About Mahogany Prime Omaha

13665 California St.
Omaha, NE 68154
View Larger Map

Mahogany Prime Omaha offers authentic American cooking including corn-fed prime beef, fresh seafood flown in daily, and "Everything made from scratch". PLEASE CALL FOR RESERVATIONS OF 7 OR MORE.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Closed Sundays PLEASE CALL FOR RESERVATIONS OF 7 OR MORE.

Cross Street:
137th and Dodge

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 445-4380

Website:
http://www.mahoganyprime.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Our Proprietor's Room will accommodate 8-10 with a large screen television for presentations. Our Captain's Room will accommodate 12 -18 with a large screen television for presentations. And our Grand Room will accommodate 20-32 at one long table or up to 40 guests at 10 tables of 4. The Grand Room has a built in screen and LCD projector for presentations.
The restaurant can be booked for private lunches Monday through Saturday and for Private Dinners on Sundays.
Please contact us to book your event and for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Contact any Manager or Administrator: (402) 445-4380x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Mahogany Prime Omaha Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nebraska
Best Food
Nebraska
Best Service
Nebraska
8 More
Romantic
Nebraska
Special Occasion
Nebraska
Steak
Nebraska
Best Overall
Omaha
Best Food
Omaha
Best Service
Omaha
Romantic
Omaha
Special Occasion
Omaha
Best Restaurants in West Omaha ›

Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (35)
Good for a Date (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
Business Meals (19)
Worth the Drive (15)
Cozy (15)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Private Room (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fireplace (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
1005 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was meh! Food was good as usual ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was meh! Food was good as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We were blown away by the wonderful stea ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We were blown away by the wonderful steak. I had the bison steak which was amazing. I would recommend this for special ocassions.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food great as usual but seating option p ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food great as usual but seating option poor - just by kitchen and waiter stand.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Bison filet....the best in the nation.

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Bison filet....the best in the nation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak in the city! A little loud fo ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Best steak in the city! A little loud for conversations but the food is worth it

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice upscale restaurant. Excellent servi ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Nice upscale restaurant. Excellent service, great steaks

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

As always, the food and service were exc ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 29, 2016

As always, the food and service were excellent! Mahogany still has the best filet I have ever eaten in my life! I will say the prices seemed to creep up a bit, but if you are dining there you should expect a high bill at the end of the evening. Bill Bartholomew was our waiter and is the best server we have had since dining at the restaurant. Great job as always!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The best service in the city.....

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The best service in the city.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect loved it. Food is outstanding

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Perfect loved it. Food is outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My dining experience far exceeded my exp ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 19, 2016

My dining experience far exceeded my expectations!

I had invited my business partners to dinner while they were in town and I wanted somewhere special. I decided to try Mahogany and was not disappointed at all! The food, service and atmosphere were absolutely spectacular.

I would recommend Mahogany for any special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as usual but the service was ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food as usual but the service was really slow. Server asked us after our appetizer if we wanted more bread and we said we did. We never got the bread and nobody came by our table until the entrees came out. We sat completely unnattended for 15 minutes. We were there for over 2 hours.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Fantastic food and service. We were in a ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Fantastic food and service. We were in a hurry and our order was placed and timed perfectly by our waitress who was as helpful as she was friendly. Alaskan King Crab legs were among best we've ever had. Cowboy ribeye was great too. Loved the molasses Brussels sprouts and fries were perfectly done.

Yes, for Omaha the price is high, but the quality is on par with the best Vegas or NY or Chicago steak houses, and less expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely great! We eat here about once ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Absolutely great! We eat here about once every other month. I have been to great steak places across the country and I can seriously say that Mahogany has the best steak of any of them. The atmosphere is calm and quiet. You can have a nice conversation without having to shout across the table. The tables allow for privacy and the dim lighting creates the perfect setting. The service is always outstanding and it was on our most recent visit. I had the bison tomahawk ribeye which was cooked perfectly and was impressive on the plate and absolutely delicious. This is a great place any time you want to eat steak but it is also the best place for a special outing because the service and ambiance are perfect for a special night out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. While not me ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent food and service. While not meant for children, they did an excellent job of treating our grandchildren (7 & 11) in a respectful manner.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was very good, very attentive, m ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Service was very good, very attentive, manager acknowledged special occasion. Tried a variety of items and food - from seafood to steak, soup and salad, as well as dessert - it was all very good. Disappointed in seating, asked for booth in reservation and was given end half booth that had a chair on one side by an aisle. It was noisy and difficult to hear other person at table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Very good food. Had the cowboy bone in r ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Very good food. Had the cowboy bone in ribeye with the au gratin potatoes which were both great. My date had the 10 oz lobster tail which was perfect. Food was priced right for the quality. Only issue was with the price of wine. Paid $15 a glass for a cab that is $25 a bottle at a wine shop. Overall great food and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service good food Leftovers ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Excellent service good food

