About Mangiamo! Grand Rapids

Mangiamo! is housed in a beloved 19th century mansion just east of downtown Grand Rapids, which The Gilmore Collection has transformed into one of West Michigan's most special spots for fantastic American/ Italian-inspired dining. Ambiance at the Big House is classic and elegant within the beautiful Wurzburg mansion. The attitude, menu and service are refreshingly modern and affordable. Mangiamo! is the perfect venue to host your special event or wedding reception with our beautiful gated lawn and beautifully historic private rooms. Wedding rehearsal dinners are our specialty.

1033 Lake Drive S.E.
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, European, American

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday -Friday 3pm-6pm
Dinner: Monday-Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherry St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 742-0600

Website:
http://www.thegilmorecollection.com/mangiamo.php

Entertainment:
Live Jazz in the Lounge after 7pm Wed - Sat
Lawn and lawn games open to the public.

Catering:

This is the perfect option for in-office business meetings and lunches. Catering options include combination buffet packages, boxed lunches and family-style party pans.
Hours of operation are 8am-6pm Mon-Fri

Parking Details:
Ample Parking throughout the Grounds

Executive Chef:
Gordy

Private Party Facilities:
Three banquet rooms as well as a wine cellar perfect for appetizer parties

Private Party Contact:
Heidi Beyer - Catering Sales Manager: (616) 742-0600 ext. 12

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


The Story

About Managiamo!

The Lawn Capacity 150
Wine Cellar Capacity 35
Small Rooms Capacity 25-50

Our Italian restaurant in East Hills —Mangiamo—is a perfectly charming special event space in a beloved 19th century mansion that is full of character. The space includes a beautiful gated lawn and historically appointed private banquet rooms. Wedding ceremonies, rehearsal dinners, and bridal showers are our specialty. Gilmore Catering services both on- and off-premise social and corporate special events at Mangiamo.

For more information about this unique venue and banquet space in Grand Rapids, please contact Heidi Beyer at 616.742.0600 ext. 12 today.

Mangiamo! Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Historic (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Cozy (18)
Romantic (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fireplace (10)
Casual (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Live Music (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Healthy (6)
Authentic (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Business Meals (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Private Room (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vegan (3)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
888 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food for adults and kids. The amb ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined a day ago

Great food for adults and kids. The ambiance is beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food, good service. I was expecting ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 2 days ago

Good food, good service. I was expecting a few more dinner-type options and less sandwiches and pizza. Would still return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

From start to finish we (my girlfriend a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

From start to finish we (my girlfriend and I) had a great time. Our server Mary was great. She was on top of everything. I never had to wait to get her attention if I needed something and her section was full. The food and wine were great. I'll be coming more often.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mangiamo! consistently provides an excel ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Mangiamo! consistently provides an excellent dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the crispy brussel sprouts!!

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved the crispy brussel sprouts!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Smoked Chicken Fettuccine was, way smoke ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Smoked Chicken Fettuccine was, way smoked. Over powering, spaghetti and meatballs mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Atmosphere was awesome. 2 out of the 4 o ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Atmosphere was awesome. 2 out of the 4 of us didn't eat our food, horrible taste. The other 2 entrees were very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value4

I was very surprised . I had a really go ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I was very surprised . I had a really good experience . The ambiance was great! Good food and the white sangria was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed in two of four entees. Als ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Disappointed in two of four entees. Also, obtaining correct bills (1 per couple) was a 20 minute debacle.....not sure I will return or recommend to any other acquaintances

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Had a great dinner. We were seated in th ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had a great dinner. We were seated in the lounge with the live music, which can sometimes be iffy. In this case, there was a distraction of another guest playing along with the musician on the harmonica. He wasn't bad, or anything, (and seemed like a really nice guy) but I was getting the sound of the harmonica in one ear, making conversation very difficult. I finally moved to another seat at the table where it wasn't as annoying but it was still a little too much to really chat quietly between the two of us.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

