Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.69mi
  4. Distance: 0.79mi

About Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

Manzanita is a celebration Northern California Cuisine focusing on rustic cooking techniques, local produce and regional farms.

13031 Ritz Carlton Highlands Court
Truckee, CA 96161
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 267

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 562-3050

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $5.00 when dining in Manzanita.

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room can seat up to 34 people. We require a minimum of $1500 during the week and $2500 on weekends to book this room. Please contact for reservations.

Private Party Contact:
Cher Roesch: (530) 562-3050

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Romantic (14)
See All
Scenic View (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Cozy (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Fun (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Casual (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Business Meals (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Live Music (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
514 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The evening started out great. Good service and good explanation of food choices from the server.
It went abit downhill when we got our entrées. My husbands Tomahawk pork chop was very very small and the server did not check in until we were almost finished.

A beautiful spot good flavors and a nice staff will encourage me to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

This restaurant is beautiful- wonderful wood beams and aesthetic touches throughout. We had a window table and it was lovely and quiet. Service was excellent by all staff, even down to the waiter who served the water and asked if we wanted lemons or limes in our glass. Food very good- halibut terrific. One thing I would change is the bread option- the only one on the menu or offered- $8 for 6 potato rolls with various toppings. I understand changing for bread when you offer those options, but would have preferred just some local bread.
Great night-

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Our best meal in the Tahoe area! See photo of amazing Sttaeberries and Basil dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Fun, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Did not have our Open Table reservation. There were NO OTHER diners. They had just stopped serving breakfast, which was why we were there. $10 parking too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

12th anniversary celebration at Manzanita. Great food, amazing hospitality and a terrific setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 5, 2017

every year my husband and I come here for a date night when we stay with family at Donner Lake. The past couple years we were underwhelmed by the food. This year we gave it one more shot because we love the ambiance. We were not disappointed. We found out The Ritz brought their chef up from the half moon bay location, which was a great decision on their part. The quality of food was much improved and we can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Breath of fresh air in North Lake Tahoe. Beautiful restaurant with spectacular food and service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food was great- staff was actually annoying for dinner- brunch a few days later had ONE server that was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We spent some time at the bar before our reservation. Mike is great! Check out some of the local specialty cocktails. Well worth the effort. Dinner was creative and delicious. We sat outside so the noise level was never a factor. Not sure about inside during dinner. Great spot if you are in the Tahoe area.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Very disappointed. I expected a lot more from a Ritz Carlton signature restaurant property. Ambiance is ok. Mo view. More like a dressed up Applebees. Don't dress up. It's very casual. You can go in shorts. Food was small portions, too salty. We had the scallops, I had the Alaskan halibut. Way over priced. These were the only seafood choices available, so if you like seafood, this is not the place for you. Service was fair. Decided to ask to get the scallops to go thinking that the server would ask us how we liked it or if something was wrong which is usually what happened at a high end restaurant. Didn't happen. When we declined the dessert menu, again no inquiry as to how our meal was. Save your money. Much better options are Edgewood restaurant in South Tahoe or Lone Eagle Grille in Incline Village. Both have beautiful views, much better ambiance, and better food in both selection, taste and price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Service and food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We were very disappointed with the food. French Onion soup with a scant amount of cheese is not what I expected; heavy on croutons and onions that were thick & creamy vs. flavorful. The scallop and pork belly plating was awful and the dish itself lacked flavor. Not sure what the white puree was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Overall, we had a great time. The service was outstanding, the food was good and the ambience was just perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

There was a problem with the wine but that was solved and on our bill we were not charged for it.We arrived at 6:15 and as the evening went on it got louder and louder.The service was good,the Food very good and we had a nice evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Brunch was great. Service was excellent! Loved the unlimited mimosa and bloody Mary bar!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food looked wonderful but the favors were not matching up with our expectations

