About Mamma Maria

3 North Square
Boston, MA 02113
View Larger Map

Nationally acclaimed Italian cuisine served in five elegant dining rooms within an historic 1830 brick townhouse overlooking America's oldest public square - North Square - in the heart of Boston's North End neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Prince Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 523-0077

Website:
http://www.mammamaria.com/

Public Transit:
T to Haymarket or Government Center.

Executive Chef:
Geraldo Andrade/Julio Torres

Private Party Facilities:
Mamma Maria offers elegant private dining available 7 nights a week. With five separate dining rooms, we are able to serve all your private dining needs.

Piccolo Room accommodates 2 -6
Puccini Room accommodates 10 -16
Terrace Room accommodates 18 -30
Rossini Room accommodates 20 - 40
Verdi Room accommodates 40 -50

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Mancuso: 6175230077x2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Dinner
  • Lobster Ravioli
Dinner
Lobster Ravioli

Mamma Maria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Boston
Italian
Boston
Best Restaurants in North End ›

Special Occasion (192)
Romantic (167)
Neighborhood Gem (142)
See All
Fit for Foodies (136)
Notable Wine List (87)
Good for Groups (41)
Scenic View (40)
Hot Spot (25)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Authentic (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Cozy (18)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Historic (11)
Local Ingredients (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Business Meals (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Fun (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Healthy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2767 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was amazing, loved the cozy set up, ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was amazing, loved the cozy set up, waitress was great and knowledgeable about all the menu items and able to provide recommendations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was just outstanding from top to bo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was just outstanding from top to bottom. The Baked Oysters appetizer was one of the best preparations i have had anywhere. Jaclyn our server was excellent. Mamma Maria is a can't miss when you are in Boston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

go when Boston . Always go when in town ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

go when Boston . Always go when in town . Always send others . If you are looking for as close to being in Italy go .

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Meal- food is prepared with lots o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great Meal- food is prepared with lots of depth and love...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had amazing good and wine. Although ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We had amazing good and wine. Although we had a room to ourselves the waiter did not forget about us.

Amazing food and awesome service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and the server wa ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food was delicious and the server was very knowledgable . The location in an old house on a coblestone street makes it extra special. Enjoyed a great meal with great service. If in Boston try it for dinner.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't confuse Mamma Maria's, because of ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Don't confuse Mamma Maria's, because of the name, with a red sauce establishment with checkered table cloths and Chianti baskets on the table; it's none of this. Mamma Maria 's is a "serious" restaurant; excellent, creative kitchen, professional and charming wait staff. We had Osso Buco (superb), pasta with Rabbit (also superb), pasta Bolognese and Buffalo (bison) steak cooked Tuscan style (all great).

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is the best in the North End ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This place is the best in the North End where there are so many great restaurants. Always great service and fantastic food. Tough to go wrong here (unless you forget to make a reservation...)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was perfect. Very attentive but ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service was perfect. Very attentive but not overbearing. They did not rush us. Seafood fruiti demare was good and fresh. Could have given alittlemorepasta.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sophisticated atmosphere in the north en ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Sophisticated atmosphere in the north end. Service was very professional. Although the cut of veal was excellent, I believe it deserved a sauce of some kind, as it was too dry without one. The lobster pasta was above expectations. Great for a romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Exceptional food and service although th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Exceptional food and service although the noise level got a bi heavy later in the evening. Don't tell your friends or they will all want to go and you'll never get another table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Place Iusually go to Aria around t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great Place Iusually go to Aria around the corner but decided here this time instead and I'm glad we did I found outnew hot spot...

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience! Elegant! My lobster dish was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Ambience! Elegant! My lobster dish was out of this world! The four of us loved our meals!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service and freshness of the food were b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Service and freshness of the food were both remarkable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food and service great! Alittle too lou ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

food and service great! Alittle too loud to be considered romantic or cozy.

Overall enjpyable evening

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great service, great ambianc ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great food, great service, great ambiance. Visited with 4 friends and everyone loved their meals. We are all Bostonians who hadn't visited Mama Maria in several years and were all impressed with the food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious. Server Raphael was e ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Food was delicious. Server Raphael was excellent. Explained each dish in detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Once again we had a fabulous dinner at o ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Once again we had a fabulous dinner at our favorite restaurant in the north end. Nice ambience with great service and delicious food. I'd come here just for the homemade pesto with bread and olives that they start with.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my second time at this restauran ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This is my second time at this restaurant, the food was great. Everyone in our party enjoyed their food, it is a little pricey but we had a lovely table at the window and our waiter was very helpful. Would most definitely go back the next time we visit Boston and would recommend you try it out. Make sure you have a reservation as it is a pretty popular place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I loved the restaurant. Me and my gf wen ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I loved the restaurant. Me and my gf went there for dinner and the food was great. Not the best service though.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Just Terrible all around. Service was th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Just Terrible all around. Service was the worst

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

What an incredible dinning experience. I ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

What an incredible dinning experience. In a very nice part of the north end. Server was top notch. Very accommodating and recommend a great bottle of wine. Wine we had was not over priced either. Some restaurants will charge you 3x what the retail rate is. Mamma Maria was very reasonable. Had quail, oysters, and tuna tartare to start. Delicious! I had the osso buco. Wife had lobster dish. Desert was great time! We will definitely go back and will need to recommend sitting by the Windows this time although the seats we had were still great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the second time I've been to Mam ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

