HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 13 times today
Special offers available. See details

Marchand's Bar & Grill

4.4
638 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries (11)
  • Special Occasion (8)
  • Worth the Drive (8)
According to the City Guide Tampa Bay, "The “Grand Lady of the Bay” is home to Marchands Bar & Grill, a swank eatery that keeps vigil over the downtown marina. Remodeling efforts emulate the Mediterranean decor present throughout the Renaissance Vinoy Resort while utilizing rich woods and marbles. Keeping up with changes in guest expectations and healthier lifestyles, the menu also reflects a brand new era -- gone are the tired sauces and a heavier fare of yesteryear. In their place, the menu reflects the flavors of the Mediterranean with touches of other global influences, such as a macadamia-encrusted fish might be served with a papaya or mango salsa, while the lamb is redolent of the most virgin olive oil with touches of fresh rosemary. Careful preparation coupled with exquisite presentation renders each plate an experience. This is dining to be savored, not merely experienced."
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Sushi, Dessert
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am
Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(727) 824-8072
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Mark Heimann
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Beach Drive
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary Valet Parking for Restaurant Patrons
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Entertainment DJ Fri and Live Entertainment Sat, 10:00pm - 12:00am.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Celebrating a milestone, holding a business luncheon, executive dinner, bridal shower brunch, or baby shower. Book a private or semi-private room here and let our Restaurant Coordinator make sure your event a success!

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM
Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

What 638 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4  based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined a day ago

Everything my husband and I ordered was excellent - French onion soup, scallops, trout, key lime pie, and a strawberry/whipped cream/biscuit dessert. The chef really knows how to create taste sensations! What made the evening even more special, however, was the service - absolute perfection!

Report
Helpful
BarryT 
2.0  Dined 5 days ago

Very disappointed in the food quality and scope, value at $70/plate just not there. We stayed at the Vinoy years ago for a weekend package that included the Sunday Brunch and it was excellent at that time. What a downhill slide since then. We brought family to this brunch from out of town and bragged about the Vinoy Brunch.... big mistake and embarasing to say the least.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tampa)
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

Jeasus was the best server. Ask for Jesus.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tampa)
3.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

We saw the menu on-line and looked very good. When we got there they said they just changed the menu that evening. The Classic Menu was not very good; included mac and cheese, trout, and hanger steak. Very cheap meals and not really worth $19.25. If we go back, we will only have drinks.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

Marchands at The Vinoy was a lovely dining experience. I took my mother who especially appreciated the quiet atmosphere while dining as it enabled us to have a wonderful discussion without having to try to talk or yell above other diners or too loud music as is so often the case with some restaurants. We found that there was a menu for early dining that was both very good value and wonderfully delicious food . We enjoyed all three courses of our prefix meal. And even though we did order that special value menu, the service was as professional as if we had been the biggest spenders in the dining room. That was very nice and garnered an extra tip. Our table for two had a few over the water and gardens. The seating was very comfortable and the presentation of food on unique dishes was appreciated. The quality of the food was superb.

Report
Helpful
JSMilligan (Atlanta)
4.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

For this level of restaurant at this nice of a hotel, I expected a much more comprehensive menu. The selections are very limited, and were we not constrained by time, we would have gone looking for another restaurant. That said, the food was good and our server was quite pleasant. Our table had a good view, but the restaurant is large and not very intimate. Probably will not be back unless the menu is overhauled.

Report
Helpful
RobertP (Tampa)
4.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Always a good experience at Marchand's. Very nice setting and surroundings for taking a walk after dinner.

Report
Helpful
vipDiner83 (New England)
5.0  Dined on February 6, 2018

Amazing experience! The food and service were outstanding. Celebrated my wife's birthday. Started with a DR Cream & Sugar Porter--real nice. The Caesar salad and lobster chowder were a complete hit. The tenderloin and pot roast entrees were a home run! The 1925 vanilla creme brulee was perfect--thin crust and not overly sweet. Complements to the Chef. John was a very attentive server--outstanding! Highly recommend!!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tampa)
4.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

Restaurant was fine, unfortunately they didn’t have my open table reservation.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on January 12, 2018

Early bird wasn't an option, but the $19.25 price point from 5pm-6:30pm is what I'd recommend. I'm told its a three course meal that changes daily. Otherwise, priced very high for what you get. Better restaurants in the area for less with people watching & ambiance.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Indiana)
3.0  Dined on January 12, 2018

Disappointing! For 20 years we have celebrated the new year with a luncheon at The Vinoy. Unfortunately for the 1st times this was TOTAL failure. The menu had been considerably reduced from the past years. I ordered a bloody Mary. It took a long time to get it and they said they HAD to go find bloody Mary mix. When it came, it was without celery or olives. They said they were out of celery? We ordered a glass of chardonnay and the pour was less than a third glass. I ordered the lobster bisque and it was cold. When it came back from being warmed up, it was still cold. I refused it! The luncheon salad had croutons so hard they were inedible. We asked for the dessert menu and it also was small in selection. My friend ordered a pistachio dessert and it was embarrassingly scant. The past years the desserts have been sumptuous. Upon this we summoned the manager and stated our dissatisfaction with our lunch. They took off our wine. Something has changed to the detriment of this wonderful historical hotel dining experience!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on January 10, 2018

This was the best restaurant I went to while in Florida!

