See All
scenic view (42)
great for brunch (42)
fit for foodies (41)
romantic (26)
great for outdoor dining (26)
neighborhood gem (25)
notable wine list (14)
kid-friendly (14)
hot spot (14)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Took awhile to get a waitress to the tab ...

Dined 5 days ago

Took awhile to get a waitress to the table and it was not real busy. Needed to finally bring it to the attention of the Hostees. Once we got service, it was very food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

This was definitely not up to Gastronomy ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

This was definitely not up to Gastronomy's usual standards. My halibut was inexplicably dipped in an egg wash before being cooked, and my Father's Day celebrant's stuffed tilapia had a hollandaise sauce that was basically a solid plank by the time it was served. Our server was oblivious to any of this. Back in my waitressing days, I would have made the chefs re-do the meals before I would have served them. Rather than send them back, we made do and scraped off our offensive coatings. But now three days later, I am kicking myself for not insisting they make our meals correctly. We will not be visiting the Cottonwood location again anytime soon.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was as usual except we notice ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Everything was as usual except we noticed the prices keep going up and the portion sizes are smaller. The Market Street salad has less seafood and the halibut was sliced thinly. It as hardly crowded at all on a Sunday night. We wonder if it is because of new ownership.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love coming to Market St. & have been ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

We love coming to Market St. & have been dining here for over 20 yrs. at the old location in the firehouse, the downtown location & the last few years at the Cottonwood location. The food & service are consistently dependable & the views are beautiful. We're lucky to have you here!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Father's Day at Market Street. Lo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great Father's Day at Market Street. Love the food and the service is always impeccable.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Service was average and slow.

Dined on June 17, 2016

Service was average and slow.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have never had a bad experience at Mar ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

I have never had a bad experience at Market Street Grill.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was impeccable

Dined on June 5, 2016

I took a friend for his Birthday with his wife and his mother. Everyone loved what they had for dinner. The appetizers were excellent as well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and one of the most beauti ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great service and one of the most beautiful views around. The oysters on the half shell were outstanding. Very pricey. Would order more if price were lowered. The halibut and salmon were delicious. I do recommend it but be ready to pay, especially if you have wine. Really nice for a special occasion.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great time, with great food

Dined on June 2, 2016

Celebrating a birthday, great wine, delicious food, fun server. Always a great meal! Will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Nice neighborhood spot, service needs to improve

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Solid restaurant. Great for large parties, special occasions or just a Sunday brunch or lunch. I typically go here with my parents, and it's nice because we know the food will be good. The only downside is the service. The last several times we have dined here the service has been lackluster. Long waits to be acknowledged, to take our orders, and even to get refills on water. For this price, service should be sharp. It's the thing keeping this place from being a perennial fave.

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Having a reservation through Open Table ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Having a reservation through Open Table did not make a difference. We still had to wait. Also, the waiter raved about the fish special, which turned out to be disappointing.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We go to Market Street Grill often becau ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We go to Market Street Grill often because we love the atmosphere. Friday night, the monk fish (special) was absolutely exquisite.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Red Blend wine! Halibut to die fo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great Red Blend wine! Halibut to die for :) Our 8 year old discovered a love for Halibut! Yeah!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

First, we had to wait too long for a ser ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

First, we had to wait too long for a server. He did fine after that. Second, the bread was cold. A restaurant of this level and cost should have bread warmers. Ridiculous. Show me a restaurant that doesn't have warm bread, oh...MSG. Total turn off from the start. Third, dinner salads were meh. Boring. Honestly, any place has a better salad. Other than that, the food was good but overpriced for what you get. Man, I wanted a nice warm piece of sour dough with melted butter. Redeem yourselves MSG

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had wonderful service, from the Hoste ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had wonderful service, from the Hostess, to the wait staff. Tried a new entree and it was exquisite. Service is attentive. Always a fun, friendly vibe.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We enjoy this restaurant for special occ ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We enjoy this restaurant for special occasions. Prime Rib and halibut are my favorites. Service varies but is usually acceptable. Can get a little pricey; that 's why we save it for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Much better than the South Jordan location

Dined on May 14, 2016

We rather drive an extra 15 minutes and come down to this location rather than teh South Jordan location. Our server was amazing. The food was great. We will come back soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

I was very disappointed that the patio was not ope

Dined on May 13, 2016

I have been told that the availability of the patio is sketchy at best. If I am going to pay 30.00 a plate for lunch I should be able to sit on the patio in 86 degree weather. However I'm told by my co workers that there is no rym or reason to the availability of the patio it's just a whenever your establishment feels like it. So no I was not able to enjoy the view

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Service was very inattentive, slow borde ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Service was very inattentive, slow borderline rude. Food was warm not hot.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointed!

