Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Mango Peruvian Restaurant

Authentic Peruvian Fusion nestled downtown in the Washington Avenue Loft district. Mango features an upscale loft style environment where chic and comfort come together in a melding of delicious food and warm hospitality. Relaxed and inviting, come enjoy a signature crafted libation in the bar, a quiet romantic dinner for two or take advantage of the open space to book a large table for a group of friends or even utilize the private dining room which seats up to fifty. A cozy retreat from the bustling city Mango has quickly become one of the most noteworthy restaurants in St. Louis for locals and visitors alike.
Winner of The Best of St. Louis for South American Cuisine and Late Night Happy Hour by the Riverfront Times, winner of Best South American Cuisine by Alive and St. Louis Magazines, and Opentable.com Diner's Choice Award.

1001 Washington Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm



Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm



Pre-Theater Menu Available Monday - Saturday, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
10th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 621-9993

Website:
http://www.mangoperu.com/

Catering:
Offering both on and off site catering Mango is able to translate its menu into dishes appropriate for any occasion. Offerings include full sit down dinners, family style meals, or appetizer plates that bring an exciting and tasteful element to any event.

Contact heather@Mangoperu.com for a personalized dining experience.

Parking Details:
There are public parking lots North and West of the building as well as plenty of street parking.

Public Transit:
Metro Link to the Convention Center (6th & Washington Ave) stop and then West 5 blocks on Washington to 11th Street.

Executive Chef:
Sergio Nakayoshi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

Private dining for up to 150 guests in an urban loft setting with floor to ceiling windows.

Mango Peruvian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Authentic (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Romantic (18)
Modern Decor (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Business Meals (15)
Cozy (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Healthy (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Fun (11)
Casual (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Tapas (7)
People Watching (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Spicy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Scenic View (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

I arrived with small children and we were accommodated with a table of suitable comfort for their height and not so close to others that we might disturb them. Food was great as always. We began with empanadas (1 beef and 1 queso). My kids love the chicken anticuchos so we ordered 2 trio platters for their entree. I enjoyed the Fettuccine a la Huancaina and the garlic shrimp were large, juicy and delicious. Ryan was our server and he was very thorough. Tye assisted him with food and beverage delivery. Both guys were nothing short of gentlemen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Great downtown location for dinner before the fabulous FOX. Inviting, comfortable, sophisticated and friendly atmosphere. Fabulous food and drinks. Highly recommend for any kind of evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent food! Menu was great and we tried the specials as well! Will definitely go back when visiting the area again.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very fun and funky! Everything we ate was delicious. The beef was tender and juicy. The drinks were yummy. However if you're looking for a quiet night out, probably not the best place to go! Lots of people frequent this establishment which is a great sign but it can get rather noisy! I didn't mind at all. But some people may find it to be a bit much!
I was only in st louis for a few days and was glad that this was one of my choices!

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We were visiting from out of state for a conference and loved the food so much we came back a second time within the week. On the pricey side, but the unusual flavors and ample amount of food make it well worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We love introducing Mangos to new people, love the Peruvian cuisine. It was a business meeting and the only issue we had was that the waitress kept coming over to check on us making it feel we over stayed our time when there were plenty of empty tables.... service has always been good but she was over the top/slightly annoying.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Mango was one of the best meals I've had in a while! Our server was really knowledgable about the menu and drinks. We tried authentic dishes and drinks and loved every bit of it. Highly recommend and we will be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Super polite, amazing service. Meals and drinks were perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Celebrated our son's 25th birthday here. Cute but subtle decoration on our table when we arrived. Service was excellent-attentive but not pushy. All of our food was great-the corn cakes were a stand-out hit; would love to have the recipe as we don't get to SL often from Chicago. Several options for another son who is vegetarian. Nice selection of wines.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Super meal. The wait staff was fantastic as well. Next time I'm in St. Louis, I'll stop in for more awesome food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Wonderful service, we had a large group and the waitstaff was fantastic. The best service I have ever had at handling our diverse group of diners for our business dinner. I plan Delegation group dinners 4-5 times a year in cities all over the US. Thank you Mango for the great service.

Tags: Authentic, Spicy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Took my co-workers to Mango last night for dinner. Wonderful service and fantastic food. Everyone was very pleased. I would certainly recommend it.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Been Hispanic and acosutmed to spicy (flavorful not hot), the food was amazing.
We tried a variety of dishes, from tapas to deserts. I was very impressed with the quality, presentation and great taste of all the dishes. Will definitely visit again!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our meal was incredibly disappointing. If you're a foodie I suggest a different venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We came for Mardi Gras and loved it. Nice setting and great starters.

