About Mama's Fish House

799 Poho Place
Paia, HI 96779
View Larger Map

Mama's Fish House is a converted beach house in a coconut grove on a secluded white sand beach. Inside, hinged windows open to let in the trade winds and Polynesian artifacts and original oil paintings decorate tropical hardwood walls. The rooms are filled with spectacular flower arrangements and tapa print cloths cover the tables. Outdoor dining is equally exciting, and everyone enjoys watching the windsurfers performing offshore.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaiian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Reservations from 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
For reservations larger than 4, please contact the restaurant directly.

*In an effort to preserve the ambiance for our more intimate diners, we do not accept bookings for split parties.

Priority seating in the restaurant is given to those with reservations. Specific tables, such as windows, may not be reserved in advance.
Same Menu is served all day in the dining room and Bar/lounge
Bar/lounge seating for walk-ins, based on availability from 11:00 am to close.

Cross Street:
Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 579-8488

Website:
http://www.mamasfishhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Perry Bateman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Birthday, Anniversary, Honeymoon. Mama's Fish House is sure to be the perfect place for an intimate celebration. Contact us directly for details on booking for lunch or dinner.

Restaurant Photos

Mama's Fish House
Mama's Fish House
Mama's Fish House
Mama's Fish House
Kampachi Sashimi
Papa's Three Fish Sashimi
Ahi Sashimi
Polynesian Black Pearl
Seared Beef Polynesian served in a grilled ripe papaya & Tahitian Style Ceviche
Mai Tai
Opah Hana Ginger-Panko Crust with Kalua Pig Fried Rice
Onaga Sashimi
Ahi Poke With Taro Chips
Crab-stuffed Mahi-mahi Topped With Lobster
Three Fish Panang Curry w/coconut milk
Crab Cakes
Mahi Mahi
Lobster Guacamole
Cerviche
Black Pearl
Kula Chocolate Pie
Lobster & Crab Stuffed Mahi Mahi with Macadamia Nut Crust
Mahimahi Burger
Grilled Maui He'e
Plantation Punch
Pan seared Opah with maui onion, ha'iku tomato and forbidden black rice
I'a Maka Niu
Luau Octopus
Honey Whole Wheat Poppyseed Bread
Poi
Pink Snapper
Tahitian Black Pearl Mousse
Honey Wheat Bread
Coconut Candy
Lilikoi Crème Brulee
Coconut Mint Refresher
Lobster Guacamole With Island Chips
Kauai Shrimp Wontons
Shrimp Wontons
Lehi - Silver Mouth Snapper
Kalua Boar
Coconut Curry Bisque
Grilled Asparagus Bisque
Polynesian Ono Ceviche
Hana Banana Macadamia Nut Crisp
Short Ribs
Strawberry Guava Fizz
Macadamia Nut Kale And Panko Crusted Fish With Potatoes Gratin
Chardon
Surf'n'Turf
NY Steak
Baked Onaga With Kale And Macadamia Nuts
Maui Brewing Coconut Porter
Pau Hana Cocktail
Mahimahi stuffed with lobster and crab
Banana Macadamia Nut Crisp
Mahimahi And Ahi In Panang Curry
Mama's Spring Salad
Asparagus And Ginger Soup
Bread
Ono Sashimi
Passion Fruit Creme Brulee
Onaga With Charred Pineapple, Pomegranate And Hawaii Black Sea Salt
Mama's Lobster Stuffed Mahi Mahi.
Ahi With Ponzu, Red Shiso And Kukui Nut Salt
Fish And Rice
Relaxer
Amuse Bouche
Ono With Calamansi Citrus And Molokai Pink Sea Salt
Pink Floyd
Waiwera
Mama's Mai Tai
Kampachi Ceviche
Tahitian Ceviche (Poisson Cru)
Lbv Port
Beef Short Rib "Pulehu"
Mahimahi Burger with Okinawan Sweet Potato Fries
Poppy Seed Bread.
Stuffed Mahi Mahi
Seared Ahi
Opakapaka Special
Opakapaka
intermezzo
Black Pearl Dessert
Mango Amuse Bouche
Kaua'i Pie
Pina Colada
Ahi tuna
Rice With Roast Duck
Ho'okipa Sunrise
Mother Of Pearl
Passionfruit Creme Brulee
Mama’s Stuffed Mahimahi
He'e Carpaccio
Holiday Ahi Sashimi
Traditional Hawaiian
Mint Refresher
Tristan Island Lobster Sandwich
Pan-Seared Ono With Kalua Boar Fried Rice
Steamed Agu And Veggies With Ginger, Soy Sauce

