About Market Street Grill - Cottonwood

In 2000, Gastronomy opened it"s first location outside of downtown Salt Lake City. Located in the southern part of the city, the Market Street Grill and Oyster Bar Cottonwood were Gastronomy's first restaurants built from the ground up. Serving the same delicious fresh seafood and tender steaks that you have come to enjoy at our other Market Street locations, but with stunning views of the Wasatch mountains, our Cottonwood location also features a Fresh Fish Market and spectacular patio dining. Private dining facilities include our Creekside Private Rooms, the Garden Court adjacent to Big Cottonwood Creek,and extraordinary Roof Top Dining.

2985 East Cottonwood Pkwy.
Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
6580 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 942-8860

Website:
http://marketstreetgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Bill McArthur

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Market Street Grill in Cottonwood Heights offers private dining rooms for all your social and business entertaining needs with the same quality service you expect from a Market Street Fresh Fish Restaurant.

Market Street Grill - Cottonwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Scenic View (16)
Business Meals (16)
Casual (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Cozy (9)
Healthy (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Romantic (7)
Modern Decor (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Seasonal (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Fun (3)
Family Style (3)
Fireplace (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Authentic (2)
People Watching (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
617 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and great service. Our sever ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and great service. Our sever Jacob was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have enjoyed dining at Market Street C ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I have enjoyed dining at Market Street Cottonwood over the years, from special occasions to business meals and large parties. The quality of the food is consistently good but some of the menu items are a bit on the expensive side, although this could be a supply and demand issue with seafood. The service is generally prompt and very good. I love the views of the mountains.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wish the salmon sandwich had more veggie ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Wish the salmon sandwich had more veggies (on the patty or on the side). The crab cakes were light, flaky and mostly crab with no fillers added and were served with my favorite green, arugula. The New England chowder was/is a masterpiece, as usual, and served piping hot-- the way we enjoy soup!

Attentive service and delicious food is the perfect combination for a lunch gathering with friends.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Poor food no taste. We were six people o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Poor food no taste. We were six people only my granddaughter like her Ravioli dish. The fishes from salmon to trout were tasteless. The sauce for the muscles was supposed to be marina sauce it was tasteless tomato sauce. Dinner was well over $250.00 and was not worth $10.00 my birthday was supposed to enjoyable but it was food disaster

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Market Street Grill still has the most d ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Market Street Grill still has the most delicious clam chowder anywhere It's worth the trip just for the chowder. Their seafood salad is refreshing and their warm crusty bread is excellent. It is unlikely you would get the server we had on New Year's Eve. The service is usually good but we practically had to stand up and wave our arms to get our server's attention.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We love Market Street. A great place to ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We love Market Street. A great place to eat. Always has and always will be our favorite place to eat,

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place. Great staff and wonderful foo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fun place. Great staff and wonderful food. Service was attentive and our waiter had a happy and fun personality. Always have a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for New Year's Eve. Our server w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for New Year's Eve. Our server was a little harried and scatter brained. He noticed my soup spoon was dirty and then forgot to bring me another one. He did bring me another bowl of soup but by then my husband and daughter had finished their salad and soup. He misplaced my frequent diner card, apologized and told me where I could request another. Luckily, my daughter looked down and saw it on the extra chair at our table. He was a nice guy but a bit organized. Kind of dampened our evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We have been coming to Market Street sin ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have been coming to Market Street since it started (downtown). Great memories!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I think market street is incredibly over ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I think market street is incredibly overrated. I don't mind paying a premium for really good food, but this place is very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Server Michelle was exceptional. The fo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Server Michelle was exceptional. The food was ok. Very noisy. Front reception and seating needs som work. Our reservation was for 6:30 and it was 7:00 before we were seated. I would give the hostess section a failing grade.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Excellent food as always; found out this ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent food as always; found out this trip that Market Street Grill doesn't charge a corkage fee on the 1st bottle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything was terrific!

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Everything was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Remains a comfortable welcoming atmosphe ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Remains a comfortable welcoming atmosphere with good food.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Healthy, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Disappointing upon checking in. Despite ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Disappointing upon checking in. Despite my efforts of communicating with manager via email nearly a month ahead( celebrating hubby 's 60th) . Greeted with you will have to take what's available 🙄. I understand that it was Christmas Eve and staff wants to 'wrap it up' for holidays but don't accept reservations then! By the way , waitress we had she was throwing the menu, napkin at me . Very embarrassing! Then to be told with 'it's my 4th day!"

Customer's standpoint - we are still paying for meal and service irrespectively!

