About Market by Jean-Georges Restaurant

The concept of the “hotel as a home” extends to the restaurant as its casual family kitchen. Inspired by the casual, simple elegance of modern dining, Jean-Georges has created menus that emphasize fresh, locally produced ingredients, served in a sleek and sophisticated setting.


A destination restaurant with four distinct experiences: an intimate second dining room featuring a fireplace, a heated outdoor seasonal Terrace with city views, an enticing Bar and a sophisticated Dining Room. The full menu is available in all areas of the restaurant.

The Outdoor ( Seasonal ) Terrace and Bar are on a first come first served basis.


Please be advised that parties of seven or more are subject to an 18% automatic gratuity.

1115 Alberni Street
Vancouver, BC V6E 0A8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Canadian, Seafood, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week.

Breakfast from 7:00am - 11:00am daily
Lunch from 11:30am - 2:30pm Monday to Friday
Brunch from 11:30am - 3pm Saturday and Sunday
Dinner from 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Bar Menu at our Bar and Lounge from Sunday - Thursday 11:30am - 11:00 pm, Friday & Saturday 11:30am- 12:00am.

Cross Street:
Thurlow Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 695-1115

Website:
http://www.marketbyjgvancouver.com/

Parking Details:
Secured underground Valet parking as well as Impark Self Park is located at 1137 Alberni Street (on the 1100 block of Alberni Street between the Coastal Church and Urban Fare). Follow the Shangri-La sign down the ramp.

The street level entrance to Market by Jean-Georges is accessible from 1115 Alberni Street. A glass elevator is also available to the left of the restaurant entrance, directly beside the Urban Fare grocery store.

Executive Chef:
Ken Nakano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

MARKET'S four distinct rooms, each with their own character, allow you to tailor-make an evening and create a memorable experience. SIMPLE. ELEGANT. CREATIVE.

Market by Jean-Georges Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
See All
Creative Cuisine (15)
Business Meals (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Romantic (12)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Casual (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Private Room (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Healthy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Authentic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Seasonal (1)
Scenic View (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1647 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

I am a regular customer to a Market's neighbour restaurant, which is family owned operated and I decided to try this time Market, big mistake, there is not point of comparison, I will definitely keep going to my regular Italian gem, exceptional value whereas Market lacks .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My boyfriend loved the menu, but I am vegan and chose the restaurant particularly for that reason and it honestly really let me down. I ordered the mushroom risotto and brussel sprouts. They were very average. I was also expecting vegan dessert but they only had fruit and sorbet. The yew is a much better option for upscale vegan dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I don't know why we bothered reserving a table. Our reservation was at 8:15. We were staying at shangri la so we got to the restaurant 10 min early. They didn't bother to seat us till 9:15! Ruined our night. I was so hungry by then :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The food was very good and service as well. Really like the ambience and could sit for as long as we liked.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Absolutely divine food. By far one of the best restaurants in Vancouver!

This time I actually arrived early so decided to sit at the bar to have a cocktail: I received superior service and highly recommend it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Had my dad's 60th Birthday dinner. We did dineout menu. Just amazing food service was absolutely amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

For dinner, I had the parmesan crusted chicken, which was alright but the portion is small and not very filling. My wife had the steelhead which she liked, but I got a taste and it was quite plain. Our appetizers were good, I had the salmon sashimi on crispy rice which was tasty, while my wife has the salad with blue cheese, endives, and candied pecans.

The desserts were very good, I had the cheesecake and she had a warm chocolate cake. My wife does not normally like chocolate, but she loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service was beyond amazing. The food was delicious, the parm chicken is a generous portion. The cracker tuna is absolutely to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It is so good that out of my expectation, eat in with the dine out special price. The service, food & atmosphere are belonging to very high class.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Love having dinner at Market. Unbeknownst to us it was Dine Out Vancouver week so the menu was limited but not at all disappointing. We started with our favourite wine, Tomasi Pinot Grigio. The pear, apple and endive salad offered complementary flavours with a blue cheese accent. We substituted the house vinaigrette for the blue cheese dressing, to single out the flavour of the crumbled blue cheese in the salad.

Mains were parmesan crusted chicken, and slowly cooked steelhead. Both perfection. We added roasted rainbow carrots because we both love our vegetables.

For dessert, my friend ordered cheese cake with warm pear compote. I declined dessert but was offered a fruit plate, not on the menu, which I accepted. Both desserts were enjoyed as a lovely finish to a lovely meal.

