About Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii

5520 Ka Haku Road
Princeville, HI 96722
View Larger Map

Overlooking magical Hanalei Bay and Makana Mountain ( Bali Hai ), our main dining room is the perfect venue for sophisticated casual dining.

Makana Terrace menu’s showcase the freshest Hawaiian grown produce flawlessly represented in the dishes prepared by Chef de Cuisine Antwon Brinson and his Culinary team. In addition we feature a vast selection Sushi, freshly prepared each evening by our skilled Sushi Chefs.

Do not miss the Sunset from our outdoor seating overlooking Hanalei Bay!

This will be one of the highlights of your Hawaiian journey...

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Hawaiian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Open everyday for Breakfast (buffet and A la Carte Menus) 6.30-11.00AM
Sunday Brunch (Sunday 11:00 AM - 2:30PM)

Open Thursday to Monday for Dinner (A La carte Menu) 5.30-9.30PM

Mailani Dinner Show - Wednesday Evenings 6:00 PM - Call for Reservations

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 826-2746

Website:
http://www.stregisprinceville.com/dining/makana-terrace/

Parking Details:
Validated valet parking is available when dinning at the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Antwon Brinson

Private Party Contact:
David Putnicki: 808-826-2260x

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Aloha Mary - Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii, Princeville, HI
  • Oreo Cookie Milk Shake - Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii, Princeville, HI
  • Sundaybrunch - Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii, Princeville, HI
  • Kona Lobster Kula Corn Bisque - Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii, Princeville, HI
  • Filet Mignon - Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii, Princeville, HI
  • Steamed Opakapaka - Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii, Princeville, HI
  • Coconut Chili Marinated Kauai Prawns - Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii, Princeville, HI
  • Ahi Tuna Sliders - Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii, Princeville, HI
Aloha Mary - Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii, Princeville, HI
Oreo Cookie Milk Shake - Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii, Princeville, HI
Sundaybrunch - Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii, Princeville, HI
Kona Lobster Kula Corn Bisque - Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii, Princeville, HI
Filet Mignon - Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii, Princeville, HI
Steamed Opakapaka - Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii, Princeville, HI
Coconut Chili Marinated Kauai Prawns - Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii, Princeville, HI
Ahi Tuna Sliders - Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii, Princeville, HI

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:45PM - 1:15PM 7:30PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Sat 7:30PM - 9:00PM

Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.8

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Hawaii
Best Ambiance
Kauai
Best Restaurants in Princeville ›

Romantic (20)
Scenic View (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
See All
Special Occasion (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Waterfront (8)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Groups (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Healthy (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Historic (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
410 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Makana Terrace is in a beautiful locatio ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Makana Terrace is in a beautiful location. The food is good, but the service is lacking. I think they were understaffed. You might not have the long waits if staffing was normal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We ended up leaving before getting food ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We ended up leaving before getting food because we had seen similar menus from other restaurants and were burned out. We are 100% sure this restaurant was amazing and we will come back next time and go there first. We just wanted a little more variety and not so formal of an atmosphere. Not their problem, ours!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Food was excellent. Service was a litt ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was a little slow. Drinks were not refilled timely. A fair number of children created noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had a great meal. The only problem wa ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had a great meal. The only problem was the gave and charged us for a double espresso when we only ordered a single.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful views of one of the most beaut ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wonderful views of one of the most beautiful spots in Kauai. Food was good. Sushi plate is good for an appetizer share or as an individual entree.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall pretty average. For the prices ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Overall pretty average. For the prices paid, it just wasn't up to par. Our wine wasn't available, so had to substitute off the bat. It happens, but it's annoying. And a restaurant of that caliber should know its inventory better. We ordered the tuna app - very nice. $23. A sushi platter - $60. Very ordinary. One roll and one sushi tartare. It was supposed to come with a salad or a soup or something else (we forget) but that never came. At $60, that puts NOBU in NYC to shame at those prices. Makes the roll about $35-40. And it was just ok. Ridiculous. Then we split the onaga local red snapper. Had to send it back and take it off our bill. $49 and the beans were cold and limp and the fish like a tough piece of chicken. It had clearly been left sitting (the waiter said the chef started cooking it at the wrong time) and it went bad. Real bad. The wait staff were lovely. But they made no attempt to make it up to us. A local neighborhood restaurant probably would have given us a glass of wine or port or even a free dessert to split. But not here. The view is amazing. But you can get that with a $16 cocktail and go eat somewhere better. Save your money for the helicopter ride.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

