Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Manzanita is a celebration Northern California Cuisine focusing on rustic cooking techniques, local produce and regional farms.

13031 Ritz Carlton Highlands Court
Truckee, CA 96161
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 267

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 562-3050

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $5.00 when dining in Manzanita.

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room can seat up to 34 people. We require a minimum of $1500 during the week and $2500 on weekends to book this room. Please contact for reservations.

Private Party Contact:
Cher Roesch: (530) 562-3050

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Scenic View (13)
Romantic (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Casual (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fireplace (6)
Cozy (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Live Music (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Authentic (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
492 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

The ladies and gents of the the Ritz Carlton Lake Tahoe delivers excellent customer service all the time. Brunch was also excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We had amazing service, and the food was incredible: best pork chop I have ever had, or ever even heard of. My wife's steak was perfect. Crab pasta appetizer was delicious. The dinner was expensive, but not for what we experienced. .

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

I've had dinner at Manzanita twice and lunch once. Every meal has been exceptional. The tomahawk pork chop is juicy, tender and full of flavor. The filet (perfectly cooked to order) is worth ordering simply for the chimichuri. If you like duck, you're in for a treat (breast and sausage!) Be sure to order a side of duck fat tater tots for the table. Service is excellent. The somlier is quite helpful - take advantage. Manzanita is worth the drive, even if you aren't staying overnight.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 18, 2017

AMAZING scallops with pork belly, cooked perfectly!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We come here every time we spend a day at Northstar. One of the best nice restaurants in the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I went to the Sunday Bruch with 3 of my friends. We were staying at the Ritz for 2 days as a mini-vacation. I was very impressed that I was able to get a reservation just 48 hours in advance. The food was amazing, very fresh and flavorful. Besides the food being great, the service was AMAZING! Catering to our every need and even taking the time to get to know us. It seems as though they could anticipate our needs. I asked for Dr. Pepper (they did not have it) but offered to combine Coke & Root Beer in hopes I would be happy. That is top quality customer service.

The Sunday Bruch was a little pricey at $69 but well worth it. We were there for a little over 2 hours and it just felt like we were relaxing with friends. Highly recommend!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Wonderful date night. Fabulous food, service and ambience. Definitely will return.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Anniversary

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Though previously we thought it was excellent, I think the restaurant has slipped a notch. The staff are super nice, the location and ambience are superlative, but the good, at least at lunch, is not so so. We had the Manzanita club and a salmon club, with salads. The dressings tasted "store bought." I would have preferred the tasty salmon plain, without bacon and the too sweet brioche bun. The Manzanita club didn't inspire being made with packaged turkey. Come for having lunch in the Sierra. If you don't expect too much from the food, you will not be disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Fantastic service. Food was great. Desserts fantastic!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We had heard great things about this restaurant but unfortunately, it didn't live up to its promise. It was a "Hyatt-level" hotel restaurant experience, not a Zagat-rated one. The place was crawling with families with small children, eating mac & cheese and pizza spilled onto the floor. We were seated at a dirty table and when asked to move, were seated at a table next to a door opening to their patio dining. Each time the door open, we got blasted with 50-degree wind. No one offered us a wine list and the server seems confused by our asking. These little things become the BIG things when our meal is $200. for two and we booked our reservation several months in advance. Breakfast was delicious there but dinner was not good enough.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The restaurant's atmosphere was great. It was nice especially for my mother's Birthday. The food we ordered was mostly good except for my appetizer was fair. They made nice birthday dessert for three of us, my mother's favorite.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Beautiful setting. Waiting staff helpful and friendly. Lunch menu was small. The food was quite good. We thought of lunching at this restaurant as a special treat.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 22, 2017

After reading very good reviews, we booked a table at Manzanita as part of our Tahoe getaway. The service all the way around was wonderful. Exactly what you'd expect from the Ritz. The food, however, was a bit flat and forgettable. The one thing I'd mention above anything else, however, was that the restaurant itself was very cold. The ambience was nice, but we never felt like we were having a cozy meal.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We love the Manzanita st the Ritz. We have a house at Northstar and we always eat at least one dinner there when we go for a weekend. Chris was our server and she was superb.
She made great recommendations from the new menu.
We ordered the cheese plate and the ripe and green strawberry salad to start. For our main course we shared the tomahawk pork chop and the halibut. Our meal was excellent. If I wanted to nit pick, I would say the pork chop was very slightly on the dry side but it tasted wonderful.
We were so full there was no room for dessert!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Erica and wo

