Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Casanova MakawaoCasanova Makawao
(139)
Italian | Makawao, Maui
Reserve Now
Haliimaile General StoreHaliimaile General Store
(993)
Hawaii Regional Cuisine | Makawao, Maui
Reserve Now
Mama's Fish HouseMama's Fish House
(13244)
Hawaiian | Paia, Maui
Reserve Now
The Wooden CrateThe Wooden Crate
(5)
Organic | Upcountry, Maui
Reserve Now
Hana Ranch ProvisionsHana Ranch Provisions
(55)
Contemporary American | Paia, Maui
Reserve Now
Kula Lodge & Restaurant, Inc.Kula Lodge & Restaurant, Inc.
(123)
American | Upcountry, Maui
Reserve Now
Maka by ManaMaka by Mana
(3)
Vegetarian / Vegan | Paia, Maui
Reserve Now
Bistro CasanovaBistro Casanova
(291)
Italian | Kahului, Maui
Reserve Now
The Mill HouseThe Mill House
(79)
Contemporary American | Wailuku, Maui
Reserve Now
Cuatro - MauiCuatro - Maui
(35)
Fusion / Eclectic | Kihei, Maui
Reserve Now
Three's Bar & GrillThree's Bar & Grill
(301)
Pan-Asian | Kihei, Maui
Reserve Now
Maui Thai BistroMaui Thai Bistro
(123)
Thai | Kihei, Maui
Reserve Now
Kono's on the GreenKono's on the Green
(101)
Contemporary American | Kihei, Maui
Reserve Now
Kahili Restaurant - Kahili Golf CourseKahili Restaurant - Kahili Golf Course
(9)
Hawaii Regional Cuisine | Kahului, Maui
Reserve Now

About Market Fresh Bistro

3620 Baldwin Ave.
Makawao, HI 96768
View Larger Map

The philosophy of Market Fresh Bistro is Global influence... Local ingredients. Quality of ingredients, fair pricing and support from our neighborhood and travel community are what is important to our business. At Market Fresh Bistro, we believe that eating well should not only be on a special occasion. We incorporate great food and wine into a weekly routine. Whether our guests come in for breakfast, lunch or dinner, we provide a complete dining experience with prices that encourage return visits. This practice is not a trend for us, but rather a way of strengthening the economy of our island. Market Fresh Bistro is striving to be the global platform, showcasing Hawaii’s finest produce and products. Although the slow food style of our restaurant is European, what makes it Hawaiʻian are our ingredients and Aloha Spirit.

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
Organic, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Tuesday - Saturday: 9:00am - 11:00am; Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 2ish; Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm, Farm Dinner: Thursday 6pm One Seating- Closed Mondays

Cross Street:
Nakui Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 572-4877

Website:
http://www.marketfreshbistromaui.com/

Entertainment:
Occasional ukulele player.

Catering:
No structure in place. Give us a call with your party idea.

Parking Details:
There is a lot behind the bistro as well as ample free street parking

Executive Chef:
Justin Pardo

Private Party Facilities:
Can accommodate a farm to fork, 30 seat tasting menu and the entire restaurant is yours.

Private Party Contact:
Olivia Coletti: 8085724877

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have seven course Tasting Menu every Thursday either based on a local Farm or a Region of the World. Everyone sits together at one long table. We start at 6pm.

Restaurant Photos

signature salads
Braised Short Ribs
Ono
Pan Roasted Blue Crab Cake
Mimosa
Market Fresh Bistro Upcountry Vegetable Salad
Brownie
Fresh Catch Benedict
Blackened Chicken Sandwich
Haleakala Ranch Braised Lamb & Kula Tomato Ragu
crab cake
Hamakua Farms Mushroom Omelette
Turkey Club Sandwich
Lamb Ragu
Market Fresh Salad With Tofu
green salad
Market Fresh Vegetable Benedict
Classic Eggs Benedict
Grilled Vegetable & Tofu
Tuna Melt and Salad
Very Vegetable Soup

Market Fresh Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

2.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3

service

3

ambience

3.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
See All
great for outdoor dining (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
special occasion (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
70 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Bad service

Dined on February 14, 2016

"Server" failed to inform us that we order at the counter. Very inattentive. Guy at the register was pushy and rude. I watched everyone working their use their bare hands to put salad on the plates without washing their hands. Very slow to bring the food out. Mushroom goat cheese omlette had three tiny mushrooms on top.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Scrumptious brunch

Dined on March 14, 2015

We had brunch at Market Fresh Bistro. We ordered the Blackened Catch Benedict and the omelette - both were cooked perfectly. Service is attentive and gracious. We would definitely come here again and try dinner next time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Up country answer

Dined on December 11, 2014

One of the only places to enjoy up country . A delightful find and my first choice . We have been here for 26 years and this is the answer .

