Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 2.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 2.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 2.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 2.16mi

About Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House is a converted beach house in a coconut grove on a secluded white sand beach. Inside, hinged windows open to let in the trade winds and Polynesian artifacts and original oil paintings decorate tropical hardwood walls. The rooms are filled with spectacular flower arrangements and tapa print cloths cover the tables. Outdoor dining is equally exciting, and everyone enjoys watching the windsurfers performing offshore.

799 Poho Place
Paia, HI 96779
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaiian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Reservations from 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
For reservations larger than 4, please contact the restaurant directly.

*In an effort to preserve the ambiance for our more intimate diners, we do not accept bookings for split parties.

Priority seating in the restaurant is given to those with reservations. Specific tables, such as windows, may not be reserved in advance.
Same Menu is served all day in the dining room and Bar/lounge
Bar/lounge seating for walk-ins, based on availability from 11:00 am to close.

Cross Street:
Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat with the fish flags

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 579-8488

Website:
http://www.mamasfishhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Perry Bateman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Birthday, Anniversary, Honeymoon. Mama's Fish House is sure to be the perfect place for an intimate celebration. Contact us directly for details on booking for lunch or dinner.

Mama's Fish House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

ScenicView (869)
Waterfront (849)
SpecialOccasions (819)
See All
Romance (706)
Anniversaries (662)
WorthTheDrive (648)
LocalIngredients (615)
GoodForDates (586)
CreativeCuisine (464)
Authentic (434)
Foodies (430)
Birthdays (398)
OutdoorDining (322)
HandcraftedCocktails (318)
Lunch (281)
Fun (225)
Historic (209)
NeighborhoodGem (198)
Healthy (188)
HotSpot (179)
Casual (168)
PeopleWatching (159)
Cozy (158)
QuietConversation (157)
SundayLunch (139)
Groups (133)
NotableWineList (112)
ChildFriendly (79)
BarSeating (79)
BusinessMeals (78)
TastingMenu (65)
ComfortFood (57)
Organic (55)
Brunch (51)
FamilyStyle (48)
VegetarianOptions (44)
DisabledAccess (43)
GlutenFree (42)
Seasonal (42)
HappyHour (28)
PaleoFriendly (24)
VibrantBarScene (24)
MolecularGastronomy (21)
Tapas (19)
ModernDecor (19)
Vegan (18)
LateNightFind (13)
OutstandingValue (13)
Spicy (13)
AfternoonTea (13)
AfternoonCoffee (12)
PrePostTheatre (10)
QuickBite (10)
GreatBeer (9)
LiveMusic (9)
OpenKitchen (8)
WoodOven (4)
Dancing (3)
Fireplace (3)
PrivateRoom (3)
LiveSports (3)
People Watching (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
17771 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined a day ago

Freshest fish I've ever tasted! Not a huge menu but it changes daily depending on what was caught. Make reservations at least a month in advance if you want to eat between 6-8 pm. Service was excellent but don't be in a hurry. It was close to 2.5 hours for dinner. Yes. We had dessert. I'm gluten free and usually never order the crime brûlée but this passion fruit version was heavenly. The Waiter said it was featured on the food network and I can see why. It is right on the beach. Great photo ops and turtle watching. Valet. Yes, it's pricey but items were really only $5-$10 more than at other higher end restaurants in Maui and they don't have this atmosphere. I'd go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined a day ago

AMAZING!!!! Loved walking down the beach to watch the turtles in the water before dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined a day ago

It's our favorite restaurant in Maui! Love this place!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 2 days ago

We were in Maui on a family vacation. This was the best meal I had my whole stay. Amazing!!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was outstanding – from the before dinner cocktails to the exquisite meal. Service was superb.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined 2 days ago

Mama's is one of our all-time favorite restaurants and a must whenever we are in Maui!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Impeccable service, delicious food, setting beyond compare... hands down my favorite dining experience every time I visit Maui!!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Graciously met with congratulatory card and lei regarding our anniversary. Enjoyed the beach front table and delicious food.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Waterfront, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

We are seasoned travelers who visit Maui every year and always stay in Kapalua, so the hour's drive to Mama's isn't motivating. Happened that we were in Kahului, that we were hungry and we thought we'd make the much shorter drive to Mama's. When we arrived, I had hoped that we weren't walking into a tourist trap, in spite of the lovely setting. Our reservation was quickly acknowledged and we were seated at a nice window table. (Still thinking something must be up?) The service was excellent, the food delicious. Every dish was delivered as described and promised. Wonderful farm to table menu, seafood fresh from the Pacific with provenance to its catcher. Desserts all homemade and killer! We would recommend Mama's as a must when visiting Maui. We plan to make it our ritual as long as they continue with their high standards and quality control.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Vacation to Maui

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food and service. Amazing beachfront view!

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Best place, we enjoyed our 40th anniversary at Mama's. We made our reservations a month ago and when they called this week, we were able to get a better time to eat, 6:45, sunset. It was a beautiful evening to celebrate. Fish was the best on the island of Maui.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely loved Mama's Fish House! What made it worth it was not only the epic location, but also the food. Well worth the price!

