About Mango Peruvian Restaurant

Authentic Peruvian Fusion nestled downtown in the Washington Avenue Loft district. Mango features an upscale loft style environment where chic and comfort come together in a melding of delicious food and warm hospitality. Relaxed and inviting, come enjoy a signature crafted libation in the bar, a quiet romantic dinner for two or take advantage of the open space to book a large table for a group of friends or even utilize the private dining room which seats up to fifty. A cozy retreat from the bustling city Mango has quickly become one of the most noteworthy restaurants in St. Louis for locals and visitors alike.
Winner of The Best of St. Louis for South American Cuisine and Late Night Happy Hour by the Riverfront Times, winner of Best South American Cuisine by Alive and St. Louis Magazines, and Opentable.com Diner's Choice Award.

1001 Washington Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm



Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm



Pre-Theater Menu Available Monday - Saturday, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
10th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 621-9993

Website:
http://www.mangoperu.com/

Catering:
Offering both on and off site catering Mango is able to translate its menu into dishes appropriate for any occasion. Offerings include full sit down dinners, family style meals, or appetizer plates that bring an exciting and tasteful element to any event.

Contact heather@Mangoperu.com for a personalized dining experience.

Parking Details:
There are public parking lots North and West of the building as well as plenty of street parking.

Public Transit:
Metro Link to the Convention Center (6th & Washington Ave) stop and then West 5 blocks on Washington to 11th Street.

Executive Chef:
Sergio Nakayoshi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Plantain Chips With Serrano-cilantro Salsa - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Ceviche De Pe - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Pork Tamal - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
anticuchos - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Choros Sudados - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Saltado de Langostinos - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Ceviche - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Pescado Parmesano - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Saltado De Champinones - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Ensalada Exotica - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Chicken Skewer - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Plantains - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Scallops - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Chupe de mariscos - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
tiradito - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Latin fusion - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Aji de Gallina - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Roasted Pork Tenderloin - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Sangria - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Chifles - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Helado de Chirimoya - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
chupe peruano - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Butternut Squash Soup - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
pascualina - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Empanada - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Flan - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Arroz con leche - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Tilapia Rice Egg Potatoes - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Pollo En Salsa De Mango - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

Private dining for up to 150 guests in an urban loft setting with floor to ceiling windows.

Mango Peruvian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (26)
Special Occasion (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
See All
Authentic (21)
Business Meals (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Romantic (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Cozy (14)
Fun (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Healthy (10)
Casual (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
People Watching (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Tapas (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It's always a lovely experience

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

It's always a lovely experience

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant atmosphere, service and f ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The restaurant atmosphere, service and food were top notch as always. Such a great find in the city.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As Mango diners for several years, we've ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As Mango diners for several years, we've never once been disappointed, and apparently neither have the numerous friends and colleagues we've brought to lunches or dinners--most of them have asked to reserve a table at Mango when we plan another get-together. This was our third New Year's Eve at Mango, following a St. Louis Symphony concert, and as usual, everything was perfect, beginning with our favorite complementary appetizer, the Peruvian salsa verde with fresh-fried plantain chips. We shared orders of our favorite Mango dish (the tangy Ceviche Mixto and a veggie-stuffed avocado salad as well as the Lomo Fino Champignones (rare tenderloin with mushrooms sauced in a Cabernet reduction with Peruvian spices), served with generous portions of whipped parsnips and tender-crisp asparagus. From a good selection of wines, we were delighted with glasses of chardonnay from Spain and California. As with all previous servers at Mango, Kelsey and others were pleasant and knowledgeable, providing everything we could wish for, and but were never intrusive as we lingered over our delightful meal. Topping off the evening at midnight, we were treated to a glass of champagne--a perfect conclusion to 2016 and welcome to 2017! Thanks and Happy New Year, Mango!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner on New Year's Eve was delight ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our dinner on New Year's Eve was delightful, as usual.

