Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 5/24
Time
11:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 45 times today

Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

4.5
1066 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Live Music
When you dine at Mama Della's, it's like being invited into her warm, welcoming home. Every room transports you to the Italian countryside, where you can enjoy rustic, Old World specialties like Insalata Caprese, Veal Scallopini, Lasagna and Cacciucco, accompanied by the finest wines and strolling musicians. While you feast on authentic dishes from the Tuscany, Naples and Piemonte regions, Mama herself might be there to urge you to "Mange! Mange!" Delicious Italian food served in a romantic, genuine atmosphere, makes dining at Mama Della's an experience you'll never forget. You'll find Mama Della's in the Harbor Piazza at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando. With its cobblestone streets, sidewalk cafes and even the occasional Vespa dotting the harborside, this Piazza will make you feel like you've been carried away to Portofino, Italy. It's a fantastico setting for a most magnificent Italian meal.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(407) 503-3463
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Leon Teow
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Universal Orlando
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Reduced valet or complimentary self-parking is available for local guests of Mama Della's Ristorante. Please bring your parking ticket for validation.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
What is more romantic than musical accompaniment to a delectable Italian meal? Every night, strolling musicians delight diners at Mama Della's Ristorante. Listen as they play Italian favorites like "That's Amore", "Arrivederci Roma", "Mama" or "Angelina". Or, request your very own table side serenade. Before or after dinner at Mama Della's, guests can also enjoy the MUSICA DELLA NOTTE show each night at sunset (weather permitting) in the Harbor Piazza; it's a musical celebration capturing the romance and charm of Italy.
Additional
Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Celebrate your next occasion with Italian flair at Mama Della’s Ristorante. Private and semi-private rooms accommodate groups of 8-70, and each room tells a part of the story of Mama Della. Strolling through, you’ll find Italian minstrels, and you might even run into Mama Della or her sister, Zita.

View Private Dining Details
What 1066 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Great service and food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

I stayed at Loews Portofino for two nights. We tried to eat at Mama Dellas the first night but they were booked until a much later time. We decided to make reservations for the second night which was very easy to do using Open table. We got a good time and we were seated right away. The vibe was nice family friendly or also great for a date night. We came hungry so it seemed like it took a while for the food to come out and I ended up filling up on bread. But the food was excellent and portion was good! I would highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

The food was superb and the service and ambience outstanding. Will definitely dine with them again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Service just okay. Carbonara was bland and oily. Disappointing as this was our anniversary dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Went to Mama's for our 25th Anniversary and came away happier than ever. The live music was superb; great voices! The dishes were excellent, fresh and hot, and some of the best Italian we've had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Excellent food and even better service! Our server Mohammed was awesome and went out of his way for us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

I have been here many times and it is always wonderful!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

All seven in our party enjoy the food and time spent having a dinner for a son'd birthday and Mothers Day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. It was Mother’s Day and there were a couple of little niceties that made the dinner even more special.

We had excellent service as well and enjoyed the beautiful entertainers.

A lovely experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went to visit Mama Dellas for my fathers birthday. Knowing we had a reservation at 8:45, we came a bit early and asked to be seated earlier since my parents are on the older side. They turned us away, and said we could return at 9:30pm (not asking if we even had a reservation).

When we return at 8:45, the restaurant was nearly empty. On a Saturday evening, they were understaffed and the employees and servers were no where to be found, and taking smoke breaks every 10 minutes. I asked for a side of Caesar dressing and they took 15 minutes to bring it over.

It was underwhelming and honestly very disappointing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Everything was exceptional

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Amazing! Went for Mother’s Day & was very impressed. Service was perfect and the chicken carbonara and bistecca was delicious. We will definitely be back on our next visit to Portofino.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

We were celebrating my granddaughters 16th birthday and she wanted to have her special meal here as we had celebrated last year. First class all the way and had a special dessert given to her. The singers made it that much more enjoyable. Am anxious to return again next year.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Good food outdoor seating with view of Bay Harbor

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Lovely greeting on arrival. Antipasto and the special, clams with prawns and linguine, was excellent. Nice wine too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The food was outstanding, but service was even better! The staff was so attentive and planned the arrival of dishes perfectly! The Italian singer and guitar player were so good. Thank you for such a wonderful evening!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Awesome Service, terrific food and ambience. Live music to complement the meal.
You must eat here if you want a really excellent dinner. Reasonably priced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We had a wonderful dining experience at Mama Della’s! Great food and attentive staff. Would definitely go again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Fabulous dinner. It was our anniversary and they gave us a complimentary dessert. Very romantic with singers going table to table

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

This was the second visit this year for my husband and I, and it was just as good if not better than the first one! Mama Dellas is hands down one of the best dining experiences in the resort.

