About Mango Peruvian Restaurant

1001 Washington Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63101
View Larger Map

Authentic Peruvian Fusion nestled downtown in the Washington Avenue Loft district. Mango features an upscale loft style environment where chic and comfort come together in a melding of delicious food and warm hospitality. Relaxed and inviting, come enjoy a signature crafted libation in the bar, a quiet romantic dinner for two or take advantage of the open space to book a large table for a group of friends or even utilize the private dining room which seats up to fifty. A cozy retreat from the bustling city Mango has quickly become one of the most noteworthy restaurants in St. Louis for locals and visitors alike.
Winner of The Best of St. Louis for South American Cuisine and Late Night Happy Hour by the Riverfront Times, winner of Best South American Cuisine by Alive and St. Louis Magazines, and Opentable.com Diner's Choice Award.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm



Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm



Pre-Theater Menu Available Monday - Saturday, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
10th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 621-9993

Website:
http://www.mangoperu.com/

Catering:
Offering both on and off site catering Mango is able to translate its menu into dishes appropriate for any occasion. Offerings include full sit down dinners, family style meals, or appetizer plates that bring an exciting and tasteful element to any event.

Contact heather@Mangoperu.com for a personalized dining experience.

Parking Details:
There is public parking lots North and West of the building as well as plenty of street parking.

Public Transit:
Metro Link to the Convention Center (6th & Washington Ave) stop and then West 5 blocks on Washington to 11th Street.

Executive Chef:
Sergio Nakayoshi

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

Private dining for up to 150 guests in an urban loft setting with floor to ceiling windows.

Mango Peruvian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Downtown
Best Food
Downtown
Most Booked
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Downtown St. Louis ›

fit for foodies (72)
special occasion (64)
good for groups (41)
See All
romantic (38)
hot spot (27)
neighborhood gem (24)
great for lunch (14)
vibrant bar scene (11)
late-night find (9)
notable wine list (8)
great for outdoor dining (5)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
972 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

I brought out of town customers for dinn ...

Dined 21 hours ago

I brought out of town customers for dinner. We had a great experience and everyone raved about the flavorful food and great atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is a place every person visiting St ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

This is a place every person visiting St. Louis should stop by. The food was really good! They received me with platanutres (plantain chips) and what seemed to be a cilantro-lemon sauce (maybe I was wrong) to dip the chips in. I had the scallops special and it was delicious. The peruvian chardonnay was a clean and crisp wine. The torta de chocolate was very rich and really good. The service was excellent and you can tell the staff is happy. My booth was close to the kitchen and everything looked very organized and clean. I was happy to see all the staff working gracefully and together as one. Overall, 5 stars.

food4
ambience4
service2

Nice food and ambiance. Service staff w ...

Dined 5 days ago

Nice food and ambiance. Service staff was overextended the night we went, so took a whole to get drinks and ordering. Had high expectations for the ceviche micro, but it was only average. Nice fish and shellfish mains.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great evening with delicious Peruvian ...

Dined 5 days ago

A great evening with delicious Peruvian food with a modern twist. We have been to Peru many times and were very impressed with the selection on the menu, the freshness of the dishes, the modern variations and the authentic flavors. The Pisco Sours were very authentic and we thought the dining experience overall was excellent. A nice touch that the owners son came out to introduce himself and take the time to meet us. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We love Mango and try to eat there each ...

Dined 7 days ago

We love Mango and try to eat there each time we visit St Louis. The food is fantastic and the service is great. They did a wonderful job serving 8 of us for our son's graduation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent Food, friendly staff, Pisco Sp ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Excellent Food, friendly staff, Pisco Spur wa better than in Peru. We were the first table by the entrance, so we were cold but other than that five star

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4

We came here to celebrate a graduation, ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We came here to celebrate a graduation, and really enjoyed ourselves! I'm from out of town and picked the restaurant based on online ratings. Turned out to be a great choice- the chef's specials were delicious and so flavorful. Great drink selection.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mango is a wonderful restaurant. The foo ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Mango is a wonderful restaurant. The food is fresh and tasty and there something for everyone. Even if you think you might not like Peruvian food, you will be pleasantly surprised at the variety on the menu. The servers are always friendly and go out of their way provide a pleasant dining experience. No that I know has been disappointed Mango.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was amazing! The most tender be ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was amazing! The most tender beef I've had in years. The sampler plate is something everyone should try to add to the experience. I just couldn't stop eating the banana chips.

