About Mama's Fish House

799 Poho Place
Paia, HI 96779
View Larger Map

Mama's Fish House is a converted beach house in a coconut grove on a secluded white sand beach. Inside, hinged windows open to let in the trade winds and Polynesian artifacts and original oil paintings decorate tropical hardwood walls. The rooms are filled with spectacular flower arrangements and tapa print cloths cover the tables. Outdoor dining is equally exciting, and everyone enjoys watching the windsurfers performing offshore.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaiian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Reservations from 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
For reservations larger than 4, please contact the restaurant directly.

*In an effort to preserve the ambiance for our more intimate diners, we do not accept bookings for split parties.

Priority seating in the restaurant is given to those with reservations. Specific tables, such as windows, may not be reserved in advance.
Same Menu is served all day in the dining room and Bar/lounge
Bar/lounge seating for walk-ins, based on availability from 11:00 am to close.

Cross Street:
Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 579-8488

Website:
http://www.mamasfishhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Perry Bateman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Birthday, Anniversary, Honeymoon. Mama's Fish House is sure to be the perfect place for an intimate celebration. Contact us directly for details on booking for lunch or dinner.

Restaurant Photos

Mama's Fish House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Hawaii
Best Food
Hawaii
Best Service
Hawaii
14 More
Best Ambiance
Hawaii
Romantic
Hawaii
Special Occasion
Hawaii
Most Booked
Hawaii
Best Overall
Maui
Best Food
Maui
Best Service
Maui
Best Ambiance
Maui
Best Value
Maui
Fit for Foodies
Maui
Romantic
Maui
Scenic View
Maui
Special Occasion
Maui
Most Booked
Maui
Best Restaurants in Paia ›

scenic view (1389)
special occasion (1320)
romantic (1102)
See All
fit for foodies (968)
great for outdoor dining (605)
great for lunch (556)
hot spot (360)
neighborhood gem (330)
good for groups (282)
notable wine list (211)
kid-friendly (146)
great for brunch (140)
vibrant bar scene (67)
late-night find (37)
Sort By:
Newest
12934 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Such an awesome experience for our honey ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

Such an awesome experience for our honeymoon! An amazing view/setting, great service and AMAZING food!! It was a great night!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Perhaps the best meal ever! Worth every ...

Dined 3 days ago

Perhaps the best meal ever! Worth every dime.

food4
ambience4
service2

We went to celebrate our engagement (I p ...

Dined 3 days ago

We went to celebrate our engagement (I proposed earlier in the day). Mama's knew we were there to celebrate that occasion but nobody said anything to us, no congratulations, and actually fairly poor service by a young waiter who didn't explain the menu (how each item was prepared) like they have in the past (Cliff is out favourite waiter but he wasn't working). We went to another fine dining restaurant at the Grand Wailea two days later and were treated like GOLD after that asked us if we were celebrating anything... Service makes ALL the difference and we weren't impressed with Mama's this time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always of the highest quality.

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Food is always of the highest quality.

food1
ambience3
service3
value2

No thank you, over priced

Dined 3 days ago

Not sure what the fuss was all about. They ran out of oysters. Strike one.. Wil not recommend I'm you like to throw your money away.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacation Launch Pad!

vip
Dined 4 days ago

After landing in Maui Airport, our first stop is always MaMa's Fish House in Paia, Hi. Favorite orders are: Pau Hana Cocktail (lime, guava, Bombay gin, w/ hint of ginger), Mae Tae Roa (Trader Vics, 1944), Fish collars (opakapaka fish, Very fresh tender white fish) and Crispy mahiMahi rolls with mushroom sauce and maui onion chutney. Also, fresh baked whear loaf and butter amd soup sample at beginning of each meal. The service is always excellent too. Cocktails and small plates while watching Maui ocean roll in and out --Perfect!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service! The food was excel ...

Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding service! The food was excellent and the ambiance was off the charts!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant, with amazing food ...

Dined 4 days ago

Excellent restaurant, with amazing food and great service. Expensive but worth it for special occasions. We have gone there for our anniversary for the last 8 years.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

Dined 4 days ago

Thank you Jake to you & your team for making our second wedding anniversary a great experience as we visited Mummas for our first time from Sydney Oz. Will pass on the great experience to our friends. Hope to see you again soon. G & C

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Although expensive for a lunch, the food ...

Dined 5 days ago

Although expensive for a lunch, the food was great and the view and ambiance was worth it. Since the meal is on the high end, the drinks should be a more moderate price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Portions were very generous, and sides w ...

Dined 5 days ago

Portions were very generous, and sides were large enough to share for two. My wife had the ahpoke "simply grilled" and to be honest, it was a bit dried out. The other three dinner however, were very good with interesting flavor combinations. I would probably go back again, despite the one miss.

food5
ambience3
service3

We have dined here almost every trip to ...

Dined 5 days ago

We have dined here almost every trip to Maui over the last 20 years. Unfortunately a couple of years ago we had a less than pleasant experience, service was subpar. So we have chosen to dine at Merrimans the last two years. We thought perhaps the service would have improved so we made reservations prior to our trip and again found the experience the same. We have chalked it up to becoming too commercialized, good for the owners but a sad cry from the Island experience we enjoyed for so many years.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We where recommended this restraunt fro ...

Dined 6 days ago

We where recommended this restraunt from people who visited before, we will definitely be back and recommend to others!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Mama's Fish House for lunch wi ...

