About Mamma Maria

3 North Square
Boston, MA 02113
View Larger Map

Nationally acclaimed Italian cuisine served in five elegant dining rooms within an historic 1830 brick townhouse overlooking America's oldest public square - North Square - in the heart of Boston's North End neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Prince Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 523-0077

Website:
http://www.mammamaria.com/

Public Transit:
T to Haymarket or Government Center.

Executive Chef:
Geraldo Andrade/Julio Torres

Private Party Facilities:
Mamma Maria offers elegant private dining available 7 nights a week. With five separate dining rooms, we are able to serve all your private dining needs.

Piccolo Room accommodates 2 -6
Puccini Room accommodates 10 -16
Terrace Room accommodates 18 -30
Rossini Room accommodates 20 - 40
Verdi Room accommodates 40 -50

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Mancuso: 6175230077x2

Additional:
Banquet, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Dinner
  • Lobster Ravioli
Dinner
Lobster Ravioli

Mamma Maria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Boston
Italian
Boston
Best Restaurants in North End ›

Special Occasion (194)
Romantic (166)
Neighborhood Gem (134)
See All
Fit for Foodies (129)
Notable Wine List (93)
Good for Groups (48)
Scenic View (46)
Hot Spot (25)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2736 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely delicious!! Service and ambia ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely delicious!! Service and ambiance were incredible- this adorable Italian restaurant in the North End did not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We make it a point to dine at Mama Maria ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

We make it a point to dine at Mama Maria at least once or twice a year during visits to Boston, and it never disappoints. On this occasion my wife and I both had the pasta with rabbit which was wonderful; and I had the heirloom tomatoes with olive oil and basil as an appetizer and only wish it was possible to get such terrific tomatoes ourselves. Finally, the service was professional and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely place in North End with oodles of ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely place in North End with oodles of nooks and crannies that made it fun to dine in! Our salads were great (check out the one with beets--very sweet and tasty)! All our entrees were great: pasta, chicken and lobster ravioli! YUM! Flourless chocolate cake for dessert was amazing.

I'd return in a heartbeat! A must!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Lovely old townhouse converted into very ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely old townhouse converted into very quaint dining rooms. Service was very good. I felt the wine list was limited, which was disappointing. Baked oyster appetizer was superb, as was the lobster ravioli. Pasta is fresh and properly prepared. Overall a very wonderful evening, and we certainly would return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

All around bad dining experience. The pl ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

All around bad dining experience. The place stinks, literally, probably sewer gas. The service started out quite good, but then it seemed we were forgotten because we sat for about 30 minutes after our entrees were finished. No one picked up used glasses or plates throughout the meal. The wait staff kicked the chairs of two of our diners continually the entire night. The dishes were just okay and definitely not worth the money. We used to come here three to four times a year. In Boston there are too many delicious restaurants to risk coming back here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

A little disappointing this time... We ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

A little disappointing this time...

We went for Dine Out Boston, which makes this pricey restaurant a little more affordable, but the overall experience was less than hoped - far less than prior visits. For Dine Out, you get to choose selected items from regular menu, which is great. But, the short ribs were waaay too fatty, and much of the rest of the meal was meh. The room, downstairs, seemed cramped and noisy. Good, but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

That evening did not start off on a plea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

That evening did not start off on a pleasant note, we drove up to the restaurant & saw they had valet parking & thought that was great. Much to our surprise we were told we had to pay $22 for them to park our car, oh well we paid .

Somehow we lucked out & were seated in a private room for 4 we felt very special. Our server was a very special young lady who took incredible care of us. She was very attentive all evening making sure we were happy with everything we ordered. I had a beet & goat cheese salad that was delicious, two other had pasta with clams & loved it, one had the house salad. The main courses consisted of several different fish entres each one was wonderful, moist, & tasty. Than came dessert we had 4 different & shared, can't decided which one was better they were all incredible. However I think the panna cotta was my favorite it was lite very flavorful & was a great end to a great dinner. Thank you again to our server for making our evening so special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very enjoyable dinner in the North End ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

A very enjoyable dinner in the North End . Appetizers and entrees were excellent . The burrata and salumi plate were good starters . We enjoyed the bolognase and Osso Buca and both were exceptional . Skipped desert to walk and visit Mike's Pastry .

