About Maggiano's - Vernon Hills

122 Hawthorn Center
Vernon Hills, IL 60061
View Larger Map

Maggiano's specializes in Italian-American cuisine served in a warm & friendly atmosphere. We are open daily for lunch & dinner and offer a convenient carryout service as well as delivery. Maggiano’s menu features both classic & contemporary Italian-American recipes including homemade pastas, signature salads, prime steaks, fresh fish, regular chef specials & specialty desserts, accompanied by a large selection of wines & specialty drinks. The food is made from scratch daily & served in a welcoming environment. Family style service or individual entrees are available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thu: 11:00 am-10:00 pm
Fri-Sat: 11:00 am-11:00 pm
Sun: 12:00 pm-9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 918-0380

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/illinois/vernon-hills/60061/307-hawthorn-center/

Executive Chef:
Arturo Alvarado

Maggiano's - Vernon Hills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (126)
special occasion (116)
great for lunch (87)
See All
kid-friendly (62)
fit for foodies (61)
neighborhood gem (54)
romantic (38)
notable wine list (17)
hot spot (14)
late-night find (12)
great for brunch (12)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for outdoor dining (5)
scenic view (3)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
605 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Oscar the chef handled our sons dietary ...

Dined 3 days ago

Oscar the chef handled our sons dietary restrictions like a pro. Lee our server was friendly and attentive.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waitress was amazing, never had to ask f ...

Dined 6 days ago

Waitress was amazing, never had to ask for anything, was quick to refill. Food was amazing both regular and light. Amazing time.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food enjoyed eating off the Make A ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great food enjoyed eating off the Make A Wish Menu. One of my favorites restaurants.

food2
ambience4
service3

Food at maggianos has gone down hill ove ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Food at maggianos has gone down hill over the past few years. It used to be comparable to Tuscany but is now closer to Olive Garden. Server tried hard but service still not the best.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arranged a graduation party with Andy-sh ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Arranged a graduation party with Andy-she was so helpful. 13 of us gathered in the private room and Lee was a fantastic server. There was a welcome sign and personalized menus....they did a great job, we had good food and a wonderful evening. (we also loved the bartender-feel terrible I can't remember his name) Have your party at Magliano's-You can't go wrong!!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Vlad was an awesome server! The food was ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Vlad was an awesome server! The food was great as usual. You can't beat a Lettuce restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

As always the food and service was exce ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

As always the food and service was excellent. It is s great place to celebrate special occasions or just going out with family.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great including our servi ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Everything was great including our service. I asked for a booth and it was waiting for us when we got there. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

The food was great as is always the case ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was great as is always the case at Maggianos. Our issue on this occasion was the service. Drink order was taken promptly and non-alcoholic drinks were delivered quickly. The wine took a long time and we had to ask the server. The food runner brought the main course before we received our bread basket and our salads. We will go back, this was just an inefficient waiter.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience1
service1

This the second time in a row the servic ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

This the second time in a row the service was terrible. I actually had to go to the other end of the restaurant to track our server down to ask for the check. I ordered a glass of wine. He forgot it three times. Pathetic

food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 8, 2016

Was Mother's day. Horrible service. Ordered family style. Took 40min from placing order to get first course. Refills on drinks slow. Never asked if we wanted more of anything. Asked for desert to go. Ran out of chocolate cake. To go portion was super small compared to normal. All mom's given a flower, except this mom.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience3
service2

Asked for a 4:30 reservation, and was of ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Asked for a 4:30 reservation, and was offered a seat across from the bar at 4:55. Refused, and was sat in section with 4 open tables. This was only after I complained about the wait.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good for Food Allergy Families

Dined on May 8, 2016

Both of our kiddos have food allergies. I thought I would have to cook my own dinner on Mother's Day as a result. In the past we've been with family, but now we live far from them and we were on our own. We found Maggiano's on Allergy Eats. One of the chef's came out to talk to us. He was patient and kind and well-informed. I got to have a lovely dinner out on Mother's Day. We'll be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

The food was good and I'm glad I used op ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was good and I'm glad I used opentable in making the reservation the night before Mother's Day

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Mothers day 2016 at Maggiano's Vernon Hills

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were seated in the bar lounge, I would surmise, due to the over crowded dining room (we had reservations). We didn't care for the surroundings but we did not want to wait any longer for a table in the main dining area. The zucchini appetizer was great but it was down hill from there. The waitress misinterpreted my wife's order and she was given the wrong filet mignon dish. My dish, shrimp fra diavolo was okay, I expected better. This is not the first time we have patronized Maggiano's but it was the first time we were ever disappointed. The manager did come over and apologize for the confusion. For the record, the Tiramisu was great.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5

We made our reservation a half hour befo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We made our reservation a half hour before and waited less than ten minutes for a table. This was great on Mothers Day. We had a great waiter and the food was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy

Dined on May 8, 2016

We ordered family style and it is the only way to go. Sooooo much very yummy food. Lot's of choices and everyone found things they liked and we shared everything. Service was excellent . Our waitress was pleasant and very accommodating. We are looking forward to having another family meal there.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good family dinner experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Family dinner night with kids and grand-kids. The restaurant was busy, but service was great. We definitely would return to try more dishes. Everyone ate well and was happy with their meals.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Although the food is always delicious at ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Although the food is always delicious at Maggiano's, the service was horrible. The restaurant was obviously understaffed on the day of our visit. We had to wait an additional 45 minutes beyond our reservation time, which is a long time when you have children in your group. Once we got seated the server did not even acknowledge us for another 20 minutes. Throughout the meal, the server would disappear for lengthy periods of time. I would not recommend going to this restaurant on a busy Saturday afternoon (even if you have reservations).

