About Mallorca

1390 west 9th street
Cleveland, OH 44113
View Larger Map

The service and surroundings contribute to Mallorca's refined, romantic ambience. Our knowledgeable and extremely attentive waiters glide between laughing and whispering diners, available and informed but never obtrusive. Your wish is our command.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Portuguese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:30pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 687-9494

Website:
http://mallorcacleveland.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Our private rooms are for 25 or more people..

Private Party Contact:
Susana Demanuel: 8777330280

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wine

Mallorca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Groups (13)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1102 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Waiter slow. Never received meal. Server ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 3 days ago

Waiter slow. Never received meal. Server never asked us for order

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

We have gone to Mallorca every year for ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

We have gone to Mallorca every year for our anniversary, always wonderful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience started a little rough du ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our experience started a little rough due to being understaffed. However, even though things took a while to get going, the food is second to none.

We plan on returning again and again. Ask for Enrique...he saved the night for us!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I was unimpressed with Mallorca and woul ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was unimpressed with Mallorca and would not go back or recommend it to others. The server had way too many tables, so service was slow and spotty. The music was so quiet that the ambience was lacking and you felt like you were sitting in a quiet room with everyone listening to one another's conversations. Lastly, the food was mediocre. We both ordered seafood dishes, but the tuna was overcooked and hard. The "crab" stuffing with my salmon was heavy on the cream, but not sure I tasted any crab in it. The salmon was good, but overwhelmed by the stuffing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

When we arrived at Mallorca, we informed ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

When we arrived at Mallorca, we informed they were closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food and service.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding experience- look forward to ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Outstanding experience- look forward to returning. Every detail was attended to. Great staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wasn't impressed with the food. Servic ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wasn't impressed with the food. Service was excellent. Price was a bit much.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Family of 4 visiting Cleveland. First ti ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Family of 4 visiting Cleveland. First time in Mallorca. Excellent service and most enjoyable experience. Especially liked the appetizers

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Mallorca before for specia ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We've been to Mallorca before for special occasions. Last night we celebrated our 37th anniversary there and were not disappointed. The food was excellent and the staff couldn't have been nicer. I had bacon crusted shrimp and my wife had the large fillet and both were amazing. We of course, added a small carafe of their sangria that can't be beaten. Not only did they give us a free "candled" desert but also plied us with a free shot of almond liqueur. On the way out my wife asked to see the brand of liqueur so we could buy a bottle later. They showed us the bottle and gave us another free shot. We then walked to the Jack casino that completed a wonderful evening out. I highly recommend Mallorca.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been celebrating our anniversary ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We have been celebrating our anniversary at Mallorca every year. Last night we were extremely disappointed in the level of service. Had to ask for bread, could not get dirty plates cleared, and I was delivered someone else's meal. Food tasted great but something was obviously wrong with the staff. We will most likely select a different restaurant for our celebration next year. Sad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Great service, great food, hugh portions ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great service, great food, hugh portions (enough for another meal).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately my wife got very sick afte ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Unfortunately my wife got very sick after dinner. She had the fish stuffed with crab. Maybe food poisoning. All others in party did not have fish nor got sick. The porkchops were great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Since you enter to Mallorca people are w ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Since you enter to Mallorca people are wonderful. They greet you with a smile, take you to your table, offer you a drink, give you the special of the day and regular menu. Our host Jorge was #1! He explain the different offers, he had the knowledge of every single dish and the entire staff were right at our gable to collect plates, cups as we finish. The food was superb! We had the Paella and Lobster tails, it was wonderfully prepare and we enjoy every bite. Wish we have a place like it in Columbus. It was a great experience and we can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The kindest most genuine servers and hos ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The kindest most genuine servers and host-- enjoyed every moment bite!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went on a weekday around 5 pm. Best t ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We went on a weekday around 5 pm. Best time to go; it isn't the weekend and everyone else is going home. We had the place to ourselves. The service was exceptional. And the food was as excellent as we remembered it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at Mallorca but surely won't ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

