About Mamma Maria

3 North Square
Boston, MA 02113
View Larger Map

Nationally acclaimed Italian cuisine served in five elegant dining rooms within an historic 1830 brick townhouse overlooking America's oldest public square - North Square - in the heart of Boston's North End neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Prince Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 523-0077

Website:
http://www.mammamaria.com/

Public Transit:
T to Haymarket or Government Center.

Executive Chef:
Geraldo Andrade/Julio Torres

Private Party Facilities:
Mamma Maria offers elegant private dining available 7 nights a week. With five separate dining rooms, we are able to serve all your private dining needs.

Piccolo Room accommodates 2 -6
Puccini Room accommodates 10 -16
Terrace Room accommodates 18 -30
Rossini Room accommodates 20 - 40
Verdi Room accommodates 40 -50

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Mancuso: 6175230077x2

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Farm to Table, Full Bar, View, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Dinner
  • Lobster Ravioli
Dinner
Lobster Ravioli

Mamma Maria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Boston
Special Occasion
Boston
Italian
Boston
Best Restaurants in North End ›

special occasion (174)
romantic (150)
fit for foodies (134)
See All
neighborhood gem (113)
notable wine list (80)
scenic view (44)
good for groups (37)
hot spot (14)
late-night find (9)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2628 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd visit to Momma Maria - and again - t ...

Dined 4 days ago

2nd visit to Momma Maria - and again - the food is sublime and soulful. A great dining experience

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My meal was outstanding. Apps were great ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

My meal was outstanding. Apps were great. John the bartender was also awesome. If you are in town, go!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simple,amazing rustic Italian cooking. S ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Simple,amazing rustic Italian cooking. Service was amazing with good ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The chef has talent. Everything was coo ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The chef has talent. Everything was cooked to perfection. The ingredients were fresh, refreshingly different and well chosen. For instance, mashed parsnip with my wife's halibut--rather than potatoes. Not just different but different in a way which enhances the overall plate. The best meal I can remember. We live near NYC, and I have a penchant for Michelin-star rated restaurants. This one was deserving though I don't think awarded.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my birthday on a Tuesday night. I ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

It was my birthday on a Tuesday night. I requested over a week head for a window romantic table. Didn't get that. No fuss was made for my bday other than a candle on my dessert which I paid for. Food was good. Portions are small ...thank god I am small. Service was great...again on a quiet Tuesday night. Prices are high for the amount of food. Wines are high priced. Dessert was good. So I would conclude in saying, only go here for a special occasion when you have extra money to spend. Not your typical menu but good food. No frills, no extra attention. I would recommend another restaurant across the street for amazing food and service along with a great price and menu, Pellinos! So good. Also Artu or Fiore . I dine in the North end Frequently.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last meal we had on our trip to Boston a ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Last meal we had on our trip to Boston and it was excellent. Our waiter was wonderful. If I could give him 10 stars I would. Very accommodating . When we return to Boson we will be dining here for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The fig and prosciutto app was incredibl ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The fig and prosciutto app was incredible! If you like Osso Bucco you will never find a better one than here!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A memorable meal, ambiance, location, an ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

A memorable meal, ambiance, location, and the service was lovely. The menu is imaginative without being precious and self-conscious. There was something for everyone. The food was delicious, portions just right. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! They absolutely deserve all ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent! They absolutely deserve all the great reviews. It's the best dinning experience I have had in Boston. Bravo!

food4
ambience4
service5

We visited Mamma Maria as a surprise for ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We visited Mamma Maria as a surprise for wife's 60th birthday. The host was very gracious as we waited for my daughter who was late. Our waiter was excellent and very helpful in choosing a wine. The food was very good and everyone in our party was very happy with their meal.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

For some reason, hadn't eaten there in m ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

For some reason, hadn't eaten there in many years. My loss. We had a wonderful meal. Really something special at gourmet level. Not inexpensive but worth it. Found the wine list extensive with expensive wines. Hardput to find moderately priced good value wines. Friendly people at table next to ours said you can BYOB but corkage fee was $30. (Most places charge 5-10). All told though, excellent for special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Mamma Maria's is my favourite restaurant in Boston

