About Maison Boulud

1228 Sherbrooke West
Montreal, QC H3G1H6
View Larger Map

Maison Boulud Montréal offers the cuisine of a chef steeped in French tradition, yet inspired by decades spent cooking in New York City.
Daniel Boulud's menu is driven by the seasons and bounty of Québec's local purveyors. The result: refined yet soulful contemporary French food, prepared here by Executive Chef Riccardo Bertolino.
While situated in the Ritz-Carlton Montreal, the restaurant, its bar & lounge and two private dining rooms have a vibrant identity all their own. Maison Boulud enjoys a view over the historic hotel garden and year round glass enclosed winter garden. Daniel Boulud's welcoming spirit, the casually elegant tone and glimpses of a partly open kitchen keep the focus on the cuisine, making this a daily gathering place for wonderful food.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast

Daily: 7:00am - 10:30am


Lunch

Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm


Dinner

Daily : 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Brunch

Saturday - Sunday :12:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Rue de la Montagne

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 842-4224

Website:
http://www.maisonboulud.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet from 6pm

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Bertolino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Maison Boulud
Madeleines
Maquereau, Pommes De Terre Confites, Poireaux Et Vinaigrette A La Moutarde
mushrooms
Croissant
Salmon Tartare
Scallops And Truffles In Brioche
Beef Bourguignon
Trout
Chocolate And Salted Caramel
Raspberry Mousse Cake
Pear, Vanilla And Meringue
Oyster Rockefeller
Truffe Noire
Ravioli Riccota Filling And Black Truffles
Homemade Pasta
Pear Meringue
Scallops
Black Bass
Pear Salad
Freshly baked madeleine cookies
Crispy fried egg, sweet onion coulis, chanterelle mushrooms, green beans, lima beans, truffle jus
Housemade gramigna pasta, basil pesto, pecorino
Arugula and peach salad, pecorino cheese, almonds, balsamic vinegar
Heirloom tomatoes salad, watermelon, balsamic vinegar, African blue basil, tomato foam
Vitello tonnato, veal carpaccio, tonnato sauce, capers, Spanish anchovies, celer
Crispy veal sweetbreads, artichokes, Parma ham, spinach, tomatoes, bay leaf jus
Sashimi
Quebec Lamb
Rhubarb and Tonka beans vacherin
Chocolate tartlet
Quinoa Salad
Crispy Artichoke Hearts
Beef Duo
Salade De Printemps
Portuguese Sardines
Laitue Iceberg Façon Caesar
Catalonia style octopus salad
Mixed Cocktail drink
Cheese Focaccia
Cheese Bread
Strawberry Mousse And Blanc Mangé Avec Meringue
Strawberry And Fleur D'oranger Cake
"comme à la maison" cocktail
Vacherin Aux Cerises
Grilled Baby Octopus
Roasted Pineapple And Passion Fruit, Almonds And Lime Biscuit, Passion Fruit And Lemongrass Ice Cream
Arancini
Grilled Octopus
Vacherin
Fletan Haricots Blancs Humus Et Aubergine Aigre Douce
Roasted Baby Chicken
Beef
Almond Cake
Veal Filet
Scallop
Celeriac Agnolotti, Wilted Arugula, Pecorino Di Fossa
Seared Foie Gras
Pintade And Foie Gras Terrine, Grape Must Mustard, Pickled Vegetables
Chocolate Coulant
Crab & Avocado Roll
Dbgb Burger
Coffee Cake
Foie Gras
Ricotta Ravioli
Gianduja Mousse
Panisses
suckling pig
Strawberry Cake
Pea And Farm Egg Pasta With Caviar
Dungeness Crab And Celery
Beef Duo, Red-Wine Braised Short Ribs, Roasted Rib Eye, Carrots Tian, Wild Mushroom, Bordelaise Sauce
Truffle pasta
Vacherin Cerise
Chocolat coulant
Limoncello Hazelnut Gianduja
Artichokes
Jambon
Scallop With White Asparagus And Morels
Steak and Egg
Tom Colins
Chocolate Souflé
Spaghetti Noirs Aux Fruits De Mer
Brasied Beef Agnolotti
Red Drum Endive And Walnuts
Triple Chocolate Mousse Cake And Vanilla Ice Cream
Fromage With Candy Almonds And Apricot
Celeriac And Mushroom Soup
Chilled Cucumber Soup
Smoked Salmon, Hash Brown, Egg
Rabbit Porchetta
Rhubarb Vacherin
Latte & Fresh Homemade Madelaines
Homemade Sable Cookies
Salade De Homard
Magret De Canard Et Foie Gras
Lobster Salad
Braised Local Lamb Pappardelle

