Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Mango Peruvian Restaurant

Authentic Peruvian Fusion nestled downtown in the Washington Avenue Loft district. Mango features an upscale loft style environment where chic and comfort come together in a melding of delicious food and warm hospitality. Relaxed and inviting, come enjoy a signature crafted libation in the bar, a quiet romantic dinner for two or take advantage of the open space to book a large table for a group of friends or even utilize the private dining room which seats up to fifty. A cozy retreat from the bustling city Mango has quickly become one of the most noteworthy restaurants in St. Louis for locals and visitors alike.
Winner of The Best of St. Louis for South American Cuisine and Late Night Happy Hour by the Riverfront Times, winner of Best South American Cuisine by Alive and St. Louis Magazines, and Opentable.com Diner's Choice Award.

1001 Washington Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm



Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm



Pre-Theater Menu Available Monday - Saturday, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
10th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 621-9993

Website:
http://www.mangoperu.com/

Catering:
Offering both on and off site catering Mango is able to translate its menu into dishes appropriate for any occasion. Offerings include full sit down dinners, family style meals, or appetizer plates that bring an exciting and tasteful element to any event.

Contact heather@Mangoperu.com for a personalized dining experience.

Parking Details:
There are public parking lots North and West of the building as well as plenty of street parking.

Public Transit:
Metro Link to the Convention Center (6th & Washington Ave) stop and then West 5 blocks on Washington to 11th Street.

Executive Chef:
Sergio Nakayoshi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

Private dining for up to 150 guests in an urban loft setting with floor to ceiling windows.

Mango Peruvian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (39)
Good for a Date (35)
Fit for Foodies (32)
See All
Authentic (29)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Special Occasion (20)
Business Meals (20)
Casual (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Romantic (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Fun (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Healthy (10)
Tapas (10)
Spicy (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
People Watching (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Cozy (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Scenic View (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 8 hours ago

Food was delicious!! You pay quite a bit for what you get though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Pete, our waiter, was very helpful and personable. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Terrific, unique food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The multiple TV's showing sports didn't fit with the candle lit, white table cloth fine dining restaurant vibe .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was delicious and authentic to Peru. Our waiter Rico was hilarious but also very helpful in choosing the best dishes to get a true sense of the flavors of Peru. We, as a group, were not fans of the ceviche as an appetizer but everyone loved their meals.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Wow! I heard from a friend that the Mango had good food, it was well beyond that. Good size portions of beautifully prepared dishes with a taste that really defies my ability to decipher at only one sitting. All I can say is you'll love the mixture of spices that produce some very yummy food for the tummy. Must try place in downtown St. Louis.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our favorite part was the plantain dessert. The Staff was very friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had a birthday lunch for 6 people. Great atmosphere, great food (they even brought us a couple of items off the dinner menu that we really wanted), terrific server. Did not feel rushed. A perfect location for our needs. Had such a good time we're having another family gathering in 2 weeks.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 28, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in downtown St. Louis.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The food was delicious and appealing to all taste buds at the table. Everyone found something they wanted to try and when they did, they liked what they ate.

The empanadas were the right size and the pastry was very delicate. The filling had the correct level of spice for me to enjoy without any overwhelming flavors. The fish was cooked to be flaking and not too tough. The mango sauce was a great blend of flavors.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 25, 2017

One of the best meals . Great service. Awesome and flavorful dishes -,empanadas, mixed seafood and beef tenderloin. Definitely a place I will return with family and friends

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food was great! Presentation and taste were excellent. The mix of flavors was very interesting. We liked it so much that we came back the next night during our weekend in St. Louis.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great food and service...nice ambiance..great for a saturday dinner

Tags: Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Love this place! Pisco Sour is delicious and the food is divine!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Took one of my teams from work to Mango for a appreciation dinner. Great food. Outstanding service and the atmosphere was perfect to allow conversations in an open setting where everyone could be heard. Save some room for the deserts. Just sayin'!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Nice, flavorful food. Attentive support staff, refilling warer, etc. Nice ambiance. Good pricing for appetizers, entrees.
Waitress had difficulty with register /computer. Spent a ridiculous amount of time dealing with breaking down another table's checks. Never checked whether our food was fine. We had to flag down the hostess for salt, pepper shakers. Gave us dessert menus, then she went back to register for 10 minutes. Talked with manager for more minutes. We could not get her attention to place our order.
When she finally came over, we asked ordered dessert and asked for check. She brought check immediately, but we waited awhile to receive desserts.
All a shame because we were there to celebrate a birthday. It just got late for a long drive home due to poor service

