About Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii

5520 Ka Haku Road
Princeville, HI 96722
View Larger Map

Overlooking magical Hanalei Bay and Makana Mountain ( Bali Hai ), our main dining room is the perfect venue for sophisticated casual dining.

Makana Terrace menu’s showcase the freshest Hawaiian grown produce flawlessly represented in the dishes prepared by Chef de Cuisine Antwon Brinson and his Culinary team. In addition we feature a vast selection Sushi, freshly prepared each evening by our skilled Sushi Chefs.

Do not miss the Sunset from our outdoor seating overlooking Hanalei Bay!

This will be one of the highlights of your Hawaiian journey...

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Hawaiian, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Open everyday for Breakfast (buffet and A la Carte Menus) 6.30-11.00AM
Sunday Brunch (Sunday 11:00 AM - 2:30PM)

Open Thursday to Monday for Dinner (A La carte Menu) 5.30-9.30PM

Mailani Dinner Show - Wednesday Evenings 6:00 PM - Call for Reservations

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 826-2746

Website:
http://www.stregisprinceville.com/dining/makana-terrace/

Parking Details:
Validated valet parking is available when dinning at the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Antwon Brinson

Private Party Contact:
David Putnicki: 808-826-2260x

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Aloha Mary
  • Oreo Cookie Milk Shake
  • Sundaybrunch
  • Kona Lobster Kula Corn Bisque
  • Filet Mignon
  • Steamed Opakapaka
  • Coconut Chili Marinated Kauai Prawns
  • Ahi Tuna Sliders
Aloha Mary
Oreo Cookie Milk Shake
Sundaybrunch
Kona Lobster Kula Corn Bisque
Filet Mignon
Steamed Opakapaka
Coconut Chili Marinated Kauai Prawns
Ahi Tuna Sliders

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:45PM - 1:15PM 7:30PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Sat 7:30PM - 9:00PM

Makana Terrace - St. Regis - Hawaii Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Hawaii
Best Ambiance
Kauai
Best Restaurants in Princeville ›

scenic view (24)
great for outdoor dining (23)
romantic (18)
See All
special occasion (16)
fit for foodies (11)
great for brunch (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (2)
great for lunch (2)
notable wine list (2)
kid-friendly (2)
good for groups (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
369 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service3

Good views. Nice atmosphere. Food was no ...

Dined 5 days ago

Good views. Nice atmosphere. Food was not that good for the price. Better off eating at local establishments that are not part of the resort.

food5
ambience5
service5

Like everywhere else in Hawaii the food ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Like everywhere else in Hawaii the food and beverages are expensive, but the exceptional service and quality is above any other establishment we've tried so far; can't go wrong with the quality at Princeville's St. Regis Hotel!

food3
ambience4
service2

We were visiting the hotel on vacation a ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

We were visiting the hotel on vacation and wanted somewhere special to celebrate our recent engagement. The first thing that was off putting was the hostess who answered the phone after I made the reservation. We had a nice bottle of wine and wanted to know about the corkage fee. The woman tried to get me off the phone multiple times, but had a few questions I wanted answered. She seemed frustrated with my call. That aside we were excited to come dine with a beautiful ocean view and loved the menu we saw on open table. We were greeted by Jeff who was very nice and liked his demeanor at the table. He brought us sparkling water and made us feel like a priority as our server was nowhere to be found. Jenny finally came to the table and saw we had a bottle of wine, said hello and just left to get wine glasses. We wanted a drink before the bottle, but had to tell her 5 minutes later when she returned with glasses. We had to tell her we wanted the bottle opened to breath, but couldn't get her attention until our drinks arrived. The drinks were beautiful and had a gorgeous flower at the top...nice touch. A table behind us had sat about 10 minutes into our dining experience. They were greeted by Jeff, but then we're not taken care of for over 10 minutes...meaning we waited even longer to put in our food order AND still our wine was not opened and almost done with our first drink. She took the table behind us order before ours and pushed the most expensive entrees on us to order. I was going to get the seafood medley anyway, but it is nice to get an array of options from the server...not just the two most expensive options... We ordered the makana roll as an appetizer which was very good, but we had to ask for chopsticks, side plates and soy sauce. Why was it not on the table prior to putting down our $25 sushi roll??? The same for our entrees. Just frustrating and bad experience...

food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Beautiful view, unfortunately both servi ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Beautiful view, unfortunately both service and food were subpar. Waters were left empty, wine not repoured. Uncreative fish entrées overcooked. Crab cakes were tasty.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive but worth it for the view at s ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Expensive but worth it for the view at sunset overlooking Hanalei Bay! Service was exceptional!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Princeville Restaurant

Dined on May 30, 2016

We enjoyed our meal at Makana Terrace. The staff were extremely polite and always addressed us by our last names. Or server was great, but not too folksy. Many people were there for special occasions, although we were there on a recommendation from a friend. The beet and goat cheese salad was delicious and the entrees weren't overbearing. The view was spectacular and we would go again the next time we are on Kauai.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing view, good food.

