Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Magnolias

Igniting a culinary renaissance upon opening in 1990, Charleston's most popular restaurant is located at the site of the city's original Customs House (circa 1739). Led by chefs Don Drake and Kelly Franz, Magnolias remains a forerunner in upscale Southern cuisine, blending traditional ingredients and cooking techniques with a modern flair for artful presentations.

185 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Low Country, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday starts at 11:30am
Dinner starts at 4:00 pm daily
Sunday Brunch starts at 10:00am

Cross Street:
located between Cumberland & Queen Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-7771

Website:
http://www.magnoliascharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking is available at the Wells Fargo bank after 5:00 PM on weekdays and all day on weekends at the corner of East Bay and Broad Streets.

Public Transit:
Charleston CARTA to and from Visitors Center can be picked up 1/2 block from the restaurant on the quarter hour. There are also local cab companies and Charleston's famous Rickshaws that will transport guests to their hotels.

Executive Chef:
Kelly Franz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Magnolia's private upper level dining rooms can be reserved for parties of 16 to 140 guests.

Magnolias Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (255)
Good for a Date (217)
Good for Anniversaries (189)
See All
Local Ingredients (179)
Fit for Foodies (178)
Comfort Food (157)
Creative Cuisine (156)
Romantic (156)
Good for Birthdays (142)
Authentic (122)
Worth the Drive (114)
Neighborhood Gem (112)
Great for Lunch (100)
Business Meals (90)
Quiet Conversation (79)
Sunday Lunch (70)
Good for Groups (66)
Notable Wine List (66)
Cozy (64)
Great for Brunch (61)
Casual (61)
Hot Spot (52)
Handcrafted Cocktails (51)
Bar Seating (44)
Fun (44)
Pre/post Theatre (40)
Seasonal (34)
People Watching (33)
Good Vegetarian Options (24)
Tasting Menu (23)
Scenic View (18)
Afternoon Tea (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Organic (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Quick Bite (7)
Great Beer (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Tapas (5)
Vegan (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Spicy (2)
Waterfront (2)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
8271 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

Perfect anniversary celebration! It was our first trip to Charleston and our server Brian expertly guided us through the Southern cuisine. We followed all of his recommendations with no regrets. Our only self-selected item, the Ahi tuna, was cooked perfectly with just the right amount of spice. Lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food, great service. Minus 1 star coz my mashed potatoes were cold and my snapper was lukewarm (fully cooked, just - left sitting on the counter too long before being sent out). Sent it back, and it came back to me HOT!

Expected I would get a fresh serving/plating, but they clearly reheated it, which is fine. Thought maybe we’d get a comp dessert or glass of wine for the cold food, but no further mention or apologies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was average in taste. Back dining area is not as nice as front dining area. This is a tourist trap type of place.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a fabulous meal. Magnolia's has the best fried green tomatoes! Everything was delicious, can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a very good meal and service. Don't overlook the potato chips.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Magnolia's was excellent! The fried mac & cheese and fried green tomatoes are a must for appetizers. I highly recommend the steak with pimento cheese. Everything was delicious!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely fabulous, every bit as delicious as in previous years. Mathew our waiter for the evening was the best, he was attentive and engaging , we could not have asked for a better service.
Always will dine there when in Charleston.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

I love magnolias! I have been probably 10 times. The tomato bisque is so good, the fried chicken plate, the assorted veggie plate, all of their side options , their BBQ fried chicken Salad, and their creme brulee are to die for.This time they were out of a few things and it was only lunch time but that hasn't happen on previous visits so I think it was just a fluke. Also I hate that they no longer have parking next door and it's only street parking. I had to back out of the lot onto busy East Bay and drive around to find parking to make my reservation. Before I liked knowing I would be able to snag a spot in their lot :/ I will still go though, the food is worth the parking battle.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We chose Magnolia as the place to bring special friends to lunch upon their arrival from Boston. The experience did not disappoint: excellent service, upscale environment, and delicious Low Country food.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

No one could help us with a wine selection. Very odd considering the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Had family visiting from out of town and brought them here for some traditional southern dining. We loved it! Our waiter was very gracious, we enjoyed our dinner very much and the cocktails were fabulous as well!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

My friends and I enjoyed the Sunday brunch, as always.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Top notch waiter, everything was perfect! Yum 5!stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

I wanted my friend to relish the ambiance, and eclectic menu, as I had upon my first time to Magnolia's! She picked up on it right away. So refreshing that we could order brunch, relax over a scrumptious dining experience without feeling rushed by waitstaff. Just a quaint southern low country experience...

