Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About Marina Cafe

At Marina Café, it is all about sensational food, attentive service and breathtaking Destin Harbor views. Our award-winning restaurants popularity is evident on any night when Destin’s loyal patrons fill the bar to the brim for happy hour and enjoy the scenery from the thirty-foot window wall.

The candlelit dining room envelops you in warm colors, high ceilings and large picture windows overlooking the Destin Harbor. Relax and enjoy our extensive wine collection with over 100 wines that perfectly complement the wonderfully progressive cuisine. With fresh daily seafood selections, prime steaks, pastas, sushi and wood-fired pizzas there is something for everyone at Marina Café.

404 Harbor Blvd.
Destin, FL 32541
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Don’t miss Happy Hour nightly in the bar area or out on the waterfront cocktail deck from 5-7pm featuring half-price drinks, sushi and a select appetizer menu. You can also come in for our nightly Early Dining Special from 5-6pm, where you can Buy 1 Entrée and Get 1 Entrée, of equal or lesser value, Free.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 837-7960

Website:
http://www.marinacafe.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot and boat dock parking

Executive Chef:
Chef Al Massa formerly of Emeril's NOLA & Delmonico

Private Party Facilities:
Marina Cafe, an award-winning restaurant located on the Destin Harbor, is renowned for its sensational food and attentive service. Experience contemporary dining and breathtaking sunsets over the harbor through a thirty-foot window wall in the bar and water front dining room. Waterfront cocktail deck with sensational sunset views.

Private Party Contact:
Judy Altilio: (850) 837-7960

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Early Dining: 5-6pm (excluding holidays)
Available in Dining Room
Buy 1 Entree Get 1 Entree Free (all menu items not included)


Happy Hour in Bar or out on the cocktail deck daily 5-7pm 1/2 Price Drinks, Sushi and a select appetizer menu

Wednesday Ladies Night- $2 Drinks

Thursday Martini Madness- $6





Specials

Happy Hour 1/2 price Sushi, Alcohol & select Apps

Special valid Jul 12, 2017 - Nov 12, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Buy One Entrée and Get One Entrée Free

Special valid Jul 12, 2017 - Nov 12, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour 1/2 price Sushi, Alcohol & select Apps

Special valid Jul 12, 2017 - Nov 12, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

50% Off Sushi, wine, beer cocktails & select appetizers. Excludes Tax and Tip. In the bar area or out on the waterfront cocktail deck!. Special valid Jul 12, 2017 - Nov 12, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Buy One Entrée and Get One Entrée Free

Special valid Jul 12, 2017 - Nov 12, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Buy One Entrée and Get One Entrée Free. Excludes Tax and Tip. Buy One entree, receive the Second Entree for Free. Prime steaks excluded. Special valid Jul 12, 2017 - Nov 12, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Marina Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (65)
Waterfront (63)
Good for a Date (56)
See All
Special Occasion (53)
Romantic (47)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Notable Wine List (24)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Local Ingredients (23)
Happy Hour (21)
Business Meals (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Authentic (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Cozy (11)
Healthy (9)
Casual (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Fun (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Seasonal (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1495 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was delicious as always .
Service was excellent prompt and courteous .
One of my very favorite places to eat .
Duck horn merlot is fantastic .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best steaks I have ever had! Excellent waitstaff also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was superb!!! I loved the eggplant/crab appetizer!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Celebrating our Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Always superb. Our trips tp the beach would be incomplete without a meal at Marina!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Went to Destin on vacation from Pennsylvania, and chose this restaurant to celebrate our 1 Year Anniversary. Every seat is a view and they had early bird deals (our reservation was at 5:30 in order to see the sunset), buy 1 entree, get one free. We got 2 alcoholic drinks, 1 appetizer (2 full sized, amazing fish tacos in one appetizer), two $35+ dollar entrees, and a dessert, and our bill came to $78. The view of the harbor at sunset is incredible, the service was great, and it was a great price.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

