Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Market by Jean-Georges Restaurant

The concept of the “hotel as a home” extends to the restaurant as its casual family kitchen. Inspired by the casual, simple elegance of modern dining, Jean-Georges has created menus that emphasize fresh, locally produced ingredients, served in a sleek and sophisticated setting.


A destination restaurant with four distinct experiences: an intimate second dining room featuring a fireplace, a heated outdoor seasonal Terrace with city views, an enticing Bar and a sophisticated Dining Room. The full menu is available in all areas of the restaurant.

The Outdoor ( Seasonal ) Terrace and Bar are on a first come first served basis.


Please be advised that parties of seven or more are subject to an 18% automatic gratuity.

1115 Alberni Street
Vancouver, BC V6E 0A8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Canadian, Seafood, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week.

Breakfast from 6:30am - 11:00am daily
Lunch from 11:30am - 2:30pm Monday to Friday
Brunch from 11:30am - 3pm Saturday and Sunday
Dinner from 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Bar Menu at our Bar and Lounge from Sunday - Thursday 11:30am - 11:00 pm, Friday & Saturday 11:30am- 12:00am.

Cross Street:
Thurlow Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 695-1115

Website:
http://www.marketbyjgvancouver.com/

Parking Details:
Secured underground Valet parking as well as Impark Self Park is located at 1137 Alberni Street (on the 1100 block of Alberni Street between the Coastal Church and Urban Fare). Follow the Shangri-La sign down the ramp.

The street level entrance to Market by Jean-Georges is accessible from 1115 Alberni Street. A glass elevator is also available to the left of the restaurant entrance, directly beside the Urban Fare grocery store.

Executive Chef:
Ken Nakano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

MARKET'S four distinct rooms, each with their own character, allow you to tailor-make an evening and create a memorable experience. SIMPLE. ELEGANT. CREATIVE.

Market by Jean-Georges Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for a Date (12)
See All
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Romantic (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Scenic View (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Business Meals (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Cozy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Authentic (1)
Healthy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1674 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding restaurant in every way, shape and form. Hostess extremely friendly and accommodating, wait service outstanding and food is classic wonderful. Fish and pasta items, salads and mac were mouthwatering. Wonderful, amazing experience and well worth dining here when in Vancouver.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Everything was perfect. Wonderful meal, wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Worst Mimosa ever, tasted like white wine and flat soda. Should have returned it.
Service a bit slow.
Very loud nearby table, when the restaurant was almost empty.
Not good for seniors with hearing issues.
Food was only ok to good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great find on visit to Vancouver. Traveling with child but still wanted a great meal. We absolutely found it. Food was perfectly prepared and that included the kids menu which is usually an afterthought. My son called the spaghetti the best he ever tasted and after a quick bite myself I would agree with him. They were accommodating to put us in a cozy booth and provide crayons. We enjoyed on the suggestion of our waiter an amazing bottle of BC wine , food was local and perfectly prepared - highly recommend the sablefish- and manager regularly checked in to ensure we were pleased with our meals. Chef even stopped by the table and my son was thrilled to meet a real chef. If in town for a visit I would put Market at the top of your list. Genuinely welcoming and truly cared about our dining experience. We had a great night.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Food was wonderful! All 3 courses were delicious and perfectly seasoned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 28, 2017

As we approached the restaurant on the 3rd floor at 7PM, it appeared as though it was closed because there was no one to be seen. However, once inside and passed the bar, we were escorted to our table where the other diners were.
The servers seemed young but eager, even though it took a while for them to get our drink order. The food was delicious and well presented.
Overall a very good experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Food is paramount here. 100% every time

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 24, 2017

A foody vacation in Vancouver took us to five of the city's top restaurants: Market, Bishop's, Five Sails, Blue Water Cafe and Hawksworth. All were exceptional dining experiences, but here is how they broke down: The longstanding icon of the culinary scene, Bishop's, topped the charts with the most personable and attentive service and with incredible flavor profiles. From appetizers through dessert every course was memorable. Five Sails and Market were close behind. Few restaurants in any city can top Five Sails amazing harbor view, but the food was also beautifully presented and well prepared. We can recommend the tuna and beef tartares, the chilled seafood appetizers, the sea bass and the Catch. Market provided the most knowledgeable services with enticing descriptions of the food backed up with a deep understanding of the wines and the ingredients. The food was also strong; we especially enjoyed the pea soup, the octopus, and the sable fish. Blue Water boasted the best seafood and certainly lived up to its reputation with delectable ceviche, crustaceans, sable fish, halibut and more. Hawksworth was the clear winner on the cocktail scene with its many inventive offerings, but the food was disappointing on this occasion with both the halibut and duck overcooked. One could not go wrong with any of these restaurants and they certainly confirm that Vancouver is a city with magnificent dining experiences.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Superb food, great service. The emphasis here is on quality over quantity. This restaurant would be a good choice for celebrating a special occasion. Recommended for anyone who enjoys a fine dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Soft furnishings, servers well versed in the menu and sustainability issues. Beautiful clean tasting food, vibrant flavours.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

