About Maggiano's - Vernon Hills

Maggiano's specializes in Italian-American cuisine served in a warm & friendly atmosphere. We are open daily for lunch & dinner and offer a convenient carryout service as well as delivery. Maggiano’s menu features both classic & contemporary Italian-American recipes including homemade pastas, signature salads, prime steaks, fresh fish, regular chef specials & specialty desserts, accompanied by a large selection of wines & specialty drinks. The food is made from scratch daily & served in a welcoming environment. Family style service or individual entrees are available.

122 Hawthorn Center
Vernon Hills, IL 60061
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thu: 11:00 am-10:00 pm
Fri-Sat: 11:00 am-11:00 pm
Sun: 11:00 am-9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 918-0380

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/illinois/vernon-hills/60061/307-hawthorn-center/

Executive Chef:
Arturo Alvarado

Maggiano's - Vernon Hills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (91)
Casual (83)
Good for a Date (83)
See All
Family Style (82)
Good for Birthdays (81)
Comfort Food (71)
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Good for Groups (58)
Great for Lunch (55)
Kid-friendly (37)
Business Meals (33)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Romantic (31)
Worth the Drive (28)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Outstanding Value (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Authentic (22)
Fun (21)
Cozy (20)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Seasonal (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Disabled Access (9)
People Watching (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Private Room (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Healthy (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Historic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
970 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service &food for table of 12

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was absolutely welcoming and warm; they were very kind to us and surprised us with birthday cookies and a free dessert gift card for future use. We ordered a set meal for 4 adults and we took home a lot of food as well. Very pleased with the standards and quality of food. Great job!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Private Room, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was good but for the price it should have come with a soup or salad.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We had an enjoyable evening with our family. Our server was terrific and he had only been there for 3 weeks. Our meals were very tasty. We each had the spinach salad and enjoyed every bite. I had the eggplant and it too was really good. Two other people had lasagna & they enjoyed their meal. My husband had a beef dish and he too enjoyed his meal. We also liked our table location, away from other people. We could talk with one another and not have to scream. We had a very nice evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Prompt service and items we ordered were good. However, timing was way off. Entrees were brought out while we were still working on our appetizers. We had coffee but server did not return to refill cups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Its a tug of war going here. We like the food however the service has not been good. When we placed orders and expecting water and bread to come out we had nothing for awhile. We tried waving our white napkins over our heads to signal "ok, we surrender" and still no wait staff came by. There is not enough staff working on Saturday nights. Have someone bringing bread and water out asap like other restaurants do, that would help. We missed the previews to the movie we were attending and we arrived at 6:15pm for a 7:45pm movie. We are going to take a break from Maggiano's, its just not working out.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place, Chef John is Awesome. We love this place and come here a lot. Thank you for good time and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Sorry can't remember our waiters name (only been there 3 weeks- ft works trades), but did an excellent job. Food was very good and reasonably priced.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Our server Yonny was very friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Terrific quiet birthday celebration for the two of us; food was excellent as was our server, Eric; very engaging and welcoming. Forgot to give us our "complimentary meals to go" but Maggianos said they will send us some dining credit (we'll see). Didn't spoil a wonderful birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Chef John came and spoke with us. He was awesome and the food was delicious, from appetizers to dessert!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, People Watching, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Family Style, Casual, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

the food is always very good. The value exceptional. Buy one get one to take home at no extra charge. the pasta selections are varied , salads good also.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I have not been to Maggiano's in quite sometime but from what I remember of it they used to serve very large portions almost like family style dishes. I went there with my family for Easter dinner and I was shocked at how small the portions were. I had chicken Parmesan and it only came with a very small bowl of pasta on the side. Not even enough to take home with the left over Chicken parm I had. My daughter had gnocchi and she finished it which she never does. If you don't eat a lot then maybe you'll love it and maybe I need to forget how they used to be and just enjoy what it is today - i could afford to lose a little weight!!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went to Maggianos for Easter. I liked the fact that it was their regular menu and not a set price for a brunch. We had an awesome waiter (JR) and from start to finish he took excellent care of us. He was attentive without being overbearing. He had a good sense of humor and gave us some great recommendations. There was 7 of us and everyone loved their meal AND most of got to take another pasta meal home. Even though it was quite busy (as expected on a holiday), we didn't wait to be seated or for our food. IT was a great dining experience and I look forward to returning there soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a great Easter Sunday brunch. Food was good & our waitress was very attentive & super friendly! She was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My husband and mother-in-law and I went to Easter brunch at Maggiano's. What a pleasant experience. The waiter was excellent and the food was delicious. The creme brulee French toast was out of this world. The lemon ricotta pancakes were delicious, too. We even got a complimentary little breakfast cake to start the meal. We will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Amazing waitress and manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Always love this place. We had a minor mishap and the manager was right on it. Can't say enough good things about the friendly service. Diana behind the bar makes a great cocktail too. I'd come to her just for a drink even if I wasn't eatijg.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The restaurant is decent , the service is good, The food is ok mostly depending on what you order
price and value ok

