Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 2.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 2.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 2.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 2.16mi

About Mama's Fish House

Mama's Fish House is a converted beach house in a coconut grove on a secluded white sand beach. Inside, hinged windows open to let in the trade winds and Polynesian artifacts and original oil paintings decorate tropical hardwood walls. The rooms are filled with spectacular flower arrangements and tapa print cloths cover the tables. Outdoor dining is equally exciting, and everyone enjoys watching the windsurfers performing offshore.

799 Poho Place
Paia, HI 96779
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaiian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Reservations from 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
For reservations larger than 4, please contact the restaurant directly.

*In an effort to preserve the ambiance for our more intimate diners, we do not accept bookings for split parties.

Priority seating in the restaurant is given to those with reservations. Specific tables, such as windows, may not be reserved in advance.
Same Menu is served all day in the dining room and Bar/lounge
Bar/lounge seating for walk-ins, based on availability from 11:00 am to close.

Cross Street:
Hana Highway - Turn Left at the fishing boat with the fish flags

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 579-8488

Website:
http://www.mamasfishhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet.

Executive Chef:
Perry Bateman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Birthday, Anniversary, Honeymoon. Mama's Fish House is sure to be the perfect place for an intimate celebration. Contact us directly for details on booking for lunch or dinner.

Mama's Fish House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (720)
Waterfront (706)
Special Occasion (693)
See All
Romantic (627)
Worth the Drive (589)
Good for Anniversaries (579)
Local Ingredients (553)
Good for a Date (521)
Creative Cuisine (424)
Authentic (373)
Good for Birthdays (364)
Fit for Foodies (363)
Handcrafted Cocktails (267)
Great for Outdoor Dining (248)
Great for Lunch (240)
Fun (211)
Neighborhood Gem (183)
Hot Spot (175)
Quiet Conversation (172)
Cozy (164)
Healthy (157)
Casual (143)
People Watching (117)
Notable Wine List (114)
Good for Groups (107)
Sunday Lunch (92)
Seasonal (67)
Tasting Menu (66)
Bar Seating (62)
Business Meals (60)
Kid-friendly (60)
Comfort Food (60)
Organic (59)
Great for Brunch (51)
Disabled Access (44)
Paleo Friendly (42)
Gluten Free Options (34)
Happy Hour (33)
Good Vegetarian Options (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Great Beer (21)
Tapas (18)
Late-night Find (14)
Afternoon Tea (13)
Afternoon Coffee (10)
Vegan (10)
Live Music (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Spicy (5)
Live Sports (2)
Sort by
S
19594 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 18 hours ago

Awesome location and fantastic food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 19 hours ago

Everything about this place was wonderful! My husband and I enjoyed everything from appetizers to desserts. Service was also wonderful! Would definitely come back whenever we visit Maui again. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

A meal beyond compare with impeccable service and a storybook setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

44th anniversary. Outstanding service and food. Well worth the 1 hour drive each way from Kapalua.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Another perfect meal at Mama's! It's a must visit if you are in Maui 🌴

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food, great service. The Penang Curry was awesome and is a great gluten-free option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent overall like usual! The ONLY reason I put a 4* on Value is the prices did again increase and it was a noticeable change from 1 year ago.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing service from Jonathan! He knew everything about the menu down to the finest detail. Food was so fresh and wonderful. He knew exactly what beverage to pair it with. We will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing scenic view, restaurant atmosphere and incredible meal. Service was superb. Our waiter was attentive and provided great info/ suggestions about the menu. The meal was beyond expectations. We had Mama's stuffed Mahi Mahi (perfectly cooked/increasible sauce) and Bouillion (huge meal, delicious, exceeded expectations). My husband and I both agreed it was the best fish meal we have ever had. While on the pricey side it is an experience you need to have. We wish we had more time to visit the town of Piai or watch the surfers from the hill before hand. When we arrived we were very lucky to see a very talented surfer brave the descent from the cliff to take the waves. We visited in Dec and booked a 5 pm reservation to see the view. Much later and we would have missed sun set.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

