About Makoto

Stephen Starr's newest Japanese restaurant, Makoto is located in the prestigious Bal Harbour Shops. Makoto features a modern Japanese menu including sushi bar selections, modern Japanese dishes, and bincho charcoal robata. A hand-crafted beverage program focused on sake compliments the cuisine. The dining room and sushi bar seating are available by reservation. Outdoor seating is available upon arrival.

Bal Harbour Shops 9700 Collins Ave
Bal Harbour, FL 33154
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily:11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm- 11:00pm

Cross Street:
96th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 864-8600

Website:
http://www.makoto-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered in front of the Collins Avenue side of the restaurant for $10/hour, $25 for VIP service. Self-parking is also available in the Shops lots and garage for $1.50/hour with validation.

Public Transit:
96th St and Collins Ave

Executive Chef:
Makoto Okuwa

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
We will be open normal hours for Monday, July 4th! Please join us for lunch or dinner

Restaurant Photos

  • "Kobe"Beef - Makoto, Bal Harbour, FL
  • Rainbow Roll - Makoto, Bal Harbour, FL
  • Spicy Tuna Rolls - Makoto, Bal Harbour, FL
  • Watermelon "Ceviche" - Makoto, Bal Harbour, FL

Report a photo problem

"Kobe"Beef - Makoto, Bal Harbour, FL
Rainbow Roll - Makoto, Bal Harbour, FL
Spicy Tuna Rolls - Makoto, Bal Harbour, FL
Watermelon "Ceviche" - Makoto, Bal Harbour, FL

Makoto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Great for Lunch (26)
Good for a Date (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Modern Decor (20)
Hot Spot (17)
People Watching (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Healthy (14)
Casual (14)
Family Style (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Authentic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Fun (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Romantic (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Business Meals (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Cozy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Spicy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tapas (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Waterfront (1)
 (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
949 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best food in town. Dont sit outside dur ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Best food in town. Dont sit outside during the summer, too hot.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelente lugar, recomiendo particularme ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Excelente lugar, recomiendo particularmente: spicy edamame, tuna crispy rice y wagyu short rib robata.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best places. Kani salad, spic ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best places. Kani salad, spicy tuna with crispy rice and fried rice with foie gras were excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite of ours when we are in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Always a favorite of ours when we are in town. Highly recommend one make reservations. The Hamachi ponzu is terrific as is the branzino fish and the brussels sprouts. Actually, everything is tasty. Have not been disappointed yet. Wait staff is bustling as is the bar, so drinks take a bit to come out sometimes, but not a major problem.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My forst tome to Makoto and i was very i ...

 
 (Yorkshire)·Dined on January 12, 2017

My forst tome to Makoto and i was very impressed. Our waitress was first class and the food was divine.

Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place for sushi! Great fish qual ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Amazing place for sushi! Great fish quality, great service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiente muy bueno, comida excelente la ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Ambiente muy bueno, comida excelente la atención insuperable, lo recomiendo ampliamente

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Makoto is definitely the best restaurant ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Makoto is definitely the best restaurant in Bal Harbour. The Asian fusion is just fantastic.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Exelente todo super comida ambiente y lo ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Exelente todo super comida ambiente y localización

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent sushi and Japanese fusion at a ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent sushi and Japanese fusion at a reasonable price for Bal Harbour. Short Rib, Rock Shrimp and Branzino a must

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, , Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I will say the food was great. My server ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I will say the food was great. My server was very attentive. We had a VERY noisy group next to us and she even offered to try and move me and my date. But there were no more tables available. She even said if it got to the point we could not take it she would tell them to keep quiet. :)

But since its a restaurant and they were just having a nice celebration i would never ask that. You just have to suck it up.

As for the price... Well its Bal Harbor. I should have expected it. Cost for two people after tip was $240. A few drinks will do that and the crispy rice dish with truffles will also increase your bill.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Clearly the staff is new and inexperienc ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Clearly the staff is new and inexperienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

I love this place because the food is re ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I love this place because the food is really good but the problem is the service. There is no consinstency. Music is too loud.

