About Mannino's Italian Bistro - Oceanfront

3420 Atlantic Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23514
View Larger Map

Mannino's Italian Bistro is an upscale casual restaurant offering "Olde World" Italian cuisine infused with updated New York stylings, an extensive wine list, and a full bar selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday Through Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-12 midnight

Cross Street:
35th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 390-2580

Website:
http://www.manninositalianbistro.com/

Catering:
Plated Service, Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations, or DIY with our Pans To Go!

Parking Details:
Limited spaces in garage - entrance on 35th Street.

Executive Chef:
John M. Mannino

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Mannino's Italian Bistro - Oceanfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

3.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for Groups (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Romantic (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Authentic (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Fun (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
145 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food at Mannino's was great. My hus ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food at Mannino's was great. My husband had the lasagna and I had the penne arrabiata. Torey, our server, was fantastic. My husband swears that the tirimasu was the best ever!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went here on a recommendation from our r ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Went here on a recommendation from our resort Ocean Beachclub. As an Italian from New York we were pleasantly surprise. This restaurant would thrive in NYC. The food was amazing. The shrimp were cooked perfectly and the rose sauce was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Another great dinner at Mannino's. We we ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Another great dinner at Mannino's. We went twice during our week vacation at the beach...we found this place last year and we love it. Thank you !

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were excellent! I ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The service and food were excellent! I mean, really, the best authentic Italian ever! We had the chicken parm, and from our server's suggestion, the Veal Saltimbocca. Both were excellently prepared! Save room for dessert..The tiramisu was hands down, the BEST EVER! My only complaint was that it was definitely geared toward tourists and not locals. Turn down the lights at least please! That would help make the ambiance at least a little more romantic and quaint. The food will make me go to Mannino's again, but for my date night, I think I will try a different location.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

My fish was good but my boyfriend's veal ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

My fish was good but my boyfriend's veal was chewy . I would go again but he would not .

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing waitress that was great with sug ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Amazing waitress that was great with suggestions and knew the menu very well. The food was great too!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We love Manninos and often take out of t ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We love Manninos and often take out of town guests there as the food NEVER disappoints.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Good Experience. Food Good.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Very Good Experience. Food Good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This restaurant was Okay. The service wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This restaurant was Okay. The service was quite slow and not very attentive to refilling water glasses. The food was average. The location is convenient.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Slow service. We ordered the kids meal ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Slow service.

We ordered the kids meal first and specifically asked for it to be delivered first.

The service was slow. And the kids' meals did take long.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Crab soup was amazing! I could eat thei ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Crab soup was amazing! I could eat their everyday!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place. As New Yorkers, we kno ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Loved this place. As New Yorkers, we know great Italian food. Going back again tonight!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff was very attentive before ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The wait staff was very attentive before you noticed you needed something they were there to assist you. Sebastian a great waiter. The food was perfect; we had the Caesar Salad, the Four Cheese Ravioli, and the Pollo Portifino. All of our dishes were far better than we even expected. We will definitely be going again in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place if you are looking for someth ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Nice place if you are looking for something other than beach fare but still want to be casual. No kids menu. Variety of offerings good but to my 11 year old's dismay, no garlic bread!! More $ than I expected to pay. Prices suggest white table food and service; it was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

There were three of us. The Crab soup is ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

There were three of us. The Crab soup is what I love the most.

We had a very nice meal although my veal was flattened so much so that there wasn't any taste.

Over all it was a pleasant experience and the easy of booking on line is a plus.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

My wife and I had an amazing anniversary ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I had an amazing anniversary dinner. Our dinner was flawless and service was excellent. Do yourself a favor and stop by for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, Service also good; but we ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was good, Service also good; but we were rushed to eat our Appetizer by just bringing the Entree out. Overall an average to good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The food was okay, but certainly nothing ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food was okay, but certainly nothing to make me want to return. Our waiter, who was newly hired and a sefl-proclaimed non-foodie, had only eaten at Mannino's once so he couldn't give us any recommendations. The atmosphere was reminiscent of an old Ponderosa restaurant that had been minimally remodeled. The "oceanfront" location was actually across the street from the ocean, so our view was of cars, hotels and pedestrians. Perhaps we should have tried the Kempsville location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Very mixed review because my date and I ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very mixed review because my date and I had opposite experiences. He ordered chicken parmigiana and it was "the best chicken Parmesan" he ever had. I, however, ordered the chicken francaise and could only take two bites. The 'sauce' was overly watery and too sour/bitter to eat. The baby artichokes were also extremely bitter. Although I told the waitress and she removed it (with two small bites missing), she did not remove or reduce it on our bill (a $20 meal). Overall, our bill was approximately $75 for two people so keep that in mind when making your decision.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The spaghetti and meatballs are the best ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The spaghetti and meatballs are the best I've ever had . Period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Exceptional birthday dinner. She crab so ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Exceptional birthday dinner. She crab soup was as good as advertised. My husband said the chef tortellini was to die for. My son thought the lasagna was the best ever. Veal dishes were very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything about our visit was good - th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything about our visit was good - the drinks, service and most of all the food. We will be back before we leave and when we come back next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Group of.10 Everyone.loved their meals S ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Group of.10

