About Marchi's

251 E 31st Street
New York, NY 10016
View Larger Map

Yearn for a truly different restaurant? Then discover Marchi's a New York legend since 1930! No sign outside, no menu inside!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Second Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 679-2494

Website:
http://www.marchirestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking available and garages just about on every block

Public Transit:
Lexington Ave line #4 or #6 local

Executive Chef:
Mario Marchi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Marchi's will be Open on Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and New Year's Day

Marchi's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
See All
Romantic (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Scenic View (4)
Kid-friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
54 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always, excellent service, ambience a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

As always, excellent service, ambience and food.

Marchi's is unique with its no-menu dining; The same

meal everyday. However, what surprised me after my first

visit was that it all felt fresh, new and of course, tasty

The folks there are lovely.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marchi's is a staple in Manhattan and ma ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Marchi's is a staple in Manhattan and many have come to love it over the years. The food still holds up and the presentation is memorable. Outside dining is nice enough, so, no complaints there.

Walking through the dining room to get to the outdoor dining is enough to make you want turn around and go somewhere else. It's not the long walk to the back, it is the awful smell of Mildew. It can't possibly be healthy for people with respiratory issues. the decor is beyond tired, it is downright sleepy.

For such a successful restaurant with serious staying power, not to renovate and update is shocking. A face lift would really attract the younger crowds that haven't had the experience.

It will be a long time before we return if at all. Shame...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

A must-visit place for you and your fami ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A must-visit place for you and your family! Great food! Great service! Great venue! Love the outdoor garden with the Empire State Building in the background!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous 5 course meal. I would only rec ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Fabulous 5 course meal. I would only recommend it for outside dining room under the stars. Inside is dreary and should be remodeled.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent family owned business. I have ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Excellent family owned business. I have been dining here since I was a kid and I am now 59!!! Very relaxing and the food is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Marchi's is all about tradition and a di ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Marchi's is all about tradition and a dining experience that needs reviving. Family-owned for generations, it serves a set menu of five courses (officially, but actually more like eight or nine when you count up the various side dishes). The wine list is reasonable, meaning that you can get something with a little age on it and not pay a historic price. For me it is the nostalgia of revisiting a place where my parents held their wedding reception.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

This is not the restaurant you go to if ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is not the restaurant you go to if you're looking for the hip cool trendy place. But it is the restaurant you go to if you're looking for a wonderful meal served in an old world European environment by people who know what they're doing when it comes to Northern Italian food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent dining experience all around. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent dining experience all around. Hope to re-visit and will recommend to friends!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We like the traditional meal. It's evid ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We like the traditional meal. It's evident from the clientele that the tradition is dying literally. Soon Marchi's will also. They would benefit from introducing menu options including fewer courses and a good interior makeover. The exterior is marvelous, appealing space that could be leveraged to attract a younger crowd for socializing, drinks and light fare. No reason why modernizing while keeping the tradition can't work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Interesting...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Probably one of the most interesting eating experiences I have ever had! We ate rather early because we came from a Broadway matinee. The place looks like your grandma's house. And the dinner was reminiscent of a meal at grandma's! (And when do you ever have a bad meal at grandma's house???) There is no menu here, they just keep bringing out food. It would probably seem bizarre to be presented with a platter of crudite with a big bulb of fennel on it, unless you come from an Italian family. Also, the bowl of fruit at the end of the meal may seem odd, unless that's what your Italian grandma did! But what struck me most was the price. 5 courses for 3 people, plus two bottles of sparkling water and one bottle of wine for under $300 in Manhattan is nearly unheard of.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Not at all what we expected

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

There isn't anything as not this restaurant that was enjoyable. The food was just ok and way too pricey.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

For an Italian restaurant, expected better food.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Salad display was good but not practical. No one is going to open the full head of Celary and start cleaning. Huge full heads of greens are set on big platter, not sure how they could have been cleaned, no dressings. Tuna salad was dry & stale.

In main course the chicken was not done well. Vegitarian plattaer was a joke.

Dessert, there was nothing to talk of. Web-site says Tiramisu. Nothing.

They can charge more but it should be an experience which it was not. Place was empty, I dont wonder why. Staff was very good & friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Food good, service was less to be desisted

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

We went to marchi on Christmas Eve for dinner. We enjoyed most of the food but they were very unfriendly- never wished us a Merry Christmas, I asked for another drink the server was rude- actually yelled at us and said he needed the whole order at once as he didn't want to keep going back and forth to the bar, and then never brought the drinks. Overall they were rude and even though we tipped 20% we felt the server didn't deserve it.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Classic Northern Italian

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

I first went to this restaurant 50 years ago and it hasn't changed. Five courses, all good in their original Townhouse location. This is a wonderful throwback to another time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Lack of waitstaff communication

