About Malo

900 Mulberry St.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

MALO is Des Moines’ destination for Latin cuisine. From classic Havana cocktails to inventive Mexican dishes, MALO celebrates all the flavors of Latin America.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American, Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10am - 9pm
Monday - Thursday: 11am - 11pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am - Midnight

Cross Street:
9th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 244-5000

Website:
http://www.malodesmoines.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking near our restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Howard

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu

Malo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Iowa
Most Booked
Iowa
Best Food
Des Moines
3 More
Best Value
Des Moines
Fit for Foodies
Des Moines
Most Booked
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in Downtown Des Moines ›

good for groups (130)
fit for foodies (105)
hot spot (74)
See All
great for lunch (63)
special occasion (63)
great for outdoor dining (57)
neighborhood gem (48)
great for brunch (40)
vibrant bar scene (34)
kid-friendly (29)
romantic (20)
late-night find (20)
scenic view (6)
notable wine list (5)
Sort By:
Newest
401 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4

Very good. Guac was unbelievable

Dined 4 days ago

Very good. Guac was unbelievable

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic restaurant for those intereste ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Fantastic restaurant for those interested in Latin cuisine with a twist. Phenomenal margaritas, guacamole, warm chips and outstanding carnitas. Ambiance is great though it can get loud at times. Highly recommended for groups or anyone who is interested in high quality Latin cuisine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great salads and drinks!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great salads and drinks!

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Just no wow factor and the quac was cold ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Just no wow factor and the quac was cold like it had been sitting in the fridge. It wasn't fresh. The tacos were just ok. The margarita came in a champagne glass and wasn't special in presentation. Disappointed!

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything I have ordered here has been ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Everything I have ordered here has been addictive!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5

Good good just too much to eat!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Good good just too much to eat!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasty Latin-Mex food, Great Non-Standard Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food is tasty and makes this worth a visit. In each entree I have had nothing which has seemed out of place (taste or ingredient-wise) in any item I have ordered. While I have my favorites, I have not been sorry with anything I have ordered. They also have items that work for specialized diets (nods to low carb, also gluten and veg) Good place to relax with friends. Tacos Ala-cart, many varieties (with option of flour, masa, or lettuce leaf based) Al-pastor was enjoyable. At time of writing orders of ala-cart tacos included with brunch at no extra cost. At time of writing kids brunch free with adult. Several visits - all without complaint, enjoyable, and relaxing. Wait staff - pleasant, friendly, helpful. They show up when needed and don't linger or hover. They also have been knowledgeable about the items on the menu and don't seem lost when asked questions. Beer list unique with great options - many brews from Spain and Latin countries - items not readily available in the area. Bar makes great cocktails if ordered from the menu (well crafted), or commonly known - they do get a little lost if it is not on their menu. So well known cocktails - great, lesser known ones...may not occur. I know someone really happy with the Mojitos they make. Did a really good job on a side-car. The location is a former central fire station and is shared with Des Moines Social Club, Kapes Cafe and an art gallery - so there is something to do before and after meals. The space itself is large and open with giant windows / former overhead doors allowing in plenty of light. Though the space is large and open with plenty of hard surfaces the crowd noise is tamed by the sheer amount of overhead space in the dine in area. They also have a well-laid out patio. Have not been late night...only lunch and brunch. Like the Luchador artwork. Would recommend and have recommended it to others.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time!

Dined on May 7, 2016

The place was busy when we went there on the Saturday night before Mother's Day. It was a little noisy, but I thought that just added to the fun, vibrant atmosphere. Our waitress friendly and knew her stuff when we asked a few questions about menu items. The food was delicious and HOT, something that often isn't the case at a couple of the priciest places in Des Moines. I had tacos. They were seasoned so well I didn't ask for taco sauce.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service2

Cinco de Mayo. Waited over 15 minutes fo ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Cinco de Mayo. Waited over 15 minutes for cocktails & another half hour for appetizers. We had a birthday celebration in our group, and they did provide a dessert gratis.

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great Happy Hour

Dined on May 5, 2016

Stopped on Cinco de Mayo for Happy Hour - busy but the food was still excellent. Can't beat the variety of single tacos and margaritas at this spot. We've tried appetizers and entrees too on prior visits and have always been impressed. I would recommend reservations - there is always a wait.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great breakfast brunch..

Dined on May 1, 2016

We went to Sunday brunch here for the 2nd time. So good, I'd recommend it again. Kids 12 and under eat the buffet free which makes it really affordable for parents. Food was great, tacos are always good and you'll leave happy.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun and creative food!

