About Marchand's Bar & Grill

Renaissance Vinoy
501 5th Avenue N.E.
St. Petersburg, FL 33701
View Larger Map

According to the City Guide Tampa Bay, "The “Grand Lady of the Bay” is home to Marchands Bar & Grill, a swank eatery that keeps vigil over the downtown marina. Remodeling efforts emulate the Mediterranean decor present throughout the Renaissance Vinoy Resort while utilizing rich woods and marbles. Keeping up with changes in guest expectations and healthier lifestyles, the menu also reflects a brand new era -- gone are the tired sauces and a heavier fare of yesteryear. In their place, the menu reflects the flavors of the Mediterranean with touches of other global influences, such as a macadamia-encrusted fish might be served with a papaya or mango salsa, while the lamb is redolent of the most virgin olive oil with touches of fresh rosemary. Careful preparation coupled with exquisite presentation renders each plate an experience. This is dining to be savored, not merely experienced."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Sushi, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 11:30am
Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Beach Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 824-8072

Website:
http://www.marchandsbarandgrill.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment DJ Fri and Live Entertainment Sat, 10:00pm - 12:00am.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking for Restaurant Patrons

Executive Chef:
Mark Heimann

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Celebrating a milestone, holding a business luncheon, executive dinner, bridal shower brunch, or baby shower. Book a private or semi-private room here and let our Restaurant Coordinator make sure your event a success!

Marchand's Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Historic (8)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Romantic (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Cozy (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Waterfront (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Casual (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Business Meals (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
People Watching (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
520 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The soup was very good , but the lamb ra ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The soup was very good , but the lamb ragu and the beef were both too salty to the point of not being able to eat it. The banana pudding was mediocre. Other than the soup, a very disappointing evening. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We have had family Thanksgiving here for ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have had family Thanksgiving here for several years and it does not disappoint. We will be back. Great food and good service in a beautiful setting

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a nice visit. We can only for des ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

It was a nice visit. We can only for desert but it was nice.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great service and fantastic food. Peopl ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service and fantastic food. People were very friendly and valet parking was helpful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible bartender RJ is in the speake ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Incredible bartender RJ is in the speakeasy. He could make everything I threw at him- even a true sloe gin from France. I was very amazed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food here seems very hit or miss. O ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The food here seems very hit or miss. Our dining experience (on our two year anniversary too) was not great. We did not cause a scene regarding the below as that is not my wife and I's personality. We learn from our mistakes and move on. First off, the menu on 'Open Table' is not what was being served; I marvel at restaurants that keep their menus up to date with their third party partners. We ordered two steaks (Filet and a Delmonico style). Both originally were over cooked (both ordered 'medium', and both served 'well' and cold). The Delmonico was called out to be overcooked by the server himself (very impressed with him noticing and taking it upon himself to correct). Both steaks were not seasoned at all. The new Delmonico that was brought out was cooked to the correct temperature (medium) and was warm, but the flavor was still very bad. The sides with each steak were the same; fingerling potatoes (just average flavor), charred mini carrots (those were cooked very good and had better than average flavor), and some type of puree (it was of average flavor). The appetizer (gulf shrimp) we just okay; nothing special there. After two steak dinners, and one appetizer, our meal pre-tip was over $100. It was def. not the servers fault for the lack of flavor, but the kitchen at Marchand's is very lack-luster with flavor and creativity, and the prices were waaaaaaay to high for the quality. I'm not a steak connoisseur by any means, but if you want steak, you will by far get a better value and a much better flavored meal at an Outback (I mean that in all seriousness). I suggest if you want a nice steak dinner with a similar venue, go to either Ruth Chris in downtown St. Pete, or pay a hair more and go to Rococos in downtown St. Pete (this was our first anniverary dinner and the bill was about $250, but it was well worth it). I will not be returning to Marchands on the food flavor and value alone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Brunch had a good selection of seafood, ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Brunch had a good selection of seafood, carving stations, breads and breakfast items. Everything was prepared appropriately. The service was very good. Very spacious space. We enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I dined twice at Marchand's in the recen ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I dined twice at Marchand's in the recent past and loved it, so I suggested my family celebrate our mother's birthday there. This time, it was quite different and disappointing. The food was ok, but the swordfish was simply grilled without seasoning and it was dry. My brother's meal was not what he ordered and then was told it would be 20 minutes before his would be ready, by the time we would almost be finished with ours. The Coca Cola refill did not arrive until we were almost ready to leave. Finally, the staff asked if we were celebrating anything special at the check-in desk, and we said it was mom's birthday, but that was the extent of it. They just put a note in the computer, no further follow-through. An off-day I believe, but unfortunately the day we had a special celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

