About Marisol at the Cliffs Resort

2757 Shell Beach Rd
Pismo Beach, CA 93449
View Larger Map

"Marisol" translates to "The Sun and the Sea" and no where is this more evident than through the flavors of the food. The menu at "Marisol" has been developed as New American Cuisine. As the premier choice of Pismo Beach restaurants, all of the dishes at "Marisol" are prepared with a soulful touch by Chef de Cuisine Victor Flores, featuring produce from fields of local farmers, seafood fresh off the boats of local fishermen, and naturally raised meats and poultry. The wine list for "Marisol" is awarded by Wine Spectator and has an amazing wines by the glass page with many local wines from Monterey to Santa Barbara County. For the finest oceanfront dining experience, try our award-winning Pismo Beach California restaurant "Marisol at the Cliffs".

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am, Saturday: 7:00am - 10:00am; Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:00pm; Daily Lunch: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Spy Glass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 773-2511

Website:
http://www.cliffsresort.com/

Entertainment:
We have live music in the dining room Thursday, Friday and Sat nights.
We try to do every Friday on our patio outside for happy hour from 330-630. Summertime is Friday through Sundays!

Parking Details:
We have private lots in the hotel and across the street. We offer complimentary valet to all guests when its available.

Public Transit:
The bus stops right in front of the cliffs or down the street at spy glass.

Executive Chef:
Gregg Wangard

Private Party Facilities:
The California conference centers at The Cliffs Resort are fully equipped to accommodate any group, from five to 500 guests. Our meeting space is as flexible as it is elegant, with accommodations for classroom and theatre-style seating. And in case an oceanview conference room isn't quite close enough to the beach, a 6,750-square-foot poolside terrace serves as the ideal location for afternoon meetings.

Private Party Contact:
Group Sales: 8057735000x600

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We can do large party events in the restaurant and bar. We also have over 5000 sqft of banquet facilities were we can do larger events. Please call for details. 805-773-2511

Restaurant Photos

Seared Ahi Fish Tacos
Fish and Chips
Kale Salad
Calamari
Chicken Lettuce Wraps
Cremebrulet
Piña-Peño Margarita
Champagne
Eggs Benedict
Brunch Buffet
Shrimp
Steak and Eggs
Strawberry Cream Cheese French Toast
Potato Layered Salmon – Marinated Tomatoes, Asparagus, Meyer Lemon Vinaigrette, Balsamic Reduction
House Salad With Bleu Cheee
Herb Roast Chicken – Sweet Potato Gnocchi, Grilled Artichokes, Thyme Chicken Sauce
Sunday Brunch Buffet
Pork Belly Sliders- Pickled Cabbage, Hoisin Sauce, Micro Asian Mix
Pacific Gold Oysters On The Half Shell – Cucumber-Melon Mignonette, Lemon, Horseradish
beef short ribs
The Cliffs Revival
Hali
Super Bowl Ravenous Platter
BLT Salad

Marisol at the Cliffs Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
California Central Coast
Scenic View
California Central Coast
Contemporary American
California Central Coast
1 More
Most Booked
Pismo Beach
Best Restaurants in Pismo Beach ›

scenic view (29)
special occasion (24)
great for outdoor dining (23)
See All
romantic (17)
great for brunch (16)
good for groups (10)
great for lunch (6)
fit for foodies (6)
notable wine list (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (4)
kid-friendly (4)
neighborhood gem (4)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
398 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic cuisine...interesting and fun ...

Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic cuisine...interesting and fun food with impeccable service and a view that makes your heart flutter! A local gem with four-star appeal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One word: WOW. The patio dining with t ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

One word: WOW. The patio dining with the ocean view. Watched the whales breaching. Fantastic service, we were well taken cared of ....but there is more. The meal was one of the best I have ever and i mean ever had. So much so that we offered a glass of wine to the chef. Potato layered salmon on marinated Meyer lemon vinaigrette tomatoes and asparagus spears with balsamic reduction. the potatoes where as thin as potato chips finished perfectly and layered on the salmon. Not kidding....an unbelievable dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Graduation Party

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a wonderful time at the Cliffs. They had prepared a special Cal Poly graduation menu which was a really cute idea, but many of our favorite dishes and desserts were not on this menu. It would have been nice to know through open table there was going to be a special, limited menu. It is still one of our favorite spots on the Central Coast and we will continue to dine at Marisol! David the manager, and his wonderful staff always makes it a great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanks again Charlie. An amazing service ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Thanks again Charlie. An amazing service once again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Sunday Brunch at Marisol!

