Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii

Overlooking magical Hanalei Bay and Makana Mountain ( Bali Hai ), our main dining room is the perfect venue for sophisticated casual dining.

Makana Terrace menu’s showcase the freshest Hawaiian grown produce flawlessly represented in the dishes prepared by Chef de Cuisine Antwon Brinson and his Culinary team. In addition we feature a vast selection Sushi, freshly prepared each evening by our skilled Sushi Chefs.

Do not miss the Sunset from our outdoor seating overlooking Hanalei Bay!

This will be one of the highlights of your Hawaiian journey...

5520 Ka Haku Road
Princeville, HI 96722
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Hawaiian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Open everyday for Breakfast (buffet and A la Carte Menus) 6.30-11.00AM
Sunday Brunch (Sunday 11:00 AM - 2:30PM)

Open Thursday to Monday for Dinner (A La carte Menu) 5.30-9.30PM

Mailani Dinner Show - Wednesday Evenings 6:00 PM - Call for Reservations

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 826-2746

Website:
http://www.stregisprinceville.com/dining/makana-terrace/

Parking Details:
Validated valet parking is available when dinning at the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Antwon Brinson

Private Party Contact:
David Putnicki: (808) 826-2260

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:45PM - 1:15PM 7:30PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Sat 7:30PM - 9:00PM

Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (33)
Waterfront (22)
Romantic (20)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Fun (3)
Authentic (3)
People Watching (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Casual (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Cozy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
499 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 4 days ago

The minute we arrived we where treated with so much Aloha. It was my birthday and we had such a great table, the man that seated us was so sweet. Then the waitress we had was a delight and the food was so awesome :) the wine went so well with our food. The view we had just made the whole evening...the presentation of the food was awesome...we will be dreaming about it for months to come. We will be back and everyone should eat at the Makana Terrace.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food was amazing! We had magiahi with the roasted asparagus and it did not disappoint! The chef was kind enough to make shrimp and pasta in a butter sauce for my son. The only surprise was the bill - $37 for 3 shrimp. Highly recommend if you don't have sticker shot.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Best view in Hawaii - kid you not. Menu limited but food is fresh. Expensive for what you get but you're really paying for location.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2017

No one would disagree that this restaurant has the BEST view of Hanalei Bay, it is just amazing. It is very expensive, but that is to be expected, being it's in the St. Regis Hotel, the most exclusive hotel on the north shore of Kauai. I consider myself a "foodie" and have dined at high-end and expensive restaurants in the NYC area. I thought the food was very good, but not the best I've ever had. The fish was yummy and the drinks were GREAT--but the best food I had in Kauai was at the smaller restaurants with the fish tacos. :) However, the view can't be beat, and for that I'm glad I came!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Incredible views, delicious food and outstanding service! Sunset is a magic time to go... A must do in Beautiful Kauai.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We stayed at St. Regis and I made a reservation for dinner at the Makana Terrace, with a note that it was for our anniversary and that I am gluten free. I am very disappointed with the experience and embarrassed for the resort. It’s website states: “Every stay is commissioned to meet guests’ highest standards and refined to express the subtlety of their unique tastes.” Unfortunately, though our evening was special, our experience at dinner was not. We were seated in the only area of the restaurant that is badly lit and without a view of the sunset. It was so dark in our corner that I couldn’t see my husband’s face or what I was eating. Even though St. Regis is a tourist spot, the restaurant (and every other restaurant at the resort) does not have a gluten free menu. That evening it offered only one entrée listed as “GF.” I ordered the gluten free soup because the listed embellishments were quirky: basil oil and kettle corn. But there was no drizzle of oil and no kernels of kettle corn to be found when it was served. The salad I ordered was okay but I couldn’t see what I was eating. My husband’s dinner wasn’t much better. We also ate breakfast at the Makana Terrace. Its buffet includes eggs benedict along with pancakes, French toast, bagels, several different types of bread to toast, muffins, and pastries – and not a piece of it is gluten free. Its breakfast menu lists “GF” oats, and the buffet includes gluten free Cheerios. That’s it. The St. Regis does not meet acceptable – let alone “high” - standards when it makes such pitiable efforts at offering gluten free items to its patrons with celiac disease, which is estimated to affect more than 1% of the population.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Great view but not much else. High prices and the food is just ok. I would venture elsewhere if possible.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

While we were treated well from the moment we arrived, I was somewhat disappointed in our choice of restaurant to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

We were given champagne without asking, which was spectacular. No other drinks were ordered. The menu was a bit small for a restaurant such as this I thought. The chef was able to accommodate some food sensitivity issues for our party, and that was nice. I was just a bit disappointed in the flavors of the food served. A $17 "greens" salad is a bit much no matter where you are eating it, let alone the $26 "Lobster Cobb Salad" with 2 small pieces of lobster and about 3 tiny pieces of andouille sausage.

