About Market Street Grill - Cottonwood

2985 East Cottonwood Pkwy.
Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121
View Larger Map

In 2000, Gastronomy opened it"s first location outside of downtown Salt Lake City. Located in the southern part of the city, the Market Street Grill and Oyster Bar Cottonwood were Gastronomy's first restaurants built from the ground up. Serving the same delicious fresh seafood and tender steaks that you have come to enjoy at our other Market Street locations, but with stunning views of the Wasatch mountains, our Cottonwood location also features a Fresh Fish Market and spectacular patio dining. Private dining facilities include our Creekside Private Rooms, the Garden Court adjacent to Big Cottonwood Creek,and extraordinary Roof Top Dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
6580 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 942-8860

Website:
http://marketstreetgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Bill McArthur

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Market Street Grill in Cottonwood Heights offers private dining rooms for all your social and business entertaining needs with the same quality service you expect from a Market Street Fresh Fish Restaurant.

Market Street Grill - Cottonwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Birthdays (30)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Business Meals (20)
Casual (19)
Scenic View (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Cozy (11)
Romantic (10)
Healthy (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Seasonal (6)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Private Room (4)
Authentic (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Fun (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Fireplace (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Waterfront (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
638 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was amazing and the service imp ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 8 hours ago

The food was amazing and the service impeccable! Definitely going back again! Also, whole30 friendly - just have to vocalize and inquire on the preparation of your food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary dinner, 34 yrs! The food was ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 2 days ago

Anniversary dinner, 34 yrs! The food was very good, wine was excellent, our server was not up to par, although did leave 20% tip!

Tags: Private Room, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

This seems like a place that would have ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

This seems like a place that would have excellent food but it is good to average overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Had the best server ever. Her name was ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

Had the best server ever. Her name was MJ and she made the entire evening so enjoyable. The food is typically good at this location, but tonight was especially amazing. I ordered the fresh grouper, and it was done to perfection. Hadn't enjoyed grouper since my last visit to the Bahama's. I'm still swooning over it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The prices have gone up considerably sin ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The prices have gone up considerably since the last time we were there. It also seemed the waiter was pushing us through the meal. We hadn't finished our appetizers and the soup arrived.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Unfortunately, the last few times of din ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Unfortunately, the last few times of dining here have not been great experiences. This most recent was probably the one where we don't go back for some time and here's why. 1- The clam chowder was so scorching hot, the clams were overcooked. 2- They were out of crab cakes at 8pm. This is a main menu item, not a special item. I find it difficult to understand running out of one of the staples on the menu. 3- The Florentine bake was way overcooked. The halibut was so dry and tough, your teeth clicked while chewing and the crab was chewy and had no flavor. 4- The overall service was extremely slow. I had to ask for my drink 3 times before getting it.

It's understandable that once in a while things will happen but, this has been a pattern for at least the last 3 times we've eaten here. When you drop $100 on dinner for two, I don't think it would be unreasonable to expect a high level of quality coming out of the kitchen resulting in a meal worth repeating. It seems like since the death of the owner, things have declined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

first of all when came in, table was dir ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 7, 2017

first of all when came in, table was dirty and had old butter sitting there, then the ambient was not the greatest need of remodeling and new plating, especially for the price people pay for their food. Then the food was not worth the price, salmon was very dry and didn't have a lot of flavor and same for the halibut and sea bass, presentation was not there, and the worst part was the side salad, it seemed old and seem that they didn't take the time to cut the lettuce and make it look presentable and didn't know whats a Caesar salad instead they just brought a toss salad with caesar dressing ....it more looked like chopped with hands. I mean for the price of the food I feel like it should be one of or the best seafood restaurant around utah. they really need to improve their flavor and moisture on the fish....and make way better salads. It was embarrasing.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Still one of the few seafood restaurants ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Still one of the few seafood restaurants that serve halibut. Went during crabfest. I had the crab stuffed halibut. It was done just right. Our son had the halibut fish and chips a family favorite. Serve was spot on. The Cottonwood location is very scenic with a good view of the mountains and with a mountain stream cutting across the outdoor patio. For a place 800 miles away from the nearest ocean they have a way with seafood.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dinner and date night. Th ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a great dinner and date night. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Market Street Grille came highly recomme ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Market Street Grille came highly recommended by a friend who lives in the area. We made a 7pm reservation for Friday night, and even then had a 10 minute wait. The restaurant has a fun "New England fish house" decor, complete with a lively oyster bar. The service was timely and friendly. We both ordered seafood. My husband's Ahi tuna was wonderful. My Alaskan planked salmon was over-seasoned and a bit overdone for my taste. Still, it did not warrant sending it back. We splurged on the chocolate cake to split and still had to take some home! Net, an enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointing visit. The food was very ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Disappointing visit. The food was very good as always, but the service was so slow it was very disturbing. First we had a 6pm reservation, it took 15 mins to be seated--I have dined at Market street where I have been 15 mins late for my reservation and they have cancelled it. Should go both ways, and at 6pm, please it should not be a 15 min wait when you have a reservation.

Server was also very slow, bar was slow, took forever to get food. In total we were at our table for 1 and 1/2 hours. That is too long. There is no restaurant that doesn't want to turn a table in more than that time. And as a guest, I don't want to wait that long.

