About Mahogany Prime Omaha

Mahogany Prime Omaha offers authentic American cooking including corn-fed prime beef, fresh seafood flown in daily, and "Everything made from scratch".

13665 California St.
Omaha, NE 68154
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
137th and Dodge

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 445-4380

Website:
http://www.mahoganyprime.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Our Proprietor's Room will accommodate 8-10 with a large screen television for presentations. Our Captain's Room will accommodate 12 -18 with a large screen television for presentations. And our Grand Room will accommodate 20-32 at one long table or up to 40 guests at 10 tables of 4. The Grand Room has a built in screen and LCD projector for presentations.
The restaurant can be booked for private lunches Monday through Saturday and for Private Dinners on Sundays.
Please contact us to book your event and for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Contact any Manager or Administrator: (402) 445-4380

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Mahogany Prime Omaha Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Good for a Date (51)
Romantic (49)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Notable Wine List (31)
Cozy (29)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Business Meals (29)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Worth the Drive (21)
Private Room (20)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Fireplace (9)
Authentic (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fun (5)
Healthy (4)
Casual (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Waterfront (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

This was our first time at Mahogany and it was a wonderful experience. Our waiter and waitress gave excellent suggestions, including not on the menu specials. The food was well prepared and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined 3 days ago

Top notch. Service, Food, Drinks! We started out our evening at the bar, where the bartenders were very knowledgable and super friendly. Then randomly got seated at the table for two in the wine room. Service was wonderful. Food was amazing! We never get dessert and we went for the berries! Our next special occasion, this will be our stop!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Can't say enough good things about Mahogany Prime! Food was outstanding! Service was outstanding! We thoroughly loved the dining experience. Meat was cooked perfectly to order, sides were generous portions (almost TOO big) and all was extremely tasty. The chocolate cake on the dessert menu is to die for. It's served with whipping cream, and strawberries, and was the perfect blend of chocolate and sweet.

From the time we walked in, until we left, the staff was exceptionally professional, courteous, and attentive, without being obnoxious. It was a great evening, and we will return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Robert, our waiter did a fantastic job. Great conversationalist, very accommodating.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of the best places to eat in Omaha for a special occasion. The servers go above and beyond and the food is excellent. We like to go here for all reasons, but mostly because the experience is so memorable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Quite simply the best steak you can get in Omaha, and that says a lot. You will pay for what you get, but the food and service is second to none. While we previously lived in Omaha, we currently live in Minnesota and we make it a point to stop here any time we are in town. The cuts of steak are as good as you will find anywhere. The seafood is amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We were so delighted with everything , the entire staff was excellent, so much attention to every little detail. The food was out of the world and the service was fantastic. It made for most memorable evening and we look forward to dining there again. !!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We loved the whole experience. The martinis were fabulous and the server was not over bearing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We've spent at least the last 10-15 years there for our anniversary, and without a doubt will go back next year. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Irritated because we ordered a bottle of Darioush wine on the menu for ~$150. and they opened and charged us for a $205 bottle. This is the second time (last time was Ruth Chris) someone has pulled the "switcharoo" on us! Annoying! By the time we got our ticket we were crunched on time to get our kids to an event, so we didn't have time to address it. But I'm pretty sure it came out of their tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Food was good but price was about ten dollars over the quality. Service was excellent. I do not get to Omaha very often so would probably try another steak house just because.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 7, 2017

everything was good, however never did receive any bread like the other tables did

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Loved everything about it but too dark had to use phone light to see menu but great place and great service and food!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was a great experience. When we informed our waiter it was my mother's birthday, the manager brought a box with truffles. That was great gesture.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 26, 2017

