Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Mannino's Italian Bistro - Oceanfront

Mannino's Italian Bistro is an upscale casual restaurant offering "Olde World" Italian cuisine infused with updated New York stylings, an extensive wine list, and a full bar selection.

3420 Atlantic Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23514
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday Through Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-12 midnight

Cross Street:
35th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 390-2580

Website:
http://www.manninositalianbistro.com/

Catering:
Plated Service, Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations, or DIY with our Pans To Go!

Parking Details:
Limited spaces in garage - entrance on 35th Street.

Executive Chef:
John M. Mannino

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Mannino's Italian Bistro - Oceanfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Comfort Food (11)
See All
Cozy (10)
Special Occasion (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Romantic (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Family Style (3)
Seasonal (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Waterfront (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
221 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

A true gem ! Outstanding food, great service. This is one of the best NY style Italian meals
I have had in 5 years in Virginia. If you know what that kind of food is and you like/love it this
is the place for you. Everything is made fresh, be patient, it is worth it. Just have another glass of wine off a very good wine list and enjoy. Food like this is meant to be enjoyed not rushed through. They do have kid friendly options if you are with little ones that will work faster. If you from the north east, this is like the place you go to where you just know you are going to get a good meal. Also have nightly specials. Prices per entrees were very reasonable as well. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was amazing. Waitress forgot to bring us our leftovers...no real big deal for us because we really didn't need to eat all that food two days in a row. Drink order took way to long (and it wasn't busy), but I don't blame the waitress for that either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Food is always amazing and atmosphere is perfect....love it...go here every time we am in town..my husband and kids look forward to it each time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The food was very good, especially the French Onion Soup, the Chicken Parmesan and the Veal Parmesan.

The waitress was very friendly and also knowledgeable about all the choices on the menu.

Silly us, we forgot our credit card there but when we came back next day, we were pleased to learn they had stored it safely for us, and there were no unauthorized charges on it.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 6, 2017

By far an excellent and very authentic Italian restaurant. Service was outstanding as well was the atmosphere. A little noisy when we were first seated - mainly due to a large family party nearby. Wine choices were a welcome surprise. I will certainly recommend Mannino's Italian Bistro in Virginia Beach to all my friends and clients when they plan their next visit to Virginia Beach, VA. Thanks so much!

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Business Meals, Casual, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The food is genuine Italian. Everything was exceptional. Great sauces, pasta, and meats. The portions were huge. The service couldn't have been better. We only wish Mannino's was in our hometown.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Great place right off of boardwalk. She Crab soup was awesome, entrees/desserts were good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Tortellini Mannino was incredible!
They have THE BEST She Crab Soup-and the awards to prove it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Exceptional service!!! John made our dinner great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Our meals were delious and our Waiter Justin was friendly and courteous.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Do not order crab soup. The famous crab soup was very salty. Up to the point that it was impossible to eat. The waiter did not seem to be happy that we only ordered light dinner with soup and salads with no main course and drinks. Would not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Everything was tasty, Two appetizers were well done. No complaints on the other diner's dishes.
I ordered the eggplant part and while it was freshly made, it didn't seem like there was very much actual eggplant in it. When I cut in to it it was mostly breading. It may be a personal preference peculiar to me, but I like a good chunk of eggplant to dig into.
The accompanying spaghetti was very good.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great service and amazing food. Must try the crab soup, best I ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Best Italian in the Virginia Beach area, by far! Don't miss out nor be sucked in to nearby places with sub-par food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food was fantastic and the service was superb. Best crab soup I've ever had!

