Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Malo

MALO is Des Moines’ destination for Latin cuisine. From classic Havana cocktails to inventive Mexican dishes, MALO celebrates all the flavors of Latin America.

900 Mulberry St.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American, Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10am - 9pm
Monday - Thursday: 11am - 11pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am - Midnight

Cross Street:
9th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 244-5000

Website:
http://www.malodesmoines.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking near our restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Howard

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu

Malo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (30)
Good for a Date (29)
Good for Groups (25)
See All
Creative Cuisine (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Happy Hour (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Fun (18)
Special Occasion (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Business Meals (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Authentic (9)
People Watching (9)
Spicy (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great Beer (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tapas (5)
Cozy (4)
Romantic (4)
Healthy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Live Music (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort by
S
676 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service! Best Sunday brunch for the entire family- kids will love the dessert bar!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Ordered the Malo burger, came out dry. Had them remake it but didn’t come back to the table til everyone was pretty much done eating. Ordered a cheese quesadilla and came out a chicken quesadilla, again didn’t come back out til everyone was done eating. Was informed at the end of our dining that they would no longer have my favorite dish on the menu anymore. The spaghetti gordo due to the whole menu changing. Very disappointing. Probably won’t be back. Wasn’t even offered a discount for the long wait for the burger or quesadilla.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Food and service were great. Drink menu is too dependent on mint and lemon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

We went to Malo for their Happy Hour. I was very disappointed that they no longer offer tacos and appetizers for half price. ☹️

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Delicious food! Scott was very attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2017

The tacos are the best!! We all got different kinds of tacos and loved every one. The guacamole is also amazing and they give you a large amount of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 1, 2017

We frequent Malo often on Wed. nights because margaritas are half price all night long. Two is all we can handle! My wife and I split the nachos and took about half home in a box. Good the next morning. Appetizers no longer half priced during Happy Hour.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Malo was the perfect location for my wife’s birthday brunch. The food was delicious and only surpassed by the service and value.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Amazing brunch buffet & those tacos!! A Sunday place to be!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Always enjoy the food there. Love their margaritas and the tacos are always good choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Malo has a great menu with lots of great choices. Delicious food in a cool, funky setting.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Olivia is an awesome server. The food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 15, 2017

The waiter was very helpful in providing suggestions, he knew the menu very well and was enthusiastic. All the food we ordered was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

This is one of my husband and I' s favorite places! I feel like it's a hidden gem of Des Moines! Wish we would have found it a long time ago! There chips and salsa are to die for! My husband loves the seafood enchiladas and I love the chicken tacos!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Live Music, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Bad service. Very loud. Average food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I've been to Malo 3 times, each time for Sunday brunch. It's a great buffet with lots of variety. The taco menu is a wonderful addition & my niece loves the chocolate fondue fountain.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The noise level is a 'killer' so everyone has to shout to be heard. That's the only criticism I have. there is nothing to absorb noise--hard floors, walls, ceiling and a very busy place so lots of voices, dishes, chairs 'clanking' all around so just be aware and choose another dining option if you're trying to have a conversation while dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great space in the restored Fire Station #1. Good food and margaritas. Nice street dining.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 23, 2017

LOVE Malo! We moved from DSM over a year ago and were so happy that when we came back to visit, we could get in on Saturday night. We had a group of friends meet us and got a reservation for 6:30pm. The food was fantastic-just like we remembered and the service was great! Our waitress was attentive and quick and we were all impressed (still!) with the service, atmosphere and food. I have a friend coming back to visit DSM next month and recommended Malo for her and her husband to go and try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent food, drinks and service. We ordered drunken nachos and empanadas from their appetizer menu, both were excellent. We ordered the burritos with Malo tator tots, were skeptical of that, but the taste was great. The tacos were good, we ordered the portobello one and a Chile relleno. The churritos for desert were probably the best churros we had in a long time. Margaritas there are always excellent with generous amount served!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Our experience was amazing as usual! The carnitas clasico was absolutely fabulous!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Casual, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Tapas, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The Cod tacos are amazing. And the best sangria in town. Plus a good selection of craft beers. One of the best spots downtown!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Sunday brunch - good selection and well executed - taco selections were amazing - wish they did a fried corn tortilla but other than that a wonderful afternoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 16, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Malo doesn't disappoint. We all got various items on the menu and we loved everything that came out of the kitchen! Atmosphere is lively and unique. Vegetarians will find lots to eat here as well. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 10, 2017

