Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Mannino's Italian Bistro - Oceanfront

Mannino's Italian Bistro is an upscale casual restaurant offering "Olde World" Italian cuisine infused with updated New York stylings, an extensive wine list, and a full bar selection.

3420 Atlantic Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23514
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday Through Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-12 midnight

Cross Street:
35th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 390-2580

Website:
http://www.manninositalianbistro.com/

Catering:
Plated Service, Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations, or DIY with our Pans To Go!

Parking Details:
Limited spaces in garage - entrance on 35th Street.

Executive Chef:
John M. Mannino

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Mannino's Italian Bistro - Oceanfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

3.8

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Cozy (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Authentic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fun (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Romantic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Waterfront (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
260 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Great food great service will go there again and again...loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Crab soup was outstanding! Kathryn wad wonderful, helpful waitress. Very good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 27, 2017

I really am glad I gave this location another shot during a less busy time. The food was absolutely superb and the service was top-notch. I always order the she-crab soup from Mannino's as it is the absolute best in the area. The pollo francese was fresh and delicious. The pollo portofino was to die for. My family was very pleased with their experience as was I. Don't forget to try the desserts. The tiramisu is the absolute best in Hampton Roads! I highly recommend this restaurant and will return when I am craving the most authentic Italian in Hampton Roads.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Don’t judge by appearances. Excellent food and service. Good wine list. Great value.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

The food was outstanding. Best veal parm I can remember and I get it almost all the time at Italian restaurants.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Came for Virginia Beach Restaurant Week and enjoyed a well planned meal to include appetizer and dessert at a nominal fee. My husband and will be returning as there were so many choices on the menu that looked worth trying. I had the She-Crab soup, Shrimp Scampi and Chocolate Martini - I will be returning to partake in those as well - especially the soup. One of the best I have ever tasted. Waite staff was quick and attentive. It was a very nice Sunday evening dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing !!
Highly reccoment the Oyster App

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 4, 2017

The food was amazing as always! The feel of the restaurant is a little outdated but the food and service are amazing so it doesn't matter. If the interior is as good as the food, I think more people will eat there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We chose Mannino's for the menu and proximity of our hotel and expected average +. What we got was extraordinary! The sauces on the lasagne and alfredo were absolutely the best we've ever had.

Even though the wine list was not extensive, the Mannino label wines were very reasonably priced and were as good as much more expensive labels. The pours seemed a little small, but the quality made up for that.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The She-crab soup was excellent, that we went back for a second time. The specials were great. I took one each night. The prices were to expect for the quality of the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Mannino's was my first Italian restaurant outing after returning from Italy. Although we are still partially spoiled after enjoying the "real thing" for weeks, Mannino's did not disappoint in any way. We both had very good dishes featuring their homemade sauces and cheese. Everything we tried was delicious, and the server was informative and skilled.
We were seated about 530pm, so I can't say what it's like when close to capacity.
Mannino's Oceanfront is actually on the west side of Atlantic Avenue, so don't expect an ocean view as the name might suggest. It's still worth a visit.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Every visit to Virginia Beach over the past six years includes at least one visit to this restaurant, every aspect has always been enjoyable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We had a great meal. The Veal and Portabella Stack was out of this world! Hubby tried a special of Scallop Franchise, and he loved it! Parker was our server, he couldn't have been more helpful, and attentive.Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The meal was very Good!!

Service was also Very Good!!

We will return again!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Truly it's great Italian spot. It's not your typical "Italians" pizza joint---full of flavor and cheese. Great family feel and very old school. Suggest the chicken parm and chicken parmadora.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great experience, crab bisque was out of this world. A must try.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great customer service...great food...definitely would go back...

