About Mannino's Italian Bistro - Oceanfront

3420 Atlantic Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23514
View Larger Map

Mannino's Italian Bistro is an upscale casual restaurant offering "Olde World" Italian cuisine infused with updated New York stylings, an extensive wine list, and a full bar selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday Through Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-12 midnight

Cross Street:
35th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 390-2580

Website:
http://www.manninositalianbistro.com/

Catering:
Plated Service, Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations, or DIY with our Pans To Go!

Parking Details:
Limited spaces in garage - entrance on 35th Street.

Executive Chef:
John M. Mannino

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Mannino's Italian Bistro - Oceanfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

3.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Romantic (13)
Notable Wine List (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
134 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Crab soup was amazing! I could eat thei ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Crab soup was amazing! I could eat their everyday!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place. As New Yorkers, we kno ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Loved this place. As New Yorkers, we know great Italian food. Going back again tonight!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff was very attentive before ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 6 days ago

The wait staff was very attentive before you noticed you needed something they were there to assist you. Sebastian a great waiter. The food was perfect; we had the Caesar Salad, the Four Cheese Ravioli, and the Pollo Portifino. All of our dishes were far better than we even expected. We will definitely be going again in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place if you are looking for someth ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Nice place if you are looking for something other than beach fare but still want to be casual. No kids menu. Variety of offerings good but to my 11 year old's dismay, no garlic bread!! More $ than I expected to pay. Prices suggest white table food and service; it was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

There were three of us. The Crab soup is ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

There were three of us. The Crab soup is what I love the most.

We had a very nice meal although my veal was flattened so much so that there wasn't any taste.

Over all it was a pleasant experience and the easy of booking on line is a plus.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

My wife and I had an amazing anniversary ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I had an amazing anniversary dinner. Our dinner was flawless and service was excellent. Do yourself a favor and stop by for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, Service also good; but we ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was good, Service also good; but we were rushed to eat our Appetizer by just bringing the Entree out. Overall an average to good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The food was okay, but certainly nothing ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food was okay, but certainly nothing to make me want to return. Our waiter, who was newly hired and a sefl-proclaimed non-foodie, had only eaten at Mannino's once so he couldn't give us any recommendations. The atmosphere was reminiscent of an old Ponderosa restaurant that had been minimally remodeled. The "oceanfront" location was actually across the street from the ocean, so our view was of cars, hotels and pedestrians. Perhaps we should have tried the Kempsville location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Very mixed review because my date and I ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very mixed review because my date and I had opposite experiences. He ordered chicken parmigiana and it was "the best chicken Parmesan" he ever had. I, however, ordered the chicken francaise and could only take two bites. The 'sauce' was overly watery and too sour/bitter to eat. The baby artichokes were also extremely bitter. Although I told the waitress and she removed it (with two small bites missing), she did not remove or reduce it on our bill (a $20 meal). Overall, our bill was approximately $75 for two people so keep that in mind when making your decision.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The spaghetti and meatballs are the best ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The spaghetti and meatballs are the best I've ever had . Period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Exceptional birthday dinner. She crab so ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Exceptional birthday dinner. She crab soup was as good as advertised. My husband said the chef tortellini was to die for. My son thought the lasagna was the best ever. Veal dishes were very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything about our visit was good - th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything about our visit was good - the drinks, service and most of all the food. We will be back before we leave and when we come back next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Group of.10 Everyone.loved their meals S ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Group of.10

Everyone.loved their meals

Soup, wonderful, salads, main dishes, and desserts

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This was a delightful restaurant. The f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This was a delightful restaurant. The food was so good we decided to dine here a second night. We had 4 grandchildren with us (5-13). They had a good kids menu and even prepared the pasta dish for one on the children very plainly as she requested. I would recommend this restaurant and would dine here again.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed ourselves. My husband ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We really enjoyed ourselves. My husband said it was the best eggplant parmesan he has ever had. Everything tastedgreat!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mannio's made our Trip to Virginia Beach ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Mannio's made our Trip to Virginia Beach the most pleasant experience . We arrived at the Beach Club Ocean resort , they over booked and gave away our room for the weekend. Mannios was friendly,great customer service and the food was excellent. Our waiter was new and he did a great job . I would go down to Virginia beach just for this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service, the food and the atmosphere ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The service, the food and the atmosphere were a welcomed surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good but expensive, touristy.

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Good but expensive, touristy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

This was our first trip to Mannino's, an ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was our first trip to Mannino's, and we were not disappointed. The he crab soup is to die for, and the French onion was flavorful as well. I ordered the chicken Parmesan, and it was excellent. The bread was right out of the oven, hot and crusty. Mike and Junior waited on us, and they were fine as well. All in all, a great experience and next time I am in town I will go back.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was some of the best Italian food I ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was some of the best Italian food I have had in a long time. The chef's specialties were outstanding. Service was excellent. We were thrilled that we chose Manninos for dinner!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We opted for this restaurant for a Girls ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We opted for this restaurant for a Girls Night out because it could serve vegetarians and meat lovers. The food was wonderful, the service was way below par. We were promised bread and waited well over 30 minutes for just the bread. This pattern continued for the appetizers and meal. We ended up eating too much bread by the time we got it because we were starving and then the meals took so long as well. It is unfortunate because the food, once it arrived, was really very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

As frequent visitors to the old Pleasure ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

As frequent visitors to the old Pleasure House Rd Mannino's, my wife and I decided to use a special occasion (Anniversary) to make our first visit to the new Mannino's at the beach. Our anniversary date started off fine but it was lucky that I called ahead and got a reservation (7:00pm). Since it had been lightly raining all afternoon (July 30th), I didn't expect to see to many people waiting to get into the restaurant. As I entered thru the 1st door to get to the second door, the floor was wet/damp and my first step into the door was a slippery one in where I had to quickly steady myself against the wall to retain my balance. My first suggestion to Mannino's is to put some kind of small entrance carpet or mat down so people stepping in off the street do not slip on the floor. There was a small group of 5 waiting for the hostess before us, but it took a couple of minutes for them to appear. After a couple of stop and starts with these folks in getting them seated, we were escorted to our table shortly thereafter. Drink order was taken, bread was served, then drinks were delivered. My wife's Martini (which I have ordered for her a few hundred times - Dry Grey Goose Martini- straight up with 3 olives on the stick) was not made correctly (made with vermouth). Martini was quickly corrected and served. Dinner order was taken. Entrees came and they were good but not the usual "outstanding" that we expected. It seemed like they were prepared like they were to be part of a cafeteria buffet line vice being prepared individually for the person who was going to eat it.

