Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About Mamma Maria

Nationally acclaimed Italian cuisine served in five elegant dining rooms within an historic 1830 brick townhouse overlooking America's oldest public square - North Square - in the heart of Boston's North End neighborhood.

3 North Square
Boston, MA 02113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Prince Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 523-0077

Website:
http://www.mammamaria.com/

Public Transit:
T to Haymarket or Government Center.

Executive Chef:
Geraldo Andrade/Julio Torres

Private Party Facilities:
Mamma Maria offers elegant private dining available 7 nights a week. With five separate dining rooms, we are able to serve all your private dining needs.

Piccolo Room accommodates 2 -6
Puccini Room accommodates 10 -16
Terrace Room accommodates 18 -30
Rossini Room accommodates 20 - 40
Verdi Room accommodates 40 -50

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Mancuso: (617) 523-0077 ext. 2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Mamma Maria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (120)
Romantic (109)
Good for a Date (106)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (89)
Authentic (74)
Neighborhood Gem (72)
Fit for Foodies (66)
Cozy (59)
Quiet Conversation (56)
Notable Wine List (56)
Good for Birthdays (55)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Worth the Drive (39)
Historic (33)
Local Ingredients (31)
Business Meals (29)
Scenic View (18)
Good for Groups (12)
Fun (11)
Seasonal (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
People Watching (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Private Room (7)
Casual (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
3312 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT!!! The best Italian restaurant in Boston! We all had such an amazing time with the best real Italian food served by the super professional and nice Rafael. We enjoyed every minute of our experience at Mamma Maria! I got the lobster pasta and it was PERFECT! What a great restaurant! I will come back many times!
Keep up with the great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent staff, food and service. Would definitely return and refer to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We celebrated our 10th anniversary here and the experience was lovely! We had a complimentary glass of champagne each to begin our night. Our dishes were excellent, I had the lobster pasta and my husband had the osso buco. Overall we had a very nice evening. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves Italian food and is visiting Boston.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, wine and service. We had the rabit pasta, the lobster ravioli, the Osso Bucco and the strips. All were fab. Their Tiramisu was feather light and outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

The restaurante very welcoming. The food excepcional, however something extremme in the price especially the wines.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall very good if not excellent! highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food, authentic Italian. Not the over oiled stuff you can sometimes come across, true quality food with amazing service. Top notch!

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Really nice.
Great food.
Great service.
We got to write down this one.
We will be back to Mamma Maria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Beautiful restaurant , great service and the food was exceptional!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Hi folks , cute places, atmosphere was lovely. Great and attentive staff.

Food was lacking. Went for a couple of rounds of apps, poor seasoning and too much oil was the main issue.

Stand out app, the Ricotta Stuffed Squash Blossoms. If you haven't had them before def. try them, won't disappoint. Takes me back to my Nona's house as a child.

The beef Carpaccio was too small and way over dressed and too much going n with I think was anchovies, oil, capers and truffles. Was quite surprised in an unpleasant way.

Tuna tartare had absolutely no S&P seasoning(bizzare)...? And too much oil.

Another positive, the wine list had great options.


All else was okay. The value is Middle of the road.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great recommendations
Great food
I will definitely be back

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Best meal I've had in a while. Everything was spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Good overall experience. Attentive and polite service. When asking from Vegetarian menu, some items were not available. Restaurant should inform guests during reservation that valet parking is cash only.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great food and experienced enhanced by wonderful and attentive service from Rafael. Only issue I had was would prefer to sit downstairs as taking the darkened stair way up is a little tricky for this "senior." Otherwise, couldn't have been any better!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Beautiful and historic surroundings. Service was impeccable. Food was excellent and presented well. This was a wonderful dinner to share with my family the last night we were in Boston. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Tremendous as usual. Always 100%

Atmosphere
Excellent food and service

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2017

nice table, enthusiastic waitress, great food and wonderful bread with olives and basil

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The service was excellent, food well presented and just a wonderful dinner with family. Referred by neighbor and was so happy with the dinner. You have a gem with all your employees working together and attentive to all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent service, food and atmosphere. The $25 valet charge was a bit excessive, so you may want to look for other options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Wonderful food. Nice atmosphere. Good service. We will go again

