About Mangiamo! Grand Rapids

1033 Lake Drive S.E.
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
View Larger Map

Mangiamo! is housed in a beloved 19th century mansion just east of downtown Grand Rapids, which The Gilmore Collection has transformed into one of West Michigan's most special spots for fantastic American/ Italian-inspired dining. Ambiance at the Big House is classic and elegant within the beautiful Wurzburg mansion. The attitude, menu and service are refreshingly modern and affordable. Mangiamo! is the perfect venue to host your special event or wedding reception with our beautiful gated lawn and beautifully historic private rooms. Wedding rehearsal dinners are our specialty.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, European, American

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday -Friday 3pm-6pm
Dinner: Monday-Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Cherry St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 742-0600

Website:
http://www.thegilmorecollection.com/mangiamo.php

Entertainment:
Live Jazz in the Lounge after 7pm Wed - Sat
Lawn and lawn games open to the public.

Catering:

This is the perfect option for in-office business meetings and lunches. Catering options include combination buffet packages, boxed lunches and family-style party pans.
Hours of operation are 8am-6pm Mon-Fri

Parking Details:
Ample Parking throughout the Grounds

Executive Chef:
Gordy

Private Party Facilities:
Three banquet rooms as well as a wine cellar perfect for appetizer parties

Private Party Contact:
Heidi Beyer - Catering Sales Manager: 6167420600x12

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


The Story

About Managiamo!

The Lawn Capacity 150
Wine Cellar Capacity 35
Small Rooms Capacity 25-50

Our Italian restaurant in East Hills —Mangiamo—is a perfectly charming special event space in a beloved 19th century mansion that is full of character. The space includes a beautiful gated lawn and historically appointed private banquet rooms. Wedding ceremonies, rehearsal dinners, and bridal showers are our specialty. Gilmore Catering services both on- and off-premise social and corporate special events at Mangiamo.

For more information about this unique venue and banquet space in Grand Rapids, please contact Heidi Beyer at 616.742.0600 ext. 12 today.

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Chicken Cavatappi
Baked Amish Chicken
Steamed Mussels
Smoked Amish Chicken Alfredo
Calamari
Spaghetti and Meatball
Chardonnay
Ceasar Salad
Halibut
artichoke fritters
Moscato d'Asti
Bruschetta Jars
Roasted Veggie Salad
Jars
lasagna
Kale Salad
Coffee
Pesto & Vegetable Pizza
Fire-Grilled Atlantic Sockeye Salmon
strawberry shortcake
Grilled Chicken Cavatelli
Grilled Brussels Sprouts
Artichoke
Whole Steamed Artichoke
Chicken Alfredo Pasta
Pan-Seared Sea Bass
Manhattan Cider
Wood Grilled Filet Mignon- (GF)-
Wood Grilled 8 Oz Filet Mignon
Roasted Garlic Brussels-
Grilled Veggie Salad- (Gluten Free) - asparagus, sweet corn, bell peppers, onion, brocollini, yellow squash, tomatoes, baby arugula, pancetta, bleu creese crumbles, balsamic reduction

Mangiamo! Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Romantic
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

Special Occasion (33)
Good for Groups (26)
Romantic (24)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Scenic View (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Private Room (3)
Historic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Family Style (1)
Cozy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
808 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very beautiful restaurant. I ordered the ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 2 days ago

Very beautiful restaurant. I ordered the spaghetti and meatballs and it was just as expected, very good! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who asked where they should eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food and atmosphere is the best! Love th ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food and atmosphere is the best! Love the history of this place. Our server Mike was top notch. He is very knowledgeable and makes us feel at home whenever we dine there. Love him!

Tags: Historic, Family Style, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. This was my fiance ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Wonderful experience. This was my fiance's and I first time at Mangiamo and we we very pleased. A little pricey for the portion sizes but the quality was fantastic. We would definately recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Private Room, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Wonderful atmosphere paired with high qu ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere paired with high quality food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Private Room, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great place with wonderful food & a wond ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

great place with wonderful food & a wonderful ambience. So happy we finally ate here! Fodd was exceptional and was reasonably priced.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place! Good food. Very nice decor. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great place! Good food. Very nice decor. I was there on a date, and she loved the place too

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Bad experience, went for entertainment ( ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Bad experience, went for entertainment (not there), restaurant week (terrible menu) seating (against wall/poor area). Ordered drink-service slow; asked for manager, she came apologized and agreed with our concerns, comped our drinks and we left. Will n ot be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Restaurant Week Menu was ok but not as w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Restaurant Week Menu was ok but not as we'd expected. Ordered the greens with goat cheese fritter - dressing was not impressive. Main course ravioli sauce did not complement thr dish. Vegan choc cake was dry .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

We came to Mangiamo for GR Restaurant We ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We came to Mangiamo for GR Restaurant Week. My appetizer (foccacia) was very bland, my entree was delicious (mushroom risotto), and my dessert was very sour with little flavor (Peach and plum crisp.). Not to mention, I had found a hair in my dessert. Our waitress was very kind about it and apologetic (I do not blame her for the incident), and she did bring me a new one (which I honestly did not want because I did not care for it). My boyfriend's appetizer was delicious (smoked salmon spread). He got the lobster ravioli for his entree, but it only came with 4 medium-sized ravioli -- which is definitely not enough. He got the berry mousse for dessert, but said it was much too heavy and lacked a fresh component.

