Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Marchand's Bar & Grill

According to the City Guide Tampa Bay, "The “Grand Lady of the Bay” is home to Marchands Bar & Grill, a swank eatery that keeps vigil over the downtown marina. Remodeling efforts emulate the Mediterranean decor present throughout the Renaissance Vinoy Resort while utilizing rich woods and marbles. Keeping up with changes in guest expectations and healthier lifestyles, the menu also reflects a brand new era -- gone are the tired sauces and a heavier fare of yesteryear. In their place, the menu reflects the flavors of the Mediterranean with touches of other global influences, such as a macadamia-encrusted fish might be served with a papaya or mango salsa, while the lamb is redolent of the most virgin olive oil with touches of fresh rosemary. Careful preparation coupled with exquisite presentation renders each plate an experience. This is dining to be savored, not merely experienced."

Renaissance Vinoy
501 5th Avenue N.E.
St. Petersburg, FL 33701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Sushi, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am
Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Beach Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 824-8072

Website:
http://www.marchandsbarandgrill.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment DJ Fri and Live Entertainment Sat, 10:00pm - 12:00am.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking for Restaurant Patrons

Executive Chef:
Mark Heimann

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Celebrating a milestone, holding a business luncheon, executive dinner, bridal shower brunch, or baby shower. Book a private or semi-private room here and let our Restaurant Coordinator make sure your event a success!

Marchand's Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (13)
Historic (12)
Good for a Date (9)
See All
Quiet Conversation (9)
Waterfront (6)
Scenic View (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Romantic (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Business Meals (4)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Live Music (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Fun (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Cozy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
580 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Alexandra provided outstanding service!
Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Donald our server was outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We went there to celebrate my birthday. Fun to sit on the porch first and have a drink. Then the restaurant has excellent service and food. The salmon was fabulous. We had a very beautiful evening.

Tags: Happy Hour, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great restaurant we will visit again shortly. We visited with adults and children and all enjoyed

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner..service was great..will be back..

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Brunch, Vegan, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 28, 2017

If you want ambience and history this is the place. The food for all 5 of us was atrocious. Good freshly prepared food is the easiest thing in the world especially since we had the only table in the restaurant. The grouper was old and fishy. The lamb was a nasty piece of mutton that was mushy. The salmon was fishy and tasted old. I've been coming here for 30 years. It seems like the last several times we noticed the menu changing to almost bizarre. The lunch menu has no thought into it. Nothing you would expect at a world class hotel. There are way too many fine restaurants steps away on beach drive. Do waste your money or time. Vinoy needs to make some big changes. I think Gordon Ramsey would agree.

Tags: Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 17, 2017

As always we enjoyed our anniversary dinner at Marchands. Good food, service and perfect evening out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I was rather disappointed by my last visit at the Marchand's Bar & Grill, on Apr 2 ,2017. I went there to celebrate my birthday with my friend and found the dining room rather impersonal, and not inviting at all with a freezing A/C blasting arctic air. We both ordered the 1925 classic menu, after being rushed by the waiter, don't know why, as I had made the reservation for 5.30 pm, and we were both on time and the room was rather empty. We both chose the salad for a starter, which arrived, with a couple of small tired tomatoes, and wilted green, like it was prepared in advance and with a mustard sauce, there was no wonder that the whole salad did not look fresh. Mustard will wilt salad leave, if it sit too long....Then, we both had the braised short rib, which was beef and not pork like stated by the waiter, who did not even know what a braised short rib was, when asked..The entrees were supposed to come accompanied with cannellini ragu, kasha, natural jus. .... Well, there was hardly any trace of kasha!...Finally, for dessert I had the Nutella Bavarian Torte, and my friend the Banana Pudding Parfait which were both too cold, like they were coming out of the fridge and consequently we could not taste the flavor....
Well, let me tell you, that after that kind of experience, this will be my first and last time in that restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I love this place! It's a great half-way point for people in Tampa to meet people south of the Sunshine Skyway. The staff is kind and professional, and the food is tops.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Lovely setting, historic hotel. Food was good. Quiet that night. Some of us took advantage of the fixed price menu, limited choice.

Tags: Historic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 18, 2017

disappointed having been there many times, menu is significantly reduced, added buffet was meage. lots of children , a hotel restaurant nothing special anymore.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had a quiet window table which offered a great view of the outdoor lounging area. Very relaxing. We didn't realize the restaurant offered a dinner buffet for $35/pp. Great value...it offered a choice of 3 salads, 2 main entrees (fish or beef), 2 sides, a pasta bar (with multiple choices of pasta & toppings...cooked right on the spot) and 4 desserts. Beef tenderloin was extremely tender and cooked to perfection. Pedro, our server, did a wonderful job...he was very attentive without being overbearing. We were pleasantly surprised...will certainly go back. Best value for your buck! :-)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I took my dessert home as take-out and enjoyed the luxury of being able to lick the bowl.

