About Market Street Grill - Cottonwood

2985 East Cottonwood Pkwy.
Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121
View Larger Map

In 2000, Gastronomy opened it"s first location outside of downtown Salt Lake City. Located in the southern part of the city, the Market Street Grill and Oyster Bar Cottonwood were Gastronomy's first restaurants built from the ground up. Serving the same delicious fresh seafood and tender steaks that you have come to enjoy at our other Market Street locations, but with stunning views of the Wasatch mountains, our Cottonwood location also features a Fresh Fish Market and spectacular patio dining. Private dining facilities include our Creekside Private Rooms, the Garden Court adjacent to Big Cottonwood Creek,and extraordinary Roof Top Dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
6580 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 942-8860

Website:
http://marketstreetgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Bill McArthur

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Market Street Grill in Cottonwood Heights offers private dining rooms for all your social and business entertaining needs with the same quality service you expect from a Market Street Fresh Fish Restaurant.

Market Street Grill - Cottonwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (78)
good for groups (50)
great for brunch (46)
See All
great for lunch (46)
scenic view (46)
fit for foodies (43)
romantic (27)
neighborhood gem (23)
great for outdoor dining (21)
kid-friendly (16)
notable wine list (11)
hot spot (9)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Having a reservation through Open Table ...

Dined 7 days ago

Having a reservation through Open Table did not make a difference. We still had to wait. Also, the waiter raved about the fish special, which turned out to be disappointing.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We go to Market Street Grill often becau ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

We go to Market Street Grill often because we love the atmosphere. Friday night, the monk fish (special) was absolutely exquisite.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Red Blend wine! Halibut to die fo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great Red Blend wine! Halibut to die for :) Our 8 year old discovered a love for Halibut! Yeah!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

First, we had to wait too long for a ser ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

First, we had to wait too long for a server. He did fine after that. Second, the bread was cold. A restaurant of this level and cost should have bread warmers. Ridiculous. Show me a restaurant that doesn't have warm bread, oh...MSG. Total turn off from the start. Third, dinner salads were meh. Boring. Honestly, any place has a better salad. Other than that, the food was good but overpriced for what you get. Man, I wanted a nice warm piece of sour dough with melted butter. Redeem yourselves MSG

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had wonderful service, from the Hoste ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had wonderful service, from the Hostess, to the wait staff. Tried a new entree and it was exquisite. Service is attentive. Always a fun, friendly vibe.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Much better than the South Jordan location

Dined on May 14, 2016

We rather drive an extra 15 minutes and come down to this location rather than teh South Jordan location. Our server was amazing. The food was great. We will come back soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

I was very disappointed that the patio was not ope

Dined on May 13, 2016

I have been told that the availability of the patio is sketchy at best. If I am going to pay 30.00 a plate for lunch I should be able to sit on the patio in 86 degree weather. However I'm told by my co workers that there is no rym or reason to the availability of the patio it's just a whenever your establishment feels like it. So no I was not able to enjoy the view

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Service was very inattentive, slow borde ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Service was very inattentive, slow borderline rude. Food was warm not hot.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointed!

Dined on May 9, 2016

We have been going to Market Street (Downtown & Cottonwood) locations for the past 17 years for business & family celebrations. With each visit both food and service were excellence. But for the past 3 dining experiences have been very disappointing in both food and service! We have decided that Ruth Chris & Tuscany will be our dining out choices going forward! I would not recommend your restaurant to anyone !

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mother's Day Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for dinner for Mother's Day dinner. It was crowded but our waiter was great. It took a while to get our food but understandable. The food was great as always.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great brunch!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a very nice Mother's Day brunch! Great service, a little long on wait time for food but was really crowded. First time to eat on the grill side, nice atmosphere, love the booths. Usually eat in the Oyster Bar and love that place! Great service from servers to bus boys.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Mother's Day

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

As always we had a great time, food is always great !! Our waiter was a on the slow side this time, but the family time was worth the small problem.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impecable

Dined on May 7, 2016

We celebrated Mother's Day here, a party of six, with our mother in a wheelchair. Staff very helpful, waiter very attentive, and a menu offering enough diversity everyone was satisfied. Excellent food choices, attentative service, positive ambience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was exceptional

Dined on May 7, 2016

I went there for lunch with my girlfriend her daughter and granddaughter. The food was good we all just got soup and salads. However our server Murphy was exceptional! He was so attentive and met our every need. When I told him what a great server he was he was thrilled to hear it because he had only worked there for 2 weeks. When I go back I would ask for him.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great dining experience

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Always a great dining experience

food5
ambience5
service5

Great cooked seafood!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great cooked seafood!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on April 26, 2016

Very good place to take a date. A little noisy at first than get quiet after all got there meal plenty to eat good selection

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Birthday Dinner Dining

Dined on April 24, 2016

We always have a wonderful time when dining at Market Street Cottonwood. This last time we celebrated two birthdays. Our waiter was very attentive and we had a lovely meal. Market Street has always been one of our favorite restaurants. I'm sure we'll dine there again.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Indifferent service

Dined on April 18, 2016

We've been to Market Street many times. The food quality is fairly consistent. The food is overpriced, but as Frequent Diner members, we do get the "rebate" certificates, so maybe it evens out. We do love their chowder. On this visit, our server was very inattentive. We waited a long time to place our order, and she took a long time between courses. She didn't check in to see how our food was, and it took forever to get our bill. The food was tasty but the service, while not outright rude, was very indifferent and slow, and reflected poorly on the restaurant. As a side note, why do we so often have to ask for the wine list? The hostess should provide one every time! If you don't drink (LDS culture here), you don't have to peruse it, but those of us who do drink should not have to jump through even more hoops than already imposed by the legislature (Zion curtain anyone?)!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant!