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Food is outstanding

Dined on October 7, 2014

The food is consistently outstanding. The standards are fabulous and the specials are always creative and delicious and all of high-quality. Lots of fresh vegetables, too. Save room for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3

Great Comfort & Local Food

vip
Dined on October 5, 2014

The atmosphere is perfect in the heart of this special little town. Outside brunch was a special find (wish they had mimosas). Food was good but not anything above and beyond. We were surprised to see that you had to go inside and order (almost like fast food) yet the food was delivered with great service and follow-up. Avoid the french toast, cold and dry. The benedict was a SUCCESS!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Upcountry Breskfast at its Finest

Dined on September 7, 2014

Wonderful, fresh local food and ingredients expertly prepared. Our classic Eggs Benedict and goat cheese omelette were simply stellar and the locally produced lilliqoi preserves on toast was to die for!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service3

Great Lilikoi Jam! Delicious juice.

vip
Dined on August 31, 2014

Menu is simple for brunch with about 10-items. They sound better then they are. French toast was not dipped enough to saturate the bread and was dry inside, the upcountry berries were good but minimal, vanilla butter still hard from the fridge for several minutes, "mushroom" omelette was empty inside with only a small scattering of cooked local mushrooms on top. It was served with whole wheat toast that was poor in quality, but the jam!!! Made by a local farmer- the very tart likikoi jam was yummy! . No wonder the prices seemed reasonable, you don't get much! On the upside, the location is nice within a courtyard with lots of locals (and their many dogs) under a large tree. Their fresh fruit juice was also delicious!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

First Visit - So-So

Dined on August 1, 2014

This was my first time at the Bistro. While everything looked good and they take changes - like no bread on the sandwich, I wasn't impressed. I will definitely give them another try and order the chicken instead of the fish. Will review again after the next visit. So want this place to succeed. (Be aware their menu is not online as they do their menus daily depending on the ingredients available that day. Will call ahead!)

food4
ambience4
service5

Great bfast in Makawao

Dined on July 25, 2014

We loved it! Too bad it only open at 9 am for bfast as most of Maui activities require that you get up rather early! Delicious eggs benedict with fresh mahi mahi, too bad you have to add 2 pounds for organic eggs as the plate is already around usd 14-15 :) nevertheless we loved the place and are going back for the tasting menu dinner!

Tags: great for brunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

fabulous brunch

vip
Dined on June 8, 2014

ate outside in the courtyard, stopped on our way up the mountain. a beautiful spot with fabulous food and very good wait service. wished I lived in Maui so I could go back!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5

Lovely Lunch Menu

Dined on May 24, 2014

The service was great, food delicious-- I can't wait to go back and try something else. Prices were great too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Yummy fresh, with organic options

Dined on May 21, 2014

I like market fresh. Been there a few times and it does really taste fresh and well made. I don't enjoy and avoid eating mainland eggs when I go out to breakfast so the local organic eggs option was sweet. Great organic beverage choices. Yes, menu can be limited, but they do have pretty short hours, and portions can look a little smaller but you do get full. I've read some really strange reviews online on yelp which were discouraging...but they seem nice when I go. Few things though I'd really Love if they were open a lil earlier and later and consider expanding hours... Most importantly I'd LOVE to see more VEGAN and GLUTEN FREE options... As more and more ppl are becoming consciously aware of how good these changes can be.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Go to their Thursday night special!

Dined on May 16, 2014

On Thursday nights they have a special meal, ours was "Tastes of Hawaii" and was $75/person plus drinks. They use all organic, fresh ingredients and everyone sits together in long tables. Was fun meeting locals and visitors alike while having a 7 course meal... Very unique dining experience! They also accommodated my companion's need for eating gluten free despite having a set meal for everyone :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Both opa and ahi sandwiches were fresh a ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2014

Both opa and ahi sandwiches were fresh and delicious. Cheesecake with strawberry topping was well done.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

hidden gem

Dined on April 27, 2014

Worth the drive from Weilea as the food and ambiance is excelent. Staff is a big asset to the place

food5
ambience5
service5

Fun and Delicious Farm Dinner

vip
Dined on April 25, 2014

We ended up having a reservation for a Thursday night Farm Dinner and it was one of the highlights of our trip! 7 courses and interesting description of each dish by the chef. Loved meeting some locals at our table, too!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and fresh!! This ...

