Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Mango Peruvian Restaurant

Authentic Peruvian Fusion nestled downtown in the Washington Avenue Loft district. Mango features an upscale loft style environment where chic and comfort come together in a melding of delicious food and warm hospitality. Relaxed and inviting, come enjoy a signature crafted libation in the bar, a quiet romantic dinner for two or take advantage of the open space to book a large table for a group of friends or even utilize the private dining room which seats up to fifty. A cozy retreat from the bustling city Mango has quickly become one of the most noteworthy restaurants in St. Louis for locals and visitors alike.
Winner of The Best of St. Louis for South American Cuisine and Late Night Happy Hour by the Riverfront Times, winner of Best South American Cuisine by Alive and St. Louis Magazines, and Opentable.com Diner's Choice Award.

1001 Washington Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm



Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm



Pre-Theater Menu Available Monday - Saturday, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
10th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 621-9993

Website:
http://www.mangoperu.com/

Catering:
Offering both on and off site catering Mango is able to translate its menu into dishes appropriate for any occasion. Offerings include full sit down dinners, family style meals, or appetizer plates that bring an exciting and tasteful element to any event.

Contact heather@Mangoperu.com for a personalized dining experience.

Parking Details:
There are public parking lots North and West of the building as well as plenty of street parking.

Public Transit:
Metro Link to the Convention Center (6th & Washington Ave) stop and then West 5 blocks on Washington to 11th Street.

Executive Chef:
Sergio Nakayoshi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

Private dining for up to 150 guests in an urban loft setting with floor to ceiling windows.

Mango Peruvian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (41)
Good for a Date (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
See All
Authentic (28)
Special Occasion (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Romantic (21)
Casual (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Fun (14)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Spicy (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Tapas (11)
Healthy (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
People Watching (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Cozy (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Live Sports (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Family Style (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

One word "great". Great service, food and wine list.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Spicy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely delightful. Seafood special and beef stir fry with the visit. Server Hayden...she is a charmer. Kudos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

What an incredible surprise- this restaurant was fabulous and the food- every dish we ordered among all 4 of us- was super flavorful special and delicious! I found it on Open Table!! This really makes me believe the reviews! I wish I could go back tomorrow to savor it again!! Believe me- go here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Really great food, outstanding service, and a nice, leisurely pace made this dinner really enjoyable. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Monday night restaurant mostly empty and waited 5 min to get appetizer & nearly hour to get entree... server came by 5 min before entree came out to let us know they got 2 *huge* tables, but why would that matter.. ceviche mixto was ok, I sent back the causa de salmon appetizer that I had ordered as an entree, beautiful presentation however the salmon part was like canned salmon with sweet mayo, did not like. Hubby got the lomo saltado and it was more of an Asian beef n onion stir fry in flavor and tons of sweet salty sauce. Loved the idea and was so excited to come here but booooo... plus usually when a dish is sent back the manager or chef comes out to apologize and see what was wrong so as to avoid similar situation in the future.. absolutely nada here, server was nonchalant lol..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Ty was a charming and helpful server. the food, again, was excellent. I usually don't like Sangria but it was a good recommendation-- it's not the sickly sweet stuff you find elsewhere but was fruity and rich.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This was a great find. We were in the city just overnight and I happened upon this restaurant.
We were able to basically have dinner and a show since we were sitting outside on the patio watching people come and go on the street.
The drinks (Limeade) were delicious and the food was excellent.
We left but ended up coming back for dessert which was great.
It's a fun find for sure

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Absolutely delicious meal and great experience...this place is a gem!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food was great, loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Mango is our families favorite St. Louis restaurant. While not typical St. Louis cuisine, it is always top notch quality and service. We have come to love Peruvian food and no longer need menus to order as we sampled pretty much the entire offering.

The kids love Inca cola even though they are now teenagers and beyond. The house made Sangria is the best we have ever found!

Please support this wonderful St. Louis institution on Washington Avenue!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My husband and I were in town for the weekend. This looked like a great alternative to the average. We had a quinoa salad that was delicious to start and ceviche was also very good. I don't quite remember the name of my dish but it ended in macho as in spicy and it was very good. So was my husbands chicken. Definitely check it out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Visited for dinner while in town for a convention. Was not crowded on a wednesday evening. Beautiful old building with outside seating on the sidewalk and large open seating area plus what looked like a private large area that I could see as we walked in. Provided free plantains and a dipping sauce, ordered a dish with pieces of filet of beef, very good. Overall great value, suprised at how low the prices were, but being from NY I always expect cheaper prices

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Food is amazing. Staff is pleasant. It totally wowed my out-of-town friends. I will be back again and again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Feel let down waiting a long time for our appetizers. My wife's Quinoa finally arrived 35 minutes after ordering. Alas my Shrimps were delayed until being served at the same time our entrees arrived. Our server at least did advise and apologize that the kitchen was running at least 25 minutes behind. She wasn't exaggerating. Food was good, interesting flavours. But overall not impressive. Was excited to try Peruvian food for the first time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great Peruvian food, waitress was at the top of her game, desert was fantastic and the wine was also excellent. I wish they had Peruvian beers. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 31, 2017

