About Mango Peruvian Restaurant

1001 Washington Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63101
View Larger Map

Authentic Peruvian Fusion nestled downtown in the Washington Avenue Loft district. Mango features an upscale loft style environment where chic and comfort come together in a melding of delicious food and warm hospitality. Relaxed and inviting, come enjoy a signature crafted libation in the bar, a quiet romantic dinner for two or take advantage of the open space to book a large table for a group of friends or even utilize the private dining room which seats up to fifty. A cozy retreat from the bustling city Mango has quickly become one of the most noteworthy restaurants in St. Louis for locals and visitors alike.
Winner of The Best of St. Louis for South American Cuisine and Late Night Happy Hour by the Riverfront Times, winner of Best South American Cuisine by Alive and St. Louis Magazines, and Opentable.com Diner's Choice Award.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm



Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm



Pre-Theater Menu Available Monday - Saturday, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
10th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 621-9993

Website:
http://www.mangoperu.com/

Catering:
Offering both on and off site catering Mango is able to translate its menu into dishes appropriate for any occasion. Offerings include full sit down dinners, family style meals, or appetizer plates that bring an exciting and tasteful element to any event.

Contact heather@Mangoperu.com for a personalized dining experience.

Parking Details:
There are public parking lots North and West of the building as well as plenty of street parking.

Public Transit:
Metro Link to the Convention Center (6th & Washington Ave) stop and then West 5 blocks on Washington to 11th Street.

Executive Chef:
Sergio Nakayoshi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pork Tamal - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Ceviche - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Plantain Chips With Serrano-cilantro Salsa - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Ceviche De Pe - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
anticuchos - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Choros Sudados - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Saltado de Langostinos - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Pescado Parmesano - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Saltado De Champinones - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Ensalada Exotica - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Chicken Skewer - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Plantains - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Scallops - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Chupe de mariscos - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
tiradito - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Latin fusion - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Aji de Gallina - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Roasted Pork Tenderloin - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Sangria - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Chifles - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Helado de Chirimoya - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
chupe peruano - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Butternut Squash Soup - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
pascualina - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Empanada - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Flan - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Arroz con leche - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Tilapia Rice Egg Potatoes - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO
Pollo En Salsa De Mango - Mango Peruvian Restaurant, St. Louis, MO

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

Private dining for up to 150 guests in an urban loft setting with floor to ceiling windows.

Mango Peruvian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Downtown
Most Booked
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Downtown St. Louis ›

Special Occasion (38)
Good for a Date (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
See All
Creative Cuisine (29)
Romantic (26)
Authentic (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Business Meals (16)
Fun (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Healthy (11)
Cozy (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Casual (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Tapas (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
People Watching (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Scenic View (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Vegan (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Spicy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1076 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome food, great service- never disap ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Awesome food, great service- never disappoints!! Everything is delicious and especially the yuka!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were well taken care of from the mome ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We were well taken care of from the moment we arrived. The staff and waiter were excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Best steak I have ever eat ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing food! Best steak I have ever eaten! Good desserts. Great appetizers!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were pleasantly surprised by how much ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed our experience at Mango. The menu offered wonderful combinations of flavors. The chili sauce on the special "wings" appetizer was delicious. My daughter thoroughly enjoyed her fish dinner, prepared with her dietary restrictions adhered to. We all shared a few glasses of moderately priced red wine with our dinner. We will go back when we next visit St. Louis.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was superb - very flavorful wit ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was superb - very flavorful with new tastes and combinations we had never had before. It was simply delicious. The service from the front desk to our server – and everyone else – was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service! Food was phenomena ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Outstanding service!

Food was phenomenal!

Definitely my favorite place is STL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My daughter and I always enjoy new food ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 9, 2016

My daughter and I always enjoy new food experiences. This was our first venture into Peruvian fare and we loved it. We were visiting from Milwaukee which has a fair number of restaurants that offer foods from Hispanic cultures. We would love to see Mango come to our city.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rice could've been cooked a little more. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Rice could've been cooked a little more. Tasted like minute ready rice. Chicken was delicious and appetizer was great!

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Completely satisfied with the whole expe ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Completely satisfied with the whole experience:

  1. service- from start to finish was superb. I appreciated that the whole party of 14 didn't have to be present to be seated (we were tardy on account of our babysitter being tardy), ordering and food delivery seemed to be perfectly timed.

  2. Food- plantain chips w/green salsa (tomatillo?) were a nicely salted welcome bite. Everyone I spoke with enjoyed their appetizer/entree ex. calamari (crunchy outside, soft inside), our favorite -anticuchos were cooked just right and the green sauce paired well. quince and cheese, Lomo Satlado and seafood dish with Corvino fish were very delicious.

  3. Drinks- pisco sours/mojitos/ sangria were a bit too sweet but all were drunk.

  4. Extra touch: confetti and "happy birthday" banner on sheet of specials was unexpected and so thoughtful. All I had done was mention it on the open table reservation request. Spouse and friends had an enjoyable evening.

Thank you Mango!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My wife took me to Mango for my birthday ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My wife took me to Mango for my birthday; it was our first time to the restaurant. We both loved our entrees and found the service to be first rate with a very knowledgeable server. Many of the items on the menu will be foreign to a first-time diner, so it is important that the server be able to describe the various dishes. The room is big with a 20+ foot high ceiling but the noise level is minimal. I found the ambiance to be quite appealing as the restaurant is located in a historical old building. I will definitely be going back the next time I'm in St. Louis.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My mom and I had a great meal here. All ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My mom and I had a great meal here. All of the food we tried was delicious (we split two appetizers, an entree and somehow we managed to stuff in a dessert too). The service was even more fantastic. I will go there again!

