About Mango Peruvian Restaurant

1001 Washington Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63101
View Larger Map

Authentic Peruvian Fusion nestled downtown in the Washington Avenue Loft district. Mango features an upscale loft style environment where chic and comfort come together in a melding of delicious food and warm hospitality. Relaxed and inviting, come enjoy a signature crafted libation in the bar, a quiet romantic dinner for two or take advantage of the open space to book a large table for a group of friends or even utilize the private dining room which seats up to fifty. A cozy retreat from the bustling city Mango has quickly become one of the most noteworthy restaurants in St. Louis for locals and visitors alike.
Winner of The Best of St. Louis for South American Cuisine and Late Night Happy Hour by the Riverfront Times, winner of Best South American Cuisine by Alive and St. Louis Magazines, and Opentable.com Diner's Choice Award.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm



Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm



Pre-Theater Menu Available Monday - Saturday, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
10th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 621-9993

Website:
http://www.mangoperu.com/

Catering:
Offering both on and off site catering Mango is able to translate its menu into dishes appropriate for any occasion. Offerings include full sit down dinners, family style meals, or appetizer plates that bring an exciting and tasteful element to any event.

Contact heather@Mangoperu.com for a personalized dining experience.

Parking Details:
There is public parking lots North and West of the building as well as plenty of street parking.

Public Transit:
Metro Link to the Convention Center (6th & Washington Ave) stop and then West 5 blocks on Washington to 11th Street.

Executive Chef:
Sergio Nakayoshi

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Pork Tamal
Ceviche
Ceviche De Pe
Plantain Chips With Serrano-cilantro Salsa
Saltado de Langostinos
anticuchos
Choros Sudados
Pescado Parmesano
Saltado De Champinones
Ensalada Exotica
Chicken Skewer
Plantains
Scallops
Chupe de mariscos
tiradito
Latin fusion
Aji de Gallina
Roasted Pork Tenderloin
Sangria
Chifles
chupe peruano
Helado de Chirimoya
Butternut Squash Soup
pascualina
Empanada
Flan
Arroz con leche
Tilapia Rice Egg Potatoes
Pollo En Salsa De Mango

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

Private dining for up to 150 guests in an urban loft setting with floor to ceiling windows.

Mango Peruvian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
St. Louis
Best Overall
Downtown
Best Food
Downtown
2 More
Best Value
Downtown
Most Booked
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Downtown St. Louis ›

fit for foodies (73)
special occasion (56)
good for groups (47)
See All
neighborhood gem (30)
romantic (28)
hot spot (24)
great for lunch (23)
late-night find (11)
notable wine list (10)
great for outdoor dining (9)
vibrant bar scene (7)
kid-friendly (6)
great for brunch (6)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
993 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food! Server was awesome. She ...

Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food! Server was awesome. She was informative and attentive. Overall, great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service!

Dined 5 days ago

Great food and great service!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Sangria will get you in the door, and th ...

Dined 6 days ago

Sangria will get you in the door, and the food will keep you there :)

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
food3
ambience4
service2

Long Wait, we were expecting something u ...

Dined 6 days ago

Long Wait, we were expecting something unique from a Peruvian restaurant we basically had an average seafood and typical beef meal; nothing too unique about it. Sangria was exceptional though

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have only had Peruvian food as interpr ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

I have only had Peruvian food as interpreted my Mango at its various locations. That experience has allowed me to say, "I really like Peruvian food!" The flavors are interesting, and all the dishes are well-presented. I have always found the staff friendly and efficient.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exellent service and great food. Exellen ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Exellent service and great food. Exellent service and great food.Exellent service and great food.Exellent service and great food.Exellent service and great food.Exellent service and great food.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff were responsive and court ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The wait staff were responsive and courteous, the food was outstanding.

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We sat outside on a Saturday night and o ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

We sat outside on a Saturday night and our service was pretty slow. Otherwise, the food was great, but really the outside tables are not that nice, too noisy and close to the street.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was outstanding, we will defini ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was outstanding, we will definitely go back. The service was good. The bartenders were heavy on the drinks they can always ask how strong they prefer their drinks. It was a slight accident that doesn't affect our decision coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

EXCELLENT!!!!! I love Peruvian food and ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

