About Mannino's Italian Bistro - Oceanfront

3420 Atlantic Ave
Virginia Beach, VA 23514
View Larger Map

Mannino's Italian Bistro is an upscale casual restaurant offering "Olde World" Italian cuisine infused with updated New York stylings, an extensive wine list, and a full bar selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday Through Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-12 midnight

Cross Street:
35th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 390-2580

Website:
http://www.manninositalianbistro.com/

Catering:
Plated Service, Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations, or DIY with our Pans To Go!

Parking Details:
Limited spaces in garage - entrance on 35th Street.

Executive Chef:
John M. Mannino

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Mannino's Italian Bistro - Oceanfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

3.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Comfort Food (10)
See All
Special Occasion (9)
Authentic (9)
Casual (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Cozy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Romantic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Business Meals (2)
Waterfront (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
163 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service and food were great as always... ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Service and food were great as always... Maninnos never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was terrible. For some reason ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was terrible. For some reason it has excellent reviews on trip advisor I really can't imagine how anyone who knows decent food could rava about this place. The chicken picatta looked and tasted terrible. The chicken was bland, colorless and tasteless. The pasta was ok. The calamari was rubbery and greasy. The she crab soup was salty and had a canned taste. This isn't even as good as Olive Garden let alone a real Italian spot. My advice is to try one of the nicer beachfront restaurants instead

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Excellent Italian food. The bruchetta w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent Italian food. The bruchetta with gorgonzola cheese was amazing. The fresh bread with the seasoned olive oil was a great touch. Unique dressing for the salad. Yummmm.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food and server was knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Awesome food and server was knowledgeable and friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This restaurant offers authentic Italian ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This restaurant offers authentic Italian food just off the Virginia Beach waterfront. The bread and veal saltimbocca with spaghetti were very tasty. The Manninos Pinot Grigio was also very good. I will be going back for fresh fish later in the week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Surprising in an Italian restaurant - th ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Surprising in an Italian restaurant - the crab bisque is world class! Every dish is freshly prepared and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The facility needs updating and is not v ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The facility needs updating and is not very comfortable overall; however, the food was quite good. The clam appy did not live up to its description on the restaurant website but was still quite tasty. The veal stack - special main course was excellent, especially the sauce. The penne was too al dente for my taste and its sauce was bland.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was our second visit to Mannino's. W ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It was our second visit to Mannino's. We met some friends as a prelude to our daughter's wedding. Everything was as expected ... the two most important, food and service, were top shelf. Don't hesitate to visit Mannino's for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good food, great birthday dinner for our ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good food, great birthday dinner for our mother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The service was impeccable. Friendly and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service was impeccable. Friendly and attentive without being overbearing. The food was great. Highly recommend the crab soup.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place. Food was great with a good s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Nice place. Food was great with a good section. Nice find for a beach resort town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The MANAGER was HORRIBLE! Absolutely rui ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The MANAGER was HORRIBLE! Absolutely ruined the birthday we were celebrating. I will never return because of her. I go to the best and finest restaurants all over the country and she was just absolutely horrible when speaking to us. P

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Splendid food and great service. Ample ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Splendid food and great service. Ample serving of lasagna bolognese was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding food, great service, very at ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Outstanding food, great service, very attentive, exceeded our expectations!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Enjoyed an impromptu dinner with friends ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Enjoyed an impromptu dinner with friends in town. She crab soup, as always, was excellent! Good location at the oceanfront. Service prompt and friendly, food arrived right on time.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place to celebrate. Great selectio ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great place to celebrate. Great selection of food! Exceptional Service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Decor needs updating. Crab soup and cap ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Decor needs updating. Crab soup and caprice salad both great. We went during half price wine time but the wine was not the best. We were used to their location on Pleasure House Rd and the oceanfront location was quite not up to their standards.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Slow service and food prep. Dinner shoul ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Slow service and food prep. Dinner shouldn't take 2hrs. The last time we came here was 2yrs ago and had the same experience which unfortunately hasn't changed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

The food at Mannino's was great. My hus ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food at Mannino's was great. My husband had the lasagna and I had the penne arrabiata. Torey, our server, was fantastic. My husband swears that the tirimasu was the best ever!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went here on a recommendation from our r ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Went here on a recommendation from our resort Ocean Beachclub. As an Italian from New York we were pleasantly surprise. This restaurant would thrive in NYC. The food was amazing. The shrimp were cooked perfectly and the rose sauce was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Another great dinner at Mannino's. We we ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Another great dinner at Mannino's. We went twice during our week vacation at the beach...we found this place last year and we love it. Thank you !