Dined on April 23, 2014

The food was delicious and fresh!! This restaurant truly lives up to the philosophy of farm to table dining with artistic touch. The modern plantation ambiance was inviting and our entire group of 6 whose orders ranged from fish to sandwiches, to salad-left satisfied, both in their tummies and wallets! Great upcountry spot that we are sure to visit again!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

A superb neighborhood lunch find

Dined on April 19, 2014

Can a restaurant bear its name better than this one? Everything is truly market fresh, superbly well finished. We are not talking about a gastronomical experience here of course, but an excellent fresh lunch, with each ingredient fresh and local. That spot has freshness as an obsession, and each ingredient right. Baguette is identical to the one you can get in Paris. Crispy, and tasty. This spot did not go unnoticed by the celebrities living on the island. A nice espresso too.

food4
ambience3
service4

Farm to table

Dined on April 18, 2014

Great idea, and food was generally very good to excellent. Portions were quite small, for the price ($300 for two with wine pairings and tip) it will be a one time adventure. Very close for us, we prefer Sunday breakfast, as it is not quite so dear, but every bit as delicious. Family style dining was probably the best feature, as we met and talked to several people that we really enjoyed.

food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious food! Great for brunch.

Dined on April 1, 2014

My family and I stopped here for brunch after we watched the sun rise on top of Haleakala. It was the perfect finish to a perfect morning. The restaurant is small and intimate, but there is outdoor seating (weather permitting). I had the blackened catch eggs Benedict and must say it was the BEST eggs Benedict I've ever had! My boyfriend and I liked it so much, we took every one of our guests that came to visit us over the winter there for brunch. I will definitely be eating there again next time I'm in Maui and would recommend it to all of my friends and family!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great way to start your trip

Dined on March 2, 2014

This small Zagat rated restaurant is only a short drive from the Maui airport . If you are heading to your final destination in Hana, Wailea , Kaanapali, Kapalua, or Lahaina think about stopping by for lunch or brunch as you head away from the airport about 25 minutes away by car. The market fresh vegetables and bohemian open style kitchen will refresh your batteries after a long trip on the plane. We had brunch and the eggs Benedict and omelets were delicious. This is not a fancy place and kids are welcome too. Great service and food. They take reservations. Afterwards you can walk around a village that is smaller than paia but there are plenty of small shops .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food1
ambience3
service1

Would have loved to try the food...

Dined on February 26, 2014

...but we were kept waiting for 20 minutes at lunch with no service and watched other tables place their orders. After asking twice for a server, we finally left. They tried calling back to see if we'd return, but we were already on our way to another place by then.

food2
ambience2
service3

First visit a disappointment

Dined on February 23, 2014

Service was good and friendly but the food was not great and it was very noisy in the inside. We were there for brunch and ordered mostly breakfast items. Although we were there early, at the start of brunch, they were out of some menu items. . Two members of the party had French toast which they thought was not good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5

Small portions

Dined on February 1, 2014

The quality of the food was exceptional - my only complaint was with the quantity. The entree salad was more the size of a side salad. The chicken sandwich was exceptional - but the "salad" that came with it was a small blob of lettuce that was hardly more than a garnish. All in all - great fresh food if you aren't real hungry...

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service4

Not impressed

Dined on January 24, 2014

I was disappointed to see that most of the food is NOT organic... including the tofu, bread, etc... Food was over-priced, tiny portions, and not that good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Thursday Tasting Menu

Dined on January 24, 2014

My fiance and I ate here for the Thursday evening Farmer's Tasting Menu and had an incredible meal! For $50 per person we enjoyed 7 courses all from local farms. We sat "family style" and got to know 2 adorable couples who were also vacationing. The chef, house manager, and servers were all very friendly and enthusiastic about the food they were serving. The restaurant is located in the gorgeous upcountry of Maui and there are plenty of little shops to look around in. I cannot recommend the tasting menu enough! It was one of the most memorable meals we had during our trip. We are still trying to decide what our favorite part was!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Outstanding Tasting

Dined on January 17, 2014

The Thursday night tasting was one of if the best we have ever enjoyed. A very special place that only uses locally grown ingredients. I wish I need not live a 12-hour plane ride away

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience2
service2

The food and the restaurant

vip
Dined on January 5, 2014

The food and the restaurant itself isok. I can very much appreciate the local sourcing of ingredients but they need to work on hospitality. The chef was yelling at everyone that worked there in an open kitchen so the entire dining was made aware and made it very awkward. The rest of the staff seemed lost at sea with how to seat tables and wasn't very discreet in how they handled it. I know it's small place but just a little more professionalism could go a long way there to make for a more enjoyable experience overall.

food5
ambience4
service4

Awesome !

vip
Dined on January 3, 2014

We had a wonderful lunch there in the patio under a large tree. The food (salads, sandwiches, desserts) was awesome. Staff was very friendly. A must stop in Makawao

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

like eating on the farm

Dined on December 31, 2013

Delicious fresh produce, wonderful homemade soup served in a charming casual courtyard. Friendly service and charming little town.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

i LOVE market fresh bistro!

