About Makoto

Bal Harbour Shops 9700 Collins Ave
Bal Harbour, FL 33154
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr's newest Japanese restaurant, Makoto is located in the prestigious Bal Harbour Shops. Makoto features a modern Japanese menu including sushi bar selections, modern Japanese dishes, and bincho charcoal robata. A hand-crafted beverage program focused on sake compliments the cuisine. The dining room and sushi bar seating are available by reservation. Outdoor seating is available upon arrival.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily:11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm- 11:00pm

Cross Street:
96th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 864-8600

Website:
http://www.makoto-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered in front of the Collins Avenue side of the restaurant for $10/hour, $25 for VIP service. Self-parking is also available in the Shops lots and garage for $1.50/hour with validation.

Public Transit:
96th St and Collins Ave

Executive Chef:
Makoto Okuwa

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
We will be open normal hours for Monday, July 4th! Please join us for lunch or dinner

Restaurant Photos

  • "Kobe"Beef - Makoto, Bal Harbour, FL
  • Rainbow Roll - Makoto, Bal Harbour, FL
  • Spicy Tuna Rolls - Makoto, Bal Harbour, FL
  • Watermelon "Ceviche" - Makoto, Bal Harbour, FL
"Kobe"Beef - Makoto, Bal Harbour, FL
Rainbow Roll - Makoto, Bal Harbour, FL
Spicy Tuna Rolls - Makoto, Bal Harbour, FL
Watermelon "Ceviche" - Makoto, Bal Harbour, FL

Makoto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Miami / Southeast Florida
Most Booked
Miami / Southeast Florida
Most Booked
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami ›

Fit for Foodies (30)
Special Occasion (27)
Great for Lunch (24)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Hot Spot (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
People Watching (11)
Romantic (10)
Casual (10)
Healthy (10)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Family Style (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Fun (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Business Meals (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Spicy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
858 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I always eat at this restaurant and last ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

I always eat at this restaurant and last night I felt sick after eating there. Something was not fresh. I do not recommend it anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

We had a terrific server and the setting ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a terrific server and the setting is lovely. The chicken salad is delicious though I prefer the chicken shaved as was previously the case. And, I would not order the tuna pizza again as it had hot peppers - not described on the menu - and too much sauce. That said - Makoto is terrific, especially the sushi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always amazing food, no matter what the ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Always amazing food, no matter what the dish. We order something different almost every time we go and are never disappointed (the only minor exception was the vegetarian sushi, which was not remarkable, at least compared to everything else on the menu). The service was terrific, and the wait was quite short for a Saturday night (9:15 p.m. reservation).

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

From the moment we entered and checked i ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

From the moment we entered and checked in at the podium the staff was professional and accommodating. ....well groomed!@.............the bar pours an excellent martini and the manager is actively present in the front of the house.

The menu is varied enough to satisfy many palates and each has a unique flavor........served fresh and hot!

Tags: Family Style, People Watching, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

the food was good but the server was unb ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 26, 2016

the food was good but the server was unbearable in her intents to make us spend more.

from bringing $6 water bottles without being asked to and also making us over order claiming that we were ordering very little.

she ruined our night

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was awesome. Delicious cocktails. T ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Food was awesome. Delicious cocktails. The sea bass and Japanese wagyu were total delights. I would also recommend the Kani salad. Service was very attentive. But during dinner hours the noise level can be really high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not sure all fish is actually the fish i ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Not sure all fish is actually the fish it says it is

Lighting is extremely poor so they could serve any cheap fish and pass it off

Place felt very dirty and again how would clientele know since lighting is so poor

Nice smiling staff but we left uneasy that food was subpar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Excellent place

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Excellent place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great to go! The food is so amaz ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Always great to go! The food is so amazing! I had the noodles with short ribs and they where soooo good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service is poor. The food overrated and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service is poor. The food overrated and over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Great ambiance and location, food bland ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great ambiance and location, food bland and service a tad intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

It was our first time dining here and in ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 19, 2016

It was our first time dining here and initially, we were seated EXTREMELY close to another couple...basically hearing their whole conversation, however, not wanting to wait for another table, we chose to stay. It worked out fine, dinner was fabulous and we ended up making small talk with the couple seated beside us. Wonderful night and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Some items are small in size and Expensi ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Some items are small in size and Expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the watercress salad, sashimi The ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I love the watercress salad, sashimi

The rolls looked kinda strange, very sloppy; i ve had better on previous visits

Cooked food is usually good, but we mainly eat sushi here.

Didn't have dessert, hope next time they will have gluten free dark chocolate dessert (lactose free)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Love this Japanese restaurant. One of th ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Love this Japanese restaurant. One of the best in Miami! The sea bass OMG! sooo good as well as the waygyu carpaccio, the tuna tartar and the house salad. The only thing we don't like is that the dishes are served randomly so you never eat all together...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Whoever was the Caucasian middle age wom ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Whoever was the Caucasian middle age women server outside tonight, it was not her night. Didn't come with water for 10 min and immediately had an attitude when she arrived. We ordered the wagu robata, and we were given something else. She then claimed that what we wanted was called hot stones, not robata and basically blamed us for the mistake. I have been to the restaurant many times so I knew she wasn't correct. We ended up waiting over an hour for the wagu appetizer. In general, j felt a lot of negativity towards my friend and I in general. All in all, it was such a horrible experience at a restaurant I frequent and love that I had to submit a complaint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Love the food and atmosphere... Service ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Love the food and atmosphere... Service is excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Muy rico, la cocina es muy creativa y la ...

