About Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

5601 Universal Blvd
Orlando, FL 32819
View Larger Map

When you dine at Mama Della's, it's like being invited into her warm, welcoming home. Every room transports you to the Italian countryside, where you can enjoy rustic, Old World specialties like Insalata Caprese, Pollo Marsala, Lasagna and Frutti di Mare, accompanied by the finest wines and strolling musicians. While you feast on authentic dishes from the Tuscany, Naples and Piemonte regions, Mama herself might be there to urge you to "Mange! Mange!" Delicious Italian food served in a romantic, genuine atmosphere, makes dining at Mama Della's an experience you'll never forget. You'll find Mama Della's in the Harbor Piazza at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando. With its cobblestone streets, sidewalk cafes and even the occasional Vespa dotting the harborside, this Piazza will make you feel like you've been carried away to Portofino, Italy. It's a fantastico setting for a most magnificent Italian meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nighly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Universal Orlando

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 503-3463

Website:
http://www.dineatmamadellas.com/

Entertainment:
What is more romantic than musical accompaniment to a delectable Italian meal? Every night, strolling musicians delight diners at Mama Della's Ristorante. Listen as they play Italian favorites like "That's Amore", "Arrivederci Roma", "Mama" or "Angelina". Or, request your very own table side serenade. Before or after dinner at Mama Della's, guests can also enjoy the MUSICA DELLA NOTTE show each night at sunset (weather permitting) in the Harbor Piazza; it's a musical celebration capturing the romance and charm of Italy.

Parking Details:
Reduced valet or complimentary self-parking is available for local guests of Mama Della's Ristorante. Please bring your parking ticket for validation.

Executive Chef:
Leon Teow

Additional:
Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Celebrate your next occasion with Italian flair at Mama Della’s Ristorante. Private and semi-private rooms accommodate groups of 8-70, and each room tells a part of the story of Mama Della. Strolling through, you’ll find Italian minstrels, and you might even run into Mama Della or her sister, Zita.

Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (31)
Authentic (28)
See All
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Live Music (19)
Fun (17)
Cozy (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Family Style (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Casual (13)
Waterfront (11)
Scenic View (8)
Business Meals (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Fireplace (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Private Room (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Historic (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
721 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Cozy atmosphere with great food. Our family really enjoyed it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

The mussels were fantastic. Great entrees and service!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

We were rather disappointed with the restaurant. The place was very nice and the staff very pleasant. However, my wife ordered the calamari. This was not billed as a sharing plate on the menu nor did the waiter warn us how big it was. When it arrived it was massive. The waiter THEN advised us that it was for 2-3 people. Fortunately he managed to cancel the main course my wife had ordered. Although the calamari were tasty it was a bit boring to plough through this massive portion. I had the shrimps which were delicious and a perfect size. I then had chicken parmigiagno with spaghetti. This too was massive. The chicken was covered in a thick layer of melted cheese which was not Parmesan as far as I was concerned. I didn't enjoy it- it was a bit overpowering and I left at least half of the chicken and the spaghetti.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Great experience for the whole family. Delicious food and great atmosphere

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 18, 2017

:/ didn't sing happy birthday and service was poor other than that the environment and food was good great options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our dinner for 3 was delicious. Enjoyed mussels, eggplant parmigiana, gnocchi and chicken piccata.

Have been coming for over 8 years and have enjoyed every meal both for food and atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Reason for picking a resturant is for quality of food. Mama's was outstanding food and it was quality in every way.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The dinner, food and atmosphere was very appropriate for a date. For the first time there my date and I loved the food, the waiter and live music. I would go again for a special occasion and recommend to friends. Only feedback I would is that the dining area is a little dark but not to the point where it bothered us, just something I noticed.