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were visiting from out of town and wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We were visiting from out of town and wanted to take our son somewhere special and interesting for his birthday. Mango was amazing all around - food, drinks, and service! Would definitely go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow what a feast...worth the 3 hour driv ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wow what a feast...worth the 3 hour drive! Great place for a reunion and the drinks are amazing! Really friendly staff. Can't say enough good stuff about Mango except "I'll Be Back"!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and excellent service. A ter ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great food and excellent service. A terrific place for date night or any other occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the ceviche

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Love the ceviche

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Overall food and service were excellent. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Overall food and service were excellent. The beef was bit overcooked, but still enjoyable. When one of the waiters delivered our ceviche appetizer, telling us that it was the upgraded version, we appreciated the free upgrade and started eating. Less than 30 seconds later, the waitress grabbed the dish telling us it was the wrong table. A much more customer-focused approach would have been to let us keep the dish, not even tell us it was incorrect and deliver the same dish to the folks who actually ordered it. Our main waiter was excellent although he seemed to have a hard time understanding that we were not in a hurry. Regarding drinks, the pisco sour was a bit too sour to my taste compared to the pisco sours I enjoyed a week earlier in Peru. Would I recommend this restaurant? Absolutely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

everything was OK attention was great - ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 25, 2016

everything was OK attention was great - food was cold -ambiance was perfect - plates are a lil overprice .

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Wanted a nice place for a first date, th ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Wanted a nice place for a first date, the service was awesome and the food was wonderful! The staff was very helpful with the menu and our drink orders.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Based upon the tripadvisor rating I expe ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Based upon the tripadvisor rating I expected a much better meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent food, if you haven't tried it ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Excellent food, if you haven't tried it and you are in the St. Louis area put it on your list. The seafood dishes are outstanding as are the salads. We hit this on Friday night and enjoyed it so much we had to go back for Saturday. Fantastic flavors!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing service and great food. Our. Ew ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Amazing service and great food. Our. Ew favorite resturant in St. Louis

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried it because the reviews were goo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We tried it because the reviews were good and we were not disappointed. Our knowledgeable and friendly server, RICO, guided us through our first Peruvian culinary experience. We had the evening's beef tenderloin dish and it was cooked to perfection and full of flavors. Sangria was delicioso! Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent food and very good service. W ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Excellent food and very good service. Would highly recommend and plan on going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best ceviche ever. Sangria is amazing. S ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Best ceviche ever. Sangria is amazing. Service always great here!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

my first taste of Peruvian dishes, nice ...

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

my first taste of Peruvian dishes, nice flavor, will visit again in my next trip.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Sports, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good food!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Very good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food and service was outstanding! I ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The food and service was outstanding! I ate a salmon appetizer and green vegetable vegetarian dish and chocolate cake to finsh. I apologize i dont know the names of any if the dishes. I also had a glass of moscato. The moscato wasnt my favorite because it was a little bitter with a fumey after taste. So i guess it could have been smoother. The salmon app taste like potatoes and salmon. A little heavy but my dinner was lite. The portion sizes were on the bigger side thus I ate my left overs for two more nights. Enjoy peru guys!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mango's offering for Downtown Restaurant ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Mango's offering for Downtown Restaurant Week was phenomenal. The plaintain chips and salsa verde alone are great. The cause de salmon is really original, great appetizer. The lomo fino sirloin was a little too heavily sauced for my taste but quite delicious overall. The mango sorbet dessert was surprisingly creamy and just delicious too, more of a sherbet than a sorbet. The server was quite heavy handed with aggressively requesting multiple "Extra Helping" charity donations as even at Downtown Restaurant Week special pricing the check for two people is easily over $100. But all in all a good showing for Mango.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

It was Restaurant Week so menu was limit ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 22, 2016

It was Restaurant Week so menu was limited. We look forward to returning sometime to experience the full menu.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We wanted to order from the regular menu ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We wanted to order from the regular menu but they only had course menu on that day.

If we knew that in advance, we did not make a reservation at Mango.

Also our appetizer came before beverage comes!!!

We liked Mango but very disappointed this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Excellent authentic food and great dishe ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Excellent authentic food and great dishes! Great servers and chefs

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I loved everything about Man ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 18, 2016

My wife and I loved everything about Mango. The Sangria's were amazing. All of the food was delicious. We heard great things so our expectations were high and it certainly lived up to them. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A group of 5 made a last minute reservat ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

A group of 5 made a last minute reservation and very happy we did! The food my husband and I ordered was delicious. He got a regular menu item, I ordered a special, and we both left happy. The pitcher of sangria was also good (wasn't anticipating the bit of cinnamon, but it worked). I will go back next time I'm in St. Louis.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very slow service. Food seemed warmed ov ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very slow service. Food seemed warmed over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Our server was soooooo rude. Waited 40m ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our server was soooooo rude. Waited 40m for a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

This was our first visit and it did not ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was our first visit and it did not disappoint. Food, cocktails, and service were fabulous! Highly recommend the ceviche, fish of the day and Lomo Saltado. Loved the ambience, beautifully decorated and totally comfortable with large windows on Washington Ave, great for people watching in between courses! Relatively small but interesting menu. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was a bit slow, but it was a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The service was a bit slow, but it was a Saturday night... AND Beyonce was in town (as we learned!).

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Wonderful food, great service. Great pla ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful food, great service. Great place for date night, family outing, or just two friends catching up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food and service were wonderful, wi ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food and service were wonderful, with one exception: the flan was too dense and overly sweet. Otherwise we tried several appetizers as well as beef and fish large plate dishes, and all were memorable and delicious. The large plates are large enough to share.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Spicy, Business Meals, Healthy, Cozy, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere! The food was great and ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great atmosphere! The food was great and the price was just right! I will certainly return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.