Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Mango Peruvian Restaurant

Authentic Peruvian Fusion nestled downtown in the Washington Avenue Loft district. Mango features an upscale loft style environment where chic and comfort come together in a melding of delicious food and warm hospitality. Relaxed and inviting, come enjoy a signature crafted libation in the bar, a quiet romantic dinner for two or take advantage of the open space to book a large table for a group of friends or even utilize the private dining room which seats up to fifty. A cozy retreat from the bustling city Mango has quickly become one of the most noteworthy restaurants in St. Louis for locals and visitors alike.
Winner of The Best of St. Louis for South American Cuisine and Late Night Happy Hour by the Riverfront Times, winner of Best South American Cuisine by Alive and St. Louis Magazines, and Opentable.com Diner's Choice Award.

1001 Washington Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm



Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm



Pre-Theater Menu Available Monday - Saturday, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
10th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 621-9993

Website:
http://www.mangoperu.com/

Catering:
Offering both on and off site catering Mango is able to translate its menu into dishes appropriate for any occasion. Offerings include full sit down dinners, family style meals, or appetizer plates that bring an exciting and tasteful element to any event.

Contact heather@Mangoperu.com for a personalized dining experience.

Parking Details:
There are public parking lots North and West of the building as well as plenty of street parking.

Public Transit:
Metro Link to the Convention Center (6th & Washington Ave) stop and then West 5 blocks on Washington to 11th Street.

Executive Chef:
Sergio Nakayoshi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

Private dining for up to 150 guests in an urban loft setting with floor to ceiling windows.

Mango Peruvian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (37)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for a Date (29)
See All
Authentic (26)
Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Worth the Drive (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Business Meals (17)
Casual (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Healthy (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (13)
Spicy (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Tapas (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Cozy (8)
People Watching (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Scenic View (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Live Sports (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (2)
Fireplace (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 hours ago

Attentive service. Convenient to downtown St. Louis hotels. Delicious Peruvian food. Definitely will come back next time I am in St. Louis. Recommended dessert: Mango Sorbet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The food, overall, was pretty good. However, our service was terrible. Being in the service industry when the wait staff is less than subpar I like to take into consideration how busy they could potentially be. Unfortunately for Shelbie, our server, she was not busy she was just absent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

As always, the food is wonderful and the staff are incredible. One if our favorite places to visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was great and the food was outstanding! It was so good we went back the next night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tapas, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

All around great experience. Solid service and great atmosphere. Highly recommend the hot cakes small app and the beef stew main dish was amazing. Great Peruvian menu and really a classy place. Nice bar too!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

I'd never eaten Peruvian food before and it was amazing. We went back again the next day. Service was fast so it was great for business lunches.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Outstanding! I left a note on the reservation that it was a birthday dinner and the table was decorated with confetti, and the servers all told him "happy birthday" all night, not to mention the free dessert. The food was absolutely delicious and drinks amazing, also. Very very happy with our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Creative take on Peruvian cuisine with enough variety to please every palette. Great service and very nice surroundings, soft and slightly ethnic without being in your face.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Cocktails were good. Everyone loved their meal. I was a bit disappointed in the stew beef (on beans) option. I didn't find it very tasty. But all the appetizers were delicious.

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It was probably the best Lomo Saltado I have ever eaten and I have eaten it for many years.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This is a great restaurant with excellent service. The food and the drinks were great. It was a little pricey, but not for the area just for what I am use to spending.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I took a group of honors Spanish students to Mango, which has been one of my favorite restaurants since it opened at McKenzie Point years ago. The food is fresh, healthy, and perfectly prepared. The service is friendly, and the staff is happy to speak Spanish with you if you want. There are lots of vegetarian and fish options. I especially recommend the ceviche and the causa de salmon. When I used to enjoy a cocktail (never with students, obvs), I loved the pisco sour. All of my students loved their meals. The only other observation I have is that the service was slow, but I suppose that is normal with a large group (12 people).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Bar Seating, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Love Mango and food is just as good for lunch as it is dinner! One of my favorites in Downtown St Louis.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent service. Excellent food. Highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We have been to this restaurant several times and always enjoyed the meals in this relaxed setting. Food is excellent! We were disappointed that the empanadas were sold out at 6:30 pm so we will need to get there earlier next time. Comment about noise level is because we were seated near the bar and were frequently interrupted by the sound of the blender.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Trip Advisor listed as "cheap eats." It's a lie. The food was excellent, but the linguini "special" was $28 plus tax. And linguini? That's not Peruvian!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

A delicious meal and positive experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food and service were great. I would give it 5 stars, but I was bothered by the large TV's all around. I believe the fine dining experience is marred by the TV's in every corner. A TV at the bar should suffice for those interested. The food was well presented and delectable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Family get together

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We happened upon this restaurant one night and sat at the bar, great food, bar tenders and drinks...so good, we came back the next night

