About Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

When you dine at Mama Della's, it's like being invited into her warm, welcoming home. Every room transports you to the Italian countryside, where you can enjoy rustic, Old World specialties like Insalata Caprese, Pollo Marsala, Lasagna and Frutti di Mare, accompanied by the finest wines and strolling musicians. While you feast on authentic dishes from the Tuscany, Naples and Piemonte regions, Mama herself might be there to urge you to "Mange! Mange!" Delicious Italian food served in a romantic, genuine atmosphere, makes dining at Mama Della's an experience you'll never forget. You'll find Mama Della's in the Harbor Piazza at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando. With its cobblestone streets, sidewalk cafes and even the occasional Vespa dotting the harborside, this Piazza will make you feel like you've been carried away to Portofino, Italy. It's a fantastico setting for a most magnificent Italian meal.

5601 Universal Blvd
Orlando, FL 32819
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nighly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Universal Orlando

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 503-3463

Website:
http://www.dineatmamadellas.com/

Entertainment:
What is more romantic than musical accompaniment to a delectable Italian meal? Every night, strolling musicians delight diners at Mama Della's Ristorante. Listen as they play Italian favorites like "That's Amore", "Arrivederci Roma", "Mama" or "Angelina". Or, request your very own table side serenade. Before or after dinner at Mama Della's, guests can also enjoy the MUSICA DELLA NOTTE show each night at sunset (weather permitting) in the Harbor Piazza; it's a musical celebration capturing the romance and charm of Italy.

Parking Details:
Reduced valet or complimentary self-parking is available for local guests of Mama Della's Ristorante. Please bring your parking ticket for validation.

Executive Chef:
Leon Teow

Additional:
Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Celebrate your next occasion with Italian flair at Mama Della’s Ristorante. Private and semi-private rooms accommodate groups of 8-70, and each room tells a part of the story of Mama Della. Strolling through, you’ll find Italian minstrels, and you might even run into Mama Della or her sister, Zita.

Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (34)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for a Date (29)
See All
Romantic (28)
Live Music (21)
Fun (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Cozy (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Family Style (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Groups (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Business Meals (13)
Casual (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Waterfront (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Scenic View (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fireplace (4)
People Watching (4)
Historic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
765 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 17 hours ago

Understaffed, service was slow, had to remind the hostess that we had not seen a server after 15 minutes of being seated. Time between appetizers and meal was another 20-25 minutes, very slow!!!

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Live Music, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Overrated and overpriced. Entertainment was nice but only played one song during our meal. Staff did their job but were not very friendly. Restaurant inside was dull. Would recommend to sit outside and enjoy the Portofino environment. Would return to hotel but not this restaurant.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Recommended by the Portofino front desk so we tried it. Sat our party right in front of the the hot plate, so we felt like we were sitting in the kitchen, not what we were planning. Lesson learned... ask for seating not in the kitchen. Food was good, service was even better. Overall good, but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

When we made the reservation, we didn't specifically asked for a table outside.
Since the weather was perfect, when we arrived at the restaurant we asked to be seated outside, but were told that no tables are available. We asked for the manager's assistance and she was very helpful. They set up a table for us by pulling extra tables and chairs from inside the restaurant. The manager introduced us to the restaurant's owner Mama Della, who also helped with serving us and frequently checked to make sure we are satisfied.
This was one of the best restaurant experience our family has ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The experience was fine except our server was very slow. She offered us cheese when we were nearly done with our meals and she took a very long time to bring us our check. She said the delay had to do with splitting the check which seemed odd to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was excellent and the restaurant singer was friendly and accommodating.

Tags: , , Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hertfordshire)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Good food, the opera singers are fun. The only problem is that if you are staying in the Portofino Bay hotel, Italian food fatigue will kick in after a few days!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Really nice food. The selection of wines available was impressive. We booked in advance which I would recommend.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Not as good as we remember😒😠Shrimp was awful and the lobster was chewy.......Even the lasagna was without good flavor😒...Service was nice but will not return .......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent. Loved it. The only comment: took to long to get my billed and processs. There was a problem with your computer. However loved the restaurant.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We had a great meal, Italian singers were singing, service was awesome and the whole experience was perfect. We would go back with out question.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Absolutely fantastic with delicious food, I would highly recommend, perfect for date night or to get away from the quick meals at Universal, worth every penny