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were excellent! I ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The service and food were excellent! I mean, really, the best authentic Italian ever! We had the chicken parm, and from our server's suggestion, the Veal Saltimbocca. Both were excellently prepared! Save room for dessert..The tiramisu was hands down, the BEST EVER! My only complaint was that it was definitely geared toward tourists and not locals. Turn down the lights at least please! That would help make the ambiance at least a little more romantic and quaint. The food will make me go to Mannino's again, but for my date night, I think I will try a different location.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

My fish was good but my boyfriend's veal ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2016

My fish was good but my boyfriend's veal was chewy . I would go again but he would not .

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing waitress that was great with sug ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Amazing waitress that was great with suggestions and knew the menu very well. The food was great too!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We love Manninos and often take out of t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We love Manninos and often take out of town guests there as the food NEVER disappoints.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Good Experience. Food Good.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Very Good Experience. Food Good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This restaurant was Okay. The service wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This restaurant was Okay. The service was quite slow and not very attentive to refilling water glasses. The food was average. The location is convenient.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Slow service. We ordered the kids meal ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Slow service.

We ordered the kids meal first and specifically asked for it to be delivered first.

The service was slow. And the kids' meals did take long.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Crab soup was amazing! I could eat thei ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Crab soup was amazing! I could eat their everyday!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place. As New Yorkers, we kno ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Loved this place. As New Yorkers, we know great Italian food. Going back again tonight!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff was very attentive before ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 22, 2016

The wait staff was very attentive before you noticed you needed something they were there to assist you. Sebastian a great waiter. The food was perfect; we had the Caesar Salad, the Four Cheese Ravioli, and the Pollo Portifino. All of our dishes were far better than we even expected. We will definitely be going again in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place if you are looking for someth ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Nice place if you are looking for something other than beach fare but still want to be casual. No kids menu. Variety of offerings good but to my 11 year old's dismay, no garlic bread!! More $ than I expected to pay. Prices suggest white table food and service; it was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

There were three of us. The Crab soup is ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 20, 2016

There were three of us. The Crab soup is what I love the most.

We had a very nice meal although my veal was flattened so much so that there wasn't any taste.

Over all it was a pleasant experience and the easy of booking on line is a plus.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

My wife and I had an amazing anniversary ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I had an amazing anniversary dinner. Our dinner was flawless and service was excellent. Do yourself a favor and stop by for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, Service also good; but we ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was good, Service also good; but we were rushed to eat our Appetizer by just bringing the Entree out. Overall an average to good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The food was okay, but certainly nothing ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food was okay, but certainly nothing to make me want to return. Our waiter, who was newly hired and a sefl-proclaimed non-foodie, had only eaten at Mannino's once so he couldn't give us any recommendations. The atmosphere was reminiscent of an old Ponderosa restaurant that had been minimally remodeled. The "oceanfront" location was actually across the street from the ocean, so our view was of cars, hotels and pedestrians. Perhaps we should have tried the Kempsville location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Very mixed review because my date and I ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very mixed review because my date and I had opposite experiences. He ordered chicken parmigiana and it was "the best chicken Parmesan" he ever had. I, however, ordered the chicken francaise and could only take two bites. The 'sauce' was overly watery and too sour/bitter to eat. The baby artichokes were also extremely bitter. Although I told the waitress and she removed it (with two small bites missing), she did not remove or reduce it on our bill (a $20 meal). Overall, our bill was approximately $75 for two people so keep that in mind when making your decision.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The spaghetti and meatballs are the best ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The spaghetti and meatballs are the best I've ever had . Period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Exceptional birthday dinner. She crab so ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Exceptional birthday dinner. She crab soup was as good as advertised. My husband said the chef tortellini was to die for. My son thought the lasagna was the best ever. Veal dishes were very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything about our visit was good - th ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything about our visit was good - the drinks, service and most of all the food. We will be back before we leave and when we come back next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.