Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Magnolias

Igniting a culinary renaissance upon opening in 1990, Charleston's most popular restaurant is located at the site of the city's original Customs House (circa 1739). Led by chefs Don Drake and Kelly Franz, Magnolias remains a forerunner in upscale Southern cuisine, blending traditional ingredients and cooking techniques with a modern flair for artful presentations.

185 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Low Country, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday starts at 11:30am
Dinner starts at 4:00 pm daily
Sunday Brunch starts at 10:00am

Cross Street:
located between Cumberland & Queen Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-7771

Website:
http://www.magnoliascharleston.com/

Public Transit:
Charleston CARTA to and from Visitors Center can be picked up 1/2 block from the restaurant on the quarter hour. There are also local cab companies and Charleston's famous Rickshaws that will transport guests to their hotels.

Executive Chef:
Kelly Franz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Magnolia's private upper level dining rooms can be reserved for parties of 16 to 140 guests.

Magnolias Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (257)
Good for a Date (247)
Fit for Foodies (218)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (212)
Creative Cuisine (185)
Local Ingredients (168)
Romantic (158)
Comfort Food (151)
Good for Birthdays (150)
Historic (138)
Authentic (138)
Neighborhood Gem (125)
Great for Lunch (118)
Worth the Drive (104)
Business Meals (86)
Quiet Conversation (84)
Cozy (75)
Casual (71)
Good for Groups (70)
Sunday Lunch (69)
Great for Brunch (69)
Notable Wine List (64)
Handcrafted Cocktails (61)
Fun (59)
Hot Spot (56)
People Watching (51)
Bar Seating (46)
Pre/post Theatre (42)
Modern Decor (39)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Healthy (20)
Outstanding Value (20)
Scenic View (18)
Kid-friendly (18)
Tasting Menu (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Seasonal (14)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Afternoon Coffee (10)
Private Room (8)
Family Style (8)
Quick Bite (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Vegan (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Waterfront (4)
Great Beer (3)
Spicy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tapas (1)
 (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
7818 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 18 hours ago

Went there for brunch. Food is just ok. Had high expectations based on reviews, but fell short. Would try other places before Magnolias.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined a day ago

Food was good. When you go Ask to be seated in main area. we where seating all the way back in last room and no ambiance. Not much vegetarian options .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Food and service were very good. Our server was attentive, but not too much so. Reservation was for 9:30PM on Friday evening and they were able to seat us around 9:00 which was appreciated. Will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Our server did introduce herself and was very accommodating and gave suggestions. The food was awesome. I had crab cake and filet - delish. Hubby had shrimp and grits - awesome. Berry salad was out of this world - fresh and wonderful.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

A true experience. Essential food. Even ordered the cookbook

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Great dinner, great service! A bit loud in main dining area but tolerable on the night we were there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The chef never fails to WOW us with his culinary abilities. The local catch of the day was Drum fish--a mild fish like snapper. This was dusted w/ panko breadcrumbs and a slight touch of parmesan over a rice with a lobster-infused reduction sauce and shrimp. A local corn, asparagus and tomato salad was an accompaniment.

We always have great service, but we must mention Greg, who served us recently. He is a knowledgeable, affable, professional man who serves to make everything special and he does!! Our meal was certainly enhanced by his experience. What a great night. Thank you all!

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, People Watching, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Magnolias is a pretty setting and food is always wonderful. My guests loved it!
Wait staff is terrific too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, friendly and prompt service, beautiful dinning room. Lunch was an especially good value. Perfect for a special occasion. I would recommend Magnolias to anyone as their first restaurant to try in Charleston.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

For our 25th wedding anniversary and had a lovely time. Matthew was our waiter and did a great job. Thanks for making our anniversary so special in Charlestonyes we were visiting from Raleigh.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service was excellent. We had the fried green tomato appetizer, which was the best we've ever tasted. For dinner, had the shrimp and grits, which was outstanding. My wife had the catfish entree, which she enjoyed. Portions were large, as well. Our server Keith recalled an earlier comment about of disappointing anniversary dinner at Husk and surprised us with a delicious and decorative Happy Anniversary pecan pie dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was superb! We ate at three popular restaurants in Charleston and this one was the best. Our waiter couldn't have been more attentive!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

