About Mamma Maria

3 North Square
Boston, MA 02113
View Larger Map

Nationally acclaimed Italian cuisine served in five elegant dining rooms within an historic 1830 brick townhouse overlooking America's oldest public square - North Square - in the heart of Boston's North End neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Prince Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 523-0077

Website:
http://www.mammamaria.com/

Public Transit:
T to Haymarket or Government Center.

Executive Chef:
Geraldo Andrade/Julio Torres

Private Party Facilities:
Mamma Maria offers elegant private dining available 7 nights a week. With five separate dining rooms, we are able to serve all your private dining needs.

Piccolo Room accommodates 2 -6
Puccini Room accommodates 10 -16
Terrace Room accommodates 18 -30
Rossini Room accommodates 20 - 40
Verdi Room accommodates 40 -50

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Mancuso: 6175230077x2

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Farm to Table, Full Bar, View, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Dinner
  • Lobster Ravioli
Dinner
Lobster Ravioli

Mamma Maria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Boston
Italian
Boston
Best Restaurants in North End ›

special occasion (193)
romantic (164)
fit for foodies (146)
See All
neighborhood gem (134)
notable wine list (89)
good for groups (50)
scenic view (45)
hot spot (22)
late-night find (9)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2685 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went on a Friday night. While the re ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

We went on a Friday night. While the restaurant was busy, they were ready for our reservation and the service was impeccable throughout the evening. Food and wine were outstanding! A definite addition to our favorite Boston area restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our waiter was awful and that can ruin y ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

our waiter was awful and that can ruin your dinning experience! Rushing us to order. I told him we would like to order a drink!The food is very good. The tables are very close together. You can carry on a conversation with your neighbor. The summer menu is not very good. Heavy on pasta and light on meats. No veal other than osso buco? Two fish dishes and no seafood?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The host was not welcoming or courteous ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

The host was not welcoming or courteous to us when we arrived at 8:15 PM to check in for our 8:30 PM reservation. We simply inquired about sitting at the bar until our table was ready and we were told we could not sit there.. After inquiring why not, we were told they only had 4-seats at the bar and someone was eating there.. In general we were not welcomed as one would might expect at a nice restauraunt. Furthermore, once our table was ready, they stuck us in some (empty) overflow room where no one was sitting and did not have any ambience to it.. Lastly, the food was not to the level of the restaurant's prices and the service was even lower.. Will never go back and cannot recommend this to anyone else, based on our poor experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

food and service were impeccable! bolog ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

food and service were impeccable! bolognese sauce was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were visiting in Boston and was refer ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were visiting in Boston and was referred to go to Mama Maria's by some friends who live in north Boston. Great food!!! I concur!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent lobster spinach ravioli! Deli ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent lobster spinach ravioli! Delicious pounded veal chop. The burrata salad was creamy and the accompanying tomatoes were delicious. The service was attentive but not rushed. Overall we really enjoyed this restaurant and would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit, and would high ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first visit, and would highly recommend Mamma Maria's! Food was outstanding!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place so much. If I lived cl ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I love this place so much. If I lived closer I'd be here more often. Too bad it's across the country.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Unfortunately the w ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was great. Unfortunately the waiter was very condescending. I may / may not return for that reason.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The food was OK. The cold cut platter wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was OK. The cold cut platter was presented poorly, did not look fresh and it was quite small for what you paid. The rest of the dishes were just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We ordered three pasta dishes all of whi ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We ordered three pasta dishes all of which were disappointing. The sauces were watery and tasteless, even the Rabbit Pasta which is frequently mentioned in the reviews had no depth of flavor and was skimpy on the Rabbit. The only dish that we all liked was the Pork, very nice and tender. Service was very good, but the food did not live up to expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great location and ambiance. The food wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great location and ambiance. The food was very fresh and light compared to other places in the area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always wanted to go here, finally did. T ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always wanted to go here, finally did. The baked oysters might be the best appetizer I've ever had! The osso bucco main course was also superb.

Waiter was very helpful and courteous.

Desserts don't look that great and are $$$. Do what everyone else does and go to Mike's Pastry a minute walk away.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wine selection by the glass is terrible, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wine selection by the glass is terrible, very limited menu, waiter was not very friendly and ambience was just so so

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We were recommended Mama Maria by the ho ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were recommended Mama Maria by the hotel we were staying in. What a gem of a restaurant just the kind of restaurant you would like in your neighbourhood. Great Italian fare, the beef carpaccio and the lobster ravioli were delicious as was the tuna tartar. Service was spot on and the ambience perfect if I return to Boston this restaurant will definently be on the list to return to.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service. Waiters excellent. Ex ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent service. Waiters excellent. Excellent Chef. I would strongly recommend this Ristorante Italiano.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a nice meal at Mamma Maria's. Th ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had a nice meal at Mamma Maria's. The lobster spinach ravioli was fair, the Ossobucco was very good, very tender. The highlight of the meal was the Caesar salad. The restaurant seated us on time for our reservation and the staff was very good. We did have a problem with our water glass. It had lots of particles of something floating in it. It may have been that seeing that made us less impressed. I would recommend this place if you like fancy Italian dishes and a beautiful surroundings.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Business trip in Boston, went to the Nor ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Business trip in Boston, went to the North End for some Italian food. Google said this place was good, so we went there.

