About Mannino's Italian Bistro - Oceanfront

3420 Atlantic Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23514
View Larger Map

Mannino's Italian Bistro is an upscale casual restaurant offering "Olde World" Italian cuisine infused with updated New York stylings, an extensive wine list, and a full bar selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday Through Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-12 midnight

Cross Street:
35th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 390-2580

Website:
http://www.manninositalianbistro.com/

Catering:
Plated Service, Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations, or DIY with our Pans To Go!

Parking Details:
Limited spaces in garage - entrance on 35th Street.

Executive Chef:
John M. Mannino

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Mannino's Italian Bistro - Oceanfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (14)
good for groups (13)
fit for foodies (13)
See All
neighborhood gem (12)
romantic (11)
notable wine list (8)
kid-friendly (7)
great for lunch (4)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (2)
hot spot (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Mannino's at the Oceanfront f ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We went to Mannino's at the Oceanfront for a nice dinner to celebrate my son's graduation from high school. We had a fabulous dinner, our server was so cute and fun, and we just had a great time. Thank you!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice hot meals! Decent prices.

Dined on June 13, 2016

Nice hot meals! Decent prices.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

James, our server was very pleasant and helpful. Just a nice person.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Large # of GF options with scrumptious food!

Dined on June 8, 2016

For location, you can't beat walking distance from major hotels (really good idea when you don't have a designated driver). Luckily I read all the Trip Advisor reviews and knew the portions were on the large side. Highly recommend for those in hotels, unless you plan on eating lots of leftovers, you will want to share with your significant other. More importantly, they have a rather extensive GF menu with about 75% of the dishes can be accommodated! For an Appetizer, my wife and I shared the Prosciutto & Fresh Mozzarella. Fresh ingredients and tasted fantastic! Both of us were only able to eat half since we wanted to make room for the Entree. For drinks, we had a 'few' and Mannino's has mainly cocktails (with an emphasis on martini's). For Atlantic Ave., the price is good ($10) and so is the amount of alcohol in the drink. For a lot of establishments we went to, drinks average ~$12 and numerous places had a very 'light hand'. Of course, this is common in many tourist locations. For an entree, we chose the Scampi Francese which was lightly battered jumbo shrimp with artichokes. Did I mention this was gluten free? Since my wife has a gluten allergy, we only go to specific restaurants that place appropriate emphasis on preparing meals in a gluten free environment (I do plenty of early research). I'm more than happy to report, absolutely no cross contamination and I could not even tell the meal was gluten free. In short, I would highly recommend this restaurant as a couple getaway and would probably avoid with kids given the price of the meals. Atmosphere is quiet, our server (Jennifer) was attentive and you can dress either casually or business formal. My wife and I had our 25th wedding anniversary here, so we dressed more on the formal side. Let the kids have room service while you enjoy a superb and tasty meal with a loved one.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Soup

Dined on June 4, 2016

Who gets crab soup at an Italian restaurant? You should, the crab soup, more like a bisque, is to die for. If you've ever enjoyed a dish so much that you literally stopped after each bite/sip, you know what I'm trying to convey here. My next visit will be one or two bowls and some fresh baked bread. Had the veal parm as my main dish, also excellent, over shadowed by the soup, but still very good. Couldn't fit a dessert, but heard they are homemade. Next time

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food. Fresh seafood and pasta, wha ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food. Fresh seafood and pasta, what could be better.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Stay Away

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Nothing positive can be said about this experience. I just wish we had the good sense to get up and leave like another couple did. Food is awful, price and value is ridiculous. This restaurant is a fraud in every way. Incompetent server, overpriced food and on and on. We eat out often, this is the worse experience we have ever had.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good.

