About Mahogany Prime Steakhouse - Tulsa

Authentic American cooking including corn-fed prime beef, fresh seafood flown in daily, and "Everything made from scratch".

6823 S Yale Ave
Tulsa, OK 74136
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm to 10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm to 9:00pm

Cross Street:
E 68th Street S

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(918) 494-4043

Website:
http://www.mahoganyprime.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Reservationist: (918) 494-4043

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Mahogany Prime Steakhouse - Tulsa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Romantic (49)
See All
Good for a Date (48)
Business Meals (30)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Worth the Drive (21)
Cozy (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Authentic (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (6)
Private Room (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fun (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1176 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined 5 days ago

The food here never disappoints. The steak is by far the best in Tulsa. The service is exceptional. You get what you pay for. If you want a semi inexpensive meal with ok service then this isn't the place for you. If you want excellent food and excellent service at a premium price then you go to Mahogany.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service. Booths were a bit tight for four men.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

This was an excellent dining experience! The steaks were cooked to perfection and the sides put everything over the edge. I haven't found customer service like this in years. Definitely a must for special occasion dining. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Attention to detail and overall service is reason I go back to Mahogany. Wonderful experience. Food is incredibly good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We've been going to Mahogany for the past fifteen years and used to think it was great. The food has been a disappointment the past few times we have been. The previous time we came, three of the five had to send their steaks back to be cooked correctly.

This time we attended for an anniversary. The wait staff was excellent. We couldn't say enough things about how attentive they were and how hard they tried. For what Mahogany is supposed to be, the food was not good. We ordered two filets cooked medium and they came out well done. The staff completely agreed and kindly took them away. When we received our new steaks, one was cooked medium and the other was a dry, medium well. Still not correct. At this point, the table next to us had to ask for their steaks to be sent back too, and the mother of the group very sternly pointed out that this was not okay for the amount being paid. We shared her sentiment.

The children screaming and running around a large table across the restaurant was a nice touch too.

We passed on dessert and went down the street to Andy B's for custard. It was the most rewarding part of our evening.

The decline in quality has been so severe over the years that we would not go back here, even if our meal was free. There are simply too many other good options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Dinner was great, service was great, and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Steaks where dry and tough this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 24, 2017

My wife and I LOVE this place. We eat here EVERY time we come through Tulsa. World class: Filet, bernaise sauce, Caesar's salad, and scallops.

Two improvement suggestions for Mgmt:
1. The sautéed spinach carries WAY too much bite in it. We had to drain the vinegar (?) off it to be able to enjoy it. Simpler would better.
2. The carrots, onions, and scallions detract from the Wedge salad. We had to strip off all that to find a magnificent classic beneath.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

In one word: Awesome but the review has to be longer so I will say it's the best steakhouse I've eaten. And I've been to a lot of the best ones in the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Went there for our one year anniversary. As soon as we walked in we were greeted with "happy one year anniversary." The food was absolutely top notch. We started off with the lobstet tail and lobster cargo. Simply the best. Then i had the bone-in fillet and she had the ribeye both medium rare both cooked to perfection. To end the night they brought us a 4 pack of Glacier type chocolate as an anniversary present.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We were very pleased with the service and food. Always a great experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great food! Great service! Our first time there. We will go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great experience all of the times we have been there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Amazing steak and service! No question about it! Mahogany is a must for my family and my guests! The lobster bisque is perfection in a bowl. Try it with the cognac!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Hands down the best rib-eye I've ever eaten. Impeccable service, nice ambiance, excellent drinks ... yes it was expensive which is why it's hard to say it's an 5-star on value. Having said that, I would go back in a heartbeat!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Simply the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Staff is professional, well trained, not over bearing while attending to (above and beyond) our dining expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great Service and food... please explore more healthy options without lots of butter & sugar! ;)

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The salmon was incredible! Sean & Christa were tremendous servers and we enjoyed our experience from start to finish

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Mahogany's does not disappoint!!!! We have always have a superior meal! The lobster appetizer is to die for!!! Steaks are always cooked perfectly. All sides were very good. The key lime pie was huge and delicious!!! We were seated in a small back room. I much appreciate the booths in the main part of the restaurant. Service was very attentive!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Like this restaurant quite a bit, never had an issue until this time. My steak was not cooked to the right temperature. When they put it on longer somehow the flavor wasn't what I was use to. I simply asked for steak sauce. The manager came by asked what's wrong I told her I was fine the flavor just wasn't what I was use to and when I got my bill she took the steak off! She didn't need to do that I would've still been a returning customer but that's the type of service I appreciate! Will go again!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!! BEST STEAKHOUSE IN OKLAHOMA!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Excellent service. Knowledgeable staff. Perfect menu choices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This is Tulsa's top steakhouse for sure. It always meets or exceeds my expectations with great food and service. I will keep coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Our first time at the restaurant the overall experience was excellent we will definitely be back

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Service is always excellent, food is superb, keep up the professionalism, it's always a pleasure to come there with family and friends...

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We were celebrating our 25th Anniversary. The service was incredible and the staff made it a very special evening for us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food is absolutely fantastic, never wait for service.....formal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Service was impressive. Presentation lovely.
We were actually a little disappointing in the filet mignon. After having very high expectations and although the server placed a quick light on the meat after cutting, it was done more than I had requested.
In spite of the steak being cooked a bit too much, it was a lovely dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We had a lovely evening with delicious food and excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Great place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Great food and great service. So many options that aren't on the menu and worth trying.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Very much looked forward to our first visit to Mahogany. Ordered the bacon wrapped scallops but did not care for them - bacon too crisp and did not like the paste they were topped with. When ordering, the server would always say "what will you be enjoying tonight?" I thought that was a little hokey. The wedge salad was not the cold, crisp lettuce that I always dream about when ordering a wedge. I ordered the veal chop special and asked what the server recommended - the server recommended "medium rare plus". Never heard of that before but went with it. I should have gone with medium. All their food is prepared "simply" with a black pepper rub. I ordered the veal chop as I like the mild taste of veal. Not happening here - all I could taste was the black pepper. Our quest for the best steakhouse in Tulsa continues...

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Outstanding as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Friends had recommended Mahogany's . We moved to Tulsa a few years ago and had heard that Mahogany's had some of the best steaks in town. I travel throughout the U.S., so have dined at a large number of finer restaurants. I must say that I was disappointed in Mahogany's. Way to much time between salads and main entree and the caesar salad was mediocre at best. My prime filet was not special at all, and lacked flavor. It also was not particularly tender. Both of our entrees were delivered to the table just warm, as I believe they had been sitting for a while in the kitchen.
Overall, the atmosphere was good but food was not at the standard I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This is the perfect place to celebrate a special occasion. The food and atmosphere was outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 15, 2017

My husband and I had a great dinner here! We were visiting Tulsa for a soccer tournament and got a quick evening to ourselves. David and Erma were fantastic! My husband loves steak, I love veggies, and we both love wine. Mahogany checked all those boxes along with incredible service. I wish we could have had time to linger. Next time we find ourselves in Tulsa we will definitely go again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was fine. It was our 50th anniversary and we thought they would do better in acknowledging it. They gave us four little chocolates. When we have gone to other restaurants for just a birthday, they give a nice dessert. You would think for the price of the meal, the Mahogany Prime Steakhouse could do better for a 50th anniversary.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great service and food. Super experiance!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Have always had impeccable service and fantastic food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.