About Maggiano's - Vernon Hills

122 Hawthorn Center
Vernon Hills, IL 60061
View Larger Map

Maggiano's specializes in Italian-American cuisine served in a warm & friendly atmosphere. We are open daily for lunch & dinner and offer a convenient carryout service as well as delivery. Maggiano’s menu features both classic & contemporary Italian-American recipes including homemade pastas, signature salads, prime steaks, fresh fish, regular chef specials & specialty desserts, accompanied by a large selection of wines & specialty drinks. The food is made from scratch daily & served in a welcoming environment. Family style service or individual entrees are available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thu: 11:00 am-10:00 pm
Fri-Sat: 11:00 am-11:00 pm
Sun: 12:00 pm-9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 918-0380

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/illinois/vernon-hills/60061/307-hawthorn-center/

Executive Chef:
Arturo Alvarado

Maggiano's - Vernon Hills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (86)
Special Occasion (85)
Great for Lunch (50)
See All
Kid-friendly (49)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Romantic (31)
Comfort Food (18)
Family Style (14)
Casual (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Great for Brunch (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Fun (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Business Meals (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
716 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We loved the Veal Marsala with Fettuccin ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

We loved the Veal Marsala with Fettuccine Aglio Olio and Beef Tenderloin Medallions. Our appetizer, Calamari Fritté, and dessert, Tiramisu, complemented our entrées.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the buy one get one free deals they ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Love the buy one get one free deals they offer, great for seniors!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice way to celebrate a birthday. Food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Nice way to celebrate a birthday. Food was delicious.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

So happy that Maggianos is in Vernon Hil ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

So happy that Maggianos is in Vernon Hills. Traveling to Old Orchard or Schaumburg made visits less frequent and getting a reservation less than a week out for busy time of day more challenging. The open floor plan of Vernon Hills location is less romantic or cozy but the food is as wonderful as the other northern Illinois locations.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place and food. Was a busy night b ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great place and food. Was a busy night because of homecoming. The server did keep forgeting to bring us items like plates, bread, and more water but he seamed very young and new. Besides the service I loved this place. Highly sugest the meal for two.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Family Style, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The services was friendly and efficient. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The services was friendly and efficient. The food was great tasting Italian. Everyone enjoyed their entrees. Priced very reasonably.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

They put us at a table that shouldn't ha ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

They put us at a table that shouldn't have been there. I couldn't get out & my husband was against a corner next to a table with dirty dishes on it. My husbands dinner was burnt. Service was slow. We will not be going back there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Everything was wonderful as usual. Thank ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Everything was wonderful as usual. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is consistently good, I always have ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Food is consistently good, I always have the salmon and it is delicious. My husband gets the chicken parmesan and its very good! Service is always great, very attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice evening with decent food. Wine serv ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Nice evening with decent food. Wine service was a challenge, brought the wrong wine and took forever to get a glass. Manager was apologetic and helpful.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Family Style, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Unfortunately our experience was horribl ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Unfortunately our experience was horrible. We love this place but the night we went was the worst. We were celebrating our 4 year anniversary and I was planning on proposing to my girlfriend but decided not to due to our service and the situation we were presented with. We were there a total of 2 hours and only saw our actual waiter twice. We were helped by several managers (who we also spoke to) and other waiters. It took over an hour to have a bottle of wine brought to us. Every dish we were served with had to be sent back because it was dirty. And to top it all off it took almost an hour and a half for our very simple order to come out and it came out luke warm. We spoke to a manager several times about the wine and our food and lack of service and nothing was done. A special night not only for me but also my girlfriend was ruined by the one place we cherish most in our relationship, the place we met, the place that we have celebrated many big life events and now the biggest let down. I'm sadden to say we will not be returning in the near future unless major changes are made.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food, service and great customer s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great food, service and great customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good news is: they give you slot of food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Good news is: they give you slot of food. But that's the bad news too. The only interesting dish they had, chicken giardinera, is no longer available. The food is bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

We went to Maggiano's for a birthday din ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We went to Maggiano's for a birthday dinner. The food and the service were really good. We ordered family style which gave us plenty of options and they will bring out refills of items. The cheesecake is just amazing.

