Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 50 times today

Malo

4.4
791 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Latin American
Top Tags:
  • Fun
  • Good for a Date
  • Happy Hour
MALO is Des Moines’ destination for classic Mexican cuisine. From tacos, fajitas and enchiladas to burgers, salads and more, MALO offers all the dishes you love in a lively, energetic atmosphere.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Latin American, Mexican / Southwestern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday: 10am - 9pm
Monday - Thursday: 11am - 9pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am - 11pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(515) 244-5000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Julio Gamboa
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
9th St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking is available directly in front of MALO as well as on adjacent streets. Free parking is also available in the Wells Fargo garage at the southeast corner of 9th and Mulberry after 5pm and on weekends.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access
What 791 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined 5 days ago

We had Father's Day reservations. There were 4 in our party, including one child. I ordered one $8 taco - the seared short rib. It includes a lime aioli that tastes exactly like mayo. The entire thing tasted like mayo, there were no other discernable flavors in this taco.

My husband ordered all-you-can-eat tacos, which were fine since he could pick whatever he wanted... but it is definitely a pricey option at $17.99. (which ended up being three tacos for $17.99)

My sister also came along since she was in town and she ordered the burrito bowl. The server was not very knowledgeable about the menu and could not tell us about the ingredients. My sister ended up getting food that was on her allergen list, unfortunately. Wish that our server knew the menu better.

There was a long strip of dirty toilet paper running down the carpet on the side by the bathrooms.

So, all that said, this was a holiday. It was busier than average. I've been here many times. However, whether or not it was a holiday, I think most of these things (minus the TP issue) would have likely happened. Very unfortunate... I can't say I'll return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

First time for brunch and didn’t disappoint! My kids loved their meal, my biscuits and gravy were great, and my husband raves about his totchos!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We went to Malo for father's day brunch. We had been there before when it was a brunch buffet, but apparently that option is not available, so we ordered off the menu. It was great. The breakfast burrito was enormous, fresh and tasty and only half eaten because of the size. The all you can eat tacos were equally good, and it was nice to be able to sample. The chile relleno and lobster tacos were particularly good, but they were all excellent. Although we were initially disappointed by the fact that the brunch buffet was no longer in existence, the food more than made up for it. Service was also excellent, despite the fact that the restaurant was very crowded.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

The Father's Day weekend special was great! That ribeye steak melted in my mouth and popped full of flavors!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 6 days ago

We have dined at Malo many times. It was, before this visit, my husband’s favorite restaurant. However, something has gone wrong with Malo and it’s more than the menu changes. Our server did the bare minimum and seemed very rushed even though they were not at capacity on Saturday evening. Our food was sloppily presented and all but flung down on the table. My entree, which I have had previously, was drowning in cheese sauce. Other entrees at the table also looked sloppy. Our entire service seemed rushed which was hard to understand given the empty tables. It’s by far the shortest time we’ve spent at Malo for dinner. I’m not sure we’ll go back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Our service was poor. The server did not elevate his voice to be heard over the noise in the restaurant, so it was difficult to hear him. He was slow to fill water glasses, even when asked to. My husband's tortillas were soaked in grease from the meat.

This was my worst experience there. I know my husband will not go back with me. I also only expect to return if I have friends request to go there. I will not be suggesting it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Prompt seating and service. Interesting food and drink selections—very satisfied with drink choices and entrees. Server great and portions generous. No room for desert. In and out in an hour which we appreciate. Always eager to return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Food was excellent, great service and pineapple salsa was soooo good. The service was very slow and we sat without drinks or water for over 30 minutes which was the start of a theme for the evening...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Great food with outstanding customer service. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 3, 2018

This is my husband and my 3rd visit to Malo, we love the food and have had great experiences there in the past. This time we went with a group of couples and the restaurant was very loud, too loud. Bar service was also super slow and the restaurant was not even full. We were disappointed in our experience this time and we recommended it to our friends which was a bummer.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

my husband loves this place- the food is good, he gets the chicken enchilada every time. massive silverware. chips and salsa are great. the margaritas are okay - seems to be really different every time I order the same one? but hey, half price on Wednesdays!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

The burritos were huge and delicious! I Everything we got was amazing, will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Sat outside. Street noise added to ambience but some may find that noisy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Everything was great! The only thing I would have wished to be different would have been the server bringing water refills more often.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