During our travel to Hawaii we frequentl ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

During our travel to Hawaii we frequently cooked our own meals. We wanted to take advantage of the St. Regis, its outdoor dining, the sunset and an evening out. Server was very engaged, although I think likely caring for too many tables. We had a leisurely water view dining evening after cocktails on the outdoor bar area. Food was very good. A perfect way to end our stay on the island.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My boyfriend and I dined there twice, an ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 21, 2016

My boyfriend and I dined there twice, and both times I had the sashimi assorted entree. It came with some tempura as well as sushi rolls in addition to the sashimi. The sashimi tasted very fishy and as if it had been defrosted recently. For a $66 entree, I would hope that the sashimi and sushi were freshly caught given our location. The appetizer, desserts and drinks were great though. And, you cannot beat the view!! I'd return, but I may select a different entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

I made the reservation based on a recomm ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I made the reservation based on a recommendation to go and enjoy dinner while watching the sunset over Hanalei Bay. It was breathtaking. Go early. The food was delicious. I had the grouper and my husband had the NY strip. We had the chocolate brûlée for dessert. The prices are high and I justify that with the ambience, location (really incredible views) and service. I would go back for any special occasion and I would recommend it as well!

Also, the bar had an outstanding view too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing place, beautiful breathtaking vi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Amazing place, beautiful breathtaking view, delicious food

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner at Makana Terrace twice du ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We had dinner at Makana Terrace twice during a recent visit to Kauai. The view cannot be beat! Sunset is especially breathtaking! The food is good. Not a huge variety on the menu. My salad and crab cakes were good. My husband didn't care for the onaga fish preparation. We were there for my 50th birthday, and they brought me a delicious chocolate mousse for dessert. The service was very good. The food is a bit disappointing for such exclusive location and association with the St Regis, but the view is worth going for.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The sunset and view from this restaurant ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The sunset and view from this restaurant is spectacular. The service was excellent, however the food for the price is average. The seafood medley had too much ginger and was sweet and the heart palm salad dressing tasted like mayonnaise. The mahi mahi and cream bar dessert were good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Beautiful location and delicious food, a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Beautiful location and delicious food, although a little on the pricier side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Amazing as always. My husband and I lov ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Amazing as always. My husband and I love it here and we brought in our out of town friends to watch the sunset and have dinner. They loved it too. Its usually a little quieter than it was Saturday night but we were next to a rowdy table of 8 people. At times we had difficulty talking to each other because of them. But that wasn't your fault.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful meal start to finish. Celebrat ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Wonderful meal start to finish. Celebrated our anniversary there and they made it very special. Great service and the best meal of the trip. Can't beat the view and open air dining.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I recently went to dinner ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 6, 2016

My husband and I recently went to dinner at Makana Terrace. Our food and service were outstanding. The fish was fresh and was uniquely prepared. One of our favorite items was an excellent piece of ahi tuna served atop a perfect piece of watermelon with avocado on top. Perfect spot for a sunset dinner!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

By far, one of the most stunning views i ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 5, 2016

By far, one of the most stunning views in Kauai. The food was delicious and the service was fantastic.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Vegan, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very classy. Great fish dishes. Made a ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Very classy. Great fish dishes. Made accommodations for my wife who eats vegetarian. Good Mai tai. Unbelievable creme brûlée dark chocolate dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was terrible.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We used to love this restaurant, but the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We used to love this restaurant, but the quality of the food has gone done drastically. Sushi rolls were bland, steaks tough, everything is over-priced. Go here for the view and a drink. But not for dinner.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

The view is amazing! Cannot beat a view ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 22, 2016

The view is amazing! Cannot beat a view of the ocean and the Napali coast. We watched the sun set which was beautiful but very hot and bright sitting outside. Menu was nice, the sushi was so good. Expect outrageous prices - it is the St. Regis and you are having a meal with an incredible view.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The MaKkana terrace has a lovely view of ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The MaKkana terrace has a lovely view of the Napali coast. Hard to beat! Service is good. Masses of people come there and there is no parking so be prepared for valet.

