Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Mango Peruvian Restaurant

Authentic Peruvian Fusion nestled downtown in the Washington Avenue Loft district. Mango features an upscale loft style environment where chic and comfort come together in a melding of delicious food and warm hospitality. Relaxed and inviting, come enjoy a signature crafted libation in the bar, a quiet romantic dinner for two or take advantage of the open space to book a large table for a group of friends or even utilize the private dining room which seats up to fifty. A cozy retreat from the bustling city Mango has quickly become one of the most noteworthy restaurants in St. Louis for locals and visitors alike.
Winner of The Best of St. Louis for South American Cuisine and Late Night Happy Hour by the Riverfront Times, winner of Best South American Cuisine by Alive and St. Louis Magazines, and Opentable.com Diner's Choice Award.

1001 Washington Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm



Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm,

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm



Pre-Theater Menu Available Monday - Saturday, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
10th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 621-9993

Website:
http://www.mangoperu.com/

Catering:
Offering both on and off site catering Mango is able to translate its menu into dishes appropriate for any occasion. Offerings include full sit down dinners, family style meals, or appetizer plates that bring an exciting and tasteful element to any event.

Contact heather@Mangoperu.com for a personalized dining experience.

Parking Details:
There are public parking lots North and West of the building as well as plenty of street parking.

Public Transit:
Metro Link to the Convention Center (6th & Washington Ave) stop and then West 5 blocks on Washington to 11th Street.

Executive Chef:
Sergio Nakayoshi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

Private dining for up to 150 guests in an urban loft setting with floor to ceiling windows.

Mango Peruvian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (28)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Authentic (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Romantic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Casual (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Healthy (8)
Tapas (8)
Fun (7)
People Watching (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Spicy (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vegan (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Cozy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful wait staff. Sarah had good suggestions and was attentive without hovering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service. Wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

As always, excellent service and food. The ceviche was excellent and the chicken wings were the best Ive ever had.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Organic, Late-night Find, Vegan, Romantic, Tapas, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Fantastic food, have never been let down dining at Mango. Service was good, atmosphere was good for a business lunch. Keep it up!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 9, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious and Nikki took excellent care of us. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great food & great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Excellent food - mainly unfamiliar items to those with no experience of Peruvian food. Come hungry!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

This was our first visit - our server was very friendly and explained the menu items. Food was delicious and unique. We'll definitely tell our friends and visit again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Awesome food and excellent service! Lots of interesting options.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Loved it! Our waitress, Nellie, was knowledgeable and attentive. She guided us through the menu and the typical Peruvian ingredients, which were not typical for us. The food was flavorful and delicious, surrounded by a wonderful ambiance. I can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 7, 2017

One of my favorite spots in St Louis, MO. Tried almost all the dishes. Always on point.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Healthy, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Our second time here to celebrate a birthday. Love the pesco sours and the plantain chips with dip. Also enjoyed the ceviche and the entrees.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2017

