About Mama's Fish House

799 Poho Place
Paia, HI 96779
View Larger Map

Mama's Fish House is a converted beach house in a coconut grove on a secluded white sand beach. Inside, hinged windows open to let in the trade winds and Polynesian artifacts and original oil paintings decorate tropical hardwood walls. The rooms are filled with spectacular flower arrangements and tapa print cloths cover the tables. Outdoor dining is equally exciting, and everyone enjoys watching the windsurfers performing offshore.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaiian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Reservations from 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
For reservations larger than 4, please contact the restaurant directly.

*In an effort to preserve the ambiance for our more intimate diners, we do not accept bookings for split parties.

Priority seating in the restaurant is given to those with reservations. Specific tables, such as windows, may not be reserved in advance.
Same Menu is served all day in the dining room and Bar/lounge
Bar/lounge seating for walk-ins, based on availability from 11:00 am to close.

Cross Street:
Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 579-8488

Website:
http://www.mamasfishhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Perry Bateman

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Birthday, Anniversary, Honeymoon. Mama's Fish House is sure to be the perfect place for an intimate celebration. Contact us directly for details on booking for lunch or dinner.

Restaurant Photos

Mama's Fish House
Mama's Fish House
Mama's Fish House
Mama's Fish House
Kampachi Sashimi
Papa's Three Fish Sashimi
Ahi Sashimi
Seared Beef Polynesian served in a grilled ripe papaya & Tahitian Style Ceviche
Opah Hana Ginger-Panko Crust with Kalua Pig Fried Rice
Onaga Sashimi
Polynesian Black Pearl
Mai Tai
Ahi Poke With Taro Chips
Three Fish Panang Curry w/coconut milk
Crab Cakes
Crab-stuffed Mahi-mahi Topped With Lobster
Cerviche
Mahi Mahi
Lobster Guacamole
Mahimahi Burger
Plantation Punch
Kula Chocolate Pie
Grilled Maui He'e
Luau Octopus
Honey Whole Wheat Poppyseed Bread
I'a Maka Niu
Poi
Lilikoi Crème Brulee
Coconut Candy
Honey Wheat Bread
Coconut Mint Refresher
Lobster Guacamole With Island Chips
Tahitian Black Pearl Mousse
Black Pearl
Pan seared Opah with maui onion, ha'iku tomato and forbidden black rice
Pink Snapper
Kauai Shrimp Wontons
Grilled Asparagus Bisque
Lehi - Silver Mouth Snapper
Coconut Curry Bisque
Kalua Boar
Short Ribs
Macadamia Nut Kale And Panko Crusted Fish With Potatoes Gratin
Strawberry Guava Fizz
Shrimp Wontons
Chardon
Polynesian Ono Ceviche
Lobster & Crab Stuffed Mahi Mahi with Macadamia Nut Crust
Maui Brewing Coconut Porter
Pau Hana Cocktail
Mahimahi stuffed with lobster and crab
NY Steak
Surf'n'Turf
Baked Onaga With Kale And Macadamia Nuts
Hana Banana Macadamia Nut Crisp
Asparagus And Ginger Soup
Mama's Spring Salad
Ono Sashimi
Passion Fruit Creme Brulee
Onaga With Charred Pineapple, Pomegranate And Hawaii Black Sea Salt
Mama's Lobster Stuffed Mahi Mahi.
Ahi With Ponzu, Red Shiso And Kukui Nut Salt
Fish And Rice
Relaxer
Amuse Bouche
Ono With Calamansi Citrus And Molokai Pink Sea Salt
Pink Floyd
Waiwera
Mama's Mai Tai
Kampachi Ceviche
Tahitian Ceviche (Poisson Cru)
Lbv Port
Beef Short Rib "Pulehu"
Mahimahi Burger with Okinawan Sweet Potato Fries
Poppy Seed Bread.
Stuffed Mahi Mahi
Seared Ahi
Opakapaka Special
Opakapaka
intermezzo
Black Pearl Dessert
Mango Amuse Bouche
Pina Colada
Kaua'i Pie
Ahi tuna
Ho'okipa Sunrise
Rice With Roast Duck
Mother Of Pearl
Passionfruit Creme Brulee
Mama’s Stuffed Mahimahi
He'e Carpaccio
Holiday Ahi Sashimi
Traditional Hawaiian
Mint Refresher
Banana Macadamia Nut Crisp
Mahimahi And Ahi In Panang Curry
Tristan Island Lobster Sandwich
Steamed Agu And Veggies With Ginger, Soy Sauce
Pan-Seared Ono With Kalua Boar Fried Rice
Broadbill Swordfish

Mama's Fish House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Hawaii
Best Food
Hawaii
Best Service
Hawaii
12 More
Best Ambiance
Hawaii
Most Booked
Hawaii
Best Overall
Maui
Best Food
Maui
Best Service
Maui
Best Ambiance
Maui
Best Value
Maui
Fit for Foodies
Maui
Romantic
Maui
Scenic View
Maui
Special Occasion
Maui
Most Booked
Maui
Best Restaurants in Paia ›

