Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About Mamma Maria

Nationally acclaimed Italian cuisine served in five elegant dining rooms within an historic 1830 brick townhouse overlooking America's oldest public square - North Square - in the heart of Boston's North End neighborhood.

3 North Square
Boston, MA 02113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Prince Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 523-0077

Website:
http://www.mammamaria.com/

Public Transit:
T to Haymarket or Government Center.

Executive Chef:
Geraldo Andrade/Julio Torres

Private Party Facilities:
Mamma Maria offers elegant private dining available 7 nights a week. With five separate dining rooms, we are able to serve all your private dining needs.

Piccolo Room accommodates 2 -6
Puccini Room accommodates 10 -16
Terrace Room accommodates 18 -30
Rossini Room accommodates 20 - 40
Verdi Room accommodates 40 -50

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Mancuso: (617) 523-0077 ext. 2

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Join us for our annual celebration featuring a large special occasion menu (11 starters, 11 entrees, and 3 dessert choices) for $80 per person. Each dining room will be decorated with silver and gold balloons and streamers. Curbside valet parking is available for $25 (tip included)

Mamma Maria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (98)
Romantic (89)
Good for a Date (81)
See All
Authentic (75)
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Fit for Foodies (67)
Neighborhood Gem (63)
Notable Wine List (57)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Cozy (51)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Worth the Drive (41)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Local Ingredients (38)
Business Meals (27)
Scenic View (22)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Good for Groups (11)
Casual (9)
Fun (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Seasonal (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (5)
People Watching (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Healthy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Waterfront (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort by
S
3504 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful dining experience, our table was in a private area with a beautiful view of north square. I didn't think the food matched up to how wonderful everything else was (my sisters dinner was cold, my pasta was extremely under cooked even for someone who likes al dente) but overall we had a very nice evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

This is not what I would expect from an Italian restaurant. Very few true Itslian dishes. It was very loud and extraordinarily expensive for some mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

With family & amazing 🍷

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Mamma Maria was Very good as usual. Appetizers of Razor Clams and Baked Oysters were both excellent. The main courses we had of Pasta with Rabbit (where you can't find this any place even in the North End) and Sea Bass were really special and worth the trip to the North End any time. Wine list by the glass very reasonable and they added a Black Fig cocktail that was really just perfect for Italian dining. Even more Black Fig was promised for future. Try it, You'll like it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Visiting Boston for the weekend and picked Momma Maria's after an internet search of the North End restaurants. It had great reviews and we weren't disappointed. We had delicious meals- from the unique starter salad using seasonal vegetables including squash to their signature lobster pasta and bolognese dishes. We had excellent service with our waiter giving helpful recommendations for both food and wine pairings.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent restaurant! I took my girlfriend there for her birthday and she absolutely loved it. The atmosphere, the food and the service were all amazing!!! Definitely going again soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Osso bucco is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 13, 2017

Went for our anniversary and had a lovely time! They didn't arrange anything for us, though. Waiter was a bit inattentive. Food was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

We had a very special family dinner here. The food and service was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Our reliable North End Go-To. Delicious, perfectly prepared dishes. Emer provided cheerful and attentive service. We requested and received our favorite table. Lovely ambiance. Always a winner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2017

This is a special restaurant primarily with gourmet Italian food and a great wine and drink list. Excellent. The only drawback is that the dining areas are a bit small and next to service areas but that is not much of a problem for many. Service was excellent. Expensive, but you do indeed get what you pay for. Great for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Had a reservation for 8 pm, restaurant is by reservation only. Walked in at the same time as another couple who also had an 8pm reservation. We were put in a seating area to await our table. At least 4 other groups who came in after us were sat before us, and then we ended up being double sat for one server. Didn't get to our table until 830. Service and food beyond that point were incredible.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Absolutely fantastic. Service was great. Some of the best. Italian dishes I️ have ever enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Our waiter, Tom provided great service and was very friendly. My wife and I were in the largest dining room so it was a little louder than I expected. The food was amazing! We had the Maine lobster pasta and a seafood stew. I highly recommend Mama Maria's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Food was amazing however service left something to be desired

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2017

This was our first visit to Mamma Maria's. I had heard great things and it did not disappoint. The tomato mozzarella salad was very fresh and delicious. My wife had the steak and I had the bolognese. Both were exceptional. We asked the server for a wine recommendation and she knocked it out of the park. The service was second to none, very friendly without being overbearing or feeling rushed. I cannot wait to return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Top notch. Authentic food and outstanding service. Very accommodating to requests.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Fantastic food, wish there were more vegetarian options - only one main course (which was delicious).