Tags: Healthy, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food and service, but over- priced for pretty much standard Italian food. Cocktails are very expensive at 14 a piece, and a simple plate of ghocchi cost 24 dollars? I realize this is a theme park, but the mark up is extreme. Not a good value.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant for dinner. We go here when we go to Universal. The salads are incredible- Caprese and Caesar are delicious! The lasagna, chicken Parmesan and veal Marsala were great entrees. Large portion sizes so we could split entrees. We live the opera singers who come to the table- great voices and personality!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We were very happy to have dined at mamma Dellas. They sing for you at your table. Universal/ Lowes did a great job recreating an Italian restaurant that was homey feeling. Sauce was simply good. Not overly herbed or sweet. Bruschetta was fantastic. They used very good quality balsamic vinegar.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We were looking for a convenient restaurant as we were staying on the Portofino Bay property. What a surprise and delight to find this was so much more than a hotel restaurant! The atmosphere was cozy and themed without being gimmicky and over the top. The food was delicious and authentic Italian cuisine - no spaghetti and meatballs here! There were strolling musicians which made it fun for the group and added to the ambiance. All for a very reasonable price. In fact we liked it so much the first night we went back again the next night. Bravo, Mama Della's!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 9, 2017

It was perfect for me. The food, the singers, the chef, the wine.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Saw article written about the restaurant and decided to go even though not staying on the Loews portofino property. Definitely worth the 35 minute drive. We walked the hotel shops and waterfront area, plus had a glass of wine at the Thirsty Fish. Was redirected to a "super Tuscan" red wine. I asked if same wine available at Mama Della's. Bartender said "if not, they'll come get it from me." Nice!!! We enjoyed wine in outdoor area listening to 2 tenors singing Italian songs with a half moon & stars overhead- beautiful!!!! Seated as soon as we checked into mama della's for our reservation. Lance was our waiter - he & other waitstaff were quick, solicitous, and friendly. We ordered quickly...we got a children's lasagna to split for appetizer (I am picky about my Italian food - it was delicious!!), the Caesar salad for 2 (again, delicious), and we split the veal scallopini with Marsala as our main (Oh. my. Gosh!!). Every bite was spectacular!!! Lance recommended the chocolate lava cake, but we really wanted to try tiramisu. So we ordered lava cake to split there and a tiramisu to go. The lava cake with a generous scoop of ice cream was perfect for us to split - oh, yum!! It wasn't a huge cake, but just right after the heavy meal we just had. The tiramisu we enjoyed a day later....it had more flavor at room temp and was also, you guessed it, delicious!! The service was great, the ambiance was wonderful and we enjoyed the strolling guitar & 2 tenors!!! Go! You'll love it!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Romantic, Family Style, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Excellent service, food and atmosphere. Would eat here multiple times if you love italian

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Waterfront, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Wonderful food, service and live entertainment. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is the go to place when in Orlando. Everything is perfect. As always.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We really enjoyed the restaurant. Nicely decorated, live entertainment, good service and delicious Italian food.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Lovely evening...quaint atmosphere...food always perfect...live the strolling performers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We always have a wonderful time at Mama Della's. The food is great, the atmosphere wonderful, and the opera quality singers who serenade you while is eat is the icing on the cake. Have never had a bad meal here. This is one place we take all our company for a unique dining experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 24, 2017

A coworker recommended this place- she raved about the food and atmosphere and gave it an awesome review. After trying it out, I could not agree more. It was awesome! From the moment they greet you, to the moment you leave, the staff was incredibly attentive. The food was great; the live singer and guitar player going from table to table - taking requests, was also a nice touch. The restaurant has great cozy feeling to it, I would definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Buena comida

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We stayed at the hotel to celebrate our anniversary and booked a reservation at Mama Della's. The restaurant and staff provide an authentic atmosphere and the food resembles it as well! Our waitress was excellent and the waitstaff always kept our beverages filled. I ordered the Carbonara and my wife had the Chicken Parmesan. Both of them were equally delicious, aside from a few chewy sections of chicken from both plates. The restaurant itself is quiet and pleasant until you hear the sounds and voices coming from the teams who serenade the tables. We got our own song as dinner arrived and it was a great touch for the evening.

Overall, good experience. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Wonderful meal and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Service was great! Food was good. Not bad for a touristy spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Outstanding service and wonderful Italian food. The last two times we've been to Orlando we've eaten here and continue to do so for our future trips.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Love this place. I don't feel as though I am sitting in a huge room with a hundred other people. Food is good, wine selection is good. Service and staff are awesome.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We arrived by water taxi from CityWalk at Universal. The Portofino is a beautiful resort to stroll around and this was a pleasant break from the theme park noise, over-stimulation and fast-food. A guitar player came and sang for us, the serving staff were very attentive, and the portions were generous and well-prepared. It was a bit more expensive than other options nearby, but definitely worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We have been there twice on our visit to Florida and loved it each time. Food and staff are always wonderful. Would highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely be back in the future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

