Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii

Our warm, refreshing trade winds enhance your Lani dining experience as you take in the breathtaking views of Mount Makana. Makana means, “gift” and it is this consideration that inspires a menu that has a story. Our “Aloha” service will leave you feeling like “Ohana.”

5520 Ka Haku Road
Princeville, HI 96722
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Hawaiian, Breakfast

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 6:30am - 11:00am
Dinner: Thursday- Monday 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Mailani Dinner Show – Offered seasonally, please call for availability

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 826-2746

Website:
http://www.stregisprinceville.com/dining/makana-terrace/

Executive Chef:
Frederic Hoffmann

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:45PM - 1:15PM 7:30PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Sat 7:30PM - 9:00PM

Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (33)
Romantic (32)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Waterfront (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Authentic (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
People Watching (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Casual (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
558 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Perth / WA)·Dined 4 days ago

Perfect honeymoon dinner. We watched the sunset on the st Regis bar and they had a champagne ceremony such a great experience and way to take in the beauty of the view. The dinner at the makana terrace was sensational, pricey but worth every penny, fresh seafood and great wine. We were lucky enough that they had a wedding happening next door so the live music was carried out to us while we where eating dinner. Don't think they have music usually which would be a shame !

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Very fancy!! Well worth the splurge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Mahi and service was fantastic. A bit loud due to adjacent wedding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

FABULOUS! The steak & pork chop we’re impecc
I’d visit again!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 10, 2017

We were very disappointed and unhappy with our experience at Makana Terrace. The menu is uninspired and for what you get ridiculously expensive. My wife found so little of interest that she ordered only the grilled romaine salad (which was ok) and the beef carpaccio--which was tasteless. I ordered the "Kauai chicken". While the chicken itself was ok -- it was brined and decently juicy -- but it was served with a horrible "fried Mac and cheese"and a dry waffle (!). It was one of the worst preparations I've ever experienced -- dull, dry and tasteless for over $30. If you are in Princeville, even
Staying at the St. Regis, avoid their restaurants -- both the Makana and the even more overpriced Kauai Grill--$70+ veal chop (!). Instead try the Piazza restaurant in the Princeville Village or Baracudda in Hanalei.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The food was delicious but the kitchen was extremely slow. It didn't seem super busy, but I also didn't see too many waitresses. Maybe they were under staffed? Every table around us had some issue going on. We just felt like the food took too long to come to our table. The view trumps the slow food and our waitress was extremely nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Outside on a rainy nice, but still nice. Tucked into a corner (why didn't they offer us a table with a view? I thought those were reserved, but the couple seated behind us complained and got moved... guess I should complain more). Service is slow, despite having nearly as many servers as guests, so don't be in a hurry. Don't get the Mai Tai -- there are so many better ones on the North Shore. But the food was nice, and the chef came out to introduce himself. Go for the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Location and view are spectacular! Service was spot on. Food and drinks were excellent and one of our best dinners on Kauai.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I don’t know which was more superlative - the food or the service! And the setting couldn’t have been more beautiful.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Outstanding view even after dark when the moon is out. We went for dinner at 8PM, nice and quiet and romantic. Great friendly service and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 26, 2017

We booked on open table obviously, but specified it was our anniversary and mentioned it again when we checked in they asked if we were celebrating anything special. We didn’t get a table close to the view or any special acknowledgment. We had the reservation for at least 4 days. Seemed the guests staying at the hotel got preferred seating. The staff was very pleasant and professional. Service was a extremely slow getting the meal and the check.

The menu was a bit like casual bar food meets the Ritz. The chicken and waffle and buffalo cauliflower wings are my example. I had the macadamin crusted Mahi and it was cooked well, a little too much moisture and no flavor. The corn chowder was pretty amazing, but unfortunately that was the best part. Sorry but just very disappointed

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The brunch buffet was kept full and hot at all times, the made to order omelets were yummy, the view is unbelievable, the valet parking is free. Our waitress was not paying any attention to glasses and coffee cups that needed refilling but the bus boy cleared all plates in a timely fashion.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

When on the island of Kauai'i the ocean view dining options are good but this one takes the cake, or the toast as it were! We did not opt for the expensive brunch but ordered off the nice breakfast menu. The view was so exquisite that I hardly cared about the cold toast that took forever!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We had breakfast buffet. Food good but not worth the price. Beautiful setting! Servers were too busy and not attentive. Will return for the view anyway but will be careful what we order so we don't leave feeling burned. Birds everywhere... even sampling from buffet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We drove from South Shore at Lawai Beach to have breakfast on the Lanai. We both had the the buffet breakfast and enjoyed the spectacular view. While pricey, it was such an aewesome experience we would go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We got married on the beach and then we had dinner right after at Makana Terrace. It was so romantic and the staff members were very responsive. We got a complimentary glass of champagne. The food was delicious. It was a wonderful evening.

Tags: Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Spectacular setting. Exemplary service. Lovely experience.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Scenery was beautiful and weather was perfect but food wasn't as good as I expected. Service was excellent!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Our server Jeff was amazing!! Food was great view was spectacular!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was a nice romantic spot for dinner. Even after dark, spending the evening by their fire lit pond made for a pleasant experience. for apps we had scallops and tuna poke, both of which were wonderful. Entrees were the ahi tuna, which was perfectly cooked and perfectly spiced, and the mahi mahi, which was a tad overcooked. The mascarpone cheesecake was refreshing and delightful. The banana brûlée seemed a bit confused. It was tasty, but was an odd hybrid of brûlée and crumble that had a few too many flavors. Overall we really enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Wonderful meal: beautiful ocean views, tropical breezes, delicious food, good service. We went with the $85 four course tasting menu with added wine pairings ($50, four fine generous pours). The marinated hanger steak w duck fat fries was the highlight. Not as frou-frou or elegant as the next door Kauai Grill but then it's about half the price. And the Kauai doesn't have outdoor seating. Just make sure you tell the waitstaff to bring the courses out in a leisurely manner. We got our first wine pairing literally three minutes after we ordered...And did I mention the view?

