About Market Street Grill - Cottonwood

2985 East Cottonwood Pkwy.
Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121
View Larger Map

In 2000, Gastronomy opened it"s first location outside of downtown Salt Lake City. Located in the southern part of the city, the Market Street Grill and Oyster Bar Cottonwood were Gastronomy's first restaurants built from the ground up. Serving the same delicious fresh seafood and tender steaks that you have come to enjoy at our other Market Street locations, but with stunning views of the Wasatch mountains, our Cottonwood location also features a Fresh Fish Market and spectacular patio dining. Private dining facilities include our Creekside Private Rooms, the Garden Court adjacent to Big Cottonwood Creek,and extraordinary Roof Top Dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
6580 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 942-8860

Website:
http://marketstreetgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Bill McArthur

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Market Street Grill in Cottonwood Heights offers private dining rooms for all your social and business entertaining needs with the same quality service you expect from a Market Street Fresh Fish Restaurant.

Market Street Grill - Cottonwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Utah
Scenic View
Utah
Seafood
Utah
Best Restaurants in Cottonwood Heights ›

Special Occasion (62)
Scenic View (40)
Great for Lunch (36)
See All
Great for Brunch (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Groups (27)
Romantic (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Notable Wine List (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Kid-friendly (8)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Sort By:
Newest
536 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I took my wife there to celebrate her bi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 6 days ago

I took my wife there to celebrate her birthday. We have eaten at your restaurant, as well as the one in SLC. I was disappointed that there wasn't a special dessert at no cost for her.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was fabulous, the service excel ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was fabulous, the service excellent and the patio dining superb. Loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of my family's favorite rest ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is one of my family's favorite restaurants. Everything about it is exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is always a treat to celebrate a spec ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It is always a treat to celebrate a special occasion at Market Street. Food, service, ambiance, as always are spot on.

Two minor notes: missed the tuna salad on your menus earlier this year. Seafood omelet could have used less cheesy sauce and more seafood.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The service was unbelievably slow. Took ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was unbelievably slow. Took over an hour to get food after ordering. Slow slow slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

One of my favorite restaurants so it was ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants so it was chosen for dinner with the parents and in-laws. Started off with fresh, briny and plump little Kumamoto oysters that I didn't want to share with anyone! Then everyone at the table enjoyed the best clam chowder in the city, let alone the state, maybe the country. A couple of diners had the Alaskan salmon and halibut platter and couldn't leave a bite behind. Halibut fish and chips, swordfish and more were simply outstanding. Dessert was the vanilla Häagen Dazs ice cream with fresh berries and sabayon cream sauce. To Die For. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food isn't as good as it used to be. ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food isn't as good as it used to be. The side dishes are frankly bad (soggy, barely warm). The are better options in town for seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The restaurant was clean, pleasant with ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The restaurant was clean, pleasant with a wonderful view of the mountains. We were hosting my niece and her family for dinner. The restaurant wasn't overly crowded but the noise level made it hard to carry on a conversation especially with a large round table that could accommodate the 6 people in our party. The food was good but my husband's cioppino was way to spicy for his liking. Also, the cod fish & chips that I ordered was warm at best and the fries were cold. Since we were with family (who seemed to like their dinners with no complaints), I did not want to say anything to the waitress to destroy the ambiance of our dinner together. All in all, it was a good experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I made a reservation through open table ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I made a reservation through open table but it did not help us . We waited 35 minutes and were the only couples left standing waiting to be seated. We had asked twice and were given reasons why there wasn't a table available. The last time we asked, it appeared they had forgotten about us and finally showed us to a table. Our server was great but getting seated was not.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Too pricy for the food.. Slow service an ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Too pricy for the food.. Slow service and the quality of the food has gone down consistently over the years. Noisy at the tables. Slow food service, waited for the food way too long. Valet parking lot needs to be marked better. Over cooked food, cold food not even warm..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Service was disappointing. Waited 30 min ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service was disappointing. Waited 30 minutes to get our drinks nearly 1 hr. for salad and dinner... Had two large parties served ahead of us, holding up our dinner. We had a 6:00pm reservation, made in advance, seated about 6:15, service was slow all evening. Food was great, but a little disappointed in the slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We went for a family function. The food ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We went for a family function. The food was good and tasty but had clearly been sitting out for a while. The service was way too slow and our area was not too busy. The Market Street restaurants are still good but nothing like what they used to be. Too bad.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Very slow service. We would of ordered m ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very slow service. We would of ordered more if we didn't have to wait so long for our waiter to show up every time. We would of loved more than 1 drink or appetizer or dessert but we didn't think he'd show up again so we ate and left. I ordered off the seasonal halibut menu and it was awful! bad choice. All I got was spinach and two bite size over cooked pieces of halibut. I thought it would be a fillet. The description on the menu should be changed to be more accurate. It used to be my favorite go to restaurant but its really changed for the worse. We'd rather make the drive to Park City to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

I lived in SLC 20 years ago and loved th ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I lived in SLC 20 years ago and loved the Market Street Grill. I was so disappointed this time. Service was awful, food was marginal. I felt totally "ripped off". Paid way to much for such an unfortunate experience. I will NOT be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We had reservations for 6:00. We arrive ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had reservations for 6:00. We arrived on time but were not seated until 6:20 which was

annoying. Others were seated before we were--even though they arrived later.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food and fantastic service. Always ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great food and fantastic service. Always a great time and perfect for special occasions and family gatherings.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Market Street has always been a favorite ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Market Street has always been a favorite in our house. The food is consistently great, you can order an entree and know that it will be every bit as good as it was the last time you were there. The setting in Cottonwood Heights is great, we feel very fortunate to have a quality restaurant so close to home.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I have been coming to Market ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I have been coming to Market Street Grill for our anniversary for the past 14 years now and we have always looked at it as a special place to us. After this last time we find ourselves wondering if we could find a better place to celebrate our day. So I reserved a table about a week before so when we got there we really have to wait which is good but even with the reservation we still waited around 1 hour before we saw our food. Also my wife wanted to order a drink but they could not locate a drink menu until around 30 min into being seated. We finally got the drink menu but then it took another 15 min just to get our drinks! So our drinks came out a few minutes before our food which is a no no in restaurant service. No one wants to drink a mixed drink while they are eating their food. On to the food, it was good no doubt but the portions seemed much smaller than the last time we were there. We just felt that almost $100 later for just 2 people was a little over priced for what we actually received. Visiting Olive Garden a few weeks ago really made Market Street look bad on the service side.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Great meal, as always.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great meal, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Jerry is always very personab ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our waiter Jerry is always very personable and we always ask for him 😄 Crab Omelette with Avocado is amazing ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Returned to Market Street for dinner, ha ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Returned to Market Street for dinner, have dined there many times over the years. Food was competent as always, although it never knocks your socks off. Good service, can be pretty noisy. There is a nice patio but wind prevented us from dining our there. Prices have gotten a bit on the high side, over the past few years, seems to me. Service was professional. Frankly, I think breakfast or brunch at Market Street are much better values than dinner. But I'm sure we will be back as nice dining choices in our neighborhood are limited.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

No recognition for it being a birthday c ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

No recognition for it being a birthday celebration. Salads were drowning in dressing. Crab cakes were sub par. Our waiter was kind but forgot a lot and timing of meal was not the best. The steak ironically was very good. Funny note, when we asked for vinegar for the clam chowder our waiter brought out balsamic vinegar (that was a first). So we were surprised when those that ordered fish and chips got the malt vinegar. Just a small training point. The cost vs. menu and lack of complexity in flavor was a disappointment.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Fresh salads!...friendly service...price ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fresh salads!...friendly service...pricey for dinner food, but about right for

total dining experience. Terrific lunch menu. Better portions than two years ago.

I liked the online reservations.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was delicious and our server wa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food was delicious and our server was outstanding

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent! Service was ok, very ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was excellent! Service was ok, very slow to get food, service, check!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Took awhile to get a waitress to the tab ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Took awhile to get a waitress to the table and it was not real busy. Needed to finally bring it to the attention of the Hostees. Once we got service, it was very food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This was definitely not up to Gastronomy ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

This was definitely not up to Gastronomy's usual standards. My halibut was inexplicably dipped in an egg wash before being cooked, and my Father's Day celebrant's stuffed tilapia had a hollandaise sauce that was basically a solid plank by the time it was served. Our server was oblivious to any of this. Back in my waitressing days, I would have made the chefs re-do the meals before I would have served them. Rather than send them back, we made do and scraped off our offensive coatings. But now three days later, I am kicking myself for not insisting they make our meals correctly. We will not be visiting the Cottonwood location again anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Everything was as usual except we notice ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Everything was as usual except we noticed the prices keep going up and the portion sizes are smaller. The Market Street salad has less seafood and the halibut was sliced thinly. It as hardly crowded at all on a Sunday night. We wonder if it is because of new ownership.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We love coming to Market St. & have been ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love coming to Market St. & have been dining here for over 20 yrs. at the old location in the firehouse, the downtown location & the last few years at the Cottonwood location. The food & service are consistently dependable & the views are beautiful. We're lucky to have you here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Father's Day at Market Street. Lo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great Father's Day at Market Street. Love the food and the service is always impeccable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was average and slow.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Service was average and slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I have never had a bad experience at Mar ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I have never had a bad experience at Market Street Grill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The service was impeccable

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I took a friend for his Birthday with his wife and his mother. Everyone loved what they had for dinner. The appetizers were excellent as well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and one of the most beauti ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great service and one of the most beautiful views around. The oysters on the half shell were outstanding. Very pricey. Would order more if price were lowered. The halibut and salmon were delicious. I do recommend it but be ready to pay, especially if you have wine. Really nice for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great time, with great food

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Celebrating a birthday, great wine, delicious food, fun server. Always a great meal! Will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice neighborhood spot, service needs to improve

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Solid restaurant. Great for large parties, special occasions or just a Sunday brunch or lunch. I typically go here with my parents, and it's nice because we know the food will be good. The only downside is the service. The last several times we have dined here the service has been lackluster. Long waits to be acknowledged, to take our orders, and even to get refills on water. For this price, service should be sharp. It's the thing keeping this place from being a perennial fave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Having a reservation through Open Table ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Having a reservation through Open Table did not make a difference. We still had to wait. Also, the waiter raved about the fish special, which turned out to be disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We go to Market Street Grill often becau ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We go to Market Street Grill often because we love the atmosphere.

Friday night, the monk fish (special) was absolutely exquisite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Red Blend wine! Halibut to die fo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great Red Blend wine! Halibut to die for :) Our 8 year old discovered a love for Halibut! Yeah!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.