About Marchand's Bar & Grill

Renaissance Vinoy
501 5th Avenue N.E.
St. Petersburg, FL 33701
View Larger Map

According to the City Guide Tampa Bay, "The “Grand Lady of the Bay” is home to Marchands Bar & Grill, a swank eatery that keeps vigil over the downtown marina. Remodeling efforts emulate the Mediterranean decor present throughout the Renaissance Vinoy Resort while utilizing rich woods and marbles. Keeping up with changes in guest expectations and healthier lifestyles, the menu also reflects a brand new era -- gone are the tired sauces and a heavier fare of yesteryear. In their place, the menu reflects the flavors of the Mediterranean with touches of other global influences, such as a macadamia-encrusted fish might be served with a papaya or mango salsa, while the lamb is redolent of the most virgin olive oil with touches of fresh rosemary. Careful preparation coupled with exquisite presentation renders each plate an experience. This is dining to be savored, not merely experienced."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Sushi, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am
Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Beach Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 824-8072

Website:
http://www.marchandsbarandgrill.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment DJ Fri and Live Entertainment Sat, 10:00pm - 12:00am.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking for Restaurant Patrons

Executive Chef:
Mark Heimann

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Celebrating a milestone, holding a business luncheon, executive dinner, bridal shower brunch, or baby shower. Book a private or semi-private room here and let our Restaurant Coordinator make sure your event a success!

Marchand's Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Tampa / Central Florida West
Romantic
St. Petersburg
Special Occasion
St. Petersburg
Best Restaurants in St. Petersburg ›

Special Occasion (22)
Romantic (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Scenic View (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Hot Spot (2)
Historic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Casual (1)
Cozy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The 1925 menu is a great deal and inclu ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The 1925 menu is a great deal and includes an appetizer, a choice of three entrées, and a choice of two desserts for $19.25. It is only available from 5 o'clock to 6 o'clock. The setting is lovely in the Vinoy Hotel at the end of the very popular Beach Drive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been before and had to celebrate my ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Have been before and had to celebrate my wifes birthday. Chose the 1925 Special which was superbly cooked, seasoned and served by our outstanding waiter named Jesus. The wine pairing was a full bodied Merlot which was excellent! For those special occasions could not recommend more highly.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brunch is outstanding! Highly recomm ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The brunch is outstanding! Highly recommend it : )

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We only wanted to order from the menu, n ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We only wanted to order from the menu, not the brunch, and they did not inform us there was a menu. I knew it from online. They seemed disappointed when we requested the menu. Brunch would have cost over a hundred for the two of us. We had a great breakfast for just over forty, incl tip. We informed waitress we were not staying in the hotel and found out as we exited parking that she should have validated our parking stub. Turns out, the parking person let us go on that. We stayed around and had a drink on one of the verandas and the setting was very nice. Unless you have a huge appetite, go with the menu. The brunch is required after 11:30 on sunday.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

I had never been there before. The menu ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I had never been there before. The menu seemed a little limited, but the quality was good. My date loved the Grouper. Good service despite a little mix-up on the order.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wait staff was great and very attentive ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Wait staff was great and very attentive facility was beautiful and food tasted great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat at the bar. I found the bartende ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We sat at the bar. I found the bartenders unprofessional with frequent lame attempt at humor. I found few items on the menu that were tempting. The meal was tepid. The facility on the other hand is beautiful in its high ceilings and intricate design. The background music was very nice. It's an ok place for a drink if you don't sit at the bar, and I'd eat at one of the other great restaurants in St Petersburg.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Good food. Took a bit long. The menu was ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Good food. Took a bit long. The menu was small. Lots of folks around us were ordering from the bar menu instead. The hostess was really cool and super nice though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great Sunday Buffett!! Will definitely b ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great Sunday Buffett!! Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Waiter forgot us. Did not bring wine I ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Waiter forgot us. Did not bring wine I ordered until I had to ask again. Left my water glass empty. Served lamb that was strong tasting and was in a stew instead of lamb chops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Amazing food, service and atmosphere ... ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Amazing food, service and atmosphere ..... more than expected at a restaurant that's a part of a Hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food, service and ambiance. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Outstanding food, service and ambiance. A favorite for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The classic 1925 menu posted online was ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The classic 1925 menu posted online was not the one we were offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Very good ratio Quality/price I believe ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very good ratio Quality/price I believe that sums up our whole dining experience. As members of the Palladium theater we find it very convenient to have diner at your place before the show.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value5