We spent our anniversary dinner with friends enjoying the excellent food and atmosphere. It was our second visit in a week. Derrick is an excellent waiter and made sure everything was enjoyable and the food arrival was timed to perfection. We live in MS and vacation in Florida. It is well worth the trip to drive from Navarre Beach to Destin for dinner at Marina Cafe. It is always at the top of our restaurant list when we are near Destin. The excellent food, wait staff, and view makes Marina Cafe a five star destination. We cannot wait to go back. Thank you for always making our visit so special.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Terrible service. Waited 30 minutes after our reservation time and still were not seated. After seated, the menus were thrown at us and were not served water or anything after sitting at the table for 20 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Food is fresh and delicious. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We arrived 10 minutes early for our 7:00pm reservation and waited until 7:20 to be seated. The appetizer of calamari came and was over cooked and small pieces. The salad was very good but the entrees were not. My wife had risotto with scallops. The risotto was undercooked and bland. The scallops weren’t cleaned properly making them gritty and they too were over done. My wife ended up sending them back. Considering the prices they charge and the age of the restaurant you’d assume they’d be on top of execution, yet it was quite the contrary.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Rude hostess. No service in the bar area. Dress code is no flip flops so we changed shoes but all night we saw toes from people in flip flops. Food is great with with bad service, not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 13, 2017

We had 7:00 reservations and were seated at 7:40. They apologized for not checking us in correctly but I feel like there should have been a concession offered. Our waiter, Derek, was very good and the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

We had so a wonderful time at Marina Cafe. Our meal could not have been better. We do regret that we didn’t get dessert. Can’t wait to return. Our waiter was David and he was so attentive.

Tags: Tapas, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 12, 2017

First time! We thought the food was good and will definitely return. Our waitress, Tatiana, was good too. Sitting outside would be nice if it is not too hot. White table cloths so a little more upscale for Destin. Shorts are fine though.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Very expensive for the meal we had. Salads were very expensive ! Just normal quality meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Excellent food and service!!! Perfect venue for our 25 th wedding anniversary. Atmosphere was very romantic with a beautiful view of the intercoastal waterway. The staff was extremely polite and attentive. Will be returning soon.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Unfortunately, Marina Cafe is not the restaurant it once was. I booked a reservation trusting current star rating and reviews and as well as personal past experience. In years past (about 10 years ago being most recent) I've enjoyed wonderful meals at Marina but this was not one of them. Initially I had difficulty even finding something that caught my eye on the menu and the chef doesn't offer specials. As I recall the specials were often the most delicious. I finally settled on the Pan Seared Andouille Crusted Louisiana Redfish. It was mediocre at best, and certainly did NOT justify it's price tag. The flavors did not pop at all. My husband had the Cobia which was fresh, but again the preparation was lacking. No real flavor, sort of bland. Another of our guests ordered the Seared New Bedford Scallops. Again, a disappointment. The scallops were rubbery and tasted fishy, as if they were not as fresh as they should been. I'm sorry to say that I would not recommend it.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Wonderful! Relaxing great food great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was wonderful as usual. I highly recommend the eggplant medallion appetizer, it is simply amazing. Our waiter was energetic and attentive despite the busy dinner crowd on a Friday night. I couldn't give a higher recommendation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great views of the harbor and nicely decorated but definitely had the feel of a country club dining room. To be white tablecloth the dress code is not enforced at all. I was also completely turned off when an elder couple came strolling in with their dog (please don't give me the emotional support service dog BS....not when you are with your spouse in a restaurant). The food was good, not great but not bad either, however after we were 90 minutes in and still had no entrees they would have had to be nothing short of spectacular to impress me. I've had worse dining experiences but at 100 bills for one person it will not be on my must do list next visit to Destin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Made a reservationa 4 days before, asked for a table near window at 5:30, explaned that it is a birthday party, only 5 ppl, my birthday date. Person on the phone promiss to put a note. On the arrival got table in the center, round for 8ppl. Got : " sorry about that". Waiter was really good, food was ok, but i was sad to get not expected table, since we drove all the way to that place because of the option with a table with a water view. Food is a bit overpriced, but the early dinning specials cover it. Atmosphere is nice, would not suggest salmon, tuna was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 5, 2017

No problem rating this restaurant a 5 star. Food, service, view was outstanding. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2017

