Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii

4.5
691 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
Our warm, refreshing trade winds enhance your Lani dining experience as you take in the breathtaking views of Mount Makana. Makana means, “gift” and it is this consideration that inspires a menu that has a story. Our “Aloha” service will leave you feeling like “Ohana.”
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Hawaiian, Breakfast
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Daily 6:30am - 11:00am
Dinner: Thursday- Monday 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Mailani Dinner Show – Offered seasonally, please call for availability
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 826-2746
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 12:45PM - 1:15PM 7:30PM - 9:00PM
Mon - Sat 7:30PM - 9:00PM

What 691 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.7
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The view was stunning. The food could have been McDonalds and I would have given it a 4. The food however was exceptional and the service was spot on so it gets a 5. Highly recommended

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

We made reservations several weeks ago to celebrate our 32nd anniversary. Valet service was great. We were shown to a table ( perhaps the least desirable in the restaurant) .We refused the table and asked to be seated elsewhere for this special occasion. We waited 10 minutes and were shown to a wonderful table. Thank you to the hostess. We chose this restaurant specifically to celebrate a special occasion and they did nothing to make it so. Luckily the food is very good and the location amazing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

The views and the atmosphere sitting on the open deck by the ocean are well worth the trip. Food was prepared and presented very nicely. Great place for a special occasion. The pricing is a little steep; but you are paying for the view, service and overall ambience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Amazing food and service but most of all the million dollar view!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 15, 2018

For the past 18 years we have made a Makana Terrace dinner a must-do event every time we visit Kauai. The great food, excellent service and extraordinary view make any effort to dine there worth it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Food is always fabulous. Service was very slow today.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 12, 2018

our waiter was nice, food took forever. Lobster was very small and steak was chewy. Prime rib had little flavor. Overpriced for what we got.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

We had a wonderful time celebrating our 30th Anniversary at Makana Terrace. the wait staff, Jeff and his assistant Chase, were lovely: attentive, personable, and generous. The location is beyond compare, and our food was excellent. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

This restaurant was such a treat! We went for our anniversary, and they made the occasion quite memorable. After dinner, they served us sparkling rose champagne. After dessert, they presented us with chocolate covered strawberries with shredded coconut. Our server, Jeff, paid attention to every detail as did the other servers. Even the manager came to our table to see how our evening was going. The food was outstanding and creative. We had the beet salad, crab cakes, and macadamia crusted mahi mahi. Our waiter, Jeff, helped us with our selections, and he was right on. In fact, Jeff really made every effort to ensure our anniversary dinner was as special as it could be. Our dessert was Tahitian Lime cheesecake which was incredible! As for the view, it was breathtaking, and we were blessed with a fabulous sunset. We will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Gorgeous view and delicious food. We chose the buffet option. It was a splurge for us but we were enjoying this experience as an “activity” on our last day of vacation. The staff was very friendly but they did not clear our dishes throughout our meal. I had to remove several plates from our table myself to make room for return visits to the buffet. Otherwise it was a beautiful experience with a stunning view and I would recommend dining here to friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

It was a beautiful evening for dining on the terrace at St. Regis. We cannot stop thinking about the wonderful food and amazing desserts.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

They make a meal magical. Great wait staff. Excellent food. Beautiful setting. We had a lovely evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

We try to visit Makana Terrace at least once when we come to Kauai. It is a splurge, for sure, but the food and the incredible view of Hanalei Bay provide great memories for us when we are back home. The seafood is excellent, as expected here, but the beef is delicious as well. Staff and servers are very nice. The wine list is extensive, desserts are way too good to pass up, and anyway, who would be in a hurry to leave that view.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 29, 2018

This was for my husband's birthday, which was not acknowledged by the server. We had a 7:30 reservation, and arrived 5 minutes early, but we were not seated till after 8:00. It was dark by then. Had we been seated at 7:30 or within a few minutes, we would have had a view. We were also staying in the St Regis, so i thought we would be seated in time.

My husband ordered the 3 course prix fixe menu with poke and chips, steak and lobster, and a deconstructed s'more for dessert. He also ordered the wine pairings. I ordered a la carte, but the chef agreed to let me have the wine pairings, as well, which was very nice. I had a greens salad, crab cakes and the Ahi for my main course. We shared his dessert which was rich and delicious. The downside was our first courses were just ok. My greens salad was nothing special, nice lettuces with vinaigrette, and his poke, though quite good, was not special, Just poke with chips. But the crab cakes with the accompanying crispy greens was delectable, the crab cakes were light and paired well with the greens. My ahi was cooked perfectly, and came with mashed potatoes, a subtle wasabi sauce and broccolini, it was delicious. My husband's lobster was cooked well, as was the steak, the real issue was there was no Hawaiian touch to it, it could have been served in NYC or SF.

