About Mango Peruvian Restaurant

Authentic Peruvian Fusion nestled downtown in the Washington Avenue Loft district. Mango features an upscale loft style environment where chic and comfort come together in a melding of delicious food and warm hospitality. Relaxed and inviting, come enjoy a signature crafted libation in the bar, a quiet romantic dinner for two or take advantage of the open space to book a large table for a group of friends or even utilize the private dining room which seats up to fifty. A cozy retreat from the bustling city Mango has quickly become one of the most noteworthy restaurants in St. Louis for locals and visitors alike.
Winner of The Best of St. Louis for South American Cuisine and Late Night Happy Hour by the Riverfront Times, winner of Best South American Cuisine by Alive and St. Louis Magazines, and Opentable.com Diner's Choice Award.

1001 Washington Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm



Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm



Pre-Theater Menu Available Monday - Saturday, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
10th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 621-9993

Website:
http://www.mangoperu.com/

Catering:
Offering both on and off site catering Mango is able to translate its menu into dishes appropriate for any occasion. Offerings include full sit down dinners, family style meals, or appetizer plates that bring an exciting and tasteful element to any event.

Contact heather@Mangoperu.com for a personalized dining experience.

Parking Details:
There are public parking lots North and West of the building as well as plenty of street parking.

Public Transit:
Metro Link to the Convention Center (6th & Washington Ave) stop and then West 5 blocks on Washington to 11th Street.

Executive Chef:
Sergio Nakayoshi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

Private dining for up to 150 guests in an urban loft setting with floor to ceiling windows.

Mango Peruvian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (26)
Authentic (22)
See All
Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Cozy (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Business Meals (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Romantic (15)
Modern Decor (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (13)
Casual (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Tapas (10)
Healthy (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Local Ingredients (5)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was delicious and the service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cosy ambience. Well lit. Warm hosts. Goo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Cosy ambience. Well lit. Warm hosts. Good food. Great for anniversaries and private celebrations. That's how I see our experience at Mango. I'm extra thankful for OpenTable for the table reservation service made available to us at such ease!

The restaurant is a little pricier than most others but the service and your experience there is the difference you're paying for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My favorite restaurant in St. Louis and ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

My favorite restaurant in St. Louis and the best civiche I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Outstanding Peruvian meal! Party of five ...

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Outstanding Peruvian meal! Party of five that included one gluten-free diner and one vegetarian - all were very happy with our meals! Delicious cocktails (though the bar service was a little slow), nice selection of tapas and entrees. Don't miss this special restaurant!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was great about the restauran ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was great about the restaurant. Great food,great atmosphere, and the service was outstanding.I will definitely be returning!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good but a little expensiv ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was very good but a little expensive for the quantity. Service was great. A good night out for the family

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Good food, good service. We got drinks ( ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good food, good service. We got drinks (which are great) and a bunch of appetizers. All the apps were very tasty. The sangria is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was very tasty, but for me portions ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was very tasty, but for me portions were a little too small for cost. It wasn't absurdly small. They have a very unique menu and taste was very very good. Our waitress had worked there for 7 years, and she was very very knowledgable about the menu. I discussed my wife and I's taste, and the waitress was spot on with recommendations. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent, interesting food. Nice atmo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent, interesting food. Nice atmosphere. Decent wine list. Worth a drive downtown to experience this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Peruvian food. Good variety. S ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Authentic Peruvian food. Good variety. Spicy enough without being overwhelming for most dishes. Good for sharing plates.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cocktails were strong and spot in. T ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The cocktails were strong and spot in. The good was delicious but the service was so slow our sever apologized twice! Same experience as last time we visted.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Tapas, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Very pleasant. Nothing throughout the me ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very pleasant. Nothing throughout the meal jumped out as exceptional. The drinks were well made. The service was on par. The meal was tasty and cooked to order. Clean, organized, nicely lit. A pleasant time.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Mango has an ambience that could carry o ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Mango has an ambience that could carry over to many different occasions. It was a great night out with friends for drinks and dinner. Our waitress Hayden was amazing from drinks and menu recommendations to her outstanding service. The food was spot on from her recommendations. To note...the pitcher of sangria is one of the best I've ever had.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sry interesting flavors. Waitstaff is he ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Sry interesting flavors. Waitstaff is helpful and informative. Interesting drinks and wine.

Tags: Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first time at Mango after wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was my first time at Mango after wanting to go for a long time. I was not disappointed. I will definitely go back to try some more dishes.

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's always a lovely experience

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

It's always a lovely experience

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mango is our go to restaurant downtown. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Mango is our go to restaurant downtown. Great Peruvian food. Say hi to Jorge, the owner, when you dine.

