About Mallorca

1390 west 9th street
Cleveland, OH 44113
View Larger Map

The service and surroundings contribute to Mallorca's refined, romantic ambience. Our knowledgeable and extremely attentive waiters glide between laughing and whispering diners, available and informed but never obtrusive. Your wish is our command.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Portuguese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:30pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 687-9494

Website:
http://mallorcacleveland.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Our private rooms are for 25 or more people..

Private Party Contact:
Susana Demanuel: 8777330280

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Mallorca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (19)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Tapas (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Business Meals (2)
Historic (2)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent as usual

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had another OUTSTANDING me ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I had another OUTSTANDING meal!!!! Everyone at the restaurant is extremely friendly, a home like atmosphere!! Can't wait to return!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot in Cleveland. Great portions ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great spot in Cleveland. Great portions. Even better service. Sangia is delicious! Highly recommend, especially for something different than the usual American, Chinese, Italian, Mexican restaurants.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Mallorca never disappoints. Our guests f ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Mallorca never disappoints. Our guests from out of town could not stop talking about their meals

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very disappointed with our meal. 1 meal ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very disappointed with our meal. 1 meal out of 4 was good. Mine had to be sent back 2x. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

The restaurant is Amazing, the food was ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The restaurant is Amazing, the food was Amazing, the staff Amazing. Everyone from the waiter that poured the water to the chef was Amazing. Don't miss out go to this restaurant it is Amazing. We had a great time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had really good paella and a waiter w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had really good paella and a waiter who didn't steer us wrong on food or wine.

Tags: Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was very good, but overall f ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The service was very good, but overall food was disappointing. Bland and over cooked. Menu has lots of selections....perhaps they are trying to make too many entrees.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The restaurant was very quiet. The servi ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The restaurant was very quiet. The service was amazing. We were there celebrating a birthday and the wait staff brought us out cake and sage. The wine list was wonderful and the food delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a find. Service was genuine and ex ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

What a find. Service was genuine and excellent. Food was equally good.

Perhaps overshadowed by newer places about town, we will return here often for the sense of place and fresh, interesting meals. Mallorca deserves a spot on your must visit list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was very good.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great meal with excellent service. We a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great meal with excellent service. We always make this a stop when in Cleveland.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and plentiful, th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was excellent and plentiful, the wait staff was helpful, efficient, and attentive, the resturant was light, clean and pleasant. The only thing I would have liked was outdoor seating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Friendly, attentive waiting staff. Food ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Friendly, attentive waiting staff. Food was well prepared and plentiful. Atmosphere was fun

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

There was a hair in my food. I didn't sa ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

There was a hair in my food. I didn't say anything because was mom's birthday and I didn't want to take away from that so I'm not sure how they would have handled it. Also, I called that morning to tell them it was my mother's birthday and they said they would sing and bring out a dessert. They never did. Everyone else enjoyed it here but I was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value5

Lobster was way over cooked and my steak ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Lobster was way over cooked and my steak was way under cooked. My in-laws enjoyed their meals. Salad was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Waiter slow. Never received meal. Server ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Waiter slow. Never received meal. Server never asked us for order

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

We have gone to Mallorca every year for ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have gone to Mallorca every year for our anniversary, always wonderful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience started a little rough du ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our experience started a little rough due to being understaffed. However, even though things took a while to get going, the food is second to none.

We plan on returning again and again. Ask for Enrique...he saved the night for us!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I was unimpressed with Mallorca and woul ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I was unimpressed with Mallorca and would not go back or recommend it to others. The server had way too many tables, so service was slow and spotty. The music was so quiet that the ambience was lacking and you felt like you were sitting in a quiet room with everyone listening to one another's conversations. Lastly, the food was mediocre. We both ordered seafood dishes, but the tuna was overcooked and hard. The "crab" stuffing with my salmon was heavy on the cream, but not sure I tasted any crab in it. The salmon was good, but overwhelmed by the stuffing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

When we arrived at Mallorca, we informed ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

When we arrived at Mallorca, we informed they were closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food and service.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding experience- look forward to ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Outstanding experience- look forward to returning. Every detail was attended to. Great staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wasn't impressed with the food. Servic ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wasn't impressed with the food. Service was excellent. Price was a bit much.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Family of 4 visiting Cleveland. First ti ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Family of 4 visiting Cleveland. First time in Mallorca. Excellent service and most enjoyable experience. Especially liked the appetizers