A good meal but disappointed by the very high noise level of the restaurant. Also, we got the feeling we were in a production line. The service was okay but it was clear our server wanted to finish with us and move on. Wine list was good, highlighted by sommelier recommendations. However, my before dinner martini was poor, quite disappointing. The Southern-Charleston themed menu is interesting and, again, the food tasty. Overall, though, my wife and I thought Magnolia's was over-hyped. While in Charleston we much preferred Magnolia's sister restaurant - and right next door - Blossom.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Another good meal at Magnolias! Great service and great food!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Healthy, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious crusty homemade bread, asparagus salad was light & refreshing, crab cakes over succotash delish, crab soup good not great, fried chicken was first I've ever had not on the bone was moist inside crunchy outside, and bourbon bbq catfish equally good. Choc covered strawberry tart was yum. Was it the beat meal I've ever had, probably not . Would I recommend or go back absolutely. Due to bad weather we ended up having an early dinner at 4:30pm. Their free lot does not open until 5 and even tho they start serving dinner at 3:45pm they oddly don't offer dinner specials until 5pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Cocktails were excellent. I ordered the red snapper special, absolutely divine, my husband had the fried chicken, delicious! Expensive but well worth the price. Our server, Ed, was attentive, charming and efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I make it an annual dinner stop during our week in Kiawah. For the past 2 years we have been very disappointed in the quality of the food. It used to be our favorite spot but I don't think we will be back. Our food appeared reheated and the waiter forgot our appetizer. Very disappointing! I'm not sure if they have switched chefs but it's not the same.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I were there for our Anniversary and we really enjoyed our meals. I would highly recommend Magnolias to anyone visiting Charleston like we were, or anyone looking for a great dining experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Went twice for lunch on our trip. Great food and service!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Magnolias NEVER disappoints! Awesome as always! Waitstaff is always so friendly, accomadating, and knowledgable. The food is outstanding! Their pecan pie is the best I have ever had.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Best fish I have had in a long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a delightful evening celebrating our 50 th anniversary. Excellent service by our waiter Cory. Attention to our needs and an awesome meal made for a memorable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Fried chicken was amazing - Ambiance felt a little bit uptight but could be good for the right occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great food! Service was very good. Very noisy though. And a light above our table kept coming on and going out. Very annoying. But was an enjoyable dining experience otherwise.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Highly recommended by several friends outside of the area and the Charleston Visitor Center. We loved everything about Magnolias! We will go again when we are back in Charleston! Make a reservation!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Wonderful dinning experience...
Every bite was delicious and spectacular...
Service was impeccable...
Atmosphere was delightful...
A must for locals and visitors...

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

What a great experience! The food and service were great. Wonderful southern cuisine. A true Charleston restaurant

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Magnolias is a must during every trip to Charleston. We always get the fried chicken and it's delicious as expected. So good! The artisan bread and herb cream cheese butter is amazing! We've been 4 times and 3/4 times our server has been Chuck. He's fantastic and always gives excellent recommendations for a sweet treat after. He has the best personality and makes our visit enjoyable!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We celebrated our one year anniversary and I was quite disappointed with the lack of service we received. At one point I actually had to get up and ask for a clean spoon after waiting for a waiter to come by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I think Magnolias has turned into a tourist trap. The service was as expected but the food fell a little short. The special, Tile Fish was good tasty but the rice and shrimp was rather bland. We also sampled the fried green tomatoes and and they were too sweet according to all at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Magnolia's was our favorite restaurant in Charleston! Great food and atmosphere! Definitely make time to dine there.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Magnolia's was good. I'd like to give it a bit higher rating, but there were a few things my husband had that were average. He ordered an asparagus salad that had hardly any asparagus. My shrimp and grits were good and the atmosphere is very nice. We were in the back dining area which is more cozy than the front of the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fabulous food! Highly recommend the fried oysters and mac n cheese. Delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere, service was attentive. Definitely recommend reservations, place was crowded. Although they have free parking next door it was full (this was at 5:30 on a Saturday night!) and we had to walk several blocks to the alternate parking area. The 4 of us spent $150, which included 3 regular entrees, one small plate, one glass of wine and tip.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was delicious as always. The fried chicken breast is always so much that my Mom and I have the kitchen split it. Also their blue crab soup is one of the best I've tasted. It was pretty noisy though. Also I recommend making reservations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Was perfect for our get together. Outstanding fish plate and presentation. Awesome service by Eric!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This place was over the top! Service was impeccable, and the food was amazing! The collard greens were out of this world. They went out of their way to provide gluten free options. Magnolia's is a gem!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Best shrimp and grits ever! I'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Exceptional food. Great ambiance.
Our server was most helpful in recommendations.
What a delightful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Kudos to Dawn our server. She was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.