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was perfect, server excellent and a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was perfect, server excellent and all just right

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service. We love t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great food and great service. We love the deal that gives you a pasta entree to take home.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very noise. We make reservations ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

It was very noise.

We make reservations and have to wait half hour to be seat

The server where rude

the waitress was overwhelm

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Good food and great for all occasions wi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Good food and great for all occasions with small groups !

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for a family meal for 7. Food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Came here for a family meal for 7. Food was ok but the service was at best fair. only saw the waitress every 20 mins. 2hrs and 15mins later we finally finished our meal. we didn't even order dessert!!!! That would have been another 1/2 hr.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

didn't honor reservation waited 30 minut ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

didn't honor reservation waited 30 minutes past our reservation to sit down

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Good food, as always, but poor service. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good food, as always, but poor service. Server didn't seem to care.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value5

Service could have been better, waitress ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Service could have been better, waitress not very attentive. Front of the house very disorganized.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Too long of a wait with reservations. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Too long of a wait with reservations. The host even called me 10 minutes before my reservation of 3:30pm on my cell to confirm my party of 10 which included 6 kids under 12, and we were literally walking in to check in. We proceeded to wait until 3:50pm to be seated while we watched other families be seated and plenty of seats available in the dining room. Unfortunate for the birthday girl that choose this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

My steak was floating in a dish of sauce ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My steak was floating in a dish of sauce. The steak was good but would have preferred less sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Excellent meal as usual. Salads and soft ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent meal as usual.

Salads and soft drinks are pricey.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Maggiano's is always a fun experience. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Maggiano's is always a fun experience. The food is wonderful and the service was good. It is definitely a great place in Vernon Hills to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Unimpressed with this location. Service ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Unimpressed with this location. Service poor, food mediocre at best. I would never recommend or return to this location. Other locations are much better. Uncomfortable seating and much too close to other tables. Very disappointing for the money spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Waiter was nice but new. Never got the d ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Waiter was nice but new. Never got the dessert that was included in our meal for two package. Was overcharged for our happy hour wine. Got the wrong take home meals and the birthday coupon was not removed from our check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Rood and service were great. Authentic I ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Rood and service were great.

Authentic Italian nice variety.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Maggiano's over the years a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I've been to Maggiano's over the years and the food is good, service is usually good, etc.

Just seems a little pricey for what you get. Just a bit. Not too much.

I will say the Candied Nueske Bacon, Ricotta, Arugula & Fig Jam Bruschetta was fantastic. I'd order more of those. Mushroom cap appetizer was ok.

The Mozzarella Cheese brick appetizer was just too much for four. And it was not very good. Just kind of blah. Ours was not really hot. Just sort of warmed over.

The Salmon Oscar was very good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have an 8:30 reservation and was told ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have an 8:30 reservation and was told to wait. But the person at the both or table was not doing a good job of monitoring customers. We got in like 15 minutes past out reservation time. Not happy with the way the person who was at the desk. He looks like he does not care. That is very poor customer service. Not paying attention to his job. That person needs to be trained again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The waitress, Anniata provided outstandi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The waitress, Anniata provided outstanding service. Very attentive, polite, efficient - made our family outing (5 of us, including two kids) very enjoyable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was quite slow. Appetizer salads ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Service was quite slow. Appetizer salads and entrees arrived at the same time. Food order was incorrect and had to be sent back. Food was bland and not up to the standard we have been accustomed to when visiting the Schaumburg location. Overall not a good experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Quality of food has declined quite a bit ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Quality of food has declined quite a bit. Will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Maggiano's has always been one of my fav ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Maggiano's has always been one of my favorite restaurants but the service is just below par especially at the Vernon Hills location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Everything was spot on. Delightful waite ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everything was spot on. Delightful waiter, so helpful, so friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoy the excellent Lobster Carbonara ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We enjoy the excellent Lobster Carbonara an lemon herb salmon.

Thank you

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I enjoyed a very nice evenin ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a very nice evening here. The bartender was super friendly and poured a great custom cocktail. She even came to our table to take our wine order. All of this on a busy Sunday evening. Food was very good, and the service was first class! Highly recommended fine Italian dining!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, great food, great value. Ne ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great place, great food, great value. Never a disappointment. Thumbs up!!!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food, excellent service and gr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Delicious food, excellent service and great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.