About Maison Boulud

1228 Sherbrooke West
Montreal, QC H3G1H6
View Larger Map

Maison Boulud Montréal offers the cuisine of a chef steeped in French tradition, yet inspired by decades spent cooking in New York City.
Daniel Boulud's menu is driven by the seasons and bounty of Québec's local purveyors. The result: refined yet soulful contemporary French food, prepared here by Executive Chef Riccardo Bertolino.
While situated in the Ritz-Carlton Montreal, the restaurant, its bar & lounge and two private dining rooms have a vibrant identity all their own. Maison Boulud enjoys a view over the historic hotel garden and year round glass enclosed winter garden. Daniel Boulud's welcoming spirit, the casually elegant tone and glimpses of a partly open kitchen keep the focus on the cuisine, making this a daily gathering place for wonderful food.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast

Daily: 7:00am - 10:30am


Lunch

Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm


Dinner

Daily : 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Brunch

Saturday - Sunday :12:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Rue de la Montagne

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 842-4224

Website:
http://www.maisonboulud.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet from 6pm

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Bertolino

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Maison Boulud
Madeleines
Maquereau, Pommes De Terre Confites, Poireaux Et Vinaigrette A La Moutarde
mushrooms
Salmon Tartare
Croissant
Scallops And Truffles In Brioche
Beef Bourguignon
Trout
Chocolate And Salted Caramel
Raspberry Mousse Cake
Pear, Vanilla And Meringue
Oyster Rockefeller
Truffe Noire
Ravioli Riccota Filling And Black Truffles
Homemade Pasta
Pear Meringue
Pear Salad
Scallops
Black Bass
Freshly baked madeleine cookies
Crispy fried egg, sweet onion coulis, chanterelle mushrooms, green beans, lima beans, truffle jus
Housemade gramigna pasta, basil pesto, pecorino
Arugula and peach salad, pecorino cheese, almonds, balsamic vinegar
Heirloom tomatoes salad, watermelon, balsamic vinegar, African blue basil, tomato foam
Vitello tonnato, veal carpaccio, tonnato sauce, capers, Spanish anchovies, celer
Crispy veal sweetbreads, artichokes, Parma ham, spinach, tomatoes, bay leaf jus
Sashimi
Rhubarb and Tonka beans vacherin
Quebec Lamb
Chocolate tartlet
Quinoa Salad
Crispy Artichoke Hearts
Beef Duo
Salade De Printemps
Portuguese Sardines
Laitue Iceberg Façon Caesar
Catalonia style octopus salad
Mixed Cocktail drink
Cheese Focaccia
Cheese Bread
Strawberry Mousse And Blanc Mangé Avec Meringue
Vacherin Aux Cerises
Strawberry And Fleur D'oranger Cake
"comme à la maison" cocktail
Grilled Baby Octopus
Roasted Pineapple And Passion Fruit, Almonds And Lime Biscuit, Passion Fruit And Lemongrass Ice Cream
Arancini
Grilled Octopus
Vacherin
Fletan Haricots Blancs Humus Et Aubergine Aigre Douce
Roasted Baby Chicken
Scallop
Beef
Almond Cake
Veal Filet
Pintade And Foie Gras Terrine, Grape Must Mustard, Pickled Vegetables
Celeriac Agnolotti, Wilted Arugula, Pecorino Di Fossa
Chocolate Coulant
Crab & Avocado Roll
Seared Foie Gras
Dbgb Burger
Gianduja Mousse
Coffee Cake
Foie Gras
Ricotta Ravioli
Panisses
suckling pig
Strawberry Cake
Dungeness Crab And Celery
Pea And Farm Egg Pasta With Caviar
Beef Duo, Red-Wine Braised Short Ribs, Roasted Rib Eye, Carrots Tian, Wild Mushroom, Bordelaise Sauce
Truffle pasta
Limoncello Hazelnut Gianduja
Chocolat coulant
Vacherin Cerise
Artichokes
Jambon
Scallop With White Asparagus And Morels
Steak and Egg
Tom Colins
Chocolate Souflé
Spaghetti Noirs Aux Fruits De Mer
Red Drum Endive And Walnuts
Brasied Beef Agnolotti
Celeriac And Mushroom Soup
Triple Chocolate Mousse Cake And Vanilla Ice Cream
Fromage With Candy Almonds And Apricot
Rabbit Porchetta
Rhubarb Vacherin
Chilled Cucumber Soup
Smoked Salmon, Hash Brown, Egg
Homemade Sable Cookies
Latte & Fresh Homemade Madelaines
Magret De Canard Et Foie Gras
Salade De Homard
Lobster Salad
Braised Local Lamb Pappardelle

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 10:30PM

Maison Boulud Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Montreal / Quebec
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Montreal / Quebec
Most Booked
Montreal
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (122)
fit for foodies (88)
romantic (79)
See All
notable wine list (65)
great for outdoor dining (61)
great for brunch (51)
great for lunch (47)
good for groups (26)
scenic view (20)
neighborhood gem (19)
hot spot (18)
late-night find (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
733 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service5

I did not rate the food five stars becau ...

