About Marina Cafe

404 Harbor Blvd.
Destin, FL 32541
View Larger Map

At Marina Café, it is all about sensational food, attentive service and breathtaking Destin Harbor views. Our award-winning restaurants popularity is evident on any night when Destin’s loyal patrons fill the bar to the brim for happy hour and enjoy the scenery from the thirty-foot window wall.

The candlelit dining room envelops you in warm colors, high ceilings and large picture windows overlooking the Destin Harbor. Relax and enjoy our extensive wine collection with over 100 wines that perfectly complement the wonderfully progressive cuisine. With fresh daily seafood selections, prime steaks, pastas, sushi and wood-fired pizzas there is something for everyone at Marina Café.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Don’t miss Happy Hour Monday-Saturday in the bar area or out on the waterfront cocktail deck from 5-7pm featuring half-price drinks, sushi and a select appetizer menu. You can also come in for our nightly Early Dining Special from 5-6pm, where you can Buy 1 Entrée and Get 1 Entrée, of equal or lesser value, Free.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 837-7960

Website:
http://www.marinacafe.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot and boat dock parking

Executive Chef:
Chef Al Massa formerly of Emeril's NOLA & Delmonico

Private Party Facilities:
Marina Cafe, an award-winning restaurant located on the Destin Harbor, is renowned for its sensational food and attentive service. Experience contemporary dining and breathtaking sunsets over the harbor through a thirty-foot window wall in the bar and water front dining room. Waterfront cocktail deck with sensational sunset views.

Private Party Contact:
Judy Altilio: 8508377960x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Early Dining: 5-6pm (excluding holidays)
Available in Dining Room
Buy 1 Entree Get 1 Entree Free (all menu items not included)


Happy Hour in Bar or out on the cocktail deck daily 5-7pm 1/2 Price Drinks, Sushi and a select appetizer menu

Wednesday Ladies Night- $2 Drinks

Thursday Martini Madness- $6





Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Buy One Entrée and Get One Entrée Free

Special valid Apr 7, 2016 - Aug 7, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Promotions

Buy One Entrée and Get One Entrée Free

Special valid Apr 7, 2016 - Aug 7, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details
Buy One Entrée and Get One Entrée Free. Excludes Tax and Tip. Buy One entree, receive the Second Entree for Free. Prime steaks excluded. Special valid Apr 7, 2016 - Aug 7, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Marina Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Northwest Florida
Best Overall
Destin
Best Food
Destin
7 More
Best Service
Destin
Best Ambiance
Destin
Best Value
Destin
Fit for Foodies
Destin
Romantic
Destin
Special Occasion
Destin
Most Booked
Destin
Best Restaurants in Destin ›

scenic view (90)
special occasion (75)
romantic (63)
See All
fit for foodies (55)
notable wine list (35)
great for outdoor dining (33)
good for groups (24)
neighborhood gem (20)
vibrant bar scene (17)
hot spot (12)
great for lunch (9)
late-night find (8)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
982 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I probably said the same thing last fall ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

I probably said the same thing last fall and last spring and perhaps the prior year and the year before that, but Marina Café is *always* on our dinner list at least once when we visit Destin. And that's been true for well over a decade. Perhaps the best accolade I can give them is that we often attempt to replicate their dishes at home when we return to Birmingham. They've never disappointed us.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choice in an area with many gr ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent choice in an area with many great restaurants. Excellent seafood! Great appetizers and the desserts are heavenly

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marina Cafe has been on our must visit r ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Marina Cafe has been on our must visit restaurant list every year for 9 years and counting! The food never disappoints and the bar has delicious drinks. Never feel rushed and the wait staff is always eager to make suggestions.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3

The entrée and dessert were wonderful, h ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The entrée and dessert were wonderful, however the rest of the meal was a double bogie. $4 for a cup of coffees after spending $120 on a meal is definitely not customer focused. Plenty of other choices in Destin.

food2
ambience2
service4
value3

They had such good ratings we were anxio ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

They had such good ratings we were anxious to eat there. Unfortunately we found it to be very highly overrated. The menu is quite limited and preparation left a lot to be desired. Crab cakes were only so so and the burger was over cooked. Not a good dining experience but the setting is nice v

food5
ambience5
service5

As always the food was amazing and the s ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

As always the food was amazing and the service was great.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Good

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is the nicest place on the Destin Harbor. Food is very good as is service. Prices are a bit higher, but quality is there. There is finer dinning in area, but not with this view. If you get the calamari as an ap, it is HUGE and may spoil your dinner :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Delicious

Dined on May 8, 2016

We live in Destin and Marina Cafe is our favorite restaurant for consistently delicious food, great views and the perfect spot for special occasions like Mother's Day and dinner with out of town friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food3
ambience3
service3

Menu didn't offer enough options for me. ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Menu didn't offer enough options for me. We were in Destin for a week and is was definitely our least favorite by far. Probably will not return.

