About Marchand's Bar & Grill

Renaissance Vinoy
501 5th Avenue N.E.
St. Petersburg, FL 33701
View Larger Map

According to the City Guide Tampa Bay, "The “Grand Lady of the Bay” is home to Marchands Bar & Grill, a swank eatery that keeps vigil over the downtown marina. Remodeling efforts emulate the Mediterranean decor present throughout the Renaissance Vinoy Resort while utilizing rich woods and marbles. Keeping up with changes in guest expectations and healthier lifestyles, the menu also reflects a brand new era -- gone are the tired sauces and a heavier fare of yesteryear. In their place, the menu reflects the flavors of the Mediterranean with touches of other global influences, such as a macadamia-encrusted fish might be served with a papaya or mango salsa, while the lamb is redolent of the most virgin olive oil with touches of fresh rosemary. Careful preparation coupled with exquisite presentation renders each plate an experience. This is dining to be savored, not merely experienced."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Sushi, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am
Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Beach Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 824-8072

Website:
http://www.marchandsbarandgrill.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment DJ Fri and Live Entertainment Sat, 10:00pm - 12:00am.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking for Restaurant Patrons

Executive Chef:
Mark Heimann

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Celebrating a milestone, holding a business luncheon, executive dinner, bridal shower brunch, or baby shower. Book a private or semi-private room here and let our Restaurant Coordinator make sure your event a success!

Marchand's Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Historic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Romantic (11)
Waterfront (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Business Meals (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Cozy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Scenic View (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Private Room (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Live Music (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Authentic (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fireplace (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
561 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous everything. We always dine here whenever we are visiting St Pete.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We've eaten there many times before and it's always been excellent. We brought friends this time and it was disappointingly average. Hope this isn't a downward trend.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always a nice experience. Great service and peaceful environment. We went for breakfast this time. Reasonable prices off the menu though the buffet was a tad high at $24.95. There was the usual breakfast fare as well as several made to order options available. The eggs, bacon and fruit were the highlights.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The salmon was excellent, service was great. Everyone loved their meal! The only negative was the noise level. Very loud even though we were seated away from other tables.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was my first time in St Pete's so I was not aware that this was just a hotel's dining option. I thought it was it's own restaurant. They did not have a table ready and made us wait 30 minutes even though it was booked in advance though open table. The food was not great so we ended up requesting the bar menu to order more of your classic american style food... Expensive, not enjoyable, would not recommend for anyone looking for a date restaurant around st pete's. PS had to ask for my check repeatedly-- hate that...

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The ambiance and service were first rate. The restaurant was inviting and relaxing. We wil definitely visit again.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We love the hotel and have stayed there many times. Disappointed in the food this time. The food was Very rich and salty. Expensive for what you get. Great service though!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 19, 2017

One of the best "secrets" of St. Petersburg is the classic dining menu at Marchands. It is only served from 5-6:30 pm each day. It is a 3 course meal of fantastic food. In honor of the year they opened, this meal costs only $19.25. The service was attentive without being oppressive and the atmosphere can be varied. There is private room dining, romantic tables for two, or room for a group. I would highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good food, good service, overall great experience...just overpriced for what you get.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The pre-fix dinner is one of our favorites when we are in the area for theater@ the Mahaffey, or other venues. Great wine list. Beautiful decor. Not noisy, which is extra special.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went specifically for the vanilla pecan waffles and they were fantastic. The nuts were a perfect foil for the crunchy waffles and vanilla sauce. The Vinoy's house made sausages were also a hit. So meaty and satisfying. Combine all of that with the gracious service and impressive ambiance. What a wonderful experience all around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 4, 2017

really enjoyed the experience and have already recommended it to friends

Tags: Private Room, Organic, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Breakfast--disappointed no brunch available today. Pleasant setting, attentive staff. Ordinary breakfast. Would return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

What an incredible brunch! We were celebrating our New Year's Eve wedding and had our immediate family of 12 persons there. Everything was perfect. The service. The atmosphere and the incredible food offering. Huge fan of this brunch! Thanks!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Lovely setting in a charming and historic hotel. The room is grand and reminiscent of a large ballroom. On this occasion the grandeur was offset by a somewhat noisy and raucous collection of patrons around the bar area. In addition, our waiter disappeared for long stretches--to order a second drink I had to leave the table and find someone to take my order.

