Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Mannino's Italian Bistro - Oceanfront

Mannino's Italian Bistro is an upscale casual restaurant offering "Olde World" Italian cuisine infused with updated New York stylings, an extensive wine list, and a full bar selection.

3420 Atlantic Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23514
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday Through Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-12 midnight

Cross Street:
35th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 390-2580

Website:
http://www.manninositalianbistro.com/

Catering:
Plated Service, Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations, or DIY with our Pans To Go!

Parking Details:
Limited spaces in garage - entrance on 35th Street.

Executive Chef:
John M. Mannino

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Mannino's Italian Bistro - Oceanfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

3.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (15)
Special Occasion (10)
Casual (10)
See All
Comfort Food (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Family Style (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Business Meals (5)
Romantic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Fun (3)
People Watching (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Healthy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Waterfront (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
200 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The Crab-tini was to die for. Best she-crab soup I've had in quite some time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Spectacular crab soup and pastas. We had 3 children and 3 adults and were made to feel perfectly at home. No issues having so many children. Excellent service and varied and delicious menu (6 different meals and everyone's was fantastic!)! Portions for children's and adult's meals were huge. We had left-overs for days.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a great dinner. Our anniversary falls at prom time so there were a few large parties. The food came out hot and everything was delicious. We will go back in the fall. Until then the other 2 locations will be our pick.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I read many awesome reviews and unfortunately my husband and I did not feel the same. We love Italian food and love to go to Mom and Pop places to eat. This just reminded me of a Fazoli's. Really nice people which we appreciated, but the food has to be the top priority when you are spending money to eat out. We can deal with bad service, but not mediocre Italian food. I really wanted this to be our #2 to-go-to VA Beach restaurant. We will keep searching. Thank you for the great service though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I went by the reviews and it had a 4 1/2 star but no way its a 4 1/2 star. its just not that good. Very big portions. I love Italian food but my veal was tough and the place is dated. Great crab soup however. I would consider Mannino's a 2 1/2 only....

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great meal and service! Everything we tried tasted wonderful. We were pleasantly surprised to find such great Italian food near the beach!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Have eaten their restaurant in Portsmouth several times and is a favorite. It was convenient to where we were staying in Virginia Beach. Very nice meal and great service from Jenn. Only minor concern as there seemed to be an excess of sauce on all three dishes. Less would have been better. But is was very good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent dining experience with wonderful service!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Private Room, Family Style, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Staff was very friendly. Fried mozzarella and crab soup were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We thoroughly enjoys our visit to Mannino's. The happy hour, food, dessert and server, Cindy were all great.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wonderful experience at Mannino's! My husband and I went with our two young boys and the waiter was very friendly and accommodating. We had reservations so we got seated right away. This is a great gem with delicious food and just steps from our hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We have had wonderful dining experiences at other Manninos locations. The Oceanfront location fell so short of the other locations. Strange service-while the restaurant was fairly empty, the service was very rushed. We got our appetizers and barely started when our entrees arrived. We ordered cocktails but the delivery was very delayed-the slow service was blamed on a busy bar. However, there were 2 people at the bar and the bartender was chatting with them. Do not order the Pinot Grigio! It is awful. We spent almost $200.00, we left in less than an hour, the food was just okay- except for the sides of pasta which were very good. Absolutely go to the other locations. This one seems like just another tourist trap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Had a wonderful experience! Our waiter was funny and very attentive! Picked an awesome wine for myself and my friend. Food was outstanding! Would come back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food was good. The calamari appetizer was excellent. Best calamari in the area! Waitress did not share the specials.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 24, 2017

My daughter and I were visiting Norfolk, and decided to venture out for authentic Italian. This restaurant was amazing; we can't wait to go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food and service! Would recommend the fettuccine alfredo! Awesome!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Justin was a friendly and attentive server. Our reserved table was available right away. Bread was delicious and special compliments go to the chicken francaise.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was si m ply delicious. Huge portions so make sure you're hungry.
The server was excellent as too was the girl In training.
Hi recommend

