Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Bohanan's Prime Steaks and SeafoodBohanan's Prime Steaks and Seafood
(3302)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown, San Antonio
Booked 45 times today
RebelleRebelle
(244)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown, San Antonio
Booked 27 times today
Lüke San AntonioLüke San Antonio
(1629)
$$$$
French | Downtown, San Antonio
Booked 46 times today
Las Canarias - Omni La MansionLas Canarias - Omni La Mansion
(1113)
$$$$
American | Downtown, San Antonio
Booked 27 times today
Palm Restaurant - San AntonioPalm Restaurant - San Antonio
(1464)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown, San Antonio
Booked 34 times today
Windows on the RiverWindows on the River
(1)
$$$$
American | Downtown, San Antonio
Booked 1 time today
ÁcenarÁcenar
(1361)
$$$$
Contemporary Mexican | Downtown, San Antonio
Booked 15 times today
Esquire TavernEsquire Tavern
(462)
$$$$
American | Downtown, San Antonio
Booked 34 times today
Bella On The RiverBella On The River
(1111)
$$$$
European | Downtown, San Antonio
Booked 7 times today
Texas de Brazil - San AntonioTexas de Brazil - San Antonio
(691)
$$$$
Brazilian Steakhouse | Downtown, San Antonio
Booked 37 times today
DownstairsDownstairs
(2)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown, San Antonio
Booked 12 times today
Citrus @ Hotel Valencia RiverwalkCitrus @ Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
(564)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown, San Antonio
Ostra at Mokara Hotel & SpaOstra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
(381)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, San Antonio
Booked 17 times today
Restaurant GwendolynRestaurant Gwendolyn
(217)
$$$$
European | Downtown, San Antonio
Booked 5 times today
Paesanos - River WalkPaesanos - River Walk
(37)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown, San Antonio
Booked 14 times today

About Market on Houston-Sheraton Gunter Hotel

205 East Houston Street
San Antonio, TX 78205
View Larger Map

Taste Of Texas Beer Dinner June 29th 7-9pm!
MORE INFO AND TICKETS: http://ow.ly/ul5J3013kbF

The Market on Houston, or MOH as the locals say is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. We are an urban market and casual eatery serving farm to table fare, located in the heart of vibrant Houston Street. Our philosophy is simple, let local fresh ingredients shine. Grown from our urban garden Chef Rudy gathers fresh ingredients daily weaving them into our simple yet defined menu. As a proud partner of Go Texan we support Texas farmers and purveyors serving ingredients harvested at their seasonal peak. Our award winning wine list and locally crafted brews are hand selected to enhance your dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am -11:00am
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Bar: 12:00 noon to midnight

Cross Street:
St. Mary Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 554-1721

Website:
http://www.marketonhouston.com/

Entertainment:
Friday Nights-Live entertainment

Executive Chef:
Rudy Martinez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Applewood Smoked Lamb Belly - Market on Houston-Sheraton Gunter Hotel, San Antonio, TX
  • Grilled Watermelon - Market on Houston-Sheraton Gunter Hotel, San Antonio, TX
  • Strawbery Galette - Market on Houston-Sheraton Gunter Hotel, San Antonio, TX
  • Pequin Rock Shrimp - Market on Houston-Sheraton Gunter Hotel, San Antonio, TX
Applewood Smoked Lamb Belly - Market on Houston-Sheraton Gunter Hotel, San Antonio, TX
Grilled Watermelon - Market on Houston-Sheraton Gunter Hotel, San Antonio, TX
Strawbery Galette - Market on Houston-Sheraton Gunter Hotel, San Antonio, TX
Pequin Rock Shrimp - Market on Houston-Sheraton Gunter Hotel, San Antonio, TX

Market on Houston-Sheraton Gunter Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Good for a Date (2)
See All
Modern Decor (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Casual (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Business Meals (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Romantic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
56 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love to pop into this place for a mea ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We love to pop into this place for a meal before events at the Majestic Theater. The food and service will keep us returning when in town.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were greeted at the door, seated out ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We were greeted at the door, seated out on the patio. Our server was very pleasant and prompt. The food was fabulous and the ambience great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was good. Nothin

