About Mamma Maria

3 North Square
Boston, MA 02113
View Larger Map

Nationally acclaimed Italian cuisine served in five elegant dining rooms within an historic 1830 brick townhouse overlooking America's oldest public square - North Square - in the heart of Boston's North End neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Prince Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 523-0077

Website:
http://www.mammamaria.com/

Public Transit:
T to Haymarket or Government Center.

Executive Chef:
Geraldo Andrade/Julio Torres

Private Party Facilities:
Mamma Maria offers elegant private dining available 7 nights a week. With five separate dining rooms, we are able to serve all your private dining needs.

Piccolo Room accommodates 2 -6
Puccini Room accommodates 10 -16
Terrace Room accommodates 18 -30
Rossini Room accommodates 20 - 40
Verdi Room accommodates 40 -50

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Mancuso: (617) 523-0077 ext. 2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Mamma Maria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (92)
Good for a Date (90)
Romantic (85)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (77)
Authentic (59)
Cozy (58)
Neighborhood Gem (55)
Historic (51)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Notable Wine List (44)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Local Ingredients (32)
Worth the Drive (28)
Business Meals (24)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Scenic View (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Private Room (12)
Fun (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Seasonal (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Family Style (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Healthy (6)
Casual (6)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
3093 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful space. Fabulous food. Top not ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful space. Fabulous food. Top notch service. Will definitely return. Very nice for any occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was searching online where to take my ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

I was searching online where to take my boyfriend for a romantic dinner last night, I was so glad I found this place online. There was valet parking so we didn't have to struggle at all. I was a little nervous when I got there because of the outside look, then when I went inside the decorations was fantastic. The staffs were so attentive to our needs. I had Frutti di Mare de Pasta and he had steak both were recommended by the waiter. The food was sooo delicious. They were a bit pricey but worth every penny.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Spicy, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent . Waiter ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Food and service were excellent . Waiter made several suggestions, portions are good sized, and all dishes prepared well. Recommend highly for a great meal. Reservations are necessary on weekends.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service with great food. Tabl ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service with great food. Table was ready as promised.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant. A bit overpriced for ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Great restaurant. A bit overpriced for sure. One complaint: does not serve san pellegrino water.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Enjoyable atmosphere and wonderful servi ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyable atmosphere and wonderful service; however, the food left us disappointed. Not bad by any means, but not particularly memorable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Mamma Maria has several separate dining ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Mamma Maria has several separate dining rooms, so even when our room filled up it was still intimate and good for conversation. The food was delicious, however it seems dinner proportions vary meal to meal (mine was certainly enough to fill me up, but my partners was half the size). For an upscale eatery in the North End of Boston, the prices were fair. Definitely would recommend others to try it out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very expensive and it had very ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was very expensive and it had very less choices for vegetarians

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Excellent meal from start to finish! If ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent meal from start to finish! If there is one criticism I would say cocktail menu could use a bit of an enhancement. Other then that by far one of the most delicious meals I've ever had. 2 for 2 at "Mamma Maria! (Italian accent)"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We came here for Valentine's Day and boo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We came here for Valentine's Day and booked over a month in advance. We received a call to confirm 2 days before hand and they stated there was a prifixe menu for 80 a person. We felt that we were kind of stuck into going there since we wanted to go out and it was very last minute to find another reservation so close to the date. Alas, we went anyways. We probably spent an hour and a half here and $150 (with tip) per person- we also got a bottle of wine. He service was minimal and they had too many people in the rooms- I could hear everyone's conversations. We were probably a foot from tables on either side. If they took out tables (1-2) yes they would have made a bit less money but the ambiance would have been noticibly different. We felt like we were being fed on a conveyer belt and they were moving the reservations to tables that way and being fed in the same manor. Of course we tipped the full amount but our server was barely there (maybe had a lot of tables) but the bus servers were quick to clear plates. The food was amazing, which is the reason I would come back here. But the price of the prifixe was extremely high, I would have preferred to share an appetizer with my boyfriend than have got what is normally a $20 appetizer x 2. Overall, I wish they had informed us of the menu at the time of booking. It would have left a better taste in my mouth-- pun intended.

Tags: Authentic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Went there for Valentine's Day and the r ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Went there for Valentine's Day and the restaurant made the entire evening fantastic. The food was some of the best Italian food I've ever had and being from New York City that says something. My girlfriend loved the wine list and the atmosphere! Great place to go on a date. Look forward to going back!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I went for Valentine's ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

My boyfriend and I went for Valentine's Day. The food and wine were delicious and the service was great! A little overpriced because of Valentine's Day (but to be expected). An overall great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our first experience with Mamma Maria's ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Our first experience with Mamma Maria's was lovely. I had booked it for Valentine's Day. The staff was very gracious as I was delayed by 45 minutes past our seating time due to traffic. They didn't hurry us at all even though I was late and it was obviously a busy evening. The service was excellent and the food was wonderful. It was a little bit crowded but not terribly distracting. We very much enjoyed it and will look forward to going again!

