Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 16 times today
Special offers available. See details

Market by Jean-Georges Restaurant

4.4
1803 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary Canadian
Perfect For:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Fit for Foodies
The concept of the “hotel as a home” extends to the restaurant as its casual family kitchen. Inspired by the casual, simple elegance of modern dining, Jean-Georges has created menus that emphasize fresh, locally produced ingredients, served in a sleek and sophisticated setting.


A destination restaurant with four distinct experiences: an intimate second dining room featuring a fireplace, a heated outdoor seasonal Terrace with city views, an enticing Bar and a sophisticated Dining Room. The full menu is available in all areas of the restaurant.

The Outdoor ( Seasonal ) Terrace and Bar are on a first come first served basis.


Please be advised that parties of seven or more are subject to an 18% automatic gratuity.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary Canadian, Seafood, Global, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open 7 days a week.

Breakfast from 7:00am - 11:00am daily
Lunch from 11:30am - 2:30pm Monday to Friday
Brunch from 11:30am - 3pm Saturday and Sunday
Dinner from 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Bar Menu at our Bar and Lounge from Sunday - Thursday 11:30am - 11:00 pm, Friday & Saturday 11:30am- 12:00am.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(604) 695-1115
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ken Nakano
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Thurlow Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Secured underground Valet parking as well as Impark Self Park is located at 1137 Alberni Street (on the 1100 block of Alberni Street between the Coastal Church and Urban Fare). Follow the Shangri-La sign down the ramp.

The street level entrance to Market by Jean-Georges is accessible from 1115 Alberni Street. A glass elevator is also available to the left of the restaurant entrance, directly beside the Urban Fare grocery store.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Adults can cheers with a round of "Mom-osas," kids can hit the dessert station, and everyone can shower mom with the attention she deserves.
Our three-course brunch at Market will include a choice of traditional breakfast items, together with a selection of Jean-Georges brunch favourites.

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 1803 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Beautiful setting with lovely service and even better food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great as always! The servers are very accommodating which is great help. My date and I aren't big fans of foie gras but we wanted the 5 course set. Our server went to the kitchen to see if it was possible to switch out the single course and found great substitutions!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Excellent, very imaginative food properly served by a well-trained serving staff. Up there with Hawksworth, but slightly less expensive based on several visits to each. Very good value for a high end restaurant.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Great Nicoise Salad. No Salt and Pepper on the table. A little pushy with the bill, as we were still talking and eating.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Best part about the place is services (it was a quiet night and late dinner). I only ordered a pasta dish which was a bit too salty for my taste. They can also accommodate larger group and the bar looks very nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

We enjoyed celebrating our 1st year anniversary here. So rare to find a restaurant serving 'haute cuisine' with a separate menu outlining vegetarian, vegan, and gluten-free options. Impeccable quality and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Awesome - best restaurant in Vancouver

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

We've decided to try their tasting menu. I asked if non-alcohol beverage pairing is possible, and the host confirmed when she called for reservation confirmation. The pairing was nice, but there was tiny bit of alcohol added for the flavor, which made me little buzzed. Overall the food was good. I loved the first bite of sable fish, but it became bit salty when the warmth of the food was gone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Just the Sevice, Not as good as the food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Rarely does a restaurant hit a home run with the food, the ambiance, the service AND the value. This one hit the grand slam: superb and creative food, fantastic service (including attention re gluten-sensitive options), elegant and quiet setting, and excellent value. The only downside was that we did not have another night in Vancouver to come back! (But I will do so the next time I am in town.) What a gem of a place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We went to Market for our 25th wedding anniversary and, although we said it was for an anniversary, we were given a table in the center aisle at the entrance of the restaurant that was the main thoroughfare into the restaurant. Thankfully, they were kind enough to move us to a booth when the one next to us came available. The first course of the tasting menu was incredibly slow (about an hour!), but after moving to a booth for the 2nd course onward, the rest of the dinner was fantastic. Very pleasant service, great timing between the rest of the courses, and the food was absolutely exquisite! Each course was a delight to the senses, well-balanced and complex. The dishes were unique, fresh, local and beautifully presented. The portions were perfect and we didn't go away hungry or over-stuffed. This was our 3rd time to this restaurant and I can't wait to go back for another memorable meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

The Matket was just what we needed. Later Sunday evening dinner with friends in a quiet comfortable setting. We were able to converse easily making meeting old friends more pleasurable. Service was top notch and every aspect of our meal was detailed by all staff. Food was superb and timing was great. Menu was varying and not to large to make decisions easy. We enjoyed appies, mains, deserts and drinks. Great setting as well. Recommended!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Went for the Murakami inspired dinner and it was quite good! The foie gras was okay, wasn't a total fan of it. But overall the experience and the food was great! But of course, it was a little on the expensive side

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Service was exceptional, we showed up on time for a reservation and there was a five minute or so delay well they got the table ready and we were all given complimentary champagne for waiting. Food was good but dishes were small and not worth the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Beautiful presentation. Delicious dishes, not too heavy and great staff

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Hands down one of the best food in Vancouver. They take your traditional dish and elevate it to flavours that you never think existed. The venue is beautiful and service is great, the restaurant is also very well managed. Heck put on a nice outfit and go treat yourself - this place is worth it!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Alway enjoy~

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

The service was outstanding without being too overbearing.
The food was spectacular!!
One of our most favourite new restaurants!!

