About Marchand's Bar & Grill

Renaissance Vinoy
501 5th Avenue N.E.
St. Petersburg, FL 33701
View Larger Map

According to the City Guide Tampa Bay, "The “Grand Lady of the Bay” is home to Marchands Bar & Grill, a swank eatery that keeps vigil over the downtown marina. Remodeling efforts emulate the Mediterranean decor present throughout the Renaissance Vinoy Resort while utilizing rich woods and marbles. Keeping up with changes in guest expectations and healthier lifestyles, the menu also reflects a brand new era -- gone are the tired sauces and a heavier fare of yesteryear. In their place, the menu reflects the flavors of the Mediterranean with touches of other global influences, such as a macadamia-encrusted fish might be served with a papaya or mango salsa, while the lamb is redolent of the most virgin olive oil with touches of fresh rosemary. Careful preparation coupled with exquisite presentation renders each plate an experience. This is dining to be savored, not merely experienced."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Sushi, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am
Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Beach Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 824-8072

Website:
http://www.marchandsbarandgrill.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment DJ Fri and Live Entertainment Sat, 10:00pm - 12:00am.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking for Restaurant Patrons

Executive Chef:
Mark Heimann

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Celebrating a milestone, holding a business luncheon, executive dinner, bridal shower brunch, or baby shower. Book a private or semi-private room here and let our Restaurant Coordinator make sure your event a success!

Marchand's Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Tampa / Central Florida West
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Overall
St. Petersburg
6 More
Best Food
St. Petersburg
Best Service
St. Petersburg
Best Ambiance
St. Petersburg
Best Value
St. Petersburg
Romantic
St. Petersburg
Special Occasion
St. Petersburg
Best Restaurants in St. Petersburg ›

special occasion (37)
great for brunch (28)
romantic (25)
See All
good for groups (18)
fit for foodies (16)
scenic view (15)
neighborhood gem (13)
great for lunch (11)
notable wine list (10)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for outdoor dining (5)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
477 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice upscale restaurant. Jazz trio ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Very nice upscale restaurant. Jazz trio playing in the background a nice touch.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day - Above and Beyond

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mother's Day Brunch. It was a little bit more money compared to their normal Sunday Brunch. We were told that is was because it's a bigger buffet. It did not disappoint. The food was high quality and a beautiful selection. The service was more than anyone could ask for! The hotel it self is beautiful, after we were done we walked around for a bit. Definitely coming back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent dinner and evening. Highly rec ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent dinner and evening. Highly recommended for a special occasion!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Marchand's

Dined on May 4, 2016

Great evening at Marchand's. The food was wonderful and service was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Not as good as it used to be

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was good, but for the same money used to be way better, had crab legs etc... a lot of breakfast items now, much simpler. The dessert station used to be amazing. There were only 3 items on it, and nothing to wow about. Will go back as we have always loved the atmosphere and the food they serve is good. And our server Natalyia was great.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and best value found

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great find for value and quality of food. Limited menu for fixed course early dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, Excellent food. Complimen ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great service, Excellent food. Compliments to the chef!

food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Very pricey but ok for a special occasion.

Dined on April 10, 2016

A very nice Sunday brunch buffet but very pricey. Shirt and slacks required but folks in the dining room in beach clothes. Service and food was very good.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is one of the best dining ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

The restaurant is one of the best dining experiences that I have had. I must state that the meal was prepared by a chef, and that the meal was gourmet. Try the 3-course mon-fri from 5:30-6:30pm.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Second year in a row we have enjoyed Easter Brunch at Marchands. Fantastic both years!! Would definitely recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Highly recommend the coffee encrusted fi ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Highly recommend the coffee encrusted filet. The service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love This Place

Dined on March 25, 2016

After having a pricey, though absolutely wonderful brunch there a few weeks ago, we tried this restaurant for dinner, and it exceeded our expectations. We took advantage of the three-course $19.25 menu before 6:30 p.m., and it proved to be a great value. This is a first-class restaurant in every respect in a lovely, first-class hotel. And valet parking for those who eat the restaurant is free.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the 1925 Menu - what a deal!

