About Magnolias

185 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Igniting a culinary renaissance upon opening in 1990, Charleston's most popular restaurant is located at the site of the city's original Customs House (circa 1739). Led by chefs Don Drake and Kelly Franz, Magnolias remains a forerunner in upscale Southern cuisine, blending traditional ingredients and cooking techniques with a modern flair for artful presentations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday starts at 11:30am
Dinner starts at 4:00 pm daily
Sunday Brunch starts at 10:00am

Cross Street:
located between Cumberland & Queen Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-7771

Website:
http://www.magnoliascharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking lot adjacent to the restaurant is available weekdays after 5:00pm & all day Saturday & Sunday. **Please note:This lot is not open during lunch Monday-Friday. However, public parking is available in the garage at the corner of Cumberland & Concord and rates will apply.

Public Transit:
Charleston CARTA to and from Visitors Center can be picked up 1/2 block from the restaurant on the quarter hour. There are also local cab companies and Charleston's famous Rickshaws that will transport guests to their hotels.

Executive Chef:
Kelly Franz

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Fried Green Tomatoes
Shellfish Over Grits
Spicy Shrimp And Sausage With Grits
Seafood & Grits w/sauteed Spinach
Fried Green Tomato B.L.T.
fried catfish sandwich
Pan Fried Pork Chops

Private Dining

Magnolia's private upper level dining rooms can be reserved for parties of 16 to 140 guests.

Magnolias Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Southern
Charleston
1 More
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

special occasion (481)
fit for foodies (461)
romantic (298)
See All
neighborhood gem (219)
great for lunch (201)
good for groups (159)
notable wine list (157)
great for brunch (129)
hot spot (125)
kid-friendly (28)
late-night find (24)
vibrant bar scene (23)
scenic view (12)
great for outdoor dining (4)
Sort By:
Newest
6357 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server Ira was excellent! The food w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our server Ira was excellent! The food was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Southern cooking at its finest The wai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Southern cooking at its finest

The waitstaff was great, the food excellent, served in a great environment

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful dining experience...a must vis ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful dining experience...a must visit if in Charlston!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We want there after researching restaura ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

We want there after researching restaurants and everything others said was right. The restaurant was terrific, service outstanding and we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. Large venue.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very good food. Large venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Nice place...friendly staff

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Nice place...friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite meals in Charleston! ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of our favorite meals in Charleston! Down-to earth food, but very tasty and well-presented, with adequate portions and great sides. The sweet potato fries were terrific! Although all of the meals we had in Charleston were wonderful, this one is memorable and worth recommending!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent low country food. Delicious e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent low country food. Delicious entrees and generous portions.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite go-to restaurant in ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 7 days ago

This is our favorite go-to restaurant in Charleston. We always receive outstanding service and our waitstaff is knowledgable and very friendly. The bar atmosphere is also great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is full of southern charm, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food here is full of southern charm, there are some nice touches that make the dining experience memorable. The roasted beets with goat cheese were such a yummy surprise. The small plates are really enough for a meal but the entree choices are so tempting, its hard to stop wanting more. The service is friendly and not rushed. Can't wait to visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food for a reasonable price ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding food for a reasonable price for downtown Charleston.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were delighted to find that Magnolia' ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 7 days ago

We were delighted to find that Magnolia's opens at 10 AM for Sunday brunch. Our server, Keith, was extremely attentive and ensured that everything was perfect for my husband's birthday. The menu is New Southern, as the chef likes to reinvent classic dishes and give them a Southern twist.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall good, not great. Good atmosphere ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Overall good, not great. Good atmosphere. Food was great but definitely overpriced because of the location. Spending that much is fine for a special occasion I guess. Server was very polite and helpful, but it seemed as though she had too many tables at once. The drinks came quick but the bread, appetizer, and especially the food took a way longer than it should've. Our dinner experience took 2 hours with us sitting and waiting for the food, and the check, for over half of that. They were probably just busy being a Sat night, so this may not be the norm.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Once again Magnolia's delivered. Being f ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Once again Magnolia's delivered. Being from out of town this was only my third or fourth visit there but as in the past it was superb. Excellent service, delicious food and a nice atmosphere.

