About Marchand's Bar & Grill

Renaissance Vinoy
501 5th Avenue N.E.
St. Petersburg, FL 33701
View Larger Map

According to the City Guide Tampa Bay, "The “Grand Lady of the Bay” is home to Marchands Bar & Grill, a swank eatery that keeps vigil over the downtown marina. Remodeling efforts emulate the Mediterranean decor present throughout the Renaissance Vinoy Resort while utilizing rich woods and marbles. Keeping up with changes in guest expectations and healthier lifestyles, the menu also reflects a brand new era -- gone are the tired sauces and a heavier fare of yesteryear. In their place, the menu reflects the flavors of the Mediterranean with touches of other global influences, such as a macadamia-encrusted fish might be served with a papaya or mango salsa, while the lamb is redolent of the most virgin olive oil with touches of fresh rosemary. Careful preparation coupled with exquisite presentation renders each plate an experience. This is dining to be savored, not merely experienced."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Sushi, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am
Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Beach Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 824-8072

Website:
http://www.marchandsbarandgrill.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment DJ Fri and Live Entertainment Sat, 10:00pm - 12:00am.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking for Restaurant Patrons

Executive Chef:
Mark Heimann

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Celebrating a milestone, holding a business luncheon, executive dinner, bridal shower brunch, or baby shower. Book a private or semi-private room here and let our Restaurant Coordinator make sure your event a success!

Marchand's Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Tampa / Central Florida West
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Overall
St. Petersburg
4 More
Best Service
St. Petersburg
Best Ambiance
St. Petersburg
Best Value
St. Petersburg
Special Occasion
St. Petersburg
Best Restaurants in St. Petersburg ›

special occasion (27)
great for brunch (17)
romantic (16)
See All
good for groups (15)
fit for foodies (14)
scenic view (11)
neighborhood gem (9)
great for lunch (8)
notable wine list (7)
great for outdoor dining (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (3)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
493 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely flawless from beginning to en ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely flawless from beginning to end. Helpful staff, fantastic food, creative flavor profiles, beautifully plated.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Food was very good. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great experience. Food was very good. We were eating late and wanted to split an entree for which the waiter was very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is extraordinary for Sun ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This restaurant is extraordinary for Sunday Brunch, easily the best we have found in the Bradenton-St. Petersburg-Sarasota areas. We enjoy sitting there for three hours, sampling the myriad of incredible offerings that they have. I highly recommend it, but realize at $45 per person, the heavenly experience won't come cheaply. Still well worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My steak was medium rather than medium r ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My steak was medium rather than medium rare, starters were both delicious. Wait staff was excellent. The dining room is very large giving the individual tables a spacious feeling.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I visited Marchlands on o ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My husband and I visited Marchlands on our anniversary, and the staff went out of their way to make an always enjoyable experience even more memorable. The new 1925 menu was even better than the last.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Nice. Was not crowded. The tables ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very Nice. Was not crowded. The tables were spaced. There was food for every taste. The mimosa were really good. The service was very prompt. It was a great opportunity to eat there. I would add a piano player or a harp playing. Thanks

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Of the four of us, two meals were fine. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Of the four of us, two meals were fine. The other two meals of a lamb entree were terrible, and in fact one guest got terribly Ill when sh got home. The other guest who received the dish only ate two fork fills and stopped.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

A St Pete gem, no weaknesses, ask for Do ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

A St Pete gem, no weaknesses, ask for Donald, great server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

service was outstanding. food was expert ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

service was outstanding. food was expertly prepared and presented.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak overlooked but received great appe ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Steak overlooked but received great appetizer while waiting. Disappointed that not right first time for a fancy restaurant.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The buffet had very few choices, the bee ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The buffet had very few choices, the beef was not good. Very limited desserts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Portions were overpriced and sparse. Pre ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Portions were overpriced and sparse. Preparation was mediocre. Very limited menu. We got there early, 7:30 pm, place was nearly empty. Ordered the Delmonico steak. Waiter came back in 5 mins and said they were out of the Delmonico steak. How could you be out of one of only 7 entre's on the dinner menu at 7:30 with no one in the restaurant. Asked if they had calamari for an appetizer and was told no. Next day Noticed calamari on lunch menu but not offered at dinner. WTH? Overall very disappointed. Only bright spot was "Old Fashion " cocktail was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Pre Theatre Dining Gem

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We went to this restaurant for the first time and plan on returning. The service was excellent. Our waiter was most accommodating. They have a good local beer selection. I enjoyed one local brew from the area. My wife ordered the Old Fashion cocktail which as done very well. (She would know!) We each enjoyed the early bird fixed price dinner selections. They bring a nice basket of fresh bread and corn bread muffins to the table. We both had the salad listed on the menu . I had the beef bourguignon. This came as a very healthy portion. My wife had the salmon and she just raved about it. Even though our bellies were full, we each had a dessert. My wife had the cheesecake and I had the chocolate mousse. Not sure why is took us so long to dine here but we shall return. Our kudos to the chef!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good food with not so good service

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

this is in general a good restaurant(if you have plenty of free time on your hand).they strive and portray themselves as an outstanding restaurant ,which they are not.the main issue was the service,even though our server was doing his best,I felt like he was overworked and had way too many tables.from the time we finished our appetizer till our main entres arrived it took a good 45 minutes.food quality was good.we did not get a chance to try their dessert because 1)our waiter did not offer it.he was in a rush to finish with our table 2) food came so late that my baby girl almost fell asleep.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Saturday night dinner was a wonderful ex ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Saturday night dinner was a wonderful experience. Our server was very professional, but engaging. The food was perfectly prepared and delicious. The jazz band playing in the background was nice for ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice upscale restaurant. Jazz trio ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Very nice upscale restaurant. Jazz trio playing in the background a nice touch.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day - Above and Beyond

