About Magnolias

185 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Igniting a culinary renaissance upon opening in 1990, Charleston's most popular restaurant is located at the site of the city's original Customs House (circa 1739). Led by chefs Don Drake and Kelly Franz, Magnolias remains a forerunner in upscale Southern cuisine, blending traditional ingredients and cooking techniques with a modern flair for artful presentations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday starts at 11:30am
Dinner starts at 4:00 pm daily
Sunday Brunch starts at 10:00am

Cross Street:
located between Cumberland & Queen Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-7771

Website:
http://www.magnoliascharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking lot adjacent to the restaurant is available weekdays after 5:00pm & all day Saturday & Sunday. **Please note:This lot is not open during lunch Monday-Friday. However, public parking is available in the garage at the corner of Cumberland & Concord and rates will apply.

Public Transit:
Charleston CARTA to and from Visitors Center can be picked up 1/2 block from the restaurant on the quarter hour. There are also local cab companies and Charleston's famous Rickshaws that will transport guests to their hotels.

Executive Chef:
Kelly Franz

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Magnolia's private upper level dining rooms can be reserved for parties of 16 to 140 guests.

Magnolias Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Southern
Charleston
1 More
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

special occasion (444)
fit for foodies (443)
romantic (270)
See All
neighborhood gem (208)
great for lunch (178)
notable wine list (149)
good for groups (145)
great for brunch (128)
hot spot (118)
vibrant bar scene (26)
late-night find (26)
kid-friendly (21)
scenic view (14)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
6150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was fast for our lunch group ...

Dined 3 days ago

The service was fast for our lunch group. Every one in our group was happy with their entry. The lunch portion was a good size that I had leftover to take home.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, great service and nice ...

Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding food, great service and nice atmosphere. Would highly recommend multiple visits!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for lunch so we ordered salads. ...

Dined 4 days ago

We went for lunch so we ordered salads. They were fabulous. One salad came with cornbread croutons and we commented about how delicious they looked. The server overheard us and brought us an extra plate of croutons for all of us. We splurged on the creme brûlée. It was worth it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My lunch was amazing! I had the Fried Gr ...

Dined 4 days ago

My lunch was amazing! I had the Fried Green Tomato BLT and a cup of Creamy Tomato Bisque soup. I asked the server to recommend a side for me and she told me that the collard greens were amazing! She was right. It was a wonderful meal and the leftovers the next day were also spectacular!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved it ambience, food, service, eve ...

Dined 5 days ago

We loved it ambience, food, service, everything was great, when in Charleston it's a must, the line for brunch was long you should make reservations

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved it!

Dined 5 days ago

Another great Charleston restaurant. I highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Very accommodating restaurant with over ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Very accommodating restaurant with over the top food . Our server brought a cup of tomato crab bisk because she thought our food was coming too slowly (it wasn't). Truly a must do in Charleston

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, terrific service and can ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food, terrific service and cannot beat the ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at a lot of great restaurants in ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

We ate at a lot of great restaurants in Charleston, but this was our favorite! Loved the southern take on the cooking, and the catfish was probably the best we have had anywhere. They can do grits too! Service was great. A bit loud in the restaurant itself, but we lucked into a table on the upper level in the back, and much quieter there. Reservations are a must, and still was a bit of a wait even with them, but well worth it. Prices were very reasonable as well considering the quality of the food and service. If you are in Charleston and have but one place to eat, this would be our first choice!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time dining at Magnoli ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was my first time dining at Magnolias. I chose this vibrant restaurant based on word of mouth and the amazing reviews. I also chose Magnolias because my girlfriend has celiac disease. Enormous amount of GF options for her to choose from on her own GF menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Good Dibber

Dined 7 days ago

Great Crab Cakes! Super fresh. I had the market catch and it was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Hands down, best food in Charleston! The ...

Dined 7 days ago

Hands down, best food in Charleston! The hummingbird cake is a must. We went back the next day for another slice!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magnolia's

Dined on May 20, 2016

Outstanding in every way - ambience great, food = all around perfection!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful meal. Personable attentive st ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Delightful meal. Personable attentive staff. Fabulous low country cuisine.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always an excellent dining choice when ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Always an excellent dining choice when in Charleston. From Appetizers to deserts you can always count on something interesting to arrive. Food is always good to outstanding. Service was outstanding and the wait staff seem to eagerly engage the customers and support each other on the floor. A true gem in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Place to Eat

Dined on May 17, 2016

I went to this restaurant with my sisters for a girls trip and it was magnificent. The wait staff was amazing and the food was very tasty. We are already planning another trip just to eat at this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lunch menu is just as varied as dinner m ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Lunch menu is just as varied as dinner menu just not as expensive. Our waiter Scott went out of his way to make our meal so enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Nothing Special

Dined on May 16, 2016

Let me start by saying the service was perfect. Not too much, not too little. Our waiter was knowledgable and friendly. Shame he didn't cook. We started w/fried green tomatoes that were sliced much too thick and hard as a brick. Pretty much tasteless. I had the Seafood & Grits, their specialty. There was plenty of shrimp and scallops, good flavor, the grits were a little dry. My husband had the Buttermilk Chicken. The chicken breast was delicious but I swear the mashed potatoes were instant and the gravy from a can. He complained to me and I thought he was crazy until I tasted them. I really think he was right although I can't imagine a place like this would use" instant" anything. We shared a piece of pecan pie which is not to be missed. Very good! Dinner with one round of drinks before tip was $ 115., certainly reasonable. I was just expecting better food.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The duck was amazing-very lean accompani ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The duck was amazing-very lean accompanied by a plethora of interesting flavored. Especially loved the corn bread croutons.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We were in Charleston for a few days and ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were in Charleston for a few days and wanted to go to Magnolia's as it was recommended by a few people, including a couple from our hotel. The service was good and the food was good but there are so many other fabulous places to eat in Charleston. I think we had heard so many good things about the restaurant that our expectations were high, maybe too high.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Mixed Thoughts

