About Mangiamo! Grand Rapids

1033 Lake Drive S.E.
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
View Larger Map

Mangiamo! is housed in a beloved 19th century mansion just east of downtown Grand Rapids, which The Gilmore Collection has transformed into one of West Michigan's most special spots for fantastic American/ Italian-inspired dining. Ambiance at the Big House is classic and elegant within the beautiful Wurzburg mansion. The attitude, menu and service are refreshingly modern and affordable. Mangiamo! is the perfect venue to host your special event or wedding reception with our beautiful gated lawn and beautifully historic private rooms. Wedding rehearsal dinners are our specialty.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, European, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 - 4 pm
Happy Hour: Monday -Friday 3pm-6pm
Dinner: Monday-Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherry St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 742-0600

Website:
http://www.thegilmorecollection.com/mangiamo.php

Entertainment:
Live Jazz in the Lounge after 7pm Wed - Sat
Lawn and lawn games open to the public.

Catering:

This is the perfect option for in-office business meetings and lunches. Catering options include combination buffet packages, boxed lunches and family-style party pans.
Hours of operation are 8am-6pm Mon-Fri

Parking Details:
Ample Parking throughout the Grounds

Executive Chef:
Gordy

Private Party Facilities:
Three banquet rooms as well as a wine cellar perfect for appetizer parties

Private Party Contact:
Heidi Beyer - Catering Sales Manager: 6167420600x12

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:


The Story

About Managiamo!

The Lawn Capacity 150
Wine Cellar Capacity 35
Small Rooms Capacity 25-50

Our Italian restaurant in East Hills —Mangiamo—is a perfectly charming special event space in a beloved 19th century mansion that is full of character. The space includes a beautiful gated lawn and historically appointed private banquet rooms. Wedding ceremonies, rehearsal dinners, and bridal showers are our specialty. Gilmore Catering services both on- and off-premise social and corporate special events at Mangiamo.

For more information about this unique venue and banquet space in Grand Rapids, please contact Heidi Beyer at 616.742.0600 ext. 12 today.

Restaurant Photos

Mangiamo! Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Romantic
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
3 More
Neighborhood Gem
Grand Rapids
Romantic
Grand Rapids
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

special occasion (56)
neighborhood gem (43)
romantic (38)
See All
good for groups (36)
fit for foodies (31)
notable wine list (14)
great for lunch (13)
scenic view (11)
great for outdoor dining (10)
great for brunch (10)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
777 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good but loud

Dined 5 days ago

Great food, good atmosphere, but tough to have a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

expensive and ordinary and expect to leave hungry

Dined 5 days ago

There were only 3 reservation listings left for the entire night when I booked it around noon. I took the 2:45 expecting the place to be packed. the mgr. called me and said dinner service did not begin until 4 though. so I said then we would have a drink and wait. when we got there the place was completely EMPTY. we had a drink and the server waited until 4 to put the order in. At 4 when dinner service was STARTING the place was still EMPTY? So why couldn't we just get a 4pm reservation? Then the food came at around 430. My $20 fettuccini and clams was a joke. A tiny appetizer size portion of fettuccini clumped center plate (usually this would be a full bed of pasta)surrounded by a circle of baby clams. My daughters pasta alfredo was a bed of mediocre pasta in a tasteless sauce. The fig prosciutto pizza had almost no meat, just cheese and figs. It was as though they had run out of ingredients or were penalizing us for coming early to an empty dining room. The server fortunately was very attentive and gave us very good service. If it weren't my daughters graduation with my parents as guests I would have sent everything back. the server asked me how the food was (since I was finished in like 5 minutes) and I said ok but I was still looking for the pasta. He laughed and agreed that the portions were tiny. Oh yea. And NO BREAD WITH THE MEAL. We had 3 pasta dishes and no bread? Isn't this an Italian restaurant. That's like serving spaghetti without sauce. Would not recommend this place to anyone. Expensive and Ordinary sums it up.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The portions of our entrees were a littl ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The portions of our entrees were a little disappointing. I expected more than just 2 scallops when I ordered and my husband's steak was on the tiny side. But the pizzas were a good size and the desserts were yummy.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very busy due to multiple graduation par ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Very busy due to multiple graduation parties which made the initial service a little slow (about 4 parties between 4-16 arrived at same time ) once seated the service was acceptable. The food was excellent including the fish in paper, the vegetable tower with a nice plating and presentation and the filet mignon cooked medium rare just like I ordered. The grilled asparagus was perfect. Price a little on the steep side but reasonable for special occasions. We would definitely come back and recommend to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and atmosphere

