Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Makoto

Stephen Starr's newest Japanese restaurant, Makoto is located in the prestigious Bal Harbour Shops. Makoto features a modern Japanese menu including sushi bar selections, modern Japanese dishes, and bincho charcoal robata. A hand-crafted beverage program focused on sake compliments the cuisine. The dining room and sushi bar seating are available by reservation. Outdoor seating is available upon arrival.

Bal Harbour Shops 9700 Collins Ave
Bal Harbour, FL 33154
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily:11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm- 11:00pm

Cross Street:
96th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 864-8600

Website:
http://www.makoto-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered in front of the Collins Avenue side of the restaurant for $10/hour, $25 for VIP service. Self-parking is also available in the Shops lots and garage for $1.50/hour with validation.

Public Transit:
96th St and Collins Ave

Executive Chef:
Makoto Okuwa

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
We will be open normal hours for Monday, July 4th! Please join us for lunch or dinner

Makoto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (54)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Special Occasion (35)
Hot Spot (34)
Modern Decor (32)
Great for Lunch (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Casual (25)
People Watching (24)
Good for Groups (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Fun (18)
Authentic (17)
Romantic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Family Style (14)
Healthy (14)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Business Meals (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Cozy (7)
Spicy (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Tapas (5)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Waterfront (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1013 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 15 hours ago

Food continued to be brought incorrectly. Waiter was extremely poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great place, tasty food, friendly stuff and atmosphere, prompt service

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and great service as always!!! Nice place for a week lunch

Tags: Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent place! The food was lovely and tasty. Inside noise its a bit loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The management in the restaurant is horrible!!!!! They are very unpleasant!!! As many times as I go there, I realize more and more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Still the best Japanese restaurant in the wider Miami area. I never miss to visit it when in Southern Florida, this since 1996. This happens on average four times a year, so I must be one of their best Belgian customers, not? :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

I'm a regular at Makoto and always happy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Always consistent, but this time better than ever. Makoto never fails to impress. Great food, good service and the best people watching in Bal Harbour. It's our local go-to when we want Japanese. From the sushi to the robata to the divine white chocolate dessert we always have a wonderful experience here. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 7 days ago

Superbe soirée bon service et nourriture exceptionnelle...définitivement meilleur restaurant pour ceux qui aiment les sushi et les sashimi

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The rock shrimp tempura was probably one of the best dishes I have ever had, very tasty and would highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great service. Expensive sushi but not the best quality. Better for non-sushi options. Almost no gluten-free choices outside of nigiri or sashimi though they do have tamari (GF soy sauce).

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great as usual!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Makoto in a word...awesome! Great food, service and ambience. Well worth the drive to Bal Harbor.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It was delicious as always. The service was impeccable. One of our favourite Miami restaurants.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Makoto is my favorite!! Love the selection and the freshness of the food. Drinks are also delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Makoto is consistently good. Best sushi in Miami Beach. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food and atmosphere were great. We loved the wagu beef that you cook yourself on a hot stone., as well as the miso cod. The wagu noodles were a little too spicy for our taste however may be good if you like spice. Just doesn't list on the menu that the dish is spicy. Highly reccommend was a fun dinner out!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Delicious first time ordering veggie risotto needed 35 minutes of prep time. It was excellent however entirely overpowered by truffle oil. Went very well with hot sake. Cauliflower is delicious and filling comfort food. I love the makoto salad. Just watercress and a delicious dressing with Panko crumbs and just a tiniest bit of red onion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was awesome, but service was lousy. Had to ask 3 times Every time we needed water. Since no one would take the dirty dishes out of the table there was no room to place he food that kept on coming and no one really seemed to care. Had to constantly request the waiters to take the empty food dishes every time. And even then,, by the time we got the coffe and desert the table was filled with empty food plates (have some pictures) and the coffee was served prior to the dessert so by the time the desert arrived we had already sipped the coffe (otherwise it would have been cold)
In general good food but lousy service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food here is outstanding. From the salads, rolls, tempura shrimp, soba noodles and dessert. This was the best meal we had in Miami.
The service was great, Paul was our server and gave us great recommendations. The staff was very attentive.
Looking forward to returning when we are back in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 7, 2017

