About Market Street Grill - Cottonwood

In 2000, Gastronomy opened it"s first location outside of downtown Salt Lake City. Located in the southern part of the city, the Market Street Grill and Oyster Bar Cottonwood were Gastronomy's first restaurants built from the ground up. Serving the same delicious fresh seafood and tender steaks that you have come to enjoy at our other Market Street locations, but with stunning views of the Wasatch mountains, our Cottonwood location also features a Fresh Fish Market and spectacular patio dining. Private dining facilities include our Creekside Private Rooms, the Garden Court adjacent to Big Cottonwood Creek,and extraordinary Roof Top Dining.

2985 East Cottonwood Pkwy.
Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
6580 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 942-8860

Website:
http://marketstreetgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Bill McArthur

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Market Street Grill in Cottonwood Heights offers private dining rooms for all your social and business entertaining needs with the same quality service you expect from a Market Street Fresh Fish Restaurant.

Market Street Grill - Cottonwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (34)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
See All
Good for Birthdays (29)
Scenic View (23)
Great for Lunch (21)
Business Meals (21)
Good for Groups (17)
Casual (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Romantic (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Healthy (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Authentic (8)
Comfort Food (7)
People Watching (6)
Fun (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Cozy (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Seasonal (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Waterfront (4)
Family Style (4)
Private Room (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
676 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined a day ago

Service was awesome! Food was very tasty but the portions were small. Get a table by the windows that overlook the creek.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 2 days ago

We ordered salmon and it was uncooked in the center.
We asked to have it cooked so more.
It was still somewhat raw in the center.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Adam was a great waiter. The food was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a great time! Our server wee prompt and professional. Food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Sunday brunch is an excellent value with great food and exceptional service.

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

lLove the restaurant and come frequently but had a piece of swordfish that must have been bad. Made me sick that night and next morning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was excellent as always. Wish they still had the mixed seafood cocktail

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always a great meal. Got right in using the Open Table app. Food was perfect, service was awesome. Would recommend to anyone wanting to find the best seafood in Utah.

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I eat at Market Street Grill a 3 to 4 times a year. It's one of my favorite restaurants. Tonight was the first time I was disappointed. The service was slow and the food was subpar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

many meals there. good food consistently. good variety for me. friendly waitstaff. Molly great, even if I called her Heather

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We love to go to market street grill in Cottonwood. We have visited there many times and have had excellent servers who made the experience quite wonderful. However this time the server was nothing excellent and seemed to not want to be there.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food is always good but is getting a little pricy. It used to be reasonable. Not now!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was excellent as always. The fish was fresh and was served in a different way to make it taste even better than normal as we had the two different specials.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

nothing special for birthday treats or susrprises or favors

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Good food, excellent service and cheerful people.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 27, 2017

My husband and I took my Mom (age 95) to dinner on Sunday. She enjoys Market Street, but doesn't get out much.

Randee, our waitress, was so very respectful of my Mom. She was polite, without being condescending and beyond helpful.

Food was great, as was the service. We had a very nice evening and hopefully, we can take my Mom there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 27, 2017

As usual, we had a very pleasant dinner. We like the fish selection, the view and also the wine list. You can't go wrong with Market Street Grill institution.