Mama's Fish House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Hawaii
Best Food
Hawaii
Best Service
Hawaii
15 More
Best Ambiance
Hawaii
Romantic
Hawaii
Scenic View
Hawaii
Special Occasion
Hawaii
Most Booked
Hawaii
Best Overall
Maui
Best Food
Maui
Best Service
Maui
Best Ambiance
Maui
Best Value
Maui
Fit for Foodies
Maui
Romantic
Maui
Scenic View
Maui
Special Occasion
Maui
Most Booked
Maui
Best Restaurants in Paia ›

scenic view (1301)
special occasion (1224)
romantic (1052)
See All
fit for foodies (885)
great for outdoor dining (585)
great for lunch (487)
hot spot (362)
neighborhood gem (318)
good for groups (276)
notable wine list (195)
kid-friendly (153)
great for brunch (130)
vibrant bar scene (58)
late-night find (37)
Sort By:
Newest
13239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious meal in a beautiful setting! ...

Dined 3 days ago

Delicious meal in a beautiful setting! Very busy but we didn't feel rushed at all. It is VERY expensive but the food is delicious. Definitely a "must-do" on Maui.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about this restaurant is wond ...

Dined 3 days ago

Everything about this restaurant is wonderful. They called the day before and asked if we were celebrating a special occasion which we were as we are back in Maui to celebrate our wedding here 30 years ago. We had a great table by the front window overlooking the beach cover. A card on the table congratulated us on our anniversary and the owner presented a beautiful Lei to my wife. The food was fantastic and service was impeccable. Very attentive but not hovering - the waitress was friendly in just the right way explaining the menu and talking about Maui. We loved every minute of our dinner and visit to this restaurant.

food4
ambience3
service3

Came an hour early for our 6:45 reservat ...

Dined 4 days ago

Came an hour early for our 6:45 reservation because we knew it was an hour away from our hotel and there are traffic at times. Asked for good seats by the window as it was to celebrate my belated birthday as well as our fourth year wedding anniversary. At 6:40, they said they were still seating some of 6:30 reservations, which is fine. At around 6:55ish I believe we were seated....at a far right side of the restaurant few tables in from the front, in a corner, so there was a huge post in the way to see any ocean from our table. After driving an hour and waiting another hour to be seated, and to not have ocean view, I was absolutely livid. Few minutes later another couple was shown to a table in the front tables right by us... I just wanted to have a good night celebrating with my husband so I just kept it in but man was I upset. Food was pretty good but nothing mind blowing. Ice cream at the end to celebrate my belated birthday was a nice touch. But honestly knowing we have waited that long, I would have been fine with waiting another 5-10 minutes to get that better seat, I wouldnt have known if someone was seated before me anyway, or I would have liked the option. Sit here now or wait a little more for a better seat. Overall I might come back to the restaurant but maybe only on the day to or from the airport so we don't drive round trip 2 hrs of driving just for the dining experience. Oh and my husband suffered 8-10 mosquito bites under the table we were sitting at. I was wearing long pants and closed toe shoes so I was spared, but mosquito control is needed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Probably one of the best meals ever...fo ...

Dined 4 days ago

Probably one of the best meals ever...food was delicious, ambiance amazing, staff extremely friendly...a sensational experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

A splurge but absolutely perfect. The be ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

A splurge but absolutely perfect. The beach setting is stunning, the elegant Polynesian building is gorgeous, food and service are top drawer. Island casual dress.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything that we consumed was exquisit ...

