Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About Marisol at the Cliffs Resort

"Marisol" translates to "The Sun and the Sea" and no where is this more evident than through the flavors of the food. The menu at "Marisol" has been developed as New American Cuisine. As the premier choice of Pismo Beach restaurants, all of the dishes at "Marisol" are prepared with a soulful touch by Chef de Cuisine Victor Flores, featuring produce from fields of local farmers, seafood fresh off the boats of local fishermen, and naturally raised meats and poultry. The wine list for "Marisol" is awarded by Wine Spectator and has an amazing wines by the glass page with many local wines from Monterey to Santa Barbara County. For the finest oceanfront dining experience, try our award-winning Pismo Beach California restaurant "Marisol at the Cliffs".

2757 Shell Beach Rd
Pismo Beach, CA 93449
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am, Saturday: 7:00am - 10:00am; Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:00pm; Daily Lunch: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Spy Glass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 773-2511

Website:
http://www.cliffsresort.com/

Entertainment:
We have live music in the dining room Thursday, Friday and Sat nights.
We try to do every Friday on our patio outside for happy hour from 330-630. Summertime is Friday through Sundays!

Parking Details:
We have private lots in the hotel and across the street. We offer complimentary valet to all guests when its available.

Public Transit:
The bus stops right in front of the cliffs or down the street at spy glass.

Executive Chef:
Gregg Wangard

Private Party Facilities:
The California conference centers at The Cliffs Resort are fully equipped to accommodate any group, from five to 500 guests. Our meeting space is as flexible as it is elegant, with accommodations for classroom and theatre-style seating. And in case an oceanview conference room isn't quite close enough to the beach, a 6,750-square-foot poolside terrace serves as the ideal location for afternoon meetings.

Private Party Contact:
Group Sales: (805) 773-5000 ext. 600

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We can do large party events in the restaurant and bar. We also have over 5000 sqft of banquet facilities were we can do larger events. Please call for details. 805-773-2511

Marisol at the Cliffs Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (17)
Romantic (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Waterfront (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Casual (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fun (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Healthy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Fireplace (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
487 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated Father's Day at Marisol. The brunch had a variety of salads, starters, breakfast & lunch items. The wait staff was very busy but attentive. David was managing the floor and checking in with tables to make sure all was well. Very nice touch to a special meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and Service were good. Went there for Sunday brunch and they jacked the price up for Cal Poly Graduation / Fathers day from $39 to $54. DEFINITELY NOT WORTH IT FOR THAT PRICE!! Other times I have eaten there the food was good. Menu is a bit limited. Check it out online before you go to make sure they have something that looks good. - If they were in another location without the ocean front view, I would never eat there.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

Your new reservation service is terrible. You do not answer your phone, and messages are not returned. I made this reservation to celebrate a dear friend on Fathers' day. Imagine my surprise when after having a reservation and confirmation number for a week or so, I received an email cancelling my reservation.
There was a new reservation system in place, and I had to re-reserve my already confirmed reservation. This is not the way to do business, and not especially with locals who patronize your business on special occasions. Our server was the only member of the wait staff who smiled. What's going on with you folks?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 15, 2017

New job celebration. Great waiter and service. Food was simply not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at Mirasol. We both ordered the filet and the quality of the meat, it sliced like butter, was so flavorful. They offer a variety of sauces which only enhanced the flavor. Our waiter, Brendan, was attentive but not intrusive. We didn't feel rushed at all and were able to enjoy the sunset over the Pacifice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Fantastic meal, great ambiance and friendly service! Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Weird atmosphere. Best thing going for Marisol's would be the ocean and beach views. Food was so so!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We had a small table with a view and near the fireplace. It was as if we were the only people there, however many tables were full. The demi glace sauce was outstanding. I had prawns and roasted beets and my date had sea bass with lobster mashed potatoes. Everything was delicious.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food and service was fantastic. Even the valet parking attendant was very friendly.
We felt very welcomed the minute we arrived.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Fabulous food and service, beautiful oceanfront setting. Sunday brunch and daily breakfast buffet are outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Amazing view. Delicious food. And wonderful service. Charlie and David always make everyone feel welcome.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great brunch buffet. Slow to get refills on coffee, tea, and champagne.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Lovely dinner with friends. Extremely accommodating staff and delicious foods and wine. We dine at the Marisol whenever we visit the central coast and have never been disappointed. Dave is an outstanding manager #weknowDave.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My party showed up to our reservation 20 min early, no worries it was a long line for mother's day (5/14). That's understandable. The host (brunette) took our name and put our ticket to the side with the others. Another 20 min passed, And they had to re-take our name because the 1st time they lost the ticket with our name. By the way the blonde that noticed went above and beyond to seat us. The others just ignored us. So after about 25-30 min from originally seeing the host we were seated. Our waitress (1132 Ali M) took our drink order and we enjoyed the buffet. Maybe 15-20 mins into our meal, our waitress asked if we needed anything. And that was the last we saw her other than the check. For a total of 90 mins we did not get any refills until the assistant manager (she was kind) noticed and filled our drinks. We were thankful for that because it was pathetic sharing each others drinks. And disappointing that there was no refills of mimosa....since that's one of joys she looked forward to. Food and Ambiance was great as usually. We always come to Marisol for special occasions or just because. Maybe 5-7 times a year. But that day, the service was terrible. In past, at times when it was packed and hectic, the service was always great, but not this day...Sadly in future we must reconsider going elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I took my mom here for Mother's Day, and we had the best experience! I originally made a reservation for 4, but needed to add one more person last-minute, and they were able to accommodate us no problem. The drinks were refreshing and tasty, and the food was delicious. My mom loves tropical drinks, and she said she finally found what she was looking for with the Pismo Pier Punch. She also said the yellow tail (one of the specials) was the best fish she's ever had, and she loved her coconut prawns. I had the clam chowder, which was creamy and delicious. Everyone loved what they ordered. Our waiter, Brent, was delightful--cordial and charming and joked around with us. The owner also checked on us every so often to make sure we had everything we needed. At the end of the meal, we asked if they could make a hot apple pie--a drink my mom loves, but that's hard to find. Brent listened to the ingredients carefully, and the bartender made it just right. We had such a great time, we ended up staying for hours to enjoy drinks and each other's company, and we even came back the next day for lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We ate dinner, Sunday brunch and breakfast during our stay. Wonderful service and delicious food. The brunch was to die for with so many options and not enough room in your stomach. Dinner was also great. Short ribs and salmon were favorites, but others in the group enjoyed other options.

