About Mallorca

1390 west 9th street
Cleveland, OH 44113
View Larger Map

The service and surroundings contribute to Mallorca's refined, romantic ambience. Our knowledgeable and extremely attentive waiters glide between laughing and whispering diners, available and informed but never obtrusive. Your wish is our command.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Portuguese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:30pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 687-9494

Website:
http://mallorcacleveland.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Our private rooms are for 25 or more people..

Private Party Contact:
Susana Demanuel: (877) 733-0280

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Mallorca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (24)
Good for a Date (24)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Business Meals (14)
Authentic (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Tapas (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Fun (8)
Cozy (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Family Style (5)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Historic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Private Room (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Spicy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Waterfront (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

Meal was delicious, but service was extremely slow. If you have plans after dinner make sure you give yourselves more than 2.5 hours for dinner.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

Authentic Spanish seafood, excellently prepared. Great value for lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was average. Service was very slow. Expensive for what you get. Side dish of chips really cheapens the experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

The evening was not a hit with our guests. The waiter took our order and did not even to bother telling us about the evening specials. I ordered filet and shrimp as one course and the "filet" was ridiculously tough. The meal took a long time to be delivered to our table and the waiter did not come back in between to let us know an update of when we would be served. The apple and cheese appetizer could have been put together by my six-year old nephew, very unimaginative. This will probably be my last time in to visit this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

The atmosphere was great. My wife ordered the swordfish and it was fantastic. I ordered the twin lobster tail with crab and it was cooked perfect. I would recommend this place for a good romantic dinner.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

We have gone to Mallorca regularly over the past 15-20 years and have observed a noticeable decline in service and food quality. Our party ordered surf and turf, T-bone, shrimp in bacon and another shrimp dish. The shrimp dishes were fine and well prepared but the lobster was dry and both steaks were under-seasoned and bland. The T-bone came cooked to well done instead of the requested medium. After our entrees were served no one came to check and ask how things were prepared so we had no opportunity to return them or ask for something else. Once the initial drink orders were filled no one returned to ask if we would like refills. Fortunately the water was refilled regularly.

The service was very, very slow. It took well over 30 minutes for our entrees to arrive. Fortunately we allowed two hours for dinner prior to our concert so we weren't late, but we did not have enough time to order dessert because it took so very long for the server to return to our table.

The senior service staff has appeared brusque, rushed and occasionally rude on our past two visits. They're usually fine tableside, but if you are walking to the restroom and encounter a service staff member in the hall or doorway they will charge through, almost running into you. This has happened to me more than once. Which makes sense if they're understaffed.

There are enough fine dining choices downtown not to be stuck at Mallorca. It was good while it lasted, but we'll be looking for someplace else next time we dine downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Not Impressed.

We found Mallorca on the Downtown Cleveland Restaurant Week website and decided to try something new so we made a reservation. We were seated when we arrived but then waited as one waiter after another said someone would be with us soon to take our order. We asked the 4th one about the restaurant week menu and he had no idea so another waiter eventually came. He didn't know either so we looked at the website on my iPhone and ordered from that.

The 2nd course salads came first - large and ordinary but the best thing was the fresh watercress. The shrimp in garlic was the best dish on the menu - well, actually, the only one with any real flavor. The broiled sausage was a large plate full of ... broiled sausage - way too much for one person to eat. The veal scallopini was quite tasteless, just plain white cheese. The stuffed salmon was edible but not really good considering all of the wonderful ingredients. For dessert, we both had the rum cake. That was fantastic! If I had realized this we could have spent less elsewhere then come here for the rum cake.