My salad was very good and the scallops were on point. My bother and sister in law were with me and this was their first visit but they found it excellent also.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the Seafood and Grits which wa ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I ordered the Seafood and Grits which was delicious!! The Prosecco I had was delicious and the service was fantastic! Love this place!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place was incredible! Our server wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This place was incredible! Our server was great and the food was amazing! I couldn't have asked for a better restaurant to celebrate my birthday! We will definitely be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service from our former "act ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Outstanding service from our former "actor"

Vicki Brunnick

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I took our grandchildren of ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My wife and I took our grandchildren of 14 and 10 for lunch at Magnolia's. We all enjoyed our individual selections, from a menu that suited adults and children alike. The service was excellent, and our meals met our every expectation. Magnolia's can expect many more visits from our family in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The short beef rib risotto was fabulous. ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The short beef rib risotto was fabulous. The fried chicken was so moist. Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second visit to this restaur ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was my second visit to this restaurant and it was amazing. Amazing food at reasonable prices. Make sure to make a reservation!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Recommended. There are a number of tradi ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Recommended. There are a number of traditional Southern dishes which are heavy. The fried chicken was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food, service and atmosphere!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time to Charleston and was del ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our first time to Charleston and was delighted to find this gem of a restaurant. Loved it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very meh. I'm not sure why every highly ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Very meh. I'm not sure why every highly recommends this place. Food was average, at best. I got the fish special, which was on a bed of very bland, could be microwave-able vegetables and topped with this random spicy tomato sauce. The dish was similar to something I could make at home, just throwing every on one plate. My boyfriend got the same bland vegetables with the random spicy tomato sauce with an extremely bland piece of pork.

Service was okay.

Save your time, and go anywhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Can't wait to return. Magnolia's was our ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Can't wait to return. Magnolia's was our favorite restaurant when we visited Charleston!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent in every way. A c ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Consistently excellent in every way. A classic Charleston experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Magnolia's was recommended to us by quit ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Magnolia's was recommended to us by quite a few people before we went on our vacation. We saved our visit for our last night of our trip. I don't know if it was built up anticipation, but I was disappointed in our food and service. I felt like it was just an "ok" food experience.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Fantastic as always! The service and foo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Fantastic as always! The service and food are always wonderful!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought it was overpriced and the food ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I thought it was overpriced and the food was not that good! The best thing that I had was the grits. One person in our party liked their crab cakes.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was amazing and the service was ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was impeccable. Bryan our waiter was friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful with suggestions and ideas. the only problem is the lack of adequate air conditioning! the dining room was 84-85 degrees ( our waiter checked the temp) and got worse as the night wore on. I wouldn't go to Magnolia's anytime in the summer months until they get better A/C. Spring/Fall/ winter I'm sure it would be a 5 star event, just not in the summer when it's 97 degrees outside and 84-85 inside.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Magnolias food is fantastic. The servic ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Magnolias food is fantastic. The service was also very good. HOWEVER, I must say there were two things that bothered me. First, the bartender did what I would consider a sloppy job of mixing the Manhattan that I ordered, complete with dipping his hands in the cherry jar to fetch out a cherry - kind of grossed me out. Second, the hosts continually harassed us (at least 3 times) to close out at the bar so we could be seated even though we arrived 20 minutes before our reservation! I understand you want to "turn the table" but come on man, let us relax with a drink at the bar for a minute.

I'm hoping that Magnolias will correct those two things so we can keep them in the regular dining rotation.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Magnolias was a great choice for Sunday ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Magnolias was a great choice for Sunday brunch and the food and drinks were unbelievable along with the great service. The list of options and specials were perfect as to not make the decision process too involved and it was a very pleasant and relaxing brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Magnolias is our new favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Magnolias is our new favorite restaurant in Charleston. The food was spectacular. We had a good service and enjoyed the ambiance. With so many great choices in Charleston, it makes it hard to go someplace twice, but we will definitely be back to Magnolias!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was great! Our server was atten ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food was great! Our server was attentive and the hosting staff was very pleasant and accomodating. I probably wouldn't order a cocktail though. Stuck with beer or wine. I ordered an Old Fashioned and a Manhattan. It's kind of my thing in distant lands. Both left a lot to be desired. Overall it was a great place for some great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was amazing. The restaurant wa ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food was amazing. The restaurant was very nice in helping us celebrate my mother's 85th birthday. I highly recommend Magnolias, and I would go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great dinner with our 2 kids for o ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Had a great dinner with our 2 kids for our "fancy" night out. From appetizers to dessert, everything was great. Service was outstanding and our waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu. Would recommend and would visit again in the future.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place. Tightly packed tables makes ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Nice place. Tightly packed tables makes for quite a noisy dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing, as always:)

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Amazing, as always:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was just not good. All expectation ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food was just not good. All expectation with no results. Disappointed

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Magnolia's never has disappointed me. S ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Magnolia's never has disappointed me. Superb restaurant! Always dine here when visiting. A favorite place. Food and service is excellent. One of the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.