Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii

Our warm, refreshing trade winds enhance your Lani dining experience as you take in the breathtaking views of Mount Makana. Makana means, “gift” and it is this consideration that inspires a menu that has a story. Our “Aloha” service will leave you feeling like “Ohana.”

5520 Ka Haku Road
Princeville, HI 96722
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Hawaiian, Breakfast

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 6:30am - 11:00am
Dinner: Thursday- Monday 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Mailani Dinner Show – Offered seasonally, please call for availability

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 826-2746

Website:
http://www.stregisprinceville.com/dining/makana-terrace/

Executive Chef:
Frederic Hoffmann

Private Party Contact:
Makana Terrace Manager: (808) 826-2260

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:45PM - 1:15PM 7:30PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Sat 7:30PM - 9:00PM

Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (28)
Romantic (23)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Waterfront (20)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Authentic (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Fun (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
People Watching (4)
Casual (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
527 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Spectacular views. Impeccable service. Incredibly fresh and delicious and creatively prepared food!! A must for any foodie!!! Try the scallops and Hawaiin tasting menu!! Fabulous cocktails too!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Healthy, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Beautiful setting, friendly and attentive staff. We are staying on the St Regis property so not much to choose from. The food choice was ok and the taste was about the same. The cost was outrageous considering the choice is limited. My crab cakes were bland and nothing spectacular. Head off the property as much as you can and get way more for your money and more delicious tasting items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Romantic but very expensive..after the sunset they haven't any candle or light..so I haven't watch what I eat..trouble

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Beautiful restaurant overlooking Bali Hai and the Hanalei Bay. Perfect to watch sunset, or if you can't score a reservation at the right time (like us) enjoy the sunsets s a drink from the St. Regis bar terrace before dinner.

The food was excellent, from the grilled romaine caeser to The salted caramel ice cream for dessert. My husband and son both got the pork chop, which was tender and smoky. I ordered the macadamia nut crusted ono over corn chowder with baby clams. It was flavorful and cooked perfectly. My daughter had the filet and she loved it. The dessert menu looked terrific by we were all too full for anything but a shared salted caramel ice cream. The coconut cookies with the check were a nice finishing touch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Although I had an issue with how well my steak was cooked, they immediately fixed it and it was perfect. Great service and an amazing view, go at sunset!!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Fabulous date, wonderful environment, authentic music in the background, great service! We would highly recommend the breakfast brunch! This is the best scene view of all restaurants in the area!

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We scheduled our reservation for sunset and it did not disappoint. Great food plus a beautiful view equalled a great romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

5 starts!!! Amazing view! Food was excellent!👌🏻Friendly stuff! 😊 Definitely recommended!

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Absolutely gorgeous setting - breathtaking view and ambience. Food was also exceptionally delicious and presented beautifully. Our waitperson (Lori) was absolutely the BEST - very accommodating of several of our unique dietary needs. She made excellent suggestions after we told her what we were looking for - and the food turned out to be exactly as described (delicious and attractive). She was attentive, but not intrusive, and absolutely contributed to one of the best dining experiences we have had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We call this the Heaven Restaurant in our family, as looking over Hanalei Bay, you feel like God must feel overlooking the beauty of creation. Truly, a magical spot on earth. And the staff knows the quality of their location, and they take pride in it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

This was the most beautiful dining setting my family and I ever encountered. Overlooking Hanalei Bay at sunset was simply spectacular. Food was excellent and service was very attentive. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 25, 2017

I order med steak and it came out welldone i would expect pay 50.00 for a steak to be perfect ....

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Alicia was very attentive and helpful in offering options for our small baby who is just starting to eat solid food. That was very much appreciated.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The view was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We chose Makana Terrace for our 40th wedding anniversary. And were not disappointed. Perfect setting sun with the best table- close to the railing overlooking Hanalei Bay! Elise, our server was fabulous- warm, friendly, knowledgeable and very attentative. Food portions may disappoint some bigger eaters but can find no fault with the presentation or the flavor. Value for the price would seem okay but when you factor in the amazing view, the value is very good. We'll be back for sure!!

