About Market by Jean-Georges Restaurant

1115 Alberni Street
Vancouver, BC V6E 0A8
View Larger Map

The concept of the “hotel as a home” extends to the restaurant as its casual family kitchen. Inspired by the casual, simple elegance of modern dining, Jean-Georges has created menus that emphasize fresh, locally produced ingredients, served in a sleek and sophisticated setting.


A destination restaurant with four distinct experiences: an intimate second dining room featuring a fireplace, a heated outdoor seasonal Terrace with city views, an enticing Bar and a sophisticated Dining Room. The full menu is available in all areas of the restaurant.

The Outdoor ( Seasonal ) Terrace and Bar are on a first come first served basis.


Please be advised that parties of seven or more are subject to an 18% automatic gratuity.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Canadian, Seafood, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week.

Breakfast from 7:00am - 11:00am daily
Lunch from 11:30am - 2:30pm Monday to Friday
Brunch from 11:30am - 3pm Saturday and Sunday
Dinner from 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Bar Menu at our Bar and Lounge from Sunday - Thursday 11:30am - 11:00 pm, Friday & Saturday 11:30am- 12:00am.

Cross Street:
Thurlow Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 695-1115

Website:
http://www.marketbyjgvancouver.com/

Parking Details:
Secured underground Valet parking as well as Impark Self Park is located at 1137 Alberni Street (on the 1100 block of Alberni Street between the Coastal Church and Urban Fare). Follow the Shangri-La sign down the ramp.

The street level entrance to Market by Jean-Georges is accessible from 1115 Alberni Street. A glass elevator is also available to the left of the restaurant entrance, directly beside the Urban Fare grocery store.

Executive Chef:
Ken Nakano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Love Is In The Air! Join us February 14th at Market by Jean Georges as Chef Ken Nakano has prepared a Valentine's Tasting Menu you wont want to miss.

Please note that only our Valentine's Tasting Menu will be available on the evening of Tuesday February 14th.

Private Dining

MARKET'S four distinct rooms, each with their own character, allow you to tailor-make an evening and create a memorable experience. SIMPLE. ELEGANT. CREATIVE.

Market by Jean-Georges Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Business Meals (11)
See All
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Romantic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (3)
Cozy (3)
Private Room (3)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
1620 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First fine dining date since we had our ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

First fine dining date since we had our baby boy. Such wonderful service, and meals. This is why Market is one of our top restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was delicious. Had a GF menu but the ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

It was delicious. Had a GF menu but the menu didn't have all the options. Glad I had seen the regular menu so I could inquire about options that were fine and GF on the main menu. Very small portions. Waited 10 minutes before anyone came to bring us menus or ask for drink orders which was odd, especially since it wasn't busy. Once things got going they were attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Not worth the money, I was expecting mor ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Not worth the money, I was expecting more from a Shangri-La hotel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Food overall was good but preparation in ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food overall was good but preparation inconsistent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent and timely service - responsiv ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent and timely service - responsive to each request.

Food quality was great.

Only negative was bread freshness not a match to restaurant standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Don't think I will eat there for awhile ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Don't think I will eat there for awhile!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Great food, so delicious, it melts in yo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, so delicious, it melts in your mouth, you just have to try it if you are in Vancouver 😊

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Used to frequent this place often. It lo ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Used to frequent this place often. It lost it's appeal several years ago. Food was ok, service was ok, but nothing stood out as exceptional. One thing that was awful was the tiny $9 serving of French fries...came to the table cold. I hate to say it, but I would have enjoyed a meal at Denny's more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

It's a quite place for friends to get to ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It's a quite place for friends to get together

The food is nice and the sable fish is quite good with the jasmine rice

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat here often and rarely have any is ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We eat here often and rarely have any issues. I'm not sure what happened but it took a really long time to get our lunch and when it arrived one of the Parmesan chicken dishes was perfect and the other was overdone and dry.

