Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Manzanita is a celebration Northern California Cuisine focusing on rustic cooking techniques, local produce and regional farms.

13031 Ritz Carlton Highlands Court
Truckee, CA 96161
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 267

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 562-3050

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $5.00 when dining in Manzanita.

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room can seat up to 34 people. We require a minimum of $1500 during the week and $2500 on weekends to book this room. Please contact for reservations.

Private Party Contact:
Cher Roesch: (530) 562-3050

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Romantic (14)
See All
Scenic View (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Casual (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Fun (3)
Authentic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Healthy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Music (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
504 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Very disappointed. I expected a lot more from a Ritz Carlton signature restaurant property. Ambiance is ok. Mo view. More like a dressed up Applebees. Don't dress up. It's very casual. You can go in shorts. Food was small portions, too salty. We had the scallops, I had the Alaskan halibut. Way over priced. These were the only seafood choices available, so if you like seafood, this is not the place for you. Service was fair. Decided to ask to get the scallops to go thinking that the server would ask us how we liked it or if something was wrong which is usually what happened at a high end restaurant. Didn't happen. When we declined the dessert menu, again no inquiry as to how our meal was. Save your money. Much better options are Edgewood restaurant in South Tahoe or Lone Eagle Grille in Incline Village. Both have beautiful views, much better ambiance, and better food in both selection, taste and price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Service and food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Overall, we had a great time. The service was outstanding, the food was good and the ambience was just perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

There was a problem with the wine but that was solved and on our bill we were not charged for it.We arrived at 6:15 and as the evening went on it got louder and louder.The service was good,the Food very good and we had a nice evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Brunch was great. Service was excellent! Loved the unlimited mimosa and bloody Mary bar!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food looked wonderful but the favors were not matching up with our expectations

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary here last week. It was perfect! We sat at the bar to start and had a great cocktail devised especially for us by the bartender based on our tastes. Then we moved to the airy and pretty dining room and had a wonderful waiter who made the occasion very special. The food was delicious, lovely wine and cocktails. Hope to return!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 5, 2017

They were under staff, it took the waitress 45 minutes to get a cocktail, our food took 1 1/2 hour and our fish was not cook well. "Looked like hospital food" the waitress was friendly to and over worked. They even ran out of food after you place the order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Beautiful location on the mountain! Outdoor seating is fun and relaxed. Inside the restaurant is beautiful, dressup or go Tahoe casual and enjoy farm to fork dinning.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I have been to this hotel and restaurant several times. It's usually good and the atmosphere is interesting/nice. This time it took unusually long to get seated but they offered champagne and we were not in a rush. But then dinner itself took a long time and I'm going to chalk it up to being around the 4th holiday even though there were many open tables by the time we left.

It's a good experience - recommend

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We are hotel guests who made our 7 pm Open Table reservation weeks ago. We got seated at the WORST table by the door, and had to request to be moved to a table next to it. And it was FREEZING next to the outer door and service door. I requested a blanket I was so cold. The restaurant manager came over after our appetizers to apologize profusely and move us to a better (and warmer) booth before our entrees arrived. He told us they usually try NOT to sit people at those two tables. Food was only so so and way overpriced. We both had the halibut entree and it tasted OK but had a poor presentation. We are making a point of dining elsewhere (Truckee, Squaw Valley) during our 3 night stay here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The ladies and gents of the the Ritz Carlton Lake Tahoe delivers excellent customer service all the time. Brunch was also excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had amazing service, and the food was incredible: best pork chop I have ever had, or ever even heard of. My wife's steak was perfect. Crab pasta appetizer was delicious. The dinner was expensive, but not for what we experienced. .

