About Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

5601 Universal Blvd
Orlando, FL 32819
View Larger Map

When you dine at Mama Della's, it's like being invited into her warm, welcoming home. Every room transports you to the Italian countryside, where you can enjoy rustic, Old World specialties like Insalata Caprese, Pollo Marsala, Lasagna and Frutti di Mare, accompanied by the finest wines and strolling musicians. While you feast on authentic dishes from the Tuscany, Naples and Piemonte regions, Mama herself might be there to urge you to "Mange! Mange!" Delicious Italian food served in a romantic, genuine atmosphere, makes dining at Mama Della's an experience you'll never forget. You'll find Mama Della's in the Harbor Piazza at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando. With its cobblestone streets, sidewalk cafes and even the occasional Vespa dotting the harborside, this Piazza will make you feel like you've been carried away to Portofino, Italy. It's a fantastico setting for a most magnificent Italian meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nighly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Universal Orlando

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 503-3463

Website:
http://www.dineatmamadellas.com/

Entertainment:
What is more romantic than musical accompaniment to a delectable Italian meal? Every night, strolling musicians delight diners at Mama Della's Ristorante. Listen as they play Italian favorites like "That's Amore", "Arrivederci Roma", "Mama" or "Angelina". Or, request your very own table side serenade. Before or after dinner at Mama Della's, guests can also enjoy the MUSICA DELLA NOTTE show each night at sunset (weather permitting) in the Harbor Piazza; it's a musical celebration capturing the romance and charm of Italy.

Parking Details:
Reduced valet or complimentary self-parking is available for local guests of Mama Della's Ristorante. Please bring your parking ticket for validation.

Executive Chef:
Leon Teow

Additional:
Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sword
lasagna
Cherry Tart
Pasta Di Mare
Spaghetti con Polpette
Shrimp Fra Diavlo
Fried Calamari
Panacotta
Brancini
Pasta Fagioli
Bistecca Con Pecorino Al Tartufo
Panna Cotta Di Vaniglia
Risotto With English Peas, Rock Shrimp & Lobster

Private Dining

Celebrate your next occasion with Italian flair at Mama Della’s Ristorante. Private and semi-private rooms accommodate groups of 8-70, and each room tells a part of the story of Mama Della. Strolling through, you’ll find Italian minstrels, and you might even run into Mama Della or her sister, Zita.

Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Romantic (35)
Good for Groups (26)
See All
Fit for Foodies (25)
Kid-friendly (24)
Notable Wine List (16)
Scenic View (13)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
574 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious! Our server was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was delicious! Our server was excellent! We really enjoyed our meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly Recommended! Was told by a couple ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Highly Recommended! Was told by a couple we met by the pool we should make reservations and go and we took their advise. So glad we did...it was delicious. From the bread basket with olive oil and roasted garlic cloves to their gnocchi and lasagna, everything was amazing. I would highly recommending going if your in Orlando.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for dinner and were promptly gre ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went for dinner and were promptly greeted upon arrival. Our reservation was for 7pm and we were at the table by 705pm. Our server was pleasant and professional. All the food was excellent and the portions were large. The other highlight of the evening were the opera singers performing by the table and then outside. Highly recommended!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the service, the food was good ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We loved the service, the food was good but the entertainment made the night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely place

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Lovely place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We celebrated our engagement dinner here ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We celebrated our engagement dinner here and could not have been more pleased with the Vip treatment we received. The food, ambiance, service and nightly guitarist entertainment is 5 star. This is the closest you will get to an authentic Italian restaurant short of going to Italy! Cannot wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and the entertain ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was delicious and the entertainment was fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was absolutely fantastic. Gre ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This place was absolutely fantastic. Great atmosphere. It's a definite must do if you're visiting Orlando. I adored the authentic Italian cuisine and live music.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great friendly service. Delicious food f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great friendly service. Delicious food from the bread to the antipasto to the filet. Loved it!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we travel to Orlando, we always cho ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

When we travel to Orlando, we always choose Mama's for dinner. The restaurant is very cozy and the beautiful music and hospitality makes this a memorable place in Universal at the Portofino resort. The food is good to very good depending upon your selection, not the best Italian.. but consistent. The service is always wonderful and the atmosphere warm . You feel like you are in a lovely home, not a restaurant. The seating which combines couches with tables and chairs adds to the charm and comfort.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved everything about the place. Imm ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We loved everything about the place. Immediately upon entering, we envisioned Italy where we have been many times. The attentiveness of the way staff was prompt without being too aggressive, the food was especially good, particularly Alfredo fett which was as good as the original in Rome. We were treated to music and singing by three, professionally trained singers and best of all, the price was exceptionally reasonable for such a feast. Highly recommend it !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is amazing. We loved the food ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This place is amazing. We loved the food, wine and music! And our server was lovely!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded our expectations with its not-y ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Exceeded our expectations with its not-your-run-of-the-mill Americanized Italian food. From the appetizers to dessert, every bite was satisfying. The pasta w/truffle sauce was amazing. Service was impeccable, and the music made the ambience fun and festive.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mama Della's is a five star restaurant a ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Mama Della's is a five star restaurant at the upscale resort in Portofino Bay at Universal Studios. The food is incredible! Well worth the price. It is not cheap in any way. The dishes are well thought out, the Chefs are world class and the waiters are friendly, pleasant and very attentive to your needs. They serenade the tables with your choice of Italian song and music with world class talent! Take your sweetheart or culture your kids, this place is great!. My wife and I have been there three times. the third time with our kids and they loved the food...a little shy to have someone sing to them but handled it great. Always consider the special of the day. "they ain't lien" when they say "you"ll love it" I had a seafood dish of pasta noodles, shrimp, lobster, dried tomatoes, spinach and more in a creamy cognac sauce that made me want to cry when I tasted it! soooo good, a choice over the "Frutti Di Mare" that I returned there for, and they are NOT "stingy" You will leave stuffed! The Sangria is untouchable! I have dined all over Europe, Italy, Spain , France even Australia and Africa I seek out good food everywhere I go, even in people's homes that I meet. I,m telling you the chefs at Mama Della's know what they're doing.( a side note: I went to Ruth Chris once and felt as tho I was robbed.) Mama Della's is world class!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Closest thing to having dinner in Italy ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Closest thing to having dinner in Italy !! Great food, service, and music !! Bellissima !!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Kids menu was extremely over priced. $14 ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Kids menu was extremely over priced. $14.00 for small bowl of pasta is ridiculous. My son ate it in 3 bites and we needed to order an additional bowl.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was over priced. $24 for spaghe ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was over priced. $24 for spaghetti and meatballs is a bit much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was good and service was prompt.

