Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About Mamma Maria

Nationally acclaimed Italian cuisine served in five elegant dining rooms within an historic 1830 brick townhouse overlooking America's oldest public square - North Square - in the heart of Boston's North End neighborhood.

3 North Square
Boston, MA 02113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Prince Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 523-0077

Website:
http://www.mammamaria.com/

Public Transit:
T to Haymarket or Government Center.

Executive Chef:
Geraldo Andrade/Julio Torres

Private Party Facilities:
Mamma Maria offers elegant private dining available 7 nights a week. With five separate dining rooms, we are able to serve all your private dining needs.

Piccolo Room accommodates 2 -6
Puccini Room accommodates 10 -16
Terrace Room accommodates 18 -30
Rossini Room accommodates 20 - 40
Verdi Room accommodates 40 -50

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Mancuso: (617) 523-0077 ext. 2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Mamma Maria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (103)
Romantic (96)
Good for a Date (92)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (84)
Fit for Foodies (78)
Authentic (77)
Neighborhood Gem (72)
Notable Wine List (65)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Cozy (55)
Creative Cuisine (48)
Quiet Conversation (46)
Worth the Drive (43)
Local Ingredients (39)
Business Meals (28)
Scenic View (26)
Good for Groups (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Casual (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Seasonal (9)
Hot Spot (7)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Fun (5)
Organic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
3406 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

Of all of the places to eat in North End we ended up here. The ambiance was horrible, very dated and closed in. Nothing like the places on Hanover that are small but open to the street and people walking by. The food wasn't good, just ok. Not what you would expect from the famous North End. I'd never go here again or recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Sadly for a Thursday night, it was incredibly overcrowded and we sadly did not receive the level of service I was hoping for, nor did the restaurant live up to the overall hype in my opinion. We were there for my Mother's 60th Birthday which was planned and coordinated with the restaurant well in advanced. Upon arrival, we were brought upstairs to our table which was stuck in a small corner in the back squished behind a table of 11 or so business men. Not an ideal spot to celebrate - but it happens. The waiter did not know it was my mother's birthday which was a little disappointing as I had communicated this well in advance. The larger table was being very well tended too and we were somewhat forgotten throughout the night (having to find/ask for our waiter to order drinks, waiting over 25 minutes after that to find our waiter again to order appetizers, 45 minutes in - we were offered bread). It was a very VERY busy night and we were happy to all be together but the level of service was lack-luster and not to mention, it was incredibly uncomfortable to continue to get bumped by staff and members of the larger party behind us.

I've worked as a waitress for a handful of years and understand larger parties do tend to take precedence over smaller tables, but we were a party of 6 who connected with the restaurant well in advance looking for ways to make a birthday special and memorable and were not impressed with the caliber or reputation Mamma Maria's touts.

Food wise, the appetizers were wonderful and probably the best part of the meal (we ordered 5 plates to share - the oysters, carpaccio, and fig/prosciutto plate were all phenomenal). Our meals were "good" not great. The flavor profiles were a little weak (opinion, I know) and we were expecting more all around.

My hope is that this was a one night poor experience - but I'm not sure if this is the case. Maybe it is better for smaller parties (there was a side room which looked more intimate)?

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 4 days ago

Superb food - both Italian and seafood and the deserts are a step above.

Seating is a little tight and it would be better if the noise level could be dialed down a notch.

Quality staff - very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Very cramped, felt like we were dining with the next table. Rude waiter, not helpful. Do not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

I got the Ossobuca . Everyone else got pasta dishes. Not one said anything less than amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Mama Maria's is our go-to Italian eatery for special occasions. It is pricy. The valet parking makes parking in Boston's north end a gem. Our waiter ( Jamie?) was fabulous !

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Excellent meal. Wonderful service. Worth the good reviews!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was very good. Service was better. Attentive wait staff ensures that all needs are met but was never in the way. Ambiance was very good. Location in the north end was perfect. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to a friend and I would not hesitate to return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Overall, excellent experience and fantastic food. Food quality given the creative and ambitious rotating menu is impressive. Wines are relatively premium priced, but the wait staff is very knowledgeable and our bottle, which our waiter helped us choose based on our domestic wine preferences, was very good. Service was slow to start, but then I was also 20 minutes late for my reservation on a Friday night, so that is certainly forgiven as space is limited.

There was a bit of drama when a waiter broke an empty wine glass on a chandelier behind me and some of the glass ended up on me and on the table, but the staff was EXTREMELY diligent about laying down a new tablecloth, removing all glass, remaking our meals. Our bottle of wine, which I'm positive was not affected, was replaced with no questions asked (to be clear, we didn't ask for that, so kudos to management for their concern and proactivity). Unfortunately we found, upon returning home, that the back of my shirt had red wine stains on it. All things considered, though, it was an excellent experience, food was exceptional, and we will definitely be returning.

