Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About Marisol at the Cliffs Resort

"Marisol" translates to "The Sun and the Sea" and no where is this more evident than through the flavors of the food. The menu at "Marisol" has been developed as New American Cuisine. As the premier choice of Pismo Beach restaurants, all of the dishes at "Marisol" are prepared with a soulful touch by Chef de Cuisine Victor Flores, featuring produce from fields of local farmers, seafood fresh off the boats of local fishermen, and naturally raised meats and poultry. The wine list for "Marisol" is awarded by Wine Spectator and has an amazing wines by the glass page with many local wines from Monterey to Santa Barbara County. For the finest oceanfront dining experience, try our award-winning Pismo Beach California restaurant "Marisol at the Cliffs".

2757 Shell Beach Rd
Pismo Beach, CA 93449
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am, Saturday: 7:00am - 10:00am; Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:00pm; Daily Lunch: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Spy Glass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 773-2511

Website:
http://www.cliffsresort.com/

Entertainment:
We have live music in the dining room Thursday, Friday and Sat nights.
We try to do every Friday on our patio outside for happy hour from 330-630. Summertime is Friday through Sundays!

Parking Details:
We have private lots in the hotel and across the street. We offer complimentary valet to all guests when its available.

Public Transit:
The bus stops right in front of the cliffs or down the street at spy glass.

Executive Chef:
Gregg Wangard

Private Party Facilities:
The California conference centers at The Cliffs Resort are fully equipped to accommodate any group, from five to 500 guests. Our meeting space is as flexible as it is elegant, with accommodations for classroom and theatre-style seating. And in case an oceanview conference room isn't quite close enough to the beach, a 6,750-square-foot poolside terrace serves as the ideal location for afternoon meetings.

Private Party Contact:
Group Sales: (805) 773-5000 ext. 600

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We can do large party events in the restaurant and bar. We also have over 5000 sqft of banquet facilities were we can do larger events. Please call for details. 805-773-2511

Marisol at the Cliffs Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (18)
Romantic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Waterfront (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Good for a Date (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Great for Brunch (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Casual (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Business Meals (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fun (3)
Vegan (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Music (2)
Fireplace (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Authentic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Cozy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
509 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

The afternoon brunch at the Marisol restaurant was fantastic. The food , wait staff and entertainment was outstanding. We look forward to returning soon!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

They callled twice to conform reservations. They took 10 minutes to fix a table, took 20'minotea to take an order the sea bass was over cooked. Had breakfast in the morning and it was overpriced $39.00 - the omelet was tasty but not being a big eated it was too expensive . I'm never going back there

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

We got a great table with a beautiful view of the ocean. The wine was wonderful and the food was lovely. There were good vegetarian options. I was very happy with the ambiance and the meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Beautiful setting. Great fresh fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Very few for lunch. Just okay. Didn't record we were with Open Table. Probably dining outside would be the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Had a reservation but still confusion at front getting our table. But ended up sitting outside bar area. Nice view. Very good salmon, also grilled chicken and tempura green beans (a hit with the 10yr old who liked it better than the fries.) overall good dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Visited Marisol for their Sunday Champagne Brunch. Food was OK. Reading the items online is more exciting than once actually there and eating. Champagne was just ok also. Views of the ocean were the best. Customer service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Ordered chioppino hping the coastal setting would reward my expectations. Their menu item was "chioppino pasta". There were 5 sea shells and 4 shrimp; lotes od pasta; the sauce was disappointing. I"m spoiled by the chioppino @ Pismos Coastal Grill...IN FRESNO! Perhaps they should check out that seafood filled and delicious cast-iron pot served speciality? Overall, the meal was acceptible; the wife's filet was,perfect...setting is spectacular on the patio overlooking the sea. I'll be back..ordering something else.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 5, 2017

One of those places that you want to like more but come away a little less than satisfied. Very casual, great appetizers but underwhelming. I would say "it is okay, but not memorable".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Went out with another couple to celebrate my wife's Birthday. Totally Worth It!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

