Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Market Street Grill - Cottonwood

4.2
702 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Scenic View
  • Good for Groups

Similar Restaurants

About

In 2000, Gastronomy opened it"s first location outside of downtown Salt Lake City. Located in the southern part of the city, the Market Street Grill and Oyster Bar Cottonwood were Gastronomy's first restaurants built from the ground up. Serving the same delicious fresh seafood and tender steaks that you have come to enjoy at our other Market Street locations, but with stunning views of the Wasatch mountains, our Cottonwood location also features a Fresh Fish Market and spectacular patio dining. Private dining facilities include our Creekside Private Rooms, the Garden Court adjacent to Big Cottonwood Creek,and extraordinary Roof Top Dining.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(801) 942-8860
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Bill McArthur
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
6580 South
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 702 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.2based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.1
service
4.1
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined on February 8, 2018

After many years of frequent visits (15 per year, at least), we've boycotted this location for about a year because of lousy service for Sunday brunches & dinners. Food always top-notch. This past Super Bowl Sunday, I picked up 5 orders of BBQ ribs with sides, plus 2
halibut and one filet mignon meals, which were in the deli display. The ribs and sides were great. We warmed up one halibut serving and our guest ate it without comment. Some time later, we opened the 2nd halibut serving and immediately noticed a strong odor about it. Made no sense that 1 of 2 bought together would be off, but we tossed it. The filet was basically tasteless and defied chewing. It got tossed also.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We went tonight 12/29/17 for a birthday dinner for my husband Charlie. Tornueari was our waitress. It was a wonderful dinner tonight, the best of all we have had. My husband had the halibut dinner and I had the prime rib. Excellent dinner and our waitress was the best we ever had there. Tornueari, was full of professionalism, knowledge and top notch service as well as charm. I myself was a waitress for 18 years and this woman so impressed us. My husband loved his birthday dinner. Thanks for a wonderful evening.
Sandra Zoolakis

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 21, 2017

We went there Sunday night for our anniversary dinner. I have always found the downtown Market Street to have excellent service and food, but this location is totally different.
To start, the hostesses had terrible manners and were hardly polite about the wait, so we decided to sit in the bar side. Our server there was slow, but nice. The table was dirty and seemed to have not even been wiped off. Drinks were super slow to come out. Then the food was very sub par. Rubbery veggies and a "medium rare" steak that was beyond medium well.
I'm bummed because we just moved in down the street from this location. These are problems related to management, so I will not be returning any time soon.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 21, 2017

This was by far the worst dining experience I've ever had. 3 groups seated after us were served before we were. Our server was slow. Brought 3 oyster forks for a party of 5, 15 minutes after the oysters were served.... Market Street aren't you known for being a SEAFOOD restaurant?

The server got our drink order wrong. Got our appetizer order wrong. Forgot straws and when he was reminded to bring them he basically threw them on the table.

Took the order for sides that he wasn't sure came with entrees, and never verified. He simply said it doesn't come with the order. He did get us the sides. But proper protocol would be to let us know in advance.

With all the other options in town, I don't think I'll be going back here again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2017

Celebrated my mother's 80th birthday with dinner for 11 people. Our server, Randee offered us outstanding service without a single issue. Food was fantastic; fresh raw oysters, rich stuffed mushrooms, salmon, halibut, Utah trout...everything was wonderful. Simply the best seafood restaurant in the SLC valley. Can't wait to return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2017

Not only was our meal delicious, our waiter was very helpful, humorous, and very personable. We always enjoy eating here for our special occasions, and bringing out of town guests.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 19, 2017

Went for our Anniversary $200+ bill with everything. Totally messed up my steak. I choked it down because I never send food back. They offered a free dessert. We don't do sugar so that didn't really work for us. No other offers to correct the issue.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2017

Everything about our dining experience was great. The food tasted good and the service was wonderful. The only problem was the restaurant didn't have a record of our reservation. However they were able to seat us immediately.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2017

Typically Market Street Grill is a little noisy for my preference, but if we want seafood, the options are limited. The Cottonwood location is a little better re: noise and we really like the layout/building, so we tend to go there.

Mostly the food was good, but it seems like patrons should stick with a dish that relies on the quality of the fish. Venturing too far beyond grilled or fried fish seems to be a problem.

Examples:
The hollandaise sauce on my daughter's dish was cooked to scrambled egg consistency.
Her boyfriend isn't a big fish fan and his pasta dish was just okay.
Our niece's slice of cake was huge, but very dry and not worth eating.