Dined 6 days ago

I went to Mama's Fish House for lunch with my husband and parents. It as our first time in Maui and my friends recommended the place to me from Winnipeg, Mb ( Canada). It was beyond our expectations ! Great Food, Execellent Service and Amazing View! Defiantly one of our best memories about our trip ! Mahalo

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food and drinks were great. The serv ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food and drinks were great. The service was great at first, then we never saw her. We had to wait 30 minutes between our appetizer and entree. People around us got theirs and some got theirs and finished. We could tell from the servers body language that something must have happened, but we were never told. I even said I thought you forgot us, she looked at me and smiled. We would not been upset if she had just said sorry the kitchen is behind or your order got lost, just inform people if something goes wrong. The food was great once we got it. This is why I gave 3 stars for service.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was a little pricey, but service, a ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food was a little pricey, but service, atmosphere and food were amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing restaurant! Food is pricy but de ...

Dined 6 days ago

Amazing restaurant! Food is pricy but delicious. A maui must do! Beautiful view of the beach. A++++

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A trip to Maui wouldn't be complete with ...

Dined 6 days ago

A trip to Maui wouldn't be complete without dinner a Mamas. Great views, wonderful food, and relaxing ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Mama's fish house was delicious. The be ...

Dined 6 days ago

Mama's fish house was delicious. The best part about the restaurant though is the location! It's got amazing views, come early to enjoy. The food was great but pricey than other restaurants with similar quality dishes. The waiter we had was very knowledgeable, attentive and prompt.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Spectacular food. Mama's stuffed Mahi Ma ...

Dined 6 days ago

Spectacular food. Mama's stuffed Mahi Mahi was outstanding. Everything tastes as fresh as can be. A bit on the $ side but if $ no object this place is a must

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was the best meal I've had in a lon ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was the best meal I've had in a long time! The staff were super friendly and attentive. The stuffed Monchoung was delicious, and is the Mama's Fish House special. The view was beautiful and the restaurant itself is very charming and inviting. Although it is a bit expensive, it was well worth it for a special meal and dining experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food, service and location. Price ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great food, service and location. Pricey. We had two issues. The mixed drinks come from the bar, but a glass of wine comes from the server. They don't arrive at the same time. So my Mai Tai melted for 10 minutes until my wife's wine came. They had replaced the Mahi in the signature dish with Machong. Machong is drier and needs more sauce.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Crazy expensive. Service exceptional.

Dined 7 days ago

Everything about this place sets the bar for excellence. The service is unsurpassed. The food is the finest you'll find on the island. The ambiance is wonderful. We were there for lunch. The bill? $300 for the two of us after tip. Of course, we had appetizer, cocktail, wine along with lunch. So, it adds up fast.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary ...

Dined 7 days ago

Celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at Mama's Fish House. Perfection. We received numerous congratulations from their staff. I was so happy to be there with my groom. There is no place I'd rather be. Mahalo.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal on Maui

Dined on May 17, 2016

Had the red snapper ceviche - best ceviche we'd ever had. Then we followed up with the macadamia crusted fish stuffed with lobster and lobster tails. Unreal meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Mama's Fish House is a wonderful experie ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Mama's Fish House is a wonderful experience. Everything about it is fantastic (except the price). This was not our first visit there, so I knew that the prices were VERY high but the experience makes it all worth while. Food, service and ambiance makes this one of the very top restaurants in all of Maui. When in Maui, don't miss out on this awesome place!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3

One of the managers came by our table to ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

One of the managers came by our table to welcome us and kindly gave me a lei as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. Location (oceanfront) can't be beat!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food and exceptional service. ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Delicious food and exceptional service. A bit pricey.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

2nd time here. Love love. We got a grea ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

2nd time here. Love love. We got a great view of the ocean and the fish couldn't be fresher.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and view! We had a great time ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great food and view! We had a great time and the service from the entire staff was exceptional!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, as usual. Food choices, serv ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Wonderful, as usual. Food choices, service, atmosphere are all great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and incredible service. H ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Fantastic food and incredible service. HeatherG was our server and she was top notch. This is a must go-to place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mama's is AMAZING! The view, the food, t ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Mama's is AMAZING! The view, the food, the service, and the location all epitomizes the best island restaurant experience ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had heard that Mama's Fish House was a ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I had heard that Mama's Fish House was a must do and it did not disappoint!! It was beautiful- the location and the restaurant itself. The food was amazing. We are vegan and it did not disappoint! I honestly would rate this as one of the best dining experiences I've ever had. Fantastic way to end our Maui trip!! Truly a must do if you are looking for that extra special dinner or just want a fantastic meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

No bad menu choices.

Dined on May 15, 2016

Let's me order things I never had before knowing they are all good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second time to Mama's. It di ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This was my second time to Mama's. It didn't disappoint. I had the Macadamia nut crusted Mahi Mahi stuffed with Lobster and Crab and finished with the black pearl dessert. Made a reservation for 7 so we could watch the sunset at 6:45 on the beach in front of Mama's. If you go to Maui Mama's Fish House is a must. Everything was amazing!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Will be back again next year! We own in ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Will be back again next year! We own in kihei make our annual trip and always make reservations at Mamas.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love mama's!!!!! I visited a couple ye ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I love mama's!!!!! I visited a couple years ago and fell madly in love. The food is to die for! The service is impeccable. Everything is so great that I had to bring one of my best girlfriends in for dinner on our girls trip to Maui. Everything was just as I remembered. Simply outstanding! Can't wait to get back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful. It had been recommended by ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Delightful. It had been recommended by friends for years so we will be happy to tell them that we finally went and enjoyed it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Always great food, you can count on one ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Always great food, you can count on one of the best experiences in Maui. Seems to be getting very pricey for regular customers but a must-go if you've never been!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.