About Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

5601 Universal Blvd
Orlando, FL 32819
View Larger Map

When you dine at Mama Della's, it's like being invited into her warm, welcoming home. Every room transports you to the Italian countryside, where you can enjoy rustic, Old World specialties like Insalata Caprese, Pollo Marsala, Lasagna and Frutti di Mare, accompanied by the finest wines and strolling musicians. While you feast on authentic dishes from the Tuscany, Naples and Piemonte regions, Mama herself might be there to urge you to "Mange! Mange!" Delicious Italian food served in a romantic, genuine atmosphere, makes dining at Mama Della's an experience you'll never forget. You'll find Mama Della's in the Harbor Piazza at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando. With its cobblestone streets, sidewalk cafes and even the occasional Vespa dotting the harborside, this Piazza will make you feel like you've been carried away to Portofino, Italy. It's a fantastico setting for a most magnificent Italian meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nighly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Universal Orlando

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 503-3463

Website:
http://www.dineatmamadellas.com/

Entertainment:
What is more romantic than musical accompaniment to a delectable Italian meal? Every night, strolling musicians delight diners at Mama Della's Ristorante. Listen as they play Italian favorites like "That's Amore", "Arrivederci Roma", "Mama" or "Angelina". Or, request your very own table side serenade. Before or after dinner at Mama Della's, guests can also enjoy the MUSICA DELLA NOTTE show each night at sunset (weather permitting) in the Harbor Piazza; it's a musical celebration capturing the romance and charm of Italy.

Parking Details:
Reduced valet or complimentary self-parking is available for local guests of Mama Della's Ristorante. Please bring your parking ticket for validation.

Executive Chef:
Leon Teow

Additional:
Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Sword - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
lasagna - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Cherry Tart - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Pasta Di Mare - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Spaghetti con Polpette - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Shrimp Fra Diavlo - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Fried Calamari - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Panacotta - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Brancini - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Pasta Fagioli - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Bistecca Con Pecorino Al Tartufo - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Panna Cotta Di Vaniglia - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL
Risotto With English Peas, Rock Shrimp & Lobster - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, Orlando, FL

Private Dining

Celebrate your next occasion with Italian flair at Mama Della’s Ristorante. Private and semi-private rooms accommodate groups of 8-70, and each room tells a part of the story of Mama Della. Strolling through, you’ll find Italian minstrels, and you might even run into Mama Della or her sister, Zita.

Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (29)
Authentic (27)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Cozy (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Fun (17)
Family Style (17)
Live Music (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Casual (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Waterfront (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Fireplace (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Scenic View (7)
Business Meals (7)
Private Room (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
693 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was great! Food was good. Not ba ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was great! Food was good. Not bad for a touristy spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding service and wonderful Italia ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding service and wonderful Italian food. The last two times we've been to Orlando we've eaten here and continue to do so for our future trips.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place. I don't feel as though ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Love this place. I don't feel as though I am sitting in a huge room with a hundred other people. Food is good, wine selection is good. Service and staff are awesome.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived by water taxi from CityWalk a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We arrived by water taxi from CityWalk at Universal. The Portofino is a beautiful resort to stroll around and this was a pleasant break from the theme park noise, over-stimulation and fast-food. A guitar player came and sang for us, the serving staff were very attentive, and the portions were generous and well-prepared. It was a bit more expensive than other options nearby, but definitely worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been there twice on our visit to ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We have been there twice on our visit to Florida and loved it each time. Food and staff are always wonderful. Would highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely be back in the future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolutely charming restaurant. The ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

An absolutely charming restaurant. The staff treated us as if we were old friends who came to dinner. A guitarist and two tenors came around to each table to sing. Nothing seemed hurried, a wonderful atmosphere. Food was very good - my lasagne was some of the best that I have had. Wines was reasonably priced with a good selection. We would definitely return to Mama Della's.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My family had a wonderful time! The serv ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My family had a wonderful time! The services was great. The food was wonderful! We will be back

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is excellent. Our waiter from ce ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Service is excellent. Our waiter from central Africa was amazing. Food is ok.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining was excellent service was great. ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Dining was excellent service was great. Prices were a little steep for Italian but this is resort living so it was expected. The live music was great but expect it to be loud that lady can sing!!! Overall great experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What can I say about our second experien ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

What can I say about our second experience at Mama Della's Restaurant, it was awesome!!!