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a terrific Sunday brunch while staying at the Cliffs Resort at Shell Beach, that the restaurant is part of. We've been here many times before, and the service, food, and ambiance are consistently excellent. The restaurant Manager, David Kline, is on hand to make sure everything is done right and that guests are enjoying themselves, and our server, Marina, was very attentive and helpful. Being seated next to the window with a clear, ocean view, didn't hurt, either! The food offerings were quite good, too: Made to order omelettes; hand carved prime rib and other specialties; a taco bar; a fresh shrimp and seafood section; breakfast staples such as bacon, sausage, blueberry blintzes, etc., and a ton of delectable desserts, made for a wonderful meal, not to mention free-flowing champagne (or sparking wine.)

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Each time when we come in the area, my h ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Each time when we come in the area, my husband and I are making the arrangements to eat at Mirasol. It is a very good restaurant, with exquisite food and nice service.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food

Dined on May 15, 2016

The menu has a great variety. It was served fast and everyone was very friendly. We will go back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Service and food weren't awful, they wou ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Service and food weren't awful, they would have been perfectly acceptable at a restaurant with $10 entrees and some gimmick like unlimited breadsticks. The view makes up for a lot, but with $30-40 entrees you hope for more.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed Sunday Brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

We have had the Sunday Brunch here a number of times when we are in the area. The food is always very good and usually well stocked. The service is friendly and they are on top of everything. We have sat both inside and outside, and both are great. Friends we met there have been for dinner and they recommended for dinner also. We will be back next time we are in the area.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Charlie was very very attenti ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our waiter Charlie was very very attentive during out dining experience. The manager David was very welcoming. The hospitality was the best I've had in a long time.

food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Great ambience. . . Disappointing food

Dined on April 19, 2016

10 of us dined on a weekday night. . .for some reason we were seated in a room with no other diners. Steak and salmon portions were adequate. One diner ordered scallops --served on a white plate --all alone, not even a sprig of parsley or a piece of tomato for garnish. Usually, a la carte side dishes are generous enough to share --not so here. My $4..00 side of mashed potatoes was about two tablespoonsful. The restaurant is lovely, but not worth the price. I would hesitate to recommend. It was my suggestion to dine here and frankly, I was embarrassed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Exceeded expectations

Dined on April 17, 2016

We drove up to San Luis Obispo for the day to visit our daughter at CalPoly. I was looking for a special spot for lunch. Marisol is the restaurant at The Cliffs in Pismo Beach. I was able to make an online reservation without any problems. They were only serving brunch but it was excellent - a wide selection of entrees, sides and desserts. Lots to choose from and the service was good considering they were also having a music festival on the property so the restaurant was very busy. The ambiance was very nice with beautiful views of the ocean. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Pick

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great views and fun place. Drinks taste good, sunset is unbelievable, nachos are good too!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Beautiful view, so-so food

Dined on April 10, 2016

The view of the Pacific is spectacular. The food selection was wonderful, unfortunately the preparation, flavor and taste were not commensurate. The server seemed neglectful bypassing several times. We had to literally flag him down to get more coffee. For the price it was fine but wouldn't return for a special occasion.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful brunch

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great food with a view. A sunny day sit outside with your loved one. Food was excellent with great choices. Our waiter Charlie was awesome over the top care.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Pricey, but not bad brunch

Dined on April 3, 2016

There's other brunches in the area with a lot more, and equally as tasty food, but it's really hard to beat the view if you can sit outside on a clear, warm day.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Easter brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

This was such a nice place to go for Easter brunch/breakfast. We were able to get reservations kind of late and had a 8 o clock reservation. Everything looked amazing and the staff was so kind especially that early in the morning! Our server was Charlie! He was amazing. Had our champagne ready right when we got there and was so attentive and nice! We also got to sit by the fire place which was great and had an ocean view. I think this will be a holiday tradition for us. It was such a great time!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner-food was good-room was noisy

