About Makoto

Bal Harbour Shops 9700 Collins Ave
Bal Harbour, FL 33154
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr's newest Japanese restaurant, Makoto is located in the prestigious Bal Harbour Shops. Makoto features a modern Japanese menu including sushi bar selections, modern Japanese dishes, and bincho charcoal robata. A hand-crafted beverage program focused on sake compliments the cuisine. The dining room and sushi bar seating are available by reservation. Outdoor seating is available upon arrival.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily:11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm- 11:00pm

Cross Street:
96th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 864-8600

Website:
http://www.makoto-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered in front of the Collins Avenue side of the restaurant for $10/hour, $25 for VIP service. Self-parking is also available in the Shops lots and garage for $1.50/hour with validation.

Public Transit:
96th St and Collins Ave

Executive Chef:
Makoto Okuwa

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
We will be open normal hours for Monday, July 4th! Please join us for lunch or dinner

Makoto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (43)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Modern Decor (23)
Great for Lunch (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
People Watching (19)
Casual (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Authentic (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Romantic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Family Style (13)
Healthy (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Fun (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Business Meals (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Cozy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Spicy (3)
Scenic View (2)
Waterfront (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
978 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice ambiance. Food not the best

vip
 (Miami)·Dined a day ago

Nice ambiance. Food not the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Muy buena comida japonesa Muy creativa y ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Muy buena comida japonesa

Muy creativa y con buena calidad de productos

El pescado estaba muy bueno, fresco y de calidad

Muy buenos edamames

Excelentes rolls

La atención fue excelente - muy simpáticos

Nos pareció mejor que Nobu en muchos aspectos

Vale la pena ir!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food! Great service!

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is really a great place. Asian for t ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

It is really a great place. Asian for the ladies and really great ribeye steak for men!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not impressed by either the food or the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Not impressed by either the food or the service. Needed to be gluten free and there was very few cooked/hot items to order. Def not in Zuma or nobu class but was less expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Simplemente Delicioso! Me encanta sus s ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Simplemente Delicioso!

Me encanta sus sabores y su ambiente

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cumpleaños, llegamos 22.30 y en menos de ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Cumpleaños, llegamos 22.30 y en menos de media hora comimos, excelente lugar, makoto es el mejor sushi de miami.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Like always, dining at makoto is a pleas ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Like always, dining at makoto is a pleasure! They never go wrong with anything.... great value for money.... infact the only Japanese restaurant where sparkling water is this cheap! We love going to makoto ... be it for everyday dining or for an occasion....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was very good. It came out too fas ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was very good. It came out too fast, but the server quickly corrected the problem, which was appreciated.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good for a birthday celebration

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Good for a birthday celebration

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

for sure was the best dinner we had rece ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 9, 2017

for sure was the best dinner we had recently in Miami, service very professional, food delicius also the location very beautifull , we can't wait to dine here again

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Japanese food

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great Japanese food

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Yum! Food is fantastic. We liked it so m ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Yum! Food is fantastic. We liked it so much we had lunch there two days in a row. Servers are attentive and knowledgeable. Will definitely return next time we are in Miami.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service but significa ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent food and service but significantly overpriced. Not possible to leave table with less than $200 for 2 pax

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We went because a friend recommended me ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We went because a friend recommended me ribeye but there hasn't We choice another plate It was delicious

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food .Every dish was unbelie ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Outstanding food .Every dish was unbelievable.Service great

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I accidentally left my credit card there ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I accidentally left my credit card there and called them the next afternoon but they should have contacted me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This is a great restaurant. We really e ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This is a great restaurant. We really enjoyed the fresh flavors. Sushi is fantastic. Vegetarian options galore, not so much for a wheat allergy. The Gluten free options were a Branzino and a seriously good Vegetable fried rice. They do offer Tamari, gluten free soy sauce, clever. This is the new Nobu. If your lucky, you can get a great table outside. Bal Harbour has some seriously good people watching.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Place !!! Nice people , great staf ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great Place !!! Nice people , great staff , super location

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Has now become the must visit restaurant ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Has now become the must visit restaurant on all Miami trips. The food is amazing and always delivers beyond expectation. The Himachi is a MUST EAT item. Can eat this every day. Great service, excellent location. The wait staff were superb and made us feel most welcomed. One of the best restaurants in Miami.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Modern Decor, , Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

On first arriving, we were greeted by a ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

On first arriving, we were greeted by a very uppity receptionist. She didn't want to seat us when we arrived as we were not all there. She gave us major up in the nose attitude. On my husband's insistence she finally caved. She needs to go back to hostessing school to learn how to greet clients!

Our waitress was effervescent, friendly and did everything to make our meal enjoyable.

The food was wonderful and we all enjoyed the evening after a rough start.

We have been here many times and the food is always consistently good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Stephanie our server was awesome! Will ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Stephanie our server was awesome! Will go back because of her!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service from the start was great. Al ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The service from the start was great. All of the items were ordered were fresh and flavorful and I look forward to the next meal at makoto!

Tags: Great Beer, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinning at Makoto is always enjoyable. ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Dinning at Makoto is always enjoyable.

The food and service is always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Kani Salad and Frosty Kobe fried rice ar ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Kani Salad and Frosty Kobe fried rice are the best. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best food in town. Dont sit outside dur ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Best food in town. Dont sit outside during the summer, too hot.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelente lugar, recomiendo particularme ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Excelente lugar, recomiendo particularmente: spicy edamame, tuna crispy rice y wagyu short rib robata.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent as always

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best places. Kani salad, spic ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

One of the best places. Kani salad, spicy tuna with crispy rice and fried rice with foie gras were excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite of ours when we are in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always a favorite of ours when we are in town. Highly recommend one make reservations. The Hamachi ponzu is terrific as is the branzino fish and the brussels sprouts. Actually, everything is tasty. Have not been disappointed yet. Wait staff is bustling as is the bar, so drinks take a bit to come out sometimes, but not a major problem.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My forst tome to Makoto and i was very i ...

 
 (Yorkshire)·Dined on January 12, 2017

My forst tome to Makoto and i was very impressed. Our waitress was first class and the food was divine.

Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Muy rico la comida dificil elegir

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Muy rico la comida dificil elegir

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I love this restaurant. The food is amaz ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I love this restaurant. The food is amazing and the service is perfect. I really recommend the fried rice they have, it's outstanding.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing place for sushi! Great fish qual ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Amazing place for sushi! Great fish quality, great service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiente muy bueno, comida excelente la ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Ambiente muy bueno, comida excelente la atención insuperable, lo recomiendo ampliamente

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Makoto is definitely the best restaurant ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Makoto is definitely the best restaurant in Bal Harbour. The Asian fusion is just fantastic.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Exelente todo super comida ambiente y lo ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Exelente todo super comida ambiente y localización

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent sushi and Japanese fusion at a ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent sushi and Japanese fusion at a reasonable price for Bal Harbour. Short Rib, Rock Shrimp and Branzino a must

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, , Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I will say the food was great. My server ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I will say the food was great. My server was very attentive. We had a VERY noisy group next to us and she even offered to try and move me and my date. But there were no more tables available. She even said if it got to the point we could not take it she would tell them to keep quiet. :)

But since its a restaurant and they were just having a nice celebration i would never ask that. You just have to suck it up.

As for the price... Well its Bal Harbor. I should have expected it. Cost for two people after tip was $240. A few drinks will do that and the crispy rice dish with truffles will also increase your bill.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Clearly the staff is new and inexperienc ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Clearly the staff is new and inexperienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.