About Mamma Maria

3 North Square
Boston, MA 02113
View Larger Map

Nationally acclaimed Italian cuisine served in five elegant dining rooms within an historic 1830 brick townhouse overlooking America's oldest public square - North Square - in the heart of Boston's North End neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Prince Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 523-0077

Website:
http://www.mammamaria.com/

Public Transit:
T to Haymarket or Government Center.

Executive Chef:
Geraldo Andrade/Julio Torres

Private Party Facilities:
Mamma Maria offers elegant private dining available 7 nights a week. With five separate dining rooms, we are able to serve all your private dining needs.

Piccolo Room accommodates 2 -6
Puccini Room accommodates 10 -16
Terrace Room accommodates 18 -30
Rossini Room accommodates 20 - 40
Verdi Room accommodates 40 -50

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Mancuso: 6175230077x2

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Farm to Table, Full Bar, View, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Mamma Maria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Boston
Special Occasion
Boston
Italian
Boston
Best Restaurants in North End ›

special occasion (192)
romantic (175)
fit for foodies (139)
See All
neighborhood gem (126)
notable wine list (81)
scenic view (44)
good for groups (37)
hot spot (15)
late-night find (12)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2606 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional people, service and the food ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Exceptional people, service and the food is epic. Strong traditional and valued hospitality. Great wine recommendation too.

food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Easy booking process and accommodating w ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Easy booking process and accommodating with specific requirements. Food is excellent if slightly overpriced. Drinks menu is extensive but the wine list goes in at expensive. Whilst the private room was very nice, it was very cold. All of these things are relatively minor - the major let-down was the service. Blunt to the point of rude and very very slow. Quote of the night, "...just to confirm, you really are going to run the bill!". What was really disappointing was the return with a second bill with the service charge and another 30 minutes wait!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's not easy to get a reservation at Ma ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

It's not easy to get a reservation at Mamma Maria, but we did on a recent trip to Boston. It's actually our 2nd time dining there. I highly recommend their craft cocktails; they have a full bar, and an excellent wine list. The restaurant is located in a house at the foot of North Street in the North End, by Paul Revere's house. The steps are steep, and there are 2 floors used for dining. There is a bar up the 2nd set of stairs, and a lovely airy dining room that feels like a garden-we ate there on our 1st visit, and we ate on the first floor dining room (more formal) on our 2nd visit. The food is simply scrumptious. So beautifully prepared, delectable, and perfectly sized portions. If you order appetizers and dinner, you will be full! We've tried almost everything on the menu (when you go with 4 people and each orders different things, you can try more dishes!). There are vegetarian options, and delicious pastas. We cannot wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I always love Mamma Maria and always spo ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

I always love Mamma Maria and always spoil us. It certainly was wonderful as always but we were crowded, had two big loud around (not your fault) and the quite as nice. Like I said, I feel spoiled and it was my birthday I missed those tiny, tiny aspects. But enjoyed as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was great! We had the bolognes ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was great! We had the bolognese. They oysters and salads are great starters!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a city of great restaurants, Mamma M ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

In a city of great restaurants, Mamma Maria stands out as one of the best. Tremendous service, excellent food, wonderful in every respect.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

an Italian jewel

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Mamma Maria was highly recommended to us from friends. The restaurant didn't disappoint us. Delicious northern Italian cuisine, beautiful ambiance and over the top service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is rare to have a meal where everythi ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

It is rare to have a meal where everything exceeds expectations. The food was so good we were a bit surprised at how special everything was, even dishes that we had had in other restaurants many times before tasted super good and had more flavor somehow. For us, with our low Canadian dollar, all the food in Boston was expensive, but this was worth every penny. Raphael was our waiter and just attentive enough to make us feel comfortable. The room was beautiful too(there are several small dining rooms, like in a house), but for us it is all about the food!! Since this was my husband's birthday dinner, I am so grateful that it all went so well and he was more than satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice staff. We were originally sea ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Very nice staff. We were originally seated on the first floor and then noticed how nice it was upstairs. We asked if we could be moved upstairs even though they already served us water. They kindly and quickly allowed us to move upstairs. The staff there was fabulous throughout the meal.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I had the razor clams, they taste good b ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I had the razor clams, they taste good but a bit sandy. Lobster pasta is popular so I decided to give it a try, the fillings and the sauce taste good but the homemade ravioli shell is a little too thick for me. They have good wine list though, we love Italian and there are some good choices.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had fava & pecorino for appetizer, Ca ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We had fava & pecorino for appetizer, Carpaccio and Halibut for main. Every dish was fantastic; delicious, very well presented by a waiter that was eager to serve and always with a smile. Definitely, we'll go back!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Italian food in the North End! ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent Italian food in the North End! We celebrated a graduation and were treated so well. Fantastic food & service. I will definitely go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We'll be back!

