About Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

5601 Universal Blvd
Orlando, FL 32819
View Larger Map

When you dine at Mama Della's, it's like being invited into her warm, welcoming home. Every room transports you to the Italian countryside, where you can enjoy rustic, Old World specialties like Insalata Caprese, Pollo Marsala, Lasagna and Frutti di Mare, accompanied by the finest wines and strolling musicians. While you feast on authentic dishes from the Tuscany, Naples and Piemonte regions, Mama herself might be there to urge you to "Mange! Mange!" Delicious Italian food served in a romantic, genuine atmosphere, makes dining at Mama Della's an experience you'll never forget. You'll find Mama Della's in the Harbor Piazza at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando. With its cobblestone streets, sidewalk cafes and even the occasional Vespa dotting the harborside, this Piazza will make you feel like you've been carried away to Portofino, Italy. It's a fantastico setting for a most magnificent Italian meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nighly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Universal Orlando

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 503-3463

Website:
http://www.dineatmamadellas.com/

Entertainment:
What is more romantic than musical accompaniment to a delectable Italian meal? Every night, strolling musicians delight diners at Mama Della's Ristorante. Listen as they play Italian favorites like "That's Amore", "Arrivederci Roma", "Mama" or "Angelina". Or, request your very own table side serenade. Before or after dinner at Mama Della's, guests can also enjoy the MUSICA DELLA NOTTE show each night at sunset (weather permitting) in the Harbor Piazza; it's a musical celebration capturing the romance and charm of Italy.

Parking Details:
Reduced valet or complimentary self-parking is available for local guests of Mama Della's Ristorante. Please bring your parking ticket for validation.

Executive Chef:
Leon Teow

Additional:
Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Celebrate your next occasion with Italian flair at Mama Della’s Ristorante. Private and semi-private rooms accommodate groups of 8-70, and each room tells a part of the story of Mama Della. Strolling through, you’ll find Italian minstrels, and you might even run into Mama Della or her sister, Zita.

Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (58)
romantic (48)
fit for foodies (40)
See All
good for groups (34)
kid-friendly (34)
scenic view (23)
notable wine list (19)
great for outdoor dining (17)
neighborhood gem (13)
late-night find (6)
great for lunch (5)
great for brunch (2)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
535 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The Italian crooners were amazing. I ha ...

Dined 5 days ago

The Italian crooners were amazing. I had the special and it was okay. The risotto was a little undercooked but the scallops were delicious.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, Great vibe

Dined 6 days ago

The food was fresh and tasty. The service was very friendly and welcoming. We had four small children who were all cared for Well. The opera singers came and played which was wonderful. Eggplant is not always done right. Here it was. Nice bottle of wine for 40 bucks. Never felt rushed. Recommend highly

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Dinner review

Dined on May 14, 2016

I ate here several years ago and we loved it very much. Returned in May of 2016 and the food was absolutely horrible. Very over priced for a small portion. Pasta is not expensive, and you usually get a nice big bowl but this was served on a board and it was about a cup sized portion of spaghetti. Wouldn't have minded if it was delicious but it was very poor quality. Portfolio bay is a very nice hotel and mamma dellas should be up to their standard. The music was nice as was the atmosphere but that's all the positives I can give.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Mother's Day at Mama Della's

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day at Mama Della's was perfecto. We were seating right at our reservation time. The table was set perfectly, got a nice round table in the middle of the restaurant. We ordered some drinks and appetizers first. Got the shrimp scampi, antipasto and tomato caprese. All were delicious and well presented. They provide you with a nice bread basket as well. Meals were delivered later in the experience, nice pace by the waiter. We ordered chicken parmigiana, lasagna, gnocchi and carbonara. All were hot, looked great and tasted even better. The singers came around and sang my mother's wedding song which made her even more happy. We saw Mama too. Overall, a great Mother's Day experience at Mama Della's. This was our second time there and definitely will be back again. Great job Mama and Team !!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mamma Della's a very tasty and enjoyable place.

Dined on May 7, 2016

This place is probably as close to a real Italian experience you will get. We have been twice now. Authentic foods, roaming singers, and the atmosphere and experience is just great. Our waiter was awesome, both times we had the same guy and he really made sure we were taken care of. Only thing is the first dinning room area I do not recommend even though we have been stuck their twice. Lots of extra activity and notice from people checking in.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service and great atmosphere

Dined on May 4, 2016

Fantastic service and great atmosphere

food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Overpriced red-sauce Italian joint

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

I didn't really care for this place. We went on a goof, and found that they were taking themselves ridiculously seriously for what they serve. Didn't think the caprese was very fresh, and the pasta options seemed overpriced for pasta. There are numerous other eateries in this resort area. I'd pick another one.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good Meal

Dined on May 1, 2016

We enjoyed the food very much. Located in the center of the Portofino Hotel, at Universal Studios, It is a very beautiful location. The service was excellent and the décor was charming. A great place to eat while on vacation. I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Old School Italian Food