Fish prices were even a bit high, and I expected high. Beef price seemed fair based on steakhouse prices in other major cities.

After the meal, a small plate of anniversary truffels were brought to us, complementary. We did order a small dessert.

Sunset did not disappoint.

I gave the overall experience only 3 stars simply based on flavor of food as well as price. If you are looking for an overpriced meal in a great location, yiu have found your spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Amazing views, great menu and outstanding service !!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

A MUST when visiting Kauai! Get there before sunset, amazing views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I thought the food was very good but not worth the price. I had an equally good fish dinner at The Dolphin in Hanalei for less! you pay for the view which is beautiful, especially at sunset.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Service and food not commensurate with price.
Great views though!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The food and service were great, the view was amazing. We booked this for a sunset dinner on our honeymoon and they gifted us complimentary glasses of champagne. We were seated at a table with a beautiful view. My wife is a vegetarian, and she was not interested in the vegetarian option on the menu, so they made her a special stir fry dish all her own. We had an unforgettable time! Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

MAGNIFICENT wine pairing dinner & sunset views! Among the VERY BEST MEAL, SERVICE & AMBIENCE that I have experienced anywhere! SUPERLATIVE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great view. Probably one of the worst 'fine dining' meals I've ever had.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great location. Wonderful food. Excellent view. Would highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Very nice setting and very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Special birthday dinner

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Beautiful presentation of well prepared food. Service was attentive, Beautiful suset dining.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Came here for my Birthday Dinner and our 1 special dinner while on our Hawaiian Vacation. They took us in right away once we mentioned the reservation and even took note that I had requested a ocean view since it was for my birthday. The entire staff was beyond warm and welcoming. The chef greeted us personally and everyone was very attentive. While I turned down the offer for complimentary Champagne for my birthday- they were so kind to bring out a beautiful dessert of chocolate truffles that had Happy Birthday is hawaiian decorated on. So happy we made the choice to go here for my birthday. the Mojito was delicious and I typically do not like mojitos along with the lychee cocktail drink. Everything was delicious and the view (while rainy and foggy) was spectacular of the ocean and mountainside.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Tapas, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We came for a sunset dinner which despite a rainy and overcast day was phenomenal as the weather cleared at sunset for some amazing views. This is absolutely a must while in Kauai. If I ever come back I can't wait to do this again. The food and service were great as well.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

