Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Makoto

Stephen Starr's newest Japanese restaurant, Makoto is located in the prestigious Bal Harbour Shops. Makoto features a modern Japanese menu including sushi bar selections, modern Japanese dishes, and bincho charcoal robata. A hand-crafted beverage program focused on sake compliments the cuisine. The dining room and sushi bar seating are available by reservation. Outdoor seating is available upon arrival.

Bal Harbour Shops 9700 Collins Ave
Bal Harbour, FL 33154
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily:11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm- 11:00pm

Cross Street:
96th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 864-8600

Website:
http://www.makoto-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered in front of the Collins Avenue side of the restaurant for $10/hour, $25 for VIP service. Self-parking is also available in the Shops lots and garage for $1.50/hour with validation.

Public Transit:
96th St and Collins Ave

Executive Chef:
Makoto Okuwa

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
We will be open normal hours for Monday, July 4th! Please join us for lunch or dinner

Makoto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (46)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Hot Spot (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Casual (32)
People Watching (26)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for Groups (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Romantic (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Cozy (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Authentic (16)
Fun (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Tapas (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Business Meals (12)
Family Style (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Healthy (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Vegan (8)
Spicy (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Scenic View (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1136 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 2 days ago

Have been there many times but today was super noisy, as a result, was not able to relax or enjoy my food/company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Amazing overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The service is slow. The food is good. The tables are a little bit dirty

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We've gone before and have found our favorite dishes there but i leave hungry. I got the steak cooked on stone and there's really not much meat. I also got the Makoto house salad that was basically all watercress leaves. They need a salad with more various vegetables. My husband got the short rib and noodles. He was satisfied. It's a really good dish. Much of the food is too spicy for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Miami. Excellent japanese fusion food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food. Great service. Very good experience. Excellent variety!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Amazing food. Spicy tuna with crispy rice was to die fir

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere, great service... As always!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We arrived late but we're still promptly seated. Our server was exceptional. Very knowledgeable on the menu and their recommendations were right on. We had the tuna crispy rice, yaki noodles, wagyu beef cooked table side on a hot stone and rock shrimp. All was phenomenal! Don't forget he lava chocolate cake definitely a must do.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great food and service. Best meal of our trip! There were six in our party and we shared many dishes. Everything was really good and we all enjoyed the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Excelente opción en Bal Harbour, original y con variedad de calidad

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The servers are so rude unless you are spending hundreds of dollars you are treated like a second rate citizen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Love the food. This time we had great service, food came out fast.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Fabulous place, great food, friendly and attentive staff... it doesn't get much better.... the spicy tuna on crispy rice is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Genial y muy coordial

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent food, too,too,too noisy. The service was really efficient, clear in the explanation of the different dishes, the food and the beverages came really quickly and that was very good for us, especially for the kids, that love sushi and ramen,
The only problem we had is the level of noise, we think the music is not helpful in that sense
DoraB

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great veggie options and great service. Will definitely return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Vegan, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Went for a birthday and have been there many times before. Typically we go for the food quality which is one of the best Japanese in the city. However lately the service is getting worse. Our server basically dropped the food on the table quickly and left, not a smile or a word from him. Not once did he ask us if we needed anything. If we needed something we had to find someone for new plates or forks etc. Seemed like the server you would expect at a fast food restaurant not this type of high end establishment.

The music in the restaurant is set so high that it was difficult having a conversation. There are a lot of comments about the noise level.

The food is always good although I would not say you get much value for your money. For the $8 Robata Asparagus you get about 2 small stalks cut up and served as a 4 inch square. The corn you get one piece cut into 4 small pieces. We got the air spinach which most almost all stalks.

I put in the reservation it was a birthday. The server simply dropped off the dessert with a candle and did not say Happy Birthday or anything.

I have been going here for years for the quality of the sushi. But the noise level, the rushed service (they were not crowded) the tiny portions is making this lower on my list.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We come to Miami at least 3 times a year and Makoto is always on our list of dining options. Food is always yummy--our family loves the hamachi with Serrano peppers, spicy tuna with crispy rice, the hot stone wagyu and the rock shrimp. Service is always great. Every time we've come the patrons are dressed pretty casually (for Bal Harbor) but the restaurant is not a casual one.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I have been going to Makoto ever since it opened. Love the food and everything else (service & ambiance)! The only thing I don't like - reservation situation. I tried to make reservation (through Open Table) for 7 people at 6 pm, it wouldn't allow me, I changed it to 6 people instead - no problem. When we came to the restaurant, the table was big enough for 8 or even 10 people and the restaurant was half full. Not exactly sure what was that all about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

always delicious sushi and great service. love this place, great staple

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Excelent Restaurant ...........................................................................................

Excelent Restaurant

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Flawless top to bottom. Unique and incredible food, gracious and well informed waitress. Fabulous !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We had dinner wensday night, we were sitting outside and our service was very bad, our waitress was too hurried and a little bit rude (as a fast food service) not sure if we will be back!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The food was outstanding, as was our service by Apple. The hostess however was a huge turnoff. I arrived via the east entrance and after saying hello, stated the reservation. She did not want to seat me because I was the first to arrive. It was 12:30pm on a weekday and the place was empty, maybe 2 tables were taken, the rest of the place was dead. I asked that she please seat me, that I did not want to stand waiting for everyone else, and that I would gladly already order some drinks and maybe an app. She asked me several questions then begrudgingly said to give here a minute. She then proceeded to discuss her manicure with the lady next to her that also worked there. When I saw what was going on , I looked at her confused. She said the table was being set up. Huh? I made the res days ago. The tables are all already set up, which I can see clearly as its a small dining room. She just wanted me to stand there while she asserted her "power". After several minutes pass, she takes me to the worst of the empty tables, in a dark corner with no light. I am so irritated with her that I just wait for everyone else to arrive. We ask a different hostess for any of the better tables that are all empty, she re-seats us, and we have a lovely meal with great food and great service. Too bad it started off with such a rude hostess. Will be back - we love Makoto. Hopefully the hostess is more welcoming and polite.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Flavorful and fresh. What a great find in the Bal Harbor Shoppes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Really good as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Again, excellent service and food quality. Celebrate father's day and it was perfect.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This was the third time I went to Makoto, and the experience was gratifying (as the previous visits were), the service is superb, the food amazing, and the variety of wine offers no chance for error to those who want to try a good one. I'll definitely come back to Makoto in my next trip to Miami.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Es el mejor restaurante de Miami, cada vez que viajo allí, voy a Makoto. Recomiendo todo, pero especialmente el Miso sea bass con hojas tostadas de kale. Maravilloso!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great ambiance, great food, great service! I come to Makoto all the time and it is always a pleasure.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Like always ... even if it's the 100th time..... delightful experience.... food, service, ambience.... you name it! Impeccable

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Too loud - we were put a two top next to several others on a bench like booth back. Tables were separated by 1-1 1/2 feet. Also like we were eating together with strangers. Their conversations carried into ours. I'm 37 not 77, so it's a legit complaint. Otherwise, the food was excellent and high quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food was fabulous and restaurant had a great ambiance but service was lacking. Basically all of our dinner entrees came out at the same time though instead of spacing them out and we sat for a majority of dinner with no drinks. Service started out great but went downhill fast after the appetizers came out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (México)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Cumpleaños

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great Food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Good food but the service is not consistent..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Excellent !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Very noisy.
Our waiter was apparently not happy to see us or had a very bad day.
Didn't spend even 2 min explaining the menu and left us with the message you are on your own
Food was lukewarm,salty and served on dirty table.
Wouldn't recommend to anybody unless all restaurants in radius of 10 mil are closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.