About Mangiamo! Grand Rapids

1033 Lake Drive S.E.
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
View Larger Map

Mangiamo! is housed in a beloved 19th century mansion just east of downtown Grand Rapids, which The Gilmore Collection has transformed into one of West Michigan's most special spots for fantastic American/ Italian-inspired dining. Ambiance at the Big House is classic and elegant within the beautiful Wurzburg mansion. The attitude, menu and service are refreshingly modern and affordable. Mangiamo! is the perfect venue to host your special event or wedding reception with our beautiful gated lawn and beautifully historic private rooms. Wedding rehearsal dinners are our specialty.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, European, American

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday -Friday 3pm-6pm
Dinner: Monday-Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherry St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 742-0600

Website:
http://www.thegilmorecollection.com/mangiamo.php

Entertainment:
Live Jazz in the Lounge after 7pm Wed - Sat
Lawn and lawn games open to the public.

Catering:

This is the perfect option for in-office business meetings and lunches. Catering options include combination buffet packages, boxed lunches and family-style party pans.
Hours of operation are 8am-6pm Mon-Fri

Parking Details:
Ample Parking throughout the Grounds

Executive Chef:
Gordy

Private Party Facilities:
Three banquet rooms as well as a wine cellar perfect for appetizer parties

Private Party Contact:
Heidi Beyer - Catering Sales Manager: 6167420600x12

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:


The Story

About Managiamo!

The Lawn Capacity 150
Wine Cellar Capacity 35
Small Rooms Capacity 25-50

Our Italian restaurant in East Hills —Mangiamo—is a perfectly charming special event space in a beloved 19th century mansion that is full of character. The space includes a beautiful gated lawn and historically appointed private banquet rooms. Wedding ceremonies, rehearsal dinners, and bridal showers are our specialty. Gilmore Catering services both on- and off-premise social and corporate special events at Mangiamo.

For more information about this unique venue and banquet space in Grand Rapids, please contact Heidi Beyer at 616.742.0600 ext. 12 today.

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Chicken Cavatappi
Calamari
Spaghetti and Meatball
Baked Amish Chicken
Steamed Mussels
Chardonnay
Smoked Amish Chicken Alfredo
Halibut
Ceasar Salad
artichoke fritters
Moscato d'Asti
Bruschetta Jars
Roasted Veggie Salad
Jars
lasagna
Kale Salad
Pesto & Vegetable Pizza
strawberry shortcake
Fire-Grilled Atlantic Sockeye Salmon
Coffee
Grilled Chicken Cavatelli
Grilled Brussels Sprouts
Artichoke
Whole Steamed Artichoke
Chicken Alfredo Pasta
Pan-Seared Sea Bass
Manhattan Cider
Wood Grilled 8 Oz Filet Mignon
Grilled Veggie Salad- (Gluten Free) - asparagus, sweet corn, bell peppers, onion, brocollini, yellow squash, tomatoes, baby arugula, pancetta, bleu creese crumbles, balsamic reduction
Wood Grilled Filet Mignon- (GF)-
Roasted Garlic Brussels-

Mangiamo! Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids
2 More
Romantic
Grand Rapids
Special Occasion
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

special occasion (38)
good for groups (27)
fit for foodies (23)
See All
neighborhood gem (23)
romantic (22)
great for lunch (13)
great for outdoor dining (11)
great for brunch (9)
scenic view (9)
hot spot (6)
notable wine list (6)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
789 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good not great. Service was slo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was good not great. Service was slow. Noise level depends what room you are seated in. The Library is the quietest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Everything was good about our dinning, t ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was good about our dinning, the food, wine and the wait staff. Always enjoy our visits to Mangiamo's

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unfortunately our waitress was overwhelm ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Unfortunately our waitress was overwhelmed. It was delays between visits to our table. The birthday treat for our friend was nice, not the way she inquired about the actual birth date. The food was mediocre at best. The Alfredo was reminiscentof Kraft Macaroni cheese. The valet attendant was kind to take our picture.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

4 of us ordered the scallops for our ent ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

4 of us ordered the scallops for our entree. We each received 2 scallops and lukewarm/cold potatoes - our waitress did bring us 4 new orders of potatoes, which were very good when hot. But seriously, 2 scallops!?

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

we will not be returning any time soon. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

we will not be returning any time soon. Way over priced for what one gets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Amazing food, atmosphere and service! I ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Amazing food, atmosphere and service! I am a vegetarian and I don't get "amazing" very often. From the Brussel sprout appetizer to the summer salad to the quinoa tower I was extremely happy with everything. Great mix of flavors. Our server was exceptional as well. Very friendly, attentive and helpful with suggestions when asked.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The manager greeted us and treated us to ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The manager greeted us and treated us to dessert for our 49th anniversary!!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bland food, with over cooked meat & mold ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Bland food, with over cooked meat & moldy lettuce. The kid's $2 sundaes were the only decent things

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Way too expensive for what you get. When ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Way too expensive for what you get. When I buy a meal I want a meal not just an entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Dry food; lack of selection; disappointing meal.