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was ok. Husband has the ahi tuna entree which he loved! I had the market catch which was halibut. Average dish. The shrimp was not fresh and the rice was horribly prepared. White sangria had 1 orange in it for fruit. The scallop appetizer had zero bacon and our waitress said it had bacon in it; very mild flavor. Overall it was ok but not sure how they are ranked #1 in charleston as a go too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our Food and service was great. Best pecan pie ever.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Enjoyed Magnolias. Great food. Good for upscale dining. Southern-style at it's best.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Had a wonderful get-together with friends for lunch as we were all visiting town for a wedding. The food and service were both exceptional. I highly recommend this place if you are in a similar situation and are searching for a place to meet up for a great experience while in Charleston. A great neighborhood to be in!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

I don't know what I can say about Magnolias that hasn't been said in other reviews. Whether you're a foodie looking for fantastic eats while in Charleston or want to go out and celebrate an anniversary with your significant other, Magnolias is the place to go. The next time I visit the Charleston area, I will be stopping in!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Honestly one of the best meals I have ever had. Pimento cheese app, fried chicken (SO SO GOOD) AND peach sweet tea cake for dessert. Was only in town for one night and wanted upscale southern and boy did this cover it. Wish I lived closer :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We arrived almost 30 minutes early for our reservation, thinking we would grab a drink at the bar. They actually seated us right away! We were celebrating our anniversary and it was perfect for us - great drinks, great meal, excellent service. We had visited the restaurant on our last trip to Charleston about 8 years ago, and we knew we had to go back. It did not disappoint and we have recommended it again to other friends wanting to go to Charleston. My favorite dish is the scallops, but you really can't go wrong with anything on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 15, 2017

I have visited Charleston most Septembers for over twenty years and always have at least one meal at Magnolias. This time as usual, Magnolias provided great food, great service and a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Best pecan pie I have ever eaten ! Pick back room if you want to talk

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food was average and the tables so close you could barely walk through to get to your table. We visited after heavy rains and downtown flooding and and there was an overbearing wet musty smell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We chose Magnolia for our 50th Annuversary dinner. We we very pleased with our meal and the whole experience. We were traveling to Charleston from Alabama for this occasion. Thank you Magnolia!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Have been to many downtown restaurants and I would definitely come back to Magnolia's! Great chef!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent service! Great food and great atmosphere. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our favorite meal in Charleston. We both had the parmesan crusted flounder which was outstanding. Appetizers and desserts were also wonderful. If we lived in Charleston we would eat there all the time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Very elegant and enjoyable evening. The food was excellent as well as the staff. Perfect for a special occasssion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 7, 2017

One of the better restaurants on our 5-city road trip. Would eat there again. Very good food and service. One of the restaurants I'd recommend when in Charleston... Others to try include Slightly North of Broad, Lyla's, and High Cotton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Just passing through Charleston and had looked up restaurants that were highly rated, so made a reservation at Magnolia's. We were not disappointed. The food was exceptional, as was the service. We wish we had more time to spend in Charleston, but maybe we'll be back. We'd definitely go back to Magnolia's! A lovely dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Fantastic as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Upscale dining, but a bit reserved atmosphere. Fried green tomatoes, fried chicken and shrimp and grits were delicious. Other dishes were good, but underwhelming. Service was professional but not overly friendly. Overall a nice evening. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 5, 2017

I chose this restaurant for lunch with GF's father to ask for her hand in marriage.
Food was good and he was agreeable.
I would call it successful.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

My wife and I ate here twice while vacationing in Charleston. The first time was for our birthday, the other was because we wanted to return and try more of the really good food and service. We actually cancelled a reservation elsewhere to come back. We were not disappointed...authentic dishes, fresh ingredients, and large servings. This would be a go to place for me if I lived in Charleston. We plan on returning someday, and you can count on Magnolias being in our plans.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

My husband took a "chance" making reservations at Magnolia's for my birthday. Lovely, excellent food, terrific service and enjoyed everything about the restaurant. Would definitely go back (if in Charleston again) and refer friends! Thank you, Magnolia's for being the perfect place for my birthday!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

The food was quite good. I would caution anyone who eats the seafood shrimp and grits to ensure that the shrimp is peeled. I did not not check and got about 3/4 of the way done and had a shrimp that was not peeled. It was quite a surprise and I could not finish the rest of the plate.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Wonderful restaurant! One of my all time favorites in Charleston! I have been eating here for over 20 years and never been disaapointed !!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Always a pleasant experience. Just a wonderful place with extremely friendly and knowledgible waiters and staff. I just love this place. Food is excellent.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Always love going to Magnolia's. Had a significant birthday there years ago and returned this year for my birthday again. Service is terrific. From the hostess to the server, everyone treats you like you are an old friend. Excellent suggestions from the server. The regular menu is always wonderful but the specials are equally as exciting. My party of 4 each had something different and we all shared. The fried chicken is moist and crunchy, the daily catch of lightly breaded sauteed flounder was wonderful. Best crab bisque in town!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.