Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Magnolias

Igniting a culinary renaissance upon opening in 1990, Charleston's most popular restaurant is located at the site of the city's original Customs House (circa 1739). Led by chefs Don Drake and Kelly Franz, Magnolias remains a forerunner in upscale Southern cuisine, blending traditional ingredients and cooking techniques with a modern flair for artful presentations.

185 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Low Country, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday starts at 11:30am
Dinner starts at 4:00 pm daily
Sunday Brunch starts at 10:00am

Cross Street:
located between Cumberland & Queen Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-7771

Website:
http://www.magnoliascharleston.com/

Public Transit:
Charleston CARTA to and from Visitors Center can be picked up 1/2 block from the restaurant on the quarter hour. There are also local cab companies and Charleston's famous Rickshaws that will transport guests to their hotels.

Executive Chef:
Kelly Franz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Magnolia's private upper level dining rooms can be reserved for parties of 16 to 140 guests.

Magnolias Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (304)
Good for a Date (262)
Good for Anniversaries (240)
See All
Fit for Foodies (229)
Creative Cuisine (198)
Local Ingredients (197)
Comfort Food (183)
Romantic (172)
Good for Birthdays (166)
Authentic (149)
Great for Lunch (133)
Neighborhood Gem (127)
Worth the Drive (115)
Business Meals (103)
Sunday Lunch (91)
Quiet Conversation (89)
Good for Groups (83)
Historic (82)
Casual (78)
Great for Brunch (78)
Notable Wine List (74)
Cozy (74)
Hot Spot (71)
People Watching (60)
Handcrafted Cocktails (59)
Fun (58)
Pre/post Theatre (53)
Bar Seating (51)
Seasonal (26)
Healthy (25)
Modern Decor (24)
Kid-friendly (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Scenic View (17)
Tasting Menu (17)
Happy Hour (15)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Afternoon Coffee (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Organic (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Great Beer (5)
Family Style (4)
Private Room (4)
Tapas (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Waterfront (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Vegan (3)
Spicy (3)
Fireplace (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
8033 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Our service was fast , friendly and helpful. The food was excellent, great taste and presentation. Good place for a get-together or special occasion. The noise level in the back (Gallery Area) is lower than in the front area, so it's better if you want to have conversation. My favorite "nice restaurant" in Charleston.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a fabulous lunch. Our waiter Corey took great care of us. Would definitely go again next time we are visiting Charleston.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Consistently good in all categories.
High standards that met routinely.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

My Parmesan crusted market catch was delicious. The fresh corn and vegetables with rice complimented it well. My husband got the fried catfish with a corn and vegetable blend, however, the fish was topped with a sauce that moistened the batter and his corn relish was too spicy. The menu should have described it better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent dining experience! Would highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was good, noisy atmosphere and seating was very close together. I would go again but would not suggest for a quite dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Magnolias is my "go to pick" for authentic Charleston fare! I have been there over 15 times and they never disappoint. The decor is inviting and very calm with a Southern charm! The shrimp and grits are always a winner. Their homemade potato chip, blue cheese and chive appetizer is always my favorite. They really should add some chopped bacon to it and it would be even more amazing! The staff is friendly and sweet! I recommend it to everyone. Reasonably priced for Charleston and it's open for lunch. It's the perfect place to take clients or have a girls day! Perfect for dinner and lunch!The table cloths are my favorite. Not many restaurants go to the trouble for table cloths at lunch. It just makes it more classy! Love, love love Magnolias! An 11 out of 10!!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

We had another outstanding dinner at Magnolia's. The food was wonderful and the service was impeccable! It's always a special treat to visit this great restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Great fresh catch (Mahi Mahi) and shellfish and grits! Fried green tomatoes were very good as well. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