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Gilmore change in ownership over past few years has meant a limited menu, overpriced food and disappointing ambiance. It's lost it's past appeal prior to this change. This location is not deserving of a "chain" restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

You call that customer service?

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I took my sister to Mangiamo for dinner as a 'going away' get together. I was excited to experience a new restaurant in my neighborhood. The beautiful architecture and fine dining atmosphere was eating away at my curiosity. To my disappointment, I did not enjoy my experience there that night. I felt that everything that could have went wrong, did. Our waiter brought out the wrong bottle of wine, we had to order our garlic bread appetizer twice and my meal was incorrect. My sister had to politely wait for it to be remade before she could eat. The ending of the evening was also a bit frustrating. Our waiter had to come to the table three different times to ask how we wanted the bill split up. We shared a bottle of wine, one appetizer and two entree's. I even went as far as to write my initials next to the items that I wanted on my bill and he still brought out an incorrect version. I consider myself to be an extremely understanding person after working in the service industry for many years myself. Food, service and atmosphere are all very important aspects of the dining experience. All in all my experience was extremely disappointing and I will not be dining there again any time soon.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Always a good experience

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Excellent variety of choices on menu, with unique salads and superb desserts. An excellent place for those who require gluten free choices. Service has always been outstanding .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good but loud

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great food, good atmosphere, but tough to have a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

expensive and ordinary and expect to leave hungry

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

There were only 3 reservation listings left for the entire night when I booked it around noon. I took the 2:45 expecting the place to be packed. the mgr. called me and said dinner service did not begin until 4 though. so I said then we would have a drink and wait.

when we got there the place was completely EMPTY. we had a drink and the server waited until 4 to put the order in. At 4 when dinner service was STARTING the place was still EMPTY? So why couldn't we just get a 4pm reservation?

Then the food came at around 430. My $20 fettuccini and clams was a joke. A tiny appetizer size portion of fettuccini clumped center plate (usually this would be a full bed of pasta)surrounded by a circle of baby clams. My daughters pasta alfredo was a bed of mediocre pasta in a tasteless sauce. The fig prosciutto pizza had almost no meat, just cheese and figs. It was as though they had run out of ingredients or were penalizing us for coming early to an empty dining room.

The server fortunately was very attentive and gave us very good service. If it weren't my daughters graduation with my parents as guests I would have sent everything back. the server asked me how the food was (since I was finished in like 5 minutes) and I said ok but I was still looking for the pasta. He laughed and agreed that the portions were tiny.

Oh yea. And NO BREAD WITH THE MEAL. We had 3 pasta dishes and no bread? Isn't this an Italian restaurant. That's like serving spaghetti without sauce.

Would not recommend this place to anyone. Expensive and Ordinary sums it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The portions of our entrees were a littl ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The portions of our entrees were a little disappointing. I expected more than just 2 scallops when I ordered and my husband's steak was on the tiny side. But the pizzas were a good size and the desserts were yummy.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very busy due to multiple graduation par ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Very busy due to multiple graduation parties which made the initial service a little slow (about 4 parties between 4-16 arrived at same time ) once seated the service was acceptable. The food was excellent including the fish in paper, the vegetable tower with a nice plating and presentation and the filet mignon cooked medium rare just like I ordered. The grilled asparagus was perfect. Price a little on the steep side but reasonable for special occasions. We would definitely come back and recommend to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful food and atmosphere

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Mangiamo! was a wonderful restaurant. The building's atmosphere was meticulously crafted and the food was amazing.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I liked the idea of making reservations ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I liked the idea of making reservations on line, with a confirmation number. From the restaurant's point of view, it was also nice for the manager to confirm that the reservation will be kept. A really nice thing is the parking in the rear with a handicap entrance. Food great; it was busy, so Lisa did what she could and did a nice job for us. If I lived closer, I'd probably be there every other night. Best wishes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Above and Beyond

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

My wife was celebrating her birthday and we decided we had not been to Mangiamo in years. Not only were we happy with the prices, they comped her dinner!

That was Above and Beyond for someone who hasn't been there in years.

Thank you and we will be back in the next few weeks.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Unique food combinations, beautiful house.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our second time here. Food options are plentiful, even for those with special diets (gluten free, vegetarian, etc). Service is very friendly and quick.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Not your typical Gilmore Group Restaurant

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Typically Gilmore Group Restaurants are average in almost all respects. The service is okay, food average, and menu unimaginative. However Mangiamo stands above the other Gilmore Restaurants in all categories.

The menu is unique but not exotic. The wait staff professional. And the manager concerned about you having the best experience possible.