Dined on May 9, 2016

We have been going to Market Street (Downtown & Cottonwood) locations for the past 17 years for business & family celebrations. With each visit both food and service were excellence. But for the past 3 dining experiences have been very disappointing in both food and service! We have decided that Ruth Chris & Tuscany will be our dining out choices going forward! I would not recommend your restaurant to anyone !

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mother's Day Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for dinner for Mother's Day dinner. It was crowded but our waiter was great. It took a while to get our food but understandable. The food was great as always.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great brunch!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a very nice Mother's Day brunch! Great service, a little long on wait time for food but was really crowded. First time to eat on the grill side, nice atmosphere, love the booths. Usually eat in the Oyster Bar and love that place! Great service from servers to bus boys.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Mother's Day

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

As always we had a great time, food is always great !! Our waiter was a on the slow side this time, but the family time was worth the small problem.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impecable

Dined on May 7, 2016

We celebrated Mother's Day here, a party of six, with our mother in a wheelchair. Staff very helpful, waiter very attentive, and a menu offering enough diversity everyone was satisfied. Excellent food choices, attentative service, positive ambience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was exceptional

Dined on May 7, 2016

I went there for lunch with my girlfriend her daughter and granddaughter. The food was good we all just got soup and salads. However our server Murphy was exceptional! He was so attentive and met our every need. When I told him what a great server he was he was thrilled to hear it because he had only worked there for 2 weeks. When I go back I would ask for him.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great dining experience

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Always a great dining experience

food5
ambience5
service5

Great cooked seafood!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great cooked seafood!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on April 26, 2016

Very good place to take a date. A little noisy at first than get quiet after all got there meal plenty to eat good selection

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Birthday Dinner Dining

Dined on April 24, 2016

We always have a wonderful time when dining at Market Street Cottonwood. This last time we celebrated two birthdays. Our waiter was very attentive and we had a lovely meal. Market Street has always been one of our favorite restaurants. I'm sure we'll dine there again.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Indifferent service

Dined on April 18, 2016

We've been to Market Street many times. The food quality is fairly consistent. The food is overpriced, but as Frequent Diner members, we do get the "rebate" certificates, so maybe it evens out. We do love their chowder. On this visit, our server was very inattentive. We waited a long time to place our order, and she took a long time between courses. She didn't check in to see how our food was, and it took forever to get our bill. The food was tasty but the service, while not outright rude, was very indifferent and slow, and reflected poorly on the restaurant. As a side note, why do we so often have to ask for the wine list? The hostess should provide one every time! If you don't drink (LDS culture here), you don't have to peruse it, but those of us who do drink should not have to jump through even more hoops than already imposed by the legislature (Zion curtain anyone?)!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant!

Dined on April 14, 2016

Hands down my place to eat. The entire is superb. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Nice dining experience1

Dined on April 9, 2016

I did recommend this place to friends. Its a little drive from Bountiful but it was worth it. We had a very easy and sociable waiter that we really liked. The fresh halibut was delicious and all meal were very much enjoyed. We had youngsters and it worked out great. A relaxed and beautiful ambiance!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently our favorite place to eat.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Consistently our favorite place to eat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Server

Dined on April 9, 2016

Our server was great and complimented an excellent meal.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Used to be great but has fallen off.

Dined on April 7, 2016

The Market Street on 13th was one of my frequent stops for lunch or dinner and I'm sorry it's gone. I'd been to the Cottonwood location only once before (over a year ago) and it was just as good. But our meal last week was a disappointment. The food was okay (just) but the restaurant was freezingly cold--the air conditioning was on as were the ceiling fans and the outdoor temp was in the 60s. We asked our server (who was terrific!) if anything could be done. Nothing was, so we were all very uncomfortable. I had decaf coffee with my dessert and it was awful. Dishwater. For the price, things should have been better: $326/dinner for 5.

food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Excellent food average service

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was excellent but the service was only average. However, we have previously had excellent service.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place for a good meal

Dined on April 2, 2016

I have dined here on multiple occasions ever since it opened. I have never gotten a bad meal. The food is always well prepared and served hot. I would recommend Market Street Grill for all occasions as simply a great place to get a good meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Waiter and overcomes fish ruined dinner

Dined on March 29, 2016

drinks arrived half way through meal. 3 items ordered were wrong. Fish was WAY over cooked. Big disappointment.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.