About Market by Jean-Georges Restaurant

1115 Alberni Street
Vancouver, BC V6E 0A8
View Larger Map

The concept of the “hotel as a home” extends to the restaurant as its casual family kitchen. Inspired by the casual, simple elegance of modern dining, Jean-Georges has created menus that emphasize fresh, locally produced ingredients, served in a sleek and sophisticated setting.


A destination restaurant with four distinct experiences: an intimate second dining room featuring a fireplace, a heated outdoor seasonal Terrace with city views, an enticing Bar and a sophisticated Dining Room. The full menu is available in all areas of the restaurant.

The Outdoor ( Seasonal ) Terrace and Bar are on a first come first served basis.


Please be advised that parties of seven or more are subject to an 18% automatic gratuity.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Canadian, Seafood, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week.

Breakfast from 7:00am - 11:00am daily
Lunch from 11:30am - 2:30pm Monday to Friday
Brunch from 11:30am - 3pm Saturday and Sunday
Dinner from 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Bar Menu at our Bar and Lounge from 11:30am - 12:00 am

Cross Street:
Thurlow Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 695-1115

Website:
http://www.marketbyjgvancouver.com/

Parking Details:
Secured underground Valet parking as well as Impark Self Park is located at 1137 Alberni Street (on the 1100 block of Alberni Street between the Coastal Church and Urban Fare). Follow the Shangri-La sign down the ramp.

The street level entrance to Market by Jean-Georges is accessible from 1115 Alberni Street. A glass elevator is also available to the left of the restaurant entrance, directly beside the Urban Fare grocery store.

Executive Chef:
Ken Nakano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

MARKET'S four distinct rooms, each with their own character, allow you to tailor-make an evening and create a memorable experience. SIMPLE. ELEGANT. CREATIVE.

Market by Jean-Georges Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver / British Columbia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in West End ›

Special Occasion (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Creative Cuisine (9)
Romantic (8)
Business Meals (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (2)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
S
1530 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter was great! She had a smile o ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter was great! She had a smile on her face every time she came to the table, even if she was just refilling our water. The chef was amazing!

The seating was a bit close together for a date. And it seemed the later the night, the other guests started to get drunk, swear and shout... but it was a Saturday night, so it happens!

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

We ordered Sablefish that comes with a b ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

We ordered Sablefish that comes with a bowl of rice. We think the fish was great, but the rice was half uncooked. It was escalated to the chef, but he did not take any responsible for it. I am pretty disappointed. The service of the waiter was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Outstanding service and the food was ev ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Outstanding service and the food was even better. Cannot rave enough about our experience at this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. We had the scallops ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was excellent. We had the scallops to start and the tenderloin and Parmesan crusted chicken. Everything was cooked to perfection and very nicely presented. We finished off the night with a Mascarpone trifle - which I'm told was delicious (just the right amount of richness and touch of sweetness to end off a great meal).

The service (from the hosts/hostesses checking us in and then our waiter) was outstanding. It was a pretty busy night there - with a number of large parties - but we didn't ever feel neglected or forgotten.

We've been to Market a number of times now and each time have had great experiences overall.

The Shangri-la itself, is extremely classy and we thoroughly enjoy our visits there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal as always at one of my favour ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great meal as always at one of my favourites

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Overall positive experience. On me gues ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Overall positive experience. On me guest really appreciated that Market has a gluten free menu in addition to the regular menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was pretty good. Service was very s ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was pretty good. Service was very slow and unattentive. We waited for 20 minutes to have someone come to take our drink order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Restaurant was not too busy, which I pre ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Restaurant was not too busy, which I prefer.

