Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Mango Peruvian Restaurant

Authentic Peruvian Fusion nestled downtown in the Washington Avenue Loft district. Mango features an upscale loft style environment where chic and comfort come together in a melding of delicious food and warm hospitality. Relaxed and inviting, come enjoy a signature crafted libation in the bar, a quiet romantic dinner for two or take advantage of the open space to book a large table for a group of friends or even utilize the private dining room which seats up to fifty. A cozy retreat from the bustling city Mango has quickly become one of the most noteworthy restaurants in St. Louis for locals and visitors alike.
Winner of The Best of St. Louis for South American Cuisine and Late Night Happy Hour by the Riverfront Times, winner of Best South American Cuisine by Alive and St. Louis Magazines, and Opentable.com Diner's Choice Award.

1001 Washington Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm



Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm



Pre-Theater Menu Available Monday - Saturday, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
10th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 621-9993

Website:
http://www.mangoperu.com/

Catering:
Offering both on and off site catering Mango is able to translate its menu into dishes appropriate for any occasion. Offerings include full sit down dinners, family style meals, or appetizer plates that bring an exciting and tasteful element to any event.

Contact heather@Mangoperu.com for a personalized dining experience.

Parking Details:
There are public parking lots North and West of the building as well as plenty of street parking.

Public Transit:
Metro Link to the Convention Center (6th & Washington Ave) stop and then West 5 blocks on Washington to 11th Street.

Executive Chef:
Sergio Nakayoshi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

Private dining for up to 150 guests in an urban loft setting with floor to ceiling windows.

Mango Peruvian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (34)
Good for a Date (32)
Authentic (29)
See All
Fit for Foodies (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Casual (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Business Meals (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Healthy (13)
Fun (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Tapas (11)
Cozy (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Spicy (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
People Watching (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Scenic View (5)
Seasonal (4)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fireplace (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1222 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Trip Advisor listed as "cheap eats." It's a lie. The food was excellent, but the linguini "special" was $28 plus tax. And linguini? That's not Peruvian!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

A delicious meal and positive experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food and service were great. I would give it 5 stars, but I was bothered by the large TV's all around. I believe the fine dining experience is marred by the TV's in every corner. A TV at the bar should suffice for those interested. The food was well presented and delectable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Family get together

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We happened upon this restaurant one night and sat at the bar, great food, bar tenders and drinks...so good, we came back the next night

Tags: Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The receptionist and our waiter were both outstanding in meeting our needs. Lovely experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Unique and amazing flavors. Enjoyed empanadas and deliciously tender beef skewers for appetizers. Empanadas were not as crusty as we expected but still yummy. The plantain chips and cilantro puree dip was addictive. We split the beef tenderloin which was incredibly flavorful as were the sautéed veggies. Sangria had a cinnamon flavor which was different than most red sangrias but fresh and enjoyable. We finished with flourless chocolate cake which was dry and not appetizing. Except for dessert, this was a delicious meal. With appetizers, 2 glasses of wine and 2 glasses of sangria and an entree we paid less than $60! Such a value for a flavorful and delicious meal. Our server was friendly and helped us understand the menu by describing the food and spices. We booked an early dinner before a concert which worked great for us. There were several TVs with the Masters playing so it could be a fun spot for watching other games. The ambiance may be better for a later evening dinner and it could be a great spot for late night snacks and drinks. We ate at their former location and enjoyed it and really enjoyed the new spot. Would highly recommend for yummy food, casual atmosphere and great value.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Casual, Tapas, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I was pleased by the ambiance of the venue upon entering but things went south fairly quickly. Another arrived after we had and received their appetizer before us. When ours came out, it was given to the table next to us causing us to wait another 20 minutes for ours. Our candle had not been lit and even after asking it was after another reminder that ours was. It was about 5 other tables in our area so they weren't that busy but things appeared chaotic. After receiving our drinks, the waiter was busy and hadn't returned to our area for a while and I was thirsty so I drank mine even though I didn't like it. I told her I was okay with the drink since our food should be arriving shortly. After sharing that, she insisted that I got something that I would prefer. I thought this would be on the house for our experience but received the bill and had been charged. When our appetizer was coming out, one server almost gave it to the wrong table again, but our waitress intervened. We had an event at the Peabody that night and our experience there was a bit dampening of our even. However the comedians we viewed more than made up for this experience. Alternatively, the food was delicious and so was my second drink, peach or mango daiquiri.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great place. Rico was a great waiter provided great service and recommendations. Food was exception

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Hot Spot, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We joined friends for a Friday evening and had a wonderful dinner. The food is exceptional, and the service was very good. The meal was well timed and we weren't rushed out. Very cool dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The food was fantastic and our server was very friendly and gave us great advice on what to order as it was our first time there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great place. Food was wonderful

