About Marchi's

Yearn for a truly different restaurant? Then discover Marchi's a New York legend since 1930! No sign outside, no menu inside!

251 E 31st Street
New York, NY 10016
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Second Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 679-2494

Website:
http://www.marchirestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking available and garages just about on every block

Public Transit:
Lexington Ave line #4 or #6 local

Executive Chef:
Mario Marchi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Marchi's will be Open on Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and New Year's Day

Marchi's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

5.0

ambience

4.4

value

4.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
See All
Good for Groups (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Historic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Authentic (1)
Private Room (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Business Meals (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sort By:
S
66 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Classic, old time but well-kept, intimate restaurant. Fixed menu without choice may be troublesome to some - definitely not the place to go if your seeking dining adventure. Food high quality and

Host friendly but disappeared after (warmly) greeting us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great! Would go again. Friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Charming and delicious. Plenty of time to relax and enjoy each course.

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

A classic home style restaurant. Deserves more publicity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Marchi's is one of those New York City treasures. The service is impeccable. The sole menu is unique with all of the varied dishes prepared perfectly and consistently every time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Healthy, Historic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Not what I was expecting. Food was like food straight out of their home fridge. Fish tasted like dirt. Not a good experience. I will not return not recommend. They need to change their whole approach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We have been to Marchi's a number of times, typically for special occasions -- birthdays, anniversaries -- or when we have had special friends from out of town visiting. This is a hidden gem. The fixed five-course menu is just perfect. They have a wonderful selection of wines both by the bottle and by the glass.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First visit in a long time and was just as we remembered, food may have been a bit better than before! If you are looking for new and updated, don't go here. If you are looking for good food, great service and an authentic, iconic experience, this is your place!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Third time here in 22 years - this is a place for special occasions - the menu is rigidly set but everything was tasty and portion size was more than adequate . If you go with expectations of fancy cocktails and choosing what you want to eat , then this is not your place . If you want a traditional meal well prepared go to Marchis and enjoy . We were concerned about their popularity it was a Friday night and the place was empty . We had been here many years ago when it was a busy bustling restaurant - hope they are still generating enough business to remain a fixture in the neighborhood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Food is delicious, plentiful and unique. Dining room is dated and could use an uplift.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We have visited Marchi's several times over the last two decades and in many ways it has improved with age. The food is incredibly fresh - and starting dinner with this enormous platter of fresh melons and veggies is simply lovely. The service is super and although I forgot to inform them that one of our guests was a vegetarian, they jumped right in and cooked something appropriate just for her without complaint. The perfect thing about Marchi's is that one sitting dining means you can enjoy a leisurely dinner, chat with friends without screaming over the person next to you, and if the weather cooperates, dine outdoors with barely an ambient noise. We had to cancel a previous reservation because my husband took ill suddenly; I had ordered a special cake and a table for eight. They cancelled with nothing more than we hope he is okay and refused to let me pay for the cake I had ordered. A class act all the way.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2016

As always, excellent service, ambience and food.
Marchi's is unique with its no-menu dining; The same
meal everyday. However, what surprised me after my first
visit was that it all felt fresh, new and of course, tasty
The folks there are lovely.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Marchi's is a staple in Manhattan and many have come to love it over the years. The food still holds up and the presentation is memorable. Outside dining is nice enough, so, no complaints there.
Walking through the dining room to get to the outdoor dining is enough to make you want turn around and go somewhere else. It's not the long walk to the back, it is the awful smell of Mildew. It can't possibly be healthy for people with respiratory issues. the decor is beyond tired, it is downright sleepy.

For such a successful restaurant with serious staying power, not to renovate and update is shocking. A face lift would really attract the younger crowds that haven't had the experience.

