About Maggiano's - Vernon Hills

Maggiano's specializes in Italian-American cuisine served in a warm & friendly atmosphere. We are open daily for lunch & dinner and offer a convenient carryout service as well as delivery. Maggiano’s menu features both classic & contemporary Italian-American recipes including homemade pastas, signature salads, prime steaks, fresh fish, regular chef specials & specialty desserts, accompanied by a large selection of wines & specialty drinks. The food is made from scratch daily & served in a welcoming environment. Family style service or individual entrees are available.

122 Hawthorn Center
Vernon Hills, IL 60061
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thu: 11:00 am-10:00 pm
Fri-Sat: 11:00 am-11:00 pm
Sun: 11:00 am-9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 918-0380

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/illinois/vernon-hills/60061/307-hawthorn-center/

Executive Chef:
Arturo Alvarado

Maggiano's - Vernon Hills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (65)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Special Occasion (57)
See All
Good for a Date (53)
Good for Groups (49)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Comfort Food (39)
Great for Lunch (34)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Worth the Drive (25)
Authentic (23)
Romantic (22)
Business Meals (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Family Style (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Cozy (17)
Fun (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Disabled Access (6)
People Watching (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (3)
Vegan (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1069 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was delicious. My dinner partner has Celiac disease and the manager came over to the table to assure us what she could have and what she couldn't have. Good choices! Made the choosing and the meal much less stressful. Kudos Maggianos - Vernon Hills.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was awful. Dirty dishes never left table. Wrong meals served. Some dishes had terrible presentation. Only good food was salmon. Portions very small. Would not go back there again. Was not the Maggianos we used to visit
Manager offered discount as she was clearing dirty dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Entire staff were very attentive to our needs. Manager was cordial and caring about how we were doing

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Tables are way to close together. Table was way too small for 5 people and a highchair who ordered family style. No room for plates. Felt somewhat rushed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Our waiter was awesome and the food was deli i

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Not a good night for the kitchen
Sent back pasta that was over cooked and the replacement was better but still not what you expect from this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Our server Luis was very attentive. He took time to explain certain items on the menu and pointed out options for people with food allergies. Went above & beyond to make sure we were taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Excellent, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We have never been disappointed and even the kids have there favorite meals. The buy one take one deal is a bonus and well worth the price. Even though it is a chain, it is a cut above.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Chose this location due to having the best availability, but got stuck with a pretty new / slow waiter that made the evening longer than it needed to be.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was wonderful! Service was awesome! I have a food allergy & they took the time to really listen to me. Great atmosphere & great place to celebrate a special occasion! Family friendly!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our dining experience was much to be desired. We ordered our beverages (a beer for my husband and a non alcoholic lemonade from the specialty menu for myself). Our waiter brought our beverages and after a few sips I noticed my beverage tasted odd. I asked our waiter if it contained alcohol had he said yes. I then informed him that I am pregnant and cannot drink alcohol and clarified my order. He brought me a non alcoholic version of the beverage, which was still not what I originally ordered, and we continued our meal. The salad came out and then 5 minutes later, our entrees were brought to the table. Timing was completely off. No one came to replenish our water or clear our dishes. Our waiter was not very attentive at all. While he apologized for his lack of attentiveness it was a bit too late. Our bill came and he had charged us for the wrong beverage, which explains the original error. Instead of comp'ing the entire drink, he charged the lower price for the non alcoholic beverage. Needless to say, we will not be back to this location anytime soon. It's clear that their staff need to be retrained and service levels need to be elevated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Randy was awesome, so was the manager last night. Food was excellent, as always. Made for a great night out which doesn't happen very often for us so it's nice to have a place like this Maggiano's where you can count on fantastic service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

My biggest disappointment was that we had a reservation for 8:15 but when we arrived (on time) we were handed a buzzer and told to wait 20 minutes for our table. No apology or explanation....just wait until they call us using the buzzer. What's the point in reserving if they are going to make me wait and then not even offer up an explanation...just business as usual. I find that appalling service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Would not recommend this location. Had reservation and had to wait to be seated. Waiter was not attentive and when she was they forgot things such as drinks or food. The manager was fantastic. The salad we had they cut up a whole avocado including the pit and served it so it got stuck in teeth. I have been to other locations and has no issues but the Vernon hills location was a terrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Be sure to make a reservation. The wait can be very long. Nice variety of choices and size of meals. Very family and group oriented.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