Our waitress was amazing. She wasn't overbearing, she was warm and welcoming, and funny! Not to mention, she knocked our two beers off of our bill because of the hair situation. If I was to ever go back to Mangiamo, it would be because of her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place with good food and a wonderf ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great place with good food and a wonderful historic atmosphere. We were here to take in the GR Restaurant Week menu and unless you are a practicing Vegan, I would recommend not getting the Vegan Chocolate cake for desert. To my non-Vegan tastes is was very bland and a tough cookie.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very warm inside both times I've gone. W ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very warm inside both times I've gone. Waiter forgot our drinks were happy hour and we had to ask for an adjustment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

My husband and I had a great meal sittin ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My husband and I had a great meal sitting outdoors. Our waitress was friendly and helpful with menu items.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great waitress and good food. Skyler wa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great waitress and good food. Skyler was a very nice waitress.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My group of four were mildly disappointe ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

My group of four were mildly disappointed with the seating arrangements. There were plenty of empty tables, but we were placed next to an extremely large party, maybe 16 people celebrating a young lady's birthday (I think). We were seated next to an entry into the room, and a guest from the larger party was seated practically at my back in the entryway. Cramped.

But to my recollection, this is the first time I've been even mildly discontent, and will consider Thursday night's experience somewhat of an aberration.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

I wanted to go someplace different for a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I wanted to go someplace different for a birthday dinner and choose Mangiamo's because it was Italian and in a huge mansion. After reading some of the reviews, was a little apprehensive as we live 60 miles away, but decided to "go for it". We were greeted by friendly hosts and when I arrived at my table they delivered a bouquet of flowers ordered by my husband (which, I am told is a service Mangiamo's). Such a welcome surprise! We started off with the Tuscan Calamari Fritti which was calamari mixed with fired veggies and olives? Very good. Main course I ordered the Fettucine and Clams. The clams where in the shells, which I like, but it also contained smoked bacon chunks, which surprisingly was good. The portion of Fettucine would make my diabetic Dr. happy..... My friend had the Grilled Eggplant Caponata which was very pretty when served and she said it tasted very good. My husband ordered the scallops tasty, but really, there were only two!!!!! For the price and a meal, hardly enough. This portion would probably be appropriate for a luncheon. Upon getting the bill, we were surprised that a Corona beer was much more expensive than a martini and a glass of merlot. All in all, it was a very nice time. The main server was friendly, but as of many restaurants now, you see many different people serving you and taking orders, which makes it hard to have a "relationship" with your main waiter. Seeing this Mansion was fun and worth the trip. We were also surprised by how much pizza was served as this seems upscale for pizza. We were somewhat casually dressed, (step up from jeans) and probably, could have dress business casual, although no one made us feel out of place.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for an evening business dinn ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great place for an evening business dinner! Delicious food, awesome wine and a great team of servers!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First timers. We were attending a concer ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

First timers. We were attending a concert so we didn't want to fill up but next time we will certainly try some of the starters and dessert as well. Emphasis on next time because there will be more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always good🍕

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Always good🍕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My family (10) shared my 70th birthday l ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My family (10) shared my 70th birthday last Saturday evening. We had a wonderful server Gwendellen who took great care of us and who had a great sense of humor. After dinner she asked if she could take a photo of us out by the flowers. Can't say enough about her.

The food was excellent and her recommendations were great. We had a great time from arrival until it was time to depart. We will be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good not great. Service was slo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was good not great. Service was slow. Noise level depends what room you are seated in. The Library is the quietest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Everything was good about our dinning, t ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Everything was good about our dinning, the food, wine and the wait staff. Always enjoy our visits to Mangiamo's

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unfortunately our waitress was overwhelm ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Unfortunately our waitress was overwhelmed. It was delays between visits to our table. The birthday treat for our friend was nice, not the way she inquired about the actual birth date. The food was mediocre at best. The Alfredo was reminiscentof Kraft Macaroni cheese. The valet attendant was kind to take our picture.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

4 of us ordered the scallops for our ent ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

4 of us ordered the scallops for our entree. We each received 2 scallops and lukewarm/cold potatoes - our waitress did bring us 4 new orders of potatoes, which were very good when hot. But seriously, 2 scallops!?

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

we will not be returning any time soon. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

we will not be returning any time soon. Way over priced for what one gets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Amazing food, atmosphere and service! I ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Amazing food, atmosphere and service! I am a vegetarian and I don't get "amazing" very often. From the Brussel sprout appetizer to the summer salad to the quinoa tower I was extremely happy with everything. Great mix of flavors. Our server was exceptional as well. Very friendly, attentive and helpful with suggestions when asked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The manager greeted us and treated us to ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The manager greeted us and treated us to dessert for our 49th anniversary!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bland food, with over cooked meat & mold ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Bland food, with over cooked meat & moldy lettuce. The kid's $2 sundaes were the only decent things

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Way too expensive for what you get. When ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Way too expensive for what you get. When I buy a meal I want a meal not just an entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Dry food; lack of selection; disappointing meal.

