About Makoto

Bal Harbour Shops 9700 Collins Ave
Bal Harbour, FL 33154
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr's newest Japanese restaurant, Makoto is located in the prestigious Bal Harbour Shops. Makoto features a modern Japanese menu including sushi bar selections, modern Japanese dishes, and bincho charcoal robata. A hand-crafted beverage program focused on sake compliments the cuisine. The dining room and sushi bar seating are available by reservation. Outdoor seating is available upon arrival.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily:11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm- 11:00pm

Cross Street:
96th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 864-8600

Website:
http://www.makoto-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered in front of the Collins Avenue side of the restaurant for $10/hour, $25 for VIP service. Self-parking is also available in the Shops lots and garage for $1.50/hour with validation.

Public Transit:
96th St and Collins Ave

Executive Chef:
Makoto Okuwa

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
We will be open normal hours for Monday, July 4th! Please join us for lunch or dinner

Restaurant Photos

  • "Kobe"Beef
  • Rainbow Roll
  • Spicy Tuna Rolls
  • Watermelon "Ceviche"
"Kobe"Beef
Rainbow Roll
Spicy Tuna Rolls
Watermelon "Ceviche"

Makoto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Miami / Southeast Florida
Most Booked
Miami / Southeast Florida
Most Booked
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami ›

Fit for Foodies (51)
Special Occasion (38)
Hot Spot (37)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Great for Lunch (33)
Good for Groups (28)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Romantic (19)
Kid-friendly (11)
Casual (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
People Watching (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Scenic View (4)
Cozy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Business Meals (3)
Authentic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
807 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great as always!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat us at a table not ready and floor ve ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

Sat us at a table not ready and floor very dirty...should have cleaned area set table and sat is such that we would want to eat there. It was gross and not sure why they sat us without checking table first very unprofessional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Nice dishes, wagyu was amazing, good win ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

Nice dishes, wagyu was amazing, good wine selection, full variety fresh fish, I loved the ribs.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restautant, great service, spe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent restautant, great service, spectacular food.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good but expensive

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Good but expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious. unfortunately th ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was delicious. unfortunately the service was very poor. The waitress was not attentive and plates were brought to the center of the table not to each individual which caused confusion. We also asked for an empty chair and they said none was available despite empty tables around us having extra empty chairs. The restaurant was extremely loud as wel which made it hard to hear the person next to you.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

I'm always perturbed when I go to a rest ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I'm always perturbed when I go to a restaurant and I have to ask for the Miami Spice menu!!!! If they want to offer Miami Spice I think they should give you the menu up-front!!!! We just had had dinner there Monday night and now on Friday afternoon we wanted to try their Miami Spice lunch!!! I had the Miso Sea Bass......SO good!!! Miami Spice was great value!!!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing food amazing atmosphere Would r ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Amazing food amazing atmosphere

Would recommend many dishes and would recommend to friends.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It took over 15 minutes for our table to ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

It took over 15 minutes for our table to get a class of water. Once the food arrived everything was extremely salty from the rice to the salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Very enjoyable experience. From the foo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Very enjoyable experience. From the food to the service to the ambiance. Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always amazingly good!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Food is always amazingly good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good simple yet sophisticated food, fres ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Good simple yet sophisticated food, fresh, nice menu. We enjoyed our diner and the service was excellent! Will be coming back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really good food! Had the miami spice sa ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Really good food! Had the miami spice sampler which was smaller portions but very satisfying.

Recommended!

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Can't get enough of their food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Can't get enough of their food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best sushi in Miami SIri and Apple usua ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Best sushi in Miami

SIri and Apple usually we request always courteous and attentive service

It's pricey but worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The server in this occasion was exceptio ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The server in this occasion was exceptional, it has not been that good in Makoto in a long time

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Such a beautiful mall, but the service w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Such a beautiful mall, but the service was ridiculously bad. Server and bussers were of poor quality