When the bill came, the waiter had forgotten to include our bottle of wine. We let him know and paid the full bill - a lot of money for quite mediocre food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I've been coming to Mallorca for years. Excellent Portguese style food. Seafood, Chicken, Steak. Every meal comes with rice and veggie sides. The sangria is refreshingly delicious. They have one in Pittsburgh as well which I've also been to. The service is impeccable and nearly every wait person has a jovial upbeat Portuguese tone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Need more servers that are attentative. Had to ask 3 servers for our drink refills. Also, they use to open up the napkins and put it on your lap. Not offered any dessert or after dinner drinks. Little things like that are forgotten about or stopped doing brought the appeal down. Especially, when you've been coming over the years and notice the change and declining service. Other than that, the food has remained delicious and worth going.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine Day. Ordered two dinners, one was wrong, they took both back then brought same dinners back to table. Guilted us into taking the wrong dinner, didn't charge us but ever got what we asked for. Never got asked for deserts either which we would have ordered. Just ok, nothing special They need to up the service side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We stopped in for Valentine's Day dinner, the restaurant was pretty slammed but that was to be expected. Food was delicious and served with lots of sides (I'm not sure how anyone can finish it!) Homemade sangria was fantastic as well. A bit on the pricey side but great for special occasions or dates.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have loved this restaurant for years. I remember the flaming sausage the impeccable service and the showmanship of the staff. It's all gone. The food remains great but they need to sit down and recapture their past flavor. It was so sad to see such a wonderful special place go so far downhill. Thank god we had great folks with us or the evening might have been a total loss. Good luck Mallorca. We won't be back for a very long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Horrible experience. Went for Valentine's Day. Our server was rude and rushed me when taking my order. The staff waited on other guests hand and foot, but totally disregarded our table. We had to ask for bread and refills of water. I wouldn't recommend anyone go here. That was our first time and we didn't even get our meal because after waiting an hour for our food, we left when it still had not arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Disappointed from previous years attending. Miss the vegetable bowl at the beginning of the meal and the after drink that use to be served when the meal was finished. It is a beautiful facility authentically decorated but the service was slow at times and rushed at others. The money spent could more be more enjoyed at Morton's or Pier W. The lobster was the toughest either of us have ever eaten. It was my husband's birthday and Mallorca was his favorite restaurant--been dining there often but this visit was not as special as it usually is/was.

All in all, I would recommend it but not for the specialty it once was but for the ambiance and for the extensive menu.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have been to Mallorca in Pittsburgh and loved it. Thinking would be similar, we were very disappointed. We were basically forgotten about, 2x we were asked if we wanted dessert (once by our waiter), when we had not yet received our dinners. We finally complained to the Maiter D, and it was still another 15 minutes. They did comp dessert and coffee. The food was good, but not nearly as good as Pittsburgh, and there were no specials, and no unique menu items. Could have gotten at any restaurant. Sad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We waited 2 hours for our entree, the table was wobbly, won't go back. I was embarrassed taking my wife there. BUT the food wasn't bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was good. A little noisy but the atmosphere was nice for a romantic occasion. The service was too slow but we were seated immediately when all the other restaurants told us there would be an hour wait.

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We arrived and were greeted, seated, and felt welcomed. We were told the specials and ordered drinks. Our appetizers were very good and our entrees were filling. Unfortunately, once we got our food, we were ignored. We waited 20-25 minutes to get the attention of the server to get our check. When our check arrived, they did not have the discount the 20% off that Open Table told us about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I rarely write a review and this is in fact the first time I have felt a need to on OpenTable, but our wonderful experience at Mallorca warrants one. My girlfriend and I were celebrating a special occasion downtown and figured we would try Mallorca. She had the stuffed tilapia and I had a filet mignon. We also split a crab cake appetizer and everything was cooked to perfection. I'd also recommend trying their sangria. On top of the delicious food, the wait staff was phenomenal. They were fun, attentive and made the experience that much better. These guys could have served us Easy Mac and I'd still give the restaurant five stars. We will certainly go back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food is not bad. But it is absolutely not authentic. They give steamed vegetables to the entrées. That would not happen in Mallorca, Spain. Vegatebles would be fried in olive oil, herbs and spices. It also didn't seem that they used olive oil for anything. In Spain literally everything has olive oil, especially the appetizer bread. The antipasto was just meat (sausage, salami) and cheese. Not authentic, there are always vegetables and olives in real Mallorcan restaurants.

Anyways, the desert was very nice. A coffee desert prepared with flames and liquor. The service still was very good.

So the restaurant is good, the food is also quite okay. But it is definitely not mallorcan food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The baby goat was outstanding, as were all our dishes. We weren't rushed and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The stuffed lobster tail is the best in town... the only thing I've ever order from here because it can't be beaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent food and service. I will defiantly be going back. Fantastic.