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant atmosphere, service and f ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The restaurant atmosphere, service and food were top notch as always. Such a great find in the city.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As Mango diners for several years, we've ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As Mango diners for several years, we've never once been disappointed, and apparently neither have the numerous friends and colleagues we've brought to lunches or dinners--most of them have asked to reserve a table at Mango when we plan another get-together. This was our third New Year's Eve at Mango, following a St. Louis Symphony concert, and as usual, everything was perfect, beginning with our favorite complementary appetizer, the Peruvian salsa verde with fresh-fried plantain chips. We shared orders of our favorite Mango dish (the tangy Ceviche Mixto and a veggie-stuffed avocado salad as well as the Lomo Fino Champignones (rare tenderloin with mushrooms sauced in a Cabernet reduction with Peruvian spices), served with generous portions of whipped parsnips and tender-crisp asparagus. From a good selection of wines, we were delighted with glasses of chardonnay from Spain and California. As with all previous servers at Mango, Kelsey and others were pleasant and knowledgeable, providing everything we could wish for, and but were never intrusive as we lingered over our delightful meal. Topping off the evening at midnight, we were treated to a glass of champagne--a perfect conclusion to 2016 and welcome to 2017! Thanks and Happy New Year, Mango!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner on New Year's Eve was delight ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our dinner on New Year's Eve was delightful, as usual.

We thoroughly enjoyed it--great cuisine!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Bar Seating, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food I have had in St. Louis And g ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best food I have had in St. Louis

And great service

Whole family enjoyed evening !!!

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for our 6 year anniversary ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We went here for our 6 year anniversary and loved it! From the entrees to the dessert it was all delicious. The fried bananas and ice cream were a great way to top off the meal. We both loved the empanadas as well. Reasonable prices. Highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mango is a staple favorite of ours. It ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Mango is a staple favorite of ours. It has a good view of Washington Avenue. I took two of my older grandchildren to dinner before going to Powell Hall. The service is always warm and friendly and we enjoyed the food and wine. The beef medallions and the filet entrees were really good; cooked exactly to order. The restaurant also has a good view of Washington Avenue.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I always insist that we go to Mango when ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I always insist that we go to Mango when I'm in St. Louis. It's my favorite restaurant. The food is creative, fresh and delicious. The staff is friendly and efficient. I like to bring friends here because while the food is creative, there is a wide variety for even very picky eaters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really liked the food. The staff was ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We really liked the food. The staff was attentive but didn't interrupt our conversation. Pricing is reasonable. It was a slower night at the restaurant, so it was quiet. It may be noisier when the bar is full. We really liked the food.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent, the dinner, ou ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Everything was excellent, the dinner, our server, the drinks. Terrific meal - thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great appetizers. love the sangria. all ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

great appetizers. love the sangria. all meals were good

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nicely prepared and presented dishes tha ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Nicely prepared and presented dishes that included eclectic as well as comfort-food choices from a Peruvian or Peruvian-inspired menu. Was there with a business associate and we both enjoyed our meals. Superb service. Would definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Cozy, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Just a great find in the city. Deliciou ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Just a great find in the city. Delicious. I have definitely become a fan of Pisco Sours.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited Mango for my wife's birthday ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We visited Mango for my wife's birthday and a friend's college graduation. Food was good and service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent food! Fantastic service that w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent food! Fantastic service that was welcoming and most helpful. Our server offered suggestions when asked. Beautiful facility in downtown St Louis. Open on a Sunday night. Don't miss this restaurant!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When traveling or at home, my wife & I e ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

When traveling or at home, my wife & I enjoy experiencing different cultures & cuisines. We chose Mango for this reason & were definitely not disappointed. We sampled several small plates & enjoyed each one together with great wine selections. The exclamation point on the dinner, however, was the sweet plaintans/ice cream dessert. TO DIE FOR!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

El mejor ceviche que he probado en Estad ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

El mejor ceviche que he probado en Estados Unidos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lee the server was excellent. We had ne ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Lee the server was excellent. We had never been there and he made excellent suggestions. Would definitely go again and recommend!

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The mango mojito is excellent as is the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The mango mojito is excellent as is the pasta with shrimp. The fried plantains could use more sugar but otherwise good. Overall, a good experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

always a downtown highlight. Creative, d ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

always a downtown highlight. Creative, delicious menu for all types of taste buds. Great for small, intimate groups, and larger parties in the private room.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Awesome food, great service- never disap ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Awesome food, great service- never disappoints!! Everything is delicious and especially the yuka!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were well taken care of from the mome ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We were well taken care of from the moment we arrived. The staff and waiter were excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Best steak I have ever eat ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing food! Best steak I have ever eaten! Good desserts. Great appetizers!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were pleasantly surprised by how much ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed our experience at Mango. The menu offered wonderful combinations of flavors. The chili sauce on the special "wings" appetizer was delicious. My daughter thoroughly enjoyed her fish dinner, prepared with her dietary restrictions adhered to. We all shared a few glasses of moderately priced red wine with our dinner. We will go back when we next visit St. Louis.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.