About Makoto

Bal Harbour Shops 9700 Collins Ave
Bal Harbour, FL 33154
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr's newest Japanese restaurant, Makoto is located in the prestigious Bal Harbour Shops. Makoto features a modern Japanese menu including sushi bar selections, modern Japanese dishes, and bincho charcoal robata. A hand-crafted beverage program focused on sake compliments the cuisine. The dining room and sushi bar seating are available by reservation. Outdoor seating is available upon arrival.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily:11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm- 11:00pm

Cross Street:
96th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 864-8600

Website:
http://www.makoto-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered in front of the Collins Avenue side of the restaurant for $10/hour, $25 for VIP service. Self-parking is also available in the Shops lots and garage for $1.50/hour with validation.

Public Transit:
96th St and Collins Ave

Executive Chef:
Makoto Okuwa

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
We will be open normal hours for Monday, July 4th! Please join us for lunch or dinner

Restaurant Photos

  • "Kobe"Beef
  • Rainbow Roll
  • Spicy Tuna Rolls
  • Watermelon "Ceviche"
"Kobe"Beef
Rainbow Roll
Spicy Tuna Rolls
Watermelon "Ceviche"

Makoto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Miami / Southeast Florida
Most Booked
Miami / Southeast Florida
Most Booked
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami ›

Fit for Foodies (64)
Hot Spot (50)
Special Occasion (49)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Great for Lunch (38)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for Groups (29)
Romantic (27)
Kid-friendly (16)
Late-night Find (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Scenic View (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Sort By:
Newest
776 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I expected more . It was overpriced fus ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

I expected more . It was overpriced fusion Japanese

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Best Japanese restaurant in miami beach ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Best Japanese restaurant in miami beach with inventive meals

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

After being there many times I was very ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

After being there many times I was very disappointed. I was celebrating a birthday and the food was just okay. I don't know what happened to this restaurant. I don't know if I will go back there are so many other alternatives.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Always a good experience minus leaving n ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always a good experience minus leaving new tom ford glasses which I am certain I did and disappointed that staff didn't return it. Very sad as it leaves me with bad experience!! Don't ever accidentally leave your valuables - they will not be returned. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went back as in the past years we had a ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went back as in the past years we had a great experience during the Miami Spice event for lunch, we went back this year as it used to be great but I have to say that the quantity of food was really really small, everything good but really super super small, even too small for appetizers, so for this I don't think that it was worth having the Miami Spice. I don't know what happened between this year offer and two years ago where I remember going there for lunch for the Miami Spice and going home with food as I could not eat it all........................... hopefully if you go there and pay the normal price and not the menu the portions are reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

The entire experience from beginning to ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The entire experience from beginning to end was incredible! I highly recommend making reservations at Makoto and eat at the Sushi Bar and ask for Chef Ryan you will not be disappointed - trust me!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always Makoto's food was exelent, but ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

As always Makoto's food was exelent, but this time it tasted better becausr we had a great server by the name of Emmanuel. Best service I have received ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice place, food was good but not e ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Very nice place, food was good but not exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

If you want to get some tasty meal and e ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

If you want to get some tasty meal and enjoy good service this place is definitely NOT for you! The only things I tasted were salt and rice. But it is great place to show your outfit if that is your goal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Heard great things about this place. Was ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Heard great things about this place. Was a bit disappointed with the food. I was hoping for super clean, healthy food. Was surprised how much fried food there was and sauces. Great service. Good cocktails and overall very good food; just never good to have such high expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Every time I am in Miami, it is a must t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Every time I am in Miami, it is a must to go to Makoto. Everything is really delicious. Dining outside is very nice, inside a bit dark.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always go back to Makoto and it has a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We always go back to Makoto and it has always been one of top 5 restaurants in Miami, but this time, we were disappointed with the food. The Miso Sea Bass off the Miami Spice menu was overly salty and sweet-- very different from the buttery miso sea bass we have had in the past when ordering from the regular menu. The Short Rib Yaki Noodles (regular menu), which we always order, were good but the portion was visibly smaller than normal. In terms of food, this has been our worst dining experience at Makoto, but maybe it's just that there's different chefs or that this year's Miami Spice Menu is not as good as previous ones. Regardless, we will probably be back; will order off the regular menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Very poor service