The food was excellent--scallops over risotto were quite good. The Delmonico steak was tender, cooked as ordered, and flavorful. Squash blossom soup and mussels were very satisfying appetizers.

In fairness, there had been 5 weddings that day! Staff were spread thin as were the hotel facilities. And the guests were "festive". Would give it another chance.

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great service and delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very relaxing atmosphere with old Victorian charm. I found that after coming here for 15 years for a yearly reunion, some of the fare has been compromised. There was a wonderful assortment of breads that have always been part of the charm of lunching here that had been discontinued. It seems as if the menu has been downsized. However, the service and food were still excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Marchand's is our anniversary place. Recently, my wife and I celebrated our 47 anniversary and stayed at the Vinoy for 3 nights. Our meals were superb (as always) and our waiter, Jesus, made it extra special with his entree and wine recommendations and his friendly personal service. (He even sent up a personal anniversary gift to our room the next day.... (How thoughtful) ). The breakfast chef was superb in his breakfast offerings and we were pampered by the fine room service from the friendly professional staff....

Five star all the way!

Like I said, it's our anniversary place...

"Is it next year yet"??

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Nice breakfast buffet with spectacularly good breakfast potatoes, delicious ham, ripe strawberries (actually ripe!), good coffee, fresh orange juice, and good friendly service from Janice. Thoroughly enjoyed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

An elegant setting with special attention to details. The food is creatively presented and flavorful. It makes for a special holiday meal that our family has enjoyed for several years now which has become a tradition for us making many wonderful rich memories!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The server from Peru - I think his name was Pedro - was outstanding.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great experience, fantastic service & beautiful location!

Our first experience at the bar, very friendly bartender & excellent manhattans!

Next, a table for 2 with a window view of beautiful St Petersburg! Great service & excellent dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Ordinary.

The salad had very few greens!

The fish was over cooked and had to be replaced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Good food, service was slow. I had to clear my own table when we finished dinner. I would expect quick reasonable service which we did not get.

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Reservations for 4 for 6:00. Seated immedicately. Ordered off of the 1925 menu. Fantastic food choices at wonderful prices. Wine list also very good. Waiter very attentive. Repeatedly apologized for the delay in our meal as there was a large party ahead of us, but we were quite content with good conversation with friends and good wine. Highly recommend.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Waiter seems unhappy with his job. I was afraid to ask for anything. It seemed like a bother to him when we ask for cream for our coffee or refill. I was unhappy with my server.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The soup was very good , but the lamb ragu and the beef were both too salty to the point of not being able to eat it. The banana pudding was mediocre. Other than the soup, a very disappointing evening. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have had family Thanksgiving here for several years and it does not disappoint. We will be back. Great food and good service in a beautiful setting

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

It was a nice visit. We can only for desert but it was nice.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service and fantastic food. People were very friendly and valet parking was helpful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Incredible bartender RJ is in the speakeasy. He could make everything I threw at him- even a true sloe gin from France. I was very amazed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The food here seems very hit or miss. Our dining experience (on our two year anniversary too) was not great. We did not cause a scene regarding the below as that is not my wife and I's personality. We learn from our mistakes and move on. First off, the menu on 'Open Table' is not what was being served; I marvel at restaurants that keep their menus up to date with their third party partners. We ordered two steaks (Filet and a Delmonico style). Both originally were over cooked (both ordered 'medium', and both served 'well' and cold). The Delmonico was called out to be overcooked by the server himself (very impressed with him noticing and taking it upon himself to correct). Both steaks were not seasoned at all. The new Delmonico that was brought out was cooked to the correct temperature (medium) and was warm, but the flavor was still very bad. The sides with each steak were the same; fingerling potatoes (just average flavor), charred mini carrots (those were cooked very good and had better than average flavor), and some type of puree (it was of average flavor). The appetizer (gulf shrimp) we just okay; nothing special there. After two steak dinners, and one appetizer, our meal pre-tip was over $100. It was def. not the servers fault for the lack of flavor, but the kitchen at Marchand's is very lack-luster with flavor and creativity, and the prices were waaaaaaay to high for the quality. I'm not a steak connoisseur by any means, but if you want steak, you will by far get a better value and a much better flavored meal at an Outback (I mean that in all seriousness). I suggest if you want a nice steak dinner with a similar venue, go to either Ruth Chris in downtown St. Pete, or pay a hair more and go to Rococos in downtown St. Pete (this was our first anniverary dinner and the bill was about $250, but it was well worth it). I will not be returning to Marchands on the food flavor and value alone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Brunch had a good selection of seafood, carving stations, breads and breakfast items. Everything was prepared appropriately. The service was very good. Very spacious space. We enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I dined twice at Marchand's in the recent past and loved it, so I suggested my family celebrate our mother's birthday there. This time, it was quite different and disappointing. The food was ok, but the swordfish was simply grilled without seasoning and it was dry. My brother's meal was not what he ordered and then was told it would be 20 minutes before his would be ready, by the time we would almost be finished with ours. The Coca Cola refill did not arrive until we were almost ready to leave. Finally, the staff asked if we were celebrating anything special at the check-in desk, and we said it was mom's birthday, but that was the extent of it. They just put a note in the computer, no further follow-through. An off-day I believe, but unfortunately the day we had a special celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 7, 2016

