About Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

When you dine at Mama Della's, it's like being invited into her warm, welcoming home. Every room transports you to the Italian countryside, where you can enjoy rustic, Old World specialties like Insalata Caprese, Pollo Marsala, Lasagna and Frutti di Mare, accompanied by the finest wines and strolling musicians. While you feast on authentic dishes from the Tuscany, Naples and Piemonte regions, Mama herself might be there to urge you to "Mange! Mange!" Delicious Italian food served in a romantic, genuine atmosphere, makes dining at Mama Della's an experience you'll never forget. You'll find Mama Della's in the Harbor Piazza at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando. With its cobblestone streets, sidewalk cafes and even the occasional Vespa dotting the harborside, this Piazza will make you feel like you've been carried away to Portofino, Italy. It's a fantastico setting for a most magnificent Italian meal.

5601 Universal Blvd
Orlando, FL 32819
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nighly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Universal Orlando

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 503-3463

Website:
http://www.dineatmamadellas.com/

Entertainment:
What is more romantic than musical accompaniment to a delectable Italian meal? Every night, strolling musicians delight diners at Mama Della's Ristorante. Listen as they play Italian favorites like "That's Amore", "Arrivederci Roma", "Mama" or "Angelina". Or, request your very own table side serenade. Before or after dinner at Mama Della's, guests can also enjoy the MUSICA DELLA NOTTE show each night at sunset (weather permitting) in the Harbor Piazza; it's a musical celebration capturing the romance and charm of Italy.

Parking Details:
Reduced valet or complimentary self-parking is available for local guests of Mama Della's Ristorante. Please bring your parking ticket for validation.

Executive Chef:
Leon Teow

Additional:
Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Celebrate your next occasion with Italian flair at Mama Della’s Ristorante. Private and semi-private rooms accommodate groups of 8-70, and each room tells a part of the story of Mama Della. Strolling through, you’ll find Italian minstrels, and you might even run into Mama Della or her sister, Zita.

Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (33)
Good for a Date (29)
Live Music (27)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Family Style (22)
Romantic (22)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Cozy (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Fun (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Kid-friendly (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Business Meals (12)
Casual (11)
Waterfront (9)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Scenic View (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Historic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
783 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Ordered the chicken parm. Sauce on it was terrible. Salad was boring. Service was slow. Decor in major need of overhaul.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

Friendly staff , delicious authentic Italian food - wonderful ambiance. Want to go back already.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 7 days ago

Mama Della's was absolutely amazing! We stopped in after checking in, and were amazed by the ambiance and how cozy this restaurant was. Each bit of food was amazing. The ravioli and gnocchi were the best dishes! A table side seranade topped off this first dinner on our honeymoon! It was absolutely perfect!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Cute restaurant the setup is a bit cheesy. Trying a little too hard to seem like Italy (which it doesn't). The food was good but slightly overpriced but it's expected since it's in Universal Studios.

Tags: Family Style, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I had been to several restaurants during my vacation, all were excellent. However Mama Della's was an exquisite experience! The food (ordered the lasagna) was sooo good. Excelente!!
Service and ambiance was up to par!
Best of the best experiences for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Meal took more than 45 minutes to be served. They comped the deserts (cold molten chocolate cake) and apologized, but the delay prevented us from enjoying the parks at night.
The seafood was very good, and the eggplant probably a 6 on a scale of 1-10, but overall too expensive on a relative basis.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Delicious food, especially the veal. The musicians who serenaded the tables were talented but very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. It was recommended to us and it didn't disappoint. The Caesar salad was outstanding. The entrees were all delicious. And the strolling tableside opera singers made for a most enjoyable evening!

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Way too loud on the singer/guitarist. Also a little intrusive on people's meals

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We had a team meeting dinner at Mama Della's. We were seated near the kitchen prep area and all of us commented that unlike many other restaurants, this provided a unique experience without being distracting. There was a strolling trio that sang at various times during our dinner - this provided an exceptional experience for everyone at the table. The food was incredible - very authentic. Service was also excellent. I would return & also highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Live Music, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Food was excellent, I was lucky enough to dine when the special was a spicy shrimp with risotto, next time I come back I will make sure to dine if that special is available, it was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Always stop in to see mama when we are in town. nice atmosphere, with authentic music and excellent food. we love mama della's!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The staff made you feel like you were in a happy Italian home. They were welcoming, friend!y, knowledgeable, and made us want to keep coming back. The drinks, wine, appetizers and entrees were all so delicious. The entire experience was a highlight of our visit to Universal Studios as well as Portofino Resort and we highly recommend Mama Della's!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent Italian food in a surprisingly authentic setting. Feels and tastes like being transported back to Italy for just an hour or two. Good wine list and a bit of live opera as well, if you are there at the right moment.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We had a lovely time there last Friday - it was a reunion with my brother and sister and our grown children. The chef accommodated vegans and special diets, the service was outstanding, as was the ambience and live music. It was a special evening made better by the kind staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Romantic, Family Style, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was delicious! The bread was good as well, but they could offer more things like salad at no charge-the prices are not cheap...

