Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.78mi
  2. Distance: 1.00mi
  3. Distance: 1.06mi
  4. Distance: 1.12mi

About Mangiamo! Grand Rapids

Mangiamo! is housed in a beloved 19th century mansion just east of downtown Grand Rapids, which The Gilmore Collection has transformed into one of West Michigan's most special spots for fantastic American/ Italian-inspired dining. Ambiance at the Big House is classic and elegant within the beautiful Wurzburg mansion. The attitude, menu and service are refreshingly modern and affordable. Mangiamo! is the perfect venue to host your special event or wedding reception with our beautiful gated lawn and beautifully historic private rooms. Wedding rehearsal dinners are our specialty.

1033 Lake Drive S.E.
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, European, American

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday -Friday 3pm-6pm
Dinner: Monday-Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherry St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 742-0600

Website:
http://www.thegilmorecollection.com/mangiamo.php

Entertainment:
Live Jazz in the Lounge after 7pm Wed - Sat
Lawn and lawn games open to the public.

Catering:

This is the perfect option for in-office business meetings and lunches. Catering options include combination buffet packages, boxed lunches and family-style party pans.
Hours of operation are 8am-6pm Mon-Fri

Parking Details:
Ample Parking throughout the Grounds

Executive Chef:
Gordy

Private Party Facilities:
Three banquet rooms as well as a wine cellar perfect for appetizer parties

Private Party Contact:
Heidi Beyer - Catering Sales Manager: (616) 742-0600 ext. 12

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


The Story

About Managiamo!

The Lawn Capacity 150
Wine Cellar Capacity 35
Small Rooms Capacity 25-50

Our Italian restaurant in East Hills —Mangiamo—is a perfectly charming special event space in a beloved 19th century mansion that is full of character. The space includes a beautiful gated lawn and historically appointed private banquet rooms. Wedding ceremonies, rehearsal dinners, and bridal showers are our specialty. Gilmore Catering services both on- and off-premise social and corporate special events at Mangiamo.

For more information about this unique venue and banquet space in Grand Rapids, please contact Heidi Beyer at 616.742.0600 ext. 12 today.

Mangiamo! Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Special Occasion (33)
Historic (30)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Romantic (25)
Cozy (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Fireplace (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Casual (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Happy Hour (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Authentic (10)
Business Meals (9)
Healthy (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Family Style (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Private Room (5)
People Watching (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Live Music (4)
Organic (3)
Fun (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
918 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 5 days ago

Great quality food. Great birthday specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

We took our daughter out for her birthday and found Mangiamo's to have a wonderful environment, good food and great service!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I did not know what to expect when we arrived. I was blown away by the beauty of the building. Then, the food was amazing and creative. So many good choices. I had my first martini ever, it was excellent. They even showed me how they made it. Seriously cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I haven't been here in at least 10 years--not because of any reason or negative experience, there are just so many excellent options in GR. I saw a recent post on EatGR and thought it would be fun to take my husband since he had never been there. After seeing the BOGO birthday special available, I quickly made reservations. We had a fabulous time, and really enjoyed our dishes and beverages! The service was exceptional. It won't be another 10 years before going back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We love Mangiamo! The food never disappoints & the setting is beautiful

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Excellent overall experience, but for one tiny quibble: it'd be nice if the draft beers listed online matched those actually available (I know it's a lot to ask).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Our server, Schuyler, was delightful and all of her recommendations were right on. My husband loved his lasagna (the best he's had!) and my shrimp and sausage with polenta was very tasty. The crispy Brussels sprouts were amazing. The old mansion setting of Mangiamo's is charming. It's fun to imagine a family living there when Grand Rapids was a booming lumber town. This restaurant is a Gilmore Group property and, while some may bemoan the multi-restaurant group ownership, we find Gilmore properties to be well-run and many times, they save the oldie-but-goodie places that can't make it without an infusion of cash (read: Bostwick Lake Inn and Nick Fink's.) Can't argue with success!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We have been to this restaurant before and were surprised to see the menu had been completely revamped - not for the better. There are minimal true Italian items on the menu. We were not impressed. Additionally, the service was TERRIBLE. We thought with a 9 pm reservation and minimal people there, we would receive attentive service, but it was quite the opposite. Would not return.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was our first dining experience at Mangiamo's and we enjoyed it immensly! The food was only out done by the staff itself! We were treating incredibly well. Great place to dine and relax in Grand Rapids.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was our first time at Mangiamo's and we were here to celebrate a birthday. The setting is very unique, lovely and historic. We were seated promptly - we had a reservation. Our waitress was great. We ordered three appetizers and all three were delicious - mussels, brussel sprouts and bruschetta jars. The cocktail, beer and wine selection was very good. Our main courses were also very good - we recommend the salmon!

We would definitely return again!

