Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About Marisol at the Cliffs Resort

"Marisol" translates to "The Sun and the Sea" and no where is this more evident than through the flavors of the food. The menu at "Marisol" has been developed as New American Cuisine. As the premier choice of Pismo Beach restaurants, all of the dishes at "Marisol" are prepared with a soulful touch by Chef de Cuisine Victor Flores, featuring produce from fields of local farmers, seafood fresh off the boats of local fishermen, and naturally raised meats and poultry. The wine list for "Marisol" is awarded by Wine Spectator and has an amazing wines by the glass page with many local wines from Monterey to Santa Barbara County. For the finest oceanfront dining experience, try our award-winning Pismo Beach California restaurant "Marisol at the Cliffs".

2757 Shell Beach Rd
Pismo Beach, CA 93449
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am, Saturday: 7:00am - 10:00am; Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:00pm; Daily Lunch: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Spy Glass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 773-2511

Website:
http://www.cliffsresort.com/

Entertainment:
We have live music in the dining room Thursday, Friday and Sat nights.
We try to do every Friday on our patio outside for happy hour from 330-630. Summertime is Friday through Sundays!

Parking Details:
We have private lots in the hotel and across the street. We offer complimentary valet to all guests when its available.

Public Transit:
The bus stops right in front of the cliffs or down the street at spy glass.

Executive Chef:
Gregg Wangard

Private Party Facilities:
The California conference centers at The Cliffs Resort are fully equipped to accommodate any group, from five to 500 guests. Our meeting space is as flexible as it is elegant, with accommodations for classroom and theatre-style seating. And in case an oceanview conference room isn't quite close enough to the beach, a 6,750-square-foot poolside terrace serves as the ideal location for afternoon meetings.

Private Party Contact:
Group Sales: (805) 773-5000 ext. 600

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We can do large party events in the restaurant and bar. We also have over 5000 sqft of banquet facilities were we can do larger events. Please call for details. 805-773-2511

Marisol at the Cliffs Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (11)
Romantic (11)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Waterfront (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Cozy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fun (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fireplace (3)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
477 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 20 hours ago

Fabulous food and service, beautiful oceanfront setting. Sunday brunch and daily breakfast buffet are outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

Great brunch buffet. Slow to get refills on coffee, tea, and champagne.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely dinner with friends. Extremely accommodating staff and delicious foods and wine. We dine at the Marisol whenever we visit the central coast and have never been disappointed. Dave is an outstanding manager #weknowDave.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My party showed up to our reservation 20 min early, no worries it was a long line for mother's day (5/14). That's understandable. The host (brunette) took our name and put our ticket to the side with the others. Another 20 min passed, And they had to re-take our name because the 1st time they lost the ticket with our name. By the way the blonde that noticed went above and beyond to seat us. The others just ignored us. So after about 25-30 min from originally seeing the host we were seated. Our waitress (1132 Ali M) took our drink order and we enjoyed the buffet. Maybe 15-20 mins into our meal, our waitress asked if we needed anything. And that was the last we saw her other than the check. For a total of 90 mins we did not get any refills until the assistant manager (she was kind) noticed and filled our drinks. We were thankful for that because it was pathetic sharing each others drinks. And disappointing that there was no refills of mimosa....since that's one of joys she looked forward to. Food and Ambiance was great as usually. We always come to Marisol for special occasions or just because. Maybe 5-7 times a year. But that day, the service was terrible. In past, at times when it was packed and hectic, the service was always great, but not this day...Sadly in future we must reconsider going elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I took my mom here for Mother's Day, and we had the best experience! I originally made a reservation for 4, but needed to add one more person last-minute, and they were able to accommodate us no problem. The drinks were refreshing and tasty, and the food was delicious. My mom loves tropical drinks, and she said she finally found what she was looking for with the Pismo Pier Punch. She also said the yellow tail (one of the specials) was the best fish she's ever had, and she loved her coconut prawns. I had the clam chowder, which was creamy and delicious. Everyone loved what they ordered. Our waiter, Brent, was delightful--cordial and charming and joked around with us. The owner also checked on us every so often to make sure we had everything we needed. At the end of the meal, we asked if they could make a hot apple pie--a drink my mom loves, but that's hard to find. Brent listened to the ingredients carefully, and the bartender made it just right. We had such a great time, we ended up staying for hours to enjoy drinks and each other's company, and we even came back the next day for lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We ate dinner, Sunday brunch and breakfast during our stay. Wonderful service and delicious food. The brunch was to die for with so many options and not enough room in your stomach. Dinner was also great. Short ribs and salmon were favorites, but others in the group enjoyed other options.

