About Maggiano's - Vernon Hills

122 Hawthorn Center
Vernon Hills, IL 60061
View Larger Map

Maggiano's specializes in Italian-American cuisine served in a warm & friendly atmosphere. We are open daily for lunch & dinner and offer a convenient carryout service as well as delivery. Maggiano’s menu features both classic & contemporary Italian-American recipes including homemade pastas, signature salads, prime steaks, fresh fish, regular chef specials & specialty desserts, accompanied by a large selection of wines & specialty drinks. The food is made from scratch daily & served in a welcoming environment. Family style service or individual entrees are available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thu: 11:00 am-10:00 pm
Fri-Sat: 11:00 am-11:00 pm
Sun: 12:00 pm-9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 918-0380

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/illinois/vernon-hills/60061/307-hawthorn-center/

Executive Chef:
Arturo Alvarado

Maggiano's - Vernon Hills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (104)
Special Occasion (102)
Great for Lunch (61)
See All
Kid-friendly (56)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Romantic (32)
Hot Spot (16)
Great for Brunch (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Late-night Find (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
688 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Rood and service were great. Authentic I ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

Rood and service were great.

Authentic Italian nice variety.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Maggiano's over the years a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

I've been to Maggiano's over the years and the food is good, service is usually good, etc.

Just seems a little pricey for what you get. Just a bit. Not too much.

I will say the Candied Nueske Bacon, Ricotta, Arugula & Fig Jam Bruschetta was fantastic. I'd order more of those. Mushroom cap appetizer was ok.

The Mozzarella Cheese brick appetizer was just too much for four. And it was not very good. Just kind of blah. Ours was not really hot. Just sort of warmed over.

The Salmon Oscar was very good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have an 8:30 reservation and was told ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

We have an 8:30 reservation and was told to wait. But the person at the both or table was not doing a good job of monitoring customers. We got in like 15 minutes past out reservation time. Not happy with the way the person who was at the desk. He looks like he does not care. That is very poor customer service. Not paying attention to his job. That person needs to be trained again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The waitress, Anniata provided outstandi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

The waitress, Anniata provided outstanding service. Very attentive, polite, efficient - made our family outing (5 of us, including two kids) very enjoyable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was quite slow. Appetizer salads ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Service was quite slow. Appetizer salads and entrees arrived at the same time. Food order was incorrect and had to be sent back. Food was bland and not up to the standard we have been accustomed to when visiting the Schaumburg location. Overall not a good experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Quality of food has declined quite a bit ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Quality of food has declined quite a bit. Will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Maggiano's has always been one of my fav ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Maggiano's has always been one of my favorite restaurants but the service is just below par especially at the Vernon Hills location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Everything was spot on. Delightful waite ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everything was spot on. Delightful waiter, so helpful, so friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoy the excellent Lobster Carbonara ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We enjoy the excellent Lobster Carbonara an lemon herb salmon.

Thank you

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I enjoyed a very nice evenin ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a very nice evening here. The bartender was super friendly and poured a great custom cocktail. She even came to our table to take our wine order. All of this on a busy Sunday evening. Food was very good, and the service was first class! Highly recommended fine Italian dining!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, great food, great value. Ne ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great place, great food, great value. Never a disappointment. Thumbs up!!!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food, excellent service and gr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Delicious food, excellent service and great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitperson was new and she told us t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our waitperson was new and she told us that so we were definitely ready to give her some slack. However, we ordered the meal for 2 and the salad never came out. We told her to just delete the special - that we'd skip the dessert. She then came back and said that the salad was all boxed and ready to be sent home with us. I guess we should have just refused it, but we didn't. And when we got home - there was no salad dressing! In addition, everything was slow. The restaurant was not that busy so I'm not sure why it took 15-20 minutes to get our dessert out to us (which I know is a kitchen issue, not a waitperson issue). In addition, our drinks (including water) were not refilled as often as they should have been. Our wait person acknowledged the need for refills and then they never came.

