About Maggiano's - Vernon Hills

122 Hawthorn Center
Vernon Hills, IL 60061
View Larger Map

Maggiano's specializes in Italian-American cuisine served in a warm & friendly atmosphere. We are open daily for lunch & dinner and offer a convenient carryout service as well as delivery. Maggiano’s menu features both classic & contemporary Italian-American recipes including homemade pastas, signature salads, prime steaks, fresh fish, regular chef specials & specialty desserts, accompanied by a large selection of wines & specialty drinks. The food is made from scratch daily & served in a welcoming environment. Family style service or individual entrees are available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thu: 11:00 am-10:00 pm
Fri-Sat: 11:00 am-11:00 pm
Sun: 12:00 pm-9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 918-0380

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/illinois/vernon-hills/60061/307-hawthorn-center/

Executive Chef:
Arturo Alvarado

Maggiano's - Vernon Hills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (108)
special occasion (98)
great for lunch (74)
See All
fit for foodies (57)
kid-friendly (56)
neighborhood gem (52)
romantic (27)
great for brunch (12)
notable wine list (11)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (6)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
629 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Dined at this restaurant when it first o ...

Dined 5 days ago

Dined at this restaurant when it first opened in Vernon Hills a year and a half ago. Poor service then & hasn't improved. Couldn't get a waiter to service us until we asked about four people. The food was okay. However, as we finished our meal & the waiter was taking the plates, etc. off the table, he dropped a knife dripping with spaghetti sauce onto my lap. Needless to say since I was wearing white pants, I was a mess. He did immediately give me a white napkin & some water to wipe up the mess. However, if he wasn't in such a hurry to clear the table, the accident would never have happened. He did mention that I could bring my cleaning bill back to the restaurant for compensation. However, I thought a manager should come & express his dismay for what happened. I will probably continue to go to Maggiano restaurant in Old Orchard because their kitchen & wait staff is far better than the one in Vernon Hills. Don't intend to visit this location again & the manager or whoever is in charge should do something about the service before more people decide not to dine there. I did notice that when I went there when it first opened, it was quite crowded & even with a reservation there was a wait. This was definitely not the case on Sat. night!!!

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Our service was slow, and it took a whil ...

Dined 6 days ago

Our service was slow, and it took a while to get our food. No offer of beverage or bread refills during that time. I've never had that experience at this particular restaurant before, so thinking it might have been an off night. But it was very frustrating, especially since we were dinging with children and a first-time Maggiano's visitor.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Attentive service. Two orders of the mea ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Attentive service. Two orders of the meal for two: Alfredo was bland and no flavor, but the Braised beef was excellent. Mushroom ravioli was also flavorful, but the vegetable prima vera was tasteless. Positive dining experience for group and had plenty of space where we were seated. Expected the food to be better. Some hits and misses.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Marco meal for two i ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent service. Marco meal for two is an outstanding value. Peach pomegranate lemonade was outstanding.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food and atmosphere. We were se ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Love the food and atmosphere. We were seated right away and our server was excellent. Even got my parents hooked on this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Only 3 pieces of bread in the bread bask ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Only 3 pieces of bread in the bread basket for 2 people? What's up with that? Good food for the value, especially the take home one for free menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful family style and awesome porti ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Wonderful family style and awesome portions for the price! Also you get to take the leftovers home. So much food for 8 people to share , no one went home hungry!!! Was a great way to celebrate Father's Day!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful dining experience. Ou ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience. Our server Gabriel was fantastic.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5

Great server and staff. Too any large pa ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great server and staff. Too any large parties made the noise level very loud. Would have loved to sit in a quieter room.

food3
ambience4
service3

Food not as

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food not as

food5
ambience4
service4

The food is always good and the service ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food is always good and the service great!!

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

My eggplant Parmesan was awful. All brea ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My eggplant Parmesan was awful. All breaded and dry. My sautéed spinach was dry spinach leaves with olive oil thrown on. Waiter was too busy for us. I used to like Maggianos but not going back there again.

food3
ambience5
service3
value5

Plenty of food and everything was fresh. ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Plenty of food and everything was fresh. However, our pasta dishes were very salty. We had the same meal last time and it was not. We just got a little unlucky. Service was slow but they were very busy. We prefer the family style because it is more fun to sample all kinds of things. I prefer coming in groups rather than as a couple. We will return.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Made me feel safe...

Dined on June 10, 2016

As a person with Celiac Disease, eating out can be a bit scary. Even in the most careful kitchens that serve both gluten filled and gluten free, a risk is there for cross contamination. However, the server and the chef made me feel very at ease. My one complaint was that the dish I ordered was listed as having a side of Pasta Aglio Olio. My husbands main dish and side of pasta arrived along with my main dish. I did not mention it to the person who delivered the food to our table as she was not our server. When our server came to check on us, I did mention it and he said he would rush an order of the GF Pasta Aglio Olio. While it was totally worth waiting for, it didn't arrive until my husband was almost done with his entire meal and I had been finished with my main dish for some time. I'm not sure where the mix-up came from because the chef mentioned that they could do it with the gf pasta and that I would love it (which I did!). Aside from that, the meal was wonderful and I will make sure that my order is clear next time. Thanks for the great dinner!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Meh

Dined on June 7, 2016

First, the service and the food were very good - everyone was happy with that. The front desk however, ignored a previously acknowledged request for a table to the side of the room (to try to manage the noise). Not only was our table not ready, we were put in the middle of the room which made it impossible to carry on a conversation with anyone other than the person right next to you. Very disappointing, and it really put a damper on the celebratory dinner we had planned.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

Need more wait service

Dined on June 6, 2016

Waiter had too many large tables service extremely slow items came out wrong didn't send back didn't eat it, sad

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good value

Dined on June 3, 2016

Table for 7 plus 1 child. Accommodation was great, waiter was knowledgeable. Food was good and enjoyed by all.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

A big disappointment.

