Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Magnolias

Igniting a culinary renaissance upon opening in 1990, Charleston's most popular restaurant is located at the site of the city's original Customs House (circa 1739). Led by chefs Don Drake and Kelly Franz, Magnolias remains a forerunner in upscale Southern cuisine, blending traditional ingredients and cooking techniques with a modern flair for artful presentations.

185 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday starts at 11:30am
Dinner starts at 4:00 pm daily
Sunday Brunch starts at 10:00am

Cross Street:
located between Cumberland & Queen Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-7771

Website:
http://www.magnoliascharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking lot adjacent to the restaurant is available weekdays after 5:00pm & all day Saturday & Sunday. **Please note:This lot is not open during lunch Monday-Friday. However, public parking is available in the garage at the corner of Cumberland & Concord and rates will apply.

Public Transit:
Charleston CARTA to and from Visitors Center can be picked up 1/2 block from the restaurant on the quarter hour. There are also local cab companies and Charleston's famous Rickshaws that will transport guests to their hotels.

Executive Chef:
Kelly Franz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Magnolia's private upper level dining rooms can be reserved for parties of 16 to 140 guests.

Magnolias Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (188)
Good for a Date (183)
Fit for Foodies (159)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (152)
Local Ingredients (145)
Creative Cuisine (139)
Romantic (134)
Good for Birthdays (121)
Historic (109)
Comfort Food (106)
Authentic (100)
Neighborhood Gem (94)
Worth the Drive (82)
Quiet Conversation (69)
Cozy (65)
Business Meals (65)
Great for Lunch (64)
Good for Groups (56)
Notable Wine List (54)
Casual (45)
Sunday Lunch (43)
Great for Brunch (43)
Fun (41)
Handcrafted Cocktails (41)
Pre/post Theatre (39)
Bar Seating (35)
Hot Spot (32)
Modern Decor (30)
Outstanding Value (26)
People Watching (21)
Tasting Menu (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Seasonal (12)
Scenic View (12)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Healthy (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Family Style (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Private Room (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Spicy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Vegan (3)
Waterfront (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tapas (2)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
7513 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

Stuffy ambiance, not inventive food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined a day ago

We had an excellent server(Coco) who helped us pick some great appetizers and an amazing entree. We started with the egg rolls, do it, they're great. For entrees one of us had the catfish and the other the fried green tomato small plate. Both were pure heaven to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined a day ago

Pan seared scallops were great, and shellfish and grits was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Great experience! Everything we had we enjoyed. We ordered a bunch of appetizers so we could get a taste of everything. Best fried green tomatoes I've had. The service was on point too. I would definitely recommend it!

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Yum!!
Try home made potato chips with blue cheese OMG berry salad was delicious and you can share that
Then go for the fried chicken my mouth is watering now as I write this
We were stuffed so no dessert
Great place

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

After reviewing the menu, we opted for a bevy of small plates instead of an appetizer and main course. The waiter was helpful in selecting and scheduling the dishes. We started with fried green tomatoes and the fried chicken livers. While the tomatoes were tasty - the livers were excellent. Crips on the outside and soft and "earthy" on the inside. Next we enjoyed fried oysters (the special of the evening) and crab bisque. The oysters were the star of the evening - garnished with sweet corn relish. The bisque was eh and way too salty. We did not finish our cup of soup. Finally - we had smoked pork belly and seared sea scallops. The scallops were delicious. The port belly, while tasty, was too dry.

Looking over our shoulders the main course looked very nice - the most popular was the fried chicken and the special, sauteed flounder. I liked our approach to test the range of dishes available! We both had house punches (one peach and one bourbon) - both cold and tasty.

Sevice was good - the waiter was pleasant and helpful, but he clearly was bored with his job. The ambiance was very nice. more formal, but not stuffy. Dress in Charleston is casual!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Great location and dinner. Recommend the pimento cheese appetizer and the short ribs (the farro is to die for).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Meh. Super crowded. Food was totally average in a town with a lot better food. Cannot recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was delicious. We paid far more at other Charleston restaurants for food that was equally good!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed a quiet and quick brunch on Sunday morning. Perfectly poached eggs!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Every item on the brunch menu was so tempting. ...we are going to have to go back.
Our choices were great, but there too many delicious sounding options.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything about Magnolias is great. It is our 4th tine there and it never disappoints. Always great service and excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Historic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good. I love that they have a kids menu for our son.
It took a while for them to seat us even if we had reservations which made them lose points with me. The table we got was right next to the bar so it was a little to noisy and there's too much traffic for me.
Our kids loved the mussels and scallops appetizers. We all liked our main entrees, we got shrimp and grits, beef ribs, catch of the day. The sides we got wasn't that interesting specially the mashed potatoes. They were too bland. Overall, I would recommend the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Magnolia's has been the most consistent in food quality/food preparation/service & good atmosphere for the 7 1/2 we've lived here. Even through a change in chefs...the quality is and has always been there. The blue point crab soup was divine...and the duck was succulent, as it has always been. My friend had shrimp & grits(as she has many time previously) and said it was excellent. The deserts...well, the pecan pie al la mode...yes...decadent & divine ! Keep up the good work ! It IS very much appreciated.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

