About Mahogany Prime Omaha

13665 California St.
Omaha, NE 68154
View Larger Map

Mahogany Prime Omaha offers authentic American cooking including corn-fed prime beef, fresh seafood flown in daily, and "Everything made from scratch". PLEASE CALL FOR RESERVATIONS OF 7 OR MORE.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Closed Sundays PLEASE CALL FOR RESERVATIONS OF 7 OR MORE.

Cross Street:
137th and Dodge

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 445-4380

Website:
http://www.mahoganyprime.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Our Proprietor's Room will accommodate 8-10 with a large screen television for presentations. Our Captain's Room will accommodate 12 -18 with a large screen television for presentations. And our Grand Room will accommodate 20-32 at one long table or up to 40 guests at 10 tables of 4. The Grand Room has a built in screen and LCD projector for presentations.
The restaurant can be booked for private lunches Monday through Saturday and for Private Dinners on Sundays.
Please contact us to book your event and for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Contact any Manager or Administrator: (402) 445-4380

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Mahogany Prime Omaha Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (42)
Special Occasion (35)
Romantic (32)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Business Meals (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Cozy (18)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Private Room (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fireplace (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Casual (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Waterfront (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1098 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is exceptional and we love the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

The food is exceptional and we love the quiet atmosphere. It is one of very few restaurants in Omaha where you can enjoy a conversation with a group and hear what is being said.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband & I went here to celebrate ou ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My husband & I went here to celebrate our 7th anniversary. Everything was phenomenal, to include the service, ambiance and food. The bone-in filet is amazing! It is a bit pricey, but it is so worth it!! The staff also went out of their way to ensure we had a special evening. We will definitely be dining here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we were in town for UND hockey, luck bro ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 7, 2017

we were in town for UND hockey, luck brought us there.

Great food, Prompt service and the waitstaff were

extremely friendly. I don't think I would drive 9hrs

for the meal, but if I was in town it would be a must.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had not been here for a number of years ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Had not been here for a number of years as I live in Arizona, but attempt to patronize Mahogany's each time I visit Omaha. One of the best dinnig establishments in the US.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall we found the dining experience a ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Overall we found the dining experience a big disappointment. We were seated in a booth immediately adjacent to the front lobby, resulting in cold drafts from the doorway, waiting patrons looking at us and no privacy. Service was borderline acceptable with very little attention paid to us during the entire meal. Expensive pricing was expected, but portions were small and the food presentation was laughable. Putting a small piece of meat on a large plate by itself is embarrassing to not only the patron, but the establishment as well. Regardless of some well-thought-out business model that attempts to bring attention to a piece of meat, serving the item along with the (additional priced) potato and vegetable would be more appealing. Our steaks were not prepared properly and the baked potatoes were cold. Being regular customers of your sister establishment (Charleston's), we found our first time visit to Mahogany's a big disappointment and a very poor value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Best dining experience in Omaha. We expe ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best dining experience in Omaha. We expect good food and great service; we received outstanding food and exceptional service!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though pricey, Mahogany Prime Omaha ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Even though pricey, Mahogany Prime Omaha delivers an A+ product in a service-oriented style. The entire staff is polite and cordial. You can expect more than one manager to stop by your table to ensure everything is satisfactory. Steak is the signature entree, with all side dishes ala carte. A couple can split their main dish and sides at no extra charge, and get a top notch meal. Desserts are wonderful! We view Mahogany Prime as OUR SPECIAL PLACE for special occasions, such as New Year's Eve and Valentine's Day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was wonderful as far as the wait ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was wonderful as far as the waitress! She understood our frustrations. Husband's 12 oz. filet came over done and it took them 25 minutes to cook him another one. The manager came to our table and told us he would give us free desserts, but heaven forbid giving us the steak free for having to wait for it a half hour. By the time he got his steak, I had eaten mine, so he was no longer hungry and took it with us. Will NEVER go back! Not worth what we went through for the high price of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

We were 10-15 minutes late for our reser ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were 10-15 minutes late for our reservation and apologized to your welcome staff, 3 young ladies. They informed us that there was another reservation at 6:30, so I asked what does that mean? The one young lady responded and said that there was a reservation at our table at 6:30 and I asked what does that have to do with us? There was no response. It really spoiled the excitement of coming to your restaurant and given the following "welcome" I am disappointed that this situation could not have been handled either my management or our waiters to maybe get our meal out to us sooner or something other than telling the paying customer.

Also, the food was a bit bland for my taste, but our waiter and waitress was top notch. I appreciate them getting our food out to us in a timely manner and being very attentive to our needs.

We made it out of your restaurant by 6:20, which left time for the next reservation to get there and be seated. The manger did provide a free dessert on the house for our inconvenience. We both appreciated that kind gesture.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

We were seated right away in a private r ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were seated right away in a private room, which was amazing. We were able to talk & hear each other without much effort.

The food was AMAZING! The wait staff was AMAZING!

Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was cooked perfectly. The wait ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our food was cooked perfectly. The wait staff was incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. I would eat here once a week if I could. Love it!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was another great dining experience a ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was another great dining experience at Mahogany. Everyone from the GM to the wait staff were wonderful. We had the crab cocktail, steaks and more. The evening was perfect. Can't wait to visit again soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb service and exceptional food. Awe ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Superb service and exceptional food. Awesome experience all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, nice dining & service. This din ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Overall, nice dining & service. This dining experience had both of our steaks undercooked & needed to be redone; so, had our sides delivered but had delayed delivery of main course -- not ideal. Also the environment was quite noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome atmosphere - the decore was mode ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Awesome atmosphere - the decore was modern and the lighting was dim without being too dark to read or see your surroundings. Awesome service - the staff was friendly and accommodating. We did not want our initial seating, a booth, and the hostess did not display any issues or attitudes about changing our seating to a table. Awesome food - the creative presentation of the food made it that more delicious to eat! The ingredients tasted so fresh! We had a blast - we had such a great experience, even giving the tip was a pleasure! 😀👍🏾

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Reservations were honored and we were se ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Reservations were honored and we were seated right away. Food was great and they had a lot of hands on deck which made the customer service great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a fantastic anniversary dinner. ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a fantastic anniversary dinner. Rob and the rest of the serving staff did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing as always with exce ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was amazing as always with excellent attentive service throughout the meal. Mahogany is a great place to go for special events or date night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had an incredible experience at Mahog ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had an incredible experience at Mahogany! We were in town for Christmas to visit my family but my boyfriend and I have a tradition of spending Christmas Eve together over a special dinner. Little did we know that our evening would be so memorable! We were seated in the private table for 2 in the wine cellar with a staff of 3 attentive and friendly servers. Between the VIP service, ambiance and quality dining, it was one of the better dining experiences we've ever had and definitely the best in Omaha. Bravo to the team at Mahogany for executing fine dining in a warm atmosphere to create unforgettable evenings like we were lucky to enjoy. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Red Snapper was over done. Rest of t ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My Red Snapper was over done. Rest of the food was tremendous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Food quality tops, as always. Service q ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food quality tops, as always. Service quality quite uneven. Servers should be taught how not to interrupt a customer when talking or eating, proper placement of silverware, not to reach across a customer to fill/spill water, etc. We felt that the whole meal was rushed, which is a management issue, not a server issue.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Perfectly-cooked strip steak and a lovel ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Perfectly-cooked strip steak and a lovely seafood special. Split the lobster bisque and side of green beans. Attentive service (I appreciate that they are working on Christmas Eve) and a very nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The meal was very good but Jefferson the ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The meal was very good but Jefferson the Maitre'd was amazing. It was my grandson's birthday dinner, he was having a unhappy day and Jefferson cheered him up. It made our day.

Julie

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best food, service and atmosphere I have ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Best food, service and atmosphere I have experienced in Omaha. Food was world class.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Groups, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, great food, excellent service ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 20, 2016

As always, great food, excellent service and great atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful service and the food was amazi ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Wonderful service and the food was amazing!! Will highly recommend to friends!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. A bit pricy but the best fil ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great food. A bit pricy but the best filet I think I've ever had!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place. Eat there whenever ther ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Love this place. Eat there whenever there is a special occasion. Little pricey to just roll in every week.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good and the service w ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The food was very good and the service was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointing. I ordered the shrimp...i ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Disappointing. I ordered the shrimp...it has been sitting for awhile before being brought to the table. Bailey was good...her co- worker ..not so much. The gratin potato's - terrible. Should just call them cheesy potato's- nothing special - same for the button mushrooms- Ordered the seafood platter appetizer -$59.00...the shrimp cocktail was wonderful as was the Calamari, however the crab cakes were wet & doughy. The steaks were good. I think the worst was the vodka tonic for $14.50......................that is totally unjustified.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Always my husbands favorite Birthday loc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Always my husbands favorite Birthday location. Loved the shrimp cocktail and bone-in fillet.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service and steaks were excellent. ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The service and steaks were excellent. Highly recommended.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was meh! Food was good as usual ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was meh! Food was good as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We were blown away by the wonderful stea ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We were blown away by the wonderful steak. I had the bison steak which was amazing. I would recommend this for special ocassions.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food great as usual but seating option p ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food great as usual but seating option poor - just by kitchen and waiter stand.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Bison filet....the best in the nation.

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Bison filet....the best in the nation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak in the city! A little loud fo ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Best steak in the city! A little loud for conversations but the food is worth it

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice upscale restaurant. Excellent servi ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Nice upscale restaurant. Excellent service, great steaks

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

As always, the food and service were exc ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 29, 2016

As always, the food and service were excellent! Mahogany still has the best filet I have ever eaten in my life! I will say the prices seemed to creep up a bit, but if you are dining there you should expect a high bill at the end of the evening. Bill Bartholomew was our waiter and is the best server we have had since dining at the restaurant. Great job as always!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The best service in the city.....

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The best service in the city.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.