About Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

When you dine at Mama Della's, it's like being invited into her warm, welcoming home. Every room transports you to the Italian countryside, where you can enjoy rustic, Old World specialties like Insalata Caprese, Pollo Marsala, Lasagna and Frutti di Mare, accompanied by the finest wines and strolling musicians. While you feast on authentic dishes from the Tuscany, Naples and Piemonte regions, Mama herself might be there to urge you to "Mange! Mange!" Delicious Italian food served in a romantic, genuine atmosphere, makes dining at Mama Della's an experience you'll never forget. You'll find Mama Della's in the Harbor Piazza at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando. With its cobblestone streets, sidewalk cafes and even the occasional Vespa dotting the harborside, this Piazza will make you feel like you've been carried away to Portofino, Italy. It's a fantastico setting for a most magnificent Italian meal.

5601 Universal Blvd
Orlando, FL 32819
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nighly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Universal Orlando

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 503-3463

Website:
http://www.dineatmamadellas.com/

Entertainment:
What is more romantic than musical accompaniment to a delectable Italian meal? Every night, strolling musicians delight diners at Mama Della's Ristorante. Listen as they play Italian favorites like "That's Amore", "Arrivederci Roma", "Mama" or "Angelina". Or, request your very own table side serenade. Before or after dinner at Mama Della's, guests can also enjoy the MUSICA DELLA NOTTE show each night at sunset (weather permitting) in the Harbor Piazza; it's a musical celebration capturing the romance and charm of Italy.

Parking Details:
Reduced valet or complimentary self-parking is available for local guests of Mama Della's Ristorante. Please bring your parking ticket for validation.

Executive Chef:
Leon Teow

Additional:
Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Celebrate your next occasion with Italian flair at Mama Della’s Ristorante. Private and semi-private rooms accommodate groups of 8-70, and each room tells a part of the story of Mama Della. Strolling through, you’ll find Italian minstrels, and you might even run into Mama Della or her sister, Zita.

Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Authentic (34)
Romantic (32)
See All
Good for a Date (30)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Live Music (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Cozy (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fun (16)
Family Style (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Casual (11)
Business Meals (11)
Scenic View (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Waterfront (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Fireplace (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Historic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Private Room (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Healthy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
745 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful dining experience. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

Very friendly and most delicious experience. The strolling musicians were quite wonderful. The service was excellent!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

The overall experience was outstanding. Great Italian food and atmosphere.

Tags: Business Meals, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We have always loved this restaurant; even hosted a private party which was wonderful.
I don't know if there is a new chef; it had been 3 yrs since we have been there, but we did not care for the food at all this time, and the menu has completely changed.
It was very disappointing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The Caesar salad was very large but lacked flavor. ( It was much better at BICE) The caprese salad was extremely good, the tomatoes, cheese and balsamic were all fresh and very flavorful.
We also shared the eggplant parm. It was layered with ricotta and served over pasta....A+!
As a side note, ask for a table in the back or at least in the main dining room, our table was in front and we felt like we were having dinner in the foyer:(
But our waiter was EXCELLENT and more than made up for the crappy table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Food and service was great. Could have done without the very loud singing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a really wonderful meal. Great wines and very good food.

Tags: Authentic, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great restaurant at the Portofino. Every vacation we need to make a stop here. Wonderful food, family friendly and relaxing atmosphere. This is a hidden gem - must do if staying on Universal property.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Setting was excellent, a true Italian restaurant with a limited menu and an old world feel. The gnocchi were hand made and the sauce was also. Strolling opera singers let you feel like you were in Portofino or Venice dining alfresco.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Mama Della's is our favorite eating place - the food is great and the atmosphere exceptional.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food was ok nothing special. HIGH PRICE . Maggiono much better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Excellent Italian cuisine. Nice staff. Fun place with great food.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 7, 2017

This restaurant was the highlight of my vacation. Amazing atmosphere, service and food. The singers actually knew Italian songs. They sang"Mama" to me table side and brought tears of joy to my eyes. Must experience to appreciate!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

It was the standardnred sauce Italian restaurant. The lasagna, spaghetti and meatballs and pasta carbonara were done well.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The gem of Portofino Bay! Mama Della's was recommended for dinner during our breakfast at Trattoria del Portofino (next door- another equally amazing restaurant). We ended up eating there 2 of the 3 nights we were at Universal Orlando. The food was unbelievably good. The portions are more than fair, and trust me, you'll want to eat every last bite. The Caprese Salad included the most delicious heirloom tomatoes. My husband ordered the lasagna and I ordered the spaghetti. Each bite was savory and flavorful. Even the pasta alone had it own unique flavor! The service was impeccable. The live music was the highlight! I could not believe the talent of these musicians! So much passion and skill! We were blown away! Thanks Mama Della's for giving us two great date nights!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Wonderful experience after a day at Universal! We initially missed our reservation after getting stuck on a theme park ride. Not only did the manager find us a table, she offered us some champagne to help calm our nerves. The service was top-notch: there when you need them, and in the "shadows" when you don't. Fun atmosphere including an amazing tableside opera singer. The food doesn't quite live up to true Italian cooking (we're from the NYC area) but it was above the grade for theme park food. Great place for a family!