Dined on May 13, 2016

Mangiamo! was a wonderful restaurant. The building's atmosphere was meticulously crafted and the food was amazing.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I liked the idea of making reservations ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I liked the idea of making reservations on line, with a confirmation number. From the restaurant's point of view, it was also nice for the manager to confirm that the reservation will be kept. A really nice thing is the parking in the rear with a handicap entrance. Food great; it was busy, so Lisa did what she could and did a nice job for us. If I lived closer, I'd probably be there every other night. Best wishes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Above and Beyond

Dined on May 13, 2016

My wife was celebrating her birthday and we decided we had not been to Mangiamo in years. Not only were we happy with the prices, they comped her dinner! That was Above and Beyond for someone who hasn't been there in years. Thank you and we will be back in the next few weeks.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Unique food combinations, beautiful house.

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our second time here. Food options are plentiful, even for those with special diets (gluten free, vegetarian, etc). Service is very friendly and quick.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Not your typical Gilmore Group Restaurant

Dined on May 8, 2016

Typically Gilmore Group Restaurants are average in almost all respects. The service is okay, food average, and menu unimaginative. However Mangiamo stands above the other Gilmore Restaurants in all categories. The menu is unique but not exotic. The wait staff professional. And the manager concerned about you having the best experience possible. Mangiamo makes every dining experience a special one!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner at Mangiamo's

Dined on April 28, 2016

It was our 43rd Wedding Anniversary so wanted to do something special for dinner. We chose Mangiamo's because the ambiance is very nice and the food is wonderful. We sat by a window and were well pleased with our whole evening there. You can't top their menu and also their full-service bar.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great atmosphere.

Dined on April 15, 2016

This is a fantastic place to dine, the food is excellent, the servers well trained, and the unique atmosphere makes for a great evening out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

I was not happy when I got to the restau ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

I was not happy when I got to the restaurant, as my friend and I had wanted to sit outside, and the hostess said she would have to check with the girls, then another hostess came along and said who is next and I said we were taken care of, and the couple behind us did NOT have reservations and he took them outside. When OUR hostess came back she said we could not sit outside, that it would be a 20 minute wait. I said we had reservations the other couple did not and they got first choice at seating, I was not HAPPY, we could not wait the extra time as we had concert tickets, we should have been granted first choice on seating!!

food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Restaurant needs work

Dined on April 9, 2016

Calamari was interesting, had good flavor, but was over-fried. Garlic bread three ways was OK. Scallops entree was good. Lasagna was good. Muscles were not good. Service was very good. The building is an old classic estate building. Needs repair, maintenance, renewing.

food5
ambience1
service2
value1

Did not meet expectations

Dined on March 16, 2016

We attended mangiamos for an evening out and birthday celebration. Unfortuently the food took over an hour and what we ordered off the menu wasn't available after about 45 minutes . The noise level was loud and table spacing was crowded.

Tags: notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Not Overwhelmed

Dined on March 9, 2016

Our table was next to a table of very noisy patrons. We asked to be moved and the wait staff was most accommodating. However, the acoustics in the restaurant are poor. The food was only fair. I had the eggplant which was over seasoned. However, the beet salad was a standout. My husband had the spaghetti and meatballs. It was OK at best.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very Good Italian Restaurant

Dined on March 7, 2016

One of our favorite Italian places in Grand Rapids. Very nice setting, good variety of choices available. We had Brussel Sprout Appetizer and it was some of the best sprouts we've had.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Experience!