Staff was very knowledgeable about the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

"Fine dining" Excellent salmon and hali ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

"Fine dining"

Excellent salmon and halibut

Service outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding. I am spoiled for going to l ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Outstanding. I am spoiled for going to lunch anywhere else!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fair. Service was terrible. Ser ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was fair. Service was terrible. Server was not friendly and did not come by, only to take order and to drop off bill. Not once did she check on us. Would probably not go back. Will stick to our usually places for celebratory dinners next time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

In town for a conference and came here w ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 22, 2016

In town for a conference and came here with a friend to catch up. The food was fantastic and service was great. The seared slavefish was perfectly cooked With a spicy sauce that complimented the fish well. I would definitely come back when I am next in Vancouver.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being charged $12 for 2 coffees- after a ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Being charged $12 for 2 coffees- after a very so so salmon serving did not make ma a happy camper!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Having eaten at Spice Market in New York ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Having eaten at Spice Market in New York (a Jean Georges restaurant), and thoroughly enjoying it - we thought we'd try his restaurant in Vancouver. It was just excellent. From the ambiance to the service and the food, ...perfect! Would highly recommend and would return.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, the service was a li ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food was excellent, the service was a little slow at times but they were busy and the friendliness and enthusiasm of the staff made up for that. Food was very high quality and nicely presented. The only thing that I felt detracted from the experience was that they did not serve any amuse bouche during the meal which seems unusual in this type of restaurant. Friendly, unstuffy atmosphere and staff were happy to chat about the food. It is not what I'd call a romantic setting, it is rather a luxe, informal setting. They also have two private dining areas which would be great for a business or formal meal. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was excellent. It was our an ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The service was excellent. It was our anniversary and the special touches were thoughtful and unexpected. The food was delicious! Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and excellent service. The ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great food and excellent service.

The shrimp salad was absolutely delicious as was the super beet salad.

The cheesecake was yummy and the cherry crumble with the cherry ice cream was fantastic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Healthy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great menu choices

 
 (London)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great menu choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

First time but definately not the last! ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 30, 2016

First time but definately not the last! Enjoyed the seared scallops and Heirloom Tomato starters...We had Crusted Halibut and the Steelhead for mains. Both were excellent but the Halibut was beyond wonderful..just like eating silk. A beautiful bottle of Sancerre during dinner and Martinis made just right to start the evening off. Service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice restaurant with delicious food and ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Nice restaurant with delicious food and good view. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been a fan of Jean-Georges for a lo ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Have been a fan of Jean-Georges for a long time. First time at this location and it did not disappoint. Impeccable food , service and ambiance! The halibut and sable fish were super fresh and preparation was melt in your mouth . Excellent dining experience to cap off a great trip to Vancouver !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was a delight. The food wa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Our waitress was a delight. The food was excellent. It was in a great part of town. Sitting out on the balcony was a nice view and the weather was spot on. Would go back again.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awful awful, AWFUL! The appalling food ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Awful awful, AWFUL! The appalling food ruined what was supposed to have been a special occasion. I should have known, though; it was nearly empty at eight o'clock on a Saturday night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Our go to for girls' get together My fri ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Our go to for girls' get together

My friends and I get together a couple of times a year and hands down., "Market" is our favourite place! They have good food, using top notch ingredients and the service is always great. We have a leisurely lunch,enjoy each others' company and catch up with our lives. We have been doing this for over 40 years and have been going to 'Market" the last few years.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary last week ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary last week at Jean Georges. The food and drinks were fantastic. Thanks to Connie, Tina, Star and Olivia for a fantastic evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As we're staying at the hotel, we only h ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2016

As we're staying at the hotel, we only had breakfast there during our stay. The food was superb and the waitstaff were pleasant and extremely proficient.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Market is an oasis in the city for drink ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Market is an oasis in the city for drinks and snacks on the Patio. It's a lovely setting with friendly , knowledgeable servers. Perfect for after work drinks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

A kind tenant in the residences told us ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2016

A kind tenant in the residences told us to eat the scallops ~ they were great! The sweet pea soup, curry bread, rhubarb & lichee trifle were amazing. We enjoyed the Pinot Gris and the Pinot Noir from the Okanagan Valley BC.