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Had an evening out in Virginia Beach during a conference and was looking for good Italian food. Mannino's filled the bill quote well. The server was very helpful and the food was great. Prices are more reasonable than other places. Would recommend for anyone looking for good Italian food in VA Beach.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

All I have to say is "Love the place ". ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

All I have to say is "Love the place ". Fantastic veal parmigiano, delicious wine, amazing service, no complaints at all! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were here for my partners bday weeken ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We were here for my partners bday weekend and the food was great! Our waitress was awesome and we really loved her personality! She knew the menu and specials quite well....we will definitely be back for our weekend getaway!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb chicken and eggplant parmagian. E ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Superb chicken and eggplant parmagian. Enormous portions. Great bread.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfection

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

This restaurant was a welcome surprise. The Bruschetta was outstanding. My cannoli for dessert reminded me of South Philly. Cute bar with my new favorite cocktail, Italian Iced Tea. Looking forward to sampling their menu again!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Not waterfront, not real good

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

My husband had gnocchi and he said it was good. I got spaghetti with meatballs. I test all Italian restaurants on their meatballs or bolognese. My mistake this time was ordering meatballs. The sauce and cheese baked on the pasta were good, but the meatballs were borderline awful. Ground beef and nothing else. Where were breadcrumbs, garlic, cheese?? And meatballs are always better with pork and/or veal mixed with beef. These were tough and tasteless. The waiter was also so-so. Had to ask another staffer to find him. It's a shame they advertise as waterfront. It's s block back. I would not go back.

food5
ambience4
service5

The food was so delicious and authentic ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was so delicious and authentic with great portion sizes; our waitress was sincere and not overbearing with perfect timing. Really nice atmosphere!

food3
ambience2
service3
value1

The problem with Mannino's is the mismat ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

The problem with Mannino's is the mismatch between the atmosphere (very plain and casual) and the food (very expensive). If I went back, I would opt to share appetizers and entrees. That would cut the bill in 1/2 and make the price fit the place nicely.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Very good food and service.

Dined on April 18, 2016

The Frutti do Mare was delicious. The caprese salad was very fresh. And the service was excellent.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome Italian , Not Beachfront

Dined on March 20, 2016

If you are looking for real beachfront dining, you will be disappointed. The restaurant is actually a block from the ocean with no ocean view. that will change when you taste the amazing Italian food. Fresh warm bread with olive oil and balsamic vinegar is a great start. The lobster ravioli is some of the best I have ever had. You can choose the spice level of your sauce. I chose level 5 on a scale of 1-10. It was perfect. Lasagna is huge and just like mom used to make. The wine list is quite good. Service is attentive without being overbearing. Overall, despite the deceptive name, this is a gem in VA Beach.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

All 3 hostess were unprofessional and rude.

Dined on March 19, 2016

Even with reservations we had a 30 minute wait. All hostesses said they were over booked for the night. After giving us a hard time for arriving 10 minutes early, they still sat several reservations booked after us and arrived after us and did not sit us until we complained and asked to speak to a manager. One hostess kept taking off her shoes and wiping off her feet. Three redeeming factors: our waitress was excellent, provided a free appetizer and our food was good.

food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Hostess was scarey

Dined on March 19, 2016

Not thrilled with Hostess. Needs a little training. Short with customers. Hygene challenged.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and a great value.

Dined on March 18, 2016

We come to VB every year for the Shamrock, this sounded great so we made reservations. Food was delicious, service was outstanding and prices reasonable. This is our new favorite spot. We'll be back next year.

food5
ambience4
service4

Food is just superb and menue is complet ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Food is just superb and menue is complete

food2
ambience3
service2
value4

I dined at this restaurant three times w ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

I dined at this restaurant three times within five days. My first two visits were great. On my third visit the food and the service were both well below average standards. I will not return to this restaurant.

food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Kempsville is better

Dined on February 27, 2016

I found the restaurant to be wanting in many aspects. The Waiter was definitely invested in up selling. The egg plant parmesan and onion soup were too heavy on the mozzarella. The She Crab Soup and Tortellini were excellent!

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good food during Restaurant Week

Dined on February 27, 2016

Enjoyed very much. Had excellent French Onion Soup, Penne Vodka tomato sauce dish, and cannoli was the best I've had. Wife enjoyed her meal as well. Would definitely come back...

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our gang enjoyed a "Restaurant Week" din ...

Dined on February 23, 2016

Our gang enjoyed a "Restaurant Week" dinner adventure. The decor is not impressive but we went to eat the fabulous food. Salads, crab soup, oysters, egg plant, chicken parm. ect. and delicious. Then the desert bomb cheese cake wiped us out. Totally enjoyable and great service. Go and check it out. Plenty of parking in the rear of the building. The only down side is having to walk around to Atlantic Avenue to get to the front door. Is there a back entrance I don't know about?