サービス、味共に最高、地元の食材をお使いのようで新鮮でもあった、

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Dinner date. Service started out very well but deteriorated a but as the dinner progressed. Food was superbly tasty and original but lacked volume. But still cam out full. Dining room was not full. Overall very good but not perfect.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Came for brunch which I thought was nice, Mrs didn't think it was anything special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Environment is very good and tasting menu special with great wine paring
Services great and we love Sakura meal very much

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 27, 2017

You would not disappointed to try the lunch three-course menu.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Wonderful food and a great waiter. We were dining early so had the restaurant to ourselves. Really enjoyed our first visit to this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This has been the worst Jean George restaurant I have ever been. Basic food...very different from the NY ones. Very disapointed. Would not recomended to anyone

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Casual dinner. Great service. My son tried the octoous appetitizer and I had the home made tagiletelle. Both dishes were excellent. We also had great service from our server and the rest of the crew at the restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great food. Very creative.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Great mixed drinks and amazing food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I have been to Market several times on a food tour and always enjoyed the food, the setting is beautiful and it's very tranquil despite being in the heart of the city.
This time we went for a late brunch at 1pm, it was busier than I expected for a Sunday but not overcrowded or loud. Our server Michelle was fantastic from start to finish. We had the French toast and short rib hash with poached eggs, mimosas and coffee.
I am keen to try their dinner menu and will continue to enjoy happy hour in the bar!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent service from Vana!
Hostess was lovely
Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 21, 2017

everything was perfect :)

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Service was exceptional from the host to coat check to our waitress. The entrée from the brunch menu was delicious, but we found that the starter menu was more interesting. I highly recommend the parsnip soup, -cream based, has lime and coconut note to it. The avocado on toast is also excellent in flavour though I found the toast overdone. The housemaid pop selections are fantastic but the ginger ale was our favourite. The place was comfortable in sound design and the lighting was beautiful as it was mostly natural. We do plan to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We came for my hubby's birthday. Very nice food and very nice service. Great value, recommend for everyone.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Jolly Capicola Eggs Benedict was tasty...the smoked salmon eggs benny was just okay...but at $25 each, one would have expected more than just 4 cherry tomatoes and 5 small potato cubes on the plate.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I am a regular customer to a Market's neighbour restaurant, which is family owned operated and I decided to try this time Market, big mistake, there is not point of comparison, I will definitely keep going to my regular Italian gem, exceptional value whereas Market lacks .

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It was too noisy! It was difficult to hear my friends. There was a group in the right corner room that should have close the door immediately so it would not disturb other diners.

The food was very good but the tea was too weak.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My boyfriend loved the menu, but I am vegan and chose the restaurant particularly for that reason and it honestly really let me down. I ordered the mushroom risotto and brussel sprouts. They were very average. I was also expecting vegan dessert but they only had fruit and sorbet. The yew is a much better option for upscale vegan dining.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I don't know why we bothered reserving a table. Our reservation was at 8:15. We were staying at shangri la so we got to the restaurant 10 min early. They didn't bother to seat us till 9:15! Ruined our night. I was so hungry by then :(

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The food was very good and service as well. Really like the ambience and could sit for as long as we liked.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Absolutely divine food. By far one of the best restaurants in Vancouver!
This time I actually arrived early so decided to sit at the bar to have a cocktail: I received superior service and highly recommend it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Had my dad's 60th Birthday dinner. We did dineout menu. Just amazing food service was absolutely amazing.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

For dinner, I had the parmesan crusted chicken, which was alright but the portion is small and not very filling. My wife had the steelhead which she liked, but I got a taste and it was quite plain. Our appetizers were good, I had the salmon sashimi on crispy rice which was tasty, while my wife has the salad with blue cheese, endives, and candied pecans.

The desserts were very good, I had the cheesecake and she had a warm chocolate cake. My wife does not normally like chocolate, but she loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service was beyond amazing. The food was delicious, the parm chicken is a generous portion. The cracker tuna is absolutely to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It is so good that out of my expectation, eat in with the dine out special price. The service, food & atmosphere are belonging to very high class.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Love having dinner at Market. Unbeknownst to us it was Dine Out Vancouver week so the menu was limited but not at all disappointing. We started with our favourite wine, Tomasi Pinot Grigio. The pear, apple and endive salad offered complementary flavours with a blue cheese accent. We substituted the house vinaigrette for the blue cheese dressing, to single out the flavour of the crumbled blue cheese in the salad.
Mains were parmesan crusted chicken, and slowly cooked steelhead. Both perfection. We added roasted rainbow carrots because we both love our vegetables.
For dessert, my friend ordered cheese cake with warm pear compote. I declined dessert but was offered a fruit plate, not on the menu, which I accepted. Both desserts were enjoyed as a lovely finish to a lovely meal.
Service was as expected - courteous, wine glass never empty, the right amount of time between courses, knowledgeable about the menu and after-dinner sherry. We go to Market for the experience as much as the food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Market is a good spot for a business lunch. I like their lunch menu options as there is something for everyone and it's relatively quiet.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The service was great and attentive. The beef tenderloin was perfectly cooked to my preference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Everyone was friendly and efficient. One of our party is gluten free dairy free and the chef said he could make alternatives to most items on the menu
That is priceless!
Good food good ambience and the french fries with truffles was a big hit
Enjoy.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.