About Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

13031 Ritz Carlton Highlands Court
Truckee, CA 96161
View Larger Map

Manzanita is a celebration Northern California Cuisine focusing on rustic cooking techniques, local produce and regional farms.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 267

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 562-3050

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $5.00 when dining in Manzanita.

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room can seat up to 34 people. We require a minimum of $1500 during the week and $2500 on weekends to book this room. Please contact for reservations.

Private Party Contact:
Cher Roesch: 5305623050

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Avocado chocolate pudding - Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, Truckee, CA
  • Crispy Skin King Salmon - Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, Truckee, CA
  • Braised Short Ribs - Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, Truckee, CA
  • Steak - Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, Truckee, CA
  • Lamb - Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, Truckee, CA
  • Halibut - Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, Truckee, CA
Avocado chocolate pudding - Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, Truckee, CA
Crispy Skin King Salmon - Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, Truckee, CA
Braised Short Ribs - Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, Truckee, CA
Steak - Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, Truckee, CA
Lamb - Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, Truckee, CA
Halibut - Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe, Truckee, CA

Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
North Lake Tahoe
Best Food
North Lake Tahoe
Best Service
North Lake Tahoe
2 More
Best Ambiance
North Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
North Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Truckee ›

Special Occasion (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Romantic (6)
See All
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Scenic View (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Fireplace (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Cozy (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

OVERALL THE FOOD IS GOOD. ONLY DOWNSIDE ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

OVERALL THE FOOD IS GOOD. ONLY DOWNSIDE IS THEY WERE LATE IN BRINGING ME MY DINNER. AN HOUR AND 15MIN LATE. SEEMED LIKE SOMEONE FORGOT TO PLACE THE ORDER IN OR COOK IT. I WAS GIVEN A FREE SMALL BOWL OF CAULIFLOWER AND TRUFFLE SOUP WHICH I DID NOT EAT BECAUSE I DON'T LIKE EITHER. THEY DID NOT OFFER FREE DESSERT, GLASS OF WINE OR EVEN A PERCENT OFF THE MEAL. JUST SAID A SORRY FOR ME TO PUT INSIDE MY POCKET.

Tags: Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and awesome service! The rest ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food and awesome service! The restaurant is beautiful

Tags: Healthy, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was obvious that the chef has changed ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 16, 2016

It was obvious that the chef has changed. Typically these meals are among our favorite in tahoe, not so anymore. Even our young children commented on their meals. I wish I knew where the previous chef went- would love to eat there on our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

We annually visit friends at Northstar a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We annually visit friends at Northstar and part of the whole weekend is our dinner at the Ritz. This year, as usual, was terrific. The Fall menu was being introduced and it was fantastic. The special treat of the evening was having Chef Carolyn stop by our table and share her time with us!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was medocre, good selection of ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was medocre, good selection of wine but overpriced, service was passable but with restaurant not too busy could hsve been more personal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Mitch our server made the experience out ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Mitch our server made the experience outstanding as opposed to just good. He was very knowledgable, not only about the food, but also the background of the resort. We were interested and asked many questions. He remembered all our names as he addressed us individually to make sure all was satisfactory.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sara was our server and provided excelle ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Sara was our server and provided excellent service. The cocktails and food were excellent. It lived up to the Ritz quality that I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Reasonable corkag ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Wonderful experience. Reasonable corkage fee, food options are varied and quite tasty, service was excellent, acoustics allowed for conversation at a square table for 8.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eh - kind of so-so. Nice setting and nic ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Eh - kind of so-so. Nice setting and nice decor. The Lodge itself is pretty magnificent. Went on a last minute whim as a date night with my wife. Not really worth the drive from Incline other than it is something different. We had an octopus appetizer that was pretty darn good, and the bread was great. I had Cioppino, which was good, and my wife had a flatbread which was fine but not quite as good as it looked on the way in. Pricey wines even by the glass, so I skipped it (plus I was driving). The sommelier stayed at the table behind us for almost their (and our) entire meal - which they must have enjoyed if he was THAT engaging!

Overall not the best value, but it was nice to go somewhere else. Had the added bonus of 6 extra miles on my car - the valet garage is only 100 yards away.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was absolutely delicious with beaut ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was absolutely delicious with beautiful presentation. Our waitress, Bridgette was outstanding!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was average but very overpriced. F ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Food was average but very overpriced. For that price go to the Lone Eagle in Incline Village where the food though also expensive is very good. Server Marias was a gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food here has been up and down but this ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food here has been up and down but this was by far the best yet. The vegetarian dish was abut small for the $ but delicious. Seems ludicrous to charge for the valet parking but they do .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here with friends to celebrate both ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Went here with friends to celebrate both couples wedding anniversaries. Lovely atmosphere, wonderful food. We were greeted with complimentary glasses of champagne, called by our names throughout the evening, then surprised with a complimentary "Happy Anniversary" dessert for each couple. The filet mignon, although expensive, was worth it - - very good. The French Onion Soup, Ahi, Swordfish and Cioppino were all very good. You don't mind paying a little more for a nice atmosphere, terrific service and excellent food. We'll be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful spot. Service can be a mixed b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Beautiful spot. Service can be a mixed bag. We've had fantastic service, and then hmmmm.

Dined on a Sunday, and maybe folks were just a bit off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great rustic decor and mountain ambiance ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great rustic decor and mountain ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

It was our 10th wedding anniversary and ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was our 10th wedding anniversary and we had a spectacular evening and meal here. The server geeted us w/ 2 glasses of complimentary champagne, which was a lovely surprise. The food was amazing and although what I ordered seemed like a "pedestrian" dish (roasted chicken) at the time was anything but -- it was perfection!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The menu needs a major overhaul. The di ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 17, 2016

The menu needs a major overhaul. The dishes are too haute cuisine and nothing is particularly wonderful. The roast chicken was dried out; the cioppino was thick and creamy rather than seasoned and brothy. Onion soup way too sweet.