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 11, 2017

My husband and I wanted a quick getaway from our very busy and active lives. I found a really good deal on their website for the month of April for 2 night and 3 days. We checked in on Sunday and immediately fell in love with the place. The drive up there was not bad either coming from Sacramento. It was only 1 hour and 45 minutes. Driving up seeing the majestic mountains covered with snow was so breathtaking. The staff at the front desk and concierge were very nice, even the valet staff. We had dinner in The Living Room and enjoyed it! My husband had the burger that was fantastic! (I know it's just a burger but it was sooo good)! I had the lamb and the spicy pear fizz cocktail that was so refreshing. We really like the casual feeling of the lounge. The next day, we got in the heated pool and used the spa amenities. Our view from the pool watching the skiers go by was pretty cool. I forgot to mention the ham and cheese croissant at The Blue Café was super yummy...we had two each! We went back to our hotel to change and took the gondola down to The Village at Northstar to walk around and do some shopping and had lunch at the Rubicon Brewing Co. I found a pair of leggings on sale at North Face and my hubby found a hoodie he really liked. We headed back to the hotel for their complimentary Marshmology. Have as many s'mores as you want! I could see why the kids go crazy. I saw how many s'mores a kid can consume in a half hour. I'm pretty sure they were sugared out! Then we headed to Manzanita for dinner. My hubby had a lamb shank and I had the scallops. It was the best scallop dish I've had in my life. I'm a food enthusiast and trust me when I say I have eaten a lot of scallop / seafood dishes! It was just fantastic! I went to the gym the next morning. Their gym is really clean and has the best equipment. Too bad they didn't have a yoga class that day like I was told. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We'll be back for sure!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Private Room, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Every aspect of the meal was excellent, but the strongest aspect of the meal was, bar none, the service. Our waiter, Marius, demonstrated the utmost professionalism. He was informative and personable, and his timing was impeccable. The food was also great, especially the pork tomahawk, which was perfectly cooked. We loved the ambiance as well, and enjoyed sitting near the fireplace, an accommodation that the host made with a smile. Thanks for an awesome meal!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Buffet is somewhat underwhelming. Cuisine steps away from what can be satisfying winter-time mountain fare and instead jumps into fusion aromas better left for a tropical island.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I believe our servers' name was Mario who is from Romania and he was very good: attentive but not intrusive, knowledgable and very pleasant.
Three of the people had the filet and they all raved about it. I had the lamb shank which was very, good and very rich. The onion soup to start was delicious and the desserts were all wonderful, especially the homemade raspberry sherbet. This restaurant is quite expensive for the area but we are local and used our school cards which helps a lot...both our wallet and the schools! It is great that they support the schools this way.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The menu is a bit limited, but what they prepare here is unbelievably good. The lamb shank completely fell off the bone - I did not need a knife at all. The most shocking and pleasing item was a unique desert - a lemon ice cream with pound cake, a meringue shell, in a glaze of carmel. Oh, and a sugar-encrusted sprig of Tarragon. It was a shared desert that I did not expect to like, and I LOVED it. Really unique.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Nice place, but food nothing special.
Out of the chicken on early Friday evening??
First order of mussels was cold!!
Pizza as an alternative for the chicken was so simple!! Not worth 20$. Maybe the 4,95$ type

Server, we ate at the bar, wss excellent

Overprized for the quality. And I love to pay for quality as a rule

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Excellent and staff really cares. They made my niece feel so special on her birthday. Will be back more often.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The hotel and surroundings are spectacular and the Sunday brunch was fabulous. It was certainly the best brunch we have ever experienced.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Family and I ate here several times while staying at the Ritz - mostly for breakfast, twice for lunch and once for dinner. Service was good to great - mostly pretty darn good. Food was tasty. One item that stood out was the Huevos Rancheros at breakfast. Huevos Rancheros were different than any I've had before, but really awesome! With the drunken beans and pulled pork? Really good!