First time at Mallorca but surely won't be the last. Outstanding service and food to match. Our table enjoyed a couple of veal dishes and a daily special of goat. Reasonable prices and friendly hosts.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Mallorca was all posit ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our experience at Mallorca was all positive from the moment we entered until we left. We arrived early and were seated in just a few minutes. The staff was friendly, attentive, and entertaining. They were very knowledgeable regarding the menu and wine list. There were five in our party and all were very pleased with the food. Five different selections and all delicious. The portions are such that we all took food home. Overall, it was a very enjoyable evening and definitely will return and recommend to others.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very disappointing. Overrated. Decent ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very disappointing. Overrated. Decent wine list is the only positive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Mallorca is an interesting restaurant th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Mallorca is an interesting restaurant that everyone should try at least once. Very good food, cocktails, wine list, and the servers are entertaining. Our only complaint was they were vague about prices (specials) and this can surprise when the check arrives. Some diners might also be a little put off by the joking and the way they respond to questions, not always providing direct answers. This is probably a bit intentional. Overall we had a good time, however, and enjoyed everything about Mallorca.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The best part of Mallorca is the menu se ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The best part of Mallorca is the menu selection and the quality of the food they serve. The broiled lobster tails were cooked to perfection, and the rice, mixed vegetables and Spanish potatoes were excellent. It was very busy when we were there and our waiter didn't really provide the level of service that is expected at a restaurant of this caliber. We ordered a second glass of wine, but the waiter did not bring it till we were done eating and ready to leave. He was very apologetic and said the second glass was "on the house," but it would have been more enjoyable if it had been served while we were still eating our dinner, and we would have been happy to pay for it. Otherwise, we very much enjoyed our meals and will certainly plan to return in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Did not like the table we were seated at ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Did not like the table we were seated at. When we asked to be moved our server said the other table was reserved for a party of 4. Hiwever, other 4 seating tables had 2 people dining at them. And I noticed they seated a couple (2 pepole) at the table we asked to be moved to. I do not intend to dine there ever again. The crab cakes are poor quality....too much filler. The crab stuffed shrimp are stuffed with a crab stuffing & u can barely taste the crab meat. I've gone to Mallorca on the Southside in Pittsburgh and the food has always been great. Very dissatisfied with the experience at the downtown Cleveland location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Lacking flavor, disappointed. Didn't li ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Lacking flavor, disappointed. Didn't live up to it's reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Traveled to Cleveland for family event. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Traveled to Cleveland for family event. Restaurant recommended by hotel staff. Great service. Great food. Decent price. Large helpings. Two talapas and one entree was more than enough for two.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We've gone to Mallorca for years, and it ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We've gone to Mallorca for years, and it continues to amaze! The food, atmosphere and service rank among the best of the best in Cleveland. They stay true to their Spanish-Portuguese heritage in every way. This is a great place to go for dinner when attending a theater or sports event downtown, as well as for that special celebration akk on it's own.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had eaten there previously a couple ye ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I had eaten there previously a couple years ago and the food was delicious. This time, the food was horrible. Swordfish was dry and tough from being overcooked and the Paella didn't fare any better; the seafood was way overcooked, dry, tough and tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

I have gone there before so I took my fr ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I have gone there before so I took my friend for her birthday being it was her favorite place.

Service was absolutely Horrible!!!! I will not go back again!!

It is ashame because it use to be one of my favorite restaurants as well!

I felt like we were invisible! Horrible! Very disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The staff was friendly and welcoming. Th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The staff was friendly and welcoming. The food was terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Worst service . Ok food .

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Worst service . Ok food .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

EXCELLENT DINING AT MALLORCA

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This was our first time dining at Mallorca. We were extremely happy with the waitstaff, who were all very friendly and attentive. The food was delicious and plated very nicely. We ordered mussels in fra-daviolo sauce and calamari for appetizers. The appetizers were very delicious. I ordered a sangria, which was very refreshing. For our entrees, my husband enjoyed the Paella he ordered and my son loved the Talapia Rellena he ordered. I ordered the shrimp wrapped in bacon in brandy sauce. This dish was delicious. We also ordered another Talapia Rellena to go for our older son, who was unable to dine with us. He also loved the Talapia Rellena. We ordered dessert and coffee after our dinner, flan and chocolate cake. The desserts and coffee were very tasty and were a nice way to end the meal. Mallorca has been added to our list of restaurants we love to dine at. We will be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best waiters ever.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

If you go without the large waiter than your missing the true Mallorca experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

A hidden gem of downtown Cleveland

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The service and food make this an authentic Spanish experience that should definitely be checked out! The servers were FANTASTIC. Fun, knowledgeable and just great to spend an evening dining with. The food is authentic and the menu is very representative of Spanish and Portuguese culture. The wine list is very well prepared as their many awards show. I think this restaurant has been forgotten with the tremendous growth of the downtown Cleveland food scene but it is definitely a must visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Wait Staff/Food

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Multiple waiters attend to you. We had five waiters for the four of us. Not ideal, but we were well served. They kind of put on a show and are pretty loud. As for the food, the paella was very good, surf and turf was good but only luke warm, the filet was very good, and the stuffed sole was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding food quality and portions. S ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Outstanding food quality and portions. Service is far beyond excellent!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was decent but the service was ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was decent but the service was terrible! We felt rushed to order. We ordered apps and got salads at same time. Our server never came back to our table after taking our orders to deliver food, ask how it was, refill water and other drinks. We then had to wait 20 minutes after they cleared our plates and request 3 times for our check! We wanted dessert bit at that point no one had asked and was such a production to get the check we just wanted out of there because we had tickets to show! Ridiculous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Good food, large portions, very loud server

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was good. Not great but good. Portion sizes were large. The server spoke very loudly, almost shouting, and stood very close. It was awkward and killed any possible ambience. He was, however, nice and friendly. The restaurant is very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

Dinner is my favorite.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I love having dinner at Mallorca. I love the people who work there and they always make my evening more fun. The food is soo good. The drinks are soo good. The people are soo friendly. I can't wait to go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Six Star Service

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food options are simply the best in town. The staff are EXCEPTIONAL! Five Stars are not enough to grade Mallorca.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent menu choices; delicious paella.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Very noisy; conversation impossible for much of the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Mallorca is one of our favorite places. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Mallorca is one of our favorite places. We ha be never been disappointed by the food or the service The staff always makes us feel special, yet at home.

Unfortunately this was our first visit this year, but we will make every effort to make it back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.