About Marisol at the Cliffs Resort

2757 Shell Beach Rd
Pismo Beach, CA 93449
View Larger Map

"Marisol" translates to "The Sun and the Sea" and no where is this more evident than through the flavors of the food. The menu at "Marisol" has been developed as New American Cuisine. As the premier choice of Pismo Beach restaurants, all of the dishes at "Marisol" are prepared with a soulful touch by Chef de Cuisine Victor Flores, featuring produce from fields of local farmers, seafood fresh off the boats of local fishermen, and naturally raised meats and poultry. The wine list for "Marisol" is awarded by Wine Spectator and has an amazing wines by the glass page with many local wines from Monterey to Santa Barbara County. For the finest oceanfront dining experience, try our award-winning Pismo Beach California restaurant "Marisol at the Cliffs".

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am, Saturday: 7:00am - 10:00am; Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:00pm; Daily Lunch: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Spy Glass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 773-2511

Website:
http://www.cliffsresort.com/

Entertainment:
We have live music in the dining room Thursday, Friday and Sat nights.
We try to do every Friday on our patio outside for happy hour from 330-630. Summertime is Friday through Sundays!

Parking Details:
We have private lots in the hotel and across the street. We offer complimentary valet to all guests when its available.

Public Transit:
The bus stops right in front of the cliffs or down the street at spy glass.

Executive Chef:
Gregg Wangard

Private Party Facilities:
The California conference centers at The Cliffs Resort are fully equipped to accommodate any group, from five to 500 guests. Our meeting space is as flexible as it is elegant, with accommodations for classroom and theatre-style seating. And in case an oceanview conference room isn't quite close enough to the beach, a 6,750-square-foot poolside terrace serves as the ideal location for afternoon meetings.

Private Party Contact:
Group Sales: 8057735000x600

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We can do large party events in the restaurant and bar. We also have over 5000 sqft of banquet facilities were we can do larger events. Please call for details. 805-773-2511

Restaurant Photos

Seared Ahi Fish Tacos
Fish and Chips
Kale Salad
Cremebrulet
Chicken Lettuce Wraps
Calamari
Piña-Peño Margarita
Champagne
Eggs Benedict
Brunch Buffet
Shrimp
Steak and Eggs
Strawberry Cream Cheese French Toast
Potato Layered Salmon – Marinated Tomatoes, Asparagus, Meyer Lemon Vinaigrette, Balsamic Reduction
House Salad With Bleu Cheee
Sunday Brunch Buffet
Pork Belly Sliders- Pickled Cabbage, Hoisin Sauce, Micro Asian Mix
Herb Roast Chicken – Sweet Potato Gnocchi, Grilled Artichokes, Thyme Chicken Sauce
Pacific Gold Oysters On The Half Shell – Cucumber-Melon Mignonette, Lemon, Horseradish
beef short ribs
The Cliffs Revival
Hali
Super Bowl Ravenous Platter
BLT Salad

Marisol at the Cliffs Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Pismo Beach
Best Restaurants in Pismo Beach ›

Scenic View (27)
Special Occasion (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
See All
Great for Brunch (16)
Romantic (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
414 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely horrible experience from star ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely horrible experience from start to finish. The views are great but that is literally the only positive thing from our visit to Marisol. Multiple menu items were unavailable - including the sole vegetarian entree - with no apologies or replacement options. Our order tasted like mediocre room service - lukewarm, no seasoning, and overall bad cooking. The service was so slow that it took 35 minutes from the time we finished dessert to when I finally went inside and asked for anyone to bring us our check. Again, no apologies or inquiries about how we enjoyed our meal. It's very obvious that the restaurant - from manager down to bus boy - have zero interest in customer service or satisfaction and intend to rely solely on the view to dupe people into spending money there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Beautiful view. Seated inside Sunday Br ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Beautiful view. Seated inside Sunday Brunch and it was extremely noisy. Food was average, plenty of champagne. Service was alright, but waiter got drink order wrong and we couldn't get his attention to replace it, so had to go out to the bar ourselves.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

If you don't go with high expectations, ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

If you don't go with high expectations, then you will not be disappointed.

The brunch has some value for your money. Special was the smoked apple-wood salmon.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Fabulous ocean views. The halibut was wo ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Fabulous ocean views. The halibut was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location and view. Food was good. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great location and view. Food was good. Though our waiter Carlos was terrific other service

Aspects were wanting. We ordered a bottle of wine and waited an inordinately long time to get

It and then it needed to be chilled. The front desk was disorganized and though the restaurant