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Great Appetizer and Main Dish. The lasagna was outstanding. The drop off was at dessert. I ordered the Tiramasu and the slice was more like a sliver. Three total bites by me and my wife and it was gone. For $11 a slice, not worth it. The coffee was so watered down, the room brewed coffee was better.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Food took over an hour

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a reservation for Saturday night at 8:30. We were seated almost immediately and then the waiting began. We waited for about 10 minutes for anyone to even greet our table and that was a girl who wanted to know what type of water we wanted. Another 10 minutes and our server came to the table and we immediately said we were ready to order. We had the lasagna, gnocchi and 2 kid meals. Bread was set down and then we waited and waited and waited. No one checked on us, no one asked if we wanted more bread or refills on drinks. Our server came over after about 30 minutes and said , oh you should be next. Another 10 minutes and our food came. Food was good, but no one apologized about it taking so long. As we were paying the check, our server finally said sorry it took so long. The food was definitely not worth the wait and we won't be back.

food5
ambience4
service5

You feel like you are in someone's home. ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

You feel like you are in someone's home. Very cozy atmosphere. There are opera singers that come around and sing at your table. Beautiful beautiful voices. Food is delicious !!! A must do if you are staying near universal studios.

food4
ambience4
service4

Enjoyable meal after a day at Universal. ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Enjoyable meal after a day at Universal. Bruschetta app was delicious - with warm ricotta and roasted tomatoes. Kids loved their pastas. Live music was fun without being intrusive. Service was attentive but not overwhelming. Definitely need a reservation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Genuinely Fun and Delicious

Dined on April 24, 2016

My now fiance and I were celebrating our recent engagement and staying on-site at Portofino Bay. We knew there were several restaurants on-site but we ended up using our exclusive hotel benefits (unlimited express passes and early entrance to the Wizarding World) from the moment the parks opened to the second they closed, so naturally we would go back to our room and crash/prepare for the next day of fun. On the last day we were there, the parks unfortunately closed at 6:00 PM but in this unfortunate event, we found our way to Mama Della's. We walked in a few minutes after our reservation and they were so kind and welcoming and made us feel like we were walking into "Mama's" house. We ordered two glasses of wine and the calamari to start us off. The calamari was so good and plentiful! My fiance and I split the "Gnocchi al Pomodoro" and it was everything we could have imagined and more. We had intended to order the lasagna but they had run out of ingredients due to it being so popular (and I'm sure incredibly delicious). We told him we were celebrating our engagement and he gave us wonderful marriage advice. He also brought us out a complimentary delicious dessert because "mama wanted to give you something sweet". It was vanilla ice cream, home made brownies, and fruit with "Congratulations" beautifully written in chocolate on the top of the plate. We were extremely satisfied with everything and will be returning to eat there 115% on our next visit to Orlando.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Experience

Dined on April 23, 2016

We loved our meal at Mama Della's. The service was excellent, with wait staff appearing at just the right time, without too much intrusion. Great food recommendations. The ambience was perfect, and the Opera music made the occasion exceptionally nice. Highly recommend!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic time

Dined on April 22, 2016

We had an incredible meal and the singers that serenaded us that night were fabulous

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service4

The roving accordionist and male and fem ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

The roving accordionist and male and female vocalists were awesome! We found out too late that they perform every night at 7 I believe in the courtyard outside the restaurant. I would highly recommend scheduling accordingly so you can enjoy them before or after dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While in Orlando

Dined on April 18, 2016

Great food, comfortable environment, good drinks. Was there to visit Universal Studios and needed a place to de-escalate with my kids, this was nice.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time with family!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Great time with family!

food4
ambience4
service4

The food was good, not exceptional. Wor ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

The food was good, not exceptional. Worth it if you are staying at the hotel, but there are restaurants just as good or better at Citywalk.

food1
ambience4
service4

Food was just OK

Dined on April 4, 2016

Food was just OK

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food. Husband said best cala ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Outstanding food. Husband said best calamari ever. Son actually ate greens on top of bruschetta! I loved the lasagna, and my noodle girl said it was the best fettuccine she has ever eaten.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Average food, overpriced

Dined on March 27, 2016

If you are going to splurge and want exceptional Italian food you would be better served eating at Bice located at the same hotel. The food at Mama's is pricey and only average.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!!

