About Magnolias

185 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Igniting a culinary renaissance upon opening in 1990, Charleston's most popular restaurant is located at the site of the city's original Customs House (circa 1739). Led by chefs Don Drake and Kelly Franz, Magnolias remains a forerunner in upscale Southern cuisine, blending traditional ingredients and cooking techniques with a modern flair for artful presentations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday starts at 11:30am
Dinner starts at 4:00 pm daily
Sunday Brunch starts at 10:00am

Cross Street:
located between Cumberland & Queen Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-7771

Website:
http://www.magnoliascharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Private parking lot adjacent to the restaurant is available weekdays after 5:00pm & all day Saturday & Sunday. **Please note:This lot is not open during lunch Monday-Friday. However, public parking is available in the garage at the corner of Cumberland & Concord and rates will apply.

Public Transit:
Charleston CARTA to and from Visitors Center can be picked up 1/2 block from the restaurant on the quarter hour. There are also local cab companies and Charleston's famous Rickshaws that will transport guests to their hotels.

Executive Chef:
Kelly Franz

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
Magnolias
buttermilk fried chicken
Pimiento Cheese
Hummingbird Cake
House Lager
Fried Green Tomatoes
Shellfish Over Grits
Spicy Shrimp And Sausage With Grits
Seafood & Grits w/sauteed Spinach
Fried Green Tomato B.L.T.
fried catfish sandwich
Pan Fried Pork Chops

Private Dining

Magnolia's private upper level dining rooms can be reserved for parties of 16 to 140 guests.

Magnolias Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Special Occasion
Charleston
2 More
Southern
Charleston
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Special Occasion (452)
Fit for Foodies (425)
Romantic (301)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (209)
Great for Lunch (187)
Good for Groups (156)
Notable Wine List (155)
Great for Brunch (126)
Hot Spot (121)
Kid-friendly (42)
Late-night Find (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Scenic View (14)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Historic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Business Meals (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
6466 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best Filet I have had in a long time! Sh ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Best Filet I have had in a long time! Shrimp and Grits were great also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is a gem!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant is a gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed this visit to Magnolia ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

We really enjoyed this visit to Magnolia. We are from Cleveland and Toronto and this restaurant came highly recommended. Although your famous 'Carpet Bagger' meal was not on the menu, we found many items equally enticing.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Travelled 600miles to visit Charleston w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Travelled 600miles to visit Charleston with 2 small children. Ate here to celebrate my wife's birthday, obviously had to have the children with us due to travelling. This apparently was a problem with Magnolias. It was evident the waiters goal was to get us in and out. Service was terrible, food was ok. This was a huge difference from our meal the night previous at Hominy Grill where we should have celebrated at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Very nice atmosphere, good food and we l ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very nice atmosphere, good food and we loved our waiter Chuck. The friend green tomatoes and grits appetizer is fabulous. Fried chicken was good, but best on that plate was the gravy and biscuits!

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Had Sunday morning brunch and it was out ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Had Sunday morning brunch and it was outstanding. Banana pudding French toast was excellent and my date had egg white spinach omelet that she enjoyed. Quite, quaint and excellent service on a Sunday morning. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Magnolias and hope to return for dinner in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were the best part! ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service were the best part! Great location, as well.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I absolutely never leave Charleston with ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

I absolutely never leave Charleston without a meal at Magnolia's. Whether lunch or dinner the food is delicious and never a disappointment. The fried green tomato appetizer or the tomato bisque soup are always a favorite choice. Always chose the fried chicken dinner but my son always get the beef which is delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always eat at Magnolia's when we are ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

We always eat at Magnolia's when we are in Charleston. Usually we are very pleased with our dining experience. This time we were seated in a VERY noisy back area of the restaurant surrounded by an out-of-control child and a table full of loud, boisterous sorority girls celebrating with too many alcoholic beverages. It was impossible to have a conversation. We will not be returning in the future.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

We absolutely loved Magnolias! The fried ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

We absolutely loved Magnolias! The fried mac and cheese appetizer was to die for! I had the fillet and my husband had the fried chicken. Both were cooked to perfection! Best collard greens I have ever had, and that's saying a lot from a southern girl! Will definitely be going back again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magnolia's is our go-to Charleston resta ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Magnolia's is our go-to Charleston restaurant. I enjoyed the crabcake entree for lunch. While all three servings were excellent, the Hoppin John Risotto was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The hostess was great, the food was pre ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

The hostess was great, the food was pretty good. Our sever was just okay.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Fabulous dining excellent service , fun ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous dining excellent service , fun menu

Would definitely recommend to friends and return again when visiting Charleston

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ordered all appetizers and it was more t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Ordered all appetizers and it was more than enough. Everything was excellent, from the bread with cream cheese butter to the Pork belly to the amazing Pecan pie.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and outstanding service. The ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and outstanding service. The pork belly was to die for - great taste and awesome flavor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a great experience at Magnolias. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had a great experience at Magnolias. Being from out of town, we trusted the hundreds of rave reviews and we were not disappointed. We let them know ahead of time that we would need a gluten free menu and they were extremely aware and accommodating the entire evening. We were also celebrating a birthday and a chef came out with dessert and sang an amazing rendition of happy birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience. Amazing food. Slight ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Amazing experience. Amazing food. Slightly noisy, but best meal in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing! This was our first ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food was amazing! This was our first time trying Fried Geen Tomatos. My friend is now hooked on them! I had the parmesean crusted fish. It was so flaky and the sauce was so good I would have licked the plate if I could! Service was great and the did a good job of staggering tables until they filled up. It was recommended to me by 3 people. So glad I listened to them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were visiting Charleston for 5 days a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We were visiting Charleston for 5 days as our vacation spot this year. We have never been there before and are at many great places. Magnolia"s was our favorite My husband had a fish plate that was the best we ever had ! Delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit too noisy for an otherwise nice re ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

A bit too noisy for an otherwise nice restaurant. Food was excellent. Waiters could overlap tables to help with service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

In Charleston to celebrate a special occ ...