Dined on May 28, 2016

This was our sixth time in Kauai but first time to Makana Terrace. It's kind of what you would expect from the pictures/descriptions. An amazing view, good food and service. We will definitely return on our next trip to Kauai.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Middling Fare for a Beautiful Location

Dined on May 27, 2016

Two notes to start: The St. Regis at Princeville stands on my favorite place on Kauai. Second, I was after vegetarian cuisine. That said, the view from the open air deck at Makana is superb: overlooking Hanalei Bay for incredible sunsets and beautiful vistas. A meal at the Terrace is almost worth its cost just for the experience. Service is what you pay for: mid-level relaxed fine dining from more-or-less expereinced service staff. I was underwhelmed by the vegetarian options: just one entree and one soup available. The entree, a vegetable pot pie, was simple but well prepared. My experience (to be fair, my first there) was a good representation of the hotel writ large: where wealthy tourists in flippers regularly trod on to of once pristine coral reefs after being served expensive drinks by the pool. For the price, both hotel and restaurant should be held to a higher standard. Overall: a fine experience, but not great for the price.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Yes it is expensive but comparable to ot ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Yes it is expensive but comparable to other similar prices meals the food was great and service was great and then you add in an amazing view. The Mai tai's were fantastic and the chicken was best ever had, seriously. I don't normally order chicken at fine dining but this was worth it.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The most beautiful dining spot ever! Gor ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The most beautiful dining spot ever! Gorgeous views and fantastic service!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Special Friends Dineer

Dined on May 3, 2016

This is an excellent restaurant but is very expensive. An inexpensive bottle of wine was $95. But, the food was good and the ambience outstanding. Our waiter was very attentive and went out of his way to make our dinner pleasurable.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Not worth the price

Dined on April 25, 2016

We went to Makana Terrace while on vacation on Kauai hoping for a nice night out. It was less than pleasurable. Our food order came out wrong and lacked flavor. The things you'd expect not to have much flavor (salad) had crazy spices (over powering). Our server seemed frazzelled the whole time. He want to comp out desert to apologize for the error on our food order but then charged us for it. When the bill came out it was not the right receipt. For such a high brow hotel their food was not worth the price you had to pay. I guess you pay for the amazing view of Hanalei bay...Hopefully they will upgrade and deliver better food in the future.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing view and food

Dined on April 12, 2016

Expensive but the food and view are breathtaking. Our waiter Vaughn gave great recommendations and the service was great. Highly recommend the Makana sushi roll and the ginger margaritas.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Best view on island. Delicious food. Gr ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Best view on island. Delicious food. Great service better than usual! Thanks!

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Most expensive Easter Brunch ever!

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Delicious, tons of variety and a lot of wonderful seafood - but they should tell you the price up front AND perhaps include a drink with it? $115 per person should definitely include at least one beverage - and though it was busy, a refilled water glass would have been great too. We were expecting $75-80 from the website so the bill was a stunner.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Not a great experience

Dined on March 5, 2016

First they had several tables in nice locations on the terrace, but tried to seat us in the back near the ballroom with no view. We objected and waited for them to seat us in a better location. None of the tables around us were EVER used, so reservations for these was not the issue. The menu is so limited that finding something you would like to order is difficult, and the food quality was dismal. The service was minimal at best and while we come here every year, we will not be going back to the Makana Terrace.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good Food Plus a View

Dined on March 1, 2016

The service was excellent the food very tasty and the view magnificent. Wine selection was also quite good It is certainly worthy look if you are inPrinceville

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

View cannot be beat. Hanalei Bay sunset the best

Dined on March 1, 2016

Our dinners were inventive, well prepared and artistically presented. Service by Vaughn was attentive and friendly. The sunset view totally enhanced a remarkable meal in Kauai.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1

We were celebrating our 20th wedding ann ...