Fidan is Exceptional, we are treated like family and he goes above and beyond to make us feel very welcome and special.

We also had an opera singer at our table, her voice is amazing, they are very lucky to have her and her companion sing and play for us.

The food is Exceptional, love that calamari, and the Chicken Parmegian is to die for.

We will be back again soon can't wait to celebrate my Birthday there and make great memories with all the special people there.

Maria S and family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is conveniently located a ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The restaurant is conveniently located at the portofino bay hotel when you step inside you feel like you are in momas house each area is decorated differently as a house would be. The food was good the salad comes in a big bowl ala Olive Garden but with a much better flavor. I had the lamb chops they were cooked perfectly my wife had the Alfredo with chicken and that was also very good. My only complaint was the service we felt forgotten in our own little room at times.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Very authentic delicious Italian food. A ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very authentic delicious Italian food. A comfortable environment with some live music to make for a wonderful evening in a superb setting

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Large portions , started with calamari a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Large portions , started with calamari and Caesar salad. Caesar dressing lacked anchovi flavor. Calamari was very good. I personally had eggplant Parmesan, it was fair, honestly lacked flavor. Husband had chicken carbonara and said it was good. Atmosphere was nice, they had seranading from table to table, decorations were very nice. The staff who brought our food was very nice, however our waiter was not very attentive, no refills offered. If you are staying in the area, it is worth a trip more so to see the beauty of the hotel and outdoor seating areas and shoppes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We loved it, our food was exceptional an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We loved it, our food was exceptional and the ambiance was amazing- felt like I was in my Italian grandmothers kitchen again. Yum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Neben dem sehr guten Essen wird man durc ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Neben dem sehr guten Essen wird man durch italienische Gesangseinlagen unterhalten.

Das Essen an sich wird frisch zubereitet und es wird gleich zu Anfang ein frisch gebackenes Brot sowie frische Knoblauchzehen in Olivenöl serviert.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We have gone here a few times now and I ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have gone here a few times now and I was really looking forward to eating here for New Year's Eve. I was disappointed as the two chicken parmigiana we ordered were pink inside. For the money we spent it really wasn't worth it in the end. We had a large party and by the time the waiter came back most people were finished with their entree so we didn't reorder.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a 5:30 reservation on New Year's ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a 5:30 reservation on New Year's Eve because we had a toddler. We arrived 10 minutes early and the door was locked. They open at 5:30 and apparently not a minute sooner. A very stressed manager came out and addressed us with "You all have reservations I hope" Still was not allowed in............

Once in, dinner was delicious, service was wonderful and timed perfectly for a table with a toddler without ever feeling rushed. I don't know why the manager was so concerned about reservations, there were plenty of empty tables when we arrived and some were still empty when we left.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Ate here our last night at Universal. Fo ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Ate here our last night at Universal. Food was wonderful. Music was great. Overall very good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service very accommodating wit ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent Service very accommodating with meals changes. Food fresh and delicious , service and live opera music can't find anywhere except Italy. Highly recommend. Going back for New Years !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Big Ed was a great server! Our family en ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Big Ed was a great server! Our family enjoyed the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic service at this restaurant. We ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fantastic service at this restaurant. We were seated immediately (despite being a little late for our reservation), and the waiter couldn't have been nicer. Kids were falling apart after dinner, so he packed up our dessert to go. Food was really good. TONS of garlic, but delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went on Christmas. It was easy to get ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We went on Christmas. It was easy to get into, the service was outstanding and the food was excellent. The bonus were the singers who visited each table. We'll be sure to go again the next time we're in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofi ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel is an excellent restaurant, with very good Italian food, service, and ambiance, but is quite expensive.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was an awesome meal for Christmas E ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was an awesome meal for Christmas Eve. Will definitely go back again and again.