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Seasonal, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Another great night...second time this week...we like to come have dinner here once or twice everytime we come in VA Beach for vacation.Really good service, great food, good price!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We had a really great dinner! Our server was John I and he is an amazing gentleman...We had a great night! Food was great, great wine at an amazing price (1/2 off on monday night), great service! I really think Mannino's is the best kept secret on the oceanfront in VA Beach! Thank you!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 10, 2017

After spending a week at Virginia beach and tried several restaurants in the area I've got to say that it's the best food on the strip. The she crab soup was great. We're from Delaware and get fresh crab all the time. Reasonably priced and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I had the lasagna and it was excellent. Highly recommend the calamari!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Restaurant was right across the street from the Hilton Garden Inn Oceanfront, which was very convenient. Our party of 4 had cheese tortellini, chicken parmesan and 2 had cod special. We don't have anything extremely special to say about it but really enjoyed our meals. We would definitely not hesitate to go there again, but might try another Italian restaurant before we had a repeat visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We went for the she crab soup and it was delicious! We also had veal saltimbocca and a dish layered with veal and other meats. Both were fantastic. The tiramisu was unusual but fantastic. The Cannock was the only item I wouldn't order again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The Crab-tini was to die for. Best she-crab soup I've had in quite some time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Spectacular crab soup and pastas. We had 3 children and 3 adults and were made to feel perfectly at home. No issues having so many children. Excellent service and varied and delicious menu (6 different meals and everyone's was fantastic!)! Portions for children's and adult's meals were huge. We had left-overs for days.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a great dinner. Our anniversary falls at prom time so there were a few large parties. The food came out hot and everything was delicious. We will go back in the fall. Until then the other 2 locations will be our pick.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I read many awesome reviews and unfortunately my husband and I did not feel the same. We love Italian food and love to go to Mom and Pop places to eat. This just reminded me of a Fazoli's. Really nice people which we appreciated, but the food has to be the top priority when you are spending money to eat out. We can deal with bad service, but not mediocre Italian food. I really wanted this to be our #2 to-go-to VA Beach restaurant. We will keep searching. Thank you for the great service though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I went by the reviews and it had a 4 1/2 star but no way its a 4 1/2 star. its just not that good. Very big portions. I love Italian food but my veal was tough and the place is dated. Great crab soup however. I would consider Mannino's a 2 1/2 only....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great meal and service! Everything we tried tasted wonderful. We were pleasantly surprised to find such great Italian food near the beach!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Have eaten their restaurant in Portsmouth several times and is a favorite. It was convenient to where we were staying in Virginia Beach. Very nice meal and great service from Jenn. Only minor concern as there seemed to be an excess of sauce on all three dishes. Less would have been better. But is was very good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent dining experience with wonderful service!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Staff was very friendly. Fried mozzarella and crab soup were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We thoroughly enjoys our visit to Mannino's. The happy hour, food, dessert and server, Cindy were all great.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wonderful experience at Mannino's! My husband and I went with our two young boys and the waiter was very friendly and accommodating. We had reservations so we got seated right away. This is a great gem with delicious food and just steps from our hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We have had wonderful dining experiences at other Manninos locations. The Oceanfront location fell so short of the other locations. Strange service-while the restaurant was fairly empty, the service was very rushed. We got our appetizers and barely started when our entrees arrived. We ordered cocktails but the delivery was very delayed-the slow service was blamed on a busy bar. However, there were 2 people at the bar and the bartender was chatting with them. Do not order the Pinot Grigio! It is awful. We spent almost $200.00, we left in less than an hour, the food was just okay- except for the sides of pasta which were very good. Absolutely go to the other locations. This one seems like just another tourist trap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Had a wonderful experience! Our waiter was funny and very attentive! Picked an awesome wine for myself and my friend. Food was outstanding! Would come back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food was good. The calamari appetizer was excellent. Best calamari in the area! Waitress did not share the specials.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 24, 2017

My daughter and I were visiting Norfolk, and decided to venture out for authentic Italian. This restaurant was amazing; we can't wait to go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food and service! Would recommend the fettuccine alfredo! Awesome!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Justin was a friendly and attentive server. Our reserved table was available right away. Bread was delicious and special compliments go to the chicken francaise.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was si m ply delicious. Huge portions so make sure you're hungry.
The server was excellent as too was the girl In training.
Hi recommend

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great place for she crab soup! Everything else on the menu was very good as well, including the wine.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.