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food and service very good. Opera simgers toooooo loud!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Perfect meal service, flavors, and the atmosphere is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

just an average Italian restaurant - good option if you are staying at the hotel. It is a basic tourist trap, high prices - similar to rest of Orlando.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our dinner at Mama Della's was very good. The preparation of the various Italian dishes at our table was excellent. The singing of Italian songs gave an interesting ambiance. The location in the Loews was very interesting giving the resort and Disney atmosphere (even though it is closer to Universal). Our only compliant was that our meals took over an hour to come from the kitchen though we were served salads and beverages promptly.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Cozy atmosphere with great food. Our family really enjoyed it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The mussels were fantastic. Great entrees and service!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We were rather disappointed with the restaurant. The place was very nice and the staff very pleasant. However, my wife ordered the calamari. This was not billed as a sharing plate on the menu nor did the waiter warn us how big it was. When it arrived it was massive. The waiter THEN advised us that it was for 2-3 people. Fortunately he managed to cancel the main course my wife had ordered. Although the calamari were tasty it was a bit boring to plough through this massive portion. I had the shrimps which were delicious and a perfect size. I then had chicken parmigiagno with spaghetti. This too was massive. The chicken was covered in a thick layer of melted cheese which was not Parmesan as far as I was concerned. I didn't enjoy it- it was a bit overpowering and I left at least half of the chicken and the spaghetti.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great experience for the whole family. Delicious food and great atmosphere

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 18, 2017

:/ didn't sing happy birthday and service was poor other than that the environment and food was good great options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our dinner for 3 was delicious. Enjoyed mussels, eggplant parmigiana, gnocchi and chicken piccata.
Have been coming for over 8 years and have enjoyed every meal both for food and atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Reason for picking a resturant is for quality of food. Mama's was outstanding food and it was quality in every way.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The dinner, food and atmosphere was very appropriate for a date. For the first time there my date and I loved the food, the waiter and live music. I would go again for a special occasion and recommend to friends. Only feedback I would is that the dining area is a little dark but not to the point where it bothered us, just something I noticed.

Tags: Healthy, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food and service, but over- priced for pretty much standard Italian food. Cocktails are very expensive at 14 a piece, and a simple plate of ghocchi cost 24 dollars? I realize this is a theme park, but the mark up is extreme. Not a good value.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant for dinner. We go here when we go to Universal. The salads are incredible- Caprese and Caesar are delicious! The lasagna, chicken Parmesan and veal Marsala were great entrees. Large portion sizes so we could split entrees. We live the opera singers who come to the table- great voices and personality!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We were very happy to have dined at mamma Dellas. They sing for you at your table. Universal/ Lowes did a great job recreating an Italian restaurant that was homey feeling. Sauce was simply good. Not overly herbed or sweet. Bruschetta was fantastic. They used very good quality balsamic vinegar.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We were looking for a convenient restaurant as we were staying on the Portofino Bay property. What a surprise and delight to find this was so much more than a hotel restaurant! The atmosphere was cozy and themed without being gimmicky and over the top. The food was delicious and authentic Italian cuisine - no spaghetti and meatballs here! There were strolling musicians which made it fun for the group and added to the ambiance. All for a very reasonable price. In fact we liked it so much the first night we went back again the next night. Bravo, Mama Della's!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 9, 2017

It was perfect for me. The food, the singers, the chef, the wine.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Saw article written about the restaurant and decided to go even though not staying on the Loews portofino property. Definitely worth the 35 minute drive. We walked the hotel shops and waterfront area, plus had a glass of wine at the Thirsty Fish. Was redirected to a "super Tuscan" red wine. I asked if same wine available at Mama Della's. Bartender said "if not, they'll come get it from me." Nice!!! We enjoyed wine in outdoor area listening to 2 tenors singing Italian songs with a half moon & stars overhead- beautiful!!!! Seated as soon as we checked into mama della's for our reservation. Lance was our waiter - he & other waitstaff were quick, solicitous, and friendly. We ordered quickly...we got a children's lasagna to split for appetizer (I am picky about my Italian food - it was delicious!!), the Caesar salad for 2 (again, delicious), and we split the veal scallopini with Marsala as our main (Oh. my. Gosh!!). Every bite was spectacular!!! Lance recommended the chocolate lava cake, but we really wanted to try tiramisu. So we ordered lava cake to split there and a tiramisu to go. The lava cake with a generous scoop of ice cream was perfect for us to split - oh, yum!! It wasn't a huge cake, but just right after the heavy meal we just had. The tiramisu we enjoyed a day later....it had more flavor at room temp and was also, you guessed it, delicious!! The service was great, the ambiance was wonderful and we enjoyed the strolling guitar & 2 tenors!!! Go! You'll love it!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Romantic, Family Style, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Excellent service, food and atmosphere. Would eat here multiple times if you love italian

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Waterfront, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Wonderful food, service and live entertainment. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is the go to place when in Orlando. Everything is perfect. As always.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We really enjoyed the restaurant. Nicely decorated, live entertainment, good service and delicious Italian food.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Lovely evening...quaint atmosphere...food always perfect...live the strolling performers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.