On a positive note, the manager did check on us a few times and was able to get what we needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The Manager gratiously congratulated me ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The Manager gratiously congratulated me on my retirement, which we were celebrating and credited 2 of the 4 desserts we purchased. Our server and there were very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful and 6 out of 10 o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was wonderful and 6 out of 10 of us had meals and/or leftovers to bring home. On the flip side, although our waiter was trying his best, the service for our table was extremely slow due to a backed up bar and kitchen. A visit from the manager would have been appreciated.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Made the reservation the day before, wal ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Made the reservation the day before, walked in on the day of, and was seated immediately. Didn't have to wait. Waiter was friendly and food was great. Would absolutely use OpenTable again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a 4:30 pm reservation and it was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a 4:30 pm reservation and it was fun to see the restaurant fill up as it neared the dinner hour. We had a fantastic waitor, the food was top-notch, and the cheesecake was the best I've ever tasted!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, liked how we got a meal to ta ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Good food, liked how we got a meal to take home, too. Felt wine was pricey, more affordable to order a bottle (though still expensive). Service was great and meal was good. Family friendly, especially since it's in a mall. Also, slightly more casual attire is okay since it's in the mall.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the veal Parmesan and the lem ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We enjoyed the veal Parmesan and the lemon herb salmon was perfectly prepared.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed with the food....salmo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very disappointed with the food....salmon in my salad was so overdone and dry.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Upon arrival, the hostess addressed us i ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Upon arrival, the hostess addressed us in a friendly manner. We were immediately seated, and our waiter greeted us promptly. The food was both filling and delicious. For the money, I would definitely recommend Maggiano's to my friends and family. The overall ambiance was lively and energetic. I definitely recommend the Maggiano's in Vernon Hills for special occasions or friendly social gatherings.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The servers are very attentive, service ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The servers are very attentive, service was great! Food was very tasty and arrived hot and just as ordered.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sorry to Maggiano's "ain't what is used ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Sorry to Maggiano's "ain't what is used to be." I guess we won't be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I went there for dinner with a group of ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I went there for dinner with a group of girls for a bachelorette party and everyone loved it! We got seated quickly, workers were energetic and friendly, atmosphere was very welcoming and the food was outstanding. All my friends thought it was the perfect ending to the party and the Bride-to-Be was even more thrilled by the dining experienced. I can guarantee all of us will be coming here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We picked Maggiano's to celebrate my fat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We picked Maggiano's to celebrate my father's birthday. Our party consisted of 7 people. The food & wine were great. Our server was too! He was friendly, engaging, making for very good service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a reservation, was seated 30 minutes ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Had a reservation, was seated 30 minutes after reservation time. Mix ups with service, from getting our drinks to the entrees. It's like they just opened up and they've been there almost 2 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We were celebrating a graduation from Gr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were celebrating a graduation from Great Lakes Naval Acadamy...I ordered and shared the chicken piccata for $17.95 ...we received the meal and all there was ...was two medium sized fillets...with a little spinach and caper and lemon sauce. I was told it was a lot of food...so another of our party said she would share with me...asked our waitress for some bread which was never brought...we did not see our waitress until we were rushing to go and begged for a piece of bread to enjoy the sauce with....no need to ask about the little food then cause we had to rush to get our Sailor back. Food was good ...but 17.95 seemed a lot of money for two chicken cutlets ...no pasta...NO PASTA?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

The food was very good. Service was gre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food was very good. Service was great.

However, $2.99 for a soft drink? Crazy.

Salads are overpriced!!!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food, indifferent service!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good food, indifferent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Staff was very friendly and attentive. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Staff was very friendly and attentive. Food was delicious!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Large party- and went with family style ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Large party- and went with family style dining so really no brainer as far as orders for the two waiters who helped us. Had to ask at least 5 times for butter, numerous times to have waters refilled, and we waited longer than we should have to have new bottles of wine brought out and opened. Some of the food that came out wasn't hot enough but we were afraid if we sent it back we wouldn't see it for another 20 minutes. When one of the dishes came out they put two on the table (for 16 people) and left the other two on a serving tray to get cold. ?????? Don't understand the service at this restaurant. This is the third time I've been to this location and had issues...never at any another Maggianos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great neighborhood gem!!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great neighborhood gem!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our visit was excellent. We really enjoy ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Our visit was excellent. We really enjoyed the Moscato Mojito. It was a great summer drink.

Several visits ago we had a special with chicken and risotto which was amazing please add it to your menu. Also your chicken Milanese needs to return as a regular dish. We had a super bartender and great server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

worst service I ever experienced. we ha ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

worst service I ever experienced. we have been her a few times and it never lives up to the comparable service in their Skokie location. this time was beyond poor. at first I thought they were understaffed but decided they were under trained. no follow ups or follow throughs.

will not be returning to this restaurant - ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I inputted on my reservation that it was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I inputted on my reservation that it was my husbands birthday and to bring out a cake and that never happened. Was pretty disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Classic menu a real bargain. Our waiter ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Classic menu a real bargain. Our waiter was nice and very efficient. A fun birthday place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Although my actual meal was good, light ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Although my actual meal was good, light Alfredo sauce with pasta, asparagus and grilled chicken. My take home meal of eggplant Parmesan was inedible. It had very little eggplant and was mostly all breading. It was the worst I have ever had. Next time I would recommend Rosebud for parm.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was great and unobtrusive. Foo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Service was great and unobtrusive. Food was great and the restaurant was fairly quiet so all in all a Good Business Lunch spot.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was excellent, our waitress was exc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was excellent, our waitress was excellent. Will go back there for sure

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a great time!! Great service!! Lov ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Had a great time!! Great service!! Love their family style dinners. Yum!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.