ate here 2 nights. both waiters great a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 7, 2016

ate here 2 nights. both waiters great and host was exceptional(Assan). felt very welcomed!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

great service, weird food. Too many ingr ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 27, 2016

great service, weird food. Too many ingredients that don't work together.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Awesome Sunday brunch!! One of the very ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Awesome Sunday brunch!! One of the very best I've ever been to in 40 years of dining. Multiple carving stations, an omelet station, seafood station, assorted hot breakfast meats & sides, cheese & charcuterie station with fancy jams, tasty pastries, delicious dessert bar, champagne & mimosas & specialy coffees, and the two best features ... a fabulous build-your-own unlimited Bloody Mary Bar with lots of interesting add-ins ( for $5, well worth the small charge ) ... AND ... the option to order gourmet/specialty small plates from the kitchen ( delicious, unlimited, no extra charge ). Fabulous!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have a friend visiting for his 50th bi ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I have a friend visiting for his 50th birthday who wanted "brunch" as the celebratory meal. We could not have asked for a more festive, delicious experience, and our server, Natasha, was lovely. The price tag may seem hefty, but for what you get, it's actually a value. Thank you, Marchands and Natasha, for helping me make a very special day for my dear friend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The 1925 menu is a great deal and inclu ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The 1925 menu is a great deal and includes an appetizer, a choice of three entrées, and a choice of two desserts for $19.25. It is only available from 5 o'clock to 6 o'clock. The setting is lovely in the Vinoy Hotel at the end of the very popular Beach Drive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been before and had to celebrate my ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Have been before and had to celebrate my wifes birthday. Chose the 1925 Special which was superbly cooked, seasoned and served by our outstanding waiter named Jesus. The wine pairing was a full bodied Merlot which was excellent! For those special occasions could not recommend more highly.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brunch is outstanding! Highly recomm ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The brunch is outstanding! Highly recommend it : )

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We only wanted to order from the menu, n ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We only wanted to order from the menu, not the brunch, and they did not inform us there was a menu. I knew it from online. They seemed disappointed when we requested the menu. Brunch would have cost over a hundred for the two of us. We had a great breakfast for just over forty, incl tip. We informed waitress we were not staying in the hotel and found out as we exited parking that she should have validated our parking stub. Turns out, the parking person let us go on that. We stayed around and had a drink on one of the verandas and the setting was very nice. Unless you have a huge appetite, go with the menu. The brunch is required after 11:30 on sunday.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

I had never been there before. The menu ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I had never been there before. The menu seemed a little limited, but the quality was good. My date loved the Grouper. Good service despite a little mix-up on the order.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wait staff was great and very attentive ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Wait staff was great and very attentive facility was beautiful and food tasted great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat at the bar. I found the bartende ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We sat at the bar. I found the bartenders unprofessional with frequent lame attempt at humor. I found few items on the menu that were tempting. The meal was tepid. The facility on the other hand is beautiful in its high ceilings and intricate design. The background music was very nice. It's an ok place for a drink if you don't sit at the bar, and I'd eat at one of the other great restaurants in St Petersburg.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Good food. Took a bit long. The menu was ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Good food. Took a bit long. The menu was small. Lots of folks around us were ordering from the bar menu instead. The hostess was really cool and super nice though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great Sunday Buffett!! Will definitely b ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great Sunday Buffett!! Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Waiter forgot us. Did not bring wine I ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Waiter forgot us. Did not bring wine I ordered until I had to ask again. Left my water glass empty. Served lamb that was strong tasting and was in a stew instead of lamb chops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Amazing food, service and atmosphere ... ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Amazing food, service and atmosphere ..... more than expected at a restaurant that's a part of a Hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food, service and ambiance. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Outstanding food, service and ambiance. A favorite for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The classic 1925 menu posted online was ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The classic 1925 menu posted online was not the one we were offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Very good ratio Quality/price I believe ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very good ratio Quality/price I believe that sums up our whole dining experience. As members of the Palladium theater we find it very convenient to have diner at your place before the show.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value5

