About Market Street Grill - Cottonwood

2985 East Cottonwood Pkwy.
Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121
View Larger Map

In 2000, Gastronomy opened it"s first location outside of downtown Salt Lake City. Located in the southern part of the city, the Market Street Grill and Oyster Bar Cottonwood were Gastronomy's first restaurants built from the ground up. Serving the same delicious fresh seafood and tender steaks that you have come to enjoy at our other Market Street locations, but with stunning views of the Wasatch mountains, our Cottonwood location also features a Fresh Fish Market and spectacular patio dining. Private dining facilities include our Creekside Private Rooms, the Garden Court adjacent to Big Cottonwood Creek,and extraordinary Roof Top Dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
6580 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 942-8860

Website:
http://marketstreetgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Bill McArthur

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Market Street Grill in Cottonwood Heights offers private dining rooms for all your social and business entertaining needs with the same quality service you expect from a Market Street Fresh Fish Restaurant.

Market Street Grill - Cottonwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Utah
Seafood
Utah
Great for Lunch
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Cottonwood Heights ›

special occasion (70)
scenic view (44)
great for brunch (41)
See All
great for lunch (40)
fit for foodies (37)
good for groups (34)
great for outdoor dining (29)
romantic (27)
neighborhood gem (26)
notable wine list (16)
hot spot (11)
kid-friendly (10)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (4)
Sort By:
Newest
520 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and fantastic service. Always ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and fantastic service. Always a great time and perfect for special occasions and family gatherings.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Market Street has always been a favorite ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Market Street has always been a favorite in our house. The food is consistently great, you can order an entree and know that it will be every bit as good as it was the last time you were there. The setting in Cottonwood Heights is great, we feel very fortunate to have a quality restaurant so close to home.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I have been coming to Market ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife and I have been coming to Market Street Grill for our anniversary for the past 14 years now and we have always looked at it as a special place to us. After this last time we find ourselves wondering if we could find a better place to celebrate our day. So I reserved a table about a week before so when we got there we really have to wait which is good but even with the reservation we still waited around 1 hour before we saw our food. Also my wife wanted to order a drink but they could not locate a drink menu until around 30 min into being seated. We finally got the drink menu but then it took another 15 min just to get our drinks! So our drinks came out a few minutes before our food which is a no no in restaurant service. No one wants to drink a mixed drink while they are eating their food. On to the food, it was good no doubt but the portions seemed much smaller than the last time we were there. We just felt that almost $100 later for just 2 people was a little over priced for what we actually received. Visiting Olive Garden a few weeks ago really made Market Street look bad on the service side.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Great meal, as always.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great meal, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Jerry is always very personab ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our waiter Jerry is always very personable and we always ask for him 😄 Crab Omelette with Avocado is amazing ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Returned to Market Street for dinner, ha ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Returned to Market Street for dinner, have dined there many times over the years. Food was competent as always, although it never knocks your socks off. Good service, can be pretty noisy. There is a nice patio but wind prevented us from dining our there. Prices have gotten a bit on the high side, over the past few years, seems to me. Service was professional. Frankly, I think breakfast or brunch at Market Street are much better values than dinner. But I'm sure we will be back as nice dining choices in our neighborhood are limited.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

No recognition for it being a birthday c ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

No recognition for it being a birthday celebration. Salads were drowning in dressing. Crab cakes were sub par. Our waiter was kind but forgot a lot and timing of meal was not the best. The steak ironically was very good. Funny note, when we asked for vinegar for the clam chowder our waiter brought out balsamic vinegar (that was a first). So we were surprised when those that ordered fish and chips got the malt vinegar. Just a small training point. The cost vs. menu and lack of complexity in flavor was a disappointment.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Fresh salads!...friendly service...price ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fresh salads!...friendly service...pricey for dinner food, but about right for

total dining experience. Terrific lunch menu. Better portions than two years ago.

I liked the online reservations.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was delicious and our server wa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food was delicious and our server was outstanding

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent! Service was ok, very ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was excellent! Service was ok, very slow to get food, service, check!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Took awhile to get a waitress to the tab ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Took awhile to get a waitress to the table and it was not real busy. Needed to finally bring it to the attention of the Hostees. Once we got service, it was very food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This was definitely not up to Gastronomy ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

This was definitely not up to Gastronomy's usual standards. My halibut was inexplicably dipped in an egg wash before being cooked, and my Father's Day celebrant's stuffed tilapia had a hollandaise sauce that was basically a solid plank by the time it was served. Our server was oblivious to any of this. Back in my waitressing days, I would have made the chefs re-do the meals before I would have served them. Rather than send them back, we made do and scraped off our offensive coatings. But now three days later, I am kicking myself for not insisting they make our meals correctly. We will not be visiting the Cottonwood location again anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Everything was as usual except we notice ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Everything was as usual except we noticed the prices keep going up and the portion sizes are smaller. The Market Street salad has less seafood and the halibut was sliced thinly. It as hardly crowded at all on a Sunday night. We wonder if it is because of new ownership.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We love coming to Market St. & have been ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love coming to Market St. & have been dining here for over 20 yrs. at the old location in the firehouse, the downtown location & the last few years at the Cottonwood location. The food & service are consistently dependable & the views are beautiful. We're lucky to have you here!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Father's Day at Market Street. Lo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great Father's Day at Market Street. Love the food and the service is always impeccable.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was average and slow.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Service was average and slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I have never had a bad experience at Mar ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I have never had a bad experience at Market Street Grill.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The service was impeccable

