About Maggiano's - Vernon Hills

122 Hawthorn Center
Vernon Hills, IL 60061
View Larger Map

Maggiano's specializes in Italian-American cuisine served in a warm & friendly atmosphere. We are open daily for lunch & dinner and offer a convenient carryout service as well as delivery. Maggiano’s menu features both classic & contemporary Italian-American recipes including homemade pastas, signature salads, prime steaks, fresh fish, regular chef specials & specialty desserts, accompanied by a large selection of wines & specialty drinks. The food is made from scratch daily & served in a welcoming environment. Family style service or individual entrees are available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thu: 11:00 am-10:00 pm
Fri-Sat: 11:00 am-11:00 pm
Sun: 12:00 pm-9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 918-0380

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/illinois/vernon-hills/60061/307-hawthorn-center/

Executive Chef:
Arturo Alvarado

Maggiano's - Vernon Hills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (104)
special occasion (98)
great for lunch (72)
See All
kid-friendly (54)
neighborhood gem (52)
fit for foodies (49)
romantic (29)
great for brunch (14)
hot spot (12)
notable wine list (9)
late-night find (7)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
658 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Large party- and went with family style ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Large party- and went with family style dining so really no brainer as far as orders for the two waiters who helped us. Had to ask at least 5 times for butter, numerous times to have waters refilled, and we waited longer than we should have to have new bottles of wine brought out and opened. Some of the food that came out wasn't hot enough but we were afraid if we sent it back we wouldn't see it for another 20 minutes. When one of the dishes came out they put two on the table (for 16 people) and left the other two on a serving tray to get cold. ?????? Don't understand the service at this restaurant. This is the third time I've been to this location and had issues...never at any another Maggianos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great neighborhood gem!!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great neighborhood gem!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our visit was excellent. We really enjoy ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our visit was excellent. We really enjoyed the Moscato Mojito. It was a great summer drink.

Several visits ago we had a special with chicken and risotto which was amazing please add it to your menu. Also your chicken Milanese needs to return as a regular dish. We had a super bartender and great server.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

worst service I ever experienced. we ha ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

worst service I ever experienced. we have been her a few times and it never lives up to the comparable service in their Skokie location. this time was beyond poor. at first I thought they were understaffed but decided they were under trained. no follow ups or follow throughs.

will not be returning to this restaurant - ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I inputted on my reservation that it was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

I inputted on my reservation that it was my husbands birthday and to bring out a cake and that never happened. Was pretty disappointed.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Classic menu a real bargain. Our waiter ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Classic menu a real bargain. Our waiter was nice and very efficient. A fun birthday place.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Although my actual meal was good, light ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Although my actual meal was good, light Alfredo sauce with pasta, asparagus and grilled chicken. My take home meal of eggplant Parmesan was inedible. It had very little eggplant and was mostly all breading. It was the worst I have ever had. Next time I would recommend Rosebud for parm.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was great and unobtrusive. Foo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Service was great and unobtrusive. Food was great and the restaurant was fairly quiet so all in all a Good Business Lunch spot.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was excellent, our waitress was exc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was excellent, our waitress was excellent. Will go back there for sure

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a great time!! Great service!! Lov ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Had a great time!! Great service!! Love their family style dinners. Yum!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was excellent! He answered a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our server was excellent! He answered all our questions about the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is always a welcoming, friendly vi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

There is always a welcoming, friendly vibe at Magiannos. We like to sit in the bar area because the noise level is quieter. The take home dinner offers are the best bang for your buck.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The food is great, however we have been ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food is great, however we have been to this location twice now and the service is absolutely terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Great wait staff food was excellent .

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great wait staff food was excellent .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great and the food was good.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Service was great and the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

I had chicken marsala and it was ok. My ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I had chicken marsala and it was ok. My two guests ordered chicken parmesan and they thought it was also ok.....I personally would not order it because I thought the chicken breasts were whey too thick. One good thing we got there for happy hour (which we didn't know about) and your specialty drinks were good at a good price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Worst experience we have ever had a Magg ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Worst experience we have ever had a Maggiano's!! Waited with reservation plus waited for water and bread. Arrived at 7:40pm. Stuffed mushrooms tasted totally dry too.. Not our best experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Ended up eating dinner in a booth at the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Ended up eating dinner in a booth at the bar. Was more quiet than the main dining area and got great service!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

James our waiter was attentive and frien ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

James our waiter was attentive and friendly and had a great personality. Very nice way to beging out family evening out

