About Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

5601 Universal Blvd
Orlando, FL 32819
View Larger Map

When you dine at Mama Della's, it's like being invited into her warm, welcoming home. Every room transports you to the Italian countryside, where you can enjoy rustic, Old World specialties like Insalata Caprese, Pollo Marsala, Lasagna and Frutti di Mare, accompanied by the finest wines and strolling musicians. While you feast on authentic dishes from the Tuscany, Naples and Piemonte regions, Mama herself might be there to urge you to "Mange! Mange!" Delicious Italian food served in a romantic, genuine atmosphere, makes dining at Mama Della's an experience you'll never forget. You'll find Mama Della's in the Harbor Piazza at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando. With its cobblestone streets, sidewalk cafes and even the occasional Vespa dotting the harborside, this Piazza will make you feel like you've been carried away to Portofino, Italy. It's a fantastico setting for a most magnificent Italian meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nighly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Universal Orlando

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 503-3463

Website:
http://www.dineatmamadellas.com/

Entertainment:
What is more romantic than musical accompaniment to a delectable Italian meal? Every night, strolling musicians delight diners at Mama Della's Ristorante. Listen as they play Italian favorites like "That's Amore", "Arrivederci Roma", "Mama" or "Angelina". Or, request your very own table side serenade. Before or after dinner at Mama Della's, guests can also enjoy the MUSICA DELLA NOTTE show each night at sunset (weather permitting) in the Harbor Piazza; it's a musical celebration capturing the romance and charm of Italy.

Parking Details:
Reduced valet or complimentary self-parking is available for local guests of Mama Della's Ristorante. Please bring your parking ticket for validation.

Executive Chef:
Leon Teow

Additional:
Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sword - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel
lasagna - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel
Cherry Tart - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel
Pasta Di Mare - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel
Spaghetti con Polpette - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel
Shrimp Fra Diavlo - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel
Fried Calamari - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel
Panacotta - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel
Brancini - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel
Pasta Fagioli - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel
Bistecca Con Pecorino Al Tartufo - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel
Panna Cotta Di Vaniglia - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel
Risotto With English Peas, Rock Shrimp & Lobster - Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel

Private Dining

Celebrate your next occasion with Italian flair at Mama Della’s Ristorante. Private and semi-private rooms accommodate groups of 8-70, and each room tells a part of the story of Mama Della. Strolling through, you’ll find Italian minstrels, and you might even run into Mama Della or her sister, Zita.

Mama Della's Ristorante at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (41)
Special Occasion (37)
Good for Groups (23)
See All
Kid-friendly (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Scenic View (13)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Live Music (9)
Authentic (9)
Family Style (9)
Cozy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Casual (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Private Room (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
Newest
595 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We utilized the Magical Dining menu...an ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

We utilized the Magical Dining menu...an appetizer, entree, and desert...plenty of food! Great food and experience! Love being serenaded during dinner!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We introduced some friends to Mamma's ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

We introduced some friends to Mamma's . They truly enjoyed everything, the atmosphere the food ,the music and the service. What more could you ask for .

Looking forward to our next visit. No

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Comfort Food, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff was so friendly, yet very prof ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The staff was so friendly, yet very professional. The "magical dining" was quality food and a great deal. We had enough left over for a great midnight snack. Never had "happy birthday" sang to me in Italian which was so beautiful. We will return without a doubt.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, hostess and waiter go ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Service was great, hostess and waiter go out of their way. The food was good too.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Really enjoyed the Italian opera singer. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Really enjoyed the Italian opera singer. Food was delicious, very ample portions, and the gelato was amazing. Really is set up to look and feel like Venice.

Tags: Business Meals, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mama greeted us at the door as if she wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Mama greeted us at the door as if she was inviting us into her home. The food was delicious and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fresh and flavorful. The at ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The food was fresh and flavorful. The atmosphere was cozy with an authentic feel. The staff were very personable and made our visits there incredible.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nothing to write home about-lasagna was ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Nothing to write home about-lasagna was pretty good; white bean soup excellent, caesar salad and cold bread just okay. Desserts okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We enjoyed our dinner at Mama Della's ve ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at Mama Della's very much. Enjoyed the Italian singers walking around at dinner time.

The food was good. Little pricey. But good.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Always wonderful!

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Always wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OVERPRICED FOR WHAT IT WAS. $56.00 for 4 ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

OVERPRICED FOR WHAT IT WAS. $56.00 for 4 drinks,$35.00 TO PARK REALLY. I am a local it was the 1st time and the last time i will be there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Our experience at mama della's was outst ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Our experience at mama della's was outstanding! It began with our server Veinny (friendly, attentive and charming)...then came the food (homemade pastas and fish dishes even the bread and butter was to die for)...then table side opera to set the mood finished with a meet and greet with mama herself who insisted on us trying dessert! Cannoli I and Tiramisu made with love the best we have ever had. We were so impressed we went back during our stay two more times. Can't recommend this restaurant highly enough!!!!

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Often too loud, doesn't match the settin ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Often too loud, doesn't match the setting. Good food, however nothing overly special. Great setting, well designed restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food every time we go there an ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food every time we go there and where local.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second time back because the ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was my second time back because the first time was so good! Gnocci is delicious. A really great meal!!

