About Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe

13031 Ritz Carlton Highlands Court
Truckee, CA 96161
View Larger Map

Manzanita is a celebration Northern California Cuisine focusing on rustic cooking techniques, local produce and regional farms.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 267

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 562-3050

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $5.00 when dining in Manzanita.

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room can seat up to 34 people. We require a minimum of $1500 during the week and $2500 on weekends to book this room. Please contact for reservations.

Private Party Contact:
Cher Roesch: (530) 562-3050

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Manzanita at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Worth the Drive (7)
Open Kitchen (5)
Fireplace (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Romantic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Scenic View (4)
Cozy (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Authentic (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Business Meals (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
448 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

OUR EXPERIENCE WAS FANTASTIC. THE ONLY N ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

OUR EXPERIENCE WAS FANTASTIC. THE ONLY NEGATIVE WAS HALF OF THE FILET MIGNON WAS FATTY. THE TOMAHAWK CHOP WAS GREAT, AS WAS THE REST OF OUR MEAL.

OUR SERVER ALLIE WAS WONDERFUL AND ATTENTIVE.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They sat someone else under our reservat ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

They sat someone else under our reservation, we brought a nice bottle of wine and the som shouldn't poor service. Service was terrible in general. It is hard to reconcile the service with the cost of the meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Scallops dish - excellent. Pork chop - e ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Scallops dish - excellent. Pork chop - excellent, better than the lamb. Fried cauliflower was awesome, better than the Brüssel sprouts. Sophie was a phenomenal server, super fun, easy going but took care of us, and made great recs. The wine list is quite good for a mountain resort -- some nice values on international wines.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved our experience at Manzanita! Fo ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

We loved our experience at Manzanita!

Food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been here numerous times. Always s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We've been here numerous times. Always solid, the kitchen and management really make the effort. Great spot in Tahoe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were disappointed. Thought it would ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

We were disappointed. Thought it would be a special evening, but on a holiday weekend, it was overrun by children. Food was average at best and brussel sprouts were drowning in oil.

Tags: Modern Decor, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Wonderful place with great food choices ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Wonderful place with great food choices and a superb staff, especially at the bar.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our 3rd dinner there and the lea ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

It was our 3rd dinner there and the least pleasant.

My "Bronzino" was overcooked and very dry.

The service was sub standard for a Ritz property and the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great views of the mountains and wonderf ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great views of the mountains and wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary. Ride up to the Ritz was in a gondola. We shared a bottle of local Truckee River Winery Zinfandel 2013 old vine. Fantastic !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, great atmosphere and loc ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Delicious food, great atmosphere and location, really helpful staff ... can't fault the place!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was decent but not great. Service ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was decent but not great. Service was slower than it should have been, particularly given that the restaurant was nowhere near full. Have had good experiences here in the past but food seems to have gone downhill a bit.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was fine, where this place flop ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was fine, where this place flopped was service across the board. We had our coats checked in front of the restaurant for an unrelated event, which was closed by the time we wanted our coats. We were served soup with no spoons. We asked for a sommelier, we got the same 17 yr old hostess who knew nothing about anything.

Nice place, great ambience, same sides on all the entrees. Priced to perfection and did not deliver on service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Impeccable service and great food.

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Impeccable service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent by all measures. The best rest ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent by all measures. The best restaurant in the Reno/Tahoe area. Start with stunning views of the Sierra Nevada, terrific mountain exterior and interior archecture, an indoor/outdoor dinning room, professionals at every level from the front door to the kitchen. An always changing and interesting menu, an excellent, thoughtful wine list. Just the latest in a long line of wonderful meals we've enjoyed at Manzanita over nearly ten years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OVERALL THE FOOD IS GOOD. ONLY DOWNSIDE ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

OVERALL THE FOOD IS GOOD. ONLY DOWNSIDE IS THEY WERE LATE IN BRINGING ME MY DINNER. AN HOUR AND 15MIN LATE. SEEMED LIKE SOMEONE FORGOT TO PLACE THE ORDER IN OR COOK IT. I WAS GIVEN A FREE SMALL BOWL OF CAULIFLOWER AND TRUFFLE SOUP WHICH I DID NOT EAT BECAUSE I DON'T LIKE EITHER. THEY DID NOT OFFER FREE DESSERT, GLASS OF WINE OR EVEN A PERCENT OFF THE MEAL. JUST SAID A SORRY FOR ME TO PUT INSIDE MY POCKET.

Tags: Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and awesome service! The rest ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food and awesome service! The restaurant is beautiful

Tags: Healthy, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was obvious that the chef has changed ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 16, 2016

It was obvious that the chef has changed. Typically these meals are among our favorite in tahoe, not so anymore. Even our young children commented on their meals. I wish I knew where the previous chef went- would love to eat there on our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