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary here last week. It was perfect! We sat at the bar to start and had a great cocktail devised especially for us by the bartender based on our tastes. Then we moved to the airy and pretty dining room and had a wonderful waiter who made the occasion very special. The food was delicious, lovely wine and cocktails. Hope to return!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 5, 2017

They were under staff, it took the waitress 45 minutes to get a cocktail, our food took 1 1/2 hour and our fish was not cook well. "Looked like hospital food" the waitress was friendly to and over worked. They even ran out of food after you place the order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Beautiful location on the mountain! Outdoor seating is fun and relaxed. Inside the restaurant is beautiful, dressup or go Tahoe casual and enjoy farm to fork dinning.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I have been to this hotel and restaurant several times. It's usually good and the atmosphere is interesting/nice. This time it took unusually long to get seated but they offered champagne and we were not in a rush. But then dinner itself took a long time and I'm going to chalk it up to being around the 4th holiday even though there were many open tables by the time we left.

It's a good experience - recommend

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We are hotel guests who made our 7 pm Open Table reservation weeks ago. We got seated at the WORST table by the door, and had to request to be moved to a table next to it. And it was FREEZING next to the outer door and service door. I requested a blanket I was so cold. The restaurant manager came over after our appetizers to apologize profusely and move us to a better (and warmer) booth before our entrees arrived. He told us they usually try NOT to sit people at those two tables. Food was only so so and way overpriced. We both had the halibut entree and it tasted OK but had a poor presentation. We are making a point of dining elsewhere (Truckee, Squaw Valley) during our 3 night stay here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The ladies and gents of the the Ritz Carlton Lake Tahoe delivers excellent customer service all the time. Brunch was also excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had amazing service, and the food was incredible: best pork chop I have ever had, or ever even heard of. My wife's steak was perfect. Crab pasta appetizer was delicious. The dinner was expensive, but not for what we experienced. .

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I've had dinner at Manzanita twice and lunch once. Every meal has been exceptional. The tomahawk pork chop is juicy, tender and full of flavor. The filet (perfectly cooked to order) is worth ordering simply for the chimichuri. If you like duck, you're in for a treat (breast and sausage!) Be sure to order a side of duck fat tater tots for the table. Service is excellent. The somlier is quite helpful - take advantage. Manzanita is worth the drive, even if you aren't staying overnight.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 17, 2017

AMAZING scallops with pork belly, cooked perfectly!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We come here every time we spend a day at Northstar. One of the best nice restaurants in the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I went to the Sunday Bruch with 3 of my friends. We were staying at the Ritz for 2 days as a mini-vacation. I was very impressed that I was able to get a reservation just 48 hours in advance. The food was amazing, very fresh and flavorful. Besides the food being great, the service was AMAZING! Catering to our every need and even taking the time to get to know us. It seems as though they could anticipate our needs. I asked for Dr. Pepper (they did not have it) but offered to combine Coke & Root Beer in hopes I would be happy. That is top quality customer service.

The Sunday Bruch was a little pricey at $69 but well worth it. We were there for a little over 2 hours and it just felt like we were relaxing with friends. Highly recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Wonderful date night. Fabulous food, service and ambience. Definitely will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Had our best meal yet at Manzanita and have been regulars when in Tahoe since the onset. Appetizer Crab pasta dish was amazing and strawberry salad was lovely. My husband ordered the mushroom pizza and I ordered the Mary's chicken dish and both were standouts. Normally chicken is a safe and can be a boring option but since I am not a seafood eater except for minimal shellfish, I wanted to try it...Very excited with the creativity and marriage of flavors of each dish that we tried and cannot wait to go back!!! Kudos to the new executive chef....Minor negative is that they need to fix the fireplace on the one side that is not working as if felt like looking into an empty fish tank....

