About Maggiano's - Vernon Hills

Maggiano's specializes in Italian-American cuisine served in a warm & friendly atmosphere. We are open daily for lunch & dinner and offer a convenient carryout service as well as delivery. Maggiano’s menu features both classic & contemporary Italian-American recipes including homemade pastas, signature salads, prime steaks, fresh fish, regular chef specials & specialty desserts, accompanied by a large selection of wines & specialty drinks. The food is made from scratch daily & served in a welcoming environment. Family style service or individual entrees are available.

122 Hawthorn Center
Vernon Hills, IL 60061
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thu: 11:00 am-10:00 pm
Fri-Sat: 11:00 am-11:00 pm
Sun: 11:00 am-9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 918-0380

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/illinois/vernon-hills/60061/307-hawthorn-center/

Executive Chef:
Arturo Alvarado

Maggiano's - Vernon Hills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (52)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Special Occasion (46)
See All
Good for a Date (43)
Good for Groups (40)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Comfort Food (31)
Great for Lunch (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Authentic (22)
Romantic (20)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Business Meals (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Cozy (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Fun (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Disabled Access (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Chef Mickey is fantastic. If you have allergies or food sensitivity ask for her. With over 12 severe allergies she creates the tastiest dishes for my daughter that are safe for her to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Always enjoying our time there. Food & service superb.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

We always have a wonderful meal when we dine at Maggiano's. The staff couldn't be nicer. The service is great. When you order one of their classic pastas, you get to take one home!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Birthday dinner for my wife and me. The restaurant is very loud and the waiters have too many tables. The waiters assigned sections are spread out throughout the restaurant. This results in lack of attention to their tables and not the greatest service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

This is one of our favorite spots. The staff is always very pleasant, and the food is excellent. The meal for two is a great deal, and it's especially fun to bring something else home. Make sure to try the fried zucchini!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Pasta dishes were OK. Shrimp scampi turned out to have a watery sauce--seemed almost like noodle soup with shrimp on top. Wouldn't hurry back. Overpriced, and undependable food.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Went there for my anniversary. Usually the food is delicious w/ excellent service. The specialty pastas (stuffed) are difficult to foul-up. However, the wife wanted the salmon and, for the first time in my experience there, it came out uncooked & had to be returned. The 2nd attempt ended with the same results...w/ our overly " chipper" waiter watching stating, "I'm staying while you cut that bad boy open" & then slicing into a big piece of uncooked sushi! Absolutely inedible!! The waiter & manager apologized & gave a very nice credit. Still, the moment of having "that perfect meal" was destroyed & wife settled for something less complicated...an appetizer. Lesson: beware the fish.
While the pastas are great with very good sauce selections, I'd pass on any future fish adventures. It's not Italy, where for less money fish are caught hours earlier, sauces are made for each meal & shrimp are practically crawling off the plate from freshness. We'll return, perhaps, for "simpler things." Our anniversary was certainly memorable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great value and great food. I’ve been going to Maggiano’s for many years and I’ve never had a bad experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

try the buy one pasta get one free it's a very good deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Staff made a special presentation to my son and his buddy that just graduated from boot camp. Made the special occasion even better. Food was great, as was the service. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Outstanding occasion. Great food and drink. We had a great time with our friend.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Food is ok, nothing spectacular. Service was spotty - had baby with us so wanted to leave as soon as we finished but had long wait before waiter came around...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great food, great service, very clean. The food options are great for a variety of taste choices. The service was fast and friendly.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We had the grilled salmon with white wine and butter lemon sauce. It is served with spinach. We requested that the salmon be poached instead of grilled. The salmon was delicious with the sauce. The salmon was very moist. The server and the chef were very accommonding. We had the apple costada with vanilla ice cream. It was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We arrived and were seated in an area that didn't appear to be part of the restaurant. That wasn't so bad but the table faced a bussing station. There was no attempt to cover the station and it was dirty. We got up to leave almost immediately and no one seemed to care. Very poor for a Maggianos. Rating the food and value here isn't valid because we did not stay to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Received the wrong food. It took quite a while for them to bring out the correct order. Not at all like our experiences at other locations. Very disappointed !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We wanted to sit and have a quiet dinner after a long week. We sat in the bar and just relaxed and enjoyed our delicious dinner. I look forward to eating our take home meals next week.
Our waiter Juan was terrific, attentive, friendly, and a pleasant person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The place was packed Although we had a reservation we were waiting past our time A table opened up in the bar and we took it The bar staff was incredible Food was excellent