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 10:30PM

Maison Boulud Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Montreal / Quebec
Most Booked
Montreal / Quebec
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Montreal / Quebec
4 More
Best Ambiance
Montreal
Outdoor Dining
Montreal
Most Booked
Montreal
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (150)
Romantic (107)
Great for Outdoor Dining (101)
See All
Fit for Foodies (99)
Notable Wine List (77)
Great for Brunch (59)
Great for Lunch (55)
Scenic View (33)
Good for Groups (25)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Late-night Find (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
784 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful dining experience! Will defini ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful dining experience! Will definitely come back again :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a birthday dinner here recent ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed a birthday dinner here recently. The wait staff are very professional and courteous. We ate in the outdoor courtyard, which was quite pleasant and a pretty reprieve from the city street. I had noted on our reservation that we were celebrating a birthday and the staff surprised us with a shared dessert at the conclusion of the meal. This was delightful. The suggested wine was enjoyable. I would recommend Maison Boulud to diners staying at the hotel as is wonderfully convenient and anyone else wishing to enjoy fine and dining.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional in all aspects. A must in Mo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Exceptional in all aspects. A must in Montreal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for brunch and ate outside in th ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 5 days ago

We went for brunch and ate outside in the gardens. It was picture perfect, a beautiful oasis in the city. The food and service were excellent. It was wonderful as usual.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food with a seasonal touch.Pri ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food with a seasonal touch.Pricey but great for a special occasion.The garden was beautiful.The main disappointment:although I had booked well in advance and requested the garden twice(initially and upon confirmation) we were seated in a corner indoors,when there was plenty of seating in the garden, and had to insist .However,we were accomodated.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful, relaxing lunch: dined midday, ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful, relaxing lunch: dined midday, on a Thursday, and seated in the bright, back dining room. Decided upon the 3 option prix-fixe. I chose a panzanella appetizer (several different types of sliced tomatoes, with crunch chunks of lebanese cucumbers, sour sough croutons, all dressed in a tangy vinaigrette - could've had 3 bowls of this quite happily for lunch); followed by "roast chicken" (a chunky strip of chicken breast with perfectly crispy skin, as well as 2 sizesble chunks of dark meat, served atop a bed of sweet corn with a few cut baby zuccinis and mini onions, dotted with a bit of slightly spicy red pepper paste, as well as two dollops of a creamy, white almost-too-sweet sauce - this sweet sauce unnecessary to me as the corn was sweet on its own); ending with melon-strawberry-blasamic dessert (cannot adequately describe this other than to say it was really, really good) with tea service. Everything was beyond delicious, including the warm, fresh foccacia bread (no amuse served at lunch). Have dined at MB many times, and this met my expectations. I assume that a dinner version of the roast chicken main course would consist of a larger portion of meat. The only misstep was with service: On the way to being seated, I conveyed to the hostess that my dining companion was not going to be joining me after all, and that I would be dining alone. I was seated, and served bread almost immediately, and I then sat for 30 minutes to enjoy the bread until I flagged my waiter and surprised *him* with the news that I was dining alone, after which service proceeded very smoothly. Looking forward to returning.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A little pricey but worth it. The prese ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

A little pricey but worth it. The presentation of each dish was impeccable and impressive. We were celebrating my daughter's birthday and my future daughter in law' and we were all impressed with everything... a beautiful place to dine overlooking a relaxing garden. The outside dining is well equipped should it rain, be a little fresh or a little too warm.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just what you need for a chilly and easy ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Just what you need for a chilly and easy day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I came here with my wife for brunch and ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I came here with my wife for brunch and we both loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a very enjoyable evening from beg ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was a very enjoyable evening from beginning to end.

It was the ideal place to celebrate a very special anniversary.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have lunch here every time I come to t ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have lunch here every time I come to the city. I love it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For the price, it wasn't worth it. Servi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

For the price, it wasn't worth it. Service was slow. I would recommend going to an upscale, authentically local option instead.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We were all please with our lunch.Meal w ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We were all please with our lunch.Meal was wonderfully presented as well Next time I would order my hamburger med rather than med/well , huge serving as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated my wife's birthday over their ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Celebrated my wife's birthday over their Jazz Brunch (once a month) and everything (from the service, to the ambiance, food, music, etc) was immaculate. Run, don't walk, to this gem of a place!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy brunch at Maison Boulud but ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always enjoy brunch at Maison Boulud but perhaps the wait staff had an off day. Service was way sub par; from waiting for menus way too long, to forgetting to bring things we ordered, it was not from our most enjoyable dates. But it was one time as every other time service had been excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

Restored my faith in the Montreal dining ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Restored my faith in the Montreal dining scene and went far beyond. This was a delightful meal, starting from the moment we were seated in chairs far more comfortable than the norm, and in a terrace with garden views (including of the ducks being fed!) Staff went way beyond the norm: our party had a celiac and a shellfish allergy, both of which they took very seriously without making it feel like an issue. Food was inventive, artful, and delicious; this was really a stellar experience all around. Thanks, folks.

[If I had to pick on something, I'd critique the wine list for being heavily skewed to the expensive; but the bottom-of-range wine we had was very good, so it's a pretty small quibble!]