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Really enjoyed myself here. Place was well organized and very welcoming! Would go 100 more times!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Honestly one of the best meals that I've had in many years! Everything from our appetizer to our entry and even our cocktails were amazing! I will definitely recommend this establishment to family and friends and will be back again soon!

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Not impressed
Hostess needs training on how to smile and greet

I've had a better hostess at Applebee's then here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We enjoyed our meals of swordfish and chicken. There were many good choices on the menu. Service was prompt and I had a local wine with dinner. There is a full bar as well. The views of the Pacific Ocean are spectacular especially at sunset. Patio dining is available when the weather cooperates. The biggest negative was the noise level. There was a dinner party of 12 or more in an adjoining (but open) room. The noise was so bad it was hard for us to carry on a conversation across our small table. I would hope this is the exception and would try the restaurant again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fun time great waitstaff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I love the ambience and view/setting at Marisol. The 3 steaks that were ordered were overcooked and overall the cost is high. Next time, I will eat outside on bar side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great like always.Staff are great.Manager is really great and just a nice guy to deal with.Always treats my wife and I like were regulars a asset to the business.

Tags: Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Cozy, Fun, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent service, food, and ambience. Beautiful location and view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Took forever for our food. Ticket order got misplaced. They compensated by taking 10% off our bill

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great service and food as always. Loved the restaurant month menu!!! Thank you for making my birthday special xoxo

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at Marisol's. The food was delicious and an excellent price for the amount and quality of the food (Restaurant Month 3 for $30). We will definitely dine there again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I was too full. Excellent!😃😃😃😃😃😃😍😃😃😃😃😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃

Tags: Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was good. Our waiter seemed like he was New and didn't ask us for drinks, refills ect. Very disappointing.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The quality of the food was really bad. Unseasoned accross all orders, tasted like hospital food. The desert was literally impossible to eat. Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We dine there often. Love the ambiance and ocean views. It's a bit pricy but acceptable.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Very noisy, hard to have a conversation across the table. If you want to talk sit next to the person. No help selecting wines. Few reasonable or speciality wines.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Unfortunately this was an underwhelming dining experience. The food was ok, but nothing special considering the prices. The salad was over-dressed, the flatbread was stale. The service was quite poor - our waiter acted like he was doing his job at a fast food joint. Simply did the minimal - delivered food, took order. He didn't really understand the special offerings, delivered our very simple meals to the wrong people, didn't explain what the desserts were, and didn't ever ask if we wanted coffee. Wouldn't return..

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a wonderful meal, despite my wife getting the wrong dish. It was corrected very quickly and everything on my plate--the miso salmon, rice and green bean tempura were superb.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The brunch was very good and service was great they kept our champagne full ant they was not huge lines and plenty of food. Definitely.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Had a 4:00 reservation on Christmas Eve
No one was seated, control freak hostess insisted on seating us at the worst table in the restaurant . I had to battle to get a decent table.
Won't go back again and it a local.
Try Lido next door. Better food, friendly and professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Beautiful place. Great food. Amazing service. Thanks again Charlie and David.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Sitting looking out over the ocean while having breakfast ( buffet) was awesome! Food was good!

