Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii

Overlooking magical Hanalei Bay and Makana Mountain ( Bali Hai ), our main dining room is the perfect venue for sophisticated casual dining.

Makana Terrace menu’s showcase the freshest Hawaiian grown produce flawlessly represented in the dishes prepared by Chef de Cuisine Antwon Brinson and his Culinary team. In addition we feature a vast selection Sushi, freshly prepared each evening by our skilled Sushi Chefs.

Do not miss the Sunset from our outdoor seating overlooking Hanalei Bay!

This will be one of the highlights of your Hawaiian journey...

5520 Ka Haku Road
Princeville, HI 96722
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Hawaiian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Open everyday for Breakfast (buffet and A la Carte Menus) 6.30-11.00AM
Sunday Brunch (Sunday 11:00 AM - 2:30PM)

Open Thursday to Monday for Dinner (A La carte Menu) 5.30-9.30PM

Mailani Dinner Show - Wednesday Evenings 6:00 PM - Call for Reservations

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 826-2746

Website:
http://www.stregisprinceville.com/dining/makana-terrace/

Parking Details:
Validated valet parking is available when dinning at the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Antwon Brinson

Private Party Contact:
David Putnicki: (808) 826-2260

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:45PM - 1:15PM 7:30PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Sat 7:30PM - 9:00PM

Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (32)
Waterfront (22)
Romantic (22)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Historic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Casual (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Great view. Probably one of the worst 'fine dining' meals I've ever had.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice setting and very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

Special birthday dinner

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful presentation of well prepared food. Service was attentive, Beautiful suset dining.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Came here for my Birthday Dinner and our 1 special dinner while on our Hawaiian Vacation. They took us in right away once we mentioned the reservation and even took note that I had requested a ocean view since it was for my birthday. The entire staff was beyond warm and welcoming. The chef greeted us personally and everyone was very attentive. While I turned down the offer for complimentary Champagne for my birthday- they were so kind to bring out a beautiful dessert of chocolate truffles that had Happy Birthday is hawaiian decorated on. So happy we made the choice to go here for my birthday. the Mojito was delicious and I typically do not like mojitos along with the lychee cocktail drink. Everything was delicious and the view (while rainy and foggy) was spectacular of the ocean and mountainside.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Tapas, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We came for a sunset dinner which despite a rainy and overcast day was phenomenal as the weather cleared at sunset for some amazing views. This is absolutely a must while in Kauai. If I ever come back I can't wait to do this again. The food and service were great as well.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

All in all fantastic; Food, service, setting

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It would be hard to find a more beautiful place in the world to dine. Ask for Jeff as your server--he is amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Tuna is excellent. Steak is subpar. View is amazing at sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Our evening at St. Regis for Dinner was extra special - the waterfront location, the ambiance, the excellent food and drinks and, especially, the service. Kevin, who is so personable and professional, led a focused and very, very customer-oriented team that made our special dinner on vacation memorable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The view was out of this world and the service was very pleasant. The food on the other hand was poor at best. Cold and tasteless was the chefs theme. We never complained before but we expected something good. We had the scallops for the appetizer and the Mahi Mahi for the entrée. Both were served cold and tasteless. The Mahi Mahi was also overcooked. I have reservations for a couple of upcoming nights but I will be canceling them. I will also be canceling my reservations with the St. Regis Bar as they use the same chef. Too bad as the views were awesome! Go for the views and a drink.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Food was a little ordinary. Had the seafood speciality dish. Accompanying bread was very dry and inedible. The amount of food for the price was quite surprising. A single prawn, a small lobster tail and a few mussels. Service was a ordinary too. No side plates to place the bread they brought pre-appetisers. No plate to put the shells in, I had to out these on the rim of the mains plate. They also out us in a dark dingy corner which had the sole benefit of being close to taking some awesome pictures of the sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were seated across from service stand...busy. Our entrée took almost 1 hour to arrive, after our appetizers. Our coffee arrived after we finished dessert. Our bill was very incorrect. The food was fine but not for the price; and the price definitely didn't reflect the service. Too much for too little.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Delicious food and the most beautiful site on the island for dinner. Love the new chef everything was delicious. We had the mahi macadamia encrusted with a great sauce. Others had the steak. Salads lovely. Great cocktails. Wonderful server thank you vaughn! Very knowledgeable and helpful. Delightful evening thank you! We are regulars but thrilled with new chef! Menu has needed updating.

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Lovely outdoor setting, quiet for conversation.
Server Kevin and his helper Pablo were delightful. Friendly and engaging, really made us feel at home. Professional and warm; much aloha.
We enjoyed the Prix-Fixe menu:
Course #1. Crispy Calamari with black tomato sauce. Light, squid cooked perfectly.
Also tried Insalata Caprese. Have had many times including last fall in Capri and all over the Amalfi Coast of Italy and the region of Campania, where it originated. Always made with tomato, mozzarella, and basil, olive oil (sometimes balsamic). Never had it with citrus instead of tomato. Excellent with fresh sliced orange. It works!
Course #2. Pan-roasted local onaga snapper, with carrot-ginger puree, and bok choy. Excellent meaty moist (with crispy skin) fish. My partner does not like fishy fish; raved about it.
Course #3. Kauai coffee chocolate tart. Can't tell you all the parts in its construction, but excellent original dessert. A very special evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Beautiful view. Service was friendly, but a bit slow, except for the water service which was very attentative. Food was very good. Overall, A good value for a resort signature restauraunt.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Avoid this restaurant if you're an adult. We were at a table that could have been in the middle of a pre-K school yard. Kids were screaming, crying, and running around with no one controlling them -- not parents, not management, no one. Not a place for an adult couple to enjoy a dinner. The same experience was true later in the evening at the St. Regis Bar. Certainly not the New York St. Regis. JUST STAY AWAY. We recommend Bar Acuda only 5 miles away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great menu and service. Wonderful location. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The restaurant had a spectacular view. The seats on the terrace close to the balcony are much nicer of a view. We had to ask to have our seats changed because they sat us pretty far from the window. The service was nice and the people were nice and friendly. The food was good but not great. The view made up for the 7 out of 10 rating I would give the food.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Cannot beat the view over Hana Lei Bay. This has to be one of the best view restaurants anywhere.