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 23, 2016

It was good. Nothin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had to wait for 30 minutes and cant t ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had to wait for 30 minutes and cant take our order until it is 5pm. That's when dinner is served. I find this ridiculous. They could have taken my order and advise me that they wont serve till 5, I would have been ok with that or even after 5 granting that they have to prepare the food. I was fine this time because we got there early before the show but I think it was an inconvenience. The service was ok nothing spectacular and our server wasnt very attentive nor friendly. My Dad's dinner came in late although the someone came over and apologized. I think they should advised us that there will be a delay ahead of time and not after they delivered the food for everyone leaving Dad with no food to eat.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Went for dinner before the theater, then ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Went for dinner before the theater, then walked around town. Service was good, food was mediocre at best. Decided to stop back in before the show for a couple of beers since it was across the street from the theater. Bar was about 1/2 full. Guy bartender was unloading beer & wine into the coolers and only waited on what appeared to be his friends. Girl bartender completely ignored us. Finally, after 15 minutes, caught the guy on the way by and asked for 2 beers. He grunted and kept walking. About 5 minutes later he came back over and said "...it's obvious we're busy and I'll get to you when I can..." This was 20 minutes in so we left. I have never felt discriminated against in San Antonio, but this is the first! Needless to say, we'll never be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Overall great experience having dinner t ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Overall great experience having dinner there before enjoying The Sound of Music at the Majestic. The only real knock was the proximity of tables is kind of close, and we happened to have a loud, gossipy person at the table beside us. So we now know about her siblings, co-workers, and anyone else she had scoop on. But the cheese and fruit plate was great, and we really enjoyed our entrees - shrimp with grits and the sriracha flatbread.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great ambience wonderful staff. Loved th ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great ambience wonderful staff. Loved the outdoor seating

Tags: Scenic View, Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Convenient restaurant to have a quick di ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Convenient restaurant to have a quick dinner before the Show at the Majestic. Food was just ok, not over the top. Good atmosphere and pleasant staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The flat rectangular plates do not work ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The flat rectangular plates do not work well. The food spills all over the table!!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for Restaurant Week dinner. We b ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went for Restaurant Week dinner. We both ordered the lamb. A different waitress brought us our entree - which wasn't what we had ordered. This wrong item looked and smelled amazing, but it wasn't what we had ordered. She immediately apologized and took that away and asked what we had ordered. Within just a few minutes the lamb arrived. It definitely looked and tasted reheated. And, the lamb was not medallions as advertised. It was cut with the grain, rather than against the grain. It was tasty, but the sides were not totally hot. We were disappointed by the lamb and sides. The chocolate bundt cake dessert was extremely dry. Even with a sauce, it was tough to get down without drinking something. They were fair and took 25% off our bill without us asking.

The next day, we went for the dish they had accidentally served to us. It was delicious - papperdelle pasta with clams. At lunch, the strawberry shortcake was very good.

The service was very good both days, except for getting the wrong entree to our table.

I'd eat there again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was non-existent. The person who ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 9, 2016

Service was non-existent. The person who originally took my order basically disappeared. My first glass of tea was delivered by a manager, and another manager took care of other needs. Perhaps this waitperson should decide on whether they want to really be one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great Pre-Theatre Spot

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 4, 2016

Had Majestic Theatre tickets and wanted a light, quick dinner prior to show. This was a really nice find. Good selection of fresh, well prepared options. Nice wines by-the-glass. Clean, good atmosphere, servers and management were friendly, accommodating. They asked if we were going to theatre and made sure our food order and check were promptly delivered.

Will definitely return here when attending Majestic again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pre-Concert Favorite

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 12, 2016

Market on Houston is perfectly located for a dinner prior to concerts at the Majestic. The food was great and super fresh, the wait staff attentive and knowledgeable and there is no better location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding!!!