We had the Fried Green Tomato BLT with Collard greens! It was amazing! James was extra attentive and the food was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Visiting Charleston for the first time and had a great dinner at Magnolias! We were seated in the back room, which was fine but not much ambiance. We had a reservation and was hoping for the front room.. however we had a delightful server named Matt (law student). Dinner: we started with the fried green tomatoes with onion gritts and tomato jam - delicious! We had the petite filet with the crab cake with a side of Mac n Cheese. Steak was nice as well as the crab cake. I've had better MnC but had to try. Wine was good and we also enjoyed our dessert. It was a terrific meal with great service! We will definitely return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing restaurant! There is a reason they call the pimento cheese here the "caviar of the south". Also the fried green tomatoes were served on top of grits and topped with fresh tomatoes...delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Incredible food and service. Although we arrived a little early for our reservation, the host went ahead and seated us to accommodate my mother, who has physical limitations. Our server was incredibly helpful and very polite and attentive. A wonderful brunch to cap off our Charleston vacation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Treated my niece and her boyfriend to a delicious brunch at Magnolias. We started with mimosas and a spicy Bloody Mary; both delicious. The bread and butter for the table were amazing as were the peach fritters. Our entrees arrived hot and delicious...fried egg sandwich, huevos rancheros and the steak frittata! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful restaurant inside and out. I enjoyed the seafood and grits, it was delicious and large enough that no other sides were necessary. My husband had the tilapia with couscous which was very flavorful! We will definitely go back when in town again

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a good time at Magnolias, however, I do have a few criticisms; the first being our greeting upon arrival. The two gentlemen at the host stand didn't greet us with a smile, a good evening, a "glad that you're joining us for dinner tonight" - nothing. We greeted them, gave them our name, and were seated.

Our table placement was also a big let down. We were seated in the very back of the restaurant - past the kitchen. For 1st time diners @ your restaurant celebrating a 40th birthday - I was surprised by this. I would've thought we would've been placed in the main room with an excellent table, so we were very disappointed.

We dined at Husk and The Ordinary during our visit to Charleston, and the customer service at both was off the charts excellent!!! I sadly can't say the same about Magnolias, which is sad bc it's customer service that'll keep people coming back; and I used to worked for The Ritz-Carlton, so I'm well versed in customer service!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was amazing! We had the fried green tomatos and they were the best I ever had! The vegetables and seafood were so fresh! Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Amazing food and great atmosphere! The staff was friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The meal and service was wonderful. We wish we had more room in our stomach!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Really enjoyed our dinner. Loved the pimento cheese and buttermilk fried chicken breast.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very good good and service. The ambiance was elegant but modern and not really to my tastes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was very good with nice menu choices. The service was excellent. The price was moderately high but food quality was worth it.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Impeccably served, delectable southern food. Favorite was the shrimp and grits and save room for melt in your mouth bread pudding. Oh, and creative drinks from the bar out this over the top!

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very impressed with this place. The food was outstanding - fried chicken was amazing, as were the shrimp and grits. And loved the cocktails.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Anniversary and vacation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Located right downtown, not far from the Custom's House and the Market Place, Magnolias is a nice blend of modern dining and colonial heritage. Service is very good and the menu is quite varied. They have some creative cocktails and menu items, and the view of East Bay St. from the front of the restuarant is great. Highly recommended

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Service and food were fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 11, 2017

As usual, great food and wonderful service. One of our favorite restaurants in Charleston!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Blue crab bisque was first rate. Shellfish over grits was excellent and my husbands fried chicken with veggies and mashed potatoes was delicious. Dessert very fresh and light!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 10, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants, however this visit was not great. Hope this is not the start of a trend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We ate here twice this week. Very busy establishment and potentially understaffed. The food was very good. We tried different appetizers each trip, all were very delicious and adequately portioned. The fried green tomatoes and crab soup were my favorites (daughter loves the pork belly). All entrees were very good, but we ordered the seafood and grits both times (a must have). We recommend this for lunch or dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We enjoyed all courses and would recommend this restaurant

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Delicious food and excellent service! Wow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on July 9, 2017

Friends in town. Always a wonderful experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere - we were able to carry on our conversation without any problems.
Excellent food and service - our server, James, was top notch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This is a must do for brunch every time we visit Charleston...amazing food and service!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great meal great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We loved our brunch at Magnolias. We had great service, & the food was excellent. We will definitely return when we are back in the Charleston area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.