About Maison Boulud

1228 Sherbrooke West
Montreal, QC H3G1H6
View Larger Map

Maison Boulud Montréal offers the cuisine of a chef steeped in French tradition, yet inspired by decades spent cooking in New York City.
Daniel Boulud's menu is driven by the seasons and bounty of Québec's local purveyors. The result: refined yet soulful contemporary French food, prepared here by Executive Chef Riccardo Bertolino.
While situated in the Ritz-Carlton Montreal, the restaurant, its bar & lounge and two private dining rooms have a vibrant identity all their own. Maison Boulud enjoys a view over the historic hotel garden and year round glass enclosed winter garden. Daniel Boulud's welcoming spirit, the casually elegant tone and glimpses of a partly open kitchen keep the focus on the cuisine, making this a daily gathering place for wonderful food.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast

Daily: 7:00am - 10:30am


Lunch

Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm


Dinner

Daily : 6:00pm - 10:30pm

Brunch

Saturday - Sunday :12:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Rue de la Montagne

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 842-4224

Website:
http://www.maisonboulud.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet from 6pm

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Bertolino

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Maison Boulud
Madeleines
Maquereau, Pommes De Terre Confites, Poireaux Et Vinaigrette A La Moutarde
mushrooms
Salmon Tartare
Croissant
Scallops And Truffles In Brioche
Beef Bourguignon
Trout
Chocolate And Salted Caramel
Raspberry Mousse Cake
Pear, Vanilla And Meringue
Oyster Rockefeller
Truffe Noire
Ravioli Riccota Filling And Black Truffles
Homemade Pasta
Pear Meringue
Pear Salad
Scallops
Black Bass
Freshly baked madeleine cookies
Crispy fried egg, sweet onion coulis, chanterelle mushrooms, green beans, lima beans, truffle jus
Housemade gramigna pasta, basil pesto, pecorino
Arugula and peach salad, pecorino cheese, almonds, balsamic vinegar
Heirloom tomatoes salad, watermelon, balsamic vinegar, African blue basil, tomato foam
Vitello tonnato, veal carpaccio, tonnato sauce, capers, Spanish anchovies, celer
Crispy veal sweetbreads, artichokes, Parma ham, spinach, tomatoes, bay leaf jus
Sashimi
Rhubarb and Tonka beans vacherin
Quebec Lamb
Chocolate tartlet
Quinoa Salad
Crispy Artichoke Hearts
Beef Duo
Salade De Printemps
Portuguese Sardines
Laitue Iceberg Façon Caesar
Catalonia style octopus salad
Mixed Cocktail drink
Cheese Focaccia
Cheese Bread
Strawberry Mousse And Blanc Mangé Avec Meringue
Vacherin Aux Cerises
Strawberry And Fleur D'oranger Cake
"comme à la maison" cocktail
Grilled Baby Octopus
Roasted Pineapple And Passion Fruit, Almonds And Lime Biscuit, Passion Fruit And Lemongrass Ice Cream
Arancini
Grilled Octopus
Vacherin
Fletan Haricots Blancs Humus Et Aubergine Aigre Douce
Roasted Baby Chicken
Scallop
Beef
Almond Cake
Veal Filet
Pintade And Foie Gras Terrine, Grape Must Mustard, Pickled Vegetables
Celeriac Agnolotti, Wilted Arugula, Pecorino Di Fossa
Chocolate Coulant
Crab & Avocado Roll
Seared Foie Gras
Dbgb Burger
Gianduja Mousse
Coffee Cake
Foie Gras
Ricotta Ravioli
Panisses
suckling pig
Strawberry Cake
Dungeness Crab And Celery
Pea And Farm Egg Pasta With Caviar
Beef Duo, Red-Wine Braised Short Ribs, Roasted Rib Eye, Carrots Tian, Wild Mushroom, Bordelaise Sauce
Truffle pasta
Limoncello Hazelnut Gianduja
Chocolat coulant
Vacherin Cerise
Artichokes
Jambon
Scallop With White Asparagus And Morels
Steak and Egg
Tom Colins
Chocolate Souflé
Spaghetti Noirs Aux Fruits De Mer
Red Drum Endive And Walnuts
Brasied Beef Agnolotti
Celeriac And Mushroom Soup
Triple Chocolate Mousse Cake And Vanilla Ice Cream
Fromage With Candy Almonds And Apricot
Rabbit Porchetta
Rhubarb Vacherin
Chilled Cucumber Soup
Smoked Salmon, Hash Brown, Egg
Homemade Sable Cookies
Latte & Fresh Homemade Madelaines
Magret De Canard Et Foie Gras
Salade De Homard
Lobster Salad
Braised Local Lamb Pappardelle