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 28, 2016

We were thrilled to find this gem, unfortunately it was on our last of 4 days there. The service was fantastic and the food was the best we had in San Antonio. The omelet chef was was amazing!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Big disappointment. Read article about t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Big disappointment. Read article about this restaurant being one of five up and coming foodie places and was anxious to check it out. When we arrived and clearly did not need reservations, we should have known something wasn't right. Food presentation was nice but the fried chicken and shrimp and grits were both cold. Never saw waiter again until we finally had gone ahead and eaten. Then waited 30 minutes for check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Simple and delicious

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 5, 2016

Small menu, fresh-focused. Can't speak for brunch or late-night. It's in the Sheraton, so I'd hope they were open late. Basic wine list. Our server was new, so a little wobbly, but we got everything as ordered. Staff seemed very attentive to the patrons who were there and trying to make a start time at the Majestic. My dining companion and I were not under time constraints and enjoyed a leisurely meal. The arepas with smoked pork were crisp and light. And my bistro steak could have been cut with a fork, accompanied by perfectly crisp/tender asparagus. Dessert cannoli shell was a little hard and therefore difficult to share, but the chocolate creme filling almost made up for it. 2-tops are a little tight, but the space is bright and welcoming and a nice choice for a weeknight downtown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Good Theater Fare

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 31, 2016

We go to the Majestic regularly and look for restaurants that are walking distance. The Market is convenient and has a theater menu that will ensure you make your show on time. The menu is varied enough to cover a variety of tastes. Service was very good and this last visit we had a nice table that let us look out on Houston Street. Very nice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sheraton Gunter Market on Houston

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 26, 2016

We had to wait over 20 min for valet parking, but the hostess stamped our ticket so we didn't have to pay the normal $10-20 to park elsewhere downtown. Nice ambiance (unfortunately too cold and raining to sit outside ), good service, and fair pricing for the dinner. Somewhat disappointed that they did not offer the full dinner menu that night. It was a fixed price, appetizer, main course and desert. 3 choices for each. Good wine selection. Just a note. .this across the street from the Majestic Theater so it's very handy for the Broadway shows, concerts, etc. There is also a late night bar inside the hotel beside the restaurant so you have a nice place to wait out the traffic leaving the theatre.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

cute but disappointing

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2016

Popped in for a quick lunch. Cute atmosphere. Service was terrible. Crab cakes were good. Fried chicken was underseasoned, bone-in and covered in gravy which made the skin mostly soggy and very hard to eat. Flat-bread smores was a cool concept but the bread itself needed to be cooked more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

A bit of a disappointment

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 20, 2015

I ordered the caprese salad which, while good, had been downsized from the last time I was at the restaurant a month or so ago. At that time, the salad consisted of 5 or 6 large tomato slices with the same size mozzarella slices. This time I got 3 slices of each and the rest of the plate was filled with greens, definitely a disappointment. It certainly did not fill me up! That being said, what I did get was very good and the service was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Standard stop for us before shows at the ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 19, 2015

Standard stop for us before shows at the Majestic right across the street. Fresh food, prepared with care without the ever-so-present price gouging that goes on in area restaurants. Would like a larger wine selection and an option to order off the drink menu at Bar 414 (also located in the Sheraton Gunter) would put M.O.H. in a class by itself compared to area dining locations and options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Nice place

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 15, 2015

The Market is definitely a place to which we'll return. The service was very good. The food was too. Their most popular item is the fried Chicken and for good reason -- good chicken, thinly breaded, moist and tender with a great flavor. The steak was perfectly cooked to order. We shall return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had high hopes for this "farm to table ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2015

I had high hopes for this "farm to table" restaurant but was disappointed. The food was uninventive and mediocre. The place was empty at 7 pm. I sat at the bar and the bartender was attentive and nice, but it didn't make up for the uninspired, bland food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

GOOD HOTEL RESTAURANT

vip
 (México)·Dined on December 8, 2015

I normally have breakfast at this restaurant inside the Sheraton Gunter hotel. The buffet is good and the staff great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I dined here for the thanksgiving buffet ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2015

I dined here for the thanksgiving buffet. If I had it to do over again, I'd pick another location. We were seated and nobody attended to our table. When we finally got attention, I requested a coke and get this got a diet coke three times in a row. In general the food was not great either. Cold mashed potatoes, no desserts, dry and no pink prime rib were the lowlights of the visit. We also had a hard time with payment, lots of confusion with the staff and elevator music was turned up way too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Great Hotel Restaurant