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

What an amazing local place and then you top that with excellent food!! A must!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Authentic, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Outstanding in almost every way. Excellent and innovative food served professionally and in generous portions. Our table was on the way to the rest room so we got "bumped" often but otherwise a very enjoyable evening. Best meal we had in the North End in 3 nights of dining there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Perfect dining experience from beginning to end. Great food, great service and an elegant atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We went to Mamma Maria earlier this week. Could not have asked for anything better (well perhaps a few bucks off the price ;-)). Food was great and the wait staff was perfect. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Lovely table and ambiance.
Few pasta choices.
Only two courses offered- unusual for an Italian restaurant.
Served and insisted that Romaine lettuce was Bibb as listed on menu. It was not.
Fig and Proscuitto first course very good.
Mint gnocchi gluey, lamb rib tasty but very fatty.
Rabbit pasta very good.
Pannacotta delicious.
Excellent Brunello.
Expensive.
Next time in the North End we'll look harder for a more authentic Italian restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I was scouring the city for a suitable place to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday. On my list: elegant, old-school dining, great service, valet, and of course exceptional food. Mamma Maria's was perfect! Located in a beautiful, tiny square in the north end, we were met by curteous valet. The decor is tasteful, the menu was interesting and varied. We brought our kids aged 8 and 10, who were made to feel welcome. My husband and I are already planning to return! Worth the trip into the city from the suburbs!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great evening with my daughters. Good food, good service. A must if you go to Boston.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We've been to Mamma Maria's several times, the food never disappoints. I would like to see more space between tables, and the down stairs waiters have more personality. However good value, well and individually prepared, and fun. Study your Italian wines before you go.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 1, 2017

A return after 15 years (we moved away) and we loved it just as we did then. Intimate but still able to chat with close by tables. Creative menu that did not disappoint. Would not recommend 'for kids' but two families did bring very well behaved youngsters who seemed to be enjoying being with adults.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I thought the food was really delicious, the wine was excellent. The service was very good and attentive and the north end is just a wonderful place to go to.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The service is exquisite and the food is better. A wonderful place to have quiet conversation and romantic dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Cozy, People Watching, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food and service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Another fantastic meal!! Not only is this our favorite "must go" restaurant for our annual trip to Boston, it's one of our favorite restaurants anywhere! From the delicious bread & pesto olive oil to the appetizers & entrees, everything is top-notch & wonderfully presented. Mo, the maitre d is terrific & the overall service is first class. We absolutely LOVE dining at Mama Maria!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We were late by 20 plus minutes because we were walking from our hotel (Boston Harbor) and got quite lost in the street confusion of the North End (or perhaps our own confusion). Despite this, on arrival the manager and staff were very nice and welcoming. Overall a really good experience with excellent food and service. The summer salad was light, refreshing, tasty. The scallop dish was wonderful with an excellent base of spinach risotto. My wife's striped bass and polenta with mushrooms appetizer were pretty amazing. In fact we both felt the polenta was in the "best ever" category. The prelude of excellent home made bread with a pesto sauce and really great olives was terrific. All in all one of the best meals we have had in Boston. And now we really know how to get there and will not be late ever again! One suggestion is to bolster the wine selections with things like a brunello or a trebbiano; the wine selection features too many light wines.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Quiet, quaint , home like space with incredible homemade pasta

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Excellent menu and service. Everyone - valet parker, maitre d', hostess, waiter - was extremely polite and helpful in assuring that our birthday party of three was an enjoyable time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We (2 couples) went to Mamma Maria before the BWA 10k race on a Saturday night. Everything was very good, and service was quite good also. It's in a great location too

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The restaurant was rated highly on Trip Advisor. We were looking for the genuine article - Italian in the North End of Boston. The atmosphere was cosy and the room was not large in size. We arrived at 5:30p for an early dinner and were seated promptly. Service was excellent but I was disappointed when I requested a salad before my main course and they didn't even offer one. I wasn't crazy about the attitude of our server when I asked for a salad - she didn't offer an alternative. I chose the spaghetti bolognese which was very good. I wasn't blown away but it was good. Extra points since they served me a delicious tiramisu with a candle for my birthday.
We enjoyed the view from our table - we were seated by the window and could easily view the activity on Prince Street. Enjoyed the wrought iron design on the windows.
Overall I would recommend this as an authentic dining experience in the North End of Boston.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Beautifully prepared food with delicious flavors in the historic North End. The service was friendly, knowledgeable and interactive. Definitely recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.