About Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

13031 Ritz Carlton Highlands Court
Truckee, CA 96161
View Larger Map

Manzanita is a celebration Northern California Cuisine focusing on rustic cooking techniques, local produce and regional farms.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 267

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 562-3050

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $5.00 when dining in Manzanita.

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room can seat up to 34 people. We require a minimum of $1500 during the week and $2500 on weekends to book this room. Please contact for reservations.

Private Party Contact:
Cher Roesch: 5305623050

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Avocado chocolate pudding
  • Crispy Skin King Salmon
  • Braised Short Ribs
  • Steak
  • Lamb
  • Halibut
Avocado chocolate pudding
Crispy Skin King Salmon
Braised Short Ribs
Steak
Lamb
Halibut

Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
North Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
North Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Truckee ›

special occasion (16)
scenic view (16)
fit for foodies (12)
See All
romantic (10)
notable wine list (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (4)
good for groups (4)
great for lunch (3)
neighborhood gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
388 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I were celebrating our 54 ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I were celebrating our 54th wedding anniversary and were treated like royalty with a complimentary glass of champagne and a beautiful dessert plate with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate. We sat on the patio as it was a delightful evening at the Ritz Carleton in Northstar, Lake Tahoe. My only criticism would be the loud music coming from the grill near the pool, it could have been toned down a bit. Our waitress was outstanding and the service was excellent not to mention the fabulous food and we loved the portion size. We had a wonderful evening and hope to celebrate there again next year.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Why too expensive for what you got. Othe ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Why too expensive for what you got. Other venues just as nice at better price point. Not worth it for dinner

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Such a wonderful experienced, would high ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Such a wonderful experienced, would highly for recommend an quiet lovely evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Was disappointed with the quality and va ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Was disappointed with the quality and variety of choices on the menu. Expected better. Not on par with other frequented restaurants like the Hyatt in Tahoe, Sterlings in Reno or the Atlantis restaurants. The service was very good. Very professional and great customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous! This Ritz Carlton location has ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Fabulous! This Ritz Carlton location has it all. The food the ambiance - Just loved it all! Thank you for a wonderful dinner!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant; perfect meal

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Lovely restaurant; perfect meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and they surprised us with a champagne toast and dessert. Food was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a lovely meal with lovely service ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

It was a lovely meal with lovely service. We sat outside and regrettably there was a group of children whose parents were MIA. This group of children were running, jumping, yelling (kids being kids) while tearing up the small garden that we were seated next to. It would have been nice if the missing parents realized that this area wasn't playground and supervised their children

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I have been to restaurants all over the ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I have been to restaurants all over the world and I rank this in the top 5. The service is 5 stars. We were celebrating our anniversary at the resort for the weekend . The resort is located on a mountain away from the hustle of most tourist areas. We will definitely be returning .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I celebrated my 70th bir ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My daughter and I celebrated my 70th birthday by staying at the Ritz and enjoying dinner at Manzanita. It was a wonderful experience! Food was fabulous and creative. We loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent as is the view ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The service was excellent as is the view. The filet was tiny and the food was otherwise very expensive and very unremarkable. I would go back for the view--definitely not for the food. Perhaps you should eat something small before you go there.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Unfortunately, all the beef that we ord ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Unfortunately, all the beef that we ordered came overcooked. They tried to make it right but it was disappointing.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Wonderful experience and we enjoyed ours ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Wonderful experience and we enjoyed ourselves immensely! Would love to go back someday when we are in Tahoe.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu is very eclectic and complicated, s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Menu is very eclectic and complicated, so if you are looking for a simple, yet superb meal think twice. For us the meal was less than ideal. Not crazy about the bbq chicken pizza, artichoke soup was okay. Nothing special and quite overpriced for the value, but at the Ritz that's expected. In the end very disappointing and doesn't live up to the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Good, overpriced food. The service is am ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Good, overpriced food. The service is amateurish. If the restaurants were not part of the hotel property, it would fail as a destination dining experience. It's a better deal to take the cab ride into Truckee and eat at Pienetas or another local restaurant.,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Food quality (taste and appearance) was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Food quality (taste and appearance) was below my expectations for a Ritz Carlton restaurant. It wasn't bad, just nothing special. Bread brought out on a board with over-salted butter. Service was sub-par. Server took away Coke glass to refill instead of bringing a fresh one, we had to ask for refills numerous times, bus-person asked to take away plates with at least one still eating.

