Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.12mi

About Mangiamo! Grand Rapids

Mangiamo! is housed in a beloved 19th century mansion just east of downtown Grand Rapids, which The Gilmore Collection has transformed into one of West Michigan's most special spots for fantastic American/ Italian-inspired dining. Ambiance at the Big House is classic and elegant within the beautiful Wurzburg mansion. The attitude, menu and service are refreshingly modern and affordable. Mangiamo! is the perfect venue to host your special event or wedding reception with our beautiful gated lawn and beautifully historic private rooms. Wedding rehearsal dinners are our specialty.

1033 Lake Drive S.E.
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, European, American

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday -Friday 3pm-6pm
Dinner: Monday-Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherry St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 742-0600

Website:
http://www.thegilmorecollection.com/mangiamo.php

Entertainment:
Live Jazz in the Lounge after 7pm Wed - Sat
Lawn and lawn games open to the public.

Catering:

This is the perfect option for in-office business meetings and lunches. Catering options include combination buffet packages, boxed lunches and family-style party pans.
Hours of operation are 8am-6pm Mon-Fri

Parking Details:
Ample Parking throughout the Grounds

Executive Chef:
Gordy

Private Party Facilities:
Three banquet rooms as well as a wine cellar perfect for appetizer parties

Private Party Contact:
Heidi Beyer - Catering Sales Manager: (616) 742-0600 ext. 12

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


The Story

About Managiamo!

The Lawn Capacity 150
Wine Cellar Capacity 35
Small Rooms Capacity 25-50

Our Italian restaurant in East Hills —Mangiamo—is a perfectly charming special event space in a beloved 19th century mansion that is full of character. The space includes a beautiful gated lawn and historically appointed private banquet rooms. Wedding ceremonies, rehearsal dinners, and bridal showers are our specialty. Gilmore Catering services both on- and off-premise social and corporate special events at Mangiamo.

For more information about this unique venue and banquet space in Grand Rapids, please contact Heidi Beyer at 616.742.0600 ext. 12 today.

Mangiamo! Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (37)
Special Occasion (34)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
See All
Historic (25)
Romantic (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Cozy (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Fireplace (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Casual (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Healthy (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Authentic (8)
Family Style (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Business Meals (5)
Seasonal (5)
Scenic View (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fun (4)
Private Room (4)
Live Music (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Organic (3)
Vegan (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
907 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 20 hours ago

3 kids between the group of us. This is a family place, although a bit on the pricier side they have paper on the table for the kids to color on as well as chalk board walls with chalk provided. A bit noisy, but I'm sure the kids contributed to that! Will definitely visit again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food. Make sure you ask for bread when you arrive. It was amazing but for some reason they did not bring it out until we asked for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Whenever I need a quick, convenient, moderate priced option for an out of town guest I think of Mangiamos. Guests are always impressed with the house, the history, the decor, and of course the food. The name infers that this restaurant is Italian, and it does have Italian specialities, but that's a small portion of the menu. This restaurant is a hit every time.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Check out my instgram account for more @drinksareonthe hausch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We went in to try their new menu specially their new and anticipated Deep Dish pizzas.
They were ok, nothing exceptional about it. We came at 6.15pm. The service was really slow, the food took over 1h from the time we ordered. The restaurant was practically empty by the time we left (around 8.30pm).
2h.45min for pizzas was a little bit too much.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I've eaten at Mangiamo! many times and always enjoy it. The noise level was particularly high this time, though, and made it hard for our group of nine at one large table to converse. I wish they were still open for lunch; I would visit more often it they were. Great food and great service all the time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Mangiamo is in our neighborhood, and having lived here for 30 years, we've seen different manifestations of restaurants in this lovely building (fit for a monastery :-) Mangiamo offers food choices that are varied and delicious. When we have out-of-town visitors, we like to show the place off.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We had an excellent dining experience, good food, service and a great ambiance.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Outstanding Value, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I love the decor and the atmosphere. The restaurant is beautiful inside with vibrant stained glass and ornate victorian style architecture. When I pick a restaurant, it's for atmosphere first, and this place is hands down winner in that category. Oh, and the food is top notch too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere, outstanding food, unique menu, I love this place.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our first visit to your restaurant, and we were so excited! (we relocated back to the area 2 years ago) Our dear friends highly recommended this place(along with Bistro Bella Vita). I was impressed with your website, the charm and character, and the ambiance. Sadly, the server was below par (Tony). We were short a place setting and chair. They carried a chair and lifted it directly over another party's table, in order to squeeze it in to our spot. We were sandwiched way too close to the party next to us and I could not even fit my body around the chair to sit (I am a small frame). It was awkward and embarrassing to move our own table and chairs ourselves. (this shoud've been done before we entered the room) The piano was now encroaching my husband on the other side, so we repositioned us all again. We needed to ask for more menus. The server, when bringing us more bread, stacked the new bowl right on top of the old bread bowl. A big no-no! (you never stack, especially while party is still eating!) My husband ordered Ahi Tuna and was so surprised and very disappointed that your restaurant did not have wasabi to go along with his dish. (he never would've ordered it !) My husband is in management and travels a lot for business, and said that is unheard of. He said it's like ordering a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, without the jelly. Anyhow, we strongly recommend that if you offer this dish, you should have wasabi to compliment it. Other than that, we toured the lovely mansion after our meal and were enamored with the beauty and elegance of this mansion. My suggestion is to put Tony through more professional training in his serving skills and communication. We would love to give your restaurant another try, but at this point, we cannot recommend it, based on our initial experience. Should we come again, I hope our visit will be overall a much more pleasant and positive experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 3, 2017