I love the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Of all the restaurants we were visiting during our trip to Miami Beach, I was most looking forward to dining here. The service, however, was terrible, which ruined our impression of Makoto. We were 10 minutes early for our reservation, and the hostess asked us to come back at our reservation time. Completely understandable, and we happily took a walk around the mall. We returned promptly at our reservation time (through a different entrance - a big mistake apparently), and the hostess there (she had dark hair and braces) rudely asked us whether we received a phone call to return. I explained that I was told to return at the reservation time, and she replied that they were preparing my table and to wait. We took a seat right in front of the hostess booth, and we were ignored for 20 minutes while the hostesses were gossiping about their personal lives. We watched other parties be greeted more politely and be seated before us (we also could see an empty table from our seat), and we were not given any explanation for why we were waiting. When we finally were seated, we received a rather dismissive "sorry" and then were seated. It would have been nice to have received an explanation (especially since we were initially told our table was being prepared, and not that they were waiting on tables to become available). This treatment at the outset unfortunately ruined our experience there (it was the last night of our trip). The food was delicious - we had a sashimi sampler, the grilled eggplant, and the grilled wagyu, but it wasn't the best Japanese we have had. I would not recommend going out of your way to come here -- there are better establishments (and better service!) in Miami.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

they have fresh UNI sushi available which is hard to come by. Grilled eggplant was superb. Excellent Japanese cuisine overall.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

One of the most romantic place to dine-in in Miami... I love it and I'll definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very good food, the fish would melt in your mouth, the Brussels sprouts were pretty good too. The service was on point, helpful, and friendly. Decoration and ambience were nice

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent. Pricey but worth it at least once. I'm go often.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Aweful. Expected a great Japanese food and sushi dinner. Not exactly sure what this restaurant is trying to be. Very strange renditions of traditional sushi. Scallions in Tekamaki, mayo in California roll? Very skimpy carafe of Saki for $35 - not great value. Loud Reggae music? We have eaten at many Steven Star restaurants including the original Morimoto in Philly so we expected much better. Then to add insult to injury we had to pay an additional $4.50 to park even after validation. If you want sushi, save your money and walk 200 yards down Collins Ave. there are 2 sushi restaurants there that have to be better than Makoto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I had rather high expectation reading reviews. The atmosphere is nice, and it is conveniently located at Miami beach´s most elegant shopping mall, having a large outside terrace. But if you are looking for a modern/contemporary Japanese food, this was very an average. We had Sushi-bento, Salmon teriyaki, California rolls, and Chicken ramen. Sushi was nothing special with rice being rather dried. Ramen was not "tonkotsu soup" as it was indicated in the menu with just simple noodle and a small amount of chicken. Good for children, but very poorly presented. I was astonished by the lack of fantasy in this Ramen. Sushi-bento came with Wasabi rice, which is a fried rice with Wasabi touch. It is too much rice (sushi and fried rice)!! I have never seen such a combination. Too much rice and noodle and very limited amount of other exciting ingredients. But again, if you are not very picky with food, this is a fine place as the atmosphere is good but food is nothing special.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Excellent non-standard Japanese food. Loved the soba noodles and the Grilled beef yakatori. Excellent expensive but standard sushi.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Never disappointed. Love the food, the ambiance, the service.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Had reservation but decided to eat outside in the front. ( unfortunately it's a smoking section) moved our table cuz a lady was lighting her 4th cigarette.....! Oscar was a great waiter. The crispy tuna appetizer was delicious! The salad and sushi we ordered was excellent.
We recommend this resto. Plus I saw Martha Stewart which was cool!

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Although asked for good table and told friend's birthday 3 times and on reservation table was by busing station and very loud. Never brought a complimentary dessert. Was disappointed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The tapas style dining was great fun. The Asian fusion food was delicious. The oysters are excellent. So glad we tried it for dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

consistently very good, consistently very professional.
we visit frequently.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a reservation at 9:45 and arrived on time but we were seated at 10:20. We asked a female blond hostess to please lower the music volume since it was really hard to habe a conversation and she acted rudely saying that it was part of the dining experience and that we should have chosen another quieter restaurant. Another server realized what was going on and quickly apologized after her and put the volume down and after that the service was excellent!

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Nice ambiance. Food not the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Muy buena comida japonesa
Muy creativa y con buena calidad de productos
El pescado estaba muy bueno, fresco y de calidad
Muy buenos edamames
Excelentes rolls
La atención fue excelente - muy simpáticos
Nos pareció mejor que Nobu en muchos aspectos
Vale la pena ir!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It is really a great place. Asian for the ladies and really great ribeye steak for men!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Not impressed by either the food or the service. Needed to be gluten free and there was very few cooked/hot items to order. Def not in Zuma or nobu class but was less expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.