About Mama's Fish House

799 Poho Place
Paia, HI 96779
View Larger Map

Mama's Fish House is a converted beach house in a coconut grove on a secluded white sand beach. Inside, hinged windows open to let in the trade winds and Polynesian artifacts and original oil paintings decorate tropical hardwood walls. The rooms are filled with spectacular flower arrangements and tapa print cloths cover the tables. Outdoor dining is equally exciting, and everyone enjoys watching the windsurfers performing offshore.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaiian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Reservations from 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
For reservations larger than 4, please contact the restaurant directly.

*In an effort to preserve the ambiance for our more intimate diners, we do not accept bookings for split parties.

Priority seating in the restaurant is given to those with reservations. Specific tables, such as windows, may not be reserved in advance.
Same Menu is served all day in the dining room and Bar/lounge
Bar/lounge seating for walk-ins, based on availability from 11:00 am to close.

Cross Street:
Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat with the fish flags

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 579-8488

Website:
http://www.mamasfishhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Perry Bateman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Birthday, Anniversary, Honeymoon. Mama's Fish House is sure to be the perfect place for an intimate celebration. Contact us directly for details on booking for lunch or dinner.

Mama's Fish House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (686)
Waterfront (664)
Special Occasion (637)
See All
Romantic (555)
Local Ingredients (536)
Good for Anniversaries (534)
Worth the Drive (520)
Good for a Date (480)
Fit for Foodies (382)
Creative Cuisine (379)
Authentic (328)
Good for Birthdays (319)
Handcrafted Cocktails (242)
Great for Lunch (230)
Historic (218)
Great for Outdoor Dining (188)
Fun (179)
Neighborhood Gem (144)
Quiet Conversation (137)
Healthy (129)
Casual (127)
Hot Spot (119)
Cozy (118)
People Watching (115)
Notable Wine List (98)
Sunday Lunch (96)
Good for Groups (92)
Bar Seating (67)
Kid-friendly (54)
Seasonal (51)
Organic (48)
Family Style (46)
Tasting Menu (45)
Outstanding Value (43)
Gluten Free Options (40)
Business Meals (39)
Great for Brunch (34)
Comfort Food (33)
Paleo Friendly (32)
Disabled Access (30)
Molecular Gastronomy (25)
Good Vegetarian Options (25)
Happy Hour (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Late-night Find (18)
Tapas (17)
Modern Decor (16)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Spicy (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Vegan (9)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Great Beer (8)
Live Music (7)
Private Room (6)
Fireplace (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Live Sports (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Sort By:
S
16412 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

This is one of the best run restaurants you will ever find anywhere in the world. 99% reservations, 1000 meals every day. Why? Book it and experience it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined a day ago

Everything was outstanding. Gorgeous view, fun restaurant setting. Beautiful presentations on food and delicious too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Beautiful location, unbelievable service and great cuisine. What a perfect place to celebrate 39 yrs together.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

We had the most enjoyable and memorable lunch at Mama's, the service was OUTSTANDING, the food was absolutely delicious, and the attention to every detail was amazing! Much mahalo, Boysie & Millie Septimo

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Great place, great service! Will definitely be back. A must do if you are traveling to Maui.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 2 days ago

We went here on our honeymoon and they sent out a fresh flower lei which my husband placed over my head and kissed me under their direction. Nice touch!! The food was amazing!! All of it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Mamas never disappoints. Been coming to Maui for years and it is always one of our most favorite food experience. Can't beat the Mai Tai's either

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing! Great food! Great ambiance! Jeff was awesome! Extremely fresh fish!!! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Great place. Great food. Very expensive but good for special occasions

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Always a great place to eat regardless of the occasion

Tags: Healthy, Disabled Access, Historic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 2 days ago

Every dining experience at Mama's is a special occasion! This time we had an ocean-front table, topped off by a red sunset. Our server was knowledgeable and attentive, and our mahi-mahi with lobster superb. This may be THE best fish restaurant in the world, with THE most beautiful setting and ambience anywhere. If you've made the trip to Maui, you must dine at Mama's!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