This was not inexpensive, but reasonable. The prefix dinner was $75, with another $30 for the wine pairings, which were all very good wines and nice pours. Mine including the wine pairings as was about the same price, though ordered a la carte. But the service could be more professional, the manager came over twice to say he was the manager , and ask if everything was to our liking...overkill. Overall, Makana Terrace is not overly pricey, food was good, it was nice that we did not have to drive after as we were staying at the hotel. So we were happy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Hard to beat the Makana Terrace - superb view of Hanalei bay, great food and always pleasant service. Price runs on the high side as advertised. For a smaller meal try a couple of appetizers - they’re happy to put together what you want.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Their banana creme brulee was the best dessert that I have ever eaten!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Had a wonderful experience at Makana Terrace May 26, 2018. We had indicated on our reservation that we were celebrating our anniversary. We arrived early for our reservation, and were seated right away and given a table for two with a wonderful view. Our server, Jeffrey L., was very attentive and thoughtful, but never intrusive. He explained he had some discretion regarding special occasions, and gave us each a complimentary champagne. The view, though marred slightly by rainy weather, was beautiful, and we were able to see the sun setting over the Pacific. We ate outside, but even though it rained during dinner we never got wet or too much wind. The food was delicious, and judged against the prices of other area restaurants was very reasonable considering the view, quality, and service. At the end of the meal, Jeffrey gave us each a complimentary chocolate covered strawberry. Overall, just a wonderful experience. Everyone at St. Regis Princeville (location of the restaurant),from the valet service to the restaurant staff, was very warm, welcoming and helpful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

The service was above and beyond what we had experienced at any other restaurant on the island of Kauai. The wait staff was courteous, personal and friendly, and the service was timely. We had a wonderful evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Service was phenomenal (thanks Alicia). The food was very good. And you can't beat the views from the deck for sunset

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

We came for the sunset view and were not disappointed at all! Sat on the outdoor terrace which is covered in case of rain. Food is expensive (to be expected) but good. Service was friendly and prompt. (Shout out to Kevin!) We celebrated our anniversary and were treated to an incredible papaya cheesecake which capped off a fabulous evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

View was spectacular. Wonderful buffet. Coconut Macadamia nut crusted french toast with coconut syrup was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The food, views, and service were exceptional. If I make it back to Kauai one day, I will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Great food and ambience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Food was delicious!!! Staff very friendly professional!!! Everything was so wonderful nice beautiful I would come back for the cocktails and food!!! Delicious!! Outstanding!!! It s a must when you’re in Kauai!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Perfect setting for out early anniversary dinner, was rainy put still was a great view when the rain broke for a bit. Yummy steak and lobster. Carrot cake is to die for and they personalized it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mahalo for a wonderful Mothers Day! We had 3 very happy Mothers at our table. Food & service were outstanding.
Big Mahalo to Gloria the concierge for arranging our table of 10 with the magnificent view of Hanalei

Mahalo Nui Loa
Susan Bertoia

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The St. Regis is noted to be a top hotel company and the menu looked great. We wanted to dine at a fine restaurant and thought this would be terrific. The food was excellent. We chose the fixed price menu with wine pairings. I don’t expect a huge plate of food, but for $105 I thought it would be a bit more. The lobster tail was tiny and there were a couple asparagus spears and a couple small carrots. And the wine servings were only about 3 oz. Service was average. They did not seem happy to have us there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Good food in a beautiful outdoor setting. A great spot for special occasions or just a pleasant evening at dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Service was phenomenal and the view!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Great view

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

This is a must try for Sunday brunch. We always make sure to eat here each visit. The food is almost on par with the amazing view. It’s incredibly tranquil and perfect for all types of occasions. Their buffet has expanded and this may have been the most incredible spread yet. Local specialties and a splendid variety of goodies to try. The best service as always. Truly a must visit for all travelers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Beautiful sunset view! It was my husband's birthday and they brought us complimentary chocolate- covered strawberries and assorted chocolates.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Saw some bad reviews on this restaurant but overall we were very happy with service, food and view (beautiful!). Would definitely return for a special occasion meal as it's a bit pricey.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

The Makana Terrace is an outstanding spot for dinner at the St. Regis Hotel on the north shore of Kauai. The food and service were perfect! Dining on the terrace watching the sunset over Hanalei Bay is an experience that shouldn’t be missed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Can't beat the location on the North Shore of Kauai. Great staff, excellent food and perfect for a date with your favorite someone. Ocean views abound. You will be mesmerized.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2018

The food was incredible. The seafood was super fresh and innovative and was quite possibly one of the best meals we had while on the island. Unfortunately the service fell short. When I dine at a restaurant at this level and price point I have a certain expectation for service. Our server forgot our appetizer course and our entrees arrived first. After waiting a few mins to start our entrees our server returned to ask if everything was alright. We informed him we never got our appetizer. His response was “oh, do you still want it?” We of course still wanted it as we ordered it with the intent of having it. Our server then asked what it was that we ordered as he had forgotten. Likely he never put it in. 8 mins later our appetizer came with a slur of excuses. Our entrees were never removed as I would have expected and instead our appetizer was thrown at us 1/3rd of the way through our entrees. At a restaurant of this standard the entrees should have been removed and the appetizer should have been delivered by a manager. To their defense they did do the right thing by comping the appetizer and offering a complImentary dessert. But it really kinda spoiled the evening. The views were stunning, but definitely arrive before the sunsets as we arrived right at sunset and only got to enjoy a few mins of beautiful views.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2018

The terrace is beautiful but the food was inconsistent. For the price, the food should have been exceptional, but except for cocktail and the dessert, it just wasn’t.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Excellent service great food slightly limited selections on the menu but the view made up for that. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Awesome view, awesome server, outrageous Pre Fix and an surrounding perfect even during rain!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
18

Tweets by Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii