About Magnolias

185 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Igniting a culinary renaissance upon opening in 1990, Charleston's most popular restaurant is located at the site of the city's original Customs House (circa 1739). Led by chefs Don Drake and Kelly Franz, Magnolias remains a forerunner in upscale Southern cuisine, blending traditional ingredients and cooking techniques with a modern flair for artful presentations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday starts at 11:30am
Dinner starts at 4:00 pm daily
Sunday Brunch starts at 10:00am

Cross Street:
located between Cumberland & Queen Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-7771

Website:
http://www.magnoliascharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking lot adjacent to the restaurant is available weekdays after 5:00pm & all day Saturday & Sunday. **Please note:This lot is not open during lunch Monday-Friday. However, public parking is available in the garage at the corner of Cumberland & Concord and rates will apply.

Public Transit:
Charleston CARTA to and from Visitors Center can be picked up 1/2 block from the restaurant on the quarter hour. There are also local cab companies and Charleston's famous Rickshaws that will transport guests to their hotels.

Executive Chef:
Kelly Franz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

buttermilk fried chicken - Magnolias, Charleston, SC
Pimiento Cheese - Magnolias, Charleston, SC
Hummingbird Cake - Magnolias, Charleston, SC
House Lager - Magnolias, Charleston, SC
Fried Green Tomatoes - Magnolias, Charleston, SC
Shellfish Over Grits - Magnolias, Charleston, SC
Spicy Shrimp And Sausage With Grits - Magnolias, Charleston, SC
Seafood & Grits w/sauteed Spinach - Magnolias, Charleston, SC
Fried Green Tomato B.L.T. - Magnolias, Charleston, SC
fried catfish sandwich - Magnolias, Charleston, SC
Pan Fried Pork Chops - Magnolias, Charleston, SC

Specials

Charleston Restaurant Week!

Special valid Jan 12, 2017 - Jan 22, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Charleston Restaurant Week!

Special valid Jan 12, 2017 - Jan 22, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three Courses for $40. Excludes Tax and Tip. https://magnoliascharleston.com. Special valid Jan 12, 2017 - Jan 22, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

Magnolia's private upper level dining rooms can be reserved for parties of 16 to 140 guests.

Magnolias Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (169)
Good for a Date (156)
Good for Anniversaries (136)
See All
Local Ingredients (124)
Romantic (120)
Fit for Foodies (119)
Creative Cuisine (100)
Good for Birthdays (99)
Comfort Food (91)
Historic (87)
Authentic (80)
Neighborhood Gem (70)
Business Meals (62)
Worth the Drive (59)
Notable Wine List (56)
Cozy (53)
Quiet Conversation (48)
Great for Lunch (40)
Good for Groups (39)
Pre/post Theatre (35)
Sunday Lunch (35)
Fun (31)
Casual (30)
Bar Seating (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Hot Spot (27)
Great for Brunch (26)
Seasonal (23)
Outstanding Value (22)
Modern Decor (19)
People Watching (17)
Tasting Menu (12)
Family Style (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Tapas (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Scenic View (6)
Private Room (6)
Great Beer (6)
Healthy (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Spicy (3)
Waterfront (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
7257 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food! Great service! Everything w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined a day ago

Great food! Great service! Everything we ordered was a knockout dish.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too expensive for a limited menu, Charle ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

Too expensive for a limited menu, Charleston has plenty of excellent eateries for the same cost and better menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

THE best fried green tomatoes! As our wa ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

THE best fried green tomatoes! As our waiter Chuck said Crunchy, Sweet, Salty, Savory. He is a great waiter, by the way. Very knowledgeable, friendly, great suggestions which is why we ordered the fried green tomatoes in addition to the Restaurant Week menu that included apps.

I cannot say enough about the Braised Short Ribs - except that are making great leftovers for me.

The Pecan Pie cake - to die for!!!

This was our first visit to Magnolias but will not be our last.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a little disappointed. The entr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

We were a little disappointed. The entrées was average. I would order the small plates instead, which were good. My expectations were higher.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Went during Charleston Restaurant week. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Went during Charleston Restaurant week. Ordered off the Restaurant week menu. Before bringing my appetizer the waiter told me they substituted the soup on the menu for a tomato soup, which turned out to be very bland. We were there at 6:15 on Monday, so very unlikely they 'ran out'. It was not great. Main dish was good, our deserts were excellent. We sat at a table that had a chair on one side, shared bench on the other. We were not at all crowded. However, the bench seat sunk so low when I sat, i'm 5'2", I could hardly reach the table top. I commented to the hostess that a heavy person most have sat there before me. She ignored the comment. My spouse and I changed seats, he's 6' so it was not as much a problem for him. However, if we return we will ask to be seated at a table with all chairs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Lunch was fantastic...we chose several a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Lunch was fantastic...we chose several appetizers. Each better than the next. Took dessert to go. Also fantastic and traveled well. Cocktails innovative and beautifully presented. Will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful discovery on our part. Love ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

A wonderful discovery on our part. Lovely atmosphere, heavenly food, great wine selection, outstanding service. Visit this awesome restaurant soon for a fantastic experience!

