About Maggiano's - Vernon Hills

122 Hawthorn Center
Vernon Hills, IL 60061
View Larger Map

Maggiano's specializes in Italian-American cuisine served in a warm & friendly atmosphere. We are open daily for lunch & dinner and offer a convenient carryout service as well as delivery. Maggiano’s menu features both classic & contemporary Italian-American recipes including homemade pastas, signature salads, prime steaks, fresh fish, regular chef specials & specialty desserts, accompanied by a large selection of wines & specialty drinks. The food is made from scratch daily & served in a welcoming environment. Family style service or individual entrees are available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thu: 11:00 am-10:00 pm
Fri-Sat: 11:00 am-11:00 pm
Sun: 12:00 pm-9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 918-0380

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/illinois/vernon-hills/60061/307-hawthorn-center/

Executive Chef:
Arturo Alvarado

Maggiano's - Vernon Hills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (44)
Family Style (43)
Casual (41)
See All
Special Occasion (41)
Good for Groups (35)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Good for a Date (28)
Great for Lunch (22)
Outstanding Value (20)
Romantic (19)
Business Meals (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
Fun (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Authentic (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Cozy (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Healthy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Private Room (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
770 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Were disappointed that Chicken Vesuvio i ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Were disappointed that Chicken Vesuvio is no longer on the menu.

Both my husband and I had planned on ordering that and therefore were upset about the change. However, we did enjoy what we finally did order. Maggiano's always has excellent food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had an extra special experience. Our ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We had an extra special experience. Our waiter was superb and the sous chef came to our table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was great but the service was b ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was great but the service was bad. The waitress was nice but almost too nice. She started to get annoying. Overall good time though.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Our waitress was the best , she was all ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Our waitress was the best , she was all around pleasant ,made sure our drinks were refilled, our orders were correct .

Tags: Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good and they have a great bogo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Food was good and they have a great bogo offer on some of their pastas. Service was good as well. Totally recommend this place por group dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We used Maggiano's as a great place for ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We used Maggiano's as a great place for a business dinner with 6 of us. The food is predictably good and the service was outstanding -- as usual!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful service and food was delicious ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Wonderful service and food was delicious as always!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The pasta under the eggplant was mushy a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The pasta under the eggplant was mushy and the tomato sauce was thick, dark and bland. I only ate a few bites. Our server sent home an extra pasta primavera with us to compensate, but that, too, was bland—and watery. It went in the garbage. I would not go again. The bizarre practice of giving away a take-home meal with each pasta dish must be in effect to somehow make up for in quantity what they lack in quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Magliano's did a great job of handling f ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Magliano's did a great job of handling food allergies at our table and offering lots of options. Our server, Vlad was very warm and friendly. The chef, Mickey, actually came to the table to be sure she understood our food allergies and told us about what she could do. This was just the restaurant's process, and I wanted to stand up and cheer! Great job

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Casual, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Maggiano's consistently delivers with go ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Maggiano's consistently delivers with good Italian dishes made fresh. My Chicken Piccata was very tasty with a nice side of grilled asparagus & pasta with Alfredo sauce, which was plenty to eat!. Service was very good despite a busy Friday night around 7:15 P.M. I was sat earlier then expected.

I will return!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Authentic, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Maggiano's was very accommodating with m ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Maggiano's was very accommodating with my online Opentable seating request! We greatly appreciated them making our evening great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous dinner. Foid, service and spec ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Fabulous dinner. Foid, service and special touches made our night magnifico .

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I took my kids for a pre-Thanksgiving me ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I took my kids for a pre-Thanksgiving meal after going to the movies. It was a very nice dining experience. Jenn, our server, was great! Attentive and happy, she even laughed at my jokes, which my kids have learned to not laugh at.

The food was good, and everyone was happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Sandy the server was fantastic. Made th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Sandy the server was fantastic. Made the meal very enjoyable.

Tags: Disabled Access, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful experience. My friends ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

What a wonderful experience. My friends and I enjoyed the food and especially the service. The waite staff were very accommodating funny and helpful. We will be back again. Thanks for everything.

Tags: Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I came here for a birthday ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2016

My family and I came here for a birthday dinner and the service was incredible!! Our server, Tony, put up with my difficult family and handled it very well! My mother didn't like her dish so he was nice enough to bring it back, have another dish made, and comp the original meal off the bill. Thank you Tony for making my birthday so special and so memorable! We definitely will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

booked table for 5 for my bday with fami ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 15, 2016

booked table for 5 for my bday with family although we were running 5 mins late which I called ahead prior to arriving coz it was very traffic in the area, we got there and our table not ready so we have to wait and a party of 4 family without reservation got to be seated right away.this why I only gave them 4 stars. Other than that our servers are fantastic!! They made my bday special! And thanks to the manager as well for the bday card!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We were very rushed once we got to our t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were very rushed once we got to our table. Our server stood over us until we made up our mind of what we wanted to order. For the items we asked about all he could say was that he recommended it...really. The customer service skills need some work from Nicholas..."IF I have time I'll get you bread" and yes we waited and waited for it. Guess he didn't have time. We won't be back to this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Our server Lee went above and beyond. Wi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our server Lee went above and beyond. Will come back again and again! Loved every moment.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent job as always catering to my d ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent job as always catering to my daughters celiac disease requirements.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My food was cold and not good at all! Se ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My food was cold and not good at all! Service was terrible (they had a new server working alone and he was so lost). The Manager's knew he was struggling and did nothing to help him. Worst meal I have ever had at Maggiano's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Went with my husband for a weekend lunch ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Went with my husband for a weekend lunch. The main improvement over the previous time we went there is service, as Dani was extremly nice and prompt.