Tags: Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Beautiful historical location. Excellent service. Was little busy at dinner time but we still received excellent service. John was our server Very sweet and promt. I would recommend to try their 1925 menu. Great deal Just for $19.25 u get choise of entree desert and starter.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 10, 2017

A first time dining visit to Marchand's Bar & Grill and it was very good. The filet was cooked perfectly, and nicely seasoned. The scallops were also done just right - nicely cartelized, bronzed and crispy on top. The risotto was good and not too much of it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Found the Beef greasy other than that we had an excellent evening ,bartender was great , and the food did have great flavor . Burce

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was good but noise from a large, very loud group made dining unpleasant . Lots of screams and shouts which seemed out of place for a nice restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Fabulous everything. We always dine here whenever we are visiting St Pete.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We've eaten there many times before and it's always been excellent. We brought friends this time and it was disappointingly average. Hope this isn't a downward trend.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always enjoy stopping in for brunch when in St. Pete on business. Their syrup is the best!

Tags: Waterfront, Historic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Casual, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always a nice experience. Great service and peaceful environment. We went for breakfast this time. Reasonable prices off the menu though the buffet was a tad high at $24.95. There was the usual breakfast fare as well as several made to order options available. The eggs, bacon and fruit were the highlights.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The salmon was excellent, service was great. Everyone loved their meal! The only negative was the noise level. Very loud even though we were seated away from other tables.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was my first time in St Pete's so I was not aware that this was just a hotel's dining option. I thought it was it's own restaurant. They did not have a table ready and made us wait 30 minutes even though it was booked in advance though open table. The food was not great so we ended up requesting the bar menu to order more of your classic american style food... Expensive, not enjoyable, would not recommend for anyone looking for a date restaurant around st pete's. PS had to ask for my check repeatedly-- hate that...

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The ambiance and service were first rate. The restaurant was inviting and relaxing. We wil definitely visit again.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We love the hotel and have stayed there many times. Disappointed in the food this time. The food was Very rich and salty. Expensive for what you get. Great service though!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 19, 2017

One of the best "secrets" of St. Petersburg is the classic dining menu at Marchands. It is only served from 5-6:30 pm each day. It is a 3 course meal of fantastic food. In honor of the year they opened, this meal costs only $19.25. The service was attentive without being oppressive and the atmosphere can be varied. There is private room dining, romantic tables for two, or room for a group. I would highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good food, good service, overall great experience...just overpriced for what you get.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The pre-fix dinner is one of our favorites when we are in the area for theater@ the Mahaffey, or other venues. Great wine list. Beautiful decor. Not noisy, which is extra special.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went specifically for the vanilla pecan waffles and they were fantastic. The nuts were a perfect foil for the crunchy waffles and vanilla sauce. The Vinoy's house made sausages were also a hit. So meaty and satisfying. Combine all of that with the gracious service and impressive ambiance. What a wonderful experience all around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 4, 2017

really enjoyed the experience and have already recommended it to friends

Tags: Private Room, Organic, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Breakfast--disappointed no brunch available today. Pleasant setting, attentive staff. Ordinary breakfast. Would return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

What an incredible brunch! We were celebrating our New Year's Eve wedding and had our immediate family of 12 persons there. Everything was perfect. The service. The atmosphere and the incredible food offering. Huge fan of this brunch! Thanks!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Lovely setting in a charming and historic hotel. The room is grand and reminiscent of a large ballroom. On this occasion the grandeur was offset by a somewhat noisy and raucous collection of patrons around the bar area. In addition, our waiter disappeared for long stretches--to order a second drink I had to leave the table and find someone to take my order.
The food was excellent--scallops over risotto were quite good. The Delmonico steak was tender, cooked as ordered, and flavorful. Squash blossom soup and mussels were very satisfying appetizers.
In fairness, there had been 5 weddings that day! Staff were spread thin as were the hotel facilities. And the guests were "festive". Would give it another chance.

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great service and delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very relaxing atmosphere with old Victorian charm. I found that after coming here for 15 years for a yearly reunion, some of the fare has been compromised. There was a wonderful assortment of breads that have always been part of the charm of lunching here that had been discontinued. It seems as if the menu has been downsized. However, the service and food were still excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Marchand's is our anniversary place. Recently, my wife and I celebrated our 47 anniversary and stayed at the Vinoy for 3 nights. Our meals were superb (as always) and our waiter, Jesus, made it extra special with his entree and wine recommendations and his friendly personal service. (He even sent up a personal anniversary gift to our room the next day.... (How thoughtful) ). The breakfast chef was superb in his breakfast offerings and we were pampered by the fine room service from the friendly professional staff....
Five star all the way!
Like I said, it's our anniversary place...
"Is it next year yet"??

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Nice breakfast buffet with spectacularly good breakfast potatoes, delicious ham, ripe strawberries (actually ripe!), good coffee, fresh orange juice, and good friendly service from Janice. Thoroughly enjoyed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

An elegant setting with special attention to details. The food is creatively presented and flavorful. It makes for a special holiday meal that our family has enjoyed for several years now which has become a tradition for us making many wonderful rich memories!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The server from Peru - I think his name was Pedro - was outstanding.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great experience, fantastic service & beautiful location!
Our first experience at the bar, very friendly bartender & excellent manhattans!
Next, a table for 2 with a window view of beautiful St Petersburg! Great service & excellent dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.