Tags: Fun, Historic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful! Our server, Brian, p ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was wonderful! Our server, Brian, provided the best service I've experienced in quite awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We had dinner here the other night. It w ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

We had dinner here the other night. It was quite good the location on bay is fantastic. It was a bit loud but with it being Sunday night on a holiday weekend I guess that's to be expected that's my only complaint overall I would certainly go there again

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First trip there and I will be back. It ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

First trip there and I will be back. It rates up there with the best Charleston cuisine. Not pretentious. Delicate flavors. Not overpriced and even validated parking. What's not to like.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely location and atmosphere, but the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Lovely location and atmosphere, but the food was only decent, considering the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We visited during restaurant week and ou ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

We visited during restaurant week and our appetizers and meals were great. The pimento cheese deviled eggs were delicious. The sides that came with both meals we ordered all were amazing (creamed leeks, creamed corn, greens, butternut squash). The peacan pie cake dessert was ok, not great. Our server seemed a bit frazzled and took a while to take our order. Overall the food was great and I would definitely go again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Tried Magnolias on a recommendation from ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Tried Magnolias on a recommendation from a friend. This was for my wife's birthday and our first time in Charleston. Food, service and atmosphere were all great. We had a great time.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Vegetarian dish was AMAZING! Loved h ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

The Vegetarian dish was AMAZING! Loved how much food I got for the price and how nicely it was prepared!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was only ok for us. There are bette ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was only ok for us. There are better restaurants within a block or 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Our dining experience was superb! Chuck ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Our dining experience was superb! Chuck was a fabulous server. The food was delicious and beautifully plated. It was great to sit and enjoy food not feel rushed to finish. Excellent experience all around! If in Charleston, you must put Magnolias on your list of restrauants to attend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place in Charleston! We had ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Our favorite place in Charleston! We had delicious lunch and will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had just driven in from Baltimore and ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had just driven in from Baltimore and were tired and hungry, as son as we saw their impressive selection of half bottles of wine things were looking up! The food was all amazing (we had a scallop appetizer, salads - the cornbread croutons on the Caesar were amazing, shellfish and grits, and the fresh catch, all delicious!!!! We were so full we weren't even going to look at the dessert menu. It the table next to us was raving about the pecan pie so we HAD to try it- omg it was the best! Great great experience!!!! Two thumbs way up for our server Scott too who was knowledgeable, attentive, and very friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved Magnolias! The food was perfec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We loved Magnolias! The food was perfectly prepared. We are from NJ and got a recommendation from friends that had been here for a wonderful meal. We were seated in the lovely back dining room, which I think is quieter and prettier than the front room. We decided to do a bunch of appetizers and salads for our dinner, just to be able to try different flavors. Everything described on the menu sounded mouthwatering and we're so happy we tried so many. In addition to the Brussel Sprout Salad, we tried the Fried Green Tomatoes (scrumptious), the scallop appetizer which was spectacular, the Caesar Salad and the fried Chicken livers. Every item was delicious! Even the local Gin was great. Our server was so nice and took wonderful care of us! It was a memorable evening in Beautiful Charleston!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for Restaurant Week in Cha ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We went there for Restaurant Week in Charleston. The choices were good and the food was great. Also, the bourbon selection was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The recipes were creative and delicious. ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The recipes were creative and delicious. Exceptional dining experience! Extraordinary service by waiter Craig. So glad I had dinner here!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to Magnolias for lunches and d ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Have been to Magnolias for lunches and dinners and is always consistently delicious. Pretty restaurant, knowledgeable wait staff and excellent service. One of my favorite restaurants in Charleston.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten at Magnolias previously an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We have eaten at Magnolias previously and liked the experience a lot. We decided to go for restaurant week, advertised as 4 - 22 January. We made a reservation for 11 January. After we were seated, our server informed us that restaurant week at Magnolias started the next day, as Magnolias follows South Carolina restaurant week (12 - 22 January), not Charleston restaurant week, although all of the advertising we saw indicated that Magnolias followed the 4 - 22 January dates. After we expressed our disappointment to our server regarding the situation, we sat for a long time before he took our drink order. Our meal was good, but we were looking forward to the specials of restaurant week. Next year, if we make a reservation for restaurant week, we will make sure to double check the effective dates!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love Magnolias because the food is al ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We love Magnolias because the food is always delicious. It was also a treat to get free parking with restaurant validation, since Charleston can get pricy when having to pay for parking. We were trying to eat light since we had been eating out for several days, but our bowls of blue crab soup with extra sherry vinegar were very filling. I ate a salad for my entree, and my husband ate the pork belly small plate, which had generous portions. We shared the apple pie bread pudding and were stuffed. Our waiter helped us select our glasses of wine, which turned out to be very good with our food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great parmesan crusted fish over rice pi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great parmesan crusted fish over rice pirloo - my fav