I told my server that I was going to run out of adjectives in praise of the meal I enjoyed an Mango this week. This was truly one of the most creative and well prepared meals that I have enjoyed in quite a while. Flavors were incredible across the board and matched with perfect portion sizes. Can't wait to get back to St. Louis!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Food was delicious!! You pay quite a bit for what you get though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Salty server and way too salty entrees. Hopefully an exception, we had both special 3 course meals being served to benefit a local non profit. The starters were both excellent which gave hope even when timing between dishes was off. The kitchen was apparently "backed up" though we didn't mind as it was a good setting and special treat for us.
When they finally arrived, both dishes were almost inedibly salty. The meats were good but altogether it was not. We very rarely complain, yet felt the need to be honest when the server asked. When told the dishes were unsatisfactory, the server had no real response which was doubly unsatisfying. We really wanted it to be good and I think it may have been an off night?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Though the food was mostly tasty, it seemed a bit overpriced. The restaurant itself was attractively designed & decorated and the service was good.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We held a 70th birthday dinner with 17 guests. Despite the large number of diners, the staff did a real good job keeping up with everyone's requests. Service was very good and the kitchen did a great job timing 17 meals for simultaneous delivery. Everyone enjoyed their meals and we heard no complaints; quite an achievement with so many guests. We brought our own bakery cake and the staff did a fantastic job of serving it with a flair. Mango remains one of our favorite St. Louis dining spots.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Pete, our waiter, was very helpful and personable. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We had a good lunch experience. We've eaten many ties at Mango during the dinner hour, so trying lunch was long overdue. The lunch portions are just right and the service was excellent. I had a mixed grill of mushrooms which was delicious with just the right level of spiciness. We enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Terrific, unique food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The multiple TV's showing sports didn't fit with the candle lit, white table cloth fine dining restaurant vibe .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was delicious and authentic to Peru. Our waiter Rico was hilarious but also very helpful in choosing the best dishes to get a true sense of the flavors of Peru. We, as a group, were not fans of the ceviche as an appetizer but everyone loved their meals.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Wow! I heard from a friend that the Mango had good food, it was well beyond that. Good size portions of beautifully prepared dishes with a taste that really defies my ability to decipher at only one sitting. All I can say is you'll love the mixture of spices that produce some very yummy food for the tummy. Must try place in downtown St. Louis.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our favorite part was the plantain dessert. The Staff was very friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had a birthday lunch for 6 people. Great atmosphere, great food (they even brought us a couple of items off the dinner menu that we really wanted), terrific server. Did not feel rushed. A perfect location for our needs. Had such a good time we're having another family gathering in 2 weeks.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 28, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in downtown St. Louis.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The food was delicious and appealing to all taste buds at the table. Everyone found something they wanted to try and when they did, they liked what they ate.

The empanadas were the right size and the pastry was very delicate. The filling had the correct level of spice for me to enjoy without any overwhelming flavors. The fish was cooked to be flaking and not too tough. The mango sauce was a great blend of flavors.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 25, 2017

One of the best meals . Great service. Awesome and flavorful dishes -,empanadas, mixed seafood and beef tenderloin. Definitely a place I will return with family and friends

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food was great! Presentation and taste were excellent. The mix of flavors was very interesting. We liked it so much that we came back the next night during our weekend in St. Louis.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great food and service...nice ambiance..great for a saturday dinner

Tags: Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Love this place! Pisco Sour is delicious and the food is divine!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Took one of my teams from work to Mango for a appreciation dinner. Great food. Outstanding service and the atmosphere was perfect to allow conversations in an open setting where everyone could be heard. Save some room for the deserts. Just sayin'!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Nice, flavorful food. Attentive support staff, refilling warer, etc. Nice ambiance. Good pricing for appetizers, entrees.
Waitress had difficulty with register /computer. Spent a ridiculous amount of time dealing with breaking down another table's checks. Never checked whether our food was fine. We had to flag down the hostess for salt, pepper shakers. Gave us dessert menus, then she went back to register for 10 minutes. Talked with manager for more minutes. We could not get her attention to place our order.
When she finally came over, we asked ordered dessert and asked for check. She brought check immediately, but we waited awhile to receive desserts.
All a shame because we were there to celebrate a birthday. It just got late for a long drive home due to poor service

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The tenderloin beef dish was excellent and the mango sorbet was the best I've every had in a restaurant. The only negative was that the shredded chicken had a kick to it and my colleague specifically asked the waiter if it was spicy and he said no.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food is fresh and tasty. It is a little high-priced but the cuisine is great. Like the numerous vegetarian options too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We were greeted with a smile at the door and seated right away. Our waitress explained the menu and enthusiastically answer our questions. We fell in love with the crispy plantain chips and tasty salsa verde, which everyone was happy to refill. It is clear that this places has a strong focus on great service as the bus boys, the hostess and the server checked on us many times and kept our water glasses full.
The food was very tasty and quite authentic. Everyone enjoyed their meal with the quinoa salad and the chicken soup ranked amongst our favorites.
The environment was perfect for us to unwind from our busy day at the conference. Although they were somewhat busy, it was not very noisy so we could easily converse. The decor was not overwhelming or distracting, but interesting and colorful.
Overall we enjoyed our experience and I would recommend a visit to Mango if you are in the area.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 5, 2017

It was perfect for a gathering of family and friends for my daughter and mine birthdays. Food was delicious, great atmosphere, not to mention the service was great. We didn't want to leave!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Salmon appetizer was delicious

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Wonderful lunch, food and service. Explosion of flavors in quinoa salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Appetizers and main courses were great. Would definitely come again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.