About Market by Jean-Georges Restaurant

1115 Alberni Street
Vancouver, BC V6E 0A8
View Larger Map

The concept of the “hotel as a home” extends to the restaurant as its casual family kitchen. Inspired by the casual, simple elegance of modern dining, Jean-Georges has created menus that emphasize fresh, locally produced ingredients, served in a sleek and sophisticated setting.


A destination restaurant with four distinct experiences: an intimate second dining room featuring a fireplace, a heated outdoor seasonal Terrace with city views, an enticing Bar and a sophisticated Dining Room. The full menu is available in all areas of the restaurant.

The Outdoor ( Seasonal ) Terrace and Bar are on a first come first served basis.


Please be advised that parties of seven or more are subject to an 18% automatic gratuity.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Canadian, Global, International, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week.

Breakfast from 6:30am - 11:00am daily
Lunch from 11:30am - 2:30pm Monday to Friday
Brunch from 11:30am - 3pm Saturday and Sunday
Dinner from 5:30pm - late

Bar Menu at our Bar and Lounge from 11:30am until late.

Cross Street:
Thurlow Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 695-1115

Website:
http://www.marketbyjgvancouver.com/

Parking Details:
Secured underground Valet parking as well as Impark Self Park is located at 1137 Alberni Street (on the 1100 block of Alberni Street between the Coastal Church and Urban Fare). Follow the Shangri-La sign down the ramp.

The street level entrance to Market by Jean-Georges is accessible from 1115 Alberni Street. A glass elevator is also available to the left of the restaurant entrance, directly beside the Urban Fare grocery store.

Executive Chef:
Ken Nakano

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Early Birds & Night Owls

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:30 PM

The Muses Dinner Series

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Oct 2, 2016 all week from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Early Birds & Night Owls

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details
A Happy Hour For Everyone! For the Early Birds wanting après work cocktails, or the Night Owls looking for an evening nightcap, you can now join us for $8 cocktails and $6 draft beer at Market by Jean-Georges everyday. Excludes Tax and Tip. Early Birds: From 3 PM to 6 PM Night Owls: From 9 PM til Closing. Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:30 PM.
The Muses Dinner Series

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Oct 2, 2016 all week from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Join us for The Muses Dinner, a series of tasting menus inspired by the six women who were all major influences in Picasso's personal life and art. Available during the course of Picasso: The Artist and His Muses exhibition. Excludes Tax and Tip. 11 June to 29 June Fernande Olivier From the Rose Period to Cubism. Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Oct 2, 2016 all week from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

MARKET'S four distinct rooms, each with their own character, allow you to tailor-make an evening and create a memorable experience. SIMPLE. ELEGANT. CREATIVE.

Market by Jean-Georges Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver / British Columbia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in West End ›

special occasion (30)
fit for foodies (21)
great for lunch (16)
See All
romantic (16)
great for brunch (12)
good for groups (12)
notable wine list (12)
neighborhood gem (6)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (2)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1495 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Excellent service and and very good food ...

Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service and and very good food, however the atmosphere felt stiff and a little lifeless.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

All good ordered was fantastic. Steelhea ...

Dined 5 days ago

All good ordered was fantastic. Steelhead salmon and scallops to start and lamb / beef tenderloin as entrees. High quality food and great taste. The service was amongst the best I've had dining out as there was a good balance of attentiveness and privacy given

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Exceptional service provided by smiling ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Exceptional service provided by smiling and competent staff from beginning to end. However, having chosen the special tasting menu, 2 of the 4 courses were substandard. The meat dish (lamb) was a true disappointment consisting of a tough overcooked small piece of lamb, accompanied by a small tasteless withered carrot stick and I believe beet stick and good mashed potatoes. Desert was very bland. Overall, a very average but very expensive tasting menu. My overall rating reflects the high level of service and decor. I was offered a free glass of wine to compensate for the disappointing food which was appreciated.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous venue, amazing food, and great ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Gorgeous venue, amazing food, and great variety of wine options!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was well prepared and very tast ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was well prepared and very tasty. The hostess, waitress and waiter were very engaging and friendly. Would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The lamb chop was amazing! Cutting the m ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The lamb chop was amazing! Cutting the meat was like cutting butter. One word = smooth. The truffled mash potato was also a must have.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply stunning