This is the second time I've been to Mamma Maria and it was once again unbelievable. I had the black bass and my mom has the lobster ravioli, both were amazing. Most restaurants in the north end blend into each other but this one stands above the rest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and atmosphere great! Service was ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food and atmosphere great! Service was timely and good except he brought our vodka straight up (2) in old fashioned glasses. When questioned, he said he saved us money because the bartender would have charged more for a martini! Wow! He also questioned my wife whether she actually knew the contents of her entre. I don't appreciate being pushed around by a waiter. Great restaurant that has a waiter that needs some people skills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Delicious. Highly recommend. Would ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Delicious. Highly recommend. Would have liked a little bit bigger portions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific stop, we tried 3 different past ...

vip
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Terrific stop, we tried 3 different pastas, all were excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals we've ever eaten! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

One of the best meals we've ever eaten! Delicious food, great ambiance and outstanding service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been living in the North End for ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I have been living in the North End for over a year and have tried every restaurant. Mama Maria's is hands down the best Italian restaurant in Boston.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious!! Service and ambia ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Absolutely delicious!! Service and ambiance were incredible- this adorable Italian restaurant in the North End did not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We make it a point to dine at Mama Maria ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We make it a point to dine at Mama Maria at least once or twice a year during visits to Boston, and it never disappoints. On this occasion my wife and I both had the pasta with rabbit which was wonderful; and I had the heirloom tomatoes with olive oil and basil as an appetizer and only wish it was possible to get such terrific tomatoes ourselves. Finally, the service was professional and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely place in North End with oodles of ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Lovely place in North End with oodles of nooks and crannies that made it fun to dine in! Our salads were great (check out the one with beets--very sweet and tasty)! All our entrees were great: pasta, chicken and lobster ravioli! YUM! Flourless chocolate cake for dessert was amazing.

I'd return in a heartbeat! A must!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Lovely old townhouse converted into very ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Lovely old townhouse converted into very quaint dining rooms. Service was very good. I felt the wine list was limited, which was disappointing. Baked oyster appetizer was superb, as was the lobster ravioli. Pasta is fresh and properly prepared. Overall a very wonderful evening, and we certainly would return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

All around bad dining experience. The pl ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

All around bad dining experience. The place stinks, literally, probably sewer gas. The service started out quite good, but then it seemed we were forgotten because we sat for about 30 minutes after our entrees were finished. No one picked up used glasses or plates throughout the meal. The wait staff kicked the chairs of two of our diners continually the entire night. The dishes were just okay and definitely not worth the money. We used to come here three to four times a year. In Boston there are too many delicious restaurants to risk coming back here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

A little disappointing this time... We ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

A little disappointing this time...

We went for Dine Out Boston, which makes this pricey restaurant a little more affordable, but the overall experience was less than hoped - far less than prior visits. For Dine Out, you get to choose selected items from regular menu, which is great. But, the short ribs were waaay too fatty, and much of the rest of the meal was meh. The room, downstairs, seemed cramped and noisy. Good, but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

That evening did not start off on a plea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

That evening did not start off on a pleasant note, we drove up to the restaurant & saw they had valet parking & thought that was great. Much to our surprise we were told we had to pay $22 for them to park our car, oh well we paid .

Somehow we lucked out & were seated in a private room for 4 we felt very special. Our server was a very special young lady who took incredible care of us. She was very attentive all evening making sure we were happy with everything we ordered. I had a beet & goat cheese salad that was delicious, two other had pasta with clams & loved it, one had the house salad. The main courses consisted of several different fish entres each one was wonderful, moist, & tasty. Than came dessert we had 4 different & shared, can't decided which one was better they were all incredible. However I think the panna cotta was my favorite it was lite very flavorful & was a great end to a great dinner. Thank you again to our server for making our evening so special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very enjoyable dinner in the North End ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

A very enjoyable dinner in the North End . Appetizers and entrees were excellent . The burrata and salumi plate were good starters . We enjoyed the bolognase and Osso Buca and both were exceptional . Skipped desert to walk and visit Mike's Pastry .

Valet Parking ( $22) made it easy re logistics .

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went for restaurant week with my mom a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I went for restaurant week with my mom and was so pleased with everything. The food was so delicious--from the appetizer to the dessert. The coffee was perfect, and I loved being surrounded by the vibrant night life in the north end. There was a parade going on right outside, but it added to the whole dining experience. I would go again in a heartbeat! :)

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurant experiences o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

One of the best restaurant experiences of my life; the food was brilliant (the osso buco is particularly good, and their other items are really inventive twists on classic Italian fare), the wine recommendations were spot on, and the service was outstanding. Jacqueline (our waitress) took really good care of us, and even though she could rattle off lists of food and wine qualities with the best of them she never came across as stuffy, or made us feel like we didn't know anything. A really fantastic restaurant, highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I decided to celebrate our 1 ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I decided to celebrate our 10yr anniversary at Mamma Maria's and it was just as unforgetable as it was when we had our wedding rehearsal dinner there. The food was excellent, they accommadated us in getting a table in the room that we had our dinner rehearsal in and gave us a complimentary drink for our special night. It was a wonderful experience, one we will remember for a long time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The night we were there there was a fest ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The night we were there there was a festival so a band was right outside the open window playing music. We did not mind but it took away from a romantic dinner. Food is amaxing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.