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Our waitress was absolutely fantastic. She had long blonde hair with a pretty smile. My niece has severe food allergies and she was friendly, patient, efficient, and went above and beyond to accommodate us. She even suggested a dessert she could enjoy. Our food was delicious, and we loved the singer and guitar player. We will make mama della's a tradition every time we come to Orlando moving forward.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Looking for something different for your family while visiting Orlando, then check out Mama Della's in the Loews Portifino Hotel near Universal. Great service coupled with live table-side performers, our family literally ate it all up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We heard a great deal about this restaurant 's ambiance and food. Unfortunately, what we found was mediocre food and an ambiance reminiscent of Maggiano's. The food highlights were the antipasto and my wife's pasta fagioli. My rack of lamb was ok, but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great place to have a nice dinner on vacation and have a break from the theme park food. We took children aged 9 - 13 and they enjoyed it as well. Fantastic lamb and filet with a good wine list. Beautiful setting and good service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Best meal we had in Orlando. Singing was excellent

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excelent food, only complain was that the waiter forgot to bring our sangria and the bread was brought out along with the food, not before. Other than that, the waiter was very attentive and the food was great.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Love the ambience! They have live music , musicians go by each table. The food was great! The restaurant is cozy and beautiful!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Authentic, Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Food was great and at a fair price. Thoroughly enjoyed the accordion music and singing.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Fun, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very friendly and most delicious experience. The strolling musicians were quite wonderful. The service was excellent!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The overall experience was outstanding. Great Italian food and atmosphere.

Tags: Business Meals, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We have always loved this restaurant; even hosted a private party which was wonderful.
I don't know if there is a new chef; it had been 3 yrs since we have been there, but we did not care for the food at all this time, and the menu has completely changed.
It was very disappointing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The Caesar salad was very large but lacked flavor. ( It was much better at BICE) The caprese salad was extremely good, the tomatoes, cheese and balsamic were all fresh and very flavorful.
We also shared the eggplant parm. It was layered with ricotta and served over pasta....A+!
As a side note, ask for a table in the back or at least in the main dining room, our table was in front and we felt like we were having dinner in the foyer:(
But our waiter was EXCELLENT and more than made up for the crappy table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Food and service was great. Could have done without the very loud singing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a really wonderful meal. Great wines and very good food.

Tags: Authentic, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great restaurant at the Portofino. Every vacation we need to make a stop here. Wonderful food, family friendly and relaxing atmosphere. This is a hidden gem - must do if staying on Universal property.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Setting was excellent, a true Italian restaurant with a limited menu and an old world feel. The gnocchi were hand made and the sauce was also. Strolling opera singers let you feel like you were in Portofino or Venice dining alfresco.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Mama Della's is our favorite eating place - the food is great and the atmosphere exceptional.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food was ok nothing special. HIGH PRICE . Maggiono much better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Excellent Italian cuisine. Nice staff. Fun place with great food.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 7, 2017

This restaurant was the highlight of my vacation. Amazing atmosphere, service and food. The singers actually knew Italian songs. They sang"Mama" to me table side and brought tears of joy to my eyes. Must experience to appreciate!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

It was the standardnred sauce Italian restaurant. The lasagna, spaghetti and meatballs and pasta carbonara were done well.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The gem of Portofino Bay! Mama Della's was recommended for dinner during our breakfast at Trattoria del Portofino (next door- another equally amazing restaurant). We ended up eating there 2 of the 3 nights we were at Universal Orlando. The food was unbelievably good. The portions are more than fair, and trust me, you'll want to eat every last bite. The Caprese Salad included the most delicious heirloom tomatoes. My husband ordered the lasagna and I ordered the spaghetti. Each bite was savory and flavorful. Even the pasta alone had it own unique flavor! The service was impeccable. The live music was the highlight! I could not believe the talent of these musicians! So much passion and skill! We were blown away! Thanks Mama Della's for giving us two great date nights!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Wonderful experience after a day at Universal! We initially missed our reservation after getting stuck on a theme park ride. Not only did the manager find us a table, she offered us some champagne to help calm our nerves. The service was top-notch: there when you need them, and in the "shadows" when you don't. Fun atmosphere including an amazing tableside opera singer. The food doesn't quite live up to true Italian cooking (we're from the NYC area) but it was above the grade for theme park food. Great place for a family!

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food and service very good. Opera simgers toooooo loud!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Perfect meal service, flavors, and the atmosphere is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

just an average Italian restaurant - good option if you are staying at the hotel. It is a basic tourist trap, high prices - similar to rest of Orlando.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our dinner at Mama Della's was very good. The preparation of the various Italian dishes at our table was excellent. The singing of Italian songs gave an interesting ambiance. The location in the Loews was very interesting giving the resort and Disney atmosphere (even though it is closer to Universal). Our only compliant was that our meals took over an hour to come from the kitchen though we were served salads and beverages promptly.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.