About Maggiano's - Vernon Hills

Maggiano's specializes in Italian-American cuisine served in a warm & friendly atmosphere. We are open daily for lunch & dinner and offer a convenient carryout service as well as delivery. Maggiano’s menu features both classic & contemporary Italian-American recipes including homemade pastas, signature salads, prime steaks, fresh fish, regular chef specials & specialty desserts, accompanied by a large selection of wines & specialty drinks. The food is made from scratch daily & served in a welcoming environment. Family style service or individual entrees are available.

122 Hawthorn Center
Vernon Hills, IL 60061
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thu: 11:00 am-10:00 pm
Fri-Sat: 11:00 am-11:00 pm
Sun: 12:00 pm-9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 918-0380

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/illinois/vernon-hills/60061/307-hawthorn-center/

Executive Chef:
Arturo Alvarado

Maggiano's - Vernon Hills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (92)
Casual (80)
Good for a Date (80)
See All
Family Style (80)
Good for Birthdays (74)
Comfort Food (70)
Good for Anniversaries (68)
Good for Groups (55)
Great for Lunch (46)
Kid-friendly (35)
Business Meals (32)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Romantic (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Outstanding Value (26)
Cozy (25)
Authentic (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Fun (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Seasonal (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Great for Brunch (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Private Room (8)
People Watching (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Healthy (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Spicy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
930 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The food is consistently good. Our waitress was very attentive. Very loud on a Saturday night. We had 7 people at a round table and couldn't hear family members across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The food, as usual, was very good. We usually take advantage of the Take 2 offer and enjoy another meal days later at home. Our server was friendly and informative and made the experience even more enjoyable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was good. Worth the value. Don't go here if you're in a hurry. Service was a little slow, but it gave us girls time to talk. Great for groups. Maybe a nice date night in a booth off to the side. I would go again.

Tags: Family Style, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

I really enjoy the friendly and accommodating staff. They go above and beyond to make customers happy. I'll definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

My friend and I arrived 5 minutes before our reservation. We were told our table would be ready right away, then watched he hostess seat 3 other groups. We asked if our table was ready, and we're too it would be soon, which seemed strange. We were seated, then were completely ignored for literally 30 minutes. We had no idea who our server was, and watched about 12-15 servers pass us, not one of whom noticed that we were sitting without water, bread, or even being greeted. We finally found the hostess who got the manager. Our meal was free, but it was pretty annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Good food and good service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good meal and good food. Service was decent and experience wasfun and the food delicious .

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was just average. Very generic tasting. Salmon was overlooked first time and reordered and second entree came in too salty. Pasta dish of shrimp and chicken was over cooked. Service was very good and the waiter did everything to make our problems correct.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We were late for our reservation, and they were gracious enough to hold the table, but it was in a congested area. The table was also wobbly, which was annoying. The room temp was cold, but the food delicious!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our server was excellent! Ordered the ziti did not know it had sausage meat sauce

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Dinner for two option great value; food was excellent and we brought some home too. We will be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was great. Our waiter was very attentive. Will go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

we were there at 5p on a Friday evening, but staff still seemed hurried and food came out cold..food and service was better when they first opened...:(

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We celebrated a wedding shower special dinner with our nephew and soon to be his wife ... it was their first time at maggianos so a welcome bruchatta platter was presented as a gift. Drinks took a tad longer than expected however all our entrees were outstanding and the evening was special. We will go back again. Meal to go is excellent also!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Food is always very tasty here. The service improved considerable since last time we were there.
We had the eggplant parmesan, the lite chicken parmesan and the crispy zuchini (we like it with their pomodoro sauce). The tiramisu was delicious. These were part of the special marco's meal for 2 people, which gave us 2 pastas to go too. we had an early dinner. Usually later is packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Service is terrible. Good mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had to wait afew minutes to be seated. Loved the food. We had a wonderful server .
We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We decided to try out the new brunch menu. It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Good food, few big mistakes but service made very good attempt to make up for it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our reservation was right on time. Best Gluten Free experience in a long time. Chef came to table to discuss menu. They will make almost anything gluten free, if possible.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food and dessert was not good. I eat out very often and I do not suggest this Maggianos to others.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great place. A bit on pricier side, but the food is incredible. Be sure to make reservation in advance as this place is always packed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We enjoyed another dinner at the Vernon Hills location. We took friends to celebrate their birthday's and love the Marco's Meal for Two. It's a great deal! Service was good, food tasty and we would highly recommend. Love the calamari, tried the margherita flatbread for the first time and it was really good. Favorite meal of mine is the mushroom ravioli and braised beef pappardelle. Good times, we will return.