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The tenderloin beef dish was excellent and the mango sorbet was the best I've every had in a restaurant. The only negative was that the shredded chicken had a kick to it and my colleague specifically asked the waiter if it was spicy and he said no.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food is fresh and tasty. It is a little high-priced but the cuisine is great. Like the numerous vegetarian options too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We were greeted with a smile at the door and seated right away. Our waitress explained the menu and enthusiastically answer our questions. We fell in love with the crispy plantain chips and tasty salsa verde, which everyone was happy to refill. It is clear that this places has a strong focus on great service as the bus boys, the hostess and the server checked on us many times and kept our water glasses full.
The food was very tasty and quite authentic. Everyone enjoyed their meal with the quinoa salad and the chicken soup ranked amongst our favorites.
The environment was perfect for us to unwind from our busy day at the conference. Although they were somewhat busy, it was not very noisy so we could easily converse. The decor was not overwhelming or distracting, but interesting and colorful.
Overall we enjoyed our experience and I would recommend a visit to Mango if you are in the area.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 5, 2017

It was perfect for a gathering of family and friends for my daughter and mine birthdays. Food was delicious, great atmosphere, not to mention the service was great. We didn't want to leave!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Salmon appetizer was delicious

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Wonderful lunch, food and service. Explosion of flavors in quinoa salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Appetizers and main courses were great. Would definitely come again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Quite possibly the best meal I've had in St. Louis all year. Wendy was fabulous. She took the time to tell us about all of the unique Peruvian dishes and helped us make good choices. Overall an excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Birthday dinner for my hubby. They made it a special experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Whenever I go to downtown St. Louis, I make an effort to eat at Mango's. Great place for all age groups and families. And if you've ever been to Peru or never been to Peru, you have to try the Pisco sours!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Happy Hour, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

One word "great". Great service, food and wine list.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Spicy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Absolutely delightful. Seafood special and beef stir fry with the visit. Server Hayden...she is a charmer. Kudos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 15, 2017

What an incredible surprise- this restaurant was fabulous and the food- every dish we ordered among all 4 of us- was super flavorful special and delicious! I found it on Open Table!! This really makes me believe the reviews! I wish I could go back tomorrow to savor it again!! Believe me- go here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Really great food, outstanding service, and a nice, leisurely pace made this dinner really enjoyable. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Monday night restaurant mostly empty and waited 5 min to get appetizer & nearly hour to get entree... server came by 5 min before entree came out to let us know they got 2 *huge* tables, but why would that matter.. ceviche mixto was ok, I sent back the causa de salmon appetizer that I had ordered as an entree, beautiful presentation however the salmon part was like canned salmon with sweet mayo, did not like. Hubby got the lomo saltado and it was more of an Asian beef n onion stir fry in flavor and tons of sweet salty sauce. Loved the idea and was so excited to come here but booooo... plus usually when a dish is sent back the manager or chef comes out to apologize and see what was wrong so as to avoid similar situation in the future.. absolutely nada here, server was nonchalant lol..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Ty was a charming and helpful server. the food, again, was excellent. I usually don't like Sangria but it was a good recommendation-- it's not the sickly sweet stuff you find elsewhere but was fruity and rich.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This was a great find. We were in the city just overnight and I happened upon this restaurant.
We were able to basically have dinner and a show since we were sitting outside on the patio watching people come and go on the street.
The drinks (Limeade) were delicious and the food was excellent.
We left but ended up coming back for dessert which was great.
It's a fun find for sure

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Absolutely delicious meal and great experience...this place is a gem!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food was great, loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Mango is our families favorite St. Louis restaurant. While not typical St. Louis cuisine, it is always top notch quality and service. We have come to love Peruvian food and no longer need menus to order as we sampled pretty much the entire offering.

The kids love Inca cola even though they are now teenagers and beyond. The house made Sangria is the best we have ever found!

Please support this wonderful St. Louis institution on Washington Avenue!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

My husband and I were in town for the weekend. This looked like a great alternative to the average. We had a quinoa salad that was delicious to start and ceviche was also very good. I don't quite remember the name of my dish but it ended in macho as in spicy and it was very good. So was my husbands chicken. Definitely check it out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Visited for dinner while in town for a convention. Was not crowded on a wednesday evening. Beautiful old building with outside seating on the sidewalk and large open seating area plus what looked like a private large area that I could see as we walked in. Provided free plantains and a dipping sauce, ordered a dish with pieces of filet of beef, very good. Overall great value, suprised at how low the prices were, but being from NY I always expect cheaper prices

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Excellent food & service. Unique menu. Nice place to stop on our way through St. Louis while heading to TX.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Had a quiet dinner (outside!) and we enjoyed the calamari special and the shredded chicken entree. The Ceviche with the mixto was great--the corn garnishments were unusual and tasty-- and the serving was plenty large enough to share with my companion as an appetizer. Our server was attentive and charming.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.