Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii

Overlooking magical Hanalei Bay and Makana Mountain ( Bali Hai ), our main dining room is the perfect venue for sophisticated casual dining.

Makana Terrace menu’s showcase the freshest Hawaiian grown produce flawlessly represented in the dishes prepared by Chef de Cuisine Antwon Brinson and his Culinary team. In addition we feature a vast selection Sushi, freshly prepared each evening by our skilled Sushi Chefs.

Do not miss the Sunset from our outdoor seating overlooking Hanalei Bay!

This will be one of the highlights of your Hawaiian journey...

5520 Ka Haku Road
Princeville, HI 96722
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Hawaiian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Open everyday for Breakfast (buffet and A la Carte Menus) 6.30-11.00AM
Sunday Brunch (Sunday 11:00 AM - 2:30PM)

Open Thursday to Monday for Dinner (A La carte Menu) 5.30-9.30PM

Mailani Dinner Show - Wednesday Evenings 6:00 PM - Call for Reservations

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 826-2746

Website:
http://www.stregisprinceville.com/dining/makana-terrace/

Parking Details:
Validated valet parking is available when dinning at the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Antwon Brinson

Private Party Contact:
David Putnicki: (808) 826-2260

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:45PM - 1:15PM 7:30PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Sat 7:30PM - 9:00PM

Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (23)
Romantic (18)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Waterfront (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for a Date (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Modern Decor (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fun (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Authentic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Live Music (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Cozy (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Healthy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
463 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

This dinner was for the Joseph Phelps wine tasting. Unfortunately the restaurant also offered at the same time their regular "à la carte" cafeteria style menu instead to reserve one complete section for the people that came for the wine tasting. This was a huge error. The Joseph Phelps wines were outstanding especially their "Insigna" but you can really forget their desert wine "Eisbere" which was a complete catastrophe ! The food was good but nothing exceptional to the contrary of the fantastic view on Hanalei Bay and Bali Hai.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

We had the Angus steak with some coconut rice and it was spectacular. Cooked to perfection the meat just melted in your mouth. We were lucky enough to be seated just as the sun was setting over Makana mountain (Bali Hai) and that too was well worth the trip. Always delighted by the cuisine we were not disappointed and will be sure to return before we leave this beautiful island and of course when we return for our yearly sojourn. Thanks again Makana Terrace

Tags: Modern Decor, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

We intentionally made a reservation for a 18th birthday celebration for five. Table was seated for four and we all crammed around the four-topper. Phone calls not returned. Food ok. View was great

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

While the Makana Terrace is usually a romantic and lovely evening, it happened to be extremely busy the night we were there. We got a nice table but the noise level was a little above what I would consider acceptable, especially for an outside table.

Food is excellent but pricey. Definitely a special occasion restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful setting! The food was terrific as was the service. We both had the price fixe dinner of the evening: three delicious courses- Hawaiian capresse salad, short ribs and a delicious chocolate coffee mousse for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We arrived early (6pm) so we could get a good seat. When we checked in at the front they asked what our room number was, and we told them we were not hotel guests, just dinner guests. They took us to a table away from the beautiful sunset view even though there were tables open with much better views. Would not recommend this hotel restaurant, the food was ok.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Anniversary/birthday dinner - asked for a balcony table two months in advance and didn't get it. Was seated next to a table full of loud, energetic children with parents that didn't care that everybody's meal was being interrupted by screaming and crying. Our waitress disappeared for 30 minutes after taking our drink order. We had to find the manager to order food and get water. Scenery was fantastic. The staff, including the manager, doesn't seem to care about the customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 7, 2017

It was a big disappointment to dine there, especially that I always had great experience with the St Regis chain in the past. Will never go back to that restaurant.
Late to take our orders, late to deliver the meal after orders taken, poor quality sushi, and at the end , we had to remind them of the take home left over boxes...
Bad bad experience. The only st Regis like was the huge bill I got stuck with for food I could have obtained at any sushi restaurant...
Thanks
SMG

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The views at this restaurant are among the best you will see anywhere in the world. The food is good enough, but the setting is breathtaking.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The setting is spectacular and romantic, looking across broad Hanalei Bay to the jagged mountains and the remarkable, tropical sunset.
The food was o.k. - A sashimi appetizer was wonderful, mahimahi was passable and the dessert barely acceptable. So, the value is not in the high-priced food, it's in the setting, the ambience and the view. Service was very good. The wine list is very limited but good.
Go there, get one of the excellent sushi combinations with a good wine. Love where you are and not what's on the menu and you will by happy you came.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Beautiful spot !
Great service.
The sushi was so so at best.

