About Mahogany Prime Omaha

13665 California St.
Omaha, NE 68154
View Larger Map

Mahogany Prime Omaha offers authentic American cooking including corn-fed prime beef, fresh seafood flown in daily, and "Everything made from scratch". PLEASE CALL FOR RESERVATIONS OF 7 OR MORE.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Closed Sundays PLEASE CALL FOR RESERVATIONS OF 7 OR MORE.

Cross Street:
137th and Dodge

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 445-4380

Website:
http://www.mahoganyprime.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Our Proprietor's Room will accommodate 8-10 with a large screen television for presentations. Our Captain's Room will accommodate 12 -18 with a large screen television for presentations. And our Grand Room will accommodate 20-32 at one long table or up to 40 guests at 10 tables of 4. The Grand Room has a built in screen and LCD projector for presentations.
The restaurant can be booked for private lunches Monday through Saturday and for Private Dinners on Sundays.
Please contact us to book your event and for additional information.

Private Party Contact:
Contact any Manager or Administrator: (402) 445-4380x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Mahogany Prime Omaha Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nebraska
Best Food
Nebraska
Best Service
Nebraska
6 More
Best Ambiance
Nebraska
Best Overall
Omaha
Best Food
Omaha
Best Service
Omaha
Best Ambiance
Omaha
Romantic
Omaha
Best Restaurants in West Omaha ›

Special Occasion (56)
Romantic (48)
Notable Wine List (29)
See All
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Groups (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
970 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice dinner, celebrating a special occas ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined 6 days ago

Nice dinner, celebrating a special occasion as a couple. Food quality is always top notch here, steak and lobster were again A+. The other critical factor that justifies the price is the service. This was one of our better visits until they fumbled in the red zone when they forgot to bring the coffee we ordered with dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mahogany has always been one of our favo ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Mahogany has always been one of our favorites. Best steak in town. Attentive service. I normally have a filet but tried the rack of lamb with a cabernet reduction tonight. Superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and the service was ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful dinner. My steak wa ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Absolutely wonderful dinner. My steak was perfect and my wife's King Crab was delicious. We ate there for our anniversary and they were more than accommodating. They even put us in their private wine room for our dinner so we had a very relaxed and romantic time! We will recommend them to everyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bad management in place. Was told one th ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Bad management in place.

Was told one thing about corking fees prior to the reservation, another when we arrived, another during dinner - when the waiter said we need to order another bottle of wine, which we did - and then finally another when the manager overroad all of them when the bill came.

Needless to say, lost a regular customer forever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My spouse and I look forward to celebrat ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My spouse and I look forward to celebrating our anniversary every year at Mahogany.

It is becoming a tradition! We always have the sense that everyone is really happy for

us as we celebrate another blessed year!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wife and I drove from Lincoln to Omaha o ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wife and I drove from Lincoln to Omaha on August 18 to go to Mahogany, our favorite restaurant, for our anniversary. I had indicated such on my reservation. We were greeted warmly and found a signed card waiting on our table from the entire staff. Shortly after, the manager stopped by to greet us and congratulate us and left a gift of homemade truffles for my wife.

As always, the service was comparable to any New York fine restaurant and the food up to the task as well. My wife had the small filet and I had the prime NY strip. Both cooked to perfection and full of flavor. Add sides that were fresh and well prepared and all in all a perfect experience.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the 8 oz filet for dinner. The res ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I had the 8 oz filet for dinner. The restaurant was recommended by many colleauges and so maybe I had higher expectations however the steak I was served was very chewy and not the buttery smoothness I had expected. For an expensive steak I would have thought to have gotten a lot better peice of meat. I was sadly disappointed. They did give me 50% off the steak however that did not make up for the bad taste in my mout and stomach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

If you want to eat, go to anyone of Omah ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

If you want to eat, go to anyone of Omaha's many quality restaurants. If you want to dine, go to Mahogany!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic and the service impec ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was fantastic and the service impeccable! Great environment. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out experience was just as we expected, ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Out experience was just as we expected, super service, fantastic filet & sides and great service! I had ordered an expensive glass of wine which 20 minutes to arrive. I wasn't at all concerned but our waiter arrived with another glass of the wine and said that long of a wait is unacceptable. Then they comped both glasses! Definitely will go again soon.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant was not full and we got Sat b ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Restaurant was not full and we got Sat by bus station sort. People who came much later got much better seat. Won't happen next time.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Real legit food. Steak and lobster was p ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Real legit food. Steak and lobster was prime. Service was great and I like how it's a service team. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and excellent food. St ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent service and excellent food. Steaks were superb.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this special attention that my ei ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I love this special attention that my eight year old father received for his birthday. I will definitely make this a repeat trip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The first thing you notice walking in, r ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The first thing you notice walking in, restaurant is dark. They brought out flashlights so we could the doneness of the meal. The service is overwhelming. You think that would be a good thing but Jesus. My and I were flinching each time someone rounded the corner. And for the dimmed down atmosphere you would think it would be quiet, nope. My wife could barely hear me over the servers at the other tables which means we heard same rehearsed lines rather than our conversation. Food was fantastic but is it worth the mark-up? Heavens no. Very letdown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

