About Mamma Maria

3 North Square
Boston, MA 02113
View Larger Map

Nationally acclaimed Italian cuisine served in five elegant dining rooms within an historic 1830 brick townhouse overlooking America's oldest public square - North Square - in the heart of Boston's North End neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Prince Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 523-0077

Website:
http://www.mammamaria.com/

Public Transit:
T to Haymarket or Government Center.

Executive Chef:
Geraldo Andrade/Julio Torres

Private Party Facilities:
Mamma Maria offers elegant private dining available 7 nights a week. With five separate dining rooms, we are able to serve all your private dining needs.

Piccolo Room accommodates 2 -6
Puccini Room accommodates 10 -16
Terrace Room accommodates 18 -30
Rossini Room accommodates 20 - 40
Verdi Room accommodates 40 -50

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Mancuso: (617) 523-0077 ext. 2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Mamma Maria will be offering a large special occasion menu with 11 starters, 11 main courses, and 3 desserts @ $80 per person. Menu will be posted on our Instagram account:(mammamariaboston) beginning February 1.

Mamma Maria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (88)
Special Occasion (80)
Romantic (74)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Cozy (55)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Authentic (49)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Historic (42)
Notable Wine List (39)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Local Ingredients (36)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Business Meals (23)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Seasonal (13)
Scenic View (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Family Style (10)
Private Room (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Fun (8)
Healthy (8)
Casual (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Organic (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
3048 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Another overpriced, overrated, underwhel ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Another overpriced, overrated, underwhelming dinner in the North End and served by a waitress with an attitude. If you're looking for authentic, high quality Italian food you need to go elsewhere.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Excellent food throughout the meal, very ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food throughout the meal, very good service from Jacqueline, ground floor dining room elegant and has a nice atmosphere. Tables are a little close together. If you have a 5pm reservation be aware that you may not get access till close to the appointed hour.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Such a lovely evening upstairs on "the ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Such a lovely evening upstairs on "the porch". Great service and the yummiest food. We always love Mamma Marias. We've never been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you havent had the ossobucco here the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

If you havent had the ossobucco here then you are missing out. My girlfriend had the scallops and they were divine as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So wonderful I went back the next night ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

So wonderful I went back the next night while on business travel!!!!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent all the way around! Raphael ou ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent all the way around! Raphael our server was so sweet. We don't get to go out to eat like this very often.. we went for our 1 year anniversary and it was so special. Would recommend to anyone looking for a intimate night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal , great service

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great meal , great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After reading other reviews my expectati ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

After reading other reviews my expectations were high and was not disappointed. The food was excellent and the service was impeccable! We were celebrating a special occasion and thought this would be the perfect venue. The room we were in was a little loud though as a large business group was also dining in there. I think maybe the restaurant could help with this issue by placing couples in a separate room where the atmosphere would be a bit more "romantic" and conducive for dining and talking for two. Overall though this was a wonderful experience and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just the best! I can't say it more clea ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Just the best! I can't say it more clearly than that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance and location are nice but t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The ambiance and location are nice but the food is next-level good. This place is not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My tortelloni two ways was fantastic, as ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

My tortelloni two ways was fantastic, as was our son's rabbit pasta. A couple of things we had planned to order weren't on the menu, but we appreciate that they use fresh, seasonal ingredients. We'll just have to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The setting was lovely. The service was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The setting was lovely. The service was attentive and gracious. The food was quite good, but marred by the fact that my entree was nearly cold when served, though it was still quite good. They responded to a special request from my daughter and turned out a delicious plate of pappardelle bolognese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This dining experience was simply incred ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This dining experience was simply incredible. Immediately upon walking in the door we were met with a warm, gracious ambiance that continued to be impressive throughout the duration of our meal. The service was outstanding; our waitress was extremely knowledgeable of the menu, attentive to our needs, and generally engaging (not to mention, she made some fantastic menu suggestions that did NOT disappoint).

After complimentary homemade pesto, warmed hearty bread, and bright fresh olives, we started off with the veal carpaccio as an appetizer. It was absolutely delicious - paper thin, flavorful and extremely tender (well complimented by fresh arugula). For my main, I took my server's suggestion and ordered the scallop entree. Now, scallops are one of my all-time favorite foods, thoughI typically avoid ordering them because of the disappointing portion size at most restaurants - not a concern here. I had a surprising 10+ tender scallops atop a bed of perfectly creamy rissoto. My partner ordered the hearty rabbit pasta for dinner. When I return (and I will), if I'm able to bring myself not to order the scallops a second time, I would be inclined to try their house special lobster ravioli. Couldn't ask for a better birthday!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was exquisite. Our waiter was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was exquisite. Our waiter was attentive, friendly, and helpful. The ambiance of the restaurant was wonderful....very romantic. Our table overlooked North Square and Paul Revere's home, so there was a nice historic element to our meal as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From start to finish a fabulous experien ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

From start to finish a fabulous experience! Can't believe it took us so long to go there!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful time we had at Momma Ma ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

