About Maggiano's - Vernon Hills

122 Hawthorn Center
Vernon Hills, IL 60061
View Larger Map

Maggiano's specializes in Italian-American cuisine served in a warm & friendly atmosphere. We are open daily for lunch & dinner and offer a convenient carryout service as well as delivery. Maggiano’s menu features both classic & contemporary Italian-American recipes including homemade pastas, signature salads, prime steaks, fresh fish, regular chef specials & specialty desserts, accompanied by a large selection of wines & specialty drinks. The food is made from scratch daily & served in a welcoming environment. Family style service or individual entrees are available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thu: 11:00 am-10:00 pm
Fri-Sat: 11:00 am-11:00 pm
Sun: 12:00 pm-9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 918-0380

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/illinois/vernon-hills/60061/307-hawthorn-center/

Executive Chef:
Arturo Alvarado

Maggiano's - Vernon Hills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Comfort Food (59)
Family Style (57)
See All
Casual (57)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Good for a Date (53)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Good for Groups (43)
Great for Lunch (33)
Business Meals (24)
Romantic (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Kid-friendly (23)
Cozy (22)
Outstanding Value (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Authentic (18)
Fun (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Seasonal (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Healthy (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Disabled Access (8)
People Watching (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Quick Bite (5)
Private Room (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
825 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was fantastic. I celebrated ...

 
·Dined a day ago

The service was fantastic. I celebrated my birthday and at the end of my meal the manager gave me a card that was signed by everyone I interacted with and a 10 dollar gift card for next time. It was very sweet and a nice personal touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waitstaff was wonderful.We were cele ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The waitstaff was wonderful.We were celebrating a birthday.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Cozy, Fun, , Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was marvelous and the additiona ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was marvelous and the additional meal to take home was great. I didn't have to cook the next night!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Scratch, Italian cuisine that is totally ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Scratch, Italian cuisine that is totally worth the drive! We were treated very well and had an amazing first experience! We will be back for the huge portion sizes, great couples deal, and delicious dessert! You will not leave hungry.

Tags: Fun, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got there 25 minutes before our reser ...

 
·Dined on January 16, 2017

We got there 25 minutes before our reservation and ended up waiting an extra 10 minutes after our scheduled reservation time. The host was telling everyone 45 minutes to an hour for seating, when open table was still allowing reservations for less than 30 minutes of scheduled wait time. The table we arrived at was still dirty and when we asked the guy to wipe off the seat, he asked "Why, is it wet" as opposed to the fact that there was still pasta on the seat. It shouldn't matter why we asked for the seat to be wiped off before we sat down. The pasta that we ordered was stuck together in clumps and was soggy. The waiter tried to tell us that was what angel hair pasta did, but they could try it again. Amazing, the second time around the angel hair pasta looked and tasted like it was supposed to. He told us he would comp the meal from our receipt, but he never did. He was also supposed to bring out birthday cookies as a surprise, but apparently forgot. Because it took so long to recook our meal, all we wanted to do was leave. I've had better experiences at Maggiano's, but if this was the first time I had ever gone, I probably wouldn't be quick to go back.

Tags: Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We were celebrating our sons 12th birthd ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were celebrating our sons 12th birthday. Maggiano's is his favorite restaurant. The table was decorated with birthday confetti and were excited for the dinner to follow. The waitress seemed very distracted. She would disappear for extended periods of time and we would have to remind her for a water / lemonade / soda refill. The fried mozzarella appetizer was salty and not fried at the right temperature. We each took a bite and that was the end of it. Chicken & Roasted Pepper Flatbread was delicious. Four-Cheese Ravioli, Braised Beef Pappardelle, Langostino Lobster di Maquis, Tiramisu and Cheesecake was delicious as well. We ordered 2 Marco's Meal For Two. The waitress forgot to bring us the take home pastas. We had to remind her once the meal was charged onto our card. Also, the dinner lasted almost 2 hours. Before we even leave the table a young girl stopped by and started wiping down and clearing the tables. I have never seen this kind of service other than some real small time deli's. Thank you. Please forward to Manager.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value5

Good food. Good service. Love the stuffe ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Good food. Good service. Love the stuffed mushroom appetizer and eat one take one home lasagne

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Reservation was for 8:00 pm. I was told ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Reservation was for 8:00 pm. I was told it would be 5 or 10 minutes before a table was ready. We were seated at 8:30, with no explanation for the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

wonderful experience! our first time eat ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

wonderful experience! our first time eating there- the manager, Manny, came and introduced himself and gave us a $10 off coupon and made some small talk with us about the buckeyes! we just moved here from columbus ohio so it was a wonderful time and WONDERFUL food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have enjoyed coming as a couple and a ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

We have enjoyed coming as a couple and as a family. I wanted to treat my Lovely wife to a nice dinner and that is what we got.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food, good fun, good service my bos ...

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

Good food, good fun, good service my boss was in from the UK. He enjoyed it thoroughly

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a really nice place to celebrate ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was a really nice place to celebrate my friend's birthday. The service was wonderful, You have made it special. Thank you

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Goos, Still waited like 25 mins with a r ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Goos, Still waited like 25 mins with a reservation though. Waitress was just okay. Overall good exprience and would go back again, I REALLY enjoyed the braised beef parpadalle( like ptroast with noodles, delicious!)