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been eating at Magnolia's for ov ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We have been eating at Magnolia's for over 20 years, and it still at the very top of our list for always being excellent, outstanding service, beautiful environment, overall, a great experience. We have never had one negative experience in all of the years we have been going. A sure outstanding experience with magnificent menu.

Thank you!!! Highly recommended to everyone.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was knowledgeable and very pe ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Our waiter was knowledgeable and very personable. He made great recommendations and checked in enough to make sure everything was going well. The food was amazing; perfectly cooked and very flavorful. A great experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place for a cold Sunday night ou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Perfect place for a cold Sunday night out. The ambiance was comfortable and our waiter Pierre was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Magnolias is one of our favorite restaur ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Magnolias is one of our favorite restaurants that we bring many out of town guests to dine. On this occasion we booked via Open Table where Magnolias was advertised as participating in Restaurant Week. So we were surprised and disappointed when our waiter who was great stated it would next week. Not happy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Very nice experience! Food was very goo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very nice experience! Food was very good. On the high side price wise.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I think this review may sound harsher th ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I think this review may sound harsher than our experience - but with all of the great places to eat in Charleston I wouldn't choose Magnolia's again. The food was "ok" - so with all the great reviews we had greater expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

While the service was good, and the food ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 7, 2017

While the service was good, and the food was good, it was not exceptional. We had the the special fish entre for the evening but it was only mediocre and very overpriced for what it was.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Personal trainer appreciation

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Personal trainer appreciation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to this restaurant a few years ba ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I went to this restaurant a few years back and had a much better experience. They're a bit more commercialized now it appears. Ordered a manhattan to start and no middling of cherries just standard bar quality. The waiter was trying to turn us over very quickly and like the hostess very pretentious. Not sure I'd go back again.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

My 13-year-old granddaughter and I had a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My 13-year-old granddaughter and I had a very nice lunch. She's quite a picky eater, so she ordered a hamburger, which she really liked. I offered her some of my corn, chicken and mashed potatoes from my fried chicken breast lunch, and she couldn't get enough of it. The chicken breast is crispy on the outside and moist on the inside, and the gravy that is served with the mashed potatoes in divine. We enjoyed the bread at the beginning of the meal. As always, Magnolia's tops the list of restaurants in Charlestson, since it is consistently delicious everytime I eat there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I visited Magnolias for the first time a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I visited Magnolias for the first time and it lived up to the stellar reviews I had read. The restaurant was warm and comfortable. The wait staff were attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. The food was excellent. I will definitely be going back whenever I am in Charleston and will recommend it to anyone who is visiting. We had the fried chicken, fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, banana pudding stuffed French toast, and the short ribs. Everyone's meals were outstanding. The desserts we had were the chocolate cheesecake pecan brownie and the pecan pie. Everything was amazing! Magnolias is a must when you are in Charleston!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Magnolias with another couple ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We went to Magnolias with another couple and have the best time. The staff was amazing and the food was even better! I can't wait to plan the next date night here!

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for Charleston restaurant w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We went here for Charleston restaurant week, but unfortunately theirs didn't start until the following week. We decided to stay anyways and so glad we did! The food was amazing. I got the short ribs and they were awesome! The waitress we had was very helpful and knowledgeable about the menu!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant after a great day i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wonderful restaurant after a great day in Charleston. A big noisy, but the food and service were excellent. The fried green tomatoes are a must to try. The local fish choices are plenty and served with creative sides. Magnolias is high on my list for a repeat visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food!!! The food was delicious a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Amazing food!!! The food was delicious and our server was very nice and attentive. He had a lot of great recommendations for us. A must visit place if you live and/or visit Charleston!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.