Great and cozy atmosphere, amazing food,drinks,dessert,and service! Our waiter was great and very attentive, and the opera singer and her guitar player gave us a beautiful performance. (Though I can't recall their names?)

They both made it feel as if we were the only ones there despite the restaurant being quite busy, it was relaxing, immensely enjoyable, and great for winding down after a fun day in the parks.

We will definitely be back! Hopefully sooner than later :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We very much enjoyed eating dinner at this place twice on our vacation. Both times we had great service and our meals were very good. I had the special the first night and it was spectacular. I also had the Lasagna the 2nd time and it was very good as well. I had the Cannoli martini and it was great. My husband had the Godfather drink and that was good too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Early Mother’s Day present

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2018

We live the Portofino Hotel in Orlando, and this is our go to restaurant. Food is very good across the board, great atmosphere, including strolling minstrels.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

We arrived tired after traveling all day and even though we had a reservation for a bit later in the evening, we arrived early and they seated us right away. Fabulous food, be sure to have a pitcher of the home made sangria, excellent service. If it were closer to our home we would probably go there at least twice a month and have carry-out in between dining in at the restaurant. My husband had the spaghetti and I had the "family recipe" lasagna - to die for!

Can't say enough positive things about this restaurant or our experience at the Portofino restaurants in general. High recommended.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 23, 2018

The food and music were wonderful. The only disappointment was with our server. We let the restaurant know ahead of time that it was my daughters birthday and she was even wearing a birthday button. No one sang happy birthday, there was no special dessert or recognition. I would have expected more at an expensive resort restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Anniversary dinner - perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Good restaurant with good food and service. Would return in the future.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

As always, from arrival at the restaurant to leaving it was a great experience. Our server Fidan was fabulous, the food was awesome and the singers NEVER fail to entertain us! Love Mama Della's and will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Great martini, bread, spaghetti/meatballs. Great seafood stew, except mussels fatigued and Caesar salad initially very poor, but chef redeemed himself somewhat with a redo. Still lacked authentic flavors. Prices here are somewhat high, so there was little excuse for the poor salad.

Nonetheless, the setting and the roving singing group that did songs of the diners' choice -- mostly Italian ballads -- made the evening. We must recommend this restaurant and will likely return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 17, 2018

As usual great food and service. I wish they did not change the food presentation we had back in January. Not a fan of my meat entrée stacked on top of my pasta.
When you go try the Famigla Castellani Chianti. Fantastic wine and a great price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

The service was impeccable, attention to every detail. We had a birthday to celebrate and they went above and beyond with an opera singer and a special dessert. They were on top of every delicious course.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Mama Della's was very good. It's such a pretty setting and I just love the live singer strolling around! All of our entrees were very good and we had a nice bottle of Chianti. It's pricey, but hey, you're in a popular tourist spot. Would definitely recommend eating here if you're at Universal. And you do not have to be a hotel guest to eat there (or any of the Universal resort restaurants) . We took the walking path there from City Walk and took the boat back. Nice place!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We were looking for a lovely, quiet place to dine & we certainly found it here. The Italian singers were wonderful, a bit loud, but, hey, they're Italian! The chicken parm, sea bass, bruchetta were all wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Great food and ambiance!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

An excellent meal. Great taste. Good value for a resort restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Ever since finding this hidden gem at the Portofino, we have returned for the past three years to celebrate our Anniversary! An evening at Mama Della's is always perfect from beginning to end! We are definitely looking forward to our next get-away in Orlando. The drive from Tampa is well worth it each and every time! Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

This was a nice place for dinner during our stay at a neighboring Loews hotel on the Universal property. We loved the strolling Italian singers and the waitstaff was very attentive. The food was also excellent. It's pricey, but your paying for the ambiance and location.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great food and location, friendly staff so thank you for a nice evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Delcious and friendly

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Old style Italian dishes in an old world atmosphere. Excellent all the way around including tableside musical serenade.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
27