Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.40mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Izakaya DenIzakaya Den
(1128)
$$$$
Japanese | Wash Park, Denver
Booked 60 times today
Quality Italian- DenverQuality Italian- Denver
(186)
$$$$
Italian | Cherry Creek, Denver
Booked 66 times today
True Food Kitchen - DenverTrue Food Kitchen - Denver
(460)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Cherry Creek, Denver
Booked 81 times today
Beast and BottleBeast and Bottle
(945)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Uptown, Denver
Booked 40 times today
North Italia – DenverNorth Italia – Denver
(1674)
$$$$
Italian | Cherry Creek, Denver
Booked 59 times today
Barolo GrillBarolo Grill
(2122)
$$$$
Italian | Cherry Creek, Denver
Booked 38 times today
LingerLinger
(3764)
$$$$
International | Highlands, Denver
Booked 135 times today
Fruition RestaurantFruition Restaurant
(4346)
$$$$
Comfort Food | Central, Denver
Booked 49 times today
El FiveEl Five
(131)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Highlands, Denver
Booked 109 times today
Sushi DenSushi Den
(70)
$$$$
Japanese | Wash Park, Denver
Booked 7 times today
RiojaRioja
(6504)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Booked 84 times today
Kevin Taylor's At The Opera HouseKevin Taylor's At The Opera House
(933)
$$$$
American | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Ophelia's Electric SoapboxOphelia's Electric Soapbox
(727)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown / LoDo, Denver
Booked 69 times today
Washington Park GrilleWashington Park Grille
(2061)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Wash Park, Denver
Booked 23 times today
OtotoOtoto
(83)
$$$$
Japanese | Wash Park, Denver
Booked 9 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.40mi

About Makan Malaysian Cafe

Makan Malaysian Caf� in Denver, Colorado serves every type of cuisine that originates from Malaysia, including street food like the satay and curry puffs to more formal fare like kuih-muih and more. The majority of the menu items at Makan Malaysian Caf� are made from scratch, in-house to achieve the authentic flavor guests expect.

If you like satay, try the chicken or beef option from the appetizer menu. There are also plenty of rice and noodle options like the laksa, and mee siam. You can also choose from a number of add-ons at Makan Malaysian Caf�, as well, like steamed white rice, coconut rice and different types of curry.

1859 S Pearl St
Denver, CO 80210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Malaysian, Indonesian, Asian

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Fri - Sun: 11:30am - 2:30pm;
DINNER: Sun - Mon & Wed - Thurs: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Fri - Sat: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 524-8093

Website:
http://www.makanmyfood.com/

Catering:
We cater! Please contact us at eat@makanmyfood.com with your catering details and for more information.

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Sort By:
S
21 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 16, 2015

The food was distinctive and very good. We split some curry and samal dishes and roti and it was all well made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2015

I had never had Malaysian food before and didn't know what to expect. I was blown away. Incredible and truly unique food. I plan to come back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2015

We travel to Malaysia every two years, and this food is as authentic as you can get. From the Rendang to the Roti Canai, the dishes were right on. We will be coming back frequently. The only complaint we had was the seating. The stools are a little uncomfortable to sit in for very long. A small price to pay for such wonderful food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 23, 2015

My wife, who is from Singapore, says it is the best Malaysian food in Colorado. Seating is tight. Food is piping hot. We both enjoyed the evening overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2014

The appetizers were wonderful, my food was delicious but very very spicy. The deserts looked a bit funny, but they were wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 21, 2014

I love introducing friends to Makan and have never been disappointed. The ingredients are fresh, flavors are robust, and portions are perfectly balanced. One of my first-time guests noted it would be nice if there were pictures available of the foods. The dining room is extremely cold near the doorway and it was disappointing that our reserved table was nearest the door: I guess nobody else wanted to sit there. We ate wearing coats.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 28, 2014

Excellent food but it took 1 1/2 hrs to get to us!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 14, 2014

What fun to find Malaysian food in Denver and in the fantastic South Pearl street neighborhood. We had a great time sampling the chef's menu, which I recommend to those who are not familiar wtih this type of food and are interested in trying different flavors. It was delicious, inexpensive and a lot of fun.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2014

