About Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

13031 Ritz Carlton Highlands Court
Truckee, CA 96161
View Larger Map

Manzanita is a celebration Northern California Cuisine focusing on rustic cooking techniques, local produce and regional farms.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 267

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 562-3050

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $5.00 when dining in Manzanita.

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room can seat up to 34 people. We require a minimum of $1500 during the week and $2500 on weekends to book this room. Please contact for reservations.

Private Party Contact:
Cher Roesch: (530) 562-3050

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (11)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Special Occasion (7)
See All
Notable Wine List (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Cozy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fireplace (4)
Romantic (4)
Scenic View (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Fun (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Business Meals (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
459 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

A pretty short menu but with well prepared food and excellent service.

The downside is it is very noisy and not great for its price point.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Let me preface this by saying the food/bartenders were great and that I visit this restaurant multiple times a year with my family and we have never had a bad experience. We went here for my husband's birthday w/ a group of 7 people so, while large, it was by no means too much for an experienced server to handle.Our waitress was horrendous;her attitude and negativity completely ruined our night.She never checked in on our table after taking our order, never asked if we wanted to order more drinks after our first round was finished, nor how our food was after the busser had brought it out.She only reappeared to put the bill on the table, w/o even asking whether or not we wanted dessert, coffee, or an after dinner drink.My husband politely asked if it was possible for her to split the check by couples and she said that she didn't remember what we had eaten and that we would have to initial on the single check so she could split it up.While I can understand that, if not previously disclosed that we wanted checks split, this can be frustrating, she did not even make an effort to hide her dissatisfaction with our request.This is the freaking Ritz Carlton;requesting for a check to be split should not be a big deal at all.After we complied with her demand that we initial next to each item on the tab, she brought back 2 checks that listed the incorrect items, after we had specifically spelled it out for her.Her reaction was to rudely say to my husband "Well, I TRIED to get you all to tell me who had what or just not split the check."My husband, as well as our friends, complained tactfully to the manager and to the waitress herself, and neither of them acknowledged that this was handled inappropriately.Again, this is the RITZ CARLTON; we were not looking for a special accommodation, but one that is standard in the service industry, especially with an upscale player like the Ritz Carlton. We will be sure to tell others how we were treated and to spend their money elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was excellent. My vegetarian entree (cauliflower steak) was delicately spiced and delicious. Service was prompt and friendly. Prices were not really higher than Tavern 6330 in the village. The kids menu could have some better options.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This place has upped its game since our last visit! We especially loved the steak tartar, duck fat tater tots, and lobster gratin! Delicious. They made a special dish for our vegan daughter. Thank you.

The service is very nice too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

everything was good about Manzanita, food and service better than the decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Lovely setting and very friendly staff. We did order cauliflower soup for a starter; it was lukewarm. We informed our waitress,apologies flowed and another soup was produced, which was exactly the same. We were later informed that the burner for the soup had gone out. I would have expected that the temperature of the soup would have been checked prior to the second delivery. More effusive apologies from the waitress and maitre d and no charge for the soup. Overall quality cuisine and a pleasant night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First class service and food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

AMAZING all the way around. Best dinner we've had in Tahoe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Once again, fantastic. My server was from Romania 🇷🇴, brilliant and very gracious. Do your self a favor !!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Horrible service by the waitress-seemed preoccupied with something else. Never got refills for water. We bought a $250 bottle of wine that the Sommelier opened and never came back to pour it the entire evening. We had to pour our wine. We had two bad experiences at this restaurant

Last ski season and Decided to give it another try. Very disappointing, all the way around and we won't be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was a 3rd year to dine at Manzanita while on our annual family ski trip. (Parents night out!). Been wonderful the last couple of years, but this year the quality of the food was a BIG disappointment, especially considering the price. Only 1 of us thought our entree was good (the scallops). Even the Caesar salad was bad. Ambience and service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

OUR EXPERIENCE WAS FANTASTIC. THE ONLY NEGATIVE WAS HALF OF THE FILET MIGNON WAS FATTY. THE TOMAHAWK CHOP WAS GREAT, AS WAS THE REST OF OUR MEAL.