Dined on May 1, 2016

My fist time at brunch and plenty of choices at the buffet. Loved the chocolate fountain and the specialty cake.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, fun atmosphere

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our food was excellent. This is the second visit we have made and I tried something different each time. Have never been disappointed. We were seated before our reservation time and our server was excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent!

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was great, service was good, prices are reasonable. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First time visit, won't be the last

Dined on April 30, 2016

Was very surprised at the dining area - very sleek and modern. Service was prompt and efficient. Separate checks handled accurately. Food was generously portioned. Salsa was tasty with a little heat. Would definitely go back and bring more friends.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fresh tasting and delicious. Ou ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was fresh tasting and delicious. Our server was friendly and helpful in helping us decide what to order.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very noisy

Dined on April 29, 2016

It was very noisy - really difficult to hear the person across the table from you. It was our first visit and since the food was good, we would go back again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on April 27, 2016

The tacos and appetizers are absolutely delicious every time we stop in.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5

Sitting on the patio was excellent! The ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Sitting on the patio was excellent! The meat in the tacos was not hot but tasted delicious. The sampler plate was great and gave a taste of different food items. Great margarita!

food5
ambience4
service5

Guac is fantastic. Tonight it had a lot ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Guac is fantastic. Tonight it had a lot of lime which is how I like it. Our server was attentive, kind and capable. We enjoyed him. Drinks were delicious and our entrees very good. We always enjoy our food here.

food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Meh.

Dined on April 14, 2016

The food was not special and overpriced. The was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious brunch. Everything was always ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Delicious brunch. Everything was always well stocked and hot! Fresh omelet a, burritos, and tacos will have us going back for sure!

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Good but loud

Dined on April 10, 2016

The food was good, the margaritas were great and our server was amazing. The only complaint is that the salsa was not spicy at all and it was very loud, even with it being half empty.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first experience, loved it!

Dined on April 3, 2016

The food and drinks were great! We will definitely be coming back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

hip + dependable

Dined on April 2, 2016

When it first opened, I wasn't impressed. But I've been back, like, five times the last six months and every visit has been delicious. Our last visit was especially good because even though it was very busy, the waiter (can't remember your name, dude. sorry!) was attentive, fun, and fast. Love the ambiance, the guacamole, and the Al Pastor. This is one of my favorite places in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Carnitas and other Latin dishes excellen ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Carnitas and other Latin dishes excellent!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Top-notch service and food

Dined on March 26, 2016

Had a great meal on a Saturday night. Our server was very attentive and polite. Food was great, per usual.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I'llBe Back

Dined on March 22, 2016

Great lunch: food was good, ambience, and great service. A top choice for a work lunch, and a place to bring my spouse.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food! Good ambiance - super drinks ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Great food! Good ambiance - super drinks too!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

good food and atmosphere

Dined on March 14, 2016

The food was very good and the service was also very good. We all really liked the quacamole! Our only other complaint was the huge portions, could definitely cut back on that. Note, the kids high chairs needs a booster for small children.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicious Brunch

Dined on March 13, 2016

Awesome brunch at a good price. Lots of breakfast and lunch options for all kinds of tastebuds on the Sunday brunch buffet. Service for drinks etc was pretty slow but their positive and friendly attitude made up for it. Will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant!

Dined on March 13, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants. Great drinks and tacos! Love the sangria and cod tacos! Service was good and quick most of the time. Definitely recommend making a reservation before hand since it is always busy. Fun atmosphere for adults.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The grilled Mahi tacos are spectacular! ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

The grilled Mahi tacos are spectacular! We also has the jalapeño corn, would definitely recommend both!

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was very bland. There were five of ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was very bland. There were five of us and none of us would get each others meal again. The meals seemed reasonably priced until you added meat. Then they became $17 entrees. Would not recommend or return.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyable Evening

Dined on March 8, 2016

Loved being able to make a reservation online. Server was knowledgeable and friendly. Wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Horrible seating

Dined on March 5, 2016

We requested a table for two. We were put in a bar type area at a high top and it was so loud we couldn't hear each other speak. We asked to be moved but were told to sit side by side. The food was excellent and almost made up for the atmosphere.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Had a wonderful time!

Dined on March 3, 2016

I went there with a group from work, had a reservation and we were able to get right in. The food was great even for somebody on a diet, the atmosphere was wonderful and we had a great server! It is a little pricey, but you do get a lot of food and I mean a lot!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Very good!

Dined on February 27, 2016

I have been here twice and both time outstanding food! I also love the Sangria!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner and excellent ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner and excellent service! Thank you!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't wait to go back!

Dined on February 26, 2016

The food was delicious, drinks were fantastic, service was exceptional!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.