Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Manzanita is a celebration Northern California Cuisine focusing on rustic cooking techniques, local produce and regional farms.

13031 Ritz Carlton Highlands Court
Truckee, CA 96161
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 267

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 562-3050

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $5.00 when dining in Manzanita.

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room can seat up to 34 people. We require a minimum of $1500 during the week and $2500 on weekends to book this room. Please contact for reservations.

Private Party Contact:
Cher Roesch: (530) 562-3050

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Scenic View (21)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Romantic (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Cozy (11)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Fun (6)
Healthy (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Authentic (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Live Music (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Casual (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
529 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Expected a LOT more for a Ritz Carlton. It's a long drive up the mountain from south Tahoe for such a disappointing meal. The waitress was rude and abrupt and interested only in another table of fur and diamond clad diners. The clam chowder was nothing but onions and celery in cream. The chicken pot pie was huge, watery and reeked of rancid truffle oil. We received four limp stalks of asparagus for $12. Long drive, weird food, rude help, very costly. My advice, skip it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We 've had lunch many times on the terrace at the Ritz-Carlton here and it's always fantastic. This was our first stay at the hotel and it's just excellent. Felt quite European! Dinner at Manzanita was not as excellent as we hoped. It was their first or second evening of their Fall menu and, perhaps not unexpectedly, it needs some tweaking. The steak I had was good but not as tender or as flavorful as one would expect. There was an offering of roasted carrots- heavily spiced and blackened but they were crunchy, not tender-crisp as one would hope! I think the kitchen/chef needs to work a bit more on finessing their offerings. The wait staff/ service was excellent. The Manzanita wisely hires young adults from other countries for summer employment and they are eager, polished hard workers- the hotel does a great job of providing training for them. A win-win all around! Definitely will return. With good feedback, I'm sure quality will continue to improve!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Very good food and the service was excellent. Would absolutely go back next time we're in Tahoe.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great service and ambiance! Beautiful place to dine .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Very attentive service. Limited but very good menu with several unusual (good) items.
Pet friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Manzanita is hands down the best high end dining in lake Tahoe. It has a menu that is great for foodies and anyone that appreciates creative dining and a satisfying meal. The service is great and the environment is beautiful. I highly recommend this if you are going to Lake Tahoe.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 3, 2017

A Must go. staff is very knowledgeable and friendly . Management is second to non at the Hotel and restaurant .... A Must if you are in the Northstar area....

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great food taste but a little overpriced for what you get. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Anniversary dinner for two couples. With reservation, seated immediately on a busy Friday night. Sara was our waitress and she was excellent in every respect. Each course for all four people was outstanding. French onion soup, scallops and tomahawk of pork all agreed were the best they had ever had. Restaurant comped a nice dessert for all of us for our anniversary. This restaurant is expensive, but for a special occasion, the setting, service and food are worth it. They even validated our valet parking ticket. We do wish this first class restaurant had a recommended dress code - - something like long pants and shirt with a collar for men - - men with t-shirts with all kinds of things written on them are not appropriate for this type restaurant and detracted from an otherwise wonderful experience.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Outstanding service, food and drink. One of the things we love about Manzinita is that the menu changes every year ... and every year it seems to get better. Absolutely outstanding experience all around!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Excellent experience with all areas! From the moment we were greeted and ending with exceptional service from our waitress Kristen! Thank you for the wonderful service! Will recommend to family and friends! We will be back!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Manazinta did not disappoint. As with all Ritz properties, The customer service was impeccable. Brandon was our waiter and he was AMAZING. He was knowledgeable, engaging, attentive and truly made my birthday dinner feel like a special occasion. The chef prepared interesting and tasty entrees, the wine list by the glass was nice, the views outstanding. We are locals and came out for a special dinner and we were so glad we choose Manzanita.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2017

The food was outstanding! Especially the scallops and duck entrees.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Stayed at the Ritz for our 5 year anniversary and had a wonderful dinner. We ordered the rolls with 4 dipping sauces, the filet mignon, and pork tomahawk. Everything was delicious and the service was excellent. They brought us over a special dessert for our anniversary - a lava cake with marshmallow ice cream. The whole evening was a great celebration.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Always a great experience, and now some new, creative menu choices

Tags: Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The evening started out great. Good service and good explanation of food choices from the server.
It went abit downhill when we got our entrées. My husbands Tomahawk pork chop was very very small and the server did not check in until we were almost finished.