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I took a friend for his Birthday with his wife and his mother. Everyone loved what they had for dinner. The appetizers were excellent as well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and one of the most beauti ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great service and one of the most beautiful views around. The oysters on the half shell were outstanding. Very pricey. Would order more if price were lowered. The halibut and salmon were delicious. I do recommend it but be ready to pay, especially if you have wine. Really nice for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great time, with great food

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Celebrating a birthday, great wine, delicious food, fun server. Always a great meal! Will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice neighborhood spot, service needs to improve

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Solid restaurant. Great for large parties, special occasions or just a Sunday brunch or lunch. I typically go here with my parents, and it's nice because we know the food will be good. The only downside is the service. The last several times we have dined here the service has been lackluster. Long waits to be acknowledged, to take our orders, and even to get refills on water. For this price, service should be sharp. It's the thing keeping this place from being a perennial fave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Having a reservation through Open Table ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Having a reservation through Open Table did not make a difference. We still had to wait. Also, the waiter raved about the fish special, which turned out to be disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We go to Market Street Grill often becau ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We go to Market Street Grill often because we love the atmosphere.

Friday night, the monk fish (special) was absolutely exquisite.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Red Blend wine! Halibut to die fo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great Red Blend wine! Halibut to die for :) Our 8 year old discovered a love for Halibut! Yeah!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First, we had to wait too long for a ser ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

First, we had to wait too long for a server. He did fine after that.

Second, the bread was cold. A restaurant of this level and cost should have bread warmers. Ridiculous. Show me a restaurant that doesn't have warm bread, oh...MSG. Total turn off from the start.

Third, dinner salads were meh. Boring. Honestly, any place has a better salad.

Other than that, the food was good but overpriced for what you get.

Man, I wanted a nice warm piece of sour dough with melted butter. Redeem yourselves MSG

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We had wonderful service, from the Hoste ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We had wonderful service, from the Hostess, to the wait staff. Tried a new entree and it was exquisite. Service is attentive. Always a fun, friendly vibe.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoy this restaurant for special occ ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We enjoy this restaurant for special occasions.

Prime Rib and halibut are my favorites. Service

varies but is usually acceptable. Can get a little pricey; that 's why

we save it for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Much better than the South Jordan location

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We rather drive an extra 15 minutes and come down to this location rather than teh South Jordan location. Our server was amazing. The food was great. We will come back soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was very disappointed that the patio was not ope

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I have been told that the availability of the patio is sketchy at best. If I am going to pay 30.00 a plate for lunch I should be able to sit on the patio in 86 degree weather. However I'm told by my co workers that there is no rym or reason to the availability of the patio it's just a whenever your establishment feels like it. So no I was not able to enjoy the view

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Service was very inattentive, slow borde ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Service was very inattentive, slow borderline rude.

Food was warm not hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Disappointed!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We have been going to Market Street (Downtown & Cottonwood) locations for the past 17 years for business & family celebrations. With each visit both food and service were excellence. But for the past 3 dining experiences have been very disappointing in both food and service! We have decided that Ruth Chris & Tuscany will be our dining out choices going forward! I would not recommend your restaurant to anyone !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Mother's Day Dinner

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for dinner for Mother's Day dinner. It was crowded but our waiter was great. It took a while to get our food but understandable. The food was great as always.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great brunch!

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a very nice Mother's Day brunch! Great service, a little long on wait time for food but was really crowded. First time to eat on the grill side, nice atmosphere, love the booths. Usually eat in the Oyster Bar and love that place! Great service from servers to bus boys.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mother's Day

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

As always we had a great time, food is always great !! Our waiter was a on the slow side this time, but the family time was worth the small problem.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Impecable

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We celebrated Mother's Day here, a party of six, with our mother in a wheelchair. Staff very helpful, waiter very attentive, and a menu offering enough diversity everyone was satisfied. Excellent food choices, attentative service, positive ambience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was exceptional

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I went there for lunch with my girlfriend her daughter and granddaughter. The food was good we all just got soup and salads. However our server Murphy was exceptional! He was so attentive and met our every need. When I told him what a great server he was he was thrilled to hear it because he had only worked there for 2 weeks.

When I go back I would ask for him.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a great dining experience

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Always a great dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great cooked seafood!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great cooked seafood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Very good place to take a date. A little noisy at first than get quiet after all got there meal

plenty to eat good selection

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.