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2015

I have to compliment the staff for getting me in my on short notice...I made the reservation 30 mins prior to my seating. It happened to be a theatre night, so very very busy. They seated me down and I ordered my steak (which was done very nicely) and got my glass of wine all in 20 mins! Now that's service!!! The food was good, but the service was AWESOME!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Waiter was very slow and forgetful. He w ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 17, 2015

Waiter was very slow and forgetful. He was the only person waiting tables outside and it wasn't very busy at all. Ordered a lemon Danish and coffee which was great. We were a bit upset that breakfast/brunch was over at 11:30 a.m.

Once our third person for our party arrived we decided to eat elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Charming spot along the Riverwalk

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2015

We had a Friday 7 pm reservation and found the restaurant light, airy and not at all crowded. The food was delicious and the server attentive and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Downtown & Missing Something

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 15, 2015

With lots of competition in the downtown area for dining we expected a bit more to a simple sit and dine location. The menu has a number of interesting items that are not easy to duplicate, the fresh market to table concept has been around for some time but MOH has done a great job with setting up a place that can offer great food at a reasonable price. The only missing element that will hold them back is the wait staff. More attention to detail needs to be stressed by the management team, tables needs to be cleaned in a timely manner, the server should check back often to make sure things are OK with the customer.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We ate there twice. Tfhe young lady tha ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 19, 2015

We ate there twice. Tfhe young lady that waited on us Sat. night (7/18) was very nice but had

to be reminded alot for items we requested. Food was good and my grandchildren appreciated

the choices they had on the kids menu.

Sunday brunch was also good and the gentleman who waited on us was very nice and

attentive. I would go to the restaurant again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

GOOD HOTEL BREAKFAST

vip
 (México)·Dined on June 8, 2015

I normaly have breakfast here and evrerything was great with the friendly staff and food. If you stay in the hotel visit this place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

GUNTER HOTEL RESTAURANT

vip
 (México)·Dined on June 2, 2015

I like to have Breakfast during my stay at the Gunter. The staff very friendly and you have what you need for a great start in the morning.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Too Much Salt

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 17, 2015

The lamb meatballs were too salty. We asked several people in our party to try them, and all agreed they were inedible. I did not enjoy the flavor of the Oysters Rockefeller pizza, but that's my fault for ordering it. One of our party ordered a burger and he said it was good. The main thing this restaurant has going for it is it's proximity to the theater, and the convenience of getting a handicapped individual to the show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Ladies

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2015

Our server Rey was very attentive and informative. We've had him many times in the past and try to get him whenever we're there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

AWFUL

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 10, 2015

Service was awful. Server threw the food down and we never saw her again. One at our table NEVER got the food that the menu said would come with that entree. Never again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

OK, but

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 7, 2015

Salmon was bland. service was slow. A little pricey for what was offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Soup and Salads

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 1, 2015

The menu isn't very diverse...soups, salads, wraps, hamburgers, flatbreads and pizza. Couldn't get the wraps warmed and couldn't swap the homemade chips ($4) for the Fries ($4) unless you ordered a hamburger. Food was good, but if I dine there again, think I will opt for soup and/or salads. They look delicious!

Recommendation for the wait staff...when bringing back change or credit card receipts, 1) bring back the original ticket and 2) don't assume the patron is going to leave a huge tip...bring back change (break down a $5 bill) for the cash paying customer or you might get no tip or only $1 (if that's the only thing the customer has), especially if the bill is less than $10.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

A disappointment

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 1, 2015

The Market on Houston was very disappointing. The food was mediocre and the service poor. I was looking forward to a good place to eat before attending the plays at the Majestic, but I will not not be returning to Market on Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Another night at The Majestic

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 1, 2015

This was the third time we went to the Marketplace before going to a show at The Majestic. We enjoyed our previous two visits, this one not so much. The food was excellent but the service left much to be desired. The waiter was not familiar with the menu and was not very attentive, not only to us but other tables in his area. This will not discourage us from returning and hope this was just an off night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Convenient

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 1, 2015

Convenient for pre or post majestic shows. Recommend reservation

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.