My partner and I had an excellent lunch in a beautiful setting with ocean view.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Our steak was very small and thin, overcooked and no flavor.
The seafiid mac n cheese had very little to no seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We thought everything was great! Great waiter, great food, atmosphere and view! Would def recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Food was mediocre at best. Came at different times and some hot Somme warm and some cold. Food looked very white bread. Had the grilled shrimp were tasty 5 shrimps on the plate with ramaken of sauce. Waiter was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Had brunch. Great food, wonderful view over the bay, always a pleasure.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had a wonderful time at Marisol. I had the Simply Grilled Salmon and my friend had the filet. Both were delicious as was the beet salad and the broccolini. This is an upscale experience in a relatively casual setting with a nice view of the ocean. I live close-by and always enjoy the experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I and my wife ordered the sebass and specifically told the waiter we want it moist, do not over cook. Well thy ruined the fish, way over cooked and was very dry. Not good at all!!!

We did not send it back as our dinner guests had their dinner and it was fine.

Very disappointing as we have enjoyed other dinners at this restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The view was great! Food was tasty. Ordered clam chowder w/ grilled siurdough to start. It arrived after 20 minutes with wheat toast. We asked and they said they ran out. Oh well. Then we were only half way through and they brought our entre. The half chicken was very good. Side dishes odd. All in all, the view was worth going again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 3, 2017

I had made reservations for 7 people for 6:30 p.m. We arrived close to that time, and were taken to our table which was set for 5. The server tried to get the two extra places, but it took some time. We sat for long periods of time with no service, no water, no anything. Our server tried to give us what we should have had, but he was obviously taking care of too many tables with too many people. Several orders were mixed up or incorrect. Drinks were very slow coming and rarely refilled. I brought a 2008 bottle of Trefethen cab, but the cork was difficult to remove and fell into the bottle. The server corrected the mistake but I was left without a cork. I went to the bar before we left to get a "stopper" of some sort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 2, 2017

As a vegan I don't expect many options when buffet dining. However some options would be great. I was so happy when I found potatoes with bellpeppers but then I took a closer look and noticed meat mixed in as well. Not a lot of fresh fruit. I was pretty much out of luck. The nice gentleman at the omelette bar sautéed a bunch of veggies for me. I wouldn't go back because of lack of options. I really enjoy the ambiance here and the unlimited mimosas. I hope one day they can cater to all eating types.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I'll keep this short. My wife ordered the ahi salad which came out blackened. She doesn't like spicy food, so she sent it back. BTW the menu doesn't mention that The fish is blackened. The waiter said it would take 3 minutes to wear a new piece. After 15 minutes of no new salad, informed our waiter to forget it. I had already finished my ribeye, which was okay. I expected a better cut of meat fornthe price. Also, my fires tasted like plastic. My daughter had the clam chowder, which she liked. All in all, we won't return to this restaurant, which is too bad because it's has a nice view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We had a wonderful lunch with friends on the patio overlooking the ocean. Our server was very attentive and the food was delicious. It is a nice upscale restaurant. My only negative was the fact we were served our water and tea in plastic cups. I felt a restaurant of this caliber should be using glass instead.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We celebrated Father's Day at Marisol. The brunch had a variety of salads, starters, breakfast & lunch items. The wait staff was very busy but attentive. David was managing the floor and checking in with tables to make sure all was well. Very nice touch to a special meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food and Service were good. Went there for Sunday brunch and they jacked the price up for Cal Poly Graduation / Fathers day from $39 to $54. DEFINITELY NOT WORTH IT FOR THAT PRICE!! Other times I have eaten there the food was good. Menu is a bit limited. Check it out online before you go to make sure they have something that looks good. - If they were in another location without the ocean front view, I would never eat there.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Your new reservation service is terrible. You do not answer your phone, and messages are not returned. I made this reservation to celebrate a dear friend on Fathers' day. Imagine my surprise when after having a reservation and confirmation number for a week or so, I received an email cancelling my reservation.
There was a new reservation system in place, and I had to re-reserve my already confirmed reservation. This is not the way to do business, and not especially with locals who patronize your business on special occasions. Our server was the only member of the wait staff who smiled. What's going on with you folks?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 14, 2017

