Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Log HavenLog Haven
(1774)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union, Salt Lake City
Booked 13 times today
Tsunami Restaurant - South JordanTsunami Restaurant - South Jordan
(584)
$$$$
Sushi | South Jordan, Salt Lake City
Booked 13 times today
Current Fish & OysterCurrent Fish & Oyster
(561)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Salt Lake City
Booked 3 times today
The Copper OnionThe Copper Onion
(1297)
$$$$
American | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Booked 29 times today
Riverhorse on MainRiverhorse on Main
(1526)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Park City, Park City Area
Booked 10 times today
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake CityRuth's Chris Steak House - Salt Lake City
(599)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Booked 6 times today
BambaraBambara
(1723)
$$$$
American | Downtown, Salt Lake City
Booked 9 times today
BRIO Tuscan Grille - MurrayBRIO Tuscan Grille - Murray
(334)
$$$$
Italian | Murray, Salt Lake City
Booked 8 times today
ProvisionsProvisions
(430)
$$$$
American | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Booked 3 times today
PagoPago
(1222)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Booked 15 times today
Benihana - Salt Lake CityBenihana - Salt Lake City
(627)
$$$$
Japanese | Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City
Booked 13 times today
Cafe Trio CottonwoodCafe Trio Cottonwood
(365)
$$$$
Italian | Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union, Salt Lake City
Booked 7 times today
Franck'sFranck's
(1505)
$$$$
Fusion / Eclectic | Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union, Salt Lake City
Booked 4 times today
TuscanyTuscany
(1572)
$$$$
Italian | Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union, Salt Lake City
Booked 10 times today
Tsunami Restaurant - Union HeightsTsunami Restaurant - Union Heights
(353)
$$$$
Japanese | Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union, Salt Lake City
Booked 2 times today

About Market Street Grill - Cottonwood

In 2000, Gastronomy opened it"s first location outside of downtown Salt Lake City. Located in the southern part of the city, the Market Street Grill and Oyster Bar Cottonwood were Gastronomy's first restaurants built from the ground up. Serving the same delicious fresh seafood and tender steaks that you have come to enjoy at our other Market Street locations, but with stunning views of the Wasatch mountains, our Cottonwood location also features a Fresh Fish Market and spectacular patio dining. Private dining facilities include our Creekside Private Rooms, the Garden Court adjacent to Big Cottonwood Creek,and extraordinary Roof Top Dining.

2985 East Cottonwood Pkwy.
Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
6580 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 942-8860

Website:
http://marketstreetgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Bill McArthur

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Market Street Grill - Cottonwood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Special Occasion (38)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
See All
Good for Birthdays (27)
Scenic View (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Great for Brunch (17)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Casual (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Romantic (11)
Healthy (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Authentic (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Fun (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Waterfront (5)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Cozy (4)
Family Style (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
695 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 22, 2017

This was by far the worst dining experience I've ever had. 3 groups seated after us were served before we were. Our server was slow. Brought 3 oyster forks for a party of 5, 15 minutes after the oysters were served.... Market Street aren't you known for being a SEAFOOD restaurant?

The server got our drink order wrong. Got our appetizer order wrong. Forgot straws and when he was reminded to bring them he basically threw them on the table.

Took the order for sides that he wasn't sure came with entrees, and never verified. He simply said it doesn't come with the order. He did get us the sides. But proper protocol would be to let us know in advance.

With all the other options in town, I don't think I'll be going back here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Celebrated my mother's 80th birthday with dinner for 11 people. Our server, Randee offered us outstanding service without a single issue. Food was fantastic; fresh raw oysters, rich stuffed mushrooms, salmon, halibut, Utah trout...everything was wonderful. Simply the best seafood restaurant in the SLC valley. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Not only was our meal delicious, our waiter was very helpful, humorous, and very personable. We always enjoy eating here for our special occasions, and bringing out of town guests.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Everything about our dining experience was great. The food tasted good and the service was wonderful. The only problem was the restaurant didn't have a record of our reservation. However they were able to seat us immediately.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Typically Market Street Grill is a little noisy for my preference, but if we want seafood, the options are limited. The Cottonwood location is a little better re: noise and we really like the layout/building, so we tend to go there.

Mostly the food was good, but it seems like patrons should stick with a dish that relies on the quality of the fish. Venturing too far beyond grilled or fried fish seems to be a problem.

Examples:
The hollandaise sauce on my daughter's dish was cooked to scrambled egg consistency.
Her boyfriend isn't a big fish fan and his pasta dish was just okay.
Our niece's slice of cake was huge, but very dry and not worth eating.