We lamented not sitting outside as the breeze subsided after the sun went down. The indoor tables were quiet and we could easily talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

OMG. Fantastic food as well as service. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2016

OMG. Fantastic food as well as service. A very well ran restaurant and we're looking forward to returning to. We highly recommend. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely dining room with a refined ambi ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 14, 2016

A lovely dining room with a refined ambience and very good service from my waitress. The food looked beautiful; my salmon luncheon special was just a bit dry however. It can happen occasionally at any good restaurant, but I just happened to have had salmon earlier this week, at both Estiatorio de Milos and Il Mulino, two Miami Beach outposts of NYC star restaurants, and both FL places prepared their salmon with finesse, with a moist and absolutely delicious result.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This is a favourite spot in Vancouver ev ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 14, 2016

This is a favourite spot in Vancouver even if it feels more like a place in a big Asian city. The decor is so tasteful, not too over the top, luxurious and classy. And that extends to the food. Every dish is well prepared and presented beautifully. The service is attentive and friendly if a bit formal. The room tends to be quiet, they really thought about sound and creating a peaceful space to enjoy food.

On a recent visit I did have to ask the parents of a screaming kid to take him out of the restaurant while he was having a melt down. Other than that, I've rarely had an issue with noise in Market. And parents: I appreciate that you want a nice meal but this isn't a "family" restaurant. Kids are welcome but if they act up, it's time to take them for a walk or pick up my tab. Money doesn't buy manners.

Anyway, this is a great spot for a date, a special dinner, business lunches, etc. It's on the second floor of the Shangri-La hotel and takes you on a trip to another city somewhere. Five stars.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and ambience with a great ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent food and ambience with a great location and price-point. Originally we were sat adjacent to a family (the restaurant is family friendly) and, a few minutes in, the younger of the two children became fractious. Within moments were offered another table in a quieter part of the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

THANK YOU, MARKET RESTAURANT, FOR YOUR E ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 9, 2016

THANK YOU, MARKET RESTAURANT, FOR YOUR EXCELLENT, QUIET, PROFESSIONAL AND SOPHISTICATED ATMOSPHERE. WE DINE WITH YOU OFTEN AND ALWAYS RECOMMEND YOUR EXQUISITE RESTAURANT TO OUR FRIENDS AND VISITORS. WE ARE ABLE TO ACTUALLY HAVE A CONVERSATION WITHOUT THE HORRID INTERFERENCE OF BACKGROUND MUSIC. PLEASE CONTINUE TO KEEP THE WONDERFUL EUROPEAN ATMOSPHERE. YOU ARE THE ONLY RESTAURANT IN VANCOUVER THAT ADHERES TO ITS PRINCIPLES.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! Stick to Jean-Georges signatu ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Delicious! Stick to Jean-Georges signature dishes and you can't go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and and very good food ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent service and and very good food, however the atmosphere felt stiff and a little lifeless.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

All good ordered was fantastic. Steelhea ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 24, 2016

All good ordered was fantastic.

Steelhead salmon and scallops to start and lamb / beef tenderloin as entrees. High quality food and great taste. The service was amongst the best I've had dining out as there was a good balance of attentiveness and privacy given

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional service provided by smiling ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Exceptional service provided by smiling and competent staff from beginning to end. However, having chosen the special tasting menu, 2 of the 4 courses were substandard. The meat dish (lamb) was a true disappointment consisting of a tough overcooked small piece of lamb, accompanied by a small tasteless withered carrot stick and I believe beet stick and good mashed potatoes. Desert was very bland. Overall, a very average but very expensive tasting menu. My overall rating reflects the high level of service and decor. I was offered a free glass of wine to compensate for the disappointing food which was appreciated.

Tags: Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Gorgeous venue, amazing food, and great ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Gorgeous venue, amazing food, and great variety of wine options!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was well prepared and very tast ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was well prepared and very tasty. The hostess, waitress and waiter were very engaging and friendly. Would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had an early reservation since that w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2016

We had an early reservation since that was the only one available. The restaurant was very quiet but never got noisy as others arrived. We were seated in a curved booth which was nice since it was an anniversary dinner. Wait staff was very attentive but not overbearing. Diverse menu with choices for varying palates. and a solid wine list. Food was beautifully plated, excellent preparation and an adequate serving. The evening was what we expected from a Jean-Georges restaurant. Definitely would return if we get back to Vancouver.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.