From start to finish a lovely meal. Beautiful location. The daiquiri was so simple but flawlessly executed.
The papio with ginger was light and delicious.
Micah was a personable and professional waiter.
We couldn't ask for a nicer meal.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

25th wedding anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Great atmosphere and well staffed with friendly people. Food was good but didn’t match the high price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

fab fab fab .... We've made kind of a tradition of coming here for lunch after landing from the mainland and renting a car. For us it's the best place to de-stress and inhale the Maui spirit. Really fun, no rush (we took 2 hours to eat at a window seat) and when you compare prices to, for example, tourist joints on Kaanapali -- you come out way ahead here. Best food, best Mai Tais, best service, for comparable prices. $$$ but who cares?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Authentic, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

A great place to enjoy fine Maui cuisine. If you love seafood and other island delicacies, this is where you want to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Drove over an hour for 8.15 reservation for anniversary. Told to wait 15-20 minutes go to bar. Bar had no space all stools taken. Asked if we could eat bar food. Told no only if on stool. They checked the second bar. It had no stools. We hadn’t eaten since 11am. We stood in bar area watched the slow setting of several tables. Realized the people at bar were 8pm reservations or earlier. We asked again at 20 mins after booking time. They found us a table fir 2 because we asked. We certainly jumped the others waiting. Service was slow. Waiter asked if we wanted a drink. I had to ask for menu and some bread. It was a very cold night. 64 or less everyone looked cold. Meal came ordered mahi-mahi stuffed with lobster. It was over cooked. Overpriced. We left very disappointed. I’ve eaten there before. Normally great fish and no service problems.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a wonderful dinner with great beach/ocean views. Service was impeccable and meal was worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The Service received 4 stars because to staff that brought out our food did not bring out our entree sides with the meal. Although our attentive and gracious waiter noticed the error right away and brought the sides out himself.
Ironically with all of the food and tranquil ambience we didn’t even notice the small oversight, our waiter was that on the ball.
Otherwise contrary to most “Must do, see, or eat arts” Mamas does live up to expectations.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Had an amazing time!! Most popular dish on the menu (Mahi-mahi stuff with lobster) lived up to its name!!

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

One of the best fish dishes I have ever been served in a restaurant!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Once again an amazing evening at Mama’s. Our meal from cocktails to apps to entree to dessert were terrific all around. While I rated as a 3 star for value that probably isn’t fair. As always, our favorite meal out on Maui. Fantastic service too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was delicious, but overpriced. If price is merited by the fact that it was caught that morning by a local fisherman, then they should play that up more so clients understand why the pricing is so high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious seafood, pricey but worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Mamas was a great find and surprise. We ate there twice in three days. Setting was gorgeous. Food was awesome! Service was wonderful and they were extremely knowledgeable. We’ve already recommended Mamas to friends.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

The best thing about Mama’s Fish House is the location and the wonderful view. The food was good but be prepared to pay top dollar. Truly a gorgeous property in Paia on the shore.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome experience at Mama’s Fish House! We shared and enjoyed their macadamia-encrusted crab cakes. My spouse loved the Panang Curry — I tasted it and, wow, so good. Not too spicy, filled with fresh fish, with a sauce to die for. I ordered the Opah — melt-in-the-mouth good. We also shared the macadamia nut banana crisp. What an amazing meal. Service was outstanding: Our waiter, Keala, was knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly; he took outstanding care of us. If you have never been to Mama’s you must go. It’s pricy, but so worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Great venue with old Hawaiian patina. The food is awesome. They have their process down to move incredible amount of guests through with ease not missing a step. On time. Make reservations in advance. Come somewhat early. Walk the grounds. Etc.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined 5 days ago

A must visit while in Maui, truly unique experience. Always quality and fun!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

