HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not bookable

This restaurant is offline. Check back soon.

Marchi's

4.0
74 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Romantic
Yearn for a truly different restaurant? Then discover Marchi's a New York legend since 1930! No sign outside, no menu inside!
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm ** Please note we will be closed on Mondays from July 31st- October 30th. **
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 679-2494
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Mario Marchi
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Second Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking available and garages just about on every block
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Lexington Ave line #4 or #6 local
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Marchi's will be Open on Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and New Year's Day
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine
What 74 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0  based on all time ratings
3.9
food
4.2
service
3.9
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
LindaB (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

We have been coming here for 40 yrs. Service and food are always fabulous. If I had an Italian grandmother it would be like going to her house. It’s our special place whenever we’re in NYC.

Report
Helpful
SmartbutCasual (Norfolk)
3.0  Dined on December 24, 2017

Marchi's is an institution and lives off its reputation. The 1930s style allows for a red decor that anywhere else would have long gone and the absence of a bar area and the slow initial service means this is no cocktail place.

The food is basic Italian, but very well done. There a few salads scattered through the meal, limiting the amount of cooking that needs to be done to serve five courses to a number of large tables. First course was a plate of raw vegetables and dessert, hugely disappointing given the wide range of potential Italian options, a fruit bowl and pastry. Judging by earlier reviews, this latter option is unchanged in over a decade.

The restaurant is a favorite of regulars and so, if you are not one, be prepared to be passed over, even after you have asked specifically for things, such as more drinks. Some will revel in the long lunches and the old fashioned styling , but know what you are getting.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
5.0  Dined on November 23, 2017

Thanksgiving

Report
Helpful
Iluvdurham (New York Area)
1.0  Dined on November 21, 2017

There was one table of 3 people when we got to the restaurant. The rest of the restaurant was empty and remained empty. We were placed at a table next to the other occupants. Really?

I’m not used to eating lasagna without red sauce. I guess it’s northern Italian. I didn’t like it. The rest of the meal was ok. Fish was good. It fried. I would’ve preferred more vegetables. The beans were good but the beets tasted like they cane out if a can. Our waiter was quick to serve family style and any leftover food took away. I mean they give you a lot of food but I only ate what I liked so I would’ve preferred he not be so hasty removing any additional food left over after serving.

The dessert of fried dough in powdered sugar or ribbons of dough was delicious.

Honestly I think they do a big tourist lunch and should probably close for dinner. I felt like I was imposing there.

Won’t go back or recommend.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
1.0  Dined on August 31, 2017

Sucked.

Literally went here for my anniversary with my beloved gf and the food sucked.

You'll leave full and feeling like you'll never neeed to eat again. Five courses will do that to you. But legit, you can get better food anywhere else.

Total food + experience worth $60 per person? No. Absolutely not.

Positive part was that service was great and fast.

Report
Helpful
vipBari (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on August 25, 2017

Once a grand old lady, she's now become tired -- even with a little musty odor. It's such a unique restaurant and the food remains good, with lesser portions. I particularly missed the deboning of the fish -- it's now a portion of deep fried fish. Also, a jacket is no longer required. Sad, but I guess it's another sign of the times. The owners remain very gracious (and have aged better).

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on July 29, 2017

True authentic Italian. Our family has been going there for over 40 years. Was quiet for a Saturday night but everything was delicious and it's a pleasure to be able to talk to one another without having to shout, as is the case in so many places these days. This restaurant is old world and we hope it never changes.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on April 8, 2017

Classic, old time but well-kept, intimate restaurant. Fixed menu without choice may be troublesome to some - definitely not the place to go if your seeking dining adventure. Food high quality and

Host friendly but disappeared after (warmly) greeting us.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on April 7, 2017

Great! Would go again. Friendly staff.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on April 1, 2017

Charming and delicious. Plenty of time to relax and enjoy each course.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on March 17, 2017

A classic home style restaurant. Deserves more publicity.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on March 11, 2017

Marchi's is one of those New York City treasures. The service is impeccable. The sole menu is unique with all of the varied dishes prepared perfectly and consistently every time.

Report
Helpful
vipfoodlover26 (New York Area)
2.0  Dined on January 12, 2017

Not what I was expecting. Food was like food straight out of their home fridge. Fish tasted like dirt. Not a good experience. I will not return not recommend. They need to change their whole approach.

Report
Helpful
vipPhillyGuy (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on January 5, 2017

We have been to Marchi's a number of times, typically for special occasions -- birthdays, anniversaries -- or when we have had special friends from out of town visiting. This is a hidden gem. The fixed five-course menu is just perfect. They have a wonderful selection of wines both by the bottle and by the glass.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on December 30, 2016

First visit in a long time and was just as we remembered, food may have been a bit better than before! If you are looking for new and updated, don't go here. If you are looking for good food, great service and an authentic, iconic experience, this is your place!

