About Market Street Grill - Cottonwood

2985 East Cottonwood Pkwy.
Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121
View Larger Map

In 2000, Gastronomy opened it"s first location outside of downtown Salt Lake City. Located in the southern part of the city, the Market Street Grill and Oyster Bar Cottonwood were Gastronomy's first restaurants built from the ground up. Serving the same delicious fresh seafood and tender steaks that you have come to enjoy at our other Market Street locations, but with stunning views of the Wasatch mountains, our Cottonwood location also features a Fresh Fish Market and spectacular patio dining. Private dining facilities include our Creekside Private Rooms, the Garden Court adjacent to Big Cottonwood Creek,and extraordinary Roof Top Dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
6580 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 942-8860

Website:
http://marketstreetgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Bill McArthur

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Market Street Grill in Cottonwood Heights offers private dining rooms for all your social and business entertaining needs with the same quality service you expect from a Market Street Fresh Fish Restaurant.

Market Street Grill - Cottonwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for a Date (20)
Scenic View (17)
See All
Good for Groups (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Casual (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Great for Brunch (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Business Meals (10)
Romantic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Healthy (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Fun (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Seasonal (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Cozy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Waterfront (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Authentic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
575 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waitress was very attentive and poli ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our waitress was very attentive and polite. She served us in a timely manner.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the location at Cottonwood Heights ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Love the location at Cottonwood Heights and I appreciate Brenda ( manager ) always warm and welcomes her guests. I highly recommend the Seafood Omelette it was delicious 😋

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always our experience at Market Stree ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

As always our experience at Market Street Grill was outstanding. The service was perfect, she was always right there when we needed her. The food was amazing for everyone in our party. For special occasions or business reasons this place is Top of the List.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great as usual. I had a car ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was great as usual. I had a card for a free entree for my birthday which made it very affordable. They have a nice early bird special which I took advantage of. Highly recommend to dine here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Horrible experience overall. We ordered ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Horrible experience overall. We ordered the filet oscar and both filets came out completely raw (one was still cold in the center). Then we waited forever for our round of cooked food to come out only to be very bland in taste. The manager offered a free desert to us which was also mediocre at best. The entire meal was over $70 and not even worth $35 in my opinon. Extremely disappointing overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Market Street may be the best seafood pl ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Market Street may be the best seafood place in Salt Lake (although that may be changing), but the bar is pretty low in Utah. Their prices are exorbitant, but the food is generally pretty good. I say "generally" because, the fare is not consistent; you can come in one week and have a wonderfully cooked piece of fish and return the next and have the same order grossly under- or over-cooked. I'd still recommend this place to someone looking for seafood, but I would include the caveats I mentioned regarding pricing and consistency with the recommendation. Relatedly, on our last visit, the server charged us for a soda refill. I don't believe that's the rule here, but it's indicative of the overall theme of the place: keep prices high.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We had a very nice dinner, we were seate ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We had a very nice dinner, we were seated promptly at the time of our reservation.

Our waitress was attentive .

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was OK...not great...and pricey for ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Food was OK...not great...and pricey for what you got. Service was slow even though it was not crowded. Had to ask for butter a few times. Not a good value for what we got...will likely not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

I called the following day due to not b ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I called the following day due to not being happy with the food. I talked to Sandor said he would be talking to his manager and return my call and I never heard back from him.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

This is my husband's and my go to restau ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 1, 2016

This is my husband's and my go to restaurant for birthdays and our anniversary. We love the food and the early bird menu. We also love the birthday postcards we get that pays for one of our meals. We've never had a bad meal at market street!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our service was excellent. Server immed ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Our service was excellent. Server immediately delivered water and bread, kept the food flowing and checked back with us frequently.

Food was excellent. We tried some of the special shrimp entrees. We had a table by the window and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Sunday brunch-food was very goo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch-food was very good for all at table (6 people), service was great and prices are reasonable. Restaurant is open, cheerful and clean but it is very noisy so conversation is difficult. Overall I do recommend it as a nice and good place for brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants when visi ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants when visiting Salt Lake City. Great menu with fresh fish. Service is always exceptional.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good choice for quality food an ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always a good choice for quality food and service at reasonable prices, when I am in SLC!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for my husband's birthday w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We came here for my husband's birthday with some friends and had a great night. The raspberry tort is to die for, we got a whole one for the table. A few people got creme brulé for dessert with the early bird special and said that was amazing as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is always very good. The clam c ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food is always very good. The clam chowder is the best I have ever tasted and I have tasted clam chowder on the East & West coasts. The service was very friendly and efficient. I have been eating at Market Street since the late sixty's.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is the favorite one in t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This restaurant is the favorite one in the Cottonwood Heights Neighborhood, being there many times.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was poor. Appetizers came af ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The service was poor. Appetizers came after soup. long wait for entree, wine service so poor we cancelled the 2nd bottle. Server seemed indifferent, some what of a don't care attitude.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I went here with the intention of having ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I went here with the intention of having a romantic evening and setting the mood for proposing. The meal was delicious and loved it. We are now engaged and so in love thanks for the great time Market Street Grill.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

