About Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii

Overlooking magical Hanalei Bay and Makana Mountain ( Bali Hai ), our main dining room is the perfect venue for sophisticated casual dining.

Makana Terrace menu’s showcase the freshest Hawaiian grown produce flawlessly represented in the dishes prepared by Chef de Cuisine Antwon Brinson and his Culinary team. In addition we feature a vast selection Sushi, freshly prepared each evening by our skilled Sushi Chefs.

Do not miss the Sunset from our outdoor seating overlooking Hanalei Bay!

This will be one of the highlights of your Hawaiian journey...

5520 Ka Haku Road
Princeville, HI 96722
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Hawaiian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Open everyday for Breakfast (buffet and A la Carte Menus) 6.30-11.00AM
Sunday Brunch (Sunday 11:00 AM - 2:30PM)

Open Thursday to Monday for Dinner (A La carte Menu) 5.30-9.30PM

Mailani Dinner Show - Wednesday Evenings 6:00 PM - Call for Reservations

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 826-2746

Website:
http://www.stregisprinceville.com/dining/makana-terrace/

Parking Details:
Validated valet parking is available when dinning at the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Antwon Brinson

Private Party Contact:
David Putnicki: (808) 826-2260

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:45PM - 1:15PM 7:30PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Sat 7:30PM - 9:00PM

Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (14)
Scenic View (14)
Romantic (14)
See All
Waterfront (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Live Music (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Fun (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Cozy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Healthy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

We have loved the Makana Terrace as a special dinner every time we visit Kauai. Sadly, since Marriott took over the food is not nearly as good as it used to be. They used to have amazing sushi rolls which are no longer offered. So disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Ate here twice during our dtay at St Regis hotel. It's a great restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner with the best views of the sunset! Even a few whales swam by! We have always enjoyed the Sunday brunch here and wanted to try their dinner. Awesome!! We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My husband and I went here one night of our honeymoon and even with high expectations, they were exceeded. Phenomenal food, exquisite service delicious cocktails and the views are only the best of the best even on a cloudier night. We were spoiled with celebratory champagne and chocolates and the server did everything to make the night romantic and special.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Fantastic views towards sunset. Views over the infinity pool towards the sunset over the mountains created the perfect ambience. The preselected menu combinations made for a good value and wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The hotel is beautiful. The menu is very limited. The prices for the amount of food were quite high and did not include a salad. I ordered a medium rare beef tenderloin dinner and it arrived medium well. I had to send it back. We ordered the ahi tuna and it arrived frozen. We had to send it back. Between both issues and the small portions I expected much better from a St Regis restaurant. We did get our bill adjusted which was much appreciated however it did put a bit of a damper on our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 23, 2017

A very limited menu and a disappointment from previous

meals I have had there when staying at St. Regis the past several

Years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The views are breathtaking. The staff is great. Make you feel relaxed and answer any questions about the menu. The food is prepared perfectly. Best meal on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We had requested a specific table, Table 22. We had been there 3 yrs. before and thought it one of the most spectacular settings in HI. Arriving early for this visit even after more than an hour's drive, we were told Table 22 was not available, but 19 was nearby. We stupidly agreed to take Table 19. As we looked over at 22, it was obvious our table had been given away a very short time before we arrived as they had not even received their beverages.My husband looked at a large column and the service areas. We should have left. Our server was pleasant, but minimally informative. The food was a terrible disappoinment. My herbed Mahi Mahi had about 5 herbs on it and was a bland color topped with thin apple slices. The "crisp" Molokai potatoes- were so tough I had trouble cutting them. My husband's potatoes were cold, so he did not eat them. His steak was passable, but the asparagus spears upon which it rested were also tough. This was a meal unworthy of our time and expense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Wonderful outdoor dining experience, great selection of fresh food prepared beautifully.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Location was great but menu was a bit of "bait and switch". If you are just looking for the sushi and apps head to the St Regis bar upstairs. Same views and less fuss. Service was lovely just not the same menu as listed on OpenTable (or even close). Menu was more limited and pricey

