Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Malo

MALO is Des Moines’ destination for Latin cuisine. From classic Havana cocktails to inventive Mexican dishes, MALO celebrates all the flavors of Latin America.

900 Mulberry St.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American, Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10am - 9pm
Monday - Thursday: 11am - 11pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am - Midnight

Cross Street:
9th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 244-5000

Website:
http://www.malodesmoines.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking near our restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Howard

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu

Malo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (42)
Fun (39)
Casual (35)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Good for Groups (33)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Special Occasion (25)
Happy Hour (22)
Business Meals (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Great for Brunch (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Authentic (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Spicy (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
People Watching (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Modern Decor (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Romantic (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Vegan (6)
Healthy (6)
Cozy (6)
Family Style (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great Beer (4)
Historic (3)
Live Music (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tapas (2)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
626 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Yum! The portions were large, but delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing as always never a bad meal there . The wait staff is the best friendly and attentive .
Will highly recommended to all

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 15, 2017

First time I ate there. I'm a vegetarian and I like having a few options for my diet. I thought at first that it was a little pricey but when I got my burrito I soon realized that you got much more for your money.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Vegan, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We had a great experience at Malo. We were in downtown Des Moines for business and it was a quick walk from the Marriott. Our server, Dewey, was funny and attentive- top notch! The volume was a bit loud, but after a long day, we weren't worried about work-related conversation, just relaxing and having a great meal! I ordered the​ #17 and it was delicious. Paired with the red sangria- delightful.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Waitress was ridiculous! Didn't pay a bit of attention to her tables. Worst experience we have had at Malo!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great! Celebrated my birthday and had a fun night

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was delicious! Prices were reasonable. Service was excellent!!!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Yum! The Guac and burrito bowl were AMAZING- margarita was awesome too 👌🏼

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Our server was a little short with us and it took longer then expected to put our food order in. She also didn't check back on the table after we hot our food till we needed our check. Food was great and the place seemed really busy for a Wednesday night which might have attributed to the less the awesome service.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Very good experience. Food was a great take off on standard Mexican. Maybe a bit pricey for Mexican but the building and our waitress made up for it. As the crowd thinned our waitress answered several questions we had and was extremely friendly. I believe her name was Wendy and well worth a recommendation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Best fish and shrimp tacos I've ever had. My wife had shrimp fajitas, also excellent. Good drinks. Service was a little slow.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great ambiance. Food tasted good. Drinks were really good, but super slow getting a second drink. Our server was very personable and attentive. It was nice they had a live jazz band on the patio and we could hear it inside. If any gripe is that their prices are a little high for what you get/quality - $6-$7 for one taco that is on the small-ish side seems a bit pricey. Overall everyone enjoyed their food and drinks and would go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Love Malo! Great happy hour specials. Our service was a little slow last time but hadn't been in the past. Great patio area as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fathers Day

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fantastic brunch! Never disapoints! Wonderful food!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Fun, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Happy hour appetizers & tacos; plentiful and fresh; appealingly served and great staff. Sangria & maragaritas to sip. Can be noisy when the room is full but early evening very pleasant - a lovely patio, too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Had a great meal and great time! Some technical stuff wasn't executed with precision but easily forgiveable. (Drinks came at different times. Queso came before chips and salsa)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Romantic, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Good atmosphere, excellent wait staff, large portion sizes, menu has excellent variety, nice beer selection, love the location

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Malo never dissapoints. Great atmosphere. Our server was very knowledgeable of the menu. Got our drinks in a timely manner. Always around when we needed her. Food was delicious as always.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We have been to Malo several times and we have always had a great dining experience. A great selection of food choices and it all tastes great!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

