Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Malo

MALO is Des Moines’ destination for Latin cuisine. From classic Havana cocktails to inventive Mexican dishes, MALO celebrates all the flavors of Latin America.

900 Mulberry St.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American, Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10am - 9pm
Monday - Thursday: 11am - 11pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am - Midnight

Cross Street:
9th St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 244-5000

Website:
http://www.malodesmoines.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking near our restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Matt Howard

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu

Malo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (47)
Good for a Date (46)
Fun (41)
See All
Creative Cuisine (40)
Modern Decor (34)
Special Occasion (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Hot Spot (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Authentic (19)
Happy Hour (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Business Meals (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Comfort Food (15)
People Watching (14)
Kid-friendly (14)
Spicy (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Family Style (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Cozy (9)
Romantic (9)
Great Beer (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Healthy (8)
Vegan (6)
Tapas (6)
Historic (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Live Music (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Seasonal (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
590 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved the food and the service was exceptional! Malo salad is incredible!

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my first time and it was fabulous! Great drinks, great food, super service and wonderful atmosphere. Definitely want to come back when we are back in town!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 6 days ago

The service left something to be desired. Our server would literally disappear for 20-30 minutes at a time. Refills for water -- after multiple requests -- went unfilled. I ordered a filet and I've never seen a triangular filet in my life, it looked like a pyramid and for $30, was not a good piece of meat. We went for our anniversary and will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Had the Seafood Enchilada - fantastic. This is a great place for a business meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food, one of my favorite restaurants in Des Moines

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took my mother and sister to Malo for the Mother's Day brunch buffet. We had a reservation for the next to last seating, so it was not packed and the noise level was lower than usual, both good things in my book. Yet, the service was slower than usual. And apparently, with the big holiday crowd, there was no time to clean the floors. We found silverware and food under our table and could see the same elsewhere.

I have been to Malo in the past, including Mother's Day brunch last year, and the slow service and poor cleaning is not typical. The food, as always, was delicious. But I may think twice next Mother's Day.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing south of the border cuisine! The salsa had a spice that leaned toward Texmex - sweet and yet smoky. The drunkin nachos have actual layers of flavor and you can taste something a little different in each one - yet the combination worked well too. The small size was too much for 2 of us to handle. The malo salad was light and refreshing with a sweetness that still somehow balanced with the spices in the other items. Love the salty bits thrown in... pumpkin seeds, I think. The chicken enchilada is what will bring us back! The Iowa sweet corn combined with the "magic" cheese sauce they use, is so good! Their sides of beans and rice were distinct as well... with their own special touch. Service was a bit slow and spotty despite our late reservation, but very nice - we would definitely like to bring our friends next time to show off the decor and then dazzle them with some amazing food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellence is the word I would use. Food and service was superb. Ready to go back soon.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I always have good experiences at Malo, and this time was no exception. The staff is always nice and very attentive, and the drinks are great. I usually get tacos, but I've also tried several appetizers and entrées which were all delicious, as well. The seafood nachos are awesome, and the crispy onion avocado taco is one of my favorites, along with carnitas and chicken tinga. Definitely will be continuing to eat here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The service was great and the food was good. The big down side, and, what will keep me from going back anytime soon was that it was way too loud to be able to talk without actually yelling at the person sitting on either side of me...it was impossible to talk to who sat across from me. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Food was really good as well drinks. Great indoor and outdoor seating.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was okay, meals not as described, quite a bit soggy. Service was slow, took awhile to get drinks and the check.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It was louder than normal but it was also Cinco de Mayo. We had to wait longer than normal to be served which again is not normal from past experience. Once our server was able to take our drink order he was friendly. The food was DELICIOUS! We'll be back:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Lunch on cinco de mayo. Busy but delicious food

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Love this place! They had live Latin music and half-priced carafes of sangria. Grabbed a taco and burrito bowl.

