Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Mannino's Italian Bistro - Oceanfront

Mannino's Italian Bistro is an upscale casual restaurant offering "Olde World" Italian cuisine infused with updated New York stylings, an extensive wine list, and a full bar selection.

3420 Atlantic Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23514
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday Through Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-12 midnight

Cross Street:
35th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 390-2580

Website:
http://www.manninositalianbistro.com/

Catering:
Plated Service, Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations, or DIY with our Pans To Go!

Parking Details:
Limited spaces in garage - entrance on 35th Street.

Executive Chef:
John M. Mannino

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Mannino's Italian Bistro - Oceanfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.1

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (14)
Casual (9)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Good for Birthdays (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Authentic (6)
Romantic (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Business Meals (3)
People Watching (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Family Style (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Waterfront (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fireplace (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
186 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

My daughter and I were visiting Norfolk, and decided to venture out for authentic Italian. This restaurant was amazing; we can't wait to go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food and service! Would recommend the fettuccine alfredo! Awesome!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Justin was a friendly and attentive server. Our reserved table was available right away. Bread was delicious and special compliments go to the chicken francaise.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was si m ply delicious. Huge portions so make sure you're hungry.
The server was excellent as too was the girl In training.
Hi recommend

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great place for she crab soup! Everything else on the menu was very good as well, including the wine.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great Italian food and weekend specials. Wines selection is outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Casual, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent food as i have come to expect from Mannino's. My pollo francese was fantastic. The she crab soup is to die for. The tiramasu was not quite what I've come to expect from this local chain. The french onion soup was mostly bread. The service on a Friday night leaves a lot to be desired. Getting reservations was easy and lead us to think the experience would be much better. It took a very long time to get our soup with no spoons. It was luke warm by the time we got a serving spoon rather than a soup spoon which was way too big. Our server did his best but was clearly over loaded. We will continue to highly recommend other Mannino's loctions. The oceanfront location will be added to our "no" list

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Dissapointed that we didn't get a window seating as We requested on our reservation. We where told by the host that those tables where reserved for larger groups than 2, but saw two window tables that only where occupied by 2 ppl.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The appetizer was very good the entrée of chicken was fair and the dessert was very good

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal at mannino's. We ordered from the restaurant week menu- the chicken Parmesan is simply the best I've ever had! So delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We were a table of 4 during restaurant week. Choosing from the $25 price fixe we were all happy and satisfied. I could have used less dressing on my Caesar salad; crab soup was packed with crab and the meatball appetizer plentiful. Our main courses of chicken francese, chicken parm and penne a 'la vodka were delicious. Desserts were varied-huge slices of cheesecake, tasty tiramisu and a light chocolate martini. Our waiter John I. made sure were were well attended to. Great service by a friendly guy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We loved it. Food was delicious and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Very good food
Great service
Did not know about parking

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

One of the better restaurants in Virginia Beach. I adore the Kempsville location because it's near my neighborhood – – but the oceanfront location was a welcomed change

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Came out to manninos with my sister for a dinner and we sat in the bar area , I enjoyed that with the high top table , it was Valentine's Day and becoming quit busy but are little spot was cozy had great conversation it wasn't to loud and the service was excellent, carol had the prime rib which was cut with mashed potato and broccoli, it was very tender and the mashed potato was creamy delicious, I had to try a bite it looked so good , my choice was the shrimp pasta and I added spinach which was delicious, hot and fresh .. we will definitely be back again soon

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fun, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 6, 2017

As the last time, I was greeted with a smile and friendly talk

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The Italian specialties were wonderful!!! Our waitstaff was most attentive, providing us with a great birthday evening!!!! We will definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Service was great! Our server Justin was incredible!
Food was good but did not live up to my expectations. Ravioli was watery😕

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always, great food and service. Crab soup is especially wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful New Year's Eve dinner with friends. The service was excellent and the servers worked as a team so that water and wine was refilled promptly. The food was fabulous and plentiful as usual.

We had a great time!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went on Christmas Eve. We we're there fairly early, 5:30, so it wasn't too crowded when we got there. However, as the evening progressed it was packed. That's always a good sign. This is our second year going in Christmas Eve. Food was great with huge proportions. We all took home a doggie bag. My daughter and I are vegetarian and there were ample choices for us. I had portabella Parmesan and my daughter had eggplant Parmesan. Both were delish. The short rib special my husband had, he said was delicious as well.
The ambiance isn't the absolute greatest, but service was excellent and well informed. Would recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Service and food were great as always... Maninnos never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Top notch service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was terrible. For some reason it has excellent reviews on trip advisor I really can't imagine how anyone who knows decent food could rava about this place. The chicken picatta looked and tasted terrible. The chicken was bland, colorless and tasteless. The pasta was ok. The calamari was rubbery and greasy. The she crab soup was salty and had a canned taste. This isn't even as good as Olive Garden let alone a real Italian spot. My advice is to try one of the nicer beachfront restaurants instead

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent Italian food. The bruchetta with gorgonzola cheese was amazing. The fresh bread with the seasoned olive oil was a great touch. Unique dressing for the salad. Yummmm.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Awesome food and server was knowledgeable and friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This restaurant offers authentic Italian food just off the Virginia Beach waterfront. The bread and veal saltimbocca with spaghetti were very tasty. The Manninos Pinot Grigio was also very good. I will be going back for fresh fish later in the week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Surprising in an Italian restaurant - the crab bisque is world class! Every dish is freshly prepared and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The facility needs updating and is not very comfortable overall; however, the food was quite good. The clam appy did not live up to its description on the restaurant website but was still quite tasty. The veal stack - special main course was excellent, especially the sauce. The penne was too al dente for my taste and its sauce was bland.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It was our second visit to Mannino's. We met some friends as a prelude to our daughter's wedding. Everything was as expected ... the two most important, food and service, were top shelf. Don't hesitate to visit Mannino's for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good food, great birthday dinner for our mother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service was impeccable. Friendly and attentive without being overbearing. The food was great. Highly recommend the crab soup.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Nice place. Food was great with a good section. Nice find for a beach resort town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The MANAGER was HORRIBLE! Absolutely ruined the birthday we were celebrating. I will never return because of her. I go to the best and finest restaurants all over the country and she was just absolutely horrible when speaking to us. P

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Splendid food and great service. Ample serving of lasagna bolognese was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Outstanding food, great service, very attentive, exceeded our expectations!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Enjoyed an impromptu dinner with friends in town. She crab soup, as always, was excellent! Good location at the oceanfront. Service prompt and friendly, food arrived right on time.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great place to celebrate. Great selection of food! Exceptional Service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Decor needs updating. Crab soup and caprice salad both great. We went during half price wine time but the wine was not the best. We were used to their location on Pleasure House Rd and the oceanfront location was quite not up to their standards.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Slow service and food prep. Dinner shouldn't take 2hrs. The last time we came here was 2yrs ago and had the same experience which unfortunately hasn't changed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.