It will be a long time before we return if at all. Shame...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2016

A must-visit place for you and your family! Great food! Great service! Great venue! Love the outdoor garden with the Empire State Building in the background!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Fabulous 5 course meal. I would only recommend it for outside dining room under the stars. Inside is dreary and should be remodeled.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Excellent family owned business. I have been dining here since I was a kid and I am now 59!!! Very relaxing and the food is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Marchi's is all about tradition and a dining experience that needs reviving. Family-owned for generations, it serves a set menu of five courses (officially, but actually more like eight or nine when you count up the various side dishes). The wine list is reasonable, meaning that you can get something with a little age on it and not pay a historic price. For me it is the nostalgia of revisiting a place where my parents held their wedding reception.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is not the restaurant you go to if you're looking for the hip cool trendy place. But it is the restaurant you go to if you're looking for a wonderful meal served in an old world European environment by people who know what they're doing when it comes to Northern Italian food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent dining experience all around. Hope to re-visit and will recommend to friends!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We like the traditional meal. It's evident from the clientele that the tradition is dying literally. Soon Marchi's will also. They would benefit from introducing menu options including fewer courses and a good interior makeover. The exterior is marvelous, appealing space that could be leveraged to attract a younger crowd for socializing, drinks and light fare. No reason why modernizing while keeping the tradition can't work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2016

Probably one of the most interesting eating experiences I have ever had! We ate rather early because we came from a Broadway matinee. The place looks like your grandma's house. And the dinner was reminiscent of a meal at grandma's! (And when do you ever have a bad meal at grandma's house???) There is no menu here, they just keep bringing out food. It would probably seem bizarre to be presented with a platter of crudite with a big bulb of fennel on it, unless you come from an Italian family. Also, the bowl of fruit at the end of the meal may seem odd, unless that's what your Italian grandma did! But what struck me most was the price. 5 courses for 3 people, plus two bottles of sparkling water and one bottle of wine for under $300 in Manhattan is nearly unheard of.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Great food. Don't have to think about menu. Food and ambience haven't changed for over 40 years. It's great for special occasions

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2016

There isn't anything as not this restaurant that was enjoyable. The food was just ok and way too pricey.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2016

Salad display was good but not practical. No one is going to open the full head of Celary and start cleaning. Huge full heads of greens are set on big platter, not sure how they could have been cleaned, no dressings. Tuna salad was dry & stale.
In main course the chicken was not done well. Vegitarian plattaer was a joke.
Dessert, there was nothing to talk of. Web-site says Tiramisu. Nothing.

They can charge more but it should be an experience which it was not. Place was empty, I dont wonder why. Staff was very good & friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2015

We went to marchi on Christmas Eve for dinner. We enjoyed most of the food but they were very unfriendly- never wished us a Merry Christmas, I asked for another drink the server was rude- actually yelled at us and said he needed the whole order at once as he didn't want to keep going back and forth to the bar, and then never brought the drinks. Overall they were rude and even though we tipped 20% we felt the server didn't deserve it.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2015

I first went to this restaurant 50 years ago and it hasn't changed. Five courses, all good in their original Townhouse location. This is a wonderful throwback to another time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2015

As the waiter served the last meat dish, he just placed a piece of dark or white meat chicken in the diners plate. He did not ask a preference, and as a table of four , all of which preferred white meat , two people were disappointed. I feel they should be able to accommodate this preference. The servers plate of meat should have been large enough to satisfy all preferences, not just four pieces of chicken, two dark and two white, also a bit on the skimpy side.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 31, 2015

Having moved away from the New York area many years ago, it was heartening to return to Marchi's and find the food, service and atmosphere all that I remembered. Better yet, our group of seven which included all ages agreed with me! They aved all night about the quality and presentation of the food! Our waiter Eddie gave us fabulous service and then as a surprise at the end of the evening lead us out to the patio, closed for the winter, to show us the nearby Empire State Building, which was lit in the NYC Marathon colors. What a sight.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 20, 2015

Made a reservation on the recommendation of a friend (who had not dined there) - 3 people, Monday night at 7pm with a request of the garden. We were the only 3 in this huge restaurant, the garden was closed. The inside felt very musty. Food was adequate on a prefixed menu, but a huge bowl of celery and veggies should not count as a course. No bread, complained about the toughness of the veal with no acknowledgement. Got to see the garden which is very beautiful, had to walk thru the kitchen that made the experience even worse! It is a fabulous piece of real estate, but really needs some help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2015