Dined 6 days ago

I did not rate the food five stars because although it was excellent (nicoise salads), they were ridiculously small for main dishes. We had two salads and coffee and the check was more than $100!!

food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Have dined at numerous Daniel spots in N ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Have dined at numerous Daniel spots in NYC and had high expectations. Pretty space, great service. However, food was disappointing. Pea soup a bit bland and overpowered by chunks of smoked mackerel, snapper ceviche kind of bland, lobster pasta dish oversalted, black bass dish just a mess with poor melding of salty, citrusy, and olive based flavors. Too many fine spots in Monreal, look elsewhere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Season products are used by the chef. Th ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Season products are used by the chef. This is a big plus. And of course, all the dishes were as good looking as they were delicious to eat. Service was wonderful. Everybody is listening to what you ask, and they know their menu and their wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about this restaurant was top ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything about this restaurant was top notch. Service was incredible and the food was divine. Beautiful outdoor seating made for a very comfortable and relaxing dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Initially, having booked weeks before, w ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Initially, having booked weeks before, we were seated at a very poor table with a view of the kitchen door and all that goes with that...... I told the young man who seated us it was not acceptable. He told me there was nothing else. Not giving up I asked our waiter who said he would see what he could do. We were moved to the patio where we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Isabel, the Sommelier,was lovely and paired a delicious wine for us.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Great restaurant! Great food!

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Great restaurant! Great food!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I WOULD APPRECIATE RECEIVE FUTURE FEEDBA ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

I WOULD APPRECIATE RECEIVE FUTURE FEEDBACK FORM IN FRENCH. THANK YOU.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Very Nice ambiance, little bit too expen ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Very Nice ambiance, little bit too expensive for breakfast though. Nice service and good Food. I'll be back for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Was not impressed during our visit for B ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Was not impressed during our visit for Brunch. Took 25 minutes to get water to the table and over 1 hour to get brunch when the restaurant was less than 50% occupied. Eggs benedict came out cold, and 2 orders of burgers were sent to table with incorrect sides and toppings. Very dissapointed as I had hyped up this business brunch to clients during our Formula 1 visit.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Perhaps our expectations were too high. ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Perhaps our expectations were too high. We are from NYC and have really great restaurants available to us. We had expected an exceptional meal but felt it was only OK. It was Grand Prix weekend and the restaurant was packed but a restaurant of this caliber and reputation should be able to handle the crowd. I had the rack of lamb which was good but I have had better and my husband had the halibut which was a bit overcooked-- The chocolate cake for dinner was great but all in all the experience was a bit of a let down

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

We went for the $55 post 9:00 pm three c ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

We went for the $55 post 9:00 pm three course dinner as listed on the website menu. Unfortunately, they said it was not being offered due to a special event. We ordered off the regular menu. Maison Boulud is a decent place but a very poor value. One can have as good - or better - a meal and experience in one of Montreal's many excellent restaurants for one-half the cost.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on June 6, 2016

Great place, great service and good food| We love that place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Over rated much

Dined on June 5, 2016

Small portions, pricy but expected, too many flavours in a dish, hence lost the essence of the main ingredient

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricey but worth it!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Certainly lives up to its exalted reputation by delivering on all aspects. We enjoyed the "outdoor" ambiance, excellent service, romantic, every mouthful of each offering was a wonderful treat--particularly remarkable were the Morels!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The lobster and scallop dishes highly re ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

The lobster and scallop dishes highly recommended! Excellent service and the sommelier offered very fine and appropriate options.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

beautiful

Dined on June 2, 2016

celebrated my birthday with the 6 course tasting menu. every dish was fabulous! the atmosphere was perfect- the terrace was very peaceful, overlooking a duck pond ! the server , julian, was fabulous. very charming, attentive and passionate about the food! One of the best servers I have had the pleasure to enjoy. the courses came out quite slowly... we were there for 3 hours and at 2 courses an hour, we wished they would come a little faster! still ,great flavours and great value! the cocktails were great and the team service was impeccable. I highly recommend !

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was great but service a bit slow

Dined on May 31, 2016

Party of 3 for lunch. Arrived at 12h15 for a 2 course lunch. We left the restaurant at 14h00 because service was a bit slow. The food was delicious though.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef Bouloud et al lives up to his repit ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Chef Bouloud et al lives up to his repitation Taste excellent Food inventive Presentation superb!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful meal in elegant surroundings

Dined on May 29, 2016

We're big fans of Mr. Boulud, so this was a "must" for our recent visit to Montreal, and it did not disappoint. We began with cocktails in the lounge, then moved to dinner. My one regret is that I did not request the dining room while reserving, as were were seated on the (covered) patio, which lacked some of the romantic atmosphere of the interior. Our meals were gorgeous, with intense flavour and just the right portion size. We enjoyed a lovely bottle of wine from PEI, and finished with dessert and Cognac. I highly recommend les fromages for dessert. Service was excellent without being effusive. Each staff member we encountered was warm and friendly, incredibly knowledgeable about the menu, and not a whiff of snobbery. We luxuriated for nearly 3 hours and had a fabulous time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Bland and Boring!