EXCELLENT!!!!! I love Peruvian food and Mango is AMAZING!! A MUST to dine there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took a chance to have dinner here whe ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We took a chance to have dinner here when in STL for a convention. We chose it due to the close proximity to the convention center. There were 6 at our table. We could hear conversation, enjoyed a delicious meal, and had great service. We will definitely put it on our list of places to return to if we're back in STL.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food is not as good as it used to be, bu ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Food is not as good as it used to be, but the new location is beautiful.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious meal. The Sangria was excelle ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Delicious meal. The Sangria was excellent.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

I could write a detailed review but here ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

I could write a detailed review but here is the cliff note version as it wasn't worth a long review: Service was non-existent Appetizers were good Entrees were very poorly executed, my date's meal sat in the window so long that the sauce began to harden on top A drink came to our table wasn't ordered but appeared on our bill (we just paid it to avoid a long delay). Getting the check was impossible. The table two over from us waited to long that the lady fell asleep which was strangely the highlight of the entire dining experience. Will not go back and do not recommend this restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience!

Dined on May 30, 2016

I thought Peruvian food sounded interesting and went to Mango with my family. I ordered Lomo Saltado based on a former review. I was not disappointed. The dish was really tasty with tender meat and delicious sauce. The size of the portion was good. The restaurant is a bit on the expensive side, though. I would love to return anyway to taste other dishes!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious. Avocado salad and lo ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was delicious. Avocado salad and lomo saltado were table favorites.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great - drinks, appetizer ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Everything was great - drinks, appetizers, and entrees. Very creative compositions. Reasonable as well $-wise.

food5
ambience5
service5

I brought out of town customers for dinn ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

I brought out of town customers for dinner. We had a great experience and everyone raved about the flavorful food and great atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is the 2nd time I went to the resta ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

This is the 2nd time I went to the restaurant but my first on lunchtime. Great service, great food, great ambience and great price. This place is a gem.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is a place every person visiting St ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

This is a place every person visiting St. Louis should stop by. The food was really good! They received me with platanutres (plantain chips) and what seemed to be a cilantro-lemon sauce (maybe I was wrong) to dip the chips in. I had the scallops special and it was delicious. The peruvian chardonnay was a clean and crisp wine. The torta de chocolate was very rich and really good. The service was excellent and you can tell the staff is happy. My booth was close to the kitchen and everything looked very organized and clean. I was happy to see all the staff working gracefully and together as one. Overall, 5 stars.

food4
ambience4
service2

Nice food and ambiance. Service staff w ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Nice food and ambiance. Service staff was overextended the night we went, so took a whole to get drinks and ordering. Had high expectations for the ceviche micro, but it was only average. Nice fish and shellfish mains.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great evening with delicious Peruvian ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

A great evening with delicious Peruvian food with a modern twist. We have been to Peru many times and were very impressed with the selection on the menu, the freshness of the dishes, the modern variations and the authentic flavors. The Pisco Sours were very authentic and we thought the dining experience overall was excellent. A nice touch that the owners son came out to introduce himself and take the time to meet us. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son is traveling to Peru this summer ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

My son is traveling to Peru this summer so I wanted him to try the food so he would have a reference point. He loved the food but my husband and i absolutely enjoyed it from the caramelized fried plantain ships to the skewered beef marinated in yummy sauce. It was much better than we imagined. We tried the native drink - it tasted like Keylime pie infused and was good. I had the Sangria - so good. We finished with a plantain desert with ice cream that was over the top. Cooked to perfection- just right for sure. The waitress was very knowledgeable, very patient with us. Did not rush us. We had a great seat by the window . Going to this restaurant made me want to visit Peru. The waitress explained how the restaurant came about and even talked with the cook about where my son should visit in Peru. We went there for my son but ended up finding a great restaurant for ourselves in the process. It was so good to find a restaurant with amazing flavors. Overall a terrific lunch. We only wish we had found it sooner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We love Mango and try to eat there each ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We love Mango and try to eat there each time we visit St Louis. The food is fantastic and the service is great. They did a wonderful job serving 8 of us for our son's graduation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Stopped in before a Cardinals game for a ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Stopped in before a Cardinals game for a quick bite - highly recommend the mango martini and mango sour drinks. Dinners were excellent and very creative.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent Food, friendly staff, Pisco Sp ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Excellent Food, friendly staff, Pisco Spur wa better than in Peru. We were the first table by the entrance, so we were cold but other than that five star

