HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 16 times today

Mannino's Italian Bistro - Oceanfront

4.5
279 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date (10)
  • Good for Birthdays (8)
  • Neighborhood Gem (7)
Mannino's Italian Bistro is an upscale casual restaurant offering "Olde World" Italian cuisine infused with updated New York stylings, an extensive wine list, and a full bar selection.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Sunday Through Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-12 midnight
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(757) 390-2580
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John M. Mannino
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Plated Service, Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations, or DIY with our Pans To Go!
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
35th Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Limited spaces in garage - entrance on 35th Street.
Additional
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine
What 279 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5  based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.5
service
4.0
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Odysseyguy (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined 4 days ago

This was a late decision choice and it work out perfectly for our group of 7. The Tortellini Rústico was out of this world. Thanks.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

Great food, service needs to improve although it was a busy night. However the manager took care of us as he should have! Great job by management taking care of the situation!

Report
Helpful
Jmvm (Richmond)
1.0  Dined 6 days ago

I had a reservation at 7 and they “couldn’t find it” so I had to Wait over an hour for a table. The food wasn’t hot and my waitress was rude.

Report
Helpful
JessicaS (Richmond)
1.0  Dined 6 days ago

Horrible experience. Cramped seating to the point where the waitresses kept hitting my chair as they walked by.

You couldn’t have a conversation because the next table was so close to you so it didn’t feel private. Not the type of environment you want for a special occasion.

Took 20 minutes to get drink orders, my water wasn’t refilled until we were about to leave. I asked for the dessert menu and never received it. The waitress apologized for the wait but in a monotone, generic voice where it didn’t seem genuine.

The food was bland. My portabello mushroom tasted old. It was overall a very crummy experience.

I never leave reviews and I understand that it was busy because it was Valentines Day. However, I felt that the experience was unfair for my attempt at a romantic evening.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

Ken the manager was helping cover tables and did a great job covering the two of us on Valentines Day evening!! The meal was excellent as was the wine Ken helped us pick. The She Crab Soup was as advertised excellent as was the specials Lobster Bisque and Prime Rib. For a very busy night the restaurant did a great job serving us great meals in a timely manner!!

Report
Helpful
Kevin (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Recommended by a friend. Sat at bar, both bartenders were fun but had to put up with our pal who has been lonely lately. They handled it better than my wife. We’ll be back (without him)👌!

Report
Helpful
DebraT (Richmond)
4.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

This was our 1st time and overall it was a great experience! The food was very good and good value! Our waitress was great and we were carltching up with old friends so we were taking our time! Was a little disappointed on the interior but that will not stop us from going again or recommending!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Palm Springs)
5.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Awesome all around

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
5.0  Dined on January 21, 2018

Excellent Italian food. The veal marsala was pounded super thin with a wonderful wine sauce not a gravy like some places make. The mozzarella bruschetta was delicious as well as the meatballs and chicken parmesan. Overall an excellent meal and our server John was fantastic. Can't wait to go back

Report
Helpful
JaelC (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

I really enjoyed my food here. I had dinner on a cold Saturday night and ordered the pasta con pollo and was very satisfied with the flavor and size. I also had an Italian lemon drop martini and enjoyed it immensely. My waitress (I forget her name) was very kind and attentive. I will return if I come to VA beach again.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

We enjoyed an amazing dinner on NYE. Everything from soups to bread to entrees and cappuccino was delicious, well prepared and generous in portions. Their private label wines were wonderful, especially the sangiovese. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
vipAshley (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

We had a great experience, as always, at Manninos. The food was fantastic and our service was wonderful, especially since there was so much going on for NYE. We always go back and feel welcomed by the staff with each visit. This is a hidden gem at the oceanfront that I hope everyone gets the chance to try!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

I went to Mannino's for a solo New Years' Eve meal. I was not disappointed. They had some worthy vegetarian options and were happy to adjust dishes to suit my dietary needs. The servers and service was great. The staff was attentive and had great energy and personality. The Manager checked in to make sure all was well. And the food was absolutely delicious with super healthy portions. I took some home and warmed it up 2 days later for my parents and myself and they loved it. My father literally asked where I got it from. It was an adjusted chef's special. The cheese tortellini with mushrooms, carmelized onions and sun-dried tomatoes. (It usually comes with peas and proscuitto but I subbed those to things for the sun-dried tomatoes). Wonderful- I would get it again and I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

Delicious food, great service and friendly staff! Perfect way to celebrate my husband's birthday; they even included a birthday card signed by the staff!

Report
Helpful
viprevlousch (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on December 16, 2017

We decided to try this restaurant for my wife's birthday - based on the reviews we read here on Open Table. We were not disappointed! The ambience is casual and pleasant - the food and the service are top-notch. Our server, Ken, was very cordial, attentive, and knowledgeable. We began with a shared clams appetizer, followed by the frutti di mare and vitello saltimbocca. I cannot begin to say how very fresh the ingredients were and how authentic the entrees were! (I am a NY Italian-American.) Portion sizes were very generous as well. Ken recommended an excellent red zinfandel - on special that night - which complimented everything beautifully. For dessert (I can't believe we found room!), we had a chocolate chip cannoli and a tiramisu (both house made and wonderfully decadent!). We will definitely return here the next time we visit Virginia Beach. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on December 12, 2017

I rarely write reviews but I will make an exception. I had not gone to the oceanfront location before, but chose it because it was closer than Kempsville. I had planned to go with a friend... who had gone aggressively vegan since we last saw each other. I actually like a lot of vegan dishes ... but the tent revival fervor... not so much.

Anyway the restaurant was practically empty, and the parking at this location is difficult (parking deck behind Pocahontas pancakes)

The food and service were as good as at Kempsville but the emptiness of the venue was offputting. I suppose it is busy during tourist season. The food was excellent. I will return with carnivorous friends soon.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on December 7, 2017

Waiter was very nice and polite but a better talker than server. Had to ask for things more than once

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on November 22, 2017

Food is fantastic but don’t leave without having a cup of the she crab soup!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Atlantic City)
5.0  Dined on November 9, 2017

Great food great service will go there again and again...loved it

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on November 3, 2017

Crab soup was outstanding! Kathryn wad wonderful, helpful waitress. Very good experience!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14