The waitress was very helpful with glute ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The waitress was very helpful with gluten free options and made sure the chef and other team members understood that this was a Celiac disease issue and not just a food preference. The gluten free menu had a number of very appealing selections, they tasted great. We will definitely go there again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Historic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mangiamo is our favorite restaurant in ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Mangiamo is our favorite restaurant in our neighborhood.. We always enjoy the atmosphere, service (excellent), and the food. We do not eat out often, but when we do, Mangiamo is our first choice -- also to dine with friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, , Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Romantic, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Authentic, Wood Oven, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience this time was much better ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our experience this time was much better than last. My wife's lasagna was excellent, as was my shrimp/sausage polenta. The last time we were in, we were charged an exorbitant price for 3 scallops, but it looks like that has been removed from the menu (mercifully). My only complaint is that it took quite long for us to get a round of drinks, but, in fairness, they were busy. We will definitely be back someday

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Loved the Gilmore Signature chardonnay! ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Loved the Gilmore Signature chardonnay! How can I buy it to take home? Excellent waitress. She gave us a nice pace in our eating experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an enjoyable evening, food was ta ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had an enjoyable evening, food was tasty and we had a great setting of you dinning pleasure .

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Beautiful restaurant, great atmosphere, ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, great atmosphere, excellent food. Great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great building and setting. Sorry to s ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great building and setting. Sorry to say food was very average at best - most offering really where not a complete meal and menu made it hard to round out a dinner. Service was slow but polite. The whole experience was kinda of weird. For example they have valet parking, an awesome historic venue and specialize serving pizza?

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

We went to Mangiamo! to celebrate my Mom ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We went to Mangiamo! to celebrate my Mom's birthday. The restored mansion is beautiful and the bar looked fun and beautiful. I wish we would have gone a bit earlier than our 6pm dinner reservation just to have a drink. We did have a 6pm dinner reservation for 10 on a Friday night and the staff was prepared and ready for us.

The food was just ok - We ordered the calamari, crispy brussel sprouts and the Chef's meat and cheese tray. The calamari and brussel sprouts were good - the meat and cheese tray was ok. I think it was "semi-homemade" with a combo of packaged lunch meat and pork belly. For dinner, I had the salmon sandwich. I was torn between the sandwich and the Lasagna and our server suggested the sandwich (even tho he had never had it). The salmon was such a small portion that I was able to cut my bun in half and make a fuller sandwich out of that. The home made chips that accompanied the sandwich were really good. I think I will try this place again, but go with the Lasagna. The menu is sort of all over the place with options for Southwest, Asian, Italian, burgers..........

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

My husband and I had a Saturday night da ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My husband and I had a Saturday night date. We have lived in the Rockford area for the past 17 years and I can't believe that we had not discovered Mangiamo's before this! It is definitely a treasure and we can't wait to return. Have to give A shout out to the brussels sprouts! They were fabulous!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Live Music, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, what a disappointment as I was very ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wow, what a disappointment as I was very excited to try this restaurant. Reason for going: We took my son there for his 13th birthday.

First off, the wait for the food was exceptionally long. I understand that restaurants of this pedigree take more time to deliver your food. However, the entire meal took over 2 hours and 15 minutes. Drinks to salad to dinner.

Then the food showed up. The scallops were raw and covered in false char resulting in a terrible burnt taste. My sons steak was also covered in false char resulting in the awful taste. My shrimp polenta was bland and the portion size was terribly small. (three little shrimp and a scoop of polenta for $19). My other son had the hamburger and he said that was fine (one out of four isn't bad, right??)

I did speak to our server when she asked how everything was. I explained to her the issues we were having. At that moment, she didn't commit to anything to fix the problem but it was resolved when the bill came. They removed my sons steak and the scallops. Which was very nice of them without a doubt.

I understand these things happen. That said, a place with that reputation and at that price point, should not have mistakes of that nature. I would expect the chef's in back to know the difference between good and bad grilling. Hell, I cooked at Damon's for a couple years during college and I know good vs bad.

Lastly, I will say that the place is beautiful. You just don't see buildings, wood work, art, etc like that in a restaurant. Kuddos for that.

I just wish the food was as good as the aesthetics.

Not Recommended.

