Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About Mamma Maria

Nationally acclaimed Italian cuisine served in five elegant dining rooms within an historic 1830 brick townhouse overlooking America's oldest public square - North Square - in the heart of Boston's North End neighborhood.

3 North Square
Boston, MA 02113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Prince Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 523-0077

Website:
http://www.mammamaria.com/

Public Transit:
T to Haymarket or Government Center.

Executive Chef:
Geraldo Andrade/Julio Torres

Private Party Facilities:
Mamma Maria offers elegant private dining available 7 nights a week. With five separate dining rooms, we are able to serve all your private dining needs.

Piccolo Room accommodates 2 -6
Puccini Room accommodates 10 -16
Terrace Room accommodates 18 -30
Rossini Room accommodates 20 - 40
Verdi Room accommodates 40 -50

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Mancuso: (617) 523-0077 ext. 2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Easter at Mamma Maria is a holiday tradition for many Boston families. Our full dinner will be available beginning at 1:00 pm and serving until 9:00 pm.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Mother's Day with the many families who've made Mamma Maria a North End tradition. Our full dinner menu will be available beginning in at 1:00 pm and serving until 9:00 pm.

Mamma Maria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (99)
Good for a Date (97)
Special Occasion (87)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (78)
Cozy (67)
Authentic (66)
Fit for Foodies (60)
Neighborhood Gem (60)
Historic (55)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Notable Wine List (47)
Quiet Conversation (45)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Worth the Drive (39)
Local Ingredients (34)
Business Meals (23)
Private Room (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Fun (13)
Scenic View (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Seasonal (11)
Healthy (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Hot Spot (6)
People Watching (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Casual (4)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Organic (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fireplace (2)
Waterfront (2)
Vegan (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dancing (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
3147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

We had no trouble getting a table for two on a Sunday in late March at 6 pm. We were seated immediately. From the moment we stepped in until we left, we were treated to professional, warm, and friendly service. The appetizers and entrees were delightful. They were imaginative, perfectly executed, beautiful, and delicious. The deserts, and even the coffee, were also exemplary. It was a near perfect experience (I wish it hadn't been so noisy), and we will definitely return, and we give our highest recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

The ambience was wonderful. The food was excellent. I thought the portion size was perfect, but my date found it a bit small. I would definitely recommend it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

I was looking for good ole Italion food and it just was horrible .

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Terrific cozy Italian gem. They accommodated us even though our reservation got messed up by me. Will go back again.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic meal. Really outstanding quality. Would return over and over again

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

nice place to go and great food

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Our group was a little late and one short of the number reserved for but we were welcomed and waited only a few minutes for a table -- a wonderful one. Service great. My guests were absolutely thrilled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. Will be again around same time next year

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was perfect.. although waiter forgot to bring my girlfriends drink after dinner so we cancelled it then left

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

it was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Yum, yum, yum. Everyone was so happy with our meals. The duck appetizer was phenomenal, the men got the rabbit pasta which they loved and my friend and I go mushroom ravioli. We will absolutely be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great spot truly a gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food was spectacular and the service very attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Casual, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great food...unique menu. Great service!!
Would definitely go back again.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Everything is very good! Especially the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellent! Tasty food, nice service, comfortable environment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Every bite was delicious. Our waiter Raphael was extremely hospitable and ensured we had a wonderful experience. The only downside is that we had a reservation and were seated 15 minutes late.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Mamma Maria is a great date night spot. Reliable italian food in a fine dining setting.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had an 8:15 reservation on a Saturday night, and they called to let me know they were running 15 mintues late -- very much appreciated the call! We arrived at 8:30 and our table was waiting for us. Wonderful food and our waiter was extremely helpful with the extensive wine list. There was a lot of passing around of dishes, and there wasn't a bad meal at our table of 7 people. The Osso Buco was heavenly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Classic Italian in the North End of Boston. It doesn't get any better than this!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This place is so cozy and romantic with great service and amazing food

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Service was rushed as they clearly wanted the table back for later diners - food was average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We have been thrilled by the food and service every time we've gone!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We had a lovely meal at Mamma Maria's. The house pesto that came with the bread was fantastic, and the scallop appetizer was similarly delicious. It's also got a great vibe--it's a house turned into a restaurant so there are all these narrow hallways and different dining rooms. Definitely lots of charm, and great food. The service was slightly slower than we would have liked, but not slow enough to really dampen the evening.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great Italian in the North End! Plan ahead on timing - parking is dicey when there is no valet.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Delicious meal and generous portions. Presentation was lovely and taste wonderfully. Highly recommend

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Went with my wife, had been there 20 years before and enjoyed it then. It is still wonderful, great Italian food, friendly waitstaff and quiet enough to actually have a conversation across the table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

It is the cutest restaurant. It would be perfect for a date or a girls dinner. The food was really good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I went on a double date to Mamma Maria for Dine Out Boston and it was so great. The waiter was so knowledgeable and the food was delicious. The bolognese and the lobster raviolis were amazing. The restaurant is so adorable and I would definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was amazing! It was also an amazing deal because we went during Dine Out Boston. Never could have afforded it otherwise. $38.00 for 3 courses is an amazing deal when most of the pasta dinners start at $30! I would go back for a special occasion or at next year's Dine Out Boston.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My experience at Mamma Maria was great. I have found it can be difficult to find a truly delicious, noteworthy meal in the North End..there seems to be much mediocrity. Mamma Maria is different. The ambience is pleasant, due to the fact that it's located in a renovated townhouse so there are several small dining rooms. Our meals were delicious, from appetizers to dessert. It is pricey, but well worth the experience for a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

An absolute must. Delicious Italian good with impeccable service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Phenomenal dinner. The food was amazing, the waiter was perfect, the night was memorable. Highly recommend and will definitely come back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My daughter's 25th birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great meal, great service, great wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great atmosphere. Separate rooms upstairs. Very good food (mushroom/veal ravioli and fruitti di mare). Fruitti di mare was full of seafood including fish, clams, muscles, cut up shrimp, scallops, and squid. I would definitely get it again. Limited wine by the glass but many Italian bottles to choose from. Very good overall restaurant

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was a big disappointment and especially coming off an impeccable meal at OSTRA the night before.

I am giving it 1 star for the cute little house it is in. We told our waitress that we would be sharing everything while we were ordering. We ordered 3 appetizers and a Osso bucco. Not only did they not split the meal in the kitchen like OSTRA, she would come and leave the food on the table and then went back every time to get dishes for us to split. And Guess what.... .the dish we each got was a 5" x 5" dish that was smaller than the bread dish we had. We figured for appetizers we could live with that and did not say anything ( which we should have), but then she gave us the same 5" x 5" dish to share the Osso bucco as well. (i am not kidding!)

We started with steamed razor clam which was tasteless. The snail pasta ( Antipasti) was served lukewarm on a cold plate that we had to return and asked for a new one. The new one was better in terms of temperature but the sauce was so sweet it seemed like a dessert. Then our duck w wildrice antipasti and the Ossobucco came together. it was left on the table for a while before we got our own dishes. Again the food were lukewarm, too sweet. The Ossobucco was not even tender. and of course nowhere near melts in your mouth. We already lowered our expectation to just tender/ delicious at that that point and it still failed. We gave up and asked for the check.

I would not recommend Mamma Maria. There are plenty other places in Boston that can do a much better job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great service, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food! Romantic atmosphere. Wonderful service. The Rabbit Pasta was fantastic and the Sea Scallops were cooked to perfection. Portion sizes are perfect. Cannot wait to come back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Absolutely outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.