About Mango Peruvian Restaurant

1001 Washington Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63101
View Larger Map

Authentic Peruvian Fusion nestled downtown in the Washington Avenue Loft district. Mango features an upscale loft style environment where chic and comfort come together in a melding of delicious food and warm hospitality. Relaxed and inviting, come enjoy a signature crafted libation in the bar, a quiet romantic dinner for two or take advantage of the open space to book a large table for a group of friends or even utilize the private dining room which seats up to fifty. A cozy retreat from the bustling city Mango has quickly become one of the most noteworthy restaurants in St. Louis for locals and visitors alike.
Winner of The Best of St. Louis for South American Cuisine and Late Night Happy Hour by the Riverfront Times, winner of Best South American Cuisine by Alive and St. Louis Magazines, and Opentable.com Diner's Choice Award.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm



Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm



Pre-Theater Menu Available Monday - Saturday, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
10th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 621-9993

Website:
http://www.mangoperu.com/

Catering:
Offering both on and off site catering Mango is able to translate its menu into dishes appropriate for any occasion. Offerings include full sit down dinners, family style meals, or appetizer plates that bring an exciting and tasteful element to any event.

Contact heather@Mangoperu.com for a personalized dining experience.

Parking Details:
There is public parking lots North and West of the building as well as plenty of street parking.

Public Transit:
Metro Link to the Convention Center (6th & Washington Ave) stop and then West 5 blocks on Washington to 11th Street.

Executive Chef:
Sergio Nakayoshi

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Pork Tamal
Ceviche
Ceviche De Pe
Plantain Chips With Serrano-cilantro Salsa
Saltado de Langostinos
anticuchos
Choros Sudados
Pescado Parmesano
Saltado De Champinones
Ensalada Exotica
Chicken Skewer
Plantains
Scallops
Chupe de mariscos
tiradito
Latin fusion
Aji de Gallina
Roasted Pork Tenderloin
Sangria
Chifles
chupe peruano
Helado de Chirimoya
Butternut Squash Soup
pascualina
Empanada
Flan
Arroz con leche
Tilapia Rice Egg Potatoes
Pollo En Salsa De Mango

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

Private dining for up to 150 guests in an urban loft setting with floor to ceiling windows.

Mango Peruvian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
St. Louis
Best Overall
Downtown
Best Food
Downtown
3 More
Best Ambiance
Downtown
Best Value
Downtown
Most Booked
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Downtown St. Louis ›

fit for foodies (71)
special occasion (54)
good for groups (45)
See All
neighborhood gem (33)
hot spot (26)
great for lunch (25)
romantic (25)
great for outdoor dining (11)
late-night find (10)
notable wine list (8)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for brunch (7)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1007 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food excellent, but the service was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food excellent, but the service was slow. Our waiter was friendly but a little forgetful. This was not my typical dining experience here, so we'll give Mango another try.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Eclectic menu, excellent service and sup ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Eclectic menu, excellent service and superb food. My husband I were in St. Louis for a convention, and Mango was within walking distance of the convention center. I have never had Peruvian food, but I am so glad I tried it. Fresh seafood, lean beef, and tons of veggies...and the Sangria oh my! We actually had such a great dinner, that later that same night, we came back again for the reverse happy hour at 10pm!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience was disappointing. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our dining experience was disappointing. They were out of two small plates which we were going to order. I had to get my own refill of mango tea (which was good). Had to request sweetener, salt and pepper. The beef sandwich was flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

They took more than an hour to bring our ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

They took more than an hour to bring our appetizers by which time we were starving and could deal with another hours wait for main dish. Food mag be good but their service is subpar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

First time at new location. Celebrating ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

First time at new location. Celebrating two birthdays. Service fine while restaurant dinner time starting, but has evening went on and conventioneers arrived, and we were not ordering anymore things went downhill. 1 Dessert order was wrong and it took 10 minutes to get waitress to straighten out,once we could find her. Then separate bills were mixed up, too busy taking care of new customers at this point. Left with not so happy birthday celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

All 4 of us loved our meal!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

All 4 of us loved our meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice environment. Very good servic ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very nice environment. Very good service. The food was excellent, although a bit salty to our taste. Neat neighborhood. Reasonable prices. We would certainly go there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was good Ambiance is open and en ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Service was good

Ambiance is open and enjoyable

Food was average

Apps were good

Sangria was good very little alcohol

Entrees were creative but overcooked

Would not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I had never eaten Peruvian food, and thi ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I had never eaten Peruvian food, and this sampling was delicious. The flavors are unusual and complex, and not too spicy. The presentation is beautiful. We had a three-generation family dinner one night, and the children found foods they enjoyed. We liked it so much we went back the next night with a different couple and tried new things and found them all delightful!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time eating at a Peruvian restaura ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

First time eating at a Peruvian restaurant and Mango did it exceptionally well. Great food and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mango Peru is a wonderful culinary exper ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Mango Peru is a wonderful culinary experience. We were thrilled with every bite.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food! Server was awesome. She ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Excellent food! Server was awesome. She was informative and attentive. Overall, great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and great service!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sangria will get you in the door, and th ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Sangria will get you in the door, and the food will keep you there :)

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Long Wait, we were expecting something u ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Long Wait, we were expecting something unique from a Peruvian restaurant we basically had an average seafood and typical beef meal; nothing too unique about it.