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Jaw dropping scenery! Amazing food and service! Loved ittttt.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Very over priced for the quality of food. I got a $50 seafood plate and the quality and quantity was not what I expected for 50$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Fantastic meal in a spectacular outdoor setting with an incredible view and wonderful service. This was a perfect anniversary dinner by the setting sun (it's quite bright until it sets, so remember sunscreen, hat, and scarf or wrap if wearing something sleeveless or low-cut!). The orange blossom dessert was so special and unique. Service was truly lovely and kind, so glad we made the drive up from Poipu!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Our go to place for a really good meal with unbeatable views.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My husband and I Celebrated an anniversary of sorts as we had been married at the Makana Terrace 17 years earlier. We only told them of the occasion when we arrived and they gave us a fabulous table with killer views of Hanalei Bay. The Makana Terrace Manager, Cailon Moore, then brought us each a fresh lei and offered to take photos, which we happily did. The food was delicious and the setting was unbelievable with a gorgeous sunset. Our waiter was excellent and brought us 2 glasses of complimentary champagne. After dinner, Cailon brought us a special complimentary plate of cookies and a happy anniversary chocolate banner. All of these gestures were provided with genuine warmth and the evening couldn't have been more special. I can't recommend this venue enough. They really understand how critical it is to give outstanding service and they didn't miss a beat. Thank you St Regis, Cailon, and our waiter whose name I can't remember (so sorry).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Thank you for capping off our elopement with a phenomenal dinner. Our servers were delightful!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Service was great. Our waiter Jeff was very attentive and friendly. The view was amazing!! The food -- BLAH!! Very uneventful, especially considering the price. Very very disappointing meal. Thankfully we saw a beautiful sunset. The view and the service were the only things that saved this dining experience for us. Sorry, but we will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We had the breakfast buffet which was exceptional in terms of taste and variety . I would highly recommend the omelette bar and the bread pudding . This coupled with a view of the ocean made for a fine start to our day. Our server, Jimmy , was fantastic, making sure that we had hot coffee , had pico de gaeo made for our omelettes. The only person who marred what was otherwise a perfect experience , was Reid, who was not accommodating about where we were seated outdoors in an almost empty room and was incredulous when I asked for an Hawaiian hot sauce ( I had purchased some at a local store) --said no such thing existed and scowled at me repeatedly . We didn't let him impact our joy, we were in paradise after all but willtry not to interact with him again !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Spectacular views. Impeccable service. Incredibly fresh and delicious and creatively prepared food!! A must for any foodie!!! Try the scallops and Hawaiin tasting menu!! Fabulous cocktails too!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Healthy, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Beautiful setting, friendly and attentive staff. We are staying on the St Regis property so not much to choose from. The food choice was ok and the taste was about the same. The cost was outrageous considering the choice is limited. My crab cakes were bland and nothing spectacular. Head off the property as much as you can and get way more for your money and more delicious tasting items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Romantic but very expensive..after the sunset they haven't any candle or light..so I haven't watch what I eat..trouble

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Beautiful restaurant overlooking Bali Hai and the Hanalei Bay. Perfect to watch sunset, or if you can't score a reservation at the right time (like us) enjoy the sunsets s a drink from the St. Regis bar terrace before dinner.

The food was excellent, from the grilled romaine caeser to The salted caramel ice cream for dessert. My husband and son both got the pork chop, which was tender and smoky. I ordered the macadamia nut crusted ono over corn chowder with baby clams. It was flavorful and cooked perfectly. My daughter had the filet and she loved it. The dessert menu looked terrific by we were all too full for anything but a shared salted caramel ice cream. The coconut cookies with the check were a nice finishing touch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

My entree was not very good. I had chicken and waffles because it sounded intriquing and I'm all about trying new things. The waffle tasted like it was from a mix (I know good waffles because my husband makes them from scratch). The chicken portion was not satisfying, even for my small frame and stomach. I was very hungry because of a late in the evening dinner reservation and did not complain but I should have. My martini was warm and without ice-crystals. I don't think the glass was chilled. My husband did not have any complaints but his meal was not memorable according to him. The view compensated for all.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Although I had an issue with how well my steak was cooked, they immediately fixed it and it was perfect. Great service and an amazing view, go at sunset!!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Fabulous date, wonderful environment, authentic music in the background, great service! We would highly recommend the breakfast brunch! This is the best scene view of all restaurants in the area!

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We scheduled our reservation for sunset and it did not disappoint. Great food plus a beautiful view equalled a great romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

5 starts!!! Amazing view! Food was excellent!👌🏻Friendly stuff! 😊 Definitely recommended!

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Delicious food in one of the most beautiful settings! We had a table right at the edge. Our teenage daughters loved the place and we had a great time. Our server was very attentive and had great suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Absolutely gorgeous setting - breathtaking view and ambience. Food was also exceptionally delicious and presented beautifully. Our waitperson (Lori) was absolutely the BEST - very accommodating of several of our unique dietary needs. She made excellent suggestions after we told her what we were looking for - and the food turned out to be exactly as described (delicious and attractive). She was attentive, but not intrusive, and absolutely contributed to one of the best dining experiences we have had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.