The Fried Green Tomatoes
Were fantastic.
Service was great and enjoyed the meal immensely. !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed eating here. The scallops were very good. My only suggestion would be for the vegetable plate they offer have something other than fried items. Steamed carrots, spinach, green beans would have been wonderful. Other than that the food was great and the service was spot on.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

I was a little dissatisfied with the main dish I ordered. It was a special occasion with my girl friend whose from out of the state. We ordered the tuna dish and asked it for a medium done but it was very well done for both of us. Other than that, the food was very delicious the service was great, and the atmosphere was wonderful and clean as always!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

excellent food and service. Top-notch in every way.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Very disappointed Magnolias has gone the way of a tourist stop. We have lived in the Low country for 15 years, and Magnolias has always been a solid choice. No more!
Try: Hominy gill for BF
Try: Cru, or SNOB for lunch
Try: Peninula grill for Dinner

These still have Chahahrleston written all over them !
Doug

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Hadn't been to Magnolias in years and it didn't disappoint! The service was great and everyone really enjoyed their meals. Highly recommend!

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous shrimp and grits and excellent, professional service. This restaurant is a gem.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Neat place to visit. I don't think it was worth the money though. I would try some other places first.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant sets the standard in Charlestown. Great menu. Everything delicious. Top shelf service. Lovely atmosphere. It is a required stop for us when we are in C-Town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Magnolias is great! Met a friend there for dinner and enjoyed everything about it- food, wine, atmosphere. Server was great and knew a the menu well- always mentioned if the item had been featured in a magazine! I would reccommens this place to everyone.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful dining experience every time. Recommend it for any occasion. Great food and service. Will definitely return again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Food this time was so and so

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

Great restaurant in convenient location. Good food and lovely service. Restaurant is noisy, however, and doners are close together.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent choice and the food and service is outstanding. The wait staff is professional and knowledgeable. We were pleased with every aspect of our dining experience and look forward to a return trip. Thanks for all your work to make the evening wonderful. We are also most impressed with your reservation program and the reminder.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Vacationing in Charleston we knew we had to eat at Magnolias. We made our reservations a month in advance and looked forward to our reservation the entire month. We were not disappointed. Probably the best buttermilk fried chicken I have tasted in a restaurant. The seared ahi tuna and shrimp and grits were also amazing. Plan ahead and enjoy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Was disappointed with being seated in the dark back room at the very last table in the corner. The 'main dining' room was lovely and would have added to the dining experience. My salmon was a bit overdone even though I asked for medium. Service was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Food was better than service.
Knew they could do better....missed on getting first round of drinks out before finishing appetizers. Didn't get order quite right and didn't stop back to check after runner delivered. By dessert, we deserted.
There's a lot of effort/energy by many and evidently quite capable but regrettably for our visit, not a home run.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Magnolia's is on of my all time favorite Charleston restaurants. I try to get there several times a year, usually when friends or family are in town and I want to show them the best of Charleston. Great meals at a great price and the service is wonderful. They treat you like a high end restaurant, the fool is like a high end restaurant, but the prices are very reasonable,

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 21, 2017

My husband and I went to Magnolia's for dinner while vacationing in Charleston. Our waiter, Ed, was extremely friendly and was able to describe the menu options amazingly. The food was excellent and the ambiance perfect! We would highly recommend this restaurant!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The restaurant lived up to its sterling reputation. The Decour and atmosphere prepared you for excellence from the kitchen. The waiter was professional and informed his recommendations were outstanding. The kitchen delivered on everything that was promised. The fried chicken and chicken livers are a must for any fan of southern delicacies. You do you feel like you're living the Charlston experience by being in Magnolias.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Arrived a few minutes late to a reservation, which wasn't an issue at all.

Seated in rear which definitely has a different vibe than the front. Front seems trendier.

Service was attentive as a whole but kitchen did fall behind at one point.

The items we ordered ranged from average to very good, but certainly not the "to die for" reviews I've seen on here.

Worth a dinner but temper expectations a bit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Good not as I remeber, disappointed. Waiter never checked on us after food was delivered. My Son had tuna and they gave him a tail piece. Not good in a fine restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Best crab cakes I have ever had...this New England gal is a shrimp and grits convert thanks to Magnolia's...our waiter, Corey, was professional, attentive, knowledgeable, fun...can't say enough good things about the menu, and a terrific selection of cocktails, beer and wine...special atmosphere without being stuffy...sensational serenade by someone for a birthday, who was that?!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food was excellent and had a great waiter who went out of his way to make sure we were well taken care of and understood the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We have eaten here several times and have never been disappointed. The food was great and the service very attentive. We absolutely recommend it to our friends and family. We do so love the low-country dining!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I've been there twice and both times it was very good. We sat at a table next to the front door so it was cold every time the door was opened which was a bit distracting but not too bad.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.