Dined on April 14, 2016

Hands down my place to eat. The entire is superb. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Nice dining experience1

Dined on April 9, 2016

I did recommend this place to friends. Its a little drive from Bountiful but it was worth it. We had a very easy and sociable waiter that we really liked. The fresh halibut was delicious and all meal were very much enjoyed. We had youngsters and it worked out great. A relaxed and beautiful ambiance!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently our favorite place to eat.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Consistently our favorite place to eat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Server

Dined on April 9, 2016

Our server was great and complimented an excellent meal.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Used to be great but has fallen off.

Dined on April 7, 2016

The Market Street on 13th was one of my frequent stops for lunch or dinner and I'm sorry it's gone. I'd been to the Cottonwood location only once before (over a year ago) and it was just as good. But our meal last week was a disappointment. The food was okay (just) but the restaurant was freezingly cold--the air conditioning was on as were the ceiling fans and the outdoor temp was in the 60s. We asked our server (who was terrific!) if anything could be done. Nothing was, so we were all very uncomfortable. I had decaf coffee with my dessert and it was awful. Dishwater. For the price, things should have been better: $326/dinner for 5.

food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Excellent food average service

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was excellent but the service was only average. However, we have previously had excellent service.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place for a good meal

Dined on April 2, 2016

I have dined here on multiple occasions ever since it opened. I have never gotten a bad meal. The food is always well prepared and served hot. I would recommend Market Street Grill for all occasions as simply a great place to get a good meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Waiter and overcomes fish ruined dinner

Dined on March 29, 2016

drinks arrived half way through meal. 3 items ordered were wrong. Fish was WAY over cooked. Big disappointment.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We usually get really good wait service, ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We usually get really good wait service, but our waiter this time seem to be having issues and it caused his service to lacking. Took over 30 minutes to get a cup of coffee, so it wasn't the kitchen being backed up. But overall we always enjoy our meal and time and this great restaurant and won't hesitate to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been to the Grill down town many ti ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

I've been to the Grill down town many times this is the first time at the cottonwood location. We came here because my son lives close by. I loved it and will come to this location again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Solid, reliable seafood place

Dined on March 26, 2016

We have eaten here many times over the years, and found it to be reliably good seafood. Some views of the mountains from some tables. At this occasion, we had stuffed tilapia and crab cakes, $28 and $30 respectively, both were large portions and very good. Clam chowder comes with meals and is excellent; one could make a nice meal with a bowl of chowder, their excellent bread, and splitting an appetizer, which we have done on other occasions. Noise level can be high on crowded evenings. Service is decent but not outstanding, generally. Prices in my opinion trend on the high side for the restaurant's fairly casual ambience and setting, with wine also being on the expensive side. I think they are pushing the envelope on their prices, seems moderately overpriced for suburban Salt Lake City. The place is not really a "special night out" kind of place, after all. Brunch/breakfast here, by the way, are superb and the prices for those meals is an absolute bargain. So, go here with confidence that you will have a good dinner, and be prepared for a mild case of sticker shock. Try breakfast first, maybe.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fresh seafood in the mountains

Dined on March 22, 2016

Had a great evening out with friends. Food was hot when delivered and drinks were cold. A couple of us had the early bird dinner they came th choice of Two entrees, choice of sides and a dessert, all as very good. the wait staff was attentive.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was good and the service was ve ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

The food was good and the service was very good

food5
ambience5
service5

Nick was awesome the food was great as a ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

Nick was awesome the food was great as always and the staff was friendly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful dinner!

Dined on March 14, 2016

In from Chicago and joined 2 colleagues from the area, who recommended this restaurant as the best in the area. It exceeded expectations in all areas - so many great dinner choices and Zac provided thoughtful recommendations and exceptional service. Look forward to returning next time I'm in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food; good fish; good prices

Dined on March 12, 2016

Market Street is always a treat. Good food, good fish dishes/steak too! and good service. It can be a bit noisy if you wear hearing aids or need to talk with someone. Thank you for the good food.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

The seafood here is e

Dined on March 8, 2016

The seafood here is e

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you!

Dined on March 4, 2016

Thank you for a lovely evening. We enjoyed getting together with my son's fiancé and her parents to discuss the up coming wedding. Market Street is a great place for celebrations!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Market Street Grill cottonwood

Dined on February 29, 2016

extremely pricey for very ordinary dining experience. Wine list very limited and low end.

food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Pretty good food...Pretty bad service

Dined on February 29, 2016

Fairly common surf 'n' turf menu. Reasonable portions, well prepared. Bit of roulette on table service. Have had great service, have had sub-par service leaving overall value questionable.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.