Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 6 times today

Mannino's Italian Bistro - Oceanfront

4.4
302 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Perfect For:
  • Good for a Date
  • Casual
  • Good for Anniversaries
Mannino's Italian Bistro is an upscale casual restaurant offering "Olde World" Italian cuisine infused with updated New York stylings, an extensive wine list, and a full bar selection.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Sunday Through Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-12 midnight
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(757) 390-2580
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John M. Mannino
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Plated Service, Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations, or DIY with our Pans To Go!
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
35th Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Limited spaces in garage - entrance on 35th Street.
Additional
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine
What 302 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.1
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 4 days ago

We had a fantastic meal! The Caesar salad was delicious, as were the meatballs! Our server was sweet and very attentive! We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Great Italian restaurant on the Oceanfront. Food and service are fantastic, and I appreciate the quiet/warm feel of the dining room itself. Definitely the place to go if you’re looking for a good/wholesome Italian meal while in Virginia Beach.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Great food and service! Would highly recommend to everyone.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

They were under staffed so service was slow. I got the wrong dish and my wife received the wrong wine. Food was good but not special, one exception was the bread. I would most likely look for a different restaurant next time I’m in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Great experience. The bartender explained the she-crab soup and fresh made mozzarella and influenced my order in an amazing way.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Sat for 45 minutes. Our kids got food. We received no drinks and still had not had our food order taken. We just paid for the kids food and left to eat elsewhere. Disappointing as we were looking forward to eating here. I had a bite of the kids meatball and it was delicious. Unfortunately, that was all the food we received.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Great food, everyone was very friendly, the waitress was wonderful...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We had a pre-Shamrock half-marathon dinner on Saturday night. Mannino's had prepared a special race menu which was a nice gesture due to the hundreds of race attendees who would probably be stopping in for dinner. We ended up ordering off their regular menu and our dinners were fantastic. My date and I split the greek salad which had a unique dressing that I've been craving since finishing the salad. I ordered the tortellini rustica (tortellini, sausage, mushrooms and artichoke hearts in a tomato cream sauce) which was perfect and my date had a spicy shrimp dish (can't remember the name), which he thoroughly enjoyed. We were offered fresh warm bread as we waited for our dinners. Mannino's is very well staffed from the hostesses greeting us to the servers, bussers, and bartenders. Overall a great experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

The staff is great. The food is AMAZING! Love it here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Great food and service! I can't wait to come back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Our first time here and enjoyed every minute. Service was exceptional as was the food and dessert. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Very good fresh food and quality service. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Breaded shrimp and fish was soggy noodles were cold bread was soggy just overall it wasn't good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 24, 2018

We were here for my husbands birthday during restaurant week. I had a crab soup which was delicious and set my expectations for the rest to come. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. My main entree was the fresh catch of the day- rockfish. It was so over cooked that it was like eating rubber and it sat in a tasteless mass of broth laying over a bed of over cooked penne. My husband had the meatball appetizer which he said was just okay. His chicken parmigiana came a little over cooked over a bed of again super over cooked penne. Our desserts were fine. Nothing spectacular but not bad. Service was good and staff was friendly. My husband doesn’t like to complain so we didn’t say anything about the fish or pasta....but this is an Italian restaurant so they should know how to serve pasta!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Wonderful meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

This was our second time dining here. Always great service and the food is fantastic! We come to Virginia Beach every year for a little get away. We will continue to dine here!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal
At Mannino’s Bistro. Food was delicious & staff excellent. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 23, 2018

The prosciutto with fresh mozzarella appetizer and rockfish entree were divine. The tiramisu was a bit dry. Our server was wonderful and the wine wonderful! We went Thursday night during restaurant week. We will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Excellent food and service! Best she crab soup I’ve ever had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Our waiter John was most engaging and helpful as usual.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 21, 2018

The food and service were great. They have the very best She Crab soup

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Excellent Food and Service. I went with the server's recommendation on the special and it was fabulous. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

This was a late decision choice and it work out perfectly for our group of 7. The Tortellini Rústico was out of this world. Thanks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Great food, service needs to improve although it was a busy night. However the manager took care of us as he should have! Great job by management taking care of the situation!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2018

I had a reservation at 7 and they “couldn’t find it” so I had to Wait over an hour for a table. The food wasn’t hot and my waitress was rude.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Horrible experience. Cramped seating to the point where the waitresses kept hitting my chair as they walked by.

