Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About Marisol at the Cliffs Resort

"Marisol" translates to "The Sun and the Sea" and no where is this more evident than through the flavors of the food. The menu at "Marisol" has been developed as New American Cuisine. As the premier choice of Pismo Beach restaurants, all of the dishes at "Marisol" are prepared with a soulful touch by Chef de Cuisine Victor Flores, featuring produce from fields of local farmers, seafood fresh off the boats of local fishermen, and naturally raised meats and poultry. The wine list for "Marisol" is awarded by Wine Spectator and has an amazing wines by the glass page with many local wines from Monterey to Santa Barbara County. For the finest oceanfront dining experience, try our award-winning Pismo Beach California restaurant "Marisol at the Cliffs".

2757 Shell Beach Rd
Pismo Beach, CA 93449
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am, Saturday: 7:00am - 10:00am; Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:00pm; Daily Lunch: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Spy Glass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 773-2511

Website:
http://www.cliffsresort.com/

Entertainment:
We have live music in the dining room Thursday, Friday and Sat nights.
We try to do every Friday on our patio outside for happy hour from 330-630. Summertime is Friday through Sundays!

Parking Details:
We have private lots in the hotel and across the street. We offer complimentary valet to all guests when its available.

Public Transit:
The bus stops right in front of the cliffs or down the street at spy glass.

Executive Chef:
Gregg Wangard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We can do large party events in the restaurant and bar. We also have over 5000 sqft of banquet facilities were we can do larger events. Please call for details. 805-773-2511

Marisol at the Cliffs Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

Noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Scenic View (14)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Romantic (11)
Waterfront (11)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Casual (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
People Watching (2)
Business Meals (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Cozy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
524 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Rude host, bad bar service, and rude food runner. All together, an evening without any decent service.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Beautiful ocean view. Go early for the sunset. Coconut shrimp (6) appetizer was excellent! We'd go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We went to celebrate mother's birthday. We went just before the sun set and the view is spectacular! We didn't feel rushed or ignored by the servers. We had steak and seafood and everyone's dish was delicious! Highly recommend for any special occasion or date night.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 10, 2017

As always great food and even better help all really nice people on staff

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Loved it. Will be back. Everyone was very friendly!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The menu online didn't match the menu at the restaurant. The waiter said that what was online hasn't been updated in a long time. We decided to leave since what we had come hoping to have was no longer an option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

The wait staff was great. We were happily surprised to find out that our small dog was welcome and even had a menu to choose from. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Overcrowded buffet set up with a clientele that seems to mostly go there for the bottomless mimosa's to fend off their hang over from the previous night. We only went because it was the only reservation available last minute (should have known this was a red flag) and we didn't know any better as visitors to the area. Nearby options looked much more pleasant after walking by after our experience at Marisol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Marisol Revisited

Last year I reviewed the Marisol Sunday brunch and my review showed that I was not happy. This year we went for dinner with out of town friends who had bot been to Marisol in three years.
We requested a table outside and was told it would be a 90 minute wait, so we opted for a table near the window inside, even though we saw empty outdoor tables. Fifteen minutes later, our friends saw friends from LA who got too sit outside. When asked if they had to wait, our friends were told they did not. Go figure.

The Salmon and the two Ribeyes were well prepared and presented. The Sea Bass was dry and difficult to eat. The service throughout the evening was spotty. Our server Rainn, was very open and helpful, but the rest of the staff left much to be desired.

The best part about the evening was that being September, corkage was free.

Probably will be a long time, if ever, to go back to Marisol.

Tags: Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Good fresh quality food at moderate dinner prices. They take reservations and views are great for your landlocked guests. No corking fee for 1st bottle of wine. A pleasant evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Ample but expensive brunch with sparkling wine included. Large (temporary) event tent unfortunately blocked view of beach and bay. Quite noisy.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Took my girlfriend to brunch for her birthday. The food was amazing and the bottomless mimosas didn't hurt either!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

My husband and I went on a date and decided to eat lunch there. I was really looking forward to a ocean view table but unfortunately there was a wedding, so the big white tent was in the way blocking the view. The food was great. We will definitely be back next time when we're in town.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Situated right on the cliffs (Hence the name of the hotel), with a beautiful view from the terrace. Fairly expensive but great food. Host and cocktail servers kind of clueless, but food service was great.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The afternoon brunch at the Marisol restaurant was fantastic. The food , wait staff and entertainment was outstanding. We look forward to returning soon!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Lovely Sunday brunch spot. Lots of good tables inside and out. We asked for Marina who was our waitress last Sunday and we're very pleased again. She keeps those glasses filled! The waitstaff work together and help each other out which is nice to experience. The carvers are friendly and accommodating. This place is just perfect and the value is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

They callled twice to conform reservations. They took 10 minutes to fix a table, took 20'minotea to take an order the sea bass was over cooked. Had breakfast in the morning and it was overpriced $39.00 - the omelet was tasty but not being a big eated it was too expensive . I'm never going back there