We annually visit friends at Northstar a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We annually visit friends at Northstar and part of the whole weekend is our dinner at the Ritz. This year, as usual, was terrific. The Fall menu was being introduced and it was fantastic. The special treat of the evening was having Chef Carolyn stop by our table and share her time with us!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was medocre, good selection of ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was medocre, good selection of wine but overpriced, service was passable but with restaurant not too busy could hsve been more personal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Mitch our server made the experience out ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Mitch our server made the experience outstanding as opposed to just good. He was very knowledgable, not only about the food, but also the background of the resort. We were interested and asked many questions. He remembered all our names as he addressed us individually to make sure all was satisfactory.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sara was our server and provided excelle ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Sara was our server and provided excellent service. The cocktails and food were excellent. It lived up to the Ritz quality that I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Reasonable corkag ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Wonderful experience. Reasonable corkage fee, food options are varied and quite tasty, service was excellent, acoustics allowed for conversation at a square table for 8.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eh - kind of so-so. Nice setting and nic ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Eh - kind of so-so. Nice setting and nice decor. The Lodge itself is pretty magnificent. Went on a last minute whim as a date night with my wife. Not really worth the drive from Incline other than it is something different. We had an octopus appetizer that was pretty darn good, and the bread was great. I had Cioppino, which was good, and my wife had a flatbread which was fine but not quite as good as it looked on the way in. Pricey wines even by the glass, so I skipped it (plus I was driving). The sommelier stayed at the table behind us for almost their (and our) entire meal - which they must have enjoyed if he was THAT engaging!

Overall not the best value, but it was nice to go somewhere else. Had the added bonus of 6 extra miles on my car - the valet garage is only 100 yards away.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was absolutely delicious with beaut ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was absolutely delicious with beautiful presentation. Our waitress, Bridgette was outstanding!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was average but very overpriced. F ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Food was average but very overpriced. For that price go to the Lone Eagle in Incline Village where the food though also expensive is very good. Server Marias was a gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food here has been up and down but this ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food here has been up and down but this was by far the best yet. The vegetarian dish was abut small for the $ but delicious. Seems ludicrous to charge for the valet parking but they do .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here with friends to celebrate both ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Went here with friends to celebrate both couples wedding anniversaries. Lovely atmosphere, wonderful food. We were greeted with complimentary glasses of champagne, called by our names throughout the evening, then surprised with a complimentary "Happy Anniversary" dessert for each couple. The filet mignon, although expensive, was worth it - - very good. The French Onion Soup, Ahi, Swordfish and Cioppino were all very good. You don't mind paying a little more for a nice atmosphere, terrific service and excellent food. We'll be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful spot. Service can be a mixed b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Beautiful spot. Service can be a mixed bag. We've had fantastic service, and then hmmmm.

Dined on a Sunday, and maybe folks were just a bit off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great rustic decor and mountain ambiance ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great rustic decor and mountain ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

It was our 10th wedding anniversary and ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was our 10th wedding anniversary and we had a spectacular evening and meal here. The server geeted us w/ 2 glasses of complimentary champagne, which was a lovely surprise. The food was amazing and although what I ordered seemed like a "pedestrian" dish (roasted chicken) at the time was anything but -- it was perfection!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The menu needs a major overhaul. The di ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 17, 2016

The menu needs a major overhaul. The dishes are too haute cuisine and nothing is particularly wonderful. The roast chicken was dried out; the cioppino was thick and creamy rather than seasoned and brothy. Onion soup way too sweet.

Servers try very hard but coffee always arrives without the milk or the sweetener; anything requested (like hot sauce) comes after a real delay.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Highly overpriced and poor quality food. ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Highly overpriced and poor quality food. Had great expectations for what was to be a special dinner with guests. Disappointed in all fronts. Service slow. Ordered a $40 filet mignon which at that price should have been like gold but we've had better meat from Safeway. Presentation very dull.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Service and food was excellent. Resta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Service and food was excellent. Restaurant was ready for us when we arrived.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good service thanks to Bridgette an ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very good service thanks to Bridgette and Sophie - average food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

This is hardly a fine dining restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2016

This is hardly a fine dining restaurant and it is overpriced beyond all expectations. It made me think that I was in New York City. The portions are tiny and the prices are way over the top. Beyond the food prices, the wine list was exceptionally over priced. Six or so Pinot Noirs of approximately fifty on the list were under $100. Same with the cabs. On a positive note, the food was good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

I've been here for breakfast twice and d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2016

I've been here for breakfast twice and dinner 4 times over the past 5 years and this recent dinner was my last time eating here. Prices are high, portions have shrunk, and most of the dishes we had were just okay. It has definitely gone downhill.

Valet charges $10 (not including tip) and there is no other parking option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Could not have asked for more pleasant, ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Could not have asked for more pleasant, friendly, attentive waitstaff. Appetizers and entrees were fantastic, but dessert was awful. Chocolate cake was dry, strawberry shortcake boring, and the donut type dessert was chewy. Almost spoiled the overall experience. But we wrote it off as a one-time failure, and will try again sometime.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

My husband and I were celebrating our 54 ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 22, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 54th wedding anniversary and were treated like royalty with a complimentary glass of champagne and a beautiful dessert plate with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate. We sat on the patio as it was a delightful evening at the Ritz Carleton in Northstar, Lake Tahoe. My only criticism would be the loud music coming from the grill near the pool, it could have been toned down a bit. Our waitress was outstanding and the service was excellent not to mention the fabulous food and we loved the portion size. We had a wonderful evening and hope to celebrate there again next year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Why too expensive for what you got. Othe ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Why too expensive for what you got. Other venues just as nice at better price point. Not worth it for dinner

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Such a wonderful experienced, would high ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Such a wonderful experienced, would highly for recommend an quiet lovely evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.