Dined on May 13, 2016

This is a wonderful, traditional North End Italian gem. Each dish was prepared to perfection, with portions perfect to enjoy and share. Our servers were friendly and experienced at making sure our conversation and our special occasion went smoothly and without interruption. This is the kind of place that you hope will last forever, changing only gradually to update recipes or incorporate new ideas, but overall just providing a welcome pleasure that folks can count on again and again over the years.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was good but over priced

Dined on May 11, 2016

Wines list did not include any reasonably proceed wines

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I made a reservation for Mother's Day fo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I made a reservation for Mother's Day for my sister, her son who attends BU, my husband and me. None of us had ever dined at Mamma Maria before but I had read great reviews about the ambience and the food. The restaurant is located in the North End at the top of a picturesque street in what I believe is a converted brick row house. The ambience was fabulous. The service was perfect. The food was very good. This is a wonderful choice for a celebration of any kind with family or a friend. It would be an excellent location for a romantic dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Night at Mama Marias

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were celebrating our 25 year anniversary and Mama Maria's was definitely the place to go. First of all, they wished us a happy anniversary and surprised us with 2 glasses of Prosecco!! They also gave us a window table on the 2nd level which was a fantastic view of the neighborhood? The dinner was outstanding! I had sea scallops that were delicious and my wife had a lobster pasta, yum,yum. Our waiter and the entire staff were excellent. It was a memorable dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic hide away

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Italian food not for the everyday budget but amazing for a romantic date or special occasion the food is well worth the money but be prepared to drop $100+ for two add drinks and it will get up there fast

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time visit for Mother's day with t ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

First time visit for Mother's day with the family. We all had very good meals and the wait staff was terrific. This is not your average Italian food restaurant - way above but also more expensive. The restaurant is in an old historic house and while being very quaint and cozy it was also cramped feeling at times. It is located right next to the Paul Revere House so plan to stop in there first before dinner or lunch if you can.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

My favorite place in the North End!

Dined on May 8, 2016

My favorite place in the North End!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food in a fun place

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was delicious and the service reasonably prompt even on a very busy day.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Bad

Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was horrible,server was never around, calling back the wrong drinks. Took 30 minutes to bring the check over. Dessert took 25 minutes. Didn't even get to recommend one. Had to get up to find him five times

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

The unique ambience and view, makes it a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The unique ambience and view, makes it a very good place to bring guests during their visit.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

meh

Dined on May 7, 2016

The view was great, but they pack you in like sardines. We felt like we were part of the conversation at the table next to us. The food was good, but not great. The menu is definitely geared towards "foodies" with short, non-descriptive descriptions of most meals.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Classics, plus unique dishes with local ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Classics, plus unique dishes with local ingredients were excellent

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

North End Gem

Dined on May 5, 2016

Very nice Italian restaurant that authentic with a good combination of typical Italian favorites coupled with great fish dishes. Since the menu changes daily, it's always a good choice regardless of how often you dine there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

No longer an Italian place !

Dined on May 5, 2016

Very bad welcome as if you were entering a jail ' Food is ok but far too expensive Service is average.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

North end gem

Dined on May 5, 2016

We were a party of 6 and seated in a lovely private room. Service was perfect, food wonderful, ambiance quiet and calm. A bit pricey but worth it for a special occasion. And valet parking in the busy North end was very slick.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic Dining

Dined on May 2, 2016

Celebrated 18 year anniversary. It was a wonderful place to go. The setting is gorgeous and service was excellent. The food is so well prepared and the menu has lots of variety. Excellent wine list too! It was truly a special place to go for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Pleased

Dined on May 2, 2016

Excellent Service, great setting. Perfect for a quiet meal. Server was knowledgeable and very helpful. Food was great, glad we went!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal I've had in the North End. Top ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Best meal I've had in the North End. Top notch service!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Pleasant Surprise

Dined on May 1, 2016

Got lucky with a last minute reservation on a Saturday night. Easy walk to the North End on a chilly night made every experience inside that much better. Service professional, menu very interesting. Highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Scenery outside the windows felt like be ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Scenery outside the windows felt like being in a play. Great food, tiny tables, intimate and quiet for how many people they were able to seat. Very good service, they did something special for our special event.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Delicious food, efficient staff and great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Loved the restaurant had a lovely roman ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Loved the restaurant had a lovely romantic dinner with my husband. The food was outstanding and the menu was fresh and different . I had the rabbit stew which was delicate,and savory. My husband had the cod topped with lobster. He said that it was very fresh and a beautiful balance of flavors. Over all.. 5 star experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food, great ambiance, terrific ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Wonderful food, great ambiance, terrific service!

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food👍🏻 delicious😊👍🏻

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great food👍🏻 delicious😊👍🏻

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

unfortunately I did not get to eat there

Dined on April 22, 2016

I was called about an hour before my reservation and asked if I could come earlier I made my reservation for 9:30 since I live an hour away the man I talked with said the kitchen would be closing soon and it would be best if I came earlier. Now I was on my way there I was very disappointed.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Quaint part of town. Delicious seafood ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Quaint part of town. Delicious seafood prepared in Italian style. Wonderful service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Outstanding!

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Located in the quaint North End neighborhood, this restaurant is spectacular in every way -- from the historic house ambiance to the five-star food and service, this is a must for all foodies. We reserved a cozy private room (seating for 4) that overlooked the cobblestone street. It was so charming -- perfect for an intimate dinner with friends. We shared a wonderful arugula salad and an amazing clam appetizer. Entrees included a lobster ravioli, seafood stew and a wonderful whitefish. They have an interesting wine list -- all from Italy. Our server was a total pro -- five stars all the way. Not for the budget conscious, but as they say, you get what you pay for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pre-race prep

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Wonderful dinner for everyone! Service was excellent; almost as good as the food. Excellent Italian wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.