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

The reservation was managed perfectly, we had a very nice table in a cozy quieter room. Overall the service was good, but the waiter didn’t bring rocks with the drink, when asked for them he commented he had to go somewhere to get them,. The food taste was excellent but was served barely luke warm. The homemade pasta was delicious. We were not rushed and enjoyed the dinner, but there was opportunity for improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

The service was outstanding, the food delectable, and the overall experience delightful!

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Arrived 45 minutes late, traffic from R.I. horrible
Explained and apologized, manager was very gracious
Told waiter we needed to hurry to get to Celtics game could not have been more helpful
Food & wine were great, service superlative!
Will go back when not so rushed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 9, 2017

The building and room are charming and nicely located on North Square. The service was exemplary. The food, while very good indeed, was not one of those "Oh my word!" experiences. We do intend, however, to go back next time we're in Boston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2017

The food was terrific & the tomatoes really tasted like delicious tomatoes!!
Pasta w/ scallops & clams very yummy, as was my martini. Loved that it was
in this beautiful home in the North End... , lovely room to be in! Thank YOU!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Exceptional meal. One of the best I’ve had in the North End. Terrific service. Excellent wine list with great selection of Italian wines including some great regional choices. Reasonably priced as well. Black Bass and Rabbit pasta were excellent as was the pumpkin ravioli starter. Also recommend the Chocolate torte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Thank you, merci, it was perfect. Great style, in the kitchen and in the service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We had a wonderful night at Mamma Maria! The bartender was so kind, suggested wines and reviewed the menu with us. Our server was wonderful ~ a colorful, fun, helpful server who kept us entertained and made great suggestions. Food was awesome! The steak, the Bolognese were wonderful .. the tiramisu made me cry.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

This was my first dining experience at Mama Maria’s . When you walk in it appears to be an old ambience type of restaurant. The waitstaff did a good job of attending to my dinner party. The cost of a 4 person party with the purchase a 4 meals plus a bottle of wine was over $220. We only got bread with our dinner with no salad or complimentary side dish. It was what you ordered only on the plate. In addition, my wife’s meal was not even hot and the ginger ale she ordered was all ice and watery.

I️ would not recommend this restaurant to anybody as the food is overrated and over prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Atmosphere was quite noisy and initially I was concerned about enduring an entire meal here. I couldn't hear the conversation at my own table - luckily someone was "hushing" the loud tables. The food was outstanding - tiramisu was out of this world.

Price point was higher than I think it deserves, but I don't regret it.

Great wine list. Fantastic server, very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Really enjoyed our salads -fig,melon, and prosciutto for me and Bibb lettuce for my husband. Very tasty entree rabbit bolognese for me. Oslo Bucco for husband was tender and flavorful. For dessert pana cotta itself was great but was overwhelmed by cranberry sauce. Restaurant can be noisy and tables are a bit too close together.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Wonderful ambiance. Waiter unfriendly and a bit on the surly side. Pasta too al dente, clams chewy and coffee lukewarm. Excellent fried oysters. The restaurant needs to try harder and pay more attention to the details.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Great food, the waiter made some excellent recommendations. The location and ambiance was off the main street in the North End and was a much quieter setting but the food was amazing. I had lobster ravioli And I’d recommend that any day of the week.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Great menu with MA/local fish/seafood. Wine list with excellent Italian options, among others. Truly professional waitstaff that made our business dinner a wonderful event.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Pleasantly surprised. Blown away. Expected expensive “ok” and they delivered.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2017

The food was fresh, tasty, well prepared and appropriately priced. The ambiance was very romantic. The service was 1st class and the location is authentic heart of North End on a cobblestone road. We loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 31, 2017

First class from start to finish. Beautiful old building with lots of character and food was delicious

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Mamma Maria is not the hippest dining experience, but that's what also made it perfect for a very pleasant business dining experience. We could easily talk without having to shout and the absence loud music, sports TV or large groups of people provided a perfect ambiance. The menu provides a nice range of options with seasonal and locally sourced foods available. The wine list is more than adequate, and our waiter was helpful, friendly, and prompt throughout the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Really delicious food from start to finish. Razor clams were outstanding, as was the lobster pasta and bolognese. Tiramisu was also phenomenal. Service was the right amount of attentive, and the ambiance was very nice. Really enjoyable meal and will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Nice amibiance fitting the Northend of Boston. Good food and interesting dishes with a nice wine list to pare the food with. Cozy rooms make it quaint and easy to converse while dining in a non-rushed environment. Service is friendly and good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Outstanding Italian restaurant in Bostons North End.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2017

This is the best restrautant in the North End. The food is exception and the service is as good if not better. You can spend days looking at different restaurants in the neighborhood or you can save yourself the time and just go here. 100/100

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.