About Mahogany Prime Omaha

For any requests or accommodations for dinner parties of 7 or more guests, please contact any Manager or Administrator by phone at (402) 445-4380.

This is a restaurant where steak is the star – where great steak is the rule, not the exception. Mahogany’s steaks are the finest custom-aged U.S. Prime Midwestern Beef known for its excellence in marbling, texture and flavor. We broil it exactly the way you like it at 900 degrees to lock in the corn-fed flavor. We serve it sizzling on a heated plate so that it stays hot throughout your meal. Selections from the ocean include Australian Rock lobster and the freshest fish daily based on availability. Service will be outstanding, but provided in a casual, less intimidating fine-dining atmosphere.

13665 California St.
Omaha, NE 68154
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
137th and Dodge

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 445-4380

Website:
http://www.mahoganyprime.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Our Proprietor's Room will accommodate 8-10 with a large screen television for presentations. Our Captain's Room will accommodate 12 -18 with a large screen television for presentations. And our Grand Room will accommodate 20-32 at one long table or up to 40 guests at 10 tables of 4. The Grand Room has a built in screen and LCD projector for presentations.
The restaurant can be booked for private lunches Monday through Saturday and for Private Dinners on Sundays.
Please contact us to book your event and for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Contact any Manager or Administrator: (402) 445-4380

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Mahogany Prime Omaha Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Good for a Date (42)
See All
Romantic (39)
Notable Wine List (34)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Business Meals (24)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Worth the Drive (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Cozy (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Authentic (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fun (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Casual (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great Beer (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Private Room (2)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1212 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Lobster/crab Bisque was to die for. Then came the steak that melted in your mouth. Sides were Au Graten potatoes with extra Chedder Cheese melted on top and grilled Brussels Sprouts in a Honey sauce. Then the waiter came with the dessert menu. Had to decline because if we ate any more they would of had to cut the table away so we could get out of the booth. A little pricey but we knew that going in. The staff was very attentive and checked on us several times as we ate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Steak and mashed potatoes were extremely salty, that's all I could taste. It's a shame the seasoning could not be much less. It was a lot of money for everything tasting so salty. Less is better And if someone wants more, that's what salt and pepper on the table is for. We were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined 7 days ago

Robert is a rock star waiter!! Thanks for your attention and patience!! We'll be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I had the snapper special and it was excellent. 3 others had the small filet, rare, and to describe the steak as melt in your mouth is an injustice. The steaks were beyond excellent.
The place is pricey and worth it on occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Steak was cooked to perfection. Service was top notch. Delicious options for sides and wonderful bread to start the meal. Definitely paying for top notch food and service and they delivered on our first experience with this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Mahogany Prime is a classic but modern American steakhouse. Food is very good, not excellent as the steaks don't rank at the top of steak houses I've eaten at. They're good, just not outstanding. That all said, I'd still go back to Mahogany. It's a good steakhouse.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 14, 2017

On time seating, great wait staff, perfect meal preparation and presentation. Fair pricing of meals and well presented with attentive wait staff without "hovering". All in all a great experience. I would recommend that Mahogany be the go to restaurant for your special occasion or just for a fine dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Really enjoyed our evening. Service was extremely attentive and engaging. The food, as usual, was outstanding. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Wonderful evening, amazing steaks, great wine and excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had a wonderful time! The service was great! We really felt that you made our date special! The waiter in training did a fantastic job and so did the trainer! The food was to die for! Thank you for making our special date even more special.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food. Friendly staff. Just a wonderful evening. Worth the money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Really enjoy Mahogany each time we have been. The service is great and the food is awesome. You can tell the management has done an amazing job training the staff and only accepting the best to serve their customers

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Food was outstanding. Probably one of the finest steaks in the Midwest. Service was amazing. Atmosphere was grand. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Bone-in filet was exceptional and sides were delicious (asparagus, roasted brussel sprouts, and the best au-gratin I can recall). Service was well-intentioned and very friendly, but simply too much of a good thing. Approx 6 different servers led to far too many interruptions during an important business discussion. I recommend that management focus more on quality than quantity in this regard. The lead waiter (Adam?) knew the appropriate level of interaction and did a great job, but experience would have been even better if there were fewer servers involved ( i.e., management could simultaneously improve both customer experience and profit margins). Still, overall outstanding food and would readily recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 20, 2017

