Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 2.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 2.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 2.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 2.16mi

About Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House is a converted beach house in a coconut grove on a secluded white sand beach. Inside, hinged windows open to let in the trade winds and Polynesian artifacts and original oil paintings decorate tropical hardwood walls. The rooms are filled with spectacular flower arrangements and tapa print cloths cover the tables. Outdoor dining is equally exciting, and everyone enjoys watching the windsurfers performing offshore.

799 Poho Place
Paia, HI 96779
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaiian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Reservations from 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
For reservations larger than 4, please contact the restaurant directly.

*In an effort to preserve the ambiance for our more intimate diners, we do not accept bookings for split parties.

Priority seating in the restaurant is given to those with reservations. Specific tables, such as windows, may not be reserved in advance.
Same Menu is served all day in the dining room and Bar/lounge
Bar/lounge seating for walk-ins, based on availability from 11:00 am to close.

Cross Street:
Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat with the fish flags

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 579-8488

Website:
http://www.mamasfishhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Perry Bateman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Birthday, Anniversary, Honeymoon. Mama's Fish House is sure to be the perfect place for an intimate celebration. Contact us directly for details on booking for lunch or dinner.

Mama's Fish House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (787)
Scenic View (781)
Waterfront (742)
See All
Romantic (654)
Good for Anniversaries (633)
Worth the Drive (617)
Local Ingredients (568)
Good for a Date (566)
Authentic (425)
Creative Cuisine (424)
Fit for Foodies (401)
Good for Birthdays (373)
Great for Outdoor Dining (288)
Handcrafted Cocktails (272)
Great for Lunch (259)
Fun (221)
Neighborhood Gem (185)
Hot Spot (160)
Quiet Conversation (151)
Cozy (146)
Casual (142)
People Watching (136)
Good for Groups (129)
Sunday Lunch (119)
Notable Wine List (102)
Bar Seating (76)
Historic (70)
Business Meals (64)
Tasting Menu (59)
Comfort Food (57)
Great for Brunch (51)
Seasonal (48)
Organic (44)
Disabled Access (39)
Happy Hour (39)
Good Vegetarian Options (34)
Gluten Free Options (33)
Paleo Friendly (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Late-night Find (16)
Great Beer (15)
Family Style (14)
Afternoon Tea (14)
Vegan (12)
Tapas (12)
Molecular Gastronomy (10)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Spicy (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Live Music (6)
Open Kitchen (4)
Live Sports (3)
Private Room (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Dancing (2)
 (1)
Fireplace (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
18387 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 17 hours ago

I was underwhelmed by the food and service quality. The ambiance was outstanding. However, for the price, there are far better options at other restaurants on Maui. My advice: save your money, have a cocktail at the bar and enjoy dinner elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Good food, excellent service. Tourist trap unfortunately with very high prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The wait staff is a good as the food. And the food is the best. Ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

We visit Mama's every year and are never disappointed. The fish is so fresh - the menu describes where the fish was caught and who caught it. Hawaiian fish is practically boneless and the preparations Mama's chefs do are out of this world. I had Opah, a mild-flavored, thick steak-like fish in a lovely buttery/garlic sauce - I was tempted to lick the plate when I was done. My husband had macadamia-nut crusted Mahi-Mahi that was stuffed with red crab - I can't tell you which dish I liked better. Both were fabulous. The menu is pricey, but well worth every penny, and the service is everything you'd expect from a superior restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

As always the meal was outstanding. Try their signature macadamia crusted fish, tonight it was uku. Stuffed with crabmeat. Delicious. Ask for the poi, fresh and slightly sweet.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Second time visiting and was just as awesome as the first experience. Mama does not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We are a family of four and had a lovely week in Hawaii. We planned in advance to end our week with a special evening at Mama's. It was everything we hoped for and more.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