Dined on March 5, 2016

Our dining experience greatly exceeded expectations! Food, service, atmosphere were all wonderful. We already have plans to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome experience

Dined on March 4, 2016

Our group of three was excited to try Mangiamo, and we were not disappointed. The free valet service was an unexpected treat. The hostess didn't seem overly warm or friendly, but she did show us the coat room and then led us to our table, giving us a choice between fireplace or window seats. Every single moment of the next 90 minutes was amazing. Our waiter, Mike, was funny and knowledgeable about the menu and the old home in which Mangiamo's is located. We were on a time schedule but had allowed plenty of time for an enjoyable dining experience, and he helped balance leisurely enjoyment of our food with fast service to be sure we were out the door in time for our theater production. The food was fantastic!! Everyone in the group is a foodie, and all ordered one of the house specials and each special was great. In fact, the experience was so amazing that my son, one of the people in our party, actually took the time to fill out the comment card to compliment the waiter and the chef. Great atmosphere, great food, great service...everything we could have asked for in a dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Big Sixty

Dined on February 27, 2016

We celebrated a big birthday with family. The server was terrific and the food was wonderful. We did not feel rushed even though the restaurant was very busy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was very enjoyable. Value was a bi ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was very enjoyable. Value was a bit lacking when comparing menu pricing to table side results. Considering we did have a table of 10, server asked half the table for drink orders sometimes and forgot to ask the other half the other times. Wait for checks was too long. We actually went to the hostess to retrieve them. With all this said, our group enjoyed our experience at Mangiamo and would return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A 'REMEMBER WHEN'---- MEMORY!!!!

Dined on February 21, 2016

If you haven't dined here - you're missing a special memory!!!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mangiamo! Always Aims to Please

Dined on February 21, 2016

I've eaten at this establishment many times, for both lunch and dinner. Each time the food and the service are outstanding. It is a beautiful venue and the staff is always attentive. It's the perfect spot for a date night, for group outings, or even a business lunch.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

You always need a reservation to get in, ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

You always need a reservation to get in, unless you don't mind waiting an hour. That being said, I really like the food here and it's got a cool vibe to it. We went there for our anniversary, and they gave us our desert for free!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Special Night Out

Dined on February 19, 2016

It was my son's 16th birthday and he wanted to go somewhere unique and Mangiamo's was perfect. He loved it! We had seafood and steak - both were delicious and the service was excellent! Many restaurants nowadays are crowded and loud, but not at Mangiamos. The atmosphere is warm, relaxing, and we could have a conversation without yelling. Wonderful for a special night out!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 16, 2016

We enjoyed the family style salad and entree. Perfect amount of food for 2 people and we both enjoyed it. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable. Made reservations ahead of time and were seating at a table by the window, tucked away from others. Great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A warm and deliciously inviting experience!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We visited Mangiamo! for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed the experience! The rooms are warm and the ambiance is inviting. Red and White tablecloths invite friendly groups without an overly formal feeling and yet, the experience is completely upscale and satisfying. Wines are exceptional, food service and quality of meals are outstanding and the desserts.... a MUST to end your meal! All wait staff were warm and friendly and when we asked to view other parts of the restaurant, they were very accommodating. Overall - an EXCELLENT choice to eat. We'll certainly return many times!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines date

Dined on February 13, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful evening at Mangiamos. It is one of our favorite restaurants in the Grand Rapids area, and it never disappoints! Our waitress did an excellent job recommending things from wine to our entrees. Overall a wonderful experience, will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

Went and had an awesome night with my fiancé. The food was amazing, the wine was delicious and our waiter and the atmosphere were spot on! Will continue to come back as we have been.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great ambiance

Dined on February 5, 2016

Food is always reliably good (fish in a bag!!). We love the ambiance of the bar.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite Dining Experience!!!!