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fun, Authentic, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great . Wish all seats faced the water. Amazing setting!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Absolutely spectacular place to watch the sunset

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The view was breathtaking!
The waiter was great!
My husband and I had the two egg special, that included, fried sweet potatoes (Yum!), and choice of meat. I gave my meat selection to my husband, since I am a vegetarian. He liked the chicken mango sausage! The waiter brought me a fruit side dish (Yum!) since I gave up my meat option. We will return for the breakfast buffet, we viewed the options and they have a good variety. They also have many vegetarian options.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Million dollar view, great service...Needs more reasonably priced menu selections as it is way overpriced!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The view of the mountains while we ate was gorgeous! The seared ahi tuna was delicious and our waiter, Michael, was fantastic! We were celebrating our anniversary and they brought us champagne flutes when we arrived and free dessert at the end. Great experience

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Vaughn our waiter was very pleasant and friendly. He was attentive and aiming to please. A very nice young man! He offered to take a group photo.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

25th Anniversary

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My wife and I celebrated an anniversary. We requested a sunset view table and noted that we were both vegan. From the moment we arrived, we just knew it would be a perfect night. We were seated at the perfect table for sunset views and the Chef came out to discuss our options for us. With just a few modifications to regular menu items, we had an unbelievable meal. It may have been that much better just because of outstanding service from hostesses, our waitress, and the chef, but just wow. Thanks for an amazing and unforgettable night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Amazing views!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Best sunset view in the island. Great food and service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 26, 2017

At the outset, the person taking our reservation suggested that if we wanted a table with an excellent view, we should come early, which we did (5:30 pm). We were seated at a table right next to the edge of the outdoor balcony, overlooking the harbor and the mountain range. Spectacular.
The ambience of the hotel and restaurant is elegant yet comfortable. St. Regis is a fitting name. It's a special place.
The food was unique (we ordered various Hawaiian fish dishes), and punctuated with delightful tastes of the individual components. Cooked just to our liking.
The above would have been sufficient for an top notch rating. However, there was an element which exceeded our expectations: our server, Ginnette. From her introduction, when we found she hailed from South Africa many years ago, to dessert, when she brought an exquisite dessert (on the house) for a family member's birthday, Ginnette was more of a hostess than a waitress. Throughout dinner we took any opportunity to converse with her as she was serving folks on the patio. She was engaging, hospitable, charming; we felt like we'd reconnected with a long-time family friend. In short, Ginnette was the capstone for a dining experience we may never forget. If you're treating yourself to dinner at the St. Regis Makana Terrace, check to see if she'll be there that evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The minute we arrived we where treated with so much Aloha. It was my birthday and we had such a great table, the man that seated us was so sweet. Then the waitress we had was a delight and the food was so awesome :) the wine went so well with our food. The view we had just made the whole evening...the presentation of the food was awesome...we will be dreaming about it for months to come. We will be back and everyone should eat at the Makana Terrace.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The food was amazing! We had magiahi with the roasted asparagus and it did not disappoint! The chef was kind enough to make shrimp and pasta in a butter sauce for my son. The only surprise was the bill - $37 for 3 shrimp. Highly recommend if you don't have sticker shot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Best view in Hawaii - kid you not. Menu limited but food is fresh. Expensive for what you get but you're really paying for location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

No one would disagree that this restaurant has the BEST view of Hanalei Bay, it is just amazing. It is very expensive, but that is to be expected, being it's in the St. Regis Hotel, the most exclusive hotel on the north shore of Kauai. I consider myself a "foodie" and have dined at high-end and expensive restaurants in the NYC area. I thought the food was very good, but not the best I've ever had. The fish was yummy and the drinks were GREAT--but the best food I had in Kauai was at the smaller restaurants with the fish tacos. :) However, the view can't be beat, and for that I'm glad I came!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great place