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Gilmore change in ownership over past few years has meant a limited menu, overpriced food and disappointing ambiance. It's lost it's past appeal prior to this change. This location is not deserving of a "chain" restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

You call that customer service?

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I took my sister to Mangiamo for dinner as a 'going away' get together. I was excited to experience a new restaurant in my neighborhood. The beautiful architecture and fine dining atmosphere was eating away at my curiosity. To my disappointment, I did not enjoy my experience there that night. I felt that everything that could have went wrong, did. Our waiter brought out the wrong bottle of wine, we had to order our garlic bread appetizer twice and my meal was incorrect. My sister had to politely wait for it to be remade before she could eat. The ending of the evening was also a bit frustrating. Our waiter had to come to the table three different times to ask how we wanted the bill split up. We shared a bottle of wine, one appetizer and two entree's. I even went as far as to write my initials next to the items that I wanted on my bill and he still brought out an incorrect version. I consider myself to be an extremely understanding person after working in the service industry for many years myself. Food, service and atmosphere are all very important aspects of the dining experience. All in all my experience was extremely disappointing and I will not be dining there again any time soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Always a good experience

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Excellent variety of choices on menu, with unique salads and superb desserts. An excellent place for those who require gluten free choices. Service has always been outstanding .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good but loud

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great food, good atmosphere, but tough to have a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

expensive and ordinary and expect to leave hungry

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

There were only 3 reservation listings left for the entire night when I booked it around noon. I took the 2:45 expecting the place to be packed. the mgr. called me and said dinner service did not begin until 4 though. so I said then we would have a drink and wait.

when we got there the place was completely EMPTY. we had a drink and the server waited until 4 to put the order in. At 4 when dinner service was STARTING the place was still EMPTY? So why couldn't we just get a 4pm reservation?

Then the food came at around 430. My $20 fettuccini and clams was a joke. A tiny appetizer size portion of fettuccini clumped center plate (usually this would be a full bed of pasta)surrounded by a circle of baby clams. My daughters pasta alfredo was a bed of mediocre pasta in a tasteless sauce. The fig prosciutto pizza had almost no meat, just cheese and figs. It was as though they had run out of ingredients or were penalizing us for coming early to an empty dining room.

The server fortunately was very attentive and gave us very good service. If it weren't my daughters graduation with my parents as guests I would have sent everything back. the server asked me how the food was (since I was finished in like 5 minutes) and I said ok but I was still looking for the pasta. He laughed and agreed that the portions were tiny.

Oh yea. And NO BREAD WITH THE MEAL. We had 3 pasta dishes and no bread? Isn't this an Italian restaurant. That's like serving spaghetti without sauce.

Would not recommend this place to anyone. Expensive and Ordinary sums it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The portions of our entrees were a littl ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The portions of our entrees were a little disappointing. I expected more than just 2 scallops when I ordered and my husband's steak was on the tiny side. But the pizzas were a good size and the desserts were yummy.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very busy due to multiple graduation par ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Very busy due to multiple graduation parties which made the initial service a little slow (about 4 parties between 4-16 arrived at same time ) once seated the service was acceptable. The food was excellent including the fish in paper, the vegetable tower with a nice plating and presentation and the filet mignon cooked medium rare just like I ordered. The grilled asparagus was perfect. Price a little on the steep side but reasonable for special occasions. We would definitely come back and recommend to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful food and atmosphere

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Mangiamo! was a wonderful restaurant. The building's atmosphere was meticulously crafted and the food was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I liked the idea of making reservations ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I liked the idea of making reservations on line, with a confirmation number. From the restaurant's point of view, it was also nice for the manager to confirm that the reservation will be kept. A really nice thing is the parking in the rear with a handicap entrance. Food great; it was busy, so Lisa did what she could and did a nice job for us. If I lived closer, I'd probably be there every other night. Best wishes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Above and Beyond

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

My wife was celebrating her birthday and we decided we had not been to Mangiamo in years. Not only were we happy with the prices, they comped her dinner!

That was Above and Beyond for someone who hasn't been there in years.

Thank you and we will be back in the next few weeks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Unique food combinations, beautiful house.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our second time here. Food options are plentiful, even for those with special diets (gluten free, vegetarian, etc). Service is very friendly and quick.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Not your typical Gilmore Group Restaurant

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Typically Gilmore Group Restaurants are average in almost all respects. The service is okay, food average, and menu unimaginative. However Mangiamo stands above the other Gilmore Restaurants in all categories.

The menu is unique but not exotic. The wait staff professional. And the manager concerned about you having the best experience possible.

Mangiamo makes every dining experience a special one!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.