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

As the waiter served the last meat dish, he just placed a piece of dark or white meat chicken in the diners plate. He did not ask a preference, and as a table of four , all of which preferred white meat , two people were disappointed. I feel they should be able to accommodate this preference. The servers plate of meat should have been large enough to satisfy all preferences, not just four pieces of chicken, two dark and two white, also a bit on the skimpy side.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Lives up to its reputation

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Having moved away from the New York area many years ago, it was heartening to return to Marchi's and find the food, service and atmosphere all that I remembered. Better yet, our group of seven which included all ages agreed with me! They aved all night about the quality and presentation of the food! Our waiter Eddie gave us fabulous service and then as a surprise at the end of the evening lead us out to the patio, closed for the winter, to show us the nearby Empire State Building, which was lit in the NYC Marathon colors. What a sight.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Old & musty with slow waiter !

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 20, 2015

Made a reservation on the recommendation of a friend (who had not dined there) - 3 people, Monday night at 7pm with a request of the garden. We were the only 3 in this huge restaurant, the garden was closed. The inside felt very musty. Food was adequate on a prefixed menu, but a huge bowl of celery and veggies should not count as a course. No bread, complained about the toughness of the veal with no acknowledgement. Got to see the garden which is very beautiful, had to walk thru the kitchen that made the experience even worse! It is a fabulous piece of real estate, but really needs some help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

no set menu no set price

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

From Aus thought it would be great to go to namesake restaurant in New York. The food courses were nothing special, food we cook at home. There was no menu bad luck if you did not like what was being served, but there was a wine list. I think the price for the meal is overpriced for the style of food served would have expected more in the dishes served and presentation. Also for such a large restaurant with so many dining rooms, the only area with patrons was in the garden total of 10 people max, the remainder of the restaurant was empty.

Not the dining experience we were expecting

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

So yesterday

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2015

First: the garden in the back is lovely. If, heaven forbid, the evening had not been a perfect summer night, if, heaven forbid we had had to be inside, we would have left in haste and looked elsewhere. The inside is old, musty, with an odor of tired furnishings and a depressing emptiness. The food was fresh and plentiful, but served by a wordless server one dish after another and of course, no choice. The owners I read , live above the restaurant. They are trying to amortize the property I guess, but it will soon be sold and then someone else will have a chance to really run a restaurant as it should be run. If that happens, we might go back out of curiosity, but until then we'll stay away in droves!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Relaxing dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2015

This resturant was so relaxing. 5 course meal was awesome and you don't feel stuffed. Felt great not to have to make decisions. Only issue was that we went during the hotest day of the year in New York so it was very hot --it would have been nice to have a few fans around to make it more comfortable.-- They don't have a big wine list for dinner...would have liked to have more of a variety of drinks and wine to choose from.

Service was aweseome...I will definately go back but not on such a balmy and hot evening. --Prices were great for New York.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Incredible dinner in a beautiful setting!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2015

We joined 8 people for dinner on the patio and had the most wonderful meal while sitting under soft lights and looking at the Empire State Building glowing in the distance. It was like wandering into a secret garden. What a great surprise and what a beautiful night to be in New York. We had excellent service and each course we were served was delicious. We will definitely return to this very special restaurant with a charming history.

We loved Marchi!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Summer evening

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2015

After years of reading menus & eating just about the same food - it's a delight not to have a menu but enjoy a 7 course dinner brought to you one course at time one more delicious that the previous. Not rushed, great back ground music & a fabulous garden setting. You feel like you're in Italy... Certainly not in the middle of NYC ! ! ! !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everyone should go here at least once

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2015

Marchi's is a New York institution. The last time I was there was almost 40 years ago and I wondered how it would stand the test of time. I needn't have worried; the food was still really good (especially the fish course and the roasted chicken), the service was still excellent, the owner was welcoming, and we never felt we had to eat quickly. It's a great place to go with family and friends. My only regret was that because it had been raining all day the garden wasn't open for dining. It turned out to be a beautiful evening and it would have been lovely to sit in the beautiful garden as the sun set and the lights came on in the Empire State Building (which can be seen from some of the tables). It wasn't very crowded on a Tuesday evening, and I hope that wasn't indicative of a trend. Don't hesitate to go there; even though it's a fixed menu, it's an adventure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Totally Satisfying Experience

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 10, 2015

Love this place and the concept of a 5-course set menu - all of which are awesome. The food is fresh, the service is on-point, and the view of the Empire State Building from the romantic garden is a hidden gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoying Marchi's for over 30 years!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 3, 2015

We celebrated another anniversary at Marchi's and enjoyed their traditional meal, the garden seating and the excellent service. We'll be back again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

best in the west, old time restaurant wi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

best in the west, old time restaurant with a lot of clout

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

MARCHI'S REVIEW

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 4, 2015

BEEN TO MARCHI'S SEVERAL TIMES AND THE FOOD AND THE FOOD AND SERVICE WAS VERY CONSISTANT. EXCELLENT MEAL

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fascinating place in Murray Hill

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 26, 2015

In a beautiful brownstone on 31st Street with very little signage, this is a hidden gem. The owners live upstairs, downstairs is a restaurant with no menu that has been serving customers for over eighty years.