Mahi mahi was beautiful, but way over cooked .
It seems they need a chef not a cook.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 27, 2017

You're paying for the view and it is a St. Regis property. Need I say more? $$$$$$$

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I can honestly say that I was very disappointed at the food and service. We had hair in our food multiple times. Really gross. The waitress was not able to check on us as she should. Maybe they were short staffed. She was very nice though. Very apologetic. They comped our apps and our desert. For the price it should have been a better experience. Views are phenomenal of Hanalei Bay!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 24, 2017

There are no more beautiful places on earth than looking over Hanalei Bay. The sunsets are breathtaking. The food was fabulous. Service exquisite.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We have loved the Makana Terrace as a special dinner every time we visit Kauai. Sadly, since Marriott took over the food is not nearly as good as it used to be. They used to have amazing sushi rolls which are no longer offered. So disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Ate here twice during our dtay at St Regis hotel. It's a great restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner with the best views of the sunset! Even a few whales swam by! We have always enjoyed the Sunday brunch here and wanted to try their dinner. Awesome!! We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My husband and I went here one night of our honeymoon and even with high expectations, they were exceeded. Phenomenal food, exquisite service delicious cocktails and the views are only the best of the best even on a cloudier night. We were spoiled with celebratory champagne and chocolates and the server did everything to make the night romantic and special.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Fantastic views towards sunset. Views over the infinity pool towards the sunset over the mountains created the perfect ambience. The preselected menu combinations made for a good value and wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The hotel is beautiful. The menu is very limited. The prices for the amount of food were quite high and did not include a salad. I ordered a medium rare beef tenderloin dinner and it arrived medium well. I had to send it back. We ordered the ahi tuna and it arrived frozen. We had to send it back. Between both issues and the small portions I expected much better from a St Regis restaurant. We did get our bill adjusted which was much appreciated however it did put a bit of a damper on our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 23, 2017

A very limited menu and a disappointment from previous
meals I have had there when staying at St. Regis the past several
Years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The views are breathtaking. The staff is great. Make you feel relaxed and answer any questions about the menu. The food is prepared perfectly. Best meal on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We had requested a specific table, Table 22. We had been there 3 yrs. before and thought it one of the most spectacular settings in HI. Arriving early for this visit even after more than an hour's drive, we were told Table 22 was not available, but 19 was nearby. We stupidly agreed to take Table 19. As we looked over at 22, it was obvious our table had been given away a very short time before we arrived as they had not even received their beverages.My husband looked at a large column and the service areas. We should have left. Our server was pleasant, but minimally informative. The food was a terrible disappoinment. My herbed Mahi Mahi had about 5 herbs on it and was a bland color topped with thin apple slices. The "crisp" Molokai potatoes- were so tough I had trouble cutting them. My husband's potatoes were cold, so he did not eat them. His steak was passable, but the asparagus spears upon which it rested were also tough. This was a meal unworthy of our time and expense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Wonderful outdoor dining experience, great selection of fresh food prepared beautifully.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Location was great but menu was a bit of "bait and switch". If you are just looking for the sushi and apps head to the St Regis bar upstairs. Same views and less fuss. Service was lovely just not the same menu as listed on OpenTable (or even close). Menu was more limited and pricey

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 10, 2017

An unbelievable view is backed up with a solid menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We had a beautiful view from our table on the terrace overlooking the water and the sunset. Our service was excellent and the food was delicious. It was a little pricey but nothing that I didn't expect. I certainly recommend dining at Makana Terrace. It's also a great way to visit the St. Regis.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My, now wife, and I dined here after getting married at a nearby beach. Service was impeccable, the view is exquisite, overall our experience was wonderful. After reading multiple reviews before dining here, my wife and I set expectations that were average to low for the food. We split the Mahi Mahi, asparagus. It was tasty along with the bread, mango honey butter and the cookies at the end. We recommend this place near sunset, and splitting the meal is a solid idea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The setting is priceless! My husband and I dined here so we could watch the sunset. The meals were both delicious and service exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The view during sunset

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Portions were small. We had a 8:45 pm reservation. No ambiance. Could not see anything except the rain.
Wait staff was fine.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent tasting menu and the best Ahi ever!
Must try the macadamia nut crusted Ahi!
Amazing ambiance! Amazing sunset.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The Terrace was beautiful for dining and so relaxing. The Service was good & the food wasn't out of this world, but good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Wonderful view, go before sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had Christmas dinner here and it was amazing. The view is beautiful and the food and service were extraordinary! We highly recommend the Butterfish and Land and Sea dishes. All of the tropical drinks were outstanding as well. We will definitely return here on a future visit to Kauai.

Tags: Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Love the food with the majestic view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We visit Kauai every other Christmas. We love to visit the St. Regis for the beauty and the dining. The night we dined at the St. Regis it was our anniversary. We had a wonderful dinner with a beautiful setting and our server was fantastic, she was so much fun to talk to and provided great service! We will certainly be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The view of Hanalei Bay, as in Puff the Magic Dragon, makes this restaurant unique. I drove all the way from the south side of the island to have dinner there and watch the sunset. The food was delicious, and the service was excellent, but the ambience as daylight was fading, was simply spectacular.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Beautiful views! The food was good but expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The view was better than what anyone could ever imagine! The food was very expensive for what was received. The service was excellent! I would go back for cocktails and a light treat, I would not have dinner there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.