food5
ambience5
service5

food was fantastic and the service was e ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

food was fantastic and the service was even better. Everyone ( hostess, manager, server (Sok) and bar staff) treated us as if we were regulars. We make it a point to go at least once during our visits to Sandestin and they never disappoint.

food5
ambience5
service5

Me and my wife made reservations for our ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Me and my wife made reservations for our anniversary dinner. We were very happy with our choice! Marina Cafe is now one of our Destin favorites.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Meal

Dined on May 1, 2016

I had the redfish and it was more than could be expected with the cayenne butter and hint of wasabi the presentation was as good as the taste. Definitely recommend for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The resturant is a beauty in Downtown Destin!

Dined on April 30, 2016

..and the food is fantastic! Our friend group enjoyed the drinks and delicious food, in particular the red fish entrée. The pork chop meal was good but the sweet potato could use better seasoning. The views are spectacular. We did make a reservation but changed our mind once getting there to sit outside. The hostess was not very nice about us changing our mind and to accommodate us getting outside. In the end, the manager took care of us and we ended with a very enjoyable evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service1

I had been there before several years ag ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

I had been there before several years ago and had a great experience. I was looking forward to dinner with my boyfriend to celebrate our 1st anniversary. I made a reservation through Open Table for 7:30 pm on Friday, April 29. We arrived 5 minutes late due to traffic and were asked to sit in the bar. The restaurant was probably 3/4 full. We waited in the bar for a full 10 minutes before the bartender even acknowledged us. No how are you or pleasantries. Ordered two glasses of wine. After about 20 minutes the hostess came over and asked if we'd wanted to sit outside. No. And then asked she what my name was again because she forgot. I offered to show her my reservation confirmation but she said it wasn't necessary. Finally, at about 8:05 we were seated (35 min after our reservation time). If every table was full, I may have been able to stomach that, but there were at least 5 empty tables we could see. The waiter was also totally uninterested in being the least bit friendly. No smile, no welcome. Our waiter totally ignored us other than bringing the food. I will say the food was very good. As we left, my boyfriend stopped to complain to the hostess about the late seating and rude treatment. All he got was a terse "sorry." In summary, the food is very good, but every staff member we encountered had a bad attitude and seemed like they were doing you a favor to serve you. And to make you wait 35 minutes when you HAVE a reservation and the restaurant has open tables???Totally unacceptable for a meal that cost $150 with two glasses of wine. Won't go back again. EVER.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed while on vacation

Dined on April 28, 2016

Some friends who visited Destin recently told us about this place. Told us to get there early for the Early Bird Special. We were sure glad we did - it was a buy one, get one entrée deal. The grouper was superb! My husband had the duck but was not real impressed. We went back so he could get the grouper. Heard the red fish entrée is excellent. Will try that next time we come. Appreciated a more grown-up atmosphere without a lot of loud blaring music that you experience at a lot of the places on the water.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food , service and view of the ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Excellent food , service and view of the harbor.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing. The New York Strip ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was amazing. The New York Strip, and the red fish were our favorites. Chris did an exceptional job of making our night outstanding!

food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Impromptu trip to Destin

Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I visited this restaurant based upon tripadvisor reviews. The ambiance, service and were fabulous! My husband the duck entree and was not pleased. I got the Shrimp and grits and it Was very tasty but there were a minimal amount of grits. I would go again but order something else.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful spot on the harbor. Casual, b ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Beautiful spot on the harbor. Casual, but elegant. Very welcoming to a two year old and a five year old. Service was very good and the food was excellent. Definitely recommend!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go to place.

Dined on April 17, 2016

5-6 is two-fer time. We always enjoy the nightly specials, side dishes and wine list. Pork filet with sweet potatoe and spinach. Steak with Brussel sprouts that were grilled and carmalized.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

RESERVATION WAS FOR 7 PM BUT WAS NOT SE ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

RESERVATION WAS FOR 7 PM BUT WAS NOT SEATED UNTIL 7:30 PM. TABLE FOR 2 THAT WE WERE BROUGHT TO WAS NOT YET CLEANED AND WAS NEXT TO NOISY TEENAGERS ON PROM NIGHT (WE WERE ALL YOUNG ONCE SO THIS ONCE A YEAR OCCURENCE CAN BE FORGIVEN) SO THE TWO OF US WERE SEATED @ A TABLE FOR 4 NEXT TO THE WINDOW. THE VIEW IS GREAT. THE WAITRESS SHANNON WAS GREAT & THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT SO IT MORE THAN MADE UP FOR THEY DELAYS IN GETTING SEATED.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wedding anniversary dinner

Dined on April 15, 2016

We were treated to a glass of champagne. Very nice. Then had lovely martinis with a charcuterie board for 2. New addition to the menu and it was great. Hubby had duck and I had salmon, both were excellent. I love it the chef has little tweaks and touches so it never the same menu. Had a great waiter that we requested. He took great care of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find for great Dinner

Dined on April 7, 2016

We could not have been happier with a restaurant. We'd never been there but were treated wonderfully, like we were regulars (and there were many regulars there). The foot was outstanding. The view was as well. We'll be regulars now!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent birthday dinner!

