Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About Mamma Maria

Nationally acclaimed Italian cuisine served in five elegant dining rooms within an historic 1830 brick townhouse overlooking America's oldest public square - North Square - in the heart of Boston's North End neighborhood.

3 North Square
Boston, MA 02113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Prince Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 523-0077

Website:
http://www.mammamaria.com/

Public Transit:
T to Haymarket or Government Center.

Executive Chef:
Geraldo Andrade/Julio Torres

Private Party Facilities:
Mamma Maria offers elegant private dining available 7 nights a week. With five separate dining rooms, we are able to serve all your private dining needs.

Piccolo Room accommodates 2 -6
Puccini Room accommodates 10 -16
Terrace Room accommodates 18 -30
Rossini Room accommodates 20 - 40
Verdi Room accommodates 40 -50

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Mancuso: (617) 523-0077 ext. 2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Mamma Maria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (117)
Good for a Date (115)
Romantic (113)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (95)
Authentic (84)
Neighborhood Gem (69)
Cozy (68)
Historic (64)
Notable Wine List (63)
Fit for Foodies (63)
Quiet Conversation (59)
Creative Cuisine (59)
Worth the Drive (47)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Business Meals (30)
Local Ingredients (29)
Private Room (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Scenic View (16)
Fun (14)
Comfort Food (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Seasonal (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
People Watching (7)
Healthy (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Casual (5)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Spicy (3)
Organic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (2)
Waterfront (2)
Tapas (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
3233 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

We loved our time at Mamma Maria. It gave us the real Boston north end experience. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and the food was amazing. Would highly recommend it. Make reservations ahead of time.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service were mediocre from start to finish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food, very poor management. Waitstaff made every effort to provide good service. 20 minutes wait for a simple dessert was ridiculous, even though it was compted. Management did not seem interested or wanting to improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a wonderful experience at Mamma Maria's. Only downside, the shrimp pasta dish was very disappointing. But the lamb trio and bisteca rocked! And...quiet! Wonderful respite from those "energetic" place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Excellent service and good food. From the manager Nico to the servers, to the ambiance, very outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

It's overrated. The octopus appetizer was inedible. The lamb entree was good, but a tad overcooked: supposed to be medium rare, came out medium......the sauce was good but a bit overpowering. The Bass entree was excellent however. The salad was over-salted (why is a salad ever salted?) Desserts good, not great. I would have expected highly nuanced dishes, and with the Bass exception, these were not. Good wine/dessert wine selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I love the classic style of this restaurant not to mention the great service and food. Really good wine list. The homemade bread was absolutely delicious served with yummy pesto. My husband had the tortellini which was really like a ravioli they were so generous in size. He loved them. The service was efficient and we definitely will be returning.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Good dining experience. The food was authentic and delicious - the rabbit pasta was great. The service was outstanding, never felt rushed and was taken care of the entire dinner. Glad that I was able to celebrate my birthday at Mamma Maria, looking forward to going back again soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Lovely restaurant. Service was attentive not overbearing. Some of the dishes were really exceptional -- lobster agnolotti in particular. But, with the tables jammed so close together it is hardly intimate and your neighbors will hear and lean in on your conversation and your food. Prices are just right.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We had a wonderful meal and high;y recommend Mamma Maria to anyone who likes good Italian food and wine.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mamma Maria is our go-to for any special event - mother's day, birthdays - and it has never disappointed! Always a delicious meal from start to finish and the restaurant is very comfortable and usually pretty quiet. My favorite in the North End!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was okay, super over salted. Ordered the lobster ravioli, it arrived luke warm to cool. That was the only real bummer. We had a 9:15 reservation and we sat around 9:30. The food arrived close to 10. It was late and I wasn't about to send the meal back and make everyone wait. Anyway, it was just okay. My daughter and husband felt the same, just okay food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Delicious meal. The rabbit pasta was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Awesome food Great place to be a great attention from all employees a nice place to spend time with family and friends

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Had a wonderful experience at Mama Maria! I ordered the lobster ravioli and my boyfriend had the tortellini two ways. Don't be fooled by the appearance of small plates- both of our meals were delicious ( very rich). The dining room where we were seated was small and somewhat crowded, but overall the noise level was very comfortable to carry a conversation. The service was attentive and helpful with answering questions and giving advice throughout the meal. One of the better restaurants I've been to in the North End. I'll definitely be back for a special occasion (price point a little high for everyday dining)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 11, 2017

It was simply delicious. We will definitely visit again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 9, 2017

