About Mango Peruvian Restaurant

1001 Washington Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63101
View Larger Map

Authentic Peruvian Fusion nestled downtown in the Washington Avenue Loft district. Mango features an upscale loft style environment where chic and comfort come together in a melding of delicious food and warm hospitality. Relaxed and inviting, come enjoy a signature crafted libation in the bar, a quiet romantic dinner for two or take advantage of the open space to book a large table for a group of friends or even utilize the private dining room which seats up to fifty. A cozy retreat from the bustling city Mango has quickly become one of the most noteworthy restaurants in St. Louis for locals and visitors alike.
Winner of The Best of St. Louis for South American Cuisine and Late Night Happy Hour by the Riverfront Times, winner of Best South American Cuisine by Alive and St. Louis Magazines, and Opentable.com Diner's Choice Award.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm



Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm



Pre-Theater Menu Available Monday - Saturday, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
10th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 621-9993

Website:
http://www.mangoperu.com/

Catering:
Offering both on and off site catering Mango is able to translate its menu into dishes appropriate for any occasion. Offerings include full sit down dinners, family style meals, or appetizer plates that bring an exciting and tasteful element to any event.

Contact heather@Mangoperu.com for a personalized dining experience.

Parking Details:
There is public parking lots North and West of the building as well as plenty of street parking.

Public Transit:
Metro Link to the Convention Center (6th & Washington Ave) stop and then West 5 blocks on Washington to 11th Street.

Executive Chef:
Sergio Nakayoshi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pork Tamal
Ceviche
Plantain Chips With Serrano-cilantro Salsa
Ceviche De Pe
anticuchos
Choros Sudados
Saltado de Langostinos
Pescado Parmesano
Saltado De Champinones
Ensalada Exotica
Chicken Skewer
Plantains
Scallops
Chupe de mariscos
tiradito
Latin fusion
Aji de Gallina
Roasted Pork Tenderloin
Sangria
Chifles
Helado de Chirimoya
chupe peruano
Butternut Squash Soup
pascualina
Empanada
Flan
Arroz con leche
Tilapia Rice Egg Potatoes
Pollo En Salsa De Mango

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

Private dining for up to 150 guests in an urban loft setting with floor to ceiling windows.

Mango Peruvian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Downtown
Best Food
Downtown
Best Value
Downtown
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Downtown
Most Booked
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Downtown St. Louis ›

Fit for Foodies (69)
Special Occasion (61)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
See All
Good for Groups (36)
Romantic (33)
Great for Lunch (25)
Hot Spot (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Late-night Find (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Authentic (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Great for Brunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Fun (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Business Meals (6)
Scenic View (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Healthy (6)
Cozy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Spicy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vegan (3)
Tapas (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Casual (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1046 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Mango's offering for Downtown Restaurant ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Mango's offering for Downtown Restaurant Week was phenomenal. The plaintain chips and salsa verde alone are great. The cause de salmon is really original, great appetizer. The lomo fino sirloin was a little too heavily sauced for my taste but quite delicious overall. The mango sorbet dessert was surprisingly creamy and just delicious too, more of a sherbet than a sorbet. The server was quite heavy handed with aggressively requesting multiple "Extra Helping" charity donations as even at Downtown Restaurant Week special pricing the check for two people is easily over $100. But all in all a good showing for Mango.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

It was Restaurant Week so menu was limit ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

It was Restaurant Week so menu was limited. We look forward to returning sometime to experience the full menu.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We wanted to order from the regular menu ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

We wanted to order from the regular menu but they only had course menu on that day.

If we knew that in advance, we did not make a reservation at Mango.

Also our appetizer came before beverage comes!!!

We liked Mango but very disappointed this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Excellent authentic food and great dishe ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Excellent authentic food and great dishes! Great servers and chefs

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I loved everything about Man ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My wife and I loved everything about Mango. The Sangria's were amazing. All of the food was delicious. We heard great things so our expectations were high and it certainly lived up to them. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A group of 5 made a last minute reservat ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

A group of 5 made a last minute reservation and very happy we did! The food my husband and I ordered was delicious. He got a regular menu item, I ordered a special, and we both left happy. The pitcher of sangria was also good (wasn't anticipating the bit of cinnamon, but it worked). I will go back next time I'm in St. Louis.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was soooooo rude. Waited 40m ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our server was soooooo rude. Waited 40m for a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

This was our first visit and it did not ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was our first visit and it did not disappoint. Food, cocktails, and service were fabulous! Highly recommend the ceviche, fish of the day and Lomo Saltado. Loved the ambience, beautifully decorated and totally comfortable with large windows on Washington Ave, great for people watching in between courses! Relatively small but interesting menu. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was a bit slow, but it was a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The service was a bit slow, but it was a Saturday night... AND Beyonce was in town (as we learned!).

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Wonderful food, great service. Great pla ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful food, great service. Great place for date night, family outing, or just two friends catching up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food and service were wonderful, wi ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food and service were wonderful, with one exception: the flan was too dense and overly sweet. Otherwise we tried several appetizers as well as beef and fish large plate dishes, and all were memorable and delicious. The large plates are large enough to share.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Spicy, Business Meals, Healthy, Cozy, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere! The food was great and ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great atmosphere! The food was great and the price was just right! I will certainly return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food outstanding , service outstanding! ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Food outstanding , service outstanding! One of our favorite restaurants in St Louis. Well worth the drive into the city on a weeknight.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best service I have had in a very lo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The best service I have had in a very long time! I would highly recommend this place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious !!!!!!! From start to flan ! S ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Delicious !!!!!!!

From start to flan !

