Mamma Maria

4.7
3738 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Good for a Date
Superior local and seasonal ingredients distinguish our Italian cuisine. Our menu is updated daily to reflect market changes. Our setting is historical and unique. Five elegant dining rooms ( most with views of the city) are tucked throughout an antique brick townhouse overlooking North Square in the heart of Boston's North End neighborhood.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(617) 523-0077
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Geraldo Andrade/Julio Torres
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Mamma Maria offers elegant private dining available 7 nights a week. With five separate dining rooms, we are able to serve all your private dining needs.

Piccolo Room accommodates 2 -6
Puccini Room accommodates 10 -16
Terrace Room accommodates 18 -30
Rossini Room accommodates 20 - 40
Verdi Room accommodates 40 -50
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Jennifer Mancuso: (617) 523-0077 ext. 2
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Prince Street
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
T to Haymarket or Government Center.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access
What 3738 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

This is the 3rd time that we have been to this restaurant and each time the food has been exceptional. Highly recommend it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

In town to celebrate a wedding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Amazing food and atmosphere

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

First time guests and not disappointed. James was friendly and professional. Sitting on the second floor next to an open window on a beautiful evening was a bonus. We would return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2018

The food was very decent but not at all exciting or innovative. I have had a dozen better Osso buccos and Caesar salads. There are better Italian restaurants to be sure. On the other hand, the service was excellent and the ambience is warm and inviting. I wish I had liked it more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

The lobster ravioli and the osso buco were both excellent. Service attention was as well.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 17, 2018

The food here is just not that good. My rabbit ragu over papardelle was tasteless. I had to add salt ( which I never do) to get any flavor at all. Portions were fine. Service was friendly if not a little lackluster. It was generally just an barely average meal at a high price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Outstanding food and service. The waiter was extremely helpful in choosing a wine and even let us taste 2 different ones before choosing! The rabbit pasta was magnificent and vegetarian raviolis we're a hit with my dining partner. All in all, outstanding!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Our waiter, Roberto, was very friendly, helpful and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Fabulous!! The food was delicious and the service impeccable. I love this restaurant...reservations are a must no matter what day of the week. I cannot wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Excellent food. Portions smaller than I remembered. Great warm bread. Attentive and timely service. Pricey, so I would not come regularly but it was a fun choice since we flew in from CA, this was a first choice on my list. Intimate setting and fairly tight quarters. Great for 2-4 people. Groups might have fun but annoy other diners.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Food was homemade, fresh, and tasted very good. Service was a joke. Waiter had an attitude, and made smart comments. Glasses were continually empty, and it took forever to get the bill once we were clearly finished with our plate. For spending $200, the food was great, wine was great, only issue was the waiter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Amazing food, excellent wine advice and wonderful, attentive service. My mom loved her birthday celebration. She said it was the best bolognese she’s had anywhere. I can’t wait to go back sometime soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We were welcomed by a friendly host and sat within five minutes of arrival. The drink order was taken and given in a timely manner. The burrata, lamb, and lobster ravioli were exceptional. The lamb portion size made it a great value. Our server was friendly. We were given a class of prosecco and a dessert to celebrate our 12 year anniversary. Our server was very friendly. Thank you Mamma Maria!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Food and service was excellent. Met friends we hadn’t seen in a few months and was able to easily hear each other as we caught up.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Food was awesome and service impeccable. Was very noisy so not quite the romantic setting we were hoping for but still a lovely evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Always top notch! Good wine list and many affordable bottles to. Lobster ravioli was the best I've eaten. Never had a bad orveven an ok meal here.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 7, 2018

The service was good however not genuine and the front desk was rude and rushed us.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 7, 2018

I wasn’t that impressed. The food was mediocre at best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Mamma Maria has been my preferred restaurant for dinners in the North End. It has superb food, a great location and great ambiance. I like its placement on a large historic open space (rare for the North End), with Paul Revere's house at the end of block. The restaurant has a beautiful historic interior. Most important the food is delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

My husband and I were in Boston for a multi-purpose trip and I had booked reservations at Mamma Maria’s a couple of weeks before our trip. The food was exceptional as was the service. We had a great table upstairs by a window and even though there were other tables in our area it felt like a nice intimate restaurant. Our server was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. We followed her suggestions and loved everything we ate. The pesto they serve with their bread is delicious and I could have made a meal just off of that.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Excellent experience overall! Great food, great staff, great environment and a very enjoyable experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