As usual on the last day of our 2 week trip to Maui we ate at mamas fish house en route to an evening flight to the mainland. Absolutely delicious. Perhaps the best meal I have ever had in the most perfect location. And that is saying a lot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Ask for Mike C he is genuine and amplifies this already awesome dining experience. From appetizer to dessert all was beyond expectation. The turtles on the beach after just tops this off as one of the best dining experiences we've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We are from San Diego California we are used to five-star service with beautiful and wide selections of restaurants; downtown, La Jolla, Del Mar etc. A friend recommended Mama's Fish House I spend $250 for 2, there selection was small over prices and not that good! Example two small crab cakes $28 mahi mahi 3 pieces $20.no salad selections the dishes seemed tasteless . When our food was brought The waiter gave my daughter my food and he gave her my food, at a five-star restaurant the waiter would know exactly what food belong to Whom. Our waiter though nice guy wasn't around much we were forced to ask other waiters for a spoon and women's since he was not around . In regards to the restaurants view it's gorgeous but that's all the restaurant really has going for it!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

This is the best seafood restaurant. Not cheap but worth every penny. The food is sublime and we had a wonderful table for two overlooking the beach I this open air venue ( no windows, lovely and airy). We were staying in Kaanapali but it's an easy drive over - we went for lunch, and shopping in the friendly town of Paia first was fun. Well worth the effort. Next time we will allow more time to explore the other little towns down the road on the way home. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

We were told Mama's Fish House was an exceptional dining experience. You needed to make a reservation and was informed of the dress code-although other patrons didn't adhere to it and were allowed to dine.

Our server was wonderful; however, the food was entirely underwhelming. We ordered the wonton shrimp-the shrimp was overcooked and the wonton wrap was doughy still not crisp, the Uku a house specialty-again was overcooked and dry, and the Hawaiian special-basically a small luau on a platter. I was expecting my taste buds to be wowed, but instead we paid $260 for lunch for 2 with one drink a piece for overcooked seafood. So incredibly disappointing-and we tried to save the best for last so this closed out our eating adventure in Maui.

Save yourself the time and effort and go elsewhere. I don't mind spending money for an excellent meal, and although the dishes were pretty to look at the dishes were uninspired.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Great and stunning. But, very very expensive. It's a must if you visit Maui.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome place. Beautiful setting food was very good. Had the short ribs -- exceptional !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good and ambiance was nice but way over priced for what it was. You can spend the same amount on a luau and get way more for your bucks: entertainment and way more food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We loved every minute here and the food was amazing! Highly recommend dining here.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing location! Service was slow and food is pricey but it really is overall a unique experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

My favorite meal from our honeymoon came from our dinner at Mama's! The uku is amazing, drinks are tasty, and the view simply can't be beat. Can't wait to come back the next time we are on Maui!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Authentic, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of our top 5 favorite restaurants. We come here every time we visit Maui. You cannot beat the entire experience. Best fish on the island, cocktails are delicious and the ambiance is the best. Mama's NO KA OI.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Very good experience. The food is fantastic. It's a little pricey though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing!!!!! From beginning to end simply put

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful! Worth every penny. We came to celebrate our honeymoon and had an amazing dinner!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

There's not enough good things I can say about Mamas Fish House. Creative, delicious food. Excellent and sophisticated service. Lush, gorgeous and tropical ambience right on the water.
I had the macadamia nut crusted fish stuffed with crab meat. This is not your ordinary crab stuffing. It's all crab meat and it's fresh and delicious !!!
I had a Blue Hawaii as a cocktail and we started with the mushroom and goat cheese appetizer along with guacamole with crab meat and dried tropical plant chips. I can't write about everything we ate, but it was ALL fabulous. My one tip: make reservations way ahead of time. I saw a lot of people who couldn't get in and were very disappointed!! Also, be prepared to spend $$$$. It's expensive but a real treat!