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Though previously we thought it was excellent, I think the restaurant has slipped a notch. The staff are super nice, the location and ambience are superlative, but the good, at least at lunch, is not so so. We had the Manzanita club and a salmon club, with salads. The dressings tasted "store bought." I would have preferred the tasty salmon plain, without bacon and the too sweet brioche bun. The Manzanita club didn't inspire being made with packaged turkey. Come for having lunch in the Sierra. If you don't expect too much from the food, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Fantastic service. Food was great. Desserts fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We had heard great things about this restaurant but unfortunately, it didn't live up to its promise. It was a "Hyatt-level" hotel restaurant experience, not a Zagat-rated one. The place was crawling with families with small children, eating mac & cheese and pizza spilled onto the floor. We were seated at a dirty table and when asked to move, were seated at a table next to a door opening to their patio dining. Each time the door open, we got blasted with 50-degree wind. No one offered us a wine list and the server seems confused by our asking. These little things become the BIG things when our meal is $200. for two and we booked our reservation several months in advance. Breakfast was delicious there but dinner was not good enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The restaurant's atmosphere was great. It was nice especially for my mother's Birthday. The food we ordered was mostly good except for my appetizer was fair. They made nice birthday dessert for three of us, my mother's favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Beautiful setting. Waiting staff helpful and friendly. Lunch menu was small. The food was quite good. We thought of lunching at this restaurant as a special treat.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

After reading very good reviews, we booked a table at Manzanita as part of our Tahoe getaway. The service all the way around was wonderful. Exactly what you'd expect from the Ritz. The food, however, was a bit flat and forgettable. The one thing I'd mention above anything else, however, was that the restaurant itself was very cold. The ambience was nice, but we never felt like we were having a cozy meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We love the Manzanita st the Ritz. We have a house at Northstar and we always eat at least one dinner there when we go for a weekend. Chris was our server and she was superb.
She made great recommendations from the new menu.
We ordered the cheese plate and the ripe and green strawberry salad to start. For our main course we shared the tomahawk pork chop and the halibut. Our meal was excellent. If I wanted to nit pick, I would say the pork chop was very slightly on the dry side but it tasted wonderful.
We were so full there was no room for dessert!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Erica and wo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 10, 2017

My husband and I wanted a quick getaway from our very busy and active lives. I found a really good deal on their website for the month of April for 2 night and 3 days. We checked in on Sunday and immediately fell in love with the place. The drive up there was not bad either coming from Sacramento. It was only 1 hour and 45 minutes. Driving up seeing the majestic mountains covered with snow was so breathtaking. The staff at the front desk and concierge were very nice, even the valet staff. We had dinner in The Living Room and enjoyed it! My husband had the burger that was fantastic! (I know it's just a burger but it was sooo good)! I had the lamb and the spicy pear fizz cocktail that was so refreshing. We really like the casual feeling of the lounge. The next day, we got in the heated pool and used the spa amenities. Our view from the pool watching the skiers go by was pretty cool. I forgot to mention the ham and cheese croissant at The Blue Café was super yummy...we had two each! We went back to our hotel to change and took the gondola down to The Village at Northstar to walk around and do some shopping and had lunch at the Rubicon Brewing Co. I found a pair of leggings on sale at North Face and my hubby found a hoodie he really liked. We headed back to the hotel for their complimentary Marshmology. Have as many s'mores as you want! I could see why the kids go crazy. I saw how many s'mores a kid can consume in a half hour. I'm pretty sure they were sugared out! Then we headed to Manzanita for dinner. My hubby had a lamb shank and I had the scallops. It was the best scallop dish I've had in my life. I'm a food enthusiast and trust me when I say I have eaten a lot of scallop / seafood dishes! It was just fantastic! I went to the gym the next morning. Their gym is really clean and has the best equipment. Too bad they didn't have a yoga class that day like I was told. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We'll be back for sure!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Every aspect of the meal was excellent, but the strongest aspect of the meal was, bar none, the service. Our waiter, Marius, demonstrated the utmost professionalism. He was informative and personable, and his timing was impeccable. The food was also great, especially the pork tomahawk, which was perfectly cooked. We loved the ambiance as well, and enjoyed sitting near the fireplace, an accommodation that the host made with a smile. Thanks for an awesome meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.