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This was a very disappointing experience. Our servers' attitude was luke warm, at best. At least it was warmer than some of the entrees, which came at all different times, leaving our party to eat single file so to speak. To boot, they gave us the worse table in the place. All this for what was supposed to be a special occasion. Will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Service was attentive and food was excellent.
Noise level from bar was rather loud and food did not come out together or I would gladly give five stars across the board.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Best Peruvian food I have ever tried before!!! every time we are on vacation we look for Latino Restaurants, and I can say we've tried at least in 10 different cities; by far this is the best...
Lomo Saltado, Empanadas, Ceviche, etc.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Authentic, Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The best Ceviche I've ever had and I love the Paiche fish. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Amazing dining experience!!! So good!!!
Can't wait to go back again!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wonderful food, from the plantain chips and cilantro dip served as we were seated (and refilled during our stay) to the favorable appetizers (we had the mango salad and the sauteed shrimps ) and the entrees ( we all had the fish of the day, and we all loved it!).
We got in for early dinner (had tickets to a concert) assuming we could be in and out within the hour (which did not happen) . Even though the place was almost empty, it took a while to get the food and we had to search for a sever to get our water filled during the very long wait.
Attentive service would have made this meal a perfect experience.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This was our first time having Peruvian food and wasn't sure what to expect. We were blown away. Trust the reviews you're reading and go here. The banana chips and dip they serve complimentary are outstanding and highly recommend the corn griddle cakes as an appetizer. If you aren't sure about which main dish to select, rely on your server - they will know which dish fits your style. We had Kelsie and she was awesome!
Don't leave without eating the plantains and caramel.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Yum! Peruvian

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Great atmosphere, very prompt, friendly and professional service, delicious food. Will definitely return.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We had a large group. The service was excellent and the menu worked great for diverse tastes and dietary needs.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Casual, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Service was good and food was delicious - especially the green salsa served with roasted plantains right when we sat down. Our only issue was our server forgot about my dessert cocktail, but didn't charge us for it so it wasn't a big deal. Overall the place was lovely and the food was great.

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Ceviche and Pisco sour were excellent! Entrees were good, and tasted fresh and healthy. However, our server's unfriendly, dismissive attitude combined with her slow, inattentive service made our experience overall a disappointment. Not what we expect when we're spending that much for a meal out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

As always ... this was a great time! We've been here for six straight anniversary dinners and the staff is always very accommodating, friendly, and willing to make our visits here an enjoyable experience. We always look forward to dining here with friends or just the two of us.

Note ... the 2012 Cal Blanca Tempranillo needs to breathe so order it early.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Truly one of the best culinary experiences of my life. The food was INCREDIBLE beyond what words can express. The staff was very friendly and professional. Willing to make suggestions off of our preferences. Great value for the quantity and quality served!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I had a dinner with my three good friends here on Mar. 24th, 2017. Our server, a lady, was very rude to us. She spoke very fast and we couldn't hear her well and her behaviors was fast and rude. What's more, she dropped the folk to my legs when she collected the table. And she didn't say sorry to me. Besides the service, don't try the first entree, the beef lion. It was terrible! I couldn't imagine that this meal comes with fries inside to decrese the cost??? The rice of four entrees we ordered seemed a lit bit raw as well. Generally, It was really a nightmare in this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I had friends coming in from out of town who are used to going to great restaurants all over the world. I on the other hand almost never go out, so this restaurant turn out to be perfect for both of us. They were impressed and I was delighted. The food was terrific, the staff was very good and not overwhelming. They also worked hard to honor our request to find a quiet spot in the restaurant because one of us has hearing problems. Not only did they seat us away from everyone, and on the quieter side of the restaurant, but when we asked they turned the music down. We appreciated their responsiveness to our request, which is a hallmark of excellent customer service. I recommend this restaurant to anyone and everyone. We didn't drink so I can't say anything about the bar.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 20, 2017

I arrived with small children and we were accommodated with a table of suitable comfort for their height and not so close to others that we might disturb them. Food was great as always. We began with empanadas (1 beef and 1 queso). My kids love the chicken anticuchos so we ordered 2 trio platters for their entree. I enjoyed the Fettuccine a la Huancaina and the garlic shrimp were large, juicy and delicious. Ryan was our server and he was very thorough. Tye assisted him with food and beverage delivery. Both guys were nothing short of gentlemen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great downtown location for dinner before the fabulous FOX. Inviting, comfortable, sophisticated and friendly atmosphere. Fabulous food and drinks. Highly recommend for any kind of evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent food! Menu was great and we tried the specials as well! Will definitely go back when visiting the area again.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very fun and funky! Everything we ate was delicious. The beef was tender and juicy. The drinks were yummy. However if you're looking for a quiet night out, probably not the best place to go! Lots of people frequent this establishment which is a great sign but it can get rather noisy! I didn't mind at all. But some people may find it to be a bit much!
I was only in st louis for a few days and was glad that this was one of my choices!

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We were visiting from out of state for a conference and loved the food so much we came back a second time within the week. On the pricey side, but the unusual flavors and ample amount of food make it well worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We love introducing Mangos to new people, love the Peruvian cuisine. It was a business meeting and the only issue we had was that the waitress kept coming over to check on us making it feel we over stayed our time when there were plenty of empty tables.... service has always been good but she was over the top/slightly annoying.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Mango was one of the best meals I've had in a while! Our server was really knowledgable about the menu and drinks. We tried authentic dishes and drinks and loved every bit of it. Highly recommend and we will be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Super polite, amazing service. Meals and drinks were perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Celebrated our son's 25th birthday here. Cute but subtle decoration on our table when we arrived. Service was excellent-attentive but not pushy. All of our food was great-the corn cakes were a stand-out hit; would love to have the recipe as we don't get to SL often from Chicago. Several options for another son who is vegetarian. Nice selection of wines.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Super meal. The wait staff was fantastic as well. Next time I'm in St. Louis, I'll stop in for more awesome food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Wonderful service, we had a large group and the waitstaff was fantastic. The best service I have ever had at handling our diverse group of diners for our business dinner. I plan Delegation group dinners 4-5 times a year in cities all over the US. Thank you Mango for the great service.

Tags: Authentic, Spicy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Took my co-workers to Mango last night for dinner. Wonderful service and fantastic food. Everyone was very pleased. I would certainly recommend it.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.