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food was good and service was prompt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went there our vacation. Home style food ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Went there our vacation. Home style food with great helpings...singing people come over..great value

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went over fourth of july weekend with fa ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Went over fourth of july weekend with family and everyone had a wonderful experience. The food and service were amazing. The atmosphere is cozy and inviting and the musicians playing were outstanding. I am definitely going back and would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love everything about this place. It i ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I love everything about this place. It is a must when I am at Portofino. I love this hotel as well. Been here over five times. Love it!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our dinner and server. Great ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner and server. Great family night out!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed in the food. The chic ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I was disappointed in the food. The chicken carbonara was bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

There was a mistake in getting our food ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

There was a mistake in getting our food out which led to a lengthy delay, however we were compensated with drinks and dessert! The strolling musicians were a pleasant diversion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great food, great service!

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was ok. Requested a quiet table on t ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

It was ok. Requested a quiet table on the reservation (and were guests at the hotel which supposedly gets you preferred seating, not in our case) and were given the crappiest table in the house right by the front door. Food was just ok, I had the spaghetti and meatballs and the meatballs were pretty dry, definitely not one of the better executions of this dish I've had. Service was mediocre - my beverage was empty when the food came, and I was about done eating by the time the server noticed this and asked if I wanted another. Music is too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

Gorgeous exterior and interior, located ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Gorgeous exterior and interior, located at Portofino Bay Hotel in Universal Orlando. The waiters and owners were authentic Italian in every way, the fresh garlic and bread were delicious, and the entrees themselves brought me right back to Italy. The best part however, would have to be the classically trained operatic singer who goes around tables with her accompanying accordionist and sings for you. Simply stunning. What a gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This restaurant is located on the lower ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This restaurant is located on the lower level of Loew's Portofino hotel at Universal Studios in Orlando. A truly authentic Italian venue complete with roving singer and his accordion accompanist, delicious food and top-notch service combine for an unforgettable evening. My wife and I were there to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. We were seated quickly and our server provided detailed information on the menu selections, wine pairings, etc. Reservations are "optional" but highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

love the place, love the music. Lindsay ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

love the place, love the music. Lindsay was our server. She was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely loved dinner here. They had w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Absolutely loved dinner here. They had wonderful singers and guitar player who went to each table and took requests! The food was awesome. We had the special of the evening and it was perfect. The wait staff were attentive without being obtrusive. And very family friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful location for hotel guests.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience immensely. The service was very attentive and the ambience was cozy and delightful. The menu was somewhat limited but suited all our tastes. We so appreciated the special attention we received for our graduation dinner.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great Italian restaurant. Live music. Very fun. Great service. Will definitely eat here again

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelent food and service , Family porti ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Excelent food and service , Family portions apetizers , Amazing live music .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was from the to the waiter. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Everything was from the to the waiter. The and who play guitar and sing make the ambiance in there just perfect. It was my husbands birthday and they brought him a dessert with a candle and played music and sang. Mamma Della herself even came over. It was worth every penny.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stellar Italian food, solid atmosphere, ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Stellar Italian food, solid atmosphere, and wonderful ambiance thanks to the live musical entertainment. Certainly worth a walk from any local hotel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Italian crooners were amazing. I ha ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The Italian crooners were amazing. I had the special and it was okay. The risotto was a little undercooked but the scallops were delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, Great vibe

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The food was fresh and tasty. The service was very friendly and welcoming. We had four small children who were all cared for Well. The opera singers came and played which was wonderful. Eggplant is not always done right. Here it was. Nice bottle of wine for 40 bucks. Never felt rushed. Recommend highly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner review

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I ate here several years ago and we loved it very much. Returned in May of 2016 and the food was absolutely horrible. Very over priced for a small portion. Pasta is not expensive, and you usually get a nice big bowl but this was served on a board and it was about a cup sized portion of spaghetti. Wouldn't have minded if it was delicious but it was very poor quality. Portfolio bay is a very nice hotel and mamma dellas should be up to their standard. The music was nice as was the atmosphere but that's all the positives I can give.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Mother's Day at Mama Della's

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day at Mama Della's was perfecto. We were seating right at our reservation time. The table was set perfectly, got a nice round table in the middle of the restaurant. We ordered some drinks and appetizers first. Got the shrimp scampi, antipasto and tomato caprese. All were delicious and well presented. They provide you with a nice bread basket as well. Meals were delivered later in the experience, nice pace by the waiter. We ordered chicken parmigiana, lasagna, gnocchi and carbonara. All were hot, looked great and tasted even better. The singers came around and sang my mother's wedding song which made her even more happy. We saw Mama too. Overall, a great Mother's Day experience at Mama Della's. This was our second time there and definitely will be back again. Great job Mama and Team !!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.