It was a beautiful night so we sat on patio. Love the chips and salsa. Food was excellent and our waiter was efficient and very personable. This was our third time eating at Malo and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great ambiance and food. Serving sizes are large, so we all brought food home. The tables are spread out in the beautifully, colorfully lit room so it is easy to hear one another.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I had hoped to sit outside on the patio, but none of the cushions were out, and I didn't want to sit on a piece of plywood for an hour. So, we settled for sitting inside and they sat us at the bar right next to the only other 2 people in the bar. It was too loud, the server seemed bored and uninterested and the portion sizes were huge. We could have easily shared a meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Celebrate a birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We were sat on the patio and enjoyed the live music that was playing . Food was good, but service was a bit slow for the limited number of people who were there. The online menu via Open Table contains outdated items that are no longer available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our server was outstanding! The food was very good and came out fast. The hostess did make us feel like she could care less to be there....and care less that we were there. But after that, there is nothing bad to be said about the experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food was great, service was pretty good, it was just very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Awesome food and excellent, fully stocked bar! We went for a bachelorette party but this was my second time there and it did not disappoint! You get huge portions and the quality is excellent. I had a quesadilla (which is an appetizer) but it would definitely feed 2-4 people! Their sangria is phenomenal, by the way! The service was perfect, I definitely can't complain! Go with a large group, or as a couple. Either way, Malo will not disappoint! One of my favorite places to eat, Enjoy!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Spicy, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Tapas, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Malo's happy hour is an amazing value. Malo could do a better job of staffing their patio during this time. There were only 2 servers on a Wednesday night and our drinks were not attended to and things just took a really long time. That was discouraging. But, we will return, and we will hope to have better service. It wasn't our server's fault, they were simply understaffed.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great variety of food. Sangria is very good. Lots of variety of tacos for a reasonable price. Nice patio with string lights. Location is also ideal with Des Moines Social Club right there.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Fun location to take out of town guests with nice patio. Server was very pleasant but was difficult to get service so not sure if she was spread thin. Ordered steak salad and flank steak was very rare and salad was way overdressed. Others ordered scallops and said they were tasty but heavy sauce as were the brussel sprout appetizer. This was the first time out of many in which are food was just not that great. We will be back and hope for better food next time!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

I ordered fish tacos and the fish was stone cold. Not good. Very disappointed as previously food here was very good. Left me with such a bad feeling that I doubt I will ever return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Malo is currently my favorite restaurant in Des Moines. Love the Barbacoa Hot Dish, the chorizo queso app, and the blanco sangria. It's usually very busy but it was fairly quiet inside on Sunday night. The sangria carafes are half price on Sunday. The blanco is better than the red.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Tried Malo for their Sunday brunch buffet. There were lots of options and everything we had was delicious - including salad, fruit, two types of eggs Benedict, bacon, fantastic mac and cheese, chicken strips, etc . The brunch buffet also comes with endless tacos off their menu. We were quite full from the buffet, but we managed to also try two tacos - one shrimp, and one I think was carnitas and pineapple. I honestly didn't notice any pineapple, but it was good all the same. There is also a chocolate fountain with lots of dipping options. It looked delicious, but we were too full to try any of it. We also did not try the made-to-order omelette station.

We had their $5 mimosas, which were very nice. We did not try their bloody Mary bar, but it, too, looked well-stocked.

There were lots of large groups there - we had 11:30 reservations, and there were still a few empty tables. Our server was very nice - our water glasses were kept full. My one complaint is that the table with the plates for the buffet is in an awkward spot kind of behind the buffet. People weren't using both sides of the buffet tables because...well I don't know why, but you did have to go to that side to get a plate.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.