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints. Mama's veal amazing! ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Never disappoints. Mama's veal amazing! Service: they make you very comfortable and you never have to look for your server. Live entertainment so special. Love this place! They make you feel like family. I always hit Mama's when I'm in town.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Family Style, Live Music, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable dinner at Mama Della's . ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Very enjoyable dinner at Mama Della's . We visit here at least 3 times a year. They have excellent Gluten Free options. Good wine list and wonderful atmosphere. Very convenient at the Portofino Bay Hotel.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We went to Mama Della twice some years b ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We went to Mama Della twice some years back, and this time we found that they have lost in terms of quality and good service. It has become another typical hotel restaurant. There are much better Italian restaurants in town. Very limited menu. Deficient food service. Our main plates took 40 minutes to come to the table, and one of them was the lasagna that for sure is already made, just need to warm it. Dissapointing. I do not think we are going back. I imagine their business is hotel guests that do not come back, not locals like us.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good ambiance. Food was delicious. We ha ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Good ambiance. Food was delicious. We had the lasagna and the shrimp de frella. Calamari was the best I've had. They have singers that make their way around the restaurant taking song request, then they would sing it for you. My waiter was great but the bus girl was had poor manners. Every time she come around filling my glass of water she would reach over without an excuse me. She'd bump my hand once while I was on my phone. Manners are a pretty peeve of mine. Otherwise good place for a date night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vist every years for 3 years the food an ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

vist every years for 3 years the food and service outstanding will be bcknext year magical dining

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious! Our server was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was delicious! Our server was excellent! We really enjoyed our meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly Recommended! Was told by a couple ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Highly Recommended! Was told by a couple we met by the pool we should make reservations and go and we took their advise. So glad we did...it was delicious. From the bread basket with olive oil and roasted garlic cloves to their gnocchi and lasagna, everything was amazing. I would highly recommending going if your in Orlando.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for dinner and were promptly gre ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went for dinner and were promptly greeted upon arrival. Our reservation was for 7pm and we were at the table by 705pm. Our server was pleasant and professional. All the food was excellent and the portions were large. The other highlight of the evening were the opera singers performing by the table and then outside. Highly recommended!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the service, the food was good ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We loved the service, the food was good but the entertainment made the night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely place

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Lovely place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We celebrated our engagement dinner here ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We celebrated our engagement dinner here and could not have been more pleased with the Vip treatment we received. The food, ambiance, service and nightly guitarist entertainment is 5 star. This is the closest you will get to an authentic Italian restaurant short of going to Italy! Cannot wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and the entertain ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was delicious and the entertainment was fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was absolutely fantastic. Gre ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This place was absolutely fantastic. Great atmosphere. It's a definite must do if you're visiting Orlando. I adored the authentic Italian cuisine and live music.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great friendly service. Delicious food f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great friendly service. Delicious food from the bread to the antipasto to the filet. Loved it!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we travel to Orlando, we always cho ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

When we travel to Orlando, we always choose Mama's for dinner. The restaurant is very cozy and the beautiful music and hospitality makes this a memorable place in Universal at the Portofino resort. The food is good to very good depending upon your selection, not the best Italian.. but consistent. The service is always wonderful and the atmosphere warm . You feel like you are in a lovely home, not a restaurant. The seating which combines couches with tables and chairs adds to the charm and comfort.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved everything about the place. Imm ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We loved everything about the place. Immediately upon entering, we envisioned Italy where we have been many times. The attentiveness of the way staff was prompt without being too aggressive, the food was especially good, particularly Alfredo fett which was as good as the original in Rome. We were treated to music and singing by three, professionally trained singers and best of all, the price was exceptionally reasonable for such a feast. Highly recommend it !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is amazing. We loved the food ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This place is amazing. We loved the food, wine and music! And our server was lovely!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeded our expectations with its not-y ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Exceeded our expectations with its not-your-run-of-the-mill Americanized Italian food. From the appetizers to dessert, every bite was satisfying. The pasta w/truffle sauce was amazing. Service was impeccable, and the music made the ambience fun and festive.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mama Della's is a five star restaurant a ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Mama Della's is a five star restaurant at the upscale resort in Portofino Bay at Universal Studios. The food is incredible! Well worth the price. It is not cheap in any way. The dishes are well thought out, the Chefs are world class and the waiters are friendly, pleasant and very attentive to your needs. They serenade the tables with your choice of Italian song and music with world class talent! Take your sweetheart or culture your kids, this place is great!. My wife and I have been there three times. the third time with our kids and they loved the food...a little shy to have someone sing to them but handled it great. Always consider the special of the day. "they ain't lien" when they say "you"ll love it" I had a seafood dish of pasta noodles, shrimp, lobster, dried tomatoes, spinach and more in a creamy cognac sauce that made me want to cry when I tasted it! soooo good, a choice over the "Frutti Di Mare" that I returned there for, and they are NOT "stingy" You will leave stuffed! The Sangria is untouchable! I have dined all over Europe, Italy, Spain , France even Australia and Africa I seek out good food everywhere I go, even in people's homes that I meet. I,m telling you the chefs at Mama Della's know what they're doing.( a side note: I went to Ruth Chris once and felt as tho I was robbed.) Mama Della's is world class!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Closest thing to having dinner in Italy ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Closest thing to having dinner in Italy !! Great food, service, and music !! Bellissima !!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Kids menu was extremely over priced. $14 ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Kids menu was extremely over priced. $14.00 for small bowl of pasta is ridiculous. My son ate it in 3 bites and we needed to order an additional bowl.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was over priced. $24 for spaghe ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was over priced. $24 for spaghetti and meatballs is a bit much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was good and service was prompt.

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food was good and service was prompt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went there our vacation. Home style food ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Went there our vacation. Home style food with great helpings...singing people come over..great value

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.