The food we had was ordinary, sushi dried out, mediocre, expensive.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

This place has it all!! Perfect view of ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2016

This place has it all!! Perfect view of Bali hai, sunset, rainbows - absolutely gorgeous!! The food was nothing short of excellent!! Even the dessert was fantastic! This is a must do if you are visiting Kauai. This place truly captures everything Kauai has to offer all in one location!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We attended their diner show / luau. Gre ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We attended their diner show / luau. Greeted with fresh leis, excellent wait staff, wonderful and quite varied buffet, free Mai tais or fruit punch. The show was good. The view of mount Makana and Hanalei bay are spectacular.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is expensive but the view ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2016

The restaurant is expensive but the view is like none other in all of Kauai currently (this will change when Bali Hai reopens). The food is excellent if you can stomach the bill. We ate there twice but had we been traveling with our kids or extended family that would not have been an option. I definitely advise making your reservation through open table as we made one over the phone months in advance for another night and when we arrived (in our wedding attire) they had no knowledge of the reservation.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value1

Great spot for a special occasion. Be su ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great spot for a special occasion. Be sure to let them know in advance and they will take care of you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the location of this restaurant a ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2016

I love the location of this restaurant and the ambiance is superb. However the menu choices have become very limited and the food is so-so. Frankly, I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

made a reservation here to celebrate our ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 31, 2016

made a reservation here to celebrate our anniversary. it was wonderful! food, service and view were amazing. only wished we had asked for a table with a bit more of a view. will definitely be going back on our future trips to kauai.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very disappointed with the foo ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 26, 2016

We were very disappointed with the food. For the cost of the meal,we should have been wowed.

We both ordered the chicken.

It was so tough..I am almost sure they butchered one of the wild ones that are all around the island. I have never in my life had a tough chicken before this. As chicken is the easiest meat to prepair. In this meal the skin was not golden ..it was white and slimy...(liked it was boiled) the meat inside as stated was very tough and chewy

The cost of this meal was outrageous. I felt bad for my husband who brought me there for my 60th Birthday.

The service was fine. The setting was amazing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Makena Terrace is a beautiful restaurant ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Makena Terrace is a beautiful restaurant with spectacular views and outdoor dining. We had a nice dinner. The food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a underwelming eating experienc ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 19, 2016

This was a underwelming eating experience, we expected better of a St Regis restaurant. The food just had no pizazz, it did not excite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The food and service are both very good ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food and service are both very good and the view is spectacular. We went before sunset and stayed through until dark. We watched showers over Bail Hai wrapping around before clearing then saw vibrant double rainbows 3 different times. I do not recommend the pool bar at all, but Makana Terrace is well worth the pricing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The views are amazing! That's really all ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2016

The views are amazing! That's really all they have to offer though. The food and service were not worth the price. Very disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

As with all St. Regis interactions at th ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 4, 2016

As with all St. Regis interactions at this hotel, it can be sterile and rather boring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Server was excellent. Fish a little ove ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Server was excellent. Fish a little overcooked but lovely view on terrace.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful views of the bay. Rained whil ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Wonderful views of the bay. Rained while we were there and some tables near the edge of the patio had to be moved and disturbed other guest. Food selections are limited and pricey but good quality.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Very good food; horrible service. The v ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Very good food; horrible service. The view is very nice if you are fortunate enough to get a table beside the rail; which we were not.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Fantastic view. Really nice and efficien ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Fantastic view. Really nice and efficient wait staff. Very expensive but very good food. Surf and turf as well as the mahimahi dish were excellent. Top it off with the caramel ice cream Sunday.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful setting with views of Hanalei ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Beautiful setting with views of Hanalei Bay beyond the infinity pool. We enjoyed a wonderful family gathering with good food, and excellent service from Vaughn, our server. This is a pricey place, but we knew that going in and felt it was worth it. The combination of unique scenery, good food and great service is a winner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good views. Nice atmosphere. Food was no ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Good views. Nice atmosphere. Food was not that good for the price. Better off eating at local establishments that are not part of the resort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.