Valet Parking ( $22) made it easy re logistics .

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went for restaurant week with my mom a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I went for restaurant week with my mom and was so pleased with everything. The food was so delicious--from the appetizer to the dessert. The coffee was perfect, and I loved being surrounded by the vibrant night life in the north end. There was a parade going on right outside, but it added to the whole dining experience. I would go again in a heartbeat! :)

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurant experiences o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

One of the best restaurant experiences of my life; the food was brilliant (the osso buco is particularly good, and their other items are really inventive twists on classic Italian fare), the wine recommendations were spot on, and the service was outstanding. Jacqueline (our waitress) took really good care of us, and even though she could rattle off lists of food and wine qualities with the best of them she never came across as stuffy, or made us feel like we didn't know anything. A really fantastic restaurant, highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The night we were there there was a fest ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The night we were there there was a festival so a band was right outside the open window playing music. We did not mind but it took away from a romantic dinner. Food is amaxing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

These guys were amazing. Even though we ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

These guys were amazing. Even though we caused them some trouble they were very accommodating. The food was excellent as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very good meal with good service. The ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

A very good meal with good service. The only complex part of the night is finding parking. They do valet for $22. We will come back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Totally enjoyable dining experience. Bes ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Totally enjoyable dining experience. Best food in the North End night after night. A must do experience for anyone that loves excellent cuisine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service in a very rom ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent food and service in a very romantic setting. Lovely views of the class cobblestone and brick streets. Always wise to make a reservation in advance. Old, brick building, in Boston's North End. Restaurant is on the second floor. It is always a memorable and wonderful experience. From the appetizers all the way through dessert, service was perfect. We never had to touch the wine bottle as the waitstaff is very attentive. Our two appetizers were oysters (huge) and the salumi plate (excellent). I had scallops and my husband had osso bucco. This was the best osso bucco we have ever had. The scallops were perfect. We will definitely be back! :)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place for any occasion! Yes it ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Wonderful place for any occasion! Yes it's a bit pricey but well worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This is a truly great restaurant. The se ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This is a truly great restaurant. The service was excellent from start to finish. The selection and quality of food was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best also Buco I've ever had in my e ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The best also Buco I've ever had in my entire life. I am an avid cook and this dish was spectacular. I also highly recommend the figs & prosciutto as an appetizer. It was my birthday and I had a lovely time. I would definitely go back .

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good food served by friendly staff ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Very good food served by friendly staff who were familiar with menu items and very helpful in describing ingredients and in making recommendations. Building nicely restored. Interior decorations and ambience are excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Impeccable service and an exquisite meal ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Impeccable service and an exquisite meal tucked outside the hectic corridor of Hanover Street. Valet parking priceless. Terrific outing for small groups - cozy and special ambience. Outstanding!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I went to Mamma Maria d ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to Mamma Maria during restaurant week, to take advantage of their 3-course dinner for $38 deal. It was incredible. The selections of their full menu that were available for restaurant week were delicious. I have been telling all my friends to go, and I will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic! Mamma Maria's i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was fantastic! Mamma Maria's is an unforgettable dining experience. Absolutely flawless!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food too small. Not full after 3 courses ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food too small. Not full after 3 courses. But they are expensive

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Lovely spot. Classic Boston Italian. Ser ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Lovely spot. Classic Boston Italian. Service both wait & bus seriously need to up their game.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

I took my wife for our 35th anniversary ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I took my wife for our 35th anniversary and we were not disappointed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was visiting Boston with a friend and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I was visiting Boston with a friend and the name of your restaurant got my attention because my name is Maria :) I felt a restaurant with my name must be as awesome as the one who carries the name plus it was established the year I was born 1973 :)) I loved it and will come back next time I visit Boston. Our waiter was great. Thank you for a great time :)

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mama Maria serves elegant Italian cuisin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Mama Maria serves elegant Italian cuisine. Service was attentive without being overbearing. The atmosphere is lovely and the setting in the North End of Boston is perfect.

