About Mahogany Prime Omaha

For any requests or accommodations for dinner parties of 7 or more guests, please contact any Manager or Administrator by phone.

This is a restaurant where steak is the star – where great steak is the rule, not the exception. Mahogany’s steaks are the finest custom-aged U.S. Prime Midwestern Beef known for its excellence in marbling, texture and flavor. We broil it exactly the way you like it at 900 degrees to lock in the corn-fed flavor. We serve it sizzling on a heated plate so that it stays hot throughout your meal. Selections from the ocean include Australian Rock lobster and the freshest fish daily based on availability. Service will be outstanding, but provided in a casual, less intimidating fine-dining atmosphere.

13665 California St.
Omaha, NE 68154
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
137th and Dodge

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 445-4380

Website:
http://www.mahoganyprime.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Our Proprietor's Room will accommodate 8-10 with a large screen television for presentations. Our Captain's Room will accommodate 12 -18 with a large screen television for presentations. And our Grand Room will accommodate 20-32 at one long table or up to 40 guests at 10 tables of 4. The Grand Room has a built in screen and LCD projector for presentations.
The restaurant can be booked for private lunches Monday through Saturday and for Private Dinners on Sundays.
Please contact us to book your event and for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Contact any Manager or Administrator: (402) 445-4380

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Mahogany Prime Omaha Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (52)
Romantic (38)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Notable Wine List (23)
Business Meals (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Cozy (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

What a wonderful experience we had. Celebrating my son’s birthday. The wait staff was outstanding. The team we had explained to us about the menu, drink menu, etc. The amount of food was overly generous and very delicious and cooked to perfection. Extremely pleased. I expect to pay a higher price for a dinner like this, and we were very pleased with the charges. Will definitely return on all special occasions. Thank you Mahogany Prime!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Fantastic!! Steak, crab, lobster and best wine (Paul Hobb)....can't say enough good things...if you haven't eaten there, you're missing out!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Amazing service - your water never gets below half full

the BISON filet is the best thing I have ever ate - AMAZING, also the brussel sprouts are awesome.

Will visit every time that I am in Omaha

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Bone in filet is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Amazing service, drinks, steaks and those au gratin potatoes!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Everything about our meal was great. We had the Lobster Escargot and it was amazing. I would recommend this and many of the other appetizers. Our steaks were prepared perfectly. I think I could eat the corn everyday. It's amazing. Thank you for another great dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Great food! Great service! Great wine! Overall great experience go see for your self.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I’ve been to Mahogany several times. It never fails to impress me. I travel all over the country for work and this is one of the top five steak houses in the US, in my opinion. I may be biased because I am in Omaha native, but I haven’t lived there for several years. I make it a point to stop at Mahogany every time I’m in town. The service is impeccable, the steaks are incredible, and one just has to taste the crème brûlée cheesecake to get the full experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Tony and James did a great job with our party!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

One of my favorites in Omaha. Quality food and service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Uber expensive, but delicious food, great steaks and consummate service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Always consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

My wife and I had our first date here so we always like to come back. The service is second to none and the food is amazing. Very friendly staff and easy to get to. I will be back several times and refer friends and family to go. Thanks!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Fantastic flavor and service! Top notch food, drinks, and service. Pricey but worth it, you certainly get what you pay for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Awesome dinner. Staff is absolutely fantastic and very attentive. The food was over the top great. One of our special places to dine.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Steak was too salty. Spinach do dour that you couldn't eat it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We came here for our anniversary dinner and were thoroughly impressed with the entire experience. The food, drinks, atmosphere, service, staff - everything! Multiple staff members wished us well on our anniversary and they even gave us a small box of complimentary chocolates (so amazing!).

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I am only giving it a "fair rating," because the manager and Juan, the bus boy, were attentive and listened.

Service: our waiter continued to interrupt our conversation and acted as if demanding our attention. Kept interrupting even when we were chewing our food. The person who brought our food "ordered" us to "cut the filet down the middle to make sure it was done right." It was not a request, it was a demand. She then pointed a flashlight at our food and waited while I simply told her I did not want to.

Then came another server, interrupted our conversation, slapped a dessert menu on our faces and proceeded to tell us her favorite dessert.

The filet was ok. However, it came from the kitchen with a mild chimichurri even though I ordered a peppercorn sauce. The flavors clashed. At this point the waiter was nowhere to be found.

The wine list is ok. Very few French and no Spanish wines. The Malbecs on the list are average and overpriced. Ok for a person that prefers American wines.

The place is loud. The manager was cordial and attentive. Juan, the bus boy, did more to make us feel welcomed than anyone else at Mahogany.