Dined on March 23, 2016

We ate at the Vinoy Renaissance's Marchand's Bar & Grill, with friends as a party of four last Wednesday evening. Marchand's has a special 1925 menu, to remember the opening of the Vinoy. The three course meal offered a choice for each, for example: the starters was a soup and a salad of heirloom tomatoes, entrée was a crusted Salmon or a short rib, dessert was cheesecake or a chocolate mousse. Everyone was quite pleased with their selections.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4

Hotel pricey, but taste is always King, ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Hotel pricey, but taste is always King, and that's what counts. You can never go wrong with the scallop dishes.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Expected better from the Vinoy

Dined on March 12, 2016

I ordered soup, sandwich, and a cocktail for lunch. The soup was not hot. How can restaurants serve soup that is not the right temperature, use a thermometer especially at the Vinoy. The lobster grilled cheese was good. The description of the cocktail in the menu gave you a choice of alcohol. The waitress said no but the menu clearly stated. It will be s long while before we come back, expected better.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Way to Spend a Sunday Afternoon

Dined on March 6, 2016

A very quite and lazy summer brunch with great food and service

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Downton Abbey Experience

Dined on March 5, 2016

Felt like a Downton Abbey experience. Romantic, glamorous, scenic in every aspect of the word, tastedul wine list, extraordinary palate pleaser, well informed staff, and esquisite decor. Guess you can tell we loved the experience. Five Star all the way!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

A great meal served by very a good server. Many choices to pick from in downtown St Pete. This is definitely a great special occasion place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Lunch

Dined on February 24, 2016

The Caesar salad was just ok. Very bland and not appealing to the eye.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Just OK

Dined on February 21, 2016

Very Expensive. Soup was excellent, service good but not great. My wife and I were served stale chocolate cake for desert. Lousy way to end the meal. Overall, a poor value.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Went here for Valentines Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

Took a star off the review for two reasons: lack of someone to play the grand piano in the dining room on this romantic and special occasion; and, our server failed to show us the small menu of items you can order from the kitchen that included French toast, waffles, shrimp n grits, and others. Saw the menu only at the end as we asked about waffles. Really missed out on these items. But, the items we did have access to were delicious and well prepared.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service by Heather and Steve. Amaz ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great service by Heather and Steve. Amazing choices for the St Valentine's day brunch

food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Far from fine dining

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I went to Marchand's for the first time hoping for a romantic Valentine's Day meal. We were sat next to the bar, which was overflowing with people and extremely noisy. We had a constant stream of people walking by our table....with the exception of service staff who were few and far between. In fact...my water glass sat empty the majority of my meal, and was never refilled. Never before had I been in a "fine dining" establishment and had that happen. The food was just 'okay'...nothing special. Granted, the menu was limited to the Valentine's Day prix fixe selections, but the quality just wasn't what one would expect for the price. The salads had no flavor (my wife and I ordered different salads, but both had the same impression). My lamb wasn't bad, but had no seasoning. Combined with the basic gravy and potatoes it was served with, it reminded me of eating a mediocre pot roast. My wife ordered the scallops. She was satisfied with the way they were cooked, but again, neither they nor the risotto on which they were served had much flavor. The wine was pretty good. We skipped dessert, dashed any hopes we had for a romantic meal, and went to a Starbucks on the way home for coffee and a sweet.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentines Day

Dined on February 13, 2016

Phenomenal food and service. We were given a table for two overlooking a window so we could view the water, park and sunset on Valentine's Day and it was absolutely perfect. Highly recommend for special occasions. The Jazz band was great too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Lunch at the Vinoy

Dined on February 13, 2016

As usual, on my yearly visit to the Tampa-St. Pete area, I made sure to eat lunch at Marchand's at the Vinoy. Food was delicious, service good (server was a bit scattered, but once we established communication, she was quite friendly and helpful). The menu doesn't read as interesting as in the pass, but the food is delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Which is it?

Dined on February 12, 2016

The owner should choose if they want an elegant restaurant or a sports bar. Having the bar right in the middle ruins both effects. Otherwise it was a good experience

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is located inside a fabu ...

vip
Dined on February 8, 2016

This restaurant is located inside a fabulous hotel in St Pete's. Breakfast was delicious and the setting was divine. Next time we visit we will have a drink at the bar!

food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Don't bother

Dined on February 5, 2016

The service was slow and awkward and the waiter didn't speak much English. The menu was limited and not inspired. The feature item was a very salty slab of pastrami (it was billed as a tenderloin) served with sauerkraut-bacon tater tots. The grouper was deep fried in oil that should have been changed. No wonder the place was nearly empty at 7pm on a Thursday night in the height of tourist season. It was an embarrassing business dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional dining and worth every cent!