Great for couples.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant itself is very romantic. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The restaurant itself is very romantic. We went for my boyfriend's 25th birthday just the two of us. The wine list was a fabulous and our waitress was so attentive. Our appetizers came out promptly and were absolutely delicious. We ordered the veal meatballs and baked oysters. VERY GOOD. I ordered the summer raviolis which were so fresh and yummy. My boyfriend ordered the lobster pasta which he said was unreal. We ordered the chocolate cake for dessert which was right up my ally! Amazing restaurant, great vibe, very romantic. If I lived in Boston (we live in NJ) we would go back all the time!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic all around.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fantastic all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were beyond excited to check this pla ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were beyond excited to check this place after many people said it was the best in Boston! I had family from out of state come up to visit and so it was big deal to take them somewhere I hadn't been yet. The food was delicious- amazing homemade pasta! But the service was.. Not good. Our group enjoyed the entrees, wine and the atmosphere- but when it came to our service it was rather disappointing. I could see our server was a bit weeded, from the beginning of our service and up until we left- but unfortunately the server couldn't even stop by to let us know hed be right over to take our order or check on the food that we received. The dinner was a 2 hour process because of the lag in service. We were hoping to order a bottle of dessert wine but after waiting 30 minutes for him to come over with our wine, we changed our minds and asked for the check instead. When leaving, I asked for the manager and he was completely disengaged. I told him that I understood the server was probably quite busy but we cashed out because of such slow service, he couldn't even give me the decency to look me in the eye. He only replied with 'yep' a few times, no apology or explanation. He simply didn't care at all to do anything except sit on a stool and look past me. Not exactly how i expected my first experience at mamma Maria's to be, especially for the amount of money we spent. So upset that I can't give this place a better review just because of the service.. There's plenty of other delicious places you can check out in the north end..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

The great old building greets you into i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The great old building greets you into its entrance hallway on your way to a dining room. The food is wonderful, and the service is very attentive, without being intrusive!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious but the atmospher ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was delicious but the atmosphere was uncomfortable. We were intimidated by the manager and we felt unwelcomed.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value1

Have never dined here before. The food w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Have never dined here before. The food was excellent. Very delicious and very good service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly exceptional service matched by an ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Truly exceptional service matched by an impeccable menu and quality, Italian food! A beautiful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mama Maria remains the class of the nort ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Mama Maria remains the class of the north end and all of Boston. Absolutely fabulous every time we've been !

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Mamma Maria's has a romantic, old world ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Mamma Maria's has a romantic, old world feel and is located on the cobblestone, North Square, close to the Paul Revere House in Boston's North End. The hostess who greeted us upon arrival was very courteous and checked on our table immediately. Our waiter was very well informed and attentive and made food and wine recommendations, which were appreciated. The bread, served with pesto was the best I have had in the North End of Boston, and the rabbit w/pasta, perfect!!

There are several small rooms in the restaurant which gives one the feel of intimate dining.

Fine dining in a lovely setting.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Since it's set up with smaller dining ro ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Since it's set up with smaller dining rooms there is a chance you may get stuck with a party that is much louder or more inappropriate than your group...this can make for an awkward dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great service and wonderful food. It wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great service and wonderful food. It was pricey but the food, wine, and experience were worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good authentic Italian food. Also, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Very good authentic Italian food. Also, we had a wonderful waitress.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very good dining experience at ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a very good dining experience at this restaurant. Everything on the menu sounded great however the braised short ribs were out of this world. This meal was probably one of the best meals I have ever had. Our waiter was super great and just a nice person. He was great with the kids and spot on with his recommendations. My only suggestion is that you add a little more pizazz to the tuna tartar...it was missing something....avocado and some citrus flavor would be great additions to this dish and more flat bread as opposed to the one bread stick. That's my only suggestion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.