The mussels were great, shrimp louie was good, grilled salmon tasty and apparently the stuffed salmon was fine; although I didn't confirm the latter. Probably the best seafood in the Salt Lake Valley, but I think they've slipped a little.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 15, 2017

Our server was not friendly, the crab dip was too fishy and not creamy, the crab cakes and prime rib were cold when brought to the table, we ordered for one person in our party before he arrived and the server brought the clam chowder to the table before he got there. I just looked at the receipt and realized we didn't receive the "early bird special" price on the prime rib.
However, the dessert was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

It was Mother's Day and the food was nice and the setting at this location was also perfect.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Took my elderly mother for mother's day - staff very accommodating at helping her to table. the noise level so loud it made the event less than enjoyable. will not go again for that reason.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

We never have a bad time at market street . The food was exceptional except we forgot to get veggies. Love the clam chowder and bread. Haagen das strawberry is the best

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2017

I have been to the Cottonwood Market Street Grill several times and always left wondering why I don't make it more often, good food, nice place, great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

We had the best server ever, Faith, she was excellent we never wanted for anything!! The food is consistently good.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2017

As usual, the food was very good. However, in this visit (unlike others) the service was very poor. The waiter seemed dis-interested and was rude. We had to ask him several times for some extra bread/butter and cocktail sauce. After approximately a 15 minute wait, we asked for these same things again. Finally, after we had eaten our food, he brought the items. He essentially threw them on to the table and went on to the next table. His attitude and customer service was certainly not what we have come to expect at Market Street Grill.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2017

Service was slow. Waiter wasn't very friendly. Food was tasty.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2017

Market Street's food is always great. Never had a bad meal while dinning at the Cottonwood site. Sometimes the service is a little lacking but most of the time the quality of the service is outstanding. Can't get better seafood anywhere in the area.

The new online reservation system is pretty slick. Nice to be able to use it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2017

It was delicious as always and the view out the large windows was breathtaking...But our waitress was new and could not handle a busy Saturday night. We got there at 4 and left at 6:30. She was SO. SLOW.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2017

Friendly atmosphere with great service and delicious food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2017

Market Street Grill has the freshest fish, great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2017

We really enjoy the food, friendliness of staff, quick servers, great view.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2017

I booked this restaurant for a ladies dinner night in turn to be my good friends surprise bday bash. MSG accommodated our group in a private dinning room that was complimentary and great. It had a beautiful view and they were really nice , stayed past their closing time bc we were the last group to leave. Overall wonderful service, dinning, and staffs.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 29, 2017

The service was very slow, when we finally got our food the fish looked and tasted like it had been under the warming light for a very long time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2017

We love Market Street Grill! It is the perfect special occasion spot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2017

We always enjoy Market Street Grill, even though it seems the prices go up a little more each time. We had the clam chowder, and it was good, but I really didn't see many actual clams in it. The snow-crab stuffed talapia with Hollandaise sauce was good and very rich. We were looking forward to dessert but were too full to order.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2017

Service was awesome! Food was very tasty but the portions were small. Get a table by the windows that overlook the creek.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2017

We ordered salmon and it was uncooked in the center.
We asked to have it cooked so more.
It was still somewhat raw in the center.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2017

Adam was a great waiter. The food was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a great time! Our server wee prompt and professional. Food was very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2017

Sunday brunch is an excellent value with great food and exceptional service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was excellent as always. Wish they still had the mixed seafood cocktail

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2017

lLove the restaurant and come frequently but had a piece of swordfish that must have been bad. Made me sick that night and next morning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2017

Always a great meal. Got right in using the Open Table app. Food was perfect, service was awesome. Would recommend to anyone wanting to find the best seafood in Utah.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2017

I eat at Market Street Grill a 3 to 4 times a year. It's one of my favorite restaurants. Tonight was the first time I was disappointed. The service was slow and the food was subpar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2017

many meals there. good food consistently. good variety for me. friendly waitstaff. Molly great, even if I called her Heather

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 2, 2017

We love to go to market street grill in Cottonwood. We have visited there many times and have had excellent servers who made the experience quite wonderful. However this time the server was nothing excellent and seemed to not want to be there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2017

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2017

The food is always good but is getting a little pricy. It used to be reasonable. Not now!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was excellent as always. The fish was fresh and was served in a different way to make it taste even better than normal as we had the two different specials.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
18