Tags: Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The receptionist and our waiter were both outstanding in meeting our needs. Lovely experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Unique and amazing flavors. Enjoyed empanadas and deliciously tender beef skewers for appetizers. Empanadas were not as crusty as we expected but still yummy. The plantain chips and cilantro puree dip was addictive. We split the beef tenderloin which was incredibly flavorful as were the sautéed veggies. Sangria had a cinnamon flavor which was different than most red sangrias but fresh and enjoyable. We finished with flourless chocolate cake which was dry and not appetizing. Except for dessert, this was a delicious meal. With appetizers, 2 glasses of wine and 2 glasses of sangria and an entree we paid less than $60! Such a value for a flavorful and delicious meal. Our server was friendly and helped us understand the menu by describing the food and spices. We booked an early dinner before a concert which worked great for us. There were several TVs with the Masters playing so it could be a fun spot for watching other games. The ambiance may be better for a later evening dinner and it could be a great spot for late night snacks and drinks. We ate at their former location and enjoyed it and really enjoyed the new spot. Would highly recommend for yummy food, casual atmosphere and great value.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Casual, Tapas, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I was pleased by the ambiance of the venue upon entering but things went south fairly quickly. Another arrived after we had and received their appetizer before us. When ours came out, it was given to the table next to us causing us to wait another 20 minutes for ours. Our candle had not been lit and even after asking it was after another reminder that ours was. It was about 5 other tables in our area so they weren't that busy but things appeared chaotic. After receiving our drinks, the waiter was busy and hadn't returned to our area for a while and I was thirsty so I drank mine even though I didn't like it. I told her I was okay with the drink since our food should be arriving shortly. After sharing that, she insisted that I got something that I would prefer. I thought this would be on the house for our experience but received the bill and had been charged. When our appetizer was coming out, one server almost gave it to the wrong table again, but our waitress intervened. We had an event at the Peabody that night and our experience there was a bit dampening of our even. However the comedians we viewed more than made up for this experience. Alternatively, the food was delicious and so was my second drink, peach or mango daiquiri.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great place. Rico was a great waiter provided great service and recommendations. Food was exception

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Hot Spot, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We joined friends for a Friday evening and had a wonderful dinner. The food is exceptional, and the service was very good. The meal was well timed and we weren't rushed out. Very cool dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The food was fantastic and our server was very friendly and gave us great advice on what to order as it was our first time there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great place. Food was wonderful

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This was a very disappointing experience. Our servers' attitude was luke warm, at best. At least it was warmer than some of the entrees, which came at all different times, leaving our party to eat single file so to speak. To boot, they gave us the worse table in the place. All this for what was supposed to be a special occasion. Will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Service was attentive and food was excellent.
Noise level from bar was rather loud and food did not come out together or I would gladly give five stars across the board.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Best Peruvian food I have ever tried before!!! every time we are on vacation we look for Latino Restaurants, and I can say we've tried at least in 10 different cities; by far this is the best...
Lomo Saltado, Empanadas, Ceviche, etc.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Authentic, Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The best Ceviche I've ever had and I love the Paiche fish. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Amazing dining experience!!! So good!!!
Can't wait to go back again!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wonderful food, from the plantain chips and cilantro dip served as we were seated (and refilled during our stay) to the favorable appetizers (we had the mango salad and the sauteed shrimps ) and the entrees ( we all had the fish of the day, and we all loved it!).
We got in for early dinner (had tickets to a concert) assuming we could be in and out within the hour (which did not happen) . Even though the place was almost empty, it took a while to get the food and we had to search for a sever to get our water filled during the very long wait.
Attentive service would have made this meal a perfect experience.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This was our first time having Peruvian food and wasn't sure what to expect. We were blown away. Trust the reviews you're reading and go here. The banana chips and dip they serve complimentary are outstanding and highly recommend the corn griddle cakes as an appetizer. If you aren't sure about which main dish to select, rely on your server - they will know which dish fits your style. We had Kelsie and she was awesome!
Don't leave without eating the plantains and caramel.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Yum! Peruvian

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Great atmosphere, very prompt, friendly and professional service, delicious food. Will definitely return.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We had a large group. The service was excellent and the menu worked great for diverse tastes and dietary needs.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Casual, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Service was good and food was delicious - especially the green salsa served with roasted plantains right when we sat down. Our only issue was our server forgot about my dessert cocktail, but didn't charge us for it so it wasn't a big deal. Overall the place was lovely and the food was great.

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Ceviche and Pisco sour were excellent! Entrees were good, and tasted fresh and healthy. However, our server's unfriendly, dismissive attitude combined with her slow, inattentive service made our experience overall a disappointment. Not what we expect when we're spending that much for a meal out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

As always ... this was a great time! We've been here for six straight anniversary dinners and the staff is always very accommodating, friendly, and willing to make our visits here an enjoyable experience. We always look forward to dining here with friends or just the two of us.

Note ... the 2012 Cal Blanca Tempranillo needs to breathe so order it early.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.