About Market by Jean-Georges Restaurant

1115 Alberni Street
Vancouver, BC V6E 0A8
View Larger Map

The concept of the “hotel as a home” extends to the restaurant as its casual family kitchen. Inspired by the casual, simple elegance of modern dining, Jean-Georges has created menus that emphasize fresh, locally produced ingredients, served in a sleek and sophisticated setting.


A destination restaurant with four distinct experiences: an intimate second dining room featuring a fireplace, a heated outdoor seasonal Terrace with city views, an enticing Bar and a sophisticated Dining Room. The full menu is available in all areas of the restaurant.

The Outdoor ( Seasonal ) Terrace and Bar are on a first come first served basis.


Please be advised that parties of seven or more are subject to an 18% automatic gratuity.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Canadian, Seafood, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week.

Breakfast from 7:00am - 11:00am daily
Lunch from 11:30am - 2:30pm Monday to Friday
Brunch from 11:30am - 3pm Saturday and Sunday
Dinner from 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Bar Menu at our Bar and Lounge from 11:30am - 12:00 am

Cross Street:
Thurlow Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 695-1115

Website:
http://www.marketbyjgvancouver.com/

Parking Details:
Secured underground Valet parking as well as Impark Self Park is located at 1137 Alberni Street (on the 1100 block of Alberni Street between the Coastal Church and Urban Fare). Follow the Shangri-La sign down the ramp.

The street level entrance to Market by Jean-Georges is accessible from 1115 Alberni Street. A glass elevator is also available to the left of the restaurant entrance, directly beside the Urban Fare grocery store.

Executive Chef:
Ken Nakano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

The Muses Dinner Series

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Oct 2, 2016 all week from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

The Muses Dinner Series

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Oct 2, 2016 all week from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us for The Muses Dinner, a series of tasting menus inspired by the six women who were all major influences in Picasso's personal life and art. Available during the course of Picasso: The Artist and His Muses exhibition. Excludes Tax and Tip. 11 June to 29 June Fernande Olivier From the Rose Period to Cubism. Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Oct 2, 2016 all week from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

MARKET'S four distinct rooms, each with their own character, allow you to tailor-make an evening and create a memorable experience. SIMPLE. ELEGANT. CREATIVE.

Market by Jean-Georges Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Service
Vancouver
Best Ambiance
Vancouver
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in West End ›

Special Occasion (24)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Romantic (15)
See All
Great for Lunch (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Scenic View (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fun (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1511 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice restaurant with delicious food and ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Nice restaurant with delicious food and good view. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been a fan of Jean-Georges for a lo ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Have been a fan of Jean-Georges for a long time. First time at this location and it did not disappoint. Impeccable food , service and ambiance! The halibut and sable fish were super fresh and preparation was melt in your mouth . Excellent dining experience to cap off a great trip to Vancouver !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was a delight. The food wa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Our waitress was a delight. The food was excellent. It was in a great part of town. Sitting out on the balcony was a nice view and the weather was spot on. Would go back again.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awful awful, AWFUL! The appalling food ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Awful awful, AWFUL! The appalling food ruined what was supposed to have been a special occasion. I should have known, though; it was nearly empty at eight o'clock on a Saturday night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Our go to for girls' get together My fri ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Our go to for girls' get together

My friends and I get together a couple of times a year and hands down., "Market" is our favourite place! They have good food, using top notch ingredients and the service is always great. We have a leisurely lunch,enjoy each others' company and catch up with our lives. We have been doing this for over 40 years and have been going to 'Market" the last few years.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary last week ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary last week at Jean Georges. The food and drinks were fantastic. Thanks to Connie, Tina, Star and Olivia for a fantastic evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As we're staying at the hotel, we only h ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

As we're staying at the hotel, we only had breakfast there during our stay. The food was superb and the waitstaff were pleasant and extremely proficient.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Market is an oasis in the city for drink ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Market is an oasis in the city for drinks and snacks on the Patio. It's a lovely setting with friendly , knowledgeable servers. Perfect for after work drinks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

A kind tenant in the residences told us ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

A kind tenant in the residences told us to eat the scallops ~ they were great! The sweet pea soup, curry bread, rhubarb & lichee trifle were amazing. We enjoyed the Pinot Gris and the Pinot Noir from the Okanagan Valley BC.