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Third time having dinner here with the f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Third time having dinner here with the family. Typically our service has been very good. This time however, our female server barely came by our table. We had to wait for long periods of time to refresh our drinks. She would service adjacent tables regularly, but overlooked us many times. When we finally requested a bus boy to bring us another soda, he just flat out refused and said he couldn't. I understand that there are restaurant protocols and hierarchy in terms of who does what, but all he had to do was say, "Sure, I'll have your server bring that over for you." Also, when we finished our meal, after waiting forever for the table to be cleared, our waitress finally asked if were done, only to tell us, I'll get someone to come and clean your table. ??? I'm sorry, is that beyond your job description? So, needless to say, we had to wait, AGAIN, just to get the table cleaned.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Excellent food, I really enjoyed the 3 d ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent food, I really enjoyed the 3 dishes that i tried and the waitress was phenomenal. She was very knowledgeable and helpful in helping us select our food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Makoto is always excellent!!! The qualit ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Makoto is always excellent!!!

The quality of the food is amazing and constant!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing dining experience. Only had a sh ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Amazing dining experience. Only had a short window to grab dinner before catching a flight. We were in and out in under 45 min! The short rib yaki noodles were to die for!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A loved the food.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

A loved the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It was good food, little over priced for ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

It was good food, little over priced for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Doesn't get any better then Makoto. Love ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Doesn't get any better then Makoto. Love the food, staff, service, ambiance. My favorite place in Miami.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess was very rude

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The hostess was very rude

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Cool neighborhood place with a chic vibe ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Cool neighborhood place with a chic vibe but not ostentatious. Brought our 17 year old son who is a picky eater, but really liked his steak. Ordered really fresh Hamachi ponzu and salmon sashimi. Terrific spicy brussel sprouts and desserts. Pricy but got what I paid for in terms of quality and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always enjoy the food here. Asiatic but ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Always enjoy the food here. Asiatic but very tasty. Love the seabass with miso sauce and the fried rice. It has also nice ambiance and always a nice service. Price range is not the cheapest but not so high. Good for lunch or dinner. The toward steaks are also a nice selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The tables are too close together. We w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The tables are too close together. We were unable to hold a conversation. The rainbow roll did not have much flavor. The shrimp kebab was tough. Not planning to go back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Amazing, as usual... Great place, great ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Amazing, as usual...

Great place, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I went for Miami Spice lunch with two co ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I went for Miami Spice lunch with two colleagues. We all enjoyed the Spicy Tuna Crispy Rice. I had the Salmon Avocado Maki (rolls), which were good, but my friend raved about the Miso Sea Bass with crispy kale. The mango pudding was enjoyable, my friends also mikes the chocolate yuzi bar. The quality and creativity of the good is outstanding and the Miami Spice Lynch menu is an incredible deal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We order The miami spice menu... Small p ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We order The miami spice menu... Small portions! Very fast Service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I expected more . It was overpriced fus ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I expected more . It was overpriced fusion Japanese

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Best Japanese restaurant in miami beach ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Best Japanese restaurant in miami beach with inventive meals

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

After being there many times I was very ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

After being there many times I was very disappointed. I was celebrating a birthday and the food was just okay. I don't know what happened to this restaurant. I don't know if I will go back there are so many other alternatives.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Always a good experience minus leaving n ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always a good experience minus leaving new tom ford glasses which I am certain I did and disappointed that staff didn't return it. Very sad as it leaves me with bad experience!! Don't ever accidentally leave your valuables - they will not be returned. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went back as in the past years we had a ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went back as in the past years we had a great experience during the Miami Spice event for lunch, we went back this year as it used to be great but I have to say that the quantity of food was really really small, everything good but really super super small, even too small for appetizers, so for this I don't think that it was worth having the Miami Spice. I don't know what happened between this year offer and two years ago where I remember going there for lunch for the Miami Spice and going home with food as I could not eat it all........................... hopefully if you go there and pay the normal price and not the menu the portions are reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

The entire experience from beginning to ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The entire experience from beginning to end was incredible! I highly recommend making reservations at Makoto and eat at the Sushi Bar and ask for Chef Ryan you will not be disappointed - trust me!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always Makoto's food was exelent, but ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

As always Makoto's food was exelent, but this time it tasted better becausr we had a great server by the name of Emmanuel. Best service I have received ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice place, food was good but not e ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Very nice place, food was good but not exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

If you want to get some tasty meal and e ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

If you want to get some tasty meal and enjoy good service this place is definitely NOT for you! The only things I tasted were salt and rice. But it is great place to show your outfit if that is your goal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.