Absolutely flawless from beginning to en ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Absolutely flawless from beginning to end. Helpful staff, fantastic food, creative flavor profiles, beautifully plated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Food was very good. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great experience. Food was very good. We were eating late and wanted to split an entree for which the waiter was very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is extraordinary for Sun ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This restaurant is extraordinary for Sunday Brunch, easily the best we have found in the Bradenton-St. Petersburg-Sarasota areas. We enjoy sitting there for three hours, sampling the myriad of incredible offerings that they have. I highly recommend it, but realize at $45 per person, the heavenly experience won't come cheaply. Still well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My steak was medium rather than medium r ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My steak was medium rather than medium rare, starters were both delicious. Wait staff was excellent. The dining room is very large giving the individual tables a spacious feeling.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I visited Marchlands on o ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My husband and I visited Marchlands on our anniversary, and the staff went out of their way to make an always enjoyable experience even more memorable. The new 1925 menu was even better than the last.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Nice. Was not crowded. The tables ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very Nice. Was not crowded. The tables were spaced. There was food for every taste. The mimosa were really good. The service was very prompt. It was a great opportunity to eat there. I would add a piano player or a harp playing. Thanks

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Of the four of us, two meals were fine. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Of the four of us, two meals were fine. The other two meals of a lamb entree were terrible, and in fact one guest got terribly Ill when sh got home. The other guest who received the dish only ate two fork fills and stopped.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

A St Pete gem, no weaknesses, ask for Do ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

A St Pete gem, no weaknesses, ask for Donald, great server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

service was outstanding. food was expert ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

service was outstanding. food was expertly prepared and presented.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak overlooked but received great appe ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Steak overlooked but received great appetizer while waiting. Disappointed that not right first time for a fancy restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The buffet had very few choices, the bee ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The buffet had very few choices, the beef was not good. Very limited desserts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Portions were overpriced and sparse. Pre ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Portions were overpriced and sparse. Preparation was mediocre. Very limited menu. We got there early, 7:30 pm, place was nearly empty. Ordered the Delmonico steak. Waiter came back in 5 mins and said they were out of the Delmonico steak. How could you be out of one of only 7 entre's on the dinner menu at 7:30 with no one in the restaurant. Asked if they had calamari for an appetizer and was told no. Next day Noticed calamari on lunch menu but not offered at dinner. WTH? Overall very disappointed. Only bright spot was "Old Fashion " cocktail was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Pre Theatre Dining Gem

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We went to this restaurant for the first time and plan on returning. The service was excellent. Our waiter was most accommodating. They have a good local beer selection. I enjoyed one local brew from the area. My wife ordered the Old Fashion cocktail which as done very well. (She would know!) We each enjoyed the early bird fixed price dinner selections. They bring a nice basket of fresh bread and corn bread muffins to the table. We both had the salad listed on the menu . I had the beef bourguignon. This came as a very healthy portion. My wife had the salmon and she just raved about it. Even though our bellies were full, we each had a dessert. My wife had the cheesecake and I had the chocolate mousse. Not sure why is took us so long to dine here but we shall return. Our kudos to the chef!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good food with not so good service

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

this is in general a good restaurant(if you have plenty of free time on your hand).they strive and portray themselves as an outstanding restaurant ,which they are not.the main issue was the service,even though our server was doing his best,I felt like he was overworked and had way too many tables.from the time we finished our appetizer till our main entres arrived it took a good 45 minutes.food quality was good.we did not get a chance to try their dessert because 1)our waiter did not offer it.he was in a rush to finish with our table 2) food came so late that my baby girl almost fell asleep.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Saturday night dinner was a wonderful ex ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Saturday night dinner was a wonderful experience. Our server was very professional, but engaging. The food was perfectly prepared and delicious. The jazz band playing in the background was nice for ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice upscale restaurant. Jazz trio ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Very nice upscale restaurant. Jazz trio playing in the background a nice touch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day - Above and Beyond

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mother's Day Brunch. It was a little bit more money compared to their normal Sunday Brunch. We were told that is was because it's a bigger buffet. It did not disappoint. The food was high quality and a beautiful selection. The service was more than anyone could ask for! The hotel it self is beautiful, after we were done we walked around for a bit. Definitely coming back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner and evening. Highly rec ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent dinner and evening. Highly recommended for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Marchand's

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Great evening at Marchand's. The food was wonderful and service was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not as good as it used to be

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was good, but for the same money used to be way better, had crab legs etc... a lot of breakfast items now, much simpler. The dessert station used to be amazing. There were only 3 items on it, and nothing to wow about.

Will go back as we have always loved the atmosphere and the food they serve is good. And our server Natalyia was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and best value found

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great find for value and quality of food. Limited menu for fixed course early dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, Excellent food. Complimen ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Great service, Excellent food. Compliments to the chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pricey but ok for a special occasion.

 
·Dined on April 10, 2016

A very nice Sunday brunch buffet but very pricey. Shirt and slacks required but folks in the dining room in beach clothes. Service and food was very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

The restaurant is one of the best dining ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

The restaurant is one of the best dining experiences that I have had. I must state that the meal was prepared by a chef, and that the meal was gourmet. Try the 3-course mon-fri from 5:30-6:30pm.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Easter Brunch

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Second year in a row we have enjoyed Easter Brunch at Marchands. Fantastic both years!! Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love coming here. Best brunch ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We always love coming here. Best brunch ever! Such a lovely Easter Sunday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.