Absolutely flawless from beginning to en ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Absolutely flawless from beginning to end. Helpful staff, fantastic food, creative flavor profiles, beautifully plated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Food was very good. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great experience. Food was very good. We were eating late and wanted to split an entree for which the waiter was very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is extraordinary for Sun ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 17, 2016

This restaurant is extraordinary for Sunday Brunch, easily the best we have found in the Bradenton-St. Petersburg-Sarasota areas. We enjoy sitting there for three hours, sampling the myriad of incredible offerings that they have. I highly recommend it, but realize at $45 per person, the heavenly experience won't come cheaply. Still well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My steak was medium rather than medium r ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2016

My steak was medium rather than medium rare, starters were both delicious. Wait staff was excellent. The dining room is very large giving the individual tables a spacious feeling.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I visited Marchlands on o ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 12, 2016

My husband and I visited Marchlands on our anniversary, and the staff went out of their way to make an always enjoyable experience even more memorable. The new 1925 menu was even better than the last.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Nice. Was not crowded. The tables ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very Nice. Was not crowded. The tables were spaced. There was food for every taste. The mimosa were really good. The service was very prompt. It was a great opportunity to eat there. I would add a piano player or a harp playing. Thanks

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Of the four of us, two meals were fine. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Of the four of us, two meals were fine. The other two meals of a lamb entree were terrible, and in fact one guest got terribly Ill when sh got home. The other guest who received the dish only ate two fork fills and stopped.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

A St Pete gem, no weaknesses, ask for Do ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 3, 2016

A St Pete gem, no weaknesses, ask for Donald, great server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

service was outstanding. food was expert ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 27, 2016

service was outstanding. food was expertly prepared and presented.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak overlooked but received great appe ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Steak overlooked but received great appetizer while waiting. Disappointed that not right first time for a fancy restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The buffet had very few choices, the bee ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The buffet had very few choices, the beef was not good. Very limited desserts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Portions were overpriced and sparse. Pre ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 6, 2016

Portions were overpriced and sparse. Preparation was mediocre. Very limited menu. We got there early, 7:30 pm, place was nearly empty. Ordered the Delmonico steak. Waiter came back in 5 mins and said they were out of the Delmonico steak. How could you be out of one of only 7 entre's on the dinner menu at 7:30 with no one in the restaurant. Asked if they had calamari for an appetizer and was told no. Next day Noticed calamari on lunch menu but not offered at dinner. WTH? Overall very disappointed. Only bright spot was "Old Fashion " cocktail was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Pre Theatre Dining Gem

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 4, 2016

We went to this restaurant for the first time and plan on returning. The service was excellent. Our waiter was most accommodating. They have a good local beer selection. I enjoyed one local brew from the area. My wife ordered the Old Fashion cocktail which as done very well. (She would know!) We each enjoyed the early bird fixed price dinner selections. They bring a nice basket of fresh bread and corn bread muffins to the table. We both had the salad listed on the menu . I had the beef bourguignon. This came as a very healthy portion. My wife had the salmon and she just raved about it. Even though our bellies were full, we each had a dessert. My wife had the cheesecake and I had the chocolate mousse. Not sure why is took us so long to dine here but we shall return. Our kudos to the chef!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good food with not so good service

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 29, 2016

this is in general a good restaurant(if you have plenty of free time on your hand).they strive and portray themselves as an outstanding restaurant ,which they are not.the main issue was the service,even though our server was doing his best,I felt like he was overworked and had way too many tables.from the time we finished our appetizer till our main entres arrived it took a good 45 minutes.food quality was good.we did not get a chance to try their dessert because 1)our waiter did not offer it.he was in a rush to finish with our table 2) food came so late that my baby girl almost fell asleep.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.