About Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

When you dine at Mama Della's, it's like being invited into her warm, welcoming home. Every room transports you to the Italian countryside, where you can enjoy rustic, Old World specialties like Insalata Caprese, Pollo Marsala, Lasagna and Frutti di Mare, accompanied by the finest wines and strolling musicians. While you feast on authentic dishes from the Tuscany, Naples and Piemonte regions, Mama herself might be there to urge you to "Mange! Mange!" Delicious Italian food served in a romantic, genuine atmosphere, makes dining at Mama Della's an experience you'll never forget. You'll find Mama Della's in the Harbor Piazza at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando. With its cobblestone streets, sidewalk cafes and even the occasional Vespa dotting the harborside, this Piazza will make you feel like you've been carried away to Portofino, Italy. It's a fantastico setting for a most magnificent Italian meal.

5601 Universal Blvd
Orlando, FL 32819
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nighly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Universal Orlando

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 503-3463

Website:
http://www.dineatmamadellas.com/

Entertainment:
What is more romantic than musical accompaniment to a delectable Italian meal? Every night, strolling musicians delight diners at Mama Della's Ristorante. Listen as they play Italian favorites like "That's Amore", "Arrivederci Roma", "Mama" or "Angelina". Or, request your very own table side serenade. Before or after dinner at Mama Della's, guests can also enjoy the MUSICA DELLA NOTTE show each night at sunset (weather permitting) in the Harbor Piazza; it's a musical celebration capturing the romance and charm of Italy.

Parking Details:
Reduced valet or complimentary self-parking is available for local guests of Mama Della's Ristorante. Please bring your parking ticket for validation.

Executive Chef:
Leon Teow

Additional:
Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Celebrate your next occasion with Italian flair at Mama Della’s Ristorante. Private and semi-private rooms accommodate groups of 8-70, and each room tells a part of the story of Mama Della. Strolling through, you’ll find Italian minstrels, and you might even run into Mama Della or her sister, Zita.

Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (37)
Live Music (33)
Special Occasion (32)
See All
Good for a Date (29)
Romantic (27)
Cozy (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Fun (24)
Comfort Food (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Kid-friendly (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Family Style (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Casual (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Business Meals (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Waterfront (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Scenic View (6)
People Watching (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
818 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food was all around good. Ambiance amazing! Hospitality the best in Orlando. A few minor mishaps from the kitchen but they immediately fixed everything without skipping a beat! Highly recommend for great Italian food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Food was excellent! The menu is small but cooked to perfection. The singers table side were a nice touch also

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Everything from the bread service to the entree was absolutely delicious! The highlight of my evening was when the strolling musicians played Frank Sinatra's "Fly Me to the Moon"! It gave me chills! We will definitely be back for dinner again soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Visited Mama Della's back in April and the food was just okay. Something must have changed since the food and presentation this time around was outstanding. So if your staying at the Portofino and have tried Mama Della's and said just okay for a hotel restaurant, give it another shot. You will be impressed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 3, 2017

This is the 2nd time we have eaten at Mama Della's and both times were great. We actually stayed at Royal Pacific this year and took a complementary shuttle over for dinner. We ate our appetizers and the waitress held our dinner for 15 minutes do we could step outside and watch the balcony performance. WOW! The best!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We were on a family vacation and stayed at Portofino and decided to dine at Mama Della's. We enjoyed it so much and returned a second time. Excellent food and wonderful table side singers. A memorable dining experience!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Hands down best Italian food I've had! Ask for the pasta cooked in the cheese wheel!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Live Music, Authentic, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent food, good service and the singing at the tables was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We ate here on our last day. Loved the food, the atmosphere, and the opera singers. Highly recommend. I brough my 4 and 7 year old and they loved their meals, desserts, and the singers as well.

Tags: Live Music, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We had wonderful service and a delicious meal at this restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Wonderful good and great service! Such a cute place too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Excellent Restaurant, Itallian atmosphere, live music of your choice, good wine list and excellent food at Universal Studios Orlando

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Good for Groups, Authentic, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Michael, our server was incredible. Such a nice and caring, wonderful guy. He made us feel like special guests.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Been going to Mama's for fifteen years-NEVER had a bad meal!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Very good restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Have visited many times in the past and have had very good experiences. Visited mama's earlier this week and was very disappointed; two out of the four meals were ok, however, the other two were not of the expected quality. The waiter did not take much notice of our requirements despite numerous visits over the past decade, examples include asking for cutlery, no wine glasses, we had to pour our own wine and having to request for dinner condiments. Furthermore, was lied to about the evenings specials despite asking about them, then overheard another waiter talking about them to another table. When we asked the other waiter about the specials that he mentioned. He then waited until he conferred with our waiter regarding this matter and then confronted us at our table with the other waiter stating there were no specials that evening. Usually the atmosphere is really good, but even the singer seemed inconvenienced that evening.