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Everything was exceptional. The wine list is terrific and fairly price; the regular menu is broad and the specials were unique. We simply enjoyed our visit and encourage others to visit as well.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was terrible. I ordered the special Chilean Sea Bass. It was very fishy in taste and smell. I love Chilean SeaBass. The service was good despite food. I will not dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was undercooked. Service took an exceptionally long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic cuisine and service. Great value for portion size

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

went here for dinner on new years eve after the tso concert at the Q.got there a little early for our reservation but were seated right away.service could not have been better.all the staff go out of their way to make your time there great!all the food from the salad and crabcakes to our main course (which by the way are huge portions)were fabulous!5stars for everything about this establishment!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were very excited to attend Mallorca for NYE. We understood how busy they were expecting to be bit the service definitely lacked in that it was a hurried and a rushed dining experience. The food and homemade sangria were exceptional and overall we enjoyed our visit. We will definitely be back!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had dinner there at Mallorica on New Years Eve. Enjoyed every part of the experience--The extraordinary food was matched by great service. Loved the broiled Spanish sausage appetizer along with a pitcher of their homemade Sangria. The entrees (stuffed twin lobsters with crab meat & mascarpone cheese and ribeye steak) were also phenomenal. Finished things off with a slice of chocolate cake, which was exceptional.

Given our experience, we would highly recommend. We'll definitely be going back as well!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We had a server who had been serving in various restaurants for over 4 decades. Obviously a pro! Everything was delicious and the ambiance was beautiful. Best bread I have ever had at a restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We chose to dine here because of how highly recommended it was on several sites. However on this particular night, the dinner was subpar. The chicken dish was very overcooked and even the bread on the table seemed stale. The service and ambiance were all great, but the meal itself was disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We had our work group holiday lunch and really enjoyed our meal. We were seated in the back room and it provided a more quiet atmosphere where we were able to talk and hear each other. The food was excellent. I chose this restaurant because of their authentic Spanish cuisine and the wide variety of items on the menu. All five of us were very happy with our plates - a variety of seafood and meat dishes. Staff members there are very happy and help make your meal very enjoyable. I would recommend this restaurant to my closest friends.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great service! Good food! Relaxed atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent service, atmosphere, and food! My wife and I enjoyed everything we ordered and the service was great!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Mallorca was delicious as usual. One of my favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great entrees, great atmosphere and service, but not necessarily romantic setting

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic service and yummy food. Very much recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Mallorca has become our Thanksgiving tradition. Their turkey is amazing as is their Chilean sea bass.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Carlos Enrique and Jorge you guys rock! I thought I was dining in Barcelona. What a wonderful way to celebrate the birthday of a dear nephew. Your attention to details and your presentation of meals were awesome. Muchas Gracias...and we'll be back.

Tags: Tapas, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Family Style, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Private Room, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always great seafood and lamb! Wonderful service! Fun place for a group of friends or a date.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We dined at Mallorca before going to the theater. Our waiter was aware of our time crunch and we were served relatively quickly. We didn't feel rushed and thoroughly enjoyed the entire dining experience. Had been here once before and forgot how great it is!!! Will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This is a great spot which has been around for a while but never fails to impress. Authentic, generous portions for the price, super-professional real WAITERS (not "servers") who are informative without being intrusive and anticipate one's needs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had 2 at our table, but were served enough for 4 people. Lots of take home bags

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was my first time and I was disappointed. I found a sticker on a lemon in my drink. Our waitor said here took my fork and laid it on my bread plate. Never came by to see if our food was prepared right.

We ordered dessert they came by (2 other waitirs) and us again what we wanted.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Loved it! Great Sangria. Entrees were delicious - even the bread was unique and flavorful. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Cleveland's best kept secret. Food, service, and ambience were incredible.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The server was wonderful !! Food was terrific and ALOT of food for $10- really great.

We went for my co-workers retirement. Will go back again.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Went for a family Birthday celebration... FANTASTIC !!! The food and service is impeccable !

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Good service and food. One suggestion is not serving butter in "tacky"pre packaged cups. Also fresher bread. And bland steamed vegetables served with every meal is healthy but boring. I suggest the restaurant offer a choice of vegetables with some originality! Otherwise, main dishes are plentiful and well prepared and large selection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.