Never had Malaysian food before. A lot of familiar south east Asian flavors combined in ways that I have never experienced. The Roti Canai is as toasty and flaky a pastry as promised, and the Beef Randang is an Asian version of the classic, moist, tender braised beef dish. And the wine list, while not deep and complex, offers solid in-offensive wines at great prices. This is my newest favoritist place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 9, 2014

Sometimes, when you go to an Asian restaurant and expect to find something different, all you get is typical Chinese restaurant food. Not so here. The menu was varied and I truly felt I had an interesting dinning experience. What a great find. Give it a try if you're looking for something different. The food was delicious and the service was fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 1, 2014

The food here is SO good. I would highly recommend Makan to anyone seeking a deviation from the typical Asian cuisine. So happy this restaurant exists!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 15, 2014

I have been to Makan twice and enjoyed myself each time. They don't have a large menu, but they have enough choices to give you a flavor of Malaysian food. I like the place because they provide a different style of Asian food that tastes really good. If you like Asian you will definitely like Makan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 15, 2014

We ate here on a Saturday night around 6:30. We did not expect the chairs to be small round stools with no back - uncomfortable after awhile. Perhaps this is a Malayian custom. We sat close to the door and the cold got to us before we left. The food was only average. The egg rolls were the best with very hot sauce to dip in. The entrees we had were pasta with shrimp - spicier than I like with three small shrimp. The other entree was a beef stew - again very spicy, but with better taste than the pasta. We both had some stomach issues later that night - perhaps due to the hot spicy ingredients. Once again, this may be what Malaysian food is supposed to be like. On the brighter side, the service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2014

While Thai food is available all over town, Malaysian food is different and delicious. This little restaurant has many Malaysian specialties that are rare to find in Denver. For those who enjoy experiencing international food, here is something that you will enjoy. Comfortable, casual, and a good value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 23, 2014

We went to Makan for the restaurant week special and thought the food was decent, as well as the service. However, food presentation lacked any flair and the noodles seemed a bit dry. The curry was nice, but again, not transcendental. Our server was very nice, but for a small restaurant that was not too crowded, we had to wait far to long for each course. I would probably go back and try a smaller amount of food, instead of the multi course option. Char Kueh Tiao was a good noodle dish, but the Mee Siam was disappointing. The Kari Ayam was odd tasting and not too pleasant, while the Rendang Daging was good despite not looking like much. Overall, I think Makan would be better as a quick take-out option instead of a $60 dinner for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2014

Food is very tasty & interesting, reminiscent of some Indian and Thai and Chinese dishes, & of "street food" dishes at Linger. Small place, brightly lit, well appointed open kitchen atmosphere on south South Pearl. Wine and beer choices were good and, like the food, reasonably priced. Had a good number of gluten free choices on the menu. There is one big table for 10 or so that would be good for a big group wanting to try a new ethnic style. We will definitely go back, probably with just such a group. Negatives--it was a little chilly inside the restaurant when it was a cold night outside and the chairs at the ten or so tables are backless Asian style stools, which were comfortable but not conducive to relaxing after dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2014

My wife is from Singapore, and we love coming here to get a taste of her food from growing up. My favorite dish is Char Kueh Tiao, but Nasi Goreng is a close second. We joined the Makan Club (free) for regular discounts and promotional offers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2014

We went to Makan Malaysian Cafe for Valentines Day. The food was very good and the service was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2013

My wife and I wanted to try something different so we thought we would give this restaurant a try. Neither of us have had Malay food before so we weren't sure what to expect. We ended up trying their $50 Thursday Date Night Special. We both really enjoyed the good at this quaint little restaurant. The course were all really good. We especially liked the assortment of desserts at the end. The only negative to this restaurant is finding street parking on Pearl was a pain. Otherwise great place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 8, 2013

Menu was heavy on noodles.. The one entree that has a lot of veggies (eggplant) is, according to our server, very spicy so I didn't order it. Appetizers and dessert were tasty, but entrees were disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 30, 2013

I had recently been to Kuala Lumpur and want to try something like the food I had while in KL. The food at Makan is every bit as authentic as some of the places where I ate in KL. The food is spicy, but not over the top, very flavorful, and extremely tasty.

The service is very good, but with only one member of the waitstaff present, it is a bit slow at times.

Overall, an excellent find in Denver.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.