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mother's Day Brunch. It was a little bit more money compared to their normal Sunday Brunch. We were told that is was because it's a bigger buffet. It did not disappoint. The food was high quality and a beautiful selection. The service was more than anyone could ask for! The hotel it self is beautiful, after we were done we walked around for a bit. Definitely coming back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner and evening. Highly rec ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent dinner and evening. Highly recommended for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Marchand's

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Great evening at Marchand's. The food was wonderful and service was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not as good as it used to be

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was good, but for the same money used to be way better, had crab legs etc... a lot of breakfast items now, much simpler. The dessert station used to be amazing. There were only 3 items on it, and nothing to wow about.

Will go back as we have always loved the atmosphere and the food they serve is good. And our server Natalyia was great.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and best value found

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great find for value and quality of food. Limited menu for fixed course early dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, Excellent food. Complimen ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Great service, Excellent food. Compliments to the chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pricey but ok for a special occasion.

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

A very nice Sunday brunch buffet but very pricey. Shirt and slacks required but folks in the dining room in beach clothes. Service and food was very good.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

The restaurant is one of the best dining ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

The restaurant is one of the best dining experiences that I have had. I must state that the meal was prepared by a chef, and that the meal was gourmet. Try the 3-course mon-fri from 5:30-6:30pm.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Easter Brunch

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Second year in a row we have enjoyed Easter Brunch at Marchands. Fantastic both years!! Would definitely recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love coming here. Best brunch ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We always love coming here. Best brunch ever! Such a lovely Easter Sunday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommend the coffee encrusted fi ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Highly recommend the coffee encrusted filet. The service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love This Place

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

After having a pricey, though absolutely wonderful brunch there a few weeks ago, we tried this restaurant for dinner, and it exceeded our expectations. We took advantage of the three-course $19.25 menu before 6:30 p.m., and it proved to be a great value. This is a first-class restaurant in every respect in a lovely, first-class hotel. And valet parking for those who eat the restaurant is free.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the 1925 Menu - what a deal!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

We ate at the Vinoy Renaissance's Marchand's Bar & Grill, with friends as a party of four last Wednesday evening. Marchand's has a special 1925 menu, to remember the opening of the Vinoy. The three course meal offered a choice for each, for example: the starters was a soup and a salad of heirloom tomatoes, entrée was a crusted Salmon or a short rib, dessert was cheesecake or a chocolate mousse. Everyone was quite pleased with their selections.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hotel pricey, but taste is always King, ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Hotel pricey, but taste is always King, and that's what counts. You can never go wrong with the scallop dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Expected better from the Vinoy

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I ordered soup, sandwich, and a cocktail for lunch. The soup was not hot. How can restaurants serve soup that is not the right temperature, use a thermometer especially at the Vinoy. The lobster grilled cheese was good. The description of the cocktail in the menu gave you a choice of alcohol. The waitress said no but the menu clearly stated. It will be s long while before we come back, expected better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great Way to Spend a Sunday Afternoon

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

A very quite and lazy summer brunch with great food and service

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Downton Abbey Experience

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Felt like a Downton Abbey experience. Romantic, glamorous, scenic in every aspect of the word, tastedul wine list, extraordinary palate pleaser, well informed staff, and esquisite decor.

Guess you can tell we loved the experience.

Five Star all the way!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

A great meal served by very a good server. Many choices to pick from in downtown St Pete. This is definitely a great special occasion place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lunch

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

The Caesar salad was just ok. Very bland and not appealing to the eye.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Just OK

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Very Expensive. Soup was excellent, service good but not great. My wife and I were served stale chocolate cake for desert. Lousy way to end the meal. Overall, a poor value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Went here for Valentines Brunch

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Took a star off the review for two reasons: lack of someone to play the grand piano in the dining room on this romantic and special occasion; and, our server failed to show us the small menu of items you can order from the kitchen that included French toast, waffles, shrimp n grits, and others. Saw the menu only at the end as we asked about waffles. Really missed out on these items. But, the items we did have access to were delicious and well prepared.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service by Heather and Steve. Amaz ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great service by Heather and Steve.

Amazing choices for the St Valentine's day brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Far from fine dining

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I went to Marchand's for the first time hoping for a romantic Valentine's Day meal. We were sat next to the bar, which was overflowing with people and extremely noisy. We had a constant stream of people walking by our table....with the exception of service staff who were few and far between. In fact...my water glass sat empty the majority of my meal, and was never refilled. Never before had I been in a "fine dining" establishment and had that happen.

The food was just 'okay'...nothing special. Granted, the menu was limited to the Valentine's Day prix fixe selections, but the quality just wasn't what one would expect for the price. The salads had no flavor (my wife and I ordered different salads, but both had the same impression). My lamb wasn't bad, but had no seasoning. Combined with the basic gravy and potatoes it was served with, it reminded me of eating a mediocre pot roast. My wife ordered the scallops. She was satisfied with the way they were cooked, but again, neither they nor the risotto on which they were served had much flavor.

The wine was pretty good.

We skipped dessert, dashed any hopes we had for a romantic meal, and went to a Starbucks on the way home for coffee and a sweet.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Valentines Day

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Phenomenal food and service. We were given a table for two overlooking a window so we could view the water, park and sunset on Valentine's Day and it was absolutely perfect. Highly recommend for special occasions. The Jazz band was great too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.