Had many empty tables they were unwilling to move us to a better table. I learned that local residents stay away during the summer season and it is clear they don't cater to locals in the summer and are overwhelmed by vacationers. We will give it another shot in the off season.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Nice environment and decor with good oce ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Nice environment and decor with good ocean views. Clam chowder appetizer was the best part of our meal. Fish was bland and over cooked. Salads had fresh greens and tomatoe salad was a solid B. Overall we were not impressed by the food...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Spectacular view & location. Friendly at ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Spectacular view & location. Friendly atmosphere & great food. Right on the cliffs overlooking the ocean. Ribeye was tasty & seafood pasta delicious. Ample serving sizes.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great value for a champagne brunch! Our ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great value for a champagne brunch! Our server was excellent, and made sure our beverages were always full! When she took a quick break, another server checked in on us to make sure we were happy! Food was amazing, and plenty of items to choose from. Will definitely go back, even for dinner or lunch. The ocean view is a nice perk!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, Great ambiance and great fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great place, Great ambiance and great food. The only negative I experienced was waiting for service. We were given menu's and drinks by someone other than our server. We were ready with our order and had to ask multiple associated around including other servers to finally have someone take our order. Other than that everything was great and we would gladly return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Amazing birthday dinner for my wife. Gr ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Amazing birthday dinner for my wife. Great food, views and staff. As always, the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have dined here a number of times and ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I have dined here a number of times and have never been even slightly disappointed. The service is outstanding, the food is always fun and adventurous and delicious and the view is the best on the coast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This wasn't the best experience. In fact ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This wasn't the best experience. In fact, this was a second chance experiment that failed miserably. I had one other bad experience here a while back, so my friends encouraged me to try again. Unfortunately, we all wound up in the restroom before leaving the restaurant. Need I say more?

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Wow! Spectacular view, excellent food an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Wow! Spectacular view, excellent food and wine, just the best. Certainly a highlight of our central coast honeymoon!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining room was dark. Minimal view. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The dining room was dark. Minimal view. Service was very slow and incomplete. My halibut was very dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was not very good. Fish was dry an ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was not very good. Fish was dry and had no flavor. The bar was very noisy to the point where it felt like a pub not a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

In a hotel and it felt very much like a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

In a hotel and it felt very much like a hotel restaurant -- strange atmosphere. The place was empty but we were seated in a weird dark corner being told the rest of the place was reserved, but it was only half full by the time we left. Food was good, but not a memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fantastic cuisine...interesting and fun ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Fantastic cuisine...interesting and fun food with impeccable service and a view that makes your heart flutter! A local gem with four-star appeal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One word: WOW. The patio dining with t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

One word: WOW. The patio dining with the ocean view. Watched the whales breaching. Fantastic service, we were well taken cared of ....but there is more. The meal was one of the best I have ever and i mean ever had. So much so that we offered a glass of wine to the chef. Potato layered salmon on marinated Meyer lemon vinaigrette tomatoes and asparagus spears with balsamic reduction. the potatoes where as thin as potato chips finished perfectly and layered on the salmon. Not kidding....an unbelievable dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graduation Party

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a wonderful time at the Cliffs. They had prepared a special Cal Poly graduation menu which was a really cute idea, but many of our favorite dishes and desserts were not on this menu. It would have been nice to know through open table there was going to be a special, limited menu. It is still one of our favorite spots on the Central Coast and we will continue to dine at Marisol! David the manager, and his wonderful staff always makes it a great experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Thanks again Charlie. An amazing service ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Thanks again Charlie. An amazing service once again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Sunday Brunch at Marisol!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a terrific Sunday brunch while staying at the Cliffs Resort at Shell Beach, that the restaurant is part of. We've been here many times before, and the service, food, and ambiance are consistently excellent.

The restaurant Manager, David Kline, is on hand to make sure everything is done right and that guests are enjoying themselves, and our server, Marina, was very attentive and helpful. Being seated next to the window with a clear, ocean view, didn't hurt, either!

The food offerings were quite good, too: Made to order omelettes; hand carved prime rib and other specialties; a taco bar; a fresh shrimp and seafood section; breakfast staples such as bacon, sausage, blueberry blintzes, etc., and a ton of delectable desserts, made for a wonderful meal, not to mention free-flowing champagne (or sparking wine.)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each time when we come in the area, my h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Each time when we come in the area, my husband and I are making the arrangements to eat at Mirasol. It is a very good restaurant, with exquisite food and nice service.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The menu has a great variety. It was served fast and everyone was very friendly. We will go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and food weren't awful, they wou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Service and food weren't awful, they would have been perfectly acceptable at a restaurant with $10 entrees and some gimmick like unlimited breadsticks. The view makes up for a lot, but with $30-40 entrees you hope for more.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Enjoyed Sunday Brunch

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We have had the Sunday Brunch here a number of times when we are in the area. The food is always very good and usually well stocked. The service is friendly and they are on top of everything. We have sat both inside and outside, and both are great. Friends we met there have been for dinner and they recommended for dinner also.