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4

We came here to celebrate a graduation, ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We came here to celebrate a graduation, and really enjoyed ourselves! I'm from out of town and picked the restaurant based on online ratings. Turned out to be a great choice- the chef's specials were delicious and so flavorful. Great drink selection.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing dinner, they made some modificat ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Amazing dinner, they made some modifications to the menu at our request and we were accommodated superbly. I'd go here any time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mango is a wonderful restaurant. The foo ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Mango is a wonderful restaurant. The food is fresh and tasty and there something for everyone. Even if you think you might not like Peruvian food, you will be pleasantly surprised at the variety on the menu. The servers are always friendly and go out of their way provide a pleasant dining experience. No that I know has been disappointed Mango.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was amazing! The most tender be ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was amazing! The most tender beef I've had in years. The sampler plate is something everyone should try to add to the experience. I just couldn't stop eating the banana chips.

food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Mango, More Than a Fruit

Dined on May 7, 2016

If you are looking for a fair with flavors other than the usual American taste, then the food at mango is for you. Many of the dishes are flavored with Pisco which is a Peruvian brandy, and of course fresh mango. I had Pollo en Salsa de Mango which is grilled chicken breast topped with mango, red pepper and pisco sauce with white rice & golden potatoes. Quite tasty. The only caveat is that it is a bit pricey as a cocktail, salad, entree, and dessert can run about $50.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat outside, it was a lovely day. Our ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We sat outside, it was a lovely day. Our sever was very personable. The food was amazing, it always is.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

O my Mahi Mahi

Dined on May 7, 2016

We came Mango for our 1 year anniversary. The only negative thing I can say is that the dining room should have been packed. Perhaps it was because it was the day after Cinco de Mayo and people were recovering. We ordered a seafood appetizer and it had fried shrimp bay scallops squid and a delicious hot sauce all of this was accompanied by plantain chips and the most balanced salsa Verde ever to grace a table. I also want to note that our server was very accommodating and let us take our time picking out dishes. For my main course I chose a filet of Mahi Mahi which like the appetizer included shrimp bay scallops calamari Yukon potatoes and a different spicy broth. I have had Mahi Mahi throughout the United states and in central America but the perfect combination of seasoning and sear put on this fish put the others to rest which is a true compliment to the chef being in the Midwest. If you enjoy something a little beyond roast beef and mashed potatoes make your way to Mango. It will not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friday night dinner get together

Dined on April 30, 2016

None of our group of four had any type of Peruvian food before, so we were excited to try it. We are not foodies, but we enjoy well-prepared dishes. The ladies each had a fun cocktail to start, while we stayed with mango tea. R had a cup of coffee and he remarked on how good it was. We even asked our waitress about what company and she was very helpful. We like to go out and catch up with our kids' stories and what's the latest while letting the lightning & thunderstorms pass by during dinner munching. I had the steak entree and it was prepared very well, tender and juicy. The ladies each had a chicken dish and each of us enjoyed the cheeses used in the dishes. There was a lot of nodding as we each enjoyed what we ordered. Our waitress was very attentive with drinks and checking on us without coming around too often so we could catch up on our conversation. The portions were just the right size and the guys cleaned their plates while the ladies took home some good food for another time. Two of us ordered the chocolate cake, and it was divinely moist and very tasty. I savored mine --not too sweet, not bitter at all. Very good. The only parts of the evening that were too noisy was when someone dropped a whole bunch of china somewhere and it really made a racket. The overall noise level from other patrons talking was loud for me to hear some of our conversation, but not all that bad. Overall, a very good experience and we should be back sometime to try something else. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Who Knew Peruvian Food was So Good!

Dined on April 30, 2016

My 18 year old son wanted to come for lunch based on his research. It was my first visit to St. Louis and I was blown away. I had never had Peruvian food and now I am obsessed. The staff was great and the food blew me away.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Relaxing dining

Dined on April 28, 2016

a very upbeat and comfortable place to enjoy Peruvian food....and a good bar .

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Great staff. Really good food.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great staff. Really good food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find

Dined on April 10, 2016

I dined with a friend at Mango while at a conference in St. Louis after a different friend had sung its praises on my Facebook page. We were not disappointed! The empanadas were delicious - light and flavorful. The ambiance was lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was wonderful!! Our favorite downto ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Food was wonderful!! Our favorite downtown St Louis restaurant!! Thanks for a fabulous date night!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on April 9, 2016

Fantastic atmosphere, food and service. Very busy, but felt we were the only ones being attended to. Our server was wonderful. She even offered to take our picture! Next time I am in St. Louis, this will be my choice for dining.

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.