This is the best food in the North End. But even here, the noise level is a huge deterrent. There were8 people at the table next to ours so we had to shout over their laughter and shouted conversations. I had asked long in advance for a quiet table. No luck.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great food, great service but this place is VERY SMALL! Don't go if you are claustrophobic!!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great Beer, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We arrived 5 minutes early...host seemed annoyed, and wasn't particularly welcoming. Staff did seat us 10 minutes after reservation (not bad given the place was full). While it is in an old/historic building, so we weren't expecting too much room, the space we were seated in was tiny for group of 6 (in front alcove, approx 6 by 6, which would have been very nice/private, perhaps for a party of 2). A very narrow table was angled diagonally, wedging 1 into corner, 2 wedged against wall, 2 reasonably tight, and 1 in doorway - felt similar to 'middle seat in coach w generously-sized people on either side'. Water arrived 10 minutes later, and then bread 20 minutes after that. I guess at least they did make a space for us with only a 10 minute wait, so we were thankful for that. The main positives being that the waitstaff was very friendly (even if they couldn't fit into the tiny space to access the table), and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent special occasion restaurant. Ambiance, service, and food are all outstanding, but very expensive. Portions are generous-- i would have been satisfied with an appetizer and salad. Ravioli, soft shell cral and seafood dishes were all fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Once again this fine restaurant met our expectations for a special dinner (birthday celebration). The baked oyster appetizer was spectacular. The scallops entrée was fine and very generous. Others raved about the soft shell crabs. Desserts were excellent but not unique. The wine list is extensive and expensive with few choices under $50. Service was friendly, knowledgeable and professional. Valet parking solves the North End parking problem. All told one of the finest restaurants in the Boston area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Loved this restaurant!!! The pesto dipping for bread was delicious as was the tortolloni!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great location and cozy close quarters. Diverse Italian-style cuisine without the stereotypical dishes. Unique offerings with rich flavors and especially good seafood options. A bit salty, but otherwise excellent dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great food , atmosphere quiet . Service was great . Will def go back

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

everything looked so good, we ate a meal of different appetizers, perfectly spaced apart so we never felt rushed. absolutely lovely.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

My wife and I are holidaying from Sydney Australia and We drove to Boston en route to New York after visiting Martha's Vineyard.
Our son, who lived in Boston for a short while strongly recommended Mamma Maria for authentic Italian fare.
We were not disappointed.
The atmosphere is reminiscent of any Italian Piazza you'd see in Rome complete with a beautiful church abutting the restaurant.
We love our Italian food and wines and this restaurant ticked all the boxes.
You too will be rewarded by eating at MM.

Tim Abrams

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Historic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Our server was appropriately attentive but not obtrusive. She gave us great recommendations. The food and atmosphere were fantastic. I would recommend and definitely go back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great food, great service 45 min wait with reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great historic location - right across the street from Paul Revere's house in the North end.
Food was very good with fresh ingredients. Our server was attentive and pleasant. It was a little noisy to carry on a conversation. I think the noise level was due to the nature and age of the building which makes sound abatement difficult.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Awesome Osso Bucco!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very good Italian restaurant in the North End. Where the locals go. Quaint and cozy setting

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very nice evening out with friends. Great location . Great ambiance. More relaxed than other area restaurants which made it more enjoyable . Food outstanding

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We had a great time visiting Mamma Maria. I didn't think the prices were out of line with fine dining. We loved the oysters. They are huge! I didn't know oysters grew that big! We also enjoyed the local pastas. Even the wine list is all Italy! We had a lovely meal and would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Delicious! Beautiful menu with great selection. In historic square next to Hanover St but peaceful with view of Paul Revere's house and city. Always good.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Another amazing dinner at Momma Maria's. This North end jewel is a must stop every time I visit Boston. The ambience, cocktails are wonderful..The recipes are both timeless and innovative.

Tags: Historic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Set in a North End townhouse just across from Paul Revere's house, this restaurant is a delight. It is comfortable and intimate with very good food and excellent service. A hidden gem!

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great food and ambience. Will definitely be coming back

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very popular, even on a Sunday evening. Food presentation good and authentic, but not outstanding. Good wine list and service very good and professional. Coffee very average by Italian standards. Nice location and lovely historic premises, so overall a pleasant experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Beautifully cooked food in a cosy setting, recommended

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

That was our worst dining experience ever. The service was horrible. Our waiter forgot to mention specials they had that night, we overheard from another table. Then after we had our appetizers she left all dirty dishes on the table. When we asked to clean the table she said: "Where exactly?" After practically pointing at dirty dishes she was hesitant to take them because "it wasn't her responsibility". Absolutely unbelievable attitude. On top of that the host would be standing behind us from time to time and count people in the dining room. With prices ranging from 18$ for appetizers and 36$ for entrees you would definitely expect service. What we experienced in Mamma Maria was absolute absence of service. We will never be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.