The food was good, but if the menu never changes, I wouldn't want to come regularly. And this is NORTHERN Italian cooking...NOT red-sauce Italian. But I DO want to come back in the summer, when they get fresh vegetables and herbs from their own garden...and to enjoy outdoor dining.

Good wine list too.

We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A classic gem-never grows tired or out of style!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on January 15, 2015

Our family has fond memories of Marchi's from back when my husband would visit with his grandmother. Still the same "no sign out front and no menu inside"! We were visiting Manhattan from out of state and on a whim I made a reservation. The same family provides the same outstanding five course dinner that I enjoyed when first married to my husband.Intimate setting OR suitable for a big group celebration! Fun to sit down and just be served "the best of the house" and trust the menu. No work or decisions involved. It can handle any occasion. Feels like visiting a great family cook in Venezia-Giulia with excellent food and personal caring service. I cannot say enough good things. Hoping that rampant East Side development does not gobble up this delectable and welcoming piece of NY history.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

a gem that has lost it's luster.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 23, 2014

Years past Marchi's was the must visit at least once a year , and be sure to bring friends, lots and lots of them. The food, ambiance and service was to die for.

Now, just a few years later, this gem has lost its luster. Food just so so, and not the crowds as they were in times past.

The chicken was dry, the fish tasteless and the veal tough. How much fresh vegetables can you take for dinner?

Hope they will change some of the recipes, making 3 rating to a 5.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Like Stepping Back in Time

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 21, 2014

Marchi's has been serving the same food -- actually the identical, fixed, multi-course menu -- for decades. Pretty decent menu but you'd think that after all these years everything on it would be perfect but sadly it's not. It's all just barely good enough. An effort in the direction of refinement and a little more work on decor and they'd really have something, especially for the price they charge.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

I have been going to Marchi's for over 5 ...

vip
·Dined on December 16, 2014

I have been going to Marchi's for over 50 years. The food is always great. Each course is better and better, but my Fav is the Lasagna with it's rich brown sauce is fantastic. The Fritter for desert " just says "come back

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

LRG1

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 7, 2014

nice place but no wow factor for the price , food not as good as expected

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

First time back in 30 years!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 30, 2014

Menu still the same , and quality still excellent! Just sit back and enjoy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Fabulous

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 25, 2014

Have been going to this restaurant for over forty years and it is still one of the best kept secrets in NYC. You cannot go wrong, whether it is just the two of you or a family, it really is the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

NYC preserved in time

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 18, 2014

Amazing time once again. Dine and enjoy the company. No menu to worry about. The meals are set and the large vegetable and fruit baskets are so simple but so unique to a great dining experience. Just enjoy the tradition.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

An utter disappointment

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2014

Nine diners in the entire restaurant on a Friday night. Food lacked the proper seasoning and therefore remained tasteless. Lasagna course was hampered by mushy pasta and a watery, unappetizing bolognese sauce. The meat served with the roasted chicken was unidentifiable and I found it inedible. Strips of fired dough sprinkled with powdered sugar (known as crostoli in the region the Marchis are from) were super oily and crunchy without being tender. Our families used to dine here on special occasions and the school I worked in had a retirement party here once upon a time. Food was tasty, hot, attention was paid to detail and taste. Now the place seems lackluster, weary and going through the motions instead of relishing the preparation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Total waste

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2014

I only went here because my friend had his heart set on it. We arrived at 6:00 on a Friday night, and were the only ones there. We left at 8:00 and there was one other couple there. The place was totally empty. The food was mediocre. The price high -- totally not worth it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2014

We went to Marchi's to celebrate a significant birthday...we were very pleased with the food. Everything was presented beautifully and was delicious! We were very happy. It was very quiet, perhaps because if was weekend after Labor Day and still sort of summer time. There weren't many people dining on a Saturday night. It appears that the restaurant could use a face lift. But, in honesty, we loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

20 Years Later

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2014

A little over 20 years ago, a wonderful business associate treated me to a dinner at Marchi's Restaurant. It was my first time in NYC and I couldn't have been more spoiled. My husband and I recently returned to NYC (8.22.14) for leisure. I couldn't wait to take him to Marchi's. I told him about the ambiance, the multi course meal (I remembered 7, but this time it was 5), the fresh (delicious) foods, the wine list, the class ... true Italian class. 20 years later ... We weren't disappointed! Although the decor is a little dated, the rest remains the same! A perfect, relaxing meal a world of hustle and bustle! A true Italiant restaurant from the "good 'ole" days ... We highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.