Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Market by Jean-Georges Restaurant

The concept of the “hotel as a home” extends to the restaurant as its casual family kitchen. Inspired by the casual, simple elegance of modern dining, Jean-Georges has created menus that emphasize fresh, locally produced ingredients, served in a sleek and sophisticated setting.


A destination restaurant with four distinct experiences: an intimate second dining room featuring a fireplace, a heated outdoor seasonal Terrace with city views, an enticing Bar and a sophisticated Dining Room. The full menu is available in all areas of the restaurant.

The Outdoor ( Seasonal ) Terrace and Bar are on a first come first served basis.


Please be advised that parties of seven or more are subject to an 18% automatic gratuity.

1115 Alberni Street
Vancouver, BC V6E 0A8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Canadian, Seafood, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week.

Breakfast from 6:30am - 11:00am daily
Lunch from 11:30am - 2:30pm Monday to Friday
Brunch from 11:30am - 3pm Saturday and Sunday
Dinner from 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Bar Menu at our Bar and Lounge from Sunday - Thursday 11:30am - 11:00 pm, Friday & Saturday 11:30am- 12:00am.

Cross Street:
Thurlow Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 695-1115

Website:
http://www.marketbyjgvancouver.com/

Parking Details:
Secured underground Valet parking as well as Impark Self Park is located at 1137 Alberni Street (on the 1100 block of Alberni Street between the Coastal Church and Urban Fare). Follow the Shangri-La sign down the ramp.

The street level entrance to Market by Jean-Georges is accessible from 1115 Alberni Street. A glass elevator is also available to the left of the restaurant entrance, directly beside the Urban Fare grocery store.

Executive Chef:
Ken Nakano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Specials

Private Dining

MARKET'S four distinct rooms, each with their own character, allow you to tailor-make an evening and create a memorable experience. SIMPLE. ELEGANT. CREATIVE.

Market by Jean-Georges Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Special Occasion (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Business Meals (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Romantic (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Cozy (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Casual (3)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (1)
Authentic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1665 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

Soft furnishings, servers well versed in the menu and sustainability issues. Beautiful clean tasting food, vibrant flavours.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

サービス、味共に最高、地元の食材をお使いのようで新鮮でもあった、

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Dinner date. Service started out very well but deteriorated a but as the dinner progressed. Food was superbly tasty and original but lacked volume. But still cam out full. Dining room was not full. Overall very good but not perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Came for brunch which I thought was nice, Mrs didn't think it was anything special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Environment is very good and tasting menu special with great wine paring
Services great and we love Sakura meal very much

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 27, 2017

You would not disappointed to try the lunch three-course menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Wonderful food and a great waiter. We were dining early so had the restaurant to ourselves. Really enjoyed our first visit to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This has been the worst Jean George restaurant I have ever been. Basic food...very different from the NY ones. Very disapointed. Would not recomended to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Casual dinner. Great service. My son tried the octoous appetitizer and I had the home made tagiletelle. Both dishes were excellent. We also had great service from our server and the rest of the crew at the restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great food. Very creative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Great mixed drinks and amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I have been to Market several times on a food tour and always enjoyed the food, the setting is beautiful and it's very tranquil despite being in the heart of the city.
This time we went for a late brunch at 1pm, it was busier than I expected for a Sunday but not overcrowded or loud. Our server Michelle was fantastic from start to finish. We had the French toast and short rib hash with poached eggs, mimosas and coffee.
I am keen to try their dinner menu and will continue to enjoy happy hour in the bar!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent service from Vana!
Hostess was lovely
Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 21, 2017

everything was perfect :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Service was exceptional from the host to coat check to our waitress. The entrée from the brunch menu was delicious, but we found that the starter menu was more interesting. I highly recommend the parsnip soup, -cream based, has lime and coconut note to it. The avocado on toast is also excellent in flavour though I found the toast overdone. The housemaid pop selections are fantastic but the ginger ale was our favourite. The place was comfortable in sound design and the lighting was beautiful as it was mostly natural. We do plan to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We came for my hubby's birthday. Very nice food and very nice service. Great value, recommend for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Jolly Capicola Eggs Benedict was tasty...the smoked salmon eggs benny was just okay...but at $25 each, one would have expected more than just 4 cherry tomatoes and 5 small potato cubes on the plate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I am a regular customer to a Market's neighbour restaurant, which is family owned operated and I decided to try this time Market, big mistake, there is not point of comparison, I will definitely keep going to my regular Italian gem, exceptional value whereas Market lacks .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It was too noisy! It was difficult to hear my friends. There was a group in the right corner room that should have close the door immediately so it would not disturb other diners.