Leftovers crammed in one box...shellfish with steak had to throw away because of allergies. nasty...How stupid we asked for seperate

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The food was very good but if I am being ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was very good but if I am being quite honest, my filet mignon was a little on the salty side for the price.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Seating was cramped and confining for si ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Seating was cramped and confining for six of us. Would take no more than four. Tables meant for four crammed to seat six.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

One of the top 5 restaurants in the Midw ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 25, 2016

One of the top 5 restaurants in the Midwest

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good food and service

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Always good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was outstanding as usual. On ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The service was outstanding as usual. One of our steaks was over-cooked. When they brought out the new one, it was under-cooked. They eventually got it right and threw in a dessert. Paying these prices, you'd hope they would be more on point. Otherwise, our experience was positive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely the BEST Steak in Omaha. It ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Absolutely the BEST Steak in Omaha. It was a very memorable evening. It was our 45th wedding anniversary. Several employees (besides our waiter) came by to wish us Happy Anniversary. We were given a box of candy. This was the best evening and the food - Fabulous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent as usual. Service was a bit o ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Excellent as usual. Service was a bit overly obtrusive but otherwise OK. Dinner was brought before we were finished with our salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As usual the service and food were top n ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 17, 2016

As usual the service and food were top notch. Fantastic cosmopolitan and a great bottle of wine

with dinner. Chopped salad, au gratin potatoes and steaks cannot be beat. They are truly the best in Omaha. We added lobster and crab to our meal and both were excellent. We will always pick Mahogany's for special occasions.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mahogany is always a win. Although price ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Mahogany is always a win. Although pricey, you truly get what you pay for. Seafood or steak, appetizer or main corse, cocktail or wine--you just can't lose. Enjoy. We did!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We ordered the bone in filet, rib eye co ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We ordered the bone in filet, rib eye cowboy, fries, chop salad, spinach salad.

The only thing that was easy to swallow was the fries. The steak was the worse steak I have tried in the country. To top it off usually when I go to a restaurant and I don't like the main entree at least the salad will do. Neither salad was edible. Worst salads ever.

I would not recommend this place to anyone nor will we ever be back to it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

Excellent food, good vibe, not inexpensi ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent food, good vibe, not inexpensive but high quality.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The steak was one of the best I have eve ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The steak was one of the best I have ever had. The service was exceptional. Although a bit expensive, it was similar to other high end steak houses.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When the server asks you if you want to ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 13, 2016

When the server asks you if you want to order an appetizer that is not on the menu, please be sure to ask the price of said appetizer. Had a bit of sticker shock when the bill arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

This is our special go-to for something ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 12, 2016

This is our special go-to for something out of the ordinary, the ambiance and service can't be beat. Prices are high, side dishes all ala carte, but generally the quality of the is beef is exquisite. This evening the salad and veggies were very good, the New York was mouthwatering but the filet was bland. Unusual for them. But we will surely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The steak was incredible. I actually dre ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The steak was incredible. I actually dreamt about it the day after I ate it. The service was prompt and courteous. The food was second to none.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to Omaha and stumbled upon th ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 9, 2016

First time to Omaha and stumbled upon this delicious eatery. So amazing that we went back the next night. The bone-in prime steak melted in your mouth. House salad is a must. Carrot cake for days. This first class Steakhouse is now in my top 5!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for my anniversary and they m ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Went there for my anniversary and they made the whole thing a truly wonderful experience. The service was superb, and the food was amazing. My wife and I were both impressed and satisfied with our evening spent at their restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice dinner, celebrating a special occas ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Nice dinner, celebrating a special occasion as a couple. Food quality is always top notch here, steak and lobster were again A+. The other critical factor that justifies the price is the service. This was one of our better visits until they fumbled in the red zone when they forgot to bring the coffee we ordered with dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mahogany has always been one of our favo ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Mahogany has always been one of our favorites. Best steak in town. Attentive service. I normally have a filet but tried the rack of lamb with a cabernet reduction tonight. Superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and the service was ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful dinner. My steak wa ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Absolutely wonderful dinner. My steak was perfect and my wife's King Crab was delicious. We ate there for our anniversary and they were more than accommodating. They even put us in their private wine room for our dinner so we had a very relaxed and romantic time! We will recommend them to everyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bad management in place. Was told one th ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Bad management in place.

Was told one thing about corking fees prior to the reservation, another when we arrived, another during dinner - when the waiter said we need to order another bottle of wine, which we did - and then finally another when the manager overroad all of them when the bill came.

Needless to say, lost a regular customer forever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My spouse and I look forward to celebrat ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 19, 2016

My spouse and I look forward to celebrating our anniversary every year at Mahogany.

It is becoming a tradition! We always have the sense that everyone is really happy for

us as we celebrate another blessed year!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.