Sangria was exceptional though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

I have only had Peruvian food as interpr ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I have only had Peruvian food as interpreted my Mango at its various locations. That experience has allowed me to say, "I really like Peruvian food!" The flavors are interesting, and all the dishes are well-presented. I have always found the staff friendly and efficient.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always look forward to our meals here ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We always look forward to our meals here. Dinner was good as usual. Scallops for me and the fish special for my wife. Both cooked just right and plated well. Service was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exellent service and great food. Exellen ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Exellent service and great food.

Exellent service and great food.Exellent service and great food.Exellent service and great food.Exellent service and great food.Exellent service and great food.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff were responsive and court ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The wait staff were responsive and courteous, the food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat outside on a Saturday night and o ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We sat outside on a Saturday night and our service was pretty slow. Otherwise, the food was great, but really the outside tables are not that nice, too noisy and close to the street.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was outstanding, we will defini ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was outstanding, we will definitely go back. The service was good. The bartenders were heavy on the drinks they can always ask how strong they prefer their drinks. It was a slight accident that doesn't affect our decision coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

EXCELLENT!!!!! I love Peruvian food and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

EXCELLENT!!!!! I love Peruvian food and Mango is AMAZING!! A MUST to dine there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took a chance to have dinner here whe ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We took a chance to have dinner here when in STL for a convention. We chose it due to the close proximity to the convention center. There were 6 at our table. We could hear conversation, enjoyed a delicious meal, and had great service. We will definitely put it on our list of places to return to if we're back in STL.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is not as good as it used to be, bu ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Food is not as good as it used to be, but the new location is beautiful.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great experience

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Another satisfying experience. Service ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Another satisfying experience. Service was very good, Sarah made the meal all the more pleasant. Both our meals were excellent--the potato and salmon salad appetizer was very good. We live 30 miles away, but try to make it to Mango at least once a month.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious meal. The Sangria was excelle ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Delicious meal. The Sangria was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I could write a detailed review but here ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I could write a detailed review but here is the cliff note version as it wasn't worth a long review:

Service was non-existent

Appetizers were good

Entrees were very poorly executed, my date's meal sat in the window so long that the sauce began to harden on top

A drink came to our table wasn't ordered but appeared on our bill (we just paid it to avoid a long delay).

Getting the check was impossible. The table two over from us waited to long that the lady fell asleep which was strangely the highlight of the entire dining experience.

Will not go back and do not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Great experience!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I thought Peruvian food sounded interesting and went to Mango with my family. I ordered Lomo Saltado based on a former review. I was not disappointed. The dish was really tasty with tender meat and delicious sauce. The size of the portion was good. The restaurant is a bit on the expensive side, though.

I would love to return anyway to taste other dishes!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was delicious. Avocado salad and lo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was delicious. Avocado salad and lomo saltado were table favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great - drinks, appetizer ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Everything was great - drinks, appetizers, and entrees. Very creative compositions. Reasonable as well $-wise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I brought out of town customers for dinn ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I brought out of town customers for dinner. We had a great experience and everyone raved about the flavorful food and great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the 2nd time I went to the resta ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

This is the 2nd time I went to the restaurant but my first on lunchtime. Great service, great food, great ambience and great price. This place is a gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a place every person visiting St ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

This is a place every person visiting St. Louis should stop by. The food was really good! They received me with platanutres (plantain chips) and what seemed to be a cilantro-lemon sauce (maybe I was wrong) to dip the chips in. I had the scallops special and it was delicious. The peruvian chardonnay was a clean and crisp wine. The torta de chocolate was very rich and really good. The service was excellent and you can tell the staff is happy. My booth was close to the kitchen and everything looked very organized and clean. I was happy to see all the staff working gracefully and together as one. Overall, 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice food and ambiance. Service staff w ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Nice food and ambiance. Service staff was overextended the night we went, so took a whole to get drinks and ordering.

Had high expectations for the ceviche micro, but it was only average. Nice fish and shellfish mains.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

A great evening with delicious Peruvian ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

A great evening with delicious Peruvian food with a modern twist. We have been to Peru many times and were very impressed with the selection on the menu, the freshness of the dishes, the modern variations and the authentic flavors. The Pisco Sours were very authentic and we thought the dining experience overall was excellent. A nice touch that the owners son came out to introduce himself and take the time to meet us.

Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My son is traveling to Peru this summer ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My son is traveling to Peru this summer so I wanted him to try the food so he would have a reference point. He loved the food but my husband and i absolutely enjoyed it from the caramelized fried plantain ships to the skewered beef marinated in yummy sauce. It was much better than we imagined. We tried the native drink - it tasted like Keylime pie infused and was good. I had the Sangria - so good. We finished with a plantain desert with ice cream that was over the top. Cooked to perfection- just right for sure. The waitress was very knowledgeable, very patient with us. Did not rush us. We had a great seat by the window . Going to this restaurant made me want to visit Peru. The waitress explained how the restaurant came about and even talked with the cook about where my son should visit in Peru.

We went there for my son but ended up finding a great restaurant for ourselves in the process. It was so good to find a restaurant with amazing flavors. Overall a terrific lunch. We only wish we had found it sooner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Mango and try to eat there each ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We love Mango and try to eat there each time we visit St Louis.

The food is fantastic and the service is great. They did a wonderful job serving 8 of us for our son's graduation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Stopped in before a Cardinals game for a ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Stopped in before a Cardinals game for a quick bite - highly recommend the mango martini and mango sour drinks. Dinners were excellent and very creative.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent Food, friendly staff, Pisco Sp ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Excellent Food, friendly staff, Pisco Spur wa better than in Peru. We were the first table by the entrance, so we were cold but other than that five star

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.