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and scheduled our reservation a month in advance, including requesting a seat closest to the view. Upon arrival, we had to wait for walk-up guests to be seated before us. And, when seated we saw the walk-up patrons seated along the terrace view and we were placed near the wall/door. To add insult to injury, we received terrible service and our food was cold when delivered. And, we never had an opportunity to order dessert or coffee - the server brought us a cheap piece of chocolate cake and the bill at the same time. If you want to see the view, skip this restaurant and take a seat in the bar terrace upstairs. The food is mediocre and the service is the worst of any St Regis we have stayed.

food2
ambience5
service4

One could not dine in a more beautiful l ...

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

One could not dine in a more beautiful location. Spectacular views! Service was good. The major problem was the consistency of the food. We had the worst crab cakes ever. My chicken entree was lukewarm. We asked the waiter about the serving size of the chicken. He said it was half a chicken. This was a minuscule half a chicken and the Hawaiian huli huli seasoning hard to taste. The sushi roll was great!

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

BIG disappointment

Dined on February 21, 2016

I have had Sunday brunch at this location for many, many years. Actually before it was the St. Regis, it was the Princeville Hotel with a great brunch. Sunday was a huge disappointment. We did not realize that this was the last brunch ever. But it still should have been nice for the price. Missing food items, with big empty platters, missing dishes and terrible service made it a horrible experience. No need to say we won't be back as the brunch will no longer be there. So sad.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Way to End our Vacation

Dined on February 20, 2016

We went in the evening, not able to see the breathtaking view, but it was still a wonderful time. Before our main courses, we enjoyed the hand made cocktail specialties. I had e a wonderful margarita and my partner had something else yummy. Both excellent drinks recommended by our server. I had the Coconut Curry Soup which was out of this world. I also chose the highlighted sushi roll, the Makai Roll. It was not what I had expected. The rice did not seem as fresh and moist as other rolls we had. My partner ordered the seafood special and the sauce /dish was outstanding. For dessert we ordered this delicious bar with multiple layers of chocolate, and mousse and another sinful layer of heaven. IF it weren't for the sushi roll, we'd give it 100%. But we give it a solid B+. Mahalo!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Butter basted lobster was wonderful!!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Butter basted lobster was wonderful!!

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Valentine's Day brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

Only afternoon reservation was available. We took it to celebrate the special occasion. What a mistake. They were out of most everything and they did not refresh the buffet. So disappointing for the price! It used to be the best brunch ever and now this is awful.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Came back and were disappointed

Dined on February 7, 2016

We had been here a year ago and loved it. Atmosphere, service, food - everything was great. So we come back and not only were our favorites gone from the menu (that's normal) the portions were not like last year and the taste was not on the same level. And for what reason is a mum with 2 teenage kids not worth proper service?

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Overall good but...

Dined on January 31, 2016

We went for brunch, a bit pricey even for a brunch but not too bad. The view is unmatched phenomenal setting overlooking the bay and mountains. The but comes for the service, after being seated we were abandoned for nearly a half hour, nobody bussed the table or took our drink orders. There was a mix up in which waitress/waiter was assigned to our table, so after we bussed our own buffet plates and talking to the maitre d', the situation improved markedly. I would say they made it right in the end, but considering the location at the St Regis and price it is a situation you would think would not even arise.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service4

The sushi was fantastic!

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

The sushi was fantastic!

food2
ambience5
service3

Eat there every visit Felt like they ra ...

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

Eat there every visit Felt like they raised the prices and decreased the portion Waitress was a bit put off we had starters to be honest Not worth the money

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great for sunset

vip
Dined on January 15, 2016

We were first led to a table that was in a strong wind and had to move. After we settled in, we enjoyed a cordial waiter and a beautiful view of the sunset and colorful sky. Our cocktails were delicious as was the sushi. We were too full to order dessert but we were brought a complimentary one to share. Lovely evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Best View For Dinner on Kauai!

Dined on January 5, 2016

We ate at the Makana Grill at the St. Regis in Princeville twice during our vacation in Hawaii. We had Sunday Champagne Brunch and the next night Dinner. Two completely different experiences. Brunch was a typical high end brunch with lots of great brunch foods. Two glasses of champagne were included, but out server "refilled" our glasses without really keeping track of the "2 glasses" included. And dinner, at sunset was a magnificent location. We had probably THE best table on Sunday, and one of the great tables on Monday. Sunday's table was out by the infinity pool with absolutely nothing blocking our view. Monday evening was 1 table over which put one of the pillars slightly blocking a portion of the view. Both great! Brunch was typical brunch foods which were all great. Monday dinner was excellent. My wife had the Kailani Farms Kale Salad, which she loved, and I had the Hamakua Miso Soup which was OK. Didn't really knock my socks off. For dinner my wife got the Sashimi Platter, which was excellent! The fresh fish, what you would expect in Hawaii was truly wonderful. I got a Tobiko Roll which was also fresh and delicious! For my main course, I got the Onaga, the Red Snapper, although the chef prepared mine without the bacon encrustation and no mussels. The Red Snapper was extremely fresh, (the recommendation for the freshest fish by our waitress), and had a great flavor. For dessert we had a scoop of ice cream and a scoop of sorbet with French pressed coffee for my wife and a double decaf espresso for me. Great meals, magnificent view, and great service!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience5
service3

We arrived at the restaurant at 12pm on ...