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

To celebrate the last day of our vacation we enjoyed a most memorable culinary experience. We feasted on soft shell crabs,scallops,sable fish ,steel head, floating island,trifle. Not knowing much about B C wines , our waiter helped us select a wonderful local Sauvignon Blanc. Our after dinner beverage was a pear Eau de Vie distilled locally. The venue is modern,airy, comfortable and unlike so many other restaurants ,the Market by Jean George is quiet.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great, ambience upscale, notably not busy

Dined on June 1, 2016

Booked a table for a special occasion. No troubles with Open Table booking process. Vehicle valet is $16 (plus tip if you wish). Service is generally attentive (although I could see only one other table occupied on the weeknight we were there). Reasonable wine list (fairly typical upcharge). Our teas/coffees were forgotten. I was surprised it wasn't busier but I suppose there is so much choice in Vancouver. Prices on the high side but expected in a hotel restaurant with a big name. Solid 4 stars.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So Good

Dined on May 31, 2016

Loved the fact they had a separate Vegan, Vegetarian and Gluten Free Menu. I was able to take business clients there and eat like I wanted and they could eat what they wanted. Plus the food was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Market had always been one of my favouri ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Market had always been one of my favourite restaurants, but recently, the quality of the food has not been exceptional like before. I had a bit of doubt when going in for brunch, but was pleasantly surprised with the food. Our table did not order any of the individual dishes, but rather the social plates. The steelhead sashimi on crispy rice was exceptionally innovative and delicious, and I would highly recommend their oysters (Kusshi), as they were very fresh. The beet salad, avocado toast, and desserts were very good as well. What made the meal exceptional, however, was the service. All of the servers were very friendly, and provided amazing service and suggestions. (One thing I noted especially, was that my water glass was never empty for more than a minute! This is always a plus in my books, as I do not like dinning with an empty glass) Furthermore, I can say that our server (unfortunately, I did not get her name), was one of the best I have ever had from all the restaurants I've dined at. She went above and beyond her role, and we had an amazing conversation about her hometown in Japan and the food. I sincerely enjoyed my dinning experience at Market, and am very thankful for the amazing service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Special Treat

Dined on May 10, 2016

This is my fourth time visiting Market and I have never been disappointed. Tonight we shared the scallop appetizer and they were amazing. Loved the accompaniment of pureed pea. We both had the Steelhead for our main. Delicious. We also had the mushrooms and the beets as sides. The only complaint was that the sides were large. Hard to finish, but we sure did our best. Overall, EXCELLENT.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Went for Mothers Day Brunch. The food wa ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mothers Day Brunch. The food was delicious. However, service was friendly but slightly uneven. Not what we would expect from such a high end restaurant. It could have been because it was Mothers Day so new, untrained staff were called in. Overall, the value of this meal was not as good as we expected.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Market by Jean George

Dined on May 2, 2016

Everything was delicious except for the bread. It was very hard and dry .. took some effort to chew the bread. The Sablefish was silky & perfectly done .. my husband loved his lamb .. the beets and mushrooms were also delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect evening

Dined on April 30, 2016

We were so well cared for at this venuevenue from a food allergy to a birthday desertdesert. when my prepaid Visa was not working, no one appeared flustered or assuming. I had to simply change cards, but regrettably was unable to leave the tip I would have preferred. Should I ever be in Vancouver again, I would return and do better by the server(20-25% vs my 15%.)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

Construction - no warning

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

There's some very, very loud construction going on in the retail unit directly below the restaurant. The drilling vibrates the dining room and creates a lot of noise. Management didn't do anything to make us feel like appreciated guests. Even if they offered a small discount for the inconvenience, or something to say "Thanks for joining us despite the noise" would have been nice. Won't be going back for a while.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our server was excellent and very helpful. I love that there is a vegan and vegetarian menu with delicious choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Over-hyped, over-valued