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 10:30PM

Maison Boulud Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Montreal / Quebec
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Montreal / Quebec
Outdoor Dining
Montreal
1 More
Most Booked
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (144)
fit for foodies (96)
romantic (93)
See All
great for outdoor dining (84)
notable wine list (72)
great for brunch (53)
great for lunch (52)
good for groups (27)
scenic view (25)
neighborhood gem (18)
hot spot (14)
late-night find (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
753 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service as usual and fabulous food ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great service as usual and fabulous food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was looking for a special dinner for t ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 3 days ago

I was looking for a special dinner for the last night of vacation, and Maison Boulud did not disappoint. The food was great, especially the tuna - my wife and I both thought it was one of the best tuna dishes we've eaten. The wine list is quite good as well. On a busy night, it can get a little lively in the restaurant, but we were seated out by the garden. It was beautiful, and great for a romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

what a treat to have Brunch at the Boulu ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 5 days ago

what a treat to have Brunch at the Boulud; they were very nice to set us up in a quiet room for 6 as we were with elderly people

the prices of food are fair for the variety & tastes but alcohol is somewhat too expensive

kir royal at 32$ a glass ?!!!!! PLEASE! i had never paid so much for that....

unfortunately the total of the bill stays with you longer than the taste of the food...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great meal on the terasse outsi ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a great meal on the terasse outside. Perfect evening

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First class service, very attentive and ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

First class service, very attentive and informative personnel. Food quality was exceptional, with fresh seasonal ingredients.

Overall a great dining experience to celebrate a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Having gone to Boulud a number of times ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Having gone to Boulud a number of times over the past year, the quality of the restaurant is consistent. The menu has barely changed over the past year, and the hostess seems a bit tired and uninterested in her function. The wait staff get top notes.

The atmosphere in the garden is among the main draws.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It always a great meal at Maison Boulud. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

It always a great meal at Maison Boulud. Service is perfect nice, professional . The food is always superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I always enjoy my time at Bolud. I took ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I always enjoy my time at Bolud. I took my mother and a friend of ours and we had a great time. Even though it was a rainy day, we sat on the terrace where we were well protected from the rain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing breakfast! A little bit on the p ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Amazing breakfast! A little bit on the pricier side but with the service and atmosphere was absolutely spectacular.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best you can have in culinary food d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The best you can have in culinary food dining, atmosphere and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and attentive, friendly w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Delicious food and attentive, friendly waiters. Was not bowled over by anything specifically -- but it was clearly high quality, interesting and presented well. Servers treated me well and even provided ice cubes for my water when asked.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Just a few mis-steps by the service staf ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Just a few mis-steps by the service staff. Otherwise, a nearly flawless dinner. Thank you for the incredible experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

a lackluster performance on food with go ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

a lackluster performance on food with good service.

the ambiance was a bit lacking a first. the hostess was on the phone for a good 10 minutes before she even acknowledged our presence. once we were seated at our table on the covered patio, it was clear that the ritz carlton cared a lot about the garden. they even had a pond with baby ducks. :) the landscaping was beauty and serene.

the service was attentive and polite. our waiter was well informed and kept wine and water glasses full throughout the meal. he also inquired if it was a special occasion (which it was - my parents 51st wedding anniversary). he offered us complementary madeleines cooked to order and turned out to be divine.