We always get the tacos when we visit Malo and they were excellent, as always. Brought friends that had never been and they loved it just the same.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Food and drinks were very good. The calamari is my favorite in town. Service was timely and they seated us before our reservation time. Gave us the option of dining room or patio seating. I have never had anything less than a 4star experience at Malo. Love this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

As always food was excellent. We had the best waiter. Friendly and efficient. Love this restaurant

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The food was ok at best; very expensive for just ok

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Not my first visit to Malo. The food is great and the atmosphere is good, if loud. This time I sat outside and enjoyed myself, though our server was pretty invisible, and he apparently didn’t tell the hostess I’d been seated...leading to a note later in th evening from Open Table about not honoring my reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Solid food. Awesome service. Prices were a little on the high side but not ridiculous

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

The food was very good. It is a little overpriced to pay $7 or $8 for one taco. The meals are pricey and very large portions. I wish more restaurants would offer smaller portions. I miss the half price appetizers and tacos on Wednesday’s.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We decided on Malo for Mother's Day brunch and it did not disappoint. Our server was attentive, funny and nice. The food (as always) was amazingly delicious. Great experience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Miss the brunch!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went to Malo to celebrate Mother's Day. We were the second party in the restaurant after it opened. We had reservations and the table we were taken to did not work out because it was in the bar and too tall for my mother-in-law. The hostess graciously sat us at another table. Our server greeted us promptly to take our drinks but then disappeared for awhile. We had to wait awhile to order and it was hard to watch the other tables -- who were seated after us-- being served. In all fairness, our service could have been slow because we crowded the server's section when we asked to switch tables. I must say, however, that every time I have been to Malo the service is pretty poor.

The food was pretty good. I was disappointed that the restaurant no longer has the buffet as that was the real reason I selected the restaurant. I should have verified that they were serving the brunch. All in all, everyone had a nice time, though.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We are big fans of Malo. Everything on the menu is great!
Love the brussel sprouts, creamed corn, salsa trio.
Tip- Tacos are bigger than you thing, so 2 are plenty, but get 3 if you are starving. :)
Really good Mole dishes and build your own "bowls".

Insider tip- They make an amazing Jalapeno Margarita that is not on the menu!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Great food, great location

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The food was delicious. The tacos are not cheap, but the all you can eat brunch option for tacos is definitely worth it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Went to Malo to celebrate my brother’s graduation from Iowa State University. The food was delicious. The ambiance was great. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great service and excellent food! We went out with friends and enjoyed the entire night. It is nice to have a place to visit and not feel like you need to be quiet.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Everything was awesome!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We went for Sunday brunch. Food was great! I had 3 different tacos with lettuce as a shell. They all were very good! We will be returning soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Great place service was on top of everything! Very friendly, the food is amazing!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We always enjoy Malo! Their shrimp tacos are so good! We have celiac disease in our family so we would love to see more gluten free options. It would also be great if there was a dinner combo for tacos with some sides. A-la-cart really adds up in price when you really just want yummy tacos and a salad. The other meals are generously portioned for the price. Our server on this particular night wasn’t the most attentive or friendly until the end of our meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The menu is much smaller than what I remember. Our table had a hard time finding something we wanted to eat. Food was mediocre.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Food was good with some unique options. Our service was slow and almost put us late for another event. However, it was a very busy night with a large number of students headed to prom so that may have played a part.
My greatest criticism is in regard to value. In the end, it’s a burrito/taco place and the price was a bit high for the fare that was offered.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Good food, friendly and efficient service, busy for good reason

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Another Great restaurant in Des Moines. Good vibe. Great margaritas. Will go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Excellent food, in some cases big food! You'll most likely have leftovers to go. Wait staff was knowledgeable about the menu and offered great recommendations. Definitely will return for another good time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

I made reservation thru open table and made mention of a birthday in party but not mention was made from Host to Server. Slightly disappointed - even if there is not "dessert" involved - some acknowledgement would have been nice. Our server was great - I would conclude that she did not pass on my note on reservation. That is why the system has those options for comments and special events. It was a slow Sunday evening so she should have paid attention.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

I had the Seafood Enchilada which was so yummy! I had a hard time deciding everything sounded so good! Staff was very cheery and accommodating! Had a great time! I picked this restaurant to go to before I went to Hoyt Sherman Place show. It was a GREAT pick!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
20

Tweets by Malo