An absolutely charming restaurant. The staff treated us as if we were old friends who came to dinner. A guitarist and two tenors came around to each table to sing. Nothing seemed hurried, a wonderful atmosphere. Food was very good - my lasagne was some of the best that I have had. Wines was reasonably priced with a good selection. We would definitely return to Mama Della's.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My family had a wonderful time! The services was great. The food was wonderful! We will be back

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Service is excellent. Our waiter from central Africa was amazing. Food is ok.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Dining was excellent service was great. Prices were a little steep for Italian but this is resort living so it was expected. The live music was great but expect it to be loud that lady can sing!!! Overall great experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

What can I say about our second experience at Mama Della's Restaurant, it was awesome!!!

Fidan is Exceptional, we are treated like family and he goes above and beyond to make us feel very welcome and special.

We also had an opera singer at our table, her voice is amazing, they are very lucky to have her and her companion sing and play for us.

The food is Exceptional, love that calamari, and the Chicken Parmegian is to die for.

We will be back again soon can't wait to celebrate my Birthday there and make great memories with all the special people there.

Maria S and family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The restaurant is conveniently located at the portofino bay hotel when you step inside you feel like you are in momas house each area is decorated differently as a house would be. The food was good the salad comes in a big bowl ala Olive Garden but with a much better flavor. I had the lamb chops they were cooked perfectly my wife had the Alfredo with chicken and that was also very good. My only complaint was the service we felt forgotten in our own little room at times.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very authentic delicious Italian food. A comfortable environment with some live music to make for a wonderful evening in a superb setting

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Large portions , started with calamari and Caesar salad. Caesar dressing lacked anchovi flavor. Calamari was very good. I personally had eggplant Parmesan, it was fair, honestly lacked flavor. Husband had chicken carbonara and said it was good. Atmosphere was nice, they had seranading from table to table, decorations were very nice. The staff who brought our food was very nice, however our waiter was not very attentive, no refills offered. If you are staying in the area, it is worth a trip more so to see the beauty of the hotel and outdoor seating areas and shoppes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We loved it, our food was exceptional and the ambiance was amazing- felt like I was in my Italian grandmothers kitchen again. Yum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Neben dem sehr guten Essen wird man durch italienische Gesangseinlagen unterhalten.

Das Essen an sich wird frisch zubereitet und es wird gleich zu Anfang ein frisch gebackenes Brot sowie frische Knoblauchzehen in Olivenöl serviert.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have gone here a few times now and I was really looking forward to eating here for New Year's Eve. I was disappointed as the two chicken parmigiana we ordered were pink inside. For the money we spent it really wasn't worth it in the end. We had a large party and by the time the waiter came back most people were finished with their entree so we didn't reorder.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a 5:30 reservation on New Year's Eve because we had a toddler. We arrived 10 minutes early and the door was locked. They open at 5:30 and apparently not a minute sooner. A very stressed manager came out and addressed us with "You all have reservations I hope" Still was not allowed in............

Once in, dinner was delicious, service was wonderful and timed perfectly for a table with a toddler without ever feeling rushed. I don't know why the manager was so concerned about reservations, there were plenty of empty tables when we arrived and some were still empty when we left.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Ate here our last night at Universal. Food was wonderful. Music was great. Overall very good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent Service very accommodating with meals changes. Food fresh and delicious , service and live opera music can't find anywhere except Italy. Highly recommend. Going back for New Years !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Big Ed was a great server! Our family enjoyed the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fantastic service at this restaurant. We were seated immediately (despite being a little late for our reservation), and the waiter couldn't have been nicer. Kids were falling apart after dinner, so he packed up our dessert to go. Food was really good. TONS of garlic, but delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We went on Christmas. It was easy to get into, the service was outstanding and the food was excellent. The bonus were the singers who visited each table. We'll be sure to go again the next time we're in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We always have a great time at Mama Della's. Big Joe and Mama Christina make it special. Great food ,great music and wonderful friends...what more is there to say!!

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel is an excellent restaurant, with very good Italian food, service, and ambiance, but is quite expensive.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was an awesome meal for Christmas Eve. Will definitely go back again and again.

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Fun, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.