Dined 4 days ago

Everything that we consumed was exquisite. Ambience was perfect, service was wonderful and the food was incredible. I would jump at the chance to go again, anytime.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, and great ambience. Beau ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, and great ambience. Beautiful restaurant and grounds. Wonderful, and romantic setting.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievably delicious food and service.

Dined 4 days ago

Unbelievably delicious food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were celebrating our la ...

Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I were celebrating our last day in Maui and we wanted to have a special meal. That is what we got! The service, the ambiance, the food were all EXCEPTIONAL. We never felt rushed but we felt truly pampered. I wish it wasn't so far from Phoenix, Arizona!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down one of the top 5 restaurants ...

Dined 4 days ago

Hands down one of the top 5 restaurants we've ever dined! The food is delicious and the service was impeccable. The setting is quaint and although dining in the evening is probably beautiful, we enjoyed having lunch because we loved our beautiful view! Make a reservation at least a week in advance if you plan on eating there for dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

The wait staff needs to be better traine ...

Dined 5 days ago

The wait staff needs to be better trained. Everything something got cleared away, they reached in front of us. Big no no in fine dining. Whenever our water glasses were refilled, it was done with force. Waitstaff should always allow customers to pass in front of them. This didn't happen. For the price, we were expecting more.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was over priced, but ambiance compe ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was over priced, but ambiance compensated.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxdxxxx

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

I've travelled the globe quite extensive ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

I've travelled the globe quite extensively and Mama's is a must each of the dozens of times I've visited Maui. It's always a total "WOW!" each time. Also one of the most romantic spots on the island

food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite places. The food is ...

Dined 5 days ago

One of our favorite places. The food is fresh, creative and delicious. The service is thoughtful and the setting is perfect. We actually went twice this trip, since we're unsure when we'll get to go again. Mama's ceviche, ahi sashimi special and the lobster and crab stuffed mahi are amazing. Oh, and if you think you don't like MaiTais try Mama's. Enjoy!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service, and atmosphere are ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food, service, and atmosphere are always amazing!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love Mama's! Brought my Aunt and cousi ...

Dined 6 days ago

I love Mama's! Brought my Aunt and cousin for the first time, they could not stop talking about how amazing the food is all weekend. I enjoy dining here every trip to Maui and will return on all future trips

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a nice experience. My only compl ...

Dined 6 days ago

We had a nice experience. My only complaint was that we had a 7:30p reservation and were not seated until 7:50p

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was great - The food, the ser ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great - The food, the service ad the view. This is a place to go for special occasions - its expensive but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I all can say is make a reservation at l ...

Dined 6 days ago

I all can say is make a reservation at least a month or 2 in advance to secure your table! It is totally worth it for the location, view and most importantly the food. Mama's serves the freshest fish, veggies, and fruit available from the local island. We were a party of 6 and everyone ordered a different dish. We were very pleased with the food and service, they go the extra mile to make your meal so picture perfect and delicious! Make sure to order the Tahitian Vanilla ice cream with light shreds of coconut foe dessert! Mama's is on the expensive side but worth every dollar! We will go back when we visit Maui in the future and we will recommend Mama's Fish House to everyone we know that will visit Maui! Amazingly Awesome service & fresh fish...

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Maui, the service is ...

Dined 6 days ago

Best restaurant in Maui, the service is top notch and the food is amazing. While the food is a bit more pricer than other restaurants in the island, it is definitely worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mama's is a must if you ever get to Maui ...

Dined 6 days ago

Mama's is a must if you ever get to Maui. Superb food and service in a magical setting.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mama's continues to impress me with the ...

Dined 7 days ago

Mama's continues to impress me with the great service, outstanding food, and romantic atmosphere. Dining at Mama's is a truly lovely experience. They serve the freshest fish, great drinks, and amazing desserts. Mama's employees have a genuine aloha spirit that brings us back every time we visit Maui.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

The food was excellent. The server was v ...

