About Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

5601 Universal Blvd
Orlando, FL 32819
View Larger Map

When you dine at Mama Della's, it's like being invited into her warm, welcoming home. Every room transports you to the Italian countryside, where you can enjoy rustic, Old World specialties like Insalata Caprese, Pollo Marsala, Lasagna and Frutti di Mare, accompanied by the finest wines and strolling musicians. While you feast on authentic dishes from the Tuscany, Naples and Piemonte regions, Mama herself might be there to urge you to "Mange! Mange!" Delicious Italian food served in a romantic, genuine atmosphere, makes dining at Mama Della's an experience you'll never forget. You'll find Mama Della's in the Harbor Piazza at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando. With its cobblestone streets, sidewalk cafes and even the occasional Vespa dotting the harborside, this Piazza will make you feel like you've been carried away to Portofino, Italy. It's a fantastico setting for a most magnificent Italian meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nighly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Universal Orlando

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 503-3463

Website:
http://www.dineatmamadellas.com/

Entertainment:
What is more romantic than musical accompaniment to a delectable Italian meal? Every night, strolling musicians delight diners at Mama Della's Ristorante. Listen as they play Italian favorites like "That's Amore", "Arrivederci Roma", "Mama" or "Angelina". Or, request your very own table side serenade. Before or after dinner at Mama Della's, guests can also enjoy the MUSICA DELLA NOTTE show each night at sunset (weather permitting) in the Harbor Piazza; it's a musical celebration capturing the romance and charm of Italy.

Parking Details:
Reduced valet or complimentary self-parking is available for local guests of Mama Della's Ristorante. Please bring your parking ticket for validation.

Executive Chef:
Leon Teow

Additional:
Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sword
lasagna
Cherry Tart
Pasta Di Mare
Spaghetti con Polpette
Shrimp Fra Diavlo
Fried Calamari
Panacotta
Pasta Fagioli
Brancini
Panna Cotta Di Vaniglia
Bistecca Con Pecorino Al Tartufo
Risotto With English Peas, Rock Shrimp & Lobster

Private Dining

Celebrate your next occasion with Italian flair at Mama Della’s Ristorante. Private and semi-private rooms accommodate groups of 8-70, and each room tells a part of the story of Mama Della. Strolling through, you’ll find Italian minstrels, and you might even run into Mama Della or her sister, Zita.

Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (37)
romantic (30)
kid-friendly (25)
See All
good for groups (24)
fit for foodies (23)
scenic view (15)
notable wine list (14)
neighborhood gem (10)
great for outdoor dining (9)
late-night find (4)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
556 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was over priced. $24 for spaghe ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was over priced. $24 for spaghetti and meatballs is a bit much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was good and service was prompt.

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food was good and service was prompt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went there our vacation. Home style food ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Went there our vacation. Home style food with great helpings...singing people come over..great value

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went over fourth of july weekend with fa ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Went over fourth of july weekend with family and everyone had a wonderful experience. The food and service were amazing. The atmosphere is cozy and inviting and the musicians playing were outstanding. I am definitely going back and would highly recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dinner and server. Great ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner and server. Great family night out!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed in the food. The chic ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I was disappointed in the food. The chicken carbonara was bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

There was a mistake in getting our food ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

There was a mistake in getting our food out which led to a lengthy delay, however we were compensated with drinks and dessert! The strolling musicians were a pleasant diversion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great food, great service!

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was ok. Requested a quiet table on t ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

It was ok. Requested a quiet table on the reservation (and were guests at the hotel which supposedly gets you preferred seating, not in our case) and were given the crappiest table in the house right by the front door. Food was just ok, I had the spaghetti and meatballs and the meatballs were pretty dry, definitely not one of the better executions of this dish I've had. Service was mediocre - my beverage was empty when the food came, and I was about done eating by the time the server noticed this and asked if I wanted another. Music is too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