The food lives up to the view. We enjoyed the ahi, pork chop, and steak dishes. We found the food perfectly seasoned well prepared and for the overall experience, reasonably priced.

The ambience was enhanced by live music and the service was very very good

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Historic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Once again we were more than satisfied with the quality of the food, the service and the marvellous view of Makana mountain. It is a pleasure to eat in such a relaxed environment the dining experience reflects well on the world renowned St Regis brand. We never miss an opportunity to dine here when in Kauai and that tradition will not end on future visits. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This dinner was for the Joseph Phelps wine tasting. Unfortunately the restaurant also offered at the same time their regular "à la carte" cafeteria style menu instead to reserve one complete section for the people that came for the wine tasting. This was a huge error. The Joseph Phelps wines were outstanding especially their "Insigna" but you can really forget their desert wine "Eisbere" which was a complete catastrophe ! The food was good but nothing exceptional to the contrary of the fantastic view on Hanalei Bay and Bali Hai.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had the Angus steak with some coconut rice and it was spectacular. Cooked to perfection the meat just melted in your mouth. We were lucky enough to be seated just as the sun was setting over Makana mountain (Bali Hai) and that too was well worth the trip. Always delighted by the cuisine we were not disappointed and will be sure to return before we leave this beautiful island and of course when we return for our yearly sojourn. Thanks again Makana Terrace

Tags: Modern Decor, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We intentionally made a reservation for a 18th birthday celebration for five. Table was seated for four and we all crammed around the four-topper. Phone calls not returned. Food ok. View was great

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 17, 2017

While the Makana Terrace is usually a romantic and lovely evening, it happened to be extremely busy the night we were there. We got a nice table but the noise level was a little above what I would consider acceptable, especially for an outside table.

Food is excellent but pricey. Definitely a special occasion restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Beautiful setting! The food was terrific as was the service. We both had the price fixe dinner of the evening: three delicious courses- Hawaiian capresse salad, short ribs and a delicious chocolate coffee mousse for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We arrived early (6pm) so we could get a good seat. When we checked in at the front they asked what our room number was, and we told them we were not hotel guests, just dinner guests. They took us to a table away from the beautiful sunset view even though there were tables open with much better views. Would not recommend this hotel restaurant, the food was ok.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Anniversary/birthday dinner - asked for a balcony table two months in advance and didn't get it. Was seated next to a table full of loud, energetic children with parents that didn't care that everybody's meal was being interrupted by screaming and crying. Our waitress disappeared for 30 minutes after taking our drink order. We had to find the manager to order food and get water. Scenery was fantastic. The staff, including the manager, doesn't seem to care about the customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 7, 2017

It was a big disappointment to dine there, especially that I always had great experience with the St Regis chain in the past. Will never go back to that restaurant.
Late to take our orders, late to deliver the meal after orders taken, poor quality sushi, and at the end , we had to remind them of the take home left over boxes...
Bad bad experience. The only st Regis like was the huge bill I got stuck with for food I could have obtained at any sushi restaurant...
Thanks
SMG

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The views at this restaurant are among the best you will see anywhere in the world. The food is good enough, but the setting is breathtaking.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The setting is spectacular and romantic, looking across broad Hanalei Bay to the jagged mountains and the remarkable, tropical sunset.
The food was o.k. - A sashimi appetizer was wonderful, mahimahi was passable and the dessert barely acceptable. So, the value is not in the high-priced food, it's in the setting, the ambience and the view. Service was very good. The wine list is very limited but good.
Go there, get one of the excellent sushi combinations with a good wine. Love where you are and not what's on the menu and you will by happy you came.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Beautiful spot !
Great service.
The sushi was so so at best.

Mahi mahi was beautiful, but way over cooked .
It seems they need a chef not a cook.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 27, 2017

You're paying for the view and it is a St. Regis property. Need I say more? $$$$$$$

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I can honestly say that I was very disappointed at the food and service. We had hair in our food multiple times. Really gross. The waitress was not able to check on us as she should. Maybe they were short staffed. She was very nice though. Very apologetic. They comped our apps and our desert. For the price it should have been a better experience. Views are phenomenal of Hanalei Bay!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 24, 2017

There are no more beautiful places on earth than looking over Hanalei Bay. The sunsets are breathtaking. The food was fabulous. Service exquisite.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We have loved the Makana Terrace as a special dinner every time we visit Kauai. Sadly, since Marriott took over the food is not nearly as good as it used to be. They used to have amazing sushi rolls which are no longer offered. So disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Ate here twice during our dtay at St Regis hotel. It's a great restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner with the best views of the sunset! Even a few whales swam by! We have always enjoyed the Sunday brunch here and wanted to try their dinner. Awesome!! We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My husband and I went here one night of our honeymoon and even with high expectations, they were exceeded. Phenomenal food, exquisite service delicious cocktails and the views are only the best of the best even on a cloudier night. We were spoiled with celebratory champagne and chocolates and the server did everything to make the night romantic and special.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Fantastic views towards sunset. Views over the infinity pool towards the sunset over the mountains created the perfect ambience. The preselected menu combinations made for a good value and wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.