The location makes you feel like you are off in your own separate world. Everyone is very kind, starting with the valet and hostess. Our waiter was extremely helpful and friendly. All of the food is very unique and delicious. We had Maui Onion soup, Ahi in a coconut shell with 3 types of chips, shrimp with coconut sauce and coconut rice, stuffed Mahi Mahi with Tristin Lobster and ended with Coconut Cake and Coffee. Every bite was unbelievable. Not a bad seat in the restaurant which overlooks the ocean.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

Where to begin? Ahi in a half coconut that will send you to heaven, shrimp wontons cooked to perfection, fabulous mai tais? What a great meal. Returning to Mama's for our third visit, we weren't prompt enough with our reservation to get anything later than 4:00. But it is so worth eating whatever time you can get a reservation. And daytime dining is so spectacularly beautiful it can't even be described. Beautiful Hawaiiian decor, great view, and impeccable service and food. Gil was our server (said his name was made for a fish house😊) and he and all the staff were perfect. Never ran out of drinks and any time they even sensed you needed something someone was nearby to check on you. I highly recommend the crab stuffed mahi mahi and lobster tail. Mmmmmm.........,

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Every item we ordered at Mama's Fish House was beautifully presented and we enjoyed everything we ate. I don't think you could go wrong with any menu item. The only down side of this restaurant is it is quite expensive and servings are not large. For example, the $18 margarita was not out of the ordinary, just expensive. Lunch for two of us ended up being $175 (before tip!) - definitely not what we anticipated spending. It was, however, delicious even though we were still a bit hungry when we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

Artful and exceptional, every item--from the appies to the dessert cookies and ice cream.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

This restaurant was recommended by friends who dined here in 2015. We missed the opportunity to eat here on our first trip to Maui last year. So it was on our list this year. Reservations were very easy to get through Open Table and we were thankful we had them. We were accommodated immediately on our arrival and had a wonderful table near a window. Service was prompt, informative and friendly. Recommendations were followed and our appetizer and meal were superlative. This would be a repeat visit when we return to Maui.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Organic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Hands down the best meal we had while visiting Maui!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Although unexpectedly pricey (I booked weeks in advance of our trip and didn't bother to look at prices) it was well worth it. Food was amazing, well-crafted, drinks were yummy, service was friendly and attentive, ambiance and decor was fun and kitschy. If it were daytime, I'm sure the view of the ocean would have been amazing. My two friend and I were also presented with beautiful and fragrant leis for our arrival to the island. Worth it

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Easily THE most disappointing "high end, special, five star, special occcaision" restaurant I've ever been to.

Service was awful. Waiter couldn't provide differences between wines, forgot to put in appetizer, and forgot another simple request.

Entree selection very limited. Was not up to par for either entree ordered.

Prices are at the top of any restaurant you can find. Among most disappointing aspects of this restaurant are the customers, the diners. More than half on this Friday evening at 7pm, were dressed full more for fast food. Sandals, tee shirts, and baseball caps. Very disappointing. Location is awesome. Free valet, fast and friendly.

Will not go back. If you're on Maui, Monkey Pod Kitchen, was excellent casual dining. And Matteo's was absolutely delicious, with friendly and attentive servers and bartenders. Many other choices from Momma's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good. Ambience great. Very overpriced. Would have been good value at half the price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a wonderful experience when visiting Mama's, however I have to say, as I get ever older, the overall price for what you get is getting just a touch disappointing. We used to say, don't ever look at the prices, just enjoy the experience and if you are going to have just one "fancy" meal while visiting Maui, then make this the place. I'm not so sure if we will do this again. We could have (at least) two fantastic meals elsewhere for the price of this one. It's getting to be a tough call. But still, I'm not sure if there is another restaurant on the island that could live up to Mama's atmosphere. 4 stars for overall experience but just 3 or maybe 2.5 for value.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Based on TripAdvisor we decided to book a table. It was amazing. It's a little on the loud side but the view is spectacular.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