One of my favorite places to unwind on a Friday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Friendly staff, really enjoyed the chicken fettuccini Alfredo and the walleye dish cooked in paper. Very delicious and tender

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I did not have a good experience here. It was for my anniversary with my boyfriend and food was terrible for the price. My Spaghetti had ZERO flavor. My boyfriend's chair had a tack sticking out that snagged his dress pants. We told the waitress and she did absolutely nothing about it. Not pleased one bit with this restaurant. I love Gilmore Collection venues but this one was not good at all. DO NOT GO HERE.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We save this place for special occasions - but we shouldn't! Food, atmosphere, service and value are all excellent! Love Mangiamo's!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We were at Mangiamo's for our daughter's birthday. The four of us all had different things and everyone was pleased with their choices. The quantity and quality was very good, and our server Lisa was spot on. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food for adults and kids. The ambiance is beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We've been to this place several times, and it pretty good. Don't be deceived into thinking they are just an Italian restaurant. They don't have that much Italian on their menu. They do have some nice food though. The best part is that you can make a reservation and park pretty easily.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We came here to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Food, service & ambiance were excellent. As a bonus, they had a very good Pianist/singer.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was very tasty and the restaurant was in a beautiful mansion. Very cool atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food, good service. I was expecting a few more dinner-type options and less sandwiches and pizza. Would still return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 16, 2017

From start to finish we (my girlfriend and I) had a great time. Our server Mary was great. She was on top of everything. I never had to wait to get her attention if I needed something and her section was full. The food and wine were great. I'll be coming more often.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Mangiamo! consistently provides an excellent dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved the crispy brussel sprouts!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Smoked Chicken Fettuccine was, way smoked. Over powering, spaghetti and meatballs mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Atmosphere was awesome. 2 out of the 4 of us didn't eat our food, horrible taste. The other 2 entrees were very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I was very surprised . I had a really good experience . The ambiance was great! Good food and the white sangria was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Disappointed in two of four entees. Also, obtaining correct bills (1 per couple) was a 20 minute debacle.....not sure I will return or recommend to any other acquaintances

