About Makoto

Bal Harbour Shops 9700 Collins Ave
Bal Harbour, FL 33154
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr's newest Japanese restaurant, Makoto is located in the prestigious Bal Harbour Shops. Makoto features a modern Japanese menu including sushi bar selections, modern Japanese dishes, and bincho charcoal robata. A hand-crafted beverage program focused on sake compliments the cuisine. The dining room and sushi bar seating are available by reservation. Outdoor seating is available upon arrival.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily:11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm- 11:00pm

Cross Street:
96th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 864-8600

Website:
http://www.makoto-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered in front of the Collins Avenue side of the restaurant for $10/hour, $25 for VIP service. Self-parking is also available in the Shops lots and garage for $1.50/hour with validation.

Public Transit:
96th St and Collins Ave

Executive Chef:
Makoto Okuwa

Additional:
Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
We will be open normal hours for Monday, July 4th! Please join us for lunch or dinner

Restaurant Photos

  • "Kobe"Beef
  • Rainbow Roll
  • Spicy Tuna Rolls
  • Watermelon "Ceviche"
"Kobe"Beef
Rainbow Roll
Spicy Tuna Rolls
Watermelon "Ceviche"

Makoto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Miami / Southeast Florida
Most Booked
Miami / Southeast Florida
Japanese
Miami - Dade County
1 More
Most Booked
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami ›

fit for foodies (75)
great for outdoor dining (57)
special occasion (50)
See All
hot spot (46)
great for lunch (41)
good for groups (33)
romantic (32)
neighborhood gem (31)
kid-friendly (17)
late-night find (11)
great for brunch (8)
notable wine list (7)
scenic view (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
Sort By:
Newest
741 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic Japanese offerings that are ta ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic Japanese offerings that are tasty and creative and portions are plentiful! The spicy tuna on crispy rice is fantastic and the frosty rice dish is out of this world! We will always come back to Makoto!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Recommended by a friend for our trip to ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Recommended by a friend for our trip to Miami. Food was absolutely devine, the selections were varied and interesting. Seafood was very fresh. Try the Himachi, Kobe beef, eggplant and rock shrimp. Brilliant. Went back the next day for lunch, it was so good. Excellent service, as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service. The fish was sup ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food and service. The fish was super fresh and the price wasn't bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious. Unique menu. Always ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was delicious. Unique menu. Always loved his food at Morimotos. There is usually a little bit of a wait without a reservation but the food is worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always food excellent, service going ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

As always food excellent, service going down one waitress for to many tables..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Presentation was only good for the price ...

vip
 (Hong Kong)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Presentation was only good for the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

I have been at makoto hundreds of time,t ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I have been at makoto hundreds of time,the waitress taken care with us was a total nightmare.She is a better fit for danny's instead.

Wagyu came in with appetizers which is the main course and we ordered 2 check came in total of 4 order.

99 times i have been makoto,i paid the check never seen wrong check before.

Makoto lost us forever.ps; they consistently change the menu items for god sake just let your servers notify,update customers about the change.

Ordered robata cauliflower,she freaking brought Whole cauliflower with wierd sause on top an whole big cauliflower like purchased from publix and ranch sause on top.

Horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

The service was quick and efficient. The ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The service was quick and efficient. The food was delicious as always; it never fails to wow us. We enjoyed it.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Although we paid like it was a Michelin ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Although we paid like it was a Michelin star rated restaurant it was not. When you go to a high end sushi bar you can taste quality fish almost in every nigiri. Not here. Apart from the Toro, every nigiri was just ok. Service took forever. Ok for trying, not returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Best restaurant in town we keep going ba ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Best restaurant in town we keep going back because we have not found a restaurant that tops the food at Makoto

It is still our favorite

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual the food was exceptional. Extre ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

As usual the food was exceptional. Extremely good and fresh. The service was regular. It wasn't crowed but the service wasn't good. All that said I still recommend the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Expensive but very good , service is als ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Expensive but very good , service is also very good!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Makoto is a delightful experience every ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Makoto is a delightful experience every single time: great service, unbelievable pricing, awesome food! Nothing goes wrong here...

