About Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

5601 Universal Blvd
Orlando, FL 32819
View Larger Map

When you dine at Mama Della's, it's like being invited into her warm, welcoming home. Every room transports you to the Italian countryside, where you can enjoy rustic, Old World specialties like Insalata Caprese, Pollo Marsala, Lasagna and Frutti di Mare, accompanied by the finest wines and strolling musicians. While you feast on authentic dishes from the Tuscany, Naples and Piemonte regions, Mama herself might be there to urge you to "Mange! Mange!" Delicious Italian food served in a romantic, genuine atmosphere, makes dining at Mama Della's an experience you'll never forget. You'll find Mama Della's in the Harbor Piazza at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando. With its cobblestone streets, sidewalk cafes and even the occasional Vespa dotting the harborside, this Piazza will make you feel like you've been carried away to Portofino, Italy. It's a fantastico setting for a most magnificent Italian meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nighly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Universal Orlando

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 503-3463

Website:
http://www.dineatmamadellas.com/

Entertainment:
What is more romantic than musical accompaniment to a delectable Italian meal? Every night, strolling musicians delight diners at Mama Della's Ristorante. Listen as they play Italian favorites like "That's Amore", "Arrivederci Roma", "Mama" or "Angelina". Or, request your very own table side serenade. Before or after dinner at Mama Della's, guests can also enjoy the MUSICA DELLA NOTTE show each night at sunset (weather permitting) in the Harbor Piazza; it's a musical celebration capturing the romance and charm of Italy.

Parking Details:
Reduced valet or complimentary self-parking is available for local guests of Mama Della's Ristorante. Please bring your parking ticket for validation.

Executive Chef:
Leon Teow

Additional:
Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sword - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
lasagna - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Cherry Tart - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Pasta Di Mare - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Spaghetti con Polpette - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Shrimp Fra Diavlo - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Fried Calamari - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Panacotta - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Brancini - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Pasta Fagioli - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Bistecca Con Pecorino Al Tartufo - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Panna Cotta Di Vaniglia - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Risotto With English Peas, Rock Shrimp & Lobster - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL

Private Dining

Celebrate your next occasion with Italian flair at Mama Della’s Ristorante. Private and semi-private rooms accommodate groups of 8-70, and each room tells a part of the story of Mama Della. Strolling through, you’ll find Italian minstrels, and you might even run into Mama Della or her sister, Zita.

Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Orlando
Best Restaurants in I Drive / Sand Lake ›

Romantic (36)
Special Occasion (29)
Authentic (26)
See All
Good for a Date (25)
Live Music (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Family Style (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Cozy (16)
Casual (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Fun (13)
Scenic View (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Business Meals (7)
Waterfront (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fireplace (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Private Room (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
633 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great way to end a long active day. Trea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great way to end a long active day. Treated ourselves to what resembled a home cooked meal - Caesar salad with fresh tomatoes for two, then shared a chicken parmigiana and special meat-blend spaghetti with marinara. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, the service, the ambiance with ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The food, the service, the ambiance with trovadores was excellent. This a terrific place to celebrate a 30 year anniversary! Would recommend to family members wishing to make an lasting impression to a love one. Also, the flower bouquet was fresh and waiting for us at the table. Just for that I have another 30 years of tender love coming!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had thanksgiving dinner with friends, we ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Had thanksgiving dinner with friends, we were a group of 23 and were accomodated nicely. The food was absolutely amazing, one of the best meals we've ever had. (turkey at an italian restaurant, can you believe it?). Wonderful ambience and great service. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food in a warm and inviting at ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Delicious food in a warm and inviting atmosphere. Loved the strolling accordion player with the two singers. Lasagna was the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, great food. Recommend 100% ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great place, great food. Recommend 100%

The owner, Mama, was there and greeted us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was just ok, nothing especial

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food was just ok, nothing especial

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We stayed at a sister property and ventu ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We stayed at a sister property and ventured over to this hotel for another option. It was authentic cuisine served in large portions, our server had the most wonderful accent and the restaurant offered a partner group who serenaded the guests with guitar music and song, the lady sang by request. While the menu was limited to offerings, the wine list was extravagant. We settled on a bottle of wine and the bruchetta to start. Both very nice. For our meals, spaghetti and meatballs and the veal marsala. The spaghetti was served al dente and the meatballs were the size of a softball. Delish! The veal was 3 large pieces served atop an abundance of new potatoes and accompanied by broccolini. The veal was tender however the marsala sauce was very strong and overpowering for the delicate veal. I would not order again. I would recommend this restaurant if you have a large group because of the family style and atmosphere. And while the music was nice, it wasn't what we were looking for in our date night. We will go back with the family next time.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely atmosphere, beautiful views, fant ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Lovely atmosphere, beautiful views, fantastic food, wonderful vocalists, very romantic, fabulous romantic evening

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot always a great meal!!!!