What a wonderful time we had at Momma Maria's. It is a great place for a romantic dinner. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was quiet and relaxing. The high ceilings and the many formal dining rooms make this one of the best spots in the North End. My wife had the scallops and I had the Rabbit Pasta, we both loved it! We will definitely come back to Momma Maria's.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time at this North End ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This was my first time at this North End Icon and I can see why it is so highly rated. We shared the Oysters Mamma Mia which was a take off on Oysters Rockefeller and delicious and the Salumi plate which combined traditional Italian meats and cheeses with balsamic vinegar and was also excellent. I had the Lamb Three Ways which consisted of spicy lamb sausage, a small rack and a rib chop. They were all cooked perfectly - medium to rare and also delicious. My friend had the haddock special and raved about it. Beautiful space and even the valet was super polite and warm and friendly. Excellent evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

nice setting wonderful food 7 service..r ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

nice setting wonderful food 7 service..rather loud though

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait stuff was fantastic, the servic ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The wait stuff was fantastic, the service was quick but also allowed us to take our time and relax. The food was absolutely amazing, the calamari was astounding, and the lamb was perfectly cooked. It was perfect for our first fancy date together.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yes, a bit pricy, but then there are onl ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Yes, a bit pricy, but then there are only a few tables. Truly great service , from the host at the door to Emer, our friendly server. ( I hoped for a dish that is displayed on their website menu but was not listed last night- they prepared it for me anyway). We arrived a bit early, they seated us right away as we awaited our dining companions, who arrived a bit late. Portions are European as opposed to American -sized. Flavorful, as opposed to doggy-bag worthy. We lingered over after -dinner beverages, and didn't feel rushed out the door. I hope to return soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I went to Mama Maria's for t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My wife and I went to Mama Maria's for the first time in December and have already returned. The dining rooms are small and beautifully decorated. Our waiter, Joshua, remembered us from our first visit and once again gave us excellent recommendations on what to order. The valet parking is great especially on a very cold night after a snowstorm. If you are looking for a special restaurant in the North End, this is the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, food was excellent and we ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great service, food was excellent and we had a neat table on the 2nd floor right near the window. Very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Restaurant building is a cozy old home i ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Restaurant building is a cozy old home in a charming square in the North End of Boston. We had an amazing dinner served by a professional friendly waiter. Our favorite dishes were the halibut, Osso Bucco, and Bibb salad, but everything was good! Great romantic date spot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply the best in the North End ...and ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Simply the best in the North End ...and that's saying something .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

love this place.. we started with beef ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

love this place.. we started with beef carpaccio it was amazing, then the blue potato gnocchi w/ lobster ..what a creative amazing dish. we ended with the rabbit all i can saw is WOW! tim's service was outstanding!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our fourth visit there this yea ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This was our fourth visit there this year and we have never been disappointed. It is upscale dining in an old world atmosphere. Valet parking is an important plus in this crowded location. The food was excellent and well plated. The service attentive but not overbearing. My only negative is the wine list which is extensive but pricey and limited with few if any below $50. I was told you can BYOB but the corkage fee is $35 which is also not appropriate. Otherwise a fine dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As a resident in the North End, I have f ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 5, 2017

As a resident in the North End, I have fantastic Italian restaurants all around me. This is my third time eating at Mamma Maria and it once again proved to be the best restaurant in the North End. Entrees have never disappointed but the Mozzarella and Warmed Tomatoes dish stands above the rest. All food is fresh, unique, and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed excellent food that was tasty ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We enjoyed excellent food that was tasty, true to its origin, but also delightful without being heavy. Excellent service and wine choices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got married here and come every year ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We got married here and come every year to celebrate our anniversary! It is hands down the best in the North End!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NIce dinner for two on New Year's Eve. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

NIce dinner for two on New Year's Eve. It's pricey, but so is everything else on New Year's eve . . .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an outstanding meal. Everything w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had an outstanding meal. Everything was perfection, including the cocktails! I haven't had such a delicious meal in a while.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great welcome, service and food! Would r ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great welcome, service and food! Would recommend highly to anyone

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were impeccable. Th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food and service were impeccable. The wine suggestion was exactly what we were looking for and the food suggestions were equally to our liking. The only issue wasn't with the Resturant, but with a loud talker at a nearby table. This was no fault of Mamma Maria's. We would recommend this place to our friends and family for special occasions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our first time dining here. I ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This was our first time dining here. I ordered the halibut and my husband ordered the rabbit. They put delicious bread on our table, olives and pesto. Our meal came. The rabbit was delicious. My halibut was overcooked. It was almost as mushy as the parsnips. I told the waiter and it was immediately removed from the table and taken off our bill. I will definitely return to this restaurant. They also had a fantastic wine list which was also a plus.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to take a date. The staff is ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great place to take a date. The staff is attentive and very pleasant. I have already recommended this to my friends and family. The location is great due to the fact it is in the North End. Overall I think if you are looking for a great night out for a special occasion this is the place.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE have wanted to dine at this restauran ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 29, 2016

WE have wanted to dine at this restaurant for quite some time and finally was able to on our way to FL. Highly recommended by a friend of ours. He is a member at our local country club. We will be sure to dine again when we are in the North End. Thanks for a wonderful evening and may you have a fantastic New Year. Best Wishes, Shaun and Sandee

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The filet mignon was amazing! Everyone l ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The filet mignon was amazing! Everyone loved their plates. The staff was great. Thank you!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is perfect. Environment is nice ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food is perfect. Environment is nice and cosy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had been expecting a historic and rom ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had been expecting a historic and romantic setting. What we got was a historic and romantic setting, excellent, personal service, and meals that exceeded our expectations. We will go back for the tuna tartare over cucumbers and radish, and the rabbit pasta. The wine, while pricey, was excellent, and not overpriced for what it was.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, our experience was great. The d ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Overall, our experience was great. The dining area is a bit cramped and loud, so if you're looking for intimate, this might not be the place for you. My husband ordered the beef which was delicious. I ordered the rabbit which was good, but didn't blow me away. I expected a little more considering the rav reviews. Service was excellent, and I'd definitely return and order another plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.