When we asked for recommendations for Maui, this was the one place multiple people told us about. Luckily I had made a reservation a few weeks before we left, otherwise I don't know if we would have gotten in just walking in. It was definitely pricier than we expected for being a fish place, but it was worth it. The fish was delicious and comes with a starch and a vegetable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

The view and ambience can’t be beat! The food was wonderful and came along with a hefty price! Great for special occasion and the food was creative and included local ingredients. Definitely worth visiting and trying!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

You can't beat the food, setting, or service, but it will cost you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Mama's lives up to the hype - it was outstanding all the way through

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

It's easy to see why Mama's is among the most critically acclaimed restaurants on the island. Their ocean front location makes it a terrific lunch place as you can see the ocean throughout your meal and the flower arrangements alone are almost worth the visit. The food is impeccably presented and their menu is varied. Of course, what they really excel in is fresh fish (the menu notes where it was caught and often by whom). I had the best opakapaka that I've had in more than 25 years of visiting Hawaii (Hamakua mushrooms, white wine sauce with garlic and capers and a ginger/lemon grass rice and vegetables). The only reason they didn't get 5 stars on the food is that they overcooked my spouse's opah (with a coconut, lemon grass sweet potato mash and vegetables). It was still delicious, but a bit dry. The kalua pork side (made from wild Maui boar) was also among the best kalua pork I've ever had. It goes great on top of the delicious romaine salad with Point Reyes blue cheese and Maui onion ranch dressing. They started us with a tasty and almost refreshing amuse-bouche of asparagus and fennel bisque. The wine list was fine, with nice offerings by the glass. This is the most expensive restaurant on Maui, so be prepared.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

An anniversary to remember! Everything and all staff wete perfect. Island warmth everywhwere!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Most famous upscale restaurants fail to live up to the hype. Not the case here. Consistently outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Healthy, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

An absolute must if you visit Maui. Best fish dishes, hands down. Very pricey, but worth it. We sat at the back bar and had tremendous service for dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Authentic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Incredible preparation of simple farm to table food. The amount of care and intentionality that goes into each dish is incredible.
The only critical thing to even mention is the woman who answered the phone when making the reservation. If the place didn’t have such good reviews her blatant rudeness would have made me cancel all plans of going. It’s not that I expected more because of how nice the place was. I expected just common courtesy like a hello etc. She was probably the most rude person we encountered during our entire visit to Maui. It’s a shame to lose customers over someone not wanting to interact on a human level.
So there’s the highs and low.
I would absolutely return for the food and ambiance.
Ps - tried to upload photos here as well but it’s not working

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Whenever we visit the beautiful island of Maui Mama’s is always a must during our stay. We love the food and the beautiful grounds.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

We made reservations months ahead of our Maui vacation. Would definitely recommend Mama's Fish House, but do know it is very expensive. The fresh fish entrees are so good and the setting on the coast is so scenic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

We've been to Maui six times and every time have gone to Mama's Fish House - to us this place is quintessential Maui!
We were there last just after our wedding in 2017 so this was our 2nd anniversary dinner. Mama's treats you with a special little placard on your table which served to let all the staff know not only what event you were celebrating but also your names - it was a neat idea!
Our meal was good but the overall experience was excellent. We had the pleasure of having Brad serve us, who was especially friendly and attentive without becoming overly intrusive on our meal - literally a perfect service.
There is a reason this place is so hard to get into, and it's not the prices. It is an evening long experience starting with the complimentary valet parking and ending with the complimentary steamed towels.
We will always come to Mama's when we come to Maui, but will ask for Brad's section next time. He made what has always been a good meal even more enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been going to Mama's for years. This is always the gastronomic highlight of our Maui holiday. But this year we had some disappointment. In order to justify paying the high prices of Mama's the customer should expect service of the highest caliber. Sadly this was not the case this time. An inattentive server coupled with an area of the restaurant unprotected from inclement weather made an uncomfortable evening. The jury is out as to whether we come back. With all the new high end hotel restaurants in the Wailea area maybe Mama's is starting to show it's age.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.