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We got a great table with a beautiful view of the ocean. The wine was wonderful and the food was lovely. There were good vegetarian options. I was very happy with the ambiance and the meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Beautiful setting. Great fresh fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Very few for lunch. Just okay. Didn't record we were with Open Table. Probably dining outside would be the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Had a reservation but still confusion at front getting our table. But ended up sitting outside bar area. Nice view. Very good salmon, also grilled chicken and tempura green beans (a hit with the 10yr old who liked it better than the fries.) overall good dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Visited Marisol for their Sunday Champagne Brunch. Food was OK. Reading the items online is more exciting than once actually there and eating. Champagne was just ok also. Views of the ocean were the best. Customer service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Ordered chioppino hping the coastal setting would reward my expectations. Their menu item was "chioppino pasta". There were 5 sea shells and 4 shrimp; lotes od pasta; the sauce was disappointing. I"m spoiled by the chioppino @ Pismos Coastal Grill...IN FRESNO! Perhaps they should check out that seafood filled and delicious cast-iron pot served speciality? Overall, the meal was acceptible; the wife's filet was,perfect...setting is spectacular on the patio overlooking the sea. I'll be back..ordering something else.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 5, 2017

One of those places that you want to like more but come away a little less than satisfied. Very casual, great appetizers but underwhelming. I would say "it is okay, but not memorable".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Went out with another couple to celebrate my wife's Birthday. Totally Worth It!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

My partner and I had an excellent lunch in a beautiful setting with ocean view.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Our steak was very small and thin, overcooked and no flavor.
The seafiid mac n cheese had very little to no seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We thought everything was great! Great waiter, great food, atmosphere and view! Would def recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Food was mediocre at best. Came at different times and some hot Somme warm and some cold. Food looked very white bread. Had the grilled shrimp were tasty 5 shrimps on the plate with ramaken of sauce. Waiter was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Had brunch. Great food, wonderful view over the bay, always a pleasure.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had a wonderful time at Marisol. I had the Simply Grilled Salmon and my friend had the filet. Both were delicious as was the beet salad and the broccolini. This is an upscale experience in a relatively casual setting with a nice view of the ocean. I live close-by and always enjoy the experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I and my wife ordered the sebass and specifically told the waiter we want it moist, do not over cook. Well thy ruined the fish, way over cooked and was very dry. Not good at all!!!

We did not send it back as our dinner guests had their dinner and it was fine.

Very disappointing as we have enjoyed other dinners at this restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The view was great! Food was tasty. Ordered clam chowder w/ grilled siurdough to start. It arrived after 20 minutes with wheat toast. We asked and they said they ran out. Oh well. Then we were only half way through and they brought our entre. The half chicken was very good. Side dishes odd. All in all, the view was worth going again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 3, 2017

I had made reservations for 7 people for 6:30 p.m. We arrived close to that time, and were taken to our table which was set for 5. The server tried to get the two extra places, but it took some time. We sat for long periods of time with no service, no water, no anything. Our server tried to give us what we should have had, but he was obviously taking care of too many tables with too many people. Several orders were mixed up or incorrect. Drinks were very slow coming and rarely refilled. I brought a 2008 bottle of Trefethen cab, but the cork was difficult to remove and fell into the bottle. The server corrected the mistake but I was left without a cork. I went to the bar before we left to get a "stopper" of some sort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 2, 2017

As a vegan I don't expect many options when buffet dining. However some options would be great. I was so happy when I found potatoes with bellpeppers but then I took a closer look and noticed meat mixed in as well. Not a lot of fresh fruit. I was pretty much out of luck. The nice gentleman at the omelette bar sautéed a bunch of veggies for me. I wouldn't go back because of lack of options. I really enjoy the ambiance here and the unlimited mimosas. I hope one day they can cater to all eating types.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I'll keep this short. My wife ordered the ahi salad which came out blackened. She doesn't like spicy food, so she sent it back. BTW the menu doesn't mention that The fish is blackened. The waiter said it would take 3 minutes to wear a new piece. After 15 minutes of no new salad, informed our waiter to forget it. I had already finished my ribeye, which was okay. I expected a better cut of meat fornthe price. Also, my fires tasted like plastic. My daughter had the clam chowder, which she liked. All in all, we won't return to this restaurant, which is too bad because it's has a nice view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We had a wonderful lunch with friends on the patio overlooking the ocean. Our server was very attentive and the food was delicious. It is a nice upscale restaurant. My only negative was the fact we were served our water and tea in plastic cups. I felt a restaurant of this caliber should be using glass instead.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We celebrated Father's Day at Marisol. The brunch had a variety of salads, starters, breakfast & lunch items. The wait staff was very busy but attentive. David was managing the floor and checking in with tables to make sure all was well. Very nice touch to a special meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food and Service were good. Went there for Sunday brunch and they jacked the price up for Cal Poly Graduation / Fathers day from $39 to $54. DEFINITELY NOT WORTH IT FOR THAT PRICE!! Other times I have eaten there the food was good. Menu is a bit limited. Check it out online before you go to make sure they have something that looks good. - If they were in another location without the ocean front view, I would never eat there.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Your new reservation service is terrible. You do not answer your phone, and messages are not returned. I made this reservation to celebrate a dear friend on Fathers' day. Imagine my surprise when after having a reservation and confirmation number for a week or so, I received an email cancelling my reservation.
There was a new reservation system in place, and I had to re-reserve my already confirmed reservation. This is not the way to do business, and not especially with locals who patronize your business on special occasions. Our server was the only member of the wait staff who smiled. What's going on with you folks?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.