My only suggestion to the manager is to wash windows to the south so people that sit facing the south are not looking at super dirty windows.

The ones facing the ocean were nice and clean.

Thanks for a great meal! Staff was top notch!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great place. Amazing service. Charlie is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food. Amazing service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We always love coming here --- we absolutely loved our server -- Eric. He was fast, considerate and very attentive. We were disappointed with the reservation process, however, and this same thing has happened before. We made reservations with a note stating that if the weather is warm, we want to be outside but if it is damp or rainy, as it had been recently, we'd appreciate being indoors. It was 75 degrees and sunny when we arrived and we were told that our table wasn't ready because it was only 5 p.m. and they just opened for dinner. Well, our reservation was for 5 p.m. Then we were escorted to a table indoors. No, we requested outdoors. Then we were escorted to a table, squeezed in a corner with a view of the parking lot. Horrible. It would have been fine if the receptionist didn't argue and say, well you did say you could eat indoors, well this is the only table that can accommodate you, well, there's nowhere else we can seat you. Another server, I'm sorry, I don't remember her name, saw what was happening and immediately took charge, putting tables together and enlisting help to seat us quickly. From then on, everything was great -- food, service - and the most stunning sunset that really was worth the hassle of finally getting to sit outdoors. We had 10 people - it was my husband's birthday -- please have your reservationists be a little more accommodating and considerate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 29, 2016

From the moment we walked in staff was more than courteous friendly and helpful. We got beautiful seating outdoors to watch the sunset. The waitstaff was so patient and we never felt hurried or pressured. They have a great wine list and we enjoyed a great local Zinn from ancient peaks with our meal. It was a great evening of food, wine and sunset and the highlight of our weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Delicious fare and wonderful service! Homemade on premises desserts are awesome! Can't go wrong with Lobster Mac n Cheese, among other local favorites! Highly recommend!

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I had made a reservation in advance on open table at 4:45 and it was my 65th birthday- I had been there several times before and expected to be seated in the dining room with my husband and friends who had never been there and I was excited after driving all the way from Huntington Beach, California - 6 hr drive - they put us at a small round table in the bar and I was absolutely shocked at the noise level and the table - I complained and was going to leave so they put me out on the patio with my guests but this is not at all what I expected. The restaurant should have told me they had a bus load of people that night and could not seat me where I expected but I was not told. Very unhappy about this whole situation and this went from a place I would always take people to a place I will not. On top of that the valet parking brought us the wrong vehicle.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on October 16, 2016

First time visit and pleasantly surprised. Excellent cocktails and beef and fish choices. Yummy desert and excellent server, Kyler, thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great food, but there was a wedding tent blocking our view of the ocean. I think they should have let us know when we made the reservation. Our server was very inexperienced and slow, but nice. Got a free dessert for our anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We reserved via Open Table and requested a Widow view of the ocean. When we arrived , no one bothered to check if we had reservations. We were seated at a high top table, not overlooking anything except a Wedding Party of 14 people . We were asked by the waiter, if we were part of the wedding.!
Carlos was attentive, the food was good, the atmosphere was weird. On one side we had a wedding dinner/reception and on the other side we had the bar with sports tv blaring.
Disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The manager David was extremely kind and accommodating.

Thank you!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great atmosphere and very pleasant staff. We had food restrictions and the Chef and Waiter went out of their way to not just satisfy us but provide an exquisite meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 7, 2016

The online menu offered serf and turf of lovster and steak- the restaurant had nothing that resembled it. The reataurant looked nice and the service was fine but the food was terribly confused border-lining inedible. We tried the jalapeno margarita: incredibly salty and unbearable. The potato layer salmon had burnt potato chips on top of a hot salmon sitting on top of cold raw vegetables floating in 2 inches of cold vinegarette. My husband had the prime rib which was also drenched in a vinegarette. It was also served with refried beans and overcooked asparagus. The meats were cooked well but the flavors were very off and just too much vinegar sopping all over the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.