About Makoto

Bal Harbour Shops 9700 Collins Ave
Bal Harbour, FL 33154
View Larger Map

Stephen Starr's newest Japanese restaurant, Makoto is located in the prestigious Bal Harbour Shops. Makoto features a modern Japanese menu including sushi bar selections, modern Japanese dishes, and bincho charcoal robata. A hand-crafted beverage program focused on sake compliments the cuisine. The dining room and sushi bar seating are available by reservation. Outdoor seating is available upon arrival.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily:11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm- 11:00pm

Cross Street:
96th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 864-8600

Website:
http://www.makoto-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered in front of the Collins Avenue side of the restaurant for $10/hour, $25 for VIP service. Self-parking is also available in the Shops lots and garage for $1.50/hour with validation.

Public Transit:
96th St and Collins Ave

Executive Chef:
Makoto Okuwa

Additional:
Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
We will be open normal hours for Monday, July 4th! Please join us for lunch or dinner

Restaurant Photos

  • "Kobe"Beef
  • Rainbow Roll
  • Spicy Tuna Rolls
  • Watermelon "Ceviche"
"Kobe"Beef
Rainbow Roll
Spicy Tuna Rolls
Watermelon "Ceviche"

Makoto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Miami / Southeast Florida
Japanese
Miami - Dade County
Most Booked
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami ›

fit for foodies (94)
great for outdoor dining (74)
special occasion (56)
See All
hot spot (55)
great for lunch (49)
good for groups (41)
neighborhood gem (34)
romantic (31)
kid-friendly (17)
late-night find (15)
great for brunch (10)
notable wine list (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
716 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5

Had the oh-toro sashimi for appetizers a ...

Dined 6 days ago

Had the oh-toro sashimi for appetizers and robata grilled lamb chops and Wagyu short rib for an entree = perfection! All very amazingly delicious. My first time here and won't be my last I will come back to Florida for many of the restaurants I tried during vacation and this is definitely one of them.

food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Food always good but the service lately ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Food always good but the service lately is going down i do not know whats going on .... Always looking for our waitress ..

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very fresh and delicious sushi, inventiv ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Very fresh and delicious sushi, inventive and luxurious small plates and main courses. Everything we have tried, was very tasty and we will definitely be back to try the rest of the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Makoto! My favorite restaurant! Co ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Love Makoto! My favorite restaurant! Consistently excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Everithing was amazing. I love this plac ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Everithing was amazing. I love this placen the sushi, sishito , meat and salmon was delicius

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

you can always count on good sushi quali ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

you can always count on good sushi quality at Makoto. It has the freshest sashimi in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal and service at the sushi ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Fantastic meal and service at the sushi bar. Thanks everyone!

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything we ate was delicious! We were ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Everything we ate was delicious! We were very well advice about the options by the waiter. The place is very nicely decorated! Good service and lovely ambiance!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food, we sampled a lot from the ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Amazing food, we sampled a lot from the menu and it was all fantastic. Along with the cocktails!! Will be back again shortly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The Restaurant has great Food beautifull ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The Restaurant has great Food beautifull presentation of the plates. Excellent service very on time with my reservation.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best meal we have ever had! amazing! ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

The best meal we have ever had! amazing!!! I was excited to try it, but it was better than I could have imagined!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always top notch

Dined on June 5, 2016

must of dined at this establishment 20-25 times. everytime i go, everything about this place is top notch.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Dissapointed

Dined on June 4, 2016

A) Confusing menu B) Charged more than the quoted price C) Tasteless entree's D) Overpriced E) No one in our party was interested in returning.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always good

Dined on June 4, 2016

Returning to Makoto after few month...always delicious, the food is fresh and well prepared. Unfortunately the service is not always what you expect..I received my main course before the starter and I was ready for the dessert while my husband was still waiting for his entrée.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Okay experience

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

We were seated promptly and our waiter was very friendly. We ordered 3 appetizer/small plates and one entre (king salmon) and shared among three people. the broccoli tempura was delicious, and the spicy tuna crispy rice was wonderful. The California roll was fresh, but seemed sort of bland as compared to usual. The King Salmon entre took excessively long to be served, was undercooked (cooked, but too pink and mushy on the inside), and was not as good as usual. For how long it took, I'm not sure why it still was not cooked. The texture was unpleasant. However, the service was still great, and I will still go back, but probably just stick with the small plates.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it

Dined on May 29, 2016

Hello. We are from México, but each time that we travel to Miami to visit our son, we love to eat at Makoto, the food is delicious, the service is impecable.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

sitting outside would make it a perfect ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

sitting outside would make it a perfect experience. inside there is too much noise. you need to ask for a table outside when you make the reservation. food is amazing, everything to share. we ordered the crispy brussels sprouts, the whole cauliflower, the seabass and the branzino for 2 people. aprox $50 per person. is not my first time and defintely not the last one.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

We made a reservation but decided to sit ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

We made a reservation but decided to sit at the self seated open air bar area in the mall. Same menu, closer to the bar, open air, smoker friendly. The threat of rain was imminent, but our server was wonderful, even checking the radar to ease our concern about it raining while eating. Good was spectacular as always.

food5
ambience4
service5

We ordered the Sushi and Sashimi sampler ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

We ordered the Sushi and Sashimi samplers and both were excellent. Everything was very fresh and prepared beautifully. Absolutely delicious and worth every penny. We finished with moshi icecream which was very good. Great experience and will definitely go back.

food5
ambience4
service5

Food- Service- Great Service! ... Hidden ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Food- Service- Great Service! ... Hidden Jewel in the Miami Arena....

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always good

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Makoto is quite successful, and it's easy to see why. Excellent food and good service. It's not cheap, but what in Miami Beach is?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everythig was awesome!!! Great food! O ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Everythig was awesome!!! Great food! Our weitress was wonderfull, nice and gentle!!