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian food at the beach

Dined on February 17, 2016

We recently ate at Mannino's. The food was excellent. We each had something different so we could sample as many menu items as possible. The lasagne was yummy and the portion very large. Enough for two (maybe three) to share. The chicken marsala was so tender, no knife required. Spaghetti and meatballs (never ending bowl) and french onion soup were superb. Service was great. I recommend Mannino's if you are looking for an Italian feast!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

They do Italian right

Dined on February 14, 2016

We enjoyed perfectly prepared Chicken Parmigiana and Fettucini Alfredo. The calamari was tender and plentiful. Lots of notable wines to choose from. Timely service as well. Really enjoyed our dinner!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We reserved our table on Open Table with ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We reserved our table on Open Table with no special requests (Valentines weekend). We were given a great table by the window, excellent wine, excellent food and excellent service! I read some of the reviews about the ambiance being like a Waffle House..not at all. We walked there from our hotel had a great table great service and great food.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Birthday Date

Dined on February 13, 2016

Celebrated a quiet 60th birthday with my spouse in a corner booth - great food, great service...a perfect evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was very knowledgeable about ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Our server was very knowledgeable about the items on their menu. Every bite was better than the one before it! All the food tasted fresh and delicious. The best calamari I've ever tasted! The atmosphere was dim lit and romantic but also suitable for a family gathering.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on January 1, 2016

We were in town for New Year's Eve and saw the positive reviews and decided to try it for dinner! And we absolutely loved it! The food was amazing!! Great place, food, and drinks!!!

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NYE dinner

Dined on December 31, 2015

Great New Year's Eve dinner! We had 8 people, and service was great. Yummy Italian-American food!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Very disappointing; at best. The greeter ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

Very disappointing; at best. The greeter and server were very nice and polite. The fried oysters were good. The crab and shrimp tini was horrible as it was saturated with an oily substance, the crab was literally floating. The waiter took it off our bill without us even asking. The sauce on the veal and eggplant stack ruined the dish. It was as if a can of tomatoes was pored on it. Nasty. Needless to say; since it was my spouses birthday celebration I was extremely disappointed for such a negative experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Shrimp Francese and chicken Francese bot ...

Dined on December 20, 2015

Shrimp Francese and chicken Francese both were delicious. Pasta with arrabiata sauce had a perfect spiciness. Pasta with pesto was also a big hit. Cannolis for dessert were just right.

food2
ambience3
service4

The prices have gone up from the last ti ...

Dined on December 5, 2015

The prices have gone up from the last time I ate there. The Ceasar Salad tasted like it was made that afternoon and not much flavor. Everyone in our party agreed the food was not as good as had been in the summer. Will not visit anytime soon. Our waitress was very good that is about the only thing.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Italian Restaurant!

vip
Dined on November 23, 2015

This place is a real Italian restaurant. They do not have pizza, the French onion soup and Chicken Parmesan were fantastic! The lady sitting next to me ordered the lasagna which looked great - and she said it was! Many items on this menu I can't wait to try.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4

Excellent Italian Food...and generous portions!

Dined on October 9, 2015

My wife and I both had veal dishes and neither of us could finish our dinner. My wife is 100% Italian and loved the marinara sauce. The pasta was a perfect al dente. The Italian bread was very good. A side salad before dinner would have been nice. We find that once you get below the Mason-Dixon line (for teh most part) salads are not included with the meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent food with a very creative chef

Dined on October 9, 2015

Mannino's consitently has perfectly prepared delicious menu items. The creativity of their chef with exceptional daily/weekend specials is quite amazing. This is not your "every day" Italian restaurant. The flavor and presentation is exceptional. The beef short ribs with roasted potatoes and lobster and rockfish over linguine were AMAZING. The artful presentation made it even more exquisite and delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Good for Special Occasions

Dined on September 27, 2015

Found this place on Trip Advisor. It was rated quite high, so I decided to go here for my birthday. My husband had the lasagna and I had seafood alfredo. We both enjoyed it very much.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Good service, fair price wine list

Dined on September 22, 2015

We enjoyed our night at Mannino's...it was convenient because we walked there from our hotel, the service was really good and our appetizer were great also...It was not the best pasta dishes in the world but we would definetly give it another try...thanks.

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.