Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Malo

MALO is Des Moines’ destination for Latin cuisine. From classic Havana cocktails to inventive Mexican dishes, MALO celebrates all the flavors of Latin America.

900 Mulberry St.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American, Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10am - 9pm
Monday - Thursday: 11am - 11pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am - Midnight

Cross Street:
9th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 244-5000

Website:
http://www.malodesmoines.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking near our restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Howard

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu

Malo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (45)
Casual (43)
Creative Cuisine (36)
See All
Fun (35)
Modern Decor (32)
Special Occasion (31)
Good for Groups (31)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Hot Spot (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Happy Hour (22)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Kid-friendly (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Authentic (14)
Spicy (13)
Business Meals (13)
Cozy (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
People Watching (11)
Great Beer (11)
Family Style (10)
Romantic (9)
Healthy (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Historic (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Tapas (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Seasonal (5)
Vegan (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Live Music (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
553 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food great service, but its way to noisy. We couldn't even carry on a conversation.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome service, food, and atmosphere! The two taco lunch special is a great deal with a lot of flavor.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food is good and there was a live music trio on Sunday evening, which is now a regular feature. No corkage fee is an added bonus if you enjoy bringing your favorite wine.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 19, 2017

great food; great service; a little loud for intimate conversation - but fun and good people watching

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent food and service. Difficult to hear each other given the loud restaurant noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I recommend the Pisco Sour and the Chicken enchiladas. Great!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Waiter was great. Seafood enchiladas were great. Fun spot

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food was fantastic and the waiter was very kind and attentive to our group of four.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Food was fine. Ordered 2 drunken nachos, one steak, one chicken. There was very little meat on either one. Quesadilla was large and stuffed full. Service was ok, part of our party waited a long time for drinks, one was just a bottle of beer. Think that Happy Hour specials had overwhelmed the staff.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We loved everything (except the taco corn tortillas-yuck) the chips and salsa were great! The enchiladas were amazing! Soup was good. And the Sangrias were awesome. Great atmosphere. Waitstaff were awesome!!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Friday night with Friends!

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The hostess didn't have our open table reservation when we arrived. I was searching for it on my phone when we were taken to a table. We had theater tickets so the 10 minutes we lost in time while a table was set up for us mattered. Service was slow after that. The food at Malo is great but if you want to talk with your friends don't go there. The noise level makes it impossible to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Excellent service and food. Would definitely return! Loved the decor and location.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We were there for our mom's birthday so we had a group of nine. The atmosphere and service were wonderful, as well as the food!! Everything went very smooth and we were very happy.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 26, 2017

As always great food! One of our favorite places to eat! Slightly disappointed with the service. Our waitress never introduced herself and it was a struggle to get her attention. We waited for 10 mins to order and once we got our food she only returned to box our food and bring he bill. We will still be back as we love the food. Hopefully get a friendlier waitress.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Malo was busy on a Saturday night but the service was still good and the food was outstanding. The noise level is high but despite this drawback we had an excellent meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We went here with a large group during happy hour and everyone was thrilled. The food and drinks were great and the happy hour specials were extraordinary. Exceeded expectation.

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I think you have the best trained waitstaff in the city. Attentive and active. Always great food and great staff. Whoever trains the staff needs a raise, lol.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Late-night Find, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food, service, and our drinks were over-the-top amazing. Thank you!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Awesome service, good food. The salsa was one of the best I've had. Definitely will return, especially for the bar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our dinner was really just okay. The service was outstanding and that is important to note. The food was really mediocre and really overpriced. I had chicken and it appeared to be some sort of boneless dark cut of meat; kind of bizarre. It wasn't the type of quality we were expecting.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Loved the food, cocktails, and ambiance!! It was the perfect date night.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went there for Valentines Day. Not a lot of choices. Is this a Mexican place? It seems confused. Chips/salsa great. Wine superb. Seafood enchiladas advertised as crab, shrimp, lobster - when I cut one open it was only shrimp. I don't like paying $25.00 for tiny baby shrimp!

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Malo is my favorite restaurant in Des Moines and would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Tapas, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Brunch us outstanding, be prepared for a great experience. Be aware that children under 12 eat free so there were lots rug rats all about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We totally enjoyed our dining experience at Malo. Staff was very friendly and efficient. Food was exceptional and we will need to return to try more dishes. Quite loud, but tolerable. Will recommend it to friends and will be back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food and excellent service

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Even though this restaurant is great for adults out for an adult evening, it is literally my 5 year old daughter's favorite restaurant in Des Moines. We attended for her 5th birthday. She thinks they have the most fun kids menu to play with and she loves that it is an old fire house. Add that with delicious fries to accompany her cheese quesadilla and she is sold.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very comfy setting, great staff. Very happy with choosing Malo for brunch.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I have been to Malo many times. The only downside to my experience tonight was that they put us in the back corner near the kitchen door and the cocktails were far from expertly crafted. Other than that, the food is great and the ambience exciting. I recommend eating there in the warmer months when you can sit on their patio - it's the best overall experience.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fun place. Fun food. Perfect for a vibrant Saturday night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Shrimp tacos were great. Salsa and chips were exceptioallgood. Loved that chips were warm. Guac could be more adventuresome Add tomatoes, onion, garluc.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was excellent and the service superb. Beautiful and bright interior. High class all the way. A great place for dinner following a show at The Basement or other downtown venues.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We were seated in the bar area. The food was exceptional and the place has a very appealing ambiance. The noise was overwhelming and made table conversation impossible.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was fair but the spices and portions were out of balance with expectations. The enchilada meal was layered with cheese that appeared to be separating on the plate. They were decent but they were extremely heavy.

The blackened shrimp were difficult to eat due to the excessive pepper and salt. The steak fajitas were very good and cooked nicely. The side dishes were nothing memorable but they were pretty good.

One of our dinner guests ordered some kind of entree that came out in a lasagna dish and was extremely large. In fact, the waitress identified that she had never seen someone eat the entire dish.

My Wife and I don't plan on going back. It wasn't horrible, just not up to our expectations. I will keep my contemporary Mexican food business with Rosa Mexicano when I make it out to the East coast.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My fiance and I had a great experience at Malo we were seated right away, our server I can't remember his name but he was awesome made sure we had our chips and our drinks and the food when it was brought out was absolutely great I definitely would recommend this restaurant

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A bit noisy but our waiter was superb. Great, unique items for vegetarians.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Good food at a fun and lively spot. Friendly and knowledgeable service. Cocktails were great. Eclectic and unique menu items from standard Mexican fare to fusion. Recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 21, 2017

nice atmosphere but honestly expected better on the food side. only 1 of the 4 dishes was really enjoyed. would come back again to give it another try.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 20, 2017

LOVE tacos and El Santo !!!! I love the setting and it was amazing food overall and love the drinks

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.