We had the crispy zuchinni appetizer, which were very tasty and indeed crispy.

I had the special buttersquash ravioli, which were very good ( I asked for the butter sauce on the side, to make it lighter). This came with a 'to go' pasta/clasic dish, which I chose the eggplant paremesan. That was good but seemed a bit too salty.

My husband had the crusted tilapia, which was a good size portion and quite tasty, except for the sage component.

Overall a good value/experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Left an Italian restaurant hungry. That' ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Left an Italian restaurant hungry. That's not supposed to happen. Food was good, but portions small and service fair. Not worth the $. Maggiano's is going downhill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

I would recommend the Vernon Hills Maggi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I would recommend the Vernon Hills Maggiano's to anyone and everyone. Went there to celebrate a special occasion and our server, Lee, was outstanding. He was friendly, accommodating and went above and beyond. I will be sure to ask for Lee's area during my next visit. I had the Rigatoni D and it was delightful. My sister-in-law had one of the special's with beef and Italian sausage and potatoes, etc. There was enough for two more people. We had amazing desserts as well. The Tiramisu was superb and the apple tart was even better. Maggiano's has my vote!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We all enjoyed dinning here the food wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We all enjoyed dinning here the food was delicious and a very good selection. We had lunch and they have half a sandwich, with soup or salad. Every thing was good. The wait staff was very plesant and we definitely will return in the near future..

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

It was a very nice expirience! The manag ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

It was a very nice expirience! The manager was really nice and the waitress too!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value5

Always have enjoyed. Great Italian dishe ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always have enjoyed. Great Italian dishes. Nice ambiance. Never unhappy with what we order. And very affordable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it and the Staff is wonderful- We ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Loved it and the Staff is wonderful- We love Chef Micky!

We will be back- get the dessert sampler - yum!

and the pumpkin ravioli, chicken francese... so good!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service great evening

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food, great service great evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great staff friendly even thoug ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Food was great staff friendly even though there were a few hiccups with the food running and we got a creme Brule for dessert and didn't like it they quickly brought us something else super nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was very slow and it was a Monda ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Service was very slow and it was a Monday night. The food was not as good as Maggiano's Old Orchard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Appetizers, Entrees, and Desserts were a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Appetizers, Entrees, and Desserts were all fantastic. Kind and attentive waitstaff. Kid-friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant! Service good, but a l ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great restaurant! Service good, but a little slow due to being crowded.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

first time trying the spinach and artich ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

first time trying the spinach and artichoke al forno, and it was to die for. one of the best spinach dips i've had in a while, and all of our dishes tasted great. our server, gabriel, also did a fantastic job. he was very knowledgeable of the menu and very friendly, a trait that's sometimes lost in the fine dining industry. thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was busy, noisy and slow on Saturday ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

It was busy, noisy and slow on Saturday evening, but we were able to get a last minute reservation and they did such a good job of service recovery, I couldn't help but be impressed. They apologized for the wait, sprinkled our table with heart glitter and brought a candle when we said we were in no hurry for our "date night" . The waitress even brought us some yummy lemon cookies as a treat. The salads were a little sad (overdressed and not as interesting as they looked from the menu) but otherwise the food at Maggiano's is reliably good with plenty to share or take home.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for a girls night out/birthday c ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We went for a girls night out/birthday celebrations. Me and one of my friends split their menu option for 2 people (I forgot what it was called) which was a wonderful value; each person gets an appetizer or salad, one of their pasta entrees in which you can order a 2nd one to take home with you and split dessert. Food was very, very good. Service could have been better. Our server was new (2nd week) and clearly nervous. One of our meals came with something that was asked to be left off, our take home meals were not even close to what we ordered - she did come back with the correct meals but then brought only one bag - not a huge deal, but should ask the customer what the need. Then we got the wrong check back. Poor gal wasn't having a good night. Manager was nice and gave us dessert on them as well as comped the meal that came out incorrectly. I will be eating my leftovers and extra meal throughout the week - no cooking - yay! We will be back I'm sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

My wife's steak was way over cooked. Sh ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

My wife's steak was way over cooked. She did not send it back because as she said, you can't make it more rare once it has been over cooked.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Lighting in our section was flickering o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Lighting in our section was flickering on and off.

The side dish of spaghetti olio aglio was less than acceptable. Once we added our own olive oil and Parmesan cheese we had something better.

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

The food is always delicious The only t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food is always delicious

The only thing we didn't like is that our dinner entrees came about 60 seconds after our salads

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

All in all the meal was delightful. My g ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

All in all the meal was delightful. My granddaughter was underwhelmed by the pizza and the spaghetti and meatballs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.