Food was good, wine list was good though a bit pricey.

Service was very good.

I'd recommend it and go back next time I'm in Boston.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice quiet sophisticated place but servi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Nice quiet sophisticated place but service was very quick and we felt a little rushed through. Food was good but the bass with white beans was a over-peppered.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I searched Yelp and other web sites look ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I searched Yelp and other web sites looking for a good Italian restaurant in the North End. This one came highly recommended. I guess this restaurant is well known for its day boat fresh seafood but none of us was too crazy about seafood, so we ordered other dishes. The food was good, but not as good as what the high price warranted or the expectations. Our waitress was very pleasant so that was good. Maybe I would go back if I feel like having seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Fantastic menu served perfectly. Service ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Fantastic menu served perfectly. Service and ambiance are impecable as always...one of the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time diners. Ambiance, service, fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

First time diners. Ambiance, service, food all excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply awesome!! Set in the amazing No ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Simply awesome!! Set in the amazing North End where the ambiance is as good outside as it is inside. Once in, you won't be disappointed by anything on the menu. Each dish is special. This is not a spaghetti and meatball's establishment, this is fine Italian cuisine!! Mangiare!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

As business has expanded, for this long ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

As business has expanded, for this long standing No End favorite, seating has become more packed-in, reducing the charm with such bulk seating. Perhaps if lucky enough to get seating upstairs, it could be less impacted and still provide a special night out experience. The food is always amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Went to Boston for a getaway weekend and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went to Boston for a getaway weekend and Mamma Maria's was a great place for dinner with friends. The service was wonderful and friendly. The food was great! Highly reccommend this as a place to realax and enjoy fine cuisine.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good but very expensive and sma ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was good but very expensive and small portions. Waiter was very attentive but not the host when we walked in. Quite rude to us and ignored us at first.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Any time I visit Boston, this restaurant ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Any time I visit Boston, this restaurant is at the top of my list. For this particular occasion there ended up being 13 with an original reservation for 10. The entire staff were accomodating and gracious in our ever changing reservation.

Incredible in every way!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh hot bread was brought to the table ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Fresh hot bread was brought to the table. The Osso Buco was spectacular and the portions were very generous. The Service was excellent and fast. The puff pastry apple dessert was outstanding. Mama Maria's is by far the best Italian restaurant in Boston.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Absolutely wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food at this little North End restau ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food at this little North End restaurant is superb! The baked oysters Florentine and the warm tomatoes with burrata were outstanding and the rabbit with papadelle and the lobster-filled agnolotti were fantastic. Our new favorite Boston restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific experience. I have been dining ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Terrific experience. I have been dining at Mamma Maria's for 25 years when I come to Boston. Consistently delivers - top notch service and cuisine. Great value.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best Italian restaurants we h ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

One of the best Italian restaurants we have ever been to.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, knowledgeable staff, perfe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Amazing food, knowledgeable staff, perfect way to experience the North End.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A real neighborhood gem. Only a block of ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

A real neighborhood gem. Only a block off of the hustle and bustle of Hanover Street and most of the other North End eateries. Upscale menu with great wine list. A notch above the usual chicken parm and lasagne menus of many of the nearby places.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The lobster ravioli was outstanding!!!

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The lobster ravioli was outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good was very good and so was the servic ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Good was very good and so was the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

very nice. unusual menu items . we had 5 ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

very nice. unusual menu items . we had 5 apps which worked out very well and then dessert - panaacotta is a must. waitress was outstanding (Irish) and very professional .

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great experience . Osso Buco is amazing ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great experience . Osso Buco is amazing ! If you can get a seat in the room on the far right. On a nice night they open windows so you get a nice breeze.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the appetizers- the tomatoes wi ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We loved the appetizers- the tomatoes with buffalo mozzarella was amazing. Figs and prosciutto were good too. The shrimp pasta was not exciting nor was the flounder. Although fresh, the flounder was quite bland and was very thick- not typical flounder. The lobster pasta was small but delicious and had big chunks of lobster in it. Three ravioli total but the were pretty large. All in all it was a nice meal - as usual - but could not give it a 5 this time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous food, wine, atmosphere. A grea ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fabulous food, wine, atmosphere. A great all around dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.