Dined on April 16, 2016

Stale bread, tiny portions for extreme prices and over-priced ordinary wine. Need I go on? I rarely indulge in high-end dining, so my expectations of perfection were being stretched. Somehow Market By George has gone so high-end that it went over a cliff. Food was immemorable, although what was noteworthy were the extremely small portions. Even the desert was intelligible. It was a mishap of sickly-sweet items. Perhaps this is a date place. In this case, I just happened to be hosting a rather elite political guest and thought I would take the gamble. Won't happen again.

food5
ambience5
service1

Service was non-existent and we were the ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Service was non-existent and we were the first in the restaurant. Manager said one staff was on break! Not my problem sir! He did compensate us for the shortfalls but our dinner was ruined, despite the excellent food and restaurant atmosphere.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Typical Fine Dining

Dined on April 14, 2016

Yes, the food was great, but the portions were incredibly small. Don't go here hungry, or you'll be stopping at McDonald's on the way home. It is typical fine dining where you enjoy the ambiance, you are treated like royalty by the staff, but expect to overpay for a tasty snack, not a meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Nothing special. I don't think Jean Geor ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Nothing special. I don't think Jean George should have his name unless he can stand by it 100%

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server was very kind and charismatic. Se ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Server was very kind and charismatic. Second time coming, and enjoyed it just as much as the first time there. Would recommend friends and family to come!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food, great service and experi ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

Wonderful food, great service and experience

food4
ambience5
service5

We loved the food and service there.

Dined on March 27, 2016

We loved the food and service there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday breakfast

Dined on March 20, 2016

Had the brioche french toast with apples and it did not disappoint,it was light and fluffy as I expected.The service was exceptional !What amazed me the most is how the staff supported each other by making sure that all the guests were served promptly and with a smile.The atmosphere was warm and inviting which helped you to relax instantly.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Service was excellent.

Dined on March 12, 2016

We had a wonderful time. We were a party of six and everyone was happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We shared the steelhead sashimi appetize ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

We shared the steelhead sashimi appetizer and it was wonderful. If I could eat more, would have had my own. We also had the sablefish, both preparations ,and they, too were excellent. We were there early so not too many tables filled. I imagine it would be moderately noisy when full. Managed to share the warm chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream. Small portion but perfectly adequate after the rich meal we had. We've been there before and will go again when in Vancouver.

food4
ambience5
service5

Great spot for a business lunch! Servic ...

vip
Dined on February 29, 2016

Great spot for a business lunch! Service and ambiance was great and the food was good too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Brunch

Dined on February 27, 2016

Had a great experience with my daughters, sister and cousin for brunch. Was pleasantly surprised that there was a kids menu available as I had my girls check out the menu online to choose what they wanted to eat in advance. I assumed a restaurant like this would just have one menu, such a great surprise! The moment we got there the service was impeccable, the valet, the host who met us at the front of the restaurant and our awesome server was flawless from start to finish. And the food! We ordered a social plate and individual plate each thinking the portions would be small, boy were we wrong! Delicious food, great portions, so worth the drive from the Fraser Valley. Got to try the kids dishes as well and the spaghetti and mac and cheese were amazing! Kudos to everyone. Looking forward to coming back

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the tasting menu and everything w ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

We had the tasting menu and everything was excellent. Market is a favourite spot in Vancouver. Not only is the food and service excellent, the room is beautiful and the acoustics allow you to hear people speaking unlike so many noisy restaurants.

food4
ambience5
service5

摆盘很精致,色味俱全。同伴点了一份simply cooked lobster,我 ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

