About Mahogany Prime Omaha

For any requests or accommodations for dinner parties of 7 or more guests, please contact any Manager or Administrator by phone.

This is a restaurant where steak is the star – where great steak is the rule, not the exception. Mahogany’s steaks are the finest custom-aged U.S. Prime Midwestern Beef known for its excellence in marbling, texture and flavor. We broil it exactly the way you like it at 900 degrees to lock in the corn-fed flavor. We serve it sizzling on a heated plate so that it stays hot throughout your meal. Selections from the ocean include Australian Rock lobster and the freshest fish daily based on availability. Service will be outstanding, but provided in a casual, less intimidating fine-dining atmosphere.

13665 California St.
Omaha, NE 68154
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
137th and Dodge

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 445-4380

Website:
http://www.mahoganyprime.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Our Proprietor's Room will accommodate 8-10 with a large screen television for presentations. Our Captain's Room will accommodate 12 -18 with a large screen television for presentations. And our Grand Room will accommodate 20-32 at one long table or up to 40 guests at 10 tables of 4. The Grand Room has a built in screen and LCD projector for presentations.
The restaurant can be booked for private lunches Monday through Saturday and for Private Dinners on Sundays.
Please contact us to book your event and for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Contact any Manager or Administrator: (402) 445-4380

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Mahogany Prime Omaha Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (62)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Romantic (43)
See All
Good for a Date (39)
Notable Wine List (30)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Business Meals (27)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Worth the Drive (21)
Cozy (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Authentic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Seasonal (3)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1248 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I had our first date here so we always like to come back. The service is second to none and the food is amazing. Very friendly staff and easy to get to. I will be back several times and refer friends and family to go. Thanks!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic flavor and service! Top notch food, drinks, and service. Pricey but worth it, you certainly get what you pay for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Awesome dinner. Staff is absolutely fantastic and very attentive. The food was over the top great. One of our special places to dine.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Steak was too salty. Spinach do dour that you couldn't eat it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We came here for our anniversary dinner and were thoroughly impressed with the entire experience. The food, drinks, atmosphere, service, staff - everything! Multiple staff members wished us well on our anniversary and they even gave us a small box of complimentary chocolates (so amazing!).

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I am only giving it a "fair rating," because the manager and Juan, the bus boy, were attentive and listened.

Service: our waiter continued to interrupt our conversation and acted as if demanding our attention. Kept interrupting even when we were chewing our food. The person who brought our food "ordered" us to "cut the filet down the middle to make sure it was done right." It was not a request, it was a demand. She then pointed a flashlight at our food and waited while I simply told her I did not want to.

Then came another server, interrupted our conversation, slapped a dessert menu on our faces and proceeded to tell us her favorite dessert.

The filet was ok. However, it came from the kitchen with a mild chimichurri even though I ordered a peppercorn sauce. The flavors clashed. At this point the waiter was nowhere to be found.

The wine list is ok. Very few French and no Spanish wines. The Malbecs on the list are average and overpriced. Ok for a person that prefers American wines.

The place is loud. The manager was cordial and attentive. Juan, the bus boy, did more to make us feel welcomed than anyone else at Mahogany.

Doubt I will be back. It was not a pleasant experience for a $200.00 dinner for 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our special occasion dinner. The food and the service were great!
While there is no specific gluten free menu, our gluten free (& other dietary restrictions) guest was accommodated quite nicely. She was more than pleased.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Steak was good. Service was excellent. Lobster mac and cheese was overpriced and terrible.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our waiter, Tony, was great. Very personable. It was our anniversary and did a wonderful job of making it special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

This was a wonderful place for us to celebrate our 55th wedding anniversary! We were treated like royalty and made to feel very special! The wait staff couldn't have been more accommodating! The food was great and loved the box of truffles for our anniversary!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Incredible ribeye and bone in filet! Worth the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

It was great food and a very enjoyable experience overall. I recommend getting the cheese cake to nicely end an amazing meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We were at Mahogany on Friday evening. My significant other and I wanted to try something far outside of our comfort zone with a more upscale restaurant. Our serving team was outstanding. The female server had outstanding charm and charisma and the male server was all business but had a memory like a steal trap! They made an phenomenal team. We were full and happy when we left...and although it was far outside our normal budget it will definitely be a trip we will take again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 25, 2017

