About Market Street Grill - Cottonwood

In 2000, Gastronomy opened it"s first location outside of downtown Salt Lake City. Located in the southern part of the city, the Market Street Grill and Oyster Bar Cottonwood were Gastronomy's first restaurants built from the ground up. Serving the same delicious fresh seafood and tender steaks that you have come to enjoy at our other Market Street locations, but with stunning views of the Wasatch mountains, our Cottonwood location also features a Fresh Fish Market and spectacular patio dining. Private dining facilities include our Creekside Private Rooms, the Garden Court adjacent to Big Cottonwood Creek,and extraordinary Roof Top Dining.

2985 East Cottonwood Pkwy.
Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
6580 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 942-8860

Website:
http://marketstreetgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Bill McArthur

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Market Street Grill in Cottonwood Heights offers private dining rooms for all your social and business entertaining needs with the same quality service you expect from a Market Street Fresh Fish Restaurant.

Market Street Grill - Cottonwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Birthdays (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Business Meals (21)
Great for Lunch (18)
Scenic View (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Casual (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Romantic (10)
Cozy (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Healthy (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Authentic (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fun (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
People Watching (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Seasonal (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Private Room (4)
Family Style (4)
Waterfront (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
657 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Oysters, calamari, tuna were excellent. One steak was perfect the other came medium ( when asked for medium rare to rare ). Service was very lacking. She was extremely innattentive and didn't seem to care about our needs. Unfortunate because restaurant has makings for fantastic restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Service was great. Food was delicious. I prefer this location, easy parking, great view, nice walking path outside for a post dinner walk.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, People Watching, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great Food! Usually get seafood and it's always good, my husband is allergic so he usually gets steak which is good too! Love their desserts too!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We enjoyed the Chowder as we always do. Their specials were on the skimpy side only giving for scallops for $30. I've had much better scallops at a much more reasonable price then Market Street. Overall it was okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always great food - can't go wrong - never any surprises. Love it and have been coming back for years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Thank you to the reservation/wait staff for decreasing/increasing the seating as our reservation changed. The table size was just right. Our server was very attentive.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I have had some interesting brunches at Market Street in the last month. I'll never go back to South Jordan. close to an hour from ordering and still no food. Left after the manager was trying to intimidate me about it. Went to Cottonwood yesterday, food was very good, probably the best I've had there. But we are back to the same problem as S. Jordan, from seating to leaving with no kicking around after eating, it was a 2 hour marathon for brunch. Plenty of reflecting between finally getting coffee to finally taking our order to finally getting our food to finally getting our checks. Way to long for my liking. I think I'll just give up on Market Street and I'll have more time to enjoy the day. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Love the location one of my favorite brunch spot ❤ brought one of my girlfriends that I haven't seen in awhile, as usual Brenda (manager) came and greeted me 😊 I usually request Jerry but wanted to be seated in a booth. We had amazing Snow Crab Omelette with Market Street Potatoes delicious. Thank you for the great food and ambiance!!!! Lance was our waiter, good service and very funny guy. I highly recommend this location for great view of the mountain 🎉🎉

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Consistency prevails for the most part...good food, good service. That is what I like best about Market Street. It is a little pricey however so it is not a place I choose frequently; mostly special occasions. My only complaint is the quick removal of finished dishes when others at the table are not done yet. I don't like getting the "rush act" so they can turn the table over.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Made the reservation on my iPhone, showed up at the designated time and was immediately seated. Had a wonderful meal and evening. It doesn't get any better than that.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great service, our server was amazing and great with the kids! Food came in a timely manner and tasted phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Been gone for a week. Had a romantic meal with my wife.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Good food, slow service. Would eat there again as it was not such bad device previously and was hopefully an anomaly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Have eaten at Market Street for over 20+yrs and lately the food has not been up to the quality that it was in the past. I thought it was because it was a busy night or they were short of help, but it has continued to trend downward. I hope they can train and maintain better chefs in the near future.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I've seen mixed reviews for this restaurant but we had a good experience. Made reservations and we were immediately seated when we arrived. Different courses came in a timely fashion. Stuffed mushrooms were heavenly. Mexican shrimp dish was excellent. My wife's chicken curry dish was also delicious. Nobody can match their clam chowder. From what I can tell, it's the same recipe they've been using since they started back in 1983. Portions were generous. Waiter was friendly and checked back a few times to see how we were doing. All in all, a great dining experience. Though we went for dinner, they are also great for lunch, especially for business clients.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The most recent visit to the Market Street location in Cottonwood provided many of the same concerns of previous visits. The price point is higher than justified by the plated food...unless you seek out specials such as their early dining option, or their prix fixe. Their service staff is poorly informed and below standards associated with similar price points. Listing one vintage of wine, which was considered superior, while serving a different vintage (which was considered a decided drop in quality by the winemaker themselves) is unprofessional. Particularly when the server attempted to cover the label so the vintage could not be read. Small things...but all to the negative.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We hadn't been to Market Street in a long time and after our visit we remembered why. First they didn't have the sparking wine I wanted. However, asking for a glass of prosecco (because they provide floats on the cocktails) I was able to get a glass of that, which was nice.
I ordered the California halibut that was supposed to come grilled, but came breaded. It was a little mushy, not flaky like I would expect halibut to be, very disappointing because it was fresh rather than the Alaskan frozen I didn't want to send it back because our waitress was very overwhelmed with all her tables. My husband ordered the 2 crab combo because it was the crab festival. For $60 he should have received about twice the amount of crab he got.
The only redeeming factor was our server, she was great.
We will not be going back. The prices have continued to climb, but the value has gone down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great as always. We have been many times and stopped for while because the quality had diminished, it has improved a great deal and we go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The food was amazing and the service impeccable! Definitely going back again! Also, whole30 friendly - just have to vocalize and inquire on the preparation of your food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Anniversary dinner, 34 yrs! The food was very good, wine was excellent, our server was not up to par, although did leave 20% tip!

