About Mama's Fish House

799 Poho Place
Paia, HI 96779
View Larger Map

Mama's Fish House is a converted beach house in a coconut grove on a secluded white sand beach. Inside, hinged windows open to let in the trade winds and Polynesian artifacts and original oil paintings decorate tropical hardwood walls. The rooms are filled with spectacular flower arrangements and tapa print cloths cover the tables. Outdoor dining is equally exciting, and everyone enjoys watching the windsurfers performing offshore.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaiian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Reservations from 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
For reservations larger than 4, please contact the restaurant directly.

*In an effort to preserve the ambiance for our more intimate diners, we do not accept bookings for split parties.

Priority seating in the restaurant is given to those with reservations. Specific tables, such as windows, may not be reserved in advance.
Same Menu is served all day in the dining room and Bar/lounge
Bar/lounge seating for walk-ins, based on availability from 11:00 am to close.

Cross Street:
Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 579-8488

Website:
http://www.mamasfishhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Perry Bateman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Birthday, Anniversary, Honeymoon. Mama's Fish House is sure to be the perfect place for an intimate celebration. Contact us directly for details on booking for lunch or dinner.

Restaurant Photos

Mama's Fish House
Mama's Fish House
Mama's Fish House
Mama's Fish House
Kampachi Sashimi
Papa's Three Fish Sashimi
Ahi Sashimi
Polynesian Black Pearl
Seared Beef Polynesian served in a grilled ripe papaya & Tahitian Style Ceviche
Opah Hana Ginger-Panko Crust with Kalua Pig Fried Rice
Onaga Sashimi
Mai Tai
Ahi Poke With Taro Chips
Crab-stuffed Mahi-mahi Topped With Lobster
Three Fish Panang Curry w/coconut milk
Crab Cakes
Mahi Mahi
Cerviche
Lobster Guacamole
Mahimahi Burger
Kula Chocolate Pie
Plantation Punch
Grilled Maui He'e
Black Pearl
Luau Octopus
Pan seared Opah with maui onion, ha'iku tomato and forbidden black rice
Honey Wheat Bread
Coconut Candy
Lilikoi Crème Brulee
Coconut Mint Refresher
Lobster Guacamole With Island Chips
Honey Whole Wheat Poppyseed Bread
Pink Snapper
I'a Maka Niu
Lobster & Crab Stuffed Mahi Mahi with Macadamia Nut Crust
Poi
Tahitian Black Pearl Mousse
Kauai Shrimp Wontons
Lehi - Silver Mouth Snapper
Kalua Boar
Coconut Curry Bisque
Shrimp Wontons
Grilled Asparagus Bisque
Polynesian Ono Ceviche
Short Ribs
Strawberry Guava Fizz
Macadamia Nut Kale And Panko Crusted Fish With Potatoes Gratin
Chardon
Hana Banana Macadamia Nut Crisp
Surf'n'Turf
NY Steak
Baked Onaga With Kale And Macadamia Nuts
Maui Brewing Coconut Porter
Pau Hana Cocktail
Mahimahi stuffed with lobster and crab
Mama's Spring Salad
Asparagus And Ginger Soup
Banana Macadamia Nut Crisp
Mahimahi And Ahi In Panang Curry
Bread
Ono Sashimi
Passion Fruit Creme Brulee
Onaga With Charred Pineapple, Pomegranate And Hawaii Black Sea Salt
Mama's Lobster Stuffed Mahi Mahi.
Ahi With Ponzu, Red Shiso And Kukui Nut Salt
Fish And Rice
Relaxer
Amuse Bouche
Ono With Calamansi Citrus And Molokai Pink Sea Salt
Pink Floyd
Waiwera
Mama's Mai Tai
Kampachi Ceviche
Tahitian Ceviche (Poisson Cru)
Lbv Port
Beef Short Rib "Pulehu"
Mahimahi Burger with Okinawan Sweet Potato Fries
Poppy Seed Bread.
Stuffed Mahi Mahi
Seared Ahi
Opakapaka Special
Opakapaka
intermezzo
Black Pearl Dessert
Mango Amuse Bouche
Kaua'i Pie
Pina Colada
Ahi tuna
Rice With Roast Duck
Ho'okipa Sunrise
Mother Of Pearl
Passionfruit Creme Brulee
Mama’s Stuffed Mahimahi
He'e Carpaccio
Holiday Ahi Sashimi
Traditional Hawaiian
Mint Refresher
Tristan Island Lobster Sandwich
Pan-Seared Ono With Kalua Boar Fried Rice
Steamed Agu And Veggies With Ginger, Soy Sauce

