About Maggiano's - Vernon Hills

Maggiano's specializes in Italian-American cuisine served in a warm & friendly atmosphere. We are open daily for lunch & dinner and offer a convenient carryout service as well as delivery. Maggiano’s menu features both classic & contemporary Italian-American recipes including homemade pastas, signature salads, prime steaks, fresh fish, regular chef specials & specialty desserts, accompanied by a large selection of wines & specialty drinks. The food is made from scratch daily & served in a welcoming environment. Family style service or individual entrees are available.

122 Hawthorn Center
Vernon Hills, IL 60061
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thu: 11:00 am-10:00 pm
Fri-Sat: 11:00 am-11:00 pm
Sun: 11:00 am-9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 918-0380

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/illinois/vernon-hills/60061/307-hawthorn-center/

Executive Chef:
Arturo Alvarado

Maggiano's - Vernon Hills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (74)
Special Occasion (67)
Good for a Date (63)
See All
Good for Birthdays (63)
Good for Groups (59)
Comfort Food (55)
Family Style (48)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Great for Lunch (42)
Kid-friendly (32)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Romantic (23)
Great for Brunch (23)
Authentic (22)
Business Meals (22)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Fun (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Cozy (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Seasonal (7)
Disabled Access (7)
People Watching (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Healthy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Private Room (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Historic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1025 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Went for my hubbies birthday. Waiter brought lemon cookies. No dessert comped. A little disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

As usual we had a great experience when we were dining. The only disappointment this time was that there was absolutely no bread until after our food was served. That's not because of our server there was no bread ready.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Always good choices. The shrimp scampi was just ok. The spaghetti and meatball was very good. We like to go back whenever we can.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Little at the pricey side but for a one time occasion or so forth nice place quiet enjoyable waiter was wonderful didn't pressure you He didn't rush you great chef came out to See us it was our first group time there are food was great and I love the buy one take one home. We definitely will be back. Michael was our waiter and he was absolutely wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Waited along time before finally making it to this Maggianos. It will probably a long time before I go back. Nothing special to call out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The Brunch was not good. They should not advertise it so much. It did not have many items on the menu and you could barely make a substitution like egg whites.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Waiter was slow. We usually get military discount but waiter said no. Instead of waiting even longer for the bill we just left.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I was reconnecting with a business colleague and we went here for lunch.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Have been to Maggiano's many times. My friends and I enjoy the menu offerings and the servings are very generous. 4 stars for waiter as he was very kind and friendly, but new, so needs to get some experience with number of times he visits the table and to always ask before removing a plate. He will make a great waiter in the very near future.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Our booth was located by the entrance of the bathrooms. Those booths/tables should be removed from that area .

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Maggiano's is a family favorite, so our twelve year old chose to have his birthday dinner there. We have had no complaints up until now, but they seemingly forgot to put in the birthday boy's order and when it arrived it (10 minutes after ours) was sub par (a rush job?). This evening's service won't keep us away, but it was a bit disappointing. The birthday boy however, has already forgotten it!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Seated immediately. Waitress friend lay and professional. Food was delicious. Love the but one meal get another one to take home.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Cold hostess. Great server. Great bread and salad. Main dish extremely salty. We felt very rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This is a great Italian place to dine. Very creative chef and outstanding service staff. I would recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Graduation Dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

our last visit this pas Saturday was very disappointing .
WE ordered the fried mozzarella, took a long time and was hard and cold.
our food came and was also cold, and dry. We could not eat it.
Children's meals also had no taste. We would probably not return after this bad expericnece

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Our waitress was amazing and gave us free cookies for my graduation, and my brothers birthday!:)

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Food was terrible! Ravioli was mushy and cold!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The staff are friendly and attentive, The food is amazing and the price is very competitive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The salmon Oscar was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

It was both a good and bad experience...

Bad - we had a 6:30 pm reservation, but did not get sat till way after that, maybe around 7ish
Good - they offered us a free appetizer
Good - food was good, came out on time, we all enjoyed
Bad - we ordered two desserts, but only one was brought out... the one we did not receive was on our bill...we asked and they removed it. Would have been nice to actually get what we had ordered...