A few disappointments at breakfast:
Watch out for the "would you like avocado with that?" which we heard several times at our table and others and amounts to a few slices of avocado and $5 charge for the avocado per menu item.
The ability to fry an over-medium egg seems to be lost at this place - experienced this over multiple days. Some days it means well done, others, barely-fried (not even over-easy). In general there is inconsistency in the kitchen when it comes to eggs so either order fried and hope for the best or order scrambled.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Seems a bit expensive but is great for a special occasion or for a time you want to impress!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Solid modern American classics in a modern vibrant setting

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Wonderful dining experience every time we visit. Delicious and fabulous wine selection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Sat at the bar and had some nice lite bites listening to some great live music

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Live Music, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We live the manzanita grill! We have never had a bad meal yet! We usually go with the waiters recommendations! Sara is our favorite!! She makes our experience so special!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We've eaten here many times and have never been disappointed. Sophie was our server and she was amazing...would highly recommend you ask for her if she's working!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The food was decent but saturated in butter, kids options were uninspired and unhealthy. We were seated at the back booths, it required a step up, hard for my 73 yo mothers hip, once up in the booth the table was way too high relative to the seating. I felt like requesting a booster seat and I'm 5'9". Not a memorable experience for the price. On the plus side, the servers were attentive, helpful and on point.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

With Traci des Jardin's departure, the food has lost all quality, style and balance. It's basically the same food you'll get in the Living Room next door but for twice the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

A pretty short menu but with well prepared food and excellent service.
The downside is it is very noisy and not great for its price point.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Let me preface this by saying the food/bartenders were great and that I visit this restaurant multiple times a year with my family and we have never had a bad experience. We went here for my husband's birthday w/ a group of 7 people so, while large, it was by no means too much for an experienced server to handle.Our waitress was horrendous;her attitude and negativity completely ruined our night.She never checked in on our table after taking our order, never asked if we wanted to order more drinks after our first round was finished, nor how our food was after the busser had brought it out.She only reappeared to put the bill on the table, w/o even asking whether or not we wanted dessert, coffee, or an after dinner drink.My husband politely asked if it was possible for her to split the check by couples and she said that she didn't remember what we had eaten and that we would have to initial on the single check so she could split it up.While I can understand that, if not previously disclosed that we wanted checks split, this can be frustrating, she did not even make an effort to hide her dissatisfaction with our request.This is the freaking Ritz Carlton;requesting for a check to be split should not be a big deal at all.After we complied with her demand that we initial next to each item on the tab, she brought back 2 checks that listed the incorrect items, after we had specifically spelled it out for her.Her reaction was to rudely say to my husband "Well, I TRIED to get you all to tell me who had what or just not split the check."My husband, as well as our friends, complained tactfully to the manager and to the waitress herself, and neither of them acknowledged that this was handled inappropriately.Again, this is the RITZ CARLTON; we were not looking for a special accommodation, but one that is standard in the service industry, especially with an upscale player like the Ritz Carlton. We will be sure to tell others how we were treated and to spend their money elsewhere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was excellent. My vegetarian entree (cauliflower steak) was delicately spiced and delicious. Service was prompt and friendly. Prices were not really higher than Tavern 6330 in the village. The kids menu could have some better options.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This place has upped its game since our last visit! We especially loved the steak tartar, duck fat tater tots, and lobster gratin! Delicious. They made a special dish for our vegan daughter. Thank you.
The service is very nice too.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

everything was good about Manzanita, food and service better than the decor.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Lovely setting and very friendly staff. We did order cauliflower soup for a starter; it was lukewarm. We informed our waitress,apologies flowed and another soup was produced, which was exactly the same. We were later informed that the burner for the soup had gone out. I would have expected that the temperature of the soup would have been checked prior to the second delivery. More effusive apologies from the waitress and maitre d and no charge for the soup. Overall quality cuisine and a pleasant night out.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First class service and food

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.