About Maggiano's - Vernon Hills

Maggiano's specializes in Italian-American cuisine served in a warm & friendly atmosphere. We are open daily for lunch & dinner and offer a convenient carryout service as well as delivery. Maggiano’s menu features both classic & contemporary Italian-American recipes including homemade pastas, signature salads, prime steaks, fresh fish, regular chef specials & specialty desserts, accompanied by a large selection of wines & specialty drinks. The food is made from scratch daily & served in a welcoming environment. Family style service or individual entrees are available.

122 Hawthorn Center
Vernon Hills, IL 60061
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thu: 11:00 am-10:00 pm
Fri-Sat: 11:00 am-11:00 pm
Sun: 12:00 pm-9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 918-0380

Website:
http://locations.maggianos.com/illinois/vernon-hills/60061/307-hawthorn-center/

Executive Chef:
Arturo Alvarado

Maggiano's - Vernon Hills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (80)
Casual (68)
Comfort Food (67)
See All
Family Style (67)
Good for a Date (66)
Good for Anniversaries (65)
Good for Birthdays (61)
Good for Groups (47)
Great for Lunch (42)
Business Meals (31)
Kid-friendly (30)
Romantic (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Outstanding Value (26)
Cozy (23)
Fun (22)
Authentic (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Tasting Menu (11)
Seasonal (11)
Healthy (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Private Room (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
People Watching (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
897 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 hours ago

Very disappointed my 6pm reservation turned into 6:25 seating. Had my 87 year old mother out for her birthday and who needs wheel chair. The extra 25 minutes makes things much tougher on her. When checking on delay was told the folks already seated were sitting longer than expected, maybe they should be more selective about seating non-reservation folks when approaching reservation time, otherwise what's the point of the reservation? All this and a whole section left open which was used a week earlier when my wife and I were there together. Opening that area would have alleviated the sitting issue as we were not alone from what I saw. Will think twice in future.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Our waiter, Johnny was AMAZING!! Super personal, friendly and everything he suggested for food was PERFECT and right on the dime. You are very lucky to have such a employee on your team. I know it is hard finding good employees even in my role at work.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

The service was very good. They brought out the food for our young grandson very quickly which was much appreciated. Overall it was better than average and we will visi there again.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Found hair in my mozzarella sticks. Great service though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The restaurant went above and beyond to fulfill a special dish request for a special celebration. Our server was stupendous and well deserving of a strong stream of big tips. Though busy the management did their best to accommodate and ensure a wonderful evening for all.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Made us wait even though I had reservations for 5:30pm. Our table wasn't ready and made us hold a buzzer. Waiter was really lost and forgot many things. Sometimes took dishes away before even asking us but might have been new to waiting. Food was not up to par with the Old Orchard location. We left unsatisfied with our time there and probably won't be coming back for dinner. Lunches have been fine but the service goes down significantly when they get busier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food and service have always been excellent. Very friendly hostess and wait staff. Never a disappointment! A great place for family and friends.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our server (Tony)was wonderful. The atmosphere was loud, painfully bright and rather frantic. The food was acceptable. If you are hungry and do not care about atmosphere, this is your place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We celebrated a birthday with 10 people. It was noisy, but we knew that going in. For our group they suggested we go family style and it worked out beautifully. There was plenty of good food. The four cheese ravioli with the pesto sauce were a big hit as well as the chopped salad. They were kind enough to put the candles I had brought into dessert for the birthday. The noise level is definitely an issue.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our server was Tony and he was very attentive and polite. Didn't wait for anything. There should be more servers like him. All three of us enjoyed our meals and would recommend the restaurant to anybody asking where should I go eat? Thank-you for a very nice dinner out!!! Will for sure see you again soon!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Seated in high traffic area near wait station and folks waiting for seating. Would be better if cordoned off to improve ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great restaurant we enjoyed it like always. Good service. We went with our granddaughter they were very accommodating

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We had a reservation and were seated promptly by a hostess. She asked if it was a special occasion and we told yes it is, our anniversary. She asked how many years and wished us well.

We ordered from their menu of one meal for now and one to go.

We found the food to be very salty.

We took for granted the restaurant would somehow thank us for choosing them for our anniversary! Didn't happen :(.

We were so bummed we decided not to order dessert and be done with our dinner. We were very excited to celebrate that night and apparently we made the wrong choice. I hope this is not repeated, please learn from this customer service mistake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and i dined in for Valentines Day, food was very good and our server was gave excellent service

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Just an awesome place. Food was delicious and the Sheft was outstanding along with the rest of the service. I brought my wife here on a date, shes normally picky with food but here she just wanted to eat the entire menu. Will definitely be returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

this is a mall and kid friendly restaurant, so it's loud. but it's the food that keeps me going to this maggianos. our server, yonny gave us exceptional service on a very busy valentines, birthday, and date night for my wife and i. we had an excellent chicken piccata and the special carbonara!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We love this location, it's out of our way and further than our local one but we will gladly take the drive further out to here than the Old Orchard location any day! The service is amazing, the ambiance is very comfortable , and the food is always hot and delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went for Valentine's day. The food is always good and hot. Service is the best... and the food is out of this world.

I always get the pasta where you get one and you take one home. This is a deal

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Octavio was incredibly fast. We mentioned that we were trying to go to a movie 75 mins after our reservation. We were in and out of the restaurant in 35 and never felt rushed! Great service!