food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Mango, More Than a Fruit

Dined on May 7, 2016

If you are looking for a fair with flavors other than the usual American taste, then the food at mango is for you. Many of the dishes are flavored with Pisco which is a Peruvian brandy, and of course fresh mango. I had Pollo en Salsa de Mango which is grilled chicken breast topped with mango, red pepper and pisco sauce with white rice & golden potatoes. Quite tasty. The only caveat is that it is a bit pricey as a cocktail, salad, entree, and dessert can run about $50.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat outside, it was a lovely day. Our ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We sat outside, it was a lovely day. Our sever was very personable. The food was amazing, it always is.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

O my Mahi Mahi

Dined on May 7, 2016

We came Mango for our 1 year anniversary. The only negative thing I can say is that the dining room should have been packed. Perhaps it was because it was the day after Cinco de Mayo and people were recovering. We ordered a seafood appetizer and it had fried shrimp bay scallops squid and a delicious hot sauce all of this was accompanied by plantain chips and the most balanced salsa Verde ever to grace a table. I also want to note that our server was very accommodating and let us take our time picking out dishes. For my main course I chose a filet of Mahi Mahi which like the appetizer included shrimp bay scallops calamari Yukon potatoes and a different spicy broth. I have had Mahi Mahi throughout the United states and in central America but the perfect combination of seasoning and sear put on this fish put the others to rest which is a true compliment to the chef being in the Midwest. If you enjoy something a little beyond roast beef and mashed potatoes make your way to Mango. It will not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friday night dinner get together

Dined on April 30, 2016

None of our group of four had any type of Peruvian food before, so we were excited to try it. We are not foodies, but we enjoy well-prepared dishes. The ladies each had a fun cocktail to start, while we stayed with mango tea. R had a cup of coffee and he remarked on how good it was. We even asked our waitress about what company and she was very helpful. We like to go out and catch up with our kids' stories and what's the latest while letting the lightning & thunderstorms pass by during dinner munching. I had the steak entree and it was prepared very well, tender and juicy. The ladies each had a chicken dish and each of us enjoyed the cheeses used in the dishes. There was a lot of nodding as we each enjoyed what we ordered. Our waitress was very attentive with drinks and checking on us without coming around too often so we could catch up on our conversation. The portions were just the right size and the guys cleaned their plates while the ladies took home some good food for another time. Two of us ordered the chocolate cake, and it was divinely moist and very tasty. I savored mine --not too sweet, not bitter at all. Very good. The only parts of the evening that were too noisy was when someone dropped a whole bunch of china somewhere and it really made a racket. The overall noise level from other patrons talking was loud for me to hear some of our conversation, but not all that bad. Overall, a very good experience and we should be back sometime to try something else. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Who Knew Peruvian Food was So Good!

Dined on April 30, 2016

My 18 year old son wanted to come for lunch based on his research. It was my first visit to St. Louis and I was blown away. I had never had Peruvian food and now I am obsessed. The staff was great and the food blew me away.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Relaxing dining

Dined on April 28, 2016

a very upbeat and comfortable place to enjoy Peruvian food....and a good bar .

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Great staff. Really good food.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great staff. Really good food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find

Dined on April 10, 2016

I dined with a friend at Mango while at a conference in St. Louis after a different friend had sung its praises on my Facebook page. We were not disappointed! The empanadas were delicious - light and flavorful. The ambiance was lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was wonderful!! Our favorite downto ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Food was wonderful!! Our favorite downtown St Louis restaurant!! Thanks for a fabulous date night!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on April 9, 2016

Fantastic atmosphere, food and service. Very busy, but felt we were the only ones being attended to. Our server was wonderful. She even offered to take our picture! Next time I am in St. Louis, this will be my choice for dining.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Food and Service

Dined on April 7, 2016

Thank you for providing an amazing experience for my group who was visiting St. Louis from California. We loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We were looking for something different ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

We were looking for something different to try before we went to the Peabody Opera House. We decided to try Mango with their Peruvian Menu. The restaurant was cool looking, with a great view of Washington Ave. My wife had the Scallop's and I had the Mahi Mahi both were great! Would recommend Mango very much!

food5
ambience5
service5

Would go out of my way to eat there agai ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Would go out of my way to eat there again. Do not skip dessert - loved the sweet plantains

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Did I just find my new favorite restaurant?!?!?!?