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great spot always a great meal!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my 7th and 8th visits! Since fi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This was my 7th and 8th visits! Since finding it in 2012 I go back every time I go to Universal. In 2014 We ate there every night (4). We love the food, the ambiance, the table side singers. Well done👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We traveled to Universal Resort for the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We traveled to Universal Resort for the first time and wished to have a family friendly menu. This is a moderately priced Italian restaurant with lovely old world charm. We were also celebrating an anniversary and this could be very romantic for a couple. The strolling opera singer was a highlight.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Fireplace, Live Music, Casual, Romantic, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate outside on the piazza. Every even ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We ate outside on the piazza. Every evening they have live Italian music, sung in the opera style.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great music live. Best Italian food eve ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great music live. Best Italian food ever. Little pricey.ate on patio which was wonderful. Would definitely eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service. Huge portion ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Fantastic food and service. Huge portions in a beautiful setting.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited Mama Della's while on vacation a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Visited Mama Della's while on vacation and had a wonderful meal. From the old standard spaghetti and meatballs to the night's special of a fusion fish and pasta dish. Service was terrific and the atmosphere was festive with singers serenading your table if your like. I appreciated that they ask if you'd like them to perform or not.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place! The marinara sauce is delic ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Great place! The marinara sauce is delicious:we had the lasagna and spaghetti and meatballs. The service is exceptional and the singers from the music in the plaza sing at all the tables. Highly recommend if you're staying at the Portifino Bay to try Mama Della's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and friendly environment, but ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Excellent and friendly environment, but pricey for pasta food.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Waterfront, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Very nice restaurant. Authentic Italian ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Authentic Italian. On the water and al fresco dining is an option. A bit expensive, but not outrageous. there is a wandering serenade trio that will take traditional requests (popular Italian arias, frank Sinatra, elvis Presley, etc).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Mama Della's was once the most sought af ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Mama Della's was once the most sought after restaurant in Universal Studios and the price of the Portofino. Sadly, the ingredients have gone downhill reducing the quality to nothing more than the average Olive Garden.

During my most recent visit I selected the high recommended lamb which came with 4 incredibly small chops. They were slightly overcooked and lacked the flavor I was seeking. Similarly, a fried polenta was served that was literally tasteless. I mentioned this to our server who agreed that the front of the house thought it to be an odd offering (not sure why it was recommended by her).

My dining partner felt guilty with respect of my tiny portions and offered part of his meal. While I declined, I did sample his and found it to be average as best (he felt the same).

On the plus side the view is great, music flows, and an occasional singer may stop by and dazzle your table with a song. While a nice touch, it fails to make up for the meal. I hope that Restaurant Manager Brenda G. Buck and Chef de Cuisine Leonardo Velez will revisit their menu and the ingredients used to restore Mama Della's to its original glory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent food. Great setting. Expensive ...

 
 (Essex)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Excellent food. Great setting. Expensive but highly enjoyable

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a must-stop every time we visit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

This is a must-stop every time we visit Orlando. Food is great, service is excellent, and the atmosphere is so relaxing!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was wonderful all around from the foo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 24, 2016

It was wonderful all around from the food (spaghetti and meat balls and fish stew (although that is not what it was called). There were wonderful performers - guitar and singing, including opera. Wonderful. The service was impeccable from the moment we entered.

I actually ate there three times - once with my wife followed by two business dinners.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice family place, very cozy, enjoyed th ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Nice family place, very cozy, enjoyed the singing at the table!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

very authentic and loved the live music ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 21, 2016

very authentic and loved the live music while we were enjoying our meal

Tags: Casual, Fun, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were there for our anniver ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

My wife and I were there for our anniversary. Every staff member we encountered congratulated us and they even provided us with a dessert on the house and a special table. Everything was excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Live Music, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

what a great meal. was worth the effort ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

what a great meal. was worth the effort to find it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Italian opera singers are great as alway ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Italian opera singers are great as always, but food was not as good as last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Had the spaghetti and meatballs. It was ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Had the spaghetti and meatballs. It was excellent as was the service. The lasagna also was delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My new favorite restaurant. Everything w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 5, 2016

My new favorite restaurant. Everything was delicious. I've had the butternut squash ravioli which was out of this world. I also had the gnocchi pomodoro which was equally delicious. Excellent wine pairings with dinner. Also had the molten chocolate dessert with a phenomenal cup of coffee. Seranaded by classically trained individuals accompanied by guitar or accordion. Love it!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there 5 times , make it a point t ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Been there 5 times , make it a point to visit when I'm in Orlando. Must say prices are getting s little high for some items.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved it so much the first time we went ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Loved it so much the first time we went back again two days later! The food is delicious and comes in large portions. We just loved the atmosphere and entertainment!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome.... And the Italian singers are ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Awesome.... And the Italian singers are fantastic !!!!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We love coming here. The food and the se ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We love coming here. The food and the service never disappoint...!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent and a very tale ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Everything was excellent and a very talented chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit hear, and defi ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was our second visit hear, and definitely won't be our last! The food is absolutely delicious, and being seranaded table side by incredibly talented musicians is magical. It's a great place to enjoy a great meal and atmosphere and will always be our favorite place to eat!

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, but they seated us ne ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The food was good, but they seated us next to the restroom when there were many other tables available (we had a reservation). The ambiance was killed and therefore the meal was not enjoyable.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We utilized the Magical Dining menu...an ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We utilized the Magical Dining menu...an appetizer, entree, and desert...plenty of food! Great food and experience! Love being serenaded during dinner!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We introduced some friends to Mamma's ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We introduced some friends to Mamma's . They truly enjoyed everything, the atmosphere the food ,the music and the service. What more could you ask for .

Looking forward to our next visit. No

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Comfort Food, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff was so friendly, yet very prof ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The staff was so friendly, yet very professional. The "magical dining" was quality food and a great deal. We had enough left over for a great midnight snack. Never had "happy birthday" sang to me in Italian which was so beautiful. We will return without a doubt.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, hostess and waiter go ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Service was great, hostess and waiter go out of their way. The food was good too.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.