A must -try if you are looking for a little twist to the traditional brunch! Everything was fresh and tasty. No more chicken and waffles but the french toast is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great brunch atmosphere, fantastic selection and friendly service. All around nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Pros: lively and fun atmosphere. good for large groups. decent happy hour.
Cons: food is just okay, but it is overpriced for what you get. The restaurant is not very clean. The table we got had leftover food on it, and my napkin had black spots.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Our waiter was exceptionally attentive and made perfect suggestions for our appetites.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Excellent salsa!! Tacos were fantastic!! Enchiladas the same, excellent. And the mango dessert...already went back following week for more!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Excellent food, drinks and service! Great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Had family visiting from Denver and wanted a brunch place w a patio. Malo was perfect! It is a great combination of serve yourself and order off the menu with drink add-ons. Really enjoyed the order off the menu tacos and the serve yourself buffet for salad, fruit, traditional breakfast and dessert. Relaxed and fun and even a great value. We visit Malo often for margaritas and tacos but had never tried the brunch. Highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Still by far one of the best places in Des Moines for Sunday brunch. Happy hour is also a great time to go!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Loved the food and the service was exceptional! Malo salad is incredible!

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This was my first time and it was fabulous! Great drinks, great food, super service and wonderful atmosphere. Definitely want to come back when we are back in town!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The service left something to be desired. Our server would literally disappear for 20-30 minutes at a time. Refills for water -- after multiple requests -- went unfilled. I ordered a filet and I've never seen a triangular filet in my life, it looked like a pyramid and for $30, was not a good piece of meat. We went for our anniversary and will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Service was fine. Food was mediocre. Had fried Brussels Sprouts appetizer. Not very flavorful and cold in the center. Had pastor and fish tacos with corn tortillas. Tortillas were like thick masa which cracked when you tried to pick up the tacos. Not very flavorful fillings. Had churritos for dessert. Looked very good, but were soggy in the center. We did not finish them. Drinks (mai tai and margaritas) were good.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Had the Seafood Enchilada - fantastic. This is a great place for a business meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The drinks were watered down. The rice had chunks of seasoning not even mixed in. The beans were way to spicy and the carnitas were over cooked and dry. My boyfriend, who's a chef couldn't even eat his food. Paid way too much money for what was served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food, one of my favorite restaurants in Des Moines

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

An absolutely fantastic find. The sunday brunch buffet was outstanding and the all-you-can-eat custom tacos cannot be matched; the best huevos rancheros and carnitas I have ever had! The Latin American foundation of their kitchen is modernized with clever twists and flavorful additions. There is nothing standard or boring about their menu. Whether dining inside or out on the patio, this was a great way to spend Mother's Day afternoon (ok...so it was very late brunch) that the entire family enjoyed. Great food, great locale, great atmosphere and good service makes this one a definite keeper. For a family , a date or a meal with old friends you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, People Watching, Business Meals, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took my mother and sister to Malo for the Mother's Day brunch buffet. We had a reservation for the next to last seating, so it was not packed and the noise level was lower than usual, both good things in my book. Yet, the service was slower than usual. And apparently, with the big holiday crowd, there was no time to clean the floors. We found silverware and food under our table and could see the same elsewhere.

I have been to Malo in the past, including Mother's Day brunch last year, and the slow service and poor cleaning is not typical. The food, as always, was delicious. But I may think twice next Mother's Day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The floors were a little dirty, cleaning empty tables was really slow but the food was good. Buffet was ok but the all you can eat made to order stuff was great!!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Little understaffed.
Our experience suffered.
Slow and forgetful.

Host that checked us in gave us the busisness about making a reservation for 2 when she said it should have been for 3. We had our 11 month old who didn't eat, sorry?

Always enjoy the food,
its our favorite place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Amazing south of the border cuisine! The salsa had a spice that leaned toward Texmex - sweet and yet smoky. The drunkin nachos have actual layers of flavor and you can taste something a little different in each one - yet the combination worked well too. The small size was too much for 2 of us to handle. The malo salad was light and refreshing with a sweetness that still somehow balanced with the spices in the other items. Love the salty bits thrown in... pumpkin seeds, I think. The chicken enchilada is what will bring us back! The Iowa sweet corn combined with the "magic" cheese sauce they use, is so good! Their sides of beans and rice were distinct as well... with their own special touch. Service was a bit slow and spotty despite our late reservation, but very nice - we would definitely like to bring our friends next time to show off the decor and then dazzle them with some amazing food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.