Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 2.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 2.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 2.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 2.16mi

About Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House is a converted beach house in a coconut grove on a secluded white sand beach. Inside, hinged windows open to let in the trade winds and Polynesian artifacts and original oil paintings decorate tropical hardwood walls. The rooms are filled with spectacular flower arrangements and tapa print cloths cover the tables. Outdoor dining is equally exciting, and everyone enjoys watching the windsurfers performing offshore.

799 Poho Place
Paia, HI 96779
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaiian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Reservations from 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
For reservations larger than 4, please contact the restaurant directly.

*In an effort to preserve the ambiance for our more intimate diners, we do not accept bookings for split parties.

Priority seating in the restaurant is given to those with reservations. Specific tables, such as windows, may not be reserved in advance.
Same Menu is served all day in the dining room and Bar/lounge
Bar/lounge seating for walk-ins, based on availability from 11:00 am to close.

Cross Street:
Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat with the fish flags

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 579-8488

Website:
http://www.mamasfishhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Perry Bateman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Birthday, Anniversary, Honeymoon. Mama's Fish House is sure to be the perfect place for an intimate celebration. Contact us directly for details on booking for lunch or dinner.

Mama's Fish House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (903)
Scenic View (898)
Special Occasion (804)
See All
Romantic (718)
Local Ingredients (677)
Worth the Drive (667)
Good for Anniversaries (666)
Good for a Date (585)
Creative Cuisine (492)
Fit for Foodies (470)
Authentic (419)
Good for Birthdays (402)
Handcrafted Cocktails (344)
Historic (297)
Great for Outdoor Dining (293)
Great for Lunch (278)
Fun (239)
Neighborhood Gem (197)
Casual (182)
Hot Spot (175)
Healthy (174)
Quiet Conversation (162)
People Watching (159)
Cozy (148)
Sunday Lunch (129)
Notable Wine List (127)
Good for Groups (123)
Bar Seating (86)
Family Style (72)
Business Meals (65)
Kid-friendly (64)
Organic (59)
Tasting Menu (54)
Gluten Free Options (53)
Comfort Food (49)
Seasonal (49)
Disabled Access (44)
Good Vegetarian Options (38)
Outstanding Value (38)
Great for Brunch (37)
Paleo Friendly (31)
Happy Hour (27)
Molecular Gastronomy (25)
Modern Decor (22)
Tapas (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Spicy (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Vegan (14)
Afternoon Coffee (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Quick Bite (7)
Great Beer (7)
Live Music (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Private Room (6)
Wood Oven (4)
Fireplace (3)
Live Sports (2)
Dancing (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
17163 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 hours ago

Always great service and food. Upscale dining experience that is one of a kind.

Tags: Waterfront, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined a day ago

Joey was the best server ever! So knowledgeable, friendly, prompt... we had a GREAT time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined a day ago

The food here is pricey but absolutely worth every penny. Fishermen and hunters are named beside their catch and game. Flavors are amazing. If you are allergic to shellfish, don't be afraid, let the staff know and they'll make sure you choose foods with no shellfish of any kind. Went last year and this. If you only eat at one place on Maui, this should be it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Great view. Superb decor. Amazing food. Love the ceviche and bouillabaisse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing meal. The service was excellent and the ambiance is incredible. They made our anniversary very special.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

This is the iconic Maui restaurant. We have dined there annually for the past several years and the quality level is amazingly consistent. The fish is always fresh and the daily menu goes out of its way to identify the fisher person and location of the catch for each dish. The wait staff is extremely knowledgeable about all things on the menu

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

The place, the staff, the food, the ambience are SPECTULAR! Make dinner reservations for 6 or 6:30 so you can enjoy the beautiful oceanfront view

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was awesome! We will return on our next trip to Maui.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything about this restaurant was terrific except the prices--even higher than any expensive NYC restaurant entre. So while it is one of Maui's best--it does charge a premium that others of same caliber do not .

Tags: People Watching, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Mama's Fish House is one of the true great dining experiences. The location is astounding, and the food and service are wonderful. Don't miss a chance to experience it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Extremely...extremely...extremely overpriced. This place is a complete tourist trap. Definitely not worth price.

The 'fresh fish' is not worth the inflated prices, and the flavor, quantity, and uniqueness of the food does not justify the exorbitant prices charged.

Just not good...for the price. Aside from the price, the food itself was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Best food on this island. Worth every penny. Great atmosphere, beautiful location.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Freshest fish , amazing service, valet parking offered, the view is amazing. A++++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was delicious, and service was out of the world. We were recommended the sashimi and was one of the best tasting I've ever had. We also had couple of vegetarian in the group, and they loved the veg options. For desert, crème brulee was perfect to compliment the meal.