My wife and I had the the New York strip ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My wife and I had the the New York strip steaks. She got the 10 oz and I had the 14 oz. I ordered mine rare and it was absolutely perfect. My wife prefers medium well and hers was also perfect. The side of mashed potatoes was easily shared between us and could have served 3 to be honest. We finished with creme brûlée cheesecake which we shared. It was a wonderful dining experience. Quite possibly the best steaks we have had from anywhere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the few places in Omaha where one ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

One of the few places in Omaha where one can get truly high quality seafood! High quality and fresh!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Lauren was incredible!!! She ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our server, Lauren was incredible!!! She made an evening of fine dining even better. Food was outstanding, also.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was very enjoyable. Recommend ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was very enjoyable. Recommendations excellent, we ordered the Trio dish a very good choice. Servers were very attentive. We felt extra special.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality of food is excellent; service at ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Quality of food is excellent; service attentive and prompt. Noise level this time seemed louder than before but they were fairly busy. This is not a "drop in for a bite" sort of place but definitely makes a special impression. Somewhat pricey for our part of the world.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

46th Anniversary for the wife and I and ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

46th Anniversary for the wife and I and we had an excellent time! Tremendous service, excellent appetizers, soup and seafood..... Lobster tails from Australia of ALL sizes!!! 10, 14, 24 oz. !!!! Thick, Meaty, Hot and Delicious!!! Fantastic Wines! We spent a small fortune but did it up right and enjoyed ourselves! Wife was presented with a small box of incredible chocolates as an anniversary gift from Mahogany's. Like gem stones! Extremely thoughtful! Above and beyond in quality and service! Looking forward to going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food and setvice. Worth every ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fantastic food and setvice. Worth every penny. Great for a romantic evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service, food, ambiance and ta ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent service, food, ambiance and table seating. We loved having a private area to share in our special occasion dining. Thank you for everything!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated right away. Wait staff w ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were seated right away. Wait staff was cordial and friendly. Food was very good and well presented. We felt very comfortable as their guests and enjoyed the quiet time together with minimal intrusion. Service was good and promptly rendered.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was high quality but obscenely over ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food was high quality but obscenely overpriced. Service started well but we experienced uncomfortable attempts to upsell everything from water to wine, sauces and sides. Wine was poured with a heavy hand early during salad course to push ordering a second bottle....wine pricing was objectionably high with. 3x to 3.5x multiplier above retail. Plates were removed despite 2 people who were still eating creating both a disruption and disturbance. When it became clear we had no one interested in desserts the service became brusque and perfunctory. Too bad because the food quality was very good but pricing for everything is what I expect to pay at the great NYC steakhouses, not Omaha.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

This is my go to place for special occas ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is my go to place for special occasions and romantic nights out with my wife. We recently celebrated our 11th wedding anniversary and could not be happier with our experience. We were treated to a private dining area in a wine room with a single table for two set with a complementary rose and vase and a card that was signed by all of the staff. We were continually congratulated by everyone that entered the room and tended to us with extreme profession and respect.

I would rate this as my #1 restaurant in Omaha. Yes, price is higher, but you absolutely get what you pay for.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was phenomenal! And service was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was phenomenal! And service was amazing! Too pricey for an everyday spot, but it's the only place I would go for a special occasion!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Treated like royalty and the food was so ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Treated like royalty and the food was some of the best I have had!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The manager made my wife's BDay exceptio ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The manager made my wife's BDay exceptional and improvised our seating at the last minute to let us enjoy the event. The food and service was outstanding as usual.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I decided to have the couple ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My wife and I decided to have the couples special - basically a Bone-in-Filet, Lobster Tail and 1/2 order of King Crab that is split and shared between the two of us. The meal was very nice, well prepared and the service was excellent. We took a slice of cheesecake and key lime pie home, both of which were delectable!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my top 5 steak houses in the coun ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

One of my top 5 steak houses in the country. Wait staff is courteous and extremely knowledgable. Steaks are as tender as you will find anywhere. Sides are excellent and to share.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I normally love this restaurant, felt ve ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I normally love this restaurant, felt very let down this time. All three of us ordered the prime ribeye, but they were so peppery none of us could finish more than about five bites . I said something to the person who offered to box them, and no one ever came to do anything. I don't mind paying for good food, but three hundred dollars for dinner and drinks for three terribly over seasoned steaks is ridiculous. I'm disappointed, because this has been my go to restaurant for steaks, but I won't be going back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Everything about this place was amazing, ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everything about this place was amazing, a little expensive but so worth the money spent.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Robert was a fantastic server. Perfect n ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Robert was a fantastic server. Perfect night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Entire staff was pleasant and the rose was a extra touch to a perfect evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal - the bone-in filet was o ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Wonderful meal - the bone-in filet was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Mahogany never disappoints! Every meal ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Mahogany never disappoints! Every meal is a special event with only the best service, food, and atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

World class food, prep and service. Sec ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

World class food, prep and service. Second time visiting this location. Outstanding! My out of town guests were impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have high standards for steaks, both q ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I have high standards for steaks, both quality and how they are prepared, and this met my expectations. Very pricey with everything ala cart, but great food. I recommend getting sides to share rather than per person.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Fabulous food and service. Noise level w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Fabulous food and service. Noise level was bad. The steak was as good as it can get, but it was really noisy in what really a nice place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.