I guess the long and the short of it is that Mannino's at the beach is a place that is going to focus on the tourist crowd and sacrifice the ambiance and personal touch that the Pleasure House Rd location used to give to the frequent flyers who enjoyed that location. The beach location was crowded in table space & still seemed a little disorganized in the operation of the restaurant. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The best she-crab soup I have ever had. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The best she-crab soup I have ever had. It was outstanding!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. well worth it.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food. well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food and service were great. I will defe ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food and service were great. I will defenantly go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very cozy Italian restaurant - great fin ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Very cozy Italian restaurant - great find nearby our hotel! Food was excellent - and we scored big by going on a Monday evening with 1/2 price wine night (enjoyed a wonderful Italian red!). Good for families with kids. Great service by Justin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Delicious! I had a seafood special with ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Delicious! I had a seafood special with scallops and shrimp in a spicy sauce a sit was fantastic

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very pleasant surprise, a quality Italia ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Very pleasant surprise, a quality Italian restaurant in the middle of the tourist area in Virginia Beach. Excellent service. The hot Crabtini was different; these are normally served chilled, but my wife and I liked this version, well done.

We'll be back next year during our annual VB vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was excellent, however most ita ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was excellent, however most italian restraunts where we originate from, include a dinner salad with the main course. The waitress was very kind and checked to see if we needed anything multiple times. The atmosphere was also very nice:)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing! Best meal in all of ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Absolutely amazing! Best meal in all of Virginia beach! So delicious! Great cocktails and even great food for the kids! Not the generic crap at every other resturaunt

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Service wasgood. W ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was excellent. Service wasgood. Wqitress neededpractice with learning wine availability and prices. She may have been new. She was very pleasant. The atmosphere was way too casual for fine dining. It looked like a pizza place where folks could drop in right off beach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

We went to Mannino's at the Oceanfront f ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We went to Mannino's at the Oceanfront for a nice dinner to celebrate my son's graduation from high school. We had a fabulous dinner, our server was so cute and fun, and we just had a great time. Thank you!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice hot meals! Decent prices.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Nice hot meals! Decent prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

James, our server was very pleasant and helpful. Just a nice person.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Large # of GF options with scrumptious food!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

For location, you can't beat walking distance from major hotels (really good idea when you don't have a designated driver). Luckily I read all the Trip Advisor reviews and knew the portions were on the large side. Highly recommend for those in hotels, unless you plan on eating lots of leftovers, you will want to share with your significant other. More importantly, they have a rather extensive GF menu with about 75% of the dishes can be accommodated!

For an Appetizer, my wife and I shared the Prosciutto & Fresh Mozzarella. Fresh ingredients and tasted fantastic! Both of us were only able to eat half since we wanted to make room for the Entree. For drinks, we had a 'few' and Mannino's has mainly cocktails (with an emphasis on martini's). For Atlantic Ave., the price is good ($10) and so is the amount of alcohol in the drink. For a lot of establishments we went to, drinks average ~$12 and numerous places had a very 'light hand'. Of course, this is common in many tourist locations.

For an entree, we chose the Scampi Francese which was lightly battered jumbo shrimp with artichokes. Did I mention this was gluten free? Since my wife has a gluten allergy, we only go to specific restaurants that place appropriate emphasis on preparing meals in a gluten free environment (I do plenty of early research). I'm more than happy to report, absolutely no cross contamination and I could not even tell the meal was gluten free.

In short, I would highly recommend this restaurant as a couple getaway and would probably avoid with kids given the price of the meals. Atmosphere is quiet, our server (Jennifer) was attentive and you can dress either casually or business formal. My wife and I had our 25th wedding anniversary here, so we dressed more on the formal side. Let the kids have room service while you enjoy a superb and tasty meal with a loved one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic Soup

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Who gets crab soup at an Italian restaurant? You should, the crab soup, more like a bisque, is to die for. If you've ever enjoyed a dish so much that you literally stopped after each bite/sip, you know what I'm trying to convey here. My next visit will be one or two bowls and some fresh baked bread. Had the veal parm as my main dish, also excellent, over shadowed by the soup, but still very good. Couldn't fit a dessert, but heard they are homemade. Next time

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. Fresh seafood and pasta, wha ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food. Fresh seafood and pasta, what could be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Stay Away

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Nothing positive can be said about this experience. I just wish we had the good sense to get up and leave like another couple did. Food is awful, price and value is ridiculous. This restaurant is a fraud in every way. Incompetent server, overpriced food and on and on. We eat out often, this is the worse experience we have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very good.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Had an evening out in Virginia Beach during a conference and was looking for good Italian food.

Mannino's filled the bill quote well. The server was very helpful and the food was great. Prices are more reasonable than other places. Would recommend for anyone looking for good Italian food in VA Beach.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

All I have to say is "Love the place ". ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

All I have to say is "Love the place ". Fantastic veal parmigiano, delicious wine, amazing service, no complaints at all! Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.