Dined on March 13, 2016

The reviews were glowing about Mango and it did not disappoint. We decided to dine here based on a very eclectic menu that looked and sounded delicious. I'd never had Peruvian cuisine before and now I must visit their country. From the appetizers to the entrees, every single thing put on a plate was fantastic. I cannot possibly give enough praise for the quality of the food and the great service. If I had to give any negative feedback it would only be that the cocktails are very sweet which I would guess is probably the norm for the local tastebuds of Peru. The sangria however was perfect, made with a spiced rum that I will be copying on my next vacation, be careful as it goes down far too easy and they sell it by the pitcher. I highly HIGHLY recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for new flavors and food that appeals to the eye and palate. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and service is great.

Dined on March 6, 2016

So glad I tried this place! Everything my group ordered was delicious. The drinks were tasty as well. It was a little pricey but the quality of food and service are well worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice place with small plates in the hear ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Nice place with small plates in the heart of downtown SL.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

Dined on February 26, 2016

3rd time at Mango's: the food is consistently excellent and the service top-notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our server Jorge was great. Everything ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Our server Jorge was great. Everything from cocktails, appetizers, entree's, to desserts were delicious. I am definately going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Really enjoyed it

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Food, location and ambiance were all great- really good place. Our server Wendy was PHENOMENAL! She was just the right combination of friendly and attentive plus she gave us great tips on the menu and the non-traditional cocktails. Would suggest you need to increase valet staff to handle the saturday night crowd- especially when there are two big events downtown.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Early evenng dinner

Dined on February 20, 2016

We requested the special theater-goers menu, available on weekends from 4-6 pm. It offers a three course dinner at a modest cost (about 20-25% less than ordering a la carte). We had soup, a stir-fry beef tenderloin (Lomo Salta) and pasta and shrimp (Langostinos al Ajo Fettucini). Both entrees were good, if not exactly outstanding. The generous mango sorbet was a perfect ending to the meal, and arrived just in time for us to get to the performance on time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, lovely evening

Dined on February 19, 2016

We have been to Mango many times (at both locations). The food and service are never disappointing. This past Thursday evening was my wife's birthday and they surprised her with a nice dessert. It was one of the few times I ordered from the special menu and was quite taken by the collection of spices that brought out the favour of the fish. We always look forward to our next visits.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing

Dined on February 17, 2016

The cocktails are sublime . The food was scrumptious and there are lots of gluten free options . Also great ambiance and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

Great food at least

Dined on February 15, 2016

The cooks should be the ones who got the 20% included gratuity because they are the one who made the experience. The staff looked worn out and unable to wait tables effeciently. There was no individual specialty to the patrons. Felt like they wanted us in and out as fast as possible.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great service

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Not overwhelmingly Peruvian

Dined on February 14, 2016

But it was fine. I dunno. A little pricey, everything tasted pretty good but it felt like a place that was "fancy" as opposed to fancy. You know what I'm sayin', right? Impress your undiscerning date, I guess.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Outstanding food. The service was very courteous. Would definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marvelous

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went for a Valentines evening romantic dinner. Mango did not disappoint. Had the special Valentines menu which was fabulous. Service was fantastic. What great restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

The dishes were diverse and delicious. T ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The dishes were diverse and delicious. The service was great, a little slow, but only because of the rush. The restaurant itself is lively and modern.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and atmosphere

Dined on February 13, 2016

We took our son and his girlfriend to Mango for dinner. It was a great choice. Everyone loved their food and drinks and the service was excellent. I had the Lomo Saltado, which was flavorful and the meat very tender. My husband had the Pescado a lo Macho, which had a great kick. To drink, I tried the Pisco Sour and also the Mango Sour. Both were fabulous. I especially loved the cinnamon on the Mango Sour. The atmosphere was very nice. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Great food, poor service

Dined on February 6, 2016

We loved the food but our experience lacked due to horrible, completely inattentive service. Bummer we paid so much and couldn't wait to go have a drink somewhere else

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Must Try

Dined on February 6, 2016

I have been enjoying Mango since its beginning at McKenzie Point, in a small suburban neighborhood. The quality of food, service and atmosphere is evident in Mango's expansion and location changes from McKenzie Point to just off Washington Ave, an urban setting and now on to Washington Avenue (St. Louis nightlife at its best)! The food is top quality, innovative and delicious. The wait staff has always been knowledgeable about the food selection (Peruvian), the cocktails and wine. This is a great place for a group or a twosome! Fun, energetic atmosphere with a huge bar area and open kitchen. Truly a must try and a must return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.