 
 (México)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Muy rico, la cocina es muy creativa y las porciones de pequeñas a medianas.

El ambiente es tranquilo y relajada.

Muy recomendable.

Tags: Bocado rápido, ocasión especial, punto de atracción, Conversación tranquila, Cocina creativa
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great as always faboulous food and ambie ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 11, 2016

great as always faboulous food and ambience

we go everytime we are in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just perfectly great food and service. w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Just perfectly great food and service.

will recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent food. The setting in t ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always excellent food. The setting in the Bal Harbour Shops always makes for an enjoyable (but not inexpensive) dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent all around experience. Great f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent all around experience. Great food and top notch service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent. Not the first ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Everything was excellent. Not the first time we were there. We were real hungry so we ordered more than we can handle but we had no problem taking home leftovers. Our servers name was Oscar. He was exceptional. Very attentative. Nothing on the menu is a disappointment. We had the crispy tuna sushi, spicy edamame, a noodle with short rib dish. The whole cauliflower robato was out of this world. Grilled to perfection. And we each had sushi rolls. Good to go with more people so that you can taste more things on the menu. We didn't have dessert but their desserts are also excellent. And maybe it's crazy to mention but even the espresso was the best I've had in a long time in a restaurant. Perfect amount. Cup was hot as it should be and the coffee was really hot not warm. Perfect to my liking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always have a delightful time. The se ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We always have a delightful time. The servers give the most impeccable service. Everything served is delicious. We were allowed to decorate the table with a beautiful bouquet of flowers. I promise you will adore. You can tell everything is done with love and adoration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food, but I did feel like I am din ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

great food, but I did feel like I am dining in a mall, as upscale as it was, surrounded by girlfriends and ladies that just completed shopping.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

we went there for sushi to eat but selec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

we went there for sushi to eat but selection was limited and its not worthed expensive

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The food is good but it lacks originalit ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The food is good but it lacks originality. Lots of dishes are the same as Morimoto's and they copied some of other restaurants (crispy rice from Spice Market), and are not as good.

The service was nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We continue to come back year after year ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We continue to come back year after year as they continue to deliver extraordinary quality with exceptional service. The food was excellent and our waitress was a delight to deal with.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and eclectic - eight ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was excellent and eclectic - eight of us shared many different dishes at the suggestion of our wonderful waitress whose name I could not catch because it was sooo noisy in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A fantastic Sunday lunch. Food and prese ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 16, 2016

A fantastic Sunday lunch. Food and presentation were outstanding. Easy to see why it's THE place to dine in Bal Harbour,

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Modern Decor, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was a little fast and aggressive ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Service was a little fast and aggressive but food was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

This is a very interesting Japanese rest ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 12, 2016

This is a very interesting Japanese restaurant. The menus is extensive and all the dishes we ate were fresh and expertly prepared. The waiter seemed distracted and hurried, although they were not that busy. But overall we enjoyed the experience, but would probably not try this again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Everything at Makoto is top shelf. Reall ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Everything at Makoto is top shelf. Really can't get better.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My thirteen year son is enamored with Ma ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 7, 2016

My thirteen year son is enamored with Makoto, so we celebrated his birthday there. The hostess was so kind that she sang to him one on one.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always love this place. The food is amaz ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Always love this place. The food is amazing and the ambience incredible.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Makoto is a consistently delicious and c ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Makoto is a consistently delicious and cool restaurant with fresh seafood and good tunes playing throughout the venue.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice as usual good food and service best ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Nice as usual good food and service best in the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great taste as usual.

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great taste as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

READ MENU PRICES CAREFULLY!!! For some ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 30, 2016

READ MENU PRICES CAREFULLY!!! For some bizarre reason, Makoto uses "Vertical Bars ( | )" instead of the number "1" in all their pricing containing a number "1" throughout the entire menu.

All the pricing numbers are bold and easy to read but if the price has a "1", the "Vertical Bar" is in lighter print and offset from the second number just enough for you to overlook it in Makoto's dim lighting.

So, what looks like $8 beers are actually $18 beers. ( Listed as | 8 ). I find this somewhat deceptive in that it is an obvious and deliberate printing deviation from what essentially any other restaurant menu would normally look like.

We dined on a Friday night and were seated outside at our reservation time. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable and any question she didnt' know, she quickly found the answer. Robata and sushi are excellent, but those $18 or | 8 beers didn't taste as good in retrospect.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Usually this is one of my favorite place ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Usually this is one of my favorite places for dinner. For the first time the food was below their normal standard of amazing. Everything just seemed a bit off. Edamame over cooked, crispy rice was overly crispy and came out so fast it had to be for someone else who didn't want it because it didn't taste fresh. Don't get me wrong, I love this place. Unfortunately my last visit was not up to the standards Makoto usually holds itself to. I definitely will be back because it had to be an off night for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.