Dined on June 11, 2016

Not being a local and never having lived in Boston, I was introduced to Mamma Maria's some thirty years or so ago and found it to be a wonderful restaurant - pleasant ambiance, excellent food, nice wine list and great service. Ever since, I make every effort to revisit whenever I am in Boston - and I am never disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Try the rabbit pasta, awesome!!! Food i ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Try the rabbit pasta, awesome!!! Food is a bit overpriced but really good.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great dining experience and the ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

We had a great dining experience and the food was outstanding! We were visiting Boston with our young children, the wait staff was great with the kids, including my fussy 7 year old who does not like all food! They made him feel special and went out of their way to assist! The food was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on June 10, 2016

This was our 4th time here and as always it was outstanding. This was our first time sitting on the open-air side of the room ad it was spectacular. Thought we were in Italy! Food was amazing and the service was great. Awesome night!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great special occassion restaurant

Dined on June 6, 2016

Mamma Maria's is my go-to place when traveling to Boston and I have a special occasion. Most recent visit was for a business dinner with an out of town guest. Location in North End added to the charm. Waiter did a wonderful job of being informative but out of the way.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Culinary Delight

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Wonderful meal, attentive waitstaff. I give my experience 5 Stars

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a great eating experience I had d ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

It was a great eating experience I had dinner with my Wife and we were both pleased

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A star offering wonderful Italian food

Dined on June 3, 2016

There are plenty of other italian around in the north end but this one is head and shoulders above the rest. The dining room is intmate and the service personal and attentive. The wine list is extensive. But the star is the original and very very delicious food. Definitely returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Food was good but limited menu. Carpacci ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was good but limited menu. Carpaccio was sliced too thin to even pick up and over powered by capers and olive oil.

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

No visit to Boston would be complete wit ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

No visit to Boston would be complete without a dinner at Mamma Maria. Great food and service and intimate ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Wow...what a great setting for a romanti ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Wow...what a great setting for a romantic and quiet dinner - albeit at 5:30pm. The food was excellent, me having the Pasta Bolognese and my wife having the Monkfish and Lobster over a Black Risotto. By the end of the meal, the place was packed and the noise level getting quite robust. I would suggest an early or late dinner, unless you like shouting above the din.

food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional people, service and the food ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Exceptional people, service and the food is epic. Strong traditional and valued hospitality. Great wine recommendation too.

food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Easy booking process and accommodating w ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Easy booking process and accommodating with specific requirements. Food is excellent if slightly overpriced. Drinks menu is extensive but the wine list goes in at expensive. Whilst the private room was very nice, it was very cold. All of these things are relatively minor - the major let-down was the service. Blunt to the point of rude and very very slow. Quote of the night, "...just to confirm, you really are going to run the bill!". What was really disappointing was the return with a second bill with the service charge and another 30 minutes wait!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's not easy to get a reservation at Ma ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

It's not easy to get a reservation at Mamma Maria, but we did on a recent trip to Boston. It's actually our 2nd time dining there. I highly recommend their craft cocktails; they have a full bar, and an excellent wine list. The restaurant is located in a house at the foot of North Street in the North End, by Paul Revere's house. The steps are steep, and there are 2 floors used for dining. There is a bar up the 2nd set of stairs, and a lovely airy dining room that feels like a garden-we ate there on our 1st visit, and we ate on the first floor dining room (more formal) on our 2nd visit. The food is simply scrumptious. So beautifully prepared, delectable, and perfectly sized portions. If you order appetizers and dinner, you will be full! We've tried almost everything on the menu (when you go with 4 people and each orders different things, you can try more dishes!). There are vegetarian options, and delicious pastas. We cannot wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I always love Mamma Maria and always spo ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