The food was very good but the tea was too weak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My boyfriend loved the menu, but I am vegan and chose the restaurant particularly for that reason and it honestly really let me down. I ordered the mushroom risotto and brussel sprouts. They were very average. I was also expecting vegan dessert but they only had fruit and sorbet. The yew is a much better option for upscale vegan dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I don't know why we bothered reserving a table. Our reservation was at 8:15. We were staying at shangri la so we got to the restaurant 10 min early. They didn't bother to seat us till 9:15! Ruined our night. I was so hungry by then :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The food was very good and service as well. Really like the ambience and could sit for as long as we liked.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Absolutely divine food. By far one of the best restaurants in Vancouver!
This time I actually arrived early so decided to sit at the bar to have a cocktail: I received superior service and highly recommend it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Had my dad's 60th Birthday dinner. We did dineout menu. Just amazing food service was absolutely amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

For dinner, I had the parmesan crusted chicken, which was alright but the portion is small and not very filling. My wife had the steelhead which she liked, but I got a taste and it was quite plain. Our appetizers were good, I had the salmon sashimi on crispy rice which was tasty, while my wife has the salad with blue cheese, endives, and candied pecans.

The desserts were very good, I had the cheesecake and she had a warm chocolate cake. My wife does not normally like chocolate, but she loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service was beyond amazing. The food was delicious, the parm chicken is a generous portion. The cracker tuna is absolutely to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It is so good that out of my expectation, eat in with the dine out special price. The service, food & atmosphere are belonging to very high class.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Love having dinner at Market. Unbeknownst to us it was Dine Out Vancouver week so the menu was limited but not at all disappointing. We started with our favourite wine, Tomasi Pinot Grigio. The pear, apple and endive salad offered complementary flavours with a blue cheese accent. We substituted the house vinaigrette for the blue cheese dressing, to single out the flavour of the crumbled blue cheese in the salad.
Mains were parmesan crusted chicken, and slowly cooked steelhead. Both perfection. We added roasted rainbow carrots because we both love our vegetables.
For dessert, my friend ordered cheese cake with warm pear compote. I declined dessert but was offered a fruit plate, not on the menu, which I accepted. Both desserts were enjoyed as a lovely finish to a lovely meal.
Service was as expected - courteous, wine glass never empty, the right amount of time between courses, knowledgeable about the menu and after-dinner sherry. We go to Market for the experience as much as the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Market is a good spot for a business lunch. I like their lunch menu options as there is something for everyone and it's relatively quiet.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The service was great and attentive. The beef tenderloin was perfectly cooked to my preference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Everyone was friendly and efficient. One of our party is gluten free dairy free and the chef said he could make alternatives to most items on the menu
That is priceless!
Good food good ambience and the french fries with truffles was a big hit
Enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was restaurant week in Vancouver, and fortunately Jean-Gorges had some availability. The day of the reservation I called to try to come earlier, and the hostess was very accommodating. While the menu was somewhat limited due to restaurant week, the food was excellent. Beautiful space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Good food in a nice, quiet restaurant with ambience. Great for special occasions, such as spouse's birthday or Mother's Day. Even my son, who is only 8, will behave to come to the restaurant. Both he and I recommend the tenderloin. He calls it the "fancy restaurant" and wants to come here for every Mother's Day.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Came here with another couple for Dine Out Vancouver. Excellent service and ambience. Food was just okay. Not sure if it was our late seating (830) or that we were ordering off the Dine Out menu. Would come back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Really good service🎊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The restaurant experience was fantastic.
One of our guest was running extremely late we felt terrible, but the staff at the restaurant made us at ease.
The food was good, good quality, nice presentation. We were out for Dine out menu (set menu with choices) the choices were not the greatest but what ever we picked was extremely well executed.
The most outstanding part of our experience was the fun but discreet staff. The service was excellent, attentive, prompt & service staff knew when not to interrupt.

I would improve 2 things, the dine out menu would be nice if french inspired food & the music levels should be up a bit as we didn't hear any music. (although the room has good acoustic & we did not hear the other tables)

Thank you!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This is the third year in a row that we have gone to Market during Dine Out. We always find that the food, service and ambience are wonderful! It is always a great evening of elegance and pampering and totally hits the spot!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Went for a dinner and had the worst service from this one guy, felt pretty neglected. Their food is always good and decent price and their cocktails are amazing! Ambiance is great. Been here many times before and have always received really great service until this time our server ruined it for me.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 26, 2017

They charge $2 for hot water but room temperature water is free. I wasn't told when I ordered it and then found it on my bill. Spoke to the manager but response felt like 'that's a customary service we provide'...I've never been charged for hot water in Vancouver! It's not about the $2 but principle of it...

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Nothing extra special about the service. Appetizer sauce in between rice and sashimi was on the heavier side overpowering the sashimi. Chicken was very dry and dragged down the dish. Dessert was the best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.