Mangiamo makes every dining experience a special one!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Anniversary Dinner at Mangiamo's

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

It was our 43rd Wedding Anniversary so wanted to do something special for dinner. We chose Mangiamo's because the ambiance is very nice and the food is wonderful. We sat by a window and were well pleased with our whole evening there. You can't top their menu and also their full-service bar.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great atmosphere.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

This is a fantastic place to dine, the food is excellent, the servers well trained, and the unique atmosphere makes for a great evening out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was not happy when I got to the restau ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

I was not happy when I got to the restaurant, as my friend and I had wanted to sit outside, and the hostess said she would have to check with the girls, then another hostess came along and said who is next and I said we were taken care of, and the couple behind us did NOT have reservations and he took them outside. When OUR hostess came back she said we could not sit outside, that it would be a 20 minute wait. I said we had reservations the other couple did not and they got first choice at seating, I was not HAPPY, we could not wait the extra time as we had concert tickets, we should have been granted first choice on seating!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Restaurant needs work

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Calamari was interesting, had good flavor, but was over-fried. Garlic bread three ways was OK. Scallops entree was good. Lasagna was good. Muscles were not good. Service was very good. The building is an old classic estate building. Needs repair, maintenance, renewing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Did not meet expectations

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

We attended mangiamos for an evening out and birthday celebration. Unfortuently the food took over an hour and what we ordered off the menu wasn't available after about 45 minutes . The noise level was loud and table spacing was crowded.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value1

Not Overwhelmed

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Our table was next to a table of very noisy patrons. We asked to be moved and the wait staff was most accommodating. However, the acoustics in the restaurant are poor. The food was only fair. I had the eggplant which was over seasoned. However, the beet salad was a standout. My husband had the spaghetti and meatballs. It was OK at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Very Good Italian Restaurant

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

One of our favorite Italian places in Grand Rapids. Very nice setting, good variety of choices available. We had Brussel Sprout Appetizer and it was some of the best sprouts we've had.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Experience!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Our dining experience greatly exceeded expectations! Food, service, atmosphere were all wonderful. We already have plans to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome experience

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Our group of three was excited to try Mangiamo, and we were not disappointed. The free valet service was an unexpected treat. The hostess didn't seem overly warm or friendly, but she did show us the coat room and then led us to our table, giving us a choice between fireplace or window seats.

Every single moment of the next 90 minutes was amazing. Our waiter, Mike, was funny and knowledgeable about the menu and the old home in which Mangiamo's is located. We were on a time schedule but had allowed plenty of time for an enjoyable dining experience, and he helped balance leisurely enjoyment of our food with fast service to be sure we were out the door in time for our theater production. The food was fantastic!! Everyone in the group is a foodie, and all ordered one of the house specials and each special was great. In fact, the experience was so amazing that my son, one of the people in our party, actually took the time to fill out the comment card to compliment the waiter and the chef. Great atmosphere, great food, great service...everything we could have asked for in a dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Big Sixty

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We celebrated a big birthday with family. The server was terrific and the food was wonderful. We did not feel rushed even though the restaurant was very busy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was very enjoyable. Value was a bi ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was very enjoyable. Value was a bit lacking when comparing menu pricing to table side results. Considering we did have a table of 10, server asked half the table for drink orders sometimes and forgot to ask the other half the other times. Wait for checks was too long. We actually went to the hostess to retrieve them. With all this said, our group enjoyed our experience at Mangiamo and would return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

A 'REMEMBER WHEN'---- MEMORY!!!!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

If you haven't dined here - you're missing a special memory!!!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mangiamo! Always Aims to Please

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I've eaten at this establishment many times, for both lunch and dinner. Each time the food and the service are outstanding. It is a beautiful venue and the staff is always attentive. It's the perfect spot for a date night, for group outings, or even a business lunch.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You always need a reservation to get in, ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

You always need a reservation to get in, unless you don't mind waiting an hour. That being said, I really like the food here and it's got a cool vibe to it. We went there for our anniversary, and they gave us our desert for free!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Night Out

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

It was my son's 16th birthday and he wanted to go somewhere unique and Mangiamo's was perfect. He loved it! We had seafood and steak - both were delicious and the service was excellent! Many restaurants nowadays are crowded and loud, but not at Mangiamos. The atmosphere is warm, relaxing, and we could have a conversation without yelling. Wonderful for a special night out!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Valentine's Dinner

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

We enjoyed the family style salad and entree. Perfect amount of food for 2 people and we both enjoyed it. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable. Made reservations ahead of time and were seating at a table by the window, tucked away from others. Great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A warm and deliciously inviting experience!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We visited Mangiamo! for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed the experience! The rooms are warm and the ambiance is inviting. Red and White tablecloths invite friendly groups without an overly formal feeling and yet, the experience is completely upscale and satisfying. Wines are exceptional, food service and quality of meals are outstanding and the desserts.... a MUST to end your meal! All wait staff were warm and friendly and when we asked to view other parts of the restaurant, they were very accommodating. Overall - an EXCELLENT choice to eat. We'll certainly return many times!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines date

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful evening at Mangiamos. It is one of our favorite restaurants in the Grand Rapids area, and it never disappoints! Our waitress did an excellent job recommending things from wine to our entrees. Overall a wonderful experience, will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's dinner

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Went and had an awesome night with my fiancé. The food was amazing, the wine was delicious and our waiter and the atmosphere were spot on!

Will continue to come back as we have been.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.