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely wonderful food and ambiance. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely wonderful food and ambiance. Been here a number of times and have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is located in North End in little Ita ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

It is located in North End in little Italy. It used to be a house and they transformed it to a restaurant. Antique decor. Very romantic. The menu is not too big but the food was very good. The risotto with The osobuco outstanding.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great wine, service and food. The rabbit ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great wine, service and food. The rabbit pasta was outta control good and surprisingly filling.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The halibut with parsnip almost like mas ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The halibut with parsnip almost like mashed potatoes was incredible. The fish cut like butter and melted in my mouth. The mushroom pasta appetizer was small and had two pieces of pasta, was absolutely delicious with many different kinds of mushrooms. The pesto sauce with the bread was also very addictive and delicious.

The location is only a block away from Mike's Pastry for dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated in the small room with on ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We were seated in the small room with one table -- so it was a lovely, intimate dinner during which we could easily hear each other! The food was delicious, and our servers were all excellent.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall, a wonderful dining experience. ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Overall, a wonderful dining experience. Excellent food, combined with very professional service. I would highly recommend this restaurant and look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Upscale Italian not your typical spaghet ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Upscale Italian not your typical spaghetti / carbonara type spot, more interesting dishes. Runs pricy but food is excellent. Highly recommend mushroom ravioli and the chocolate cake desert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Exceptional meal once again. Mamma Maria ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Exceptional meal once again. Mamma Maria was recommended to me by a co-worker, and the two times I've been they have not disappointed! The service is phenomenal and the food is outstanding!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, , Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for anniversary and the food was am ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went for anniversary and the food was amazing. Sat by the window with a nice view of the north end. Very nice staff and catered to any need.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dined with family for son's brithday. E ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Dined with family for son's brithday. Excellent staff and service. Great location in North End. Loved the food. Enjoyed excellent wine with dinner as server recommended. Rabbit and veal were particularly delightful. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience as fantastic. Outstanding ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our experience as fantastic. Outstanding service, ambience and cuisine. Charming atmosphere. Perfect for a special occasion. Can't wait to go back. Pricey but worth it. A most memorable meal!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was good as expected

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It was good as expected

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Superb Italian. Mushroom pasta was best ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Superb Italian. Mushroom pasta was best ever. Very romantic setting.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyed our evening at Mama Maria's. The ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Enjoyed our evening at Mama Maria's. The building is very historic and you can enjoy beautiful views of Boston. Excellent food, drinks and wait staff.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for a birthday dinner and had a mos ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Went for a birthday dinner and had a most fantastic experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent, food was very goo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Service was excellent, food was very good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Classic high-end North End Italian. Supe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Classic high-end North End Italian. Superb service and food. Exceptional all around.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my girlfriend because she got a pro ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Took my girlfriend because she got a promotion and they made sure to acknowledge that she did and made sure it was a special day for her most definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here. Loved it. Had walked by ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 30, 2017

First time here. Loved it. Had walked by it many times, and by the name, didn't realize this is a very lovely, "white tablecloth" restaurant. Upscale. Expensive, but the food lived up to the price. We were the first ones in a 2nd floor room and were seated in a corner by the window, where we had a view of the street and little square. My husband and I were wowed by the food. For apps, we had prosciutto and figs with gorgonzola. For mains, he had the suckling pig which was succulent and delicious. I had the Osso Bucco, which was very tender, with an ample amount of marrow to extract. We were told that the Osso Bucco is slow-cooked the traditional way--no shortcuts taken. Our waiter was very efficient and knowledgeable. Only complaint was having to listent to every work said by a loud party of people near us. Work dinner, I think. Drowned out our conversation. Perhaps there are quieter rooms. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food in a wonderful setting mad ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Fabulous food in a wonderful setting made for a memorable evening. Highly recommended

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was fabulous!! The waiter was able t ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was fabulous!! The waiter was able to make make changes to the entree, adding pasta, and it was delicious!!! Best homemade pasta I have ever had!

Another wonderful eating experience in the North End!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to show up earlier than our reserved ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had to show up earlier than our reserved time and they couldn't have been more gracious. They seated us as quickly as possible and the evening to follow was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was really great.

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was really great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would have to say THIS is my FAVORITE ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I would have to say THIS is my FAVORITE North End restaurant! That says something. My meal was to die for and all of the people in our party felt similarly!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice. The waiters were attentive an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Very nice. The waiters were attentive and the food was delicious.

When I called I mentioned that I was only one and the m d said that there would be a place at the bar or at a table. I said that I would prefer a table and he said that there would be one saved for me; however, when I arrived, I was told I was to go to the bar by the MD. I had to persist that we had agreed on a table. I found this to be uncomfortable.

Other than that the experience was lovely.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love the location and ambiance. The foo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

love the location and ambiance. The food is very good and the place is very special which makes for a great experience. The veal is outstanding and the service and food is very predictable. A challenge to find for Uber.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely delicious!!

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Absolutely delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.