Dined on January 31, 2016

The dinner was fabulous. Service by Donald was outstanding. Every need was anticipated and our special culinary requests were met without hesitation. The individually prepared meals were exquisite and far exceeded our expectations. You will love this first class experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great intro to friends

Dined on January 29, 2016

We had told our friends how fabulous the whole dining experience is at Marchands. After the four of us dined there on Friday evening, they agreed. We had a pre-dinner drink in the bar.....quiet and relaxing. After that we sat at our table....had an attentive but not bothersome waiter. All four of our entrees were superb and prepared to our liking. Dessert was scrumptious as well! All the way around it was delightful. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Beautiful room, mediocre food

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

The dinning room is very handsome as is the hotel, The Vinoy, in which it is located. However, the fish, including a local fish like Snapper, does not taste very fresh and the preparations are less than expert. If you are looking for a first-rate kitchen in a nearby location, try Sea Salt.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service , great food and super ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

Excellent service , great food and super views over looking the marina , great spot very close to everything in down town Saint Petersburg .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service3

Almost great food. Slightly rushed servi ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

Almost great food. Slightly rushed service and a tad off...having to wait for soup spoons and courses came too quickly. This was late lunch on Christmas but was still surprised to see diners in beachwear. Ambiance fell short and over-served and loud diners disappointed. I may stick with business meals and avoid holidays in the future. At over $200 for 2 people I expected a more refined experience. I have dined here several times and expected more.

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Christmas dining not up to par with food

Dined on December 25, 2015

We have been to Marchand's numerous times and had excellent food and service--in particular have enjoyed top quality fish and vegetarian dishes in both taste and presentation. The return on Christmas Day then was as disappointing as the prior dinning was excellent. The broccoli soup and Kale salad starters were excellent; consistent with what we had come to expect at Marchand's. Only one of the entrees, the lamb, was at a level to be expected from Marchand's. The smoked salmon entree with fried ravioli was mediocre, with little flavor. The ravioli was tough and tasted as if it was fried or toasted several days in advance. The vegetarian entree of seared tofu was tasteless and the fried ravioli did nothing to help. With the price at over $60, this was a most disappointing meal. I will not be able to recommend Marchand's for a holiday event and we most certainly will not return for a holiday event. We will return to reconfirm our prior experience on a normal day.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

4 course meal on Christmas eve

Dined on December 25, 2015

The food was not up to Vinoy standards. Overpriced for small portions. We were all still hungry after the 4 course meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious!

Dined on December 13, 2015

We tried Marchand's for St. Pete Restaurant Weekend and had a great time! The vegan/ vegetarian options were incredible! My boyfriend says the meat dishes were phenomenal as well! The cocktails we enjoyed before dinner were spot on and the wine we ordered with dinner was perfect. I have never found a regular restaurant that cooks vegan cuisine as well as a vegan restaurant can, but Marchand's certainly offered a wonderful vegan meal. Cannot wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Food was very good. Dining room itself ...

Dined on November 28, 2015

Food was very good. Dining room itself seems a bit dated. It's a huge space but the few diners there made the place seem empty. Could use some sprucing up to bring it into the 21st century.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite meal

Dined on November 26, 2015

This was one of the best meals my family and I have had in a long time. The four-course dinner with suggested wine pairings was perfect!! Every course was delicious and perfectly prepared. The wild mushroom bisque was unforgettable! Don't miss the chance to dine here!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Birthday stuffing...

Dined on November 22, 2015

We have imbibed in the Sunday brunch here several times over the years. This time we were slightly disappointed as they had half the amount of items or at least half of the normal floor space for said items and almost zero King Crab (my personal favorite). With that said, the food was the usual excellent quality and the endless Mimosa's kept us properly lubricated while we gorged. Our waitress was bright, motivated, attentive and friendly, even after several hours of suffering through our general silliness and constant need for Mimosa replenishment. The atmosphere was, as usual, pleasant and properly conditioned for continuous consumption. Thank you Marchand's, see you again soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience5
service3

Recent meals

Dined on November 8, 2015

Atmosphere always wonderful. Food was less than mediocre and $$$$$.

Tags: scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.