Dined on January 23, 2016

This was our first time at Mangiamo! and it happened to be in celebration of my husband's 60th birthday. What a fabulous time we had!!! The service was impeccable and the food exquisite! The atmosphere was so relaxing and elegant! Best time out in a very long time! We will definitely be back and will sing the restaurants praises to family & friends!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

While we understood it was busy, we did ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

While we understood it was busy, we did wait a very long time before being greeted after we sat down. When our server did approach us, there was no apology for the wait. We felt very much looked over and disappointed. It was a first visit for my date and he felt let down by the experience.

Tags: romantic
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

Just O K

Dined on January 17, 2016

The hostess was disorganized and we were left waiting when there were several empty tables. The waitress went into great detail about the deliscious special, then she remembered that it was sold out. We have been there several times and this was not up to our expectations. Bartender was pleasant and friendly and she was on her job.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great Old House.

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

Wonderful, old historic house. Food was fair, nothing we had was exceptional. Room was loud and service was a little slow. I would recommend to a friend for the house before the food.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Disappointment

Dined on January 6, 2016

This is a beautiful house and we love to go there. This visit was disappointing. They stuck us in a corner by a cold window. The mussels were not as good as usual. The main courses had an odd "smokey" flavor. The prices seem to be higher than they were during our last visit, which would have been OK if the food hadn't been so mediocre. We are considering never going back. Grand Rapids has too many good restaurants with reasonable prices and consistently good food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

CFO

Dined on January 6, 2016

Outstanding service and menu has great options. Arrived early for reservations but the staff was very accommodating. Great place to meet friends, family gathering or quiet romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

great place to dine!

Dined on January 5, 2016

We had a great time at Mangiamo's. Great service, good food and pleasant atmosphere. Really enjoyed the flavored water, squash bisque and flourless chocolate cake. Have eaten here several times for special occasions and for lunch with colleagues.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Dress warm

Dined on December 26, 2015

We were seated on the porch and it was drafty & cold - definitely need to bundle up more since their heat isn't warm enough. The table was really small & crowded for 4 people with appetizers & drinks & plates. Great sangria! And the filet mignon was amazing! But it was supposed to come with broccolini & garlic smashed potatoes and instead came with green beans and little charred potatoes. The meal was good, but disappointing that it wasn't as described on the menu, and our server didn't inform me of the change first. When your meal is $36 it should be as you expect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

No Appetit

Dined on December 18, 2015

The food was terrible. Presentation, taste, temperature, and portions we're all displeasing. Filet mignon came out rare, it should have been medium, it was recooked, however having to slice into it, ruined the steak. It should have been replaced with one made to order at that price. The fish was cold, two strips of asparagus stalks so tough could not eat them, the grapes were served on stems, and sitting in a pile of sauce. We felt rushed to order. When the manager asked how our dinner was, we started to explain, and he just nodded didn't offer to do anything about it. The last dining experience with the same. I wanted to give it a second chance, and I won't be giving it a third.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great experience at Mangiamo

Dined on December 14, 2015

My wife and I went to Mangiamo for the first time to celebrate our anniversary. Nice menu, some very unique and interesting salads to pair with entrees. Great service. Being new to the area was a bit leery as have had bad experiences in old mansion settings. Not the case with Mangiamo - food was great, very good service, nice lighting with track lights adding to the older style lights, comfortable seating (not old clapped out antique chairs). Will definitely return.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot!

Dined on December 12, 2015

I can't think of a more impressive ambiance in all of Grand Rapids. We visited this historic mansion at the holidays it was absolutely beautiful decorated in lights. Loved the old photos lining the walls! It just felt very special to be in this unique space. We wanted to have a leisurely dinner (drinks, appetizer, food + wine, dessert) so we were there quite a while and our server was great - didn't rush us in the least. They happened to be out of the wine we ordered so they gave us a nicer bottle at no additional expense. A+ for the Italy-inspired calamari. The rest of our meal wasn't stunning but tasty nonetheless. One great thing about this place is that they offer a range of food at a range of prices so everyone is accommodated. We will absolutely be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.