We thoroughly enjoyed it--great cuisine!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Bar Seating, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food I have had in St. Louis And g ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best food I have had in St. Louis

And great service

Whole family enjoyed evening !!!

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for our 6 year anniversary ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We went here for our 6 year anniversary and loved it! From the entrees to the dessert it was all delicious. The fried bananas and ice cream were a great way to top off the meal. We both loved the empanadas as well. Reasonable prices. Highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mango is a staple favorite of ours. It ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Mango is a staple favorite of ours. It has a good view of Washington Avenue. I took two of my older grandchildren to dinner before going to Powell Hall. The service is always warm and friendly and we enjoyed the food and wine. The beef medallions and the filet entrees were really good; cooked exactly to order. The restaurant also has a good view of Washington Avenue.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I always insist that we go to Mango when ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I always insist that we go to Mango when I'm in St. Louis. It's my favorite restaurant. The food is creative, fresh and delicious. The staff is friendly and efficient. I like to bring friends here because while the food is creative, there is a wide variety for even very picky eaters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really liked the food. The staff was ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We really liked the food. The staff was attentive but didn't interrupt our conversation. Pricing is reasonable. It was a slower night at the restaurant, so it was quiet. It may be noisier when the bar is full. We really liked the food.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent, the dinner, ou ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Everything was excellent, the dinner, our server, the drinks. Terrific meal - thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great appetizers. love the sangria. all ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

great appetizers. love the sangria. all meals were good

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nicely prepared and presented dishes tha ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Nicely prepared and presented dishes that included eclectic as well as comfort-food choices from a Peruvian or Peruvian-inspired menu. Was there with a business associate and we both enjoyed our meals. Superb service. Would definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Cozy, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Just a great find in the city. Deliciou ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Just a great find in the city. Delicious. I have definitely become a fan of Pisco Sours.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited Mango for my wife's birthday ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We visited Mango for my wife's birthday and a friend's college graduation. Food was good and service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent food! Fantastic service that w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent food! Fantastic service that was welcoming and most helpful. Our server offered suggestions when asked. Beautiful facility in downtown St Louis. Open on a Sunday night. Don't miss this restaurant!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When traveling or at home, my wife & I e ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

When traveling or at home, my wife & I enjoy experiencing different cultures & cuisines. We chose Mango for this reason & were definitely not disappointed. We sampled several small plates & enjoyed each one together with great wine selections. The exclamation point on the dinner, however, was the sweet plaintans/ice cream dessert. TO DIE FOR!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

El mejor ceviche que he probado en Estad ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

El mejor ceviche que he probado en Estados Unidos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lee the server was excellent. We had ne ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Lee the server was excellent. We had never been there and he made excellent suggestions. Would definitely go again and recommend!

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The mango mojito is excellent as is the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The mango mojito is excellent as is the pasta with shrimp. The fried plantains could use more sugar but otherwise good. Overall, a good experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

always a downtown highlight. Creative, d ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

always a downtown highlight. Creative, delicious menu for all types of taste buds. Great for small, intimate groups, and larger parties in the private room.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Awesome food, great service- never disap ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Awesome food, great service- never disappoints!! Everything is delicious and especially the yuka!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were well taken care of from the mome ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We were well taken care of from the moment we arrived. The staff and waiter were excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Best steak I have ever eat ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing food! Best steak I have ever eaten! Good desserts. Great appetizers!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were pleasantly surprised by how much ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed our experience at Mango. The menu offered wonderful combinations of flavors. The chili sauce on the special "wings" appetizer was delicious. My daughter thoroughly enjoyed her fish dinner, prepared with her dietary restrictions adhered to. We all shared a few glasses of moderately priced red wine with our dinner. We will go back when we next visit St. Louis.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was superb - very flavorful wit ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was superb - very flavorful with new tastes and combinations we had never had before. It was simply delicious. The service from the front desk to our server – and everyone else – was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service! Food was phenomena ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Outstanding service!

Food was phenomenal!