A great dinner with my wife. We enjoyed ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

A great dinner with my wife. We enjoyed great food and great company. The service was back to what I expected from Market Street. The food is always great and this did not disappoint. Recommended for a high end date or special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food, steaks, lobster, shrimp all v ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Good food, steaks, lobster, shrimp all very good. Need to offer grilled lobster. Price a little high. Had dinner at Ruby River the next night for half the price and just as good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Seated at the perfect table. Service at ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Seated at the perfect table. Service attentive. Food is excellent as always.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The mark of a quality restaurant is the ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The mark of a quality restaurant is the caliber of the staff. Our server Sid was excellent! We had a bit of a rough experience with respect to the wait time for our food. Instead of letting us wait and faster, Sid kept us informed of the situation the entire time and, did so without finger pointing or blame. She just owned the situation and did so with a smile. When we got our food it was hot, fresh and delicious. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always greT food and great service. The ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Always greT food and great service. The early bird specials are a great value!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been a customer of Market Street ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I have been a customer of Market Street for over 20 years and it is my favorite for lobster tail.

I understand that this restaurant location was designed for a high noise level, however you might consider a slightly lower level for early dinners. Our age is 73 and at least 90 percent of the early dinners were in our age group. Perhaps the music could be adjusted to a lower level for the first seating then raised for the rest of the night.

The chowder was a little thin, I prefer a thick chowder.

Thank you for allowing me to express my opinion.

Dennis

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food came to the table warm, the recomme ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Food came to the table warm, the recommend King salmon was warm at best and flavorless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Good food. Service was a bit slow.

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Good food. Service was a bit slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This occasion to the market street grill ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This occasion to the market street grill was my worst I've ever had. Our waitress must have been having a bad day. She had to be asked to refill drinks that were clearly empty and placed at the edge of the table to get her to even notice. The food was undercooked (closer to sushi). I would have sent it back to get cooked (orders cedar plank salmon and halibut) but too afraid it would take too long. The plank barely had any sign it had been heated. Unfortunately for a restaurant of this caliber it just did not stack up well tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

Great service, quality food

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Great service, quality food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Booked a very large table for my father' ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Booked a very large table for my father's retirement celebration. The table was ready when we arrived, which I appreciate. The server was very patient with a toddler in our group, for which I am grateful, but she seemed unfamiliar with the menu and twice forgot to bring things we asked for (one of them being simple crackers that we practically had to beg for). I recognize that very large groups are difficult for servers, but I felt that she was not up to the task for the type of service I would expect from Market Street Grill. The food was very good, but we waited 50 minutes from the time we ordered our entrees to the time we received them. For a very slow Tuesday night this was highly unexpected and extremely disappointing. The Cottonwood location was much more convenient than downtown, but the service and wait time did not measure up to the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

I went with a friend for the Dine O'Roun ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I went with a friend for the Dine O'Round as you published that the were participating. However, they said that they were not. The information you shared was not accurate

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Fantastic food, service, and atmosphere! ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Fantastic food, service, and atmosphere! The wait staff were especially attentive.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Market Street is going downhill. The la ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Market Street is going downhill. The last few times I have been there, there have been a lot of flaws in either the food or service. This time I ordered the shrimp Louie, started eating it and realized after a few minutes there was no seafood on it. The first server had no idea what I was talking about because this was her first time serving brunch. The second one came over and almost argued with me about the name of what I had actually ordered, and then she took my half-eaten salad away and put a few pieces of shrimp on it and brought it back! Why wouldn't she just bring me the seafood that is supposed to go on top of the salad. Weird!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

As always, the food was amazing. The ser ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 3, 2016

As always, the food was amazing. The service is great and the environment is comfortable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Very nice for a relaxed slow paced Sunda ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Very nice for a relaxed slow paced Sunday brunch. The service was slightly slow but we weren't in a hurry so no problem. That was not our waiter's fault he was amazing. So attentive and anticipated our every need which made our wait for the food a delight. We will be back. It's a promise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner and partic ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner and participated in the city's Bites in the Heights event. Service was excellent and everything was very well done. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I have been going to market street grill ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I have been going to market street grill for over 25 years.

This was the worst service.

From the moment we sat until we got our food it took 55 minutes,

They said the kitchen was busy.

Only 1 other table was waiting for their food.

The manager that night should be let go.

Our server that night should have never been hired.

Said to say our going to market street grill is probably over with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We always go back to Market Street Grill ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We always go back to Market Street Grill. We simply love it, whether it is for brunch or dinner.

And if you love oysters, they have a nice selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I took my wife there to celebrate her bi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 20, 2016

I took my wife there to celebrate her birthday. We have eaten at your restaurant, as well as the one in SLC. I was disappointed that there wasn't a special dessert at no cost for her.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was fabulous, the service excel ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was fabulous, the service excellent and the patio dining superb. Loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.