Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Mallorca

The service and surroundings contribute to Mallorca's refined, romantic ambience. Our knowledgeable and extremely attentive waiters glide between laughing and whispering diners, available and informed but never obtrusive. Your wish is our command.

1390 west 9th street
Cleveland, OH 44113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Portuguese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:30pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 687-9494

Website:
http://mallorcacleveland.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Our private rooms are for 25 or more people..

Private Party Contact:
Susana Demanuel: (877) 733-0280

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Mallorca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Good for a Date (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
See All
Romantic (27)
Authentic (23)
Business Meals (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Cozy (13)
Tapas (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fun (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (7)
Family Style (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Healthy (3)
Historic (3)
Spicy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Private Room (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1269 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 3 days ago

The whole experience was wonderful. The restaurant is beautiful and in an old building that has retained all the charm and woodwork from the time it was built. We had paella, salmon and the vodka-sauced pasta. All the meals were quite good but the paella was the stand out. It was unbelievable how much seafood was in the paella for the price. The salads were interesting but would have benefited from a better dressing. We had 2 desserts- the chocolate cake and the limoncello cake. The chocolate cake was a dense dark chocolate cake. The lemon cake was moist and light and wasn't overly "lemony". The coffee was strong European coffee and a nice counterpoint to the desserts.

The wait staff was both attentive and entertaining. Dining here will not disappoint.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was fine. Nothing exceptional. But the value to what I got was great.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I had an amazing time. The customer service was gentle sweet very knowledgeable and can tell you everything about the menu. They were funny friendly. The atmosphere was very nice and romantic then say candle in every table and the silverware was spotless. The food was very good and I would definitely go back

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Casual, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Organic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Historic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Fun, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Service was impeccable as was the food. We really enjoyed a nice meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Absolutely the best stuff salmon ever ! Our waiter was awesome , helpful, and funny!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This place was great 2 thumbs up we will be back soon

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 7, 2017

This is my favorite place for lunch. The quality of the food and friendliness of the staff is unsurpassed. Will come back as often as possible.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great service! The interior may look slight outdated, but price is decent downtown Cleveland. Food quality have some room for improvement. Pretty good overall!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

All good, spent the entire evening the.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 28, 2017

I love this place, and have told everyone about it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 28, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants. The food was, as usual, delicious. They have the best paella in town. The stuffed salmon and grouper were wonderful as were our appetizers. Unfortunately the wait service wasn't up to their usual standards. Two of of us asked for take out containers for the leftovers. The waiter took one plate to the kitchen and returned with the container in a bag; the other person was handed an empty plastic container. Not what you expect from a one of the better restaurants in town.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Lunch visit for my wife's birthday. Fish special was great and I appreciated the excellent tasting large portion provided. We would go back again in a heartbeat. Took a short walk to Terminal Tower afterwards was fun. Waiter Enrique and staff were spot on for all of our requests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We took our Rotary exchange student, who is from Barcelona, to Mallorca for his birthday meal. Spanish food is what he misses the most and he was very satisfied with the taste and authenticity of the food. The ambiance was fabulous and the staff provided a rousing chorus as they sang to the birthday boy. It was a great experience and we will definitely visit again!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was great and a very good value. You won't go hungry if you eat here. Service was very good. There are 1-2 main waiters who take your order and bring your bill (when you ask for it) and MANY others who will tend to your every need. They work quickly. So quickly, that they actually cleared our bread before our dinners came, thinking we were already done. Wasn't an issue for us. I recommend you try - especially for some authentic mediterranean fare.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Is was our first time at Mallorca and we were very impressed. The high energy staff was very entertaining, the food delicious and it was so easy to hear each other talk.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Mallorca never disappoints. Always love it. Great menu. Great list of additional specials.
The service is outstanding. So many awesome servers with dynamic personalities and accents to ensure the ultimate dining experience. The food is superb. Try anything and everything and you will NOT be disappointed. If you haven't been to Mallorca in a while--it's time to get back there and remind yourself just how wonderful this restaurant is and why you ALWAYS have a memorable time there.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was great and portions were very large.
Way too many specials that were not listed on the menu; there were at least 8, maybe more.
Atmosphere was more casual than expected but as we were first time diners, that is on us. We would eat here again, for sure!
Restaurant claims to be Iberian though there are a lot of Italian influences as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very good food, reasonably priced, nice atmosphere,

Tags: Authentic, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Spanish cuisine with a great menu and very good staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Good food, excellent service. Perfect for before theater dining. They do not rush you but get you in and out as needed. Fun Spanish ambience