First timers, but it won’t be our last. Staff was very attentive and genuine, service was precise and swift. We enjoyed the food most of all, incredible brussel sprouts, amazing steaks and appetizers. Our time at the restaurant was a real treat, already looking forward to the next time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Though this restaurant is expensive, it was worth it! I must say I think it was the best meal I have ever had! Look forward to going back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I had two young grandchildren with me (ages 12 & 11). The staff treated them very kindly and made what was for them a first and unique experience all the more memorable. They were glad to learn that school was called off for the next day (snow day) because they didn't want to eat school food so soon after eating Mahogany food!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The steaks are superb! Perfectly cooked. Service is excellent and a very friendly staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My husband and I tried Mahogany for our anniversary. I have to say overall the food was really good and the overall price was affordable. I have to compliment them on how the bison filet was prepared and served. They don't add a bunch of seasonings to the meat and allow the great flavor of the meat to come through. I would recommend Mahogany to anyone looking for a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Dinner was amazing. Bailey was a fantastic server one of the best dining experiences that I have had in a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Fabulous food. The only complaint is that the kitchen was slow making the dinner last about 45 minutes longer than it should have and normally does.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and service! Value? I spent $300 for two people which makes the chances of me going back really nonexistent. I have no problem spending good money on a great experience but damn! This would definitely be a regualr place for me if average cost per person would be around the $ 75 range. Just too much money for what you get.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Been there about six times. our seating was not good on this occasion. Too close to door and waiting area. Also, across from staging/bus boy area. Very noisy this time for some reason. Call ahead and ask for quiet booth away from front door/waiting area. You would expect a quiet booth/table considering you are likely to pay $200 minimum all totaled. Food is still fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went to dinner with my wife expecting a very relaxing, high quality dining experience and didn't get it. Was expecting a much better overall experience for the price $$$$. Food was good, but there's better in Omaha. Our service was very choppy with 2 co-servers. Felt rushed the whole time we were there. Don't listen to all the hype.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The seats are TOO tight. I am an average sized adult and was still cramped up.
The food presentation was below expectation. They need to improve on plating....

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had a great meal. Service was outstanding. Would highly recommend lobster cargot and the creme brûlée cheesecake!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentines Day date

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wish we could afford to eat there more regularly but prices prohibit. However you certainly could do it more low cost. Great special occasion restaraunt. Food was amazing and hot. Service impecable as always. Always enjoy our visit.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing! We went all out and ordered an appetizer, house salads, entrees, dessert, AND a bottle of wine.... and all of it was just fantastic, including the service! Definitely on the spendy side, but well worth every penny. Great for special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great Service! Awesome food! Strong pour! I would recommend this place to everyone and will continue to frequent it on a regular basis.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Comfort Food, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We took my father out to dinner for his birthday. High Points- the rib-eye steak was perfectly done, flavorful, with great texture. The lamb followed suit. The sides were equally delicious, as was dessert.

The only downside was that it was difficult for my elder parents to maneuver into the booths, which make up the majority of the restaurant seating, and unfortunately all the bar area seating was full at the time of our reservation. The place we sat was a bit loud with music and entry way traffic, making it hard for my father to hear with his hearing aids.

Next time I will remember to specifically ask for seating in the bar.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Mahogany Prime Omaha is one of our favorite dinning spots. Although we don't go frequently, it is that special place for exquisite service, comfort, hospitality and very well-prepared meals, that my wife and I look forward to for birthdays and anniversaries. Always first rate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great spot for anniversary or romantic date. We were seated in the wine room and enjoyed it very much. I thought a bit noisy in the main dining area. Food and wine very good-steaks done perfectly. Chocolate cake dessert impressive. Wait staff and management very attentive. Thank you for the box of candy! Pricey but well worth it!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This meal was for a business meeting. I had high expectations for service. There were several missed points...drink refills were slow and the server needed to be reminded to bring (twice), the stopped by the table multiple times and stood waiting for the conversation to end, instead of coming back to the table at another time. The message the server delivered felt like a rehearsed speech and was more of an interruption instead of offering any suggestions. The food was fantastic and the atmosphere was great. Not sure if I will go back.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 24, 2017

This restaurant is not only outstanding, but far out-values the more expensive spots in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very attentive service. Had a server in training, Andy, and she did very well with describing the dishes and the specials. Overall very nice as my wife and I were treating a friend from out of town. Our friend was very impressed with his steak dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The food and the service is outstanding. The steaks were prepared to exact request and came out very hot. A wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food is exceptional and we love the quiet atmosphere. It is one of very few restaurants in Omaha where you can enjoy a conversation with a group and hear what is being said.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.