Nobody asked us how our food was until we had finished eating and we had a guest so we didn't complain. She really enjoyed her mushroom risotto. The other issue is that none of the servers apologized for or acknowledged the 30 minutes it took to get our lunch entrees.

As I said, we are regulars. Generally, Market is consistently excellent in every way. It's not very innovative but the quality of food and service is typically great. So let's call it an off-day. In the future, I would encourage them to have staff notice when patrons are sitting and sitting without food. And when the food arrives, please ask how it tastes before the meal is over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

This used to be one of my favourite rest ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This used to be one of my favourite restaurants. My friends had soup that was delicious and one friend had scallops which were wonderful.

My other friend had risotto which she said tasted soapy. My truffle pizza was mediocre at best. I think the crust was pita bread. Not worth eating.

Maybe they had a fill in chef since it was Wed lunch?

Service used to be spectacular but our poor waitress got several things incorrect. No big deal I guess.

Anyway - I won't be suggesting lunch or dinner at Market again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Very good food, Asian flair. Good servic ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Very good food, Asian flair. Good service but slow. That's the only minus to our experience. All items ordered were top notch including deserts. Would recommend this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food presentation was excell ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Service and food presentation was excellent. When we asked to move so we could be closer to the live music, it was accommodated right away which was great as it was Christmas dinner.

The food was ok, not quite as I would expect from a restaurant of this caliber. Unfortunately for me, I also got food poisoning from the meal. Needless to say I don't expect this from a meal nearing $200 a cover including tip and wine.

Would likely not return based on food quality not being superb as I expected for the price , but mostly because of the food poisoning.

At any rate, great ambiance and service if that's your priority.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

My husband and I dined here on Christmas ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My husband and I dined here on Christmas day for brunch. As we got situated we asked the server to get us water with lemon. Water came in a few minutes but lemon didn't make it to our table until we asked for it 2 more times. Server did not (or forgot) to ask if we wanted any other drink such as coffee, tea or mimosa, before or when she took our food order. They had a prix fixe menu for the day but there were still some options to choose from. My husband had salmon lox on open bagel for starter, Angus beef flat iron steak for main and toffee pudding for dessert. I had fruit and Greek yogurt for starter, crab & spinach Benedict for main and cheesecake for dessert. To sum it up, the food was sub-par. The bagel salmon lox was served on was rock hard, flat iron steak tasted like the meat was boiled before it got grilled (no flavor and liver-ish texture). My Benedict had enough crab meat but too fishy, spinach overcooked and very bland overall. Desserts were decent, but nothing special. To sum it up, we expected much better service and food experience for the money we spent. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Slightly disappointing Christmas dinner ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Slightly disappointing Christmas dinner but great service

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Christmas Eve you'd expect some atmosphe ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve you'd expect some atmosphere, flowers, maybe a table cloth ($98 per person) instead of breakfast nook placemats. Lights on full. Food ok but nothing to pause over. Turkey dinner used the ploy of lots of mashed potato and stuffing to cover paucity of actual turkey meat. Tired dated plating. Good wine suggested pairings. Poor value overall. Room needs an update as does the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

The food wa

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food wa

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Found the restaurant very expensive. Wh ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Found the restaurant very expensive. When we arrived for our reservation there was no one there to greet us at the door. Waited about 5 minutes before someone attended to us. Food good. Service excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were 7 people and had a private room ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We were 7 people and had a private room which was superb.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was there for lunch with clients and it ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Was there for lunch with clients and it was perfect. Delicious heirloom tomato and Burrata salad, scallop appetizer was beautifully presented and delicious. My only complaint is that some menu items are definitely overpriced by Vancouver standards even if this is a high end restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely worth a visit, the sashimi st ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Definitely worth a visit, the sashimi steelhead salmon on crispy rice appetizer was excellent, as well as the Haida saltfish prepared with a nice compliment of an Asian fusion spicy(mild) thick sauce (like a compote)on the side along with a bowl of white rice. The grilled carrots were a little disappointingly overcooked.. They have a very nice selection of local wines as well as a good selection of new and old world wines to satisfy everyone's preferences. They could do a better job on the wine pairing suggestions but they were very considerate and helpful given we ordered by the glass for the courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall, the food was disappointing. The ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Overall, the food was disappointing. The tenderloin and accompaniments were cooked properly but flavour was lacking across the board. The service was very attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Our waiter was great! She had a smile o ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our waiter was great! She had a smile on her face every time she came to the table, even if she was just refilling our water. The chef was amazing!

