Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Manzanita is a celebration Northern California Cuisine focusing on rustic cooking techniques, local produce and regional farms.

13031 Ritz Carlton Highlands Court
Truckee, CA 96161
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 267

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 562-3050

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $5.00 when dining in Manzanita.

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room can seat up to 34 people. We require a minimum of $1500 during the week and $2500 on weekends to book this room. Please contact for reservations.

Private Party Contact:
Cher Roesch: (530) 562-3050

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Scenic View (9)
See All
Special Occasion (9)
Open Kitchen (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Cozy (6)
Fireplace (6)
Romantic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fun (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Authentic (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Live Music (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
468 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Family and I ate here several times while staying at the Ritz - mostly for breakfast, twice for lunch and once for dinner. Service was good to great - mostly pretty darn good. Food was tasty. One item that stood out was the Huevos Rancheros at breakfast. Huevos Rancheros were different than any I've had before, but really awesome! With the drunken beans and pulled pork? Really good!

A few disappointments at breakfast:
Watch out for the "would you like avocado with that?" which we heard several times at our table and others and amounts to a few slices of avocado and $5 charge for the avocado per menu item.
The ability to fry an over-medium egg seems to be lost at this place - experienced this over multiple days. Some days it means well done, others, barely-fried (not even over-easy). In general there is inconsistency in the kitchen when it comes to eggs so either order fried and hope for the best or order scrambled.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Seems a bit expensive but is great for a special occasion or for a time you want to impress!

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Solid modern American classics in a modern vibrant setting

Tags: Casual, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Wonderful dining experience every time we visit. Delicious and fabulous wine selection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Sat at the bar and had some nice lite bites listening to some great live music

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Live Music, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We live the manzanita grill! We have never had a bad meal yet! We usually go with the waiters recommendations! Sara is our favorite!! She makes our experience so special!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We've eaten here many times and have never been disappointed. Sophie was our server and she was amazing...would highly recommend you ask for her if she's working!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The food was decent but saturated in butter, kids options were uninspired and unhealthy. We were seated at the back booths, it required a step up, hard for my 73 yo mothers hip, once up in the booth the table was way too high relative to the seating. I felt like requesting a booster seat and I'm 5'9". Not a memorable experience for the price. On the plus side, the servers were attentive, helpful and on point.

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

With Traci des Jardin's departure, the food has lost all quality, style and balance. It's basically the same food you'll get in the Living Room next door but for twice the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

A pretty short menu but with well prepared food and excellent service.
The downside is it is very noisy and not great for its price point.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Let me preface this by saying the food/bartenders were great and that I visit this restaurant multiple times a year with my family and we have never had a bad experience. We went here for my husband's birthday w/ a group of 7 people so, while large, it was by no means too much for an experienced server to handle.Our waitress was horrendous;her attitude and negativity completely ruined our night.She never checked in on our table after taking our order, never asked if we wanted to order more drinks after our first round was finished, nor how our food was after the busser had brought it out.She only reappeared to put the bill on the table, w/o even asking whether or not we wanted dessert, coffee, or an after dinner drink.My husband politely asked if it was possible for her to split the check by couples and she said that she didn't remember what we had eaten and that we would have to initial on the single check so she could split it up.While I can understand that, if not previously disclosed that we wanted checks split, this can be frustrating, she did not even make an effort to hide her dissatisfaction with our request.This is the freaking Ritz Carlton;requesting for a check to be split should not be a big deal at all.After we complied with her demand that we initial next to each item on the tab, she brought back 2 checks that listed the incorrect items, after we had specifically spelled it out for her.Her reaction was to rudely say to my husband "Well, I TRIED to get you all to tell me who had what or just not split the check."My husband, as well as our friends, complained tactfully to the manager and to the waitress herself, and neither of them acknowledged that this was handled inappropriately.Again, this is the RITZ CARLTON; we were not looking for a special accommodation, but one that is standard in the service industry, especially with an upscale player like the Ritz Carlton. We will be sure to tell others how we were treated and to spend their money elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was excellent. My vegetarian entree (cauliflower steak) was delicately spiced and delicious. Service was prompt and friendly. Prices were not really higher than Tavern 6330 in the village. The kids menu could have some better options.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This place has upped its game since our last visit! We especially loved the steak tartar, duck fat tater tots, and lobster gratin! Delicious. They made a special dish for our vegan daughter. Thank you.
The service is very nice too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

everything was good about Manzanita, food and service better than the decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Lovely setting and very friendly staff. We did order cauliflower soup for a starter; it was lukewarm. We informed our waitress,apologies flowed and another soup was produced, which was exactly the same. We were later informed that the burner for the soup had gone out. I would have expected that the temperature of the soup would have been checked prior to the second delivery. More effusive apologies from the waitress and maitre d and no charge for the soup. Overall quality cuisine and a pleasant night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First class service and food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