I'm still considering Makoto one of the best japanese restaurant in miami

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Very good food Excellent crispy rice/cev ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Very good food

Excellent crispy rice/ceviche/sushi and makis

The waiter was very professional

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Como siempre la comida espectacular! No ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Como siempre la comida espectacular!

No se respeta el horario de reservación, supongo que por la temporada del año y su alta demanda pero una vez que pasas el servicio es excepcional.

si vas con niños pequeños el baño no cuenta con cambiador para bebés

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love it each and every time!!! A major f ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Love it each and every time!!! A major fave!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. We had the Rainbow roll and ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great food. We had the Rainbow roll and Shrimp tempura roll. Both were exceptionally fresh, not an absurd amount of rice. The ramen was good too. The broth is delicious, not the biggest fan of bean sprouts. The wagyu is delicious as well but the slices are so thin, definitely a snack for one. We went during lunch

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a 9pm reservation but got our tab ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had a 9pm reservation but got our table at 9:30pm. Service was just OK and quite slow; somewhat erratic. We got no recommendations on drinks and / or special plates. We ordered a dish that never made it but eventually we found out they were out of such a dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Despite our table was booked for 8 pm, w ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Despite our table was booked for 8 pm, we had been waiting for 50 min to be sited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food is incredible and the service i ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food is incredible and the service is impeccable! Ashley is by far the best Server - Great Job!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place and food. A real japanese an ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great place and food. A real japanese and criative culinarie with good prices. The service also was very good. Highly recommended.

Tags: Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Casual, Happy Hour, Authentic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

always consistent and perfect!! my favor ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

always consistent and perfect!! my favorite japanese restaurant in miami.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. The food was presented ex ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service. The food was presented exquisitely. The sushi was fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

second visit in this month, because I li ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

second visit in this month, because I liked it the first time and liked it again: the food is outstandig in taste and presentation and generous servings, the service very friendly, kind and efficient. this time we ate inside and of course many people have been around- and on top the music made it a little to loud and unconfortable for a nice conversion: no wonder, that so many people just play with their apps instead of talking to each other!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Family Style, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Meeting with friends

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Meeting with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The best food and service. We were stuck ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The best food and service. We were stuck in traffic and called and they graciously hg ekd our table. Servers kind and happy. Foos-wow--rock shrimp tempura amazing sea Bass the best ever, hot stone beef so tender, great friend rice, soba noodles, Japanese eggplant---all fabulous. Can't recommend highly enough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The chicken salad is good but seems to h ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The chicken salad is good but seems to have increasingly more greens - less veggies and chicken! The outside patio is gorgeous in the winter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hostess very rude, I saw a couple of kit ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Hostess very rude, I saw a couple of kitchen staff going to the bathroom (number 2) and not washing their hands

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Best Sushi in town!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Best Sushi in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and we didn't hav ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was excellent and we didn't have to wait for each course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and ambiance. The bill is ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. The bill is usually very high but worth it

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food but the AC was so cold

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very good food but the AC was so cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place. Good sushi and hot dishes ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great place. Good sushi and hot dishes too, even during holiday week had great service too . "Luv the garden !

Tags: Modern Decor, Tapas, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

it was excellent.

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 21, 2016

it was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

delicious innovative tasty a GREAT exper ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 20, 2016

delicious innovative tasty

a GREAT experience

worth the money

( big servings!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Horrible food!!! And all the severs kept ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Horrible food!!!

And all the severs kept putting hot plates in front of my 11 month old - and the service was soooo slow.

Run from this place. Go to le zoo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great ambiance. Service a little slow.

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great ambiance. Service a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Amazing Spicy Salmon, Kobe Carpaccio, Ha ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Amazing Spicy Salmon, Kobe Carpaccio, Hamachi Ponzu, Wagyu and Mochi. Delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Makoto is consistently excellent

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Makoto is consistently excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never ever ever disappoints. EVER!

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Never ever ever disappoints. EVER!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.