the wine selection for full bottles was ample but for half-bottles was very limited. we did manage to find a few that would go with everyone's orders. for appetizers, we ordered the foie gras tarte, crab with uni and avocado, scallop ceviche and seasonal salad. the foie gras turned out to be torchon rather than seared (which in my opinion is a cop out). the uni was not very fresh and left an unpleasant fishy aftertaste; its accompanying jelly was impossible to eat with knife and fork as the gelatin would slip thru the tines (there was no spoon offered). the scallop ceviche while well prepared had nothing exciting about it; it was just cold slices of raw scallop with a several spoonfuls of cold gazpacho (no spiciness or anything to whet the appetite). The salad had a pleasantly tangy goat cheese however. for main courses, we order the squab, halibut, angus beef and veal sweetbreads. the squab while cooked medium rare lacked flavor; the leg was strangely/partially wrapped in filo pastry making it a little weird to eat. its accompanying foie gras was indeed seared to perfection (at last). the halibut and angus while tender and cooked thoroughly didn't have any memorable sauces. the veal sweetbreads were undercooked and needed to be sent back.

total cost (6 adults, 1 kid) - $1000.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Horrible service, and ridiculously slow ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Horrible service, and ridiculously slow. Waiters have no patience to talk to you and explain the menu because their understaffed. We waited an hour to make our orders. From my hospitality proffession I'm positive the staff member never went to any elite resto acadamies on how to serve clients the correct ways and to never cross your guest on the table. If that's not part Ritz qualification standards then they need to up their training programs to fine cuisine standards. The Main course was ok nothing special, however the waffle desert was perfect and put a smile on my wife's face. Please note I'm speaking based on my experience during brunch hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

It was a surprising disappointment to ex ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It was a surprising disappointment to experience such a poor service at Boulud. We ordered two basic breakfast items and were waiting for almost an hour to get them! Meanwhile, another couple who arrived later than us was served with the same menu items earlier - the waiter either forgot to place our order or purposely did it . We were staying at the Ritz and were planning to eat brunch at Boulud during our stay - we obviously went to another venue since we did not want to repeat our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Excellent in almost all respects. Only n ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent in almost all respects. Only negative was that it was a warm day and it was unpleasant on the patio. Otherwise, it was great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful ambiance, beautiful garden, e ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, beautiful garden, excellent service from beginning to end and the food, oh the food , it was simply delicious. Had brunch there with my daughter in law and we both highly recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was top notch. Wasn't a stand ou ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service was top notch. Wasn't a stand out dish on the menu but everything was good avid more affordable than you'd assume for a boulud spot. Garden is beautiful if you have chance to sit there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I did not rate the food five stars becau ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I did not rate the food five stars because although it was excellent (nicoise salads), they were ridiculously small for main dishes. We had two salads and coffee and the check was more than $100!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Have dined at numerous Daniel spots in N ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Have dined at numerous Daniel spots in NYC and had high expectations. Pretty space, great service. However, food was disappointing. Pea soup a bit bland and overpowered by chunks of smoked mackerel, snapper ceviche kind of bland, lobster pasta dish oversalted, black bass dish just a mess with poor melding of salty, citrusy, and olive based flavors. Too many fine spots in Monreal, look elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Season products are used by the chef. Th ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Season products are used by the chef. This is a big plus. And of course, all the dishes were as good looking as they were delicious to eat. Service was wonderful. Everybody is listening to what you ask, and they know their menu and their wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything about this restaurant was top ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything about this restaurant was top notch. Service was incredible and the food was divine. Beautiful outdoor seating made for a very comfortable and relaxing dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Initially, having booked weeks before, w ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Initially, having booked weeks before, we were seated at a very poor table with a view of the kitchen door and all that goes with that......

I told the young man who seated us it was not acceptable. He told me there was nothing else.

Not giving up I asked our waiter who said he would see what he could do. We were moved to the patio where we thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Isabel, the Sommelier,was lovely and paired a delicious wine for us.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great restaurant! Great food!