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was wonderful-the view and ambiance lovely but there was a very noisy party that took away from our romantic evening. They not only laughed and shouted but one exuberant guest had a loud whistle that he repeatedly felt compelled to do. It was more than over the top. We could barely hear ourselves talk. It was a big disappointment. I'm not sure what the restaurant staff could have done but it was only fun for the party-not the rest of the restaurant guests. The room where the party was held is part of the restaurant-not separated so perhaps Marisol should think twice about having parties during dining hours.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Not as advertised/ Nothing prepared correctly

Dined on March 26, 2016

Took my family here for Easter weekend. The actual menu did not match the online menu, was told that if my kids wanted fish and chips we would have to sit in the bar lounge area. So we ordered Filet Mignon and Ribeye. The Filets were ordered medium but came out rare and cold in the middle. The ribeye advertised broccolini as a side but they subbed carrots that were cooked to mush. The creme brûlée' was pasty. My water glass had someone else's food on the side of it. After they re-fired my sons steak, they returned with a medium well ribeye instead of a filet mignon. I paid the $240 bill and left quietly hoping no one would ask my opinion of this restaurant. I am generally a positive person but nothing went right here. We left hungry and no one even offered to make it right!

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First Time Bruncher

Dined on March 20, 2016

I took my mom to Marisol at the Cliffs for brunch- we've never done brunch before and it was amazing! Our waiter Charlie was awesome; his service was top notch and very detail oriented. He told us how to go about the brunch in order to really soak up the experience. The food was amazing- lots of seafood selections, not that many "vegan" options, but hey.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent dinner

Dined on March 14, 2016

Six of us had dinner here Sunday night. We were all happy with our food, and the service was excellent. It was a drizzly evening so we ate in the dining room instead of on the patio--our favorite outdoor venue. The only thing to mar the indoor experience was the sound system. The music was wonderfully varied, but every so often it would be interupted by louder, annoying ads.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Mandatory $42 brunch

Dined on March 13, 2016

Not giving any option to customers is just plain wrong. I have never been to a restaurant where you had no other choice than an expensive buffet option. I personally enjoy the buffet but my wife and her colleague wanted to order ala cart. At the Marisol, you cannot. We won't be back.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over the top quality great price...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Brought my teenage nieces & their friends to dinner here, it was awesome. The manager came up to us to check up on us before & after the dinner. The waiter was very efficient & well-informed, the busers as well. The 3 pre fix meals for $30 are amazing. The food was delicious & the wine listen is comparable. I've already recommended it to 2 couples I know. Can't wait to visit again & stay next door at the Cliffs!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

We had some friends in town, so we took ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

We had some friends in town, so we took them to Marisol because of our last meal at this hidden gem. All four of us loved our meal. We moved here from San Francisco a few months back and I've got to say SF restaurants don't have anything on Marisol!

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Bad Experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our reservation was on Feb 13 - Valentine's Day weekend. The menu we saw on line was fairly extensive and ranged from $20-$40 per entree. When we arrived the menu was the "special" Valentine's Day menu. This meant very few entree choices and the cheapest entree was the tofu for $27. I ordered the ribeye steak for $36 - this consisted of an average size steak sitting on top of about 5-6 french fries and 4 pieces of asparagus. What a total gouge job for the "special" weekend. Plus the food was not good. None of the 4 of us like our entree. The only reason we came here was because Ventana Grill was booked up. We will not be back!

food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Slow service

Dined on February 14, 2016

The hint of SSSLLLLOOOWWWW began when we arrived for a 5:15 pm early Valentines dinner with my son. They needed to set up the table so we requested outside seating which they again told us they would need 10 minutes to set up the table. We waited 30 minutes before we told them to just set us up inside if they don't have a table ready outside. There were MANY tables outside that had not been taken and no explanation as to why this was taking so long. As for the dinner: don't get the oysters. They are not good. The dessert was fantastic. The dinner was nothing special. The sunset view was pretty but somewhat onstructed due to the exterior restaurant architecture. Very pretty but not what we were hoping for. Because it seemed their staff were very young high school or college students we may give them another chance but will likely find another place that offers the same ocean view sunset atmosphere. The manager dos come by to talk to us a coupe of times during our lengthy 4 hour dinner. We were hoping to be put in 2 hours.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Great bar, lousy restaurant

Dined on February 12, 2016

Brought some out of town vendors for the view which is great. I had previously only been as a bar goer. The food is poorly described in the menu, for example "mussels" as an appetizer is really only about 4 mussels on a mound of fries. I would expect a menu to say that. Another would be a wedge salad with olives...not properly described in the menu. The food is mostly Cisco bagged stuff reheated and the staff while friendly is inexperienced and overwhelmed with full meal service as they are mostly bar staff which at this price point isn't really acceptable. Can't beat the view but for food go to Lido next door at Dolphin Bay. Slightly more but worth it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place

Dined on February 9, 2016

Always good food and service here. Lovely view. Ask for window seating

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Place for Super Bowl or Whatever!!