Dined on November 12, 2013

This is a fabulous restaurant... especially for outside dining underneath the beautiful coral tree in the courtyard. (or if you have the chance to come for their once a week phenomenal special farm dinner). The food is EXCELLENT. Chef Justin loves cooking and it shows in the preparation. The fish was perfectly grilled... a little crusty on the outside and moist and tender on the inside. Their salads are made from the freshest organic local produce available that day. It is one of our favorites. I love taking friends here because I know it'll be a terrific experience for everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Wonderful Brunch!

Dined on October 20, 2013

Made a reservation through open table, and waitress thanked us, saying that Sunday brunch was their busiest day. They had a table with a reserved sign on it for us. Started with mimoas-had a choice of orange juice, star fruit juice and one other to choose from. I had the omlette with mushrooms and goat cheese--yum! They had lilikoi spread from a local farm for the toast-another yum! Hubby had eggs Benedict which came with potatoes. The sauce didn't taste like Hollandaise-no lemon-but maybe this is their version. Was good, but just was expecting Hollandaise. Very good and attentive wait staff. Will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic service and food

Dined on September 6, 2013

In prepping for our trip to Maui I just wanted to find a couple of well reviewed and reasonably priced spots to make sure we spread our trip around the island. Market Fresh Bistro did not disappoint and the fact that the service was great made it all the better. The food was fantastically fresh, nicely prepared and presented. Makawao was yet another lovely area to walk before and after lunch as well. Make sure to stop in!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I will return

Dined on July 9, 2013

Outstanding food and experience. We will return on our next trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

one of our FAVORITES

Dined on May 23, 2013

we love market fresh bistro for many reasons. they specialize in local organic ingredients, fresh and raw, or cooked to perfection. they won't serve it unless it's the best. if you ever have the chance to go to one of their farm fresh dinners on thursday or friday nights.. GO! i thought i couldn't do a 7-course meal. i was wrong. chef justin puts so much joy and pride into each dish, and complements them with perfect wines... the people, the service and the FOOD were fabulous. i was high for a week remembering that meal. during the day eating under the beautiful coral tree in the courtyard is a special treat too. a very special place... and don't miss the nearby unique galleries and shops..

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Great Spot for Brunch

Dined on May 12, 2013

We ordered the french toast, blackened fish eggs benny and the omelette. The french toast was standard. The blackened fish egg benny was very good and omelette was very good as well. Service was good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service2

Dinner was interesting; and

Dined on April 5, 2013

Dinner was interesting; and it was great to meet the Chef and staff; the whole evening simply took too long. It ended up being three hours; which too much for dinner (for us anyway). The food was not extra-ordinary. Certainly interesting; but not outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5

A gem in Maui

Dined on March 29, 2013

Food was perfect. The chef, Justin, explained where all the food came from -- farm to table. Unusual and remarkable wine pairings. Olivia and David and all the servers willing to substitute when necessary due to allergies...substitutions were gourmet fare!Love this place. Will continue to frequent again and again...bon appetit!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service3

Turkey club sandwich rivaled

Dined on March 23, 2013

Turkey club sandwich rivaled home made ones-delicious. Please consider a less caustic yellow interior wall paint-it doesn't complement the food.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service1

Good brunch, bad service

Dined on March 16, 2013

It's a very small restaurant. We were there for brunch on Saturday. We made a reservation, which was a good thing because the place was pretty busy. The service was really slow. Our waitress wasn't rude or anything, but she wasn't friendly either, which seems to be the theme of the town Makawao (good food, bad service). There were times when we needed a drink refill or our bill and our waitress was just standing around eating food at the counter. I wanted the mini Belgium waffles for brunch, but after I ordered it, the waitress came back and said they're "having problems with their waffles" whatever that's supposed to mean, so I ordered the french toast instead. The french toast was good, but I was disappointed I couldn't have the waffles.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.