Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Market by Jean-Georges Restaurant

The concept of the “hotel as a home” extends to the restaurant as its casual family kitchen. Inspired by the casual, simple elegance of modern dining, Jean-Georges has created menus that emphasize fresh, locally produced ingredients, served in a sleek and sophisticated setting.


A destination restaurant with four distinct experiences: an intimate second dining room featuring a fireplace, a heated outdoor seasonal Terrace with city views, an enticing Bar and a sophisticated Dining Room. The full menu is available in all areas of the restaurant.

The Outdoor ( Seasonal ) Terrace and Bar are on a first come first served basis.


Please be advised that parties of seven or more are subject to an 18% automatic gratuity.

1115 Alberni Street
Vancouver, BC V6E 0A8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Canadian, Seafood, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week.

Breakfast from 6:30am - 11:00am daily
Lunch from 11:30am - 2:30pm Monday to Friday
Brunch from 11:30am - 3pm Saturday and Sunday
Dinner from 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Bar Menu at our Bar and Lounge from Sunday - Thursday 11:30am - 11:00 pm, Friday & Saturday 11:30am- 12:00am.

Cross Street:
Thurlow Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 695-1115

Website:
http://www.marketbyjgvancouver.com/

Parking Details:
Secured underground Valet parking as well as Impark Self Park is located at 1137 Alberni Street (on the 1100 block of Alberni Street between the Coastal Church and Urban Fare). Follow the Shangri-La sign down the ramp.

The street level entrance to Market by Jean-Georges is accessible from 1115 Alberni Street. A glass elevator is also available to the left of the restaurant entrance, directly beside the Urban Fare grocery store.

Executive Chef:
Ken Nakano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Market by Jean-Georges Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Romantic (12)
See All
Fit for Foodies (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Casual (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1709 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good but not impressive. My entrée was overly acidic. A good experience but would probably not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2017

After eating dinner there, went to breakfast two mornings in a row and had a wonderful meal. The first day was a fabulous tasting omelette with loads of veggies and the second day very nice pancakes. My husband had the Chinese breakfast of dim sum two days in a row because of how great tasting it was. I could eat there every day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Fabulous service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Everyone in our group enjoyed our meals, especially the halibut and steelhead trout (very similar to salmon). Service was excellent and the ambiance was elegant. The tuna tartare starter was also outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Restaurant just lacked in ambience which was a shame as the food was good

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Service was excellent, food was delicious, cocktails were yummy!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Once again, a wonderful meal with great service. The scallop appetizer was the highlight, though the crunchy halibut was a close second!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I was so excited by their menu because it offered so many vegetarian options. However, as is common, they don't really know how to cook vegetarian well. Rather than using top quality ingredients and trusting their flavours, it was bland and over-salted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

I enjoyed everything in the restaurant. Food was great, people were nice, and the ambiance was fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I would come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

We ate dinner at this restaurant on Saturday night and it was one of the best meals both of us has ever had. Not only was the atmosphere quiet and romantic on the patio, but the wine and food were delicious! This night was planned weeks ago as a date for my boyfriend and I, as we are from Kelowna, and the goal was to find an awesome restaurant to have a fancy dinner, something we can rarely do at home. This was the best dining experience either if us have had in the two years we've been dating, so shouts out to the chef. Also shouts out to our server! (The check name said Conny.) We were one of his only tables, and he went above and beyond to make this experience great for us! Impeccable timing, super funny and polite, and we were thankful he was the one who served us. We hope to be back one day. Thanks again 💜

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Mentioned that we were celebrating a birthday in my reservation and asked for the best table available. There was no mention of the birthday and we were seated next to a family with a toddler when the place was empty. That family was celebrating a birthday as well and not only did the staff gush over the patron, the chef came out too. I feel like maybe they didnt check the notes of ours before seating us. Food was great! Place was dead on a Friday night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Excellent food and quiet environment. Great for business and social gatherings.