Service was as expected - courteous, wine glass never empty, the right amount of time between courses, knowledgeable about the menu and after-dinner sherry. We go to Market for the experience as much as the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Market is a good spot for a business lunch. I like their lunch menu options as there is something for everyone and it's relatively quiet.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The service was great and attentive. The beef tenderloin was perfectly cooked to my preference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Everyone was friendly and efficient. One of our party is gluten free dairy free and the chef said he could make alternatives to most items on the menu

That is priceless!

Good food good ambience and the french fries with truffles was a big hit

Enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was restaurant week in Vancouver, and fortunately Jean-Gorges had some availability. The day of the reservation I called to try to come earlier, and the hostess was very accommodating. While the menu was somewhat limited due to restaurant week, the food was excellent. Beautiful space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Good food in a nice, quiet restaurant with ambience. Great for special occasions, such as spouse's birthday or Mother's Day. Even my son, who is only 8, will behave to come to the restaurant. Both he and I recommend the tenderloin. He calls it the "fancy restaurant" and wants to come here for every Mother's Day.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Came here with another couple for Dine Out Vancouver. Excellent service and ambience. Food was just okay. Not sure if it was our late seating (830) or that we were ordering off the Dine Out menu. Would come back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Really good service🎊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The restaurant experience was fantastic.

One of our guest was running extremely late we felt terrible, but the staff at the restaurant made us at ease.

The food was good, good quality, nice presentation. We were out for Dine out menu (set menu with choices) the choices were not the greatest but what ever we picked was extremely well executed.

The most outstanding part of our experience was the fun but discreet staff. The service was excellent, attentive, prompt & service staff knew when not to interrupt.

I would improve 2 things, the dine out menu would be nice if french inspired food & the music levels should be up a bit as we didn't hear any music. (although the room has good acoustic & we did not hear the other tables)

Thank you!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This is the third year in a row that we have gone to Market during Dine Out. We always find that the food, service and ambience are wonderful! It is always a great evening of elegance and pampering and totally hits the spot!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Went for a dinner and had the worst service from this one guy, felt pretty neglected. Their food is always good and decent price and their cocktails are amazing! Ambiance is great. Been here many times before and have always received really great service until this time our server ruined it for me.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

They charge $2 for hot water but room temperature water is free. I wasn't told when I ordered it and then found it on my bill. Spoke to the manager but response felt like 'that's a customary service we provide'...I've never been charged for hot water in Vancouver! It's not about the $2 but principle of it...

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Nothing extra special about the service. Appetizer sauce in between rice and sashimi was on the heavier side overpowering the sashimi. Chicken was very dry and dragged down the dish. Dessert was the best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My friends and I enjoyed the food. Among other 4 or 5 star restaurants we went for dine out Vancouver, Market is so far the most pricey. Most of us had grilled beef so we added few bucks to avail it. Not so like with other restaurants, but the food was great. I love the sashimi steelhead appetizer. We will be back. 😍

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food and services is great and will be back soon

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We went for the dine out Vancouver menu which was excellent quality and value. The service was attentive and not too rushed as some dine out experiences can be.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Private Room, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 17, 2017

First fine dining date since we had our baby boy. Such wonderful service, and meals. This is why Market is one of our top restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was delicious. Had a GF menu but the menu didn't have all the options. Glad I had seen the regular menu so I could inquire about options that were fine and GF on the main menu. Very small portions. Waited 10 minutes before anyone came to bring us menus or ask for drink orders which was odd, especially since it wasn't busy. Once things got going they were attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Not worth the money, I was expecting more from a Shangri-La hotel

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food overall was good but preparation inconsistent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent and timely service - responsive to each request.

Food quality was great.

Only negative was bread freshness not a match to restaurant standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Don't think I will eat there for awhile!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, so delicious, it melts in your mouth, you just have to try it if you are in Vancouver 😊

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Used to frequent this place often. It lost it's appeal several years ago. Food was ok, service was ok, but nothing stood out as exceptional. One thing that was awful was the tiny $9 serving of French fries...came to the table cold. I hate to say it, but I would have enjoyed a meal at Denny's more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It's a quite place for friends to get together

The food is nice and the sable fish is quite good with the jasmine rice

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We eat here often and rarely have any issues. I'm not sure what happened but it took a really long time to get our lunch and when it arrived one of the Parmesan chicken dishes was perfect and the other was overdone and dry.

Nobody asked us how our food was until we had finished eating and we had a guest so we didn't complain. She really enjoyed her mushroom risotto. The other issue is that none of the servers apologized for or acknowledged the 30 minutes it took to get our lunch entrees.