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Market Street Grille is always competent and reliable. Seafood is consistently very good. Nice suburban setting with mountain views. Recommended for date nights or a nice night out, or a relaxing weeknight dinner. Prices are moderate or a bit above.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Oysters, calamari, tuna were excellent. One steak was perfect the other came medium ( when asked for medium rare to rare ). Service was very lacking. She was extremely innattentive and didn't seem to care about our needs. Unfortunate because restaurant has makings for fantastic restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Service was great. Food was delicious. I prefer this location, easy parking, great view, nice walking path outside for a post dinner walk.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, People Watching, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great Food! Usually get seafood and it's always good, my husband is allergic so he usually gets steak which is good too! Love their desserts too!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We enjoyed the Chowder as we always do. Their specials were on the skimpy side only giving for scallops for $30. I've had much better scallops at a much more reasonable price then Market Street. Overall it was okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always great food - can't go wrong - never any surprises. Love it and have been coming back for years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Thank you to the reservation/wait staff for decreasing/increasing the seating as our reservation changed. The table size was just right. Our server was very attentive.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I have had some interesting brunches at Market Street in the last month. I'll never go back to South Jordan. close to an hour from ordering and still no food. Left after the manager was trying to intimidate me about it. Went to Cottonwood yesterday, food was very good, probably the best I've had there. But we are back to the same problem as S. Jordan, from seating to leaving with no kicking around after eating, it was a 2 hour marathon for brunch. Plenty of reflecting between finally getting coffee to finally taking our order to finally getting our food to finally getting our checks. Way to long for my liking. I think I'll just give up on Market Street and I'll have more time to enjoy the day. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Love the location one of my favorite brunch spot ❤ brought one of my girlfriends that I haven't seen in awhile, as usual Brenda (manager) came and greeted me 😊 I usually request Jerry but wanted to be seated in a booth. We had amazing Snow Crab Omelette with Market Street Potatoes delicious. Thank you for the great food and ambiance!!!! Lance was our waiter, good service and very funny guy. I highly recommend this location for great view of the mountain 🎉🎉

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Consistency prevails for the most part...good food, good service. That is what I like best about Market Street. It is a little pricey however so it is not a place I choose frequently; mostly special occasions. My only complaint is the quick removal of finished dishes when others at the table are not done yet. I don't like getting the "rush act" so they can turn the table over.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Made the reservation on my iPhone, showed up at the designated time and was immediately seated. Had a wonderful meal and evening. It doesn't get any better than that.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great service, our server was amazing and great with the kids! Food came in a timely manner and tasted phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Been gone for a week. Had a romantic meal with my wife.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Good food, slow service. Would eat there again as it was not such bad device previously and was hopefully an anomaly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Have eaten at Market Street for over 20+yrs and lately the food has not been up to the quality that it was in the past. I thought it was because it was a busy night or they were short of help, but it has continued to trend downward. I hope they can train and maintain better chefs in the near future.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I've seen mixed reviews for this restaurant but we had a good experience. Made reservations and we were immediately seated when we arrived. Different courses came in a timely fashion. Stuffed mushrooms were heavenly. Mexican shrimp dish was excellent. My wife's chicken curry dish was also delicious. Nobody can match their clam chowder. From what I can tell, it's the same recipe they've been using since they started back in 1983. Portions were generous. Waiter was friendly and checked back a few times to see how we were doing. All in all, a great dining experience. Though we went for dinner, they are also great for lunch, especially for business clients.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The most recent visit to the Market Street location in Cottonwood provided many of the same concerns of previous visits. The price point is higher than justified by the plated food...unless you seek out specials such as their early dining option, or their prix fixe. Their service staff is poorly informed and below standards associated with similar price points. Listing one vintage of wine, which was considered superior, while serving a different vintage (which was considered a decided drop in quality by the winemaker themselves) is unprofessional. Particularly when the server attempted to cover the label so the vintage could not be read. Small things...but all to the negative.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We hadn't been to Market Street in a long time and after our visit we remembered why. First they didn't have the sparking wine I wanted. However, asking for a glass of prosecco (because they provide floats on the cocktails) I was able to get a glass of that, which was nice.
I ordered the California halibut that was supposed to come grilled, but came breaded. It was a little mushy, not flaky like I would expect halibut to be, very disappointing because it was fresh rather than the Alaskan frozen I didn't want to send it back because our waitress was very overwhelmed with all her tables. My husband ordered the 2 crab combo because it was the crab festival. For $60 he should have received about twice the amount of crab he got.
The only redeeming factor was our server, she was great.
We will not be going back. The prices have continued to climb, but the value has gone down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great as always. We have been many times and stopped for while because the quality had diminished, it has improved a great deal and we go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The food was amazing and the service impeccable! Definitely going back again! Also, whole30 friendly - just have to vocalize and inquire on the preparation of your food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Anniversary dinner, 34 yrs! The food was very good, wine was excellent, our server was not up to par, although did leave 20% tip!

Tags: Private Room, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This seems like a place that would have excellent food but it is good to average overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.