My 2 sons and I went there for dinner. It was our last night in St. Louis, we were celebrating my son's recent graduation from college and his upcoming Birthday. We were greeted and seated. We loved the decor and the food was fabulous!!!! Our waiter ruined our experience !! We ordered , we asked for the appetizers first to then be followed by dinner! He came to the table with the appetizers ,then told us the kitchen was backed up and all our food was cooked. There weren't many people in the restaurant, so that didn't make sense. Then he asked us what we wanted to do? We told him to bring the food when we were finished with appetizer! We were almost done , he and another waiter came with the rest of the food. It was Luke warm!! We were eating, not finished with dinner and he wanted to know how we were paying. He never came over to see if we needed anything or liked our meals! He didn't even suggest dessert. The 2 bus boys were terrific! My son's and I go out to dinner a lot! We travel and try different restaurants!! We all agreed that our waiter was the worst and ruined our last dinner together in St.Louis.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The food was different and the ambience and service were professional and friendly. Definitely worth a repeat visit at lunch.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We were visiting St. Louis for Memorial Day weekend with another couple and their kids and heard about this place. We decided to give it a shot and wow! No regrets!! Food was outstanding, the restaurant is beautiful and the service was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. The menu offered quite a variety of choices. The server was friendly and attentive. He was able to explain the options and tell us how our selections were prepared. The restaurant is attractively decorated, and we enjoyed our table located by the windows which gave us an excellent opportunity for people watching during our short wait for our food. To the staff and management: Well done!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Birthday celebration with family from out of town...The good things I had heard about Mango Peruvian were right, and it was a really pleasant evening. Table was decorated, but low key recognition of event that was perfect. Drinks and food both very good with everyone finding their selections pleasing. We will visit again!

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Outstanding as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Very Unique. Loved the plantain chips and cilantro dip. Tried the Sangria and Pisco Sour. Yum! Sangria fruit but not overly sweet. Pisco was perfectly sour and refreshing. Steak screws were very tender. Lots of spice. The corn cakes were quite rich and the pickled onions really balanced them out. Service was fast and warm.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Attentive service. Convenient to downtown St. Louis hotels. Delicious Peruvian food. Definitely will come back next time I am in St. Louis. Recommended dessert: Mango Sorbet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Made reservations for a special occasion with my wife and we were very pleased with the special attention that we received and also that food was excellent. Plantain chips and aji verde was addictive. Definitely recommend and will go again.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food, overall, was pretty good. However, our service was terrible. Being in the service industry when the wait staff is less than subpar I like to take into consideration how busy they could potentially be. Unfortunately for Shelbie, our server, she was not busy she was just absent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

As always, the food is wonderful and the staff are incredible. One if our favorite places to visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The service was great and the food was outstanding! It was so good we went back the next night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tapas, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

All around great experience. Solid service and great atmosphere. Highly recommend the hot cakes small app and the beef stew main dish was amazing. Great Peruvian menu and really a classy place. Nice bar too!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I'd never eaten Peruvian food before and it was amazing. We went back again the next day. Service was fast so it was great for business lunches.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Outstanding! I left a note on the reservation that it was a birthday dinner and the table was decorated with confetti, and the servers all told him "happy birthday" all night, not to mention the free dessert. The food was absolutely delicious and drinks amazing, also. Very very happy with our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Creative take on Peruvian cuisine with enough variety to please every palette. Great service and very nice surroundings, soft and slightly ethnic without being in your face.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Cocktails were good. Everyone loved their meal. I was a bit disappointed in the stew beef (on beans) option. I didn't find it very tasty. But all the appetizers were delicious.

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very nice small plate restaurant. The fish dishes as all very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It was probably the best Lomo Saltado I have ever eaten and I have eaten it for many years.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This is a great restaurant with excellent service. The food and the drinks were great. It was a little pricey, but not for the area just for what I am use to spending.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I took a group of honors Spanish students to Mango, which has been one of my favorite restaurants since it opened at McKenzie Point years ago. The food is fresh, healthy, and perfectly prepared. The service is friendly, and the staff is happy to speak Spanish with you if you want. There are lots of vegetarian and fish options. I especially recommend the ceviche and the causa de salmon. When I used to enjoy a cocktail (never with students, obvs), I loved the pisco sour. All of my students loved their meals. The only other observation I have is that the service was slow, but I suppose that is normal with a large group (12 people).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Bar Seating, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Love Mango and food is just as good for lunch as it is dinner! One of my favorites in Downtown St Louis.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent service. Excellent food. Highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We have been to this restaurant several times and always enjoyed the meals in this relaxed setting. Food is excellent! We were disappointed that the empanadas were sold out at 6:30 pm so we will need to get there earlier next time. Comment about noise level is because we were seated near the bar and were frequently interrupted by the sound of the blender.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Trip Advisor listed as "cheap eats." It's a lie. The food was excellent, but the linguini "special" was $28 plus tax. And linguini? That's not Peruvian!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.