Joe

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Fireplace, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

It is a cool setting in an old mansion. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It is a cool setting in an old mansion. It feels cozy and like a special place for a night out. The food is very good, as is the service.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

They accommodated a special order and ga ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 6, 2017

They accommodated a special order and gave us complementary dessert for a birthday. Nice seating by the fireplace. Nice employees. A very good experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Late-night Find, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Much improved! Love the library/bar re ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Much improved! Love the library/bar redo! Good idea having the piano in the library because the bar space wasn't large enough for it. Like the big couches in the library and the booths in the bar. The food also improved - had the Delmonico special and my steak was done medium rare as I had asked for it and the side dish medley of gnocchi, spinach, roasted tomatoes, and mushrooms would have been great as a main dish! We are putting Mangiamo's back on our list of places to eat at!

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fewer food choices than previously. Fis ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fewer food choices than previously. Fish entrees were good. Limited dessert options.

Tags: People Watching, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was not great. Pizza was very soggy ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was not great. Pizza was very soggy and the crust was burnt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Interior design of the different rooms p ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Interior design of the different rooms provides a nice dinner atmosphere. Quality of food is good. Overall worth repeat visits.

Tags: , Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It's a beautiful historic building that ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 22, 2016

It's a beautiful historic building that you have to visit at leat once. The food was average...not bad...not amazing...typical quality dining...nothing that was over the top...but I would go again

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was good and 3 out of 4 dinners. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service was good and 3 out of 4 dinners. Husband was not overly fond of the lasagna. It was a bit odd with the carrots and didn't really taste like traditional lasagna. Also, my coffee could have been refilled. Our dinner was pleasant but nothing to get excited about. Though there wasn't anything to really be very critical of, I will probably not be in a hurry to return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not terribly impressed. My veggies were ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Not terribly impressed. My veggies were undercooked and crunchy. Received no refills of drinks. I was charged for my own and someone else's bill.

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Great service, interesting variety of ty ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great service, interesting variety of types of foods on the menu, fun cocktails menu, big selection of wines, like the venue...it's in a big old mansion, which gives it an old-fashioned, classy feel. The outdoor dining feels like you're in someone's huge, wooded backyard, even though you're in the city.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very confused when we received the menu. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Very confused when we received the menu. Have eaten here before and we enjoyed great Italian food. The name is Italian however the menu is more of a bar menu. Appetizers are mixed in the menu and not sorted. As for Italian dishes, lasagna and Spaghetti. That is it. Maybe this works for them and their customer base but if you are looking for an Italian meal, you really will not find it here. We expected several pasta dishes, chicken parm and a couple veal options. The Italian mainstays. Instead we found Build Your Own Pizza and Build Your Own Burger. Service was very good. Atmosphere is great. Time to change the name to something Bar & Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Dinner at Mangiamo's was excellent, the ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Dinner at Mangiamo's was excellent, the 6 of us enjoyed superior meals, wine and service.

Located in a beautiful period estate in the East Hills district walking distance from Cherry st.

Some history or Grand Rapids hangs on the walls, Great place!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

everything was great, Tony our server wa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 3, 2016

everything was great, Tony our server was very easy going and answered all our questions about the menu.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was changed since our last visi ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The menu was changed since our last visit and I was happy to see some new veggie selections. My veggie burger was very nice. We both enjoyed the meat & cheese tray.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

New menu disappointed. We loved the It ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

New menu disappointed. We loved the Italian menu, now it just seems like every other restaurant. Nothing special about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

They need a better wine list. More Napa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 17, 2016

They need a better wine list. More Napa please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Went for a special occasion and it was a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Went for a special occasion and it was a great choice. Waitress was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful old mansion. Lots of parking.. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Beautiful old mansion. Lots of parking...lasagna is fabulous!!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New menu was good, many different items ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 5, 2016

New menu was good, many different items may be worth checking out

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Worst lasagna ever. Had big chunks of ca ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Worst lasagna ever. Had big chunks of carrots in it. Sauce was orange, not red. Not even a hint it was tomato sauce. If I wasn't hungry and on a time schedule, I would have not eaten it. Was absolutely horrible. Needs to be taken off the menu.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.