AMAZING all the way around. Best dinner we've had in Tahoe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Once again, fantastic. My server was from Romania 🇷🇴, brilliant and very gracious. Do your self a favor !!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Horrible service by the waitress-seemed preoccupied with something else. Never got refills for water. We bought a $250 bottle of wine that the Sommelier opened and never came back to pour it the entire evening. We had to pour our wine. We had two bad experiences at this restaurant
Last ski season and Decided to give it another try. Very disappointing, all the way around and we won't be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was a 3rd year to dine at Manzanita while on our annual family ski trip. (Parents night out!). Been wonderful the last couple of years, but this year the quality of the food was a BIG disappointment, especially considering the price. Only 1 of us thought our entree was good (the scallops). Even the Caesar salad was bad. Ambience and service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

OUR EXPERIENCE WAS FANTASTIC. THE ONLY NEGATIVE WAS HALF OF THE FILET MIGNON WAS FATTY. THE TOMAHAWK CHOP WAS GREAT, AS WAS THE REST OF OUR MEAL.
OUR SERVER ALLIE WAS WONDERFUL AND ATTENTIVE.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

They sat someone else under our reservation, we brought a nice bottle of wine and the som shouldn't poor service. Service was terrible in general. It is hard to reconcile the service with the cost of the meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Scallops dish - excellent. Pork chop - excellent, better than the lamb. Fried cauliflower was awesome, better than the Brüssel sprouts. Sophie was a phenomenal server, super fun, easy going but took care of us, and made great recs. The wine list is quite good for a mountain resort -- some nice values on international wines.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We loved our experience at Manzanita!
Food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We've been here numerous times. Always solid, the kitchen and management really make the effort. Great spot in Tahoe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were disappointed. Thought it would be a special evening, but on a holiday weekend, it was overrun by children. Food was average at best and brussel sprouts were drowning in oil.

Tags: Modern Decor, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Wonderful place with great food choices and a superb staff, especially at the bar.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

It was our 3rd dinner there and the least pleasant.
My "Bronzino" was overcooked and very dry.
The service was sub standard for a Ritz property and the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great views of the mountains and wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary. Ride up to the Ritz was in a gondola. We shared a bottle of local Truckee River Winery Zinfandel 2013 old vine. Fantastic !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Delicious food, great atmosphere and location, really helpful staff ... can't fault the place!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was decent but not great. Service was slower than it should have been, particularly given that the restaurant was nowhere near full. Have had good experiences here in the past but food seems to have gone downhill a bit.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was fine, where this place flopped was service across the board. We had our coats checked in front of the restaurant for an unrelated event, which was closed by the time we wanted our coats. We were served soup with no spoons. We asked for a sommelier, we got the same 17 yr old hostess who knew nothing about anything.

Nice place, great ambience, same sides on all the entrees. Priced to perfection and did not deliver on service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Impeccable service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent by all measures. The best restaurant in the Reno/Tahoe area. Start with stunning views of the Sierra Nevada, terrific mountain exterior and interior archecture, an indoor/outdoor dinning room, professionals at every level from the front door to the kitchen. An always changing and interesting menu, an excellent, thoughtful wine list. Just the latest in a long line of wonderful meals we've enjoyed at Manzanita over nearly ten years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

OVERALL THE FOOD IS GOOD. ONLY DOWNSIDE IS THEY WERE LATE IN BRINGING ME MY DINNER. AN HOUR AND 15MIN LATE. SEEMED LIKE SOMEONE FORGOT TO PLACE THE ORDER IN OR COOK IT. I WAS GIVEN A FREE SMALL BOWL OF CAULIFLOWER AND TRUFFLE SOUP WHICH I DID NOT EAT BECAUSE I DON'T LIKE EITHER. THEY DID NOT OFFER FREE DESSERT, GLASS OF WINE OR EVEN A PERCENT OFF THE MEAL. JUST SAID A SORRY FOR ME TO PUT INSIDE MY POCKET.

Tags: Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food and awesome service! The restaurant is beautiful

Tags: Healthy, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 16, 2016

It was obvious that the chef has changed. Typically these meals are among our favorite in tahoe, not so anymore. Even our young children commented on their meals. I wish I knew where the previous chef went- would love to eat there on our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We annually visit friends at Northstar and part of the whole weekend is our dinner at the Ritz. This year, as usual, was terrific. The Fall menu was being introduced and it was fantastic. The special treat of the evening was having Chef Carolyn stop by our table and share her time with us!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was medocre, good selection of wine but overpriced, service was passable but with restaurant not too busy could hsve been more personal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Mitch our server made the experience outstanding as opposed to just good. He was very knowledgable, not only about the food, but also the background of the resort. We were interested and asked many questions. He remembered all our names as he addressed us individually to make sure all was satisfactory.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.