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Waited 35 minutes after our reservation only for the hostess to say "Didn't we seat you?" Then waited 45-50 minutes for dinner and half of it was cold. A manager didn't check on us, and our server tried to fix the evening, but I don't feel the visit was worth the bill. I would not recommend going on a weekend.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

3 kids between the group of us. This is a family place, although a bit on the pricier side they have paper on the table for the kids to color on as well as chalk board walls with chalk provided. A bit noisy, but I'm sure the kids contributed to that! Will definitely visit again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food. Make sure you ask for bread when you arrive. It was amazing but for some reason they did not bring it out until we asked for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Whenever I need a quick, convenient, moderate priced option for an out of town guest I think of Mangiamos. Guests are always impressed with the house, the history, the decor, and of course the food. The name infers that this restaurant is Italian, and it does have Italian specialities, but that's a small portion of the menu. This restaurant is a hit every time.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Check out my instgram account for more @drinksareonthe hausch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We went in to try their new menu specially their new and anticipated Deep Dish pizzas.
They were ok, nothing exceptional about it. We came at 6.15pm. The service was really slow, the food took over 1h from the time we ordered. The restaurant was practically empty by the time we left (around 8.30pm).
2h.45min for pizzas was a little bit too much.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I've eaten at Mangiamo! many times and always enjoy it. The noise level was particularly high this time, though, and made it hard for our group of nine at one large table to converse. I wish they were still open for lunch; I would visit more often it they were. Great food and great service all the time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Mangiamo is in our neighborhood, and having lived here for 30 years, we've seen different manifestations of restaurants in this lovely building (fit for a monastery :-) Mangiamo offers food choices that are varied and delicious. When we have out-of-town visitors, we like to show the place off.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We had an excellent dining experience, good food, service and a great ambiance.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Outstanding Value, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I love the decor and the atmosphere. The restaurant is beautiful inside with vibrant stained glass and ornate victorian style architecture. When I pick a restaurant, it's for atmosphere first, and this place is hands down winner in that category. Oh, and the food is top notch too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere, outstanding food, unique menu, I love this place.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our first visit to your restaurant, and we were so excited! (we relocated back to the area 2 years ago) Our dear friends highly recommended this place(along with Bistro Bella Vita). I was impressed with your website, the charm and character, and the ambiance. Sadly, the server was below par (Tony). We were short a place setting and chair. They carried a chair and lifted it directly over another party's table, in order to squeeze it in to our spot. We were sandwiched way too close to the party next to us and I could not even fit my body around the chair to sit (I am a small frame). It was awkward and embarrassing to move our own table and chairs ourselves. (this shoud've been done before we entered the room) The piano was now encroaching my husband on the other side, so we repositioned us all again. We needed to ask for more menus. The server, when bringing us more bread, stacked the new bowl right on top of the old bread bowl. A big no-no! (you never stack, especially while party is still eating!) My husband ordered Ahi Tuna and was so surprised and very disappointed that your restaurant did not have wasabi to go along with his dish. (he never would've ordered it !) My husband is in management and travels a lot for business, and said that is unheard of. He said it's like ordering a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, without the jelly. Anyhow, we strongly recommend that if you offer this dish, you should have wasabi to compliment it. Other than that, we toured the lovely mansion after our meal and were enamored with the beauty and elegance of this mansion. My suggestion is to put Tony through more professional training in his serving skills and communication. We would love to give your restaurant another try, but at this point, we cannot recommend it, based on our initial experience. Should we come again, I hope our visit will be overall a much more pleasant and positive experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 3, 2017

One of my favorite places to unwind on a Friday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Friendly staff, really enjoyed the chicken fettuccini Alfredo and the walleye dish cooked in paper. Very delicious and tender

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I did not have a good experience here. It was for my anniversary with my boyfriend and food was terrible for the price. My Spaghetti had ZERO flavor. My boyfriend's chair had a tack sticking out that snagged his dress pants. We told the waitress and she did absolutely nothing about it. Not pleased one bit with this restaurant. I love Gilmore Collection venues but this one was not good at all. DO NOT GO HERE.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We save this place for special occasions - but we shouldn't! Food, atmosphere, service and value are all excellent! Love Mangiamo's!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We were at Mangiamo's for our daughter's birthday. The four of us all had different things and everyone was pleased with their choices. The quantity and quality was very good, and our server Lisa was spot on. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food for adults and kids. The ambiance is beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We've been to this place several times, and it pretty good. Don't be deceived into thinking they are just an Italian restaurant. They don't have that much Italian on their menu. They do have some nice food though. The best part is that you can make a reservation and park pretty easily.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We came here to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Food, service & ambiance were excellent. As a bonus, they had a very good Pianist/singer.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was very tasty and the restaurant was in a beautiful mansion. Very cool atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food, good service. I was expecting a few more dinner-type options and less sandwiches and pizza. Would still return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 16, 2017

From start to finish we (my girlfriend and I) had a great time. Our server Mary was great. She was on top of everything. I never had to wait to get her attention if I needed something and her section was full. The food and wine were great. I'll be coming more often.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Mangiamo! consistently provides an excellent dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved the crispy brussel sprouts!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Smoked Chicken Fettuccine was, way smoked. Over powering, spaghetti and meatballs mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Atmosphere was awesome. 2 out of the 4 of us didn't eat our food, horrible taste. The other 2 entrees were very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I was very surprised . I had a really good experience . The ambiance was great! Good food and the white sangria was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Disappointed in two of four entees. Also, obtaining correct bills (1 per couple) was a 20 minute debacle.....not sure I will return or recommend to any other acquaintances

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had a great dinner. We were seated in the lounge with the live music, which can sometimes be iffy. In this case, there was a distraction of another guest playing along with the musician on the harmonica. He wasn't bad, or anything, (and seemed like a really nice guy) but I was getting the sound of the harmonica in one ear, making conversation very difficult. I finally moved to another seat at the table where it wasn't as annoying but it was still a little too much to really chat quietly between the two of us.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.