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was great, pricey, but very fresh. This is a good place to go for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The service was the best. Katie did a great job with our party, which was supposed to be only 14 but ended up being 19. The food was great. I will definitely recommend this for next years 50 State Half Marathon Club Pre-Race for Rock and Roll Virginia Beach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food was pretty average & overall decor is dark & a bit deary , definitely could do with an update.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Fresh lovely food. Great service in an upscale environment. Kudos to the chef. Have the scallops

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our dining experience was amazing, Ken was our server and he made the meal a memorable evening!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had a gift card, so we set our reservation. We requested a booth and ended up getting the best seat in the house, in our opinion. A really nice booth set apart from other seating. We got two appetizers that were amazing, followed by entrees that were just as good, if not better. Overall, a great experience. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We have always enjoyed our visits to all the Mannino restaurants. The meat loaf special was very good. The happy hour drinks make the visit even more pleasing. Looking forward to a wine dinner there soon.- hopefully thanks see you soon

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Surprisingly good food with great service. One of the better meals we had during our vacation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Were seated quickly near bar area. Not a dressy place - feel free to dress down. Chicken Marsala was cooked well, but the sauce (3 of us had it) was too sweet. And we have sweet tooths, but this was a turn off. Calamari was yummy though and Jen (waitress) was very attentive. Would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great food, just as good as the original.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Our server Courtney was friendly, knowledgeable & did an excellent job. The decor was only average but the food was excellent! The specials were creative & we didn't have anything we didn't enjoy. There was a large family w/kids at another table that was fairly noisy but I think that was a one-off situation. We will definitely be back on a future trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Always great service for a large group! We will be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Poorly lit table, disappointing service. Food just ok; not particularly warm. Not great value for money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This restaurant was our favorite in Virginia Beach! We all shared the crab soup as a starter. It has multiple layers of flavors and the sweetest crab. Amazing! Our entrees were all delicious as well, especially the frutti de mare. I would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Awesome food and Service!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2017

In town for a conference and this wonderful little restaurant was a short distance away from the hotel. fantastic, high-quality meal with good, friendly service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The unimpressive Veal Saltimbocca was buried under a mound of spinach - not what I would expect and not sure why the restaurant would think this is a good recipe and presentation.

On the other hand, the She-Crab soup was outstanding.

Attentive service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Nice but dated decor. Good food. Great wines & Sangria. We had good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

My family and I enjoyed Mannino's Oceanfront very much. The food was excellent and so was the service. It was a great location for us since we were staying at The Hilton Garden Inn. We would definitely eat at Mannino's again next time we visit Virginia Beach.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The veal was some of the best I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 25, 2017

This restaurant came highly recommended by TripAdvisor and Yelp but we asked staff at our hotel and they said that Mannino's had great Italian food. They were absolutely right! This place was awesome. We made reservations for our sons 18th birthday dinner on their website. They texted us to confirm an hour before our reservation and they even asked if there was a special occasion. When we got there we were promptly seated. The decor is older but it reminded us of old school Italian restaurants. Our waitress Katie quickly greeted us to get our drink order and brought menus. The fresh made bread she brought while we looked over the menu was excellent - fresh and warm. We ordered appetizers - fresh Mozzarrella with fresh tomatoes on bruschetta and Calamari Fritti. Wife and son had Chicken Parm and I had Veal Parm. Sauce was fresh and tasted great and the cheese was the great. We will definitely return and recommend this place to anyone wanting great Italian food. We were too full for dessert. They even brought out a birthday card signed by the chef and the staff. Nice touch. Katie, our waitress, was friendly and very professional and polite but made you really feel at home. Thanks so much for a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2017

A true gem ! Outstanding food, great service. This is one of the best NY style Italian meals
I have had in 5 years in Virginia. If you know what that kind of food is and you like/love it this
is the place for you. Everything is made fresh, be patient, it is worth it. Just have another glass of wine off a very good wine list and enjoy. Food like this is meant to be enjoyed not rushed through. They do have kid friendly options if you are with little ones that will work faster. If you from the north east, this is like the place you go to where you just know you are going to get a good meal. Also have nightly specials. Prices per entrees were very reasonable as well. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was amazing. Waitress forgot to bring us our leftovers...no real big deal for us because we really didn't need to eat all that food two days in a row. Drink order took way to long (and it wasn't busy), but I don't blame the waitress for that either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.