About Makoto

Bal Harbour Shops 9700 Collins Ave
Bal Harbour, FL 33154
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr's newest Japanese restaurant, Makoto is located in the prestigious Bal Harbour Shops. Makoto features a modern Japanese menu including sushi bar selections, modern Japanese dishes, and bincho charcoal robata. A hand-crafted beverage program focused on sake compliments the cuisine. The dining room and sushi bar seating are available by reservation. Outdoor seating is available upon arrival.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily:11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm- 11:00pm

Cross Street:
96th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 864-8600

Website:
http://www.makoto-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered in front of the Collins Avenue side of the restaurant for $10/hour, $25 for VIP service. Self-parking is also available in the Shops lots and garage for $1.50/hour with validation.

Public Transit:
96th St and Collins Ave

Executive Chef:
Makoto Okuwa

Additional:
Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Makoto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Miami / Southeast Florida
Japanese
Miami - Dade County
Most Booked
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami ›

fit for foodies (111)
great for outdoor dining (94)
hot spot (67)
See All
great for lunch (66)
special occasion (59)
good for groups (54)
neighborhood gem (41)
romantic (32)
late-night find (22)
kid-friendly (19)
great for brunch (15)
vibrant bar scene (10)
notable wine list (9)
scenic view (7)
Sort By:
Newest
692 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Makoro is being reliable and best qualit ...

Dined 4 days ago

Makoro is being reliable and best quality of food since its opening

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A little bit snobby but all in all its a ...

Dined 5 days ago

A little bit snobby but all in all its always had great dishes and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

fOOD AND SERVICE

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

recommend great food but definitely need to know where u are seating can get to noisy and loud to have conversations

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Host was very cold and unfriendly. She ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Host was very cold and unfriendly. She advised us that they have availability, but then they were wide open on open table

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great mothers day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our waitress was awesome. Great food. Everyone was pleasantly nice.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent diner

Dined on May 7, 2016

Incredible service, food cooked perfect. They improved their quality and now are at next level. Go your friends or family you will have a great time.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Yesterday was another great visit. The f ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Yesterday was another great visit. The food was delicious as usual! The ambiance was great!!! However , I was disapoined with The Hostess attitude, she told us, that we couldn't Make reservations for outside. And I Told her, that I have requested an outside table, and it was In my reservation comments, because I have a dog. It wasn'r until my husband, argued with The Hostess, that she sat us at The , outside table. Do I really have to argue to spend my money at your outside table? There were Many empty tables outside!!!

food3
ambience3
service4

The house made soy sauce was bland and t ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

The house made soy sauce was bland and tasted weird. We asked for a non in house brand. Sushi was extremely sub par for an Iron Chef restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was exceptional as ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

The food and service was exceptional as always. Our server Beata was a true gem, always on the look out for empty glasses and assessing when and if we needed anything else. Crunchy tuna rice is the best there, compared to the way other restaurants do this dish. All the food is tasty and highly recommended is the sea bass!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service and place!! I love i ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great food, service and place!! I love it! Every time I'm in Miami I go there!

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Extremely professionally managed establishment

Dined on April 21, 2016

I have never been to Makoto when the service hasn't been amazingly attentive and efficient. The waitstaff is extremely accommodating and extraordinarily knowledgeable in terms of the menu , specials etc. This is clearly not a cookie-cutter assembly line kitchen. There were five of us and each one of us had a different entrée and we shared appetizers. Each plate was distinctive from the taste perspective ,well-prepared and beautifully presented. One gripe: The bar has a lousy poor. One of the worst in the city. Vodka neat was a mirror to ounces...... Other times cocktails were ordered and had to be returned because there was more mixer and very little alcohol. By the way the same thing goes for the pour at Le Zoo another Steven Starr restaurant. It's a skimpy and tight practice and frankly taints the otherwise generous atmosphere of the restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server, Louie, was wonderful. Helpfu ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Our server, Louie, was wonderful. Helpful Patient Efficient Professional and friendly