Everyone.loved their meals

Soup, wonderful, salads, main dishes, and desserts

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This was a delightful restaurant. The f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This was a delightful restaurant. The food was so good we decided to dine here a second night. We had 4 grandchildren with us (5-13). They had a good kids menu and even prepared the pasta dish for one on the children very plainly as she requested. I would recommend this restaurant and would dine here again.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed ourselves. My husband ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We really enjoyed ourselves. My husband said it was the best eggplant parmesan he has ever had. Everything tastedgreat!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mannio's made our Trip to Virginia Beach ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Mannio's made our Trip to Virginia Beach the most pleasant experience . We arrived at the Beach Club Ocean resort , they over booked and gave away our room for the weekend. Mannios was friendly,great customer service and the food was excellent. Our waiter was new and he did a great job . I would go down to Virginia beach just for this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service, the food and the atmosphere ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The service, the food and the atmosphere were a welcomed surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good but expensive, touristy.

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Good but expensive, touristy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

This was our first trip to Mannino's, an ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was our first trip to Mannino's, and we were not disappointed. The he crab soup is to die for, and the French onion was flavorful as well. I ordered the chicken Parmesan, and it was excellent. The bread was right out of the oven, hot and crusty. Mike and Junior waited on us, and they were fine as well. All in all, a great experience and next time I am in town I will go back.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was some of the best Italian food I ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was some of the best Italian food I have had in a long time. The chef's specialties were outstanding. Service was excellent. We were thrilled that we chose Manninos for dinner!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We opted for this restaurant for a Girls ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We opted for this restaurant for a Girls Night out because it could serve vegetarians and meat lovers. The food was wonderful, the service was way below par. We were promised bread and waited well over 30 minutes for just the bread. This pattern continued for the appetizers and meal. We ended up eating too much bread by the time we got it because we were starving and then the meals took so long as well. It is unfortunate because the food, once it arrived, was really very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

As frequent visitors to the old Pleasure ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

As frequent visitors to the old Pleasure House Rd Mannino's, my wife and I decided to use a special occasion (Anniversary) to make our first visit to the new Mannino's at the beach. Our anniversary date started off fine but it was lucky that I called ahead and got a reservation (7:00pm). Since it had been lightly raining all afternoon (July 30th), I didn't expect to see to many people waiting to get into the restaurant. As I entered thru the 1st door to get to the second door, the floor was wet/damp and my first step into the door was a slippery one in where I had to quickly steady myself against the wall to retain my balance. My first suggestion to Mannino's is to put some kind of small entrance carpet or mat down so people stepping in off the street do not slip on the floor. There was a small group of 5 waiting for the hostess before us, but it took a couple of minutes for them to appear. After a couple of stop and starts with these folks in getting them seated, we were escorted to our table shortly thereafter. Drink order was taken, bread was served, then drinks were delivered. My wife's Martini (which I have ordered for her a few hundred times - Dry Grey Goose Martini- straight up with 3 olives on the stick) was not made correctly (made with vermouth). Martini was quickly corrected and served. Dinner order was taken. Entrees came and they were good but not the usual "outstanding" that we expected. It seemed like they were prepared like they were to be part of a cafeteria buffet line vice being prepared individually for the person who was going to eat it.

I guess the long and the short of it is that Mannino's at the beach is a place that is going to focus on the tourist crowd and sacrifice the ambiance and personal touch that the Pleasure House Rd location used to give to the frequent flyers who enjoyed that location. The beach location was crowded in table space & still seemed a little disorganized in the operation of the restaurant. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The best she-crab soup I have ever had. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The best she-crab soup I have ever had. It was outstanding!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. well worth it.

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food. well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food and service were great. I will defe ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food and service were great. I will defenantly go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very cozy Italian restaurant - great fin ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Very cozy Italian restaurant - great find nearby our hotel! Food was excellent - and we scored big by going on a Monday evening with 1/2 price wine night (enjoyed a wonderful Italian red!). Good for families with kids. Great service by Justin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Delicious! I had a seafood special with ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Delicious! I had a seafood special with scallops and shrimp in a spicy sauce a sit was fantastic

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very pleasant surprise, a quality Italia ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Very pleasant surprise, a quality Italian restaurant in the middle of the tourist area in Virginia Beach. Excellent service. The hot Crabtini was different; these are normally served chilled, but my wife and I liked this version, well done.

We'll be back next year during our annual VB vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was excellent, however most ita ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was excellent, however most italian restraunts where we originate from, include a dinner salad with the main course. The waitress was very kind and checked to see if we needed anything multiple times. The atmosphere was also very nice:)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing! Best meal in all of ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Absolutely amazing! Best meal in all of Virginia beach! So delicious! Great cocktails and even great food for the kids! Not the generic crap at every other resturaunt

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.