Just overall a disappointing experience for a $250 meal for three.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Pleasant evening. Food was not as good a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Pleasant evening. Food was not as good as other times we have visited. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Fun for lunch!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

This was a great place to lunch. It is pricy but my husband and I go on a lunch date once in a while and we splurge. Our server Patricia was excellent. She made our lunch special.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unless you are staying at the Ritz Carlt ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Unless you are staying at the Ritz Carlton skip this restaurant. We have stayed at the property before and enjoyed our stay, however tonight was not an enjoyable experience. The gondola from the Village stopped operating at 9:00 so we were forced to order a cab which was recommended by the front desk. We agreed with the driver to be at the front desk at 9:30, and when we arrived he was pulling away with another fare! 40 minutes later he returned and we were told that when it is snowing the Ritz shuttle doesn't operate, which is understandable since the road to the hotel hadn't been plowed for hours! Not what anyone would expect from a Ritz Carlton property, but clearly the rough few winters had caused them to cut corners wherever possible. Not what you would expect from a 5 star hotelier. Expect the property will be sold as it feels like a loss leader. The customer shouldn't ever have to pay the price for poor management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Beautifully prepared food with a view to match.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

I have eaten here about six times now. The room is very beautiful but maintains a comfortable yet elegant vibe. Our favorite items have been the fish. We have had the sea bass, the salmon and my favorite, the Mt. Lassen Trout. All are impeccably cooked with interesting ingredients enhancing the flavors. We also love the duck confit salad. And the staff is terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hitting there stride

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

So enjoyed our visits this past week. A gem on the mountain

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Service! Great Pancakes

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

I had family from out of town and went for brunch at the Ritz Carlton. I don't usually give out reviews, but this time I really wanted to because of our server Patricia.

She was outstanding! Attentive and friendly and always on top of things, Patricia made our brunch very memorable. Loved our experience there, best service I have had in a long time. The food was good, she recommended the pancakes, and rightfully so, they were delicious.

Ambience is very friendly in general, food was good, had good options at the buffet, and the hotel is lovely. I highly recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice dinner while staying at Northstar

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Good food. Great service. But a little pricey. Our martinis were excellent and huge. Caesar salads were very good. I had the short rib with mashed potatoes and broccolini. Excellent comfort food. Wife had the artichoke pizza and liked it. Too full for dessert. The only negative was that it was too pricey. Over $200 for our two dinners and a bottle of wine.

We will return on our next ski trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great date night

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Had a great dinner. Get the hawaiian mero! It was in the top three dishes I have ever eaten, and definitely the best seafood dish I have ever had. The filet mignon was cooked well but the flavor was a little underwhelming. The rest of the meal was excellent. Service was excellent. Definitely recommend overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food & experience not up to expectations

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

A friend recommended Manzanita so we went with our two kids for dinner- I would not go back there, especially with young children. The ambiance was okay but it was dark and noisy. We were seated next to a gas fireplace that was like an inferno and they couldn't adjust it. The waiter (who provided great service) said other people complained about it being too hot so finally they shut off the fireplace. The food was disappointing. I had the veal cheek pappardelle appetizer, which was tasty but really rich. For my entree I had the guinea hen which was pretty fatty and underwhelming in terms of flavor and texture. My husband had the short ribs which were also quite fatty and unappealing. They only had whole wheat pasta which we ordered for our kids and they did not care for it. The kids steak was good. For the amount we spent we expected higher food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Need to change menu more often and have ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Need to change menu more often and have more selections to choose from. It gets boring

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for special occasions

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Went here for Valentine's dinner. Enjoyed cocktails at the bar beforehand and the service there was outstanding as well. Dinner was fantastic with both sommelier and wait staff catering to every need. Food was excellent as well. Not cheap but you truly get what you pay for. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

High-end on-mountain dining

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

Our extended family group of 8 adults and 1 infant dined at Manzanita on a Monday evening on a recent ski trip to Northstar-at-Tahoe. The restaurant decor is attractive, warm and inviting. The food was very good. Everything was good. Of course, it is always expensive at a major ski resort, especially a restaurant located in a Ritz-Carlton. But, that also is generally your best guarantee of excellence at the same time. So, I would say it was a relatively good value for the price, all things considered. I would definitely try to include an evening dinner at Manzanita on a subsequent ski trip to Northstar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food! Excellent service!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We have a home in Northstar and we go to the Manzanita for dinner every chance we can!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ritz Carlton, surprisingly not great.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Average food, not a typical level of dining for a Ritz Carlton.