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We made reservations to accommodate a Sunday theatre performance and we were very pleased with our encounter. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our appetizer and entrees were delicious.
We would highly recommend this Mallorca to our friends and family.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We visited for Downtown Cleveland Restaurant week. It was packed and we did have to wait 30 minutes past our reserved time. The food was delicious and the table service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We were very disappointed with the food. On previous visits, the food has been delicious. We ordered several traditional dishes that we have eaten in Spain on many occasions. (the paella, and the tortilla de patatas, in particular). We have even ordered them at Mallorca previously. The tortilla was extremely bland -- the texture was wrong, the flavor was non-existant. The paella had very little flavor. We also ordered the steak special which was undercooked and the cut had a lot of fat on it. We did not like the bottle of wine, but the waiter made us keep it. Very disappointing for a final bill that was so high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Have eaten here many times and have never been disappointed. Service is outstanding.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We participated in Restaurant Week and decided to give Mallorica a try based on the description of the stuffed salmon.
The service was wonderful, the portions were generous and the salmon was great! Will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Meal was delicious, but service was extremely slow. If you have plans after dinner make sure you give yourselves more than 2.5 hours for dinner.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Authentic Spanish seafood, excellently prepared. Great value for lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was average. Service was very slow. Expensive for what you get. Side dish of chips really cheapens the experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The evening was not a hit with our guests. The waiter took our order and did not even to bother telling us about the evening specials. I ordered filet and shrimp as one course and the "filet" was ridiculously tough. The meal took a long time to be delivered to our table and the waiter did not come back in between to let us know an update of when we would be served. The apple and cheese appetizer could have been put together by my six-year old nephew, very unimaginative. This will probably be my last time in to visit this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The atmosphere was great. My wife ordered the swordfish and it was fantastic. I ordered the twin lobster tail with crab and it was cooked perfect. I would recommend this place for a good romantic dinner.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have gone to Mallorca regularly over the past 15-20 years and have observed a noticeable decline in service and food quality. Our party ordered surf and turf, T-bone, shrimp in bacon and another shrimp dish. The shrimp dishes were fine and well prepared but the lobster was dry and both steaks were under-seasoned and bland. The T-bone came cooked to well done instead of the requested medium. After our entrees were served no one came to check and ask how things were prepared so we had no opportunity to return them or ask for something else. Once the initial drink orders were filled no one returned to ask if we would like refills. Fortunately the water was refilled regularly.

The service was very, very slow. It took well over 30 minutes for our entrees to arrive. Fortunately we allowed two hours for dinner prior to our concert so we weren't late, but we did not have enough time to order dessert because it took so very long for the server to return to our table.

The senior service staff has appeared brusque, rushed and occasionally rude on our past two visits. They're usually fine tableside, but if you are walking to the restroom and encounter a service staff member in the hall or doorway they will charge through, almost running into you. This has happened to me more than once. Which makes sense if they're understaffed.

There are enough fine dining choices downtown not to be stuck at Mallorca. It was good while it lasted, but we'll be looking for someplace else next time we dine downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Not Impressed.

We found Mallorca on the Downtown Cleveland Restaurant Week website and decided to try something new so we made a reservation. We were seated when we arrived but then waited as one waiter after another said someone would be with us soon to take our order. We asked the 4th one about the restaurant week menu and he had no idea so another waiter eventually came. He didn't know either so we looked at the website on my iPhone and ordered from that.

The 2nd course salads came first - large and ordinary but the best thing was the fresh watercress. The shrimp in garlic was the best dish on the menu - well, actually, the only one with any real flavor. The broiled sausage was a large plate full of ... broiled sausage - way too much for one person to eat. The veal scallopini was quite tasteless, just plain white cheese. The stuffed salmon was edible but not really good considering all of the wonderful ingredients. For dessert, we both had the rum cake. That was fantastic! If I had realized this we could have spent less elsewhere then come here for the rum cake.

When the bill came, the waiter had forgotten to include our bottle of wine. We let him know and paid the full bill - a lot of money for quite mediocre food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I've been coming to Mallorca for years. Excellent Portguese style food. Seafood, Chicken, Steak. Every meal comes with rice and veggie sides. The sangria is refreshingly delicious. They have one in Pittsburgh as well which I've also been to. The service is impeccable and nearly every wait person has a jovial upbeat Portuguese tone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Need more servers that are attentative. Had to ask 3 servers for our drink refills. Also, they use to open up the napkins and put it on your lap. Not offered any dessert or after dinner drinks. Little things like that are forgotten about or stopped doing brought the appeal down. Especially, when you've been coming over the years and notice the change and declining service. Other than that, the food has remained delicious and worth going.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine Day. Ordered two dinners, one was wrong, they took both back then brought same dinners back to table. Guilted us into taking the wrong dinner, didn't charge us but ever got what we asked for. Never got asked for deserts either which we would have ordered. Just ok, nothing special They need to up the service side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We stopped in for Valentine's Day dinner, the restaurant was pretty slammed but that was to be expected. Food was delicious and served with lots of sides (I'm not sure how anyone can finish it!) Homemade sangria was fantastic as well. A bit on the pricey side but great for special occasions or dates.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have loved this restaurant for years. I remember the flaming sausage the impeccable service and the showmanship of the staff. It's all gone. The food remains great but they need to sit down and recapture their past flavor. It was so sad to see such a wonderful special place go so far downhill. Thank god we had great folks with us or the evening might have been a total loss. Good luck Mallorca. We won't be back for a very long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Horrible experience. Went for Valentine's Day. Our server was rude and rushed me when taking my order. The staff waited on other guests hand and foot, but totally disregarded our table. We had to ask for bread and refills of water. I wouldn't recommend anyone go here. That was our first time and we didn't even get our meal because after waiting an hour for our food, we left when it still had not arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Disappointed from previous years attending. Miss the vegetable bowl at the beginning of the meal and the after drink that use to be served when the meal was finished. It is a beautiful facility authentically decorated but the service was slow at times and rushed at others. The money spent could more be more enjoyed at Morton's or Pier W. The lobster was the toughest either of us have ever eaten. It was my husband's birthday and Mallorca was his favorite restaurant--been dining there often but this visit was not as special as it usually is/was.

All in all, I would recommend it but not for the specialty it once was but for the ambiance and for the extensive menu.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have been to Mallorca in Pittsburgh and loved it. Thinking would be similar, we were very disappointed. We were basically forgotten about, 2x we were asked if we wanted dessert (once by our waiter), when we had not yet received our dinners. We finally complained to the Maiter D, and it was still another 15 minutes. They did comp dessert and coffee. The food was good, but not nearly as good as Pittsburgh, and there were no specials, and no unique menu items. Could have gotten at any restaurant. Sad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.