High quality and consistently great food. Excellent service every time. Our go to spyot for special occasions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I selected for a business meal and also showing people not from the US what a good Nebraska dining experience would be. THIS WAS NOT IT. Our server was sarcastic, rude and not attentive. He pushed for drink orders when we didn't even have water, we had people that did not drink and he made remarks about not drinking then why come here and eat. He was upset we did not order appetizers. The meal was served and for a party of 4 with entrees and 6 sides he again was rude about our dining. Needless to say this was the WORST and most EMBARASSING meal I have ever attended and was ashamed to pick this restaurant. I think next time I will stick with a true Nebraska experience. They even said Ruth Chris was better....that should tell you what this experience was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 19, 2017

It was our anniversary and we received some of the best service we have ever had at Mahogany. The food was excellent and the desert was superb. We frequent Mahogany about every other month and do so because of the quality of the food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I took my grandparents out for their anniversary they got a card signed by all the staff and a box of chocolates to take home it was an amazing experience for them..thank you so much mahoganys :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This place never fails!!! The food is delicious and the service is excellent!
I am from CA, and I always make it a point to eat here when visiting.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Anniversary dinner with new friends. The service was outstanding and the food prepared to perfection. Steak and seafood, along with Brussels sprouts that melt in one's mouth. We enjoyed a very pleasant evening! We'll return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We celebrated our 33rd anniversary at Mahogany. We were seated in a back room that was very quiet, enabling us to enjoy conversation with each other. As always, the food was wonderful and the service was great. Our service team provided just the right balance between attentiveness and allowing us privacy. All in all, it was a terrific experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Absolutely outstanding. Some of best steak I have had anywhere!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Loved the food. Especially, the "Something Chocolate"...wow heavenly!

Thank you!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The environment was great. It was a little dark but I could see my food. :) The steak was excellent. Words cannot describe how delicious it was. The waiting staff was perfect and did a good job of handling things without being annoying and over bearing. It was my wife and I, anniversary and she was very pleased. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

It was phenomenal! if we lived in Omaha, we would be here once a week.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had heard this was a good spot for a special occasions, with excellent food but a steep price. Well worth it. The bacon wrapped scallops melted in our mouths, the ribeye was cooked perfectly, and the salmon was to die for. My husband is extremely picky about steaks and even he was impressed. We had au gratin potatoes and brussels sprouts for sides, and they were fantastic. We somehow made room for Something Chocolate, and it too was delicious. Would definitely visit again.
We were sorely disappointed at 801 Chophouse previously, this was far better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 1, 2017

One of the best times of my life. Worth every dollar.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Great experience and service. Will definitely dine there in the future.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great celebration with family at my favorite restaurant in Omaha. Outstanding food and service and both the wait staff and management made us feel special as we celebrated a couple of birthdays. Definitely recommend Mahogany Prime for any special occasion and for serious steak lovers.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Birthday dinner, took great care of us. My favorite Omaha restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Celebrated a birthday for the first time at mahogany and it was an amazing experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our anniversary and they treated us as special guests.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Kitchen excellent, as always. Service was a little uncoordinated and seemed rushed even though it was not a full house. Even so, service was friendly and professional.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food is amazing. Definitely a difference getting a Prime steak. First class all the way. Manager is always walking the floor to make sure all needs are met. If I was going to pick at anything, some of the wait staff seem to rattle off their schpeel like it is memorized vs actually engaging with the guests. We had an experienced waiter who was training a new waiter and we thought the new guy was actually better, and knew how to "read" the table and made our dinner even more enjoyable. Overall, the #1 place for a first class steak dinner. Love the Drover if going for a less formal atmosphere but Mahogany is #1 in Omaha and could compete against the big city steak houses.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We ate here for my son's graduation. Just visiting from Arizona. Heard the steaks are great and they did not disappoint. We ordered the lobster cargot which was rich but very good. Fried calamari was a tad spicy which we like it and the squid was very tender.The salad needs more work. More different types of greens would be nice. Our server Bailey was very attentive. I would definitely recommend ghis restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We are never disappointed with this restaurant. Best thing about restaurant is the FOOD! My man James made us feel like they opened just for us:) Highly recommend for any occasion

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Had a great time celebrating my wife's birthday. The food was delicious. The house salad and the oscars topping was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My husband and I recently moved to Nebraska and were looking for a good steakhouse. We were extremely satisfied with our visit, the food was delicious, service was outstanding and despite the noise level, we had a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent service. The entire team did a great job. Food was also top notch. Would recommend for special occasions in particular.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.