After traveling Nebraska and South Dakota for eclipse viewing, wilderness hiking, and genealogy research, we finished up vacation with a wonderful steak dinner before flying home to Dallas. We were early for our reservation but were seated immediately. The servers were on the spot at once with some great suggestions and wine pairing recommendations. My wife's filet was as smooth as butter, while my NY strip was cooked to perfection and almost tender enough to cut with a fork. Desert, a cheesecake/creme brulee hybrid was incredible, especially with the suggested Moscato d'Asti accompaniment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food was great! Wine list was expensive and lacking. The special wine offering though allowed us to choose an inexpensive Oregan Pinot which was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Very good food, very good service. Pricey for sure! Good for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Horseshoe booths are difficult for some people to navigate, me being one of them. That said, the HS booth may have been the only thing available when we unexpectedly needed to move the reservation to an earlier time slot. The food, as usual, was delicious and the service excellent. It's awfully expensive, though, so we'll go there only for very special occasions. Thanks, Mahogany Prime, for an excellent evening out with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We were in town as a "home base" for the eclipse viewing. As a result of the traffic and unfamiliarity with the area, we were running late on our way home which would have made us late for our reservation. Using OpenTable from the car we easily moved out the reservation with no trouble. So +1 for using OpenTable.
I had noted in my OpenTable notes about my reservation that this meal was for my wife and I's anniversary and the Mahogany manager took the time to come out and say Happy Anniversary, as did a few of the other staff, and he even gave us a small box of chocolates to boot. Excellent start and attention to detail.
Then of course, the food was cooked perfectly and was excellent. It was everything we would expect a $50 steak to be. It's not cheap, and thus it is mandatory that it be good. They met the challenge. I gave value 4 stars instead of 5 merely because I've been to other "$50 steak houses" and the price per portion etc were on par with their prices.
We had the fresh corn as a side which was also excellent with a nice sweetness and cooked well. (You have to have beef and corn when you're in Nebraska, right?). The Caesar salad was also one of the best I've probably ever had and without asking they split it up to present it on two plates for my wife and I since they knew we were splitting that.
All in all, it was an exceptional meal and a great night out for our anniversary and if we're ever back in town, it will be on my list to revisit. Kudos to the staff and chefs!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We were in from NYC for the eclipse and wanted to compare NYC's best steaks with Omaha's. We ordered the Fillet Mignon. The steaks were definitely on par with NYC's best steak houses, seasoned perfectly and succulent. (Mine could have been a little cooler for having ordered it rare.) The service was truly stellar, and the atmosphere was upscale/sophisticated, comfortable, and cozy without being pretentious. If we ever return to Omaha, we will definitely dine here again! The menu choices were divine.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The servers working as a pair really sets the service at Mahogany apart from other steakhouses in Omaha. Food is great as well! Highly recommend lobster cargot and the creme brûlée cheesecake.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Amazing food and nice people. The waiter knew we don't usually eat at expensive places like this but never made us feel uncomfortable or out of our element.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

My wife and I went for our anniversary dinner. I asked ahead of time for seating in a quieter area. We were pleasantly surprised when the hostess sat us at a single table they had set up in the wine room. I had flowers delivered to the restaurant earlier that afternoon and they had them placed on the table. Perfect!
Our waiter (Robert) and waitress were outstanding! 4 servers came into the room throughout the meal to grab a bottle of wine and every one wished us happy anniversary.
We've eaten at Mahogany a few times before and each time has been a good experience. This experience was exceptional and made my wife extremely happy! Thank you for making the evening memorable.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

A very enjoyable experience. The staff is knowledgeable and accommodating. The food is outstanding. The service is excellent.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Steaks were quite good but, for the price they weren't melting in my mouth. I/we expected more from the quality of food for the price paid! Don't get me wrong...the steaks were good but I've had similar quality for half the price. Sides were way over priced for the quality/quantity. However, all food came out hot and fresh. BLUF...Excellent place for service and good place for food vs value.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The Lobster is the best, beats most Orange County CA seafood offerings hands down. (From So. CAL. SO know the difference well!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

That was the best steak I ever ate. I had the 14oz Ribeye but all the food was excellent and the service was outstanding. A great place to go for a special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

It was f*cking delicious, pardon my language. They even got my girlfriend a chilled glass of wine, when hers was too warm

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

We recently celebrated our 37th anniversary, which unfortunately will be our last in Omaha. Food and service were absolutely impeccable and we really enjoyed ourselves. Best steak in town and ambiance is outstanding. Thanks for making our night so special!!

Chris Flores

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Never a disappointment. Great atmosphere, food, and yes the wine is awesome. Top notch service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Fantastic crew here, even accommodating us when I mistakenly picked the wrong week… They had aus seated in minutes and we had a fantastic evening celebrating a milestone at work. My wife and I very much enjoyed our time here and look forward to coming back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

My wife and I had a great experience. Service, food and drink were top class. Keep up the excellent job.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Bison was on special. Ordered it medium. It was AMAZING. Blew their normal filet out of the water. I will start calling weekly to find out when Bison will be back on the menu. The sprouts as a side were great. Service was so good it was almost annoying (in a good way). They were on top of EVERYTHING! I do not think my water glass ever went beyond half full/empty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Highly touted but just your typical wanna be upscale Steak House! Service was good! Food good but not commensurate to their pricing. Extravagant pricing for what they offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Maybe the second best restaurant in Omaha behind 801 at the Paxton. They are very similar. Service here was outstanding. Personally it's too dark inside. Food was good but we like the Paxton better. I'd say it's a coin flip between the two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Lobster/crab Bisque was to die for. Then came the steak that melted in your mouth. Sides were Au Graten potatoes with extra Chedder Cheese melted on top and grilled Brussels Sprouts in a Honey sauce. Then the waiter came with the dessert menu. Had to decline because if we ate any more they would of had to cut the table away so we could get out of the booth. A little pricey but we knew that going in. The staff was very attentive and checked on us several times as we ate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Steak and mashed potatoes were extremely salty, that's all I could taste. It's a shame the seasoning could not be much less. It was a lot of money for everything tasting so salty. Less is better And if someone wants more, that's what salt and pepper on the table is for. We were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Robert is a rock star waiter!! Thanks for your attention and patience!! We'll be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I had the snapper special and it was excellent. 3 others had the small filet, rare, and to describe the steak as melt in your mouth is an injustice. The steaks were beyond excellent.
The place is pricey and worth it on occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Steak was cooked to perfection. Service was top notch. Delicious options for sides and wonderful bread to start the meal. Definitely paying for top notch food and service and they delivered on our first experience with this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.