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Of all the Destin restaurants, I love having my birthday dinner at Marina Cafe!! The food is so amazing, the view spectacular, and service by Chris spot on!! We appreciate the continued excellence Marina Cafe provides! Thanks.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

A little disorganized in the beginning b ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

A little disorganized in the beginning but it was Spring Break week. We ordered sushi sashimi which was good, several apps which were ok (over did w sauces)..grouper cheeks, pork belly, lump crab w eggplant medallions was great. Unfortunately they ran out of filet mignon so kids had to settle for kids menu medallions instead. Popular redfish entree was way too spicy ...should have mentioned when ordering. Coconut cream pie dessert was very good.

food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Over priced

Dined on April 1, 2016

$16 for California roll ridiculous. Everything was about $10 more than it should have been. Food was good, but overpriced. Service great.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Marina

Dined on March 26, 2016

The meal was overall satisfactory, but the restaurant was not very full, and it still took a fairly long time to get our food. The Caesar salad was disappointingly small and sad. The salmon was good, but not exceptional. The pricing was comparable to similar restaurants in Destin, which tend to be somewhat expensive.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great Food, good view

Dined on March 24, 2016

The food was very good! We went early and the buy one get one free entrees were a good deal! I wish the pizzas would have been included.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous restaurant with a beautiful view

Dined on March 24, 2016

Marina Cafe is one of my favorite Destin restaurants. The Redfish alone is worth the 1000 mile trip! The view of the harbor is stunning and the service is just right, helpful and attentive but not hovering.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Marina Cafe offers sea-side dining

Dined on March 19, 2016

With a great view of the bay and a friendly staff, this café presents a pleasant evening in Destin. The menu offers steaks, seafood, even pizza in a lovely setting. The red fish I had was Cajun-encrusted, a flavorful pleasant change to the typical broiled seafood dinner. The overall experience was very pleasing. I recommend making reservations.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Marina is always a treat!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Excellent service, delicious entrees! Marina is by far the best restaurant I've visited in NW Florida.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service, and views!. I

Dined on March 17, 2016

First off the host was really good, and got us to our table on time despite the fact they were very busy. The server was very good too, as he was very attentive and pleasant. The food was amazing! I had the redfish is what I ordered, and it was literally one of the best seafood dishes I have ever had. I tried my family's dishes and they all were really good too. I highly recommend this place to everyone. Also sitting out on the deck would be a great option, as the views are amazing.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food. Excellent view of harbor.

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Great food. Excellent view of harbor.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration for Mary!

Dined on March 9, 2016

Awesome staff, and host, the food was great, keep up the great work!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Marina Cafe March 16

Dined on March 7, 2016

Not a first visit and we love the place. The Andouille Crusted Redfish is my best fish dish ever. Hard for me to order anything else. This time my wife went for the filet. It was tender and juicy, prepared exactly as she requested (rare medium). The taste of Worchester sauce was a bit heavy leaving a slightly bitter taste. Our attendant, Shannon, was among the best with whom we have ever dealt. Attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable about the meals and wine and a great personality. Sadly, one of the great deals that probably helps keep the locals coming during off season, half price bottles of wine on Mondays, we learned is ending soon. Hope it comes back later.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolute gem!

Dined on March 7, 2016

We enjoyed a delicious meal with impeccable service. We have found our favorite place in Destin!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Watching the sun set

Dined on March 4, 2016

Had a wonderful meal at Marina Cafe. The chef has come up with some and enticing entrees. We had the lobster appetizer and it was delicious. We both ordered the 5 Spice tuna with curried eggplant and forbidden rice. So good. very generous servings. I took some tuna home and it was just as tasty the next day.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. The early 2 ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

Excellent food and service. The early 2 for 1 dining and happy hour fit our budget perfectly!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible service

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

David S. is an OUTSTANDING waiter! He gave us a terrific dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Mixed Event

Dined on February 22, 2016

The food was excellent!!!...always has been each of the several times we have been here. Unfortunately, the service this time was very poor...we waited more than 1 1/2 hours before we received our main course and this was after having encouraged our waiter that we were ready...he was slow in delivery and unattentive. We noticed that several other patrons who came in after us were, in fact, served their food, finished eating, paid their bills and were gone before we received our meal...note...we were the first couple admitted into the restaurant and seated. Our appetizer, at the advice of our waiter, was very sparse. The food is still worth a return visit, although we will remember the name of our waiter.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.