OUR SERVER ALLIE WAS WONDERFUL AND ATTENTIVE.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

They sat someone else under our reservation, we brought a nice bottle of wine and the som shouldn't poor service. Service was terrible in general. It is hard to reconcile the service with the cost of the meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Scallops dish - excellent. Pork chop - excellent, better than the lamb. Fried cauliflower was awesome, better than the Brüssel sprouts. Sophie was a phenomenal server, super fun, easy going but took care of us, and made great recs. The wine list is quite good for a mountain resort -- some nice values on international wines.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We loved our experience at Manzanita!

Food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We've been here numerous times. Always solid, the kitchen and management really make the effort. Great spot in Tahoe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were disappointed. Thought it would be a special evening, but on a holiday weekend, it was overrun by children. Food was average at best and brussel sprouts were drowning in oil.

Tags: Modern Decor, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Wonderful place with great food choices and a superb staff, especially at the bar.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

It was our 3rd dinner there and the least pleasant.

My "Bronzino" was overcooked and very dry.

The service was sub standard for a Ritz property and the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great views of the mountains and wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary. Ride up to the Ritz was in a gondola. We shared a bottle of local Truckee River Winery Zinfandel 2013 old vine. Fantastic !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Delicious food, great atmosphere and location, really helpful staff ... can't fault the place!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was decent but not great. Service was slower than it should have been, particularly given that the restaurant was nowhere near full. Have had good experiences here in the past but food seems to have gone downhill a bit.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was fine, where this place flopped was service across the board. We had our coats checked in front of the restaurant for an unrelated event, which was closed by the time we wanted our coats. We were served soup with no spoons. We asked for a sommelier, we got the same 17 yr old hostess who knew nothing about anything.

Nice place, great ambience, same sides on all the entrees. Priced to perfection and did not deliver on service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Impeccable service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent by all measures. The best restaurant in the Reno/Tahoe area. Start with stunning views of the Sierra Nevada, terrific mountain exterior and interior archecture, an indoor/outdoor dinning room, professionals at every level from the front door to the kitchen. An always changing and interesting menu, an excellent, thoughtful wine list. Just the latest in a long line of wonderful meals we've enjoyed at Manzanita over nearly ten years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

OVERALL THE FOOD IS GOOD. ONLY DOWNSIDE IS THEY WERE LATE IN BRINGING ME MY DINNER. AN HOUR AND 15MIN LATE. SEEMED LIKE SOMEONE FORGOT TO PLACE THE ORDER IN OR COOK IT. I WAS GIVEN A FREE SMALL BOWL OF CAULIFLOWER AND TRUFFLE SOUP WHICH I DID NOT EAT BECAUSE I DON'T LIKE EITHER. THEY DID NOT OFFER FREE DESSERT, GLASS OF WINE OR EVEN A PERCENT OFF THE MEAL. JUST SAID A SORRY FOR ME TO PUT INSIDE MY POCKET.

Tags: Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food and awesome service! The restaurant is beautiful

Tags: Healthy, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 16, 2016

It was obvious that the chef has changed. Typically these meals are among our favorite in tahoe, not so anymore. Even our young children commented on their meals. I wish I knew where the previous chef went- would love to eat there on our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We annually visit friends at Northstar and part of the whole weekend is our dinner at the Ritz. This year, as usual, was terrific. The Fall menu was being introduced and it was fantastic. The special treat of the evening was having Chef Carolyn stop by our table and share her time with us!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was medocre, good selection of wine but overpriced, service was passable but with restaurant not too busy could hsve been more personal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Mitch our server made the experience outstanding as opposed to just good. He was very knowledgable, not only about the food, but also the background of the resort. We were interested and asked many questions. He remembered all our names as he addressed us individually to make sure all was satisfactory.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Sara was our server and provided excellent service. The cocktails and food were excellent. It lived up to the Ritz quality that I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Wonderful experience. Reasonable corkage fee, food options are varied and quite tasty, service was excellent, acoustics allowed for conversation at a square table for 8.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Eh - kind of so-so. Nice setting and nice decor. The Lodge itself is pretty magnificent. Went on a last minute whim as a date night with my wife. Not really worth the drive from Incline other than it is something different. We had an octopus appetizer that was pretty darn good, and the bread was great. I had Cioppino, which was good, and my wife had a flatbread which was fine but not quite as good as it looked on the way in. Pricey wines even by the glass, so I skipped it (plus I was driving). The sommelier stayed at the table behind us for almost their (and our) entire meal - which they must have enjoyed if he was THAT engaging!