Scenic View (1123)
Special Occasion (1054)
Romantic (911)
See All
Fit for Foodies (743)
Great for Outdoor Dining (524)
Great for Lunch (379)
Hot Spot (310)
Neighborhood Gem (276)
Good for Groups (234)
Notable Wine List (151)
Kid-friendly (142)
Great for Brunch (95)
Vibrant Bar Scene (45)
Late-night Find (34)
Waterfront (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Healthy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
13665 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What an experience. Beautiful views. Ce ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

What an experience. Beautiful views. Celebrated our anniversary and they made us a card and gave me a beautiful lei. Fish was excellent. Will definitely return when in Maui again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location and beautiful surrounding ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 2 days ago

Great location and beautiful surroundings. The food and Service are wonderful. Fabulous dish: Tahitian Prawns, grilled and spiced with Tahitian Vanilla with coconut rice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Beautiful atmosphere,friendly knowable s ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful atmosphere,friendly knowable staff, delicious food, warm hospitality a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding. Every bite worth the price. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding. Every bite worth the price. Incredible view.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service and ambiance were very good, but ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 4 days ago

service and ambiance were very good, but food was too spicy and took a long time to come out of the kitchen. Very expensive.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Exceptional food with great service and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

Exceptional food with great service and a really relaxed atmosphere. Amazing

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food. Great service and attentio ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food. Great service and attention. Detail was exceptional. Drinks, apps, and straight through to dessert was fully impressive. Every single time we have come to

Maui, Mama's is a must. They constantly improve the restaurant and the food each time we go back. This restaurant is a must! Worth every minute you wait even if you have reservations and every single bite will seriously prep you for the days that will come upon your departure, when you will literally dream about what you ate at Mama's and how badly you want to go back. Yes, it really is that good. Thank you so much for the great experience. They even noted that it was our honeymoon and had a sign on our table congratulating us and welcoming us to the restaurant for our (incredible) dining experience. Go! You will not have regrets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were made to feel very special throug ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were made to feel very special throughout our dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a must do in Maui. Ideally for l ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is a must do in Maui. Ideally for late lunch to fully experience the view and location and a table at the window.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I took my 94 year-old mom from AZ to Mau ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

I took my 94 year-old mom from AZ to Maui and we had the very best time at Mama's celebrating her birthday. Our server, Jayden, made my mom feel so special with a lei, great service, and two desserts! Oh my, she was in heaven. Loved the food and our table was right there overlooking the beach scene. Lovely! Relaxing! Delicious! And, I loved the Moro Sauvignon Blanc from NZ. It went so well with the crab-stuffed mahi and tomato salad. Oh, did we say how much we loved the Polynesian beef? So ‘ono!!!! Please tell Jayden we will be back to see him and so appreciate his assistance getting my mom to our car (above and beyond kinda guy). So considerate. Mahalo for one of the very best dining experiences of my life. I loved sharing it with mom, especially since this will probably be her last trip to Hawaii to visit me. She will be talking about it until the end of time.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing evening with the freshest, most ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing evening with the freshest, most flavorful fish in Maui! Thank you for an unforgettable night!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mama's came highly reviewed to us for ou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Mama's came highly reviewed to us for our trip to Maui, so we tried it. While the food was delicious, it wasn't remarkably better than the much more economical fish dishes we had at smaller roadside stands and restaurants. The open air atmosphere made for a nice view, but it also came with small flies around us and our table throughout our meal. So, overall, good food, but the atmosphere and service did not seem to make it worth the additional cost for the food and drinks.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Mama's is set back, so it has a very int ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

Mama's is set back, so it has a very intimate, romantic feel to it. We were here to celebrate our honeymoon, which they knew in advance, and we were seated at a cute little booth facing the water & sunset, with a nice note on our table wishing congratulations. We had heard from many friends that Mama's is top notch, and they did not disappoint! The food was so fresh and absolutely excellent. It is very pricey, but since we were on our honeymoon we didn't mind. Drinks are delicious, too. We loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A phenomenal meal with a phenomenal view ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

A phenomenal meal with a phenomenal view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great fish restaurant can't wait to go ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

A great fish restaurant can't wait to go back on our next trip to Maui

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our trips to Maui would not be complete ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our trips to Maui would not be complete without a visit to Mama's Fish House. The setting is magical, the food is always delicious, and the service is impeccable . The restaurant is festooned with exotic flowers and the outside beach area is perfect for shooting vacation photos. Yes it's expensive but there is no question that the dining experience is always one of our most memorable moments when we're visiting Hawaii.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

By far the best service on the island! F ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

By far the best service on the island! Food was superb and our waitress was so pleasant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall a great place to eat with a sign ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Overall a great place to eat with a signature Maui feel. Our server took some time to bring us our food which was disappointing. Considering the steakhouse price level, I would expect attentive service but maybe it's the Hawaii vibes that cause all service to be super relaxed.