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our food was left under a food lamp for way too long and came to the table congealed. My husband asked for a glass of Chianti, the server brought Cabernet instead and said it was her mistake. My husband said no problem, he liked it and decided to keep it. He had two glasses. We got the bill and the server charged us for an $18 glass of Cabernet instead of a house Canernet. He didn't order Cabernet, let alone an $18 glass! We ordered the Marco's dinner for two. We had a coupon and it felt like the server was trying to jack up our bill. She rarely checked on us and you could tell she was disappointed our bill would be low. Won't be back as the food your allowed to order for the Marco's deal is simple and uninteresting, especially when it comes to the table congealed. Seems like Maggianos is trying to compete with Olive Garden with the whole buy one entree and get one deal. If you want to beat them, focus on your signature dishes and up your game on service. Forget the buy one get one free, you're supposed to be a step up.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Maggiano's is a Chicago favorite and for the most part delivers. The food is solid, but not evolved Italian dining. Service is not up to that of a higher end place. For example, when we sat down, we waited quite a while before anybody came to our table. Generally, a busperson should bring by water before the waiter arrives, but that wasn't our experience. Our server was a very sweet young woman, but a bit inexperienced. The food was solid, but not exemplary. The Caesar Salad was underdressed. The Eggplant Parmesan had no visible cheese. When we asked our server, we were told that the cheese was in the dish itself. It wasn't. I did a quick Google Image search on this dish and couldn't find a single example WITHOUT visible cheese. We think that the server either was told the wrong info or that this is just a particularly poor rendition of the dish. Now, for the pluses. The serving sizes are huge. You are not going to walk out hungry. The bread brought to the table was nice. The Taylor Street Baked Ziti was delicious. The real value is that for several of the pastas, they actually give you ANOTHER ONE TO TAKE HOME, so you get another meal for later.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Friendly staff. Great food . Good atmosphere. Fun for Birthday celebration

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Someone dropped our food, but we got a replacement for free!:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The restaurant noise was noticeable, however, we ended up being seated in the Marco room and it was much quieter. Great meal, so much food! Great service!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Amber was a fantastic server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

EARLY EVENING 6:30


VERY NOISY, KIDS PLAYING UNDER TABLE NEXT TO US AND RUNNING AROUND WHILE PARENTS JUST SAT AND SAID NOTHING AFTER I LOOKED AT THEM MOST OF THE TIME AND THEN HE SAID SOMETHING TO THEM. HE WASN'T TO HAPPY . I DON'T COME TO EAT AND PAY FOR A NICE MEAL AND HAVE KIDS RUNNING AROUND. LET THEM GO TO MCDONALDS AND PLAY IN THE PLAY ROOM..

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great food...very busy so service was a bit slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Carbonara really could use some more prettier and the baked ziti comes with meat in it, although it's not noted on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Wonderful place. So glad one opened in Vernon Hills.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2017

I especially recommend the lobster carbonara and the lemon herb salmon.
Great menu choices ,service is excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Family Style, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Service started out great. Friendly server too.
Good food, consistent as always.
Service started out good, but server had issues processing loyalty and then payment and my friends credit card was lost in the process

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Maggiano's never disappoints. This was our first visit to the Vernon Hills location. Jordan was our server and did an excellent job of ensuring we were well cared for. This location is one of the larger ones and would highly recommend this, as well as all the other, Maggiano's locations.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Have not been to Maggianos since they opened in Schaumburg years ago( didn't care for it). Two weeks ago l stopped in to Maggianos in Tampa and the food was great. Tried it this weekend in Vernon Hills and voila! Great again. It is now on my regular rotation

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Had an excellent meal and excellent service! Husband loved the risotto with sliced filet mignonette. I had shrim in a wider pasta with a creamy tomato sauce. Calamari appetizer was great. A wonderful evening!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great place, great food! The restaurant that leaves their competition eating dust.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Abs always, the food was great as was the service. Having a pasta to go for the next day is a bonus that keeps bringing us back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Met up with 6 great friends for a weeknight dinner. Our table was waiting and ready. Water showed up along with fresh hot bread as we were seated. The food was as ordered and the waiter was knowledgeable. It is always a hit!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food is consistently good. Our waitress was very attentive. Very loud on a Saturday night. We had 7 people at a round table and couldn't hear family members across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food, as usual, was very good. We usually take advantage of the Take 2 offer and enjoy another meal days later at home. Our server was friendly and informative and made the experience even more enjoyable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food was good. Worth the value. Don't go here if you're in a hurry. Service was a little slow, but it gave us girls time to talk. Great for groups. Maybe a nice date night in a booth off to the side. I would go again.

Tags: Family Style, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.