As always Mama's did an outstanding job and makes any meal a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely the best. Food is terrific. View is amazing. Staff is wonderful and knowledgeable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our fifth trip to Mamas. It has always been a night to remember! The service and staff are excellent. They make you feel very special! The food is very fresh and the chef is very creative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a wonderful dinner while on our honeymoon in Maui. The good and service were impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

As before, we absolutely love Mama's. A little pricey, but you get what you pay for. If you want "Cheap Eats", go downtown. If you want a meal to remember, then this is definitely THE place.

Excellent Professional service, excellent food.

Pat & Dan , Alberta Canada

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, tasty and original. Drinks nothing special. All items overpriced in the extreme. Service ok, both wait and front staff, but not remotely close to what it should be given the tip is a percentage of an exorbitantly priced menu.

Mama's markets themselves as an upscale restaurant. The ambience of their location is exceptional . Their signature dish is very tasty. All the rest of the experience is pedestrian.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

This place is unreal, everything we had was so amazingly fresh and tasty. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable about the ingredients and was very willing to offer suggestions when we were unsure. Quite expensive but it's more a good experience than just a meal.

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

We visited Mama's on a family trip to Maui. The ambiance, service and food was wonderful. I wish there were a few more non-fish items for the kids, because otherwise was extremely family friendly. Saw sea turtles swimming under a lovely sunset while we waited to be seated. One of the highlights of our trip!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The location is convenient , right off the Hana highway. The view is beautiful, and breathtaking. You can stroll down to a beach area or take in the amazing house and all it's charm. There is a large bar area in the front and another one in the back. The windows were open so there was a nice breeze. No matter where you sit there is a great view. The food was cooked to perfection and the cocktails were the same. The fish is fresh and plentiful! It is my favorite place to eat!

Tags: Bar Seating, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful ambiance,great service, absolutely delicious food and super tasty drinks.

We will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Mama's Fish house is the absolute best for location, ambiance, decor, and especially the food. Every bite is a taste treat!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Mama's Fish House was a wonderful meal and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined 5 days ago

Simply just the best place on earth.

We eat here often, papaya beef, ceviche, three sashimi... And the best black Mai Tai! A must visit.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

We always enjoy meals at Mama's. The quality of the food, service, and view cannot be beat. We particularly like the sushimi and ahi. The mahimahi was fabulous, too. We always start with their Mai Tai which I think is one of the best and end with the Black Pearl, such a beautiful and delicious desert. It is our favorite final meal before returning home.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Always top notch! Reliably great food! Always a great evening at Mama's!

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

great, awesome food! service was a bit slow this time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding local seafood plus great local fare i.e. Venison and pig. Beautiful open seaside ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Make reservations ahead of time. Delicious fresh fish and incredible setting

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing!!!!! Food was excellent, service was great and view was breathtaking. New favorite place. A must go when visiting Maui. My husband and I had an early dinner so we could see the sunset and got there a little early to walk beach, it is beautiful. Mahi Mahi stuffed with crab was incredible!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

Very relaxing atmosphere, not rushed to eat. Amount of food was perfect and very tasty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Mama's Fish House is a must when visiting Maui! It is the total experience! From the drinks and conversations at the bar with the friendly bartenders to the fabulous food in the gorgeous dining area. It is woth it! Love the wait staff!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome food and atmosphere. Service was a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything we've heard and read was true. Worth the drive, the advance res, cost. Absolutely outstanding. Beautiful, wonderful food, service, everything. Loved it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice restaurant. A lot of people celebrating anniversaries. Great place to go celebrate a special occasion. Can't wait to go back next year.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

The setting is beautiful and the food is fantastic. The Macadamia crusted Mahi Mahi stuffed with crab is a favorite!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Well executed, beautifully prepared, great experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

Mama's Fish House is a must when we vacation in Maui!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.