About Mallorca

1390 west 9th street
Cleveland, OH 44113
View Larger Map

The service and surroundings contribute to Mallorca's refined, romantic ambience. Our knowledgeable and extremely attentive waiters glide between laughing and whispering diners, available and informed but never obtrusive. Your wish is our command.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish, Portuguese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm, Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:30pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 687-9494

Website:
http://mallorcacleveland.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Our private rooms are for 25 or more people..

Private Party Contact:
Susana Demanuel: 8777330280

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wine

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Come and join us for Dinner on Fathers Day from 1pm til 10pm
We will be offering plenty of Dinner and drink specials

Mallorca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (41)
romantic (35)
fit for foodies (32)
See All
good for groups (26)
neighborhood gem (24)
notable wine list (11)
great for lunch (9)
late-night find (8)
hot spot (7)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1072 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Best waiters ever.

Dined 4 days ago

If you go without the large waiter than your missing the true Mallorca experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

A hidden gem of downtown Cleveland

Dined on May 13, 2016

The service and food make this an authentic Spanish experience that should definitely be checked out! The servers were FANTASTIC. Fun, knowledgeable and just great to spend an evening dining with. The food is authentic and the menu is very representative of Spanish and Portuguese culture. The wine list is very well prepared as their many awards show. I think this restaurant has been forgotten with the tremendous growth of the downtown Cleveland food scene but it is definitely a must visit!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wait Staff/Food

Dined on May 8, 2016

Multiple waiters attend to you. We had five waiters for the four of us. Not ideal, but we were well served. They kind of put on a show and are pretty loud. As for the food, the paella was very good, surf and turf was good but only luke warm, the filet was very good, and the stuffed sole was good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food quality and portions. S ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Outstanding food quality and portions. Service is far beyond excellent!!!

food3
ambience2
service1

The food was decent but the service was ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was decent but the service was terrible! We felt rushed to order. We ordered apps and got salads at same time. Our server never came back to our table after taking our orders to deliver food, ask how it was, refill water and other drinks. We then had to wait 20 minutes after they cleared our plates and request 3 times for our check! We wanted dessert bit at that point no one had asked and was such a production to get the check we just wanted out of there because we had tickets to show! Ridiculous!

food3
ambience2
service3
value4

Good food, large portions, very loud server

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was good. Not great but good. Portion sizes were large. The server spoke very loudly, almost shouting, and stood very close. It was awkward and killed any possible ambience. He was, however, nice and friendly. The restaurant is very noisy.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner is my favorite.

Dined on April 29, 2016

I love having dinner at Mallorca. I love the people who work there and they always make my evening more fun. The food is soo good. The drinks are soo good. The people are soo friendly. I can't wait to go again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Six Star Service

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The food options are simply the best in town. The staff are EXCEPTIONAL! Five Stars are not enough to grade Mallorca.

food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Excellent menu choices; delicious paella.

Dined on April 5, 2016

Very noisy; conversation impossible for much of the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Mallorca is one of our favorite places. ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Mallorca is one of our favorite places. We ha be never been disappointed by the food or the service The staff always makes us feel special, yet at home. Unfortunately this was our first visit this year, but we will make every effort to make it back soon.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Birthday Dinner

Dined on March 6, 2016

This was the perfect place to celebrate my 40th birthday dinner with friends. I had a reservation for 12, we ended up with 8 in the party. a few people came late but were still promptly attended to and served. the food was exquisite. I had the rib eye and it was outstanding. Saffron rice is to die. The prices are reasonable and the quality is great. location cant be beat. This was my first time and I cant wait to dine here again in the warmer months.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

Rushed service. Lack of concern from staff.

Dined on February 28, 2016

Restaurant week is supposed to be an opportunity to try new places. Mallorca made it seem like there were 200 people waiting for our table. The food came out on top of each other and wasn't prepared as ordered. It was bland and lacked the quality and wasn't up to the level that the original pricing would require. The servers showed no concern and there was no manager on site. Truly disappointed in this experience.

food3
ambience2
service1

To be quite frank and fair, the service ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

To be quite frank and fair, the service was one of the worst services I have ever experienced in my life. We went there for my birthday and there was 10 of us. The server was very snoopy and kept saying how he been doing this for 4 years and he doesn't want to do it anymore. He kept us waiting for so long to take orders and every time we talk to him he would interrupt is saying that "he's not ready for us"!!! Food was definitely good but when you experience such a bad service, no matter how good the food is, it still is worst experience. I never ever advice anybody on dining there and I know I won't find there again.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was wonderful, a pleasant experience.

