About Mahogany Prime Omaha

Mahogany Prime Omaha offers authentic American cooking including corn-fed prime beef, fresh seafood flown in daily, and "Everything made from scratch".

13665 California St.
Omaha, NE 68154
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
137th and Dodge

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 445-4380

Website:
http://www.mahoganyprime.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Our Proprietor's Room will accommodate 8-10 with a large screen television for presentations. Our Captain's Room will accommodate 12 -18 with a large screen television for presentations. And our Grand Room will accommodate 20-32 at one long table or up to 40 guests at 10 tables of 4. The Grand Room has a built in screen and LCD projector for presentations.
The restaurant can be booked for private lunches Monday through Saturday and for Private Dinners on Sundays.
Please contact us to book your event and for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Contact any Manager or Administrator: (402) 445-4380

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Mahogany Prime Omaha Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (52)
Special Occasion (44)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
See All
Romantic (41)
Notable Wine List (29)
Business Meals (26)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Cozy (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Private Room (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Fireplace (9)
Authentic (8)
Comfort Food (5)
Fun (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Casual (4)
Healthy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1121 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dinner was amazing. Bailey was a fantast ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 3 days ago

Dinner was amazing. Bailey was a fantastic server one of the best dining experiences that I have had in a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food. The only complaint is th ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous food. The only complaint is that the kitchen was slow making the dinner last about 45 minutes longer than it should have and normally does.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and service! Value? I spent ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service! Value? I spent $300 for two people which makes the chances of me going back really nonexistent. I have no problem spending good money on a great experience but damn! This would definitely be a regualr place for me if average cost per person would be around the $ 75 range. Just too much money for what you get.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

Been there about six times. our seating ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 6 days ago

Been there about six times. our seating was not good on this occasion. Too close to door and waiting area. Also, across from staging/bus boy area. Very noisy this time for some reason. Call ahead and ask for quiet booth away from front door/waiting area. You would expect a quiet booth/table considering you are likely to pay $200 minimum all totaled. Food is still fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Went to dinner with my wife expecting a ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 6 days ago

Went to dinner with my wife expecting a very relaxing, high quality dining experience and didn't get it. Was expecting a much better overall experience for the price $$$$. Food was good, but there's better in Omaha. Our service was very choppy with 2 co-servers. Felt rushed the whole time we were there. Don't listen to all the hype.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The seats are TOO tight. I am an average ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The seats are TOO tight. I am an average sized adult and was still cramped up.

The food presentation was below expectation. They need to improve on plating....

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Had a great meal. Service was outstandin ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had a great meal. Service was outstanding. Would highly recommend lobster cargot and the creme brûlée cheesecake!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentines Day date

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentines Day date

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Wish we could afford to eat there more r ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wish we could afford to eat there more regularly but prices prohibit. However you certainly could do it more low cost. Great special occasion restaraunt. Food was amazing and hot. Service impecable as always. Always enjoy our visit.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing! We went all out and ordered an ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing! We went all out and ordered an appetizer, house salads, entrees, dessert, AND a bottle of wine.... and all of it was just fantastic, including the service! Definitely on the spendy side, but well worth every penny. Great for special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service! Awesome food! Strong pour ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great Service! Awesome food! Strong pour! I would recommend this place to everyone and will continue to frequent it on a regular basis.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, , Private Room, Comfort Food, Authentic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took my father out to dinner for his ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We took my father out to dinner for his birthday. High Points- the rib-eye steak was perfectly done, flavorful, with great texture. The lamb followed suit. The sides were equally delicious, as was dessert.

The only downside was that it was difficult for my elder parents to maneuver into the booths, which make up the majority of the restaurant seating, and unfortunately all the bar area seating was full at the time of our reservation. The place we sat was a bit loud with music and entry way traffic, making it hard for my father to hear with his hearing aids.

