Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 30 times today
Special offers available. See details

Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii

4.4
654 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Perfect For:
  • Scenic View
  • Waterfront
  • Special Occasion
Our warm, refreshing trade winds enhance your Lani dining experience as you take in the breathtaking views of Mount Makana. Makana means, “gift” and it is this consideration that inspires a menu that has a story. Our “Aloha” service will leave you feeling like “Ohana.”
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Hawaiian, Breakfast
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Daily 6:30am - 11:00am
Dinner: Thursday- Monday 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Mailani Dinner Show – Offered seasonally, please call for availability
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 826-2746
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 12:45PM - 1:15PM 7:30PM - 9:00PM
Mon - Sat 7:30PM - 9:00PM

What 654 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.5
service
4.7
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Quiet
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Can't beat the location on the North Shore of Kauai. Great staff, excellent food and perfect for a date with your favorite someone. Ocean views abound. You will be mesmerized.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

The food was incredible. The seafood was super fresh and innovative and was quite possibly one of the best meals we had while on the island. Unfortunately the service fell short. When I dine at a restaurant at this level and price point I have a certain expectation for service. Our server forgot our appetizer course and our entrees arrived first. After waiting a few mins to start our entrees our server returned to ask if everything was alright. We informed him we never got our appetizer. His response was “oh, do you still want it?” We of course still wanted it as we ordered it with the intent of having it. Our server then asked what it was that we ordered as he had forgotten. Likely he never put it in. 8 mins later our appetizer came with a slur of excuses. Our entrees were never removed as I would have expected and instead our appetizer was thrown at us 1/3rd of the way through our entrees. At a restaurant of this standard the entrees should have been removed and the appetizer should have been delivered by a manager. To their defense they did do the right thing by comping the appetizer and offering a complImentary dessert. But it really kinda spoiled the evening. The views were stunning, but definitely arrive before the sunsets as we arrived right at sunset and only got to enjoy a few mins of beautiful views.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service great food slightly limited selections on the menu but the view made up for that. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Awesome view, awesome server, outrageous Pre Fix and an surrounding perfect even during rain!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Food has improved at the Regis! We had fish , steaks and salads and all was delicious. Local asparagus and greens. Wonderful. Service is good enough but slow- but seriously who cares when you have the most terrific view imaginable. Love!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

If your on Kaua’i you need to see the sunset from here.......

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

My wife and I dined on a partly sunny evening. The view was terrific. We were hoping for an exceptional meal on our last evening on Kauai and were not at all disappointed. Appetizers of roasted beet and goat cheese salad along with crabcakes were delicious. While we do not usually do this, we both ordered the same entree - a macadamia nut encrusted mahi mahi - and it also was delicious. We had a lovely, relaxing evening and hope to return in the future.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Stellar views. Amazing at sunset. Best fish and Mai Tai's on the island. Excellent service. Pricey but it was a vacation splurge.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Total time from being seated to being handed the desert menu was less than an hour. My dinner was placed on the table despite not being seated at the table, but at the men’s room. Food was only warm, not hot. For the prices charged, the value was just not there. There was one positive- Jake was sympathetic but it was too late for that. We left without desert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Caught the only sunset on our week in Kauai and it was spectacular. The food and service were great. Would highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Overpriced and underwhelmed with the food (we went for breakfast). Birds everywhere- watch your food and your heads!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

This was our second visit there and this time we brought our kids who were celebrating their 3rd anniversary. Perhaps one of the most beautiful views in America over Hanelai Bay and the Bali Hai. Food was expensive (what in Kauai isn't?) but not ridiculous as you might expect from the St. Regis. Service was impeccable from the people seating us, to our professional waitstaff, to the manager. Excellent choice on menu and everything that we got was the best food that we had all week in Kauai and we ate at great restaurants. We will definitely return there every year.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Fabulous breakfast ,fabulous place, fabulous view.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Granddaughter birthday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Wonderful evening. Food was very well prepared and the view was amazing. Only bummer were the mosquito bites - but outdoor dining in Kauai with world-class views comes at some price.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

It’s a very special place in a beautiful location. Food was delicious too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The Easter Brunch deserts were out of this world!!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 31, 2018

I called weeks ahead to get a reservation on this patio to have a sunset dinner with friends we were meeting from out of town. The website looks amazing so how could we not do this right? I thought this dinner would hopefully be the highlight of a great week in Kauai. When we were arrived they had us in the back with views of their service door and we could not see the sunset at all. I asked for a table adjustment and they never even tried to move us and try never addressed my preplanning and sunset request again. No views of the sunset, no Manageent response (is this how the St Regis manage service?) and expensive. All the food was overpriced and small serving sizes and the scallops were over cooked. I would not suggest coming here for views and service because you can be the best advanced planner and pay $600 or four meals, four drinks and appetizers like we did for a terrible views and have management not care at all that your looking at views not worthy of anyone’s time in Hawaii.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Great view, really good food, and our server was super friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Love going to brunch and sitting on the terrace overlooking Bali Hai. Such a beautiful place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

This is a great restaurant in a beautiful setting. We enjoyed an amazing sunset on the terrace. The food was wonderful. The best ahi tuna I've ever had! I had the chef's tasting menu which was fantastic. Everyone in our group of 4 was happy with their dinner. Service was top notch. Love the St. Regis!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Birthday dinner. Spectacular sunset! Loved the blankets. Mahi was amazing. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Best place on Kauai’s north shore to experience excellent dining and the most incredible sunset. The south shore has Beach House —- but thankfully the north shore has the St. Regis

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Food had no taste. nice to be outside, but buggy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Amazing restaurant overlooking Hanalei Bay. Incredible menu including local seafood selections. Incredible ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Unbelievable view from the terrace. The food could be more regional/ local but the quality was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Beautiful setting for our anniversary dinner. We were hoping for a sunset dinner but weather was misty. Still beautiful though. Vaughn was our waiter. Very attentive and even brought us a special dessert. Open table made it super simple to get the time we wanted.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

A great spot in Princeville!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Perfect view and ambience. Great service and delicious food! I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Amazing experience with the best view of Hanalei Bay and the sunset!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Wonderful! we had one of the best seats in the house! our server was great and the food impeccable! it is a bit pricey but well worth it! we have been before and will go again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Good setting, confusion at the hostess stand,excellent server. Ahi and Mahi were both nicely cooked and attractively served as was the beet salad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

You must do the Saturday or Sunday brunch! It is absolutely delicious. The juice bar allows you try so many different kinds of freshed squeezed juice. I recommend the Lilikoi juice. The coconut crusted french toast is delicious and the eggs benedict is one of a kind! Best time to dine is between 7:00-8:00AM. The sun reflecting off the Makana Mountain is gorgeous and you have a chance to get a great viewing spot!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Unbelievable views, worth the drive to the north shore

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Amazing view. Wonderful service and menu. Everything was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Delicious food, nice service, would have been a beautiful sunset on Hanelei Bay but even the best waitstaff can't clear heavy clouds! Pricy, but worth it for a special dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Celebration dinner. Sat a great table with a breathtaking view. The service and food was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

We started with the Aloha Mary, a Hawaiian version of the Bloody Mary with sea asparagus- tasty. I had the Surf Omelette: crab, scallops and shrimp rolled up with a sherry tarragon sauce, simply delicious. Also, had a side of 5 small Portuguese sausages. Very well spiced. Only in Hawaii.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Fantastic food and service. Try the lobster gnocchi. Amazing

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
17