Dined 7 days ago

The food was excellent. The server was very nice, but it took forever to get the food out from the kitchen and this ruined the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't have been happier. The service ...

Dined 7 days ago

Couldn't have been happier. The service & the food were excellent! Great location! It's the best dinning experience on Maui!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Too much money I put on a credit card ...

Dined 7 days ago

Too much money I put on a credit card will take 6 months to pay off

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eating here was a highlight of our trip! ...

Dined 7 days ago

Eating here was a highlight of our trip! The view of the ocean and cliffs with the delicious food was amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was so fresh and tasted amazing ...

Dined 7 days ago

The food was so fresh and tasted amazing. Our server Jayden was friendly, knowledgable and had great suggestions. He suggested the beef tenderloin served in a papaya and it was the best tasting appetizer I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A few friends recommended Mama's , so we ...

Dined 7 days ago

A few friends recommended Mama's , so we NEEDED to go. Was a bit surprised about the prices, but would do it again in a heartbeat! Great food, great drinks and amazing view.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A perfect 10 and never disappoints!! Ho ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

A perfect 10 and never disappoints!! How they can pump out so many meals and be so fantastic every time is astounding. It's a bit pricey to eat here but the best on Maui if not all the islands and worth every penny. Will continue coming back!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding, This was one of the best re ...

Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding, This was one of the best restaurants I've been to while on vacation

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Well worth trying once! Quite expensive ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Well worth trying once! Quite expensive - but delicious! Would have ordered more drinks at the table had they not been $18 each. Even $12 or $13 would have gotten at least 3 more cocktails ordered at the table. Food worth the price, drinks were not. Unbeatable ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The ambience and food were very good. O ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

The ambience and food were very good. Our servers indifference and essential abandonment of us after taking initial food and drink orders was VERY disappointing. We mentioned to one of the staff that our server had "abondoned" us (but did this in a nice way). This was received with indifference and apparently had no impact on our server whose behaviour did not change. My daughter was with me and has worked as a server in the past. She is very sympathetic to restaurant staff so I know we are not difficult customers. Would not have expected this in that setting or that restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience from the wait sta ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Outstanding experience from the wait staff to the manager. We were served the most delicious fish we have ever eaten. The ambient atmosphere was as romantic inside as the crystal beach outside. We highly recommend Mama's Fish House.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal meal and location!

Dined on June 23, 2016

Phenomenal meal and location!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was our 25th wedding anniversary, the wa ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Was our 25th wedding anniversary, the waiter treated us like we were his only patrons. Gave me a lei to give my wife, made with the most fragrant flowers. The food was amazing and the desserts were to die for. Yes a bit pricey but you get what you pay for. Not one bad word to say.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We were late due to traffic issues on th ...

vip
Dined on June 23, 2016

We were late due to traffic issues on the Road to Hana, but the restaurant kept our reservation and let us in at a later time. That was super nice! The food is awesome! This is a don't miss!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Mama's Fish House will be our new "go to ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Mama's Fish House will be our new "go to" restaurant on Maui.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a celebratory dinner after gett ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

This was a celebratory dinner after getting engaged on Haleakala. The staff at Mama's went out of their way to make it a special night including giving us an ocean-view table. We arrived fairly early but the staff prepared our table after less than a five-minute wait (still 30mins earlier than our reservation). The cocktails (an old fashioned and a Pink Floyd [a signature cocktail]) were great but the appetizer (shrimp wontons) and meals (both had the mahimahi) were out-of-this-world amazing. Mama's is definitely the place to hit in Maui and lives up to every expectation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

This place has termites and the food is ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

This place has termites and the food is only ok, way overpriced. Won't be back.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

I had the Tristan Island lobster tail an ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

I had the Tristan Island lobster tail and it was amazing. My wife had the crab stuffed mahimahi and it was amazing. Food was great.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.