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great restaurant! Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I WOULD APPRECIATE RECEIVE FUTURE FEEDBA ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I WOULD APPRECIATE RECEIVE FUTURE FEEDBACK FORM IN FRENCH.

THANK YOU.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Very Nice ambiance, little bit too expen ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Very Nice ambiance, little bit too expensive for breakfast though. Nice service and good Food.

I'll be back for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We were there only for breakfast during ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We were there only for breakfast during the F1weekend. What stood out was the red car outside. Perfect for F1 weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice Quebec experience. Best in city.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Nice Quebec experience. Best in city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was not impressed during our visit for B ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Was not impressed during our visit for Brunch. Took 25 minutes to get water to the table and over 1 hour to get brunch when the restaurant was less than 50% occupied. Eggs benedict came out cold, and 2 orders of burgers were sent to table with incorrect sides and toppings. Very dissapointed as I had hyped up this business brunch to clients during our Formula 1 visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Perhaps our expectations were too high. ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Perhaps our expectations were too high. We are from NYC and have really great restaurants available to us. We had expected an exceptional meal but felt it was only OK. It was Grand Prix weekend and the restaurant was packed but a restaurant of this caliber and reputation should be able to handle the crowd. I had the rack of lamb which was good but I have had better and my husband had the halibut which was a bit overcooked--

The chocolate cake for dinner was great but all in all the experience was a bit of a let down

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We went for the $55 post 9:00 pm three c ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We went for the $55 post 9:00 pm three course dinner as listed on the website menu. Unfortunately, they said it was not being offered due to a special event. We ordered off the regular menu. Maison Boulud is a nice spot but a very poor value. One can have as good - or better - a meal and experience in one of Montreal's many other excellent restaurants for one-half the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

Excellent!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great place, great service and good food| We love that place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over rated much

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Small portions, pricy but expected, too many flavours in a dish, hence lost the essence of the main ingredient

Tags: great for outdoor dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Pricey but worth it!

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Certainly lives up to its exalted reputation by delivering on all aspects. We enjoyed the "outdoor" ambiance, excellent service, romantic, every mouthful of each offering was a wonderful treat--particularly remarkable were the Morels!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The lobster and scallop dishes highly re ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The lobster and scallop dishes highly recommended! Excellent service and the sommelier offered very fine and appropriate options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

beautiful

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

celebrated my birthday with the 6 course tasting menu. every dish was fabulous! the atmosphere was perfect- the terrace was very peaceful, overlooking a duck pond !

the server , julian, was fabulous. very charming, attentive and passionate about the food!

One of the best servers I have had the pleasure to enjoy. the courses came out quite slowly... we were there for 3 hours and at 2 courses an hour, we wished they would come a little faster! still ,great flavours and great value! the cocktails were great and the team service was impeccable. I highly recommend !

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great but service a bit slow

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Party of 3 for lunch. Arrived at 12h15 for a 2 course lunch. We left the restaurant at 14h00 because service was a bit slow.

The food was delicious though.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Chef Bouloud et al lives up to his repit ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Chef Bouloud et al lives up to his repitation

Taste excellent

Food inventive

Presentation superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful meal in elegant surroundings

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We're big fans of Mr. Boulud, so this was a "must" for our recent visit to Montreal, and it did not disappoint. We began with cocktails in the lounge, then moved to dinner. My one regret is that I did not request the dining room while reserving, as were were seated on the (covered) patio, which lacked some of the romantic atmosphere of the interior. Our meals were gorgeous, with intense flavour and just the right portion size. We enjoyed a lovely bottle of wine from PEI, and finished with dessert and Cognac. I highly recommend les fromages for dessert.

Service was excellent without being effusive. Each staff member we encountered was warm and friendly, incredibly knowledgeable about the menu, and not a whiff of snobbery. We luxuriated for nearly 3 hours and had a fabulous time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bland and Boring!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Brunch was a disappointment. The menu looked good but the appetizers and entrees were bland and boring. Every dish arrived to the table nearly cold. The presentation was uninspired. The desserts were pedestrians. The overall experience compared poorly to other Boulud restaurants namely in New York City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.