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I've had dinner at Manzanita twice and lunch once. Every meal has been exceptional. The tomahawk pork chop is juicy, tender and full of flavor. The filet (perfectly cooked to order) is worth ordering simply for the chimichuri. If you like duck, you're in for a treat (breast and sausage!) Be sure to order a side of duck fat tater tots for the table. Service is excellent. The somlier is quite helpful - take advantage. Manzanita is worth the drive, even if you aren't staying overnight.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 17, 2017

AMAZING scallops with pork belly, cooked perfectly!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We come here every time we spend a day at Northstar. One of the best nice restaurants in the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I went to the Sunday Bruch with 3 of my friends. We were staying at the Ritz for 2 days as a mini-vacation. I was very impressed that I was able to get a reservation just 48 hours in advance. The food was amazing, very fresh and flavorful. Besides the food being great, the service was AMAZING! Catering to our every need and even taking the time to get to know us. It seems as though they could anticipate our needs. I asked for Dr. Pepper (they did not have it) but offered to combine Coke & Root Beer in hopes I would be happy. That is top quality customer service.

The Sunday Bruch was a little pricey at $69 but well worth it. We were there for a little over 2 hours and it just felt like we were relaxing with friends. Highly recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Wonderful date night. Fabulous food, service and ambience. Definitely will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Had our best meal yet at Manzanita and have been regulars when in Tahoe since the onset. Appetizer Crab pasta dish was amazing and strawberry salad was lovely. My husband ordered the mushroom pizza and I ordered the Mary's chicken dish and both were standouts. Normally chicken is a safe and can be a boring option but since I am not a seafood eater except for minimal shellfish, I wanted to try it...Very excited with the creativity and marriage of flavors of each dish that we tried and cannot wait to go back!!! Kudos to the new executive chef....Minor negative is that they need to fix the fireplace on the one side that is not working as if felt like looking into an empty fish tank....

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Though previously we thought it was excellent, I think the restaurant has slipped a notch. The staff are super nice, the location and ambience are superlative, but the good, at least at lunch, is not so so. We had the Manzanita club and a salmon club, with salads. The dressings tasted "store bought." I would have preferred the tasty salmon plain, without bacon and the too sweet brioche bun. The Manzanita club didn't inspire being made with packaged turkey. Come for having lunch in the Sierra. If you don't expect too much from the food, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Fantastic service. Food was great. Desserts fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We had heard great things about this restaurant but unfortunately, it didn't live up to its promise. It was a "Hyatt-level" hotel restaurant experience, not a Zagat-rated one. The place was crawling with families with small children, eating mac & cheese and pizza spilled onto the floor. We were seated at a dirty table and when asked to move, were seated at a table next to a door opening to their patio dining. Each time the door open, we got blasted with 50-degree wind. No one offered us a wine list and the server seems confused by our asking. These little things become the BIG things when our meal is $200. for two and we booked our reservation several months in advance. Breakfast was delicious there but dinner was not good enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The restaurant's atmosphere was great. It was nice especially for my mother's Birthday. The food we ordered was mostly good except for my appetizer was fair. They made nice birthday dessert for three of us, my mother's favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Beautiful setting. Waiting staff helpful and friendly. Lunch menu was small. The food was quite good. We thought of lunching at this restaurant as a special treat.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

After reading very good reviews, we booked a table at Manzanita as part of our Tahoe getaway. The service all the way around was wonderful. Exactly what you'd expect from the Ritz. The food, however, was a bit flat and forgettable. The one thing I'd mention above anything else, however, was that the restaurant itself was very cold. The ambience was nice, but we never felt like we were having a cozy meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We love the Manzanita st the Ritz. We have a house at Northstar and we always eat at least one dinner there when we go for a weekend. Chris was our server and she was superb.
She made great recommendations from the new menu.
We ordered the cheese plate and the ripe and green strawberry salad to start. For our main course we shared the tomahawk pork chop and the halibut. Our meal was excellent. If I wanted to nit pick, I would say the pork chop was very slightly on the dry side but it tasted wonderful.
We were so full there was no room for dessert!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Erica and wo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 10, 2017

