About Malakor Thai Restaurant

101 SW 41st St
Suite G
Renton, WA 98057
View Larger Map

Ma.La.Kor came into fruition after two years of cultivation and patience. We had opened Basil Box at the Columbia Tower Atrium in downtown Seattle in 2012. It is a fast paced, cooked to order venue serving the tenants of Columbia Tower and its neighboring buildings, where they only have one hour to grab lunch.

With Natee Srithong at the culinary helm, we gained customer loyalty and confidence. But, Natee’s dream was always to operate a sit down restaurant, to have more time to get to know the customers and to share his passion of good food and Thai cuisine. Thus, he came to Papaya Corp with the idea of Ma.La.Kor, which means papaya in Thai.

We are proud that Natee has entrusted us with the realization of his dream. We humbly offer to you, our customers, the aromatic and savory cuisine of Natee’s homeland, prepared with much love and joy.

ขอขอบคุ

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Thai

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm;
Dinner:
Daily: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
East Valley RD

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 251-1968

Website:
http://www.malakorthai.com/

Catering:
Malakor is partnered with Papaya Catering to provide off-site food services. For full catering menu or for more information, please call (206) 686-8388.

Executive Chef:
Natee Srithong

Private Party Facilities:
Malakor's facility can accommodate up to 150 people for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Bryan: 4253064153x

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Malakor Thai Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

5.0

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
13 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and service!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

They didn't have sticky rice. Food just ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

They didn't have sticky rice. Food just wasn't like the Thai I'm used to in every other city. Lacked much flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Nice gem of a restaurant

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

We happened upon this place when staying at a nearby hotel before a flight a year or two ago. Great ambiance, plenty of parking, good food and attentive fast service. This was our third meal here; we tried different dishes recommended in reviews rather than the curries we favor. They were good, though the crab fried rice is something we are unlikely to order again. The only disappointment was they no longer offer a selection of wines by the glass. Just a house red and white though they've a very nice selection of wines if interested in a bottle. Opted for a Lemon Drop cocktail, not on the menu that the bartender served himself; it was wonderful, not too sweet. We will definitely come back again when we stay nearby before a flight.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It wasn't as good as normal. The curry w ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

It wasn't as good as normal. The curry was extremely thin and would not stay on the rice plus it was very sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The food here is great. Everything we or ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

The food here is great. Everything we ordered was delicious. The prices are less than most Thai restaurants even for their specialty dishes. We live over two hours away and come here when visiting Rent on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Be careful of the martinis

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

The martini looked like a double, but was half water. Way to ruin a shot of Bombay. Also the bartender said it was $7, but the check said $10. Food and door was good though.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good, but not great

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

This place serves decent Thai food in a lovely atmosphere. I definitely was not blown away by the food quality, and I was very disappointed at their responses about what they were/weren't willing to do to accommodate my dietary restrictions (ex: will not take fish sauce out of Pad Thai or Curry sauces). It was just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Really enjoyed Malakor

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Our group really enjoyed Malakor Thai. It is a great place to bring a group of people and their service is timely and friendly. We tried the two types of chicken wings, two curries and two different noodle dishes. The only minor issue is that they close at 9:00 pm on Friday evenings. We had to take our party somewhere else to end the night, but the dinner portion was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was very tasty! Service was excell ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 20, 2015

Food was very tasty! Service was excellent! Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Best crab wontons I've ever ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 11, 2015

Great food! Best crab wontons I've ever had! My colleague was happy that they were able to literally bring the heat regarding how spicy his dish was! When I'm in the area again, I'll definitely be back. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What a place

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 23, 2014

Great food and presentation. This little gym has reasonable prices as well. The location is a nice size. The only draw back is it's a little ackward to get to inside the plaza it's in.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice addition to the neighborhood

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on November 22, 2013

Three of us ate lunch here for the first time. Service was quick and friendly. We all had the hou & Sour soup which was delicious. My father-in-law ordered the ribs and he thought they were bland. In all fairness I tasted his ribs and I thought they were outstanding. To each his own. They graciously offered to replace the ribs with any other menu item. He chose the shrimp lunch dish and it was excellent. I had the Kung Pao and my mother-in-law the sweet and sour pork. Both were excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant and look forward to going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food, good time

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on October 13, 2013

Looking for a different restaurant in the neighborhood and BLU popped up. Decided we'd try it. Great idea, delicious options. Portions were a bit small for the price, but still tasty. We LOVE the mango ice cream here for dessert. Nice and creamy. Will be back again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.