Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Marchand's Bar & Grill

According to the City Guide Tampa Bay, "The “Grand Lady of the Bay” is home to Marchands Bar & Grill, a swank eatery that keeps vigil over the downtown marina. Remodeling efforts emulate the Mediterranean decor present throughout the Renaissance Vinoy Resort while utilizing rich woods and marbles. Keeping up with changes in guest expectations and healthier lifestyles, the menu also reflects a brand new era -- gone are the tired sauces and a heavier fare of yesteryear. In their place, the menu reflects the flavors of the Mediterranean with touches of other global influences, such as a macadamia-encrusted fish might be served with a papaya or mango salsa, while the lamb is redolent of the most virgin olive oil with touches of fresh rosemary. Careful preparation coupled with exquisite presentation renders each plate an experience. This is dining to be savored, not merely experienced."

Renaissance Vinoy
501 5th Avenue N.E.
St. Petersburg, FL 33701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Sushi, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am
Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Beach Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 824-8072

Website:
http://www.marchandsbarandgrill.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment DJ Fri and Live Entertainment Sat, 10:00pm - 12:00am.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking for Restaurant Patrons

Executive Chef:
Mark Heimann

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Join us for Thanksgiving! We will be offering a 4-course prefix menu from 12:30-8 pm. $62 per adult/$22 for children

Credit Card authorization required for reservations. Cancellations within 48 hrs charged 50% of guarantee; No Shows or cancellations within 24 hrs charged full price of guarantee

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Join us for Christmas Eve Dinner! We will be offering a 4-course prefix menu from 5-9 pm. $65 per adult/$22 for children

Credit Card authorization required for reservations. Cancellations within 48 hrs charged 50% of guarantee; No Shows or cancellations within 24 hrs charged full price of guarantee

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Details

Join us for Christmas Dinner! We will be offering a 4-course prefix menu from 12:30-8 pm. $70 per adult/$22 for children

Credit Card authorization required for reservations. Cancellations within 48 hrs charged 50% of guarantee; No Shows or cancellations within 24 hrs charged full price of guarantee

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Celebrating a milestone, holding a business luncheon, executive dinner, bridal shower brunch, or baby shower. Book a private or semi-private room here and let our Restaurant Coordinator make sure your event a success!

Marchand's Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Romantic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Waterfront (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Business Meals (4)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Scenic View (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Authentic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Music (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
604 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service and overall experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

We went to Marchand's for our wedding anniversary dinner. It was even better than we expected. Loved our server, Olivia and Angel makes the best cosmos I've had anywhere. The house Cabernet was excellent, too. Atmosphere and hotel decor were wonderful. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our server was Jack. He was very friendly and personable. We go for sisters birthdays, getaways or for a nice leasurely meal We sit and talk, relax and enjoy the great food!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 28, 2017

We decided to spend our anniversary at the Vinoy Renaissance and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the breakfast and dinner we had at Marchand's. The Cuban and Southern menu options were excellent and our servers were genial and personable. We loved the special anniversary desserts that were made for us, and we would definitely recommend Marchand's for celebrating any special occasion!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We went to try Marchard's prix-fixe menu. It was a great value. We had the lobster bisque, a dinner salad, pot roast and salmon, plus desserts -- creme brûlée and a chocolate brownie concoction, along with three glasses of wine. Everything delicious and served graciously in a beautiful dining room overlooking St. Pete's marina. With tax and tip, $85. In New York City, this meal is easily twice the price. My only complaint: On the restaurant's web site, the menu was listed as "pre-fix."

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Excellent dinner. Donald our waiter very accommodating. Highly recommended.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 25, 2017

My wife's black grouper was salty. My short rib was too dry. My Mac and cheese was blah. Great ambience. Mediocre food not worth the price.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Noise level off the charts due to band practicing & adjusting sound. Complained to manager to no avail. Not the best birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Fabulous dinner in a beautiful setting in the gem of a hotel in St Petersburg!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We went back to Marchand's at the Vinoy expecting a very high priced buffet with some good options that were almost worth it. However the Sunday buffet was a glorified Marriott style breakfast buffet. We found out that the expensive brunch is only run for the "Holidays". Really it is from November to June for the snowbirds. How sad. The rest of this disappointment came in the form of carton style scrambled eggs, only lamb on the carving station, only turkey sausage, and the absolute worst omelet station. This person could not make quality omeletes in any reasonable time period. She would forget ingredients and blame it on someone else. They were always flying apart and regular over eggs were mangled. The "experience" took forever. She said she was sick and was overheated. The Vinoy management was nowhere to be seen. Our waitress, Jessi was excellent. Very attentive and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was outstanding but the beautiful room has been turned into a sports bar with very loud disco music. Shame on management!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Fabulous. Wonderful. Delightful. I could give many more positive adjectives to describe brunch at Marchand's. This has got to be the best deal in St. Pete. Gorgeous hotel with impeccable service and delicious buffet options. We wished we lived close so we could enjoy it every weekend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Good food, nice setting and great service. Enjoyed very much. A bit pricey but all in all a nice experience .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Service was very polite, even deferential. But it was very slow even though the restaurant was not very busy on a Friday evening.
If you are staying at the Vinoy, it's a convenient and pleasant choice. But I would not go out of my way unless you are a fan of the band (which was good).

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We went for the 4th of July. The Beef Brisket was fabulous! Salads were very good with the potatoe salad being the best. Desserts were fair. The nice thing is after dinner you go directly to the roof to see fireworks over Tampa Bay! Priceless!