Sangria was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went with a group of 6 people and were s ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Went with a group of 6 people and were seated immediately. Loved the open atmosphere with with high ceilings and large windows with view of the vibrant street scene of Washington Street. This place serves some awesome and authentic Peruvian dishes. Also the cocktails were delicious as well. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable of the cuisine prepared here. Definitely try the Mango Sherbet and orange soda float for dessert. Can't wait to return and try the other entrees on their menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The opener of cilantro lime chimchurri s ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The opener of cilantro lime chimchurri sauce with plantain chips is fabulous. The appetizers were great and entrees did not disappoint. The to-go chocolate cake was dry and not fresh tasting, however. If that'd been better, I'd give it a five star overall.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome, we had a wonderful tim ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was awesome, we had a wonderful time. The empanadas are just delicious

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was excellent! Will definitely go ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was excellent! Will definitely go back again!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was visiting St Louis on business, and h ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Was visiting St Louis on business, and had dinner at Mango. It was an outstanding experience, from the service we received from the wait staff to the food we ordered.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience. I would love valet par ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great experience. I would love valet parking to make it even better

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

In planning a girls trip I chose Mango f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

In planning a girls trip I chose Mango for its location and interesting menu. The location was close to our hotel and was perfect after running around all day. We were an hour early and expected to have to wait but the staff quickly accommodated us and gave us seating outside. We had appetizers, meal, specialty cocktails and shared a dessert. It was all wonderful and our server answered all our questions and took great care of us.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Mangos. We are from Illinois but ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We love Mangos. We are from Illinois but always stop in to have lunch or dinner at Mangos when we come to St. Louis which is several times a year. This time we came for a concert at Busch Stadium. We were able to walk to Busch Stadium from Mangos. We have already recommended to our friends for when they come for a Cardinals game or just visiting St. Louis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time will go back. Friday night wa ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First time will go back. Friday night was not that busy Food was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Authentic Peruvian cuisine at it's fines ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Authentic Peruvian cuisine at it's finest!

Great atmosphere and exceptional staff...

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pretty neat place; walking distance from ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Pretty neat place; walking distance from the Arch! Loved the welcome appetizers, and was very happy with the vegetarian selection as well! Would definitely be a business meeting/date night regular if I lived in St. Louis!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

When I made the reservation I included t ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

When I made the reservation I included that this was for our 30th anniversary. When we arrived, the hostess took my name and wished us a happy anniversary. The table was decorated with ribbon curls and it was obvious that our waitstaff knew about the event. They also tossed in a complimentary dessert. Food was good and the server knew her foods and was able to share her expertise with us.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was in St. Louis for the night with my w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Was in St. Louis for the night with my wife and found Mango. We both had the steak special which was served with an au gratin dish. The rare steaks were cooked perfectly. And while I'm not a fan of sauces on steak most of the time, it complemented the steak very well without overpowering it. The food was so good we played a game called "the last time I had a meal this good". It had been a long time for both of us!

The waitstaff was friendly and quick. Next time I'm in St. Louis, I'll be sure to go to Mango!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service. Had the gr ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and great service. Had the grilled fish dish and the fish was perfectly done. They also had a chicken wing special which was by far the best wings I've ever had. Our waitress, Hayden (?), was great and helpful in making choices for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was lovely and attentive. M ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our waitress was lovely and attentive. My water glass never got below the half way mark. I had the empanadas as an appetizer & the shrimp dish as my main. AMAZING food. Everest the table was pleased with what they ordered and we want to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We thought the food was very good. Our ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We thought the food was very good. Our server was pleasant and the food came out quickly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious, but we waited a ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was delicious, but we waited a long time for our meal and had to rush to make a show in time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This was an excellent place for the trav ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This was an excellent place for the traveler staying in downtown. The menu heavily favors Peruvian seafood. It misses some of the wider spectrum of upscale Peruvian restaurant menus on the West Coast but is a good find with very satisfying food. The Pisco Sour was excellent. The flan demonstrated my feelings about the restaurant....the taste was spot on and excellent but the texture and a few bubbles within let the secret out that it was cooked a bit fast after having been whipped too much. Very minor attention to detail and a bit broader menu could transform this place into a national class example of the finest Peruvian fare.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Rude hostess, we turned and walked out.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Rude hostess, we turned and walked out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Mango was a fun place to eat on a Friday ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Mango was a fun place to eat on a Friday night. Good was pretty decent, and the recommendations made by our server were all good. Drinks were a little disappointing for variety, but they were good enough. The Plantain chips were a nice touch, and the seafood was very fresh. I especially like the Cerviche Mixto

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fun place to dine with unique cuisine. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fun place to dine with unique cuisine. Great service and good food with good value.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food excellent, but the service was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food excellent, but the service was slow. Our waiter was friendly but a little forgetful. This was not my typical dining experience here, so we'll give Mango another try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Eclectic menu, excellent service and sup ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Eclectic menu, excellent service and superb food. My husband I were in St. Louis for a convention, and Mango was within walking distance of the convention center. I have never had Peruvian food, but I am so glad I tried it. Fresh seafood, lean beef, and tons of veggies...and the Sangria oh my! We actually had such a great dinner, that later that same night, we came back again for the reverse happy hour at 10pm!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience was disappointing. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our dining experience was disappointing. They were out of two small plates which we were going to order. I had to get my own refill of mango tea (which was good). Had to request sweetener, salt and pepper. The beef sandwich was flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

They took more than an hour to bring our ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

They took more than an hour to bring our appetizers by which time we were starving and could deal with another hours wait for main dish. Food mag be good but their service is subpar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.