There was a large group of us and we were seated immediately at one long table. The wait straff was extremely attentive. The food was a little slow in coming - the restaurant was packed, Friday night, but the server came back several times, explaining what was going on, topping us up with bread and drinks. The food was very good, as always. And the maitre'd congratulated me on my birthday and gave me a card signed by the staff. I also got the complimentary lemon cookies with two candles. This is our favorite family restaurant and we dine often at the restaurant in Old Orchard, downtown Chicago, Mayfair in Milwaukee and Vernon Hills. Our grandson has allergies and the server got him a special dish prepared just for him. Overall a really good night.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Excellent service!!!
My daughter's favorite restaurant!!!
🍝

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2017

AWESOME AS ALWAYS!! I GO ONCE A WEEK AND NEVER GET SICK OF IT!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2017

My mom and I like to go to Maggiano's for lunch once in awhile when she comes in town to visit. They have great food. I order the Chicken Picatta lighter fare all they time, and I love the bruschetta bar. I can't wait to try the Sunday brunch sometime soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Chef Mickey is phenomenal! She can customize for allergies or any dietary restrictions. Tastiest food ever and she's the nicest !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Went there for our 10th Anniversary. The staff was aware of this, and did everything to make this evening special. The manager and chef even came over to congratulate us, and comp'd us free desserts. The Tiramisu was amazing and too much to eat it all. Thanks for the nice dinner Maggiano's - Vernon Hills

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Mike was a great waiter.
Their hostess' can be more friendly. the restaurant was very quiet when we got there and wanted to put us at the front table by the door which was not acceptable,

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Waitress Diana was very attentive and very knowledgeable. She was able to thoroughly explain the ingredients and how one of the entrees was prepared.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The staff was particularly attentive. When our appetizer was a bit slow arriving at our table, the waiter came over and apologized. As promised the dish arrived quickly after that. Manager came by the table and said "hi". The food was very good and the wine list while not extensive featured some some nice choices with many by the glass but they seem to have an irritating chain wide prohibition against listing the years of the wines on the menu. We had 1 app, a bottle of wine plus a small glass and 2 entrees that came out to 150 including a good tip and taxes.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

My friend & I had an outstanding dinner. It was both of our birthdays & went to celebrate. She had never been! The managers came by with table scatter, complimentary bruschetta, special birthday envelopes & Italian lemon cookies for us to take home. We ordered the new seasonal Sangria, which was outstanding. Our waiter, James was very attentive in every way.
The food as always was "melt in your mouth" delightful!
Thank you again for making our birthdays special

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Becky was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food and great service. Great lemon cookies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Food was great but food was really slow coming out of the kitchen. We ordered family style and it took almost 30 minutes to get reorders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We've never been disappointed here. Great food, great service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We celebrated our 12 th anniversary here. The manager came by to give us a card and wish us happy anniversary. The waitress was great as was the food! Only drawback was it was a bit louder than I like but then I don't like loud music and people but overall it was a great experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Classic Italian, consistently great food and great service!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Overall it was fine. We were a table of 5 and we had reservations at 6pm. Arrived on time and we were seated promptly. It wasn't busy yet and the waiter cane for our drink orders quickly. Got 2 glasses of wine and 2 pops out in about 5-10 minutes. We were never offered bread. Our waiter, while pleasant, just wasn't very good. Had to ask for water refills after being empty for 15 munutes. After 30 minutes, just before dinner was served, we asked for bread. 5 minutes later he said it was just coming out of the oven and he'd bring it right away. 10 minutes later and 2 other tables getting bread near us, it was finally brought out. We were out of parm cheese by then and he didn't ask if we wanted more to mix with oil for the bread. We just felt neglected by him. Food was good but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Our server was sooooooo professional and polite. He was VERY knowledgeable on the different menu items. Service was fast and the food was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 5, 2017

food is consistently good. The luncheon special (order one entree take another home) is like having a free lunch. On a budget give it a try.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Good food and excellent service. The buy one take one entres are great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We frequent the restaurant and typically have nothing but positive things to say. This time the service was really off. Waiter would be gone for long periods, forgot things, and was in general confused. Tried to tell me he comped kids desserts to apologize (which are included), then told me the Maggianos coupon was expired but her worked it out with his manager (coupon was not expired). Just a really odd experience. We'll go back but hope never to have that service again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Changed their main dish recipe, eggplant Parmesan and it was not good. My husband and our other party disliked it. Since it was our anniversary it was very disappointing.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great place for people with food allergies. The chef comes out to your table to understand what your allergies are before preparing your food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

excellent food for the money good service and very good server jordan was excellent and the chef and manager coming to our table gave it that extra special touch

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.