Dined on February 7, 2016

We have dined at Marisol before and Open Table is a great way to set up the reservation. From the moment we got there we were treated like family. I requested a table in the bar area so we could see the Super Bowl later and we were given a table that was front and center. What a find! Our server was Kelly (male) who greeted us immediately with an offer of mimosas (couldn't refuse) and since he is a San Diego Charger fan like me, we had some commonality. Kelly continued to take care of us throughout the day and although I ate too much for brunch, he kept coming by and even gave me a bloody mary that the bar made by mistake - on the house. The brunch was outstanding as always, and although a little more expensive than I remember, still a great value considering the event, the ocean views, the great food and fabulous service. They even gave us free pizza at halftime which we couldn't finish, but it was a welcome treat.

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, group bookings, outdoor eating, special occasions, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time

Dined on January 24, 2016

And we loved it the second time as much as the first. It was a great way to celebrate a birthday and enjoy family over a leisurely brunch. It was a highlight of our trip to Pismo.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

February Get-Away

Dined on January 24, 2016

Best of all, we were seated at a table with a first hand view of the ocean and right next to cozy fireplace! Very nice restaurant, Sunday morning brunch offered great selection of dishes for any palette. Service was great. Free mimosas while we were dining! Unexpected entertainment was very nice - female vocalist/mandolin and male on acoustic guitar. Together they performed some really neat songs, perfect for the age group in the room. We enjoyed the morning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and great value. Lovely location.

Dined on January 22, 2016

Marisol did not disappoint us. We went there for the SLO January restaurant month promotion, which we have been doing for the last four years. Of all the other places we've been to, we are happy to see that Marisol has an open menu and truly allow us to sample what they have to offer. We will definitely be going back for dinner and recommend our friends on this one.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find!

Dined on January 21, 2016

We decided to take a few days off and drive somewhere. I'm happy that we decided to go to Pismo Beach and dine at Marisol. It was a great experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great find

Dined on January 20, 2016

We ate there two nights in a row. Everything was outstanding! I would definitely go back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Central Coast Proud

vip
Dined on January 20, 2016

It never fails to be a great night when dining at Marisol. And it is especially nice when a restaurant of this caliber opens itself to the annual Restaurant Month event. No bait-and-switch of the menu, no pumping up the price, just pride in their regular menu, offered willingly to the customer. We felt well taken care of by our Server, Carlos, who was also obviously proud of Marisol and the whole staff . Such a good experience we're going back again with friends next week.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Each visit in the past 2 wks you substit ...

Dined on January 20, 2016

Each visit in the past 2 wks you substituted something from the menu: no tri-tipped wrapped asparagus, out of mango ice cream, bibb lettuce was replaced with spinach.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great seaside restaurant

Dined on January 18, 2016

This was our first time at Marisol and we enjoyed everything but the noise level. We ordered off the January restaurant month menu and were surprised how creative the choices were and how ample the portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Forgettable.

vip
Dined on January 11, 2016

Turns out this was my second visit, tho I didn't remember until we got there. Chosen because it offered plain grilled food for picky diners. These were exactly that - grilled steak and grilled salmon in lone splendor on a plate. Luckily we had ordered sides! My choice was duck breast with "sweet jam". This was explained by the waiter as "sweet potato jam", which eventually proved to be baked sweet potatoes in their skins. Tasty but hardly novel. Duck was ok but the sauce had split. I'll try to remember not to go there again...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on January 11, 2016

Their steaks are terrific. All of the food we had was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

restaurant month

Dined on January 9, 2016

Great to be seated next to the fire. They take the reservations seriously. The restaurant month specials were taken directly from the regular menu so we will definitely be back later in the year to taste the rest of these offerings.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.