A beautiful spot good flavors and a nice staff will encourage me to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

This restaurant is beautiful- wonderful wood beams and aesthetic touches throughout. We had a window table and it was lovely and quiet. Service was excellent by all staff, even down to the waiter who served the water and asked if we wanted lemons or limes in our glass. Food very good- halibut terrific. One thing I would change is the bread option- the only one on the menu or offered- $8 for 6 potato rolls with various toppings. I understand changing for bread when you offer those options, but would have preferred just some local bread.
Great night-

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Our best meal in the Tahoe area! See photo of amazing Sttaeberries and Basil dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Fun, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Did not have our Open Table reservation. There were NO OTHER diners. They had just stopped serving breakfast, which was why we were there. $10 parking too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

12th anniversary celebration at Manzanita. Great food, amazing hospitality and a terrific setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 5, 2017

every year my husband and I come here for a date night when we stay with family at Donner Lake. The past couple years we were underwhelmed by the food. This year we gave it one more shot because we love the ambiance. We were not disappointed. We found out The Ritz brought their chef up from the half moon bay location, which was a great decision on their part. The quality of food was much improved and we can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Breath of fresh air in North Lake Tahoe. Beautiful restaurant with spectacular food and service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food was great- staff was actually annoying for dinner- brunch a few days later had ONE server that was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We spent some time at the bar before our reservation. Mike is great! Check out some of the local specialty cocktails. Well worth the effort. Dinner was creative and delicious. We sat outside so the noise level was never a factor. Not sure about inside during dinner. Great spot if you are in the Tahoe area.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Very disappointed. I expected a lot more from a Ritz Carlton signature restaurant property. Ambiance is ok. Mo view. More like a dressed up Applebees. Don't dress up. It's very casual. You can go in shorts. Food was small portions, too salty. We had the scallops, I had the Alaskan halibut. Way over priced. These were the only seafood choices available, so if you like seafood, this is not the place for you. Service was fair. Decided to ask to get the scallops to go thinking that the server would ask us how we liked it or if something was wrong which is usually what happened at a high end restaurant. Didn't happen. When we declined the dessert menu, again no inquiry as to how our meal was. Save your money. Much better options are Edgewood restaurant in South Tahoe or Lone Eagle Grille in Incline Village. Both have beautiful views, much better ambiance, and better food in both selection, taste and price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Service and food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We were very disappointed with the food. French Onion soup with a scant amount of cheese is not what I expected; heavy on croutons and onions that were thick & creamy vs. flavorful. The scallop and pork belly plating was awful and the dish itself lacked flavor. Not sure what the white puree was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Overall, we had a great time. The service was outstanding, the food was good and the ambience was just perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

There was a problem with the wine but that was solved and on our bill we were not charged for it.We arrived at 6:15 and as the evening went on it got louder and louder.The service was good,the Food very good and we had a nice evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Brunch was great. Service was excellent! Loved the unlimited mimosa and bloody Mary bar!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food looked wonderful but the favors were not matching up with our expectations

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary here last week. It was perfect! We sat at the bar to start and had a great cocktail devised especially for us by the bartender based on our tastes. Then we moved to the airy and pretty dining room and had a wonderful waiter who made the occasion very special. The food was delicious, lovely wine and cocktails. Hope to return!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 5, 2017

They were under staff, it took the waitress 45 minutes to get a cocktail, our food took 1 1/2 hour and our fish was not cook well. "Looked like hospital food" the waitress was friendly to and over worked. They even ran out of food after you place the order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Beautiful location on the mountain! Outdoor seating is fun and relaxed. Inside the restaurant is beautiful, dressup or go Tahoe casual and enjoy farm to fork dinning.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I have been to this hotel and restaurant several times. It's usually good and the atmosphere is interesting/nice. This time it took unusually long to get seated but they offered champagne and we were not in a rush. But then dinner itself took a long time and I'm going to chalk it up to being around the 4th holiday even though there were many open tables by the time we left.

It's a good experience - recommend

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We are hotel guests who made our 7 pm Open Table reservation weeks ago. We got seated at the WORST table by the door, and had to request to be moved to a table next to it. And it was FREEZING next to the outer door and service door. I requested a blanket I was so cold. The restaurant manager came over after our appetizers to apologize profusely and move us to a better (and warmer) booth before our entrees arrived. He told us they usually try NOT to sit people at those two tables. Food was only so so and way overpriced. We both had the halibut entree and it tasted OK but had a poor presentation. We are making a point of dining elsewhere (Truckee, Squaw Valley) during our 3 night stay here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The ladies and gents of the the Ritz Carlton Lake Tahoe delivers excellent customer service all the time. Brunch was also excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had amazing service, and the food was incredible: best pork chop I have ever had, or ever even heard of. My wife's steak was perfect. Crab pasta appetizer was delicious. The dinner was expensive, but not for what we experienced. .

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I've had dinner at Manzanita twice and lunch once. Every meal has been exceptional. The tomahawk pork chop is juicy, tender and full of flavor. The filet (perfectly cooked to order) is worth ordering simply for the chimichuri. If you like duck, you're in for a treat (breast and sausage!) Be sure to order a side of duck fat tater tots for the table. Service is excellent. The somlier is quite helpful - take advantage. Manzanita is worth the drive, even if you aren't staying overnight.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 17, 2017

AMAZING scallops with pork belly, cooked perfectly!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.