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 10, 2017

An unbelievable view is backed up with a solid menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We had a beautiful view from our table on the terrace overlooking the water and the sunset. Our service was excellent and the food was delicious. It was a little pricey but nothing that I didn't expect. I certainly recommend dining at Makana Terrace. It's also a great way to visit the St. Regis.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My, now wife, and I dined here after getting married at a nearby beach. Service was impeccable, the view is exquisite, overall our experience was wonderful. After reading multiple reviews before dining here, my wife and I set expectations that were average to low for the food. We split the Mahi Mahi, asparagus. It was tasty along with the bread, mango honey butter and the cookies at the end. We recommend this place near sunset, and splitting the meal is a solid idea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The setting is priceless! My husband and I dined here so we could watch the sunset. The meals were both delicious and service exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The view during sunset

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Portions were small. We had a 8:45 pm reservation. No ambiance. Could not see anything except the rain.

Wait staff was fine.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent tasting menu and the best Ahi ever!

Must try the macadamia nut crusted Ahi!

Amazing ambiance! Amazing sunset.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The Terrace was beautiful for dining and so relaxing. The Service was good & the food wasn't out of this world, but good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Wonderful view, go before sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had Christmas dinner here and it was amazing. The view is beautiful and the food and service were extraordinary! We highly recommend the Butterfish and Land and Sea dishes. All of the tropical drinks were outstanding as well. We will definitely return here on a future visit to Kauai.

Tags: Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Love the food with the majestic view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We visit Kauai every other Christmas. We love to visit the St. Regis for the beauty and the dining. The night we dined at the St. Regis it was our anniversary. We had a wonderful dinner with a beautiful setting and our server was fantastic, she was so much fun to talk to and provided great service! We will certainly be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The view of Hanalei Bay, as in Puff the Magic Dragon, makes this restaurant unique. I drove all the way from the south side of the island to have dinner there and watch the sunset. The food was delicious, and the service was excellent, but the ambience as daylight was fading, was simply spectacular.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Beautiful views! The food was good but expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The view was better than what anyone could ever imagine! The food was very expensive for what was received. The service was excellent! I would go back for cocktails and a light treat, I would not have dinner there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Makana Terrace is in a beautiful location. The food is good, but the service is lacking. I think they were understaffed. You might not have the long waits if staffing was normal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We ended up leaving before getting food because we had seen similar menus from other restaurants and were burned out. We are 100% sure this restaurant was amazing and we will come back next time and go there first. We just wanted a little more variety and not so formal of an atmosphere. Not their problem, ours!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was a little slow. Drinks were not refilled timely. A fair number of children created noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had a great meal. The only problem was the gave and charged us for a double espresso when we only ordered a single.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wonderful views of one of the most beautiful spots in Kauai. Food was good. Sushi plate is good for an appetizer share or as an individual entree.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Overall pretty average. For the prices paid, it just wasn't up to par. Our wine wasn't available, so had to substitute off the bat. It happens, but it's annoying. And a restaurant of that caliber should know its inventory better. We ordered the tuna app - very nice. $23. A sushi platter - $60. Very ordinary. One roll and one sushi tartare. It was supposed to come with a salad or a soup or something else (we forget) but that never came. At $60, that puts NOBU in NYC to shame at those prices. Makes the roll about $35-40. And it was just ok. Ridiculous. Then we split the onaga local red snapper. Had to send it back and take it off our bill. $49 and the beans were cold and limp and the fish like a tough piece of chicken. It had clearly been left sitting (the waiter said the chef started cooking it at the wrong time) and it went bad. Real bad. The wait staff were lovely. But they made no attempt to make it up to us. A local neighborhood restaurant probably would have given us a glass of wine or port or even a free dessert to split. But not here. The view is amazing. But you can get that with a $16 cocktail and go eat somewhere better. Save your money for the helicopter ride.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