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

We arrived at the restaurant at 12pm on Sunday for a brunch. The food was cold, most of the items listed as being served were finished and not replenished. What was on the warmers were old and dry. I asked the server why it was like this, she told me it's because we had arrived later in the day. Imagine arriving at a Sunday brunch at noon to have the lunch portion and finding the buffet in that type of a shape and being told that we were late. Any how this is not a typical st Regis service. Maybe some one will pay attention and fix the problem.

food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Beautiful but you will pay the price

Dined on January 1, 2016

We came for New Years Eve, booking just for dinner, having no idea that it was over $100 per person for the buffet. There was quite a display of food, but not a lot if you were a vegetarian. Everything was good, flavorful, and pretty...but honestly not the best..especially for the price. It was a beautiful view, however due to the holiday, we were placed at a table way off to the side...an add on seating area. If we stood up and walked about ten steps, you could see the beautiful view. I don't think we will be return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Not what was expected

Dined on January 1, 2016

When I made the reservation they called to re-book my reservation time. They failed to mention that New Years Eve was not their normal menu but an exceedingly expensive buffet (3x the regular cost of a meal) and I ended up with a massive bill because of the lack of communication. On top of it all, I could hardly get anyone to take care of my table. Almost non-responsive on drinks, clearing plates, etc.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great evening

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

Dined here for dinner on our first night in Kauai while staying at the beautiful St Regis Princeville Resort. An absolutely beautiful setting with the mountains in the background and sound of waves crashing below. Service was great- we had a lovely server who was more than happy to answer any questions we had regarding the menu. Food was also great. From the lovely bread to begin with, to the delicious entrees we were pleasantly surprised with the excellent quality. Would highly recommend for a night to remember!

food5
ambience5
service5

We especially loved "Hue", the lady who ...

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

We especially loved "Hue", the lady who made us the BEST omelettes😀

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Christmas Dinner Buffet

Dined on December 26, 2015

Other than costing $130 each, it was absolutely awesome!!! The view and the food was never to be matched!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Christmas Eve dinner

Dined on December 25, 2015

We wanted to try this restaurant as it had good reviews and says you can view amazing sunsets. We had a 6:00 pm reservation and were seated promptly and drinks were ordered. Our food steak an chicken were very good and we had no problem with the service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service1

Very slow service. It took 15 minutes an ...

vip
Dined on December 14, 2015

Very slow service. It took 15 minutes and flagging down someone to get a server assigned to our table. Bread arrived another 15 minutes later. Maybe just an understaffed night. Kauai Grill the previous night was perfect if you want another option.

food5
ambience5
service3

The View Is Spectacular!

Dined on December 8, 2015

Our reservations were at 5:30pm. From previous reviews everyone said that you needed to dine when the sun begins to set. When we went to check in for our reservations the two hostesses looked at us but did not even acknowledge us. Finally the older of the two hostesses addressed us by telling us that they weren't open yet and soon they will be seating everyone. Well we did get seated by a gentleman and the view was spectacular but there was a huge potted plan blocking our view and instead of the server moving it out of the way they just left it there where it blocked our view from seeing the sunset like many of the reviews I read. After we made mention of the potted plant the gentleman took the potted plant moved it out of sight. He really made the rest of the night much more enjoyable. The food was awesome and our waiters were great. Not sure if I tipped more than what I should have. I was a little confused about the asterisk on the receipt. Not sure if the tip was already included. But I did tip again. So make sure to check your receipt before you add a tip. But I would encourage you to try and dine right around the sun begins to set. It will be worth it all. The view is Spectacular!!! Plus they it was our anniversary and the entire staff signed a card and they gave us a free dessert. We appreciated all the attention to details they did for us. Our waiters deserved the tips. Mahalo Makana Terrace for making of dining at your restaurant a very memorable one!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't miss this experience!

Dined on December 5, 2015

Everything about our dinner was fabulous! It was worth the splurge. We had sushi and it was as good as it gets. Ask for a table by the edge of the terrace and be there in time for sunset. If you wait until late you will miss the view, which is 50% of the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.