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We love this restaurant. Food is always ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We love this restaurant. Food is always excellent, ambiance is good and price is right as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wine list by Glass is very bad for t ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The wine list by Glass is very bad for this type of restaurant, if you are the only one having wine and the other person another drink ( like every time I go) its impossible to buy a bottle, and the 2 White Wines you have by the glass are very cheap wine from a very cheap restaurant ( it was not the case before)

Makoto was my favorite restaurant in Miami, not anymore, every-time I go now I get Disappointed, the Makoto Salad is not good anymore (*for example) , the carpaccio also very bad ... those were my 2 fav Plates

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent food. The Miami Spice lunch m ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Excellent food. The Miami Spice lunch menu was quite a bargain and there were great choices. I highly remind the noodles as the first course and mango pudding for dessert which are special Miami Spice features.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food never disappoints

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great food never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The worst servirse ever hate it i Wil no ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The worst servirse ever hate it i Wil not go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Everything is delicious.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Everything is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great oysters. great tuna on rice crisp ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

great oysters. great tuna on rice crisp. great drink menu. seating is a bit crowded but food is amazing and worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food with good service, always com ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food with good service, always come here when I want some good quality japenese food

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food as usual very good, unfortunate ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food as usual very good, unfortunately the waitress that took care of us wasn't very kind. I went with 3 of my grandchildren and where excited to eat the meat on the rock, the rocks turned cold easily and she was very impatient when asked to replace them. We asked 5 orders of them.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

The food was awesome. The whole branzino ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food was awesome. The whole branzino was perfectly cooked. The "k---" salad with crab in it was awesome.

Our entire party enjoyed the food all of them!

One of the best Asian restaurants Ive ever been to

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious. It all seemed far ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Absolutely delicious. It all seemed farm and sea to table but with delicious flavors. This is one of my favorite restaurants. Definitely my favorite Japanese one. If you can afford it, try it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food. Portions a bit small ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Always great food. Portions a bit small for Miami spice :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Food is very tasty. A reservation i ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The Food is very tasty. A reservation is necessary. We were there two times in our Stay in Miami.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there several times, always had a g ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Been there several times, always had a great experience. The place a bit noisy but everything else compensate the noise.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall this was excellent. This was my ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Overall this was excellent. This was my third time at the restaurant and the best of our meals. We loved all of our food including the hummus appetizer, cold noodles with beef, sea bass, and amazing fruit dessert. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is amazing

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Not as good it has to be i ordered the ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Not as good it has to be

i ordered the salmon it was not fresh and a piece of plastic was in my plate ! even the sushis where not like they use to be service was good and they offered our dessert

i will try again because i like this restaurant

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Amazing and good Japanese food. Great fr ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Amazing and good Japanese food. Great friendly service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is absolutely amazing. But they ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food is absolutely amazing. But they need to organize their service a little better. They serve everything at once and too quickly. Dishes like these need to be savoured and its unappetizing to have 4 different dishes at the table when you're just two people eating. We had been served 3/4 of our food before even receiving the wine/sake we ordered. I like to enjoy my experience and it sometime feels too rushed at Makoto. That said, this is one of my absolute favorite restaurants in south Florida.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great food and great service never dissa ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food and great service never dissapointed at this restaurant

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Japanese offerings that are ta ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Fantastic Japanese offerings that are tasty and creative and portions are plentiful! The spicy tuna on crispy rice is fantastic and the frosty rice dish is out of this world! We will always come back to Makoto!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Recommended by a friend for our trip to ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Recommended by a friend for our trip to Miami. Food was absolutely devine, the selections were varied and interesting. Seafood was very fresh. Try the Himachi, Kobe beef, eggplant and rock shrimp. Brilliant. Went back the next day for lunch, it was so good. Excellent service, as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service. The fish was sup ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food and service. The fish was super fresh and the price wasn't bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious. Unique menu. Always ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was delicious. Unique menu. Always loved his food at Morimotos. There is usually a little bit of a wait without a reservation but the food is worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always food excellent, service going ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

As always food excellent, service going down one waitress for to many tables..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Presentation was only good for the price ...

vip
 (Hong Kong)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Presentation was only good for the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.