As always service and food are great and the restaurant is located in a great location

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Perfect special evening. 50 th wedding Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Perfect place to celebrate a special event! We did make reservations and had a wonderful experience. Walked right in and food was fantastic, even a vegetarian menu, for our vegetarian son. Thanks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We sat on the terrace where it was light and elegant but also very comfortable. Beautiful room and beautiful view of historic Paul Revere Square. We were celebrating my husband's birthday. We found out that two other couples at nearby tables were doing the same thing, and we all had fun comparing what we know about Gemini's. Mamma Maria staff brought us delicious happy birthday terra misu for dessert. The food was out of this world. Ambience, atmosphere, service were friendly and warm without being intrusive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Delicious entrees. Tables are close together so I wouldn't advise this for private conversations. Charcuterie is sliced paper thin. Friendly service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Exhausted after walking the Freedom Trail and just across from the Paul Revere house we were thrilled to have a wonderful dinner at this cozy and romantic place. a little expensive but so worth it. The service was great and the food was too. A really lovely find.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

My girlfriend and I went to Mama Maria for date night, and everything about the restaurant was fantastic. Great food and drink options on the menu, great view by the upstairs window where we were seated, and the waitstaff was very respectful. Our server we had (wish we caught his name) was fantastic, he was knowledgeable about the menu and gave recommendations and explanations about a few parts of the menu. He even joked around a bit which was very nice. We will definitely be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

This is a well known Italian establishment in Boston's North End. The food is authentic and the service is very good.
The wine list is extensive. We had a very nice evening meal and recommend this true Italian restaurant highly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

I took my just-turned 14 year-old son here while on a trip to Boston to explore history. We had Lobster pasta and bolognese pasta (I can’t remember the exact names of the dishes, as well as tiramisu and cappuccino.

The food was delicious. The atmosphere was great. Our waitress was both kind and helpful as were other staff. Our only real issue was a table of six near us who had obviously had some drinks and were pretty loose and loud with some language I’d rather not hear more specifically rather my son not hear in a nicer establishment when I’m trying to teach him how to properly behave- or I’d just take him to a pub. But, that’s not really the restaurant’s fault. Just the unthoughtfulness of other patrons. Perhaps it’s normal in Boston? 🤷🏻‍♀️

Anyway...I’d suggest trying it...we really liked it.


We stayed off our cell phones, but I couldn’t resist a picture or three. :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Family Trip - Amazing Dinner. Veal Osso Bucca amazing and Lobster stuffed pasta incredible. Service was TOP NOTCH. Great experience. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

My daughter and I had dinner at Mamma Maria's this past Sunday and we were not disappointed! There's a different menu every evening. Our reservation was for 6:45 and we were seated right away. The menu is very diverse, offering meals from Lobster Ravioli to Osso Bucco and Lamb Three Ways. I selected the Osso Bucco and my daughter had the Lobster Ravioli. Each of the entrees were excellent. Service was outstanding. Our night out in the North End was so special. Definitely a must do if in Boston.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Excellent dinner. We had tuna tartare and artichokes for appetizers, rabbit pasta and osso bucco for main courses, accompanied by a fine bottle of Barolo. For dessert, the Venetian chocolate cake and of course, tiramisu. All great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

A great dining experience as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

It was excellent. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and timely. The service truly was perfect! No only suggestion - is to contact the guest prior to arrival if there is a change in plan regarding their initial request. It was my dad's 70th - and I really wanted to the front table in the sunlight and called weeks in advance to reserve - so I was all excited to sit there until I learned while being seated that this request wasn't granted. Not a huge deal - but I got everyone excited for the "special table" and even arrived 15 minutes early to ensure we would sit there.
Other than that - LOVED IT!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

We had a 5pm reservation and I asked the host for the best table in the house (kind of just kidding) and he gave it to us. Upstairs in a beautiful room, in a quiet corner surrounded by windows. I was impressed with the server’s authentic Italian accent; turns out she was born in Italy. The waitstaff was very attentive without overwhelming. The meals were delicious. It was a great restaurant for date night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

It lives up to its reputation and its being placed in “1000 things to do before you die”

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Wonderful time

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Great appetizers and entrees. The Carpaccio with truffles....magnificant. Osso Bucco the best!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
94