Dined on February 27, 2016

The food was wonderful, with generous portions. Service was quick, and the wait staff was nice, polite and attentive. It was loud, because it was crowded, but the pleasant atmosphere and great food more than made up for it. We definitely plan to be back to this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

PCat

Dined on February 27, 2016

This was our first visit and we had a wonderful experience. We tried this restaurant because it apart of Cleveland Restaurant Week. The service was great and food was outstanding. We will absolutely return and will recommend this to other people.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Terrible

Dined on February 27, 2016

Terrible food for restaurant week. Felt extremely rushed and did not enjoy anything

food5
ambience4
service4

Food was generous and tasty. Restaurant ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was generous and tasty. Restaurant week menu a great value! But as meal ended, they seem to forget about us. Table was cleared, glasses empty, it felt like they thought we paid. But we wanted desert. I had to flag someone for service.

food4
ambience5
service5

The Sangria is a must! Not too sweet! Pe ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

The Sangria is a must! Not too sweet! Perfect. Loved loved the grilled Octopus app. The stuffed sole with crab was excellent. Shrimp with red sauce was average. Shrimps were small. However the bowl was huge .. I'd rather have large shrimp with a smaller amount. We should have ordered a side. We liked the chips very much but we don't care for broccoli and cauliflower much. Tiramisu was very fresh and good also. Service was excellent.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful service--several waiters kept ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Wonderful service--several waiters kept checking on our table and our glasses of water were never even close to being empty. There were also plentiful portion sizes during restaurant week! It's ambient and the lights are dim enough for a romantic date, but also a friendly atmosphere for the family or a group of friends. The waiters were all extremely friendly and even offered Almond Vodka shots on the house, which were delicious.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service3

Great service and food. Love the atmosph ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

Great service and food. Love the atmosphere.

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Disappointed in the food, however the se ...

Dined on February 23, 2016

Disappointed in the food, however the service was good.

food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Good Food - Frenetic Service

Dined on February 23, 2016

First off, the food was good; perhaps closer to very good! And the location and curb appeal of the restaurant was fine! However, there were just too many concerns for a recommendation. Our biggest issue was the frenetic pace of the wait staff. SLOW DOWN people: you rushed about the dining rooms so much, it was distracting ! Also, some people want to relax and enjoy the dining experience. Secondly, get yourself organized: everyone seemed to be doing everything. Also, please print a daily sheet with the specials and place it inside the menu - there were so many specials, who could remember the particulars? Thirdly, lose the potato chips: if you are going to serve them: do it as an pre-appetizer with the drinks. Why they were served with fish and paella was beyond us. Also, lose the cold vegetables - totally un-needed. Lastly, new linens: yes, they were clean but they were worn and it showed!

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Cramped and terrible service.

Dined on February 21, 2016

I used to love this place. We waited 90 minutes for our dinner. Food was not even mediocre. Everything on the drink menu was out of stock. Three different kinds of scotch and ginger beer. What a mess. I will never go there again.

food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Terrible food and service. Inedible. Ter ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Terrible food and service. Inedible. Terrible representation of Cleveland Restaurant Week.

food1
ambience3
service2
value3

Previously good but this was a bad experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

The first server went over specials then ran off before we could ask any questions about the specials. No one checked on beverage refills until the dessert order. The service was in the bottom 3 of all my dining experiences. This was not our experience in the past visits. To top it all off my date got a mild case of food poisoning from the seafood.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant & exceptional service

Dined on February 14, 2016

Perfect restaurant for a romantic evening with a great wine list and exceptional service. Very impressed by the recommendations made by the servers as well as their attentiveness.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3

Service was not what I was used to. I th ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was not what I was used to. I think they over booked themselves for the night. But the food was amazing as always.

food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

The restaurant was understaffed and the food was cold.

food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Noisy and too much commotion but great food.

