About Malo

900 Mulberry St.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

MALO is Des Moines’ destination for Latin cuisine. From classic Havana cocktails to inventive Mexican dishes, MALO celebrates all the flavors of Latin America.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American, Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10am - 9pm
Monday - Thursday: 11am - 11pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am - Midnight

Cross Street:
9th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 244-5000

Website:
http://www.malodesmoines.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking near our restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Howard

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu

Malo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Iowa
Best Value
Des Moines
Most Booked
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in Downtown Des Moines ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Hot Spot (25)
See All
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Modern Decor (23)
Fun (23)
Casual (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Special Occasion (21)
Happy Hour (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Spicy (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Authentic (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
People Watching (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Romantic (7)
Great Beer (6)
Healthy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Tapas (5)
Business Meals (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Historic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Family Style (3)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (3)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Sports (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
491 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Came in with a group of colleagues at 7: ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 3 days ago

Came in with a group of colleagues at 7:10, was seated by 7:15 (as the appointment requested). Food was great. Server was lovely. Only criticism would be that the drinks took quite awhile to arrive the first time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was bad. The service was not go ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was bad. The service was not good. The overall experience was not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

One of our DM favs. The food and staff a ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 27, 2016

One of our DM favs. The food and staff are always exceptional - we've never been disappointed! Try the Cuban sandwich - Kaboom! It's the bomb! And the house made sangria is the best! Great atmosphere too!

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the taco salad. The beef was o ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I ordered the taco salad. The beef was one step short of rancid and I couldn't eat it. Our server couldn't be bothered to pay the remotest of attention to our group of 8. I'd recommend the bar and it's tequila selection, and not much else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Good food, great service! Fun atmosphere ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Good food, great service! Fun atmosphere with lots of natural light.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Groups, Tapas, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We made a reservation for 2, got seated ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We made a reservation for 2, got seated at a table for 4 , then waited nearly 15 minutes for someone to greet us. We watched others get seated after us get better tables and drinks and chips right away. Server finally came by and said straight faced, "so do you want something to drink?" Awful. Luckily, soon after that we got greeted by a different server who said he'd be taking over. Great service after that, great food too. Bad start though left us with an ok overall experience.

Tags: Spicy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This place is awesome! Wonderful food, g ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This place is awesome! Wonderful food, great vibe. Awesome serivce!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a group of nine people and they d ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We had a group of nine people and they did a great job of accommodating us and our waiter was great.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Meal! Grew up in the area and was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great Meal! Grew up in the area and was THRILLED to find such great food in my old stomping grounds!

The chips are fresh and warm and the salsa is amazing. The crab cakes are beautifully presented and delicious. I had a burrito bowl yum! Husband had the sesame fried chicken with hominy. He was pleased too.

One negative: The margaritas are too sweet and are low on tequila.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We are never disappointed when we eat at ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We are never disappointed when we eat at Malo. The food is very good, the service is good, and the chips and salsa are delicious. I usually order the chicken enchilada and it comes with rice and beans .The chicken tortilla soup is really good as well. My husband and I love to eat lunch there.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really fast and great service- large por ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Really fast and great service- large portions in meals and awesome drinks! My only negative is very small- just slightly noises but still comfortable, contemporary, and. Ice menu- our server was really great at suggestions and I would definitely recommend and go back. Easy reservation system online and great follow up.

Tags: Spicy, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We went there for Sunday brunch which wa ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We went there for Sunday brunch which was somewhat famous we got there about 12:15 and waited 5 minutes for a table it took a while for waitress to get our drinks and everything and they were very nice and got a different waitress to get us started.

We had their Sunday brunch and it was a little disappointing in that it was probably 12:30 by the time we got to the buffet line and most everything was gone it was ravaged. The kitchen staff was in anxiety mode and worked really hard and filled everything up ASAP and did a great job that way. Seemed like there were one too many egg dishes not enough meat type main dishes the chicken strips which they use for chicken and waffles and they have french toast instead of waffles the chicken is very good and enjoyed it it was very fresh very crispy and I enjoyed it some of the other dishes were really cool and a little exotic and enjoyable to try different food na brunch buffet setting.

The tacos which are ordered off the menu but unlimited and they have several different types and varieties were disappointing the shrimp one was good the carne Beef skirt steak was good the problem with all of them is the tortilla is way too greasy if it was just steamed or not so much oil in the tortilla it would be 10 times better.

The taco al pastor was not very good at all and I'd buy that at most Mexican restaurants wherever I see it and I've had some really good taco El pastor and this one wasn't that good so I was a little disappointed with that.

Overall it was a little pricey but worth the experience to try it and see what they got I would probably do it again just not too often once a month is too much to do that buffet brunch maybe 4 or 5 times a year anyway hope this was helpful and not too critical.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I felt that the food was very over price ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I felt that the food was very over priced for what it was. I got seafood enchiladas and there were probably 2 small shrimp and 2 chunks of crab in each one and it was $22. The rice and beans were very plain. Our waitress seemed to be rushing us for our order. It does have a neat atmosphere. Overall, though, I would rather got to my favorite "traditional" mexican restaurant and have better food for much less cost.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Took a couple guys there for a work lunc ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Took a couple guys there for a work lunch. The food was fantastic, especially for the price. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Malo and go a lot. I'm vegan and ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I love Malo and go a lot. I'm vegan and I can always find some yummy options on the menu. It's a fun atmosphere that's great for different purposes and occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is fun, fabulous & different. Jenni ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food is fun, fabulous & different. Jennifer is knowledgeable about the food & specialty drinks; She has personality plus!!!