You couldn’t have a conversation because the next table was so close to you so it didn’t feel private. Not the type of environment you want for a special occasion.

Took 20 minutes to get drink orders, my water wasn’t refilled until we were about to leave. I asked for the dessert menu and never received it. The waitress apologized for the wait but in a monotone, generic voice where it didn’t seem genuine.

The food was bland. My portabello mushroom tasted old. It was overall a very crummy experience.

I never leave reviews and I understand that it was busy because it was Valentines Day. However, I felt that the experience was unfair for my attempt at a romantic evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Ken the manager was helping cover tables and did a great job covering the two of us on Valentines Day evening!! The meal was excellent as was the wine Ken helped us pick. The She Crab Soup was as advertised excellent as was the specials Lobster Bisque and Prime Rib. For a very busy night the restaurant did a great job serving us great meals in a timely manner!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Recommended by a friend. Sat at bar, both bartenders were fun but had to put up with our pal who has been lonely lately. They handled it better than my wife. We’ll be back (without him)👌!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 9, 2018

This was our 1st time and overall it was a great experience! The food was very good and good value! Our waitress was great and we were carltching up with old friends so we were taking our time! Was a little disappointed on the interior but that will not stop us from going again or recommending!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Awesome all around

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2018

Excellent Italian food. The veal marsala was pounded super thin with a wonderful wine sauce not a gravy like some places make. The mozzarella bruschetta was delicious as well as the meatballs and chicken parmesan. Overall an excellent meal and our server John was fantastic. Can't wait to go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

I really enjoyed my food here. I had dinner on a cold Saturday night and ordered the pasta con pollo and was very satisfied with the flavor and size. I also had an Italian lemon drop martini and enjoyed it immensely. My waitress (I forget her name) was very kind and attentive. I will return if I come to VA beach again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We enjoyed an amazing dinner on NYE. Everything from soups to bread to entrees and cappuccino was delicious, well prepared and generous in portions. Their private label wines were wonderful, especially the sangiovese. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We had a great experience, as always, at Manninos. The food was fantastic and our service was wonderful, especially since there was so much going on for NYE. We always go back and feel welcomed by the staff with each visit. This is a hidden gem at the oceanfront that I hope everyone gets the chance to try!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

I went to Mannino's for a solo New Years' Eve meal. I was not disappointed. They had some worthy vegetarian options and were happy to adjust dishes to suit my dietary needs. The servers and service was great. The staff was attentive and had great energy and personality. The Manager checked in to make sure all was well. And the food was absolutely delicious with super healthy portions. I took some home and warmed it up 2 days later for my parents and myself and they loved it. My father literally asked where I got it from. It was an adjusted chef's special. The cheese tortellini with mushrooms, carmelized onions and sun-dried tomatoes. (It usually comes with peas and proscuitto but I subbed those to things for the sun-dried tomatoes). Wonderful- I would get it again and I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Delicious food, great service and friendly staff! Perfect way to celebrate my husband's birthday; they even included a birthday card signed by the staff!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

We decided to try this restaurant for my wife's birthday - based on the reviews we read here on Open Table. We were not disappointed! The ambience is casual and pleasant - the food and the service are top-notch. Our server, Ken, was very cordial, attentive, and knowledgeable. We began with a shared clams appetizer, followed by the frutti di mare and vitello saltimbocca. I cannot begin to say how very fresh the ingredients were and how authentic the entrees were! (I am a NY Italian-American.) Portion sizes were very generous as well. Ken recommended an excellent red zinfandel - on special that night - which complimented everything beautifully. For dessert (I can't believe we found room!), we had a chocolate chip cannoli and a tiramisu (both house made and wonderfully decadent!). We will definitely return here the next time we visit Virginia Beach. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 12, 2017

I rarely write reviews but I will make an exception. I had not gone to the oceanfront location before, but chose it because it was closer than Kempsville. I had planned to go with a friend... who had gone aggressively vegan since we last saw each other. I actually like a lot of vegan dishes ... but the tent revival fervor... not so much.

Anyway the restaurant was practically empty, and the parking at this location is difficult (parking deck behind Pocahontas pancakes)

The food and service were as good as at Kempsville but the emptiness of the venue was offputting. I suppose it is busy during tourist season. The food was excellent. I will return with carnivorous friends soon.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 7, 2017

Waiter was very nice and polite but a better talker than server. Had to ask for things more than once

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 22, 2017

Food is fantastic but don’t leave without having a cup of the she crab soup!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8