We lamented not sitting outside as the breeze subsided after the sun went down. The indoor tables were quiet and we could easily talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

OMG. Fantastic food as well as service. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

OMG. Fantastic food as well as service. A very well ran restaurant and we're looking forward to returning to. We highly recommend. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely dining room with a refined ambi ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A lovely dining room with a refined ambience and very good service from my waitress. The food looked beautiful; my salmon luncheon special was just a bit dry however. It can happen occasionally at any good restaurant, but I just happened to have had salmon earlier this week, at both Estiatorio de Milos and Il Mulino, two Miami Beach outposts of NYC star restaurants, and both FL places prepared their salmon with finesse, with a moist and absolutely delicious result.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This is a favourite spot in Vancouver ev ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This is a favourite spot in Vancouver even if it feels more like a place in a big Asian city. The decor is so tasteful, not too over the top, luxurious and classy. And that extends to the food. Every dish is well prepared and presented beautifully. The service is attentive and friendly if a bit formal. The room tends to be quiet, they really thought about sound and creating a peaceful space to enjoy food.

On a recent visit I did have to ask the parents of a screaming kid to take him out of the restaurant while he was having a melt down. Other than that, I've rarely had an issue with noise in Market. And parents: I appreciate that you want a nice meal but this isn't a "family" restaurant. Kids are welcome but if they act up, it's time to take them for a walk or pick up my tab. Money doesn't buy manners.

Anyway, this is a great spot for a date, a special dinner, business lunches, etc. It's on the second floor of the Shangri-La hotel and takes you on a trip to another city somewhere. Five stars.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and ambience with a great ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent food and ambience with a great location and price-point. Originally we were sat adjacent to a family (the restaurant is family friendly) and, a few minutes in, the younger of the two children became fractious. Within moments were offered another table in a quieter part of the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

THANK YOU, MARKET RESTAURANT, FOR YOUR E ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

THANK YOU, MARKET RESTAURANT, FOR YOUR EXCELLENT, QUIET, PROFESSIONAL AND SOPHISTICATED ATMOSPHERE. WE DINE WITH YOU OFTEN AND ALWAYS RECOMMEND YOUR EXQUISITE RESTAURANT TO OUR FRIENDS AND VISITORS. WE ARE ABLE TO ACTUALLY HAVE A CONVERSATION WITHOUT THE HORRID INTERFERENCE OF BACKGROUND MUSIC. PLEASE CONTINUE TO KEEP THE WONDERFUL EUROPEAN ATMOSPHERE. YOU ARE THE ONLY RESTAURANT IN VANCOUVER THAT ADHERES TO ITS PRINCIPLES.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! Stick to Jean-Georges signatu ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Delicious! Stick to Jean-Georges signature dishes and you can't go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and and very good food ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent service and and very good food, however the atmosphere felt stiff and a little lifeless.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

All good ordered was fantastic. Steelhea ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

All good ordered was fantastic.

Steelhead salmon and scallops to start and lamb / beef tenderloin as entrees. High quality food and great taste. The service was amongst the best I've had dining out as there was a good balance of attentiveness and privacy given

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional service provided by smiling ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Exceptional service provided by smiling and competent staff from beginning to end. However, having chosen the special tasting menu, 2 of the 4 courses were substandard. The meat dish (lamb) was a true disappointment consisting of a tough overcooked small piece of lamb, accompanied by a small tasteless withered carrot stick and I believe beet stick and good mashed potatoes. Desert was very bland. Overall, a very average but very expensive tasting menu. My overall rating reflects the high level of service and decor. I was offered a free glass of wine to compensate for the disappointing food which was appreciated.

Tags: Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Gorgeous venue, amazing food, and great ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Gorgeous venue, amazing food, and great variety of wine options!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was well prepared and very tast ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was well prepared and very tasty. The hostess, waitress and waiter were very engaging and friendly. Would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had an early reservation since that w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We had an early reservation since that was the only one available. The restaurant was very quiet but never got noisy as others arrived. We were seated in a curved booth which was nice since it was an anniversary dinner. Wait staff was very attentive but not overbearing. Diverse menu with choices for varying palates. and a solid wine list. Food was beautifully plated, excellent preparation and an adequate serving. The evening was what we expected from a Jean-Georges restaurant. Definitely would return if we get back to Vancouver.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The lamb chop was amazing! Cutting the m ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The lamb chop was amazing! Cutting the meat was like cutting butter. One word = smooth. The truffled mash potato was also a must have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply stunning

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

To celebrate the last day of our vacation we enjoyed a most memorable culinary experience. We feasted on soft shell crabs,scallops,sable fish ,steel head, floating island,trifle. Not knowing much about B C wines , our waiter helped us select a wonderful local Sauvignon Blanc. Our after dinner beverage was a pear Eau de Vie distilled locally.

The venue is modern,airy, comfortable and unlike so many other restaurants ,the Market by Jean George is quiet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, ambience upscale, notably not busy

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Booked a table for a special occasion. No troubles with Open Table booking process.

Vehicle valet is $16 (plus tip if you wish).

Service is generally attentive (although I could see only one other table occupied on the weeknight we were there).

