About Mamma Maria

3 North Square
Boston, MA 02113
View Larger Map

Nationally acclaimed Italian cuisine served in five elegant dining rooms within an historic 1830 brick townhouse overlooking America's oldest public square - North Square - in the heart of Boston's North End neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Prince Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 523-0077

Website:
http://www.mammamaria.com/

Public Transit:
T to Haymarket or Government Center.

Executive Chef:
Geraldo Andrade/Julio Torres

Private Party Facilities:
Mamma Maria offers elegant private dining available 7 nights a week. With five separate dining rooms, we are able to serve all your private dining needs.

Piccolo Room accommodates 2 -6
Puccini Room accommodates 10 -16
Terrace Room accommodates 18 -30
Rossini Room accommodates 20 - 40
Verdi Room accommodates 40 -50

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Mancuso: 6175230077x2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Dinner - Mamma Maria, Boston, MA
  • Lobster Ravioli - Mamma Maria, Boston, MA
Dinner - Mamma Maria, Boston, MA
Lobster Ravioli - Mamma Maria, Boston, MA

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

New Year's at Mamma Maria is an annual tradition for many local couples and families. $80 per person includes a three course special occasion menu with 11 starter choices, 11 entree choices and 3 desserts. Follow us on Instagram for details.. Full menu will be posted by 12/15

Mamma Maria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Boston
Italian
Boston
Best Restaurants in North End ›

Special Occasion (117)
Romantic (105)
Neighborhood Gem (85)
See All
Fit for Foodies (81)
Good for a Date (81)
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Notable Wine List (57)
Authentic (53)
Cozy (48)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Historic (36)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Local Ingredients (28)
Business Meals (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Scenic View (21)
Comfort Food (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Seasonal (11)
Family Style (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Fun (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Healthy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Private Room (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Casual (7)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (3)
Tapas (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2846 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Truly outstanding, came highly recommend ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Truly outstanding, came highly recommended and didn't disappoint. One could tell the entrees are individually prepared, osabucco came right off the bone.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Apps a little overpriced and portions on ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Apps a little overpriced and portions on the smaller size but great flavors. Felt they were hurrying us along so they could turn the table quickly...in and out in about an hour, no opportunity to enjoy some wine and soak up some of the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

loved the squash tortelloni and beet sal ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 23, 2016

loved the squash tortelloni and beet salad. the rabbit pasta is a bit bland. osso bucco is excellent. Duck appetizer was a favorite, as was the mozzerella with tomatoes. the waiter was very attentive. Tiramisu was shared among 2 and excellent. panna cotta was excellent. Not too noisy the day before thanksgiving, but still very busy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Arrived at 5:00pm, right when the restau ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Arrived at 5:00pm, right when the restaurant opened as we had tickets to the Bruins game for 7:00pm. Staff was excellent from beginning to end. I had the lobster haddock which was delicious (except the risotto was a little salty) and my husband had the Osso Buco which melted off the bone. Overall a great dining experience. Very authentic Italian North End.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A charming restaurant, in an old buildin ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A charming restaurant, in an old building, in a nice small "square".

We would return.

Food was excellent, and the wine choice large. The wine was rather expensive, and the Barolo we had is something we had enjoyed in Piedmont itself. The food is very authentic Italian style, and we particularly enjoyed the rabbit pasta.

Our waiter and the maitré were very welcoming and knowledgeable. The restaurant itself is somewhat cramped, and the noise live therefore rather uncomfortable when full.

Unfortunately we would have arrived late for our reservation, but on the telephone they were very accommodating and re-booked, despite being very busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food in a great location!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food in a great location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

A different menu every evening, deliciou ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 17, 2016

A different menu every evening, delicious food, and great service. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience, food was unbelievable, ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great experience, food was unbelievable, has window view of north Square, valet parking a plus, overall definitely heading back fir a second round

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of my best meals ever !!! Authenti ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

One of my best meals ever !!! Authentic Italian yet not a bit old fashioned except for the great service

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing dinner. We shared the b ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 15, 2016

What an amazing dinner. We shared the beef with pasta carbonara and a seafood risotto dish. Both were delicious, and they were able to make the pasta gluten free. Wine pairings were excellent, and they gave us limoncello on the house as we were celebrating a birthday. Will definitely come back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in the North End of Bost ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Best restaurant in the North End of Boston and I'm from Boston! The atmosphere is so cozy and inviting.