Doubt I will be back. It was not a pleasant experience for a $200.00 dinner for 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our special occasion dinner. The food and the service were great!
While there is no specific gluten free menu, our gluten free (& other dietary restrictions) guest was accommodated quite nicely. She was more than pleased.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Steak was good. Service was excellent. Lobster mac and cheese was overpriced and terrible.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our waiter, Tony, was great. Very personable. It was our anniversary and did a wonderful job of making it special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

This was a wonderful place for us to celebrate our 55th wedding anniversary! We were treated like royalty and made to feel very special! The wait staff couldn't have been more accommodating! The food was great and loved the box of truffles for our anniversary!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Incredible ribeye and bone in filet! Worth the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

It was great food and a very enjoyable experience overall. I recommend getting the cheese cake to nicely end an amazing meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We were at Mahogany on Friday evening. My significant other and I wanted to try something far outside of our comfort zone with a more upscale restaurant. Our serving team was outstanding. The female server had outstanding charm and charisma and the male server was all business but had a memory like a steal trap! They made an phenomenal team. We were full and happy when we left...and although it was far outside our normal budget it will definitely be a trip we will take again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 25, 2017

After traveling Nebraska and South Dakota for eclipse viewing, wilderness hiking, and genealogy research, we finished up vacation with a wonderful steak dinner before flying home to Dallas. We were early for our reservation but were seated immediately. The servers were on the spot at once with some great suggestions and wine pairing recommendations. My wife's filet was as smooth as butter, while my NY strip was cooked to perfection and almost tender enough to cut with a fork. Desert, a cheesecake/creme brulee hybrid was incredible, especially with the suggested Moscato d'Asti accompaniment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food was great! Wine list was expensive and lacking. The special wine offering though allowed us to choose an inexpensive Oregan Pinot which was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Excellent food, wine and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Very good food, very good service. Pricey for sure! Good for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Horseshoe booths are difficult for some people to navigate, me being one of them. That said, the HS booth may have been the only thing available when we unexpectedly needed to move the reservation to an earlier time slot. The food, as usual, was delicious and the service excellent. It's awfully expensive, though, so we'll go there only for very special occasions. Thanks, Mahogany Prime, for an excellent evening out with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We were in town as a "home base" for the eclipse viewing. As a result of the traffic and unfamiliarity with the area, we were running late on our way home which would have made us late for our reservation. Using OpenTable from the car we easily moved out the reservation with no trouble. So +1 for using OpenTable.
I had noted in my OpenTable notes about my reservation that this meal was for my wife and I's anniversary and the Mahogany manager took the time to come out and say Happy Anniversary, as did a few of the other staff, and he even gave us a small box of chocolates to boot. Excellent start and attention to detail.
Then of course, the food was cooked perfectly and was excellent. It was everything we would expect a $50 steak to be. It's not cheap, and thus it is mandatory that it be good. They met the challenge. I gave value 4 stars instead of 5 merely because I've been to other "$50 steak houses" and the price per portion etc were on par with their prices.
We had the fresh corn as a side which was also excellent with a nice sweetness and cooked well. (You have to have beef and corn when you're in Nebraska, right?). The Caesar salad was also one of the best I've probably ever had and without asking they split it up to present it on two plates for my wife and I since they knew we were splitting that.
All in all, it was an exceptional meal and a great night out for our anniversary and if we're ever back in town, it will be on my list to revisit. Kudos to the staff and chefs!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We were in from NYC for the eclipse and wanted to compare NYC's best steaks with Omaha's. We ordered the Fillet Mignon. The steaks were definitely on par with NYC's best steak houses, seasoned perfectly and succulent. (Mine could have been a little cooler for having ordered it rare.) The service was truly stellar, and the atmosphere was upscale/sophisticated, comfortable, and cozy without being pretentious. If we ever return to Omaha, we will definitely dine here again! The menu choices were divine.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The servers working as a pair really sets the service at Mahogany apart from other steakhouses in Omaha. Food is great as well! Highly recommend lobster cargot and the creme brûlée cheesecake.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Amazing food and nice people. The waiter knew we don't usually eat at expensive places like this but never made us feel uncomfortable or out of our element.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

My wife and I went for our anniversary dinner. I asked ahead of time for seating in a quieter area. We were pleasantly surprised when the hostess sat us at a single table they had set up in the wine room. I had flowers delivered to the restaurant earlier that afternoon and they had them placed on the table. Perfect!
Our waiter (Robert) and waitress were outstanding! 4 servers came into the room throughout the meal to grab a bottle of wine and every one wished us happy anniversary.
We've eaten at Mahogany a few times before and each time has been a good experience. This experience was exceptional and made my wife extremely happy! Thank you for making the evening memorable.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

A very enjoyable experience. The staff is knowledgeable and accommodating. The food is outstanding. The service is excellent.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Steaks were quite good but, for the price they weren't melting in my mouth. I/we expected more from the quality of food for the price paid! Don't get me wrong...the steaks were good but I've had similar quality for half the price. Sides were way over priced for the quality/quantity. However, all food came out hot and fresh. BLUF...Excellent place for service and good place for food vs value.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The Lobster is the best, beats most Orange County CA seafood offerings hands down. (From So. CAL. SO know the difference well!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.