Overall not the best value, but it was nice to go somewhere else. Had the added bonus of 6 extra miles on my car - the valet garage is only 100 yards away.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was absolutely delicious with beautiful presentation. Our waitress, Bridgette was outstanding!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Food was average but very overpriced. For that price go to the Lone Eagle in Incline Village where the food though also expensive is very good. Server Marias was a gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food here has been up and down but this was by far the best yet. The vegetarian dish was abut small for the $ but delicious. Seems ludicrous to charge for the valet parking but they do .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Went here with friends to celebrate both couples wedding anniversaries. Lovely atmosphere, wonderful food. We were greeted with complimentary glasses of champagne, called by our names throughout the evening, then surprised with a complimentary "Happy Anniversary" dessert for each couple. The filet mignon, although expensive, was worth it - - very good. The French Onion Soup, Ahi, Swordfish and Cioppino were all very good. You don't mind paying a little more for a nice atmosphere, terrific service and excellent food. We'll be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Beautiful spot. Service can be a mixed bag. We've had fantastic service, and then hmmmm.

Dined on a Sunday, and maybe folks were just a bit off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great rustic decor and mountain ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was our 10th wedding anniversary and we had a spectacular evening and meal here. The server geeted us w/ 2 glasses of complimentary champagne, which was a lovely surprise. The food was amazing and although what I ordered seemed like a "pedestrian" dish (roasted chicken) at the time was anything but -- it was perfection!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 17, 2016

The menu needs a major overhaul. The dishes are too haute cuisine and nothing is particularly wonderful. The roast chicken was dried out; the cioppino was thick and creamy rather than seasoned and brothy. Onion soup way too sweet.

Servers try very hard but coffee always arrives without the milk or the sweetener; anything requested (like hot sauce) comes after a real delay.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Highly overpriced and poor quality food. Had great expectations for what was to be a special dinner with guests. Disappointed in all fronts. Service slow. Ordered a $40 filet mignon which at that price should have been like gold but we've had better meat from Safeway. Presentation very dull.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Service and food was excellent. Restaurant was ready for us when we arrived.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very good service thanks to Bridgette and Sophie - average food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2016

This is hardly a fine dining restaurant and it is overpriced beyond all expectations. It made me think that I was in New York City. The portions are tiny and the prices are way over the top. Beyond the food prices, the wine list was exceptionally over priced. Six or so Pinot Noirs of approximately fifty on the list were under $100. Same with the cabs. On a positive note, the food was good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2016

I've been here for breakfast twice and dinner 4 times over the past 5 years and this recent dinner was my last time eating here. Prices are high, portions have shrunk, and most of the dishes we had were just okay. It has definitely gone downhill.

Valet charges $10 (not including tip) and there is no other parking option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Could not have asked for more pleasant, friendly, attentive waitstaff. Appetizers and entrees were fantastic, but dessert was awful. Chocolate cake was dry, strawberry shortcake boring, and the donut type dessert was chewy. Almost spoiled the overall experience. But we wrote it off as a one-time failure, and will try again sometime.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 22, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 54th wedding anniversary and were treated like royalty with a complimentary glass of champagne and a beautiful dessert plate with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate. We sat on the patio as it was a delightful evening at the Ritz Carleton in Northstar, Lake Tahoe. My only criticism would be the loud music coming from the grill near the pool, it could have been toned down a bit. Our waitress was outstanding and the service was excellent not to mention the fabulous food and we loved the portion size. We had a wonderful evening and hope to celebrate there again next year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Why too expensive for what you got. Other venues just as nice at better price point. Not worth it for dinner

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.