The service was exceptional and the food outstanding.

A Boston Gem!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice staff Accommodating Tight seating

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Nice staff

Accommodating

Tight seating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Ambience, food & service was excellent! ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Ambience, food & service was excellent! We were not rushed at all & the waiter helped us pick out a very good, reasonably priced bottle of wine... Veal with Risotto dish & Lobster, Short Rib Pasta dish were both great. Save room for the Tiramisu!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent service from the staff and man ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Excellent service from the staff and manager, very attending but not hovering, fine food in a nice setting. Perfect date night place with lots of ambiance and history.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. Our server seem ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food was excellent. Our server seemed to try hard to get us to order the most expensive items on the menu and wine list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Always outstanding. The service in the t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Always outstanding. The service in the theater both equally excellent. The osso buco is not to be missed. The service never misses and the desserts are amazing. This is both the local and tourist favorite.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Mamma Maria for a date night. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We went to Mamma Maria for a date night. Luckily we had a gift card because boy is this place pricey! One dish was awful, and two were phenomenal. We started with the Meatball appetizer, each took one bite, and nothing more. The meatballs were incredibly dense and chewy... Seriously I could've thrown it at a window and it would've gone straight through. Also the marinara sauce had red and yellow peppers which is criminal in my book. For being a restaurant in the North End, how on earth do you mess up meatballs?! We were skeptical heading into the second course, but it was absolutely delicious. My boyfriend got the Osso Buco which was phenomenal, but it was $50 which I felt was on the pricey side. Don't get me wrong... the meat was savory, risotto cooked to perfection, and sauce stick-to-your-ribs good. I got the Lobster Agnolotti which was also phenomenal, but again very pricey for a relatively small amount of food at $48.

Long story short, Mamma Maria a splurge. It's not the traditional North End meal where you take home yummy leftovers. There's no chicken parm, lasagna, or spaghetti on the menu. The one traditional dish (meatballs) were cooked in a very nontraditional way. I'd say this is fit for foodies, but doesn't have the big bowl of pasta that the North End is so wonderfully known for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Exceptional in every way...wonderful cui ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Exceptional in every way...wonderful cuisine, attentive and caring service, lovely atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a place for real Italian food and ge ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Not a place for real Italian food and generally not to my liking. The combinations are foreign to the Italian kitchen but rather represent the American tendency to mix many different flavors and ingredients. I've ordered a black risotto with code fish and mussels. The mussels had shall flakes or sand inside them so eating them wasn't very pleasant. The waiter kept bringing new bottles of sparking water (which you are obviously charged for) without asking us, and even as we were finishing our desert and our glasses were still full. This is unheard of and simply rode.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Overall fine experience. Arrived early b ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Overall fine experience. Arrived early but was seated right away. Service and food was first rate. Only issue: seating was way too tight, no privacy or sense of intimate dining. Diminished the overall effect of the fine food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Italian in The Old North End. Ser ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great Italian in The Old North End. Service is attentive, and food is excellent. Not inexpensive, but worth the price for the quality and preparation. Setting is charming, and cozy. Have been here three times and have not been disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best Italian restaurants I ha ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 3, 2016

One of the best Italian restaurants I have eaten at

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The 4 star rating threw me. Food was av ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The 4 star rating threw me. Food was average and prices high.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

As usual great meal with the family for ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

As usual great meal with the family for Sunday night dinner.

Apps were great ...shared the meatballs (yes get them) and baked oysters

Dinner was also good - striped bass was great, rabbit pasta excellent (yes it is a bunny but really good) and the bolognese was just a classic

Service was attentive but a little over the top at times...trying too hard, huge pours of the wine... but overall it was fine