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing food no hype

Dined on April 17, 2016

Unlike most Miami restaurants that get rave reviews this restaurant pays close attention to detail without fussiness or pretense. The high quality ingredients are nicely featured and there is some play with the presentation but all in "good taste". I highly recommend the kobe beef, brussel sprouts, chicken wings, cauliflower, corn, eggplant, basically every item grilled on the robata grill is amazing (the thinly sliced beef is done by you at your table with a cute little hot stone). I really do no like duck but was encouraged by a friend to try the duck dish. The roasted pieces were really amazing and delicious. I was not loving the duck meatballs or the dipping sauce but the smoked/fried yuca accompanying the duck was really really yummy. Staff was friendly polite and decor is lovely. I went back two days later for dinner again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Every course was excellent, waiter was a ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Every course was excellent, waiter was awesome, fun and knowledgeable.

food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Makoto

Dined on April 15, 2016

Had dinner last night, high expectations for this former Iron Chef restaurateur. Being a Executive Chef myself I always appreciate talent and the ones who dare to break the Culinary boundaries with new flavors and creations.......but here was kind of a big let down. Restaurant was busy, Sat down and waited 20 minutes for a drink...in fact appetizers came out before the drinks did. Ambiance was so noisy that my ears are still ringing from the music and combination of the roar of not having the proper sound board installed. My date had a green tea caipiroska , she really enjoyed, I had the Makoto old fashioned which was terribly sweet with over abundance of fruit juice. The appetizers came before the drinks as I mentioned , fire and ice oysters were very outstanding! Great flavor combined with heat of the Serrano Chile outstanding presentation as well, Tuna Pizza was prepared well with fairly good and subtle flavor combos the micro greens with a remoulade and carpaccio sliced tuna on a cracker crust, the spicy tuna crispy rice was good but just lacking flavor. Then I ordered a rock shrimp tempura which the server brought a tempura shrimp Maki roll, not what I ordered but it was decent..standard. Finally ordered the rock shrimp tempura again and she brought it out along with broccoli tempura which I didn't order either and sent back, not sure where the confusion was from the noise or just miscommunication. Butbrock shrimp was good two different piles of rock shrimp with two different sauces, tasty. Finally we had been recommended the fruit toban yaki for dessert and what a disaster that dessert is...all over the board..custard sauce, fresh bananas , fresh berries, some kind of roasted Apple, these spongy homemade marshmallows, random cobbler pieces with a huge scoop of Mango sorbet in the middle. My date said it reminded her of something a 5 year old would make. Overall , just kinda a bad experience. Prices were steep for quality.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A Gem

Dined on April 14, 2016

Brought two of my best clients to dinner here with my team. We shared sushi, robota, and a number of other dishes. Wonderful experience. Round tables outside were a bit troubling for a party of six with three tables having to be moved together. Not much room for all of the good food! Recommend they create an area for a larger group. Excellent food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Brilliant!

Dined on April 11, 2016

I've been there before. It's really good... Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Disappointed

Dined on April 10, 2016

I had a reservation for 9:45 P.M., but I did not sit down until over 10 P.M. Most atendants were rude to us, specially our waitress who would not answer our questions properly and was in a really bad mood. The food was good, but the service was awful and I don't plan on going back to Makoto.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on April 9, 2016

Best maki ever. Crab salad is more than excellent, and so are the cocktails. The dessert with passion fruit and berries was also very delicious (and enough for 2!)

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Love it. Very good quality ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Great food! Love it. Very good quality. Authentic Japanese food with a little twist that make it fun and really great. Service is great and very professional.

food5
ambience5
service5

We love this restaurant. It's one of th ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

We love this restaurant. It's one of the best in Miami. Our waiter was superb.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always perfect

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Always perfect

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing on all levels. Best experience. ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Amazing on all levels. Best experience. Every time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect

Dined on April 3, 2016

everything was perfect, we were 3 and we ordered two fishes with some vegetables and was delicious. Outside seating is the best

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Makoto

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

It was a good lunch. Chef prepares delicious sushi and sashimi. Service was friendly. I strongly recommend fried rice, sushi and desserts (mango and white chocolate). I think they should organise their restaurant according to disabled people.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food and cocktails!