As I said, we are regulars. Generally, Market is consistently excellent in every way. It's not very innovative but the quality of food and service is typically great. So let's call it an off-day. In the future, I would encourage them to have staff notice when patrons are sitting and sitting without food. And when the food arrives, please ask how it tastes before the meal is over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This used to be one of my favourite restaurants. My friends had soup that was delicious and one friend had scallops which were wonderful.

My other friend had risotto which she said tasted soapy. My truffle pizza was mediocre at best. I think the crust was pita bread. Not worth eating.

Maybe they had a fill in chef since it was Wed lunch?

Service used to be spectacular but our poor waitress got several things incorrect. No big deal I guess.

Anyway - I won't be suggesting lunch or dinner at Market again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food tasted fairly good. However, presentation lacks creativity. The fish and scallop dishes came as the exact same plating. Desserts were good. Service was above average. Had one of our order wrong but rectified with a correct dish without charging. Birthday diner had a complimentary dessert. Overall a pleasant evening without burning a hole in the pocket.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Very good food, Asian flair. Good service but slow. That's the only minus to our experience. All items ordered were top notch including deserts. Would recommend this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Service and food presentation was excellent. When we asked to move so we could be closer to the live music, it was accommodated right away which was great as it was Christmas dinner.

The food was ok, not quite as I would expect from a restaurant of this caliber. Unfortunately for me, I also got food poisoning from the meal. Needless to say I don't expect this from a meal nearing $200 a cover including tip and wine.

Would likely not return based on food quality not being superb as I expected for the price , but mostly because of the food poisoning.

At any rate, great ambiance and service if that's your priority.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My husband and I dined here on Christmas day for brunch. As we got situated we asked the server to get us water with lemon. Water came in a few minutes but lemon didn't make it to our table until we asked for it 2 more times. Server did not (or forgot) to ask if we wanted any other drink such as coffee, tea or mimosa, before or when she took our food order. They had a prix fixe menu for the day but there were still some options to choose from. My husband had salmon lox on open bagel for starter, Angus beef flat iron steak for main and toffee pudding for dessert. I had fruit and Greek yogurt for starter, crab & spinach Benedict for main and cheesecake for dessert. To sum it up, the food was sub-par. The bagel salmon lox was served on was rock hard, flat iron steak tasted like the meat was boiled before it got grilled (no flavor and liver-ish texture). My Benedict had enough crab meat but too fishy, spinach overcooked and very bland overall. Desserts were decent, but nothing special. To sum it up, we expected much better service and food experience for the money we spent. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Slightly disappointing Christmas dinner but great service

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve you'd expect some atmosphere, flowers, maybe a table cloth ($98 per person) instead of breakfast nook placemats. Lights on full. Food ok but nothing to pause over. Turkey dinner used the ploy of lots of mashed potato and stuffing to cover paucity of actual turkey meat. Tired dated plating. Good wine suggested pairings. Poor value overall. Room needs an update as does the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food wa

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Found the restaurant very expensive. When we arrived for our reservation there was no one there to greet us at the door. Waited about 5 minutes before someone attended to us. Food good. Service excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We were 7 people and had a private room which was superb.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Was there for lunch with clients and it was perfect. Delicious heirloom tomato and Burrata salad, scallop appetizer was beautifully presented and delicious. My only complaint is that some menu items are definitely overpriced by Vancouver standards even if this is a high end restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Definitely worth a visit, the sashimi steelhead salmon on crispy rice appetizer was excellent, as well as the Haida saltfish prepared with a nice compliment of an Asian fusion spicy(mild) thick sauce (like a compote)on the side along with a bowl of white rice. The grilled carrots were a little disappointingly overcooked.. They have a very nice selection of local wines as well as a good selection of new and old world wines to satisfy everyone's preferences. They could do a better job on the wine pairing suggestions but they were very considerate and helpful given we ordered by the glass for the courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Overall, the food was disappointing. The tenderloin and accompaniments were cooked properly but flavour was lacking across the board. The service was very attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our waiter was great! She had a smile on her face every time she came to the table, even if she was just refilling our water. The chef was amazing!

The seating was a bit close together for a date. And it seemed the later the night, the other guests started to get drunk, swear and shout... but it was a Saturday night, so it happens!

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We ordered Sablefish that comes with a bowl of rice. We think the fish was great, but the rice was half uncooked. It was escalated to the chef, but he did not take any responsible for it. I am pretty disappointed. The service of the waiter was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.