About Mahogany Prime Omaha

Mahogany Prime Omaha offers authentic American cooking including corn-fed prime beef, fresh seafood flown in daily, and "Everything made from scratch".

13665 California St.
Omaha, NE 68154
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
137th and Dodge

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 445-4380

Website:
http://www.mahoganyprime.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Our Proprietor's Room will accommodate 8-10 with a large screen television for presentations. Our Captain's Room will accommodate 12 -18 with a large screen television for presentations. And our Grand Room will accommodate 20-32 at one long table or up to 40 guests at 10 tables of 4. The Grand Room has a built in screen and LCD projector for presentations.
The restaurant can be booked for private lunches Monday through Saturday and for Private Dinners on Sundays.
Please contact us to book your event and for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Contact any Manager or Administrator: (402) 445-4380

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Mahogany Prime Omaha Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Good for a Date (46)
See All
Romantic (44)
Notable Wine List (32)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Business Meals (27)
Worth the Drive (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Cozy (19)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Authentic (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Private Room (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1198 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food. Friendly staff. Just a wonderful evening. Worth the money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was outstanding. Probably one of the finest steaks in the Midwest. Service was amazing. Atmosphere was grand. Definitely recommend.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Bone-in filet was exceptional and sides were delicious (asparagus, roasted brussel sprouts, and the best au-gratin I can recall). Service was well-intentioned and very friendly, but simply too much of a good thing. Approx 6 different servers led to far too many interruptions during an important business discussion. I recommend that management focus more on quality than quantity in this regard. The lead waiter (Adam?) knew the appropriate level of interaction and did a great job, but experience would have been even better if there were fewer servers involved ( i.e., management could simultaneously improve both customer experience and profit margins). Still, overall outstanding food and would readily recommend to others.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 20, 2017

High quality and consistently great food. Excellent service every time. Our go to spyot for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I selected for a business meal and also showing people not from the US what a good Nebraska dining experience would be. THIS WAS NOT IT. Our server was sarcastic, rude and not attentive. He pushed for drink orders when we didn't even have water, we had people that did not drink and he made remarks about not drinking then why come here and eat. He was upset we did not order appetizers. The meal was served and for a party of 4 with entrees and 6 sides he again was rude about our dining. Needless to say this was the WORST and most EMBARASSING meal I have ever attended and was ashamed to pick this restaurant. I think next time I will stick with a true Nebraska experience. They even said Ruth Chris was better....that should tell you what this experience was.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 19, 2017

It was our anniversary and we received some of the best service we have ever had at Mahogany. The food was excellent and the desert was superb. We frequent Mahogany about every other month and do so because of the quality of the food and service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I took my grandparents out for their anniversary they got a card signed by all the staff and a box of chocolates to take home it was an amazing experience for them..thank you so much mahoganys :)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This place never fails!!! The food is delicious and the service is excellent!
I am from CA, and I always make it a point to eat here when visiting.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Anniversary dinner with new friends. The service was outstanding and the food prepared to perfection. Steak and seafood, along with Brussels sprouts that melt in one's mouth. We enjoyed a very pleasant evening! We'll return!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We celebrated our 33rd anniversary at Mahogany. We were seated in a back room that was very quiet, enabling us to enjoy conversation with each other. As always, the food was wonderful and the service was great. Our service team provided just the right balance between attentiveness and allowing us privacy. All in all, it was a terrific experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Absolutely outstanding. Some of best steak I have had anywhere!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Loved the food. Especially, the "Something Chocolate"...wow heavenly!

Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

It was phenomenal! if we lived in Omaha, we would be here once a week.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 2, 2017

One of the best times of my life. Worth every dollar.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great experience and service. Will definitely dine there in the future.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great celebration with family at my favorite restaurant in Omaha. Outstanding food and service and both the wait staff and management made us feel special as we celebrated a couple of birthdays. Definitely recommend Mahogany Prime for any special occasion and for serious steak lovers.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Birthday dinner, took great care of us. My favorite Omaha restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Celebrated a birthday for the first time at mahogany and it was an amazing experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our anniversary and they treated us as special guests.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Kitchen excellent, as always. Service was a little uncoordinated and seemed rushed even though it was not a full house. Even so, service was friendly and professional.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food is amazing. Definitely a difference getting a Prime steak. First class all the way. Manager is always walking the floor to make sure all needs are met. If I was going to pick at anything, some of the wait staff seem to rattle off their schpeel like it is memorized vs actually engaging with the guests. We had an experienced waiter who was training a new waiter and we thought the new guy was actually better, and knew how to "read" the table and made our dinner even more enjoyable. Overall, the #1 place for a first class steak dinner. Love the Drover if going for a less formal atmosphere but Mahogany is #1 in Omaha and could compete against the big city steak houses.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We ate here for my son's graduation. Just visiting from Arizona. Heard the steaks are great and they did not disappoint. We ordered the lobster cargot which was rich but very good. Fried calamari was a tad spicy which we like it and the squid was very tender.The salad needs more work. More different types of greens would be nice. Our server Bailey was very attentive. I would definitely recommend ghis restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We are never disappointed with this restaurant. Best thing about restaurant is the FOOD! My man James made us feel like they opened just for us:) Highly recommend for any occasion

