About Mandarin Grill at Mandarin Oriental - Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur City Centre
Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50088
View Larger Map

Our exclusive and contemporary modern grill restaurant aims to satisfy both local and international food connoisseurs with a range of classic dishes served with a modern twist. The elegant interior complete with an inbuilt fireplace exudes comfort and style. Choose wines to match your meal from a magnificent glass wine cellar that holds an extensive selection of champagne and wines from both the Old and New World.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 12:00pm - 2:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 7:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
KLCC

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
03-2380 8888

Website:
http://www.mandarinoriental.com/kualalumpur/dining

Parking Details:
Hotel basement parking is available for a fee of 8 Malaysian Ringgit per hour from 06:00- 19:00. A flat rate of RM 8 is applicable after 19:00 daily.

Executive Chef:
Uwe Faust

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Mandarin Grill at Mandarin Oriental - Kuala Lumpur Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
See All
Special Occasion (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Cozy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Business Meals (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Casual (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
22 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was excellent! From the food, ...

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was excellent! From the food, to the ambience and services. We had a great time dining here.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food's good, as always. The servers were ...

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food's good, as always. The servers were really awesome, very attentive to details. Both my partner and i really enjoyed our dinner. We really had a very good and memorable dining experience. Keep up the good work! Awesome guys!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had chosen to celebrate our anniversa ...

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We had chosen to celebrate our anniversary with Mandarin Grill. Ms izrandy helped my husband with the reservations by arranging a banquet of flowers and rose petals on the table. As we arrived, we were early and did not expect to be brought over to the bar area for some drinks. That was an excellent service provided by the staffs while we were waiting. We were served by Hana who was so lovely, very friendly and helpful. To our surprised, Shah came to our table with a box and presented chocolates arranged by the team. Besides chocolates, they also wrote a warm lovely letter individually filled with wishes and also baked a special flavoured cupcake. Our table was beautifully decorated with the banquet of flowers as well as the rose petals and lighted candles. The ambience was amazing as it was located right next to KLCC park. We were greeted "happy anniversary" by all the staffs as we walked past them. Both husband and i were so delighted and satisfied with our first dining experience with MG and would love to come back again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were the only diners in the restauran ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We were the only diners in the restaurant. Ambience is superb, as is the wine list. Superb table given to us. Service was over attentive due to the only diners in the restaurant - we wanted a quiet but stylish meal which was quite frequently interrupted by waiters or the restaurant manager. Food was very good, but not quite the wow factor of the MO Bar and Grill you get in Hong Kong. However, a reasonably priced 3 course lunch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Just a steak grill, no much choice. Serv ...

 
 (München)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Just a steak grill, no much choice. Service level so-so. No amuse gueule, no bread but sorbet after starter (this is a hibit from 1980, destroying wine taste). Great wine selection.

Very high pricing.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

All around very good. Would expect this ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 26, 2016

All around very good. Would expect this of the Mandarin Oriental.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality restaurant in a classy environme ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Quality restaurant in a classy environment. Good steak and fantastic service. The little extras like rose petal decorations on the table for our Anniversary, along with a complementary dessert, were a nice touch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

warm welcome by the staff , food is good ...

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)·Dined on October 10, 2016

warm welcome by the staff , food is good.

they serve on -the-house chocolate at the end.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

outstanding service, amazing food, great ...

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)·Dined on September 16, 2016

outstanding service, amazing food, great atmosphere, overall we had an amazing dinner and a great time celebrating a special occasion in which they made even better.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall service was okay for a five ...

 
 (東京)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The overall service was okay for a five start hotel.

The food was okay overall but the Angus ribeye steak had a lot of fiber and tendon's which made it hard to eat and not as nice. I would not recommend this. The US ribeye tasted much better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We where celebrating our Silver Wedding ...

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)·Dined on August 9, 2016

We where celebrating our Silver Wedding and the whole evening was wonderful. Fabulous staff

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I really enjoyed the fantast ...

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)·Dined on July 30, 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed the fantastic food as well as the special attention the staff gave to us in ensuring we were pleased. Typical MO great staff!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff take trouble remembering customers ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Staff take trouble remembering customers by name and greet with a smile. Food is great and particularly i like the Wagyu Steak.

Apparently the new Grill Manager is new and he did not come around to greet or introduce himself unlike the previous Manager.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and superb attentive service ...

 
 (Newcastle)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great food and superb attentive service from a well known and respected brand well done team

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's our second visits to Mandarin Grill ...

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)·Dined on June 27, 2016

It's our second visits to Mandarin Grill. Great experience and friendly staff. Recommended !

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was was pleasant decent portion ...

 
 (Singapore)·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was was pleasant decent portions the staff could be a little friendlier in my opinion seemed like a chore when asked to explain certain items on the menu. Didn't order any appetisers and three sides to accompany three mains and it was more han enough for us,struggled to fit the complimentary chocolates even.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was pretty average, marble 8+ steak ...

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was pretty average, marble 8+ steak wasn't char enough to bring out the flavor and the fat wasn't render enough. Secondly, steak at that price should be cooked right - steak for my wife was underdone and she left half of that on the plate, just when we were thinking of telling the waitress , she stepped on a piece of steak ( yes it was a piece of steak) on the way to the washroom and this totally ruined the appetite.

hope to see these changes in the restaurant and hope for the best for grill.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Highly recommended!

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great dining experience at the Mandarin Grill. Everything was perfect - food, drinks, ambiance and outstanding service from their highly trained staff. They made our anniversary celebration much more special. Thank you. PS. The steaks are the best in town!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great tomahawk. Lousy dessert, soufflé & lava cake

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)·Dined on April 23, 2016

The tomahawk was excellent. But whole experience was spoilt by horrible desserts. The molten lava cake was hard and cold. The soufflé sinked.Kitchen should not have sent out the bad desserts. Chef and Waitress (bar zone) should know better than send out unacceptable desserts. We asked to change the molten lava, which they did. But they didn't care much about the sinked souffle.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing steak house

 
 (Kuala Lumpur)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Great choices of steak cuts and quality. Great ambient.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Steak house for people who don't eat steak.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 25, 2016

We are American and we eat a LOT of beef. We know beef and steak houses.

Being on expense account we don't care how much a good steak cost as long as it is bold and not overly fatty.

Service was fair, not great.

Restaurant was out of bone marrow.

Steaks were cooked perfectly and rested but served on cold plate.

Asparagus side was shaved and the whole stalk was served, not just the tops.

Wild mushroom side was all white mushroom, nothing wild in there.

Prawns added was not very fresh.

High priced and great ambience but the food was poor.

We came to eat, not wallow and being seen in the restaurant.

Restaurant serving this quality of food would not survive more than a month in New York.

We will get our steak on at other places like wolfgang puck's in Singapore in the future.

Steak house for the KL rich who don't really eat at beef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Noisy and Vastly Overpriced

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2014

The "private room" I had requested turned out t have only sheer drapes for walls. The noise emanating from the bar was deafening. The food was boring. The prices were, for Malaysia, absolutely unbelievable. What more is there to say?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.