I always love Mamma Maria and always spoil us. It certainly was wonderful as always but we were crowded, had two big loud around (not your fault) and the quite as nice. Like I said, I feel spoiled and it was my birthday I missed those tiny, tiny aspects. But enjoyed as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was great! We had the bolognes ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was great! We had the bolognese. They oysters and salads are great starters!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a city of great restaurants, Mamma M ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

In a city of great restaurants, Mamma Maria stands out as one of the best. Tremendous service, excellent food, wonderful in every respect.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

an Italian jewel

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Mamma Maria was highly recommended to us from friends. The restaurant didn't disappoint us. Delicious northern Italian cuisine, beautiful ambiance and over the top service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is rare to have a meal where everythi ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

It is rare to have a meal where everything exceeds expectations. The food was so good we were a bit surprised at how special everything was, even dishes that we had had in other restaurants many times before tasted super good and had more flavor somehow. For us, with our low Canadian dollar, all the food in Boston was expensive, but this was worth every penny. Raphael was our waiter and just attentive enough to make us feel comfortable. The room was beautiful too(there are several small dining rooms, like in a house), but for us it is all about the food!! Since this was my husband's birthday dinner, I am so grateful that it all went so well and he was more than satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice staff. We were originally sea ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Very nice staff. We were originally seated on the first floor and then noticed how nice it was upstairs. We asked if we could be moved upstairs even though they already served us water. They kindly and quickly allowed us to move upstairs. The staff there was fabulous throughout the meal.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I had the razor clams, they taste good b ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I had the razor clams, they taste good but a bit sandy. Lobster pasta is popular so I decided to give it a try, the fillings and the sauce taste good but the homemade ravioli shell is a little too thick for me. They have good wine list though, we love Italian and there are some good choices.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had fava & pecorino for appetizer, Ca ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We had fava & pecorino for appetizer, Carpaccio and Halibut for main. Every dish was fantastic; delicious, very well presented by a waiter that was eager to serve and always with a smile. Definitely, we'll go back!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Italian food in the North End! ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent Italian food in the North End! We celebrated a graduation and were treated so well. Fantastic food & service. I will definitely go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We'll be back!

Dined on May 13, 2016

This is a wonderful, traditional North End Italian gem. Each dish was prepared to perfection, with portions perfect to enjoy and share. Our servers were friendly and experienced at making sure our conversation and our special occasion went smoothly and without interruption. This is the kind of place that you hope will last forever, changing only gradually to update recipes or incorporate new ideas, but overall just providing a welcome pleasure that folks can count on again and again over the years.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was good but over priced

Dined on May 11, 2016

Wines list did not include any reasonably proceed wines

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I made a reservation for Mother's Day fo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I made a reservation for Mother's Day for my sister, her son who attends BU, my husband and me. None of us had ever dined at Mamma Maria before but I had read great reviews about the ambience and the food. The restaurant is located in the North End at the top of a picturesque street in what I believe is a converted brick row house. The ambience was fabulous. The service was perfect. The food was very good. This is a wonderful choice for a celebration of any kind with family or a friend. It would be an excellent location for a romantic dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Night at Mama Marias

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were celebrating our 25 year anniversary and Mama Maria's was definitely the place to go. First of all, they wished us a happy anniversary and surprised us with 2 glasses of Prosecco!! They also gave us a window table on the 2nd level which was a fantastic view of the neighborhood? The dinner was outstanding! I had sea scallops that were delicious and my wife had a lobster pasta, yum,yum. Our waiter and the entire staff were excellent. It was a memorable dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic hide away

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Italian food not for the everyday budget but amazing for a romantic date or special occasion the food is well worth the money but be prepared to drop $100+ for two add drinks and it will get up there fast

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time visit for Mother's day with t ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

First time visit for Mother's day with the family. We all had very good meals and the wait staff was terrific. This is not your average Italian food restaurant - way above but also more expensive. The restaurant is in an old historic house and while being very quaint and cozy it was also cramped feeling at times. It is located right next to the Paul Revere House so plan to stop in there first before dinner or lunch if you can.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.