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food & service was fantastic, thank ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food & service was fantastic, thank you! The Zucchini frittes were phenomenal, we were practically fighting over them! As was the apple crostada!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always the good, service and atmosphe ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

As always the good, service and atmosphere were perfect. The hardest part of the evening is deciding what to eat

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought a little pricy for pasta. Wait ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

I thought a little pricy for pasta. Waitress was a bit tacky making sure her tips were very visibly sticking out of her shirt pocket.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great place and great value. Service is ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great place and great value. Service is outstanding! Menu options are plentiful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Husband and I have been here a few ti ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

My Husband and I have been here a few times. The food is always good. If you like a lot of sauce on your pasta ask for extra. They do have tendency to be a little tight with the sauce. But overall the food is very good.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything including the ambiance was pe ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

Everything including the ambiance was perfect for our New Year luncheon. A big thank to Maggie for helping me coordinate all of this. Also, a great big thank you to our amazing server Melissa for being not only fast, accurate, and prompt, but for making sure we all had a great time! Melissa you were fabulous!!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Family Style, Business Meals, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Maggianos does NOT disappoint ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

As always, Maggianos does NOT disappoint . Food, drinks,service and atmosphere all outstanding!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and the food was very good ...

 
·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great service and the food was very good. First time here and the chef brought out a complementy plate of bruchetta. Very nice touch

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome food...friendly staff...warm env ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Awesome food...friendly staff...warm environment !

Tags: Private Room, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and dishes. Our server was very ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service and dishes. Our server was very nice and knowledgeable about the menu items. The chef even came out to greet us. We felt very welcomed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went here for New Year's Eve. Our s ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went here for New Year's Eve. Our service was incredible and our waitress, Jennifer was the best waitress my date and I have ever had. I would definitely recommend to a friend. We really did enjoy our food as well!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Family Style, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for New Year's Eve and to ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were there for New Year's Eve and to celebrate my son's birthday. While I understand that it was busy due to New Year's Eve, service was extremely slow and dinner lasted 2 hours. Plus finally at the end of dinner it took so long to receive our desserts, leftovers and to go dishes. Additionally we received the wrong bill which prolonged our stay even longer. Unfortunately due to the agonizing wait, my son had to leave and was never able to enjoy his birthday dessert. We love Maggiano's. Please rethink your staffing for holidays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Our waitress Melissa was excellent. Fri ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our waitress Melissa was excellent. Friendly, efficient, and very sweet. The restaurant was very crowded but she was on top of every request and need. I enjoy coming to Maggiano's for the food, ambience, and excellent customer service skills of all the staff. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Though we did have a problem during our ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Though we did have a problem during our meal (chicken was undercooked) it was promptly taken care of by our outstanding waitress Melissa, and a prompt apology was personally delivered by the general manager.

Outstanding! Highly Recommend!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at Maggiano's after seeing a mo ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

We dined at Maggiano's after seeing a movie at AMC. The convenience of the location to the movie theater is perfect.

We ordered starter salads/soups and meals for the four of us. A few minutes later the meals were brought out - we told them that we did not even have our salads yet and the food runner says, "Well, this is your food, you are table number ___ (can't remember table #)." We refused to take it and she almost started arguing with us. We asked to speak to our server, who convinced them to take our food back.

Shortly after, our salads came out, but not our kids soup. They probably had to wait another 5 minutes to get some tomato bisque, which I am thinking was already prepared in the kitchen. Their soup finally arrived. Then meals were served.

The server apologized and the rest of the meal was fine...

Food was good, just don't go there expecting 5-star service... Liked that we received an extra pasta dish to take home. We will probably try it again sometime if we are in the area shopping or after a movie, but I would not drive to VH just to go there...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

Another wonderful meal

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Another wonderful meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious food. Great service!!

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Delicious food. Great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yummy food. Good value by taking home a ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Yummy food. Good value by taking home a dinner. Alfredo sauce could have been tastier and more plentiful.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great waiter, too noisy, food was only ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great waiter, too noisy, food was only adequate. Eaten there many times, was quite disappointed this time.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

On Thursday, December 29th I took my nie ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

On Thursday, December 29th I took my niece to Maggiano's to celebrate her 21st birthday. Which was noted on our reservation, they in return didn't do anything like sing or bring out a dessert for us with a candle (which is usually done.) We have been to the restaurant many times before, this however was the worst experiences I have ever had. I understand that the restaurant was busy, but I feel like the waiter pretty much ignored us. We had to ask another server for appetizer plates & waited halfway through our meals to get our drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Wonderful experience! Good food, great s ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful experience! Good food, great staff and the best atmosphere!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent as always. Buy one t ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was excellent as always. Buy one take one option is an awesome deal. Happy New Year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great service and wonderful food.

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great service and wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent however portion s ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was excellent however portion sizes were pretty modest and the prices were relatively on the high side for a chain type restaurant. Our waiter was quite friendly but the food was quite slow in coming out of the kitchen because you make everything from scratch. However it was quite tasty. Everything À la cart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good service and we were seating as per ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Good service and we were seating as per our our reservation. We did have there

Bread pudding special desert it was the worst bread pudding I have ever had. I

Think they should have a manager try it,

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went on Chrismas eve Was seated right a ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Went on Chrismas eve Was seated right away the service was slow took 20 minutes just to get water and a bread basket , order a salad and was told it will be a delay they ran out of house dressing , food was ok but nothing specail for 4 people it took 3 hours from the time we were seated until the bill came

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Everyone was very polite , food was exce ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Everyone was very polite , food was exceptional and so was the wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.