Servers try very hard but coffee always arrives without the milk or the sweetener; anything requested (like hot sauce) comes after a real delay.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Highly overpriced and poor quality food. ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Highly overpriced and poor quality food. Had great expectations for what was to be a special dinner with guests. Disappointed in all fronts. Service slow. Ordered a $40 filet mignon which at that price should have been like gold but we've had better meat from Safeway. Presentation very dull.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Service and food was excellent. Resta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Service and food was excellent. Restaurant was ready for us when we arrived.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good service thanks to Bridgette an ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very good service thanks to Bridgette and Sophie - average food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

This is hardly a fine dining restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2016

This is hardly a fine dining restaurant and it is overpriced beyond all expectations. It made me think that I was in New York City. The portions are tiny and the prices are way over the top. Beyond the food prices, the wine list was exceptionally over priced. Six or so Pinot Noirs of approximately fifty on the list were under $100. Same with the cabs. On a positive note, the food was good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

I've been here for breakfast twice and d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2016

I've been here for breakfast twice and dinner 4 times over the past 5 years and this recent dinner was my last time eating here. Prices are high, portions have shrunk, and most of the dishes we had were just okay. It has definitely gone downhill.

Valet charges $10 (not including tip) and there is no other parking option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Could not have asked for more pleasant, ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Could not have asked for more pleasant, friendly, attentive waitstaff. Appetizers and entrees were fantastic, but dessert was awful. Chocolate cake was dry, strawberry shortcake boring, and the donut type dessert was chewy. Almost spoiled the overall experience. But we wrote it off as a one-time failure, and will try again sometime.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

My husband and I were celebrating our 54 ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 22, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 54th wedding anniversary and were treated like royalty with a complimentary glass of champagne and a beautiful dessert plate with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate. We sat on the patio as it was a delightful evening at the Ritz Carleton in Northstar, Lake Tahoe. My only criticism would be the loud music coming from the grill near the pool, it could have been toned down a bit. Our waitress was outstanding and the service was excellent not to mention the fabulous food and we loved the portion size. We had a wonderful evening and hope to celebrate there again next year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Why too expensive for what you got. Othe ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Why too expensive for what you got. Other venues just as nice at better price point. Not worth it for dinner

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Such a wonderful experienced, would high ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Such a wonderful experienced, would highly for recommend an quiet lovely evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Was disappointed with the quality and va ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Was disappointed with the quality and variety of choices on the menu. Expected better. Not on par with other frequented restaurants like the Hyatt in Tahoe, Sterlings in Reno or the Atlantis restaurants. The service was very good. Very professional and great customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous! This Ritz Carlton location has ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Fabulous! This Ritz Carlton location has it all. The food the ambiance - Just loved it all! Thank you for a wonderful dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant; perfect meal

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Lovely restaurant; perfect meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 27, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and they surprised us with a champagne toast and dessert. Food was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a lovely meal with lovely service ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 27, 2016

It was a lovely meal with lovely service. We sat outside and regrettably there was a group of children whose parents were MIA. This group of children were running, jumping, yelling (kids being kids) while tearing up the small garden that we were seated next to. It would have been nice if the missing parents realized that this area wasn't playground and supervised their children

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I have been to restaurants all over the ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 26, 2016

I have been to restaurants all over the world and I rank this in the top 5. The service is 5 stars. We were celebrating our anniversary at the resort for the weekend . The resort is located on a mountain away from the hustle of most tourist areas. We will definitely be returning .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I celebrated my 70th bir ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2016

My daughter and I celebrated my 70th birthday by staying at the Ritz and enjoying dinner at Manzanita. It was a wonderful experience! Food was fabulous and creative. We loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent as is the view ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 22, 2016

The service was excellent as is the view. The filet was tiny and the food was otherwise very expensive and very unremarkable. I would go back for the view--definitely not for the food. Perhaps you should eat something small before you go there.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Unfortunately, all the beef that we ord ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Unfortunately, all the beef that we ordered came overcooked. They tried to make it right but it was disappointing.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Wonderful experience and we enjoyed ours ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Wonderful experience and we enjoyed ourselves immensely! Would love to go back someday when we are in Tahoe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu is very eclectic and complicated, s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2016

Menu is very eclectic and complicated, so if you are looking for a simple, yet superb meal think twice. For us the meal was less than ideal. Not crazy about the bbq chicken pizza, artichoke soup was okay. Nothing special and quite overpriced for the value, but at the Ritz that's expected. In the end very disappointing and doesn't live up to the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Good, overpriced food. The service is am ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 21, 2016

Good, overpriced food. The service is amateurish. If the restaurants were not part of the hotel property, it would fail as a destination dining experience. It's a better deal to take the cab ride into Truckee and eat at Pienetas or another local restaurant.,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Food quality (taste and appearance) was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Food quality (taste and appearance) was below my expectations for a Ritz Carlton restaurant. It wasn't bad, just nothing special. Bread brought out on a board with over-salted butter. Service was sub-par. Server took away Coke glass to refill instead of bringing a fresh one, we had to ask for refills numerous times, bus-person asked to take away plates with at least one still eating.

Just overall a disappointing experience for a $250 meal for three.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Pleasant evening. Food was not as good a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Pleasant evening. Food was not as good as other times we have visited. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.