Tags: lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Makoro is being reliable and best qualit ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Makoro is being reliable and best quality of food since its opening

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A little bit snobby but all in all its a ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

A little bit snobby but all in all its always had great dishes and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

fOOD AND SERVICE

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

recommend great food but definitely need to know where u are seating can get to noisy and loud to have conversations

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Host was very cold and unfriendly. She ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Host was very cold and unfriendly. She advised us that they have availability, but then they were wide open on open table

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great mothers day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our waitress was awesome. Great food. Everyone was pleasantly nice.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent diner

Dined on May 7, 2016

Incredible service, food cooked perfect. They improved their quality and now are at next level. Go your friends or family you will have a great time.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Food was Good!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was Good!

food5
ambience5
service4

Yesterday was another great visit. The f ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Yesterday was another great visit. The food was delicious as usual! The ambiance was great!!! However , I was disapoined with The Hostess attitude, she told us, that we couldn't Make reservations for outside. And I Told her, that I have requested an outside table, and it was In my reservation comments, because I have a dog. It wasn'r until my husband, argued with The Hostess, that she sat us at The , outside table. Do I really have to argue to spend my money at your outside table? There were Many empty tables outside!!!

food3
ambience3
service4

The house made soy sauce was bland and t ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

The house made soy sauce was bland and tasted weird. We asked for a non in house brand. Sushi was extremely sub par for an Iron Chef restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was exceptional as ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

The food and service was exceptional as always. Our server Beata was a true gem, always on the look out for empty glasses and assessing when and if we needed anything else. Crunchy tuna rice is the best there, compared to the way other restaurants do this dish. All the food is tasty and highly recommended is the sea bass!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service and place!! I love i ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great food, service and place!! I love it! Every time I'm in Miami I go there!

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Extremely professionally managed establishment

Dined on April 21, 2016

I have never been to Makoto when the service hasn't been amazingly attentive and efficient. The waitstaff is extremely accommodating and extraordinarily knowledgeable in terms of the menu , specials etc. This is clearly not a cookie-cutter assembly line kitchen. There were five of us and each one of us had a different entrée and we shared appetizers. Each plate was distinctive from the taste perspective ,well-prepared and beautifully presented. One gripe: The bar has a lousy poor. One of the worst in the city. Vodka neat was a mirror to ounces...... Other times cocktails were ordered and had to be returned because there was more mixer and very little alcohol. By the way the same thing goes for the pour at Le Zoo another Steven Starr restaurant. It's a skimpy and tight practice and frankly taints the otherwise generous atmosphere of the restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server, Louie, was wonderful. Helpfu ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Our server, Louie, was wonderful. Helpful Patient Efficient Professional and friendly

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing food no hype

Dined on April 17, 2016

Unlike most Miami restaurants that get rave reviews this restaurant pays close attention to detail without fussiness or pretense. The high quality ingredients are nicely featured and there is some play with the presentation but all in "good taste". I highly recommend the kobe beef, brussel sprouts, chicken wings, cauliflower, corn, eggplant, basically every item grilled on the robata grill is amazing (the thinly sliced beef is done by you at your table with a cute little hot stone). I really do no like duck but was encouraged by a friend to try the duck dish. The roasted pieces were really amazing and delicious. I was not loving the duck meatballs or the dipping sauce but the smoked/fried yuca accompanying the duck was really really yummy. Staff was friendly polite and decor is lovely. I went back two days later for dinner again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Every course was excellent, waiter was a ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Every course was excellent, waiter was awesome, fun and knowledgeable.

food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Makoto

Dined on April 15, 2016

Had dinner last night, high expectations for this former Iron Chef restaurateur. Being a Executive Chef myself I always appreciate talent and the ones who dare to break the Culinary boundaries with new flavors and creations.......but here was kind of a big let down. Restaurant was busy, Sat down and waited 20 minutes for a drink...in fact appetizers came out before the drinks did. Ambiance was so noisy that my ears are still ringing from the music and combination of the roar of not having the proper sound board installed. My date had a green tea caipiroska , she really enjoyed, I had the Makoto old fashioned which was terribly sweet with over abundance of fruit juice. The appetizers came before the drinks as I mentioned , fire and ice oysters were very outstanding! Great flavor combined with heat of the Serrano Chile outstanding presentation as well, Tuna Pizza was prepared well with fairly good and subtle flavor combos the micro greens with a remoulade and carpaccio sliced tuna on a cracker crust, the spicy tuna crispy rice was good but just lacking flavor. Then I ordered a rock shrimp tempura which the server brought a tempura shrimp Maki roll, not what I ordered but it was decent..standard. Finally ordered the rock shrimp tempura again and she brought it out along with broccoli tempura which I didn't order either and sent back, not sure where the confusion was from the noise or just miscommunication. Butbrock shrimp was good two different piles of rock shrimp with two different sauces, tasty. Finally we had been recommended the fruit toban yaki for dessert and what a disaster that dessert is...all over the board..custard sauce, fresh bananas , fresh berries, some kind of roasted Apple, these spongy homemade marshmallows, random cobbler pieces with a huge scoop of Mango sorbet in the middle. My date said it reminded her of something a 5 year old would make. Overall , just kinda a bad experience. Prices were steep for quality.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A Gem

Dined on April 14, 2016

Brought two of my best clients to dinner here with my team. We shared sushi, robota, and a number of other dishes. Wonderful experience. Round tables outside were a bit troubling for a party of six with three tables having to be moved together. Not much room for all of the good food! Recommend they create an area for a larger group. Excellent food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Brilliant!

Dined on April 11, 2016

I've been there before. It's really good... Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.