About Maison Boulud

1228 Sherbrooke West
Montreal, QC H3G1H6
View Larger Map

Maison Boulud Montréal offers the cuisine of a chef steeped in French tradition, yet inspired by decades spent cooking in New York City.
Daniel Boulud's menu is driven by the seasons and bounty of Québec's local purveyors. The result: refined yet soulful contemporary French food, prepared here by Executive Chef Riccardo Bertolino.
While situated in the Ritz-Carlton Montreal, the restaurant, its bar & lounge and two private dining rooms have a vibrant identity all their own. Maison Boulud enjoys a view over the historic hotel garden and year round glass enclosed winter garden. Daniel Boulud's welcoming spirit, the casually elegant tone and glimpses of a partly open kitchen keep the focus on the cuisine, making this a daily gathering place for wonderful food.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast

Daily: 7:00am - 10:30am


Lunch

Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm


Dinner

Daily : 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Brunch

Saturday - Sunday :12:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Rue de la Montagne

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 842-4224

Website:
http://www.maisonboulud.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet from 6pm

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Bertolino

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 12:00PM - 1:00PM 12:00PM - 2:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 10:30PM

Maison Boulud Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Montreal / Quebec
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Montreal / Quebec
Most Booked
Montreal
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (92)
fit for foodies (78)
romantic (66)
See All
notable wine list (48)
great for brunch (43)
great for lunch (34)
great for outdoor dining (27)
good for groups (23)
neighborhood gem (15)
hot spot (13)
scenic view (11)
 (9)
vibrant bar scene (9)
late-night find (9)
 (7)
 (6)
 (6)
kid-friendly (5)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
712 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef Bouloud et al lives up to his repit ...

Dined a day ago

Chef Bouloud et al lives up to his repitation Taste excellent Food inventive Presentation superb!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

What service should be like

Dined 3 days ago

Finally, when I pay $200 for a meal.....the service matches! Service was impeccable, everyone that served us, new answers to everything, wine, food etc. Food was very special and great, definitkey something you have to try at least once. Especially the wine pairing meal. Everything was perfect till the end though...once meal done, service kind of lacked. We wanted a coffee and saved our delicious Madeleine's and had to end up flagging someone to get assistance. We placed our order and waited about 20minutes and no coffee and no waiter asking if all was well. We flagged someone again, seems they didn't quite see the paper with order, which is fine. We then said that our delicious Madeleine's are now not warm and soft cuz been too long. They took it back and instead of serving us a fresh batch (considering we waited 20-25min for coffee) that was disappointing. But besides that, best service I've experienced in a long time

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and good service.

Dined on May 24, 2016

We appreciate that restaurant. The ambiance is very classy. The food is delicious and the service is excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience. Staff atte ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Staff attentive. Wine stewart very helpful and knowledgeable. Food outstanding!! We sat on the patio overlooking garden and small pond. Weather was perfect. My wife had the rack of lamb, and stated it was the best she ever tasted.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding meal and service in every po ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Outstanding meal and service in every possible way, from the cocktails in the beautiful bar to the yummy Amuse Bouche and an outstanding snow crab salad followed by lobster gnocchi and amazing rack of lamb on the terrasse. Astounding Choco Coulant for dessert. The Anthill Pinot was a perfect pairing!

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Sweet potato chips was chewed! ceviche w ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Sweet potato chips was chewed! ceviche was to poor portion! wine list was good, service as well, fish was very fresh and tasty. only ceviche dish need review.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went with my wife or our anniversary. W ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Went with my wife or our anniversary. We took the pre-fix menu. The staff was very friendly and explained what was in the each of the 6 courses. Wait time between each course was great as it allowed time to digest a little but never felt we waited too long for the next course. Each course was fantastic. The plating was excellent, I ate with my eyes before tasting the food. Would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

This restaurant is overstated. The food ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This restaurant is overstated. The food was very average but extremely exprensive compared to other options around. Service was attentionate and impeccable. The garden scenery is very beautiful. But at the end, it's the food that matters most. Wine list is extensive but there too, overpriced

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

good but needs some perfecting touches

Dined on May 12, 2016

The service was impeccable. And almost the entire meal was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great, as always! Enjoyed the herb salad ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Great, as always! Enjoyed the herb salad with anchovied goat cheese, soft (quail?) eggs, and ramp vinaigrette; the sauteed morels with chicken jus and fresh cream (heaven!); the sauteed foie gras with brioche and grapes. Dessert was the chocolate coulant with vanilla ice cream. Service was attentive and excellent. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

A fine bar, excellent food, but for the ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

A fine bar, excellent food, but for the extravagant cost, service took far too long between plates.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Service

Dined on May 6, 2016

Terrible service-slow to order and receive food. We had to pour our own wine once-no one came altho many were there. Only the lady for dessert and coffee was good. Beautiful spot in the garden, good food. Not worth the price because of service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Superb food, well trained and expert sta ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Superb food, well trained and expert staff, but long waits between courses and way too expensive. One can dine in numerous Montreal restaurants savouring every morsel without spending $500 for 2 people.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

It certainly could have been better. The ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

It certainly could have been better. The menu was not very creative ... It was a nice experience but I expected more from this chef... The dessert was a lot more creative then the rest of be meal, but the dessert chef is not Daniel Boulod so like I said I expected more ...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a special night great!