Tags: Organic, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 24, 2017

A group of 12 women gathered at Mango on a Thursday evening. It was a great experience. Despite the size of our group, our server kept pace throughout the evening and enjoyed the food. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great food and service. Went over lunch and liked it so much I came back with a group for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Originally, Mango was a small, traditional Peruvian restaurant in South St. Louis, serving fantastic real Peruvian cuisine (and yes, this reviewer does know what that is, after working for 20 years in Norther Peru, where the (original?) owners came from.

Since moving to downtown St. Louis, Mango has markedly deteriorated into what could be described as an upmarket US American diner with a slight Peruvian touch. The ubiquity of TVs with mainstream sports makes the place more of a US sports bar / diner than a restaurant. Moreover, originally staff actually spoke Spanish - something that has long disappeared from the new Mango. So have clean menus - all of ours had grasy spots on them.

The only reasonable fare we (4 of us) got was the Pisco Sour, which however seemed to be spiked with extra alcohol.

The "Jalea Mixta" was a greasy mass of over-fried, rather dry shrimp, and the fish was markedly past its prime.

The "Gambas al Ajillo" would have been something that in any restaurant in Peru (or Spain for that matter, since this is hardly a Peruvian plate) would have got back to the kitchen.

The "Saltado de Champinoñes" (it is actually Champiñones in Spanish - another indication that whoever runs the place and writes the menu has no clue of the language, or the cuisine), a mass of fried mushrooms over pasta, with a spice combination decidedly catering to the US market was imply bland.

The "Saltado de Langostinos" was no better.

Finally, the only coffee available was an US style insipid brownish brew that had nothing to do with how coffee is drunk in much of Latin America.

Overall, Mango has turned into something like USp-food (US with a very slight taste of Peru), and is nothing of what it used to be. If you like real Peruvian food, do not eat here. It certainly was our last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 21, 2017

A wonderful experience! The Paiche Fish is excellent! The service is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food was excellent. Great flavors and presentation. Also a good value for what provided.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Some of the rice was undercooked otherwise, the rest of the food was fantastic. The flat screen TVs were distracting and cheapens the look and atmosphere of the place.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was delicious, great atmosphere for date night

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had outstanding service, and the food was exceptional.

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent dinner with family. Appetizers were exceptional, and waitstaff was extremely helpful in explaining and recommending items off the menu. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Cosy ambience. Well lit. Warm hosts. Good food. Great for anniversaries and private celebrations. That's how I see our experience at Mango. I'm extra thankful for OpenTable for the table reservation service made available to us at such ease!

The restaurant is a little pricier than most others but the service and your experience there is the difference you're paying for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

- Overrated food , not really a Peruvian it all .
- Prices too high
- Terrible mistake have a St Valentine Menu with a very limited options
- Good service , but awful food .

I will not going again , neither recommend to somebody else to go .
NO THANKS !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My favorite restaurant in St. Louis and the best civiche I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Outstanding Peruvian meal! Party of five that included one gluten-free diner and one vegetarian - all were very happy with our meals! Delicious cocktails (though the bar service was a little slow), nice selection of tapas and entrees. Don't miss this special restaurant!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was great about the restaurant. Great food,great atmosphere, and the service was outstanding.I will definitely be returning!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was very good but a little expensive for the quantity. Service was great. A good night out for the family

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good food, good service. We got drinks (which are great) and a bunch of appetizers. All the apps were very tasty. The sangria is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was very tasty, but for me portions were a little too small for cost. It wasn't absurdly small. They have a very unique menu and taste was very very good. Our waitress had worked there for 7 years, and she was very very knowledgable about the menu. I discussed my wife and I's taste, and the waitress was spot on with recommendations. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent, interesting food. Nice atmosphere. Decent wine list. Worth a drive downtown to experience this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Authentic Peruvian food. Good variety. Spicy enough without being overwhelming for most dishes. Good for sharing plates.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The cocktails were strong and spot in. The good was delicious but the service was so slow our sever apologized twice! Same experience as last time we visted.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Tapas, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very pleasant. Nothing throughout the meal jumped out as exceptional. The drinks were well made. The service was on par. The meal was tasty and cooked to order. Clean, organized, nicely lit. A pleasant time.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Mango has an ambience that could carry over to many different occasions. It was a great night out with friends for drinks and dinner. Our waitress Hayden was amazing from drinks and menu recommendations to her outstanding service. The food was spot on from her recommendations. To note...the pitcher of sangria is one of the best I've ever had.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Sry interesting flavors. Waitstaff is helpful and informative. Interesting drinks and wine.

Tags: Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was my first time at Mango after wanting to go for a long time. I was not disappointed. I will definitely go back to try some more dishes.

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.