Shame as food was good. Decor good but lose the ketchup bottles from the table!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Family Holiday

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Family Holiday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Crab cakes were unbelievably good

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Crab cakes were unbelievably good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Average dining experience compared to pa ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Average dining experience compared to past experiences here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great service, great food & great setti ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great service, great food & great setting for an adult family Christmas gathering! Can't go wrong with Market Street!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a nice time, despite how busy it ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Always a nice time, despite how busy it is this time of year, especially.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The early bird special is great. Three c ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The early bird special is great. Three courses plus bread for $20. Service was slow but that is pretty much always the case here. Love the decor, it's especially festive at holiday time. For a group of six request a round table on the upper level-- pony walls give a more private dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We frequent Market Street often, we are ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We frequent Market Street often, we are part of the frequent diner club. I was severely disappointed with this trip. We made reservations for 6:30pm and we were seated promptly when we arrived. Everything was going well, until we waited almost an hour for our food to be brought out to the table. I had a discussion with the waiter and the manager to let them know that I didn't find this acceptable as this has never happened before. I am not someone looking for a free meal, I can pay for my meal. I am someone that if I am going to a fine restaurant I expect good service. The manager did offer free dessert which was fine, but it would have been better to just receive the good service to begin with.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We enjoyed our lunch but the portions we ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We enjoyed our lunch but the portions were small compared to the price and some of the fish tasted of freezer burn.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My associate and I enjoyed a delicious d ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 8, 2016

My associate and I enjoyed a delicious dinner and great conversation in this delightful restaurant. The entrees were well-prepared and very tasty. The service is outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrate many family special occasio ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We celebrate many family special occasions at Market Street Grill - Cottonwood because of the atmosphere and the good food.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waitress was very attentive and poli ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our waitress was very attentive and polite. She served us in a timely manner.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the location at Cottonwood Heights ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Love the location at Cottonwood Heights and I appreciate Brenda ( manager ) always warm and welcomes her guests. I highly recommend the Seafood Omelette it was delicious 😋

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always our experience at Market Stree ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

As always our experience at Market Street Grill was outstanding. The service was perfect, she was always right there when we needed her. The food was amazing for everyone in our party. For special occasions or business reasons this place is Top of the List.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great as usual. I had a car ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was great as usual. I had a card for a free entree for my birthday which made it very affordable. They have a nice early bird special which I took advantage of. Highly recommend to dine here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Horrible experience overall. We ordered ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Horrible experience overall. We ordered the filet oscar and both filets came out completely raw (one was still cold in the center). Then we waited forever for our round of cooked food to come out only to be very bland in taste. The manager offered a free desert to us which was also mediocre at best. The entire meal was over $70 and not even worth $35 in my opinon. Extremely disappointing overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Market Street may be the best seafood pl ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Market Street may be the best seafood place in Salt Lake (although that may be changing), but the bar is pretty low in Utah. Their prices are exorbitant, but the food is generally pretty good. I say "generally" because, the fare is not consistent; you can come in one week and have a wonderfully cooked piece of fish and return the next and have the same order grossly under- or over-cooked. I'd still recommend this place to someone looking for seafood, but I would include the caveats I mentioned regarding pricing and consistency with the recommendation. Relatedly, on our last visit, the server charged us for a soda refill. I don't believe that's the rule here, but it's indicative of the overall theme of the place: keep prices high.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We had a very nice dinner, we were seate ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We had a very nice dinner, we were seated promptly at the time of our reservation.

Our waitress was attentive .

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was OK...not great...and pricey for ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Food was OK...not great...and pricey for what you got. Service was slow even though it was not crowded. Had to ask for butter a few times. Not a good value for what we got...will likely not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

I called the following day due to not b ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I called the following day due to not being happy with the food. I talked to Sandor said he would be talking to his manager and return my call and I never heard back from him.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

This is my husband's and my go to restau ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 1, 2016

This is my husband's and my go to restaurant for birthdays and our anniversary. We love the food and the early bird menu. We also love the birthday postcards we get that pays for one of our meals. We've never had a bad meal at market street!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our service was excellent. Server immed ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Our service was excellent. Server immediately delivered water and bread, kept the food flowing and checked back with us frequently.

Food was excellent. We tried some of the special shrimp entrees. We had a table by the window and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Sunday brunch-food was very goo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch-food was very good for all at table (6 people), service was great and prices are reasonable. Restaurant is open, cheerful and clean but it is very noisy so conversation is difficult. Overall I do recommend it as a nice and good place for brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants when visi ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants when visiting Salt Lake City. Great menu with fresh fish. Service is always exceptional.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good choice for quality food an ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always a good choice for quality food and service at reasonable prices, when I am in SLC!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for my husband's birthday w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We came here for my husband's birthday with some friends and had a great night. The raspberry tort is to die for, we got a whole one for the table. A few people got creme brulé for dessert with the early bird special and said that was amazing as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.