Tags: Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We both had mushroom ravioli--delicious. We each bought buy one,get one free. What a great deal

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The service has always been very good. And, the food from restaurant to restaurant is always consistent. We have never been disappointed with either.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Very disappointed my 6pm reservation turned into 6:25 seating. Had my 87 year old mother out for her birthday and who needs wheel chair. The extra 25 minutes makes things much tougher on her. When checking on delay was told the folks already seated were sitting longer than expected, maybe they should be more selective about seating non-reservation folks when approaching reservation time, otherwise what's the point of the reservation? All this and a whole section left open which was used a week earlier when my wife and I were there together. Opening that area would have alleviated the sitting issue as we were not alone from what I saw. Will think twice in future.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our server was great! The hostesses were helpful, even offering our kids drinks while waiting to be sat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Was the first time and would definitely return. Service was well timed and always available while we made our decisions. The Tuscan chicken and shrimp with pasta was especially good. The wine list was also varied and affordable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The service was outstanding. I love the take one home option. Prices are affordable. The only thing I would like to see is salad offered with all meals

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I enjoy the food at Maggianos. Typically, service is good. This past Sunday our server was fantastic. On the downside, this location is just too loud, regardless as to how many people are there. The tables are crowded too closely together, and for some reason the families that bring their children to this location are disrespectful of others. Second time we have visited that the child at the table next to us was watching cartoons on a parents phone so loudly that we couldn't carry on a conversation at ours. Atmosphere needs improving, but food is good. We used to choose this restaurant for celebration meals, now we use it more for "where would you like to eat today?"

Tags: Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was good and came out quickly. That is the only good part of the experience. The service was terrible. Waiter took forever to come to the table to introduce himself. He didn't bring any silverware/napkins when we brought the bread. He was gone for a while and came back to tell us he couldn't read his writing and to tell him the drinks again. Brings the drinks back, didn't bring my wine. Meanwhile, appetizer comes. No silverware/napkins still and no wine. Food came, It was good. He asked us if we wanted to-go boxes. Yes bring boxes, should have said no. He took forever to come back with the boxes and the check. Finally brought the check and took my card. Took forever to bring the credit card back. Then says Oh I'll get you your to-go pasta. I just wanted to get out of there. It was so bad I almost called to tell the manager. I left a bad tip which I never do even when the service is not stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Another great meal at Maggiano's, Vernon Hills.
The service was second to none. Our server, Kathy couldn't have been any nicer

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our waiter, Johnny was AMAZING!! Super personal, friendly and everything he suggested for food was PERFECT and right on the dime. You are very lucky to have such a employee on your team. I know it is hard finding good employees even in my role at work.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The continued quality of the food and service is great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The service was very good. They brought out the food for our young grandson very quickly which was much appreciated. Overall it was better than average and we will visi there again.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Found hair in my mozzarella sticks. Great service though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The restaurant went above and beyond to fulfill a special dish request for a special celebration. Our server was stupendous and well deserving of a strong stream of big tips. Though busy the management did their best to accommodate and ensure a wonderful evening for all.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Made us wait even though I had reservations for 5:30pm. Our table wasn't ready and made us hold a buzzer. Waiter was really lost and forgot many things. Sometimes took dishes away before even asking us but might have been new to waiting. Food was not up to par with the Old Orchard location. We left unsatisfied with our time there and probably won't be coming back for dinner. Lunches have been fine but the service goes down significantly when they get busier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food and service have always been excellent. Very friendly hostess and wait staff. Never a disappointment! A great place for family and friends.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our server (Tony)was wonderful. The atmosphere was loud, painfully bright and rather frantic. The food was acceptable. If you are hungry and do not care about atmosphere, this is your place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.