Overall, Mamma Maria is not cheap, and attention from our waiter was lacking early on (I think 15 minutes before we placed a wine order and another 15 before we got bread), but those minor complaints are both overshadowed by the quality of the food/wine and all other aspects of the service, which were exceptional. We are definitely excited to return to experience more of Mamma Maria's exceptional rotating menu.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Seasonal, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Mamma Maria was very good in all caregories. There were several options for seatings in different floors and rooms. We liked the yellow garden room. The craft coctails were very good. I had one with muddle fresh peach that was fresh and not too sweet. My husband had the roast pig that he said was succulent and hearty. My son had the rabbit pasta that he liked but would have liked a larger portion. His friend had tne bolognese which was authentic and delicious. I had the lobster agnolotti that was excellent. It was not only flavorful but chock full of lobster. I would definitely recommend this and will be back to order it again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Delicious Italian food in the North End of Boston. Service, food, wine and overall experience were excellent. It did not disappoint!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2017

A very special dinner for us was made perfect by the great service, delicious dinner and wonderful ambience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Best meal in Boston! This was my second visit to Mamma Maria's and it did not disappoint. Service was second-to-none and our group was so satisfied with every part of our experience! Would recommend to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food, service and ambiance was good. The problem was the noise level. Way too loud. They should look at ways to minimize this

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was our third visit from out of town. The food is always delicious and creative and the atmosphere is one of a kind

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Went to Mamma Maria's to celebrate our anniversary- sat at table 4 downstairs which is in a corner near windows - very cozy and relatively quiet. The food was outstanding, very fresh, wonderful presentation and creative. A bit pricey but worth it for a special occasion. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was our second visit to Mamma Maria's. The food was fabulous both times!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We were seated upstairs in a big room with many diners with many conversations and many dishes being served---just what you would imagine an authentic Italian restaurant would be like. Our waiter was a little slow in getting our order but the wait was worth it! The Food is what you come for and it does not disappoint! I had the heirloom tomato salad to start and the summertime pasta for dinner. Perfect! My husband had the lobster pasta and he would have licked the plate if he could! We finished the meal off with limoncello and a dense chocolate cake that was heavenly. Best meal we had in Boston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great space in a great location; on the expensive side which would have been okay but the main reason I picked this restaurant was for an elder relative enjoy a rare meal of veal. Which of course was sold out at 7:45 PM... ridiculous. Waiter didn't really seem to care. Not sure I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Wonderful romantic restaurant!! Experience was great!! Food was phenomenal!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Incredible food and service! We had a fantastic experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

So sorry but this visit was not up to our various visits of more than two years ago. It was good, but certainly not great, and it should have been. With so many great restaurants in Boston, you don't need to settle for good, unless it is inexpensive which this is not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excelente!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Haughty maitredee but otherwise delightful! Great food, wine and ambiance.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner at this restaurant. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys good Italian cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on September 1, 2017

My husband and I had a fantastic meal, here. The heirloom tomato and ricotta 1st course was wonderful, and my husband had the meatballs for his. The scallops with fennel was unbelievable. So enjoyed the flavor and lack of pasta. My husband had the seafood stew, with the most amazing broth and seafood, the homemade pasta was really good, and not too much to eat. We even had dessert, I loved the tiramisu

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Organic, Seasonal, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

We had such an amazing time at this restaurant. The food was amazing, the atmosphere was perfect and the service was phenomenal. Highly recommend this place!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 29, 2017

What an elegant, old world place to enjoy delicious food and impeccable service. A special request from my partner, made her very happy. Bravo Mama Maria!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2017

We were celebrating our first anniversary which was noted in our reservation, this was never acknowledged at the restaurant and service was mediocre. Quite surprising for a restaurant we've enjoyed previously.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2017

In the reservation I put that it was our 29th wedding anniversary. They gave us the best table for 2 on the 2nd floor with a window view of the North End in Boston. I did not request that table, but they knew through the reservation and it made for a perfect evening. The food and wait staff was excellent!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Spectacular food! Romantic and historic setting. Our waiter was very professional and knowledgeable about our food and wine. Many fine bottles of wine to choose from and our waiter knew what to recommend when we described what we like in body, flavor, dryness and price range. We came here to celebrate our wedding anniversary and plan to return.
You will not be disappointed, only impressed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had an amazing experience. Our table was not ready when we arrived so we were treated to prosecco which was a very kind gesture. Upon seating, we felt we had the best seat in the house next to the open window/mini balcony with a view of Prince Street. Our server Jose was attentive, and had great suggestions.
The bottle of merlot we got was great.
The Bread & pesto sauce - amazing.
Artisan cheese platter - great flavors and perfect complement to the bread & pesto.
Salad with blueberries & hazelnuts- best salad we've ever had.
Lobster ravioli - fresh and flavorful but still lite.
Rabbit pasta - unique option but yummy
*I asked for Parmesan which was key to the flavor.
Dessert: peach tart which was perfection. Perfect portion, not too sweet, great flakey crust.

We will certainly be back to celebrate another special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our waiter and the food were outstanding! BUT we were "scolded" by management for being too loud. We were a party of 6 and we're just laughing/telling stories in an Italian restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Disappointing. The old North End has so much hype, but really has turned into a tourist trap instead of fabulous dining. Far better places to eat for the money. Nice ambiance, but very loud. Waiter didn't know the wine list and couldn't tell us any difference in tasting notes among the Chianti we were looking at (He basically told us that the more expensive one was better than the less expensive one). The osso bucco was phenomenal. Definitely the star of the show. Everything else was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great spot for last minute reservation, amazing food!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great Italian food !!! A must try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great service. Excellent food. Nice house wines. Not cheap but worth what we paid. I would go again on my next visit to Boston.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Simply outstanding Italian food, from appetizers to the lobster ravioli, the whole meal was memorable!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

I have been coming to Momma Maria for almost 30 years now it's just as delicious in special. Highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.