Nice decor,good service.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent as usual

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

We always eat at Manzanita when staying at Northstar. It is our favorite and guests are always delighted to find such a beautiful, well run, and delicious meal on the mountain

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Manzanita changing, not for the better

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

We've been 5-6 visits/year patrons of Manzanita since they opened. Quality of the food and drink has never ceased to wow us until this trip - the French Onion soup (which is still superb) excepted.

This time the entrees were lukewarm when served, and the shortribs - which have traditionally been incredible - were tough/stringy. The children's meal, which I always make a point to taste, was likewise lukewarm and rubbery. Previously, even our orders off the children's have been exceptional, which is rare for any restaurant.

The menu, which used to change frequently and always offered surprising and creative options, seems to also to have stagnated. No specials were on offer the night we were there.

The hotel has also instituted a $10 charge for valet parking, a charge which was "comped" previously if you were eating at the restaurant because there is no self parking available. The policy seems penny-wise and pound-foolish. It's understandable if you are staying at the hotel, but if you are just there for a meal, parking validation should still be offered. The change to the local's discount was also disheartening, but honestly we wouldn't have minded at all if the food had been up the same quality as prior visits.

The service was very friendly and up-to-par with the Ritz-Carlton name, as always.

We were a bit sad to see the decline of this favorite place of ours. We've celebrated birthdays and anniversaries there, brought many out-of-town visitors, and enjoyed many adhoc visits just for a treat.

As locals, we realize that it is difficult to maintain a consistent staff, and that may affect quality. Businesses here must actively work against that and restaurants like Manzanita really cannot afford to have off-nights. The mediocre food combined with the feeling like we were being nickeled-and-dimed for parking "left a bad taste in our mouths".

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

How can you do any better? A great break ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

How can you do any better? A great breakfast, terrific service , and the fabulous Ritz Carlton!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We did the chef's counter and it was an ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We did the chef's counter and it was an amazing experience. The staff was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Experience!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 11, 2016

Welcomed me and my Fiancé's engagement with a pre-ordered gluten free menu and warm wishes

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great setting, great food, great service!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 15, 2015

I live in Tahoe and this is a favorite among us locals! The service and quality are what you would expect in a Ritz venue. We gather here with friends 2-3x/month. I highly recommend Manzanita for a fun night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Overpriced & Lack of Menu

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

This restaurant is so beautiful but lacks a lot of things. The food is okay at best and when you are spend minimum of 40 a plate you hope for great. There is hardly even a selection on the menu, I would have rather eaten off the children's menu. They need a better menu and to execute the dishes better. Disappointing for a Ritz-Carlton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Doesn't live up to the Ritz Carleton standard

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Service and personalities were very good. The ambiance was wonderful and the beverages /wine were quite good. The Veal Cheek appetizer was very good. Mains were both sorely lacking: The "Marrow-Encrusted" Filet was not encrusted with marrow. The marrow was dumped on top of the meat, very grainy, and unappetizing. It had to be scooped off and replaced with a Bearnaise sauce before the Filet was edible. The Rabbit Cannelloni was way over-cooked, mushy, and quite salty. There didn't seem to be any other seasonings and the sauce was thin and watery. Deserts were both a let down. The "Creme Brulee" was cold, grainy, and served with a corn ice cream that didn't make sense with the dish. There was an additional fruit sauce with bits of corn. We could not eat it. The "Lava Cake" (homage to Elvis Presley) came in a mason jar, was not hot, and the chocolate tasted very strongly of smoke. The smokey flavor over-powered the rest of the dish. It was not a lava cake but a jar of smokey chocolate (cake?), ice cream, tempered chocolate wafer (with two pieces of banana), and peanut brittle. All in all the food was very disappointing.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

2nd time around, great dining experience

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Allie provided attentive excellent service accompanied with a diverse menu…Ox Tail dumplings as an appetized, with large jumbo prawn cocktails, a light cesar salad and then perfectly cooked Filet. Other main courses included the rabbit cannelloni and beef short ribs. Followed by a great desert selection as well. All enjoyed…we will definitely be returning

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We enjoy eating in the bar. Mitch the ba ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on December 2, 2015

We enjoy eating in the bar. Mitch the bartender makes a large hotel, feel so comfortable. Great guy, whom knows food and sprints very well. Great service, great food, great atmosphere. What else could you ask for:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.