 
·Dined on August 17, 2016

In Charleston to celebrate a special occasion and we included Magnolia's on our list of places for dinner. I had not been to Magnolia's in years but it is still one of the better restaurants in Charleston. The service was perfect and the food was as consistent as in previous visits. Magnolia's has a well rounded menu for everyone's taste and I have never known anyone to be disappointed with their meal. The tile fish and stuffed trout were superb. The interior of Magnolia's is a treat to see as it is one of my favorite renovations of a building in the French Quarter and East Bay.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic experience, delicious food and ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Fantastic experience, delicious food and awesome service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service ! Food was great!! Wou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent service ! Food was great!! Would go again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our 1st visit to Charleston. We picked M ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Our 1st visit to Charleston. We picked Magnolia due to recommendations and the menu. My wife, wanted something Southern and the fried chicken was out of this world. I chose fish and it was also excellent. Would defintly go back. Service and hospitality was also outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Magnolias to try some local d ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We went to Magnolias to try some local dishes. Our waiter was very helpful and guided our choices. Our food was delicious & the experience wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Magnolias had good ambience. The service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Magnolias had good ambience. The service was uneven--had to wait forever and a day for a drink order. Food was also uneven. My wife enjoyed her BLT with fried green tomatoes. She also very much liked the pecan pie. That said, my burger was horrible--tough, tasteless beef cooked well past my medium rare order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We visited Charleston for a few days and ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We visited Charleston for a few days and this restaurant was recommended online so we decided to go. It was wonderful!!! Our waiter gave us great service and spent a lot of time giving us things to do while we were there.

I highly recommend trying it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are exceptional at ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food and service are exceptional at Magnolias. My husband and I enjoyed our meal there very much! We don't drink so I can't comment on that, although the wine list seemed to be extensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the food was outstanding (I got th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

While the food was outstanding (I got the duck breast and I highly recommend it!), the most notable part of our experience was our server. I am so disappointed that I cannot remember her name, because she made our dining experience absolutely perfect. While many restaurants either rush you through your meal or hardly seem to notice you're there, our server had perfected the art of being constantly present--our water and wine glasses were always full--while never making us feel rushed, even though the restaurant was quite busy at the time. I will certainly be heading back to Magnolia's!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed in the fish spec ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I was very disappointed in the fish special - the rice and vegetables were cold and the fish was tasteless. The waiter was kind enough to get me another plate but it arrived so quickly - and the food was still cold, so I'm thinking it was the original plate! Go to Poohan's Porch - it's wonderful and the food is hot.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Excellent food, service, atmosphere. Con ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food, service, atmosphere. Convenient parking lot. Dinner somewhat slow to be served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Thus was our fourth time to dine at Magn ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Thus was our fourth time to dine at Magnolias and it was just as wonderful this time as it was the other three times we dined at Magnolias.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. Staff was very friend ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I love this place. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The ahi tuna and duck are amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a foodie find but the menu wasn't ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was a foodie find but the menu wasn't pretentious. Romantic ambience. Very original.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We already loved Magnolia's as we had ou ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We already loved Magnolia's as we had our wedding reception there....19 years ago! the food and the service were just as good as we remember from all those years ago. Slade was our waiter and provided outstanding service. This is a great restaurant for a special occasion meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, as always. One of our favorit ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful, as always. One of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply loved our dinner experience from ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Simply loved our dinner experience from super courteous wait staff to our dinner entrée it was super nice !!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On a trip to Charleston we had dinner th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

On a trip to Charleston we had dinner there for our anniversary. The food was amazing! We enjoyed our drinks, appetizers and dinner so much every bite was delicious. The homemade pimento cheese was amazing, the scallops were the most tender best flavored scallops iv'e ever tasted. The pimento cheese steak was unreal. The waiter made you feel like royalty the whole staff was so friendly. We loved it so much we went there for brunch on our last day and the eggs Benedict was one of the best dishes I have ever eaten. The egg rolls for the appetizer was the most unique, delicious thing i tasted all week. We would absolutely recommend to anyone! it is by far worth the money.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the special market catch. Outstan ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had the special market catch. Outstanding quality and presentation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went here for my cousins birthday. I' ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We went here for my cousins birthday. I'm gluten free and they were very accommodating. I had the pimento cheese app that usually comes with flat bread , but do to my gluten allergy they added homemade potato chips and celery, which were really good. I had the filet which was excellent, very tender and had great flavor. My husband had the vegitarian meal-which he felt was missing something. Had okra, but only two pieces. He said it tasted ok. The service was great . The desert menu a little limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.