All in all fantastic; Food, service, setting

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It would be hard to find a more beautiful place in the world to dine. Ask for Jeff as your server--he is amazing!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Tuna is excellent. Steak is subpar. View is amazing at sunset.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Our evening at St. Regis for Dinner was extra special - the waterfront location, the ambiance, the excellent food and drinks and, especially, the service. Kevin, who is so personable and professional, led a focused and very, very customer-oriented team that made our special dinner on vacation memorable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The view was out of this world and the service was very pleasant. The food on the other hand was poor at best. Cold and tasteless was the chefs theme. We never complained before but we expected something good. We had the scallops for the appetizer and the Mahi Mahi for the entrée. Both were served cold and tasteless. The Mahi Mahi was also overcooked. I have reservations for a couple of upcoming nights but I will be canceling them. I will also be canceling my reservations with the St. Regis Bar as they use the same chef. Too bad as the views were awesome! Go for the views and a drink.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Food was a little ordinary. Had the seafood speciality dish. Accompanying bread was very dry and inedible. The amount of food for the price was quite surprising. A single prawn, a small lobster tail and a few mussels. Service was a ordinary too. No side plates to place the bread they brought pre-appetisers. No plate to put the shells in, I had to out these on the rim of the mains plate. They also out us in a dark dingy corner which had the sole benefit of being close to taking some awesome pictures of the sunset.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were seated across from service stand...busy. Our entrée took almost 1 hour to arrive, after our appetizers. Our coffee arrived after we finished dessert. Our bill was very incorrect. The food was fine but not for the price; and the price definitely didn't reflect the service. Too much for too little.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Delicious food and the most beautiful site on the island for dinner. Love the new chef everything was delicious. We had the mahi macadamia encrusted with a great sauce. Others had the steak. Salads lovely. Great cocktails. Wonderful server thank you vaughn! Very knowledgeable and helpful. Delightful evening thank you! We are regulars but thrilled with new chef! Menu has needed updating.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Lovely outdoor setting, quiet for conversation.
Server Kevin and his helper Pablo were delightful. Friendly and engaging, really made us feel at home. Professional and warm; much aloha.
We enjoyed the Prix-Fixe menu:
Course #1. Crispy Calamari with black tomato sauce. Light, squid cooked perfectly.
Also tried Insalata Caprese. Have had many times including last fall in Capri and all over the Amalfi Coast of Italy and the region of Campania, where it originated. Always made with tomato, mozzarella, and basil, olive oil (sometimes balsamic). Never had it with citrus instead of tomato. Excellent with fresh sliced orange. It works!
Course #2. Pan-roasted local onaga snapper, with carrot-ginger puree, and bok choy. Excellent meaty moist (with crispy skin) fish. My partner does not like fishy fish; raved about it.
Course #3. Kauai coffee chocolate tart. Can't tell you all the parts in its construction, but excellent original dessert. A very special evening.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Beautiful view. Service was friendly, but a bit slow, except for the water service which was very attentative. Food was very good. Overall, A good value for a resort signature restauraunt.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Avoid this restaurant if you're an adult. We were at a table that could have been in the middle of a pre-K school yard. Kids were screaming, crying, and running around with no one controlling them -- not parents, not management, no one. Not a place for an adult couple to enjoy a dinner. The same experience was true later in the evening at the St. Regis Bar. Certainly not the New York St. Regis. JUST STAY AWAY. We recommend Bar Acuda only 5 miles away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great menu and service. Wonderful location. Would highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The restaurant had a spectacular view. The seats on the terrace close to the balcony are much nicer of a view. We had to ask to have our seats changed because they sat us pretty far from the window. The service was nice and the people were nice and friendly. The food was good but not great. The view made up for the 7 out of 10 rating I would give the food.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Tasting Menu, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Cannot beat the view over Hana Lei Bay. This has to be one of the best view restaurants anywhere.

The food lives up to the view. We enjoyed the ahi, pork chop, and steak dishes. We found the food perfectly seasoned well prepared and for the overall experience, reasonably priced.

The ambience was enhanced by live music and the service was very very good

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Historic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Once again we were more than satisfied with the quality of the food, the service and the marvellous view of Makana mountain. It is a pleasure to eat in such a relaxed environment the dining experience reflects well on the world renowned St Regis brand. We never miss an opportunity to dine here when in Kauai and that tradition will not end on future visits. Keep up the good work.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This dinner was for the Joseph Phelps wine tasting. Unfortunately the restaurant also offered at the same time their regular "à la carte" cafeteria style menu instead to reserve one complete section for the people that came for the wine tasting. This was a huge error. The Joseph Phelps wines were outstanding especially their "Insigna" but you can really forget their desert wine "Eisbere" which was a complete catastrophe ! The food was good but nothing exceptional to the contrary of the fantastic view on Hanalei Bay and Bali Hai.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had the Angus steak with some coconut rice and it was spectacular. Cooked to perfection the meat just melted in your mouth. We were lucky enough to be seated just as the sun was setting over Makana mountain (Bali Hai) and that too was well worth the trip. Always delighted by the cuisine we were not disappointed and will be sure to return before we leave this beautiful island and of course when we return for our yearly sojourn. Thanks again Makana Terrace

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Modern Decor, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We intentionally made a reservation for a 18th birthday celebration for five. Table was seated for four and we all crammed around the four-topper. Phone calls not returned. Food ok. View was great

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 17, 2017

While the Makana Terrace is usually a romantic and lovely evening, it happened to be extremely busy the night we were there. We got a nice table but the noise level was a little above what I would consider acceptable, especially for an outside table.

Food is excellent but pricey. Definitely a special occasion restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.