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Incredible views, delicious food and outstanding service! Sunset is a magic time to go... A must do in Beautiful Kauai.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We stayed at St. Regis and I made a reservation for dinner at the Makana Terrace, with a note that it was for our anniversary and that I am gluten free. I am very disappointed with the experience and embarrassed for the resort. It’s website states: “Every stay is commissioned to meet guests’ highest standards and refined to express the subtlety of their unique tastes.” Unfortunately, though our evening was special, our experience at dinner was not. We were seated in the only area of the restaurant that is badly lit and without a view of the sunset. It was so dark in our corner that I couldn’t see my husband’s face or what I was eating. Even though St. Regis is a tourist spot, the restaurant (and every other restaurant at the resort) does not have a gluten free menu. That evening it offered only one entrée listed as “GF.” I ordered the gluten free soup because the listed embellishments were quirky: basil oil and kettle corn. But there was no drizzle of oil and no kernels of kettle corn to be found when it was served. The salad I ordered was okay but I couldn’t see what I was eating. My husband’s dinner wasn’t much better. We also ate breakfast at the Makana Terrace. Its buffet includes eggs benedict along with pancakes, French toast, bagels, several different types of bread to toast, muffins, and pastries – and not a piece of it is gluten free. Its breakfast menu lists “GF” oats, and the buffet includes gluten free Cheerios. That’s it. The St. Regis does not meet acceptable – let alone “high” - standards when it makes such pitiable efforts at offering gluten free items to its patrons with celiac disease, which is estimated to affect more than 1% of the population.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Great view but not much else. High prices and the food is just ok. I would venture elsewhere if possible.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

While we were treated well from the moment we arrived, I was somewhat disappointed in our choice of restaurant to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

We were given champagne without asking, which was spectacular. No other drinks were ordered. The menu was a bit small for a restaurant such as this I thought. The chef was able to accommodate some food sensitivity issues for our party, and that was nice. I was just a bit disappointed in the flavors of the food served. A $17 "greens" salad is a bit much no matter where you are eating it, let alone the $26 "Lobster Cobb Salad" with 2 small pieces of lobster and about 3 tiny pieces of andouille sausage.

Fish prices were even a bit high, and I expected high. Beef price seemed fair based on steakhouse prices in other major cities.

After the meal, a small plate of anniversary truffels were brought to us, complementary. We did order a small dessert.

Sunset did not disappoint.

I gave the overall experience only 3 stars simply based on flavor of food as well as price. If you are looking for an overpriced meal in a great location, yiu have found your spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Amazing views, great menu and outstanding service !!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We celebrated our 40th anniversary at the Makana Terrace. We have been to Kaua'i many times but never stayed on the North Shore nor dined at the St. Regis.

After reading reviews, we decided the Makana Terrace was worth a try as the view was reported to be amazing. We found the reports to be true. I have traveled to many parts of the world, eaten in many amazing places and had many a great meal. The overall experience at Makana Terrace was one of the best overall and the best view during a meal that I have ever had.

It was fascinating to see the beautiful mountains surrounding Hanalei Bay from the vantage point on the cliff. Down at the beach, it is hard to get a good perspective of the true height of the mountains. Up on the cliff, you get a better sense of these majestic mountains. We alternated between being amazed at the beauty of the mountains and the glorious sunset. The many pictures we took do not do it justice and the scale of it all is difficult to capture in a photo.

We were also treated to a nice dessert with a white chocolate "Happy Anniversary" decoration to top it all off.

This was certainly a wonderful way to celebrate 40 years of happy marriage and we highly recommend it. We will certainly be doing this again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 19, 2017

A MUST when visiting Kauai! Get there before sunset, amazing views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I thought the food was very good but not worth the price. I had an equally good fish dinner at The Dolphin in Hanalei for less! you pay for the view which is beautiful, especially at sunset.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Service and food not commensurate with price.
Great views though!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.