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 4, 2017

I know our waiter tried(ish) but the service was awful. Just awful. When we did see him he forget anything we told him. We ordered drinks, they came out completely wrong. All the other tables had their signature basket of breads. We (table of 12) had none. And we didn't want to ask for fear of what we would be brought! It was the company that made the night good, but the service was incredibly disappointing. Which is sad because my family and I are members and the family we were eating with just joined that week! This was their first meal. Marchands messed up😕

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Amazing seafood, and loved the atmosphere. Everyone was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Marchand's is my restaurant of choice for special occasions with special people

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, People Watching, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We were celebrating my parents 66th anniversary! They really enjoy visiting downtown St. Pete. We were so happy to find the 1925 classic as this made our treating them affordable. We wanted to eat at Marchands at the Vinoy as we knew we could make reservations and have valet parking. Those celebrating 66 years appreciate those conveniences in the super busy downtown St. Pete area.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Their $19.25 three course menu between 5 and 7 is great. Soup or salad, entree, delicious dessert. You can't get a better deal. The atmosphere is nice too. And the service is wonderful and attentive. There is a small elevator for wheelchair access to go up the few steps to the restaurant. And the staff is very helpful.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We stayed at the Vinoy for Fathers Day weekend so my spouse could get away and relax a bit. We really enjoyed our meal at Marchand's, The food and service was excellent. We came back a little later to enjoy a late night cocktail and the Jazz band that was performing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I thought that I was going to have a better experience at this supposedly upscale restaurant. It is quite dated needs a makeover for sure. Food ok nothing special. I had the salmon dinner also had a sushi roll. I had a horrible stomach ache all night I believe it was from the sushi-raw ingredient maybe ? I called front desk next morning told them I was sick and really didn't get a good response or even an apology. Not recommended I spent 75.00 for myself definitely not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Food was excellent and service was very good without being overbearing. Already looking forward to going back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Alexandra provided outstanding service!
Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great ambiance and food was very good. Wish menu had a larger selection of different kinds of foods. Would like to see a more healthier selection.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Donald our server was outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We went there to celebrate my birthday. Fun to sit on the porch first and have a drink. Then the restaurant has excellent service and food. The salmon was fabulous. We had a very beautiful evening.

Tags: Happy Hour, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great restaurant we will visit again shortly. We visited with adults and children and all enjoyed

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner..service was great..will be back..

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Brunch, Vegan, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 28, 2017

If you want ambience and history this is the place. The food for all 5 of us was atrocious. Good freshly prepared food is the easiest thing in the world especially since we had the only table in the restaurant. The grouper was old and fishy. The lamb was a nasty piece of mutton that was mushy. The salmon was fishy and tasted old. I've been coming here for 30 years. It seems like the last several times we noticed the menu changing to almost bizarre. The lunch menu has no thought into it. Nothing you would expect at a world class hotel. There are way too many fine restaurants steps away on beach drive. Do waste your money or time. Vinoy needs to make some big changes. I think Gordon Ramsey would agree.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 17, 2017

As always we enjoyed our anniversary dinner at Marchands. Good food, service and perfect evening out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I was rather disappointed by my last visit at the Marchand's Bar & Grill, on Apr 2 ,2017. I went there to celebrate my birthday with my friend and found the dining room rather impersonal, and not inviting at all with a freezing A/C blasting arctic air. We both ordered the 1925 classic menu, after being rushed by the waiter, don't know why, as I had made the reservation for 5.30 pm, and we were both on time and the room was rather empty. We both chose the salad for a starter, which arrived, with a couple of small tired tomatoes, and wilted green, like it was prepared in advance and with a mustard sauce, there was no wonder that the whole salad did not look fresh. Mustard will wilt salad leave, if it sit too long....Then, we both had the braised short rib, which was beef and not pork like stated by the waiter, who did not even know what a braised short rib was, when asked..The entrees were supposed to come accompanied with cannellini ragu, kasha, natural jus. .... Well, there was hardly any trace of kasha!...Finally, for dessert I had the Nutella Bavarian Torte, and my friend the Banana Pudding Parfait which were both too cold, like they were coming out of the fridge and consequently we could not taste the flavor....
Well, let me tell you, that after that kind of experience, this will be my first and last time in that restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I love this place! It's a great half-way point for people in Tampa to meet people south of the Sunshine Skyway. The staff is kind and professional, and the food is tops.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Lovely setting, historic hotel. Food was good. Quiet that night. Some of us took advantage of the fixed price menu, limited choice.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had a quiet window table which offered a great view of the outdoor lounging area. Very relaxing. We didn't realize the restaurant offered a dinner buffet for $35/pp. Great value...it offered a choice of 3 salads, 2 main entrees (fish or beef), 2 sides, a pasta bar (with multiple choices of pasta & toppings...cooked right on the spot) and 4 desserts. Beef tenderloin was extremely tender and cooked to perfection. Pedro, our server, did a wonderful job...he was very attentive without being overbearing. We were pleasantly surprised...will certainly go back. Best value for your buck! :-)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 18, 2017

disappointed having been there many times, menu is significantly reduced, added buffet was meage. lots of children , a hotel restaurant nothing special anymore.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I took my dessert home as take-out and enjoyed the luxury of being able to lick the bowl.

Tags: Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Beautiful historical location. Excellent service. Was little busy at dinner time but we still received excellent service. John was our server Very sweet and promt. I would recommend to try their 1925 menu. Great deal Just for $19.25 u get choise of entree desert and starter.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 10, 2017

A first time dining visit to Marchand's Bar & Grill and it was very good. The filet was cooked perfectly, and nicely seasoned. The scallops were also done just right - nicely cartelized, bronzed and crispy on top. The risotto was good and not too much of it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Found the Beef greasy other than that we had an excellent evening ,bartender was great , and the food did have great flavor . Burce

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.