About Mahogany Prime Omaha

Mahogany Prime Omaha offers authentic American cooking including corn-fed prime beef, fresh seafood flown in daily, and "Everything made from scratch".

13665 California St.
Omaha, NE 68154
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
137th and Dodge

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 445-4380

Website:
http://www.mahoganyprime.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Our Proprietor's Room will accommodate 8-10 with a large screen television for presentations. Our Captain's Room will accommodate 12 -18 with a large screen television for presentations. And our Grand Room will accommodate 20-32 at one long table or up to 40 guests at 10 tables of 4. The Grand Room has a built in screen and LCD projector for presentations.
The restaurant can be booked for private lunches Monday through Saturday and for Private Dinners on Sundays.
Please contact us to book your event and for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Contact any Manager or Administrator: (402) 445-4380

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Mahogany Prime Omaha Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Good for a Date (46)
See All
Romantic (46)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Business Meals (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Cozy (19)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Private Room (11)
Bar Seating (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Authentic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fun (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fireplace (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1183 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Great celebration with family at my favorite restaurant in Omaha. Outstanding food and service and both the wait staff and management made us feel special as we celebrated a couple of birthdays. Definitely recommend Mahogany Prime for any special occasion and for serious steak lovers.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 4 days ago

Birthday dinner, took great care of us. My favorite Omaha restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Celebrated a birthday for the first time at mahogany and it was an amazing experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our anniversary and they treated us as special guests.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Kitchen excellent, as always. Service was a little uncoordinated and seemed rushed even though it was not a full house. Even so, service was friendly and professional.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food is amazing. Definitely a difference getting a Prime steak. First class all the way. Manager is always walking the floor to make sure all needs are met. If I was going to pick at anything, some of the wait staff seem to rattle off their schpeel like it is memorized vs actually engaging with the guests. We had an experienced waiter who was training a new waiter and we thought the new guy was actually better, and knew how to "read" the table and made our dinner even more enjoyable. Overall, the #1 place for a first class steak dinner. Love the Drover if going for a less formal atmosphere but Mahogany is #1 in Omaha and could compete against the big city steak houses.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We ate here for my son's graduation. Just visiting from Arizona. Heard the steaks are great and they did not disappoint. We ordered the lobster cargot which was rich but very good. Fried calamari was a tad spicy which we like it and the squid was very tender.The salad needs more work. More different types of greens would be nice. Our server Bailey was very attentive. I would definitely recommend ghis restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We are never disappointed with this restaurant. Best thing about restaurant is the FOOD! My man James made us feel like they opened just for us:) Highly recommend for any occasion

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Had a great time celebrating my wife's birthday. The food was delicious. The house salad and the oscars topping was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My husband and I recently moved to Nebraska and were looking for a good steakhouse. We were extremely satisfied with our visit, the food was delicious, service was outstanding and despite the noise level, we had a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent service. The entire team did a great job. Food was also top notch. Would recommend for special occasions in particular.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Again a great evening @Mahogany with fantastic meat, tasty sides and a great service performance of the staff.

Thanks for two memorable evenings!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food and service were both impeccable!! Perfect place for a special occasion or just to treat yourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Superior service. Had a mouth watering Bison filet and Caribbean Snapper. You have to get their Brussels sprouts...to die for!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Everybody was very satisfied with the food und the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Very fine boutique steak house with highly attentive service.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was exceptional! Restaurant was clean, well staffed and nicely decorated. Meal was a bit overpriced however the service and atmosphere made up for it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 29, 2017

You get what you pay for and this place although expensive, it's worth every penny!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