Note: please change your record to my name as Jimmy Ko and not R Liang. Many thanks

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Lovely food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 17, 2017

The exterior ambience was nice but the food didn't blow me away. I've eaten at his other restaurants and I have to say, this didn't stand out as one of his best. Lacked distinction, decent but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was very good but unfortunately the service was nowhere near as good as the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Amazing food! Wait staff was friendly and excited about what they were serving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Market never disappoints. The food is always excellent and well presented. The room is beautiful and they actually considered acoustics when they designed the restaurant so you can hear both your dinner companion(s) and the wait staff. The kitchen is helmed by an excellent chef and the staff are professionals. We love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on August 3, 2017

If you are looking for a lovely dinner in a nice quite setting away from some of the over crowded restaurants i would highly recommend this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Greeted very warmly and seated at a nice table immediately. The room is tasteful but nothing about which to write home. Our server was friendly, helpful, and didn't rush or disappear. The food was fresh and cooked as ordered. Very pleased with this restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Delicious as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Its was my 25th birthday brunch with my mom and brother. Natalia was very pleasant and gave us the best possible service we could ever have!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 23, 2017

It was overall okay. Limited options of cocktails. Octopus was a surprise. Tenderloin was adequate as well. A little bit over priced. It's almost Michelin-rated restaurant price yet it tasted not like food in a Michelin restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The servers were untidy with their shirts half tucked in- too casual for Shangli la.
Food was good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Trip to Banff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Delicate food, excellent services, convenient location

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

A very solid experience. The service team was tremendous and with my wife's numerous food allergies, the chef came out to ensure she had enough options that were tasty. A fine dining experience but the entire family felt comfortable including my kids 9yrs and 11yrs old. The only thing was that we ordered one steak "rare" and it was more "medium" and the medium rare we ordered was also more medium.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Had requested/asked for a view of some kind as it was a special occasion when I made the reservation 2 weeks in advance. Sat againsts a large wall with a huge column behind one end of the table. Saw some nice seating outdoors but didn't feel much of an effort was made to even entertain the reservation request. Food and service were amazing, but for those prices I was slightly disappointed in the overall experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food cost exorbitant for what you get and drink prices (non-alcoholic) are ridiculous. 5 person meal over $400 won't be back for a while. Too expensive. That $400 only included 3 beers.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Market never fails to disappoint me with their service. I have been there for more than 7 years or so. Every time when I went to Market, it has never been completely full except for maybe dine out period; therefore, I do not understand why they placed us at a tiny two people table where we have no room to out our hand bags. In addition to that, their small table probably would not be able to fit two plates or appetizers. With that being said the restaurant was not even close to half full on a Friday night around 7pm nor even later when we left just before 9. We were able to move to the 4 people's table. However, I do not appreciate the fact that they have requested to borrow two of chairs for the special party. It was in the middle of our dinner that they need to move one of our chairs at the end; however, the "special party" didn't even show up even when we left and the tables behind us were unoccupied. I do understand why they need to cause such a disturbance to us. I was expecting this restaurant to be more professional and courterous. The reason why I would return to Market are that their food is not bad and parking is easily accessible (underground from the shangri la hotel).

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

As always staff welcoming and helpful, food excellent and well presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Outstanding restaurant in every way, shape and form. Hostess extremely friendly and accommodating, wait service outstanding and food is classic wonderful. Fish and pasta items, salads and mac were mouthwatering. Wonderful, amazing experience and well worth dining here when in Vancouver.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Fabulous dinner experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Everything was perfect. Wonderful meal, wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Worst Mimosa ever, tasted like white wine and flat soda. Should have returned it.
Service a bit slow.
Very loud nearby table, when the restaurant was almost empty.
Not good for seniors with hearing issues.
Food was only ok to good.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Until the chef realizes eggs Benedict shouldn't be hard boiled, you are advised to try independent better rated cafes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great find on visit to Vancouver. Traveling with child but still wanted a great meal. We absolutely found it. Food was perfectly prepared and that included the kids menu which is usually an afterthought. My son called the spaghetti the best he ever tasted and after a quick bite myself I would agree with him. They were accommodating to put us in a cozy booth and provide crayons. We enjoyed on the suggestion of our waiter an amazing bottle of BC wine , food was local and perfectly prepared - highly recommend the sablefish- and manager regularly checked in to ensure we were pleased with our meals. Chef even stopped by the table and my son was thrilled to meet a real chef. If in town for a visit I would put Market at the top of your list. Genuinely welcoming and truly cared about our dining experience. We had a great night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Food was wonderful! All 3 courses were delicious and perfectly seasoned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.