Report
Helpful
vipRosy (New England)
5.0  Dined on January 10, 2018

The salads were as fresh as if they were just picked from the garden. The sushi was delicious and so good we had it two nights in a row. Service is excellent with great ambience.

Report
Helpful
vipFoodie1 (Western NC)
5.0  Dined on January 9, 2018

Joined another couple for a delightful evening including dinner. The dining room is lovely with a central bar surrounded by table seating. Our server was informative, helpful in choosing meal courses and attentive without being intrusive. The lobster bisque was superb as was an 18 oz bone-in ribeye. The steak was the “Prime”, the evening meat special. The steak was perfectly cooked, tender, flavorful and served over risotto. A tenderloin was enjoyable as well. However, it arrived with a baked potato without any accompanying items such as butter, sour cream, etc. Their arrival took an excessive amount of time. Dinner salads accompanied by grilled shrimp were also good
Overall a very enjoyable dining experience. The only negatives were the delay in bringing the accompaniments for a baked potato and some noise from the bar patrons.
Would return for fine dining in an elegant setting.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on January 7, 2018

Everyone pulled out the stops for our anniversary after I noted it on OpenTable, first time that's ever worked! Menu is limited, but everything was delicious and carefully prepared. Aziz, our server, was amazing and made us feel as special as we did for our wedding. The historic ambience is just icing on the cake. If you're not staying at the hotel, take some time to check out the lobby and tiny museum.

Report
Helpful
Niralip (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on January 1, 2018

Delicious food. Historic hotel, so great ambiance. Brunch ends at 2:30pm. Servers are always in rush to close because they have to start the set up for dinner. So give yourself enough time to enjoy the brunch before you are rushed.

Report
Helpful
mb54 (Tampa)
1.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

This was our second time dining at Marchand's. For the second time I found it lacking both in selections and inspiration. The pretzel appetizer could be improved with a selection of homemade dipping sauces. The out-of-a-bottle mustard, Bleu cheese and pimento were disappointing. My wife asked the waiter his preference for the entre between the scallops and another selection. He recommended the scallops. It was an unusual pairing of scallops and a bed of greens and pulled pork. The dish was so salty that it was inedible. The waiter was gracious in taking the dish back. We thought it strange, however, that he said he had told the chef earlier in the evening that the scallop dish was salty. It begs the question 'why would you recommend something you knew was not up to par'?He replaced the scallops with a salad. The salad was literally drenched in oil. It was not eaten and taken removed from the bill.
The burger was forgettable. Burned bacon and a hard patty of ground beef. The fries were cold and not crisp.
Marchand's needs some help in the kitchen...

Report
Helpful
CherylF (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on December 28, 2017

We love the building, the staff and food are always excellent, and the $19.25 meal is a great bargain!

Report
Helpful
vipHelkat (Tampa)
2.0  Dined on December 22, 2017

Early bird special was a mistake. Heavy sauces, dry fish and chicken.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on December 16, 2017

The Saturday buffet is one of my favorites! Love, love, love how special the Vinoy makes you feel!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Orlando)
4.0  Dined on December 3, 2017

Really enjoyed Sunday brunch with my mother and my husband. Server was very polite and attentive and the eggs benedict was very good. Walking through this historic hotel alone is worth the trip.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on November 26, 2017

Perfect!
Lovely early evening dining experience and great value in an iconic hotel beautifully decorated for Christmas.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on November 25, 2017

We had a very nice dinner with fine service in a friendly atmosphere on a Saturday night. The noise level was a bit louder than ideal but not objectionable and the food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
vipSMD3 (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on November 25, 2017

Great restaurant and bar. Piano player as well, but not deafening loud. Grand old Florida hotel Art Deco, we enjoy it very much. New chef hired this year creates fresh and tasty food.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Naples)
5.0  Dined on November 17, 2017

We had another delightful dinner. We asked and were served by Olivia. She’s so helpful and friendly. She brought me a special desert to celebrate my birthday. We also had the pleasure of meeting Angel. She makes the best cosmopolitan that I’ve ever had. It was a wonderful way to celebrate my birthday and I thank my husband and the staff of the Marchand. I highly recommend the house Cabernet.

Report
Helpful
vipJKE9 (Washington DC)
4.0  Dined on November 11, 2017

It was our first time going to the Vinoy and were happy with the vintage atmosphere and live pianist. The food was very good and priced as would be expected. I had the salmon spread and the pot roast.
My one suggestion is to improve the service. Our server had to pull out a cheat sheet to offer us the one special (the other special was already sold out for a 7:30 reservation) and he was slow to bring drinks / water.

I guess another negative was some people at the bar watching college football treating the space like they would a sports bar.

Report
Helpful
vipalvinmc67 (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on November 10, 2017

Quite disappointing. The lobster soup was quite bland. Perhaps flavoring with a little sherry would have helped, but the product as served tasted canned. The pork special was poorly seasoned.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (London)
5.0  Dined on November 10, 2017

Always great service, from greeter to waiting staff, no one looks unhappy / tired/bored. Lovely food and the $19.25 menu is a steal!

Report
Helpful
Marchands (Tampa)
4.0  Dined on November 5, 2017

Beautiful dining room and we had a nice view of the Bay. Service was good, food was great. The A/C was a bit too cold even with a sweater.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on November 4, 2017

The food was excellent and our server was exceptional - Pietro (sp) was just lovely. We definitely will be returning.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
22