The mussels were great, shrimp louie was good, grilled salmon tasty and apparently the stuffed salmon was fine; although I didn't confirm the latter. Probably the best seafood in the Salt Lake Valley, but I think they've slipped a little.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on May 15, 2017

It was Mother's Day and the food was nice and the setting at this location was also perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took my elderly mother for mother's day - staff very accommodating at helping her to table. the noise level so loud it made the event less than enjoyable. will not go again for that reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We never have a bad time at market street . The food was exceptional except we forgot to get veggies. Love the clam chowder and bread. Haagen das strawberry is the best

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have been to the Cottonwood Market Street Grill several times and always left wondering why I don't make it more often, good food, nice place, great service!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

As usual, the food was very good. However, in this visit (unlike others) the service was very poor. The waiter seemed dis-interested and was rude. We had to ask him several times for some extra bread/butter and cocktail sauce. After approximately a 15 minute wait, we asked for these same things again. Finally, after we had eaten our food, he brought the items. He essentially threw them on to the table and went on to the next table. His attitude and customer service was certainly not what we have come to expect at Market Street Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Service was slow. Waiter wasn't very friendly. Food was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Market Street's food is always great. Never had a bad meal while dinning at the Cottonwood site. Sometimes the service is a little lacking but most of the time the quality of the service is outstanding. Can't get better seafood anywhere in the area.

The new online reservation system is pretty slick. Nice to be able to use it.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was delicious as always and the view out the large windows was breathtaking...But our waitress was new and could not handle a busy Saturday night. We got there at 4 and left at 6:30. She was SO. SLOW.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Market Street Grill has the freshest fish, great service!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Friendly atmosphere with great service and delicious food.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We really enjoy the food, friendliness of staff, quick servers, great view.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The service was very slow, when we finally got our food the fish looked and tasted like it had been under the warming light for a very long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We love Market Street Grill! It is the perfect special occasion spot.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We always enjoy Market Street Grill, even though it seems the prices go up a little more each time. We had the clam chowder, and it was good, but I really didn't see many actual clams in it. The snow-crab stuffed talapia with Hollandaise sauce was good and very rich. We were looking forward to dessert but were too full to order.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Service was awesome! Food was very tasty but the portions were small. Get a table by the windows that overlook the creek.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We ordered salmon and it was uncooked in the center.
We asked to have it cooked so more.
It was still somewhat raw in the center.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Adam was a great waiter. The food was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a great time! Our server wee prompt and professional. Food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Sunday brunch is an excellent value with great food and exceptional service.

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

lLove the restaurant and come frequently but had a piece of swordfish that must have been bad. Made me sick that night and next morning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was excellent as always. Wish they still had the mixed seafood cocktail

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always a great meal. Got right in using the Open Table app. Food was perfect, service was awesome. Would recommend to anyone wanting to find the best seafood in Utah.

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I eat at Market Street Grill a 3 to 4 times a year. It's one of my favorite restaurants. Tonight was the first time I was disappointed. The service was slow and the food was subpar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

many meals there. good food consistently. good variety for me. friendly waitstaff. Molly great, even if I called her Heather

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We love to go to market street grill in Cottonwood. We have visited there many times and have had excellent servers who made the experience quite wonderful. However this time the server was nothing excellent and seemed to not want to be there.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food is always good but is getting a little pricy. It used to be reasonable. Not now!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was excellent as always. The fish was fresh and was served in a different way to make it taste even better than normal as we had the two different specials.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

nothing special for birthday treats or susrprises or favors

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Good food, excellent service and cheerful people.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 27, 2017

My husband and I took my Mom (age 95) to dinner on Sunday. She enjoys Market Street, but doesn't get out much.

Randee, our waitress, was so very respectful of my Mom. She was polite, without being condescending and beyond helpful.

Food was great, as was the service. We had a very nice evening and hopefully, we can take my Mom there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 27, 2017

As usual, we had a very pleasant dinner. We like the fish selection, the view and also the wine list. You can't go wrong with Market Street Grill institution.

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Market Street Grille is always competent and reliable. Seafood is consistently very good. Nice suburban setting with mountain views. Recommended for date nights or a nice night out, or a relaxing weeknight dinner. Prices are moderate or a bit above.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Oysters, calamari, tuna were excellent. One steak was perfect the other came medium ( when asked for medium rare to rare ). Service was very lacking. She was extremely innattentive and didn't seem to care about our needs. Unfortunate because restaurant has makings for fantastic restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Service was great. Food was delicious. I prefer this location, easy parking, great view, nice walking path outside for a post dinner walk.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, People Watching, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.