During our travel to Hawaii we frequently cooked our own meals. We wanted to take advantage of the St. Regis, its outdoor dining, the sunset and an evening out. Server was very engaged, although I think likely caring for too many tables. We had a leisurely water view dining evening after cocktails on the outdoor bar area. Food was very good. A perfect way to end our stay on the island.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 21, 2016

My boyfriend and I dined there twice, and both times I had the sashimi assorted entree. It came with some tempura as well as sushi rolls in addition to the sashimi. The sashimi tasted very fishy and as if it had been defrosted recently. For a $66 entree, I would hope that the sashimi and sushi were freshly caught given our location. The appetizer, desserts and drinks were great though. And, you cannot beat the view!! I'd return, but I may select a different entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I made the reservation based on a recommendation to go and enjoy dinner while watching the sunset over Hanalei Bay. It was breathtaking. Go early. The food was delicious. I had the grouper and my husband had the NY strip. We had the chocolate brûlée for dessert. The prices are high and I justify that with the ambience, location (really incredible views) and service. I would go back for any special occasion and I would recommend it as well!

Also, the bar had an outstanding view too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Amazing place, beautiful breathtaking view, delicious food

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We had dinner at Makana Terrace twice during a recent visit to Kauai. The view cannot be beat! Sunset is especially breathtaking! The food is good. Not a huge variety on the menu. My salad and crab cakes were good. My husband didn't care for the onaga fish preparation. We were there for my 50th birthday, and they brought me a delicious chocolate mousse for dessert. The service was very good. The food is a bit disappointing for such exclusive location and association with the St Regis, but the view is worth going for.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The sunset and view from this restaurant is spectacular. The service was excellent, however the food for the price is average. The seafood medley had too much ginger and was sweet and the heart palm salad dressing tasted like mayonnaise. The mahi mahi and cream bar dessert were good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Beautiful location and delicious food, although a little on the pricier side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Amazing as always. My husband and I love it here and we brought in our out of town friends to watch the sunset and have dinner. They loved it too. Its usually a little quieter than it was Saturday night but we were next to a rowdy table of 8 people. At times we had difficulty talking to each other because of them. But that wasn't your fault.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Wonderful meal start to finish. Celebrated our anniversary there and they made it very special. Great service and the best meal of the trip. Can't beat the view and open air dining.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 6, 2016

My husband and I recently went to dinner at Makana Terrace. Our food and service were outstanding. The fish was fresh and was uniquely prepared. One of our favorite items was an excellent piece of ahi tuna served atop a perfect piece of watermelon with avocado on top. Perfect spot for a sunset dinner!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 5, 2016

By far, one of the most stunning views in Kauai. The food was delicious and the service was fantastic.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Vegan, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Very classy. Great fish dishes. Made accommodations for my wife who eats vegetarian. Good Mai tai. Unbelievable creme brûlée dark chocolate dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We used to love this restaurant, but the quality of the food has gone done drastically. Sushi rolls were bland, steaks tough, everything is over-priced. Go here for the view and a drink. But not for dinner.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 22, 2016

The view is amazing! Cannot beat a view of the ocean and the Napali coast. We watched the sun set which was beautiful but very hot and bright sitting outside. Menu was nice, the sushi was so good. Expect outrageous prices - it is the St. Regis and you are having a meal with an incredible view.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The MaKkana terrace has a lovely view of the Napali coast. Hard to beat! Service is good. Masses of people come there and there is no parking so be prepared for valet.

The food we had was ordinary, sushi dried out, mediocre, expensive.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2016

This place has it all!! Perfect view of Bali hai, sunset, rainbows - absolutely gorgeous!! The food was nothing short of excellent!! Even the dessert was fantastic! This is a must do if you are visiting Kauai. This place truly captures everything Kauai has to offer all in one location!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We attended their diner show / luau. Greeted with fresh leis, excellent wait staff, wonderful and quite varied buffet, free Mai tais or fruit punch. The show was good. The view of mount Makana and Hanalei bay are spectacular.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.