Dined on February 13, 2016

We have been to Mallorca numerous times over the past ten years but it is losing its appeal, and fast. The food is DELICIOUS. However, the tables are so close together that I was frequently hit in the back by waiters. My purse, which was under my chair, was kicked each time as well. I just sat there waiting for a tray to tip over to have food and beverages spill on my head, because teays were literally passed over my head. It was annoying. It also seemed that each table had servers attend frequently to it but we saw our waiter maybe three times; he even appeared bothered by us asking for a wine list, which I cannot believe we had to ask for anyway. It was just too busy and also too loud, though the noise level does not concern us too much. If they will stop packing in customers like sardines and overworking its employees to the point of each having sweat drip on me as each literally walks swiftly by (read: bumps into) me, they may get my service again. It would also be nice to have my bottle of wine on ice instead of plopped on my tabe for two hours. Again, nothing negative about the food (I highly recommend the shellfish casserole in garlic sauce), they just need to work on spacing and service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love this place!

Dined on February 13, 2016

I really love Mallorca! Everyone is so friendly, and make your dining experience enjoyable. The food is excellent and authentic. I recommend anyone to give this place a try. We make the trip at least once a year, and have gone the past 2 Valentine's Days.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Special night for me and my wife

Dined on February 12, 2016

Food was excellent! Service not so much.....Very disappointed in the service, not very attentive servers. Lot's of goofing around, and not much attention to detail. Not at all what I was expecting. Again the food was excellent, I would recommend your menu to everyone, they just need to work on the service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice time and service was outstandi ...

vip
Dined on February 5, 2016

Very nice time and service was outstanding! easy parking deck right next door, cool bar area.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Place, as Usual

Dined on February 5, 2016

We actually had a bit of a problem the last time we visited, due to some staffing challenges that evening. This time, they were back to their usual stellar performance. This was 8 PM on a Thursday evening. We were greeted like long lost friends, though we visit probably 2-3 times a year. The waiter that got us was personable and very friendly, and got the order correct. We had the Camarrones Mallorca - shrimp wrapped in bacon in a brandy sauce. Fantastic, as usual. Their only mistake: they forgot to include a pitcher of Sangria we had gotten on the bill. And when we told them, they only charged us for half of it, because we were honest. Well, to be honest again, we really love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Just OK

Dined on February 3, 2016

Had never been to this restaurant before, but heard about it. Was impressed with the extensive wine list by the bottle but low end wines by the glass. Two entrees: Steak was very good and cooked to order; Pork Chops were past well done and virtual shoe leather. Had another function to attend so no time to discuss with management. Interesting place but would not return.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A fine meal

vip
Dined on January 18, 2016

As always, we had a great dining experience and the entrees were delicious. The lamb shank special was terrific. We were a little disappointed that the tapas menu (which was included as part of the menu provided to us) was not available the evening we dined as it is one of the aspects of Mallorca that we have previously enjoyed.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service4

The meals were good, Not excellent imo. ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

The meals were good, Not excellent imo. A bit salty. Service was very attentive although it felt a little obtrusive although everyone was very polite. Even though it wasn't crowded it was kinda loud but part of it had to do with having loud neighbors. To be fair I do find most people annoying so I won't knock the restaurant for that but the acoustics of the place are poor for a romantic meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Guy's Night Out

Dined on January 16, 2016

Impeccable service coupled with great food. If you enjoy Spanish/Portuguese food this is a must visit in Pittsburgh.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Mallorca for the ambiance and se ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

We love Mallorca for the ambiance and service and it didn't disappoint. The menu is varied but the food is rather unremarkable. Twin lobster tails were less than flavorful (although we are used to New England lobster so lesson learned). Sea bass was good. Choice of a dessert for the birthday boy was appreciated. Still love Enriquez and his passionate explanations of the specials... I'm sure we will be back!

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

Dined on January 12, 2016

We have celebrated birthdays in your restaurant for decades!! It's the most enchanting experience!! Love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Outstanding food

Dined on January 9, 2016

The goat was fantastic! The lamb was fantastic! And, the homemade Sangria was fantastic! Highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.