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had a great dinner. We were seated in the lounge with the live music, which can sometimes be iffy. In this case, there was a distraction of another guest playing along with the musician on the harmonica. He wasn't bad, or anything, (and seemed like a really nice guy) but I was getting the sound of the harmonica in one ear, making conversation very difficult. I finally moved to another seat at the table where it wasn't as annoying but it was still a little too much to really chat quietly between the two of us.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The waitress was very helpful with gluten free options and made sure the chef and other team members understood that this was a Celiac disease issue and not just a food preference. The gluten free menu had a number of very appealing selections, they tasted great. We will definitely go there again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Historic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Mangiamo is our favorite restaurant in our neighborhood.. We always enjoy the atmosphere, service (excellent), and the food. We do not eat out often, but when we do, Mangiamo is our first choice -- also to dine with friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Romantic, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Authentic, Wood Oven, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our experience this time was much better than last. My wife's lasagna was excellent, as was my shrimp/sausage polenta. The last time we were in, we were charged an exorbitant price for 3 scallops, but it looks like that has been removed from the menu (mercifully). My only complaint is that it took quite long for us to get a round of drinks, but, in fairness, they were busy. We will definitely be back someday

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Loved the Gilmore Signature chardonnay! How can I buy it to take home? Excellent waitress. She gave us a nice pace in our eating experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had an enjoyable evening, food was tasty and we had a great setting of you dinning pleasure .

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, great atmosphere, excellent food. Great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great building and setting. Sorry to say food was very average at best - most offering really where not a complete meal and menu made it hard to round out a dinner. Service was slow but polite. The whole experience was kinda of weird. For example they have valet parking, an awesome historic venue and specialize serving pizza?

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We went to Mangiamo! to celebrate my Mom's birthday. The restored mansion is beautiful and the bar looked fun and beautiful. I wish we would have gone a bit earlier than our 6pm dinner reservation just to have a drink. We did have a 6pm dinner reservation for 10 on a Friday night and the staff was prepared and ready for us.

The food was just ok - We ordered the calamari, crispy brussel sprouts and the Chef's meat and cheese tray. The calamari and brussel sprouts were good - the meat and cheese tray was ok. I think it was "semi-homemade" with a combo of packaged lunch meat and pork belly. For dinner, I had the salmon sandwich. I was torn between the sandwich and the Lasagna and our server suggested the sandwich (even tho he had never had it). The salmon was such a small portion that I was able to cut my bun in half and make a fuller sandwich out of that. The home made chips that accompanied the sandwich were really good. I think I will try this place again, but go with the Lasagna. The menu is sort of all over the place with options for Southwest, Asian, Italian, burgers..........

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My husband and I had a Saturday night date. We have lived in the Rockford area for the past 17 years and I can't believe that we had not discovered Mangiamo's before this! It is definitely a treasure and we can't wait to return. Have to give A shout out to the brussels sprouts! They were fabulous!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Live Music, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wow, what a disappointment as I was very excited to try this restaurant. Reason for going: We took my son there for his 13th birthday.
First off, the wait for the food was exceptionally long. I understand that restaurants of this pedigree take more time to deliver your food. However, the entire meal took over 2 hours and 15 minutes. Drinks to salad to dinner.
Then the food showed up. The scallops were raw and covered in false char resulting in a terrible burnt taste. My sons steak was also covered in false char resulting in the awful taste. My shrimp polenta was bland and the portion size was terribly small. (three little shrimp and a scoop of polenta for $19). My other son had the hamburger and he said that was fine (one out of four isn't bad, right??)
I did speak to our server when she asked how everything was. I explained to her the issues we were having. At that moment, she didn't commit to anything to fix the problem but it was resolved when the bill came. They removed my sons steak and the scallops. Which was very nice of them without a doubt.
I understand these things happen. That said, a place with that reputation and at that price point, should not have mistakes of that nature. I would expect the chef's in back to know the difference between good and bad grilling. Hell, I cooked at Damon's for a couple years during college and I know good vs bad.
Lastly, I will say that the place is beautiful. You just don't see buildings, wood work, art, etc like that in a restaurant. Kuddos for that.
I just wish the food was as good as the aesthetics.

Not Recommended.

Joe

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Fireplace, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It is a cool setting in an old mansion. It feels cozy and like a special place for a night out. The food is very good, as is the service.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.