ate here 2 nights. both waiters great and host was exceptional(Assan). felt very welcomed!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 27, 2016

great service, weird food. Too many ingredients that don't work together.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Awesome Sunday brunch!! One of the very best I've ever been to in 40 years of dining. Multiple carving stations, an omelet station, seafood station, assorted hot breakfast meats & sides, cheese & charcuterie station with fancy jams, tasty pastries, delicious dessert bar, champagne & mimosas & specialy coffees, and the two best features ... a fabulous build-your-own unlimited Bloody Mary Bar with lots of interesting add-ins ( for $5, well worth the small charge ) ... AND ... the option to order gourmet/specialty small plates from the kitchen ( delicious, unlimited, no extra charge ). Fabulous!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I have a friend visiting for his 50th birthday who wanted "brunch" as the celebratory meal. We could not have asked for a more festive, delicious experience, and our server, Natasha, was lovely. The price tag may seem hefty, but for what you get, it's actually a value. Thank you, Marchands and Natasha, for helping me make a very special day for my dear friend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The 1925 menu is a great deal and includes an appetizer, a choice of three entrées, and a choice of two desserts for $19.25. It is only available from 5 o'clock to 6 o'clock. The setting is lovely in the Vinoy Hotel at the end of the very popular Beach Drive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Have been before and had to celebrate my wifes birthday. Chose the 1925 Special which was superbly cooked, seasoned and served by our outstanding waiter named Jesus. The wine pairing was a full bodied Merlot which was excellent! For those special occasions could not recommend more highly.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The brunch is outstanding! Highly recommend it : )

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We only wanted to order from the menu, not the brunch, and they did not inform us there was a menu. I knew it from online. They seemed disappointed when we requested the menu. Brunch would have cost over a hundred for the two of us. We had a great breakfast for just over forty, incl tip. We informed waitress we were not staying in the hotel and found out as we exited parking that she should have validated our parking stub. Turns out, the parking person let us go on that. We stayed around and had a drink on one of the verandas and the setting was very nice. Unless you have a huge appetite, go with the menu. The brunch is required after 11:30 on sunday.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I had never been there before. The menu seemed a little limited, but the quality was good. My date loved the Grouper. Good service despite a little mix-up on the order.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Wait staff was great and very attentive facility was beautiful and food tasted great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We sat at the bar. I found the bartenders unprofessional with frequent lame attempt at humor. I found few items on the menu that were tempting. The meal was tepid. The facility on the other hand is beautiful in its high ceilings and intricate design. The background music was very nice. It's an ok place for a drink if you don't sit at the bar, and I'd eat at one of the other great restaurants in St Petersburg.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Good food. Took a bit long. The menu was small. Lots of folks around us were ordering from the bar menu instead. The hostess was really cool and super nice though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great Sunday Buffett!! Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Waiter forgot us. Did not bring wine I ordered until I had to ask again. Left my water glass empty. Served lamb that was strong tasting and was in a stew instead of lamb chops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Amazing food, service and atmosphere ..... more than expected at a restaurant that's a part of a Hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Outstanding food, service and ambiance. A favorite for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.