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Really enjoyed myself here. Place was well organized and very welcoming! Would go 100 more times!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Honestly one of the best meals that I've had in many years! Everything from our appetizer to our entry and even our cocktails were amazing! I will definitely recommend this establishment to family and friends and will be back again soon!

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Not impressed
Hostess needs training on how to smile and greet

I've had a better hostess at Applebee's then here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We enjoyed our meals of swordfish and chicken. There were many good choices on the menu. Service was prompt and I had a local wine with dinner. There is a full bar as well. The views of the Pacific Ocean are spectacular especially at sunset. Patio dining is available when the weather cooperates. The biggest negative was the noise level. There was a dinner party of 12 or more in an adjoining (but open) room. The noise was so bad it was hard for us to carry on a conversation across our small table. I would hope this is the exception and would try the restaurant again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fun time great waitstaff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I love the ambience and view/setting at Marisol. The 3 steaks that were ordered were overcooked and overall the cost is high. Next time, I will eat outside on bar side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great like always.Staff are great.Manager is really great and just a nice guy to deal with.Always treats my wife and I like were regulars a asset to the business.

Tags: Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Cozy, Fun, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent service, food, and ambience. Beautiful location and view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Took forever for our food. Ticket order got misplaced. They compensated by taking 10% off our bill

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great service and food as always. Loved the restaurant month menu!!! Thank you for making my birthday special xoxo

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at Marisol's. The food was delicious and an excellent price for the amount and quality of the food (Restaurant Month 3 for $30). We will definitely dine there again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I was too full. Excellent!😃😃😃😃😃😃😍😃😃😃😃😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😍😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃😃

Tags: Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was good. Our waiter seemed like he was New and didn't ask us for drinks, refills ect. Very disappointing.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The quality of the food was really bad. Unseasoned accross all orders, tasted like hospital food. The desert was literally impossible to eat. Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We dine there often. Love the ambiance and ocean views. It's a bit pricy but acceptable.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Very noisy, hard to have a conversation across the table. If you want to talk sit next to the person. No help selecting wines. Few reasonable or speciality wines.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Unfortunately this was an underwhelming dining experience. The food was ok, but nothing special considering the prices. The salad was over-dressed, the flatbread was stale. The service was quite poor - our waiter acted like he was doing his job at a fast food joint. Simply did the minimal - delivered food, took order. He didn't really understand the special offerings, delivered our very simple meals to the wrong people, didn't explain what the desserts were, and didn't ever ask if we wanted coffee. Wouldn't return..

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a wonderful meal, despite my wife getting the wrong dish. It was corrected very quickly and everything on my plate--the miso salmon, rice and green bean tempura were superb.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The brunch was very good and service was great they kept our champagne full ant they was not huge lines and plenty of food. Definitely.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Had a 4:00 reservation on Christmas Eve
No one was seated, control freak hostess insisted on seating us at the worst table in the restaurant . I had to battle to get a decent table.
Won't go back again and it a local.
Try Lido next door. Better food, friendly and professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Beautiful place. Great food. Amazing service. Thanks again Charlie and David.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Sitting looking out over the ocean while having breakfast ( buffet) was awesome! Food was good!

My only suggestion to the manager is to wash windows to the south so people that sit facing the south are not looking at super dirty windows.

The ones facing the ocean were nice and clean.

Thanks for a great meal! Staff was top notch!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great place. Amazing service. Charlie is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food. Amazing service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.