4+ stars with a bit of a Mixed Review. VERY GOOD overall. YES, we would go back. LONGER VERSION: We are originally from Omaha (live in Denver now), and have been to Mahogany at least 50+ times over the last 15 years. Business, dates, get together with friends - even our rehearsal dinner for our wedding. We travel extensively, and I would put Mahogany in the Top 10 steak houses in the country, and one of our go-to places in Omaha. That being said, it slipped a bit this time. Read on. SERVICE: Excellent as usual with the right amount of attention and expertise. Not too much, and the servers are there when you need them. Great job. FOOD: Started with a split of the Wedge Salad. Very good - tasty and the right amount of dressing and bacon. Continued with the Sea Bass special - which we would both rate as Fair Minus. Way too much sauce - it way over powered the fish, which would otherwise be an excellent dish. I would put the sauce of the fish dishes lightly on top OR better yet on the side. Did not take the leftover of the fish back to our hotel. I had the Prime Bone In Cowboy Ribeye which was Outstanding - as usual. Perfectly cooked and seasoned, and the Peppercorn sauce is a nice sauce on the side. I did NOT do the Oscar prep this time, put that is also very tasty. We had a side of Mac and Cheese which was very, very good. OTHER: Wines by the glass are a very good selection. Some are in the better end of the scale. The detailed wine list is worth taking a look. Cocktails at Mahogany are very tasty as well - nice and creative. VALUE: Dinner for 2 with wine and a good tip will set you back $250+ so be prepared. But hey, you are not at Texas Roadhouse. I think Mahogany is worth it. OVERALL: YES we would go back - we have had many excellent experiences at Mahogany, this time just one dish brought the rating down a bit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We love to come here for our special occasions. It is certainly on the pricier side for a dinner option, but the ambience and service is always impeccable. If you need a great steak or the best rack of lamb in Omaha, this is a sure-fire win! For an appetizer I would recommend the Dynamite Shrimp plate. They give you a very generous portion of shrimp and the flavor is amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great food as always. Service was a little slow but we still enjoyed our date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It was a very wonderful and pleasant place. We really enjoyed ourselves. The only issue was that it was expensive. Lobster mac & cheese was $30. It was good, but wow! The steaks were great, as expected.

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Amazing service and exceptional food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Mahogany Prime Omaha always delivers a delicious meal with attention to every detail for special occasions. We take our family to Mahogany to celebrate our special occasions due to the amazing staff, setting, and food - it is truly our favorite restaurant!

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The steak was very good and the service was exceptional. However, paying $10.00 for an individual side (baked potato or asparagus) is a bit excessive. Also, I ordered a beer on tap and it came in a small glass. Can a guy ordering a big steak get a big beer with it? All-in-all it was great food, service, and atmosphere but it also is definitely overpriced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great place service is excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 13, 2017

I have eaten at steakhouses all over the country. This is one of the best. Clearly the best in Omaha. Staff friendly and helpful

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Loved the ambiance, however the noise level was distracting. The overall service was awesome. We were a little disappointed in our steak selection particularly the strip. The filet was very good. We would go again

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Food is great!!! People are great!!! But I am so over the dark over priced restaurant. I want to be able to see what I am eating especially at those prices. Yes, I know that some people believe that this is the right atmosphere for that special dinner and it was at one time. Now its time to move on...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Although expensive ($485 with tip for 4 - each had an entrée, 1 appetizer shared by the table, and 2 very moderately priced bottles of wine, no desert for anyone at the table), the service was good as well as the meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Anniversary, very poor, we got forgotten and waited a hour for salads, then lies and excuses.
We did get a free dessert but didn't make up for not admitting the mistake and apologizing.
Won't be on our list for special occasions anymore.
Wanted you to know

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My only complaint is that the noise level was too loud,I could barely hear my waiter.

Andee,our waiter was amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Thanks for the stellar service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Eric was a great server and did a great job of explaining the featured items. I thought the wine was a bit over priced. The steaks and sides are normal high end prices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Like other similar "Steak Houses" the prices are higher and not for everyday dining. But everything was done first class. Even provided black napkins for our black pants. Food..👍

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 3, 2017

One of the best meals we have ever had. Our waiters were attentive and knowledgeable. My only complaint was the restaurant was not overly busy and we were seated right across from a group who was catching up. Their boisterous conversation cut into the romantic nature of our date night.

Food was amazing. The waiters were helpful in making selections. I had the off menu red snapper dish. It was so flavorful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Amazing food, great service! We came in to celebrate our 12 year anniversary and manager came by with a little gift and to congratulate us on our anniversary. Nice the management goes out of their way to make you feel special😊

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Every detail of the meal was outstanding ---------------------------------

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Mahogany Prime never disappoints. They manage to make every dining experience memorable. Their food and service are amazing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We were celebrating my husbands birthday- Everyone went out of their way to make it special- The food- service and ambience were perfect- We will definitely be back!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.