Tags: Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Malo is great for weekend brunch!!! Their brunch buffet and endless tacos is a special treat, especially with their chocolate fountain! The only downside is the service, we waited 45 minutes for our drinks and tacos. When it was time for our check that also took 30 minutes to get. Amazing food but sub par service. Would recommend reservations!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The Malo restaurant on Mulberry Street in downtown Des Moines offers a pleasant dining experience. Reservations are suggested on the weekend.
Upon entering, you are greeted and seated in a rather noisy but “family feel” eatery. My friend and I both selected one of the Specials: Carne Asada, consisting of flank steak, either mushrooms or shrimp, choice of black or pinto beans, lettuce and tomato. It was a HUGE serving…..we should have shared one plate. The shrimp and mushroom were both quite spicy. My friend’s flank steak was cooked to perfection, mine was more on the rare side (ordered medium rare). Needing something to cool our palates, we chose to have gelato (chocolate and caramel) for dessert. Both were excellent.
The restaurant was quite crowded and noisy, not unusual for a popular restaurant on a Saturday night. There were a few children there, but it’s obvious that this restaurant caters to the young professionals. Service was adequate. I would definitely return to Malo, but would order less food than the Special!

Tags: Bar Seating, Spicy, Vegan, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Went there with friends as a get together, food/beer was great and was a pretty cool atmosphere

Tags: Great Beer, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Always have been a big fan of Malo and this night was no exception. Our waitress was on point and everyone had a great time. Food was delicious! Always recommend the Chipotle Shrimp tacos and the Queso with Chorizo appetizer to start.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We started our meal with chips and salsa. They were some of the best chips we have had anywhere and the salsa was excellent. We paired them with very good margaritas and followed them up with excellent entrees. The portions were huge. I had the seafood enchilada and it was full of seafood with many shrimp. The presentation was nice for a Latin/Mexican type restaurant. It is kind of noisy with the high ceiling and lots of wood, but we didn't have trouble visiting.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We love the 1/2 price appetizers during cocktail hours and on Wed. night 1/2 price margaritas all day long! Great quantities. Everyone takes home a doggy bag.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Loud, spotty service, food average
Candle on table was really hot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 11, 2017

A great option for a business lunch. Food is terrific. Looking forward to many more meals at this restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 7, 2017

On a lark, I made a last minute reservation for a Friday night. Our daughter was coming in to Des Moines via the bus, so it worked out perfectly. She's a picky eater, I'm a mostly vegan vegetarian and my husband doesn't eat anything with sugar or flour. It can sometimes be hard to find a restaurant that can work for all 3 of us. Malo did and more. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Disabled Access, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We lucked out with a table in the bar area. It was Wed. night and margaritas are half price all night. Plus, appetizers ordered before 6 pm are half price. We ordered a half order of beef nachos and it was so huge we could not eat it all. Took about half home in a box. We each had two special margaritas and with the nachos and the tab totaled $23.54!!!!!!!!! What a deal. The place was packed after work and folks were having a great time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Ordered their vegan tacos. Delicious! Margaritas are good also. We went early and still made the show in time. Wait staff was very good.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Too loud to talk comfotably with my date. Food and service were fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food and service. Music was too loud, counldnt talk with friends! There were six of us - 3 each side of the table, I couldn't converse with everyone only those right across or next to me. We got together to catch up and missed out on half of the conversation.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

First visit to Malo after numerous recommendations from friends.. why did I wait so long ?? Our entire group thoroughly enjoyed EVERYTHING about our visit .. We will be back guaranteed

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Family Style, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Came here for Sunday brunch with my family. Loads of options for every taste, including an omelette station, chocolate fountain, and a wide variety of tacos that come with the brunch, but are brought to the table to order. It's pretty loud in the big dining room, but it adds to the festivities! Highly recommended for a fun meal!

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Love, Love, Love....Malo!!!! Sunday brunch is a.m.a.z.i.n.g! Great option for gluten free eating! The food is top notch and the service is wonderful!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great atmosphere, good service, over priced for value

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food was amazing, so many great flavors to choose from. Portions were generous. We had a great time and our service was outstanding.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Very personable service, noticed it was my birthday and got me a free dessert with a candle. Fried Brussel sprouts were an amazing appetizer. Cocktails were good. Main course (roasted chicken) was solid but was hoping for a little more for $20. Will return eventually.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food great service, but its way to noisy. We couldn't even carry on a conversation.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Awesome service, food, and atmosphere! The two taco lunch special is a great deal with a lot of flavor.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food is good and there was a live music trio on Sunday evening, which is now a regular feature. No corkage fee is an added bonus if you enjoy bringing your favorite wine.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 19, 2017

great food; great service; a little loud for intimate conversation - but fun and good people watching

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent food and service. Difficult to hear each other given the loud restaurant noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.