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Went here for our "special" meal while honeymooning in Hawaii. We're always trying to sniff out the hole in the wall restaurants while on vacation, but everyone said we must go here. It was nice to get dressed up and go to Mama's for a treat. I had curry, the hubs ordered a stuffed and crusted Ono. Menu changes almost daily, but I'd confidently order anything. One thing I would not order again is a cocktail. At $18 a pop, they're just not unique enough to justify running up the bill. We did have dessert, a play on peach cobbler that was delicious. It was great for the occasion, but I think Maui's food scene offers a lot of other gems.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

You hear all the hype on this local favorite and you might have doubts. Don't give it a second thought this place is amazing. Plopped right down on the ocean in a grove of palm trees this is a must do on Maui. Beautiful old school Hawaiian themed restaurant with fresh locally caught fish (and other options if for some reason you don't like fish). We had the seared beef tenderloin in papaya appetizer, tomato with goat cheese and balsamic salad and then grilled mahi-mahi and opah. Servers are great, most have been there for years. Our man Chip works a couple of shifts and surfs in between. Great host with a great personality. Highly recommend Mama's Fish House!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service was amazing. The dessert was not only beautiful to look at it tasted out of this world.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

Our first visit to Mamas but not our last! A very special treat to be saved up for another time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

A beautiful way to end our vacation in Maui. We booked a lunch before our flight home. It was awesome to save the best for last. The view, decor and attention to details was outstanding. I love to treat myself to a good meal out, it is even better when the food lives up to the expectations. Our waitress was so sweet and helpful with making our selections. Loved the surprise of getting their most delicious tomato ginger soup. I will try to make it at home. All I can say is that I felt really happy there, just a feeling when you get to experience a place like this. Treat yourself, you are always worth it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely the finest meal ever.
I will return each and every time I'm here.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Always amazing. Food is top notch (3 kinds of sashimi appetizer is phenomemal!). Service is friendly. Dress is casual. And the walk along their semi private beach afterwards is better than any outdoor dining experience we've ever had.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

One of the truly great restaurants you will ever visit. Unbelievable fish and authentic Hawaiian dishes, all ultra fresh and served with impeccable care. The daily menu names where and gives the actual fishermen who caught the fish that morning. It really doesn't get any better!😎

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

In terms of food, Mamas Fish House may very well be the best place on the island of Maui. The scenic waterfront location of the indoor-outdoor patio really makes mamas a memorable experience. This place is very expensive, which is justified because of the amazing food, but this place should be visited purely for special occasions because of this. Overall, this is a must-do for anyone looking for the best dining available on the island.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Superb as always! Started at the bar and got some helpful tips on Mama's ever changing menu - (ask for the coconut cake which is not on the menu). We enjoyed fresh fish and a smooth as silk bouillabaisse that was artfully prepared and teeming with seafood in a light sauce. Their rep as the best restaurant on Maui is spot on. Even saw a sea turtle that had decided to walk up and nap on their beach. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Really excellent food, service & ambiance -location is on the ocean and setting is beautiful!!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

We had an amazing dinner and view!! Can be pricey but was so worth it. Highly recommend the UKu for dinner and the Black pearl for dessert!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was unique and flavorful. Server brought my wife's food out about 20 minutes before mine, so we didn't get to eat at the same time. My wife said it was okay but I could tell it effected her enjoyment of the dinner. It was our 25th anniversary

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

This is our 3rd time at Mama's. Their food is just outstanding. Unfortunately due to their success over the years, their pricing is too high. Our meal was $210 for a party of 2 and only having 1 drink each plus desert. Still a place to visit. Just be prepared to fork out the $$.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Our dinner at Mama's Fish house was wonderful! We were celebrating our one year anniversary, and they went above and beyond to make it memorable for us. The food was incredible, the ambiance was perfect, and our server, Chip, was fantastic. Absolutely worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The experience was beyond our expectations!
All the staff were outstanding. Our server, Heather was exceptional. This was our 40th wedding anniversary and we couldn't have had a more wonderful dining experience, staff, ambience, food...... all befitting what people say about the restaurant

Paul & Debbie Jablonski
San Diego

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.