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great place for she crab soup! Everything else on the menu was very good as well, including the wine.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great Italian food and weekend specials. Wines selection is outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Casual, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent food as i have come to expect from Mannino's. My pollo francese was fantastic. The she crab soup is to die for. The tiramasu was not quite what I've come to expect from this local chain. The french onion soup was mostly bread. The service on a Friday night leaves a lot to be desired. Getting reservations was easy and lead us to think the experience would be much better. It took a very long time to get our soup with no spoons. It was luke warm by the time we got a serving spoon rather than a soup spoon which was way too big. Our server did his best but was clearly over loaded. We will continue to highly recommend other Mannino's loctions. The oceanfront location will be added to our "no" list

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Dissapointed that we didn't get a window seating as We requested on our reservation. We where told by the host that those tables where reserved for larger groups than 2, but saw two window tables that only where occupied by 2 ppl.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The appetizer was very good the entrée of chicken was fair and the dessert was very good

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal at mannino's. We ordered from the restaurant week menu- the chicken Parmesan is simply the best I've ever had! So delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We were a table of 4 during restaurant week. Choosing from the $25 price fixe we were all happy and satisfied. I could have used less dressing on my Caesar salad; crab soup was packed with crab and the meatball appetizer plentiful. Our main courses of chicken francese, chicken parm and penne a 'la vodka were delicious. Desserts were varied-huge slices of cheesecake, tasty tiramisu and a light chocolate martini. Our waiter John I. made sure were were well attended to. Great service by a friendly guy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We loved it. Food was delicious and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Very good food
Great service
Did not know about parking

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

One of the better restaurants in Virginia Beach. I adore the Kempsville location because it's near my neighborhood – – but the oceanfront location was a welcomed change

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Came out to manninos with my sister for a dinner and we sat in the bar area , I enjoyed that with the high top table , it was Valentine's Day and becoming quit busy but are little spot was cozy had great conversation it wasn't to loud and the service was excellent, carol had the prime rib which was cut with mashed potato and broccoli, it was very tender and the mashed potato was creamy delicious, I had to try a bite it looked so good , my choice was the shrimp pasta and I added spinach which was delicious, hot and fresh .. we will definitely be back again soon

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fun, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 6, 2017

As the last time, I was greeted with a smile and friendly talk

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The Italian specialties were wonderful!!! Our waitstaff was most attentive, providing us with a great birthday evening!!!! We will definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Service was great! Our server Justin was incredible!
Food was good but did not live up to my expectations. Ravioli was watery😕

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always, great food and service. Crab soup is especially wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful New Year's Eve dinner with friends. The service was excellent and the servers worked as a team so that water and wine was refilled promptly. The food was fabulous and plentiful as usual.

We had a great time!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went on Christmas Eve. We we're there fairly early, 5:30, so it wasn't too crowded when we got there. However, as the evening progressed it was packed. That's always a good sign. This is our second year going in Christmas Eve. Food was great with huge proportions. We all took home a doggie bag. My daughter and I are vegetarian and there were ample choices for us. I had portabella Parmesan and my daughter had eggplant Parmesan. Both were delish. The short rib special my husband had, he said was delicious as well.
The ambiance isn't the absolute greatest, but service was excellent and well informed. Would recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Service and food were great as always... Maninnos never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Top notch service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was terrible. For some reason it has excellent reviews on trip advisor I really can't imagine how anyone who knows decent food could rava about this place. The chicken picatta looked and tasted terrible. The chicken was bland, colorless and tasteless. The pasta was ok. The calamari was rubbery and greasy. The she crab soup was salty and had a canned taste. This isn't even as good as Olive Garden let alone a real Italian spot. My advice is to try one of the nicer beachfront restaurants instead

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent Italian food. The bruchetta with gorgonzola cheese was amazing. The fresh bread with the seasoned olive oil was a great touch. Unique dressing for the salad. Yummmm.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Awesome food and server was knowledgeable and friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.