Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 42 times today

Malo

4.4
758 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Latin American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
MALO is Des Moines’ destination for classic Mexican cuisine. From tacos, fajitas and enchiladas to burgers, salads and more, MALO offers all the dishes you love in a lively, energetic atmosphere.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Latin American, Mexican / Southwestern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday: 10am - 9pm
Monday - Thursday: 11am - 9pm
Friday & Saturday: 11am - 11pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(515) 244-5000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Julio Gamboa
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
9th St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking is available directly in front of MALO as well as on adjacent streets. Free parking is also available in the Wells Fargo garage at the southeast corner of 9th and Mulberry after 5pm and on weekends.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access
What 758 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 5 days ago

The menu is much smaller than what I remember. Our table had a hard time finding something we wanted to eat. Food was mediocre.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Food was good with some unique options. Our service was slow and almost put us late for another event. However, it was a very busy night with a large number of students headed to prom so that may have played a part.
My greatest criticism is in regard to value. In the end, it’s a burrito/taco place and the price was a bit high for the fare that was offered.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Good food, friendly and efficient service, busy for good reason

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Another Great restaurant in Des Moines. Good vibe. Great margaritas. Will go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Excellent food, in some cases big food! You'll most likely have leftovers to go. Wait staff was knowledgeable about the menu and offered great recommendations. Definitely will return for another good time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2018

I made reservation thru open table and made mention of a birthday in party but not mention was made from Host to Server. Slightly disappointed - even if there is not "dessert" involved - some acknowledgement would have been nice. Our server was great - I would conclude that she did not pass on my note on reservation. That is why the system has those options for comments and special events. It was a slow Sunday evening so she should have paid attention.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

I had the Seafood Enchilada which was so yummy! I had a hard time deciding everything sounded so good! Staff was very cheery and accommodating! Had a great time! I picked this restaurant to go to before I went to Hoyt Sherman Place show. It was a GREAT pick!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Service was awesome. Food was fantastic. Bonus chocolate fountain.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Food was mediocre. Chips were good but salsa store bought jar quality. Ordered burrito bowl, no meat and it was pretty bland. Definitely not as good as I’ve had in the past. Really disappointed 😔

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Fantastic food and exceptional service, our waiter never fails to make us feel comfortable and welcome . The value and size of the entrees is incredible and the mango ice cream desert is what i crave!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We seamed to have caught them on a poor night. Food was over cooked, order was wrong, limited service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

It was very cold inside the restaurant. Our only complaint

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

We love Malo. Great atmosphere and service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter brunch

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Dined for Easter brunch. My husband was a bit disappointed because there wasn’t a brunch but the food was very good. The shrimp tacos were delicious!! I’ll be back! Our waiter provided excellent service!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

This is our second time to Malo! Yummy food, great service! The margaritas were a little disappointing. My sister and I go to many places that offer them and they were a little weak and not as cold as we like. We will definitely be back though. Fun, warm feeling there! Thanks

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

The food was delicious and the service was amazing. Making reservations online was easy and they called to confirm. The waitress kept our drinks and chips filled.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Good food, but pretty noisy. Service took a while, but overall good experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We were visiting the area for a swim meet, found Malo on Yelp. Tasty Mexican food, served hot, fresh, some original menu items. Great service. Would come again when I am in the area for sure. Restaurant was quiet, but we came at an odd time, 3:45pm on Sat. afternoon. I imagine it would be dramatically different on a Sat night.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Service was good. However, the food quality was not. Felt the price was excessive for the quality.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

This is one of my wife and I's favorites restaurants in Downtown DSM. My wife usually has the nachos appetizer for a meal, the small portion is actually large, and I have the chicken enchilada. The food is very good here and the service usually top notch as well. I would recommend this to anyone, but get your reservations on Open Table early as they tend to fill up quickly on the weekends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Food and drinks were awesome! Server was very attentive!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Food was excellent and service was good. Would recommend for a night out. We went before a concert and the restaurant staff was on point on getting us dinner in time. Management stopped by to check on us, just to say hello! Great atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Great food! Our server was very attentive and delivered great service. Hope to be back soon!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 12, 2018

LOVE LOVE LOVE the food! Malo has always been one of my favorite places to eat in the Des Moines area. Service is typically a hit or a miss though...My best friend and I eat here often and we always have to ask for a low top table as the high top it seems you are waaaay to far away from the other person to have a private conversation. Every time we ask the staff seem irritated by our request. This last visit we went for my birthday and there were six of us gals. I had asked for a second bowl of chips and salsa and it took foreeeeever to get it out, and service was just overall very slow...all of us made a comment at one time or another. I am pretty bubbly and have always worked in customer service so it's unfortunate that the food is SOOOO good but the staff always seem like they are stressed and not very outgoing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The speciality tacos were outstanding! Cocktails were tasteful! We ordered the specialty tacos and they were unbelievable. Honestly, I would go back for just the chips and salsa! They were like no other place in the Des Moines area.

Our server, Jennifer made us feel at home during our time at Malo! Definitely recommend her for your server! Funny, witty and experienced!

Will definitely be back to Malo in the near future.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Awesome food, great value and fantastic service!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 9, 2018

We had a group of 9. Our waitress was not the most pleasant and did not seem to like her job. I like to give people the benefit of the doubt and we did have a 7:30 reservation and she could have just had a long day and been tired, but you could definitely tell that she did not want to be there and had little patience for waiting on people. Our food was great though one of our friends did find hair in hers, the restaurant took care of it quickly and offered her another dish, free dessert and did pay for her meal. The atmosphere is great, the building and decor is beautiful and it is a place that I will return to and definitely recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Food was good. The restaurant was busy but not packed. The service felt rush -- I felt like the server was pushing to get us out of there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Great downtown restaurant and food always pleases. Literally never had a bad meal here. A little difficult to follow a conversation due to noise level

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Fantastic waitstaff, seated immediately, and the steak fajitas were superb!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 25, 2018

No more kids eat free buffet????

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Made a reservation before our civic center event. Reservation wasn’t needed. Neat atmosphere but other than that, we go somewhere else the next time we eat out downtown. Bland margarita and salsa and warm enchiladas.
Server was good but not over the top.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Sisters night out!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Experience was great. Waitress was very busy so service could have been better but overall very happy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Helpful waitress!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Malo is always a great experience! Great appetizers and drink selection, and an energetic and vibrant vibe. Our waiter, Dewey, provided great recommendations and was attentive and fun.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Noise was not good. Everything else super!!! The waiter we had was especially attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Good food, genuine waitress who wasn’t fake.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Love this place, the food is great, fun and different. The burrito with the tator tots in it is fantastic and huge, we both took home half our meals. The queso is awesome as well.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
19

Tweets by Malo