Dined on April 24, 2016

They really went above and beyond and made a special night great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The occasion was a special birthday and ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The occasion was a special birthday and the evening was perfect. Great food or me and my wife ,great wine list. Waiter was very plaisant, knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing professional service!

Dined on April 17, 2016

The service was perfect. The food good, but not great. The atmosphere is lovely.

Tags: special occasions
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and incredible wine!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Amazing food and incredible wine!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service

Dined on March 30, 2016

I knew we might be late so I called to notify them. When we arrived, they thanked me for notifying them. Service was impeccable throughout

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely phenomenal in every way!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal in every way!

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service and food!

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Wonderful service and food!

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A great dinner at Maison Boulud.

Dined on March 17, 2016

A beautiful restaurant located at the Ritz Carlton. Service was excellent as was the attention to detail in mentioning my name from all the staff greeting me as we were seated before the meal and also as we left the restaurant. It was nice to feel important. Brought my children and they felt comfortable in the casual setting. Menu choices reflected Boulud classics, as well as the chef's own personal touches were well thought out. Would recommend to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Maison Boulud

Dined on March 8, 2016

Excellent food and particularly good service, a noise level that allowed for good conversation an essential ingredient for us while dining. One complaint. I could not read the menu. A small flashlight would have been a welcome tool.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Party of Four

Dined on March 4, 2016

We have been to Maison Boulud a number of times over the past year and have enjoyed each one. We were somewhat disappointed with the first table offered by the hostess, and find her distant and uninterested. The server accommodated us by moving our party to a table in the Glass House. The service at the table was courteous and efficient.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Run, don't walk to get there. Outstandin ...

Dined on March 1, 2016

Run, don't walk to get there. Outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing in every way

Dined on February 26, 2016

Where to start ? The tasting menu was melt in your mouth delicious and accompanied with the wine pairing was absolutely perfect ! The service was friendly and genuine and the ambience was perfect for peaking your happiness (food,wine,happy people and all the right music) - if you're seeking an overall classy experience that you'll remember then you need to check out this place. If you're lucky the chef will even come out and see you like he did for us @maisonbouludmontreal

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Disappointing!

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Have eaten at Maison Boulud multiple times in the past, and while expensive, always a good experience. Not sure if the chef has changed, but the meal was disappointing across the board. The kale salad was kale chips over lettuce soaked in mayo. The version was tough and overcooked. Sea bass was a strip of fish filet with wilted spinach on top of it. Wine selection was good, and service was excellent. But the actual meal a very big disappointment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special dinner

Dined on February 25, 2016

I have never been disappointed by a Daniel Boulud restaurant. This was my third time at Maison Boulud. Excellent food and service! Highly recommended for a special dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

No Birthday

Dined on February 16, 2016

We went for my wife's birthday,the food was very good but the service was lacking. The kitchen made an error and management tried to fix it but after all that they forgot to wish my wife a Happy Birthday.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4

Went there for valentines, excelent menu ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Went there for valentines, excelent menu!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous dining experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

Exceedingly good service, excellent food, very warm ambiance. Top in its class.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

great food, good service, thoughtful

Dined on February 14, 2016

My only knock about a couple of top restaurants in montreal we visited is the back room layouts. When your dropping 500-700 $ and get sat in a back room, it creates an A or B type customer. Not sure why they are there and maybe offered to those that want to be seperated and quiet. Other than that, being a ritz carleton member/quest, its convenient and well worth the visit.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brunch at Maison Boulud Montreal: a must !!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Outstanding food, great variety. The veranda section of the dining area is just the perfect setting for brunch or lunch. Service is excellent, as well as the overall ambiance. My very favorite restaurant for brunch, or for any other special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointing

Dined on February 11, 2016

Business lunch, disappointing to say the least. The menu lacks creativity. The food is ordinary at best and I expected much more from a restaurant at that price point. The highlight... the service was great.

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Class

Dined on February 8, 2016

Great service from the minute you enter until you leave. Comfortable setting with cushions. The food is refined and delicious. The service is top notch.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming

Dined on February 7, 2016

My friend and I enjoyed the food and the service. We were there at 9:00 and left around 11:00. Very comfortable and pretty set up.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Worthy Boulud Establishment

Dined on February 2, 2016

This was a first-class dining experience, from the appetizers through dessert. The staff was attentive yet discreet, the presentations enticing and the wine list extensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Overpriced and overrated.

Dined on January 31, 2016

Very disappointing experience. The butter was brought out cold and hard. Appetizers were nothing special. One pita bread came with the mediteranian appies. Our mains were delicious but not even close to worth it. I wouldn't go back. I had requested a nice table and we ended up at a table all the way at the back of the hotel near a service station. When we asked that we sit at a table by the window, the server said it's reserved for a party of 4. The place was mostly empty and by the time we left, no one was sitting at the table we kindly requested. Very disappointed overall. Also, the teak furniture made the place feel really cheap. Waste of time and money.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant!

Dined on January 30, 2016

Very good restaurant for the food, ambiance and service. Highly recommended for a brunch or lunch meeting.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

truffe menu

Dined on January 27, 2016

Excellent! Worth every penny! Not m'y forts time at this restaurant and it's always perfect! You have to try it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.