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Happy Hour, Fun, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Early Valentines with my daughter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Wonderful afternoon luncheon. Good and varied menu

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Good. Our server Dom really dominated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always top notch pasta. Love it every time. Great deal with Marco's dinner for two where you can take 2 pasta dishes to go after your meal. Fantastic!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Really awesome food and great service from Kathy. Was here for the first time for our Valentines Day outing and it was wonderful. Very romantic feel.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

very busy for Sunday lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Quality of food is not what it used to be. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My boyfriend's first one at Maggiano's. Ge had the veal picatta and didn't leave a crumb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Absolutely delicious food. And very affordable. I had the chicken Marsala and loved it. We go to many Italian restaurants in search of good Italian food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Family Style, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was the best ever at Maggianos! Very nice meal.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

You cannot beat the customer service! Amazing experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and service was good (other than getting charged for an iced tea that we didn't not have), when we finally were seated. It was a busy Friday night, but we had a reservation. We showed up on time for our reservation, but wanted over 30 minutes to be seated. I'm not sure why you take a reservation, if you can't save tables for those who make one. We wanted to go out for dinner as we had early morning obligations on Saturday. Those 30 minutes lost could have be spent more valuable than sitting waiting for a table. Poor organization on reservations might cause we to think again going to Vernon Hills Maggiano's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was outstanding. Food was good but not outstanding. Cocktails were good but high priced. Dining and restroom facilities were clean.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Never a bad meal at Magiannos. Food is always consistent and the Happy Hour is a good deal too.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always very satisfying. Nice choice of options that include a take home meal. The main course is large enough to take half of that home as well. Great bread. Nice happy hour.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food great service:'d always enjoy the food at Maggianos

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great, cozy atmosphere with down to earth Italian dishes. Awesome servce. Love the "bonus" pasta dishes to go. No need to cook this weekend!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

My husband and I went to your Vernon Hills restaurant with another couple. Although I have been to your restaurant before, I had never made a reservation using your online application. It was very user friendly and quick.

We had four different cocktails and four different dinner selections. All were delicious.

There was only one small glitch. One person in our party cannot eat gluten, so she ordered a chopped salad and calamari without the breading. It was presented with the breading, but the item was removed, with apologies, and quickly replaced with the ordered item. Her husband was thrilled to be able to eat your delicious pasta (which she doesn't make at home anymore) and happily took advantage of your eat one now, take one home meal.

We will return to enjoy your restaurant in the future.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Dinner here was fabulous. The food was so tasty it definitely had me wanting to return. The only issue was the service was a bit slow and we had arrived for dinner at 4:30 PM and hardly anyone dining in the restaurant yet. We celebrated my friends birthday and they made sure she was recognized with a special treat. The entire meal was delicious, from the calamari, salad to the main course. The mushroom ravioli was to.die.for.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

James the server was awesome! Food was great and we had a nice evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

great food and service!! very friendly ambiance!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Got seated 20 minutes after our reservation and it than took 10 minutes for the waiter to stop by, and another 10 minutes to get water and our soft drinks. Appetizers came out at different times and the soup came out luke warm. They were out of the daily special by 7:15pm. The restaurant was packed and loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good food as usual. With a resveration still had to wait 20 min.. then our waiter disappeared on us, never asked if our meals we're okay, or refilled drink. Manager came over to apologize, but didn't offer anything to make up for his inatentive staff. Kind of a disappointing experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a great experience up until our dinners came out. My fiance and I both ordered the surf and turf that was on the specials for the evening that include filet medallions, lobster and mashed potatoes. When our meals came out we had scallops, asparagus and filet medallions. We told the waiter that we did not think we received the right orders and he went to check for us. The manager came to our table and apologized that it was not communicated to the waiter that they had been out of lobster since the night before. So instead of giving us the opportunity to choose a different meal, they tried to serve us scallops instead of lobster. In the end they ended up removing the price of one of our dinners and brought out some flavorless shrimp. The experience was very disappointing. It would have been no big deal if they just let us know up front that they were out of what we wanted so that we could choose something else that we could actually enjoy. Or if you are out of something then please remove it from the menu or communicate this to your wait staff. So for this reason we will never dine at this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food is excellent and the take one home option for some entrees just adds to the value

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Girls night out for my friends first night away from her baby. The food was amazing as always. The only issue we had was with our waitress. From the get go the service was horrible to say the least. We were sitting for at least 10 minutes before being greeted. Seeing as it was a busy night we gave her the benefit of the doubt.

Once she did stop by she quickly introduced herself then was gone in a flash. Another 5 minutes before we even got water. Then another 10 before she asked if we wanted to order drinks or apps. Another 10 before getting said drinks or apps. Ordered dinner and was told she could not hear me over the noise, yet she could easily hear my friend from minimum 10feet away. Never addressed me and always looked at and addressed my friend even when I was the one speaking. When we finally were done with our food she was MIA for another 10 minutes while we tried to get her attention to wrap up our leftovers and to order dessert. Placed our dessert order and she actually entered it into the system wrong (we ordered the brownies and she entered cake). When we told her this she blamed the kitchen staff for reading the screen wrong when our bill clearly said "cake" and not "brownies". By the end of the meal once we finally got our check and paid we learned that her other tables had issues as well and that she was trying to blame everything on "an unusually busy night because the super bowl is tomorrow". We will definitely go back because we love the food however I will make a point to not have the same server as she clearly is not fit for her position and was overwhelmed by everything going on around her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Maggiano's is always a hit. So glad they opened a location in Vernon Hills.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was good. Portions were fair. Service was very very slow.

Tags: Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I had the spaghetti with meat sauce, the sauce was salty and really didn't taste good not the usual for Maggiano's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Food was okay but not exceptional as maggianos usually is. Plus it was only the servers 2nd day and she was struggling to keep up with her tables. Not much backup support that we could see

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Maggianos is not what they used to be. The great breads and onion rolls have been replaced by skimpy italian bread that are mostly crust. They are overpriced and the service is not as friendly as it could be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.