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Mallorca before for specia ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We've been to Mallorca before for special occasions. Last night we celebrated our 37th anniversary there and were not disappointed. The food was excellent and the staff couldn't have been nicer. I had bacon crusted shrimp and my wife had the large fillet and both were amazing. We of course, added a small carafe of their sangria that can't be beaten. Not only did they give us a free "candled" desert but also plied us with a free shot of almond liqueur. On the way out my wife asked to see the brand of liqueur so we could buy a bottle later. They showed us the bottle and gave us another free shot. We then walked to the Jack casino that completed a wonderful evening out. I highly recommend Mallorca.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been celebrating our anniversary ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We have been celebrating our anniversary at Mallorca every year. Last night we were extremely disappointed in the level of service. Had to ask for bread, could not get dirty plates cleared, and I was delivered someone else's meal. Food tasted great but something was obviously wrong with the staff. We will most likely select a different restaurant for our celebration next year. Sad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Great service, great food, hugh portions ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great service, great food, hugh portions (enough for another meal).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately my wife got very sick afte ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Unfortunately my wife got very sick after dinner. She had the fish stuffed with crab. Maybe food poisoning. All others in party did not have fish nor got sick. The porkchops were great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Since you enter to Mallorca people are w ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Since you enter to Mallorca people are wonderful. They greet you with a smile, take you to your table, offer you a drink, give you the special of the day and regular menu. Our host Jorge was #1! He explain the different offers, he had the knowledge of every single dish and the entire staff were right at our gable to collect plates, cups as we finish. The food was superb! We had the Paella and Lobster tails, it was wonderfully prepare and we enjoy every bite. Wish we have a place like it in Columbus. It was a great experience and we can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The kindest most genuine servers and hos ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The kindest most genuine servers and host-- enjoyed every moment bite!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went on a weekday around 5 pm. Best t ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We went on a weekday around 5 pm. Best time to go; it isn't the weekend and everyone else is going home. We had the place to ourselves. The service was exceptional. And the food was as excellent as we remembered it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at Mallorca but surely won't ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

First time at Mallorca but surely won't be the last. Outstanding service and food to match. Our table enjoyed a couple of veal dishes and a daily special of goat. Reasonable prices and friendly hosts.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Mallorca was all posit ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our experience at Mallorca was all positive from the moment we entered until we left. We arrived early and were seated in just a few minutes. The staff was friendly, attentive, and entertaining. They were very knowledgeable regarding the menu and wine list. There were five in our party and all were very pleased with the food. Five different selections and all delicious. The portions are such that we all took food home. Overall, it was a very enjoyable evening and definitely will return and recommend to others.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very disappointing. Overrated. Decent ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very disappointing. Overrated. Decent wine list is the only positive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Mallorca is an interesting restaurant th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Mallorca is an interesting restaurant that everyone should try at least once. Very good food, cocktails, wine list, and the servers are entertaining. Our only complaint was they were vague about prices (specials) and this can surprise when the check arrives. Some diners might also be a little put off by the joking and the way they respond to questions, not always providing direct answers. This is probably a bit intentional. Overall we had a good time, however, and enjoyed everything about Mallorca.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The best part of Mallorca is the menu se ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The best part of Mallorca is the menu selection and the quality of the food they serve. The broiled lobster tails were cooked to perfection, and the rice, mixed vegetables and Spanish potatoes were excellent. It was very busy when we were there and our waiter didn't really provide the level of service that is expected at a restaurant of this caliber. We ordered a second glass of wine, but the waiter did not bring it till we were done eating and ready to leave. He was very apologetic and said the second glass was "on the house," but it would have been more enjoyable if it had been served while we were still eating our dinner, and we would have been happy to pay for it. Otherwise, we very much enjoyed our meals and will certainly plan to return in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Did not like the table we were seated at ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Did not like the table we were seated at. When we asked to be moved our server said the other table was reserved for a party of 4. Hiwever, other 4 seating tables had 2 people dining at them. And I noticed they seated a couple (2 pepole) at the table we asked to be moved to. I do not intend to dine there ever again. The crab cakes are poor quality....too much filler. The crab stuffed shrimp are stuffed with a crab stuffing & u can barely taste the crab meat. I've gone to Mallorca on the Southside in Pittsburgh and the food has always been great. Very dissatisfied with the experience at the downtown Cleveland location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Lacking flavor, disappointed. Didn't li ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Lacking flavor, disappointed. Didn't live up to it's reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Traveled to Cleveland for family event. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Traveled to Cleveland for family event. Restaurant recommended by hotel staff. Great service. Great food. Decent price. Large helpings. Two talapas and one entree was more than enough for two.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.