Next time I will remember to specifically ask for seating in the bar.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Mahogany Prime Omaha is one of our favor ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Mahogany Prime Omaha is one of our favorite dinning spots. Although we don't go frequently, it is that special place for exquisite service, comfort, hospitality and very well-prepared meals, that my wife and I look forward to for birthdays and anniversaries. Always first rate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for anniversary or romantic d ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great spot for anniversary or romantic date. We were seated in the wine room and enjoyed it very much. I thought a bit noisy in the main dining area. Food and wine very good-steaks done perfectly. Chocolate cake dessert impressive. Wait staff and management very attentive. Thank you for the box of candy! Pricey but well worth it!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This meal was for a business meeting. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This meal was for a business meeting. I had high expectations for service. There were several missed points...drink refills were slow and the server needed to be reminded to bring (twice), the stopped by the table multiple times and stood waiting for the conversation to end, instead of coming back to the table at another time. The message the server delivered felt like a rehearsed speech and was more of an interruption instead of offering any suggestions. The food was fantastic and the atmosphere was great. Not sure if I will go back.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

This restaurant is not only outstanding, ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 24, 2017

This restaurant is not only outstanding, but far out-values the more expensive spots in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, , Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very attentive service. Had a server in ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very attentive service. Had a server in training, Andy, and she did very well with describing the dishes and the specials. Overall very nice as my wife and I were treating a friend from out of town. Our friend was very impressed with his steak dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the service is outstanding. ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The food and the service is outstanding. The steaks were prepared to exact request and came out very hot. A wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is exceptional and we love the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food is exceptional and we love the quiet atmosphere. It is one of very few restaurants in Omaha where you can enjoy a conversation with a group and hear what is being said.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband & I went here to celebrate ou ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My husband & I went here to celebrate our 7th anniversary. Everything was phenomenal, to include the service, ambiance and food. The bone-in filet is amazing! It is a bit pricey, but it is so worth it!! The staff also went out of their way to ensure we had a special evening. We will definitely be dining here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we were in town for UND hockey, luck bro ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 7, 2017

we were in town for UND hockey, luck brought us there.

Great food, Prompt service and the waitstaff were

extremely friendly. I don't think I would drive 9hrs

for the meal, but if I was in town it would be a must.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had not been here for a number of years ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Had not been here for a number of years as I live in Arizona, but attempt to patronize Mahogany's each time I visit Omaha. One of the best dinnig establishments in the US.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall we found the dining experience a ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Overall we found the dining experience a big disappointment. We were seated in a booth immediately adjacent to the front lobby, resulting in cold drafts from the doorway, waiting patrons looking at us and no privacy. Service was borderline acceptable with very little attention paid to us during the entire meal. Expensive pricing was expected, but portions were small and the food presentation was laughable. Putting a small piece of meat on a large plate by itself is embarrassing to not only the patron, but the establishment as well. Regardless of some well-thought-out business model that attempts to bring attention to a piece of meat, serving the item along with the (additional priced) potato and vegetable would be more appealing. Our steaks were not prepared properly and the baked potatoes were cold. Being regular customers of your sister establishment (Charleston's), we found our first time visit to Mahogany's a big disappointment and a very poor value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Best dining experience in Omaha. We expe ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best dining experience in Omaha. We expect good food and great service; we received outstanding food and exceptional service!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though pricey, Mahogany Prime Omaha ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Even though pricey, Mahogany Prime Omaha delivers an A+ product in a service-oriented style. The entire staff is polite and cordial. You can expect more than one manager to stop by your table to ensure everything is satisfactory. Steak is the signature entree, with all side dishes ala carte. A couple can split their main dish and sides at no extra charge, and get a top notch meal. Desserts are wonderful! We view Mahogany Prime as OUR SPECIAL PLACE for special occasions, such as New Year's Eve and Valentine's Day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was wonderful as far as the wait ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was wonderful as far as the waitress! She understood our frustrations. Husband's 12 oz. filet came over done and it took them 25 minutes to cook him another one. The manager came to our table and told us he would give us free desserts, but heaven forbid giving us the steak free for having to wait for it a half hour. By the time he got his steak, I had eaten mine, so he was no longer hungry and took it with us. Will NEVER go back! Not worth what we went through for the high price of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