From Aus thought it would be great to go to namesake restaurant in New York. The food courses were nothing special, food we cook at home. There was no menu bad luck if you did not like what was being served, but there was a wine list. I think the price for the meal is overpriced for the style of food served would have expected more in the dishes served and presentation. Also for such a large restaurant with so many dining rooms, the only area with patrons was in the garden total of 10 people max, the remainder of the restaurant was empty.
Not the dining experience we were expecting

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2015

First: the garden in the back is lovely. If, heaven forbid, the evening had not been a perfect summer night, if, heaven forbid we had had to be inside, we would have left in haste and looked elsewhere. The inside is old, musty, with an odor of tired furnishings and a depressing emptiness. The food was fresh and plentiful, but served by a wordless server one dish after another and of course, no choice. The owners I read , live above the restaurant. They are trying to amortize the property I guess, but it will soon be sold and then someone else will have a chance to really run a restaurant as it should be run. If that happens, we might go back out of curiosity, but until then we'll stay away in droves!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2015

This resturant was so relaxing. 5 course meal was awesome and you don't feel stuffed. Felt great not to have to make decisions. Only issue was that we went during the hotest day of the year in New York so it was very hot --it would have been nice to have a few fans around to make it more comfortable.-- They don't have a big wine list for dinner...would have liked to have more of a variety of drinks and wine to choose from.
Service was aweseome...I will definately go back but not on such a balmy and hot evening. --Prices were great for New York.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2015

We joined 8 people for dinner on the patio and had the most wonderful meal while sitting under soft lights and looking at the Empire State Building glowing in the distance. It was like wandering into a secret garden. What a great surprise and what a beautiful night to be in New York. We had excellent service and each course we were served was delicious. We will definitely return to this very special restaurant with a charming history.
We loved Marchi!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2015

After years of reading menus & eating just about the same food - it's a delight not to have a menu but enjoy a 7 course dinner brought to you one course at time one more delicious that the previous. Not rushed, great back ground music & a fabulous garden setting. You feel like you're in Italy... Certainly not in the middle of NYC ! ! ! !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2015

Marchi's is a New York institution. The last time I was there was almost 40 years ago and I wondered how it would stand the test of time. I needn't have worried; the food was still really good (especially the fish course and the roasted chicken), the service was still excellent, the owner was welcoming, and we never felt we had to eat quickly. It's a great place to go with family and friends. My only regret was that because it had been raining all day the garden wasn't open for dining. It turned out to be a beautiful evening and it would have been lovely to sit in the beautiful garden as the sun set and the lights came on in the Empire State Building (which can be seen from some of the tables). It wasn't very crowded on a Tuesday evening, and I hope that wasn't indicative of a trend. Don't hesitate to go there; even though it's a fixed menu, it's an adventure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 10, 2015

Love this place and the concept of a 5-course set menu - all of which are awesome. The food is fresh, the service is on-point, and the view of the Empire State Building from the romantic garden is a hidden gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 3, 2015

We celebrated another anniversary at Marchi's and enjoyed their traditional meal, the garden seating and the excellent service. We'll be back again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 9, 2015

best in the west, old time restaurant with a lot of clout

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 4, 2015

BEEN TO MARCHI'S SEVERAL TIMES AND THE FOOD AND THE FOOD AND SERVICE WAS VERY CONSISTANT. EXCELLENT MEAL

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2015

In a beautiful brownstone on 31st Street with very little signage, this is a hidden gem. The owners live upstairs, downstairs is a restaurant with no menu that has been serving customers for over eighty years.

The food was good, but if the menu never changes, I wouldn't want to come regularly. And this is NORTHERN Italian cooking...NOT red-sauce Italian. But I DO want to come back in the summer, when they get fresh vegetables and herbs from their own garden...and to enjoy outdoor dining.

Good wine list too.

We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.