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered Stuffed Mushrooms, Veal Marsa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We ordered Stuffed Mushrooms, Veal Marsala, Shrimp Fra Diavolo and Crème Brûlée. We shared an appetizer. The entrées are large portions and great for family style. The shrimps in the Shrimp Fra Diavolo was medium size and plentiful. The ciabatta was served warm but a little tough to dip in the olive oil with Parmesan cheese. I prefer the original Italian bread they served years ago.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The Lobster Carbonara is the absolute be ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The Lobster Carbonara is the absolute best!!! I highly recommend it...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love Maggiano's. Our food was exc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always love Maggiano's. Our food was exceptionally good this visit and the service was wonderful.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great and the service was e ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was great and the service was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant to all my friends and family members.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was awful. I had to keep aski ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our server was awful. I had to keep asking for things a few times cuz he would never bring what we asked for. My lettuce in my caeser salad was old and turning pinkish brown. Not impressed

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Visited on a Tuesday after work. Was pr ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Visited on a Tuesday after work. Was promptly seated. Waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. The food was delivered within a reasonable amount of time after placing our order. The food was hot and tasty, on par with other Maggiano's restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Everything was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dined at this restaurant when it first o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Dined at this restaurant when it first opened in Vernon Hills a year and a half ago. Poor service then & hasn't improved. Couldn't get a waiter to service us until we asked about four people. The food was okay. However, as we finished our meal & the waiter was taking the plates, etc. off the table, he dropped a knife dripping with spaghetti sauce onto my lap. Needless to say since I was wearing white pants, I was a mess. He did immediately give me a white napkin & some water to wipe up the mess. However, if he wasn't in such a hurry to clear the table, the accident would never have happened. He did mention that I could bring my cleaning bill back to the restaurant for compensation. However, I thought a manager should come & express his dismay for what happened. I will probably continue to go to Maggiano restaurant in Old Orchard because their kitchen & wait staff is far better than the one in Vernon Hills. Don't intend to visit this location again & the manager or whoever is in charge should do something about the service before more people decide not to dine there. I did notice that when I went there when it first opened, it was quite crowded & even with a reservation there was a wait. This was definitely not the case on Sat. night!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Good food at a good value. They provide ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Good food at a good value. They provide a second pasta dish to take home when you order off their special pasta menu, so if you're looking for a good value, with decent Italian food, Maggiano's fits the bill. It's not the very best Italian, but still very good. Prices are reasonable and you receive good portions. Service was very attentive and friendly. We've been back a second time since this initial visit, and we were happy again with the result.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our service was slow, and it took a whil ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our service was slow, and it took a while to get our food. No offer of beverage or bread refills during that time. I've never had that experience at this particular restaurant before, so thinking it might have been an off night. But it was very frustrating, especially since we were dinging with children and a first-time Maggiano's visitor.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

it was good and everyone enjoyed the foo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

it was good and everyone enjoyed the food and the service. It was great tat we received a second take home meal

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Attentive service. Two orders of the mea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Attentive service. Two orders of the meal for two: Alfredo was bland and no flavor, but the Braised beef was excellent. Mushroom ravioli was also flavorful, but the vegetable prima vera was tasteless. Positive dining experience for group and had plenty of space where we were seated. Expected the food to be better. Some hits and misses.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service. Marco meal for two i ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent service. Marco meal for two is an outstanding value. Peach pomegranate lemonade was outstanding.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food and atmosphere. We were se ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Love the food and atmosphere. We were seated right away and our server was excellent. Even got my parents hooked on this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only 3 pieces of bread in the bread bask ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Only 3 pieces of bread in the bread basket for 2 people? What's up with that?

Good food for the value, especially the take home one for free menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Wonderful family style and awesome porti ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Wonderful family style and awesome portions for the price! Also you get to take the leftovers home. So much food for 8 people to share , no one went home hungry!!! Was a great way to celebrate Father's Day!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dining experience. Ou ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience. Our server Gabriel was fantastic.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great server and staff. Too any large pa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great server and staff. Too any large parties made the noise level very loud. Would have loved to sit in a quieter room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Food not as

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food not as

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The food is always good and the service ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food is always good and the service great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

My eggplant Parmesan was awful. All brea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My eggplant Parmesan was awful. All breaded and dry. My sautéed spinach was dry spinach leaves with olive oil thrown on. Waiter was too busy for us. I used to like Maggianos but not going back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.