Dined on March 25, 2016

I took my boyfriend here for his 35th birthday. For both of us it was our first time here. He loves Italian food and the menu looked good. We wanted to go there before the Chris Tucker show at Hard Rock Live and it was the perfect combination. We ate a great dinner, followed by a nice boat ride from the hotel to Universal city walk. He really enjoyed it!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

A little pricey, but considering its loc ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

A little pricey, but considering its location, not bad. We shared the Caesar salad 3 ways and it was good. Husband had the lasagne which was great and I had gnocchi which was very good. My son had the kids cheese pizza and he said it was just ok. But great fast service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dining experience! Top notch f ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

Wonderful dining experience! Top notch food and service!

food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Mama Della's review

Dined on March 17, 2016

-Billed as an upscale Italian restaurant, we found the patrons clad as if they were going to McDonald's. When patrons don't dress well, the ambiance suffers. If the dress code was enforced a bit more (no jeans, no shorts, no T-shirts), one might feel that they were dining somewhere special. How hard is it to wear a collared shirt and nice pants? -The food was good and the wine list was fine. Neither was memorable for the price we paid. -We felt rushed as we were in and out in under 1 hour. Again, not a special feeling. Nice restaurants usually give almost 2 hours per table. The food was on the table as if it was already sitting under hot lamps. -The saving grace was the gluten free pasta offered. My daughter thought it was delicious.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hidden Gem

Dined on March 17, 2016

It seems that the Florida resorts each have their hidden restaurant gems! Disney has their Ohanas and Universal has its Mama Dellas! The restaurant is an excellent Italian restaurant located in the Portofino Bay Resort ( also our favorite)! Mama Dellas is located in the middle of their water front courtyard ! The atmosphere of the restaurant is relaxed and the service fantastic! During dinner we were serenaded by incredibly talented singers who really make the experience special! We have eaten there approximately 5 time and service and food quality never waiver! Steaks, seafood, and pasta dishes all super!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Italian Meal

Dined on March 10, 2016

My husband and I truly enjoyed this dining experience. From the serenade to the food to the wine. Wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for outdoor meal

Dined on March 3, 2016

Ate here with family and friends. Outdoor with great view of "Portofino harbor" and an opera concert. Food and service both excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mama brought our sleeping child a Blanket,pillow!

Dined on February 29, 2016

Pool staff at the hotel was unprofessional though. But we loved Mama's

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyable family dinner

Dined on February 29, 2016

Our party of nine enjoyed our evening meal. We all ordered a variety of meals and everyone found their dinners well prepared and nicely plated. Most entrees are very large and easy to share. I had the lasagna and it was delicious. It's prepared with a bechamel sauce, which I think gives it a little extra something! Yum. We had two diners with food allergies, and they were tended to very conscientiously with the chef coming to the table to discuss. One of our kids really wanted some mozzarella sticks, so the staff offered to bring them from the bistro next door, no problem. Overall a great meal with the plus of live table-side music made for a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Fun

Dined on February 27, 2016

Been to Mama D's several times - always a terrific time - food and service is above the norm...solid choice for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Overpriced average food. Would not retur ...

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Overpriced average food. Would not return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Good wine. Good beer. Good pasta. Not a ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Good wine. Good beer. Good pasta. Not a guy that wants singers at my table, but it was an alright reprieve.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

The restaurant is charming. We had a little corner table in the dining room. Wait staff were attentive but not overwhelming. Bread was served hot and was delicious. Nice touch. We both ate the bronzino--delicious. Very nice menu. The strolling musicians only added to the atmosphere. This restaurant was a nice find. We will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great Italian Food Experience

Dined on February 16, 2016

The restaurants ambiance was perfect. We were greeted by a wonderful hostess who told us wonderful things about the restaurant. We then were serenaded by a wonderful guitarist. The variety of food choices were perfect. We ordered the appetizers which we all thought were the gem of the dinner. The entrees where well presented but the fish was a tad bit overcooked.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classic Italian in a Wonderful Atmosphere

Dined on February 13, 2016

This classic italian restaurant did not disappoint. The beautiful Italian home interior is fit for a more upscale casual dinner or special occasion, and the beautiful serenade from the Italian singers/guitarist provides the icing on the cake. The menu has variety enough, and the food was well prepared and reasonably priced for an upscale venue. The caesar salad appetizer for two could easily feed four and was delicious. We made traditional choices - lasagna and chicken parmigiano - both of which came in large portions and were excellent. Cannoli was delicious and the kid's fudge brownie with sprinkles did the trick. Service was great and we had no problem pleasing our three year old daugther with plain spaghetti and ham on the side while the guitarist played Twinkle Twinkle Little Stars to her delight.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience

Dined on February 13, 2016

Wonderful hostess and server. We ran a little late for our prearranged birthday celebration but they were very accommodating. We were not rushed to complete dinner nor our little picture taking for the birthday cake and celebration. The flowers ordered were at the table when we were seated. The music at the table was beautiful. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the Singer & Musicians! Great Experience!

Dined on February 13, 2016

I had been to Mama Della's for a large party almost 13 years ago and sadly had not been back. I returned on a first date and had an amazing experience, all of the staff are wonderful, food delicious, ambience perfect and the icing on the cake is the musicians and singer that come to the table. Unforgettable night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must go to this Restaurant..... AMAZING!!

Dined on February 11, 2016

Great food, Great music, in one week we went 3 times!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.