We were 10-15 minutes late for our reser ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were 10-15 minutes late for our reservation and apologized to your welcome staff, 3 young ladies. They informed us that there was another reservation at 6:30, so I asked what does that mean? The one young lady responded and said that there was a reservation at our table at 6:30 and I asked what does that have to do with us? There was no response. It really spoiled the excitement of coming to your restaurant and given the following "welcome" I am disappointed that this situation could not have been handled either my management or our waiters to maybe get our meal out to us sooner or something other than telling the paying customer.

Also, the food was a bit bland for my taste, but our waiter and waitress was top notch. I appreciate them getting our food out to us in a timely manner and being very attentive to our needs.

We made it out of your restaurant by 6:20, which left time for the next reservation to get there and be seated. The manger did provide a free dessert on the house for our inconvenience. We both appreciated that kind gesture.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

We were seated right away in a private r ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were seated right away in a private room, which was amazing. We were able to talk & hear each other without much effort.

The food was AMAZING! The wait staff was AMAZING!

Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was cooked perfectly. The wait ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our food was cooked perfectly. The wait staff was incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. I would eat here once a week if I could. Love it!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was another great dining experience a ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was another great dining experience at Mahogany. Everyone from the GM to the wait staff were wonderful. We had the crab cocktail, steaks and more. The evening was perfect. Can't wait to visit again soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb service and exceptional food. Awe ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Superb service and exceptional food. Awesome experience all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, nice dining & service. This din ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Overall, nice dining & service. This dining experience had both of our steaks undercooked & needed to be redone; so, had our sides delivered but had delayed delivery of main course -- not ideal. Also the environment was quite noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome atmosphere - the decore was mode ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Awesome atmosphere - the decore was modern and the lighting was dim without being too dark to read or see your surroundings. Awesome service - the staff was friendly and accommodating. We did not want our initial seating, a booth, and the hostess did not display any issues or attitudes about changing our seating to a table. Awesome food - the creative presentation of the food made it that more delicious to eat! The ingredients tasted so fresh! We had a blast - we had such a great experience, even giving the tip was a pleasure! 😀👍🏾

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Reservations were honored and we were se ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Reservations were honored and we were seated right away. Food was great and they had a lot of hands on deck which made the customer service great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a fantastic anniversary dinner. ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a fantastic anniversary dinner. Rob and the rest of the serving staff did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing as always with exce ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was amazing as always with excellent attentive service throughout the meal. Mahogany is a great place to go for special events or date night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had an incredible experience at Mahog ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had an incredible experience at Mahogany! We were in town for Christmas to visit my family but my boyfriend and I have a tradition of spending Christmas Eve together over a special dinner. Little did we know that our evening would be so memorable! We were seated in the private table for 2 in the wine cellar with a staff of 3 attentive and friendly servers. Between the VIP service, ambiance and quality dining, it was one of the better dining experiences we've ever had and definitely the best in Omaha. Bravo to the team at Mahogany for executing fine dining in a warm atmosphere to create unforgettable evenings like we were lucky to enjoy. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Red Snapper was over done. Rest of t ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My Red Snapper was over done. Rest of the food was tremendous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Food quality tops, as always. Service q ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food quality tops, as always. Service quality quite uneven. Servers should be taught how not to interrupt a customer when talking or eating, proper placement of silverware, not to reach across a customer to fill/spill water, etc. We felt that the whole meal was rushed, which is a management issue, not a server issue.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Perfectly-cooked strip steak and a lovel ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Perfectly-cooked strip steak and a lovely seafood special. Split the lobster bisque and side of green beans. Attentive service (I appreciate that they are working on Christmas Eve) and a very nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.