Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Makoto

Stephen Starr's newest Japanese restaurant, Makoto is located in the prestigious Bal Harbour Shops. Makoto features a modern Japanese menu including sushi bar selections, modern Japanese dishes, and bincho charcoal robata. A hand-crafted beverage program focused on sake compliments the cuisine. The dining room and sushi bar seating are available by reservation. Outdoor seating is available upon arrival.

Bal Harbour Shops 9700 Collins Ave
Bal Harbour, FL 33154
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily:11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm- 11:00pm

Cross Street:
96th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 864-8600

Website:
http://www.makoto-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered in front of the Collins Avenue side of the restaurant for $10/hour, $25 for VIP service. Self-parking is also available in the Shops lots and garage for $1.50/hour with validation.

Public Transit:
96th St and Collins Ave

Executive Chef:
Makoto Okuwa

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
We will be open normal hours for Monday, July 4th! Please join us for lunch or dinner

Makoto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (54)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Hot Spot (40)
See All
Good for a Date (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Casual (29)
People Watching (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Good for Groups (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Modern Decor (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Fun (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Romantic (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Family Style (17)
Authentic (14)
Cozy (13)
Tapas (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Spicy (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Business Meals (9)
Healthy (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vegan (4)
Scenic View (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Private Room (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1084 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

always great. we are local and Makoto is our "go to" place.
service excellent, friendly and feels like "cheers" everybody knows my name...and my food allergies!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (México)·Dined 4 days ago

I love the food and wines specially the Rosé selection. The best is the crunchy spicy roll that is baked. Wagyu Robata short ribs and Tiger Robata are delicious.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Cozy, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Great!! Everything was super fresh and tasted delicious. Sat at sushi bar and interacted with chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

The place its nice, the hostes and the waiter were kind, the food was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

It's always excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Makoto is always a pleasure!
High quality food hat never changes.
Love the ambiance, nice service and amazing food!
Dessert delicious!!!
Must go!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Food is fine a bit expensive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It's great as usual

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food and service always perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Celebrating mother's day. Excellent service and food quality. Definitely will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Was not impressed this time 4th time and started at the hostess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great from start to finish ! Spicy tuna on crispy rice is fantastic... having said that, everything we ordered was great! Service was great as well.
Highly recommended ...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Love the food it's absolutely delicious, One of my favorite restaurant!!!!❤

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 11, 2017

From the minute we walked into the restaurant, we were greeted by a smiling staff who seated us promptly. Tim the manager came over and made us filled welcomed. After that it was all up hill. Course after course of perfection. Makoto is easily top 5 restaurant in south FL. Waitress Siri was a gem. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Inside the restaurant is quite noisy so it makes it difficult to engage and chat with the person you are with.

I was disappointed because we were looking forward to having the whole Branzino; however we were advised that the restaurant did not have any remaining ...so we opted for lamb chops and sushi.
We asked for medium well Lamb chops but they were served dry and overly cooked.

Sadly while we were there we overheard two ladies next to our table complaining to the restaurant manager or designee.

Overall, I was quite disappointed with my dining experience at Makoto...having been there numerous times prior, I've had better experiences. This last visit however, was far from enjoyable.

Please note that our waitress was very polite and kept things pleasant.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I went with my husband and we had a good experience. The food was good, the price is not crazy and we had a good service

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

in Bal Harbor so already know it will be expensive. Very noisy atmosphere, you can only talk to the person next to you. Food comes out when it is made mostly tapas so you don't eat in any order. not typical sushi combos but good.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great food. Terrible service as usual

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

For Japanese restaurant in such prestige area and high price, fish should be higher grade

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 1, 2017

great food, great service - loved it and would go back again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 1, 2017

My reservation was for 10 pm and as soon as we got seated the waiter said the kitchen was closed, so , why they accepted the reservation then? Totally non-sense

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Makoto has easily become my favorite lunch spot. Order the wagyu cooked on hot stones with a bowl of wagyu fried rice. You're welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

muy buena comida y la atención excelente
ubicación privilegiada y estacionamiento disponible

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service before we were seated was not good. We had a reservation for 9 o'clock, got there 5 minutes early and they wouldn't seat us because they were "waiting for another 9:00 reservation to show up". Only after 9:15, when "the other reservation" didn't show, they let us on the table. I still don't understand what happened, why was my reservation secondary to the other?? But other than that, food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Amazing food and good service will def be back

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food is fresh and fantastic, there is something for everyone, a good option for Asian with Sushi and something for non Sushi eaters. We had a birthday, we ordered family style. I recommend it being done this way so your group can share the culinary delights. The food is pan Asian but has something for everyone. The raw food was the freshest I've eaten. The cooked food was delicious and not just an add on for the non Sushi crowd. The robota grill offer special treats. I can't say enough how much our entire group enjoyed the food, the table and the scene.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

They seem to be loosing their act all together. Starting with never having a table ready on time, trying to squeeze 5 people at 4 person table and ending with food portions getting to be half the size of just 6 or 9 months ago. Hostesses are arrogant and not listening to guests comments only "spitting out" cliche statements told to use - making guests feel that "they are for the restaurant and that the restaurant is for them". I guess too much success gets into everyone's head or the current management is completely unaware of what's doing on.
To top everything the state of mess and dirt in the bathrooms reminds more a place from a 3rd world country somewhere and not from US ! Health and safety inspectors should close the place down just for this issue alone !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 28, 2017

One of the best japanese restaurant in Miami, in my opinion. Extensive menu with a lot of appealing dishes, very fusion more than traditional japanese. Everything is delicious and we could happily eat there at least once a week. It isn't a cheap meal but the value is actually quite good given the generous sizes of the portions and the quality of the food.

It is nice to seat outside but there isn't much of a view (on Bal Harbour car park), however if you go in the evening you dont really notice it. Always very busy and popular so booking is recommended especially towards the end of the week/weekends!

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We were disappointed in the sushi selection (rolls in particular) and what we did order was "meh". Think the secret here is to graze your way through the other menu items. Service was great - well paced, no rushing and allowed us to linger over our wine. Great people watching but if you're thinking of outdoors beware of flies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Good as usual but not impressed! Maybe next time would be better...

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great menu -- interesting combinations of flavours. Overall, delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Had an enjoyable meal at Makoto. My only bone to pick was over the chefs sampler- it seemed like a small amount of sushi for 65 dollars...you can get more bang for your buck picking out individual rolls and/or sashimi. Besides that, the food was wonderful. We really enjoyed the short rib noodles and the edamame was of course delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Good and consistent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Arrived with reservation 10.45pm. The hostess told us the kitchen closed 11pm. We got our order in with just seconds to spare, but overall was great. Awesome food with good ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great location beautiful people great rolls and food perfect service. We love the place!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Some of the best food I've had in a while. Kudos to makoto!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Overall it was a nice experience. However, we had problems with our table. It wasn't ready when we arrived, even though I had booked it two days before. And it seemed like they didn't want to give us one because they offered eating at the bar.
Another thing is that it was extremely loud and noisy. Very poor acoustics.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Makoto is always wonderful, the food and service is always up to par.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Always good! Very good service This time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Food was great. The waitress was nice however very busy so she didn't really check back on us too often . Everyone seemed rushed like they were understaffed . Pretty busy for a Tuesday night

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.