Thanks Mamma fish House!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

The place is an institution. That's it. I have been there 5 times in the past 30 years. Exelent food every time. Menus changed just a great place to eat at. The cocktails are excellent also.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Having lunch behind a beautiful beach was great! The food are good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The pricing does not match up to the food at all. Extremely overpriced, they rest their laurels on food quality and sourcing when that is the minimum required by most diners and restaurants. This could have been a special place twenty years ago.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Our food was absolutely wonderful. Fresh, flavorful, delicious. However, it did take quite a long time from when they cleared our appetizer to when we received our main course. To the point my husband and i thought our server may have left and forgot about us. I would still highly recommend this restaurant and go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was great . Service and ambiance like it was 10 years ago during my honeymoon. The sashimi trio and salad was excellent and the Mahi stuff and Tahiti prawns was delicious. The dessert with the babana crust and ice cream black pearl mousse was heavenly
I did think the boulliibesse was a little too salty.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined 3 days ago

We had always wanted to eat at Mama's Fish House in Paia, Maui. It is spendy yet we knew that and agreed to have a friend's birthday dinner celebration at Mama's. Three hours later we all confirmed that we had the best fish dishes ever eaten by any of us, and fabulous service. The setting is pure Hawaiin and we had a view too. Very highly recommended, we travel quite a bit and eat at a variety of restaurants. Aloha!!

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Best food ever! And the server knew all things Hawaii and food. He was very informative. This meal will not be beaten

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Still my favorite restaurant in all of Hawaii. Not for the financially challenged however but worth the price for food and atmosphere. I had the seafood coconut curry which was outstanding and my husband had fish of the day, which he also loved. Thinking of moving here so we can be closer to Mamas!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Never disappoints! Mamas is awesome. Food is incredible and the ambiance exceeds any expectations you have.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

SPECTACULAR IN EVERY WAY!
We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. Originally we had dinner reservations but decided to see about driving out for lunch. The staff were very accommodating. When we arrived, there was a personalized 'Anniversary Congratulations!' card waiting for us at the table. The food was The Best. We had the crab cake appetizer, sublime seafood dishes and the chocolate pie dessert. The restaurant added a small celebratory dessert cheesecake to round off our meal. It is a really wonderful place and well worth the drive (we were staying in Wailea). A definite 'Must Try!'

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

WOW! From the free valet to the beautiful walk along the beachfront path to get to the restaurant. The service and the food everything was outstanding. We've been to many restaurants worldwide and this is in the top five! We started with the crevice, and we both had fish. it could not of been fresher, and was perfectly cooked with delicious sauces. We didn't have time because of our flight but the desserts I saw looked delectable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

What an awesome restaurant.
Have dined at Mama's many times and have never been disappointed. The food, the view and the service can't be beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

The place is great with even a beach. The food is fantastic but the price is over the limit. Come on! Sea food in Maui shouldn't be THAT expensive even for a well prepared, tasty dinner. Dinner with 2 cocktails for 2 adults and a 9 years old is over 300 US$....BUT you get a Free valet parking!!! Yeaaah!
Anyway, you have to try the place !!!

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Was recommended to us by a friend. We were informed about the cost before making the reservation, but the food quality, service, atmosphere, etc., made it well worth the price. As someone who is not a big fish eater, he Ahi makes me want to go back. Simply put, the best fist and crab cake I have ever eaten. The experience is worth the cost unlike what many of the reviews say. Give it a try and enjoy the experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

This place was amazing to the fullest!!! Fabulous food, gorgeous views, stunning location and outstanding service. We had the absolute best time, I'd make the drive in a heartbeat again and again and again... top notch!!!

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Seasonal, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Comfort Food, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Historic, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Mama's Fish House has outstanding, locally caught seafood, superb service, and a beautiful view of the north Maui shore line. We eat every time we visit Maui. Advance reservations and a full wallet are recommended.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food, view and service!!! Always one of our favorite places to go on Maui!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 4 days ago

After hearing great reviews about Mama's Fish House, we made this a must stop. It was everything I hoped it would be. The restaurant is on a beautiful ocean side. The food was absolutely delicious. The only tiny critic I have is it took a little longer than expected to get the bill, but it was very minor. I loved this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

A must dine experience while on Maui. Best food on the island.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

It was a wonderful experience but the prices threw us for a loop. It was our first time in Hawaii

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was great. We had a surprise dessert for our birthday treat👍🎂

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Waterfront, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Can't miss every trip to Maui! The fish is so fresh and good. Desserts are too yummy to pass up although we were so Full!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Healthy, Historic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

So beautiful ... location , food, and the staff! Magical🌴🌺🌴🌺🌴

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Super expensive. Always knew it was spendy but $260 for lunch for 2 with only 1 alcohol drink was a little much.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Kitchen was extremely that day and my party of four waited 1 hr for our food. The waiter apologized profusely and was so accommodating and told us dessert was on him. Then the mgr came over and comped the entire meal with the exception of the lobster. That said, everything was absolutely delicious. The Tahitian lobster tails were the best I've ever had - perfectly cooked, tender with a hint of sweetness. My friends raved about the crab guacamole, coconut cake and banana-caramel ice cream. They said it the best ice cream they've ever eaten. Mama's is pricey but a must if you travel to Maui. Easier to get reservations for lunch vs. dinner.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.