New job celebration. Great waiter and service. Food was simply not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at Mirasol. We both ordered the filet and the quality of the meat, it sliced like butter, was so flavorful. They offer a variety of sauces which only enhanced the flavor. Our waiter, Brendan, was attentive but not intrusive. We didn't feel rushed at all and were able to enjoy the sunset over the Pacifice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Fantastic meal, great ambiance and friendly service! Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Weird atmosphere. Best thing going for Marisol's would be the ocean and beach views. Food was so so!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We had a small table with a view and near the fireplace. It was as if we were the only people there, however many tables were full. The demi glace sauce was outstanding. I had prawns and roasted beets and my date had sea bass with lobster mashed potatoes. Everything was delicious.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food and service was fantastic. Even the valet parking attendant was very friendly.
We felt very welcomed the minute we arrived.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Fabulous food and service, beautiful oceanfront setting. Sunday brunch and daily breakfast buffet are outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Amazing view. Delicious food. And wonderful service. Charlie and David always make everyone feel welcome.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great brunch buffet. Slow to get refills on coffee, tea, and champagne.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Lovely dinner with friends. Extremely accommodating staff and delicious foods and wine. We dine at the Marisol whenever we visit the central coast and have never been disappointed. Dave is an outstanding manager #weknowDave.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My party showed up to our reservation 20 min early, no worries it was a long line for mother's day (5/14). That's understandable. The host (brunette) took our name and put our ticket to the side with the others. Another 20 min passed, And they had to re-take our name because the 1st time they lost the ticket with our name. By the way the blonde that noticed went above and beyond to seat us. The others just ignored us. So after about 25-30 min from originally seeing the host we were seated. Our waitress (1132 Ali M) took our drink order and we enjoyed the buffet. Maybe 15-20 mins into our meal, our waitress asked if we needed anything. And that was the last we saw her other than the check. For a total of 90 mins we did not get any refills until the assistant manager (she was kind) noticed and filled our drinks. We were thankful for that because it was pathetic sharing each others drinks. And disappointing that there was no refills of mimosa....since that's one of joys she looked forward to. Food and Ambiance was great as usually. We always come to Marisol for special occasions or just because. Maybe 5-7 times a year. But that day, the service was terrible. In past, at times when it was packed and hectic, the service was always great, but not this day...Sadly in future we must reconsider going elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I took my mom here for Mother's Day, and we had the best experience! I originally made a reservation for 4, but needed to add one more person last-minute, and they were able to accommodate us no problem. The drinks were refreshing and tasty, and the food was delicious. My mom loves tropical drinks, and she said she finally found what she was looking for with the Pismo Pier Punch. She also said the yellow tail (one of the specials) was the best fish she's ever had, and she loved her coconut prawns. I had the clam chowder, which was creamy and delicious. Everyone loved what they ordered. Our waiter, Brent, was delightful--cordial and charming and joked around with us. The owner also checked on us every so often to make sure we had everything we needed. At the end of the meal, we asked if they could make a hot apple pie--a drink my mom loves, but that's hard to find. Brent listened to the ingredients carefully, and the bartender made it just right. We had such a great time, we ended up staying for hours to enjoy drinks and each other's company, and we even came back the next day for lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We ate dinner, Sunday brunch and breakfast during our stay. Wonderful service and delicious food. The brunch was to die for with so many options and not enough room in your stomach. Dinner was also great. Short ribs and salmon were favorites, but others in the group enjoyed other options.

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Really enjoyed myself here. Place was well organized and very welcoming! Would go 100 more times!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Honestly one of the best meals that I've had in many years! Everything from our appetizer to our entry and even our cocktails were amazing! I will definitely recommend this establishment to family and friends and will be back again soon!

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.