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Whole experience was great. Service, food, and being serenaded by the three singers. All of it. Lasagna was the very delicate and super tasty. Chick parm was great as well. Calamari was very fresh and the spice of the marinara was hot and welcome. If you enjoy sitting in your grandmas home eating tasty food and being happy, give it a try.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Delicious food and excellent service (and beautiful live, authentic music)

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Understaffed, service was slow, had to remind the hostess that we had not seen a server after 15 minutes of being seated. Time between appetizers and meal was another 20-25 minutes, very slow!!!

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Live Music, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Overrated and overpriced. Entertainment was nice but only played one song during our meal. Staff did their job but were not very friendly. Restaurant inside was dull. Would recommend to sit outside and enjoy the Portofino environment. Would return to hotel but not this restaurant.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Recommended by the Portofino front desk so we tried it. Sat our party right in front of the the hot plate, so we felt like we were sitting in the kitchen, not what we were planning. Lesson learned... ask for seating not in the kitchen. Food was good, service was even better. Overall good, but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

When we made the reservation, we didn't specifically asked for a table outside.
Since the weather was perfect, when we arrived at the restaurant we asked to be seated outside, but were told that no tables are available. We asked for the manager's assistance and she was very helpful. They set up a table for us by pulling extra tables and chairs from inside the restaurant. The manager introduced us to the restaurant's owner Mama Della, who also helped with serving us and frequently checked to make sure we are satisfied.
This was one of the best restaurant experience our family has ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The experience was fine except our server was very slow. She offered us cheese when we were nearly done with our meals and she took a very long time to bring us our check. She said the delay had to do with splitting the check which seemed odd to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was excellent and the restaurant singer was friendly and accommodating.

Tags: , , Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hertfordshire)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Good food, the opera singers are fun. The only problem is that if you are staying in the Portofino Bay hotel, Italian food fatigue will kick in after a few days!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Really nice food. The selection of wines available was impressive. We booked in advance which I would recommend.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Not as good as we remember😒😠Shrimp was awful and the lobster was chewy.......Even the lasagna was without good flavor😒...Service was nice but will not return .......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent. Loved it. The only comment: took to long to get my billed and processs. There was a problem with your computer. However loved the restaurant.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We had a great meal, Italian singers were singing, service was awesome and the whole experience was perfect. We would go back with out question.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Absolutely fantastic with delicious food, I would highly recommend, perfect for date night or to get away from the quick meals at Universal, worth every penny

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Our waitress was absolutely fantastic. She had long blonde hair with a pretty smile. My niece has severe food allergies and she was friendly, patient, efficient, and went above and beyond to accommodate us. She even suggested a dessert she could enjoy. Our food was delicious, and we loved the singer and guitar player. We will make mama della's a tradition every time we come to Orlando moving forward.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Looking for something different for your family while visiting Orlando, then check out Mama Della's in the Loews Portifino Hotel near Universal. Great service coupled with live table-side performers, our family literally ate it all up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We heard a great deal about this restaurant 's ambiance and food. Unfortunately, what we found was mediocre food and an ambiance reminiscent of Maggiano's. The food highlights were the antipasto and my wife's pasta fagioli. My rack of lamb was ok, but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great place to have a nice dinner on vacation and have a break from the theme park food. We took children aged 9 - 13 and they enjoyed it as well. Fantastic lamb and filet with a good wine list. Beautiful setting and good service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Best meal we had in Orlando. Singing was excellent

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excelent food, only complain was that the waiter forgot to bring our sangria and the bread was brought out along with the food, not before. Other than that, the waiter was very attentive and the food was great.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Love the ambience! They have live music , musicians go by each table. The food was great! The restaurant is cozy and beautiful!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Authentic, Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Food was great and at a fair price. Thoroughly enjoyed the accordion music and singing.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Fun, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very friendly and most delicious experience. The strolling musicians were quite wonderful. The service was excellent!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.