If you want a nice meal in the north end you have to try Mamma Maria

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food is excellent and prepared like a fi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food is excellent and prepared like a fine restaurant. Certainly not your typical, casual North End style Italian family restaurant, although there is nothing wrong with them, either. This is a classy, sophisticated restaurant that somehow doesn't fit the name Mamma Maria's. Should just be Maria's. My father uses a walker - we entered via a handicapped side door with our table two steps away - how convenient. Great ambiance and ideal for intimate conversation. Food is creative, menu has a lot of interesting and exotic choices along with more basic options. Waiters and waitstaff were well deployed and attentive. I might go here again, even though I usually go to the Daily Catch. Surprised.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, wine and service were outstanding. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food, wine and service were outstanding. Our party of 5 was seated at a corner table which was intimate and comfortable. Wine recommendations were spot on. All in all, a memorable meal.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our dinner at Mamma Maria's could not ha ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our dinner at Mamma Maria's could not have been lovelier! The food was delicious and the staff were genuinely friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food never disappoints at Mamma Mari ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food never disappoints at Mamma Maria, and the setting and service are always top shelf. This has moved to the top of our list for best food in Boston. Will go back many time I am sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Italian food in the North End. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wonderful Italian food in the North End. Worth the trip

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place outdid itself again. We held ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This place outdid itself again. We held our rehearsal dinner here in August and we were back for a special occasion. The service and food were outstanding. They were so kind to even provide us with Free Dessert as a welcome back/thank you. I can't wait to go back again and will most likely host a business function there in the future.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The restaurant is charming inside and ou ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The restaurant is charming inside and out. The service was excellent. Our waiter, Dipu, was friendly and knowledgeable. The food was very good. We plan on returning next time we visit Boston.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pretty place but tight quarters. Food is ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Pretty place but tight quarters. Food is overrated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Dinner with friends was memorable. The s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Dinner with friends was memorable. The service excellent the wind recommendation spot on the food impeccable. We had a blast our server Roberto did a fantastic job and a couple cocktails at the end of the meal at the bar was fun. One of the better Italian meals I've ever had. My personal preferences are the Oso Buco, the carpaccio appetizer, and the gnocchi appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Mama Maria's was a highlight of our Bost ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Mama Maria's was a highlight of our Boston 4 day trip. It is in a narrow historic house in the North End, the Italian area of Boston. The name makes you think of pasta and checkered table cloths, which it definitely is not. It is beautifully decorated in a classic style, tables rather close and excellent food. We had pork tenderloin with roasted beets, preceded by baked oysters Rockefeller style. The neighborhood has narrow cobble stone streets, a short walk to Mike's Pastry, an institution, open till 10pm and packed, for fresh canolis and other treats.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Osso bucco was fabulous! Rabbit dish go ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Osso bucco was fabulous! Rabbit dish good, not fabulous. All antipastos were delicious. Desserts spectacular! Great wine list. Would recommend highly. Crowded, but good ambiance! Waitstaff was attentive and knowledgeable. Don't be late (Boston traffic can make you late...leave extra time)...they may not seat you after 15 minutes. Besides worry of being late due to traffic, a wonderful dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic restaurant. Nice location and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Fantastic restaurant. Nice location and ambiance. Geat food and service. Nice area to walk around in the North End. I love this restaurant!

Tags: Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Tapas, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was to noisy for a business meal. Als ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 25, 2016

It was to noisy for a business meal. Also the waiter was in a hurry to serve the dishes and get us out of there. My main course arrived while I was still eating my first course. I think this is unacceptable in a restaurant. The food was good but the service and noise was a problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Great overall! Great service and food. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great overall! Great service and food. We called and changed the number in our party a few times and the host was extremely pleasant and accommodating. Will definitely go again!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful meal. We will certainl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

What a wonderful meal. We will certainly return next time we are in Boston. The food was lovely and the service excellent. Unlike other reviewers, we did not have to wait at all for our table.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We felt lucky to get a reservation at th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We felt lucky to get a reservation at this popular restaurant. I ordered Shrimp Scampi. It was described as with corn and bacon, sounded delish. The dish came with the whole shrimp, body and shell! After I pulled off the body and shell I was left with 6 shrimp about 30 count. The shrimp had been sprinkled with seasonings which were discarded with the shell and body.

This left me with a plate of linguine, fresh corn, tasteless bacon bits and tasteless shrimp.

Needless to say, what a disappointing meal. My wife had the rabbit which was good.

Appetizers were OK too. Nothing outstanding, just OK. and expensive for what was served.

Many better choices available close by. Who serves shrimp with the body and shell??? Lame!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.