Report
Helpful
vipmishmish (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on November 11, 2016

Third time here in 22 years - this is a place for special occasions - the menu is rigidly set but everything was tasty and portion size was more than adequate . If you go with expectations of fancy cocktails and choosing what you want to eat , then this is not your place . If you want a traditional meal well prepared go to Marchis and enjoy . We were concerned about their popularity it was a Friday night and the place was empty . We had been here many years ago when it was a busy bustling restaurant - hope they are still generating enough business to remain a fixture in the neighborhood

Report
Helpful
vipadventurer (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on October 27, 2016

Food is delicious, plentiful and unique. Dining room is dated and could use an uplift.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (London)
5.0  Dined on September 27, 2016

Unique dining experience. It's unlike anything else that your likely to have. Fixed courses that haven't changed in 60 years, all very good.

Report
Helpful
8well (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on September 10, 2016

We have visited Marchi's several times over the last two decades and in many ways it has improved with age. The food is incredibly fresh - and starting dinner with this enormous platter of fresh melons and veggies is simply lovely. The service is super and although I forgot to inform them that one of our guests was a vegetarian, they jumped right in and cooked something appropriate just for her without complaint. The perfect thing about Marchi's is that one sitting dining means you can enjoy a leisurely dinner, chat with friends without screaming over the person next to you, and if the weather cooperates, dine outdoors with barely an ambient noise. We had to cancel a previous reservation because my husband took ill suddenly; I had ordered a special cake and a table for eight. They cancelled with nothing more than we hope he is okay and refused to let me pay for the cake I had ordered. A class act all the way.

Report
Helpful
Seiso (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on August 16, 2016

As always, excellent service, ambience and food.
Marchi's is unique with its no-menu dining; The same
meal everyday. However, what surprised me after my first
visit was that it all felt fresh, new and of course, tasty
The folks there are lovely.

Report
Helpful
vipBgreen (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on August 3, 2016

Marchi's is a staple in Manhattan and many have come to love it over the years. The food still holds up and the presentation is memorable. Outside dining is nice enough, so, no complaints there.
Walking through the dining room to get to the outdoor dining is enough to make you want turn around and go somewhere else. It's not the long walk to the back, it is the awful smell of Mildew. It can't possibly be healthy for people with respiratory issues. the decor is beyond tired, it is downright sleepy.

For such a successful restaurant with serious staying power, not to renovate and update is shocking. A face lift would really attract the younger crowds that haven't had the experience.

It will be a long time before we return if at all. Shame...

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on July 30, 2016

A must-visit place for you and your family! Great food! Great service! Great venue! Love the outdoor garden with the Empire State Building in the background!

Report
Helpful
bubzee (Philadelphia)
5.0  Dined on July 20, 2016

Fabulous 5 course meal. I would only recommend it for outside dining room under the stars. Inside is dreary and should be remodeled.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Miami)
5.0  Dined on July 20, 2016

Excellent family owned business. I have been dining here since I was a kid and I am now 59!!! Very relaxing and the food is outstanding.

Report
Helpful
vipwangmeyerhoffer (Palm Springs)
4.0  Dined on July 16, 2016

Marchi's is all about tradition and a dining experience that needs reviving. Family-owned for generations, it serves a set menu of five courses (officially, but actually more like eight or nine when you count up the various side dishes). The wine list is reasonable, meaning that you can get something with a little age on it and not pay a historic price. For me it is the nostalgia of revisiting a place where my parents held their wedding reception.

Report
Helpful
Dotingmom (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on June 18, 2016

This is not the restaurant you go to if you're looking for the hip cool trendy place. But it is the restaurant you go to if you're looking for a wonderful meal served in an old world European environment by people who know what they're doing when it comes to Northern Italian food.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent dining experience all around. Hope to re-visit and will recommend to friends!

Report
Helpful
Gary (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on May 8, 2016

We like the traditional meal. It's evident from the clientele that the tradition is dying literally. Soon Marchi's will also. They would benefit from introducing menu options including fewer courses and a good interior makeover. The exterior is marvelous, appealing space that could be leveraged to attract a younger crowd for socializing, drinks and light fare. No reason why modernizing while keeping the tradition can't work.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on April 27, 2016

Probably one of the most interesting eating experiences I have ever had! We ate rather early because we came from a Broadway matinee. The place looks like your grandma's house. And the dinner was reminiscent of a meal at grandma's! (And when do you ever have a bad meal at grandma's house???) There is no menu here, they just keep bringing out food. It would probably seem bizarre to be presented with a platter of crudite with a big bulb of fennel on it, unless you come from an Italian family. Also, the bowl of fruit at the end of the meal may seem odd, unless that's what your Italian grandma did! But what struck me most was the price. 5 courses for 3 people, plus two bottles of sparkling water and one bottle of wine for under $300 in Manhattan is nearly unheard of.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on March 27, 2016

Great food. Don't have to think about menu. Food and ambience haven't changed for over 40 years. It's great for special occasions

Report
Helpful
1
2
3