The seating was a bit close together for a date. And it seemed the later the night, the other guests started to get drunk, swear and shout... but it was a Saturday night, so it happens!

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

We ordered Sablefish that comes with a b ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We ordered Sablefish that comes with a bowl of rice. We think the fish was great, but the rice was half uncooked. It was escalated to the chef, but he did not take any responsible for it. I am pretty disappointed. The service of the waiter was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Outstanding service and the food was ev ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Outstanding service and the food was even better. Cannot rave enough about our experience at this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. We had the scallops ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was excellent. We had the scallops to start and the tenderloin and Parmesan crusted chicken. Everything was cooked to perfection and very nicely presented. We finished off the night with a Mascarpone trifle - which I'm told was delicious (just the right amount of richness and touch of sweetness to end off a great meal).

The service (from the hosts/hostesses checking us in and then our waiter) was outstanding. It was a pretty busy night there - with a number of large parties - but we didn't ever feel neglected or forgotten.

We've been to Market a number of times now and each time have had great experiences overall.

The Shangri-la itself, is extremely classy and we thoroughly enjoy our visits there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal as always at one of my favour ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great meal as always at one of my favourites

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Overall positive experience. On me gues ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Overall positive experience. On me guest really appreciated that Market has a gluten free menu in addition to the regular menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was pretty good. Service was very s ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was pretty good. Service was very slow and unattentive. We waited for 20 minutes to have someone come to take our drink order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Restaurant was not too busy, which I pre ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Restaurant was not too busy, which I prefer.

Staff was very knowledgeable about the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

"Fine dining" Excellent salmon and hali ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

"Fine dining"

Excellent salmon and halibut

Service outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding. I am spoiled for going to l ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Outstanding. I am spoiled for going to lunch anywhere else!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fair. Service was terrible. Ser ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was fair. Service was terrible. Server was not friendly and did not come by, only to take order and to drop off bill. Not once did she check on us. Would probably not go back. Will stick to our usually places for celebratory dinners next time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

In town for a conference and came here w ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 22, 2016

In town for a conference and came here with a friend to catch up. The food was fantastic and service was great. The seared slavefish was perfectly cooked With a spicy sauce that complimented the fish well. I would definitely come back when I am next in Vancouver.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being charged $12 for 2 coffees- after a ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Being charged $12 for 2 coffees- after a very so so salmon serving did not make ma a happy camper!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Having eaten at Spice Market in New York ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Having eaten at Spice Market in New York (a Jean Georges restaurant), and thoroughly enjoying it - we thought we'd try his restaurant in Vancouver. It was just excellent. From the ambiance to the service and the food, ...perfect! Would highly recommend and would return.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, the service was a li ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food was excellent, the service was a little slow at times but they were busy and the friendliness and enthusiasm of the staff made up for that. Food was very high quality and nicely presented. The only thing that I felt detracted from the experience was that they did not serve any amuse bouche during the meal which seems unusual in this type of restaurant. Friendly, unstuffy atmosphere and staff were happy to chat about the food. It is not what I'd call a romantic setting, it is rather a luxe, informal setting. They also have two private dining areas which would be great for a business or formal meal. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was excellent. It was our an ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The service was excellent. It was our anniversary and the special touches were thoughtful and unexpected. The food was delicious! Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and excellent service. The ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great food and excellent service.

The shrimp salad was absolutely delicious as was the super beet salad.

The cheesecake was yummy and the cherry crumble with the cherry ice cream was fantastic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Healthy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great menu choices

 
 (London)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great menu choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.