Dined on June 1, 2016

I have had many good meals in the past at Maggianos. This visit was a huge disappointment. The lettuce and other vegetables in the chop salad were limp in there was way too much dressing. I ordered three different types of beer that were all on tap and all of them were flat and tasted horrible. Our server was inattentive. She had a soft voice and we couldn't hear her above the noise in the restaurant.

food2
ambience3
service1
value3

BLAND

Dined on May 29, 2016

THEY HAD NO TROUBLE WITH A RESERVATION FOR TEN THAT WE EXPANDED TO THIRTEEN AT THE LAST MINUTE. BUT THE WAITER WAS POORLY TRAINED AND RELATIVELY UNSUPERVISED. FOOD WAS BLAND BUT VERY PLENTIFUL, BUT WHATS THE POINT IF IT DOESN'T TASTE LIKE MUH

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great servers, great time!

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was excellent, as was the service. Brought family, first time they've been, and they loved the food and plan to return. Great ambience!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were celebrating my Sister's birthday. We went

Dined on May 28, 2016

with family style. The chef came out and talked to us and delivered an appetizer. That was a great touch. All of the food was great and plentiful. Our waitress was exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointing. Our food took about an ho ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Disappointing. Our food took about an hour to arrive. The pasta and chicken were overcooked, cold, portions small. Very cramped. For the money, I would recommend Bucca di Beppo's.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food as always

Dined on May 27, 2016

Wonderful food as always

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites

Dined on May 27, 2016

This was a birthday treat for my wife, using the gift coupon from Magianno's. The attention given to us by both the waitress and manager was outstanding. If we loved it before, we love it even more now!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Oscar the chef handled our sons dietary ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Oscar the chef handled our sons dietary restrictions like a pro. Lee our server was friendly and attentive.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waitress was amazing, never had to ask f ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Waitress was amazing, never had to ask for anything, was quick to refill. Food was amazing both regular and light. Amazing time.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food enjoyed eating off the Make A ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great food enjoyed eating off the Make A Wish Menu. One of my favorites restaurants.

food2
ambience4
service3

Food at maggianos has gone down hill ove ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Food at maggianos has gone down hill over the past few years. It used to be comparable to Tuscany but is now closer to Olive Garden. Server tried hard but service still not the best.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arranged a graduation party with Andy-sh ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Arranged a graduation party with Andy-she was so helpful. 13 of us gathered in the private room and Lee was a fantastic server. There was a welcome sign and personalized menus....they did a great job, we had good food and a wonderful evening. (we also loved the bartender-feel terrible I can't remember his name) Have your party at Magliano's-You can't go wrong!!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Vlad was an awesome server! The food was ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Vlad was an awesome server! The food was great as usual. You can't beat a Lettuce restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

As always the food and service was exce ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

As always the food and service was excellent. It is s great place to celebrate special occasions or just going out with family.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great including our servi ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Everything was great including our service. I asked for a booth and it was waiting for us when we got there. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

The food was great as is always the case ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was great as is always the case at Maggianos. Our issue on this occasion was the service. Drink order was taken promptly and non-alcoholic drinks were delivered quickly. The wine took a long time and we had to ask the server. The food runner brought the main course before we received our bread basket and our salads. We will go back, this was just an inefficient waiter.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience1
service1

This the second time in a row the servic ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

This the second time in a row the service was terrible. I actually had to go to the other end of the restaurant to track our server down to ask for the check. I ordered a glass of wine. He forgot it three times. Pathetic

food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 8, 2016

Was Mother's day. Horrible service. Ordered family style. Took 40min from placing order to get first course. Refills on drinks slow. Never asked if we wanted more of anything. Asked for desert to go. Ran out of chocolate cake. To go portion was super small compared to normal. All mom's given a flower, except this mom.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience3
service2

Asked for a 4:30 reservation, and was of ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Asked for a 4:30 reservation, and was offered a seat across from the bar at 4:55. Refused, and was sat in section with 4 open tables. This was only after I complained about the wait.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good for Food Allergy Families

Dined on May 8, 2016

Both of our kiddos have food allergies. I thought I would have to cook my own dinner on Mother's Day as a result. In the past we've been with family, but now we live far from them and we were on our own. We found Maggiano's on Allergy Eats. One of the chef's came out to talk to us. He was patient and kind and well-informed. I got to have a lovely dinner out on Mother's Day. We'll be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

The food was good and I'm glad I used op ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was good and I'm glad I used opentable in making the reservation the night before Mother's Day

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Mothers day 2016 at Maggiano's Vernon Hills

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were seated in the bar lounge, I would surmise, due to the over crowded dining room (we had reservations). We didn't care for the surroundings but we did not want to wait any longer for a table in the main dining area. The zucchini appetizer was great but it was down hill from there. The waitress misinterpreted my wife's order and she was given the wrong filet mignon dish. My dish, shrimp fra diavolo was okay, I expected better. This is not the first time we have patronized Maggiano's but it was the first time we were ever disappointed. The manager did come over and apologize for the confusion. For the record, the Tiramisu was great.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5

We made our reservation a half hour befo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We made our reservation a half hour before and waited less than ten minutes for a table. This was great on Mothers Day. We had a great waiter and the food was excellent.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.