The sunset was amazing and the cocktails were pretty legit. Def would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Absolutely outstanding !! Service was gr ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely outstanding !! Service was great and food was fabulous ! It is expensive, but worth it. Dinner was for a 50th birthday and they give a nice note and dessert ! Just the little extra's made it even more special ! Will certainly go back

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view is the ocean, highly recommen ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great view is the ocean, highly recommended for sunset.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful place, but even after saving ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

A wonderful place, but even after saving up from a 40-year career, paying $54 for a piece of fish is a problem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Something out of Hawaii 5-0, the origina ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

Something out of Hawaii 5-0, the original Hawaii 5-0. But the food was awesome and the beach is feet away. Fine place to take out of town guest

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We'd heard a lot about Mama's including ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We'd heard a lot about Mama's including that it's pricy. Maybe we were just prepared, but we found it worth every penny. Wonderful setting, excellent food, a perfect experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mamas fish house was excellent! My husba ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Mamas fish house was excellent! My husband and I went on the first night of our honeymoon in Maui and absolutely loved it! We both had the mahi stuffed with crab and it was like nothing I've ever eaten before! The only negative thing I have to say about Mamas is the prices. Although portions are a nice size it was very expensive.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Servers were very fr ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was excellent. Servers were very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food we had in Maui. The mahi mahi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Best food we had in Maui. The mahi mahi stuffed with king crab is a must try!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience.. Went to celebrate ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Wonderful experience.. Went to celebrate a Birthday and it was perfect. The food was exceptional , the device was excellent ..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a must when we come to Maui. We b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always a must when we come to Maui. We brought a friend that had never been before and she fell in love with the while experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were absolutely spe ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The service and food were absolutely spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing scenery and incredible food. I ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Amazing scenery and incredible food. I don't even like rum, but their Mai Tai was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mama's Fish House was amazing! Everythin ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Mama's Fish House was amazing! Everything we ordered was delicious. We we're celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and the staff arranged to have a card on our table congratulating us. That was a very nice touch. They also gave my husband a lei to give to me. That was a class act! The view is also breathtaking. If you go to Maui this is place you have to visit!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was probably the best fish restaura ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This was probably the best fish restaurant I have ever been to. All of the fish is caught locally that day by their fisherman and if you arrive around 5pm you will see a ton of people surfing just off the beach. Definitely a jewel and worth everything penny!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

As usual, food and ambiance was perfect. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

As usual, food and ambiance was perfect. Very pricey but worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Extremely over-hyped and overpriced. The ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Extremely over-hyped and overpriced. The meal was a complete disappointment. Our server was inattentive to the extreme (had to flag him down to order and then after we ate we had dirty dishes sitting in front of us for 20+ minutes before he finally cleared them.) Dining room is very cluttered and it looks like Duke's, but much less curated décor. They did not appear to have enough staff, our server was also our busboy and water filler. For what they charged I would have expected a full staff. The food was mediocre and absolutely not worth the money we paid. If you want fine dining on Maui, go to Merriman's instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

If you are traveling to Maui, make this ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

If you are traveling to Maui, make this your special evening out! Never disappointed!! My daughter has so many allergies including fish and seafood and they do a wonderful job making her feel right at home. Mahalo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience, food and service! Beau ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great experience, food and service! Beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there to celebrate our 29th wedd ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We were there to celebrate our 29th wedding Anniversary. As frequent guests to Mama's, our high expectations were exceeded by your perfection in every category. The food is second to none. Delicious in every way. The servus with special care. The perfect table, the personalized note, the beautiful lei and acknowledgements from everyone who waited on us (special thanks to Brandy) was especially appreciated. MAHALO until we see you again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mama's shocked me from the moment I arri ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Mama's shocked me from the moment I arrived. Beautiful view, great surroundings and excellent welcome. Bar service and food service were very good. And then the food came out. It was of a very high standard. The shrimp wontons were beautiful along with the Opah that I had never had before. My wife loved the mahi mahi stuffed with crab and lobster and also she enjoyed the cocktails. One warning is that it is expensive BUT you do get what you pay for and that is quality.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second time at Mama's Fish ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This was our second time at Mama's Fish house and it was just as good as the first time. We love the food, drinks, service and the hula lamp in the bar.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Mama's to celebrate our honey ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We went to Mama's to celebrate our honeymoon and the whole experience exceeded our expectations. From the moment you enter it feels like you are walking into another world with welcoming staff and gorgeous views both right on the beach and from our table inside. Service was well timed but not rushed- letting us savor the food, drinks, and Maui sunset. Delicious cocktails and the most well cooked and delicious fish we've had.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.