Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 63 times today

Makoto

4.7
1400 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Perfect For:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Good for a Date
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
Stephen Starr's newest Japanese restaurant, Makoto is located in the prestigious Bal Harbour Shops. Makoto features a modern Japanese menu including sushi bar selections, modern Japanese dishes, and bincho charcoal robata. A hand-crafted beverage program focused on sake compliments the cuisine. The dining room and sushi bar seating are available by reservation. Outdoor seating is available upon arrival.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Daily 11:30AM - 11:00PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(305) 864-8600
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Makoto Okuwa
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
96th St
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet is offered in front of the Collins Avenue side of the restaurant for $10/hour, $25 for VIP service. Self-parking is also available in the Shops lots and garage for $1.50/hour with validation.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
96th St and Collins Ave
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We will be open normal hours for Monday, July 4th! Please join us for lunch or dinner
Additional
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1400 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

La cena estuvo deliciosa, el camarero muy atento.
La recepcionista fue increíblemente maleducada, en la forma de dirigirse y en el trato. Increíble que una persona asi este a cargo de esa función. Fue el lunes a las 2230, entrando por la parte del shopping

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent. I was cramped in a small courtyard area but didn't mind at all. My server was great and I saw one of the original housewives of New York so that was cool.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Food was not as good as usual
Service was disorganized and slow.

Usually much better than on this occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The music us too too loud
Unbearable
Food was wonderful, ew webt with kids abd they loved it
But we couldn’t speak a word o e to the other

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 7 days ago

We were really excited to eat here with all of the positive reviews. However it was a huge disappointment. We had the rock shrimp tempura, tuna with crispy rice, shishito peppers, yellowtail maki, and caterpillar maki. The quality more resembled a mid-level Asian-fusion restaurant, not something on par with Nobu or Morimoto (which is what we were expecting at these prices from a Starr Restaurant).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Excellent food and service. Has really kept top notch. Great Miso bass and sushi/sashimi.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

We loved the food. The watermelon ceviche was fantastic. The shitake mushrooms outstanding. Lobster roll was great but kind of difficult to eat. Very good service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

The lunch was excellent. The food is well prepared. We had the lunch special which was a good value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Our favorite restaurant. We come from Boston and love it here. Wait staff and food amazing and consistent

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Como siempre nos atendió Siri, con su amabilidad sincera . Comida deliciosa. Todo perfecto

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Always a pleasure, great food and atmosphere! Got a selection of entrees (house salad, corn, truffle salmon and crispy rice) and an assortment of rolls! Everything was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We go there often. Best sushi bar and freshest and most creative sushi. Get to know the main sushi chefs. Incredible. Don’t expect amazing service but expect amazing food. It’s worth the money. I’m traveled and a foodie... best sushi I’ve had (never been to Japan) and these chefs are seasoned, have worked and trained abroad and are actual fishmongers. Go there and sit at the bar.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Small portions but the quality is there! Ambience is outstanding as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The place does not fail to deliver. Every time I come to Miami I stop by. Lovely as ever, quite good value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

One of the best meals I have ever eaten. Plan to go back next time I am in Miami.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Third visit...and third 5 stars review...the food is incredible....the hummus/edamame blew me away!....so did all others dishes...hamachi, beef carpaccio, dynamite roll, octopus carpaccio, rock shrimp, seaweed salad etc ...also dined outside and had the same waitress twice who was a match to the food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Non pretentious, delicious and straight forward. The host was accommodating and very polite, love her Afro too 👏🏻

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

A true pleasure and delight
Delectable and authentic Japanese cuisine

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Mal servicio, mala actitud la comida nada especial y por el precio pagado no se justifica. Teníamos una expectativa alta y fue una experiencia para no repetir jamás!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Our favorite restaurant in bal arbout

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Very good japanese, excelent fish quality. Service was not the best

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 4, 2018

The food quality was good. Shrimp app bland. Oyster shooters were tasty. Miso soup was good. The sashimi dinner 55$ didn't not have enough higher end fish. It should've included uni and amaebi/shrimp. For what it was, it was over priced. The beef that you cook on River Rock was fun but not enough protein, portion was small. Had to ask for a bowl of rice that they charged extra for - for the sashimi! Who serves sashimi without rice. Dessert was nothing special- mochi ice cream- similar to supermarket. And the 17$ cooked dessert was a mess (teppanyaki). Skip it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Slow service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Makoto we love your food. There is no other restaurant that offers so many different dishes with such rich flavors!!! Thank you Chef Makoto.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Delicious as always

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Tasty quality food. Good location. Service was adequate. Been before & Will come again. Recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Our waitress was very rude

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Muy rico, lugar muy agradable. Nos gusta mucho ir a cenar ahí..

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Pésima atención en la recepción. Mucho ruido. Muy mala atención en la mesa. Y no respetaron la reserva que teniamos

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

The food was absolutely stunning and delicious! We got the chef choice with exotic fish and it was fantastic! Totally lived up to all the hype!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Always a great spot. One of the few good places in the area

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 28, 2018

We found a peace of plastic inside the sushi. Very very dangerous

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

My favorite place. The best spicy tuna crispy rice!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Live in Bal Harbour and it is my go to place for action, people watching and a good healthy meal. The drinks are delicious. The atmosphere is great. I've been a repeat customer and have not been disapointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The food was very good- We started off with the crispy chicken dumplings. I had the grilled skirt steak with asparagus, which was delicious. My husband had the large sashimi sampler, which he loved. We finished off dinner with the chocolate lava cake which was also delicious. The only downside to the evening was the noise level in the restaurant....it was very loud...but everything else was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

It was pretty good, the only bad thing was , while I was having a Nice dinner, it was a guy right next to my table smoking a tobacco, the while time I was getting the smoke in my face.
Even thought the table was outside the restaurant should not allow this, I believe in a fine restaurant should not be permitted this uncomfortable situation.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Very noisy. Waited over 15 minutes after being seated before waiter came over to our table. Food was average, not outstanding.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Solo para cenar afuera adentro es muy ruidoso. Excelente comida y muy buena atencion

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Great menu items

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
35