I guess I'd go back again...solid choice... but not any time soon...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Friendly but slow service and food not par with Maggiano skokie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

It took them three tries to make baked Ziti. Everytime they brought out the dish it was simply, ziti with sauce. Waitress was clueless. Food was below average. It is nothing more than a big box restaurant. Doubtful we will ever return. A sad day indeed.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent place to dine in Vernon hills in the Hawthorne mall. Authentic Italian restaurant
And a good ambience and service.

Thank you
Ram

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Daughter's graduation dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent food and service we had a great time. My son graduated from HS and Maggiano's was our choice for great food and service. Our waiter provided excellent service we will definitely return to this location.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The seating was very constricting and servers were carrying full platters directly above my mothers head. Not a safe or recommended practice. The service was slow and we were not informed of the inside menu special until we were ready to order.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This was a 3rd time attending the Vernon Hills Maggiano's. I was not pleased the first 2 times and we hesitated about coming back. (Poor service, small portions, no flower for me on mothers day, like everyone else, received food before appetizer) It was my son's graduation and husband's birthday. So we decided to give it one more try. This time we had a better experience. Although the service was bit slow all the food was good and our waiter was very nice. I had received a call earlier that day to confirm our reservation and I made them aware of the problems I had before. So hopefully this is why it was better. Other then being sat right by the noisy drink prep area, We were happy.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We have need to this location a few times and usually is great other than long wait even when you have a reservation. This time however I was disappointed. There was trouble with my daughter's order twice. She is allergic to wheat and I told the server right away. She does fine with their gluten free pasta. When get order arrived (30 min later) it was not gluten free. So they had to remake it, which took them another 20 min! Then they brought the take home pasta (she ordered the meal where you get an extra to take home) and again it was not gluten free. Then the server tried to brush it off as my fault saying he didn't know the take home was for her. It was with her meal and I had specifically asked for the gluten free. Just frustrating. Usually no problems.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We had an excellent meal. The manager Manny Erickson was extremely kind and professional in helping us use our gift card. Thanks!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Started strong, then the service rapidly dropped, Waited for my food long after the group was done, I only ordered a simple pasta entrée.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Food just does not stand out
Typical chain with frozen food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is the first time I've been to a Lettuce Entertain You version of Maggiano's, so I wasn't sure whether it would be the same as my experiences in other cities. It was actually better. My experience with Maggiano's in the past is that the food is great but the service is lacking. This time we had very good service. At times our server seemed a bit new and inexperienced, but what he lacked in experience he made up for in attentiveness and desire to get it right. I had the linguine with white claim sauce, and it was delicious -- many claims and perfectly-prepared pasta, and I ended up taking half or more home because of the large portion and the delicious bread we filled up on beforehand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service on Mothers Day!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day - food was great. as always. The buy one - take one pastas are an exceptional value and the warm bread is the best.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day crowd was large and noise level was high, but service and food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

To sum up: It Was Mothers Day. We were 12 people. The wait staff "tried"
Food was delicious.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Love Maggiano's and been to several of them. My only issue was that they have too many tables which makes it too tight. My daughter was up against a pillar and didn't have room. When we went to leave, there was no room for me to get out. Would only recommend for a small group of 2 because of the space issue.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was wonderful except the service. We did have a large group of 7 adults and 2 kids and it was a Saturday night but we had to constantly look for the server to get our drinks filled, get the items that we did not receive with our meal and to get plates wrapped up or taken away. At the end after sitting for awhile looking for our server another person finally stepped in to help her out. We were happy to have the help but it was more borderline feeling like they wanted us to leave so they could sit more people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Waiter was not very attentive. Sat down and waited 10 minutes with no one coming to take drink orders. Finally asked the hostess to find our waiter. In the middle of the meal he disappeared for 10 minutes. We assume he was taking a cigarette break since he came back smelling of cigarette smoke. Another waiter helped us out getting things that were missing from our order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.