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outdoor Eating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience. We were seated in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent experience. We were seated in the garden and had a great view. Food was fabulous and service was perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

this is a lovely restaurant and the loca ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

this is a lovely restaurant and the location is fantastic. The service is elegant and refined. Unfortunately, it was disappointing to see Bluefin tuna on the menu which is a fish species that is nearly extinct - I would have hoped that a restaurant of this caliber would have a heightened interest in sustainability.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been to 4 of Daniel Boulud's res ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We have been to 4 of Daniel Boulud's restaurants. They never disappoint. The food was excellent, the service was extremely attentive and the outdoor dining atmosphere was terrific.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You want for nothing. Food, service, wi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

You want for nothing. Food, service, wine paring with your exquisite meal that is more like a work of art with flavours that need to be experienced. This can only be accomplised by experienced chefs and staff who enjoy their position. Enjoy this experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From start to finish our dinner at Boulu ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

From start to finish our dinner at Boulud was fantastic! Portions are not big and it is expensive but each dish we ordered was delicious. We had a lovely server. Eating outside was beautiful. Really a lovely place for a special occasion. We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. A really wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining experience in the heart ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Excellent dining experience in the heart of Montreal. Exceptional dining experience; great staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a great ambience and the food was ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

It was a great ambience and the food was delectable. We had the breakfast brunch and my favorite was the smoked salmon. The staff prepared hot fresh madeleines and they were so delicious. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Salade Nicoise with Tuna was inadequ ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The Salade Nicoise with Tuna was inadequate in every sense.

Far too small a portion for the money charged and the tuna was overcooked.

Very disappointing. $205 for two people with one glass of wine each for lunch!! I would have no trouble paying that amount of money if the value was there but in this case, I felt almost violated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We dined at Maison Boulud while visiting ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We dined at Maison Boulud while visiting Montreal over our anniversary. There are two spaces in the restaurant, a darker low lit dining area, and a bright more summerly conservatory room - each with a different atmosphere. We opted for the taster menu which was chef's choice. It was geared more towards seafood dishes and that suited us perfectly. The food was impeccable and the wine pairings were excellent. It is rather expensive, but this is a refined dining experience. I think they get the balance just right with service that is highly professional, yet both friendly and informative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Impeccable service and great food . Spe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Impeccable service and great food . Special menu after 9 PM is a great value .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of 5 went for Sunday brunch an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our group of 5 went for Sunday brunch and it was an awesome experience! Ask for a table on the terrace near the water, there are live white ducks and it's gorgeous. Very comfortable seating and the perfect amount of shade. Food was exceptional as expected - brunch option was either a 2 or 3 course meal (NOT a buffet). Service was attentive without being fussy - little details such as setting down plates or removing plates at the same time was appreciated. Worth every penny!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible Terrible Food! The pan seared ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Terrible Terrible Food! The pan seared fois gras was so disgusting in smell and taste that I took two bites and pushed it aside, as did my dining companion. The rack of lamb was as tough as a boot and the flavor dreadful. The wine waiter recommended a $500 bottle of wine, which I accepted, but I have and better $20 bottles of red compared to this. This restaurant is an example of The Emperor Has No Clothing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Ricardo is an Excelent Chef. We enjoyed ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Ricardo is an Excelent Chef. We enjoyed the food very much, will be back as soon as posible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service as usual and fabulous food ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great service as usual and fabulous food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was looking for a special dinner for t ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I was looking for a special dinner for the last night of vacation, and Maison Boulud did not disappoint. The food was great, especially the tuna - my wife and I both thought it was one of the best tuna dishes we've eaten. The wine list is quite good as well. On a busy night, it can get a little lively in the restaurant, but we were seated out by the garden. It was beautiful, and great for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

what a treat to have Brunch at the Boulu ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

what a treat to have Brunch at the Boulud; they were very nice to set us up in a quiet room for 6 as we were with elderly people

the prices of food are fair for the variety & tastes but alcohol is somewhat too expensive

kir royal at 32$ a glass ?!!!!! PLEASE! i had never paid so much for that....

unfortunately the total of the bill stays with you longer than the taste of the food...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great meal on the terasse outsi ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a great meal on the terasse outside. Perfect evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great ambiance, food ok but $$$$

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great ambiance, food ok but $$$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

First class service, very attentive and ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

First class service, very attentive and informative personnel. Food quality was exceptional, with fresh seasonal ingredients.

Overall a great dining experience to celebrate a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Having gone to Boulud a number of times ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Having gone to Boulud a number of times over the past year, the quality of the restaurant is consistent. The menu has barely changed over the past year, and the hostess seems a bit tired and uninterested in her function. The wait staff get top notes.

The atmosphere in the garden is among the main draws.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It always a great meal at Maison Boulud. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

It always a great meal at Maison Boulud. Service is perfect nice, professional . The food is always superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food! The escargot was especially ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great food! The escargot was especially delicious, your version was by far the best I've tried. Thank you for honouring our request in ensuring safe and delicious food for my children with food sensitivities. You guys are fantastic!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy my time at Bolud. I took ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I always enjoy my time at Bolud. I took my mother and a friend of ours and we had a great time. Even though it was a rainy day, we sat on the terrace where we were well protected from the rain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing breakfast! A little bit on the p ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Amazing breakfast! A little bit on the pricier side but with the service and atmosphere was absolutely spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.