Gorgeous exterior and interior, located ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Gorgeous exterior and interior, located at Portofino Bay Hotel in Universal Orlando. The waiters and owners were authentic Italian in every way, the fresh garlic and bread were delicious, and the entrees themselves brought me right back to Italy. The best part however, would have to be the classically trained operatic singer who goes around tables with her accompanying accordionist and sings for you. Simply stunning. What a gem!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This restaurant is located on the lower ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This restaurant is located on the lower level of Loew's Portofino hotel at Universal Studios in Orlando. A truly authentic Italian venue complete with roving singer and his accordion accompanist, delicious food and top-notch service combine for an unforgettable evening. My wife and I were there to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. We were seated quickly and our server provided detailed information on the menu selections, wine pairings, etc. Reservations are "optional" but highly recommended.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

love the place, love the music. Lindsay ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

love the place, love the music. Lindsay was our server. She was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely loved dinner here. They had w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Absolutely loved dinner here. They had wonderful singers and guitar player who went to each table and took requests! The food was awesome. We had the special of the evening and it was perfect. The wait staff were attentive without being obtrusive. And very family friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful location for hotel guests.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience immensely. The service was very attentive and the ambience was cozy and delightful. The menu was somewhat limited but suited all our tastes. We so appreciated the special attention we received for our graduation dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great Italian restaurant. Live music. Very fun. Great service. Will definitely eat here again

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelent food and service , Family porti ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Excelent food and service , Family portions apetizers , Amazing live music .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was from the to the waiter. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Everything was from the to the waiter. The and who play guitar and sing make the ambiance in there just perfect. It was my husbands birthday and they brought him a dessert with a candle and played music and sang. Mamma Della herself even came over. It was worth every penny.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stellar Italian food, solid atmosphere, ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Stellar Italian food, solid atmosphere, and wonderful ambiance thanks to the live musical entertainment. Certainly worth a walk from any local hotel.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Italian crooners were amazing. I ha ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The Italian crooners were amazing. I had the special and it was okay. The risotto was a little undercooked but the scallops were delicious.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, Great vibe

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The food was fresh and tasty. The service was very friendly and welcoming. We had four small children who were all cared for Well. The opera singers came and played which was wonderful. Eggplant is not always done right. Here it was. Nice bottle of wine for 40 bucks. Never felt rushed. Recommend highly

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner review

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I ate here several years ago and we loved it very much. Returned in May of 2016 and the food was absolutely horrible. Very over priced for a small portion. Pasta is not expensive, and you usually get a nice big bowl but this was served on a board and it was about a cup sized portion of spaghetti. Wouldn't have minded if it was delicious but it was very poor quality. Portfolio bay is a very nice hotel and mamma dellas should be up to their standard. The music was nice as was the atmosphere but that's all the positives I can give.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Mother's Day at Mama Della's

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day at Mama Della's was perfecto. We were seating right at our reservation time. The table was set perfectly, got a nice round table in the middle of the restaurant. We ordered some drinks and appetizers first. Got the shrimp scampi, antipasto and tomato caprese. All were delicious and well presented. They provide you with a nice bread basket as well. Meals were delivered later in the experience, nice pace by the waiter. We ordered chicken parmigiana, lasagna, gnocchi and carbonara. All were hot, looked great and tasted even better. The singers came around and sang my mother's wedding song which made her even more happy. We saw Mama too. Overall, a great Mother's Day experience at Mama Della's. This was our second time there and definitely will be back again. Great job Mama and Team !!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Mamma Della's a very tasty and enjoyable place.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This place is probably as close to a real Italian experience you will get. We have been twice now. Authentic foods, roaming singers, and the atmosphere and experience is just great.

Our waiter was awesome, both times we had the same guy and he really made sure we were taken care of.

Only thing is the first dinning room

area I do not recommend even though we have been stuck their twice. Lots of extra activity and notice from people checking in.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic service and great atmosphere

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Fantastic service and great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overpriced red-sauce Italian joint

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

I didn't really care for this place. We went on a goof, and found that they were taking themselves ridiculously seriously for what they serve. Didn't think the caprese was very fresh, and the pasta options seemed overpriced for pasta. There are numerous other eateries in this resort area. I'd pick another one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Good Meal

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We enjoyed the food very much. Located in the center of the Portofino Hotel, at Universal Studios, It is a very beautiful location. The service was excellent and the décor was charming.