10 our of 10

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Great experience . Connie was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Beautiful and well lit restaurant that was a perfect fit for our mixed omnivore and vegan marriage. We felt the prices were easily justified by the extremely high quality and deliciousness of the food. This will now be our date night venue.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

It’s our first time there, and brought my parents since they visiting Vancouver. We ordered two Ling Cod and two Steelhead. They taste very good. My dad would like to come back next time he visits here.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Food was horrible. Don’t waste your time and money there.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Had pre-valentine's day dinner with my wife here but quite disappointed. We aren't alcoholic people so asked the server to recommend two non-spirit drinks while both of them don't taste good, we had only one sip of each of the drinks. (Fine, different people have different taste right? - ok).

The appetizers are pretty good, 4 star level - we should have simply ordered appetizers.

Entrees were --mediocre - Tenderloin's cook is up to level but tasted not very fresh. Short ribs are ok, slight sour ~~

Our main (male) server was the most disappointing point - apart from taking our order and getting paid, he didn't talk to us. He did not check with us how the food was or checking if we were ready for the next course or not. (He did that to other guests next to us ~_~) There weren't that many people and it's definitely not a 5-star level restaurant's service.

On the other hand, there was a female bread server who somehow asked us how the food was, asked us if we needed extra bread, etc. We felt like she is more a server than our server.

We gave 14% tip at the end hoping the tip will go to other servers especially that lady server. If it was just our main server served us for the night, probably we would have given less than 10% tip.

Manager of Market - If you see this, please share it with your colleagues, thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

It isn't easy to find a restaurant of such high quality that can easily cater to both omnivores and vegans/vegetarians, but Market has it all. The quality of the food, presentation, and friendliness of the staff are unmatched at any other restaurant in Vancouver.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

This was our first visit to the Market, and we were very pleasantly surprised. The OpenTable entry described it as “casual family dining” but it is, in fact, a sophisticated and refined restaurant. The service was attentive and the staff exceptionally well-trained. Our entrees (rack of lamb and pan-seared lingcod) were cooked perfectly and served with imaginative accompaniments. Definitely save room for the peanut butter chocolate bar with salted caramel ice cream. By way of comparison, our go-to “special dinner” restaurant when visiting Vancouver has always been CinCin; the Market is its equal in quality and service, with a quieter atmosphere. We will definitely be dining there again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 10, 2018

With so many culinary delights nearby this place gets a pass from me. I had other reviews before going and it was a mix bag but I went in optimistic. Turns out the one star reviews were accurate.
For a nice restaurant they lack in all the details that really give guests that full experience of real fine dining. Lack lustre host, slow table service, servers don't engage, you have to wave them over for drink lists you already asked for, etc.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

It was fun. It was nice that they would allow us to bring our own cake and serve it to us for only $4.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Awesome appetizers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

Food, mood & drinks were great, but what stood out to me was A. Consistent service - every single employee acknowledged us even if we were just walking by! B. Strong branding - it was my first time here, and the bartender knew this, and took 5m to explain all of the features and events that happen each year in the hotel and restaurant! Very exceptional experience and great for dates or friend nights

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 4, 2018

The food is great esp the steak.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 4, 2018

Vanna provides excellent service. She was attentive without being intrusive and she was very friendly

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Best dine out Vancouver meal ever. Treat you like you are their only customer. Definitely going back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 29, 2018

Went here on my bday dinner with some friends and to also take advantage of the DineOut Vancouver 2018 menu. Overall very good atmosphere and experience, and superb food! Think classic fine dining.

There was a little mix up in some of the ordering with our server, I got someone else's drink on one occasion, and when asking for the wine pairing with the main only, my friend ended up getting the wine pairing with the appy too which she didn't want. I offered to cover that instead since I didn't mind. We also waited quite a long time after dinner was done and the table was clear for our bills (but they offered split bills which is a huge plus!) and eventually I had to ask the server when he came to top up waters again. I appreciate not being rushed, but there was not offer or hint to bring it up which I thought was a little surprising. Overall still a great meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Food & Service excellent

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 28, 2018

The braised beef with hash brown (rosti) dish was very creative not seen in my good restaurant in Vancouver. It has great texture... After being to Vancouver upscale restaurant such as Cioppino, Cincin, Bauhouse, etc. we like the food here. The risotto is surprising better than Cincin... But Cioppino is still our favorite.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

The Dine Out menu allowed a simple sample selection of what Market Place had to offer. Of all the Dine Out dinners I have attended over the years, this has been the only meal that was consistent on, quality, presentation, and service.

Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 26, 2018

I booked 6 weeks ago hoping for a birthday happy hour and dinner with my friends. When I got there it was dine our menu only. I was not interested at that menu at all. They never mentioned it. The waitress was a bit rude. I really have no good feelings about this place. The food was alright but overpriced for what it is. They don't even give you good cuts or quality meat.

Also there's a big with opentable. I went to adjust my reservation to decrease the number for a more accurate number, it wouldn't let me do so and when I saved it changed my reservation.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

A friend and I enjoyed the Dine Out lunch menu for a joint birthday celebration. We both started with the shrimp salad, which was fantastic. The prawns were served warm in a buttery truffle miso sauce and the rest of the salad was excellent as well. We shared the two entrée dishes and I would have to say that I preferred the seafood pasta, although the truffle pizza was also nice. Finished with their delicious rich and decadent peanut butter chocolate bar. It was a delicious lunch, and I would recommend it to others. Service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Had a great lunch with a friend. We tried the Dine Out Lunch menu. It was superb value for delicious food.
The space was quiet to allow for great conversation.
Service was excellent and the staff was very friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Definitely love the private room with the round table! Great choice for a group of 8!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
46

Tweets by Market by Jean-Georges Restaurant