We will be back next time we are in the area.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter Charlie was very very attenti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Our waiter Charlie was very very attentive during out dining experience. The manager David was very welcoming. The hospitality was the best I've had in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambience. . . Disappointing food

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

10 of us dined on a weekday night. . .for some reason we were seated in a room with no other diners. Steak and salmon portions were adequate. One diner ordered scallops --served on a white plate --all alone, not even a sprig of parsley or a piece of tomato for garnish. Usually, a la carte side dishes are generous enough to share --not so here. My $4..00 side of mashed potatoes was about two tablespoonsful. The restaurant is lovely, but not worth the price. I would hesitate to recommend. It was my suggestion to dine here and frankly, I was embarrassed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Exceeded expectations

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We drove up to San Luis Obispo for the day to visit our daughter at CalPoly. I was looking for a special spot for lunch. Marisol is the restaurant at The Cliffs in Pismo Beach. I was able to make an online reservation without any problems. They were only serving brunch but it was excellent - a wide selection of entrees, sides and desserts. Lots to choose from and the service was good considering they were also having a music festival on the property so the restaurant was very busy. The ambiance was very nice with beautiful views of the ocean. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Pick

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great views and fun place. Drinks taste good, sunset is unbelievable, nachos are good too!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Beautiful view, so-so food

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The view of the Pacific is spectacular. The food selection was wonderful, unfortunately the preparation, flavor and taste were not commensurate. The server seemed neglectful bypassing several times. We had to literally flag him down to get more coffee. For the price it was fine but wouldn't return for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Beautiful brunch

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Great food with a view. A sunny day sit outside with your loved one. Food was excellent with great choices. Our waiter Charlie was awesome over the top care.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pricey, but not bad brunch

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

There's other brunches in the area with a lot more, and equally as tasty food, but it's really hard to beat the view if you can sit outside on a clear, warm day.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Amazing Easter brunch

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

This was such a nice place to go for Easter brunch/breakfast. We were able to get reservations kind of late and had a 8 o clock reservation. Everything looked amazing and the staff was so kind especially that early in the morning! Our server was Charlie! He was amazing. Had our champagne ready right when we got there and was so attentive and nice! We also got to sit by the fire place which was great and had an ocean view. I think this will be a holiday tradition for us. It was such a great time!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner-food was good-room was noisy

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was wonderful-the view and ambiance lovely but there was a very noisy party that took away from our romantic evening. They not only laughed and shouted but one exuberant guest had a loud whistle that he repeatedly felt compelled to do. It was more than over the top. We could barely hear ourselves talk. It was a big disappointment. I'm not sure what the restaurant staff could have done but it was only fun for the party-not the rest of the restaurant guests. The room where the party was held is part of the restaurant-not separated so perhaps Marisol should think twice about having parties during dining hours.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not as advertised/ Nothing prepared correctly

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Took my family here for Easter weekend. The actual menu did not match the online menu, was told that if my kids wanted fish and chips we would have to sit in the bar lounge area. So we ordered Filet Mignon and Ribeye. The Filets were ordered medium but came out rare and cold in the middle. The ribeye advertised broccolini as a side but they subbed carrots that were cooked to mush. The creme brûlée' was pasty. My water glass had someone else's food on the side of it. After they re-fired my sons steak, they returned with a medium well ribeye instead of a filet mignon. I paid the $240 bill and left quietly hoping no one would ask my opinion of this restaurant. I am generally a positive person but nothing went right here. We left hungry and no one even offered to make it right!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

First Time Bruncher

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

I took my mom to Marisol at the Cliffs for brunch- we've never done brunch before and it was amazing! Our waiter Charlie was awesome; his service was top notch and very detail oriented. He told us how to go about the brunch in order to really soak up the experience. The food was amazing- lots of seafood selections, not that many "vegan" options, but hey.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent dinner

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Six of us had dinner here Sunday night. We were all happy with our food, and the service was excellent. It was a drizzly evening so we ate in the dining room instead of on the patio--our favorite outdoor venue. The only thing to mar the indoor experience was the sound system. The music was wonderfully varied, but every so often it would be interupted by louder, annoying ads.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Mandatory $42 brunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Not giving any option to customers is just plain wrong. I have never been to a restaurant where you had no other choice than an expensive buffet option. I personally enjoy the buffet but my wife and her colleague wanted to order ala cart. At the Marisol, you cannot. We won't be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Over the top quality great price...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Brought my teenage nieces & their friends to dinner here, it was awesome. The manager came up to us to check up on us before & after the dinner. The waiter was very efficient & well-informed, the busers as well. The 3 pre fix meals for $30 are amazing. The food was delicious & the wine listen is comparable. I've already recommended it to 2 couples I know. Can't wait to visit again & stay next door at the Cliffs!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had some friends in town, so we took ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We had some friends in town, so we took them to Marisol because of our last meal at this hidden gem. All four of us loved our meal.

We moved here from San Francisco a few months back and I've got to say SF restaurants don't have anything on Marisol!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.