Definitely my favorite place is STL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My daughter and I always enjoy new food ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 9, 2016

My daughter and I always enjoy new food experiences. This was our first venture into Peruvian fare and we loved it. We were visiting from Milwaukee which has a fair number of restaurants that offer foods from Hispanic cultures. We would love to see Mango come to our city.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rice could've been cooked a little more. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Rice could've been cooked a little more. Tasted like minute ready rice. Chicken was delicious and appetizer was great!

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Completely satisfied with the whole expe ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Completely satisfied with the whole experience:

  1. service- from start to finish was superb. I appreciated that the whole party of 14 didn't have to be present to be seated (we were tardy on account of our babysitter being tardy), ordering and food delivery seemed to be perfectly timed.

  2. Food- plantain chips w/green salsa (tomatillo?) were a nicely salted welcome bite. Everyone I spoke with enjoyed their appetizer/entree ex. calamari (crunchy outside, soft inside), our favorite -anticuchos were cooked just right and the green sauce paired well. quince and cheese, Lomo Satlado and seafood dish with Corvino fish were very delicious.

  3. Drinks- pisco sours/mojitos/ sangria were a bit too sweet but all were drunk.

  4. Extra touch: confetti and "happy birthday" banner on sheet of specials was unexpected and so thoughtful. All I had done was mention it on the open table reservation request. Spouse and friends had an enjoyable evening.

Thank you Mango!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My wife took me to Mango for my birthday ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My wife took me to Mango for my birthday; it was our first time to the restaurant. We both loved our entrees and found the service to be first rate with a very knowledgeable server. Many of the items on the menu will be foreign to a first-time diner, so it is important that the server be able to describe the various dishes. The room is big with a 20+ foot high ceiling but the noise level is minimal. I found the ambiance to be quite appealing as the restaurant is located in a historical old building. I will definitely be going back the next time I'm in St. Louis.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My mom and I had a great meal here. All ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My mom and I had a great meal here. All of the food we tried was delicious (we split two appetizers, an entree and somehow we managed to stuff in a dessert too). The service was even more fantastic. I will go there again!

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were visiting from out of town and wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We were visiting from out of town and wanted to take our son somewhere special and interesting for his birthday. Mango was amazing all around - food, drinks, and service! Would definitely go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow what a feast...worth the 3 hour driv ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wow what a feast...worth the 3 hour drive! Great place for a reunion and the drinks are amazing! Really friendly staff. Can't say enough good stuff about Mango except "I'll Be Back"!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and excellent service. A ter ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great food and excellent service. A terrific place for date night or any other occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the ceviche

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Love the ceviche

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Overall food and service were excellent. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Overall food and service were excellent. The beef was bit overcooked, but still enjoyable. When one of the waiters delivered our ceviche appetizer, telling us that it was the upgraded version, we appreciated the free upgrade and started eating. Less than 30 seconds later, the waitress grabbed the dish telling us it was the wrong table. A much more customer-focused approach would have been to let us keep the dish, not even tell us it was incorrect and deliver the same dish to the folks who actually ordered it. Our main waiter was excellent although he seemed to have a hard time understanding that we were not in a hurry. Regarding drinks, the pisco sour was a bit too sour to my taste compared to the pisco sours I enjoyed a week earlier in Peru. Would I recommend this restaurant? Absolutely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

everything was OK attention was great - ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 25, 2016

everything was OK attention was great - food was cold -ambiance was perfect - plates are a lil overprice .

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Wanted a nice place for a first date, th ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Wanted a nice place for a first date, the service was awesome and the food was wonderful! The staff was very helpful with the menu and our drink orders.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Based upon the tripadvisor rating I expe ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Based upon the tripadvisor rating I expected a much better meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent food, if you haven't tried it ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Excellent food, if you haven't tried it and you are in the St. Louis area put it on your list. The seafood dishes are outstanding as are the salads. We hit this on Friday night and enjoyed it so much we had to go back for Saturday. Fantastic flavors!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.