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Great meal, but the waiting of almost 20min was long since we have booked (and we saw couples arriving later and getting seated ahead of us) ...

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

:)

Dined on April 1, 2016

It was amazing! Service was fast, but not rushed. Food was excellent!!! Couldn't decide what to order! Inside and outside tables were beautiful!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service1

Worst service Ive had in a while, lunch ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Worst service Ive had in a while, lunch time, Restaurant half full. Terrible service. Shame

food2
ambience3
service1

The hostess was clueless and unprofessio ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

The hostess was clueless and unprofessional. Majority of the stuff has an attitude problem

food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Disappointing

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Our service was terribly slow. There were a few items we would not have received had we not reminded our waiter. The food is fine but overpriced for the size of the portions.

food5
ambience5
service5

one of the BEST restaurants in Florida. ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

one of the BEST restaurants in Florida. great food, innovative and nice also very good service

food5
ambience5
service5

Evrething is delicious, we ask the waite ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Evrething is delicious, we ask the waiter what to order

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food as always is excellent, but service ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Food as always is excellent, but service is spotty for the price point. Often have to look for the waiter and you can feel the fake friendliness coming from them. The busboys are actually friendly. If they can improve the service it would an excellent experience

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Repeat customer

Dined on March 20, 2016

My wife and I have gone to Makoto on many occassions, both for lunch and dinner. Although we prefer lunch, we have always been extremely happy and satisfied with the food and ambience. No better place for gourmet Japanese food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a great experience

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Always a great experience

food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious Japanese food. Beyond just sus ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

Delicious Japanese food. Beyond just sushi. Service was friendly and helpful with my children.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Having been a stalwart of Makoto since t ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Having been a stalwart of Makoto since they literally opened when customers were sparse, we have frequented this restaurant at least 3 times each time we visit our condo locally, six times a year. We have even been when Miami and Aventura were totally flooded and there were just a handful of stalwarts dining. The service has always been excellent and as has the food. We have noticed that both have been deteriorating. On our first visit this trip we ordered a favourite. Brussels Sprouts and all we got at the end of our meal was a bowl of leaves. Also, after over an hour at the table our hot stone Kobi Beef did not arrive and we cancelled it. We were told that the 'leaves' were how it was presented!!!! We were given a new bowl of sprouts which we took home. There was nothing to eat with them. Service was very slow and we were disappointed. This occasion whilst the server was attentive, the first past of our food all came in a rush within 15 minutes of seating. We then waited for over 40 minutes, with our server stating it would be 5 minutes, and five minutes .... for the rice and, again, the hot stone beef. We were just ready to cancel when it arrived. The stone was cold. You could see it was cold when they put it down on the table. It would not even cook one piece of beef. We finally caught the server who simply brought us another stone. Not really the answer . We finished the meat and asked for the rice, and half the house salad to go. When we got home they had put all the rice and the house salad in one very large box, the result was a whole load of mush! We will not be going for our third visit this trip. What is going on at Makoto??

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special occasion

Dined on March 7, 2016

This restaurant is known for its unusual and eye popping presentations and flavors. It is always an occasion. However , I would like to make a special note of appreciation for our service which was not only helpful, but thoughtful and caring. Our waiter and other helpful servers could not have been nicer. Our waiter even saw that our eyes had been larger than our stomachs in the ordering and had the good sense to cancel a vegetable we thought we needed, before we even asked. That is real attention. It is a special restaurant altogether but the service is the icing on the cake. My guest and I were really impressed and appreciative.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Miami !

Dined on March 4, 2016

Absolutely the best Asian restaurant in Miami. Went already several times and always had delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

It was a birthday celebration and we enj ...

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

It was a birthday celebration and we enjoyed the food very much . We started with Brussels sprouts followed by the Hibachi corn and eggplant . Then we had the lobster and soft shell rolls followed by a grilled bronzano. Each course was more delicious than the previous course . This is by far the best Japanese restaurant in the area!!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.