Second time in a row that we have had a disappointing dining experience. Food is good, rest not so much.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

We were just visiting the area, and reli ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We were just visiting the area, and relied on the good reviews. (We really wanted fish). And of course we were very happy with the result!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Ate with group of friends. Food was goo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Ate with group of friends. Food was good. Wait staff was efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The service was great. I had the special ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The service was great. I had the special a steak with lobster. The "steak" was 1/4 in thick and mostly fat and grissle. The management should be embarrassed by the tablespoon of lobster meat. For that I paid $35. Chef, how could you serve that and call it special?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

So disappointing. My friend took me for ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 25, 2017

So disappointing. My friend took me for my birthday lunch. We ordered oysters, chowder, and a caprese salad. The service was so slow, the table of three that came in AFTER us were served full hot entrees BEFORE we got our salad. The server knew nothing about oysters - introduced the Select Northwest as "West Coast", and called the balsamic glaze "sauce". Actually, that part is kind of funny now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Portions small, inexperienced server, ch ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Portions small, inexperienced server, charged for soda water refill, charged extra for vegetables that were included at no extra fee on menu.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

I didn't love the lemonade or the clam c ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I didn't love the lemonade or the clam chowder but the mahi-mahi was delicious and so was dessert. Overall a very good meal

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is the greatest food in Utah. the m ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This is the greatest food in Utah. the meals here are always the best. I love the Market Street salad, oysters and of course the chowda.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Why would you ask if this is a special ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Why would you ask if this is a special occasion when my statement is not followed?

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and great service. Our sever ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food and great service. Our sever Jacob was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have enjoyed dining at Market Street C ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I have enjoyed dining at Market Street Cottonwood over the years, from special occasions to business meals and large parties. The quality of the food is consistently good but some of the menu items are a bit on the expensive side, although this could be a supply and demand issue with seafood. The service is generally prompt and very good. I love the views of the mountains.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wish the salmon sandwich had more veggie ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Wish the salmon sandwich had more veggies (on the patty or on the side). The crab cakes were light, flaky and mostly crab with no fillers added and were served with my favorite green, arugula. The New England chowder was/is a masterpiece, as usual, and served piping hot-- the way we enjoy soup!

Attentive service and delicious food is the perfect combination for a lunch gathering with friends.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Poor food no taste. We were six people o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Poor food no taste. We were six people only my granddaughter like her Ravioli dish. The fishes from salmon to trout were tasteless. The sauce for the muscles was supposed to be marina sauce it was tasteless tomato sauce. Dinner was well over $250.00 and was not worth $10.00 my birthday was supposed to enjoyable but it was food disaster

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

It was all just OK. Market street is now ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was all just OK. Market street is now officially overpriced. Things are just a little too much for the getting dated restaurant. Menu is now really boring. It's good and fine but not enticing or exciting at all anymore. It's past it. Do something now. Make and advertise a changed menu. Quick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Market Street Grill still has the most d ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Market Street Grill still has the most delicious clam chowder anywhere It's worth the trip just for the chowder. Their seafood salad is refreshing and their warm crusty bread is excellent. It is unlikely you would get the server we had on New Year's Eve. The service is usually good but we practically had to stand up and wave our arms to get our server's attention.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We love Market Street. A great place to ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We love Market Street. A great place to eat. Always has and always will be our favorite place to eat,

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place. Great staff and wonderful foo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fun place. Great staff and wonderful food. Service was attentive and our waiter had a happy and fun personality. Always have a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for New Year's Eve. Our server w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for New Year's Eve. Our server was a little harried and scatter brained. He noticed my soup spoon was dirty and then forgot to bring me another one. He did bring me another bowl of soup but by then my husband and daughter had finished their salad and soup. He misplaced my frequent diner card, apologized and told me where I could request another. Luckily, my daughter looked down and saw it on the extra chair at our table. He was a nice guy but a bit organized. Kind of dampened our evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We have been coming to Market Street sin ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have been coming to Market Street since it started (downtown). Great memories!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I think market street is incredibly over ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I think market street is incredibly overrated. I don't mind paying a premium for really good food, but this place is very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Server Michelle was exceptional. The fo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Server Michelle was exceptional. The food was ok. Very noisy. Front reception and seating needs som work. Our reservation was for 6:30 and it was 7:00 before we were seated. I would give the hostess section a failing grade.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Excellent food as always; found out this ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent food as always; found out this trip that Market Street Grill doesn't charge a corkage fee on the 1st bottle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything was terrific!

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Everything was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Remains a comfortable welcoming atmosphe ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Remains a comfortable welcoming atmosphere with good food.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Healthy, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Disappointing upon checking in. Despite ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Disappointing upon checking in. Despite my efforts of communicating with manager via email nearly a month ahead( celebrating hubby 's 60th) . Greeted with you will have to take what's available 🙄. I understand that it was Christmas Eve and staff wants to 'wrap it up' for holidays but don't accept reservations then! By the way , waitress we had she was throwing the menu, napkin at me . Very embarrassing! Then to be told with 'it's my 4th day!"

Customer's standpoint - we are still paying for meal and service irrespectively!

Shame as food was good. Decor good but lose the ketchup bottles from the table!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Family Holiday

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Family Holiday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My friends and I have been coming to Mar ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 20, 2016

My friends and I have been coming to Market Street for years. We find that it is a very special place to meet for birthdays . It is good to know that we can count on good food, good service, and great atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Crab cakes were unbelievably good

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Crab cakes were unbelievably good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Average dining experience compared to pa ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Average dining experience compared to past experiences here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great service, great food & great setti ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great service, great food & great setting for an adult family Christmas gathering! Can't go wrong with Market Street!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.