It was fine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Every year when we visit Destin, one of the restaurants that is on our "must go" list is Marina Café. This year, we were mostly disappointed. The food was very good. However, the service which has always been outstanding was sorely lacking. Once we received our bottle of wine, we were mostly forgotten. We had to ask for bread, then butter. We were given no bread plates so when our salad plates were removed, we were left holding our bread. Once we were served our entre, we had to summon the waiter, Mark, to refill our empty wine glasses. I think because we were only a 2-top, the other larger tables got Mark's attention except when we received our bill. We do not want the wait staff hovering over us. We just don't want to be ignored or given poor service.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

It was my birthday. We were seated outside. Service was unusually slow. Almost forgot to serve my husband 's salad. But the filet was excellent. Although I did check birthday celebration when I made the reservation, there was no acknowledgment of the event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The restaurant has a wonderful early special. The fish we had was delicious. It was one of the best I have ever had. I had redfish, which was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Service was excellent, as were our dinner selections which included the margherita pizza, red grouper, and amberjack plates. Will definitely return with each visit to Destin!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Not great...like it used to be...slow service, long wait even though we had reservations, frozen shrimp, not very imaginative. Needs a reboot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Wonderful experience. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Waiter was not attentive and did not keep ice tea and water refilled. Had to ask for drink to be replenished. Not cool for this caliper of a restaurant. As always food was delicious! Sushi and desert were surperb!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We stood at the bar while we waited for our table to be ready. The bartenders did not acknowledge us while we stood there for about 10 minutes. We ended up not ordering drinks. Service at our table started a little slow but picked up. Our waitress was very nice and the food was delicious. The food and our server redeemed our experience at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great meal, great service. Thanks, Mandy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Marina cafe is a 20 year favorite but It fell off of my radar a couple of years ago. This recent experience was much better. The food was all well prepared with complex flavors. Every bite was delicious. I'll be back soon!!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Waterfront, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 7, 2017

I made the reservation on line and it ask for special request. I asked for a table by the window. We have been there many times but that night things were not like usual. We were seated in the second row because all of the open window tables were not clean!! We had 3 women sitting next to us that were playing videos on there cell phone with the volume loud enough for the whole table to here!! Not very romantic!!

We really like this restaurant and think it is one of the best on the beach!! I am hoping for a better experience next visit!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 7, 2017

My husband and I dined here while we were on vacation. We came for happy hour as we heard from the locals that between 5p-7p drinks are half off and entrees are bogo between 5p-6p. I had the scallops and my husband had the steak. He ordered his steak medium, it came out more medium well. His sides of green beans and corn were pretty good. My scallops were overcooked and the risotto that it came with was more watery than creamy. The plates looked beautiful when they came out. After our meal, we went to the bar for a drink as the happy hour drink special is not done tableside. The bar is nice as well as the restaurant. Great ambiance. We will definitely go back, but we will try something new next time. Also, I overheard that the bogo and hh special is year round.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Waiter was a bit talkative. Food was good, but essentially not good enough for the price. Fish was a bit overcooked - not inedible in any way, just not good enough for the price. Filet was actually cooked superbly. Scallops add-on was only 2 scallops. Overall while the food was good, it all felt overpriced for the experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 6, 2017

My wife and I both enjoyed our dinner experience very much. Having been to Destin, FL several times, it is always the restaurant we come back to. The atmosphere and food are both good. They have early bird specials where many dishes are buy one get one free, which is nice since we like to dine early anyway. My wife especially likes the gulf scrimp jalapeno cream cheese spring roll appetizers. The fish dishes are very good. It is nice to find a place that has a quiet relaxed vibe where conversation is possible. The view is great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Pricey but delicious! We all ordered differently and everything was wonderful. Even subbed out sides for some of our group that had special requests without any issue.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The pork belly appetizer was hard, dry and flavorless (except for being too salty). The tempura redfish appetizer was just fish fried in a heavy run of the mill batter rather than the light tempura batter. The main course of Andouille crusted redfish was way too salty (even the bed of roasted veggies was too salty) for human consumption. The main course of Wagyu skirt steak was slightly better and cooked just right, but once again the bed of roasted corn and Israeli couscous was too salty. Given the disappointing meal, we decided to skip dessert (the dessert menu looked uninspired with just routine items on it). Overall, the meal was an overpriced disappointment in a good location by the Destin marina. Should be avoided by people who a looking for a tasty meal, and not just a decent ambiance.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

A combo birthday/anniversary dinner. It was the right spot. We live in Destin and are so happy Marina Cafe is here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.