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Had a great time celebrating my wife's birthday. The food was delicious. The house salad and the oscars topping was amazing!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My husband and I recently moved to Nebraska and were looking for a good steakhouse. We were extremely satisfied with our visit, the food was delicious, service was outstanding and despite the noise level, we had a great time!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent service. The entire team did a great job. Food was also top notch. Would recommend for special occasions in particular.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Again a great evening @Mahogany with fantastic meat, tasty sides and a great service performance of the staff.

Thanks for two memorable evenings!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food and service were both impeccable!! Perfect place for a special occasion or just to treat yourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Superior service. Had a mouth watering Bison filet and Caribbean Snapper. You have to get their Brussels sprouts...to die for!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Everybody was very satisfied with the food und the service.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Very fine boutique steak house with highly attentive service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was exceptional! Restaurant was clean, well staffed and nicely decorated. Meal was a bit overpriced however the service and atmosphere made up for it.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 29, 2017

You get what you pay for and this place although expensive, it's worth every penny!!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

4+ stars with a bit of a Mixed Review. VERY GOOD overall. YES, we would go back. LONGER VERSION: We are originally from Omaha (live in Denver now), and have been to Mahogany at least 50+ times over the last 15 years. Business, dates, get together with friends - even our rehearsal dinner for our wedding. We travel extensively, and I would put Mahogany in the Top 10 steak houses in the country, and one of our go-to places in Omaha. That being said, it slipped a bit this time. Read on. SERVICE: Excellent as usual with the right amount of attention and expertise. Not too much, and the servers are there when you need them. Great job. FOOD: Started with a split of the Wedge Salad. Very good - tasty and the right amount of dressing and bacon. Continued with the Sea Bass special - which we would both rate as Fair Minus. Way too much sauce - it way over powered the fish, which would otherwise be an excellent dish. I would put the sauce of the fish dishes lightly on top OR better yet on the side. Did not take the leftover of the fish back to our hotel. I had the Prime Bone In Cowboy Ribeye which was Outstanding - as usual. Perfectly cooked and seasoned, and the Peppercorn sauce is a nice sauce on the side. I did NOT do the Oscar prep this time, put that is also very tasty. We had a side of Mac and Cheese which was very, very good. OTHER: Wines by the glass are a very good selection. Some are in the better end of the scale. The detailed wine list is worth taking a look. Cocktails at Mahogany are very tasty as well - nice and creative. VALUE: Dinner for 2 with wine and a good tip will set you back $250+ so be prepared. But hey, you are not at Texas Roadhouse. I think Mahogany is worth it. OVERALL: YES we would go back - we have had many excellent experiences at Mahogany, this time just one dish brought the rating down a bit.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We love to come here for our special occasions. It is certainly on the pricier side for a dinner option, but the ambience and service is always impeccable. If you need a great steak or the best rack of lamb in Omaha, this is a sure-fire win! For an appetizer I would recommend the Dynamite Shrimp plate. They give you a very generous portion of shrimp and the flavor is amazing!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great food as always. Service was a little slow but we still enjoyed our date night.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It was a very wonderful and pleasant place. We really enjoyed ourselves. The only issue was that it was expensive. Lobster mac & cheese was $30. It was good, but wow! The steaks were great, as expected.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Amazing service and exceptional food!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Mahogany Prime Omaha always delivers a delicious meal with attention to every detail for special occasions. We take our family to Mahogany to celebrate our special occasions due to the amazing staff, setting, and food - it is truly our favorite restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The steak was very good and the service was exceptional. However, paying $10.00 for an individual side (baked potato or asparagus) is a bit excessive. Also, I ordered a beer on tap and it came in a small glass. Can a guy ordering a big steak get a big beer with it? All-in-all it was great food, service, and atmosphere but it also is definitely overpriced.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.