A great place to eat while on vacation. I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Old School Italian Food

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great Appetizer and Main Dish. The lasagna was outstanding. The drop off was at dessert. I ordered the Tiramasu and the slice was more like a sliver. Three total bites by me and my wife and it was gone. For $11 a slice, not worth it. The coffee was so watered down, the room brewed coffee was better.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food took over an hour

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a reservation for Saturday night at 8:30. We were seated almost immediately and then the waiting began. We waited for about 10 minutes for anyone to even greet our table and that was a girl who wanted to know what type of water we wanted. Another 10 minutes and our server came to the table and we immediately said we were ready to order. We had the lasagna, gnocchi and 2 kid meals. Bread was set down and then we waited and waited and waited. No one checked on us, no one asked if we wanted more bread or refills on drinks. Our server came over after about 30 minutes and said , oh you should be next. Another 10 minutes and our food came. Food was good, but no one apologized about it taking so long. As we were paying the check, our server finally said sorry it took so long. The food was definitely not worth the wait and we won't be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

You feel like you are in someone's home. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

You feel like you are in someone's home. Very cozy atmosphere. There are opera singers that come around and sing at your table. Beautiful beautiful voices. Food is delicious !!! A must do if you are staying near universal studios.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Enjoyable meal after a day at Universal. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Enjoyable meal after a day at Universal. Bruschetta app was delicious - with warm ricotta and roasted tomatoes. Kids loved their pastas. Live music was fun without being intrusive. Service was attentive but not overwhelming. Definitely need a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Genuinely Fun and Delicious

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

My now fiance and I were celebrating our recent engagement and staying on-site at Portofino Bay. We knew there were several restaurants on-site but we ended up using our exclusive hotel benefits (unlimited express passes and early entrance to the Wizarding World) from the moment the parks opened to the second they closed, so naturally we would go back to our room and crash/prepare for the next day of fun. On the last day we were there, the parks unfortunately closed at 6:00 PM but in this unfortunate event, we found our way to Mama Della's. We walked in a few minutes after our reservation and they were so kind and welcoming and made us feel like we were walking into "Mama's" house. We ordered two glasses of wine and the calamari to start us off. The calamari was so good and plentiful! My fiance and I split the "Gnocchi al Pomodoro" and it was everything we could have imagined and more. We had intended to order the lasagna but they had run out of ingredients due to it being so popular (and I'm sure incredibly delicious). We told him we were celebrating our engagement and he gave us wonderful marriage advice. He also brought us out a complimentary delicious dessert because "mama wanted to give you something sweet". It was vanilla ice cream, home made brownies, and fruit with "Congratulations" beautifully written in chocolate on the top of the plate. We were extremely satisfied with everything and will be returning to eat there 115% on our next visit to Orlando.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic Experience

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We loved our meal at Mama Della's. The service was excellent, with wait staff appearing at just the right time, without too much intrusion. Great food recommendations. The ambience was perfect, and the Opera music made the occasion exceptionally nice. Highly recommend!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic time

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We had an incredible meal and the singers that serenaded us that night were fabulous

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The roving accordionist and male and fem ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

The roving accordionist and male and female vocalists were awesome! We found out too late that they perform every night at 7 I believe in the courtyard outside the restaurant. I would highly recommend scheduling accordingly so you can enjoy them before or after dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

While in Orlando

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Great food, comfortable environment, good drinks. Was there to visit Universal Studios and needed a place to de-escalate with my kids, this was nice.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great time with family!

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great time with family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good, not exceptional. Wor ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

The food was good, not exceptional. Worth it if you are staying at the hotel, but there are restaurants just as good or better at Citywalk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was just OK

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Food was just OK

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Outstanding food. Husband said best cala ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Outstanding food. Husband said best calamari ever. Son actually ate greens on top of bruschetta! I loved the lasagna, and my noodle girl said it was the best fettuccine she has ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Average food, overpriced

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

If you are going to splurge and want exceptional Italian food you would be better served eating at Bice located at the same hotel.

The food at Mama's is pricey and only average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.