Put a negative outlook on our day.

We look forward to hearing from hotel management regarding our negative experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent food and dessert

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Live Music, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This was a good find, the bread service is good, the menu is limited but the food is good if not a little expensive and the service was excellent without being stuffy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Just had my birthday dinner with Mama. The food was superb and the live music was crazy wonderful. There aren't many Italian restaurants in Orlando that can prepare perfect al dente pasta. Her red sauce is perfection and the meatballs are delicate and earthy. I used to rank Carmines in New York as my number one Italian, but not any more. Now, it's Mama Della's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Absolutely amazing experience. Food was phenomenal the atmosphere was excellent I love music was a nice touch will definitely come back again

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Charming atmosphere, delectable cuisine, superb service; we will return.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent everything!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 10, 2017

the food was very good ant the service was topnotch a little pricey but for an onsite restraunt excptiable

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food is amazing and fresh. The ambiance is comforting, romantic and feels like home. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. Great service and the sangria is deliscous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Food ok, dark ambiance...

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food / great atmosphere - highly recommend! We had a Special Occasion / birthday, and everyone enjoyed :-)

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The experience was wonderful from the staff, decor, and of course the food. The price is reasonable for the quality and the portions of the food. Our waiter Lawerence was a great source of information regarding the menu. Such a nice man!! Will definitely return , love this place!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun, Cozy, Casual, Healthy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We always make it a point to dine at Mama Della's whenever we stay at the Lowes Portofino Bay Hotel when visiting the Universal Parks. Food is always very good, atmosphere is fun and casual, and the service is normally spot on. On this occasion our waiter forgot to place our order and we had almost an hour wait after our appetizer before our entrées arrived. And this only after we inquired as to where our food was. The manager attempted to make up for our disappointment by offering us free desserts but we were so full we declined her offer. Nevertheless, we will return to Mama Della's on our next visit because we normally have an excellent experience here.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2017

My husband and I dined at Mama Della's 18 years ago when it first opened. We enjoyed the experience then and while we were visiting Universal Orlando decided to dine there again. Our experience was as wonderful now as it was then. We wish "Mama" continued success.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Mama Della's was fabulous! The food and service were both top notch. The restaurant itself was exactly as it was described - a warm, inviting, Tuscan feel. One thing I especially loved was the timing. I never felt rushed and could truly relax and enjoy a special meal. The guitar players and the singers walking around were such a nice touch and all very talented. If I lived in Orlando I would certainly go back when I could. I will recommend to anyone I know who will be visiting Universal. Thank you, Mama Della's, for a lovely last night of our vacation.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great spot for authentic Italian cuisine. Anna (opera singer) brought happy tears to our eyes. Friendly and very attentive staff.

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Dinner was delicious! We shared the mussels appetizer which was excellent. We both enjoyed our main meals. I had lasagna and my husband had the seafood and linguini. Both were fabulous! The icing on the cake were the table side entertainers. Top class talent. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Our family of 5 loved this restaurant. The atmosphere, food, and staff all great! We enjoyed the tableside serenaded, too. My husband and I both had the surf and turf. Definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We try to eat at Mama Della's whenever we visit Universal Studios. The pricing is what you would expect at a resort, and the food and service are great. They have a couple of singers and a guitar player who go from table to table and sing a song of your choice during the meal. Always a very enjoyable and special evening!

Tags: Live Music, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Really beautiful setting outside inside was a little dark and chilly for us but the staff were very accommodating to move outside and our waiter Erik was superb. The food was excellent and one of our guests was GF and their requirements were met and we were able to listen to opera while enjoying beautiful food and excellent service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Ordered the chicken parm. Sauce on it was terrible. Salad was boring. Service was slow. Decor in major need of overhaul.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Friendly staff , delicious authentic Italian food - wonderful ambiance. Want to go back already.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Mama Della's was absolutely amazing! We stopped in after checking in, and were amazed by the ambiance and how cozy this restaurant was. Each bit of food was amazing. The ravioli and gnocchi were the best dishes! A table side seranade topped off this first dinner on our honeymoon! It was absolutely perfect!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Cute restaurant the setup is a bit cheesy. Trying a little too hard to seem like Italy (which it doesn't). The food was good but slightly overpriced but it's expected since it's in Universal Studios.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I had been to several restaurants during my vacation, all were excellent. However Mama Della's was an exquisite experience! The food (ordered the lasagna) was sooo good. Excelente!!
Service and ambiance was up to par!
Best of the best experiences for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.