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Fun, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Comfort Food, , Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Eve dinner with famuly

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner with famuly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We loved our awesome waiter, Joe!! We wa ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We loved our awesome waiter, Joe!!

We wanted to take my Italian mom, Carmella to a very special restaurant on Christmas Eve and so glad we tried your restaurant!

Next time, I hope we can sit by the fireplace!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Our meal was fantastic! The service was ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our meal was fantastic! The service was wonderful. It was my daughter's birthday and they made her feel so special. The singers came to the table and sang Happy Birthday. They also brought her an awesome dessert. This was the best meal and experience we had at a restaurant during our trip to Orlando.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals we had during our ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2016

One of the best meals we had during our entire Orlando Vacation week. Our waiter was attentive and friendly, we ate outside and were treated to an operatic show on the veranda. My gluten free teen was super happy with his meal and my pre teen loved his pizza! My hubby said his meal was amazing! And my eggplant parm was superb! We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an issue with one of the kids' me ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We had an issue with one of the kids' meals. The service we received as a result was above and beyond our expectations. I have super high expectations and rarely find things perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Of all the restaurants we went to at uni ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Of all the restaurants we went to at universal, this was by far the best. I could talk about the bread alone for three paragraphs. Everything was fresh and very authentic. There were singers who came to each table which can sometimes be awkward but in this case was fantastic. The dessert was incredible too, we got the cannoli, gelato and chocolate cake. The filet was perfect. The chicken parmesan was probably my least favorite but it was still good. Service was great, some of the waiters spoke Italian. The place itself is very cute, set up to look like a house. A bit pricy but not crazy for an in hotel restaurant--well worth it. Truly amazing place I would recommend to anyone who loves Italian food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Italian ambience with strolling musician ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Italian ambience with strolling musicians. Great for a business dinner or family. Attentiveness excellent. Meridith was our server and she exceeded our expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Little cozy place, very romantic. Food w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Little cozy place, very romantic.

Food was good. Appetizers are big portion so can be shareable.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. Love Mama. Love the foo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Love this place. Love Mama. Love the food. Love the ambiance. Love the classical singers. When I get to Orlando it is must dine experience. Perfection.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fun, Notable Wine List, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was great but the kid menu at 1 ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our food was great but the kid menu at 14$ is too expensive. The young hostess was very cold and disagreeable we were almost about to leave. A pity because the food is good this young lady should learn to explain and smile

Tags: Local Ingredients, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

This is one of our favorite places to ea ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 7, 2016

This is one of our favorite places to eat. They prepare my gluten free entrees very carefully and have always had a good experience at this restaurant. I am sure we will come here again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our waitress was attentive and genuine. ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our waitress was attentive and genuine. The trio of musicians were absolutely phenomenal! The food was top notch and exactly what we were looking for. If you are looking for a truly authentic Italian meal and experience, this is the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had read other reviews about how delic ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I had read other reviews about how delicious the food is and how fun the music is-they were right! We had such a good time, we ate here two nights in a row! Their GF options are really good. The music is nice bc the singers only come around occasionally ( I have a hard time hearing when music is constantly playing).

I highly recommend you try Mama Della's. Everyone from age 15-79 enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Wish they would move to my home town:)

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great way to end a long active day. Trea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great way to end a long active day. Treated ourselves to what resembled a home cooked meal - Caesar salad with fresh tomatoes for two, then shared a chicken parmigiana and special meat-blend spaghetti with marinara. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, the service, the ambiance with ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The food, the service, the ambiance with trovadores was excellent. This a terrific place to celebrate a 30 year anniversary! Would recommend to family members wishing to make an lasting impression to a love one. Also, the flower bouquet was fresh and waiting for us at the table. Just for that I have another 30 years of tender love coming!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had thanksgiving dinner with friends, we ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Had thanksgiving dinner with friends, we were a group of 23 and were accomodated nicely. The food was absolutely amazing, one of the best meals we've ever had. (turkey at an italian restaurant, can you believe it?). Wonderful ambience and great service. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.