摆盘很精致,色味俱全。同伴点了一份simply cooked lobster,我点了一份Soy Blazed short beef ribs。肉和龙虾都十分软烂,与配菜一起吃真的很不错,不会腻,比单吃肉或龙虾好很多。我们还点了sachimi with fried rice,这个还好,就是日本三文鱼寿司的改编版;还有raw oyster真的很神奇,脆脆的感觉,赞赞赞👍。最后,我们还加了两个甜品(cheese cake 和Warm chocolate cake),都配有冰淇淋和配菜,但个人感觉偏甜,不适应。服务生的服务很到位,且很仔细细心得回答客人的问题,时不时过来询问是否喜欢这食物,或是否需要什么服务。氛围不错,较为安静。四周有说英语的客人交谈。看起来是交谈会友的好去处。另外,这家酒店在香格里拉酒店的三楼

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Inconsistent

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Have eaten at this restaurant 4 times . The food is inconsistent and continues to not really hold the standard I expect from a Market Restaurant. The value is not there and the food is mediocre.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Food and Service

Dined on February 8, 2016

Our family enjoyed a dinner here last weekend. We all tried something different and everyone loved their dinner. The quality of the food and the presentation were outstanding. We tried the halibut dish, short ribs, lamb and beef tenderloin. It is very handy to walk from any of the downtown hotels.Friendly efficient service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Dining Experience

Dined on February 7, 2016

Located in the beautiful and luxurious Shangri La Hotel, the Market by Jean-Georges Restaurant proved the equal to the Bosk in Toronto. Excellent menu with superb presentation served by a variety of friendly and competent staff made this experience a three hour delight.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Extremely disappointing

Dined on February 1, 2016

For a supposedly high end restaurant with prices to match its reputation this has been an extremely disappointing experience. We ordered the sashimi and salad for starters, the salad was ok but certainly not outstanding but the sashimi was a disaster with the texture of a rubber consistency. The bread that came with the meal was ok if that's what you are expecting from paying $2 for a baguette at Safeway. We both ordered the "roast chicken" for the main course. It is definitely not the caliber of a Bouchon roast chicken which we had a week ago at Bouchon in Vegas. The dish had two pieces of tasteless chicken breast which were so dry we had to keep drinking water to wash it down. I have my doubt the chicken has been roasted but more like pre-cooked and warmed up in a microwave. The chocolate cake for dessert and the foie gras were the only two enjoyable items in our meals. The service was at the level of Red Robins, I had to wave down our server to get more water. Come to think of it actually I have had more attentive service sometimes at Red Robins. After spending $180 for dinner for two I felt like I have been robbed!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Night

Dined on February 1, 2016

Our large group of 10 had a fabulous night on the last evening of dine-out Vancouver. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was delicious and we loved the private room for our group. We had an enjoyable, fun evening! Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

very ordinary for the charges

Dined on January 28, 2016

the dine out menu is nothing special can get this somewhere else, would not recommend considering the charges

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dine out experience

Dined on January 26, 2016

The food, ambience, and service were amazing. Definitely one of the best dine outs I've been to this year/overall. All the food was flavoured really well and the portions were quite good!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

A bit disappointing

Dined on January 26, 2016

Went to Market for Dine Out this year, as it was a restaurant I've always wanted to try. I had an amazing Dine Out experience at Chambar last year, so I expected that these fine dining restaurants would have a good way to deal with the set menu and high volume. Unfortunately, the food was only so-so. The chicken I had was overcooked and very disappointing. I feel like I could have had better chicken at any chain restaurant like Earl's . At least the dessert was good? (But I spent the extra 5 dollars for the apple tarte). Overall...very disappointing experience.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Awesome place

Dined on January 26, 2016

Had a business dinner here with a colleague and some clients. We were seated promptly and service was very efficient and friendly. Food did not disappoint, from appetizers to dessert. Definitely a gem , esp for Dine Out Vancouver!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Overall positive but....

Dined on January 25, 2016

A bit over posh! Service good but not overly friendly or personal We had dine out Vancouver menu. 1st course choice of beet salad was very tasty but was small quantity on a large plate. They might have psychologically put it on a smaller plate.. as one felt short changed when could count the sprout leaves and it was less than 6. Main courses of pasta and fish were very tasty and better on quantity. Wanted to try the place but tables are very close to each other so you cannot help hearing other people's conversations. Yes you can fill your eatery but a few less tables would have helped make this more special

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.