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic sea view with an special super service and an amazing quality of the food. One of the flagships for the Maui island. A pleasure to have had the recommendation from a friend.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great beach front location After consuming the phenomenal fresh catch we strolled by the beach and saw a sea turtle and an unforgettable sunset

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a delightful experience at Mama's Fish House! Our waiter, Joel, was fantastic. He went through all of the specials of the day in detail. Joel also made some great suggestions to our table. If you're lucky, you'll catch a glimpse of Floyd walking Doris in for a cocktail before sunset.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

First, this review is about our table 111. It is 3rd row back and right in front of a service area where all the staff collects. We had reserved a table 2 weeks prior. We should have just waited for another table, but figured they would quiet down as we were seated! Wrong! At dessert time, I had enough, and asked them to quiet down. The manager came out, offered to comp our lunch, that is not what we wanted. Just the same experience as everyone else was having. Our waiter, Jordan, was excellent! Fresh fish. Come on, care about your patrons experience in your restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious us food, wonderful presentation, good taste, beautiful view and amazing service make you feel like VIP ; is a little bit price it but worthy , definitely I would like to go again!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed Mama's on our honeymoon trip!! The food is as stellar and the view was even better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was good. I loved the Wiki-stix. My favorite part was the yummy drink they made just for me. We got to see sea turtles at the beach next door. Overall it was a great experience.
Mirabelle 7

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

It was great ambiance, the wait staff was amazing, the food presentation was beautiful. All over was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service, food and view! Definitely a treat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding as always!! Mamas never disappoints!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Very high prices for entrees at this admittedly fabulous restaurant with some of the best tropical decor and setting in the Hawaiian Islands. The way to go? Order lots of appetizers and a couple of desserts. Share everything. That makes for a terrific meal without too much sticker shock. For lovers of tiki decor and allthings Hawaiian, prices notwithstanding, this is must-try epicenter of decor and island flavors.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding! Great food, pricey but you get what you paid for.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Way over priced for what you get. Food was very good. We were expecting it to be a little expensive. $58 for probably 6-8 oz. of fish over a limited about of vegetables and maybe 1/8 cup side of rice was a bit lacking and over rated.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

While this is the most expensive restaurant we have visited, it was also by far the prettiest and yummiest we have visited. It is such perfection you feel as if it isn't real. Service was prompt, but not rushed. We would willingly return again and again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food at am upscale restaurant. We make Mama's our treat to one another each time we visit Maui. It is our favorite place on the whole island. Tasty exotic drinks, too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Top 5 meals ever. Alexa was an amazing server. Expensive but totally worth it. Save up and go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

We heard great things about Mama's and we were not disappointed! The ambiance is what sold me the most. It's very beautiful inside and out and you feel at home, like it's your island home. Food is outstanding! I had the Tradtional Hawaian and my wife had the Ahi platter, both were delicious! This is a must go if you've never been yo Maui!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Great 87th birthday dinner for my mother in law to cap a trip to Hawaii. Mama's delivers every time with great food and service. I always recommend the fresh seafood catch with the chef's preparation. You can't go wrong. Best high end dining in Maui by far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

We haven't been to Mama's Fish House in 10 years. It's popularity has soared and it's no doubt that they turn huge numbers of people through their doors every week. As I result I expected the food and service to suffer a bit. Nothing could be further from the truth! The service was excellent and I experienced the best meal I have enjoyed in a long time. The view, the food, the environment all added up to a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent meal, service and ambiance! Nice range of choice for lunch. A bit pricey, but would definitely return here for a special occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

That was one of the best meals I've ever had. Everything was so fresh and perfectly prepared. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing meal in a gorgeous setting. Our uber picky 9 year old even tried, and liked, mushroom soup! Everything was stellar from the greeting to the coffee and lightest coconut cake you've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

DO NOT MISS IF YOU COME TO MAUI. LITTLE EXPENSIVE BUT SAVE UP AND WORTH EVERY PENNY. LOV LOV LOV

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best places we have ever dined! I highly reccomend this restaurant to anyone if you want a great dining experience

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

We had such an amazing experience here! Will definitely return. Our server was beyond knowledgeable and helped us pick the most incredible dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent experience with one small exception. They served Heinz packets of honey with their tea.. I know it sounds crazy to mention but hear me out. Hawaii has such amazing local products and everything is always so amazingly fresh. The whole meal was like this until the tea.. The fish, incredible. Some of the best sashimi I've ever had. Beautiful ahi, uku and mahi in the entrees we ordered. Fresh, delicious. Now back to the tea. They serve a variety of local Hawaiian herbal teas for $8 each which are accompanied by honey in a plastic packet. It just seemed off, why not use local honey? Maybe I'm crazy but it felt cheap and out of place after such an amazing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Offer home made gluten free bread or rolls

Offer the Trader Vic's type of Scorpion cocktails.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.