Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Makoto

Stephen Starr's newest Japanese restaurant, Makoto is located in the prestigious Bal Harbour Shops. Makoto features a modern Japanese menu including sushi bar selections, modern Japanese dishes, and bincho charcoal robata. A hand-crafted beverage program focused on sake compliments the cuisine. The dining room and sushi bar seating are available by reservation. Outdoor seating is available upon arrival.

Bal Harbour Shops 9700 Collins Ave
Bal Harbour, FL 33154
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch | Daily 11:30AM - 4:00PM
Dinner | Daily 4:00PM - 11:00PM

Cross Street:
96th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 864-8600

Website:
http://www.makoto-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered in front of the Collins Avenue side of the restaurant for $10/hour, $25 for VIP service. Self-parking is also available in the Shops lots and garage for $1.50/hour with validation.

Public Transit:
96th St and Collins Ave

Executive Chef:
Makoto Okuwa

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We will be open normal hours for Monday, July 4th! Please join us for lunch or dinner

Makoto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (38)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Great for Lunch (34)
See All
Good for a Date (30)
Casual (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Hot Spot (25)
Special Occasion (25)
Worth the Drive (21)
Good for Groups (19)
People Watching (19)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Romantic (15)
Fun (13)
Authentic (12)
Cozy (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Spicy (9)
Tapas (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Vegan (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Scenic View (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1185 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The sushi team is tops. Never had better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Cumpleaños

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

My husband and I have dined here 3 times now on our own and with friends, we've enjoyed our meals as food and service remains consistent in quality and attention. Please continue to keep it up as your restaurant is a fav spot for us in Bar Harbor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Absolutely love this place ! Very consistent in terms of food quality and several options available in regards to contemporary Japanese cuisine .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Fantastic food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Incredible food and service, try the kobe beef cooked tableside!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Did not cook steak medium rare properly, twice...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Needs improvement, train personel, food was cold. good potential, but managers have to control what comes out of the kitchen.

More QC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Wanted a unique experience to celebrate my wife's birthday, and Makoto did not disappoint. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great new Matradee. Made the experience more enjoyable than usual. It's amazing what an introduction and farewell can do for an establishment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food is delicious the added chicken dumpling it's was absolutely delicious they need to add more new hot dishes ppl will love it, it's always good to add a new stuff to the menu!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Excellent very good service, going back next trip

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Good food. Music toooooo loud. We couldn't hear ourselves

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Dinner was excellent. Sushi was extremely fresh and very creative rolls. Waiter was very informative and friendly. Also really cool to try Japanese craft beers not available at most places.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Very high prices, I was surprised. Edamame $14 is the highest I have seen. The salad came with almost no dressing we had to ask for more. The beef entree that you cook on the table was slivers of translucent beef more like an appetizer, very small portion. The Mochi dessert was nothing special. The service was good and attentive. The ambiance was busy and loud, a scene place for sure. I would not return unless I was invited and someone else pays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 19, 2017

For some items, such as the short rib yaki noodles, portions have got smaller. The maki's rice texture was off--not sticky enough-- and the slices were not even. Service is consistently average. But, it is still one of the better options for Japanese food in the city.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Casual, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Llegamos tarde y aun nos tenian reservada. La
Comida excelente como siempre. Seguiremos viniendo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Very enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Only one comment:
Japanese Wagyu was not the same quality as the last few times we have had it. I asked, the type of meat has changed from KOBE to another cut of beef. It was not nearly as good as it was the last few times we ate it. We wont order it again
...BUT we will definitely be back- everything else was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 15, 2017

My 1st visit but my companion has dined here before. Staff was very pleasant, informative, and attentive when needed without being intrusive. Menu had plenty of variety to choose from. Quantities were pleasantly ample for this type of cuisine (I didn't need to stop for a snack on the way home!). Food was flavorful without being heavy-handed with the spices. I look forward to my next visit soon to graze through more of the menu selections that caught my interest! Thanks!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We were disappointed with food and service at this time. Service was not very organized. Last year, overall was excellent and this is the reason we went back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The service was perfect. The hostess ... amazing.
Food is incredible as always. I went there for ever and I will not stop today !
I eat very often outside in restaurants.I also own a restaurant so I know what I say ! Makoto is the best !
I always recommend Makoto as the best restaurant in Miami. My favorite one !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Authentic sushi- very fresh fish. Definitely best in Miami

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent service. Innovative dishes. Over price wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food was delicious, fresh and refined. The service was impeccable.
We always look forward to eating there. One of the best restaurants in Miami!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Really enjoyed Makoto. Great service, fresh and tasty food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We keep trying makoto and the verdict is that it is for tourists.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 7, 2017

unpleasant managers, courteous waiters but slow

overpriced and overrated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This is my third or fourth time here. Make it a point to go everytime I am in Miami. It is amongst my favorites along with Zuma and Ola. Tried the Octopus this time - was not a huge fan. my favorites of Watermelon fire and ice and hamachi ponzu did not let down. the house salad is excellent. will be back.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Very unhappy with our waiter who seemed annoyed each time we were asking a question. Needed recommandation with the menu but didn't really get any. We were many times before and were always happy, but not this time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excelent food, creative and very tasty. A great place to eat

Tags: People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Miami Spice Lunch menu was very good! We liked every dish! Our waitress was very kind and attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We went to take advantage of Miami Spice week to try different dishes and everything was delicious. We ordered the grilled avocado which was very good and the Hamachi Ponzu which was excellent. For main course we ordered the Chirasi and the Sea Bass and both were very good. As usual it was a little loud but the service was outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 4, 2017

great menu, super drinks. it was perfect for that special date

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Visited for Miami Spice lunch, a very good deal, 3 courses for only $23, BUT don't come hungry, portion sizes are for light appetites and models.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Très bon restaurant japonais. Cuisine inventive et très réussie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food is delicious continuously and the location is great

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Normalmente vamos y la comida es excelente. Por primera vez no comimos con la calidad que estamos acostiumbrados en el restaurant. El hummus sabia completamente distinto, bueno pero mucho mas fuerte que siempore. Nuestros Short Ribs noodles practicamente no tenian short ribs, era puro noodles y repollo. El Miso Sea Bass estaba excelente como siempre.

Le daremos otra oprtunidad, pewro quedamos preocupados con la calidad de los platos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great food plus veggie options amazing but too noisy and not cosy, please fix, otherwise amazing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Upscale japanese

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.