Mannino's Italian Bistro - Oceanfront

4.3
324 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Good for a Date
  • Authentic
Mannino's Italian Bistro is an upscale casual restaurant offering "Olde World" Italian cuisine infused with updated New York stylings, an extensive wine list, and a full bar selection.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Sunday Through Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-12 midnight
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(757) 390-2580
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John M. Mannino
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Plated Service, Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations, or DIY with our Pans To Go!
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
35th Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Limited spaces in garage - entrance on 35th Street.
Additional
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine
What 324 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.0
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined 7 days ago

No wait staff for 15 minutes after we were seated. It was an hour to get our food. Both dinners were burnt. With so many good places to eat, skip this one.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

There was a little confusion with our Open Table reservation and drink specials. Despite this we would go back as the food was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful all around!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 14, 2018

A bit disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Wonderful food and very friendly staff. Great place for vacation dining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

We thought the food was great - so good we went back a second time(note: our experience the 2nd time was just as good).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

John was the most amazing waiter. He made our experience here SO much better. He was so sweet, knew what he was talking about. John had us laughing the entire time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

As always, the food was absolutely delicious. Manninos does not disappoint. Service was wonderful. Will return again and again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Mentioned it was my husbands birthday, but no response from server or host.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

My wife and I had a great meal while on a beach vacation. We make it a point to visit every time were in Virginia Beach. The staff operates like a fine tuned engine and the food is outstanding coming out of the kitchen.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Convenient to Virginia Beach beach hotels. Good food at reasonable prices. Good atmosphere. Friendly wait staff.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Food is way overpriced for the level of quality that we received.
the seating is horrible and uncomfortable.
The she-crab soup was fantastic I have to give them that.
I should have read more of the reviews before reserving this for my birthday.
90% of them fall in lockstep with what we experienced the service staff is welcoming friendly personable and knowledgeable.
The food however was subpar I would put it on a level somewhere around Olive Garden but not quite Carrabba's.
Having read their website I really expected a lot more from a CIA graduate.
Sorely disappointed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

The food was excellent, and service was fantastic. John is our favorite server and he makes the evening fun. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Our group of 6 was seated promptly and our server greeted us and got us started in a timely manner. The food was prepared as described in the menu or by the server and came out hot and the portions were large. Excellent taste and preparation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

It was my son graduation dinner. Everything turn out great. Thanks for having us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great place to eat at the oceanfront. The N.Y. style sausage & pepper, caprase salad and mozzarella & prosciutto appetizers are very good. Main courses are huge unless you're really Hungary or intend to bring home a foggy bag, order a half portion. I highly recommend the Veal or Chicken parmigiana , the gnocchi, the penne a la vodka are all great. Good wine selection and a great location. Parking is limited and during the summer getting there can be a chore but worth it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Food and service were good. The place needs a facelift though. Thought it would be better based upon the reviews.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

We were visiting the beach so we had to stop at our favorite Italian restaurant. Mannino's has had consistently delicious food for years, coupled with great service. Mirren, our server, did a great job as always, stopping in at just the right times but not "hovering" over my wife and I during our date. We both ate an entree special, which this trip was lobster ravioli and a perfectly cooked porterhouse. We had fried mozzarella (made in house) and the best she-crab soup in the area. Always a hit when we visit the beach, and we will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Never disappoints! Service is always amazing and the food is incredible. You can never go wrong with the crab soup

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Excellent food and service. A bit pricey but well worth it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

We were traveling for pleasure to Virginia Beach, VA. Right across from our condo share were two of the BEST restaurants in town. One for breakfast and lunch and one fortunately for dinner. Mannino’s was the dinner choice. FORTUNATELY! And we had one of the best Italian dinners ever. My husband got a take on his favorite veal, my sister and I their award winning crab soup. They don’t even let them enter the “Best of” contest anymore they have won so many times. ABSOLUTELY THE BEST crab soup I have EVER had. Then she and I shared an Italian sausage and chicken dish special for the night, perfect for two after enjoying the crab soup. The service was comfortably attentive, the ambiance perfect with comfy booths, old wood and votive candle light. I’d go back to Virginia Beach just for these Restaurants!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 17, 2018

We had a fantastic meal! The Caesar salad was delicious, as were the meatballs! Our server was sweet and very attentive! We will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Whenever we vacation in Virginia Beach, this restaurant is our Italian staple. The food is always great tasting, and the service is spot on.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Great Italian restaurant on the Oceanfront. Food and service are fantastic, and I appreciate the quiet/warm feel of the dining room itself. Definitely the place to go if you’re looking for a good/wholesome Italian meal while in Virginia Beach.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Great food and service! Would highly recommend to everyone.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

They were under staffed so service was slow. I got the wrong dish and my wife received the wrong wine. Food was good but not special, one exception was the bread. I would most likely look for a different restaurant next time I’m in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Great experience. The bartender explained the she-crab soup and fresh made mozzarella and influenced my order in an amazing way.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Sat for 45 minutes. Our kids got food. We received no drinks and still had not had our food order taken. We just paid for the kids food and left to eat elsewhere. Disappointing as we were looking forward to eating here. I had a bite of the kids meatball and it was delicious. Unfortunately, that was all the food we received.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Great food, everyone was very friendly, the waitress was wonderful...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We had a pre-Shamrock half-marathon dinner on Saturday night. Mannino's had prepared a special race menu which was a nice gesture due to the hundreds of race attendees who would probably be stopping in for dinner. We ended up ordering off their regular menu and our dinners were fantastic. My date and I split the greek salad which had a unique dressing that I've been craving since finishing the salad. I ordered the tortellini rustica (tortellini, sausage, mushrooms and artichoke hearts in a tomato cream sauce) which was perfect and my date had a spicy shrimp dish (can't remember the name), which he thoroughly enjoyed. We were offered fresh warm bread as we waited for our dinners. Mannino's is very well staffed from the hostesses greeting us to the servers, bussers, and bartenders. Overall a great experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

The staff is great. The food is AMAZING! Love it here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Great food and service! I can't wait to come back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Our first time here and enjoyed every minute. Service was exceptional as was the food and dessert. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Very good fresh food and quality service. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Breaded shrimp and fish was soggy noodles were cold bread was soggy just overall it wasn't good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 24, 2018

We were here for my husbands birthday during restaurant week. I had a crab soup which was delicious and set my expectations for the rest to come. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. My main entree was the fresh catch of the day- rockfish. It was so over cooked that it was like eating rubber and it sat in a tasteless mass of broth laying over a bed of over cooked penne. My husband had the meatball appetizer which he said was just okay. His chicken parmigiana came a little over cooked over a bed of again super over cooked penne. Our desserts were fine. Nothing spectacular but not bad. Service was good and staff was friendly. My husband doesn’t like to complain so we didn’t say anything about the fish or pasta....but this is an Italian restaurant so they should know how to serve pasta!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Wonderful meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

This was our second time dining here. Always great service and the food is fantastic! We come to Virginia Beach every year for a little get away. We will continue to dine here!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal
At Mannino’s Bistro. Food was delicious & staff excellent. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 23, 2018

The prosciutto with fresh mozzarella appetizer and rockfish entree were divine. The tiramisu was a bit dry. Our server was wonderful and the wine wonderful! We went Thursday night during restaurant week. We will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9