Tags: Private Room, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This seems like a place that would have excellent food but it is good to average overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Had the best server ever. Her name was MJ and she made the entire evening so enjoyable. The food is typically good at this location, but tonight was especially amazing. I ordered the fresh grouper, and it was done to perfection. Hadn't enjoyed grouper since my last visit to the Bahama's. I'm still swooning over it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The prices have gone up considerably since the last time we were there. It also seemed the waiter was pushing us through the meal. We hadn't finished our appetizers and the soup arrived.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Unfortunately, the last few times of dining here have not been great experiences. This most recent was probably the one where we don't go back for some time and here's why. 1- The clam chowder was so scorching hot, the clams were overcooked. 2- They were out of crab cakes at 8pm. This is a main menu item, not a special item. I find it difficult to understand running out of one of the staples on the menu. 3- The Florentine bake was way overcooked. The halibut was so dry and tough, your teeth clicked while chewing and the crab was chewy and had no flavor. 4- The overall service was extremely slow. I had to ask for my drink 3 times before getting it.

It's understandable that once in a while things will happen but, this has been a pattern for at least the last 3 times we've eaten here. When you drop $100 on dinner for two, I don't think it would be unreasonable to expect a high level of quality coming out of the kitchen resulting in a meal worth repeating. It seems like since the death of the owner, things have declined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 7, 2017

first of all when came in, table was dirty and had old butter sitting there, then the ambient was not the greatest need of remodeling and new plating, especially for the price people pay for their food. Then the food was not worth the price, salmon was very dry and didn't have a lot of flavor and same for the halibut and sea bass, presentation was not there, and the worst part was the side salad, it seemed old and seem that they didn't take the time to cut the lettuce and make it look presentable and didn't know whats a Caesar salad instead they just brought a toss salad with caesar dressing ....it more looked like chopped with hands. I mean for the price of the food I feel like it should be one of or the best seafood restaurant around utah. they really need to improve their flavor and moisture on the fish....and make way better salads. It was embarrasing.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Still one of the few seafood restaurants that serve halibut. Went during crabfest. I had the crab stuffed halibut. It was done just right. Our son had the halibut fish and chips a family favorite. Serve was spot on. The Cottonwood location is very scenic with a good view of the mountains and with a mountain stream cutting across the outdoor patio. For a place 800 miles away from the nearest ocean they have a way with seafood.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a great dinner and date night. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Market Street Grille came highly recommended by a friend who lives in the area. We made a 7pm reservation for Friday night, and even then had a 10 minute wait. The restaurant has a fun "New England fish house" decor, complete with a lively oyster bar. The service was timely and friendly. We both ordered seafood. My husband's Ahi tuna was wonderful. My Alaskan planked salmon was over-seasoned and a bit overdone for my taste. Still, it did not warrant sending it back. We splurged on the chocolate cake to split and still had to take some home! Net, an enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Disappointing visit. The food was very good as always, but the service was so slow it was very disturbing. First we had a 6pm reservation, it took 15 mins to be seated--I have dined at Market street where I have been 15 mins late for my reservation and they have cancelled it. Should go both ways, and at 6pm, please it should not be a 15 min wait when you have a reservation.

Server was also very slow, bar was slow, took forever to get food. In total we were at our table for 1 and 1/2 hours. That is too long. There is no restaurant that doesn't want to turn a table in more than that time. And as a guest, I don't want to wait that long.

Second time in a row that we have had a disappointing dining experience. Food is good, rest not so much.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We were just visiting the area, and relied on the good reviews. (We really wanted fish). And of course we were very happy with the result!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Ate with group of friends. Food was good. Wait staff was efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The service was great. I had the special a steak with lobster. The "steak" was 1/4 in thick and mostly fat and grissle. The management should be embarrassed by the tablespoon of lobster meat. For that I paid $35. Chef, how could you serve that and call it special?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 25, 2017

So disappointing. My friend took me for my birthday lunch. We ordered oysters, chowder, and a caprese salad. The service was so slow, the table of three that came in AFTER us were served full hot entrees BEFORE we got our salad. The server knew nothing about oysters - introduced the Select Northwest as "West Coast", and called the balsamic glaze "sauce". Actually, that part is kind of funny now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Portions small, inexperienced server, charged for soda water refill, charged extra for vegetables that were included at no extra fee on menu.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I didn't love the lemonade or the clam chowder but the mahi-mahi was delicious and so was dessert. Overall a very good meal

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This is the greatest food in Utah. the meals here are always the best. I love the Market Street salad, oysters and of course the chowda.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Why would you ask if this is a special occasion when my statement is not followed?

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food and great service. Our sever Jacob was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I have enjoyed dining at Market Street Cottonwood over the years, from special occasions to business meals and large parties. The quality of the food is consistently good but some of the menu items are a bit on the expensive side, although this could be a supply and demand issue with seafood. The service is generally prompt and very good. I love the views of the mountains.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Wish the salmon sandwich had more veggies (on the patty or on the side). The crab cakes were light, flaky and mostly crab with no fillers added and were served with my favorite green, arugula. The New England chowder was/is a masterpiece, as usual, and served piping hot-- the way we enjoy soup!

Attentive service and delicious food is the perfect combination for a lunch gathering with friends.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.