Makoto

4.7
1462 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Creative Cuisine
Stephen Starr's newest Japanese restaurant, Makoto is located in the prestigious Bal Harbour Shops. Makoto features a modern Japanese menu including sushi bar selections, modern Japanese dishes, and bincho charcoal robata. A hand-crafted beverage program focused on sake compliments the cuisine. The dining room and sushi bar seating are available by reservation. Outdoor seating is available upon arrival.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Daily 11:30AM - 11:00PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(305) 864-8600
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Makoto Okuwa
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
96th St
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet is offered in front of the Collins Avenue side of the restaurant for $10/hour, $25 for VIP service. Self-parking is also available in the Shops lots and garage for $1.50/hour with validation.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
96th St and Collins Ave
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We will be open normal hours for Monday, July 4th! Please join us for lunch or dinner
Additional
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1462 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 3 days ago

Overall ok. Not impressed about the food but still one of my favorite Japanese restaurant in town. Service had huge lacks. They brought us food we didn't order and they didn't bring us drinks we ordered. Felt a bit abandoned. Had to stand to pick a menu, no soy sauce with food on the table etc...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Some of the best raw fish I ate while in Miami. Flavors were vibrant and exciting, and our server made us feel like royalty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Excellent dining experience. Enjoyed our daughter's thirtieth birthday party with friends and shared a variety of delicious foods. Wait staff is excellent and very fast and efficient. Had delightful "birthday cake" at the end that was shared and enjoyed by all! Highly recommend this Miami Bal Harbor restaurant!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Did not meet our expectations! Service was poor, dishes were not well described, no suggestions were made, rushed service.
None of the 6 dishes we ordered were exceptional.
Would not return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Food is consistently good and service is always excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Había poca gente y mucho personal, que teníamos que estar llamándolos para el agua o pedir cosas. En general muy bueno, la comida excelente. las mesas muy juntas.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Very good food... service just OK

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Great service and amazing food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Love this restaurant! It is one of my favorites in Miami. The food is absolutely delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Food was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Must try the waygu beef skewers!!! Great food

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Excelente Comida

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Very delicious food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Great Restaurant, every time I recommend this restaurant guest is very happy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2018

I’ve been to this restaurant many times and it was one of my favourite places. However, this time the service was terrible and the food was not as good as usual. The server forgot an item we ordered and instead of apologizing, she decided to argue that it was never ordered in the first place. Kind of disappointed this time around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

My wife and I really enjoyed this place! It has a fantastic menu, and you're able to order multiple items so you get a taste of it all! We sat inside and enjoyed the environment quite a bit.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 31, 2018

We ser loyal customers as the food and ambience in Makoto ID superb
This time we went to celebrate a birthday and get together
Party of 6 with a large bill
The manager came to us after we had paid and simply in a rude and arrogant tone said “ is time to go”

I hope that manager or the owners read this review and reconsider the way they treat their customers in particular 6 monthly loyal customers. This is NOT the way to kindly ask people to leave a table and there was no long waiting line.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

a favorite of ours since we first came 3 years ago, our must to visit restaurant in Bal Harbor!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

The Service by Andrew eqs excelent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Awesome as usual! Thanks! The seabass was incredible!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Excellent restaurant

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Food was delicious as always - waiting 40 minutes for a table with a reservation was not cool

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Amazing experience from start to finish!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

I wasn’t happy with the service this time. Also, it was a birthday dinner and despite listing that on the reservation, management did nothing to at least acknowledge it. I’ve been coming for a long time but this time, it left a lot to be desired. Also, the day prior, we had a lunch there and the sushi portions were unacceptable in size. Totally felt like a rip off this time around and I’d never experienced this stinginess at Makoto before.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

The quality and variety of the food is very good. Service is hit or miss. We go to Makoto often on account of the great food and it’s very close to where we live, but the service can either be very slow and often times too fast. In general it’s a great place to eat if one can overcame the service experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

The quality of the fish is outstanding! We ordered a sashimi and a sushi platter and both were excellent. The service was very good, quick but we never felt rushed.
We’ll definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Food was AMAZING!!!! our waitress didn’t give us the elevated experience we would have wanted, luckily the busboy was VERY NICE. Regardless we will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The hostess was not very welcoming and not friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Nice fresh and light Menu, good prices and good taste.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

I love them

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Very good food at a price with somewhat spotty but professional service. Would definitely return to try the many dishes on an ample menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Excellent food as usual. High quality , served with efficiency and smiles. I come back again and again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Great location and options. Very accommodating but if you're wearing something nice choose an inside table, sometimes water floods up outside areas.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

In my opinion, Makoto is the best sushi/Japanese restaurant in South Florida. Try the big eye tuna on the crispy rice with wasabi and the grilled items, especially the chicken, corn, and cauliflower, among others. The cuisine is creative, fresh and just superb all the time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Awesome as usual

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Great sushi! A must try if you’re near the area. Sushi quality is the best I’ve had in years.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Had higher expectations. There were some hot dishes such as the Octopus, Short Ribs and Eggplant-we did not order but they left it for us, these dishes were very good. Ceviche was disappointing and the tuna roll was OK. Expected more of a Wow factor here for the money, and we have had phenomenal sushi and tapas type dishes at other restaurants at a greater value. Again, it was good but nothing amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent meal and good service. I love this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Por suerte conseguimos lugar en la terraza, porque dentro es muy ruidoso. Comimos delicioso; es difícil elegir qué pedir porque no te quieres perder nada del menú . Excelente servicio y comida!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Amazing! We love this place! The food is very creative and tasty. Siri our server was super nice and knowledgeable.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
37