Mama's Fish House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Hawaii
Best Food
Hawaii
Best Service
Hawaii
15 More
Best Ambiance
Hawaii
Romantic
Hawaii
Scenic View
Hawaii
Special Occasion
Hawaii
Most Booked
Hawaii
Best Overall
Maui
Best Food
Maui
Best Service
Maui
Best Ambiance
Maui
Best Value
Maui
Fit for Foodies
Maui
Romantic
Maui
Scenic View
Maui
Special Occasion
Maui
Most Booked
Maui
Best Restaurants in Paia ›

scenic view (1250)
special occasion (1161)
romantic (1002)
See All
fit for foodies (849)
great for outdoor dining (599)
great for lunch (437)
hot spot (347)
neighborhood gem (306)
good for groups (265)
notable wine list (183)
kid-friendly (158)
great for brunch (116)
vibrant bar scene (55)
late-night find (36)
Sort By:
Newest
13473 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This restaurant over exceeded our expect ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant over exceeded our expectations! They paid attention to every detail and made the entire vacation for us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mama's is a must do while on Maui. A 10 ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

Mama's is a must do while on Maui. A 10 in every aspect. Makes for a very memorable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We can't afford to eat here often with t ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 4 days ago

We can't afford to eat here often with these prices but if I'm going to pay them then I would come here.....couldn't fault anything. The food was delicious and our waiter was delightful and on the ball.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We stopped here at the recommendation of ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

We stopped here at the recommendation of a friend. The food was fabulous and the accommodated our gluten allergies.

Our waiter was excellent and the view was stunning. I would go back to Maui just to eat there!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waiters/waitresses 200% know the ori ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

The waiters/waitresses 200% know the origins of the food and kind of oversell their knowledge a bit but that's okay, the very attentive service made up for that. Starters, mains and desserts came out rather quickly and in some cases quite quickly to a fault - I saw mains coming out whilst the last of the starters were still being consumed by the larger table next to me. Otherwise amazing settings, great breeze from the local beach and grass areas enclosed. And as we know Mama's Fish House is on the pricey side; three course meal plus one wine and tips will set you back just shy of $150.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Everything about Mama's Fish House is am ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

Everything about Mama's Fish House is amazing. The service was fantastic, the drinks tasty, and the food is out of this world. We can't wait til the next time we come back to Maui to go here again. So Gooooood!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful scenic views.great food. Reall ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful scenic views.great food. Really cool hawaiian decor. Great place for pictures

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was beautifully prepared with amazi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was beautifully prepared with amazing flavour.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service!!! But very e ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and service!!!

But very expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a five star restaurant for sure. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is a five star restaurant for sure. It was highly recommended by friends who. Have been there. It is pricey but worth it. I have been to other restaurants at the same price range but they did not match to the level of Mama's Fish House. We plan to dine there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was outstanding. Ambience was amazi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was outstanding. Ambience was amazing, But we were seated at the windows overlooking beach and water. Service was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful views, food and service. Defi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful views, food and service. Definitely better for the money than Lahaina Grill. The atmosphere and ambience are what sets it apart.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place met all of the great reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

This place met all of the great reviews - was the best meal we had the entire trip! Make reservations way early because they are booked.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything about this place! Defi ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Loved everything about this place! Definitely the best food we had in Maui!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our favorite place to take our f ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is our favorite place to take our friends who are visiting Maui. The location is beautiful and the food is delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow service and inattentive waiter

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

Slow service and inattentive waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

We had a wonderful experience dining her ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful experience dining here after TS Darby made its way across the island. We were seated with a great view and attended to by a very patient, knowledgeable wait staff. A bit expensive, but worth it for a special occasion. The food was fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food, service, and surroundin ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Incredible food, service, and surroundings! Worth the drive. Tropical Storm Darby was trying to damper our day but we wouldn't allow it. We were able to move our dinner reservation to a lunch reservation! They were so kind. Casey, our server was on top of his game! Very attentive, knowledgeable about all food and drinks. What a great meal!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dine here every time we visit Maui. I ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

We dine here every time we visit Maui. It is the place to eat to get the full ambiance of the islands. Food and service are superb. Every table has a fantastic view of the ocean. We have never been rushed unlike other top restaurants on the island that want to turn tables.

We have never had a bad meal and is always a tough decision on what to eat.