Reasonable wine list (fairly typical upcharge).

Our teas/coffees were forgotten.

I was surprised it wasn't busier but I suppose there is so much choice in Vancouver. Prices on the high side but expected in a hotel restaurant with a big name. Solid 4 stars.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

So Good

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Loved the fact they had a separate Vegan, Vegetarian and Gluten Free Menu. I was able to take business clients there and eat like I wanted and they could eat what they wanted. Plus the food was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Market had always been one of my favouri ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Market had always been one of my favourite restaurants, but recently, the quality of the food has not been exceptional like before. I had a bit of doubt when going in for brunch, but was pleasantly surprised with the food. Our table did not order any of the individual dishes, but rather the social plates. The steelhead sashimi on crispy rice was exceptionally innovative and delicious, and I would highly recommend their oysters (Kusshi), as they were very fresh. The beet salad, avocado toast, and desserts were very good as well.

What made the meal exceptional, however, was the service. All of the servers were very friendly, and provided amazing service and suggestions. (One thing I noted especially, was that my water glass was never empty for more than a minute! This is always a plus in my books, as I do not like dinning with an empty glass)

Furthermore, I can say that our server (unfortunately, I did not get her name), was one of the best I have ever had from all the restaurants I've dined at. She went above and beyond her role, and we had an amazing conversation about her hometown in Japan and the food.

I sincerely enjoyed my dinning experience at Market, and am very thankful for the amazing service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a Special Treat

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

This is my fourth time visiting Market and I have never been disappointed. Tonight we shared the scallop appetizer and they were amazing. Loved the accompaniment of pureed pea. We both had the Steelhead for our main. Delicious. We also had the mushrooms and the beets as sides. The only complaint was that the sides were large. Hard to finish, but we sure did our best. Overall, EXCELLENT.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Mothers Day Brunch. The food wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mothers Day Brunch. The food was delicious. However, service was friendly but slightly uneven. Not what we would expect from such a high end restaurant. It could have been because it was Mothers Day so new, untrained staff were called in. Overall, the value of this meal was not as good as we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Market by Jean George

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Everything was delicious except for the bread. It was very hard and dry .. took some effort to chew the bread. The Sablefish was silky & perfectly done .. my husband loved his lamb .. the beets and mushrooms were also delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect evening

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We were so well cared for at this venuevenue from a food allergy to a birthday desertdesert. when my prepaid Visa was not working, no one appeared flustered or assuming. I had to simply change cards, but regrettably was unable to leave the tip I would have preferred. Should I ever be in Vancouver again, I would return and do better by the server(20-25% vs my 15%.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Construction - no warning

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

There's some very, very loud construction going on in the retail unit directly below the restaurant. The drilling vibrates the dining room and creates a lot of noise.

Management didn't do anything to make us feel like appreciated guests. Even if they offered a small discount for the inconvenience, or something to say "Thanks for joining us despite the noise" would have been nice.

Won't be going back for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

Great experience

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Our server was excellent and very helpful. I love that there is a vegan and vegetarian menu with delicious choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Over-hyped, over-valued

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Stale bread, tiny portions for extreme prices and over-priced ordinary wine. Need I go on? I rarely indulge in high-end dining, so my expectations of perfection were being stretched. Somehow Market By George has gone so high-end that it went over a cliff. Food was immemorable, although what was noteworthy were the extremely small portions. Even the desert was intelligible. It was a mishap of sickly-sweet items. Perhaps this is a date place. In this case, I just happened to be hosting a rather elite political guest and thought I would take the gamble. Won't happen again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Service was non-existent and we were the ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Service was non-existent and we were the first in the restaurant. Manager said one staff was on break! Not my problem sir! He did compensate us for the shortfalls but our dinner was ruined, despite the excellent food and restaurant atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Typical Fine Dining

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Yes, the food was great, but the portions were incredibly small. Don't go here hungry, or you'll be stopping at McDonald's on the way home. It is typical fine dining where you enjoy the ambiance, you are treated like royalty by the staff, but expect to overpay for a tasty snack, not a meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Nothing special. I don't think Jean Geor ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Nothing special. I don't think Jean George should have his name unless he can stand by it 100%

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Server was very kind and charismatic. Se ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Server was very kind and charismatic. Second time coming, and enjoyed it just as much as the first time there. Would recommend friends and family to come!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food, great service and experi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Wonderful food, great service and experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the food and service there.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We loved the food and service there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Sunday breakfast

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Had the brioche french toast with apples and it did not disappoint,it was light and fluffy as I expected.The service was exceptional !What amazed me the most is how the staff supported each other by making sure that all the guests were served promptly and with a smile.The atmosphere was warm and inviting which helped you to relax instantly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.