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing food

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The flavors of the dishes, the service a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The flavors of the dishes, the service all good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's not easy to say a restaurant is ama ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It's not easy to say a restaurant is amazing , this restaurant is in every sense of the word, is one of the best in Miami Dade , good ambience , Good food , great service . I find Miami to be a very unique place , but the restaurants that are good usually the service is not excellent . I would defenetly give Makoto the upmost rating. By the the way we are not tourist!! We live in Coral Gables and we eat in Makoto often!! Would defenetly recomend it to everyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best crispy rice in town! Every dish ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The best crispy rice in town! Every dish is absolutely delicious especially the hot stone wagyu beef. It's also a great spot for a date. Dim lighting and pretty romantic setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was exceptional - so good, we w ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was exceptional - so good, we went back the next night to try some of the other items in the menu.

The bone in ribeye is a must. The presentation is phenomenal and the taste is even better. The crispy rice tuna rolls are also a must. If you like desert the fruit taban yaki is to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was exceptional.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food & courteous friendly serv ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Excellent food & courteous friendly service. Knowledgeable menu staff.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This Place is awesome The food is won ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This Place is awesome The food is wonderful, service impeccable, and they spent 2 years developing their own cold sake Don't skip this place but make a reservation

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Every dish a delightful surprise of grea ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Every dish a delightful surprise of great quality and new combinations. We were a party of 6 and tried a span of diverse dishes, each an outstanding hit!!! You can't go wrong with what you order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food as always never fails! Everythi ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food as always never fails! Everything was delicious. Fine dining at it's best!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the oh-toro sashimi for appetizers a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had the oh-toro sashimi for appetizers and robata grilled lamb chops and Wagyu short rib for an entree = perfection! All very amazingly delicious. My first time here and won't be my last I will come back to Florida for many of the restaurants I tried during vacation and this is definitely one of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food always good but the service lately ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food always good but the service lately is going down i do not know whats going on .... Always looking for our waitress ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Very fresh and delicious sushi, inventiv ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very fresh and delicious sushi, inventive and luxurious small plates and main courses. Everything we have tried, was very tasty and we will definitely be back to try the rest of the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Love Makoto! My favorite restaurant! Co ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Love Makoto! My favorite restaurant! Consistently excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everithing was amazing. I love this plac ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Everithing was amazing. I love this placen the sushi, sishito , meat and salmon was delicius

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

you can always count on good sushi quali ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

you can always count on good sushi quality at Makoto. It has the freshest sashimi in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic meal and service at the sushi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Fantastic meal and service at the sushi bar. Thanks everyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we ate was delicious! We were ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Everything we ate was delicious! We were very well advice about the options by the waiter. The place is very nicely decorated! Good service and lovely ambiance!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing food, we sampled a lot from the ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Amazing food, we sampled a lot from the menu and it was all fantastic. Along with the cocktails!! Will be back again shortly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Restaurant has great Food beautifull ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The Restaurant has great Food beautifull presentation of the plates. Excellent service very on time with my reservation.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

One of my faves. Love the energy and the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

One of my faves. Love the energy and the inventive food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The best meal we have ever had! amazing! ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The best meal we have ever had! amazing!!! I was excited to try it, but it was better than I could have imagined!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always top notch

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

must of dined at this establishment 20-25 times. everytime i go, everything about this place is top notch.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dissapointed

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

A) Confusing menu

B) Charged more than the quoted price

C) Tasteless entree's

D) Overpriced

E) No one in our party was interested in returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Always good

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Returning to Makoto after few month...always delicious, the food is fresh and well prepared. Unfortunately the service is not always what you expect..I received my main course before the starter and I was ready for the dessert while my husband was still waiting for his entrée.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Okay experience

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We were seated promptly and our waiter was very friendly. We ordered 3 appetizer/small plates and one entre (king salmon) and shared among three people. the broccoli tempura was delicious, and the spicy tuna crispy rice was wonderful. The California roll was fresh, but seemed sort of bland as compared to usual. The King Salmon entre took excessively long to be served, was undercooked (cooked, but too pink and mushy on the inside), and was not as good as usual. For how long it took, I'm not sure why it still was not cooked. The texture was unpleasant. However, the service was still great, and I will still go back, but probably just stick with the small plates.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.