We can't wait to return to Maui to eat at our favorite restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you're on Maui just go! Food is off t ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

If you're on Maui just go! Food is off the chart. Service too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every aspect of our dining experience wa ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 7 days ago

Every aspect of our dining experience was amazing! The food was fantastic , the ambience is romantic, the views are quintessentially Maui and the service was attentive but not intrusive. It is expensive but worth a splurge dinner on vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful evening of delicious seafood ( ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful evening of delicious seafood (uku, mahi mahi and lobster) the ambience is out of this world. Hawaii is beautiful but this restaurant captures it's essence. It's a must do whenever in Maui!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing restaurant. Great food. Top notc ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing restaurant. Great food. Top notch service and I'm not sure how he location could be any better.

Best restaurant I've ever been to in my 45 years on his planet.

Expensive but all that awesome comes at a price.

I can't recommend this place highly enough. Fantastic eating and atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I try to go to Mama's every time I visit ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 7 days ago

I try to go to Mama's every time I visit Maui. It is one of my favorite restaurants. The good is great and the service is top notch! The view is beautiful too! I look forward to the next time I visit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Everyone said to try. Went for lunch. T ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Everyone said to try. Went for lunch. They use the same menu. Food was good. Not great. Very expensive. Don't mind paying but WOW.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We really enjoyed our time at Mama's Fis ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We really enjoyed our time at Mama's Fish House! The service was excellent especially our server Miranda. The food was wonderful and we loved getting to sit by the window watching the ocean during our lunch! Thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has the best prepared seafood I've ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This has the best prepared seafood I've eaten. I had Ono, my wife had Stuffed Mahi-Mahi, and others tried steamed and fried dishes. All first rate. Cocktails are authentic, and desert is to die for - try the pearl in a shell. Valet parking makes it easy, and the beach at dusk is a must.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is soooooo good. I am really ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This place is soooooo good. I am really recommended to anyone. We has a dinner with my family. Food amazing, staff nice and friendly. We stay in Maui 6 days and has lunch and dinners an another place, but this one my favourite now!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Two words: FAN TASTIC This place has ama ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Two words: FAN TASTIC This place has amazing food, we were greats by friendly hostess staff, seated at the bar until our ocean front table was ready and had the pleasure of amazing service with a local flair!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quintessential Hawaiian dining experienc ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Quintessential Hawaiian dining experience

High end/expensive but once in a lifetime must

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic place Great views romantic Foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Fantastic place

Great views romantic

Food was Great

Recommend a must see

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mama's is an absolute must or those seek ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Mama's is an absolute must or those seeking a truly extraordinary dining experience in Maui! You can have all of the Disneyland resorts and their pseudo Hawaiian ambiance; Mama's is the real deal. I almost always order the chef's special and as usual, it did not disappoint. For dessert, the "Black Pearl" is exquisite.

Exceptional scenery, service and food. This is on our "must do" for all of our Maui visits.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent, the view was ama ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food was excellent, the view was amazing, but it was very overpriced.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A "must" when in Maui. Amazingly fresh ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

A "must" when in Maui. Amazingly fresh fish and phenomenal preparation. The passion fruit creme brûlée was worth every calorie!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Way too expensive for what you get. Ca ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Way too expensive for what you get. Can get the same meal for 1/2 the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The view of the water through the palm t ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The view of the water through the palm tress was bar none. The atmosphere was kitschy/50's Hawaiian but was fun and interesting. The service was good, but maybe a little more island time would have been nice. The appetizers where literally on our table five minutes after we ordered and the main courses came out almost as soon as the cleared out appetizer plates. We were not in a hurry and would have liked a bit more time between courses. However, the food was amazing and worth the price. We all had different entrees and tested a bit of each, and that the other dishes were excellent. I had the special ginger, seared Ono and I would order it again in a heartbeat . The noise level seemed a bit loud considering it was an adult crowd, but what was really noticeable to us was the kitchen noise, lots of dishes and silverware clanking about. We totally understand business needs to happen, but for that price point, we should have to talk over the service station.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fantastic meal, wonderful service in a g ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Fantastic meal, wonderful service in a great location

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food and the service were ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

As always, the food and the service were exquisite! Worth the flight to Maui just for the dining experience at Mama's. Heather was super helpful, not just with the menu, but with suggestions around the island. A tradition for us every time we visit - book reservations EARLY!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mama's Fish House is the ultimate Hawaii ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Mama's Fish House is the ultimate Hawaiian dining experience. The atmosphere, view, and service are second to none. The food is world-class. Every item we ordered was perfectly prepared and absolutely delectable. The waitstaff has impeccable timing - your glass of water will never sit empty (good luck even getting close). Dishes range from traditional Hawaiian seafood to an amazing curry dish. Five stars all around! The prices are high, but they are reflected in the quality of the entire event.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrating our 20th Anniversary and Mom ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Celebrating our 20th Anniversary and Momma's was on point about everything! The whole night/experience was incredible!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.