Dined on May 14, 2016

After many years of walking by, finally went to Magnolias for major birthday dinner. Mixed thoughts. Excellent service, and surprisingly diverse wine list. Had a wonderful French wine that was fairly priced. Dinners were good, not great. The birthday girl, my wife, had the soft-shell crab dinner. Amazed when her dinner came with one, very small, crab. My flounder was good, but bland as were the oyster appetizers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything that we ordered was delicious ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything that we ordered was delicious and service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual Magnolia's didn't disappoint. W ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

As usual Magnolia's didn't disappoint. We visit this restaurant each time we're in Charleston, which is at least twice a year. Highly recommend the fried green tomatoes, yes you can get them elsewhere, but you can only get these FGTs here - I don't know what their secret is but they're amazing; as is the pork belly. Actually I don't think you can go wrong here!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eating at Magnolias was on my "bucket li ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Eating at Magnolias was on my "bucket list" and when we were planning a visit to charleston I made a lunch reservation. We had a wonderful meal, our server Randy was excellent. One of the most enjoyable meals ever!

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time but certainly not the last...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

This was our first time dining at Magnolias. My wife and I were celebrating our 46th wedding anniversary and let me tell you, the entire evening was top notch. First, we requested a quiet table and we were seated in the back dining room which was really nice and fairly quiet. We were greeting promptly by our waiter and he brought us 2 glasses of bubbly to celebrate. He was very attentive but not intrusive. Our meals were very, very good. We will certainly put Magnolias on our top 5 places to dine when in Charleston. Thanks for a very special evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing- as always. The food and servic ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Amazing- as always. The food and service were impeccable. Definitely order the house chips as an appetizer!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

The fried green tomatoes were not to be ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The fried green tomatoes were not to be missed. Good wine selection and friendly service. It was difficult to decide what to have for an entree given the selection. But you can't go wrong with the seafood (the mahi special that night was reported as excellent). We found it hard to find a bad place to eat while in Charleston. But we are glad that our culinary trail started at Magnolias. A definite "let's go again" location.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal in weeks

Dined on May 12, 2016

We went for lunch on the recommendation of our tour guide. Loved the fried tomatoes. The flounder on butter bean hash was fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Charleston's Finest

Dined on May 12, 2016

Staff was welcoming. Service was attentive. Crab bisque was to die for. Recommend fine dining in pleasant ambience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous!

Dined on May 11, 2016

I would consider Magnolias a "splurge" restaurant, but worth every penny. There's a graceful ambience without being too pretentious. Our table of four enjoyed original cocktails to begin, with homemade Tuscan white bread and butter. We opted for main courses only to avoid getting too full, and the serving size did not disappoint. The Shrimp and Grits was a hit, as was the Fried Flounder with Low Country Succotash (sweet shrimp and bits of andouille sausage, corn). The other two diners opted for the catch of the day. There was room for dessert, with the pecan pie and pecan/chocolate brownie the favorites of the table. Our server was very knowledgeable about the dishes and the wines. Top knotch!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had made reservations in advance and was ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Had made reservations in advance and was taken straight to table. Service was excellent. Everything from appetizers to dessert was so good!! Best fried green tomatoes I have ever had!! My son had salmon and he loved it. I was so impressed with the extensive menu selections. Something for everyone which is important. Beautiful place, great service and food. Will definitely be returning on our next visit!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Magnolias does it again! Food was absolu ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Magnolias does it again! Food was absolutely amazing service was spectacular. This place never disappoints.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charleston visit

Dined on May 10, 2016

Made arrangements two weeks before visiting. The restaurant was wonderful, had the signature dish of grits & seafood. It was excellent, a little too much grits for my taste. Would of enjoyed a little more of the seafood. Would diffinetly return for another visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All of the food was wonderful! The crab ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

All of the food was wonderful! The crab bisque is a must! Only fault was the cocktails. Between the two of us we tried three and two were just okay and the third was warm.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A winner

Dined on May 9, 2016

Everything about Magnolias was wonderful. We were seated at a very good table ( we were tourists), the waiter was excellent, knowledgable, friendly, the food was outstanding. Never thought fried green tomatoes could be that good with that many well balance flavors. The fish dishes were excellent. Well worth going there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Magnolia's and it won't be ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

First time at Magnolia's and it won't be the last. Service was excellent, food was superb.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place lived up to its reviews. Gre ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

This place lived up to its reviews. Great location, ambience, food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No visit to Charleston is complete witho ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

No visit to Charleston is complete without dinner at Magnolias. Still my favorite after 10 years. Best chicken livers ever. Cuisine is imaginative and superbly prepared and presented.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing dinner on Mother's Day!!!!!! So ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing dinner on Mother's Day!!!!!! So many wonderful menu options and very attentive service!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to spend Mother's Day!! Th ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

A great place to spend Mother's Day!! The drinks, meal and desserts were delicious. We would definitely eat there again!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.