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Date Night

Dined on May 6, 2016

Maggiano's was a great quick place for date night. We have been here before and love the food and wine, oh and the drinks are strong. Would recommend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Lots of Food

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Maggiano's specializes in quantity more than high quality. Large menu; relatively inexpensive, lots of leftovers. The brownie dessert was the best part of the meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was very good.

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food at Maggiano's is very good. The server, Megan, made our time there enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service w/ kids

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a great time for dinner! We were unsure about bringing our 6yr old son but it turned out to be great! Our server made it an awesome experience for all of us. He gave my son so much attention that he helped make this restaurant very kid-friendly :)

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Family favorite

Dined on April 23, 2016

. HAVE to say the only complaint we missed Nannas Pound cake. A must to be put back on the menu. Wasn't a birthday without it

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food!

Dined on April 23, 2016

The online reservations was so simple to do. Brought my wife and 2 children for dinner before our movie and our table was ready 10 minutes before we arrived so no wait. The portions as the server mentioned are big and you definitely go home or to a movie full/sleepy (Haha). Server was really great with our kids making sure they had full drinks as well as my wife and I. Great food, great old school feel with the decorations and uniforms. will definitely be coming back in the near future!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful from start to finish

Dined on April 20, 2016

My husband and I went to celebrate our birthdays. This was our first visit. We got greeted and seated quickly. Our server was very gracious and asked if there were any allergies to note for the table! We ordered and a chef came to the table with a complimentary order of bruschetta for our first visit..it was beyond delicious! The food came out quickly and was everything we had hoped for and more! We then shared a complimentary sampler dessert of our choice (you need to get the apple crostada,it is delish!). The atmosphere was very nice and soothing. I came right home and raved online and to my neighbor!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for dinner special occasions ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Great place for dinner special occasions.

food5
ambience4
service4

Food is great!! People are pleasant!!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Food is great!! People are pleasant!!

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Had a little trouble this visit

Dined on April 15, 2016

Waitress failed to get the order correct, it's always troubling when you are very specific about the dish you're requesting only to have the opposite get delivered. Then to make it worse, when the correct dish is delivered it was incomplete. Spoke with the floor manager and provided friendly and constructive feedback since we are big fans of Maggiano's Little Italy (Clark St. Chicago) we were hoping to get similar food and service closer to home. We will try again in the future.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Fun Night Out with Family

Dined on April 15, 2016

Made a reservation Friday morning for Friday evening and had a table waiting when I arrived. I Love that Maggianos's is soo close to me now. The restaurant is nice inside, service is good and food Outstanding. The Marcos Meal for 2 is by far the Best Deal.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Time but not the last!

Dined on April 15, 2016

This was my first visit to Maggiano's. Very nice venue, good service, good food. I loved that the lunch portions were proportioned. 1/2 a sandwich and a salad is perfect! I will be back.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

New dish for me, braised steak parpadell ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

New dish for me, braised steak parpadelle. Highly recommend, it was fantastic. And on the buy one take one/marco's meal for two menu. Favorite dessert: chocolate cake. Second favorite, chocolate cake bites! Bright those home. Had the seasonal peach crostada. Couldn't finish it all between two of us! But very good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always s good meal no matter what you or ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Always s good meal no matter what you order

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Like a good value

Dined on April 12, 2016

My husband ordered a pasta with the red sauce and one to go. This is the second time this has happened and he has discovered they do not put enough sauce in the dish he takes home. I had a large salad and I too didn't have enough dressing.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT

Dined on April 6, 2016

Excellent food, Excellent value, enjoyed the take home meal twice, Great Caesar Salad

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent

Dined on April 3, 2016

I had not been to Maggiano's in some time... We were not disappointed! We ordered family style for 4 - we had never done that before. It was fun, the service was great and the food was fabulous. We went home with some left overs - what more could you ask for.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lots of great food.

Dined on April 3, 2016

Their Marco option was great. We were more than full at the end of the night and even got to take home another meal.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

SERVICE

Dined on March 28, 2016

LUIS WAS TRULY AN EXCEPTIONALLY GOOD SERVER! HE WAS KNOWLEDGEABLE, FRIENDLY, EFFICIENT AND HD A GREAT SENSE OF HUMOR.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Every dish is good.

Dined on March 28, 2016

Every dish is good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on March 27, 2016

Wonderful restaurant and service. Food was excellent! The staff is very professional and they work extremely hard creating a wonderful experience. Great value for the money. They could charge more and get a way with it.

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.