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Brunch was a disappointment. The menu looked good but the appetizers and entrees were bland and boring. Every dish arrived to the table nearly cold. The presentation was uninspired. The desserts were pedestrians. The overall experience compared poorly to other Boulud restaurants namely in New York City.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this is one of the best place for brunch ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

this is one of the best place for brunch in Montreal. We've been there numerous times and have not been disappointed yet. 5 stars for service and food

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

What service should be like

Dined on May 28, 2016

Finally, when I pay $200 for a meal.....the service matches! Service was impeccable, everyone that served us, new answers to everything, wine, food etc. Food was very special and great, definitkey something you have to try at least once. Especially the wine pairing meal. Everything was perfect till the end though...once meal done, service kind of lacked. We wanted a coffee and saved our delicious Madeleine's and had to end up flagging someone to get assistance. We placed our order and waited about 20minutes and no coffee and no waiter asking if all was well. We flagged someone again, seems they didn't quite see the paper with order, which is fine. We then said that our delicious Madeleine's are now not warm and soft cuz been too long. They took it back and instead of serving us a fresh batch (considering we waited 20-25min for coffee) that was disappointing. But besides that, best service I've experienced in a long time

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and good service.

Dined on May 24, 2016

We appreciate that restaurant. The ambiance is very classy. The food is delicious and the service is excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience. Staff atte ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Staff attentive. Wine stewart very helpful and knowledgeable. Food outstanding!! We sat on the patio overlooking garden and small pond. Weather was perfect. My wife had the rack of lamb, and stated it was the best she ever tasted.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding meal and service in every po ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Outstanding meal and service in every possible way, from the cocktails in the beautiful bar to the yummy Amuse Bouche and an outstanding snow crab salad followed by lobster gnocchi and amazing rack of lamb on the terrasse. Astounding Choco Coulant for dessert. The Anthill Pinot was a perfect pairing!

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Sweet potato chips was chewed! ceviche w ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Sweet potato chips was chewed! ceviche was to poor portion! wine list was good, service as well, fish was very fresh and tasty. only ceviche dish need review.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went with my wife or our anniversary. W ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Went with my wife or our anniversary. We took the pre-fix menu. The staff was very friendly and explained what was in the each of the 6 courses. Wait time between each course was great as it allowed time to digest a little but never felt we waited too long for the next course. Each course was fantastic. The plating was excellent, I ate with my eyes before tasting the food. Would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

This restaurant is overstated. The food ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This restaurant is overstated. The food was very average but extremely exprensive compared to other options around. Service was attentionate and impeccable. The garden scenery is very beautiful. But at the end, it's the food that matters most. Wine list is extensive but there too, overpriced

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

good but needs some perfecting touches

Dined on May 12, 2016

The service was impeccable. And almost the entire meal was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great, as always! Enjoyed the herb salad ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Great, as always! Enjoyed the herb salad with anchovied goat cheese, soft (quail?) eggs, and ramp vinaigrette; the sauteed morels with chicken jus and fresh cream (heaven!); the sauteed foie gras with brioche and grapes. Dessert was the chocolate coulant with vanilla ice cream. Service was attentive and excellent. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

A fine bar, excellent food, but for the ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

A fine bar, excellent food, but for the extravagant cost, service took far too long between plates.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Service

Dined on May 6, 2016

Terrible service-slow to order and receive food. We had to pour our own wine once-no one came altho many were there. Only the lady for dessert and coffee was good. Beautiful spot in the garden, good food. Not worth the price because of service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Superb food, well trained and expert sta ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Superb food, well trained and expert staff, but long waits between courses and way too expensive. One can dine in numerous Montreal restaurants savouring every morsel without spending $500 for 2 people.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

It certainly could have been better. The ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

It certainly could have been better. The menu was not very creative ... It was a nice experience but I expected more from this chef... The dessert was a lot more creative then the rest of be meal, but the dessert chef is not Daniel Boulod so like I said I expected more ...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a special night great!

Dined on April 24, 2016

They really went above and beyond and made a special night great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The occasion was a special birthday and ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The occasion was a special birthday and the evening was perfect. Great food or me and my wife ,great wine list. Waiter was very plaisant, knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing professional service!

Dined on April 17, 2016

The service was perfect. The food good, but not great. The atmosphere is lovely.

Tags: special occasions
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and incredible wine!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Amazing food and incredible wine!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service

Dined on March 30, 2016

I knew we might be late so I called to notify them. When we arrived, they thanked me for notifying them. Service was impeccable throughout

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely phenomenal in every way!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal in every way!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.