My husband and I wanted a quick getaway from our very busy and active lives. I found a really good deal on their website for the month of April for 2 night and 3 days. We checked in on Sunday and immediately fell in love with the place. The drive up there was not bad either coming from Sacramento. It was only 1 hour and 45 minutes. Driving up seeing the majestic mountains covered with snow was so breathtaking. The staff at the front desk and concierge were very nice, even the valet staff. We had dinner in The Living Room and enjoyed it! My husband had the burger that was fantastic! (I know it's just a burger but it was sooo good)! I had the lamb and the spicy pear fizz cocktail that was so refreshing. We really like the casual feeling of the lounge. The next day, we got in the heated pool and used the spa amenities. Our view from the pool watching the skiers go by was pretty cool. I forgot to mention the ham and cheese croissant at The Blue Café was super yummy...we had two each! We went back to our hotel to change and took the gondola down to The Village at Northstar to walk around and do some shopping and had lunch at the Rubicon Brewing Co. I found a pair of leggings on sale at North Face and my hubby found a hoodie he really liked. We headed back to the hotel for their complimentary Marshmology. Have as many s'mores as you want! I could see why the kids go crazy. I saw how many s'mores a kid can consume in a half hour. I'm pretty sure they were sugared out! Then we headed to Manzanita for dinner. My hubby had a lamb shank and I had the scallops. It was the best scallop dish I've had in my life. I'm a food enthusiast and trust me when I say I have eaten a lot of scallop / seafood dishes! It was just fantastic! I went to the gym the next morning. Their gym is really clean and has the best equipment. Too bad they didn't have a yoga class that day like I was told. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We'll be back for sure!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Every aspect of the meal was excellent, but the strongest aspect of the meal was, bar none, the service. Our waiter, Marius, demonstrated the utmost professionalism. He was informative and personable, and his timing was impeccable. The food was also great, especially the pork tomahawk, which was perfectly cooked. We loved the ambiance as well, and enjoyed sitting near the fireplace, an accommodation that the host made with a smile. Thanks for an awesome meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Buffet is somewhat underwhelming. Cuisine steps away from what can be satisfying winter-time mountain fare and instead jumps into fusion aromas better left for a tropical island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I believe our servers' name was Mario who is from Romania and he was very good: attentive but not intrusive, knowledgable and very pleasant.
Three of the people had the filet and they all raved about it. I had the lamb shank which was very, good and very rich. The onion soup to start was delicious and the desserts were all wonderful, especially the homemade raspberry sherbet. This restaurant is quite expensive for the area but we are local and used our school cards which helps a lot...both our wallet and the schools! It is great that they support the schools this way.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The menu is a bit limited, but what they prepare here is unbelievably good. The lamb shank completely fell off the bone - I did not need a knife at all. The most shocking and pleasing item was a unique desert - a lemon ice cream with pound cake, a meringue shell, in a glaze of carmel. Oh, and a sugar-encrusted sprig of Tarragon. It was a shared desert that I did not expect to like, and I LOVED it. Really unique.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Nice place, but food nothing special.
Out of the chicken on early Friday evening??
First order of mussels was cold!!
Pizza as an alternative for the chicken was so simple!! Not worth 20$. Maybe the 4,95$ type

Server, we ate at the bar, wss excellent

Overprized for the quality. And I love to pay for quality as a rule

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent and staff really cares. They made my niece feel so special on her birthday. Will be back more often.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The hotel and surroundings are spectacular and the Sunday brunch was fabulous. It was certainly the best brunch we have ever experienced.

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Family and I ate here several times while staying at the Ritz - mostly for breakfast, twice for lunch and once for dinner. Service was good to great - mostly pretty darn good. Food was tasty. One item that stood out was the Huevos Rancheros at breakfast. Huevos Rancheros were different than any I've had before, but really awesome! With the drunken beans and pulled pork? Really good!

A few disappointments at breakfast:
Watch out for the "would you like avocado with that?" which we heard several times at our table and others and amounts to a few slices of avocado and $5 charge for the avocado per menu item.
The ability to fry an over-medium egg seems to be lost at this place - experienced this over multiple days. Some days it means well done, others, barely-fried (not even over-easy). In general there is inconsistency in the kitchen when it comes to eggs so either order fried and hope for the best or order scrambled.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Seems a bit expensive but is great for a special occasion or for a time you want to impress!

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Solid modern American classics in a modern vibrant setting

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Wonderful dining experience every time we visit. Delicious and fabulous wine selection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.