Tags: Spicy, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was amazing as alwa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food and service was amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second experience at Malo, m ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was my second experience at Malo, my previous had been a business meeting/dinner. This time it was a casual night out with my wife. We got to the restaurant 20 minutes before our reservations and rather than waiting at the bar the staff got us seated right away. The wait staff was courteous and attentive without hovering. The food was excellent. We both commented on the size of the portions. We will definitely be returning and recommending the restaurant to our friends.

Tags: Spicy, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We had tortilla soup, cod and chicken ta ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had tortilla soup, cod and chicken tacos. All were really good. Our server was attentive and friendly. A fun place to go with friends but is really loud. The music didn't need to be so loud because the acoustics are terrible.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Brunch did not disappoint. Kid friendly ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Brunch did not disappoint. Kid friendly and great variety. Oh and they took a reservation for 10 on a Sunday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Love the food! Never disappointed!!!

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Love the food! Never disappointed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

The food was excellent. The service was ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was good. Really nice atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Spicy, Late-night Find, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food and service were great. It was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food and service were great. It was our wedding anniversary and the waiter made us glad we picked Malo to celebrate the occasion.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We love this restaurant. Excellent food ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We love this restaurant. Excellent food in a fun and casual setting. Friendly and efficient service. Special, but not fancy or fussy. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friday night and it was busy, but we got ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Friday night and it was busy, but we got a table at 6pm. Great food! Specials are always great prices. A little noisy if you want to have a conversation with your friends though. But you really must try it!

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

This was my second visit to Malo. I had ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This was my second visit to Malo. I had such a great experience the first time I was there, I was anxious to go back. I ordered the same thing I did on my first visit (because I loved it so much) and actually had to send it back!! It was so so spicy, like inedible; and I like spice!! The first time I ordered it it wasn't spicy at all. The waitress seemed semi-annoyed with me but let me order something else, and took the dish I sent back off of the check.

I will give Malo one more shot at some point, even though I was extremely disappointed this time. I love the atmosphere.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Hot Spot, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Brunch was fantastic. Unlimited tacos ( ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Brunch was fantastic. Unlimited tacos ( try the shrimp) and the huge buffet were great. Carnitas were the highlight for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good. We had the brunch buf ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was good. We had the brunch buffet and it was good for a buffet. I can imagine ordering off the menu would be superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Four of us went for a birthday dinner. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Four of us went for a birthday dinner. Food was excellent, but service was less than stellar. Our waitress kept taking our drinks to another table and bringing other peoples drinks to us. She did the same thing with the food. I can see it happening once, but it happened all night. It was so bad we seriously thought there was a hidden camera or something. We were really laughing with the table next to us. Their stuff was messed up by the same waitress. We weren't in a hurry, but the waitress needs to get a clue. I have been there before and always had good service. I will go back because the food is great! Hoping for a better waitress next time!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

We had the chorizo y corn queso and it w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had the chorizo y corn queso and it was to die for. My bride had the Cuban sandwich, which was surprisingly good. I had the mexi-cali burrito with chicken and a side of jalapeño cream corn. Absolutely fantastic. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I wish we wouldn't have ordered the app, ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I wish we wouldn't have ordered the app, since the portions with the dinner were more than generous! The seafood nachos were out of this world, though.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The dinner at Malo was first rate with e ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The dinner at Malo was first rate with excellent service. The seafood enchilada was fantastic. The salsa they serve with the chips is also first rate.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for what feels like upscale ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Great place for what feels like upscale Mexican-yummy and great variety

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was ok. We've had better experience ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Food was ok. We've had better experiences at Malo. It was VERY noisy. Uncomfortably so actually. We could barely have a conversation across the table. Wait staff was very polite and responsive. Over all, an OK experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

I brought my daughter, wife and mother-i ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I brought my daughter, wife and mother-in-law here for their first time, and the food was good; service was exceptional! We will be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Spicy, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall a nice dining experience. I took ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Overall a nice dining experience. I took Chilean sea bass there, it was cooked to the perfection. Plating could have been better for the price of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I was on a road trip, Malo was recommend ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 19, 2016

I was on a road trip, Malo was recommended by the hotel front desk clerks. It was easy to find from my hotel, on street parking was convenient. I was quickly welcomed and given seating options. I selected the sidewalk patio which turned out not to be optimal, there is building construction across the seat and even though it was 7:00 p.m. the crews were working so lots of construction noise. I ordered the grilled mahi-mahi salad and grilled asparagus. Sadly the mahi-mahi was overcooked - too dry, and way to salty for my taste. The asparagus was also too salty and over-grilled. Frankly I should have returned both but was tired from travels so just ate the parts that were OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Get the tacos

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Get the tacos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was great. Had the Barbacoa Hot Dis ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food was great. Had the Barbacoa Hot Dish, which was like a shepherd's pie. Chips and salsa and guacamole always tasty. Totchos are delicious. Server was great, except for forgetting to put in our appetizer order until our entrees had already arrived. Restaurant is always a little loud due to the concrete floors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very disappointed with my dining experie ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Very disappointed with my dining experience. I went with a group of girls for a Bachelorette Party on a Friday night; which I know Friday's can be very busy, but our server barely paid attention to our table. The Bride has some food allergies and when we would ask any type of question regarding the menu you could see our server become very annoyed. We could barely hear her over the noise levels in the room and saw her visibly interact a little nicer to the tables around us. It embarrassed the Bride and made me personally not want to visit this establishment again. Customer service is extremely important to me and it was very poor for our group. Food allergies are very common these days so asking questions shouldn't have been a big deal but expected.

Tags: Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Private Room, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.