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2017

If you've been to Maggiano's you know what to expect. Good service, great italian food and and very full tummy when you leave. I'd recommend a reservation for the weekend, it was nuts in there on Saturday night.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

We were celebrating our sons graduation from boot camp. Everyone was so nice and inviting. There was a problem with the pepper mill and it dropped a whole load of pepper corns fell in our food. No questions asked they replaced the two meals quickly.
We all thought the food was wonderful

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Taste is subjective, so my suggestion regarding the lasagna is personal: The sauce had too strong of a tomato taste. I like a light, creamy marinara sauce which does not screen the lasagna's cheese flavor . Perhaps you could offer a choice of sauces? As for the calamari, it is superb. Service was excellent, but the noise level was a bit distracting. Being 81 [wife 76], I miss my neighborhood's small, family owned, Italian restaurants. Life goes on. Maggiano's remains one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our waitress Aby was very professional and polite. She was patient with our requests. One person was quite demanding with his food and she was very good in handling the situations. We appreciated her efforts. The food was terrific and we really enjoyed our time at your restaurant. Thank you for making it a great lunch.










a

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Good food and choices. Server asked us about our food allergies and we were very specific about our needs (vegan and dairy free). Husband's pasta still came in a buttered broth that we didn't discover until halfway through meal. He offered to remake, but too late. He gave us a complimentary dessert as an apology. Definitely tried to make up for the error, but disappointed that the effort was made to ask about special needs and these were repeated several times yet they were not addressed properly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Had a great experience - wonderful service - delicious food - great value. Went with family for a late lunch with one in a wheelchair. Staff was very accommodating and attentive Thanks Maggianos! We hope to make it back soon

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Loved the experience. The waiter was attentive and the food is outstanding.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The service was amazing and we had a wonderful time celebrating birthdays!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great waiter
Very impressed
Real asset to the evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Went to dinner prior to a show so had limited time. I had the mushroom ravioli, which was tasty, but the al forno sauce was way too thick and a little gloppy. My husband had the chicken piccata, which he was able to order "on the lighter side". He enjoyed that. What totally was disappointing was that my pasta came with a free, to go pasta. I asked for eggplant Parmesan. When I got home, my to go container contained ziti with meat sauce! I am a vegetarian so that was NOT acceptable. What a bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Love this place. Food was delicious. Husband in wheelchair and made to feel comfortable. Brought friends for first time. A real success. Thanks!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Maggiano's has always been one of our favorites. We always have a great experience whenever we dine at Maggiano's. We have had the pleasure of dining in several of their restaurants in the Chicago area and dined at their restaurant in Nashville last year. We have even attended one of the adult cooking classes, which also was a very pleasurable experience and have recommended to others. Want to bring grandchildren to child class in the future.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Moms birthday;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Very good dinner. Great service. All the wait staff were very on top of everything. Food was great and we had lots of leftovers. I'd recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 29, 2017

AS always we had a very good meal and enjoyed being there. The service was also very good and the restaurant was not busy when we went.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 29, 2017

The waiter was so patient and supportive of the service he delivered during our meal.
We appreciate his enthusiastic sense of humor.
The food was delicious!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Everything was great. The food was really well prepared, the service was fantastic, and the drinks were spot on! The only downer was I didn't get my take home meal. We got a bag for the take home meals and my girlfriends was in the bag but not mine. No big deal, I should have checked before we left.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Our waiter was awesome!!! Friendly, welcoming and we felt very special couple on our Anniversary. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Ordered the buy one, take one home item. The take out did not have the chicken that I had ordered for my meal, it consisted of only gluten free pasta and marinara sauce. Gluten free pasta was not cooked long enough (which has happened in the past too).

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent value - food is reliably great and cost is quite affordable with their regular promotions. Have gone with my spouse, family and held parties there - always satisfied.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food is excellent. Baked ziti and chicken picatta were outstanding! Service was very good as well, even on a busy Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Always a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.